Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification

Started by BennyCake, September 09, 2014, 12:47:26 PM

AustinPowers

Quote from: Armagh18 on December 18, 2024, 12:09:54 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 17, 2024, 09:24:26 PM
Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on December 17, 2024, 09:17:18 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 17, 2024, 09:06:15 PMJust a heads up! This is going to be bonkers this year...

It's a new sport

Does it make you rethink refereeing? I honestly can't see how this is going to work at club level. Even the throw in, how are you supposed to know if the player behind you is staying at the line.

Also can't wait for the 2 pointers and people shouting it took a touch haha. This is going to be a mess 

I think  you're right. This is going to get ugly for referees.  It seems difficult enough to recruit new referees as it is. These new rules  certainly won't help
But sure you wont be able to say boo to them or it'll be frees moved up all day long

I was thinking more about the abuse  they might get from  the terraces, and spectators jumping the fence 

I always struggle with the line that the referee is a cheat? How does that come about? He's not refereeing his own club, he'll be refereeing two rival clubs so its difficult to see who he's cheating unless its both of them lol

This is coming from a ex player, manager, supporter first, but also as a ref its complete stupidity to berate the ref, I'm not sure what the reasoning is, the gobshites behind the fence will also bear some responsibility now as the ref won't know if the line is shouting at him or some header behind the wire, he'll just move it forward  if he hears abuse
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: thewobbler on December 18, 2024, 09:22:34 AMThere's two broad types of mindset towards the 50m dissent rule:

1. This a good thing. I mean like why is it seen as okay in our sport that players can in sequence bellow vile, personal abuse at officials?

2. Referee are jumped-up power hungry c***ts and they deserve everything that comes their way.

From my experience those in the no.2 camp are largely a combination of bullies, cheats and spoiled bastards who have zero interest in fairness or equality. All they want is an official who gives them the ball back on a plate. Even witness anyone on this thread or others who take this stance. They have no interest in referees or refereeing. They just don't want to lose the ability to make a referee cower under their number. So f**k 'em. Time to get in line lads.
Scenario. Ref gives a free for what seems like nothing. Just points. You say what was that for ref? Ball is brought forward 50 yards for a 2 pointer chance. Hardly right.

Quote from: thewobbler on December 18, 2024, 09:47:12 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 18, 2024, 09:28:27 AMI don't necessarily disagree with the sentiment but you have an awful habit of painting the world in black & white and hanging your opinion on it.
You have decided that those are the two camps.
There are a vast array of colours out there.

Honestly I don't think there is.

——-

Here is a common scenario from the neutral's perspective:

There's a high, physical challenge around the 45m line. The big midfielder involved immediately pleads his innocence to the ref. Not to complain about the foul so much as to try to avoid a card.

His teammate, let's call him psycho corner back sees the verbals and runs 40m to join in. Opens with a mouthful of venom, then berates him for missing an "identical" incident in reverse 5 minutes previous. The former incident was a fair shoulder but that's irrelevant.

Ref asks him to go away. He keeps talking, and throws in the famous "there are two teams out here" line. Ref tells him to go away, or he will move the ball up. The psycho tells him he might as well take the kick himself. Ball is moved up 13m. A few more of psycho's teammates get involved in verbals now, disgusted that the ball was moved up. Which ironically leaves the ref with no choice but to move it up 13m more. And after a short pause he finally gets around to booking big midfielder for the high tackle.

Opposition of course score this easy free and with 5-6 of psycho's teammates - plus his management - now focused on the referee,  instead of playing football, they completely lose momentum for a short period of time.

——-

Here's same scenario from psycho corner back's perspective, when talking about it later in the club.

f**king referee is a f**king knob. A cheat. A ****. I tell you. Gave that shower of bastards a free for nothing and when I asked him about it he moved it not f**king once but f**king twice. f**king might as well have put on one of their jerseys the cheating ****.

He's been at it for years. Hates us that ****, hates us. Thinks we are all there to watch him.

——-

If this scenario seems even slightly  far fetched, then you're not watching closely enough. Or at all.

Nobody disagrees with psycho when he's from your club. So he can get away with this nonsense perspective and indeed add to it.

His day is numbered. His own will the turning on him soon. They'll have no choice.
Just take your example.

I don't think many would complain if the psycho corner back is carded and the ball moved up 50 yards.

Under the new rules though- if your example had ended with the big midfielder pleading his innocence- the ball is still moved up 50 yards. Imo thats very harsh. Obviously as long as he isn't screaming abuse at the ref. 

