GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: under the bar on October 03, 2008, 12:05:15 AM

Title: Which was the luckiest All-Ireland win?
Post by: under the bar on October 03, 2008, 12:05:15 AM
Some might say Offaly with Seamus Darby's goal but they had been in the final the year before and won deservedly.

For me it has to be Armagh in 2002.  It took a replay to get past Sligo by 2 points in the in the quarters, then a 1 point win over the Dubs courtesy of Cosgrove hitting the post then another 1 point win over Kerry in the final, having been outplayed for the major part of all 3 games.  How Kerry lost that final is still the subject of great debate in the old kingdom as they could and should have run out 6 or 7 point winners.

Adds a lot of weight to the 'destiny' theory when you can ride your luck to an AI title in the way Armagh did.
Title: Re: Which was the luckiest All-Ireland win?
Post by: mournerambler on October 03, 2008, 12:12:21 AM
As the saying goes 'you make your own luck', I don't know how you think that a team that wins an All-Ireland does so by luck, it might have something to do with endless hours of gruelling training sessions & belief in your ability as a team.
Post by: J70 on October 03, 2008, 12:34:16 AM
Has any team ever won an All Ireland without some close call somewhere?

Post by: balladmaker on October 03, 2008, 12:40:09 AM
Under The Bar....you are either very naive, or on the wind up.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 03, 2008, 12:41:01 AM
Quote from: under the bar on October 03, 2008, 12:05:15 AM
Some might say Offaly with Seamus Darby's goal but they had been in the final the year before and won deservedly.

For me it has to be Armagh in 2002.  It took a replay to get past Sligo by 2 points in the in the quarters, then a 1 point win over the Dubs courtesy of Cosgrove hitting the post then another 1 point win over Kerry in the final, having been outplayed for the major part of all 3 games.  How Kerry lost that final is still the subject of great debate in the old kingdom as they could and should have run out 6 or 7 point winners.

Adds a lot of weight to the 'destiny' theory when you can ride your luck to an AI title in the way Armagh did.

I dont think armagh were lucky, that was arguably the best Sligo team weve ever had. They came up against a strong dublin side with cosgrove in great form, kerry are never easy in a final and they missed a peno in that game, i believe cooper was playing better back then than now with mike frank on serious form aswell.

Although I think any team that plays Mayo in AI final is lucky ;).
Post by: armaghniac on October 03, 2008, 12:41:58 AM
QuoteFor me it has to be Armagh in 2002

You can't have it both ways, perhaps Kerry can say they should have won as they were ahead, but Armagh were well ahead of Sligo too. In any case Armagh had brought Kerry to extra time in a replay in the AI semi final 2 year previous, Kerry has as much luck then as Armagh had in 2002. Armagh reached two successive AI finals, something no other Ulster team has done for forty years.
Post by: maddog on October 03, 2008, 09:07:41 AM
Poor effort Under the bar, maybe change from the worm to the fly. Cast a bit further.
Post by: Onion Bag on October 03, 2008, 09:18:02 AM
I think Under the Bar and Over the Bar are brothers,
Post by: Minder on October 03, 2008, 09:22:43 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on October 03, 2008, 09:18:02 AM
I think Under the Bar and Over the Bar are brothers,

And lovers
Post by: ONeill on October 03, 2008, 09:47:53 AM

You miss their biggest stroke of luck that year. The first round v Tyrone. La Manga. Dark legs. All Square. Seconds left. Armagh on ropes. God has the chance to nail the win with a relatively easy point. Sublime pass to Thornton who's one-on-one with Tierney. You can shove yer La Manga up your jacksie. Thornton blasts wide. Armagh escape with draw. Peter misses the replay.
Post by: mouview on October 03, 2008, 10:00:39 AM
It may be a wind-up but I gotta agree that Armagh's win that year was very fortuitous. Totally out-played in the first half, I remember neutrals at half-time hoping for some sort of Armagh score early in the second half just to make a game of it. Kerry's win in 2000 was a bit lucky also, if Galway had steadied up a bit in front of goal late in the drawn game thay would have won it as they were on a roll at the time. The Dubs in '95 was a bit 'by the grace of God'.
Post by: corn02 on October 03, 2008, 10:11:46 AM
Quote from: mouview on October 03, 2008, 10:00:39 AM
It may be a wind-up but I gotta agree that Armagh's win that year was very fortuitous.

Utter bullshit - you do knowe game is two halves yeah?

Quote from: ONeill on October 03, 2008, 09:47:53 AM

You miss their biggest stroke of luck that year. The first round v Tyrone. La Manga. Dark legs. All Square. Seconds left. Armagh on ropes. God has the chance to nail the win with a relatively easy point. Sublime pass to Thornton who's one-on-one with Tierney. You can shove yer La Manga up your jacksie. Thornton blasts wide. Armagh escape with draw. Peter misses the replay.

