Joe Brolly

Started by randomtask, July 31, 2011, 05:28:31 PM

My point is that one of the most basic factors in Irish national identity is having learned to sing/or mumble the national anthem as gaeilge as it is sung in public, not in English but gaelge. Should you choose not to sing it, fair play that's a choice, but it's only a choice if you already know how to sing it.  Those Tyrone lads already had an imposed inferiority complex re their national identity which had to do with their native schooling/social enviornment/family upbringing. Fair play to Mickey and then Michaela for doing something about it but the fact of them having an 'inferior national indentity' had a lot to do with their upbringing. 

Truthsayer

Quote from: Main Street on August 25, 2024, 01:00:38 AMMy point is that one of the most basic factors in Irish national identity is having learned to sing/or mumble the national anthem as gaeilge as it is sung in public, not in English but gaelge. Should you choose not to sing it, fair play that's a choice, but it's only a choice if you already know how to sing it.  Those Tyrone lads already had an imposed inferiority complex re their national identity which had to do with their native schooling/social enviornment/family upbringing. Fair play to Mickey and then Michaela for doing something about it but the fact of them having an 'inferior national indentity' had a lot to do with their upbringing. 
You're determined to pursue this sociological theory  :D  it is absolute nonsense. I'd say you know nothing about their schooling/social environment/family upbringing. Most of them had already won All Irelands at underage level so obviously didn't feel that inferior about their national identity or playing their national game... knowing Harte it was one of many bonding gimmicks he used... often very effectively.

Quote from: Truthsayer on August 25, 2024, 01:28:37 AM
Quote from: Main Street on August 25, 2024, 01:00:38 AMMy point is that one of the most basic factors in Irish national identity is having learned to sing/or mumble the national anthem as gaeilge as it is sung in public, not in English but gaelge. Should you choose not to sing it, fair play that's a choice, but it's only a choice if you already know how to sing it.  Those Tyrone lads already had an imposed inferiority complex re their national identity which had to do with their native schooling/social enviornment/family upbringing. Fair play to Mickey and then Michaela for doing something about it but the fact of them having an 'inferior national indentity' had a lot to do with their upbringing. 
You're determined to pursue this sociological theory  :D  it is absolute nonsense. I'd say you know nothing about their schooling/social environment/family upbringing. Most of them had already won All Irelands at underage level so obviously didn't feel that inferior about their national identity or playing their national game... knowing Harte it was one of many bonding gimmicks he used... often very effectively.

Quote from: Main Street on September 15, 2024, 04:40:41 PM
I am referencing what a senior player gave account to and to what Mickey wrote about in his book and his reasons for teaching the players to sing AnbF phonetically as part of his strategy for the players to fully believe that they were as good as any southern Irish national. You can believe what you want.

Truthsayer

Quote from: Main Street on September 15, 2024, 04:54:07 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 15, 2024, 04:40:41 PM
I am referencing what a senior player gave account to and to what Mickey wrote about in his book and his reasons for teaching the players to sing AnbF phonetically as part of his strategy for the players to fully believe that they were as good as any southern Irish national. You can believe what you want.
Three weeks later you back with this  :D It's not what I believe, it's what I know. I live here and I know those players. You're talking through your Monaghan hat kid!

Joe became a dad again at the weekend with his 2nd wife from Mayo.  He already had five children from his first marriage.

Quote from: Blowitupref on September 17, 2024, 10:36:39 PMJoe became a dad again at the weekend with his 2nd wife from Mayo.  He already had five children from his first marriage.

Congrats to Joe and the Mrs in that case

Joe still has lead in the pencil...fair play at his age. If you're reading this Joe stay off the blue pills...

maldini

In this weeks episode Joe went mad at Dion for saying he likes John Finucane but doesn't agree with his politics, yet he's said himself on the podcast a few times that he's never voted for Sinn Fein

LC

The cheek of that Dion boy having an opinion of his own..............

Truthsayer

Aye he was a bit hard on Dion... very defensive of the Finucanes I'd say more in response to the loyalist maggot on Twitter who seeks to tarnish the name of Pat Finucane. Is good they don't name him as in his eyes would be attention he cwaves. Joe did refer to the comments about the Finucanes and yer man the loyalist lisp never stops mouthing bout them.

Would Joe be a well respected barrister or a bit of a head the ball?

Truthsayer

I'd say in court wudnt be as outrageous... was on the Stardust enquiry so obviously well got. Punditry-podcast etc would be a playground...

Quote from: JimStynes on September 18, 2024, 05:36:42 PMWould Joe be a well respected barrister or a bit of a head the ball?

He is very good and has been on plenty of high profile stuff his whole career.

HokeyPokey

Quote from: maldini on September 18, 2024, 03:57:01 PMIn this weeks episode Joe went mad at Dion for saying he likes John Finucane but doesn't agree with his politics, yet he's said himself on the podcast a few times that he's never voted for Sinn Fein

For a man who says he has never voted for SF, it's strange that they are pretty much the only party I've heard him be positive about or defend, and not a mild way. Sure look at him piling on the SDLP for not standing aside in East Derry for SF, even though the SDLP had the larger vote share in the previous election and I'm sure he has criticised unionist pacts in the past too.