Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Surreal Steve on June 10, 2008, 04:25:03 PM

Title: President McAleese Heckled as she visits Primary in Coleraine
Post by: Surreal Steve on June 10, 2008, 04:25:03 PM
Protest at McAleese school visit
Mary McAleese
Mary McAleese is to visit Millburn Primary School on Tuesday

A crowd of about 30 people have protested at Millburn Primary School in Coleraine over the visit of Irish President Mary McAleese.

They waved banners and shouted slogans, including 'No surrender', as she and her husband Martin arrived by car.

Earlier on Tuesday, the school's principal said he had been intimidated over the visit.

John Platt said some people were angry at comments made in 2005 when Mrs McAleese compared Nazi hatred with NI.

Mr Platt said intimidation had happened both inside and outside school.

"In school, they've advised me that they don't want this visit to take place," said Mr Platt.

"They have taped conversations unofficially inside the building, they have handed over materials outside and they have a selection of flags up around the school.

"There's been quite a to-ing and fro-ing of quite strong language about what should and shouldn't happen."

In 2005, the Irish president said children were taught to hate Catholics in the same way Nazis despised Jews.

She later apologised for the comment. She said she was devastated by the reaction which her remarks generated and acknowledged she had been "clumsy".

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/foyle_and_west/7445566.stm
Title: Re: President McAleese Heckled as she visits Integrated Primary in Coleraine
Post by: T Fearon on June 10, 2008, 04:30:35 PM
Would that be the same John Platt who was a Cliftonville icon back in the 70s and scored in their Irish Cup Final win over Portadown in 1979 and is a brother of Pat Jennings deputy and former Middlesbro goalkeeper, Jim Platt, who himself was not averse to sectarian behaviour?
Title: Re: President McAleese Heckled as she visits Integrated Primary in Coleraine
Post by: his holiness nb on June 10, 2008, 04:42:02 PM
As long as people like this still exist, we are a long way from peace on this island.

FFS it was a clumsy comment, get over it  ::)
Post by: T Fearon on June 10, 2008, 04:58:08 PM
It was also a very true comment and fair play to her for making it, unlike freestate toadies like Bertie Ahern who treat Paisley etc as if he was some sort of Nelson Mandela figure. >:(
Post by: Main Street on June 10, 2008, 05:09:56 PM
It would have been hard to prove that hate was on the syllabus  :)

Looks like it is a natural organic hate, easily provoked.

'President McAleese went ahead with her planned visit to Millburn Primary School despite the presence of up to 40 loyalist protestors.
They shouted abuse at President McAleese and held banners protesting at her visit.
School Principal John Platt is stressing that the protesters are not representative of the community'.

(http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/breaking/images/2008/0610/image_206702_1.jpg?ts=1213113749)

http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/breaking/2008/0610/breaking67.htm (http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/breaking/2008/0610/breaking67.htm)

John Moffat, a protester and member of the local residents' association, said the community was showing its distaste at the president's presence.

"The school asked us for our opinions and we said we didn't want to hear," he said.

"This is not only a protest about the president's visit, but also at the way the school has handled things. There was the Nazi comments and it has been claimed that the Queen wouldn't be able to visit the Irish Republic until policing and justice powers are devolved to Stormont, yet she can come up here without any pre-conditions."

Headmaster John Platt said the protesters represented a very small minority. He claimed the vast majority of people supported the president's visit.
"There are probably about 40 or 50 people out there today and I was told there would be thousands," he said.

Title: Re: President McAleese Heckled as she visits Primary in Coleraine
Post by: useername on June 10, 2008, 05:17:41 PM
i am from that area and would justl ike to say that milburn primary school is situated in a bad area, even playing them in primary school soccer we used to get sectarian abuse,

its a shame and its clear that the parents are the main culprits
Post by: Tankie on June 10, 2008, 05:23:07 PM
well from the picture above it does appear that they do raise their children to hate! very sad!!
Post by: his holiness nb on June 10, 2008, 05:30:02 PM
Quote from: Tankie on June 10, 2008, 05:23:07 PM
well from the picture above it does appear that they do raise their children to hate! very sad!!

100% correct.
Post by: hitzelsperger on June 10, 2008, 05:32:33 PM
share of fcukin cnuts, they have nothing better to do on a tuesday than stand outside their kids primary showing a good example,every one of them a waste of space!
Post by: Surreal Steve on June 10, 2008, 05:33:31 PM
Tbf I would love to ruin that blondes arse
Post by: Tankie on June 10, 2008, 05:34:27 PM
Quote from: Surreal Steve on June 10, 2008, 05:33:31 PM

;D I was trying to work out her age before saying anything
Post by: Surreal Steve on June 10, 2008, 05:46:20 PM
Meh, age is irrelevant :o

only joking
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 10, 2008, 05:56:33 PM
WE ARE NOT NAZI'S

why can't he finish the sentence.

Nazi's what?

or is grammar off the agenda in schools nowadays?
Post by: Bogball XV on June 10, 2008, 06:27:09 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 10, 2008, 05:56:33 PM
WE ARE NOT NAZI'S

Nazi's what?

lovers?
Post by: magickingdom on June 10, 2008, 06:38:33 PM
who gives a fcuk what they think, at this stage their such a tiny minority its pity they deserve..
Post by: Main Street on June 10, 2008, 07:05:03 PM
Nazi's children of course,
must be written on the blind side.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 10, 2008, 07:05:58 PM
That picture is a classic!