That was quite the miss indeed. What happened to the player, was he not a young fella?
Post by: mouview on October 03, 2008, 10:28:44 AM

But when you win an AI having only effectively played for one half, you've got to admit you're lucky. Yeah?
Post by: full back on October 03, 2008, 10:33:59 AM
I would agree that Armagh's biggest escape that year was against Tyrone
Thronton was at UUJ as far as I remember, does he play for Coalisland?

Big Duffy scored a goal against Tyrone that year as far as I remember
Post by: ONeill on October 03, 2008, 10:41:50 AM
He did indeed. Was a great game - maybe the game of the year. Armagh opened up a 3-0 lead. Tyrone notch 6-in-a-row. Armagh reply with 1-5 to lead 1-8 to 0-6. Sides level with 7/8 mins left 1-11 to 0-14. Duffy goals and both sides add 0-2 to end the game 2-13 to 0-16 in the Apple-Chompers' favour. . 
Post by: Real1995 on October 03, 2008, 10:44:48 AM
How busy are u at work under the bar???  :o
Post by: under the bar on October 03, 2008, 11:00:42 AM
QuoteHow busy are u at work under the bar??? 

Work???   I've just been part of making footballing history ffs.  When AI minor & senior titles come to your county in the same week, you book a month off work to take it all in.   I'll think about going back to work in November, but with the Club Tyrone celebrations planned for that month, work might have to take banother back-seat.
Post by: rrhf on October 03, 2008, 11:02:20 AM
O Neill - I always said that Armagh Tyrone 2002 games probably decided the all Ireland of that year.  Tyrone were Nat League champions, Armagh were primed for one last tilt at Sam under the new manager.  The first game Tyrone should have won and marked the birth of Ronan Clarke as an intercounty footballer.  This game was every bit as good as Derry V Down in Celltic Park in 94, and the fact that the replay continued in that vein enhanced the tie as one of the best Ive been at.  The big differenmce between this and 1994 in Celtic Park was that it wasnt on live Television and secondly that neither had made the all ireland breakthrough ie it happened before they were famous.  I left the ground after the two battles  believing that Armagh were going to win the all ireland, because beforehand I believed we were good enough and they were better (despite the thrown ball for Duffys goal) after an immense battle. 2002 Armagh won an All Ireland as good and as hardy as the next.
Post by: cornafean on October 03, 2008, 11:02:58 AM
Armagh were a bit lucky in 2002 but were equally unlucky in 2000, 2003 and 2005. They made their own bad luck in 2004. They could have won All Irelands in any of those years. The better you are the luckier you get. Any team that makes 5 serious challenges for the All Ireland in 6 years deserves at least one success.

To answer the original question, Meath and Kerry were both immensely lucky to win in 1996 & 1997, especially the latter.
Post by: Sandy Hill on October 03, 2008, 11:04:51 AM
Quote from: Real1995 on October 03, 2008, 10:44:48 AM
How busy are u at work under the bar???  :o

..... at school, more like!
Post by: Onion Bag on October 03, 2008, 11:17:27 AM
Tyrones win in 03 was a lucky, Armagh lost a man for no reason (Phily Jordan diving) and only for Conor Gormleys finger tips, they were beat, so if all the other reasons that have been put down on the thread are valid, i cant see why these cant apply
Post by: The GAA on October 03, 2008, 11:18:57 AM

The luckiest all irelands are those in which you get away with actually losing a game in the championship.

Armagh would hand sam back in those circumstances...
Post by: Onion Bag on October 03, 2008, 11:20:44 AM
What are you talking about GAA, Why would they hand it back, they didnt loose a game that year in the c'ship
Post by: The GAA on October 03, 2008, 11:22:11 AM

Its not the same when you lose a game.
Post by: Onion Bag on October 03, 2008, 11:25:06 AM
I know what you are saying and would have to agree, if you get beat and get a second chance, that is lucky, in that case Tyrones 03, 08, wins were lucky  ;)
Post by: Onion Bag on October 03, 2008, 11:25:52 AM
sorry 05, 08,
Post by: maddog on October 03, 2008, 11:26:38 AM
Quote from: mouview on October 03, 2008, 10:28:44 AM

But when you win an AI having only effectively played for one half, you've got to admit you're lucky. Yeah?

Or you could argue Kerry were lucky we didnt play for both. ;)
Post by: under the bar on October 03, 2008, 11:44:30 AM
Its not the same when you lose a game.

