Ulster U21 Championship 2013

Started by cavanlad, October 11, 2012, 09:39:10 PM

Quote from: Rudi on April 04, 2013, 09:34:07 AM
Good to see the former super power of Ulster football back to its proud self. Great supporters, get out in numbers, roar their team on, no badness. Always like to see Cavan go well.

I can never forgive them for that 'point' that beat us!!!

I havent seen cavan yet but I seen dun na ngall last night and they were not overtly impressive. The two goals that they got should have not happened. First one was hanging when two Derry men were watching it and mac neilis fisted her in and the second wan im still trying to think how he got the ball past two defenders and the goalkeeper at the near post. Everything goes through mcbrearty so if ye keep him quiet they have little else. They gave derry a lot of ball around the 45 m line so if yer shooting from long range is on the money there should be no problem .

Great effort last night from Derry for such a young team. What a thrilling finish, four goal chances in last three minutes. Great to see; they showed great guts to come back. Never a happy man in defeat but the lads showed great guts after coming from four points down in first half and almost coming from five down in second half. A bit of buzz around the football this year in the county by the looks of it. Hopefully a big crowd to cheer us on in sunday.

Quote from: Westside on April 03, 2013, 03:49:11 PM
So much coverage of games outside the top counties is woeful. A massive proportion of coverage by anyone other than local journalists is generic rubbish pieced together from match reports. Jack Brady hasn't played as an inside forward for Cavan since the All Ireland Final in 2011.

Myles do you think will Peter change the starting team much? The subs were excellent against Monaghan, this was often the case in previous years too but Terry always favoured consistency in his starting side.

They don't have a report on the Cavan Down in todays online Indo. Breheny is probably too busy writing his next excellent list entitled "top 20 players ever who won wearing odd socks" or perhaps he is writing up his next "poor Sean Johnston" piece.

cadence

Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 04, 2013, 03:08:02 PM
So much coverage of games outside the top counties is woeful. A massive proportion of coverage by anyone other than local journalists is generic rubbish pieced together from match reports. Jack Brady hasn't played as an inside forward for Cavan since the All Ireland Final in 2011.

Myles do you think will Peter change the starting team much? The subs were excellent against Monaghan, this was often the case in previous years too but Terry always favoured consistency in his starting side.

They don't have a report on the Cavan Down in todays online Indo. Breheny is probably too busy writing his next excellent list entitled "top 20 players ever who won wearing odd socks" or perhaps he is writing up his next "poor Sean Johnston" piece.

if you were any good he would have stayed.

Corkey22

I saw a stat today that Cavan have won 9 of their last 10 ulster u21 games, and the one they lost was the 2010 final to Donegal if I remember right. That sort of dominance surely has to turn into some sort of success in the future for Cavan seniors!

Quote from: cadence on April 04, 2013, 03:16:00 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 04, 2013, 03:08:02 PM

if you were any good he would have stayed.

Nail on the head! Didn't know you agreed with me on this.

Quote from: Corkey22 on April 04, 2013, 03:43:04 PM
I saw a stat today that Cavan have won 9 of their last 10 ulster u21 games, and the one they lost was the 2010 final to Donegal if I remember right. That sort of dominance surely has to turn into some sort of success in the future for Cavan seniors!

I don't think its a given that any major success will come from it.  They haven't been blowing the opposition out of the water in any of the years, and how comparitive is Winter u-21 football to Summer senior football.  Different players/teams seem to thrive in the conditions at this time of year.  I suppose its all down to how many really stand out players each County has at u-21 or Minor and how many are picked up for senior.  Some counties might do well at U-21 as they have a strong team that is solid all over whereas other counties mighn't necessarily win Ulster but could be bringing through more standout individuals from each year.  You would think that a lot of the Cavan u-21's from previous years would have done something by now.

Quote from: nrico2006 on April 04, 2013, 03:57:32 PM

I don't think its a given that any major success will come from it.  They haven't been blowing the opposition out of the water in any of the years, and how comparitive is Winter u-21 football to Summer senior football.  Different players/teams seem to thrive in the conditions at this time of year.  I suppose its all down to how many really stand out players each County has at u-21 or Minor and how many are picked up for senior.  Some counties might do well at U-21 as they have a strong team that is solid all over whereas other counties mighn't necessarily win Ulster but could be bringing through more standout individuals from each year.  You would think that a lot of the Cavan u-21's from previous years would have done something by now.

I wouldnt necessarily agree there nrico2006. Perhaps your clutching at straws given Tyrones poor performances at this age group ;) Unfortunately Cavan find themselves in a difficult position having had a poor senior team for a number of years now. To expect the U21's of recent years to change things immediately is a huge ask. Recent successful U21 teams (Cork, Donegal, Dublin) have all had a core of very strong players to add 3-4 U21 graduates to.

Quote from: Walter Cronc on April 04, 2013, 04:05:25 PM

I wouldnt necessarily agree there nrico2006. Perhaps your clutching at straws given Tyrones poor performances at this age group ;) Unfortunately Cavan find themselves in a difficult position having had a poor senior team for a number of years now. To expect the U21's of recent years to change things immediately is a huge ask. Recent successful U21 teams (Cork, Donegal, Dublin) have all had a core of very strong players to add 3-4 U21 graduates to.

That's exactly right Walter. The thing is for us to get back up playing at a high level we need to put a couple of good U21 teams together, which we have done, given the lack of quality senior players we've had for a decade now. Now we have to be patient with these lads and give them a chance to develop into quality players at senior level and then we too can perhaps look at adding 1 or 2 new players from U21 every year. Its a shame this success didnt come a few years earlier when the likes of McCabe, Peter Reilly and of course Larry etc were still playing.

Westside

Irish Times giving Kudos to Cavan for reaching their 3rd Final in a row....

Quote from: rodney trotter on April 03, 2013, 10:23:01 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on April 03, 2013, 10:20:37 PM
I disagree about Argue.

Were you at the game, I was going by what they said on the Radio

Rodney you plonker!  ;D

FermGael

Game is confirmed for Enniskillen.
Wanted.  Forwards to take frees.
Not fussy.  Any sort of ability will be considered

cadence

cavan are about as tactically progressive as the taliban are at interpreting the koran. doesn't help being stuck in the dark ages.

Quote from: cadence on April 04, 2013, 06:58:58 PM

cavan are about as tactically progressive as the taliban are at interpreting the koran. doesn't help being stuck in the dark ages.

What sort of a clueless tool are you. You'll know all about our progression next Wednesday.

cadence

Quote from: Itchy on April 04, 2013, 07:08:59 PM

What sort of a clueless tool are you. You'll know all about our progression next Wednesday.

ah you aul' taliban eejit... pay attention and follow a straightforward argument, if that's not beyond you.

the point is about your taliban tactics preventing you from achieving at senior level. you winning on wednesday won't change the fact that you're stuck in the dark ages tactically and your u21s success won't transfer to senior level until you develop some modern tactics. now is that clear enough for you or would you like me to draw you a picture?

Quote from: cadence on April 04, 2013, 07:28:56 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 04, 2013, 07:08:59 PM

ah you aul' taliban eejit... pay attention and follow a straightforward argument, if that's not beyond you.

the point is about your taliban tactics preventing you from achieving at senior level. you winning on wednesday won't change the fact that you're stuck in the dark ages tactically and your u21s success won't transfer to senior level until you develop some modern tactics. now is that clear enough for you or would you like me to draw you a picture?