Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on November 18, 2007, 12:05:58 PM

Title: One thing you're proud of.
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2007, 12:05:58 PM
What's the one thing you've done in your short life that you're most proud of?
Title: Re: One thing you're proud of.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 18, 2007, 12:20:31 PM
My 2 daughters who, thankfully, are more like their mammy
Post by: inisceithleann on November 18, 2007, 01:17:34 PM
Graduating from University.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 18, 2007, 01:20:39 PM
f**k all
Post by: inisceithleann on November 18, 2007, 01:23:26 PM
Pints, what about becoming a valued contributor on here. You not proud of that achievement?  :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 18, 2007, 01:34:51 PM
Quote from: inisceithleann on November 18, 2007, 01:23:26 PM
Pints, what about becoming a valued contributor on here. You not proud of that achievement?  :D
hmmm no
I suppose surviving 37 years in this miserable world is an achievement.   :-\
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 18, 2007, 01:36:38 PM
Starting my own Electrical Contracting business and it being fairly successful so far...
Post by: inisceithleann on November 18, 2007, 01:38:35 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 18, 2007, 01:34:51 PM
hmmm no
I suppose surviving 37 years in this miserable world is an achievement.   :-\

God Pints what were you drinking last night? Things can't be that bad??  :)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 18, 2007, 01:40:30 PM
Quote from: inisceithleann on November 18, 2007, 01:38:35 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 18, 2007, 01:34:51 PM
hmmm no
I suppose surviving 37 years in this miserable world is an achievement.   :-\

God Pints what were you drinking last night? Things can't be that bad??  :)
no I've been off work (that I detest) for the last week and I'm back tomorrow *cries*
Post by: Tyrones own on November 18, 2007, 03:07:17 PM

What's keeping there Pints, life's too short man!
Post by: Square Ball on November 18, 2007, 03:13:28 PM
Loads of things, children and all that, but the one that gives me the most satisfaction,is giving up the ciggies after, well years,  and sticking to it besaide a few rought times over that past 7 years. (pity there is no wee face for smug)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 18, 2007, 03:31:25 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 18, 2007, 03:07:17 PM

What's keeping there Pints, life's too short man!
I know nothing else, but you make an excellent point.
Post by: mannix on November 18, 2007, 04:02:45 PM
Nothing, absolutely nothing.
Feel like a  waste of space a lot of the time.Rarely happy on the inside.
Would love to get even with a few people that screwed me in the past and left me seething to this day.Were I to get even I would be internally very proud of myself.
Post by: ziggysego on November 18, 2007, 04:20:15 PM
Being a member of the GAA.
Post by: HowdyDoody on November 18, 2007, 04:30:34 PM
playing football in front of 65,000 people in croke park
Post by: Square Ball on November 18, 2007, 04:36:59 PM
Quote from: HowdyDoody on November 18, 2007, 04:30:34 PM
playing football in front of 65,000 people in croke park

what instrument were you playing?

Title: One thing you're proud of.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 18, 2007, 05:36:03 PM
Being able to have a conversation in Gaoth Dobhair or Corca Dhuibhne with a native Irish speaker in their own language and them being able to understand me!!! Deadly buzz.
Post by: stew on November 18, 2007, 05:49:35 PM
Marrying well and rearing two beautiful girls who are tremendous young wemen and a joy to be around.
Post by: new devil on November 18, 2007, 06:06:09 PM
Wining two all ireland medals
Post by: stew on November 18, 2007, 06:56:36 PM
Played table tennis for the six in meadowbank in scotland as a fifteen year old and went unbeaten in singles, doubles and mixed doubles. We lost overall but it was a great experiience.
Post by: Pangurban on November 18, 2007, 06:58:37 PM
Pride is one of the 7 deadly sins. I am humbly grateful for my two grand-children and the fact i am a Down-Man
Post by: Orior on November 18, 2007, 07:17:34 PM
Shagging Mandy from Accounts last Christmas.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 18, 2007, 07:33:22 PM

Having never failed a test I've taken since leaving school, wish I'd put
  the same effort in when i was 14 or 15 :-\
Post by: Yer Ma on November 18, 2007, 09:00:19 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 18, 2007, 07:17:34 PM
Shagging Mandy from Accounts last Christmas.