How would you know that?    ;D
Post by: Onion Bag on October 03, 2008, 11:46:12 AM
I think what hes saying is, when a team get beat in the c'ship, they are lucky to get a second bite at the cherry
Post by: Bensars on October 03, 2008, 11:50:45 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on October 03, 2008, 11:17:27 AM
Tyrones win in 03 was a lucky, Armagh lost a man for no reason (Phily Jordan diving) and only for Conor Gormleys finger tips, they were beat, so if all the other reasons that have been put down on the thread are valid, i cant see why these cant apply

:D :D :D :D     Get over it

Not Lucky. Marsden deserved to go. And although you say Conor Gormleys block, i could  say Stevie mc Donnells ineptitude in front of goal !
Post by: Onion Bag on October 03, 2008, 12:00:42 PM
We have been down this Marsden road before, and he was cleared of any wrong doing and had his red card recinded, the thread is entitled Which was the luckiest All ireland? people are pointing different things that happenedin various games, and the Marsden and Gormley block issues, may have had a bearing on the games result. they may have been lucky

Post by: Jinxy on October 03, 2008, 12:01:51 PM
Quote from: cornafean on October 03, 2008, 11:02:58 AM
Armagh were a bit lucky in 2002 but were equally unlucky in 2000, 2003 and 2005. They made their own bad luck in 2004. They could have won All Irelands in any of those years. The better you are the luckier you get. Any team that makes 5 serious challenges for the All Ireland in 6 years deserves at least one success.

To answer the original question, Meath and Kerry were both immensely lucky to win in 1996 & 1997, especially the latter.

Lucky? Don't think so. We would have won by more if Finnerty didn't start that row to get Colm Coyle sent off. :P
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 03, 2008, 12:19:35 PM
Down in 1991. A bout of pneumonia won it for them - how lucky can you get?!
Post by: cornafean on October 03, 2008, 12:50:25 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 03, 2008, 12:19:35 PM

Only for the bout of pneumonia, Meath's best player that day, Gerry McEntee, wouldn't have started.
Post by: Jinxy on October 03, 2008, 12:53:38 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 03, 2008, 12:19:35 PM

Good call.
Post by: cornafean on October 03, 2008, 12:54:58 PM
Quote from: The GAA on October 03, 2008, 11:18:57 AM

The luckiest all irelands are those in which you get away with actually losing a game in the championship.
I really wonder.... Its impossible to imagine a team winning an All Ireland nowadays by reaching a provincial final and then having to beat Clare, Cavan and Mayo from there on, as happened in 1997.
Post by: Final Whistle on October 03, 2008, 01:02:05 PM
QuoteWe have been down this Marsden road before, and he was cleared of any wrong doing and had his red card recinded, the thread is entitled Which was the luckiest All ireland? people are pointing different things that happenedin various games, and the Marsden and Gormley block issues, may have had a bearing on the games result. they may have been lucky

Go on then onion bag, if you are so wise tell us what he got cleared on? Did the appeal state that marsden did not dive?
Post by: rrhf on October 03, 2008, 01:16:45 PM
I though O Rourke had dysentry that day and heard that he played the second half with a cork in.  If thats not tue Ill eat my corked hat.. 
Post by: Throw ball on October 03, 2008, 01:50:42 PM
Tyrone were lucky to win the All Ireland in 2003. Just think if they had gotten the better of Armagh in that match iin 2002 Armagh may not have won the All Ireland. Tyrone may not have got rid of Big Art and Mickey Harte may not have been appointed manager. Armagh would have proceeded to win five in a row through the back door (2003 to 2007) and Tyrone would still be looking for the first!

Waken me up before you go home!
Post by: under the bar on October 03, 2008, 01:55:51 PM
Quoteonly for Conor Gormleys finger tips

Finger-tips?  Gormley made up 5 yards and managed to get his whole body in front of cart-horse McDonnell before he could swing his lazy, fat leg. Stevie then spun upside down like a pancake and came up sctratching his head wonder ing what had happened.    Rumours are he had to see the replay before believing Gormley gave him a masterclass.

Referee saved Armagh an even greater embarassing defeat that day by denying Brian McGuigan a stone-wall penalty.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 03, 2008, 02:08:47 PM
Good one Under The Bar. 
Post by: T Fearon on October 03, 2008, 02:10:55 PM
Tyrone's one All Ireland and two back doors were undoubtedly gained on the back ot outrageous slices of good fortune.

2003 - Gormley's lucky block, Marsden's unjust sending off,not to mention Down throwing away a huge lead in that year's Ulster Final and indeed Derry almost winning the Ulster quarter final tie.

2005- Should never even have been in the Final (in which the Gooch's eye was deliberately dislocated) and wouldn't have been only for an unjust penalty in the semi final and an outrageous free kick award by Russell in the last minute acting under pressure to make up for 1995.

2008 -fluke goal (would have been cleared had a Kerry defender not lost his footing) and Mc Connell admitted in the paper last week that he knew nothing about the save he made from O'Sullivan late on, he had dived the wrong way the ball hit his foot because he is a lanky big drip.

