clonian

Quote from: johnnycool on September 23, 2024, 11:35:24 AM
Quote from: clonian on September 20, 2024, 12:10:58 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on September 20, 2024, 11:53:38 AM
Quote from: ck on September 20, 2024, 11:06:06 AM
Quote from: Truthsayer on September 19, 2024, 01:33:18 PM
Quote from: ck on September 19, 2024, 01:07:59 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on September 19, 2024, 11:09:52 AMDid you make up or embellish half of that? He is on record as saying only club members should manage a club, same as being a player. To transfer to a club have to live or work in the area (though I sure is ones get around that!). As he lives in Mayo...
Do you know that Dungiven wouldn't have him or is that just an opinion?
Which positions did he apply for and 'get laughed out of it'?
He was turned down at St Brigids, don't know if he was laughed out of it... was very successful as a minor manager there. Which others? Maybe he was.. just wondering.
Seems you are accusing him of the very thing you are doing.... or is all your comments factual?
Where does he get time for the podcasts!! What? !

I think it's a fair point that you raise re facts so I'll stick to them rather than muddy with my opinion. I stand to be corrected here but he won nothing as a club minor manager, with reportedly the best team in the county. The team was taken over by someone else and they won the u20 c/ship. Also I am familiar with Dungiven Gaels and they'd be sharp in their response when Brolly is mentioned!

So all any "outside" manager has to do is to be a club member and all is forgiven by Brolly? That's just ridiculous, surely anyone can become a club member? Unless you put a time frame on it, say has to be a member for 3 years? What about the ex player whos membership has lapsed, can he not manage the team? It's just nonsense.

Did he not manage St Brigids to win the Antrim minor championship? I think he did... and got to U16 Paul McGirr Cup final (Ulster).
Club player is supposed to live or work in the area and he suggested the manager be the same, so there no need to wait three years. I took it to mean manage a team in Mayo as he now lives there. I doubt he needs money through that source of income.
Dungiven haven't won the county championship since he was playing, 1997 so players not in much of a position to slag him off. 

No he won nothing with minors (I checked it out) and took them at u20 also and went out in 1st round.
New man took on u20s year after and they won the c/ship, so I'm not sure why he thinks he should be considered for a senior job. It smacks of entitlement and arrogance.
You mentioned Brollys assertion that "outside" managers should be club members which you clarified as living and working in the area. Brolly didnt even live in county Antrim, he lived in Co.Down next door to Bredagh GAC. By his own logic he rules himself out again of any dealings with St.Brigids. His own son plays for Bredagh.
Now he's talking about managing a club in Mayo.

It's just the endless hypocracy and BS that he spouts which seems to fool a lot of people.

Who did you check it out with? A mirror? That's full of either deliberate or ignorant inaccuracies and I can't be bothered going through them all.
He won minor and U16 county titles with St Brigids, lived in Co Antrim and had son with St Brigids  :D

https://www.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=999907340138972&id=100063927880237

One of his sons hurls for Bredagh - hence one of the stories about Bredagh & St Patricks (Ballela & Ballyvarley) a couple of weeks ago in the podcast. He said minor semi final but it was u16.

Yes, he's a son who hurls with Bredagh, but what did he say in the podcast about the U16 shield final against St Patricks combo?

He said one of the Bredagh lads judo threw an umpire and stuff like that. Think there was feck all in it but I wasn't there. He named the grandfather of the Bredagh lad who scored the point to win it too.

Snapchap

Brolly's work as a defence barrister pales into insignificance when compared to Truthsayers relentless efforts at defending Joe against absolutely any form of criticism 😂

Truthsayer

Quote from: Snapchap on September 26, 2024, 07:15:21 AMBrolly's work as a defence barrister pales into insignificance when compared to Truthsayers relentless efforts at defending Joe against absolutely any form of criticism 😂
Needs to be some counter argument. Must be the only thread dedicated to the hatred of an individual... and the scrutiny of every aspect of his life.

thebuzz

Quote from: Truthsayer on September 26, 2024, 09:35:58 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on September 26, 2024, 07:15:21 AMBrolly's work as a defence barrister pales into insignificance when compared to Truthsayers relentless efforts at defending Joe against absolutely any form of criticism 😂
Needs to be some counter argument. Must be the only thread dedicated to the hatred of an individual... and the scrutiny of every aspect of his life.
The part in bold is unbelievable but so true. I have absolutely no problem with Joe. He's a bit of a bullshitter at times but I find him very entertaining and his heart is in the right place. As with all extroverts it's love him or hate him. There's no in between.
We met him coming out of a Monaghan/Derry game in the Athletic Grounds and he was more than nice posing for photos with us and having the craic. You can only take people the way you find them.

paddyjohn

I've a solution for you all who don't like Brollys - don't follow him or listen to his podcast. Simples.

93-DY-SAM

Quote from: paddyjohn on September 26, 2024, 11:22:05 AMI've a solution for you all who don't like Brollys - don't follow him or listen to his podcast. Simples.

I've been saying that for a while here but some lads just like the feeling of perpetual outrage at Joe's mere existence.

Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on May 23, 2024, 11:44:24 AMSome lads here have a serious fixation with Brolly and every word that is uttered from his lips. Best to do what the rest of us do and ignore it. Trust me, your day will feel better for it.