"No to Dublin money"

Has someone been giving out this money?
Post by: Main Street on June 10, 2008, 07:28:56 PM
The new school will not be funded with dirty money.
'Some of the protesters had held up banners suggesting that the Irish Government was poised to fund a new school building at Millburn. But Mr Platt said this was not the case as all funding for the school came from the Northern Ireland Department of Education'

They should be told to protest at the upgrade work on the
A5 from Derry to Monaghan, being built with some £340m of funding from the Irish Gov.

Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 10, 2008, 09:03:05 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 10, 2008, 06:27:09 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 10, 2008, 05:56:33 PM
WE ARE NOT NAZI'S

Nazi's what?

lovers?

Absolutely superb bogball...had'nt even noticed it.
Post by: ziggysego on June 10, 2008, 09:08:09 PM
Quote from: Surreal Steve on June 10, 2008, 05:33:31 PM

I can think of a few ways to shut her up as well ;)
Post by: MW on June 10, 2008, 09:21:53 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on June 10, 2008, 06:38:33 PM
who gives a fcuk what they think, at this stage their such a tiny minority its pity they deserve..

Woo-hoo, I can spot grammatical errors too! :D
Post by: Bogball XV on June 10, 2008, 09:55:09 PM
it reminds me of the classic protest outside croker last year for the england rugby match.
Post by: Fishbat on June 10, 2008, 10:59:33 PM
Wonder which Klansman family member got that young girl to stand there like a twit with that shite protest note.

At least use a hand painted one, with a few nice orange lillies on it - something seasonal and artistic that shows your brain functions in some form

Karma has it she will be married to a jackeen bank clerk inside ten years anyway
Post by: magickingdom on June 10, 2008, 11:34:43 PM
Quote from: MW on June 10, 2008, 09:21:53 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on June 10, 2008, 06:38:33 PM

Woo-hoo, I can spot grammatical errors too! :D

fcek off mw ;) maths was always my strong point!
Post by: Donagh on June 10, 2008, 11:43:35 PM
They are there objecting to McAleese's assertion that some Protestant children were taught to hate while at the same time they bring children (and there were some young children there) along to a protest where they hold banners and shout proclamations such as "f**k off you Fenian bitch", "No surrender", "f**k off home republican scum", and "We don't want you here".

Go figure  ::)
Post by: the green man on June 10, 2008, 11:48:15 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 10, 2008, 11:40:15 PM
A man buys 3 fish and 2 chips for £2.80
A woman buys 1 fish and 4 chips for £2.60
How much are the fish and how much are the chips?

60p and 50p ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Yes I Would on June 10, 2008, 11:55:39 PM
Sure they dont know what they want half the time. Wasnt it Adair and his gang of rotweillers who were devoted to combat 18, but yet flew Israeli flags from their lamposts, because of nationalist sympathy for the palestinians. Totally laughable.
That crowd today were a bit of a shambles so i wouldnt be taking them too seriously.
Post by: the green man on June 10, 2008, 11:58:15 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 10, 2008, 11:50:20 PM
Top of the rang.

YEESSSS!

Back on topic. Coleraine is one bitter place. I try never to venture near it, if at all possible. I'd have Ballymena over it anyday of the week.

Can't believe that they'd send out youngsters to protest like that. It really is a shitehole, that town.
Post by: the green man on June 11, 2008, 12:00:48 AM
Quote from: Yes I Would on June 10, 2008, 11:55:39 PM
Sure they dont know what they want half the time. Wasnt it Adair and his gang of rotweillers who were devoted to combat 18, but yet flew Israeli flags from their lamposts, because of nationalist sympathy for the palestinians.

Always found that quite funny.
Post by: thejuice on June 11, 2008, 12:58:03 AM
f**k sake, have these people nothing better to do. the usual rent-a-mob idiots, get a f**king job and get on with it!
Post by: Aerlik on June 11, 2008, 08:08:17 AM
Sure they dont know what they want half the time. Wasnt it Adair and his gang of rotweillers who were devoted to combat 18, but yet flew Israeli flags from their lamposts, because of nationalist sympathy for the palestinians. Totally laughable.
That crowd today were a bit of a shambles so i wouldnt be taking them too seriously.

There's a wee loyalist shithole just outside of Kilrea on the road to Garvagh.  They used to fly French flags and Croatian flags around the twelfth.  Classic.  Obviously no idea of history.

I've often said that Coleraine is an absolute fcukin cesspit of loyalist hatred, feeding the vultures from Bushmills, Macosquin, Moneydig and Portrush.  All the more reason that Eoghain Rua GAC deserve credit for their efforts.
Post by: theskull1 on June 11, 2008, 10:07:51 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on June 11, 2008, 08:08:17 AM
I've often said that Coleraine is an absolute fcukin cesspit of loyalist hatred, feeding the vultures from Bushmills, Macosquin, Moneydig and Portrush.  All the more reason that Eoghain Rua GAC deserve credit for their efforts.

True, but whenever people invest so much of their lives hating the other side then it's hard to convince people like that to change. They have to much to lose. Of course low levels of intelligence is a huge factor in all of this so thinking their way to a new way of seeing the world isn't going to happen.

