GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: meathie on August 22, 2007, 12:00:13 PM

Title: O Leary gets the all clear
Post by: meathie on August 22, 2007, 12:00:13 PM
Well Brian Crowe has cleared O Leary to play for the All-Ireland. Im glad he wont miss out on the most important football day of his life, but he is bloody lucky and how Crowe will be seen as a credible ref after this is beyond me. He re looked at the incident and saw how O Leary flattened Geraghty and deemed that yes that was ok and a yellow card was acceptable  :-\  :-\
Title: Re: O Leary gets the all clear
Post by: magpie seanie on August 22, 2007, 12:49:37 PM
Technically its the totally wrong decision but for me it is the right call. I would have hated for O'Leary to miss the All Ireland final and I dare say so would GG.
Post by: orangeman on August 22, 2007, 12:52:24 PM
Fair play to Brian Crowe !!! It would have been awful if O'Leary was suspended for the final. Well done Brian.
Post by: stpauls on August 22, 2007, 01:06:42 PM
we didn't see what went on in the run up to the punch was thrown, and maybe with the video footage available to the ref he saw that his decision was justified. and sure we all know Geraghty is no angel!!  ;)
Post by: The Forfeit Point on August 22, 2007, 01:44:23 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 22, 2007, 12:52:24 PM
Fair play to Brian Crowe !!! It would have been awful if O'Leary was suspended for the final. Well done Brian.

fair play??!! what the hell is wrong with you? he punched geraghty straight in the face and gets away with it, you think thats alright?
i think o'leary is a very talented wing back but there is no justification for what he did, had paul galvin did that it would be 3 months suspension no question!
brian crowe is a very good ref but this decision is beyond me
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 22, 2007, 01:47:32 PM
I am glad that O'Leary is cleared for the final - it is the decision I wanted to hear.....
but this is the wrong decision.

how are we to demonstrate to people that the rules are to be adhered to.
Its not as if there was some ambiguity in the rules or ambiguity in OLearys actions.
he threw a punch.
Whether GG went down too quickly or easily is moot. A closed fist was thrown and the intention was a punch.
It was captured by TV and with the new rules in place, OLeary was in danger of suspension.
As he has obv not learned from his suspension earlier in the championship, we should not allow sentiment to over rule here and let him play for the final.

How is this going to look - players will know they can get away with this kind of thing and carry on fouling.
Refreshing and good as they have been in this years championship, but Monaghan are flouting the rules of the game with their
pulling , dragging and niggly fouling tactics, Meath likewise and Tyrone too.
These teams are not being taken to task and such dirty fouling play is being allowed rather than eradicated.

Great decision for the lad
wrong for football.
imo

Post by: Hound on August 22, 2007, 01:51:36 PM
Quote from: stpauls on August 22, 2007, 01:06:42 PM
we didn't see what went on in the run up to the punch was thrown, and maybe with the video footage available to the ref he saw that his decision was justified. and sure we all know Geraghty is no angel!!  ;)
If the video footage showed that Geraghty had raped his sister in the run-up to the punch being thrown, it still wouldnt lessen the fact that it was a red card offence and O'Leary should be suspended because of it.

Have to agree with lynchbhoy's analysis
Post by: Billys Boots on August 22, 2007, 01:54:29 PM
What's wrong with you today lynchbhoy, you're the epitomy of common-sense?
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 22, 2007, 01:56:12 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on August 22, 2007, 01:54:29 PM
What's wrong with you today lynchbhoy, you're the epitomy of common-sense?
I know
sorry
on a bit of a health kick/diet again and am having toconcentrate a bit in work
so am not quite myself
idiotic service will be resumed shortly though ! ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on August 22, 2007, 02:00:12 PM
Clean living and high thinking - I salute you Lynchboy!
Post by: Declan on August 22, 2007, 02:39:03 PM
Spot on there Lynchbhoy
Post by: Deal_Me_In on August 22, 2007, 03:08:07 PM
Quote from: The Forfeit Point on August 22, 2007, 01:44:23 PM
he punched geraghty straight in the face and gets away with it, you think thats alright?

Don't think it is right but it is the exact same senario as what GG done in the Dublin game and there was no further action taken there. Brian Crowe took what he thought to be the correct action on the field. I think that had he changed the decision with reference to video evidence it would have tarnished his reputation as a top referee.
Post by: orangeman on August 22, 2007, 03:10:49 PM
Meath, Tyrone and Monaghan dirty ??? Just because Armagh didn't win anything you would have had them in there as well ??
Surely this is being a bit unfair to teams ?
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 22, 2007, 03:17:50 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 22, 2007, 03:10:49 PM
Meath, Tyrone and Monaghan dirty ??? Just because Armagh didn't win anything you would have had them in there as well ??
not a bit - Armagh are a tough physical side , like Dublin, but apart from isolated incidents I would not class them as dirty.
Tyrone, Meath and now monaghan will pull drag, irritate, gesture, trash talk, niggle and solicit retaliation from opponents, with a brand of in your face unsportsmanlike football.
I dont think Tyrone used to need such gamesmanship due to the talent and tactics they posessed, Meath and Monaghan would not be as talented and have maximised their potential by indulging in such a style and manner of play. There has always been a certain element of this in Meath football (including club football) but Coyler seems to have got them to ramp it up this year. It worked for him.
Refs need to start blowing for this kind of persistent fouling as if they dont, then teams will possibly start to adapt to this 'kn**ker football' to replace the now passe 'puke football'.
Post by: Tankie on August 22, 2007, 03:23:26 PM
The chap is a kn**ker and should be banned.
Post by: Hound on August 22, 2007, 03:25:31 PM
Other than the couple of isolated GG incidents, I don't think Meath were anything approaching dirty or kn**ker football or puke football. They were tough enough, but no more than anyone else IMO. I didnt notice any off the ball hits or sly digs or negative tactics. I don't think the current team is anything like the team of old. If you're looking for a team its like, I'd pick the current Dublin team. Try to defend tough, hard and fair, and then attack with flair. On a good day!  
Post by: full back on August 22, 2007, 03:30:03 PM
Quote from: Deal_Me_In on August 22, 2007, 03:08:07 PM
Don't think it is right but it is the exact same senario as what GG done in the Dublin game and there was no further action taken there. Brian Crowe took what he thought to be the correct action on the field. I think that had he changed the decision with reference to video evidence it would have tarnished his reputation as a top referee.

Not quite deal me in. In the GG case against the Dubs it was during a period of action & the punch GG threw was after the ball was released.
O'Leary's punch certainly wasnt the exact same scenario

Agree with Lynchboy's synopsis
Post by: Tankie on August 22, 2007, 03:35:00 PM
whatever way you look at it the fact he got off makes a joke of the the rules, he punched a fellower player and it is seen as alrite!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 22, 2007, 03:38:00 PM
Quote from: Tankie on August 22, 2007, 03:35:00 PM
whatever way you look at it the fact he got off makes a joke of the the rules, he punched a fellower player and it is seen as alrite!

Very Short memory Tankie do you?
I remember C Whelan getting away with punching a Meath player a few years just as the ball was being thrown in to start the game
Post by: Declan on August 22, 2007, 03:45:56 PM
3 minutes- surprised it took you that long LaoisLad
Post by: Onlooker on August 22, 2007, 03:50:35 PM
Any idea what happened to Carton, the Dublin hurler.  Has his case been dealt with yet?.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 22, 2007, 03:53:02 PM
From Seán Moran in the Irish Times today:

The GAA now faces this prospect on two fronts: Dublin under-21 hurler Peadar Carton...

But the first [Carton] is even more damning. Originally suspended for - at best - a dangerously reckless swing at Tipperary's Paul Curran, which broke the opposing player's jaw and - given the tight margins involved - possibly cost Tipp a place in the All-Ireland semi-finals, Carton is still, so to speak, at large.

Firstly his case wasn't processed in time to prevent an appearance in the Leinster under-21 final against Offaly, during which he scored an important goal. Then, having been suspended for eight weeks, he benefited from an appeal, which was accepted on "technical" grounds by the Central Appeals Committee.

There were still no particular grounds for further concern, because the whole case was referred back for rehearing, and had that been expedited no additional harm would have been done.

But despite there being over a week between this decision and Dublin's All-Ireland semi-final against Derry, nothing was done and Carton played again and once more scored a goal.

The matter is back under consideration and there are nearly three weeks to go to the under-21 final, but it looks likely to be scrapped over all the way to the Disputes Resolution Authority (DRA) if necessary.

Dublin had their choice on this matter. Had Carton's suspension been accepted from the start, he could have served the suspension and still got back for the All-Ireland, providing the team had qualified in his absence.

If they wouldn't have been able to get by without him, it makes the whole business even worse because it means Dublin won a Leinster title by speciously exploiting rules and procedures intended to ensure fair play.

Should Carton somehow beat the rap and play in an All-Ireland final, the GAA and all members who value fairness - and that includes any Dublin hurling enthusiasts I have spoken to - will rightly be in despair.
Post by: loughshore lad on August 22, 2007, 03:54:44 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 22, 2007, 03:17:50 PM
not a bit - Armagh are a tough physical side , like Dublin, but apart from isolated incidents I would not class them as dirty.
Tyrone, Meath and now monaghan will pull drag, irritate, gesture, trash talk, niggle and solicit retaliation from opponents, with a brand of in your face unsportsmanlike football.