Luck on an unprecedented scale
Post by: full back on October 03, 2008, 02:14:15 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 03, 2008, 02:10:55 PM
Tyrone's one All Ireland and two back doors were undoubtedly gained on the back ot outrageous slices of good fortune.

2003 - Gormley's lucky block, Marsden's unjust sending off,not to mention Down throwing away a huge lead in that year's Ulster Final and indeed Derry almost winning the Ulster quarter final tie.

2005- Should never even have been in the Final (in which the Gooch's eye was deliberately dislocated) and wouldn't have been only for an unjust penalty in the semi final and an outrageous free kick award by Russell in the last minute acting under pressure to make up for 1995.

2008 -fluke goal (would have been cleared had a Kerry defender not lost his footing) and Mc Connell admitted in the paper last week that he knew nothing about the save he made from O'Sullivan late on, he had dived the wrong way the ball hit his foot because he is a lanky big drip.

Ye had to get him going
FFS, can ye not keep quiet & let sleeping dogs lie......
Post by: Doire abĂș on October 03, 2008, 02:14:56 PM
Post by: Will Hunting on October 03, 2008, 02:20:01 PM

:D  Hard to argue with any of that!!
Post by: red hander on October 03, 2008, 04:36:42 PM
Jaysus, you'd know it would be the inbreds agreeing with the fat portydown fool
Post by: mayoman dan on October 03, 2008, 04:50:00 PM
Although I think any team that plays Mayo in AI final is lucky .
This may be so sligonian but the only final ye lads will be contesting for the next
few years is the Tommy Murphy cup final if ye get that far. ;D
Post by: ziggysego on October 03, 2008, 04:51:30 PM
All of Kerry's
Post by: armaghniac on October 03, 2008, 05:18:01 PM
QuoteJaysus, you'd know it would be the inbreds agreeing with the fat portydown fool

Love thy neighbour and abuse him not when you cannot conceive a smart comment.
Post by: corn02 on October 03, 2008, 06:20:50 PM
Quote from: red hander on October 03, 2008, 04:36:42 PM

You want to cut out the abuse to Tony there? Bit of banter no need to get personal because people on here think it is ok in his case.
Post by: Mourne Rover on October 03, 2008, 08:01:43 PM
Meath were unlucky to lose O'Rourke for the 1991 final, but every side which has a championship run will be missing players at some stage. Down's first choice midfield that summer was supposed to be Ambrose and big Austin, but they both suffered long-term injuries. Even without O'Rourke, Meath in 1991 had a side which had nearly all played at least 15 or 20 championship games at Croke Park. Apart from the semi final, Down had not had a championship match there in the previous decade. It should have been no contest, but the best team won on the day.

I would say that the luckiest team to win an AI in living memory was Kerry in 1997. They were a decent side, but the structure of the competition meant that they did not have to face a county which had won an AI in the previous 40 years or subsequently (Tipperary, Clare, Cavan and Mayo, if I recall correctly).
Post by: Armamike on October 03, 2008, 09:38:51 PM
You Tyrone ones are some laugh. Winning your third all-ireland isn't enough for you, you have to start running down Armagh's effort in 2002 with a bit of historical revisionism.  Armagh bossed those 2 games against Tyrone in 02. Yeah, Armagh could have been caught at the end of the first tie with a late suckerpunch from Thorndyke or whoever, but it would have been a fookin travesty. Lads, get down and pray to Allah every night for the rest of your lives and give thanks that Armagh won it before ye's in 2002. If we hadn't ye'd still be stuck with Art and Eugene and living off the scraps of the odd moral victory at HQ on a big day out. Armagh showed ye's the way in 02 and deep down you know it.
Post by: ziggysego on October 03, 2008, 09:42:50 PM
Quote from: Armamike on October 03, 2008, 09:38:51 PM
You Tyrone ones are some laugh. Winning your third all-ireland isn't enough for you, you have to start running down Armagh's effort in 2002 with a bit of historical revisionism.  Armagh bossed those 2 games against Tyrone in 02. Yeah, Armagh could have caught at the end of the first tie with a late suckerpunch from Thorndyke or whoever, but it would have been a fookin travesty. Lads, get down and pray to Allah every night for the rest of your lives that Armagh won it before ye's in 2002. If we hadn't ye'd still be stuck with Art and Eugene and living off the scraps of the odd moral victory at HQ on a big day out. Armagh showed ye's the way in 02 and deep down you know it.

Tell you what, we'll stop having a go about 2002, if you tell Tony to shush about 2003 and 2005 ;)
Post by: stew on October 03, 2008, 10:07:29 PM
Kerry winning the AI in 53, we missed a penalty and controlled large parts of the game only to lose by two points.