One thing I'm constantly annoyed about is how the main unionist newspaper the news letter puts accross a level of understanding these type of people and their motivations to hurl abuse/protest. Read it in a shop this morning and there was not proper perspective from intelligent unionist commentators on this incident. Seriously blinkered perspective on the world in that paper and is maybe one of the main reasons why these numpties show no real sign of extending there hands in friendship. If this happened in the nationalist community then I would expect the irishnews to rightly show a bit of leadership and denounce this type of behaviour for what it is
Post by: winsamsoon on June 11, 2008, 10:40:48 AM
Once again they have only shown their true colours. Those of us in the North are not one bit suprised by this baehaviour as we see it on a regular basis. The news is full of it each night. A different protest seems to be appearing out of the ashes at every opportnity.

We now have Irish  ;) Robinson claiming that gays are the plague of the earth. It is pretty clear lads, this section of the protestant community  (about65%) don't want to share power or live with anyone else on the same Island. All they want is to dictate what goes on and try and erradicate other groupings from society. So Mary Mc Aleese was correct when she made those comments. They evidence is clear to be seen.
Post by: whiskeysteve on June 11, 2008, 10:56:47 AM
A protest occured when the Mayor of Coleraine organised a reception at the council buildings for our football teams run to the AI intermediate final. He was also the only unionist counciller to show up if I recall correctly. Our players had to walk past a similar though smaller group and were on the receiving end of 1or2 nasty comments.

One of the protestors told our players to 'go home'. He had a Scottish accent
Post by: Bogball XV on June 11, 2008, 11:38:45 AM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on June 11, 2008, 10:56:47 AMOne of the protestors told our players to 'go home'. He had a Scottish accent
Them f**king ballymoney lads!!
Post by: Rav67 on June 11, 2008, 02:31:21 PM
Wtf is the "no to Dublin money" about?  I'd say the folk there protesting on a weekday wouldn't be shy about accepting state money wherever it was coming from!  Went to school in Coleraine and its an absolute dive, I know there's idiots everywhere but you really do get an inordinate amount of witless c***ts from there.  Our bus got pelted with stones every single day we went past the secondary school.  The people protesting are convinced that any change somehow means they're losing out.  And I probably would give the blonde a rattle too.
Post by: winsamsoon on June 11, 2008, 02:32:34 PM
Aren't they all from Scotland anyway  :D :D and they have the stupidity to tell you to go home whiskeysteve.
Post by: winsamsoon on June 11, 2008, 02:35:20 PM
I see someone in the background is also protesting at the appointment of Mourinho as coach of Inter Milan. He must be a chelsea neo nazi. :D :D
Post by: red hander on June 11, 2008, 03:12:36 PM
Quote from: the green man on June 11, 2008, 12:00:48 AM
Sure they dont know what they want half the time. Wasnt it Adair and his gang of rotweillers who were devoted to combat 18, but yet flew Israeli flags from their lamposts, because of nationalist sympathy for the palestinians.

Always found that quite funny.

Yeah, and Johnny's favourite band was UB40, one of the most racially-integrated groups of the past 30 years, sure he nearly got plugged at one of their gigs ... as for the shenigans in Coleraine, it's what the word scum was invented for
Post by: Orior on June 11, 2008, 03:16:23 PM
I'm sure some of these protestors used to live near Holy Cross primary school.
Post by: Yes I Would on June 11, 2008, 03:50:15 PM
Quote from: red hander on June 11, 2008, 03:12:36 PM
Quote from: the green man on June 11, 2008, 12:00:48 AM

Yeah, and Johnny's favourite band was UB40, one of the most racially-integrated groups of the past 30 years, sure he nearly got plugged at one of their gigs ... as for the shenigans in Coleraine, it's what the word scum was invented for

These hard men neo nazi scum also like to don their poppies every year in respect for the fallen soldiers during the wars. Who did they think they were fighting on the battlefields of Europe??? The GAA or the AOH!!!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 11, 2008, 03:51:39 PM
Scummy b*stards  >:(
Post by: his holiness nb on June 11, 2008, 04:47:05 PM
Well what can you expect given the intolerance shown by their political leaders.

It says a lot that MW's only post was to correct someones grammer and not comment on the protestors themselves.

Also the silence from certain other posters is deafening.

Post by: Apple Top on June 11, 2008, 04:55:34 PM
Not sure what you want here from other posters, it's quite clear these individuals are scumbags, there are sucmbags connected to every section of society.  I think it shows how far the peace process has come that the President could visit albeit among some petty heckers! To be honest I think they got too much air time, exactly what they were looking. no one really gives a flying fcuk about their opinions.
Post by: Main Street on June 11, 2008, 05:01:03 PM
The protest is more pathetic that anything else. Not worth getting into a lather about or looking for condemnations.
I'm sure President Mary has a perspective of the violent hate directed towards her growing up and wouldn't lose any sleep over a some rednecks throwing nothing more than abuse.

If she is going to go into the middle of the unionist territory then fair play to her.
She will focus on the positives of the visit the welcome she received and not the "guard of honour".

(http://editorial.jpress.co.uk/web/Upload/cole/TH0_116200849web---CR25-107PL-PROTEST-6.jpg)

I see she had earlier visited the Kilrea Gaa club.