If anything Armagh pioneered this type of stuff and they where the ones who borught it to the level now constantly seen accross the country. All teams have players who indulge in this sort of behaviour.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 22, 2007, 04:06:08 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on August 22, 2007, 03:54:44 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 22, 2007, 03:17:50 PM

If anything Armagh pioneered this type of stuff and they where the ones who borught it to the level now constantly seen accross the country. All teams have players who indulge in this sort of behaviour.
I'd agree that most teams have players like this, but my point is that the meath, monaghan and Tyrone (although possibly not as much this year) seem to indulge in it as a team.

Always thought armagh (apart from a couple of individuals) played more rough football not niggly.

Post by: IolarCoisCuain on August 22, 2007, 04:07:56 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on August 22, 2007, 03:54:44 PM
If anything Armagh pioneered this type of stuff.

I think you'll find that Cain pioneered this kind of stuff, when he slew his brother, Abel. :d
Post by: Star Spangler on August 22, 2007, 04:24:24 PM
Quote from: meathie on August 22, 2007, 12:00:13 PM
saw how O Leary flattened Geraghty  :-\  :-\

Flattened  him?  ffs.  Geraghty is a diving cheat - end of story!
Post by: Onlooker on August 22, 2007, 04:30:26 PM
Thanks for that information, Fear on Srath Ban.
Post by: Romeo on August 22, 2007, 04:34:44 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 22, 2007, 03:38:00 PM

I remember C Whelan getting away with punching a Meath player a few years just as the ball was being thrown in to start the game

Don't remember a ref looking at a video for that one and deciding it was still ok? But why let the truth get in the way of your bitterness?

Agree with Lynchboy, wrong decision, makes it look like it's ok to throw a punch! Also opens up grounds for appeal if the same happens on Sunday and the player gets the line!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 22, 2007, 04:40:16 PM
Quote from: Romeo on August 22, 2007, 04:34:44 PM
Agree with Lynchboy, wrong decision, makes it look like it's ok to throw a punch! Also opens up grounds for appeal if the same happens on Sunday and the player gets the line!

Disagree. On what basis?
Post by: Tankie on August 22, 2007, 04:41:58 PM

Yeah and Whealo should have got a ban, but just type of shite will keep going on unless the GAA put a stop to it, this is the second time this sc**bag has done it this year. at the rate he's going he'll break someones jaw if things are going wrong in the All ireland final!
Post by: magpie seanie on August 22, 2007, 04:44:05 PM
What gives you the right to call Noel O'Leary a sc**bag? I'd reckon he's a grand fella.

If some of the Dubs did that to Geraghty you'd be cheering or in a very silent minority so save us the feigned outrage.
Post by: Tankie on August 22, 2007, 04:46:26 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 22, 2007, 04:44:05 PM
What gives you the right to call Noel O'Leary a sc**bag? I'd reckon he's a grand fella.

If some of the Dubs did that to Geraghty you'd be cheering or in a very silent minority so save us the feigned outrage.

first of all only a sc**bag would just punch a man in the face when he isn't expecting it.

And secondly you don't see dublin players do this type of stuff!
Post by: Romeo on August 22, 2007, 04:47:48 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 22, 2007, 04:40:16 PM
Quote from: Romeo on August 22, 2007, 04:34:44 PM

Disagree. On what basis?

Same crime, no suspension one week and 3 month suspension the next. Type of inconsistency that opens the door for trouble!
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 22, 2007, 04:50:59 PM
Quote from: Tankie on August 22, 2007, 04:46:26 PM

first of all only a sc**bag would just punch a man in the face when he isn't expecting it.

jeez Tankie, Paul curran on finbarr cullen is a classic example of this
I am sure half of Mayo will respond over something about Ciaran whelan and his martial arts classes  :o
Post by: Tankie on August 22, 2007, 04:54:04 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 22, 2007, 04:50:59 PM

I am sure half of Mayo will respond over something about Ciaran whelan and his martial arts classes  :o

but my arguement is that if the GAA put a stop to it with proper suspenions it wont keep happening. but you boys seem to thik its grand to go around punching people?
Post by: magpie seanie on August 22, 2007, 04:55:52 PM
The penny is only after dropping. We need to send for Larry Tompkins.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 22, 2007, 05:02:28 PM
Quote from: Tankie on August 22, 2007, 04:54:04 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 22, 2007, 04:50:59 PM

but my arguement is that if the GAA put a stop to it with proper suspenions it wont keep happening. but you boys seem to thik its grand to go around punching people?
I was only responding to your painting of dublin players as whiter than white....

I think I have already mentioned I think a suspension was the correct course of action.....
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on August 22, 2007, 05:08:55 PM
Not agreeing with what O'Leary did and the rules state if you punch its a red card but the actual blow was hardly "Mike Tyson" stuff and Geraghty as usual made a meal of it. Think the comments referring to Noel O'Leary as a "sc**bag" are a bit OTT and what people don't take into consideration at times are th verbals being exchanged that preceed incidents like this.

Tankie - take a look after the past three years and just see how often Ciaran Whelan has got away with blatant striking and indeed V Meath a couple of years ago kicking of opponents before you start castigating other county players. While you're at it for good measure maybe you might explain how the "showboating" antics of Vaughan, Borgan etc V Laois did anything for the profile of our games.

Can't have it both ways if O'Leary was wrong, which he was so too has Whelan and the aforementioned others in their behaviour
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 22, 2007, 05:13:27 PM

So by that logic Ciaran Whelan is a sc**bag for elbowing David Mitchell in the face when he wasn't expecting it? Agree or disagree???

O'Leary has been in trouble on the pitch before, of that there is no doubt, and technically should be missing the final. However anyone who wants to call his character into question should take the time to read the article on him from the Tribure last Sunday before they go mouthing off!!!
Post by: Gnevin on August 22, 2007, 05:14:28 PM
Quote from: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on August 22, 2007, 05:08:55 PM
Not agreeing with what O'Leary did and the rules state if you punch its a red card but the actual blow was hardly "Mike Tyson" stuff and Geraghty as usual made a meal of it. Think the comments referring to Noel O'Leary as a "sc**bag" are a bit OTT and what people don't take into consideration at times are th verbals being exchanged that preceed incidents like this.

Tankie - take a look after the past three years and just see how often Ciaran Whelan has got away with blatant striking and indeed V Meath a couple of years ago kicking of opponents before you start castigating other county players. While you're at it for good measure maybe you might explain how the "showboating" antics of Vaughan, Borgan etc V Laois did anything for the profile of our games.

Can't have it both ways if O'Leary was wrong, which he was so too has Whelan and the aforementioned others in their behaviour
The show boating did less damage to the game than a mass brawl would of . It was GAA people who hyped this non event as something shocking .
Post by: agorm on August 22, 2007, 05:19:02 PM
Quote from: The Forfeit Point on August 22, 2007, 01:44:23 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 22, 2007, 12:52:24 PM

fair play??!! what the hell is wrong with you? he punched geraghty straight in the face and gets away with it, you think thats alright?
i think o'leary is a very talented wing back but there is no justification for what he did, had paul galvin did that it would be 3 months suspension no question!
brian crowe is a very good ref but this decision is beyond me

If it had been Graham Geraghty that had been caught on camera there is no doubt that he would have been suspended. Reason being that there would have been an outcry about it. It must have helped O' Leary that there was no witchhunt and that Coyle and Geraghty both said that it was nothing. A few other counties would have made more of a meal of that.
Post by: agorm on August 22, 2007, 05:33:16 PM
Not agreeing with what O'Leary did and the rules state if you punch its a red card but the actual blow was hardly "Mike Tyson" stuff and Geraghty as usual made a meal of it.

I rarely use this word on this site but this statement is Bullshit!
Post by: Tankie on August 22, 2007, 05:34:15 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 22, 2007, 05:13:27 PM

So by that logic Ciaran Whelan is a sc**bag for elbowing David Mitchell in the face when he wasn't expecting it? Agree or disagree???

O'Leary has been in trouble on the pitch before, of that there is no doubt, and technically should be missing the final. However anyone who wants to call his character into question should take the time to read the article on him from the Tribure last Sunday before they go mouthing off!!!

have you got a clip of this elbow as i would need to see if it was intentional or a accident. O'Leary could have broken a fellow players jaw in true sc**bag fashion when the player wasnt expecting it.
Post by: Frank Casey on August 22, 2007, 05:56:31 PM
I spoke with a club mate of O'Learys yesterday morning and he, and all Cork, were expecting further action. O'Leary does not help his cause and has gotten himself a reputation at club and county level for being a bit of a boyo. His clashes with Paul Galvin would make Don King a pretty penny at Madison Square Gardens.

Whether the ref was right to give Noel the benefit of the doubt or not is a subjective one but there are a couple of things that we must remember.

