Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: redboots on February 21, 2008, 05:15:46 PM

Title: Honeymoon
Post by: redboots on February 21, 2008, 05:15:46 PM
Need some help lads....Will be booking honeymoon soon has anyone any advice, anyone every been to mexico??????????????????
Title: Re: Honeymoon
Post by: illdecide on February 21, 2008, 05:17:24 PM
South Africa is the ticket. 1 week in Durban and 1 week in Cape Town. in saying that i went to Orlando for mine which was good too but south africa is the ticket
Post by: Puckoon on February 21, 2008, 05:18:35 PM
Mexico is a nice spot. Was in Cancun on my own belated honeymoon. Good time, great views, great food, super weather and some of the all inclusive resorts are great value.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 21, 2008, 05:22:15 PM
Mexico is the biz, caribbean sea, lively resort (Cancun) and great day trips, Chitzen Itza.

What sort of thing are you looking? Lively? Desert Island quiet?
Post by: redboots on February 21, 2008, 05:23:33 PM
when you were in South Africa do you go on safari at all 
Post by: stevo-08 on February 21, 2008, 07:10:16 PM
we went to south america - venezuela & peru. wouldnt have changed a single thing about it. totally chilled out & relaxed on an island off venezuela before heading to Peru for amazing sightseeing & trekking, including doing machu pichu.

suppose it all depends on what you're looking for.
Post by: ziggysego on February 21, 2008, 07:17:58 PM
My sister is going to Norway for hers.
Post by: Donagh on February 21, 2008, 07:18:09 PM
Quote from: stevo-08 on February 21, 2008, 07:10:16 PM
we went to south america - venezuela & peru. wouldnt have changed a single thing about it. totally chilled out & relaxed on an island off venezuela before heading to Peru for amazing sightseeing & trekking, including doing machu pichu.

Doing the same ourselves this summer. Have Caracas and Lima hotels booked already - any recommendations for Cusco and booking the Machu Pichu trek? Going on to Lake Titicaca and La Paz and back by Arica in Chile for the flight back to Lima.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 21, 2008, 07:40:41 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 21, 2008, 07:17:58 PM

Where's her new husband going ?
Post by: ziggysego on February 21, 2008, 07:43:11 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 21, 2008, 07:40:41 PM

Edinburgh
Post by: Bar None on February 21, 2008, 07:43:33 PM
All inclusive Domincan Republic.  ;)
Post by: Chrisowc on February 21, 2008, 07:44:31 PM
Quote from: Donagh on February 21, 2008, 07:18:09 PM

Doing the same ourselves this summer. Have Caracas and Lima hotels booked already - any recommendations for Cusco and booking the Machu Pichu trek? Going on to Lake Titicaca and La Paz and back by Arica in Chile for the flight back to Lima.

There's nothing like a spot of Eco-tourism ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 21, 2008, 08:09:56 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 21, 2008, 07:43:11 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 21, 2008, 07:40:41 PM

Edinburgh

That would be my perfect honeymoon i go one place she goes to another !
Post by: Hereiam on February 21, 2008, 08:22:29 PM
Me and the Mrs went to Las Vegas for 4 nights, San Fran for 3 nights and Hawaii for 7 was a trip well worth every penny.
Post by: stevo-08 on February 21, 2008, 10:22:35 PM

We stayed in Novo Hotel in Cuzco  www.novotelcusco.com (http://www.novotelcusco.com) nice hotel & fairly central.
Is this a honeymoon or a holiday. if it's honeymoon, then i'd highly recommend miraflores hotel in lima - absolutely superb. as for machu pichu, to do the 4 day trek, you need to book 6months in advance. we booked everything through an agent in cork Beacon South America. They used Condor Travel in peru, who looked after everything for us including the machu pichu trek. Are you going to Arequipa? absolutely beautiful city. Caracas is a dump, we spent 1 night there and it was more than enough.
Post by: gawa316 on February 21, 2008, 10:55:30 PM
Just booked mine the other week. The wedding is in California so heading onto Oahu for 4 nights and then 10 nights in Kauai.

Can't wait always wanted to go there
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 21, 2008, 10:58:13 PM
There was a thread re this a few weeks back somewhere. Cancun was my destination, and an excellent place. I actually was checkingout of my hotel, as a young John Terry was checking in....but that's another story.
Post by: Donagh on February 21, 2008, 11:04:52 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on February 21, 2008, 07:44:31 PM

There's nothing like a spot of Eco-tourism ;)

You'd be a good bloke to have a pint with sometime Chris  ;) And I wouldn't bite you on the arse  :o
Post by: Donagh on February 21, 2008, 11:22:57 PM
Quote from: stevo-08 on February 21, 2008, 10:22:35 PM

We stayed in Novo Hotel in Cuzco  www.novotelcusco.com (http://www.novotelcusco.com) nice hotel & fairly central.
Is this a honeymoon or a holiday. if it's honeymoon, then i'd highly recommend miraflores hotel in lima - absolutely superb. as for , to do the 4 day trek, you need to book 6months in advance. we booked everything through an agent in cork Beacon South America. They used Condor Travel in peru, who looked after everything for us including the machu pichu trek. Are you going to Arequipa? absolutely beautiful city. Caracas is a dump, we spent 1 night there and it was more than enough.

It's a honeymoon Steve and I already have the Miraflores Park Hotel booked for 3 nights - Junior Suite with ocean view, sauna, massages etc in the room (my surprise wedding pressie to her) ;) Haven't booked Machu Pichu yet as the guidebooks recommended waiting until we got there but I'm kind of wanting to get as many of the costs paid up front as I can. We're going for three and a half weeks and were originally heading for Arica from La Paz via Lauca Park but I've since learned there's an airport in Arequipa as well, so didn't know whether to aim for there instead of Arica for the end of the journey. Will check out that Cusco hotel though the woman spotted 'Ninos' as well that sounds good (profits go to an associated orphanage).

Post by: ziggysego on February 21, 2008, 11:24:36 PM
When's the big day guys?
Post by: gawa316 on February 21, 2008, 11:26:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 21, 2008, 11:24:36 PM
When's the big day guys?

22nd March for me
Post by: Donagh on February 21, 2008, 11:31:40 PM
When's the big day guys?

Two days before Armagh v Down and flying out the morning after (though I don't think she would be impressed to know the honeymoon was delayed by a day for the football).  ;D
Post by: ziggysego on February 21, 2008, 11:34:59 PM
Congratulations guys.

I don't think Armagh and Down are playing this year Donagh, unless you mean in the qualifiers ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 21, 2008, 11:37:32 PM
Im actually a bit worried lads...I met my girlfriend on the 29th Feb 2004 so it will be four years on the 29th of Feb this year...
Hope to feck she isn't gonna get any ideas  :-\
Post by: ziggysego on February 21, 2008, 11:44:12 PM
You engaged now too hardstation?
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2008, 11:45:51 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 21, 2008, 11:37:32 PM
Im actually a bit worried lads...I met my girlfriend on the 29th Feb 2004 so it will be four years on the 29th of Feb this year...

:D  :D

I thought you were married hardstation.
Post by: Donagh on February 21, 2008, 11:47:11 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 21, 2008, 11:34:59 PM
Congratulations guys.

I don't think Armagh and Down are playing this year Donagh, unless you mean in the qualifiers ;)

Dream on Ziggy  ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2008, 11:51:38 PM
21?!

No chance!
Post by: ziggysego on February 21, 2008, 11:53:07 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2008, 11:51:38 PM
21?!

No chance!

It's the drink that aged him badly....
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2008, 11:55:36 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 21, 2008, 11:52:23 PM
I am, aye.

