Euro 2024

Started by statto, May 22, 2024, 08:02:05 AM

They're a poor team. No concerns about them winning it.

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 20, 2024, 08:46:05 PMGlad to say that was fairly poor from  England , but unfortunately  though, they  are still in it , and already through to the  last 16

Should have been beaten tonight , but  I wont be able to sit comfortably until they're on a plane  home.

Hopefully they'll  continue to play as  poor as that and the first decent team will  send them packing
Yeah only really enjoy a tournament when I know they have started their summer holidays.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 20, 2024, 09:01:31 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on June 20, 2024, 08:46:05 PMGlad to say that was fairly poor from  England , but unfortunately  though, they  are still in it , and already through to the  last 16

Should have been beaten tonight , but  I wont be able to sit comfortably until they're on a plane  home.

Hopefully they'll  continue to play as  poor as that and the first decent team will  send them packing
Yeah only really enjoy a tournament when I know they have started their summer holidays.
That penalty shootout against Italy was serious, serious craic (thankfully they did an Armagh)

straightred

Spain are impressive. Italy hanging on and will be lucky if this is only 1-0. Good game

Very one-sided game, that.  Spain look very good.

Pub Bore

England very lucky to be in what looks like the weakest group.  If they meet, Spain will dismantle them.

Quote from: Pub Bore on June 21, 2024, 12:08:20 PMEngland very lucky to be in what looks like the weakest group.  If they meet, Spain will dismantle them.

Is there no other left full backs in England other than the perennially injured Shaw?

Kane is bolloxed, Southgate did the right thing in taking him off and bringing on Watkins, who's prepared to stay up the field and try to run the channels in behind these high lined defences. Foden isn't the worst and he may get a more central role if Southgate drops TAA and then plays Bellingham deeper, but Gordon must have really blotted the copy book to not get a look in at left side of that attack!

Radio 5 live was choice this morning, all doom and gloom apart from an Irish girl now living in England pointing out to them that there's no joy in them but that comes from their arrogance and entitlement.

Pub Bore

Quote from: johnnycool on June 21, 2024, 12:25:57 PM
Quote from: Pub Bore on June 21, 2024, 12:08:20 PMEngland very lucky to be in what looks like the weakest group.  If they meet, Spain will dismantle them.

Is there no other left full backs in England other than the perennially injured Shaw?

Kane is bolloxed, Southgate did the right thing in taking him off and bringing on Watkins, who's prepared to stay up the field and try to run the channels in behind these high lined defences. Foden isn't the worst and he may get a more central role if Southgate drops TAA and then plays Bellingham deeper, but Gordon must have really blotted the copy book to not get a look in at left side of that attack!

Radio 5 live was choice this morning, all doom and gloom apart from an Irish girl now living in England pointing out to them that there's no joy in them but that comes from their arrogance and entitlement.

I hear Lineker had a go at him on the BBC.  It's rare you get that from an English pundit.  Kane never had any speed but he looks slow and cumbersome compared to the other strikers in the tournament.  Rice was feckin' awful, a poor man's Ray Wilkins.

Have been saying a long time that Rice is overrated. Now he fair burst the lungs singing the British anthem but that's all he did. Shame someone like that ever got to sully the Irish geansaí.

AustinPowers

Quote from: Armagh18 on June 20, 2024, 09:09:20 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 20, 2024, 09:01:31 PM

That penalty shootout against Italy was serious, serious craic (thankfully they did an Armagh)

Craic me arse. That was too close for  comfort . Ideally you want them out  in the early rounds  so they're nowhere near winning it

AustinPowers

Quote from: weareros on June 21, 2024, 12:43:34 PMHave been saying a long time that Rice is overrated. Now he fair burst the lungs singing the British anthem but that's all he did. Shame someone like that ever got to sully the Irish geansaí.

He  must have knackered himself singing  for his king

You're right though. All this craic about  Ireland should have  capped him so he couldn't  declare for England. Feck that ,  good riddance to him

Quote from: weareros on June 21, 2024, 12:43:34 PMHave been saying a long time that Rice is overrated. Now he fair burst the lungs singing the British anthem but that's all he did. Shame someone like that ever got to sully the Irish geansaí.

Bellingham or Foden I don't think are overrated but Rice very over rated. He doesn't have good enough technical ability. The new story seems to be that England don't know how to replace Kalvin Phillips. Sure he's useless ;D

I do think Saka is a bit overrated. When the going gets tough he seems to go a bit missing. Definitely a gifted player but in one off games I think he can be managed (from an opposition point of view).

straightred

Quote from: imtommygunn on June 21, 2024, 01:51:08 PM

Bellingham or Foden I don't think are overrated but Rice very over rated. He doesn't have good enough technical ability. The new story seems to be that England don't know how to replace Kalvin Phillips. Sure he's useless ;D

I do think Saka is a bit overrated. When the going gets tough he seems to go a bit missing. Definitely a gifted player but in one off games I think he can be managed (from an opposition point of view).
I don't watch much premiership but anytime I've seen Cole Palmer recently i've been impressed. Surely he has to be worth a run

An Watcher

Lol, I'm with you straightred but think Dean Ashton is ahead of him 8n the peck8ng order

straightred

Quote from: An Watcher on June 21, 2024, 05:50:09 PMLol, I'm with you straightred but think Dean Ashton is ahead of him 8n the peck8ng order
I fixed it... what a brain fart that was :-) Its been a long week