1. The offence is to strike or attempt to strike, this is punishable by a straight dismissal. Even if Gerraty felt nothing and made a meal of it the attempt to strike demanded a red card.
2. Do we only follow the letter of those laws that suit us. Either it is the association's rule and we adhere to it IN FULL or we have a version of anarchy where we do as we please.
3. Every anti-GAA gobshite just loves this "GAA makes it up as it suits and goes along" sort of thing.
4. What message to an under 12 young fellow. "Don't mind the rules, clatter away".
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 22, 2007, 06:03:46 PM
Quote from: Tankie on August 22, 2007, 05:34:15 PM

have you got a clip of this elbow as i would need to see if it was intentional or a accident. O'Leary could have broken a fellow players jaw in true sc**bag fashion when the player wasnt expecting it.

It most certainly was intentional, as I'm sure some of the more reasoned Dubs on here can enlighten you, since it was all them decades ago in 2004... I'll even be so accommodating as to upload it to youtube tomorrow, we can look forward to some more of your educated comments then...
Post by: Tankie on August 22, 2007, 06:07:09 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 22, 2007, 06:03:46 PM
Quote from: Tankie on August 22, 2007, 05:34:15 PM

we can look forward to some more of your educated comments then...

and what do you mean by that???
Post by: Hardy on August 22, 2007, 06:26:24 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler

Flattened  him?  ffs.  Geraghty is a diving cheat - end of story!

Are you being intentionally ironic, as a Tyrone man? Most observers would agree that Geraghty is one of the least likely of players to dive. And he's been tested in this department more than most. By Tyrone standards he'd be the Parnell monument.

Quote from: agorm on August 22, 2007, 05:33:16 PM
Not agreeing with what O'Leary did and the rules state if you punch its a red card but the actual blow was hardly "Mike Tyson" stuff and Geraghty as usual made a meal of it.

I rarely use this word on this site but this statement is Bullshit!

Not the only bullshit in this thread, agorm. In a year when our biggest failing was to be bullied physically more than any Meath fan could stomach, it's beyond laughable that some people still can't believe the evidence of their own eyes and cling to the old stereotypes. Others still feel free to call fellow members of the GAA "scumbags" and Lynchbhoy has lost the plot altogether with his "kn**ker" allegations.

I repeat, most of us were disappointed that we were too meek and easily pushed around this year, rather than the other way round. A bit less politeness and a bit more of the "kn**ker" might have stood us in better stead on Sunday.
Post by: Sandy Hill on August 22, 2007, 06:45:38 PM
While I'm glad that O'Leary will be available for the final, he should have been suspended - sin é! If the GAA don't get their house in order Fergal Logan is going to lose out big-time.
Post by: Hound on August 22, 2007, 08:48:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 22, 2007, 06:26:24 PM
Not the only bullshit in this thread, agorm. In a year when our biggest failing was to be bullied physically more than any Meath fan could stomach, it's beyond laughable that some people still can't believe the evidence of their own eyes and cling to the old stereotypes. Others still feel free to call fellow members of the GAA "scumbags" and Lynchbhoy has lost the plot altogether with his "kn**ker" allegations.

I repeat, most of us were disappointed that we were too meek and easily pushed around this year, rather than the other way round. A bit less politeness and a bit more of the "kn**ker" might have stood us in better stead on Sunday.
Yeah, lynchbhoy got the O'Leary incident right, but comparing this year's Meath team to Armagh, or even to Monaghan, in terms of approach to the game is miles off. In saying that I never saw yis being meek! (apart from maybe the end of the Cork game when it was over anyway).
Post by: David McKeown on August 22, 2007, 10:56:32 PM
Not surprised to see that no further action is necessary.  As Hardy and myself were discussing on another thread, I dont think these new rules allowing the CCCC to ask the ref to change his mind would stand up to scrutiny on appeal. The GAA doesn't need another high profile appeal either, would have been interesting though to see what would have happened had O'Leary been suspended
Post by: orangeman on August 22, 2007, 11:01:36 PM
Crowe simply couldn't have changed his mind - he would have been made to look silly and his image would have suffered ( or is his money on Cork ? ).
Post by: galla on August 23, 2007, 01:04:16 AM
The rules state striking or attempting to strike with the arm, elbow, hand or knee is a minimum 4 week suspension to include the next game in said competition. So I want to know is Brian Crowe now rewriting the rules of football or (more likely) the disciplinary commitee (lol) dont want to take a stand and reveal that the referee made a mistake. If he saw the incident O'Leary should have been sent off, if he didnt he should not have been booked. Brian Crowe was sent a copy of the incident and after reviewing it decided he had acted correctly. Does this mean he doesnt know the rules of the game???

Post by: The Forfeit Point on August 23, 2007, 01:18:34 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 22, 2007, 11:01:36 PM
Crowe simply couldn't have changed his mind - he would have been made to look silly and his image would have suffered ( or is his money on Cork ? ).

how would he have been made look silly?? i think it wouldve made him look better as it wouldve shown that he is not afraid to admit to his mistakes (something which drives me mad about refs), and take the appropriate action to correct his error. a damn fine ref he is (in the heat of the moment he may have thought geraghty made a meal out of a push) but he has certainly gone down in my books
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 23, 2007, 09:52:06 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 22, 2007, 06:26:24 PM

OK kn**ker football is my attempt at a 'pat spillane'
but apart from the labelling of it - the problem is there.

Some of the things that individually are performed are not too bad, but when its an all out 70 minute littany of transgressions if not all contravening the rules of the game, certainly crossing the line of sportsmanship.
With the possibility of making myself a bit of a hypocrite here having not been the cleanest myself when playing years ago:
1. Standing or blocking a player from taking a free, or quick free
2. third man tackles
3. Hitting or running into a player after they have scored or after kicking the ball when they are most vulnerable and exposed
4. Kicking the hands off a lad who is attempting to pick up the ball
5. kicking the ball away or knocking the ball out of a players hands as he is trying to take a quick free
6. roughing up or riling opponents best sharpshooters to try to get their mind off the game and onto fighting
7. Diving, getting opponents booked/sent off, winning frees by cheating basically.

There are more, but these are the first things that spring to mind
All annoying aspects that are performed en masse and have an effect of provoking opponents sense of injustice and leading to retaliation and therefore their minds off playing football - as when you are fighting, you are not playing football. Referees will not continually blow for frees against all of these items and the other little niggly things that such teams do.

I did not say Armagh were a team guilty of these (and more) continual actions . Tyrone at times (though every time they play Derry , and Derry fall for it and Tyrone end up beating them off the park and laughing at them for retaliating) and this year Monaghan and Meath (though Meath were known for this all the time).
I may have lost the plot Hardy , and it isnt the first time -  but this kind of thing exists in football and in a way , people say you do what it takes to win a match, but when it is through continual niggly line crossing tactics, I think it is wrong. Kerry were the victims of this style and had a lucky break to help them beat Monaghan. For all the niceness that Monaghan and Meath have provided in this years championship, I would have preferred to see them play the game without the more sinister aspect to their game. OK they might not be as effective without it, but I think they are both talented enough to play ball on merit and skill.
Meath's tactics came unstuck when they had a bit of an off day, added to the fact that cork were a bigger more physical side that couldnt be pushed around and who remarkably channeled their aggression into playing football. Their discipline was impressive.
I think there is a bit of a problem in the game and players/teams need to be pulled up on such things. Otherwise where will it end. Its no example to be giving kids.

Post by: Hardy on August 23, 2007, 09:54:05 AM
I'm wondering is this a bit of a backlash by the refs against the compromising of their hitherto unassailable position of final arbiter, perhaps emboldened by the DRA's view of the new set-up as outlined by David McKeown elsewhere. It's possible they may have decided as a group (they have been meeting recently) not to change their decisions when asked to review them by the CCCC.
Post by: Billys Boots on August 23, 2007, 10:12:26 AM
QuoteIt's possible they may have decided as a group (they have been meeting recently) not to change their decisions when asked to review them by the CCCC.

In the context of trying to deal with everyday life in Ireland Inc., and seeing what other showers of blackguards get away with, you might well be right, Hardy!
Post by: Stay goalside of your man on August 23, 2007, 10:20:23 AM
I can't believe O Leary has not got banned for this. The ref who watched the video back again should never ref a match again.
According to the GAA it's now ok to punch a guy in the face and get away with it.

I just hope the Australians do not see this incident, the GAA called of the international rules because it was too violent and then they let this go.

What a complete and utter joke altogether, I really don't know what the GAA are playing at.

Talk about double standards.
Post by: Tankie on August 23, 2007, 10:32:41 AM
Quote from: Stay goalside of your man on August 23, 2007, 10:20:23 AM
I can't believe O Leary has not got banned for this. The ref who watched the video back again should never ref a match again.
According to the GAA it's now ok to punch a guy in the face and get away with it.

I just hope the Australians do not see this incident, the GAA called of the international rules because it was too violent and then they let this go.

What a complete and utter joke altogether, I really don't know what the GAA are playing at.