No way, don't believe you.
Post by: give her dixie on February 22, 2008, 01:02:11 AM
Donagh, when in Cusco make sure you both head to "The Fallen Angel" restaurant.
Fantastic place with incredible art. Plus, the best steak in town.
Mama Africas in the square is a mad bar that is filled every night!
No worries about booking the trek while there.
The altitude will be tough to start with, but you will survive......
Have a blast
Post by: Puckoon on February 22, 2008, 01:23:04 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 21, 2008, 11:43:25 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 21, 2008, 11:37:32 PM
I can see Puckoon coming on here to tell a story about my St. Valentine's day.
That was scary. :-[

Lets just say he was glad he had the receipt.
Post by: Puckoon on February 22, 2008, 01:37:10 AM
Well now. Its how you tell it I guess. Maybe had you been more sincere the receipt wouldnt have been necessary...

Anyways, I though argos didnt do returns?
Post by: stevo-08 on February 22, 2008, 07:57:20 AM
Quote from: Donagh on February 21, 2008, 11:22:57 PM
It's a honeymoon Steve and I already have the Miraflores Park Hotel booked for 3 nights - Junior Suite with ocean view, sauna, massages etc in the room (my surprise wedding pressie to her) ;) Haven't booked Machu Pichu yet as the guidebooks recommended waiting until we got there but I'm kind of wanting to get as many of the costs paid up front as I can. We're going for three and a half weeks and were originally heading for Arica from La Paz via Lauca Park but I've since learned there's an airport in Arequipa as well, so didn't know whether to aim for there instead of Arica for the end of the journey. Will check out that Cusco hotel though the woman spotted 'Ninos' as well that sounds good (profits go to an associated orphanage).

Good stuff Donagh, you wont be disappointed with the miraflores, probably the finest hotel i've ever stayed in. make sure you book the $40 Honeymoon package when you get there. a nice treat!! I was fairly sure you had to book machu pichu in advance, but it depends on whether you do the 4 day or 2 day trip. they only allow 500 people per day on the 4 day trip (that includes approx 280 porters/guides) so, particularly in the busy season it gets booked up very quickly. if you are staying in arequipa, you just have to go to Zig Zag restaurant and try the "Trilogy" - superb...
Post by: Onion Bag on February 22, 2008, 08:25:05 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on February 21, 2008, 08:22:29 PM
Me and the Mrs went to Las Vegas for 4 nights, San Fran for 3 nights and Hawaii for 7 was a trip well worth every penny.

Sounds like the ticket!
Post by: Sky Blue on February 22, 2008, 08:34:17 AM
I had my honeymoon in Tramore, Co Waterford many years ago. The highlight of the weekend was a trip to see Johnny McEvoy in a local hotel.
Post by: stpauls on February 22, 2008, 09:12:02 AM
heading to Oz in October for my own honeymoon! would be going sooner as i am getting wed in July, but a friend of mine is getting married as well in Brisbane in October so thought we would go then. planning to fly to Sydney, take a week or so to come up the coast to Brisbane for the stag night. then another week touring further up the coast to come back down for the wedding a week later, and haven't decided what to do after that. thinking about going to Fiji, on our way to LA, then home via New York to see her brother! looking forward to it already!
Post by: Onion Bag on February 22, 2008, 09:21:29 AM
Quote from: stpauls on February 22, 2008, 09:12:02 AM
heading to Oz in October for my own honeymoon! would be going sooner as i am getting wed in July, but a friend of mine is getting married as well in Brisbane in October so thought we would go then. planning to fly to Sydney, take a week or so to come up the coast to Brisbane for the stag night. then another week touring further up the coast to come back down for the wedding a week later, and haven't decided what to do after that. thinking about going to Fiji, on our way to LA, then home via New York to see her brother! looking forward to it already!

Holy jasus st pauls, how long are you heading for?
Post by: stpauls on February 22, 2008, 04:00:45 PM
hopefully about 3-4 weeks! depends how much i can afford!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 22, 2008, 04:07:52 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 21, 2008, 11:26:31 PM
When's the big day guys?

22nd March for me

Same anniversary as myself and the better half. We got poxed lucky with the weather that year, it was beautiful down in Killarney.

Re your honeymoon, Hawai'i is the business. When I lived stateside I went to Oahu for 6 days with friends. It is beautiful.

Make sure you do a couple of things.

1) Drink a cocktail on Waikiki Beach at sunset, facing Diamondhead. It is possibly as close to heaven as you can get on this world.
2) Go snorkelling in Hanauma Bay, it's a natural cove protected by reef, so only the small, colourful fish get in there, and a few small 'cudas. But it is gorgeous as well.
3) Go to the North Shore, if you can rent a car, and visit some of the beaches up there.  Be careful about swimming, because the north shore is notorious for rip tides, but there are a couple you can swim in. Beware the sudden breaking waves though, they can knock you on your arse!! :D
4) Visit Pearl Harbour. Count the Japs there :D Ah no, seriously, Pearl Harbour is a lovely spot, and it is very eerie, but not spooky. You can take a walk around the 'Bowfish' which is a WWII submarine. (How they stayed on it, I'll never know), and of course, take the launch out to the memorial for the USS Arizona. It is a humbling experience, no matter what your thoughts on America and their foreign policy.
5) Deep Sea Fishing. If you are only there for a couple of days, you mightn't want to do this, and it's not exactly romantic watching your skipper gutting a Mahi Mahi :D It is a great day though, and the excitement when you hook onto a big one is hard to beat. I landed two Mahi Mahi on our trip, but a friend of mine battle a Marlin for 40 minutes before the first mate f*cked up with the gaffe, and freed the fish right at the side of the boat. The friend was sick, because he was so tired, but I was secretly happy as the Marlin was a lovely looking fish, and I wasn't looking forward to seeing it getting the works.

Don't go to the Polynesian experience up in the North Shore, it's a waste of money in my opinion, unless it has changed dramatically. It's not too bad to walk around actually, but we paid for the 'cookout' as well, and that was rubbish. It's not what it says on the tin. Actually, if you can get cheaper tickets and are up in the NS for a while it might be no harm, but I certainly wouldn't be going up specially.

Some pictures of what I'm talking about....

1) Waikiki Beach at sunset,
(http://lithuanian.wunderground.com/data/wximagenew/i/inaz4sun/407.jpg)

2) Hanauma Bay
(http://www.boostdam.net/Hawaii/HanaumaBay.jpg)

3) Waimea Bay, North Shore
(http://www.boostdam.net/Hawaii/Waimeabeach.jpg)

4) Pearl Harbour Arizona Memorial
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/8/89/USS_Arizona_Memorial,_Pearl_Harbor,_Hawaii.jpg/800px-USS_Arizona_Memorial,_Pearl_Harbor,_Hawaii.jpg)

5) A Mahi-mahi
(http://media.expedia.com/tshops/media/freestyle/GoneFishing_7.jpg)
Post by: nifan on February 22, 2008, 04:55:47 PM
Ive south africa sorted for mine - looks class

my other preference was argentina - i hear Buenos Aires is class
Post by: Puckoon on February 22, 2008, 05:14:20 PM
Ill second what AZ says about Waikikki beach. We had a great time there although be careful.

1. I says to the life guard - what about the sharks, should I be worried doin a bit of swimming. No says he, you see where all those surfers are out there (about 200yds out). I do says I. He says, thats where all the sharks are.
:o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o

2. We stumbled across a luau dance party on the beach where the locals were re inacting "the procreation dance". Apparently they used to perform this dance outside the bed chambers of the newly wed King and queen to ensure the arrival of healthy offspring.