We should have broke our duck in 53.  :'(
Post by: Midman on October 04, 2008, 01:41:14 AM
Armagh in 2002 rode their luck on occasions but what team that won an All Ireland hasn't? No team will dominate a game from start to finish, Kerry dominated last 10-15 minutes of the first half (loss of J McEntee took its toll) but Armaghkept in the game and won the ball and scored the points when the game was there for the taking. Down in 91 had a great purple patch and built up a lead but a team of Meaths calibre were always going to come back to them. I don't think I remember any 'lucky' All Irelands. Close tight ganes where either tema could stake a claim(ie Dublin -Tyrone and  Meath - Mayo) but no lucky ones. In a final luck plays its part but you have to have the footballers to be able to win it and if you've got that far you have to be doing something right. Boring viewpoint I know but i hate this jingoistic lucky winners stuff, in one game it plays, but over a championship season I'm not so sure
Post by: J70 on October 04, 2008, 02:30:48 AM
Charlie Redmond puts away his (soft-won) penalty in the first ten minutes of the '92 final, and Donegal would have been four points down and struggling. Instead they proceeded to run Dublin ragged for most of the rest of the game and were worth a lot more than the four point winning margin in the end. Given the way we recovered from the first-half setbacks in the Ulster final that year and the subsequent performance in the final, I think the team would have won the game anyway, but you never know. In any game that isn't a blow-out, there is always some near miss somewhere that you can point to and say "what if?" Look at Redmond and Dublin two years later.
Post by: Down Gael on October 04, 2008, 09:15:08 AM
I could be really obvious here and say the Armagh were lucky in 2002, but in truth Kerry lost it. They had more than enough chances to win the game, but failed to take any of them. Kerry may be the most talented side in the country, but they are seriously lacking in bottle. Armagh didnt have the skill of that Kerry side, but they kept plugging away and pulled off a smash and grab.
J70 mentioned Charlie Redmond, I would prefer to think that Neil Collins saved that penalty rather than Charlie missing it. Still it was great to stand on the pitch in Croke Park and watch the Hill empty.
For me the one of the luckiest victories was Derry in 1993. The sending off had a huge bearing on the game, but the Derry goal was also very lucky. Downey jumped for the ball with his eyes closed and somehow made contact with leather and the ball fell over the line. Cork can feel very hard done by thhat day and I remember feeling sorry for Tony Davies that night on the Sunday Game.
We all need a bit of luck to win an All Ireland, Ross Carrs monstrous free to Oisins goal, but in truth you make your own luck. How many people would have put their money on Tyrone after the replay in Newry? Looking back at some of the comments I would say not too many.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on October 04, 2008, 10:00:17 AM
Quote from: Armamike on October 03, 2008, 09:38:51 PM
You Tyrone ones are some laugh. Winning your third all-ireland isn't enough for you, you have to start running down Armagh's effort in 2002 with a bit of historical revisionism.  Armagh bossed those 2 games against Tyrone in 02. Yeah, Armagh could have been caught at the end of the first tie with a late suckerpunch from Thorndyke or whoever, but it would have been a fookin travesty. Lads, get down and pray to Allah every night for the rest of your lives and give thanks that Armagh won it before ye's in 2002. If we hadn't ye'd still be stuck with Art and Eugene and living off the scraps of the odd moral victory at HQ on a big day out. Armagh showed ye's the way in 02 and deep down you know it.

Your some craic. I would guess this thread was started in directe response to 2 weeks of constant anti Tyrone postings by an Armagh man which you have obviously chose to ignore.
Post by: Estimator on October 04, 2008, 10:34:48 AM
Quote from: Down Gael on October 04, 2008, 09:15:08 AM
I could be really obvious here and say the Armagh were lucky in 2002, but in truth Kerry lost it. They had more than enough chances to win the game, but failed to take any of them. Kerry may be the most talented side in the country, but they are seriously lacking in bottle. Armagh didnt have the skill of that Kerry side, but they kept plugging away and pulled off a smash and grab.
J70 mentioned Charlie Redmond, I would prefer to think that Neil Collins saved that penalty rather than Charlie missing it. Still it was great to stand on the pitch in Croke Park and watch the Hill empty.
For me the one of the luckiest victories was Derry in 1993. The sending off had a huge bearing on the game, but the Derry goal was also very lucky. Downey jumped for the ball with his eyes closed and somehow made contact with leather and the ball fell over the line. Cork can feel very hard done by thhat day and I remember feeling sorry for Tony Davies that night on the Sunday Game.
We all need a bit of luck to win an All Ireland, Ross Carrs monstrous free to Oisins goal, but in truth you make your own luck. How many people would have put their money on Tyrone after the replay in Newry? Looking back at some of the comments I would say not too many.