Snapchap

I haven't seen much evidence of "hate" or "outrage". I don't like him. I've posted numerous times about his egotism and his levels of hypocrisy which are just OFF THE CHARTS, but I don't "hate" him in the slightest. Nor am I "outraged" by him. In regards the suggestion above that "his heart is in the right place", there's no doubt that he has done some good for some people, but he is quite clearly capable of being a nasty little bully when he wants to be. Just look back at the persistant, deeply nasty and sometimes obscene personal abuse he has directed at people like Mickey Harte and Justin McNulty from his various public platforms.

And as for the "if you don't like him, don't listen to him" line which has been posted to this thread multiple times, I again say just because I don't like him, doesn't mean his podcast can't be entertaining. I listened to some Pearse Morgan uncensored episodes recently, and Pearse is one of the most morally deplorable sc*mbags in broadcasting.

And for what it's worth regarding my post above about truthsayer's valliant efforts at defending him, I have no issue with that either. I just find it comical at this stage.

Truthsayer

Quote from: Snapchap on September 26, 2024, 01:17:56 PMI haven't seen much evidence of "hate" or "outrage". I don't like him. I've posted numerous times about his egotism and his levels of hypocrisy which are just OFF THE CHARTS, but I don't "hate" him in the slightest. Nor am I "outraged" by him. In regards the suggestion above that "his heart is in the right place", there's no doubt that he has done some good for some people, but he is quite clearly capable of being a nasty little bully when he wants to be. Just look back at the persistant, deeply nasty and sometimes obscene personal abuse he has directed at people like Mickey Harte and Justin McNulty from his various public platforms.

And as for the "if you don't like him, don't listen to him" line which has been posted to this thread multiple times, I again say just because I don't like him, doesn't mean his podcast can't be entertaining. I listened to some Pearse Morgan uncensored episodes recently, and Pearse is one of the most morally deplorable sc*mbags in broadcasting.

And for what it's worth regarding my post above about truthsayer's valliant efforts at defending him, I have no issue with that either. I just find it comical at this stage.
Each to their own I suppose.. I feel similarly bout Harte but wouldn't listen to him for one minute if I could avoid it nor would I want to see a thread dedicated to a constant diatribe of hate towards him and scrutinising every facet of his life.

Quote from: Truthsayer on September 26, 2024, 01:51:03 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on September 26, 2024, 01:17:56 PMI haven't seen much evidence of "hate" or "outrage". I don't like him. I've posted numerous times about his egotism and his levels of hypocrisy which are just OFF THE CHARTS, but I don't "hate" him in the slightest. Nor am I "outraged" by him. In regards the suggestion above that "his heart is in the right place", there's no doubt that he has done some good for some people, but he is quite clearly capable of being a nasty little bully when he wants to be. Just look back at the persistant, deeply nasty and sometimes obscene personal abuse he has directed at people like Mickey Harte and Justin McNulty from his various public platforms.

Each to their own I suppose.. I feel similarly bout Harte but wouldn't listen to him for one minute if I could avoid it nor would I want to see a thread dedicated to a constant diatribe of hate towards him and scrutinising every facet of his life.

It's not hate though and you know it. Brolly is called out on his personal attacks on people from his pulpit and his bullsh1t. 450 pages = a helluva lot of bullsh1t and personal attacks

Truthsayer

Quote from: JoG2 on September 26, 2024, 01:56:49 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on September 26, 2024, 01:51:03 PM

It's not hate though and you know it. Brolly is called out on his personal attacks on people from his pulpit and his bullsh1t. 450 pages = a helluva lot of bullsh1t and personal attacks
There has been hate-filled posts... definitely. More recently questioning his ability as a barrister like wtf!

The thing is hate filled is what Brolly appears to be wrt Harte so there is some irony in calling out people for hate filled posts about a man who has almost strayed into hate himself. (FWIW I don't mind him that much but he has completely lost the run of himself so isn't really worth listening to any more. I would hope he claws that back at some stage but at the minute he's not worth listening to).

Truthsayer

Quote from: imtommygunn on September 26, 2024, 02:15:15 PMThe thing is hate filled is what Brolly appears to be wrt Harte so there is some irony in calling out people for hate filled posts about a man who has almost strayed into hate himself. (FWIW I don't mind him that much but he has completely lost the run of himself so isn't really worth listening to any more. I would hope he claws that back at some stage but at the minute he's not worth listening to).
Yeah I don't disagree with you.. he despises Harte has done so long before he went to Derry. Hed hardly listen to his podcasts! Hatred not good for the soul...

Brolly is an extreme character. He was extreme as a player and as an analyst.

He has to be the center of attention. His opinion over-rides everyone else.

He is erratic and highly charged.

He has his romantic view of a True Gael.

With all the media gigs, the distractions and the present location he resides - I find it hard to believe that he works as a Barrister. Or that he has any kind of ''Normal'' job in Antrim.

Truthsayer

Quote from: From the Bunker on September 26, 2024, 03:43:45 PMBrolly is an extreme character. He was extreme as a player and as an analyst.

He has to be the center of attention. His opinion over-rides everyone else.

He is erratic and highly charged.

He has his romantic view of a True Gael.

With all the media gigs, the distractions and the present location he resides - I find it hard to believe that he works as a Barrister. Or that he has any kind of ''Normal'' job in Antrim.

I just don't get why it is neccessary to get into that... he was recently involved in the Stardust case one of the biggest injustices in Ireland in the last 50 years.. which brought the truth for families who lost loved ones. Why is it neccessary to question his professional life?