4 weeks later im in a meeting and get a picture message of two positive pregnancy tests side by side on the desk.

:o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o
Post by: gawa316 on February 22, 2008, 11:16:21 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 22, 2008, 04:07:52 PM
When's the big day guys?

22nd March for me

Same anniversary as myself and the better half. We got poxed lucky with the weather that year, it was beautiful down in Killarney.

Re your honeymoon, Hawai'i is the business. When I lived stateside I went to Oahu for 6 days with friends. It is beautiful.

1) Drink a cocktail on Waikiki Beach at sunset, facing Diamondhead. It is possibly as close to heaven as you can get on this world.
2) Go snorkelling in Hanauma Bay, it's a natural cove protected by reef, so only the small, colourful fish get in there, and a few small 'cudas. But it is gorgeous as well.
3) Go to the North Shore, if you can rent a car, and visit some of the beaches up there.  Be careful about swimming, because the north shore is notorious for rip tides, but there are a couple you can swim in. Beware the sudden breaking waves though, they can knock you on your arse!! :D
4) Visit Pearl Harbour. Count the Japs there :D Ah no, seriously, Pearl Harbour is a lovely spot, and it is very eerie, but not spooky. You can take a walk around the 'Bowfish' which is a WWII submarine. (How they stayed on it, I'll never know), and of course, take the launch out to the memorial for the USS Arizona. It is a humbling experience, no matter what your thoughts on America and their foreign policy.
5) Deep Sea Fishing. If you are only there for a couple of days, you mightn't want to do this, and it's not exactly romantic watching your skipper gutting a Mahi Mahi :D It is a great day though, and the excitement when you hook onto a big one is hard to beat. I landed two Mahi Mahi on our trip, but a friend of mine battle a Marlin for 40 minutes before the first mate f*cked up with the gaffe, and freed the fish right at the side of the boat. The friend was sick, because he was so tired, but I was secretly happy as the Marlin was a lovely looking fish, and I wasn't looking forward to seeing it getting the works.

Don't go to the Polynesian experience up in the North Shore, it's a waste of money in my opinion, unless it has changed dramatically. It's not too bad to walk around actually, but we paid for the 'cookout' as well, and that was rubbish. It's not what it says on the tin. Actually, if you can get cheaper tickets and are up in the NS for a while it might be no harm, but I certainly wouldn't be going up specially.

2) Hanauma Bay

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/8/89/USS_Arizona_Memorial,_Pearl_Harbor,_Hawaii.jpg/800px-USS_Arizona_Memorial,_Pearl_Harbor,_Hawaii.jpg)

5) A Mahi-mahi

Cheers for the info. AZ. Our hotel is actually on Waikiki so happy days. Our room is facing Diamond Head(saved a few bucks instead of ocean). Diamond head is a volcano/creator right?

We have a car already booked so will be makin good use of it. I'm mad to see Pipeline just to say I have plus all the Pearl Habour stuff, it facinates me.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 25, 2008, 09:41:37 AM
Yeah, Diamondhead is the volcano that juts out at the end of Waikiki Beach. It dominates the skyline down that end of the beach.

I'm jealous, I'd love to go back to Hawai'i.
Post by: blast05 on February 25, 2008, 12:47:00 PM
QuoteYeah, Diamondhead is the volcano that juts out at the end of Waikiki Beach. It dominates the skyline down that end of the beach.

I'll give you that Diamond Head is impressive but it doesn't ahve that much of a wow factor.

Other things to consider:
Drive around the north island (not sure if thats the name). Its the bigger island - not the one with Honolulu. This is simply an amazing drive - much more spectacular than dirving around the Honolulu island (name?)
Also, on the north island (name?), i would seriously recommend taking the trip up the large 10,000 ft volcano. Its a biking trip where you get the bus up and free wheel down (22 miles). Of course you could be an idjiot like me and rent a racing bike and cycle up as well (28 miles up hill from sea level)

One other thing, i thought the hotels on Waikiki were a bit disappointing  .... albeit that we were after coming from a 4 day stay in a suite over looking the lake in the Belaggio in Las Vegas.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 25, 2008, 12:51:31 PM
Quote from: blast05 on February 25, 2008, 12:47:00 PM
QuoteYeah, Diamondhead is the volcano that juts out at the end of Waikiki Beach. It dominates the skyline down that end of the beach.

I'll give you that Diamond Head is impressive but it doesn't ahve that much of a wow factor.

Other things to consider:
Drive around the north island (not sure if thats the name). Its the bigger island - not the one with Honolulu. This is simply an amazing drive - much more spectacular than dirving around the Honolulu island (name?)
Also, on the north island (name?), i would seriously recommend taking the trip up the large 10,000 ft volcano. Its a biking trip where you get the bus up and free wheel down (22 miles). Of course you could be an idjiot like me and rent a racing bike and cycle up as well (28 miles up hill from sea level)

One other thing, i thought the hotels on Waikiki were a bit disappointing  .... albeit that we were after coming from a 4 day stay in a suite over looking the lake in the Belaggio in Las Vegas.

The Honolulu island is Oahu.

Diamondhead is not that impressive on it's own, per se, but when you are sitting in a cocktail bar on the beach in Waikiki and looking back along the beach, through the palm trees and it is in the background, especially at sunset, it is lovely.

As for the 'wow' factor, the most genuinely awe inpiring sight I have seen, in the real sense of making you feel completely insignificant, is Grand Canyon. I have never experienced anything like the feeling that seeing that for the first time inspired. I used to love going up there with visitors, and watching them see the canyon for the first time. Everyone was stunned by it's vastness.
Post by: gawa316 on February 25, 2008, 01:57:14 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 25, 2008, 12:51:31 PM

Diamondhead is not that impressive on it's own, per se, but when you are sitting in a cocktail bar on the beach in Waikiki and looking back along the beach, through the palm trees and it is in the background, especially at sunset, it is lovely.

As for the 'wow' factor, the most genuinely awe inpiring sight I have seen, in the real sense of making you feel completely insignificant, is Grand Canyon. I have never experienced anything like the feeling that seeing that for the first time inspired. I used to love going up there with visitors, and watching them see the canyon for the first time. Everyone was stunned by it's vastness.

Have to say I had a similar feeling the first time I say El Capitan and Half Dome at Yosemite National Park. You drive along windy as fcuk roads and then all of a sudden it just hits you...it's like holy f**k nature can be incredible at times
Post by: Donagh on June 14, 2008, 09:34:31 PM
Congratulations guys.

Ziggy, Ziggy, Ziggy!!!!!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 14, 2008, 10:31:01 PM
Quote from: Donagh on June 14, 2008, 09:34:31 PM
Congratulations guys.

Ziggy, Ziggy, Ziggy!!!!!

Armagh still aren't there Donagh, good call on Down btw.  ;)
Post by: Donagh on June 14, 2008, 10:35:32 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 14, 2008, 10:31:01 PM
Armagh still aren't there Donagh, good call on Down btw.  ;)

The planets are aligned GDA  ;)
Post by: the green man on June 15, 2008, 12:44:22 AM
I had mine in Rio. Lots to see, lots to do, and its reasonably priced once you get to it. Lots of hooker too
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 15, 2008, 12:53:49 AM
Went to Hong Kong, Melbourne and the North Island of New Zealand for ours - trip of a lifetime, fantastic.
Post by: gawa316 on June 15, 2008, 01:25:20 AM
When's the big day guys?

