Podcasts

Started by Soup an Samajiz, November 06, 2015, 09:28:01 AM

Ethan Tremblay

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 15, 2025, 12:24:12 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on January 15, 2025, 10:12:58 AMI'd have some serious questions for the fellas that are inviting someone they have never met before to an awards night or a wedding. Especially with some of the over elaborate excuses provided. Surely a week in, they have to meet in person, and if you don't then move on. You win some you lose some. Next please. What sort of idiots are out there?

Anyone that believes that shit on dating sites is a balloon and deserves to get what's coming, or in these cases, not coming..

Has the art of meeting someone first, in a natural setting and developing a friendship/courtship through shared interests and conversation gone altogether?

I'm not knocking the many uses I'm sure it has for the 'casual' hook ups it may provide, but I'd question the longevity of those relationships 

I know a girl who struggles to meet people/ strike up conversations on a night out.  According to her its more difficult than it was ten years ago, sign of the times/youth.   

I had my own apprehensions on the long term success rate of tinder dates and said so to my work colleagues one time.  One of them proceeded to tell me she met her husband on tinder, so there are proper success stories for those that are there for more than a fumble. 

My view on your doll is that she has serious mental health problems and her family need to get her help big time. 

I tend to think of myself as a one man wolfpack...

SaffronSports

Quote from: bogball88 on January 15, 2025, 12:51:10 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on January 15, 2025, 10:12:58 AMI'd have some serious questions for the fellas that are inviting someone they have never met before to an awards night or a wedding. Especially with some of the over elaborate excuses provided. Surely a week in, they have to meet in person, and if you don't then move on. You win some you lose some. Next please. What sort of idiots are out there?

Anyone that believes that shit on dating sites is a balloon and deserves to get what's coming, or in these cases, not coming..

Has the art of meeting someone first, in a natural setting and developing a friendship/courtship through shared interests and conversation gone altogether?

I'm not knocking the many uses I'm sure it has for the 'casual' hook ups it may provide, but I'd question the longevity of those relationships 

Crazy how some of these lads could McFaul for this catfishing. Months and months of messaging with no prospect of ever actually meeting and they allow themselves to be fooled numerous times.  They almost deserve to be catfished for such crazy behaviour

I see you. 😂

Yeah there will be success stories along the way, but the art of actually speaking to people and generating a relationship from it is not down to covid or difficulty in meeting people due to work or whatever though, something is different with society nowadays, which is I suppose for those that struggled in the 'real' world have it better in the tech world

I'd be a right dinosaur if let loose  ;D

Though I doubt very much I'd ever get myself into a 'serious' relationship again
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

I think the issue is if you're 40+, it's more difficult to meet similar aged people. The pool is much much smaller. Belfast may be different but many of the pubs in the local towns are packed out with kids.

Brick Tamlin

I dont know why she feels the need to go looking in other counties when on her own doorstep she has a ready made supply of buck eejits with all ireland medals in their arse pockets, only too willing to embarrass themselves and entertain her.

Social media platforms have an awful lot to answer for. This whole episode is completely indicative of society these days and the generation of balloons that are running about. makes ye despair

bogball88

Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on January 15, 2025, 12:59:38 PM

I know a girl who struggles to meet people/ strike up conversations on a night out. According to her its more difficult than it was ten years ago, sign of the times/youth.   

I had my own apprehensions on the long term success rate of tinder dates and said so to my work colleagues one time.  One of them proceeded to tell me she met her husband on tinder, so there are proper success stories for those that are there for more than a fumble. 

My view on your doll is that she has serious mental health problems and her family need to get her help big time. 

Another gargle there please barkeep

Quote from: Brick Tamlin on January 15, 2025, 02:54:12 PMI dont know why she feels the need to go looking in other counties when on her own doorstep she has a ready made supply of buck eejits with all ireland medals in their arse pockets, only too willing to embarrass themselves and entertain her.

Social media platforms have an awful lot to answer for. This whole episode is completely indicative of society these days and the generation of balloons that are running about. makes ye despair

I think the toe has been dipped in that county rightly

Met my wife on Tinder. Been together about nine years, married for 7, got two small kids. We have our moments and a few bumps in the road, but we're doing fine overall. Did a bit of back-and-forth Tinder messaging before agreeing to meet in a pub. Hit it off immediately. This was after years of hit-and-miss meeting women in pubs and clubs or through friends. I found the online thing very helpful where I live because the male:female ratio is skewed the wrong way for fellas (they call San Jose "Man Jose.") It seemed like every woman that walked into a bar had a hareem of a dozen fellas around her. The women were so jaded from desperate men pouncing on them that they were hard to reach a lot of the time.

Like it or not, online dating works and is here to stay for the foreseeable future. I don't think it's a sign of anything Wrong With Society, it's just the way relationships have evolved. I saw an animated infographic the other day that charted how people used to meet their life partners in the US since the 1950s. Church was something like number 4 but it slowly drifted out of the top 6. Family and friends was the top one for a long time but it's dwindled down in the rankings now that online has jumped to the top spot since the early 2000s.

I think there's a tendency to see anything new after your 20s as unnatural. We used to think nightclubs were normal but where are they now? The Arena was demolished years ago, which would have been unthinkable in the 1990s when it was the capital of clubbing in that part of the country. Go back a few more decades and people my parent's age are probably waxing lyrical about the kind of dances they used to go to (my parents met at a dance in England). The showband era probably looked like it would last forever too, but tastes change.