Ok, I'll bite at this one.  The sending off did have a massive bearing on the game, lucky: definitely not - Callaghlan should have been sent off, why Tommy Howard only booked him I'll never know. How many times have we seen teams with 14  men go on and win the game? Cork regained the lead at the start of the second half despite having 14men.  Derry reeled them back in.
As for Downey's goal, were you marking him that day? Were you that close that you know that he had is eyes closed?
On the road to that All-Ireland Derry beat the 1990 (Cork), 1991 (Down) and 1992 (Donegal) Champions plus the 1992 Runners-up and 1993 National League Champions (Dublin) so I don't think Derry got very lucky that year at all.
Post by: red hander on October 04, 2008, 12:19:33 PM
Quote from: corn02 on October 03, 2008, 06:20:50 PM
Quote from: red hander on October 03, 2008, 04:36:42 PM

You want to cut out the abuse to Tony there? Bit of banter no need to get personal because people on here think it is ok in his case.

Ok, let me get this right, someone who chooses to use his REAL name as his board moniker, never shuts up boasting about all the freebies he wangles and actually publicises the fact on this board when and if his photograph appers in the papers, will be so thin-skinned that he will be upset by a joking reference to his rotundness and his idiocy? I hope I'm not about when they finally pull that big cork stopper out of your hole Corn02...
Post by: ONeill on October 04, 2008, 12:25:34 PM
I won an All-Ireland piping competition in the early 90s. I had no opposition in the Tyrone and Ulster heats. In the All-Ireland I had 4, two of whom were yanks. I'd call that a relatively lucky Al-Ireland.
Post by: Uladh on October 04, 2008, 12:31:03 PM

I wouldn't call it an all ireland. more like an intercontinental tournament
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 04, 2008, 06:09:38 PM
I would love if Mayo were lucky. I probably will be a fair age (maybe dead) before we can say Mayo had a lucky All-Ireland win... :(
Post by: ONeill on October 04, 2008, 10:07:24 PM
Never thought of it like that. World Champion.

The following year I took the Tyrone heat again, with the other 2 competitors finishing joint second, ensuring all 3 progressed. In the Ulsters the three of us met again and I finished 3rd and was eliminated. No back door then. Never really recovered from that. Starting drinking Westcoast Coolers outside Clubland.
Post by: The GAA on October 04, 2008, 11:56:57 PM

Intercontinental titles are a sort of tommy murphy cup version of the world title. none of the main men are in it... its the sort of world title that bernard dunne will be boxing for
Post by: Bogball XV on October 05, 2008, 12:55:27 AM
Quote from: Down Gael on October 04, 2008, 09:15:08 AMI remember feeling sorry for Tony Davies that night on the Sunday Game.
I feel sorry every time I see him on The Sunday Game :D

Best answer so far, Fearon, brilliant (and like all good humour, it has that bit of reality) ;)
Post by: gorm agus bui on October 05, 2008, 01:08:09 AM

And if my granny had balls she would have been my granda
Post by: ONeill on October 05, 2008, 08:05:59 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 04, 2008, 10:17:18 PM
You're joking. I hope you are still appealing it. Reminds me of the time I was nearly banned from taking part in the All Ireland handball semis because of the foot and mouth outbreak. 'Twas being held in Clare and they reckoned that it'd be safer if northern competitors didn't come down. Anyway, they gave me the date and I land down. Some aul boy tells me it was moved back a week. Arrived down the second week, bate out the gate. Herds of cattle culled. Take that, yis b**tards.

Yes, the excitement around West Belfast was quite palpable at that time. I remember your da wearing handball goggles for a week as a gesture of support leading up to the final. We'd organised a bus to go down but got as far as the Whitefort.
Post by: ONeill on October 05, 2008, 03:27:03 PM
Yes it was a big disappointment for many and, for some, obliterated the chance of raised self-esteem for the people of West Belfast. Some saw it as a chance to put the West on the map especially with Rogan's fight against Audley Harrison getting gased and the Busy Bee demolition and Casement getting taken over by phon-a-cab or something. I remember your name being sprayed on a wall in Finaghy and it wasn't pretty. Something like 'Hardstation's a granny-feeler' or along those lines or it might have been 'touts out'. Support turned violent and you don't know that half of it.
Post by: under the bar on October 05, 2008, 06:13:35 PM
QuoteLads, get down and pray to Allah every night for the rest of your lives and give thanks that Armagh won it before ye's in 2002.

I'm led to belive that most Armagh thank Allah every nite that they managed to spawn one in 2002 before Tyrone went on their Sam collecting spree.   Life would be even more unbearable if that cold crumb of comfort wern't available to distract from the fact that their legendary neighbours on either side have collected 8 Sams between them....
Post by: puskas on October 05, 2008, 11:08:51 PM
whatever about cold crumbs of comfort it's increasingly obvious that the cold fact of Armagh getting there first is a thorn in the side, a pebble in the shoe if you like for tyrone people. unfortunately for them, one that can never be changed. unlike a Sam count.
Post by: Sideshow Bob on October 05, 2008, 11:10:40 PM
One pebble in a very big shoe, you`d hardly notice it  ;)
Post by: Armamike on October 05, 2008, 11:14:43 PM
Quote from: under the bar on October 05, 2008, 06:13:35 PM
QuoteLads, get down and pray to Allah every night for the rest of your lives and give thanks that Armagh won it before ye's in 2002.