22nd March for me

2) Hanauma Bay

5) A Mahi-mahi

Back from honeymoon now a couple of months. Did everything you suggested apart from the deep sea fishing. f**k if ye ever get the chance to go to any of the Hawaiin isles grap it. When we got to our hotel in Waikiki we got up graded to partial ocean view. Balcony looking right up the beach to waikiki absolutely beautiful. Went to north shore (pipeline and sunset beach) wasn't working but still amazing, pearl harbor (freakingly amazing), snorkled inhanauma bay, hiked diamond head, did the luaia (sp?) thing. Nicest people ever. Lost memory card though >:(

Went onto Kauai, absolute paradise. Did helicopter ride, hiked in Waimea valley (nearly died!), went for speed boat ride around Napli coast. Got an american book which told us about lots of hidden spots, lagoons, beaches etc well worth it. Ended up at the Princeville Resort and got the 5 star treatment. All in all we had the time of our lifes
Post by: gawa316 on June 15, 2008, 01:51:27 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 15, 2008, 01:30:46 AM
Must have been great. Next adventure - Have a pup, don't sleep and clean up shite throughout the day.

I'll look forward to it :o
Post by: stpauls on June 15, 2008, 12:11:04 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on February 22, 2008, 09:21:29 AM
Quote from: stpauls on February 22, 2008, 09:12:02 AM

Holy jasus st pauls, how long are you heading for?

have mine fully booked now and mostly paid for. 2 nights in hong kong on the way to sydney, 4 nights there, then to ayers rock for 2 nights, cairns for 3 nights to take in the great barrier reef etc, brisbane for 3 nights for my mates wedding, then to the whitsunday islands for 3 nights to really chill out, back to brisbane for a stopover before hitting singapore for 2 nights on the way home!! really cant wait, but i have only just under 4 weeks to the big day arrives, so all is a bit mental at the minute!!
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 15, 2008, 12:49:22 PM
Donagh delaying his honeymoon to watch a Cavan Down Ulster Semi,

Theres dedication to Ulster GAA for you  ;)
Post by: JimStynes on June 15, 2008, 04:34:04 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 15, 2008, 01:25:20 AM
When's the big day guys?

22nd March for me

2) Hanauma Bay

5) A Mahi-mahi

Back from honeymoon now a couple of months. Did everything you suggested apart from the deep sea fishing. f**k if ye ever get the chance to go to any of the Hawaiin isles grap it. When we got to our hotel in Waikiki we got up graded to partial ocean view. Balcony looking right up the beach to waikiki absolutely beautiful. Went to north shore (pipeline and sunset beach) wasn't working but still amazing, pearl harbor (freakingly amazing), snorkled inhanauma bay, hiked diamond head, did the luaia (sp?) thing. Nicest people ever. Lost memory card though >:(

Went onto Kauai, absolute paradise. Did helicopter ride, hiked in Waimea valley (nearly died!), went for speed boat ride around Napli coast. Got an american book which told us about lots of hidden spots, lagoons, beaches etc well worth it. Ended up at the Princeville Resort and got the 5 star treatment. All in all we had the time of our lifes

How long where you in Hawaii. Im heading next year on the tail end of a world trip so will be on a strict budget. I would love to do all the things you have recommended to do but i dont want to run out of time and money. Is Hawaii it expensive (accomdation, food, tours, etc)
Post by: gawa316 on June 15, 2008, 10:04:22 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on June 15, 2008, 04:34:04 PM

How long where you in Hawaii. Im heading next year on the tail end of a world trip so will be on a strict budget. I would love to do all the things you have recommended to do but i dont want to run out of time and money. Is Hawaii it expensive (accomdation, food, tours, etc)

We where away for 2 weeks. Compared to mainland USA it's expensive, especially Kauai. When you compare it to Ireland it's not too bad. Best thing we done was get an apartment for a week, means you can cook your own luch and dinner which saves you a lot of bucks. Tours can be expensive, we paid about $650 for out helicopter tour and $220 for the Luaii. Rent a jeep and tour around yourself. Snorkling and all water sports rental are cheap enough
Post by: Onion Bag on June 16, 2008, 09:09:06 AM

Like to sound of that, what sort of dough would you be looking at for that?
Post by: Hereiam on June 16, 2008, 09:36:16 AM
Work out about £3500 for flights and accommodation. Would like to go to vegas again, its a mad place. Hawaii is were I plan to retire when I make my first billion  ;D
Post by: Onion Bag on June 16, 2008, 10:02:52 AM
£3500? is that all inclusive? What about sepnding money? how much would you be looking at?
Did you go book this yourself or did you go through an agent?
Post by: Hereiam on June 16, 2008, 11:25:30 AM
Had to pay for our own meals etc. Spending money ????? couldn't tell you what we spent in total, but Hawaill was the most expensive of all the places that we went to. Went through a travel agent with this one mainly because if anything had have happened with hotels etc you would have a company to fall back on. One thing to do is book all your attractions before you go which works out cheaper.
Post by: Onion Bag on June 16, 2008, 11:48:44 AM
f**k she sounds dear, £3500 and then eating after that and attractions Jasus you are looking at £5000 plus
Post by: An Fear Rua on June 16, 2008, 12:36:38 PM
just got back from mine last night.

We had a week in Majorca before the wedding and 3 nights at the lake hotel in Killarney afterwards, nice and relaxing and away from the madness.
Post by: Minder on June 16, 2008, 01:07:57 PM
My girlfriend told me at the weekend we are getting married in September 09, because i didnt propose do i still have to buy her an engagement ring, and if the answer is yes do Argos sell them?
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 16, 2008, 01:20:31 PM
Congratulations Minder. Get her a cubic zirconia and save the money for the actual wedding. She'll never know the difference  ;)
Post by: Yes I Would on June 16, 2008, 01:23:07 PM
She booked the wedding!! Let her buy her own ring!!
Post by: Minder on June 16, 2008, 01:27:16 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on June 16, 2008, 01:23:07 PM
She booked the wedding!! Let her buy her own ring!!

I like your style, i will mention that at dinnertime tonight, the cutlery will be plastic.......
Post by: Yes I Would on June 16, 2008, 02:48:47 PM
Maybe a bit extreme. Compromise!tell her your budget is 1,000 quid, She can pick it and you will buy it!!!
Post by: gawa316 on June 16, 2008, 03:16:51 PM
Or ye could do what i did and get her gran's ring, which was left to her, and give her that.

Everyone thinks it is really romantic when in actual fact it saved me a fortune.
Post by: Minder on June 16, 2008, 03:27:23 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 16, 2008, 03:17:46 PM
Congratulations, Minder...........I think.

How did she slip that one into conversation?

We were down at my ma's at the weekend and they were talking about holidays and i said i wanted to go to Florida in a couple of years and she said she wanted to get married first before we start saving for a big holiday, so i said that will do grand.........I did tell her i dont want to hear about it every day for the next 15 months though.......
Post by: Yes I Would on June 16, 2008, 03:44:16 PM
Yeah she mightnt, but its all the other feckers out there.
Goin through it at the moment and swear to god next person asks me how are the wedding plans coming along, they are gettin a headbutt!!! Feckin thing is 6 months away!!
Post by: stpauls on June 16, 2008, 03:49:07 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on June 16, 2008, 03:44:16 PM
Goin through it at the moment and swear to god next person asks me how are the wedding plans coming along, they are gettin a headbutt!!! Feckin thing is 6 months away!!

lucky you, mine is in less than 4 weeks and that is all i am getting too, how are the plans going and how many have replied etc etc!! fecking pain in the arse!!!
Post by: Yes I Would on June 16, 2008, 03:50:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 16, 2008, 03:45:15 PM
How are they coming along, Yes I Would?