Shit, that was my proudest moment too. :o Wonder who got sloppy seconds?
Post by: tyrone exile on November 18, 2007, 10:15:45 PM
Quote from: new devil on November 18, 2007, 06:06:09 PM
tiddlywinks doesnt count  ;D
Post by: new devil on November 18, 2007, 11:04:21 PM
Quote from: tyrone exile on November 18, 2007, 10:15:45 PM

Yea but Gaelic football does!! ;)
Post by: tyrone exile on November 18, 2007, 11:40:57 PM
Quote from: new devil on November 18, 2007, 11:04:21 PM
Quote from: tyrone exile on November 18, 2007, 10:15:45 PM

Yea but Gaelic football does!! ;)

if it was football then it would probably be at some stupid vocational school thing, not the real stuff!  ;)
Post by: Puckoon on November 18, 2007, 11:49:43 PM
Not proud of a whole lot thus far, but give me a little under a month and Ill hopefully have something that'l make me very proud. Til then, Im just proud to be my fathers son.
Post by: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 12:59:08 AM
As a father myself I don't see what men have to be proud of when it comes to fathering a child. Its not as if we've dedicated a lot of time to the task?  ;)

Is it as basic as, you're  proud your sperm works or what? It's a serious question.

At the far end of the journey yes you can look back and be proud at the job you've done raring them but at this stage...........  :-\
Post by: Puckoon on November 19, 2007, 03:02:47 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 12:59:08 AM
As a father myself I don't see what men have to be proud of when it comes to fathering a child. Its not as if we've dedicated a lot of time to the task?  ;)

Is it as basic as, you're  proud your sperm works or what? It's a serious question.

At the far end of the journey yes you can look back and be proud at the job you've done raring them but at this stage...........  :-\

Do you feel like your little ones are your pride and joy? I feel like I most certainly will.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 19, 2007, 04:26:21 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 12:59:08 AM

Jaysus I'd delete that before Pints gets a gander at it, might set him off again
about parents just going through the motions ;)
Post by: raisins on November 19, 2007, 08:43:16 AM
Being famous  ;)
Post by: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 09:46:21 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 19, 2007, 03:02:47 AM
Do you feel like your little ones are your pride and joy? I feel like I most certainly will.

Simply saying that when they are born they could be anything from a sexual deviant to a brain surgeon, most likely something in between. I don't see what fathers to be have to be proud about when all they have done is lob it into the missus after a drunken night out. Down the line you can tell us if you are proud of what you produced in term of the person he/she becomes. Is that not fair enough? Not picking on you puckoon, it's just a personal opinion

Post by: AZOffaly on November 19, 2007, 09:48:18 AM
Classy skull. Classy. Have you kids by the way?
Post by: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 09:52:31 AM
I do AZ :).

Why do you ask?
Post by: AZOffaly on November 19, 2007, 10:01:47 AM
I was just wondering, because I can't believe you don't feel a sense of pride every time you think of or look at them. The fact that you were partly responsible for creating something so good is a very humbling and fantastic feeling. Perhaps it's just semantics you are arguing over.
Post by: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 10:10:44 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 19, 2007, 10:01:47 AM
I was just wondering, because I can't believe you don't feel a sense of pride every time you think of or look at them. The fact that you were partly responsible for creating something so good is a very humbling and fantastic feeling. Perhaps it's just semantics you are arguing over.

It's more the timing than anything else AZ
Post by: AZOffaly on November 19, 2007, 10:14:45 AM
As in you shouldn't feel proud of them until they do something worthy of pride when they are older? I'd say that's a different sort of pride, hence my semantics comment. Perhaps what a new father, or father of a small baby feels is a different kind of pride, but when I look at my little 13 month old, and see him smile, or toddle over to get a liga or something, I feel proud, and humble and incredibly lucky and thankful, to have been involved in creating something so fantastic.

It's a different pride to that experienced when you play for your county, or win a final or get a promotion or something, but it's still a great feeling.
Post by: Billys Boots on November 19, 2007, 10:15:48 AM
I think what skull is trying to say is that while it is an achievement to have children, it's a far greater achievement (in today's environment) to nurture them into non-dysfunctional adults.  I'd agree with him, if that's what he's saying.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 19, 2007, 10:18:18 AM
I agree too, but as I said, that's a different type of pride. That's why I said it's semantics. (although he could have done without the crass comment about lobbing it into the missus after a drunken night out) :D
Post by: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 10:29:57 AM
It is what I'm saying Billy.