I'm led to belive that most Armagh thank Allah every nite that they managed to spawn one in 2002 before Tyrone went on their Sam collecting spree.   

Feckin right.  We got our paws on him first matee, and there's feck all you can do about it.
Post by: puskas on October 05, 2008, 11:22:56 PM
tyrone people, be thankful for and enjoy temporary but sadly fleeting glory, dwell not on the permanence of Armagh winning it first.
Post by: reddgnhand on October 05, 2008, 11:37:19 PM
Quote from: puskas on October 05, 2008, 11:22:56 PM
tyrone people, be thankful for and enjoy temporary but sadly fleeting glory, dwell not on the permanence of Armagh winning it first.

Why when does it end. Can you get them 2002 jerseys from retro ?   
Post by: puskas on October 06, 2008, 12:21:43 AM
what's done is done. consider therapy.
Post by: Zapatista on October 06, 2008, 08:17:54 AM
Quote from: puskas on October 05, 2008, 11:22:56 PM
dwell not on the permanence of Armagh winning it first.

Ok  :D
Post by: nrico2006 on October 06, 2008, 08:52:51 AM
QuoteFeckin right.  We got our paws on him first matee, and there's feck all you can do about it.

Unbelievable, who wins it first is of less importance than multiple wins.  I'm sure Kerry are still hurting from Limerick getting their hands on Sam first.
Post by: cornafean on October 06, 2008, 09:24:22 AM
We in Cavan don't even bother competing at the top level anymore as we were the first county in Ulster to win it. Nobody can beat us on that, so we are the greatest  ::)
Post by: Armamike on October 06, 2008, 11:20:15 AM
Quote from: cornafean on October 06, 2008, 09:24:22 AM
We in Cavan don't even bother competing at the top level anymore as we were the first county in Ulster to win it. Nobody can beat us on that, so we are the greatest  ::)

You obviously don't understand the Tyrone-Armagh mindset and psychology on these matters. The fact that Armagh won it first led to major upheaval in the the peat bog county as evidenced by the execution style treatment of McKenna and McCrory - two of the most loyal servants to Tyrone football over the years.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 06, 2008, 11:46:30 AM
QuoteYou obviously don't understand the Tyrone-Armagh mindset and psychology on these matters. The fact that Armagh won it first led to major upheaval in the the peat bog county as evidenced by the execution style treatment of McKenna and McCrory - two of the most loyal servants to Tyrone football over the years.

I would say Sligo had more to do with it than Armaghs win.
Post by: under the bar on October 06, 2008, 12:29:00 PM
The fact that Armagh won it first led to major upheaval in the the peat bog county as evidenced by the execution style treatment of McKenna and McCrory - two of the most loyal servants to Tyrone football over the years.

Tyrone county board had the foresight to understand that a change was needed, not just to win a single all-ireland, but make history & achieve greatness with the plethora of talent coming through.   

Unfortunately for the Armagh county board they could not see the limitations of the manager in place and let him lumber on well beyond his sell-by date and decide the timing of his own exit long after the players were past their best.  It's claimed that they even allowed him to dictate who his sucessor would be, disqualifiying the preferred candidate due to a personal grudge!
Post by: southsidejohnny on October 06, 2008, 01:32:32 PM
Ah old Sligonian from the home of the Father Ted cup and the rackard cup shows his complex of 100 years plus of being slaughtered by Mayo. As micky harte says at least Mayo make finals on a regular basis...whence Sligo..oh I forgot they made a semi final in the minors back in 1968..wow.
Post by: Kerry Mike on October 06, 2008, 07:49:24 PM
QuoteI'm sure Kerry are still hurting from Limerick getting their hands on Sam first.

They won the All Ireland before us but not Sam, for Mr Samuel Maguire was only given out for the first time, 41 years after Limerick won it in 1887  ;)
Post by: Puckoon on October 07, 2008, 05:23:43 AM
Just as an aside, should a great "play" for want of borrowing a better term from US sports such as Conor Gormleys block - get lumped in with luck?

Tyrone would have been lucky that day if Stevie McDonnell had have been straight through, and missed the goal all by himself.

No?
Post by: Over the Bar on October 07, 2008, 08:23:30 AM
QuoteThey won the All Ireland before us but not Sam, for Mr Samuel Maguire was only given out for the first time, 41 years after Limerick won it in 1887

Were Kildare the first team to lift Sam?  If so they will be rightly annoyed by Armagh people claiming they "won it first", when in fact they were no.  22 or whatever.
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 07, 2008, 08:50:46 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 07, 2008, 05:23:43 AM
Just as an aside, should a great "play" for want of borrowing a better term from US sports such as Conor Gormleys block - get lumped in with luck?