Ill find ya ya cnut
Post by: stephenite on June 17, 2008, 04:30:09 AM
Quote from: stpauls on June 16, 2008, 03:49:07 PM

lucky you, mine is in less than 4 weeks and that is all i am getting too, how are the plans going and how many have replied etc etc!! fecking pain in the arse!!!

Try having a small wedding in Sydney and finding out every **** is deciding a wee trip to Australia would be very nice and sure we can fit the wedding in as well - it's a small wedding for a reason ye c***ts.

Come out to Oz whenever ye want - I'll put ye up, just don't all land on the one week expecting a big Irish white wedding when all we're doing is hitting the Registry Office and going for a quiet family meal. >:(
Post by: stpauls on June 17, 2008, 10:45:11 AM
Quote from: stephenite on June 17, 2008, 04:30:09 AM
Quote from: stpauls on June 16, 2008, 03:49:07 PM

Try having a small wedding in Sydney and finding out every **** is deciding a wee trip to Australia would be very nice and sure we can fit the wedding in as well - it's a small wedding for a reason ye c***ts.

Come out to Oz whenever ye want - I'll put ye up, just don't all land on the one week expecting a big Irish white wedding when all we're doing is hitting the Registry Office and going for a quiet family meal. >:(

the better half's brothers had a similar problem a couple of years ago, one of them got married in Fermanagh and no one really came to the wedding, yet when her other brother got married in NY, all the cousins decided to go, just cause it was in New York!!!
Post by: goal and a point on July 22, 2008, 10:45:11 AM
anyone know of any or purchased through any sites that have good deals. or you just better booking everything yourself
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 22, 2008, 11:03:53 AM
Quote from: goal and a point on July 22, 2008, 10:45:11 AM
anyone know of any or purchased through any sites that have good deals. or you just better booking everything yourself

Booked ours through Buttercrane travel in Newry, got a fantastic price.
Post by: nifan on July 22, 2008, 11:07:34 AM
got sorted through http://www.travelcounsellors.ie/ (http://www.travelcounsellors.ie/)

Happy with what we are getting, and the women we dealt with had been to South Africa a number of times and really knew the areas she was talking about which was good.
Post by: stpauls on July 22, 2008, 11:39:18 AM

i think it is Pathfinders, or Trailfinders, behind the Boots on Royal Avenue in Belfast are meant to be very good for prices and organising everything for you!!
Post by: under the bar on July 22, 2008, 12:21:19 PM
Yes do Cancun all inclusive.  You won't regret it.  And visit the Mayan ruins, or let the wife lie in while you do it.   Also if you like snorkelling the 2nd largest barrier reef in the world is just off the coast.   
Post by: Onion Bag on July 22, 2008, 02:53:33 PM
Quote from: stpauls on July 22, 2008, 11:39:18 AM

i think it is Pathfinders, or Trailfinders, behind the Boots on Royal Avenue in Belfast are meant to be very good for prices and organising everything for you!!

I know a guy who works for Trailfinders and he tells me that you are better going along with someone like them (And this was not a sales pitch) coz if your itinery fucks up, or you are not happy with something, at least you can blame someone and hold someone accountable, but they basically do every corner of the world and all staff are well travelled and experienced,
Post by: bannside on July 22, 2008, 05:46:58 PM
Twas a few years ago alright, but for our honeymoon me and da missus did 3 days LA, drive up Big Sur to San Francisco (just to be sure of getting to see Antrim play Kilkenny in the all ireland semi ) 3 days in Lake Tahoe, 4 days on the island of Kauai (Hawaii), and back to LA for a few days before flying home. About 17 days. Fought on about 14 of them!

Seriously check out (google) Kauai Marriott resort and beach club, for the ultimate, or else stay locally a bit cheaper and just use the hotel facilities.
Post by: Onion Bag on November 03, 2008, 09:43:58 AM

Looking at booking my Honeymoon shortly, and was thinking along the lines of this or Maybe LA, Vegas and Hawaii, What sort of money are talking for the likes of this, Spending money etc.getting hitched next July but want to get this booked as early as?
Post by: balladmaker on November 03, 2008, 10:26:55 AM
Not honeymoon related, but whatever you do, don't spend more than 3 days in LA.  I made the mistake of spending a week in it, was ready for the road after 3 days.  Once you do Disney, Universal Studios, Warner Studios, Hollywood, Venice Beach, that was enough for me.

Would recommend Arizona, Las Vegas and LA for about 14 nights in total.  A great trip.

Then again if its your honeymoon, and you fancy eating, drinking and whatever else for 2 weeks, then all inclusive in a good resort is the way to go.
Post by: Hereiam on November 03, 2008, 10:29:51 AM
From what I have been told L.A is not worth seeing. The trip was booked with Thomson for around £4500. The hotels we stayed in were great no problems at all. If you go to Hawaii I would advise you to go to the Island Maui. Spending money was about £1500 probably would have been more if we had threw money into the slot machines. In Vegas we done a trip to the grand canyon which we booked separately and in San Francisco we done the Alcatraz tour which was very interesting. The only problem with this type of Holiday is that every one that I go on now will not beat it.
Post by: Onion Bag on November 03, 2008, 10:40:49 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on November 03, 2008, 10:29:51 AM
From what I have been told L.A is not worth seeing. The trip was booked with Thomson for around £4500. The hotels we stayed in were great no problems at all. If you go to Hawaii I would advise you to go to the Island Maui. Spending money was about £1500 probably would have been more if we had threw money into the slot machines. In Vegas we done a trip to the grand canyon which we booked separately and in San Francisco we done the Alcatraz tour which was very interesting. The only problem with this type of Holiday is that every one that I go on now will not beat it.

f**k its expensive, for a 2 week holiday, Dont know why LA is in my head, i suppose its the whole movie hollywood thing, and celebs, my sister reckoned LA wasnt all that great, because it is so big and everything is so far from each other, So we may look at San Fran, Vegas, Hawaii,
£1500? was that each or for the 2 of you, and was it for the whole holiday?
Post by: Canalman on November 03, 2008, 10:41:37 AM
Not married, but from what I have seen Hawaii would be the best homeymoon destination . Miami/Key West would also get a nod.
Post by: cornerback on November 03, 2008, 10:48:48 AM
Did Santa Monica, San Fran & Vegas for the honeymoon...

Brilliant time. Santa Monica is ideal as its close enough to LA for any tourist spots you want to visit but also slower paced for a relaxing holiday before we hit san fran & vegas...

Travel agent was the person that advised us not to stay in LA.

Cant remember the price or spending money but can look into it if you want.
Post by: Onion Bag on November 03, 2008, 10:53:44 AM
Ball Park, cornerback, roughly how much are you talking?
Post by: cornerback on November 03, 2008, 01:00:16 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on November 03, 2008, 10:53:44 AM
Ball Park, cornerback, roughly how much are you talking?

Your probably looking at £3000 for flights (incl 2 internal) & hotels, then £1000+ for spending money

Must check tonight just to confirm that - don't think i'm too far away anyway.