Quote from: AZOffaly on November 19, 2007, 10:18:18 AM
I agree too, but as I said, that's a different type of pride. That's why I said it's semantics. (although he could have done without the crass comment about lobbing it into the missus after a drunken night out) :D

Ahhhh...how the truth just doesn't sit well with some AZ  ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on November 19, 2007, 10:40:07 AM
Whatever works for you :D
Post by: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 10:48:05 AM
It obviously did  ::)

Would you recommend the flowers and chocolates approach the next time?
Post by: AZOffaly on November 19, 2007, 10:49:37 AM
Of course. And music :D
Post by: Hardy on November 19, 2007, 10:56:17 AM
A friend of mine sent flowers to his wife in the maternity ward. The message on the card in very big writing for staff and patients to see was "From the Father".
Post by: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 11:23:43 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 19, 2007, 10:49:37 AM
Of course. And music :D

Oh thats just far to premeditated for my liking. You must have a playlist set up to suit "the rhythm of the night" (trying not be so crass) ;) Or does the one track do it  ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on November 19, 2007, 11:36:57 AM
One track is more than enough :D
Post by: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 11:37:58 AM

My advice.....just keep trying to think of Russian tractors
Post by: Billys Boots on November 19, 2007, 11:47:21 AM
QuoteRussian tractors

Eastern Bloc female shot-putters, George Graham's Arsenal - that should prolong it for another 20 seconds or so.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 19, 2007, 11:50:14 AM
Name the starting lineup for the 2001 Arizona Diamondbacks World Series team. :D
Post by: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 11:54:47 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 19, 2007, 11:50:14 AM
Name the starting lineup for the 2001 Arizona Diamondbacks World Series team. :D

Chad Moeller       
Mike Difelice     
Midre Cummings 
Cummings 
Cummings 
oh oh  :)
Post by: The Lord of Luuuvre on November 19, 2007, 01:04:01 PM
Sleeping with over 3,000 beautiful women :)
Post by: ziggysego on November 19, 2007, 01:06:16 PM
Almost 5,000 posts on this board :D
Post by: Louth Exile on November 19, 2007, 01:24:26 PM
As with most parents, proud of the kids. Proud of the fact that I had something to do with the production of two strapping young lads, that are fine physical specimens (I hope that is ok skull ;)). The eldest fella was playing on Saturday and when you see him catch a long ball on the chest or block a shot on goal you have to feel a sense of pride (even though he must have got the bit of talent from his mothers side  :D).

On the football front, I never achieved the heights that some on here might have, but I am damn proud of playing on a team that did a minor league and championship double.
Post by: downredblack on November 19, 2007, 02:46:50 PM
Playing in Croke park in front of 120 parents and teachers  ;D
Post by: deiseach on November 19, 2007, 02:56:05 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 09:46:21 AM
Simply saying that when they are born they could be anything from a sexual deviant to a brain surgeon

Or a sexually deviant brain surgeon
Post by: whiskeysteve on November 19, 2007, 03:54:58 PM
having Jimmy Nesbitt sign my forehead on a night out
Post by: Puckoon on November 19, 2007, 03:56:36 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 09:46:21 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 19, 2007, 03:02:47 AM

Simply saying that when they are born they could be anything from a sexual deviant to a brain surgeon, most likely something in between. I don't see what fathers to be have to be proud about when all they have done is lob it into the missus after a drunken night out. Down the line you can tell us if you are proud of what you produced in term of the person he/she becomes. Is that not fair enough? Not picking on you puckoon, it's just a personal opinion

Fair enough for you maybe skull - me,  Im proud that (god willing) Ill be a father shortly. Whats more, Ill sing it from the rooftops if and when I see fit!

At the moment of birth, god willing they have arrived safely and dreams of deviance or neurosurgury will be far far away. Ill be proud of her beauty, and her 10 wee fingers and toes. Good lord, people are proud of their new Mercedes C Class, and Id like to think Ive done a bit more to make a child than someone has to purchase their new car!

I know you arent picking on me, I just think its a rather pedantic and unnecessarily critical opinion!

Quote from: Billys Boots on November 19, 2007, 11:47:21 AM
QuoteRussian tractors

Eastern Bloc female shot-putters, George Graham's Arsenal - that should prolong it for another 20 seconds or so.

