ShutterinbyDayGAAbyNight

Brian Fenton

10 x Leinster titles
7 x All-Irelands
4 x NFL
6 x All Stars
2 x GPA Footballer of the Year Awards

Some resume for a fella who played 10 seasons in total.

Only ever lost 3 championship games.

Mayo 2021, Kerry 2022 and Galway 2024.

Not bad going.

Norm-Peterson

I recall going to McKaigue's debut game in Clones, Paddy Crozier's last game as manager and I think it was the last game with the Sperrin Galvanisers sponsor.
This must mean that Emmett Bradley is the only current player who had been born before the 1993 All Ireland.

Gazboy

Y
Quote from: Norm-Peterson on November 19, 2024, 10:33:59 PMI recall going to McKaigue's debut game in Clones, Paddy Crozier's last game as manager and I think it was the last game with the Sperrin Galvanisers sponsor.
This must mean that Emmett Bradley is the only current player who had been born before the 1993 All Ireland.

Yeah was at it myself,even remember Chrissy came on and got a point,sad to see him leave I really thought he would give one last year.

OakleafCounty

Brian Fenton - Best midfielder of his generation without doubt in my mind and up there with the greats. Sorry to see him retire at this point.

Kilkenny hurler Walter Walsh.

Mario

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 19, 2024, 04:13:07 PMOnly ever lost 3 championship games.

Mayo 2021, Kerry 2022 and Galway 2024.

Not bad going.
McKaigue lost 4 last year

Quote from: ShutterinbyDayGAAbyNight on November 19, 2024, 04:10:36 PMBrian Fenton

10 x Leinster titles
7 x All-Irelands
4 x NFL
6 x All Stars
2 x GPA Footballer of the Year Awards

Some resume for a fella who played 10 seasons in total.

Won the U21 All-Ireland in 2014 and may have won minor All-Ireland medal had they picked him.

Are we anywhere close to Louth or another Leinster team catching the Dubs next year? McCarthy and Fenton are serious men to lose, maybe more to follow? And the boys left are another year older.

Surely if Meath and Kildare have anything about them they'll at least put up a fight this year?

I know it was said earlier that it would be interesting to see Fenton in an avergae Dublin team BUT I'd always argue if you are go-to man on an all-time great team that counts for so much.
It's like soccer fans who would argue Gerard over a Keane. Nearly winning or falling short vs winning in the absolute heat of battle is what sets these lads apart.

Sorry, to go on a soccer segway there, but I hope ye get my drift. He did step up so many times. Himself and McCarthy are huge losses. Cluxton is not what he was, McCaffrey may not be back.

The worry is that others who may not be household names are there and ready. Naas have dominated Kildare but lost to Cuala who brought on a kid who scored 3 points. It was the other O'Callaghan doing the damage.

But, if Leinster is to have any jeopardy the others need to grab any chance. I wonder if Kilkenny might think twice? A lot of mileage done.

Ethan Tremblay

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 20, 2024, 05:47:04 PMAre we anywhere close to Louth or another Leinster team catching the Dubs next year? McCarthy and Fenton are serious men to lose, maybe more to follow? And the boys left are another year older.

Surely if Meath and Kildare have anything about them they'll at least put up a fight this year?

I would say there could be a vulnerability to Dublin with some big leaders leaving the group.  Dublin still stacked with talent of course, but there may be a slight transition. 

Lucky for them they will have the league to get that right. 
I tend to think of myself as a one man wolfpack...

onefineday

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on November 20, 2024, 06:24:05 PMBut, if Leinster is to have any jeopardy the others need to grab any chance. I wonder if Kilkenny might think twice? A lot of mileage done.

I don't think even the news of Fenton's retirement will be enough to coax Kilkenny back into the Leinster championship.

Never know. They've maybe been waiting for this

"I never wanted to hang around too long. I watched guys over the years and thought, 'you're just chasing it' I wanted to get out with a bit left in the tank."

James McCarthy