Edit: there was a very favourable exchange rate at the time - slighty under 2 Dollars to the pound
Post by: cornerback on November 04, 2008, 09:42:14 AM
Checked it out for you last night Onion Bag

I was bang on with the £3000. 
Post by: Onion Bag on November 04, 2008, 10:20:52 AM
Holy f**k i got a quote back there for 3 nights in LA, 7 nights in Hawaii, 4 nights in Vegas, total of £5590, and then you have spending money

Bundoran doesnt look so bad after all!
Post by: gawa316 on November 04, 2008, 03:02:24 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on November 04, 2008, 10:20:52 AM
Holy f**k i got a quote back there for 3 nights in LA, 7 nights in Hawaii, 4 nights in Vegas, total of £5590, and then you have spending money

Try and get a flight over to San Fran and then book with a agent from there. We went to Oahu for 4 nights then onto Kauai for 10 nights (7 in an apartment in Poipu and 3 in the Princeville resort) cost us about $5500. I should have the name of the travel agent if ye pm me
Post by: Donagh on November 04, 2008, 03:07:14 PM

Your might better off getting the flights yourself and booking hotels separately. Bit more time consuming looking for hotels and special deals etc but will be worth it. Reckon I saved myself about £3k for my trip to South America during the summer.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 04, 2008, 03:14:07 PM
Quote from: Donagh on November 04, 2008, 03:07:14 PM

Your might better off getting the flights yourself and booking hotels separately. Bit more time consuming looking for hotels and special deals etc but will be worth it. Reckon I saved myself about £3k for my trip to South America during the summer.
I used to do that, but in the last year or so I find that trailfinders can get better deals on hotels than I can by booking on internet (also some hotels can offer cheaper deals on the phone than on internet - still trailfinders got me the best of all prices - to koh samui last year and dubai this year)
Post by: Donagh on November 04, 2008, 03:20:37 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 04, 2008, 03:14:07 PM
I used to do that, but in the last year or so I find that trailfinders can get better deals on hotels than I can by booking on internet (also some hotels can offer cheaper deals on the phone than on internet - still trailfinders got me the best of all prices - to koh samui last year and dubai this year)

Dunno, I got a quote and an itinerary from them and they had me traveling for 36 hours on my outward journey with 3 or 4 connections. I was able to book the same destination myself direct from Schiphol and was in my hotel in 13 hours later. Plus if you book very early a lot hotels will offer good deals. 
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 04, 2008, 03:28:34 PM
Quote from: Donagh on November 04, 2008, 03:20:37 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 04, 2008, 03:14:07 PM

Dunno, I got a quote and an itinerary from them and they had me traveling for 36 hours on my outward journey with 3 or 4 connections. I was able to book the same destination myself direct from Schiphol and was in my hotel in 13 hours later. Plus if you book very early a lot hotels will offer good deals. 
I always check to see if I can get a faster/cheaper/more direct way anyhow - just to ensure they hadnt missed something.

sometimes they dont have certain carriers/airlines that have better routes to various locations - carribean and south america seem to be in that category
Post by: Tyronelass on November 06, 2008, 06:31:39 PM
Have been looking at honeymoons as well,

Visited trailfinders and found them excellent, very informative and helpful.
At the minute we've 2 main option:

4 nites in Vegas, 2 nites in LA, 3 nites Santa Babara, 1 nite Monterey and finishing with 4 nites in san fran

OR

4 nites in Vegas, 2 in LA, 5 in Hawaii and 4 in san fran

Generally to go to Hawaii would push the cost up - is it worth it?

Post by: gawa316 on November 06, 2008, 09:36:14 PM
Quote from: Tyronelass on November 06, 2008, 06:31:39 PM

Definitely, I'd move there today if I could. Kauai is absolutely beautiful (cause it's the oldest) and not as populated or built up as the other main islands. Oahu is class as well but Honolulu is a bit of dive. The north shore is the spot, especially if you're into your surfing
Post by: JimStynes on November 06, 2008, 09:43:26 PM
http://contiki.co.uk/tours/17-la-to-the-bay
http://tours.trailfinders.com/tailormadetours.nsf/tailormadetours?readform&continent=usa&country=Western%20USA

Im looking at different tours for USA at the minute, the trailfinders link about has a load of different types of tours you can do. Im just going to be copying the itinerary and doing it myself as i will be doing it at the tail end of a round the world trip as i would say you could do them yourself for much cheaper.
Post by: cornerback on November 07, 2008, 08:44:37 AM

4 nites in Vegas, 2 nites in LA, 3 nites Santa Babara, 1 nite Monterey and finishing with 4 nites in san fran

OR

Be sure to do the helicopter tour of the grand canyon

We used this outfit and thought they were great.

http://www.viator.com/tours/Las-Vegas/Grand-Canyon-All-American-Helicopter-Tour/d684-2280AAHT (http://www.viator.com/tours/Las-Vegas/Grand-Canyon-All-American-Helicopter-Tour/d684-2280AAHT)
Post by: overdabar on November 07, 2008, 09:50:31 AM
just back from my honeymoon, 4 weeks in australia. had an absolute ball.
found that when i was booking and sorting out my itinerary with trailfinders the bloke i was dealing with was an absolute knob and everything was hassle for him. give the itinerary to kuoni and they changed a few things and put me in nicer hotels and when they give me the price they were about 200 quid cheaper, i told them they were a bit dear and they knocked of another 250. if you need someone to cross check price with, give kuoni a go
Post by: Onion Bag on November 07, 2008, 11:53:30 AM

OR

I am looking for something similar, but i think this is too much travelling, you will find yourself constantly on the move, thats why i was going to go for 3 places or maybe even 2, LA, VEGAS, AND HAWAII for a week,
Post by: goal and a point on November 07, 2008, 02:49:24 PM
i booked honeymoon, worth trying 3/4 different agents and then play them off between each other. Used 1 english, 1 south of ireland and 2 from north. i saved £1000 in 4 weeks of bargaining. Ended up with different hotels but roughly same star rating and close by that option, there are always are chepaer options if you are not looking to stay at the very best hotels. It was a person in a travel agent told me this and i ended up using Buttercrane in Newry as reccomended on this topic forum 4 months ago.
Post by: Onion Bag on November 07, 2008, 03:33:02 PM
Quote from: goal and a point on November 07, 2008, 02:49:24 PM
i booked honeymoon, worth trying 3/4 different agents and then play them off between each other. Used 1 english, 1 south of ireland and 2 from north. i saved £1000 in 4 weeks of bargaining. Ended up with different hotels but roughly same star rating and close by that option, there are always are chepaer options if you are not looking to stay at the very best hotels. It was a person in a travel agent told me this and i ended up using Buttercrane in Newry as reccomended on this topic forum 4 months ago.

You going to tell us where you are going?
Post by: Joxer on August 28, 2010, 05:15:26 PM
Just looking here at booking the honeymoon and cant decide on a number of different places,  Lookiny at somewhere like Mexico or Dominican Republic or maybe something like Orlando and Vegas.

Anyone any reccomendations on where to go or what company to get the best deal with.  A few have got back to me with prices and Travelomood seem the best so far.
Post by: muppet on August 28, 2010, 05:35:25 PM
Quote from: Joxer on August 28, 2010, 05:15:26 PM
Just looking here at booking the honeymoon and cant decide on a number of different places,  Lookiny at somewhere like Mexico or Dominican Republic or maybe something like Orlando and Vegas.

Anyone any reccomendations on where to go or what company to get the best deal with.  A few have got back to me with prices and Travelomood seem the best so far.

Belize

Ambergris Kaye is below but look around.

(http://www.ecoflight.info/includes/thumb_create.php?img=/gallery/Ambergris-Caye-06-dfd12.jpg&w=90&h=90)
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 28, 2010, 06:17:36 PM

I'm back about a month form mine.  Went to Vegas then Cancun.  Vegas was deadly, it's definitely a spot I'd recommend.  Cancun was more chilled out but great too.  More or less just lying about the resort with the odd trip outside to a few tourist spots.

Both were great, but totally opposite types of holiday.  Took me a few days to get used to lying about in the sun doing nothing in Cancun after the buzz around Vegas.

We stayed in the Venetian in Vegas and The Secrets Silversands in Cancun.  I'd highly recommend either. 