BTW my wife is from the eastern bloc, and she did putt the shot in school. What are you trying to say? :o
Post by: WolfeTone on November 19, 2007, 04:29:47 PM
Post by: heganboy on November 19, 2007, 05:29:36 PM
this cracks me up
Quoteand her 10 wee fingers and toes.
for some reason the first thing I did after figuring out it was a fella was count the fingers and toes. My da tells me that he did the same...
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 19, 2007, 05:56:00 PM
I agree with theSkull.
A baby is born, they might be your pride and joy, you might be proud of them but what have you done to be proud of yourself?
(the mother, of course, is a different story)
Granted as the child grows you can be proud of how you raised him or her.
Post by: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 06:03:39 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 19, 2007, 03:56:36 PM
Fair enough for you maybe skull - me,  Im proud that (god willing) Ill be a father shortly. Whats more, Ill sing it from the rooftops if and when I see fit!

At the moment of birth, god willing they have arrived safely and dreams of deviance or neurosurgury will be far far away. Ill be proud of her beauty, and her 10 wee fingers and toes. Good lord, people are proud of their new Mercedes C Class, and Id like to think Ive done a bit more to make a child than someone has to purchase their new car!

I know you arent picking on me, I just think its a rather pedantic and unnecessarily critical opinion!

Thats true, but it's a reflection of just how sad a society we have become. Being proud of stuff you have simply purchased/attained with little or no effort (I would classify fathering a child in this...sorry I don't feel I'm being pedantic...just something that bugs me)

Good luck with the wee lassie. Hope all goes well. I'm sure as she grows up she will indeed make you proud
Post by: Puckoon on November 19, 2007, 06:51:28 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 19, 2007, 05:56:00 PM
I agree with theSkull.
A baby is born, they might be your pride and joy, you might be proud of them but what have you done to be proud of yourself?

Resisted the desire to throw the TV remote back at Mrs Puck after shes hopped it off me once a week for the past 8 months!
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 19, 2007, 06:55:09 PM
God love ya!
Post by: HowdyDoody on November 19, 2007, 07:18:43 PM
what instrument were you playing?

Your sisters banjo
Title: Re: One thing I'm very proud of.
Post by: Rossfan on November 19, 2007, 07:31:54 PM
Being from Roscommon of course. ;D( Thank you God  :-*)
Post by: ziggysego on November 20, 2007, 02:27:12 AM
Asked Jodie Marsh what was wrong with her nose hehe I was drunk at the time ;)
Post by: john mcgill on November 20, 2007, 06:58:14 AM
Ziggy
That last remark of yours made me laugh out loud.  Good start to my day! Thanks
Post by: new devil on November 20, 2007, 07:01:29 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 20, 2007, 02:27:12 AM

Was that in the clubland in cookstown by any chance?
Post by: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 08:49:38 AM
I agree with theSkull.

The word pathetic can't be used enough to describe you.  ::)
Post by: Billys Boots on November 20, 2007, 09:04:52 AM
QuoteBTW my wife is from the eastern bloc, and she did putt the shot in school. What are you trying to say?

No offence intended to your loved one Puckoon, I was remembering, with fondness, the prediliction of the Communist system (in the 70s/80s) for producing female 'athletes' of indeterminate gender.
Post by: theskull1 on November 20, 2007, 09:17:56 AM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 08:49:38 AM
I agree with theSkull.

Look in the mirror Snowed Under when you say that the next time. I know well that pog will look after himself, but I just have to say that your behaviour (in terms of your grudge with the said man) makes you look like a first class p***k. Is there any word of you growing up?

Post by: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 09:20:54 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 20, 2007, 09:17:56 AM
I agree with theSkull.

Look in the mirror Snowed Under when you say that the next time. I know well that pog will look after himself, but I just have to say that your behaviour (in terms of your grudge with the said man) makes you look like a first class p***k. Is there any word of you growing up?

I have no grudge with the man - just think he is very harsh in his generlisations of parents and parenthood.
Post by: theskull1 on November 20, 2007, 09:27:56 AM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 09:20:54 AM
I agree with theSkull.

I have no grudge with the man - just think he is very harsh in his generlisations of parents and parenthood.

