Official Gooners Thread - A New Hope

Started by Dinny Breen, November 10, 2006, 09:10:06 AM

Quote from: ONeill on February 28, 2016, 04:11:35 PM
Bottlers.

And Theo's on £140'000 a week. Seriously. Alexis' form a mess too.

A shower of shit.
even worse when the spuds win I imagine

As I've asked here before, is Walcott the worst 'regarded' player in premier league? James Milner is maybe worse, but not quite as highly 'regarded'....

I haven't read any posts but Arsenal under Wenger aren't going to change, there is a mental fragility that stems from his leadership, that won't go until he does. If you look through this thread it's a common and reoccurring theme. Tyroneman annoys me at times as he beats the same drum, that doesn't make him wrong and yesterday was just another example.

However you look at Liverpool and Man United and you can see that appointing the right manager to take a club forward is a hard science to get right. It's about attracting players, it's about developing players, it's about instilling belief and being tactical innovative. Diego Simone anyone?

The only thing Walcott has added to his game in 10 years is a beard. Shit on a stick.

Spurs in a couple of weeks will be very interesting.

Quote from: Canalman on February 29, 2016, 01:15:45 PM
Spurs in a couple of weeks will be very interesting.

This Saturday is it not, Spuds can draw.

sensethetone

Might be following game is Spurs match.

Spurs match this Saturday at lunch time.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 29, 2016, 01:09:56 PM
I haven't read any posts but Arsenal under Wenger aren't going to change, there is a mental fragility that stems from his leadership, that won't go until he does. If you look through this thread it's a common and reoccurring theme. Tyroneman annoys me at times as he beats the same drum, that doesn't make him wrong and yesterday was just another example.

However you look at Liverpool and Man United and you can see that appointing the right manager to take a club forward is a hard science to get right. It's about attracting players, it's about developing players, it's about instilling belief and being tactical innovative. Diego Simone anyone?

The only thing Walcott has added to his game in 10 years is a beard. Shit on a stick.

I'm happy with change for the sake of change. Sick and tired of the same  - bottling big games, CL second phase knockout, lack of leaders. I don't care if the club takes a hit and misses out on CL for a couple of years - as long as you can say, yip - these lads gave it their all. Arsenal players should be ashamed at their tame submission yesterday but they won't. Lads like Walcott will pocket the £140'000 and sent out the same old soundbites about fighting to the end etc when, in reality, they don't. Ever. Ozil and Alexis should pack their bags and head somewhere where they are surrounded by real players.

Arsene has always had a problem with the use of a 'captain'. It was glaring yesterday.

Finishing second, third or fourth.....blahhhhhh

Quote from: ONeill on February 29, 2016, 03:01:56 PM

I'm happy with change for the sake of change. Sick and tired of the same  - bottling big games, CL second phase knockout, lack of leaders. I don't care if the club takes a hit and misses out on CL for a couple of years - as long as you can say, yip - these lads gave it their all. Arsenal players should be ashamed at their tame submission yesterday but they won't. Lads like Walcott will pocket the £140'000 and sent out the same old soundbites about fighting to the end etc when, in reality, they don't. Ever. Ozil and Alexis should pack their bags and head somewhere where they are surrounded by real players.

Arsene has always had a problem with the use of a 'captain'. It was glaring yesterday.

Back in 98' Adams and co had a pop at Wenger over the lack of defensive cover from the midfielders. Can't imagine any of those Arsenal players having a pop at Wenger. Lack of leadership is palpable indeed. I cringe when I hear Wenger talking about mental fortitude.

No Totteringham's day this year!!

Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 29, 2016, 03:07:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 29, 2016, 03:01:56 PM

Back in 98' Adams and co had a pop at Wenger over the lack of defensive cover from the midfielders. Can't imagine any of those Arsenal players having a pop at Wenger. Lack of leadership is palpable indeed. I cringe when I hear Wenger talking about mental fortitude.

Sickening to watch.

Need a quality striker and a mobile center back.
If Wenger has any you know what he would send Walcott to train with the reserves or youth team.
They have bought some very average players over past four or five years.
Frustrating to say the least, the title was within their grasp, now slipping away.

Well at least the owners are happy, another top four finish, shag all spent.
Loads of money, loads.

The continent and South America is full of young, hungry footballers who would be willing to fight. Pampered brats like Walcott, Chamberlain and Wilshere will get you nowhere! Pathetic outfit with 8 million a year Wenger chief culprit.

The only reason I beat the same drum is that the same frailties are present year after year.

It's just so frustrating that Arsenal always seem so very close to winning the EPL or progressing in the CL but never quite manage it and the postmortem continually leads back to some form of stubbornness from Wenger.

If he filled the obvious gaps (DM, striker, CH) and gave it a lash then fair enough but he always enters a season behind the curve in some shape or form personnel wise.

This year however Spurs and Leicester potentially (probably) finishing higher exposes him even more as they illustrate what good tactics, shrewd purchases and solid mentality can do for seemingly lesser (on paper) clubs.

All qualities that Wenger once had present at Arsenal..........

Do Arsenal fans want Wenger out or do you like 'stability' (new buzzeord) of finishing in the top 4 every year? If he left, would those guarantees be gone?

50fiftyball

Tyroneman is spot on. I haven't been on the thread for a while but I was hopeful lately that we might actually win the league, the run in of games was always going to be tough, even before United it was a much tougher remaining fixture list than that of Spurs and Leicester.

There is NO way Wenger can defend himself at the end of this season if Spurs or Leicester win the title. Not a chance, If Man City or Chelsea had have been in the running then he would have threw the "ah sure they have all the money in the world to spend it wouldn't matter who I would've bought". But for Leicester and Spurs, both with considerably less transfer kitty's in the windows to not only finish above you but to look like more complete football teams is a disgrace. I cannot defend Wenger anymore, he must be axed if this is the outcome.
Was ironically watching premiership years last night, 98 winning season and the last few fixtures of the season United were hot on their tail, they steal rolled everyone, real leaders and the goals came from everywhere - Overmars, Vieira commanding midfield, they clinched the title in a brilliant performance against Everton where Tony Adams went on a run from centre back and scored a strikers goal to hammer them 4-0, grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck.

Who the f*ck in this current crop would do that?? Yes surely Sanchez is unreal, and so is Ozil. But they aren't those sort of men who get stuck in for you on the cold, wet Tuesday nights in Stoke. Ramsey, wilshere, Ox, Walcott, Giroud to name a few, get them all out to f*ck on their hole. Happy to take their wage every week and lie down to any team with a bit of bite in them. Who are these men were buying ??? Elneny, an Egyptian unknown from the Swiss league, Jesus Christ. Peter Cech Sanchez and Ozil have been the only stars bought in the last few years, and The rest just aren't consistent.
The back line , I've defended Koscielny but as for this season he just seems to be a headless chicken, and don't get me started on Mertesacker, he's so slow he goes backwards when he starts to run.

Rant over!