Talk about double standards.

but it is the double standard association, i think the press are right to call them the make it up as you go along association!
Post by: Hardy on August 23, 2007, 10:33:01 AM
Lynchbhoy –  you certainly have a unique perspective on things. I think it's bizarre that you pick out three teams to finger for your list of crimes and misdemeanours in a year when
- Tyrone seemed to have been converted to a commitment to stay upright;
- Monaghan's play was more remarkable for good, old-fashioned robust physicality (toughness, hard tackling, go through rather than around) than what you call niggling;
- Meath's football was noticeable for it's lack of the traditional "edge" and for being far too nice – to the remarkable extent of being pushed around by CORK!
- The most notable examples of niggly play, goading etc. have come from a different quarter altogether.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 23, 2007, 11:04:48 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 23, 2007, 10:33:01 AM
Lynchbhoy –  you certainly have a unique perspective on things. I think it's bizarre that you pick out three teams to finger for your list of crimes and misdemeanours in a year when
- Tyrone seemed to have been converted to a commitment to stay upright;
- Monaghan's play was more remarkable for good, old-fashioned robust physicality (toughness, hard tackling, go through rather than around) than what you call niggling;
- Meath's football was noticeable for it's lack of the traditional "edge" and for being far too nice – to the remarkable extent of being pushed around by CORK!
- The most notable examples of niggly play, goading etc. have come from a different quarter altogether.
its just how I see it Hardy. Doesnt mean I am right obv.
If its the Dubs you are getting at- I think Dublin are not a niggly team, their only cringeworthy things are the soccer-like crowd acknowledgements (which is just alien to old style traditional Gaa types like myself and more it seems) and the much debated pointing to the scoreboard and triumphalistic behaviour.
Tyrone might not have been as bad this year, but the monaghan v anyone and meath v galway and meath v tyrone games are most notable for what I mean. Its the off the ball play that to me criminalises these teams , not when on the ball or during play.

On the field of play, I cant say too much bad about them.
Post by: Model Hammer on August 23, 2007, 11:18:50 AM
The lip service that the GAA pay to "tackling" indiscipline has been horribly exposed again.

They create a body with responsibility for handling violence on the pitch; they sanction the use of video evidence; they allow referees to review incidents with a view to retrospectively taking more serious action.

And then Noel O'Leary gets off scot free.

What a joke we are.

As mentioned earlier, it's all about the kids. I see young lads at U-8 and U-10 mimicking what they see on the telly. What a great opportunity this was to send a message out about what can happen to a player who throws a cowardly punch (i.e. the worst punishment imaginable for a player (short of a jail term)). I would have felt very sorry for Noel O'Leary if he were to miss the All-Ireland Final, but it's a cruel and harsh world out there (sometimes) and rules are rules, except when they're not ....
Post by: Maximus Marillius on August 23, 2007, 11:24:14 AM
Model I agree entirely...he struck..end of story. Cork broke the rules and got away with it again, why do they cheat so much?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 23, 2007, 11:30:03 AM
What would you like Cork to do here? Petition the GAA to ban O'Leary, and in so doing become the first county ever to agitate for more severe action to be taken against one of their own players, than that taken by the entrusted authorities? Can we keep this to the real world please, the sanctimony is sickening (Paddy Bradley ring any bells?).
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on August 23, 2007, 11:34:46 AM
Maximus - what horsesh*t is that "Cork cheat so much". Explain that comment, Cork had nothing to do with O'Leary getting off the Ref said he was happy with hsi decision. If you have a gripe take it out on the Ref not a whole county who have not nothing to do with the incident.

The three Cork players suspended this year did nothing more than what any other county would do to try and clear their names, Clare did the same and Dublin are currently dragging the process out with Peadar Carton (who incidently made one of the worst pulls on the hurling field I ever saw). Derry hardly covered themsleves in glory with the Paddy Bradley affair this year either so take the plank from yoru own eye before looking for the splinter in others.

Until the incident in Thurles this year Cork hadn't a player sent off in championship hurling in almost 40 yrs - hardly the action of cheats. Yes O'Leary struck and under the letetr of the law should of been suspended but don't "blacken" a whole county simply because the Ref made and stuck to his decision or indeed because of Frank's action last year  -doing no more than many other counties have done and continue to do.
Post by: Hardy on August 23, 2007, 11:35:42 AM
There was a jockey riding at the Bellewstown races one time who was under strict instructions that another horse was to win.  However, the horse got a fright halfway round the back straight, from a banger or something and he bolted. The jockey couldn't hold him and he won, with the intended winner second. The jockey was in a bit of a fix, so he came up with an idea. He went into the stewards' room and lodged an objection against himself, saying he took the other horse's ground at the last fence.

That happened.
Post by: charlie stubbs on August 23, 2007, 11:38:53 AM
you have to ask why video evidence is used if the refereees arent going to overturn decisions such as this.Complete joke that he wasnt suspended.i see people posting that they wouldnt have liked him to miss the AI final etc which is fair enough,but how are people of kerry/dublin going to feel if he makes a lasp gasp block in the final or scores a late point to win it for Cork.If you cant do the time dont do the crime
Post by: Maximus Marillius on August 23, 2007, 12:46:58 PM
Well a player punching another player during a match and getting away with it is cheating. There have been different events where Cork players have used violenec only for our frank to get them off...is that not cheating...thay may have interpreted the rules and the weaknesses with the rule book to their advantage, but it is still cheating none the less.
Post by: orangeman on August 23, 2007, 12:49:30 PM
Great story Hardy !!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 23, 2007, 12:50:46 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 23, 2007, 11:35:42 AM
That happened.

Like I said, the real world...  :D
Post by: heffo on August 23, 2007, 12:53:32 PM

He punched Nigel Crawford in 2005 as Crawford was trying to gouge him. If you seen the incident you would have seen that Crawford had his hands all Whelans face.

Moyles gouged Darren Homan midway through the second half of the same game and he required an eye operation.
Post by: heffo on August 23, 2007, 12:55:37 PM

Mitchell had just creamed Whelan out of it late and as Whelan attempted to get up, Mitchell did a 'Dennis Wise' on it.
Post by: orangeman on August 23, 2007, 01:00:09 PM
Can someone post the article on Noel O'Leary that was in the Independent or wherever last Sunday please ?
Post by: Hardy on August 23, 2007, 01:05:34 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 23, 2007, 12:53:32 PM

Crawford was trying to gouge him

Moyles gouged Darren Homan midway through the second half of the same game and he required an eye operation.

Holy sweet Jesus Christ it's getting funnier. What does "gouge" mean? It's usually taken to mean poking a finger in the eye. You must have been very close to the action to take that interpretation from Crawford's action. And Moyles must have fancy footwork indeed if he can gougea man in the eye by standing on his back (an action he should have walked for).

And in any case, what have yoiur two observations got to do with the discussion?
Post by: Sean3 on August 23, 2007, 01:11:50 PM
August 19, 2007

A triumph over adversity;
The loss of a brother, cousin and best friend have only emboldened Noel O'Leary to approach football as life - with fearless resolve

Kieran Shannon

For a moment Noel O'Leary was sure he'd got away with it. It was down in Tralee on a shitty wet Saturday night, Kerry had just beaten them, and towards the end he'd snapped. The Kerry boys had been winding him up all night and then Tomas O Se kicked the ball at him and O'Leary had gone and eyeballed him, lashed out, and picked up his second yellow card for his troubles. As he was walking into the dressing room tunnel, Billy Morgan tapped him on the back and half-grinned, "Well done, Noel!" At that, inwardly, O'Leary smiled too. Someone understood. If anyone could, it was Billy. The sight of that green and gold jersey, the passion, the fury; sure he knew all about it himself.

And then? Well then when they were inside, Morgan closed the door and proceeded to give his wing back, as O'Leary so eloquently puts it, "an unmerciful fecking". In front of everyone. He shakes his head and grimaces bashfully at the memory, thought and accusation. Too fiery and volatile - even by Morgan standards. "But he was dead right too," says O'Leary. "I was a bit mad that night. A rush of blood to the head."

Admit it. It's how you know him, perceive him. There mightn't be a better attacking wing-back left in this year's championship or anyone on the Cork team more adept at playing that ball into Michael Cussen, but to you, he's that serial yellow-carder who keeps getting into scrapes. He'll probably take up Geraghty today and, well, it's hard to see both of them lasting the distance. But, as Dan might say, if you don't know him, don't judge him.

He's from a place called Cill na Martra, the second smallest parish in the biggest county in Ireland, a few miles outside Macroom, off the road to Ballyvourney, but as a kid he developed a passion for west Cork football and west Cork footballers more than 50 miles down the road. There was Castlehaven and Tompkins and Cahalane. And even though they were junior, there was Urhan and Ciaran O'Sullivan too. He remembers going with his father Donal as a 12-year-old to see them play Midleton in a county junior championship replay in 1992 in Ballingeary.

"I'll never forget it. The first day Ciaran was awesome. The second day he was having a brilliant game again when one of the Midleton lads turned round and made shit of his nose. Ciaran was down for three or four minutes, blood pissing out of his nose. Next thing, he gets up, the ball comes in and Ciaran grabs it underneath his own goalpost, goes straight up the centre of the field and shoes the ball straight on the '45 and splits the posts. My father turns round to me and says, 'That man will be playing for Cork next year.'" And at that, his son vowed that's how he'd play for Cork too. Like Cahalane, like Ciaran. Blood and bandages, boy.

And that's how he played for them as a minor. With passion. Raw passion at times but passion, and when the Cork senior hurlers were presented with their 2000 Munster medals the same night as O'Leary and his colleagues were presented with their All-Ireland minor football medals, Diarmuid O'Sullivan, a two-time All Star even then, made a point of going over to O'Leary to tell him how much he loved the way he played the game. A year later they were teammates winning an All-Ireland junior medal together, and a year later, on the senior panel, winning a Munster football championship together. O'Leary had to wait until he was 21 to break onto the starting 15 though. When he did, he did with intent.

