Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification

Started by BennyCake, September 09, 2014, 12:47:26 PM

statto

On the GAA Tobar website there are 58 frequently asked questions I make it in relation to the rule changes.  That is absolutely shocking that we are asking referees to get up to speed with this amount of change at club level. 

In addition to that a number of players won't know the rules now(more so), not every player is a student of the game which will no doubt result in further disrespect to the man in the middle.  Its not going to be easy for coaches either.       The three up rule would been a good basis for change and possibly the hooter and dissent rule which will help the ref and make it more attractive. 

Quote from: statto on December 18, 2024, 08:48:19 AMOn the GAA Tobar website there are 58 frequently asked questions I make it in relation to the rule changes.  That is absolutely shocking that we are asking referees to get up to speed with this amount of change at club level. 

In addition to that a number of players won't know the rules now(more so), not every player is a student of the game which will no doubt result in further disrespect to the man in the middle.  Its not going to be easy for coaches either.       The three up rule would been a good basis for change and possibly the hooter and dissent rule which will help the ref and make it more attractive. 

Its not just for dissent that you can move the ball forward 50 meters

Also I'm nearly sure he said that he advantage rule is at the referee's discretion  ;D
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: statto on December 18, 2024, 08:48:19 AMOn the GAA Tobar website there are 58 frequently asked questions I make it in relation to the rule changes.  That is absolutely shocking that we are asking referees to get up to speed with this amount of change at club level. 

Think the dissent rule is too harsh. Surely (respectfully/politely obviously) asking why a free was given is ok? Not deserving  of a 50 yard punishment? And putting the ball down rather than handing it to an opponent shouldn't be punished either ffs.

The 3 up

Quote from: Armagh18 on December 18, 2024, 09:07:47 AM

Think the dissent rule is too harsh. Surely (respectfully/politely obviously) asking why a free was given is ok? Not deserving  of a 50 yard punishment? And putting the ball down rather than handing it to an opponent shouldn't be punished either ffs.

The 3 up

The ref at the time explains why he's given the free, tug of jersey, push in back, steps.. so on, Explaining it again is wasted and the player should be getting into position instead of trying to convince the ref he was wrong? 
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

thebigfullforward

In addition to that a number of players won't know the rules now(more so), not every player is a student of the game which will no doubt result in further disrespect to the man in the middle.  Its not going to be easy for coaches either.      The three up rule would been a good basis for change and possibly the hooter and dissent rule which will help the ref and make it more attractive. 

The 3 up
It's all up to the referee which is my problem with it. Some refs could take being questioned as disrespect. We've seen the ball being moved 50m against Maher for standing in front of the man for 1 second. Players and managers are always going to find loopholes. If I was a manager I'd say to my players any time we get a free run into the closest opposition player there is and claim he was stopping you from kicking it. Best case scenario it's brought forward 50m for an easy point, worst case you still get the free from the original position. 0 downside to doing it. I'm sure theres loopholes with the other rules that we'll see in time

statto

In addition to that a number of players won't know the rules now(more so), not every player is a student of the game which will no doubt result in further disrespect to the man in the middle.  Its not going to be easy for coaches either.      The three up rule would been a good basis for change and possibly the hooter and dissent rule which will help the ref and make it more attractive. 

The 3 up
I was at a game in Armagh 2 years ago the ref came over to the two teams and said "my name is x, I prefer to the let the game flow I have no problem with you asking why I give a free but if you raise your voice or shout at me I will move it up.  Have a good game lads" The game passed off without any major incident, there's alot to be said for treating players like adults too.  There will be some referee's who will completely go to town on the dissent rule and there will be carnage. 

statto

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 18, 2024, 09:13:39 AM

The 3 up

The ref at the time explains why he's given the free, tug of jersey, push in back, steps.. so on, Explaining it again is wasted and the player should be getting into position instead of trying to convince the ref he was wrong? 
I am not too sure this happens all the time in reality. 

There's two broad types of mindset towards the 50m dissent rule:

1. This a good thing. I mean like why is it seen as okay in our sport that players can in sequence bellow vile, personal abuse at officials?

2. Referee are jumped-up power hungry c***ts and they deserve everything that comes their way.

From my experience those in the no.2 camp are largely a combination of bullies, cheats and spoiled bastards who have zero interest in fairness or equality. All they want is an official who gives them the ball back on a plate. Even witness anyone on this thread or others who take this stance. They have no interest in referees or refereeing. They just don't want to lose the ability to make a referee cower under their number. So f**k 'em. Time to get in line lads.