Tyrone would have been lucky that day if Stevie McDonnell had have been straight through, and missed the goal all by himself.

No?

Because moments before the block, Gormley fouled an Armagh man going through. Referee Brian White took out his notebook, realised he had already booked the Tyrone man and promptly returned the book to his pocket. The luck involved in this particular incident is that when he made the block, Gormley should have been sitting in the stand.

No?
Post by: tyronefan on October 07, 2008, 08:58:32 AM
Kildare were the last team to win the All Ireland before The Sam  and the first team to win Sam. They won 2 All Irelands in a row 1927 and 1928
Post by: red hander on October 07, 2008, 11:11:30 AM
Quote from: puskas on October 05, 2008, 11:08:51 PM
whatever about cold crumbs of comfort it's increasingly obvious that the cold fact of Armagh getting there first is a thorn in the side, a pebble in the shoe if you like for tyrone people. unfortunately for them, one that can never be changed. unlike a Sam count.

Very true Puskas, very true ... but you know what would be even more annoying? Yep, being beaten by Armagh in an All-Ireland final ... I don't know how any Tyrone person would ever get over a trauma such as that :D
Post by: Over the Bar on October 07, 2008, 11:59:46 AM
QuoteVery true Puskas, very true ... but you know what would be even more annoying? Yep, being beaten by Armagh in an All-Ireland final ... I don't know how any Tyrone person would ever get over a trauma such as that

That would be unbearable, even when you have racked up 3 all-irelands in 6 years!
Post by: EC Unique on October 07, 2008, 12:18:37 PM
Or knowing that any of the big meetings that really counted that Armagh always came out on top. That would be hard to deal with :o
Post by: Bisbee on October 07, 2008, 01:51:14 PM
There seems to be three main games in this latest Tyrone-Armagh debate that are subject to revisionism, the 2002 and 2003 finals and the drawn encounter between these two counties in the 2002  Ulster championship.  I attended all three of these games.  What I remember from 2003 was that Tyrone were the far better team on the day and thoroughly deserved their victory. The 'block' was a brilliant piece of defending, no luck involved and if McDonnell had scored, subsequently leading to an Armagh victory, it would have been a steal on the part of the Orchard.
Having said that, in the 2002 drawn Ulster championship game, I thought Armagh were the much more impressive side and looked fairly comfortable until they were mugged by a Sean Cavanagh goal  resulting from a hopeful high ball bringing Tyrone right back in the game.  If Richard Thornton had scored, it also would have been a steal.
I feel sorry for Armagh folk in that their 2002 All-Ireland final victory over Kerry  is consistently  subject to revisionism from Tyrone (and Down) fans.  I thought this was an underappreciated classic game of football. The first 15 minutes or so was nip and tuck, with Armagh showing some exceptional long range point scoring (one score in the first half from Clarke was truly memorable). I think an important turning point was the injury to the big half forward McEntee. Armagh lost their shape for a 10-15 minute period when McEntee left the game and the Kerry half backs were able to swarm forward.  For the second half I thought Kernan made some inspired changes in sending on Tony McEntee and O'Hagan. Armagh got a vice like grip on midfield and forced the Kerry half backs to sit back.  I thought on that day, the Armagh manager got it exactly right. I never thought of this game as a lucky victory for Armagh or as Kerry having 'lost it' but a well deserved and earned victory in a classic game.
Post by: full back on October 07, 2008, 02:08:16 PM
Quote from: Bisbee on October 07, 2008, 01:51:14 PM
I feel sorry for Armagh folk

Welcome to the board bisbee & thanks for the pity................
Post by: Puckoon on October 07, 2008, 03:03:24 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 07, 2008, 08:50:46 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 07, 2008, 05:23:43 AM

No?

Because moments before the block, Gormley fouled an Armagh man going through. Referee Brian White took out his notebook, realised he had already booked the Tyrone man and promptly returned the book to his pocket. The luck involved in this particular incident is that when he made the block, Gormley should have been sitting in the stand.

No?

That is a fair point, however the majority of posters have not mentioned that Gormley should have "been in the stands", rather that his block was a lucky one, when infact it was a sublime piece of play.

Yes.
Post by: red hander on October 07, 2008, 03:15:21 PM
'I feel sorry for Armagh folk in that their 2002 All-Ireland final victory over Kerry  is consistently  subject to revisionism'

That would be the game when only one team bothered coming out for the second half?
Post by: Armamike on October 07, 2008, 06:49:34 PM
Red hander, agreed. It was lovely of those Kerry fellas to hand us the win. They're like that in finals you know.

Post by: magpie seanie on October 07, 2008, 07:25:33 PM
1995 was the luckiest I've seen.