"I thought, 'Feck it, a tougher attitude to this setup would be no harm at all. We'll try not to take any prisoners if we can.' I suppose I went a bit bald-headed into it though. Did a lot of stupid things."

Whatever about doing anything stupid, O'Leary managed to do something unique in that 2003 league campaign, picking up a yellow card in each of Cork's seven league games, and just for good measure, picking up two in the last game against Tyrone. But over the years he'd like to think he's tempered down that temper. He's no longer the wild buck of 2003, though, he'll admit, some sort of red mist does seem to descend upon him when he encounters that green and gold.

And on days like that, he's reminded it's only a game, that there's more to life. And he'll agree. Yeah, it's a game, there's more to life, but what you must understand it's that game which has helped him get through the life he's had.

The first to go was Mark. They were cousins but more like twins; the same age, the same humour who'd "more or less lived with each other; him living up in our place or me down in theirs". Then, in January of '99, Mark and his girlfriend broke up and all of a sudden he was dead. Suicide.

"It was an awful shock at the time. Because nothing like that had ever happened to us before. But that was my first year with the Cork minors and the football was a great thing to have. It gave me something to turn back to."

O'Leary and Cork would win that year's Munster final, inspired by a magical display from another dynamic wing back called Tom Kenny, but a few weeks before the following year's Munster final, tragedy struck again. This time it was Benny, his best friend.

"Benny," he smiles, "Benny was a gas man. Strange, he had no interest in football but we had a bit of an old business going there. We bought a quad-bike between us, spraying weeds and spreading manure on farms for farmers. A couple of weeks before we played Kerry, there were about 13 or 14 of us out the back at home. Benny was spinning around on the bike. And feck it, it was a case of the two of us getting too used to that bike; we'd wear no helmets or anything like that, you know. And sure, whatever way he went across this little slope in the field, didn't the bike turn and fall on top of him.

"At the start we were saying to ourselves, 'This man is going to hop up now any second', because he was a bit of a joker, like. But we went over, and Jesus, when we looked at him he had gone blue in the face. Myself and my brother Ciaran tried to clear his mouth but it was no good." By the time the ambulance had hit Macroom, Benny was gone.

Again football offered some measure of solace and that summer Cork went on to claim Munster and then the All Ireland. O'Leary's eyes light up at the memory of it and old teammates. Some of them you've heard of: Masters and McMahon, the latter of whom will play with him in Croke Park today; Conrad Murphy, who was the best of the lot of them; Kieran 'Hero' Murphy from Erins Own. But then there were others who you mightn't have heard of. Paul Deane, Dinny O'Hare; "maybe not the most skilful but hard men and great lads as well." Only in the last year or two with the seniors, has he experienced a team chemistry and bond like the boys of that summer enjoyed. It was the time of their lives and should have been the year of their lives, but before 2000 was out it had been the worst of O'Leary's.

He'll never forget the game that was on the box that day: Glenflesk and Nemo in the Munster club final, and himself and the father watching Moynihan and Johnny Crowley trying to win it nearly on their own. But as the day and game went on, his mother was becoming increasingly anxious. Ciaran, Noel's 17-year-old brother, had yet to come home. There was no word from him or of him. Noel and his younger brother, Donal Og, told her to relax, reminding her that it wouldn't be the first time he'd have stayed over at a friend's. After the game was over though, there was still no word. They'd phoned Ciaran's girlfriend who he'd visited the previous night and she'd said he'd gone home.

"The father was saying then, 'God, maybe he was drunk coming home and fell somewhere. Donal Og, go into the shed and get our wellingtons and we'll go to the fields and look for him.'"

Donal Og went into the shed only to find Ciaran already there. Same story as Mark. Seventeen. Just finished with the girlfriend. Gone.

"Definitely what happened to Benny was a big part of it. Ciaran was there when it happened and he used to get upset about it. He'd always be on about it at home. But in saying that, you wouldn't have taken much notice of it. I mean, it was natural enough he was upset about it.

"I think it was a pure spur-of-the-moment thing. It and drink. In most of these cases that's what it is; a spur-of-the-moment decision brought on by the drink. Looking back, Ciaran wouldn't have been the best to take drink. He was only 17, a bit of a wild lad but a good lad, but you could see that he used to get upset after drink."

That's why he'd tell anyone: know the people who don't react well to it. Be there to tell them the one that's one too many, especially when that one might be the first. Be there to say hang on, everybody hurts, but it passes. It's maybe not the normal message or cause advocated by a GAA player, but O'Leary feels strongly about this. So do his younger brothers, who hardly drink at all.

"A lot of people mightn't like talking about this, shy away from talking about it, but it's happening every day in other homes. People might learn from it. I have no problem talking whatsoever about it. Or Benny or Mark. It was an unbelievable run for us at the time, but it happened. It's a big part of who I am."

There's little O'Leary isn't upfront about. At times he might sound all bashful like Paidi O Se just like he plays like a young Paidi O Se but the 'Yerrah' response is not for him. There is a refreshing honesty as well as affability about him. In the tree surgery business he set up a few years ago, beating around the bush is kept to a minimum. It's the same in conversation. He cuts through the bullshit.

The Cork under 21 team management during what he now calls the lost years, for instance. "It was the worst set-up I've ever seen. Selectors turning up late; poor locations, no tactics before games, no buzz in the camp. For them three years we didn't even threaten to win an All Ireland when we had the players to do it. In 2003 we ended up losing to Waterford. Rightly so. That was the game they parachuted Setanta (O hAilpin) and (John) Gardiner in for before the (senior All-Ireland) hurling final. No disrespect to the two lads but they never trained with us that year while they were taking the places of fellas who'd trained all year. Sure that's not a team."

He'll accept his discipline could be better too. Okay, he doesn't think he should have been suspended for the Louth game this year, because as he showed the guys in Croke Park, that time in the Munster final Paul Galvin was holding and twisting his ankle - "I'm not saying he was doing it intentionally" - and O'Leary was only trying to wriggle his way free. Then you push him on it.

"That was all though, Noel. You were just trying to get him off you."

"That's right."

"Genuinely, Noel."

He smiles. "Well, maybe there was a slight bit of a kickout too."

He'll be straight up about the support of the current senior team as well, or lack of it, to be precise. Last week Waterford lost their fourth All-Ireland semi-final in the Justin McCarthy era and a country, let alone, county, nearly went into mourning. Lose today and the Cork footballers will likewise have lost four semi-finals in six years, and yet the masses on Leeside will be indifferent to their plight. O'Leary is close friends with some of the hurlers, especially O'Sullivan, but as much as he wishes them well, at times he can't help but be envious of them.

"It's unbelievably disappointing, our support, even if we're long over it now. The hurlers get caught in a sticky situation and are down three points and the crowd roars them on which is a huge help to a team. We go three down and people just turn their asses to us. That's when we need them. There's absolutely no doubt about it, if we win this All Ireland, it'll be for this panel of players and management team. I honestly think there's only about two or three hundred genuine Cork football supporters out there."

He'd love to win it for Morgan ("His head for the game is unbelievable. And his passion. Even watching him giving speeches and seeing the veins start to pop; you'd be proud to play for a man like him"). For old teammates like Ciaran O'Sullivan who was probably as good as Moynihan but never seen as such because he never won that Celtic Cross. But as he says, mostly for the men around him each night in training. That's what it's about.

Right now, they're near and yet so far. They're only one game away from a final but the way they've been playing they seem a lot further away than that. Maybe the hurling snobs have a point; the team hasn't played with any flair; it's yet to cast off its inhibitions. He'll admit that. But the 2000 minors should have lost in the first round to Clare. They went on and won the All Ireland. That team and this team have a lot in common. This crowd could go all the way too.

"Look, there's no doubt that if we play like we did the last day against Sligo there's no hope for us against Meath. They're playing a nice brand of football and seem to be able to find space all the time while we seem to be getting clogged up an awful lot. But we know the football we're capable of and the football we've played. It's going to come out some time again, hopefully on Sunday. (James) Masters is going to be a loss alright but the man himself, pure gentleman, said it openly in the papers that his injury gives lads like (Daniel) Goulding a chance and they might burn up Croke Park."

He'll feel for Masters today. This is about the only year O'Leary himself has been free of injury. A week after his championship debut against Limerick in 2003, his old buddy Diarmuid O'Sullivan gave him a clatter in a county championship game. O'Leary played on but he had taken the Ciaran O'Sullivan spirit to extremes - his ribs had been cracked, something that kept him out of the qualifier defeat to Roscommon. The following year in Killarney his medial ligament gave way; the following year against the old enemy in Croke Park himself and Conor McCarthy collided and he had to be taken off, and then last year, a viral infection from a very costly half-hour of sunbathing in La Manga kept him out of the starting line-up for the summer.

But he kept coming back, kept bouncing back up, kept walking on.

He knows no other way.
Post by: heffo on August 23, 2007, 01:24:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 23, 2007, 01:05:34 PM

Holy sweet Jesus Christ it's getting funnier. What does "gouge" mean? It's usually taken to mean poking a finger in the eye. You must have been very close to the action to take that interpretation from Crawford's action. And Moyles must have fancy footwork indeed if he can gougea man in the eye by standing on his back (an action he should have walked for).