Do any Refs use the black card when they're verbally abused?.

I wonder will CC make any changes after the 1st 2 NFL rounds?

Armagh18, you seem to be operating from the principle that referees are incompetent and incapable of using commonsense.

The 50m rule isn't being brought in to turn referees into unapproachable demi-gods who are empowered to unleash fury at all times.

It's being brought in so that players (and mentors) show greater respect to referees.

Are there poor referees? Yes. Will some of them apply the 50m rule differently? Yes. Will some apply the 50m rule too often? Yes.

But the general trend in your responses to this thread is that the player has a right to call out a referee. Personally I think it's grossly unfair that the independent arbitrator should have to explain and re explain and re explain his decision to people who don't wish to accept the decision. That's the part of the problem that's being resolved here.

I've used it (black card) a few times, maybe could have used it more. I get frustration, annoyance, grievances and all that, but directed personal abuse is not going to cut it, neither is after the explanation for further reasons as to why. Then, that's on the player..

I've played juvenile through to senior in both codes for many many years, I've yet in all those games had the ref go "ah ya know, your right, feck it. no free play on" He may make mistakes and on reflection realise that but that's gone, put the ball down walk away into position 

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

meatsy86

Quote from: Rossfan on December 17, 2024, 04:27:49 PMI see the new 2 pointers have to be kicked cleanly over the bar.
Any deflections (or hitting bar or post???) = 1 point.

Bullshit this is exactly what it says

Q. I take a kick from outside the arc, it landed in the large rectangle and our full-forward punched it over the crossbar? Is it counted a 1 or 2pts score?

A. 1pt. A shot for 2pts must go directly over the bar i.e. it will only count as 1pt if it is flicked/palmed/punched over the crossbar by a player on either team.

Doesnt mention hitting crossbar or posts.

Quote from: meatsy86 on December 18, 2024, 12:49:40 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 17, 2024, 04:27:49 PMI see the new 2 pointers have to be kicked cleanly over the bar.

Q. I take a kick from outside the arc, it landed in the large rectangle and our full-forward punched it over the crossbar? Is it counted a 1 or 2pts score?

A. 1pt. A shot for 2pts must go directly over the bar i.e. it will only count as 1pt if it is flicked/palmed/punched over the crossbar by a player on either team.

That question was asked last night along with others and clarification is required by that rules body on some points that were brought to the committee

Why it wasn't just brought into the FL first instead of just running it with all clubs is beyond me

AustinPowers

What if the keeper/defender on the goal line,  tries to catch the ball above the  crossbar but it slips through his fingers? 1 or 2 points?

I'm assuming only 1.

Which is madness really. Because if your kick  is good enough for a 2 pointer, then  a deflection/partial block  would make it  harder to reach the goal, so it should definitely be a 2 pointer

thebigfullforward

Quote from: AustinPowers on December 18, 2024, 01:31:08 PM

What if the keeper/defender on the goal line,  tries to catch the ball above the  crossbar but it slips through his fingers? 1 or 2 points?

I'm assuming only 1.

Which is madness really. Because if your kick  is good enough for a 2 pointer, then  a deflection/partial block  would make it  harder to reach the goal, so it should definitely be a 2 pointer
What would the rule be if an opposition player goes for a block and gets something on it but not enough to stop it going over the bar? Surely that would be a 2 pointer. Have they clarified all these what ifs anywhere?

Quote from: thebigfullforward on December 18, 2024, 03:00:48 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 18, 2024, 01:31:08 PM

I'm assuming only 1.

What would the rule be if an opposition player goes for a block and gets something on it but not enough to stop it going over the bar? Surely that would be a 2 pointer. Have they clarified all these what ifs anywhere?

No, first chat with those on the frontlines was last night, no doubt there will be a mountain of questions before the likes of the referees have their yearly meetings

AustinPowers

What if  a  player takes a shot outside the 40m arc and it clips a teammate and goes over?

What if it hits the referee   and goes over?

Or a seagull?

I don't think they've  thought this through

Quote from: AustinPowers on December 18, 2024, 03:11:38 PMWhat if  a  player takes a shot outside the 40m arc and it clips a teammate and goes over?

What if it hits the referee   and goes over?

Or a seagull?

I don't think they've  thought this through

Any contact with the ref has always been a hop ball, be no different and if he's clipping a team mate from outside the 40 and it manages to go over, he should be getting 4 points