Duine Inteacht Eile

I don't necessarily disagree with the sentiment but you have an awful habit of painting the world in black & white and hanging your opinion on it.
You have decided that those are the two camps.
There are a vast array of colours out there.

samuel maguire

Quote from: thewobbler on December 18, 2024, 09:22:34 AMThere's two broad types of mindset towards the 50m dissent rule:

1. This a good thing. I mean like why is it seen as okay in our sport that players can in sequence bellow vile, personal abuse at officials?

2. Referee are jumped-up power hungry c***ts and they deserve everything that comes their way.

From my experience those in the no.2 camp are largely a combination of bullies, cheats and spoiled bastards who have zero interest in fairness or equality. All they want is an official who gives them the ball back on a plate. Even witness anyone on this thread or others who take this stance. They have no interest in referees or refereeing. They just don't want to lose the ability to make a referee cower under their number. So f**k 'em. Time to get in line lads.

Give it a rest you do gooder gimp

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 18, 2024, 09:28:27 AMI don't necessarily disagree with the sentiment but you have an awful habit of painting the world in black & white and hanging your opinion on it.

Honestly I don't think there is.

——-

Here is a common scenario from the neutral's perspective:

There's a high, physical challenge around the 45m line. The big midfielder involved immediately pleads his innocence to the ref. Not to complain about the foul so much as to try to avoid a card.

His teammate, let's call him psycho corner back sees the verbals and runs 40m to join in. Opens with a mouthful of venom, then berates him for missing an "identical" incident in reverse 5 minutes previous. The former incident was a fair shoulder but that's irrelevant.

Ref asks him to go away. He keeps talking, and throws in the famous "there are two teams out here" line. Ref tells him to go away, or he will move the ball up. The psycho tells him he might as well take the kick himself. Ball is moved up 13m. A few more of psycho's teammates get involved in verbals now, disgusted that the ball was moved up. Which ironically leaves the ref with no choice but to move it up 13m more. And after a short pause he finally gets around to booking big midfielder for the high tackle.

Opposition of course score this easy free and with 5-6 of psycho's teammates - plus his management - now focused on the referee,  instead of playing football, they completely lose momentum for a short period of time.

——-

Here's same scenario from psycho corner back's perspective, when talking about it later in the club.

f**king referee is a f**king knob. A cheat. A ****. I tell you. Gave that shower of bastards a free for nothing and when I asked him about it he moved it not f**king once but f**king twice. f**king might as well have put on one of their jerseys the cheating ****.

He's been at it for years. Hates us that ****, hates us. Thinks we are all there to watch him.

——-

If this scenario seems even slightly  far fetched, then you're not watching closely enough. Or at all.

Nobody disagrees with psycho when he's from your club. So he can get away with this nonsense perspective and indeed add to it.

His day is numbered. His own will the turning on him soon. They'll have no choice.

Quote from: statto on December 18, 2024, 09:20:51 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 18, 2024, 09:13:39 AM

The 3 up

I am not too sure this happens all the time in reality. 

So the ref blows whistle and says nothing? No gesture or indication of reason? strange

tiempo

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 18, 2024, 09:28:27 AMI don't necessarily disagree with the sentiment but you have an awful habit of painting the world in black & white and hanging your opinion on it.

There was some nuance in the line bullies, cheats and spoiled bastards which to be fair has a ring of truth to it, ironically proven in the post immediately after yours, because its OK vomit your opinions at people apparently

Quote from: statto on December 18, 2024, 09:19:56 AM

The 3 up
I was at a game in Armagh 2 years ago the ref came over to the two teams and said "my name is x, I prefer to the let the game flow I have no problem with you asking why I give a free but if you raise your voice or shout at me I will move it up.  Have a good game lads" The game passed off without any major incident, there's alot to be said for treating players like adults too.  There will be some referee's who will completely go to town on the dissent rule and there will be carnage.
Yeah know a couple of refs like that. No ego, no bullshit taken.

Quote from: thebigfullforward on December 18, 2024, 09:17:42 AM

The 3 up
It's all up to the referee which is my problem with it. Some refs could take being questioned as disrespect. We've seen the ball being moved 50m against Maher for standing in front of the man for 1 second. Players and managers are always going to find loopholes. If I was a manager I'd say to my players any time we get a free run into the closest opposition player there is and claim he was stopping you from kicking it. Best case scenario it's brought forward 50m for an easy point, worst case you still get the free from the original position. 0 downside to doing it. I'm sure theres loopholes with the other rules that we'll see in time
Yeah definitely, take your solo and go into the nearest man. Can see refs falling for that unfortunately.