Then why didn't you attack me? I was the one who made the first comments about fathers to be and feeling proud of themselves?

A lot of balls snowed under
Post by: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 09:42:49 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 20, 2007, 09:27:56 AM
I agree with theSkull.

Then why didn't you attack me? I was the one who made the first comments about fathers to be and feeling proud of themselves?

The way you attacked me by calling me a p***k?
Post by: theskull1 on November 20, 2007, 09:44:13 AM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 09:42:49 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 20, 2007, 09:27:56 AM
I agree with theSkull.

The way you attacked me by calling me a p***k?

If you like yes
Post by: theskull1 on November 20, 2007, 09:47:42 AM
 ???

OK I'll ask again. Why didn't you attack me instead. I started it.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 01:39:29 PM
Snowedunder instead of the nonsense why don't you argue against the points I make.

A question for you (after you answer theskull)
A new born baby is born - why should the father be proud of himself?  He has every right to be proud of the baby and the mother, but himself?  He didn't do anything but you probably think the fact that he produced sperm is reason he should be proud!
Post by: ziggysego on November 20, 2007, 01:43:17 PM
Quote from: new devil on November 20, 2007, 07:01:29 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 20, 2007, 02:27:12 AM

Was that in the clubland in cookstown by any chance?

Nope. Was over in Essex in February visiting a friend. It was the weekend that Ireland hammered England in Croke Park. After the pub, we were heading home and I seen Jodie and all her chavviness in a chippy. So I went it....  :D
Post by: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 02:03:16 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 20, 2007, 09:47:42 AM
???

OK I'll ask again. Why didn't you attack me instead. I started it.

As far as I know you haven't constantly taken every available opportunity to have a swipe at parents or parenthood!
Post by: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 02:10:55 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 01:39:29 PM
Snowedunder instead of the nonsense why don't you argue against the points I make.

A new born baby is born - why should the father be proud of himself?   He has every right to be proud of the baby and the mother, but himself?  He didn't do anything but you probably think the fact that he produced sperm is reason he should be proud!

This is the 21st century – the bones of fatherhood starts with supporting your partner through her pregnancy and not just when the child is born; I like many fathers to be accompanied my wife to anti-natal classes every week to learn the full facts about pregnancy and the birth so I could be there to support my wife through her pregnancy, I took time out to read all the relevant literature, took time off to go to each and every scan and doctors appointment so as to be there for my wife; I accompanied my wife on mid-wifery led tours of Craigavon, practiced breathing techniques with her for use at the birth.  I was present throughout the birth of both my children and although I did f**k all on the scale of things than my wife did; i.e. actually carrying the child for 9 months and giving birth, I did everything humanly possible to be there for her and help her throughout her pregnancy; I'm proud of my kids and my wife and I was also very proud the moment I saw them coming into the world and proud I was there and did everything I could throughout to assist my wife and take undue pressures and stress of her in relation to mundane everyday tasks.  But I suspect you're view Pints is that this should only be expected of the future father; that may be the case but you can still feel proud of it.
Post by: gallsman on November 20, 2007, 03:34:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 19, 2007, 11:50:14 AM

This was the series that brought baseball to my eyes! All  I really remember is Byung-Hyung Kim (sp?) blowing those two consecutive games!
Post by: Balboa on November 20, 2007, 03:37:13 PM
Probably when i had Girls Aloud in a game of bedroom gymnastics, except the ginger scouse one, i just let her watch.
Post by: ziggysego on November 20, 2007, 03:41:16 PM
Quote from: Balboa on November 20, 2007, 03:37:13 PM
Probably when i had Girls Aloud in a game of bedroom gymnastics, except the ginger scouse one, i just let her watch.

I asked Nadine Coyle for a drink in the local... needless to say she turned me down.
Post by: The Iceman on November 20, 2007, 04:21:32 PM
escapin armagh and not caring what the locals had to say about it
Post by: heganboy on November 20, 2007, 04:40:49 PM
Iceman, you haven't escaped until you've done five years, until then you're just on parole.
Post by: ziggysego on November 20, 2007, 04:43:30 PM
Quote from: heganboy on November 20, 2007, 04:40:49 PM
Iceman, you haven't escaped until you've done five years, until then you're just on parole.