And in any case, what have yoiur two observations got to do with the discussion?

Yeah poking a finger in one's eye - I was at the game - Cusack halfway line lower - Crawford had his hands all over Whelans face - you could also see it clearly on the tv replay.

Moyles should indeed have walked for the stamp, but I can't see what that has to do with Moyles poking his finger in Homans eye - this is a matter of record, so maybe you should check your facts.

WRT what his has to with the discussion, Whelan was brought into the discussion and I put his actions in context.
Post by: Hardy on August 23, 2007, 01:54:18 PM
 :D :D :D
Post by: orangeman on August 23, 2007, 02:03:13 PM
thanks for the article Sean 3
Post by: magpie seanie on August 23, 2007, 02:19:11 PM
I was at that match and the only gougers I saw were on the Hill with flagons of Linton Village under their oxters.
Post by: Declan on August 23, 2007, 02:21:32 PM
Good article alright. Fair play to him for coming through those life experiences. Must be very tough for him.

Anyone who has played football at all has made mistakes or done something they shouldn't have. I think the thing here is that the rule clearly states that he should have been sent off for a punch so how Crowe can say he made the right decision is beyond me. Anyway it's over now so good luck to him for the final
Post by: heffo on August 23, 2007, 02:28:30 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 23, 2007, 02:19:11 PM
I was at that match and the only gougers I saw were on the Hill with flagons of Linton Village under their oxters.

Whats this 'Linton Village'?  One of Sean's potions?

Is it anyway related to Linden Village?
Post by: magpie seanie on August 23, 2007, 02:39:54 PM
QED.  ;)
Post by: heffo on August 23, 2007, 02:46:54 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 23, 2007, 02:39:54 PM
QED.  ;)

You see that's why you didn't see the gouging - too busy worrying about brands of cider.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 23, 2007, 02:50:28 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 23, 2007, 12:55:37 PM

Mitchell had just creamed Whelan out of it late and as Whelan attempted to get up, Mitchell did a 'Dennis Wise' on it.

Oh Christ, another hoganstand intellectual heavyweight  ::) What the fcuk is a 'Dennis Wise'? Actually don't bother, I don't want to know, just found this website that will keep me occupied www.grassgrowingchampionships.com (http://www.grassgrowingchampionships.com)... Will bring in the DVD and rip the segment tomorrow, not the first time this incident has been discussed...
Post by: heffo on August 23, 2007, 02:54:15 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 23, 2007, 02:50:28 PM

Oh Christ, another hoganstand intellectual heavyweight  ::) What the fcuk is a 'Dennis Wise'? Actually don't bother, I don't want to know, just found this website that will keep me occupied www.grassgrowingchampionships.com (http://www.grassgrowingchampionships.com)... Will bring in the DVD and rip the segment tomorrow, not the first time this incident has been discussed...

Good man.

In the absence of any form of discussion of the issue, start hurling insults.
Post by: heffo on August 23, 2007, 03:00:14 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 23, 2007, 02:50:28 PM

Don't forget to mention that Mitchell was also booked for what happened, and that he'd commited about six late tackle fouls (by my count iirc) and he only on the pitch about ten minutes by that point.

Maybe Paidi said he'd split some of his big salary with him and Mitchell couldn't contain himself..
Post by: Jinxy on August 23, 2007, 03:21:58 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 23, 2007, 01:24:03 PM

Yeah poking a finger in one's eye - I was at the game - Cusack halfway line lower - Crawford had his hands all over Whelans face - you could also see it clearly on the tv replay.

Moyles should indeed have walked for the stamp, but I can't see what that has to do with Moyles poking his finger in Homans eye - this is a matter of record, so maybe you should check your facts.

WRT what his has to with the discussion, Whelan was brought into the discussion and I put his actions in context.

You're crazy.
Post by: heffo on August 23, 2007, 03:30:22 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 23, 2007, 03:21:58 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 23, 2007, 01:24:03 PM

You're crazy.

Sure Jinxy
Post by: Jinxy on August 23, 2007, 04:13:07 PM
And not in a good way.
Post by: heffo on August 23, 2007, 04:15:48 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 23, 2007, 04:13:07 PM
And not in a good way.

You are right of course.

Crawford didn't have his hands anywhere near Whelan's face prior to throw in and Homan was discharged from the Mater after the game with an acute dose of hypochondria.
Post by: Gnevin on August 23, 2007, 05:59:38 PM
GAA rulebook is more of a mule than an ass
Tools

* Print Print
    * Email Email

Search Search Go

Thursday August 23 2007

SO it's back to where we started then. If the law is an ass, the GAA's disciplinary system is pure mule -- stubborn, unpredictable and sometimes downright stupid.

This is a stupid week when, after years of overhaul, the system collapsed under the weight of one punch. All the careful streamlining of disciplinary procedures means absolutely nothing when a player who punches an opponent faces no consequences.

By accepting that a crazy rule prevents them from proceeding with a hearing arising from Noel O'Leary's punch on Graham Geraghty in the Cork-Meath semi-final, the GAA has sent out a clear message to all players that, in certain circumstances, they can get away with virtually anything.

Let's separate the emotion from the reality. Nobody wants to see a player miss an All-Ireland final through suspension, but if he punches an opponent then he should face sanctions, irrespective of the time of year. And any disciplinary system which fails to deliver that has no credibility.

After consulting with his linesman, referee Brian Crowe booked O'Leary following the clash with Geraghty. Presumably, the referee didn't see the incident (why else would he check with the linesman?) so when he was asked by the Central Competition Controls Committee to review the video, he had two choices.

He could have decided that having seen the incident on video, he felt it was more serious than originally thought, which would have enabled the CCCC to begin disciplinary procedures against O'Leary, or he could have stated that he had taken appropriate action, in which case that was the end of the matter.

Since no case is being brought, one assumes he offered the latter explanation which raises a serious question -- how can a referee deem that a punch to the face is not a sending-off offence? Under current regulations, no further action is taken if the referee is satisfied with how he dealt with an incident, irrespective of what the video shows.

It's a bizarre system because it requires the referee to admit he got it wrong before a case can commence.

The CCCC should be allowed to proceed independently, irrespective of what the referee says, especially in a case where video evidence is clear. Instead, it runs aground on the word of a referee whose view should hold no more import than the investigating committee once the game is over and the video evidence is available.

Only last week the GAA was congratulating itself on an improved discipline record this summer, yet we now have a situation where a player who was seen to strike an opponent faced minimum sanction during the game (a yellow card) and none whatsoever afterwards.

It comes at a time when an incident involving Dublin hurler Peadar Carton, who was originally suspended for six weeks, continues to drag on, and a few weeks after Meath stomped their Royal feet and had Jimmy McKee replaced as referee for the qualifier clash with Galway because they were unhappy with his handling of the clash with Dublin.

All of which goes to prove that where the GAA's disciplinary system is concerned, the more it changes, the more it stays the same.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/gaa-rulebook-is-more-of-a-mule-than-an-ass-1064161.html
Post by: Frank Casey on August 23, 2007, 07:30:02 PM
From today's Irish Examiner - De Paper

23 August 2007

O'Leary 'delighted' with All-Ireland clearance

By Michael Moynihan and Brendan Larkin
CORK footballer Noel O'Leary last night expressed his relief and delight after being cleared to play in the All-Ireland football final on September 17.

The wing-back clashed with Meath's Graham Geraghty in Sunday's All-Ireland semi-final, and though the matter was dealt with by referee Brian Crowe at the time, it was investigated by the Central Competition Controls Committee. The committee sent video evidence to Crowe, who then decided the yellow card he issued during the game was the appropriate punishment.

"It's mighty, I'm delighted with it," said O'Leary yesterday. "I had a fear this could roll on into next week, which wouldn't have been ideal preparation, so it's mighty to have the news. We have three and a half weeks free now to prepare for the All-Ireland final."

Added a relieved Cork selector, John Corcoran: "Thankfully common sense prevailed. It was a thing of nothing. It would have been a grave injustice for Noel if he was to miss out on the final."

National Referees Committee spokesman Rev. Fr Seamus Gardiner said referring cases back to referees for clarification has now put enormous pressure on officials, and they are being asked to make what can be massive calls..

"All this started when players were being exonerated through video evidence. The decision was then made that video evidence should work the other way also. Along the way a further decision was made that unless a referee changes a decision he made on the day of the game, it cannot be changed.

"Further to that again the CCCC can now seek clarification from the match referee in relation to any incident which may occur during the course of the game. I agree that it puts added pressure on the referee as it did in this particular case.

"It's a big call to have to make but referees have to make those calls if they are necessary. In Noel O'Leary's case, the referee was satisfied that he had dealt with it as he saw fit and felt the matter should end there."

The referee in question, Brian Crowe from Cavan, met with the CCCC on Tuesday and based on the clarification he gave, they were not in a position to take any further action against the Cork player.

O'Leary added that while Cork were delighted to get over the semi-final hurdle, they were now fully focused on the decider.

"It's great to have gotten over the hoodoo of the semi-final, but we're not there to play an All-Ireland final — we're there to win it. We're on the go as a team for five or six years, some lads even longer, and nobody wants to just play in a final — they want a medal."