If you can avoid it though, don't fly with US Airways.  They were brutal.  Less frills than Ryanair!!!

Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 28, 2010, 06:54:13 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on August 28, 2010, 06:17:36 PM

I'm back about a month form mine.  Went to Vegas then Cancun.  Vegas was deadly, it's definitely a spot I'd recommend.  Cancun was more chilled out but great too.  More or less just lying about the resort with the odd trip outside to a few tourist spots.

Both were great, but totally opposite types of holiday.  Took me a few days to get used to lying about in the sun doing nothing in Cancun after the buzz around Vegas.

We stayed in the Venetian in Vegas and The Secrets Silversands in Cancun.  I'd highly recommend either. 

If you can avoid it though, don't fly with US Airways.  They were brutal.  Less frills than Ryanair!!!

Vegas that good is it?
I'm going to New York and Las Vegas on mine,which is 2 weeks today....holy shit  :-\
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 28, 2010, 09:11:27 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 28, 2010, 06:54:13 PM
Vegas that good is it?
I'm going to New York and Las Vegas on mine,which is 2 weeks today....holy shit  :-\

Vegas was Lethal. We were only there for 4 nights but I could easily have spent an extra week there.  The helicopter ride into the Grand Canyon was some experience.  If you get the chance make sure to do it.

Post by: supersarsfields on August 28, 2010, 09:37:05 PM
Looking into booking the auld honeymoon aswell. Going to be august next year. Had toyed with a few different ideas. Was going to take a month and head to oz. But then warned that it's their winter over the then. Also fancied Vegas, Mexico and then maybe somewere in south America. But someone said it might be hurricane season then. So anyone any good ideas? 
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 28, 2010, 09:40:00 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on August 28, 2010, 09:11:27 PM
Vegas that good is it?

Vegas was Lethal. We were only there for 4 nights but I could easily have spent an extra week there.  The helicopter ride into the Grand Canyon was some experience.  If you get the chance make sure to do it.

Gonna hire a car an do it,thinking of a Mustang convertible.
I wouldn't ever get up in a helicopter!
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 28, 2010, 09:41:09 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on August 28, 2010, 09:37:05 PM
Looking into booking the auld honeymoon aswell. Going to be august next year. Had toyed with a few different ideas. Was going to take a month and head to oz. But then warned that it's their winter over the then. Also fancied Vegas, Mexico and then maybe somewere in south America. But someone said it might be hurricane season then. So anyone any good ideas?
Trinidad, you will get the heat, warm sea bathing and no real risk of hurricanes
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 28, 2010, 09:52:27 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 28, 2010, 09:40:00 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on August 28, 2010, 09:11:27 PM
Vegas that good is it?

Gonna hire a car an do it,thinking of a Mustang convertible.
I wouldn't ever get up in a helicopter!

I think it's a 12 hour round trip to the sky walk.  Hiring a car would be handy enough, there's lots of flash ones for hire along the strip. 

Post by: muppet on August 30, 2010, 08:47:27 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on August 28, 2010, 09:37:05 PM

This can work to your advantage. Pick a destination and do research on how many hurricanes they have had over the last decade. If you are happy with the odds * then pick a destination and contact them looking for a discount due to it being hurricane season pointing out that Americans will not travel in numbers.

We spent a few nights in a ludicrously expensive place that I got a 66% discount for doing the above. And there was no sign of any hurricanes.

* Hurricane season is usually June to November peaking from August to October. The place I went to had two hurricanes in 10 years which I reckoned was worth the risk.

Post by: ross4life on August 30, 2010, 10:16:02 PM
Going on the helicopter tour of the grand canyon means you will miss out on the mule ride down
(http://www.mindspring.com/~renewal/Mules.jpg)

Personally i would save the car rental for closer sites Hoover Dam, Red rock Canyon etc.. & do one of the Grand Canyon guided bus tours instead, they know all the best places for great photo opportunities 
Post by: supersarsfields on September 12, 2010, 12:06:59 AM
Right think we have narrowed it down to two different trips. First one is jamica, Mexico and Vegas. Only problem we can see is the possibility of hurricanes!! Second one is Dubai, Maldives and then Kenya. Second one prob gives more variety but would appreciate any opinions??
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 12, 2010, 12:09:16 AM
f**king hell I don't like the look of that "mule ride"....
Post by: supersarsfields on January 07, 2011, 12:45:54 PM
Still haven't got around to actually booking anything on this yet. anyone know any good sites for booking a multi stop honeymoon. Most of the ones I've been on will only allow for two stops. We're hoping for three stops.
Post by: Kerry Mike on January 07, 2011, 01:19:23 PM
QuoteStill haven't got around to actually booking anything on this yet. anyone know any good sites for booking a multi stop honeymoon. Most of the ones I've been on will only allow for two stops. We're hoping for three stops.

I have heard great things from a few people who have used http://www.travelcounsellors.ie/ I will be using them myself for the big day next year hopefully...
Post by: supersarsfields on January 07, 2011, 01:33:08 PM
Cheers KM. I'll look into the UK version and see what it's like!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 07, 2011, 01:34:54 PM
Whatever you do supersarsfields go to Las Vegas,I was there on my honeymoon in September and I loved it.
We are planning to go back this year already.

Post by: Rois on January 07, 2011, 01:47:41 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on January 07, 2011, 01:19:23 PM
QuoteStill haven't got around to actually booking anything on this yet. anyone know any good sites for booking a multi stop honeymoon. Most of the ones I've been on will only allow for two stops. We're hoping for three stops.

I have heard great things from a few people who have used http://www.travelcounsellors.ie/ I will be using them myself for the big day next year hopefully...

Jaysus I'm using one of the travelcounsellors guys - they're independent travel agents working under the travelcounsellors umbrella.  I could have done better myself (organising a ski trip for 16).  Apparently good at the multi-stop trips though.
Post by: supersarsfields on January 07, 2011, 01:57:25 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 07, 2011, 01:34:54 PM
Whatever you do supersarsfields go to Las Vegas,I was there on my honeymoon in September and I loved it.

We thought about that RLL. But I think we've our mind set for heading in the other direction. Hoping for a Safari, Dubai and Maldives. We'll definitely do Las Vegas at some stage as we've chatted about it, but I just think if we don't do the above for the Honeymoon we'll never do it. Where as I'd be more likely to book Las Vegas as a holiday at some other time. Cash permitting of course!!
Post by: Joxer on January 07, 2011, 01:59:15 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on January 07, 2011, 01:19:23 PM

Second that.  Used Travel Counsellor for mine and so far it has all been smooth!  So far that is mind you but they are very accomadating and no shite with them!
Post by: rossie mad on January 07, 2011, 02:23:15 PM

Quote from: supersarsfields on January 07, 2011, 01:57:25 PM

We thought about that RLL. But I think we've our mind set for heading in the other direction. Hoping for a Safari, Dubai and Maldives. We'll definitely do Las Vegas at some stage as we've chatted about it, but I just think if we don't do the above for the Honeymoon we'll never do it. Where as I'd be more likely to book Las Vegas as a holiday at some other time. Cash permitting of course!!

dont want to rain on your parade ss but id avoid Dubai if i were you.
Spent over a year in it and all it is is a overpriced building site.
Three days max would be all id be spending in it as you will see it all in that time.
Bar its massive malls and elaborate buildings its fairly average.night spots  can be fairly dingy with lots of asian hookers hanging around.
only higlhights would be lively irish bar.
PM me if you want any info on where best to go if you do decide to go to it.
personnally i planned our honeymoon using ebokers and booking hotels myself actually easy done and if your looking at a cruise use cruisecritic cuts out the middle man.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 07, 2011, 02:44:11 PM
Quote from: rossie mad on January 07, 2011, 02:23:15 PM

Three days max would be all id be spending in it as you will see it all in that time.
Bar its massive malls and elaborate buildings its fairly average.night spots  can be fairly dingy with lots of asian hookers hanging around.
personnally i planned our honeymoon using ebokers and booking hotels myself actually easy done and if your looking at a cruise use cruisecritic cuts out the middle man.