Post by: his holiness nb on June 11, 2008, 05:01:57 PM
Quote from: Apple Top on June 11, 2008, 04:55:34 PM
Not sure what you want here from other posters,

Sorry Apple top, I mean a specific few on here who take great delight when anyone from the Nationalist community misbehaves, yet are eerily silent when its coming from the Unionist side.
Post by: Solomon Kane on June 11, 2008, 05:15:15 PM
If it makes anyone happy I believe the protest was pointless and ugly and there is no place for sectarian abuse anywhere.

Those who are tarring the whole protestant community with one brush, including McAleese herself at times need to take a long hard look at themselves as well. There is not a lot of difference there. Two wrongs don't make a right.

Post by: his holiness nb on June 11, 2008, 05:19:48 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on June 11, 2008, 05:15:15 PM
Those who are tarring the whole protestant community with one brush, including McAleese herself at times need to take a long hard look at themselves as well. There is not a lot of difference there. Two wrongs don't make a right.

didnt the comments she made refer to "some" of the protestants community?

How thats tarring them all with the same brush is beyond me.

Also, I dont think anyone on here has suggested all protestants are like this. It is apparant that a lot of them have these views, but not all.

But dont let that stop you acting the victim  ::)
Post by: Solomon Kane on June 11, 2008, 05:26:09 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 11, 2008, 05:19:48 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on June 11, 2008, 05:15:15 PM

didnt the comments she made refer to "some" of the protestants community?

How thats tarring them all with the same brush is beyond me.

Also, I dont think anyone on here has suggested all protestants are like this. It is apparant that a lot of them have these views, but not all.

But dont let that stop you acting the victim  ::)

Sorry - not all, just 65% ;)
Post by: his holiness nb on June 11, 2008, 05:28:23 PM
Who said 65% ??
McAleese said "some" brought their children up to hate catholics.

This is 100% correct. Theres no tarring with brushes here, as you well know.

Making up figures like that doesnt make you the victim you like to pretend you are.
Post by: Solomon Kane on June 11, 2008, 06:35:26 PM
Quote from: winsamsoon on June 11, 2008, 10:40:48 AM
Once again they have only shown their true colours. Those of us in the North are not one bit suprised by this baehaviour as we see it on a regular basis. The news is full of it each night. A different protest seems to be appearing out of the ashes at every opportnity.

We now have Irish  ;) Robinson claiming that gays are the plague of the earth. It is pretty clear lads, this section of the protestant community  (about65%) don't want to share power or live with anyone else on the same Island. All they want is to dictate what goes on and try and erradicate other groupings from society. So Mary Mc Aleese was correct when she made those comments. They evidence is clear to be seen.

By the way, I am not playing any sort of victim, and I doubt I ever will.
Post by: winsamsoon on June 11, 2008, 08:15:31 PM
I said 65 % as a estimate just is wasn't meant to be taken as gospel. but it was intended to indicate that not all the huns are bitter or have been brought up bitter.
Post by: Tony hawks on June 11, 2008, 08:43:35 PM
I would be interested to see the reaction of some nationalist/republican parents and posters if the Queen or other Royal Family members went to visit a catholic school in say polegalas,s twinnbrook etc?. :-\
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on June 11, 2008, 09:06:37 PM
This Plantation of Ireland still fecks me off!
Post by: ziggysego on June 11, 2008, 09:14:15 PM
Quote from: Tony hawks on June 11, 2008, 08:43:35 PM
I would be interested to see the reaction of some nationalist/republican parents and posters if the Queen or other Royal Family members went to visit a catholic school in say polegalas,s twinnbrook etc?. :-\

Where's polegalas and twinnbrook?
Post by: Bensars on June 11, 2008, 09:16:50 PM

Unless the school is situated within the gardens of Hillsborough Castle and doesnt interfere with the planting of a tree, there isnt much chance of that happening !
Post by: Rossfan on June 11, 2008, 09:41:40 PM

Mrs McAleese was visiting a school in a town in her own country while that other woman is a foreigner (English) and would have no reason to visit a school in West Belfast.  ;)

As for the 50 scumbags - 50 out of 20,000 makes tham a bit irrelevant I think.
Post by: Solomon Kane on June 11, 2008, 10:30:12 PM
Quote from: winsamsoon on June 11, 2008, 08:15:31 PM
I said 65 % as a estimate just is wasn't meant to be taken as gospel. but it was intended to indicate that not all the huns are bitter or have been brought up bitter.

Just 2 out of 3 then. And you use the word hun and bitter in the same post. Classy! ;D
Post by: tyssam5 on June 11, 2008, 10:35:42 PM
It our fault really we need to get them houses and jobs, to quote (almost) Terence O'Neill:

"It is frightfully hard to explain to Catholics that if you give Protestants a good job and a good house, they will live like Catholics...they will refuse to take their children to silly protests.... If you treat Protestants with due consideration and kindness, they will live like Catholics in spite of the authoritative nature of their Church"
Post by: Bogball XV on June 11, 2008, 11:00:18 PM
funny thing is this was an integrated school
Post by: Fishbat on June 11, 2008, 11:04:03 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on June 11, 2008, 10:35:42 PM
It our fault really we need to get them houses and jobs, to quote (almost) Terence O'Neill:

"It is frightfully hard to explain to Catholics that if you give Protestants a good job and a good house, they will live like Catholics...they will refuse to take their children to silly protests.... If you treat Protestants with due consideration and kindness, they will live like Catholics in spite of the authoritative nature of their Church"

Their balloonery always comes back to bite......fairly hilarious delusions of grandeur in the protestant "leadership" of that time....still a fair few wannabe's about today though and just as nauseating, perhaps more so, considering almost 40 yrs have passed
Post by: MW on June 12, 2008, 12:24:28 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 11, 2008, 04:47:05 PM
It says a lot that MW's only post was to correct someones grammer and not comment on the protestors themselves.