Is that why you were looking nervous in the Radisson?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 05:48:50 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 02:10:55 PM

A new born baby is born - why should the father be proud of himself?   He has every right to be proud of the baby and the mother, but himself?  He didn't do anything but you probably think the fact that he produced sperm is reason he should be proud!

This is the 21st century – the bones of fatherhood starts with supporting your partner through her pregnancy and not just when the child is born; I like many fathers to be accompanied my wife to anti-natal classes every week to learn the full facts about pregnancy and the birth so I could be there to support my wife through her pregnancy, I took time out to read all the relevant literature, took time off to go to each and every scan and doctors appointment so as to be there for my wife; I accompanied my wife on mid-wifery led tours of Craigavon, practiced breathing techniques with her for use at the birth.  I was present throughout the birth of both my children and although I did f**k all on the scale of things than my wife did; i.e. actually carrying the child for 9 months and giving birth, I did everything humanly possible to be there for her and help her throughout her pregnancy; I'm proud of my kids and my wife and I was also very proud the moment I saw them coming into the world and proud I was there and did everything I could throughout to assist my wife and take undue pressures and stress of her in relation to mundane everyday tasks.  But I suspect you're view Pints is that this should only be expected of the future father; that may be the case but you can still feel proud of it.

You have got to be taking the piss. 
Your wife is pregant with your child and you're proud of yourself for doing your duty and what most men would do?

You took time off to every scan and doctors appointments, scans and doctor's appointments to check if you're wife and unborn child are ok?  YOU ARE PROUD OF THIS???  DO YOU WANT PRAISE FOR THIS?

Someone give this man a medal! 
Post by: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 05:52:39 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 05:48:50 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 02:10:55 PM

You're wife is pregant with your child and you're proud of yourself for doing your duty and what most men would do?

You took time off to every scan and doctors appointments, scans and doctor's appointments to check if you're wife and unborn child are ok?  YOU ARE PROUD OF THIS???  DO YOU WANT PRAISE FOR THIS?

Someone give this man a medal! 

Like that wasn't expected - I even loaded your gun.  ::) 

It is possible to feel proud without wanting praise.  ::) ::)

By the way I answer all your questions no matter how pathetic - what are your real issues with parents and parenthood?
Post by: ziggysego on November 20, 2007, 05:56:25 PM
How can a positive thread turn so negative like this? All father's to be have every right to feel proud. Puckoon feel proud and don't let anyone tell you you shouldn't. Congratulations to both you and Mrs. Puckoon.
Post by: The Iceman on November 20, 2007, 05:57:24 PM
Quote from: heganboy on November 20, 2007, 04:40:49 PM

:(

ok How about just being proud of not giving a flyin fcuk what the people of armagh think and escaping the small town mentality of "everyone elses life is better than mine so lets run them down" attitude  :P :)
Post by: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 05:58:05 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 20, 2007, 05:56:25 PM
How can a positive thread turn so negative like this? All father's to be have every right to feel proud. Puckoon feel proud and don't let anyone tell you you shouldn't. Congratulations to both you and Mrs. Puckoon.

Nail on head Ziggy.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 06:02:48 PM
Like that wasn't expected - I even loaded your gun.  Roll Eyes

By the way I answer all your questions no matter how pathetic - what are your real issues with parents and parenthood?

I've told you before I can't stand selfish parents and I suppose you could add to that parents who think they're great because they have children.

You call me pathetic and all sorts of stuff yet you're the one that thinks you deserve a medal because you support your wife. 

zigg, I'm questioning why fathers feel proud of themselves. 
Post by: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 06:17:25 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 06:02:48 PM
Like that wasn't expected - I even loaded your gun.  Roll Eyes

I've told you before I can't stand selfish parents and I suppose you could add to that parents who think they're great because they have children.

You call me pathetic and all sorts of stuff yet you're the one that thinks you deserve a medal because you support your wife. 

zigg, I'm questioning why fathers feel proud of themselves. 

Or parents who are proud of their kids.  ::)

Where did I say I deserve a medal - you tried to put fathers down for saying they feel proud - you asked what they should feel proud for - I explained how I helped my wife, you think that is laughable - I take it you are married; so if you are married 10 years are you not proud of your marriage if so by your reckoning you are taking the piss as you are only doing your duty of making your marriage work.  ::)

So you think fathers shouldn't feel proud, sums you up.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 06:25:28 PM
QuoteOr parents who are proud of their kids.
No, not true.

