Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification

Started by BennyCake, September 09, 2014, 12:47:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Milltown Row2

Quote from: marty34 on June 24, 2024, 09:46:20 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 24, 2024, 09:36:41 AM
Quote from: Link on June 23, 2024, 01:19:37 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2024, 01:15:32 PM
Quote from: Link on June 23, 2024, 12:42:53 PMIn hurling, if you attempt to pull on the ball and miss it plus don't make contact with another hurl/player whilst another player from the opposition controls and catches the ball, is it a foul?

Unsure if there is a hurling version of this thread but wondered on the above.

Another interesting one is Shane O'Donnell's goal yesterday. 10 or 11 steps but is fouled twice during this.

If you attempt to play the ball and miss both ball player then that's fine. If you pull early, wildly/dangerously/carelessly then that's a yellow card, if you connect with the head it's a red.

Not sure on O'Donnell's steps, didn't see game but .. if fouled twice did the ref give advantage?

I've seen one ref in antrim play on, the other give a free. Exact same situation, both were honest attempts at a pull.

I'm going to assume ref gave advantage for O'Donnell as they were clear fouls. Ball ended up in the net after all the steps and wexford didn't appeal it.

The O'Donnell type situation and the advantage rule is a strange one.

It seems to be that once the player in possession is fouled the referee resets (whether intentionally or not) the step count to zero. In that one on Saturday the Wexford lad persisted with the fouling and O'Donnell continued to take steps all the while the referee played advantage.

Once O'Donnell broke free he did play the ball as up to that point he couldn't play the ball due to the pulling on his arms.

I've said all along, stop the "spare arm tackle" which isn't in the rulebook for hurling and enforce the steps rule and we'll have a better game where defenders will be taught to tackle properly and have the ability to take the ball from an opponent who can't overcarry.

That cat is well out of the bag though!





Like the 'handpass'.

I think the spare arm came in by footballers tackling, I'd have encouraged that when manager as it was a way our lads were 'grappling' at the ball in hand to dislodge it, using football tackles in hurling, it has since developed into something more and is a nuisance, having not seen the above incident with O'Donnell but gathering what you are saying, and with you being as young as me will know that the old referee's used to give a player a chance to break the tackle when foul to let it develop.

This was called the 'slow whistle' the advantage rule came in to change that and give an advantage, what we have now a mixed bag of slow whistle and advantage.. That needs to change.. guilty sometimes of that also 
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

AustinPowers

So, the Niall Grimley  attacking mark yesterday

Should he have been given  his attacking free/mark?

If only we had a referee on the  board  ;D

Nanderson

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 30, 2024, 12:14:19 PMSo, the Niall Grimley  attacking mark yesterday

Should he have been given  his attacking free/mark?

If only we had a referee on the  board  ;D
imo i would have given it to him. Landed infield

Armagh18

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 30, 2024, 12:14:19 PMSo, the Niall Grimley  attacking mark yesterday

Should he have been given  his attacking free/mark?

If only we had a referee on the  board  ;D
Definitely.

Serious fetch wasn't it.

Milltown Row2

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 30, 2024, 12:14:19 PMSo, the Niall Grimley  attacking mark yesterday

Should he have been given  his attacking free/mark?

If only we had a referee on the  board  ;D

Sure everyone is a referee on here, all ya need is a tennis umpire seat at the side of the pitch, plant yourself down and call it!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

theticklemister

Here's wan.

A fella claims a mark from kickout.

Referee blows whistle as he catches the ball.

But as he comes down from the catch he drops the ball.

What happens.

I'm a referee, I've done this a few times. Players stop and look at you. I say play on and I blew it thinking he was going to continue to hold the ball, but he dropped it.

I could wait a few extra seconds to see if he completes the whole catch but that encourages tackling of the player.

Cavan19

Quote from: theticklemister on July 03, 2024, 05:29:02 AMHere's wan.

A fella claims a mark from kickout.

Referee blows whistle as he catches the ball.

But as he comes down from the catch he drops the ball.

What happens.

I'm a referee, I've done this a few times. Players stop and look at you. I say play on and I blew it thinking he was going to continue to hold the ball, but he dropped it.

I could wait a few extra seconds to see if he completes the whole catch but that encourages tackling of the player.

Anytime i have ever seen that happy the referee has always given the mark to the annoyance of the opposition.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Once you have blown the whistle you have awarded the mark.

Milltown Row2

As DIE has said once you have blown, rightly or wrongly you must give that decision, been caught out a few times like that but all I say is, the ball has been caught cleanly first, I've blown for the mark, he's went on and dropped it, but I'm not entirely sure if the wording for the mark lets you off with that.

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

gaaman2016

Player (who happens to be a defender) calls an attacking mark on the 21 slightly on the angle, not fancying the kick goes down holding his hamstring. Referee proceeds to let their free taker who was about 40 yards away and not the closest player to take the mark instead, and he scores his 9th placed ball of the day.

Injured player leaves the field for treatment, comes back on and then sprints down the pitch (clearly hamstring has miraculously recovered) to his own half and finishes the game. Is this within the rules or did the ref get it wrong?

Duine Inteacht Eile

Wrong.
Should have been closest player taking the kick.
We can't account for him being duped by play acting. Who is to know?

Milltown Row2

Quote from: gaaman2016 on July 03, 2024, 09:22:42 AMPlayer (who happens to be a defender) calls an attacking mark on the 21 slightly on the angle, not fancying the kick goes down holding his hamstring. Referee proceeds to let their free taker who was about 40 yards away and not the closest player to take the mark instead, and he scores his 9th placed ball of the day.

Injured player leaves the field for treatment, comes back on and then sprints down the pitch (clearly hamstring has miraculously recovered) to his own half and finishes the game. Is this within the rules or did the ref get it wrong?

Injured player can opt out, its the nearest player and they have 15 seconds to play, though if injured player is getting initial treatment before going off at position of mark, then what do we do? The rule does not state that the best free taker can't take free, if a player fakes an injury, what can we do? we aint medics and not our job to diagnose.. 
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

AustinPowers

Regarding the Foot block

Just watched Armagh Kerry highlights  again. 

Ball on the ground, Kelly prods the ball  towards goal, Kerry defender  blocks the ball  with his foot.

Is that a  penalty?

Or is it only a penalty  when the ball is  kicked  from the attackers hands?

JoG2

Quote from: AustinPowers on July 17, 2024, 12:41:12 AMRegarding the Foot block

Just watched Armagh Kerry highlights  again. 

Ball on the ground, Kelly prods the ball  towards goal, Kerry defender  blocks the ball  with his foot.

Is that a  penalty? No

Or is it only a penalty  when the ball is  kicked  from the attackers hands? Yes

StephenC

U16 game. Full back is taking kickouts rather than the keeper.

Keeper must stand in the small square for the KO?

Can the first pass after the kickout go back to the keeper? Or can it not go back to either the kicker or the keeper?