I'll tell you what it says.

It says that I thought it was an ironic error given that one of the major reactions on this thread seemed to be the grammatical error in one of the posters. Still, "it says a lot" that you only took me to task , eh?

I think any regular poster would be pretty aware of my view of this type of incident (and I'm reptty sure you do to). I don't feel the need to comment on every thread in a solemn fashion (if at all) and being in a lighter mood at the time decided to join on to the more frivolous comments rather than concentrating on the depressing incident.

If you don't like that, tough.
Post by: MW on June 12, 2008, 12:25:35 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 11, 2008, 05:01:57 PM

Sorry Apple top, I mean a specific few on here who take great delight when anyone from the Nationalist community misbehaves, yet are eerily silent when its coming from the Unionist side.

If that's directed it me then it's utter bollocks.
Post by: winsamsoon on June 12, 2008, 10:16:37 AM
Sure there lies part of the problem, a lot of our so called southern friends(not all) have lost interest in the whole issue of Northern Ireland. However it does feel that when nationalists do anything wrong eg protest against the removal of rule 21 or 42 they are criticised. When Unionists come out and do something like this, certain folk retract into the woodwork and remain silent.
Post by: nifan on June 12, 2008, 10:30:33 AM
Has anyone stuck up for these gobshites?
Post by: the green man on June 12, 2008, 10:44:41 AM
Quote from: nifan on June 12, 2008, 10:30:33 AM

Jim Allister in todays Irish News
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 12, 2008, 11:29:31 AM
Quote from: the green man on June 12, 2008, 10:44:41 AM

Jim Allister in todays Irish News

hard to believe he is educated...but then again that the scum vote that he is touting for
Post by: Main Street on June 12, 2008, 12:03:05 PM
From the Irish news
http://www.irishnews.com/articles/540/561/2008/6/11/589988_348085839145McAleesep.html (http://www.irishnews.com/articles/540/561/2008/6/11/589988_348085839145McAleesep.html)

DUP MP Gregory Campbell said anyone who felt intimidated should report their concerns to police but he did not condemn the protest.

"I look forward to the day when there won't be any controversy but she herself has added to that controversy," he said.

Mrs McAleese was greeted by cries of "no surrender" and "republic scum" as she fulfilled the engagement.

In complete contrast to Campbell, there are some people with integrity.

'Principal John Platt last night said, however, that he would not cave in to bullying and that such behaviour made him even more determined to arrange similar events in future
the protest and previous attacks on the school had been or-chestrated by a small group of "people living in the 1980s who are losing their power base".
We have 36 children from ethnic minorities. Over half of the other 384 do not actually state any preferred religion," Mr Platt said.

"To be visited by the president is an unbelievable compliment to the school and the community. We have a community that is very responsive to change and that is hoping to move forward.

"I am very positive about everything that happens in this school.

"I think we have to look positively on our relationships with all our neighbours."

Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on June 12, 2008, 12:07:26 PM
The only lesson to be learnt here is that irony is lost on the masses.

You are offended because someone said you teach your children to hate like Nazis.  To display your hurt you go out (with your children in-tow) and chant hate-filled slogans like a bunch of Nazis.

It's class!

/Jim.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 12, 2008, 01:23:36 PM
Quote from: MW on June 12, 2008, 12:25:35 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 11, 2008, 05:01:57 PM

If that's directed it me then it's utter bollocks.

It wasnt actually!
Post by: his holiness nb on June 12, 2008, 01:30:46 PM
Quote from: MW on June 12, 2008, 12:24:28 AM

"it says a lot" that you only took me to task , eh?

Not really, you were the only one who did this. What should I take the other posters to task for??  ???
Post by: J70 on June 12, 2008, 01:34:55 PM

No, but silence is consent, apparently.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 12, 2008, 01:42:55 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 12, 2008, 01:34:55 PM

I presume thats aimed at me. I never once suggested anyone approved of this behaviour.
I merely noted that certain posters, who would be the first on here to comment were this behaviour displayed by the Nationalist community, strangely decided to sit this one out.

Nothing to do with consent, and if anyone took my comments to mean they approved on these gobshites, I of course apologise while noting it was quite a conclusion to jump to.
Post by: J70 on June 12, 2008, 01:53:28 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 12, 2008, 01:42:55 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 12, 2008, 01:34:55 PM

I presume thats aimed at me. I never once suggested anyone approved of this behaviour.
I merely noted that certain posters, who would be the first on here to comment were this behaviour displayed by the Nationalist community, strangely decided to sit this one out.

Nothing to do with consent, and if anyone took my comments to mean they approved on these gobshites, I of course apologise while noting it was quite a conclusion to jump to.

Fair enough, but its by no means a big leap to go from "certain posters, who would be the first on here to comment were this behaviour displayed by the Nationalist community, strangely decided to sit this one out" to the implication that they might approve or at the very least be much less outraged than if it had been the other side involved.
Post by: winsamsoon on June 12, 2008, 03:07:48 PM
well if the clothes fit J70 then wear them. I took the same meaning out of what his holiness said. He said he didn't mean it that way but i am saying that this is indeed the case. Some do actually bury their heads in the sand when the shoe is on the other foot.

