Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification

Started by BennyCake, September 09, 2014, 12:47:26 PM

Quote from: Rossfan on October 09, 2024, 01:03:12 PMYou're all for it but then you say most of the rules are silly  and won't be implemented?!,

Nothing about the handpass, throw points or "push" goals.
Does anything in the new proposals stop sideways backwards passing or the other team standing back letting them at it?

Is there currently a rule that you can throw a point? What's wrong with "push" goals?

Saffron_sam20

Quote from: Rossfan on October 09, 2024, 01:03:12 PMYou 're all for it but then you say most of the rules are silly  and won't be implemented?!,

Does anything in the new proposals stop sideways backwards passing or the other team standing back letting them at it?

Exactly, at least if they were tried in preseason comps players would be building for something and it would give a better indication.

The 2 point and 4 pt for a goal are insane, it will do nothing to close the gap, if anything it'll widen hammerings for the bigger counties.

It'll also make refereeing club games much more difficult.

Quote from: Armagh18 on October 09, 2024, 01:45:55 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 09, 2024, 01:03:12 PMYou're all for it but then you say most of the rules are silly  and won't be implemented?!,

Is there currently a rule that you can throw a point? What's wrong with "push" goals?

Think the distinction between throwing a ball and pushing it is clear enough? To throw the ball the player will have taken possession of the ball? and pushing it means he hasn't taken possession of the ball and steers it into the net? a bit like if two midfielders climb to contest the ball at the throw in and one player palms the ball to his midfield partner?

Not sure what you mean about the difference?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

GTP

I'm not convinced new rules will improve the game - the forward mark has done nothing to bring about high fielding but will linger on under the latest set of rules. The black card is a good idea but isn't implemented consistently and players now drag someone back rather than down when making a tactical foul, so it doesn't achieve one of its primary objectives.
You have the further problem of identifying which rules are making things better when more than 1 is introduced to a sport at a time. We can watch the trial games and think great more long distance shooting and a less packed defence - but is it a result of the new arc, keeping players up the pitch, a mixture of both or simply an artificial effect of the game being a friendly.
As well intentioned and well informed as those introducing the rules are they cannot possibly consider the effect on all levels of the game. My feeling is they have concentrated on county football not what effect it will have on a wet and windy night up at Owenbeg between two junior teams.

samuel maguire

Which part of that can you not comprehend? These games will not just find rules that work but also find the rules that don't really work.
If they come up with 1/2 rules that improve the game like i mentioned then im all for it.

Cavan19

Quote from: samuel maguire on October 09, 2024, 02:27:57 PM

Which part of that can you not comprehend? These games will not just find rules that work but also find the rules that don't really work.
If they come up with 1/2 rules that improve the game like i mentioned then im all for it.

Will they though ? It's teams thrown together basically playing challenge games. Wait till the likes of McGuinness and O'Connor get a winter to prepare for the changes and then we will see what will work or won't work.

Quote from: Cavan19 on October 09, 2024, 02:40:38 PMWill they though ? It's teams thrown together basically playing challenge games. Wait till the likes of McGuinness and O'Connor get a winter to prepare for the changes and then we will see what will work or won't work.

That's the thing this will be tippy-tappy football with no intensity, no real structure of play, no structure of defending or attacking. Just a bunch of decent footballers having the craic.

Quote from: From the Bunker on October 09, 2024, 03:08:08 PM
Quote from: Cavan19 on October 09, 2024, 02:40:38 PMWill they though ? It's teams thrown together basically playing challenge games. Wait till the likes of McGuinness and O'Connor get a winter to prepare for the changes and then we will see what will work or won't work.

That's the thing this will be tippy-tappy football with no intensity, no real structure of play, no structure of defending or attacking. Just a bunch of decent footballers having the craic.

Nothing wrong with that, but at least we'll be able to weed out some of the rules suggested and then next year can maybe bring in one or two decent ones. They need to look at the the forward mark and black card as neither are doing much for the game.

That's the problem-using 4 "tippy tappy' games as a final trial and then Special Congress November and implemented in January which will be 1st serious trial in a real game.

I have no problem with a public trial as planned but the headlong rush based on challenge games.....

Saffron_sam20

Quote from: Armagh18 on October 09, 2024, 03:16:29 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 09, 2024, 03:08:08 PM

Nothing wrong with that, but at least we'll be able to weed out some of the rules suggested and then next year can maybe bring in one or two decent ones. They need to look at the the forward mark and black card as neither are doing much for the game.

But there is something wrong with it if people use it as justification to bring in rule changes. The scoring change won't work. The 2 men for a throw in is grand but is that really a problem at the min? The kick out has the potential to be a disaster with weather.

I agree that the forward mark should go, but if anything they are making it even more favourable for the forward in the trial rules

Will watch the games with an open mind but am skeptical on several of them. Solo and Go is the only one I'm genuinely keen on.

There's a big series of explainers on the RTE website with Gavin and Fitzmaurice. Fitzmaurice himself contradicts the proposed new kickout rule when discussing penalties for players interfering with the keeper by, for example, "staying inside the 20m line." Under the proposed rule, players can explicitly remain inside the 20m line.

square_ball

The vanishing foam to mark where the free kick should be taken should be a no brainer to introduce. The yards being stole by free kick takers is getting worse. I am not sure why referees aren't penalising this as it is.

Yeah, stuff like that is a no brainer. Same for clamping down on dissent and being more punitive about tactical fouling. However, that's all largely run of the mill stuff that you might see year to year at Congress. What is much more interesting/potentially impactful is what the FRC are calling the 7 Core Enhancements, where, to my mind anyway, they're really actively trying to change gameplay to, as they see it, improve the spectacle.

1) 1v1 throw ins - don't think this is the issue it's made out to be

2) Kickouts - as above

3) Goalkeeper backpass

4) 2 point arc and scoring system

5) 3v3 structure

6) Solo and go

7 Advanced mark. I'd prefer they simply got rid of it altogether. Don't like fact that there's essentially unlimited advantage at the referee's discretion and that reward for executing a skill is so heavily weighted towards attacking players.

Must say I like the bit of argybargy for the 4 man throw in, about the only time a bit of physicality is still allowed.