After the semi-final the delight among the Cork players was evident, but O'Leary points out that last Sunday was a stepping-stone.

"We celebrated a bit but we want to win the final, that's the goal and nothing else. How we look at it is the Meath game is gone, it's over and there's no point talking about it now. The following morning we said to each other, 'that's it now, it's all about the All-Ireland final'.

"We have to keep the consistency up to try to win it, that's the goal. Our football's getting better and there's a strong base to the team, we're more experienced. I didn't care how we won the Meath game, we just wanted to get to the final. Looking back at the Sligo game, the way we played that day mightn't have beaten Meath, but we still beat Sligo by six points, a substantial beating. Winning is the bottom line."

The wing-back added that the survivors of the '99 final were helping the other players to maintain their focus.

"Guys like Anthony (Lynch), Eoin (Sexton) and Nick (Murphy) are keeping us grounded, and rightly so. They'll always say that was a game they let slip, and they don't want to do that twice. The chance is there for them. A lot of the rest of us are around a few years as well, so it's a big chance for us, too, even if it's going to take a huge team effort.
Post by: Sandy Hill on August 23, 2007, 09:08:28 PM
QuoteAdded a relieved Cork selector, John Corcoran: "Thankfully common sense prevailed. It was a thing of nothing. It would have been a grave injustice for Noel if he was to miss out on the final."

Where the f><K do you go when you hear an observation like this?
Post by: galla on August 23, 2007, 10:47:01 PM
Just a load of crap. Why bother having a disciplinary comittee???
Post by: meathie on August 24, 2007, 11:00:21 AM
No wonder O Leary got the all clear it was a feckin Mayo linesman, ceratinly wouldnt be doing Grahma any favours  :D :D ;)
Post by: BlackhallGael on August 24, 2007, 11:51:28 AM
Unbelievable that anyone can say that O'Leary should not have been suspended. He struck Graham Geraghty and for that he deserved a red card. For the referee to get another chance to do the right thing and still decide it was not a sending off offence is just plain wrong.

I hate to see any player missing an AI Final through suspension but if you're willing to strike on a football field then you should be willing to take the punishment that comes with that.

There have been numerous threads on this and other discussion boards regarding players that have suffered broken jaws and worse from being struck off the ball during football/hurling matches. No matter how hard the punch is if it connects in the wrong way then the victim can be seriously injured. By letting this go the GAA are condoning violence on the football field.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 24, 2007, 12:40:46 PM

I'll repeat me earlier question Tankie, here's the clip: http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=NV_c1zd88vs (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=NV_c1zd88vs)

"So by that logic Ciaran Whelan is a sc**bag for elbowing David Mitchell in the face when he wasn't expecting it? Agree or disagree???"
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 24, 2007, 12:50:19 PM
QuoteAdded a relieved Cork selector, John Corcoran: "Thankfully common sense prevailed. It was a thing of nothing.

Apart from the fact that he clocked him. ;D

In all seriousness though he should be suspended for the final. No question. Not nice for any player to miss an All-Ireland final but don't go around punching people if you want to play in big games. Not only that but he had already booted Paul Galvin on the ground in the Munster final so he has previous.

I mean how can we criticise the Australians with a straight face when we let fellas get away with stuff like this?
Post by: David McKeown on August 24, 2007, 01:10:25 PM
Quote from: BlackhallGael on August 24, 2007, 11:51:28 AM
Unbelievable that anyone can say that O'Leary should not have been suspended. He struck Graham Geraghty and for that he deserved a red card. For the referee to get another chance to do the right thing and still decide it was not a sending off offence is just plain wrong.

I hate to see any player missing an AI Final through suspension but if you're willing to strike on a football field then you should be willing to take the punishment that comes with that.

There have been numerous threads on this and other discussion boards regarding players that have suffered broken jaws and worse from being struck off the ball during football/hurling matches. No matter how hard the punch is if it connects in the wrong way then the victim can be seriously injured. By letting this go the GAA are condoning violence on the football field.

I agree that he should have been suspended (mind you I dont think he should have been booked during the match but that's a different argument), however rather than this showing that the GAA condones violence I think it shows that the disciplinary procedures are still not adequate.  As I was discussing on another thread, I have talked to a few in the know in relation to sports law about these new procedures and they don't think they'd hold up to scrutiny were any player suspended under them to appeal.  If anything good comes out of the O'Leary case its that it might help the association to look at the process and get it right this time.
Post by: parttimeexile on August 24, 2007, 01:25:14 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 24, 2007, 12:40:46 PM

I'll repeat me earlier question Tankie, here's the clip: http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=NV_c1zd88vs (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=NV_c1zd88vs)

"So by that logic Ciaran Whelan is a sc**bag for elbowing David Mitchell in the face when he wasn't expecting it? Agree or disagree???"

I never saw that footage before. Did Whelan get punished for that? He could have done some serious damage?
Post by: Gnevin on August 24, 2007, 01:32:15 PM
A line needs to be draw in the sand here .
Are we to enforce the rules as stated in the rule book are going to ignore it when it suits .
If a Dub has to be the first to miss a big game because of it then so it it. The Association and our Games will be the better of it
Post by: heffo on August 24, 2007, 01:45:41 PM
Quote from: parttimeexile on August 24, 2007, 01:25:14 PM

I never saw that footage before. Did Whelan get punished for that? He could have done some serious damage?

They were both booked - Whelan & Mitchell
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 24, 2007, 01:54:56 PM
In the absence of an on-line instantaneous video review/replay facility for the referees no solution here is going to be anything like perfect. The GAA should take a lead here from the RFU and introduce the technology now, not tomorrow or the next day. Until that happens this a topic that will rear its head again, and again.
Post by: Gnevin on August 24, 2007, 01:59:52 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 24, 2007, 01:54:56 PM
In the absence of an on-line instantaneous video review/replay facility for the referees no solution here is going to be anything like perfect. The GAA should take a lead here from the RFU and introduce the technology now, not tomorrow or the next day. Until that happens this a topic that will rear its head again, and again.
Rugby is by its very nature a stop ,start game .Video couldn't be used in GAA games with out slowing down the entire game
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 24, 2007, 02:03:04 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 24, 2007, 01:59:52 PM
Rugby is by its very nature a stop ,start game .Video couldn't be used in GAA games with out slowing down the entire game

Not necessarily, in the time it takes the referee to blow up for a foul the video-ref could be fully clarifying the position, with no perceptible delay. The technology is there now, and even if it were to introduce a slight inertia (which it wouldn't), wouldn't that still be much preferable to the interminable wrangling over one man's judgement?
Post by: Fuzzman on August 24, 2007, 02:25:41 PM
I haven't read this whole thread so maybe someone else has said this but...

Firstly, I am no fan of Geraghty. I think he is a great footballer but a thug and yes he takes some awful punishment but he hands out often worse.
Secondly, I think the punch was so obvious and for the CCC to let this go is just unreal
Thirdly, as a Tyrone man I was disgusted with Ryan McMenamins two knee lunge on one of the Armagh Thompson twins and don't see how such exceptions can be made year after year.

I think the GAA need to say at the start of the season that from here on in video evidence in county matches only CAN be used by referees afterwards to change their suspensions accordingly.
At least that way everyone will know from the start what's happening and so there will be no stories of
"Well why did you not take such and such up for his tackle"

How can they castigate the Aussies when they have such material to use against us.

Post by: Tankie on August 24, 2007, 02:40:49 PM

sure the ref was standing right beside him and he saw nothing wrong with it, and obviously the CCC saw nothing wrong with it what so what do you want me to say. Sure whelo was rugby tackled to the ground so under GAA thinking its ok to retaliate. it wasnt even an elbow more of a shoulder.

Sure my point of this whole thing was thistype of carry on sould be cut out by the GAA handing out bans, can any disagree that O'Leary should not be banned?
Post by: full back on August 24, 2007, 02:52:38 PM
Quote from: Tankie on August 24, 2007, 02:40:49 PM
it wasnt even an elbow more of a shoulder.

FFS - Should have gone to specsavers
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 24, 2007, 03:21:43 PM

sure the ref was standing right beside him and he saw nothing wrong with it, and obviously the CCC saw nothing wrong with it what so what do you want me to say. Sure whelo was rugby tackled to the ground so under GAA thinking its ok to retaliate. it wasnt even an elbow more of a shoulder.

Sure my point of this whole thing was thistype of carry on sould be cut out by the GAA handing out bans, can any disagree that O'Leary should not be banned?

Ur "point" was that O'Leary was a "sc**bag" for punching "a man in the face when he isn't expecting it". My question to you (and it's a yes or no answer) is " Ciaran Whelan is a sc**bag for elbowing David Mitchell in the face when he wasn't expecting it?"
Post by: heffo on August 24, 2007, 03:36:22 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 24, 2007, 03:21:43 PM

Ur "point" was that O'Leary was a "sc**bag" for punching "a man in the face when he isn't expecting it". My question to you (and it's a yes or no answer) is " Ciaran Whelan is a sc**bag for elbowing David Mitchell in the face when he wasn't expecting it?"

The difference is that O'Leary punched Geraghty to gain an advantage when there wasn't any apparent provocation.