It is a bit like the old sceptic at the club games. It wouldn't matter how many the team win by he will always find a gripe with his own whilst at the same time praising the other side.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 12, 2008, 03:20:09 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 12, 2008, 01:53:28 PM
Fair enough, but its by no means a big leap to go from "certain posters, who would be the first on here to comment were this behaviour displayed by the Nationalist community, strangely decided to sit this one out" to the implication that they might approve or at the very least be much less outraged than if it had been the other side involved.

Its a big leap indeed to go from that to accusing them of approving.
To suggest they were less outraged than they would pretend to be were it nationalists, well, I dont think thats too unreasonable.

Or do you feel they are as quick to point out unionists behaving badly as much as they do nationalists?
I'm not talking the token "of course I abhor this from any side, blah blah" disclaimer thrown in every now and then. I'm talking in general.
Post by: nifan on June 12, 2008, 03:36:25 PM
Can you point out who "they" are?
Post by: his holiness nb on June 12, 2008, 04:00:03 PM
Quote from: nifan on June 12, 2008, 03:36:25 PM

not you anyway Nifan  ;)

Was thinking of EG and Sammy specifically.
Not all Unionist posters or anything of the sort.
Post by: Rav67 on June 12, 2008, 04:47:43 PM
In fairness I haven't noticed either of them 2 on the past few days, really it's not that big an issue anyway.  It was a relatively small collection of people without an ounce of sense between them, I don't care how snobby I sound but I went to school there and had a few jobs in Coleraine and overall the intelligence levels aren't too high down there believe me!  I'm not sure if McAleese's stupid and offensive comments after the holocaust memorial contributed to getting people out to protest but it certainly gives certain people an excuse.  I'd be more annoyed about Jim Allister's comments about McAleese, really childish and bitter from an elected representative.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 12, 2008, 05:01:17 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on June 12, 2008, 04:47:43 PM
In fairness I haven't noticed either of them 2 on the past few days]

Fair enough, I take it back so.
I still them them two are dodgy though  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on June 12, 2008, 05:02:45 PM
Sammy did say that he was experiencing computer problems lately, so he could be still experiencing them.

As for EG.. who knows.
Post by: orangeman on June 12, 2008, 07:49:44 PM
Her advisors should have told her not to go near this joint !
Post by: MW on June 12, 2008, 09:21:19 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 12, 2008, 01:30:46 PM

Not really, you were the only one who did this. What should I take the other posters to task for??  ???

Have a look back at the posts of Surreal Steve, Shamrock Shore and Bogball XV on the first page. Then ask yourself why you decided to single me out.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 12, 2008, 09:29:13 PM
Quote from: MW on June 12, 2008, 09:21:19 PM

Have a look back at the posts of Surreal Steve, Shamrock Shore and Bogball XV on the first page. Then ask yourself why you decided to single me out.
My post wasn't trying to correct anyone's grammar, I was only trying to best answer a query put forward by another poster ;)
Post by: MW on June 12, 2008, 09:33:06 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 12, 2008, 09:29:13 PM

My post wasn't trying to correct anyone's grammar, I was only trying to best answer a query put forward by another poster ;)

Meh, sush you :P
Post by: J70 on June 13, 2008, 03:54:54 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 12, 2008, 03:20:09 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 12, 2008, 01:53:28 PM

Its a big leap indeed to go from that to accusing them of approving.
To suggest they were less outraged than they would pretend to be were it nationalists, well, I dont think thats too unreasonable.

Or do you feel they are as quick to point out unionists behaving badly as much as they do nationalists?
I'm not talking the token "of course I abhor this from any side, blah blah" disclaimer thrown in every now and then. I'm talking in general.

As I said, I accept that it wasn't your intention to imply that, but it is nevertheless an easy implication to make, absent your clarification. Obviously what is considered an implication can depend on the person interpreting what has been written.
Post by: SammyG on June 13, 2008, 09:08:08 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 12, 2008, 04:00:03 PM
Quote from: nifan on June 12, 2008, 03:36:25 PM

not you anyway Nifan  ;)

Was thinking of EG and Sammy specifically.
Not all Unionist posters or anything of the sort.

I love this site, no matter how many times I post and say that I'm not on at the minute, the next time I log on there's always somebody accusing me of something.

For the umpteenth time, I'm working in a customers office, so I can't get the site from work at the minute, so I can only log on now and again. It's nice that you all miss me but I'm alright really.  ;)
Post by: stiffler on June 13, 2008, 09:18:35 AM

I love this site, no matter how many times I post and say that I'm not on at the minute, the next time I log on there's always somebody accusing me of something.

Are you on the drink Sammy? that statement makes a load of sense.  :P
Post by: Yes I Would on June 13, 2008, 11:05:51 AM
Thats it Sammy cant live with ya! cant live without ya!!
Post by: SammyG on June 13, 2008, 12:17:17 PM
Quote from: stiffler on June 13, 2008, 09:18:35 AM

Are you on the drink Sammy? that statement makes a load of sense.  :P

That should have read I'm not on much at the minute.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 13, 2008, 01:26:35 PM
Quote from: SammyG on June 13, 2008, 09:08:08 AM
the next time I log on there's always somebody accusing me of something.