DeasBéalFeirste

Quote from: Armagh18 on January 14, 2025, 01:30:28 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on January 14, 2025, 11:41:33 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 14, 2025, 09:37:40 AM
Quote from: toby47 on January 14, 2025, 09:17:26 AMA fist class looper.

The country would be in meltdown if a fella was doing this to woman, she needs locked up.
Very true. The false story about the gaa player assaulting her and her being forced to have an abortion, sure that shite could ruin a man.

Now now that's not the attitude, where is your sense of equality,inclusion and diversity brother. This is 2025 and just because your right what you say doesn't mean you can say it
Even  the older story where she lured Johnny B to that house in Dublin, imagine the gender roles were reversed there?

Well yeah, because that would be different if it was the other way around. Obviously it was terrible to deceive him in that way, but a short little girl is never going to be able to physically overpower a big grown man. He wasn't in any danger, and there is no epidemic of women murdering or assaulting men.

So if the gender roles were reversed it would be worse.

DeasBéalFeirste

Quote from: tiempo on January 14, 2025, 07:41:29 PMIf girls are doing it to guys
Guys are doing it to girls
Girls are doing it to girls
And guys and doing it to guys
Is there such a thing as gender based abuse?

Seems more to me like there's non-cvnts and there's cvnts, each is a standalone case, why does someone's genitalia or hormones come into it?

Gender comes into it because there's an enormous problem of men attacking women, killing them, coercive control etc. How many have we seen in the news in the last year alone?

I know there are some very manipulative and downright horrible women out there (I used to date one myself and it was a brutal experience) but the fact is they rarely result in physical harm. We can't pretend it's the same thing, this isn't difficult to understand lads.

ardtole

Quote from: DeasBéalFeirste on January 16, 2025, 06:01:40 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 14, 2025, 01:30:28 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on January 14, 2025, 11:41:33 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 14, 2025, 09:37:40 AM
Quote from: toby47 on January 14, 2025, 09:17:26 AMA fist class looper.

The country would be in meltdown if a fella was doing this to woman, she needs locked up.
Very true. The false story about the gaa player assaulting her and her being forced to have an abortion, sure that shite could ruin a man.

Now now that's not the attitude, where is your sense of equality,inclusion and diversity brother. This is 2025 and just because your right what you say doesn't mean you can say it
Even  the older story where she lured Johnny B to that house in Dublin, imagine the gender roles were reversed there?

Well yeah, because that would be different if it was the other way around. Obviously it was terrible to deceive him in that way, but a short little girl is never going to be able to physically overpower a big grown man. He wasn't in any danger, and there is no epidemic of women murdering or assaulting men.

So if the gender roles were reversed it would be worse.

She wouldn't need to physically overpower him. She could  spike his cup of tea etc.more than one way to skin a cat.

Quote from: DeasBéalFeirste on January 16, 2025, 06:09:12 AMWe can't pretend it's the same thing, this isn't difficult to understand lads.

This is it in a nutshell. Problem is a rake of lads want to believe otherwise.

tiempo

Quote from: DeasBéalFeirste on January 16, 2025, 06:09:12 AM
Quote from: tiempo on January 14, 2025, 07:41:29 PMIf girls are doing it to guys
Guys are doing it to girls
Girls are doing it to girls
And guys and doing it to guys
Is there such a thing as gender based abuse?

Seems more to me like there's non-cvnts and there's cvnts, each is a standalone case, why does someone's genitalia or hormones come into it?

Gender comes into it because there's an enormous problem of men attacking women, killing them, coercive control etc. How many have we seen in the news in the last year alone?

I know there are some very manipulative and downright horrible women out there (I used to date one myself and it was a brutal experience) but the fact is they rarely result in physical harm. We can't pretend it's the same thing, this isn't difficult to understand lads.

Would the 80:20 split in suicide weighted towards men in Ireland have anything to do with such women? Thus constituting a horrific level of gender based abuse, is it fair or legitimate to make such an assumption, or does gender based abuse only cut one way, male on female?

Women abuse women, men abuse women, women abuse men, men abuse men, men abuse children and women abuse children

The enormous problem is predicated at the level of the individual and its disingenuous to paint a picture whereby an entire gender (a protected characteristic) is painted with a slur

Its like when Jeremy Corbyn was asked if he denounced anti-Semitism, and he said he denounced all forms of racism, but it wasn't good enough for the runaway narrative and therefore he was eviscerated, despite plainly not being a racist or the sub-division anti-Semite

Women abusing men does not create suicide

In Ireland, 1 in 3 women have experienced psychological violence from a partner at some point in their lives and 1 in 6 have experienced physical or sexual violence by a partner since the age of 15.

That's a  staggering figure
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

tiempo

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2025, 10:49:05 AMWomen abusing men does not create suicide

In Ireland, 1 in 3 women have experienced psychological violence from a partner at some point in their lives and 1 in 6 have experienced physical or sexual violence by a partner since the age of 15.

That's a  staggering figure

So women do abuse men, but with no link to any suicide (despite first hand testimony in a post above, an account of a man receiving abuse from a woman within a relationship that was described as a brutal experience), thats outlandish

I wonder if abuse by men plays any part in the suicide of women (20% of cases), I would suggest yes but I can't be sure now because abuse does not beget suicide apparently

Speaking tangentially to another thread, I wonder if Nicola Gallagher had committed suicide whose door the blame would have laid - thank goodness she hasn't obviously and I hope she is healing following her ordeal and able to find peace and security going forward

Pursuing a gender based narrative is a slur against non-perpetrators, note the figures above did not specifically mention men so I assume also include abuse of women by women, which I know every right thinking person would not condone