Where did I say I deserve a medal - you tried to put fathers down for saying they feel proud - you asked what they should feel proud for - I explained how I helped my wife, you think that is laughable - I take it you are married; so if you are married 10 years are you not proud of your marriage if so by your reckoning you are taking the piss as you are only doing your duty of making your marriage work.
No I'm not married, I'm with the woman over 4 years, am I proud of that? um no.  What's to be proud of?
Are people proud of their marriage?  I couldn't imagine me being proud of that either.

QuoteSo you think fathers shouldn't feel proud, sums you up.
I never said that either, I agreed with Skull and his view that the fathers of new born babies have no reason to feel proud of themselves .

Post by: Zapatista on November 20, 2007, 06:50:55 PM
 Try this. About 2.mins 10 secs into the clip.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jxGuBeyQM2M

Try copy and paste. (I must learn how to make a link)
Post by: new devil on November 20, 2007, 07:02:59 PM
POG have you got kids?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 07:04:42 PM
No, why?
Post by: heganboy on November 20, 2007, 07:05:24 PM
QuoteIs that why you were looking nervous in the Radisson?

I always look nervous- what Radisson?
Post by: new devil on November 20, 2007, 07:13:09 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 07:04:42 PM
No, why?

Well how would you know how a father feels when his child is born if you having experienced it?
Post by: theskull1 on November 20, 2007, 07:22:03 PM
I know what it's like

Being proud of stuff you have simply purchased/attained with little or no effort is just doesn't make sense
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 07:28:52 PM
Quote from: new devil on November 20, 2007, 07:13:09 PM
No, why?

Well how would you know how a father feels when his child is born if you having experienced it?
I never said I knew how anyone felt.

I've asked why the father of a new born child feels proud of himself when he's done nothing (yet) to feel proud about.
Post by: Rav67 on November 20, 2007, 07:50:15 PM
Taking Millwall to the Champion's League and winning the European Championships with Scotland.
Post by: ExiledGael on November 20, 2007, 08:01:01 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on November 20, 2007, 07:50:15 PM
Taking Millwall to the Champion's League and winning the European Championships with Scotland.

Championship Manager, what a game. Premier League and FA Cup double with Sunderland in first season and taking Ireland to the European Championships final had to be my best
Post by: Donagh on November 20, 2007, 08:06:34 PM
That I turned down a very lucrative job offer and got the feck out of the US while the going was good. Christmas parties in November indeed  ::)

WTF?

Post by: Snowed Under on November 20, 2007, 08:27:15 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 07:28:52 PM
Quote from: new devil on November 20, 2007, 07:13:09 PM
No, why?

I never said I knew how anyone felt.

I've asked why the father of a new born child feels proud of himself when he's done nothing (yet) to feel proud about.

You've cracked it, probably because he is selfish; probably because he will drive into a car park in a shopping centre with a toddler - see an allocated parking space, supplied by the centre and use it - that's if he can get it before you; probably because if he is on a flight and his toddler is distressed and crying he won't resolve the issue by "hitting him a slap" - Jesus Wept.

BTW it does take two to make a new life.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 08:30:14 PM

QuoteBTW it does take two to make a new life.
Well this is the only part of your post that's sensible. 
It takes two to make a life alright, but a father's part is hardly anything to be proud of. 
Post by: MasterShake on November 20, 2007, 09:18:53 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 08:30:14 PM

QuoteBTW it does take two to make a new life.
Well this is the only part of your post that's sensible. 
It takes two to make a life alright, but a father's part is hardly anything to be proud of. 

Pints, by that logic would you agree that the mother has nothing to be proud of? In the 'making new life' bit I mean?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 09:21:09 PM
Well the sex bit of it she's got nothing to be proud off - but after she's carried a child and given birth she's plenty to be proud of.
Post by: Hardy on November 20, 2007, 09:23:27 PM
I thought it was always the man who went out (in all kinds of weather) and got it from under the cabbage.
Post by: MasterShake on November 20, 2007, 09:28:43 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 09:21:09 PM
Well the sex bit of it she's got nothing to be proud off - but after she's carried a child and given birth she's plenty to be proud of.