What were you "accused" of?
I'll tell you, doing nothing.

hardly a savage attack  :D :D :D
Post by: his holiness nb on June 13, 2008, 01:28:51 PM

I have no idea what you are on about MW, and if you had a look around this site you would see I single out people of all creeds on a regular basis so theres no need to give the whole "is it coz I is Unionist" whingefest  ;)
Post by: SammyG on June 13, 2008, 02:20:12 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 13, 2008, 01:26:35 PM
Quote from: SammyG on June 13, 2008, 09:08:08 AM
the next time I log on there's always somebody accusing me of something.

What were you "accused" of?
I'll tell you, doing nothing.

hardly a savage attack  :D :D :D

Err you accused me of supporting the protesters, because I hadn't specifically posted to condemn them. When J70 and NIFan pulled you about this, you tried to change tack.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 13, 2008, 03:18:50 PM
Quote from: SammyG on June 13, 2008, 02:20:12 PM
Err you accused me of supporting the protesters, because I hadn't specifically posted to condemn them. When J70 and NIFan pulled you about this, you tried to change tack.

Sammy you are a down and out big fat liar, I never accused you of anything of the sort.
Noting that you stayed silent and didnt condemn them is not the same as saying you supported the protestors. If you cant see that then thats your problem.

I clarified exactly what I mean to J70 and he accepted my explanation.

I didnt see Nifan "pulling" me about anything. He just asked who I was referring to.

Thats one more lie to add to your ever growing list Sammy, carry on  ;)
Post by: MW on June 13, 2008, 07:43:53 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 13, 2008, 01:28:51 PM

I have no idea what you are on about MW, and if you had a look around this site you would see I single out people of all creeds on a regular basis so theres no need to give the whole "is it coz I is Unionist" whingefest  ;)

So you singled me out because...?
Post by: his holiness nb on June 14, 2008, 01:36:01 PM
Quote from: MW on June 13, 2008, 07:43:53 PM

Because you are a victim and I hate all protestants. That what you want to hear?  ::)
Post by: Solomon Kane on June 14, 2008, 04:21:17 PM
Quote from: tram on June 14, 2008, 02:39:41 PM
W.R.T. the comments she made at the time, she wasn't wrong in what she said. Her big mistake was forgetting to include the fact that also some Catholics have (and still) are taught to hate Protestants too.

Even if she had included Catholics she would still be way off the mark. The Nazis were not a fair comparison - they were among the most evil bastards in the history of the world. Intolerance is one thing, but a desire to wipe other groups of people off the face of the earth is another altogether. Northern Ireland is far from unique as far as intolerance goes, and it is still in it's birthing pains. There may be some people whose views are extreme to say the least but they are becoming increasingly marginalised. The end of the bloodshed will mean the place will be even more improved a generation or two down the line, when people have no living memory of the crimes committed against their community by "themuns".
Post by: Bogball XV on June 14, 2008, 04:40:03 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on June 14, 2008, 04:21:17 PM
Quote from: tram on June 14, 2008, 02:39:41 PM
W.R.T. the comments she made at the time, she wasn't wrong in what she said. Her big mistake was forgetting to include the fact that also some Catholics have (and still) are taught to hate Protestants too.
The Nazis were not a fair comparison - they were among the most evil bastards in the history of the world. Intolerance is one thing, but a desire to wipe other groups of people off the face of the earth is another altogether.
So that differs from NI how?
Post by: Main Street on June 14, 2008, 04:59:32 PM
Afair McAleese's comparison was with the method of transmitting hate to a younger generation

she was not comparing the quality of the hate or the effect of that hate with the Nazis.

That is the subject for a historical debate not the statement to be uttered by the President.
AFAIR  the President has 100% apologised for her comments.

A point which is forgotten or sidestepped by those who refuse to take her apology.

Post by: Solomon Kane on June 14, 2008, 06:02:53 PM
I would not doubt that many if not most murder victims in NI were killed because of their religion. Even if they were killed because they had been in the police or whatever and they happened to be prods it was likely a bonus for the killers. It is a bit of a stretch to call Seawright a politician but if anyone could be compared to a Nazi it was him. I do accept Main Street's assertion about the quality and efffect of the hate, but I just dont accept that "Nazi" is a term that can be bandied about lightly. Would anyone be prepared to use that analogy for what is being preached (according to some British tabloids) in certain Mosques in England?
Post by: Main Street on June 14, 2008, 06:15:14 PM
Of course it wasn't acceptable,

'She said some people had accused her of making a connection between Protestantism and Nazism'.
"That's a dreadful assertion and indeed if anybody took that from it I should have to say that I would be very, very, very deeply sorry indeed.
"I was trying to make a point and I made it very clumsily indeed. I am the first to put my hands up and say I made it very clumsily indeed."

What it comes down to, are people prepared to accept her sincere apology or are people just going to remember the offense?
Post by: Solomon Kane on June 14, 2008, 06:21:53 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 14, 2008, 06:15:14 PM
What it comes down to, are people prepared to accept her sincere apology or are people just going to remember the offense?