Surely you meant this as a highlight?
Post by: supersarsfields on January 07, 2011, 03:13:30 PM
Quote from: rossie mad on January 07, 2011, 02:23:15 PM

Aye we'd only be staying 3 days tops just to break the flights up. If we go ahead and book it I'll drop you a PM nearer the time to get those asian hookers restaurant and bar details.
Post by: gander on January 07, 2011, 04:56:15 PM
I'd def recommend Vegas, spent 4 nights there and could easily have spend a lot longer.  We went in July tho and it was 45 degrees centigrade so going on a bus is a big no no!  We went on the helicopter at 7.30 in the morning and it was still crazy hot, well worth it tho
Post by: armaghniac on January 07, 2011, 05:59:38 PM
QuoteHoping for a Safari, Dubai and Maldives

Maybe consider Sri Lanka, it being near the Maldives. Quite a lot to do there, including safari type activities. You won't see any giraffes, I expect, but wild elephants, tigers and the like.

Or if you want the African thing, then perhaps proceed to the Seychelles?
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 07, 2011, 06:02:04 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on January 07, 2011, 03:13:30 PM
dubai good to see but it has gone way up and OTT oin terms of cost - 6-7 years ago it was quite inexpensive, two years ago it was worse than Dublin, NY or london !!
Good place to stay would be Al qsar - if you can get a deal.
Depends on when you are going but Filitheyo All inclusive is as good as you will get price wise and being a v good 4 star resort - not too small, fair bit to do (inc playing soccer each day along with the staff). Detached beach villa the best. Food although buffet is fantastic. Plenty cooked while you wait too.
After this the prices go way up but best imo from what I hear and read is Kanahura. V exp though. Conrad (or is it the now the hilton or vice versa) rangali island also supposed to be not bad.
Cant tell you much about kenya but a safari for a honeymoon is superb - plenty of good places to pick and choose from in kenya.

I checked out deals on travelsupermarket.co.uk and rang the cheapest crew to then add additional stuff to the trip. It was southall travel.
the cost of the holiday was 1000 euros cheaper per person than trailfinders who I had used religiously for the 12 years prev !!
best of luck
Post by: bailestil on January 20, 2011, 01:55:59 PM
can anyone who has been to Hawaii, tell me what would be the best way to split between the islands.
Thinking 5 days on Waikki beach  (Ohau) and 5 days on Maui.
This sound right, or should i stick to 1 of the islands?
Any recommended hotels would be good too!
Post by: JimStynes on January 20, 2011, 05:37:14 PM
Anyone ever done a cruise around the caribbean and then stayed a week somewhere? It would be in august time so I would be worried about hurricane season in the caribbean at that time of year.
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 20, 2011, 05:46:34 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on January 20, 2011, 05:37:14 PM
Anyone ever done a cruise around the caribbean and then stayed a week somewhere? It would be in august time so I would be worried about hurricane season in the caribbean at that time of year.
Sneagear  :D
Post by: JimStynes on January 20, 2011, 07:01:32 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on January 20, 2011, 05:46:34 PM
Sneagear  :D

;) you know webster
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 20, 2011, 07:19:31 PM

The cruise ships usually navigate around the storms so that should not be a problem when at sea. The worst times for storms in the Caribbean is usually form the middle of August to the middle of October with September the worst month. 
Post by: gawa316 on January 20, 2011, 10:08:22 PM
Quote from: bailestil on January 20, 2011, 01:55:59 PM
can anyone who has been to Hawaii, tell me what would be the best way to split between the islands.

Went to Oahu (Waikki) for 5 days and 9 days to Kauai for our honeymoon. 5 days is long enough in Waikki/Oahu to do all the touristy stuff (pearl harbour, North shore etc). Can't comment on Maui but Kauai is the most beautifulplace I've ever been to. It's the oldest of the islands and has the best landscapes. Really chilled out place. We stayed in apartment on Poipu beach for 6 days then went to Princeville Resort (swanky spot) for final 3 days. Loved evey minute. There is book you can get that tells you all about the hidden spots that has some great info. Loads of stuff to do from hillwalking in Waimea Canyon, drink in the most westerly brewery in the world,surfing, snorkling etc
Post by: Stall the Bailer on January 21, 2011, 02:09:45 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on January 20, 2011, 10:08:22 PM

Went to Oahu (Waikki) for 5 days and 9 days to Kauai for our honeymoon. 5 days is long enough in Waikki/Oahu to do all the touristy stuff (pearl harbour, North shore etc). Can't comment on Maui but Kauai is the most beautifulplace I've ever been to. It's the oldest of the islands and has the best landscapes. Really chilled out place. We stayed in apartment on Poipu beach for 6 days then went to Princeville Resort (swanky spot) for final 3 days. Loved evey minute. There is book you can get that tells you all about the hidden spots that has some great info. Loads of stuff to do from hillwalking in Waimea Canyon, drink in the most westerly brewery in the world,surfing, snorkling etc
I hope to go to Hawaii for 5 or 6 days after touring CA. Which island do you think would be best, if only doing one?
Post by: gawa316 on January 21, 2011, 02:54:39 PM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on January 21, 2011, 02:09:45 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on January 20, 2011, 10:08:22 PM

I hope to go to Hawaii for 5 or 6 days after touring CA. Which island do you think would be best, if only doing one?

Only been to the 2 myself but thats a tough question. If I was going again I would definitely go back to Kauai because I've already done the touristy stuff on Oahu. Really depends on what you want to do. Either way you won't disappointed
Post by: Stall the Bailer on January 21, 2011, 03:03:50 PM
Kauai sounds good. I just want some place nice and not to busy.
Post by: Puckoon on January 21, 2011, 04:21:14 PM
I was left a bit underwhelmed by Oahu and Wikiki beach in particular.
Post by: illdecide on January 21, 2011, 04:28:34 PM
Should we go somewhere exotic for the breakup/divorce the way we do when we get married...afterall that moment can be as happy for some as the wedding day was (supposed to be :D)
Post by: tyssam5 on January 21, 2011, 04:30:31 PM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on January 21, 2011, 03:03:50 PM
Kauai sounds good. I just want some place nice and not to busy.

If you want not too busy Big Island is good, much bigger than the others. You'll not have much bother finding a beach pretty much to yourself. Lot of tourists resorts and towns, but plenty of empty country if you want to do a bit of exploring. You could be on a beach surrounded by volcanic desert (eg. look up Hapuna) then 20 min drive would take you to a green field of cattle where you could be a home! If you like a  bit of history there's a lot of native Hawaiian sites you could check out. Not been to Kauai, heard it is amazing too. Like the other guy said you won't be disappointed. I would give Oahu a miss though if you're thinking not too busy.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on January 21, 2011, 05:01:27 PM
Thanks gawa316 and tyssam5.
Post by: JimStynes on April 25, 2011, 09:10:39 PM

Is steve08 still on the board? I am interested in finding out more about this for a honeymoon and then Caribbean cruise at christmas time.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on June 27, 2011, 01:40:13 PM
Anyone organising the Honeymoon at the minute or any good advice?
Post by: Hardy on June 27, 2011, 03:43:11 PM
Ah I won't ...