So, a woman who carries a child and gives birth can feel pride in herself...but a man who helps her through that should not feel any pride in himself?? Even during a difficult pregnancy?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 20, 2007, 09:30:47 PM
Quote from: MasterShake on November 20, 2007, 09:28:43 PM

So, a woman who carries a child and gives birth can feel pride in herself...but a man who helps her through that should not feel any pride in himself?? Even during a difficult pregnancy?
Exactly.
He hadn't done anything!
Post by: MasterShake on November 20, 2007, 09:39:24 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 20, 2007, 09:34:36 PM

Anyway, my 2nd place in the Egg and Spoon race beats the bejaysus out of it.

So which one were you, the egg or the spoon?
Post by: ONeill on November 20, 2007, 10:45:52 PM
The thing I'm most proud of has warped into an uncontrollable monster.

When POG first came onto this board he was an imbecilic monstrosity. He couldn't spell nor write in coherent sentences and just typed nokia-style nonsense. The older members can vouch for this. I took him under my wing, cajoled him and educated him in the finer aspects of online life. I watched him grow as an intellect from the nonentity he was to something resembling semi-normal now. Now and again I engage him in dialogue in order to further his development. I was proud of that, seriously. However, he is resembling Frankenstein's Monster and is slightly out of control now that he can use apostrophes etc.

Having reared one and a half year old twins is not something I consider as an achievement. They've been rearing children for millenniums.

Probably, winning an All-Ireland individual medal at the age of 17; doing good deeds on the sly; riding a blade from Downpatrick when I was 15. 
Post by: Fishbat on November 21, 2007, 03:52:38 AM
I'm damned proud of the fact that had i not succumbed to injury in 1995 and ceased playing then without a shadow of doubt it would have been myself captaining Tyrone in 2003 and lifting Sam to the gulderin gaggle, not Peter the great.

No doubt about it...and over the moon about it too
Post by: Puckoon on November 21, 2007, 04:08:51 AM
Quote from: MasterShake on November 20, 2007, 09:39:24 PM

I think he is the spoon. Frequently the little spoon.   ;)

By the way, has anyone called anyone else a spoon in this new millenium, or did that leave tyrone in the 90s?
Post by: Snowed Under on November 21, 2007, 07:59:24 AM

Again by your logic she is only doing her duty as any expectant mother would.  ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 21, 2007, 08:20:24 AM
yes snowed under but it's a little more difficult than attending a few classes.
Post by: Snowed Under on November 21, 2007, 08:55:32 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 21, 2007, 08:20:24 AM

So as she is only doing her duty as an expectant mother and what comes natural - in your eyes what should a mother be proud off after giving birth?  ::)  By the way I liked the way out of a paragraph of a post you cling to a few words!
Post by: ziggysego on November 21, 2007, 03:10:12 PM
Quote from: MasterShake on November 20, 2007, 09:39:24 PM

If the spoon, who were you spooning?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 21, 2007, 05:44:19 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 21, 2007, 08:55:32 AM

So as she is only doing her duty as an expectant mother and what comes natural - in your eyes what should a mother be proud off after giving birth?  ::)  By the way I liked the way out of a paragraph of a post you cling to a few words!
People put themselves in situations all the time that something difficult is their duty that doesn't mean they cant be proud of themselves.
For example, a dr who saves a life - well as a doctor it's his duty - does that mean he can't be proud of himself?

You on the other hand think you should be proud of attending a few classes  ::)
Post by: Snowed Under on November 21, 2007, 08:27:47 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 21, 2007, 05:44:19 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 21, 2007, 08:55:32 AM

People put themselves in situations all the time that something difficult is their duty that doesn't mean they cant be proud of themselves.
For example, a dr who saves a life - well as a doctor it's his duty - does that mean he can't be proud of himself?

You on the other hand think you should be proud of attending a few classes  ::)

Pathetic - but only to be expected! You keep clinging to a few words!  ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 21, 2007, 08:30:07 PM
what am I not addressing?
Post by: armaghniac on November 21, 2007, 10:49:23 PM
I'm proud that I haven't contributed to this thread.
Post by: theskull1 on November 21, 2007, 11:51:16 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 21, 2007, 10:49:23 PM
I'm proud that I haven't contributed to this thread.

You should be ashamed of yourself
Post by: Gold on November 22, 2007, 12:22:35 AM
the fact that i went 2 bed b4 12 the past 2 nites --but thats all gone out the window 2nite

damn this board