And that Main Street is what ballsed up Miss Jade Goodie's "career". I'm sure that her apology was every bit as sincere. Few people, regardless of their actual views want to come accross as bigoted. The protesters in this case no doubt would have used any excuse to protest, but in some cases, mud sticks. Personally I believe McAleeses remarks were clumsy rather than anything more malicious, but I see the woman as clueless at the best of times. Does she really think she is reaching out to anyone in unionism by having Jackie McDonald over for tea? Is she trying to insult us all or is she really that stupid.
Post by: Rossfan on June 14, 2008, 08:03:59 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on June 14, 2008, 06:21:53 PM
Personally I believe McAleeses remarks were clumsy rather than anything more malicious.....

Talk about showing your contempt for our Uachtarán   -  only calling her by her surname   :-\
Post by: Main Street on June 14, 2008, 11:14:09 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 14, 2008, 06:15:14 PM

And that Main Street is what ballsed up Miss Jade Goodie's "career". I'm sure that her apology was every bit as sincere. Few people, regardless of their actual views want to come accross as bigoted. The protesters in this case no doubt would have used any excuse to protest, but in some cases, mud sticks. Personally I believe McAleeses remarks were clumsy rather than anything more malicious, but I see the woman as clueless at the best of times. Does she really think she is reaching out to anyone in unionism by having Jackie McDonald over for tea? Is she trying to insult us all or is she really that stupid.
Who knows what she is thinking when she met with McDonald? I don't judge her on that.
Presidents meet a lot of different people, some of them probably guilty of a lot of things.

I get your point about the apology and the actual view first expressed.
I think this has been discussed before.

How do Unionists in general perceive her?
It looks to me that it is mainly cynical DUP type Unionists still take offense with her.
She is quite active in visiting the North.
She is being made welcome. If people at those places she visited said it was a worthless experience then I would question her sincerity.
It looks to me that she is being very well received by the vast majority of people in the North.

For what I can see she is making an effort and her perceived or actual clumsiness doesn't undermine or minimize any significance with her diplomatic activity.

Post by: Solomon Kane on June 15, 2008, 02:52:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 14, 2008, 08:03:59 PM
Personally I believe McAleeses remarks were clumsy rather than anything more malicious.....

Talk about showing your contempt for our Uachtarán   -  only calling her by her surname   :-\

I will not deny I do not like her. She is a pale shadow of the woman she followed. I make no apology for this.
Post by: Rossfan on June 15, 2008, 05:31:24 PM
Good ould Upper Middle class Trinity College  Mary Robinson - the darling of the Irish Times and the West Brits. >:( >:(
Ohh and she was from Mayo as well. ;D
Just what did she ever do for anyone?
Post by: MW on June 15, 2008, 06:38:04 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 14, 2008, 01:36:01 PM

Because you are a victim and I hate all protestants. That what you want to hear?  ::)

I want to hear your reason :-\
Post by: MW on June 15, 2008, 06:40:13 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 14, 2008, 04:59:32 PM
Afair McAleese's comparison was with the method of transmitting hate to a younger generation

she was not comparing the quality of the hate or the effect of that hate with the Nazis.

And as I've said before, her comparison on the transmission of hate was extremely inaccurate.

I think it was clumsy and ill-informed, and I recognise that she apologised.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 16, 2008, 01:14:40 PM
Quote from: MW on June 15, 2008, 06:38:04 PM

Jesus christ MW, would you get over it, you jumped into a thread about bigots to correct the grammar of someone slagging the bigots, I just thought it curious that you didnt comment on the bigots themselves.

Nothing to do with "singling out" get over yourself.
Post by: MW on June 16, 2008, 11:05:27 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 16, 2008, 01:14:40 PM
Quote from: MW on June 15, 2008, 06:38:04 PM

Jesus christ MW, would you get over it, you jumped into a thread about bigots to correct the grammar of someone slagging the bigots, I just thought it curious that you didnt comment on the bigots themselves.

Nothing to do with "singling out" get over yourself.

Funny that you seemed to think it was terribly significant that I did this.

I decided to join in with some of the jocularity on the thread. Big deal. Other people did likewise. As I said, I think anyone who's been aware of my posts would realise how I would think about this incident and I don't actually have to comment seriously on every thread I choose to comment on.
Post by: ziggysego on June 16, 2008, 11:06:17 PM
Can we call it a draw and leave it at that?
Post by: thejuice on June 17, 2008, 09:33:15 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 16, 2008, 11:06:17 PM
Can we call it a draw and leave it at that?

No, next goal wins
Post by: his holiness nb on June 17, 2008, 02:03:30 PM
Quote from: MW on June 16, 2008, 11:05:27 PM
Funny that you seemed to think it was terribly significant that I did this.

???
Terribly significant? Nope the word I used was "curious", bit of a difference there old chap  ;)

You are not a victim here, I comment on several peoples remarks on several threads, nothing special or significant about this one, so stop making out like it is.

Ziggys right, draw a line in the sand, this is gone way out of hand for such an innocuous comment  ::)
Post by: nifan on June 17, 2008, 03:37:27 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 17, 2008, 02:03:30 PM
Ziggys right, draw a line in the sand, this is gone way out of hand for such an innocuous comment  ::)

Ironic given the topic of the thread
Post by: his holiness nb on June 17, 2008, 04:21:33 PM
Quote from: nifan on June 17, 2008, 03:37:27 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 17, 2008, 02:03:30 PM

Ironic given the topic of the thread

Well spotted, excellent point!