Mitchell was acting the bollox for the ten minutes he was on the pitch leading up to that and had taken Whelan out of it late again - Whelan deserved to go for it, but he wasn't a sc**bag for retaliating.

Thats the difference
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2007, 03:58:14 PM
Im a little perplexed....

The other night Tankie said he wished the player who punched Brian O'Driscoll would die in a car crash because he was a sc**bag for punching a fellow player..
Then he comes on here and defends Ciaran Whelan who is clearly seen elbowing a Westmeath player in the face,an action which could have caused serious damage to the Westmeath player...

Double standards or just a gobshite who can't take off his Blue and Navy coloured glasses ???
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 24, 2007, 04:00:31 PM
Question not aimed at you heffo, to the best of my knowledge you haven't been running about the place calling people scumbags and claiming that u wouldn't find the Dubs doing similar. Although you have been mixing the sublime with the ridiculous with one or two factual posts thrown in.

QuoteThe difference is that O'Leary punched Geraghty to gain an advantage when there wasn't any apparent provocation.
TV didn't show us what transpired before the punch or were u sitting beside Pillar and his young lad in the Hogan Stand???
Post by: heffo on August 24, 2007, 04:08:15 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 24, 2007, 04:00:31 PM
Question not aimed at you heffo, to the best of my knowledge you haven't been running about the place calling people scumbags and claiming that u wouldn't find the Dubs doing similar. Although you have been mixing the sublime with the ridiculous with one or two factual posts thrown in.

QuoteThe difference is that O'Leary punched Geraghty to gain an advantage when there wasn't any apparent provocation.
TV didn't show us what transpired before the punch or were u sitting beside Pillar and his young lad in the Hogan Stand???

No, I wasn't at the Cork v Meath game and I didn't see what happened off-camera, hence my 'apparent' preface to my comment. I don't know what happened between them, but O'Leary has form in this regard (GG does as well, but I think he get's a lot of bad press and for every punch he's thrown, he's probably been on the receiving end of three or four, same as Ciaran Whelan)
Post by: Tankie on August 24, 2007, 04:33:54 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2007, 03:58:14 PM
Im a little perplexed....

The other night Tankie said he wished the player who punched Brian O'Driscoll would die in a car crash because he was a sc**bag for punching a fellow player..
Then he comes on here and defends Ciaran Whelan who is clearly seen elbowing a Westmeath player in the face,an action which could have caused serious damage to the Westmeath player...

Double standards or just a gobshite who can't take off his Blue and Navy coloured glasses ???

i retracted that statement as you know LL as it was posted in a rage as i thought our world cup hopes had been flushed down the toilet.

and i didnt defend ciaran whealan, i think he should have been banned, but you  could say so should the westmeath player for his shocking late tackles. any player who strike another player should be banned the way they are in every other sport except GAA. it makes a joke of the whole organisation.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 24, 2007, 04:52:04 PM
Is Ciaran Whelan a sc**bag for elbowing David Mitchell in the face when he wasn't expecting it???
Post by: Tankie on August 24, 2007, 05:50:34 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 24, 2007, 04:52:04 PM
Is Ciaran Whelan a sc**bag for elbowing David Mitchell in the face when he wasn't expecting it???

unfortunatly Croí na hÉireann i cannot answer that as i have been warned not to call anyone a s*****g.

also Croí na hÉireann you should chill out, no need for the big writing, i can read if you want me to answer any questions.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2007, 05:59:48 PM
Quote from: Tankie on August 24, 2007, 05:50:34 PM

unfortunatly Croí na hÉireann i cannot answer that as i have been warned not to call anyone a s*****g.

also Croí na hÉireann you should chill out, no need for the big righting, i can read if you want me to answer any questions.

You sure can read alright Tankie pity you can't spell though ;)
Btw all you have to do is answer Yes or No you don't even have to use the word s*****g
Post by: Tankie on August 24, 2007, 06:01:31 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 24, 2007, 05:54:13 PM
Who warned you Tankie?

I was handing out a bit of abuse to someone, more as a joke really but it got reported and the mod said i can say anything about anyone. hense i stopped posting on this thread a few days ago untill i was asked a question today.
Post by: Tankie on August 24, 2007, 06:03:46 PM
what dont you understand?
Post by: Gnevin on August 24, 2007, 06:04:28 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2007, 05:59:48 PM

also Croí na hÉireann you should chill out, no need for the big righting, i can read if you want me to answer any questions.

Btw all you have to do is answer Yes or No you don't even have to use the word s*****g
Well LL what a super message adds so much to the debate, the forum is lucky to have such a cunning* word smith like yourself

*= Baldrick levels of  cunning
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2007, 06:16:38 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 24, 2007, 06:04:28 PM

Well LL what a super message adds so much to the debate, the forum is lucky to have such a cunning* word smith like yourself

What just like your post just now added so much too?

Post by: SuperSub on August 24, 2007, 07:04:59 PM

Ha ha only Gnevin would complain about a post thats adds nothing to a debate with a post that also adds nothing to the debate
What a feckin plonker :D

And before anyone says it i also know this post adds nothing to the debate :)
Post by: Gnevin on August 24, 2007, 08:38:40 PM
Quote from: SuperSub on August 24, 2007, 07:04:59 PM

Ha ha only Gnevin would complain about a post thats adds nothing to a debate with a post that also adds nothing to the debate

And only super sub would be so anti Dub as to not see i was right .
Post by: SuperSub on August 24, 2007, 10:33:39 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 24, 2007, 08:38:40 PM
Quote from: SuperSub on August 24, 2007, 07:04:59 PM

And only super sub would be so anti Dub as to not see i was right .

Jaysis Gnevin only you could find something Anti-Dub out of something that had nothing to do with Dubs
Are you a Paranoid schizophrenic  ???
I only commented on the fact you made a post that had nothing to do with the debate complaining about about a post that had nothing to do with the debate
Where is the anti-dub bias there?..Are you so insecure now that anytime anyone disagrees with you are slags you off you will call them Anti-Dub?
Jaysis you would really wanna move on and get that field of spuds of your big Glasnevin shoulder
Post by: jodyb on August 24, 2007, 10:42:28 PM
In addition, Gnevin (also adding nothing to the debate), it's interesting to see you stand up for Tankie when he's called out for not being able to spell.
Post by: Gnevin on August 25, 2007, 12:47:04 PM
Quote from: jodyb on August 24, 2007, 10:42:28 PM
In addition, Gnevin (also adding nothing to the debate), it's interesting to see you stand up for Tankie when he's called out for not being able to spell.
What is interesting about that ?

Calling people of spelling  and grammar annoys me if the context of that the person is trying to say is clear , everyone could understand what Tankie was getting at LL was just being pedantic .

Other reason i hate people calling spelling and grammar is that is sidetracks the thread and now we've had  6 or 7 post about this no one has talked about the thread in ages , so lets try get it back on track shall we ?

If the Ref seen nothing wrong with the incident and the rule book calls for a Red should the Ref be investigate ,cautioned for not enforcing the rules correctly ?

Post by: SuperSub on August 25, 2007, 01:29:08 PM
QuoteCalling people of spelling  and grammar annoys me if the context of that the person is trying to say is clear , everyone could understand what Tankie was getting at LL was just being pedantic .

Probably annoys you because your the worst speller on the board

QuoteOther reason i hate people calling spelling and grammar is that is sidetracks the thread and now we've had  6 or 7 post about this no one has talked about the thread in ages , so lets try get it back on track shall we ?

You started it

QuoteAnd only super sub would be so anti Dub as to not see i was right

Still can't see where i was being anti-dub

Post by: Hardy on August 25, 2007, 01:47:31 PM
Quote from: SuperSub on August 25, 2007, 01:29:08 PM

Probably annoys you because your the worst speller on the board

I'd say it's a tight-run thing, really.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 25, 2007, 03:26:25 PM

also Croí na hÉireann you should chill out, no need for the big writing, i can read if you want me to answer any questions.

Ur full of shit Tankie, hopefully u'll think twice before making a fool of yourself again, enjoy de cider session tomorrow
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2007, 04:20:08 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 25, 2007, 03:52:30 PM
Quoteenjoy de cider session tomorrow
Is Tankie taking it easy tomorrow?

Hope he turns up in Croke Park on time
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2007, 04:21:22 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 25, 2007, 04:20:42 PM
You mean Coke Park.

:-X
Post by: Tankie on August 25, 2007, 04:59:59 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 25, 2007, 03:26:25 PM

Ur full of shit Tankie, hopefully u'll think twice before making a fool of yourself again, enjoy de cider session tomorrow

what are you talking about Whealo lost the head a couple of time a few years ago all in the heat of a tackle,thankfully he doesnt get involved in that stuff anymore. this is O'leary's 2nd time this season to do something like this and he just done it on the sly.
Post by: Tankie on August 25, 2007, 05:01:12 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2007, 04:20:08 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 25, 2007, 03:52:30 PM
Quoteenjoy de cider session tomorrow
Is Tankie taking it easy tomorrow?

Hope he turns up in Croke Park on time

it will be an early start for me tomorrow as i'm still a couple of tickets short so i'll have to hit the pubs early ;D
Post by: orangeman on August 26, 2007, 12:28:57 PM
Tankie - plenty of tickets available right now outside Quinns - handfuls of them - all at face value.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 31, 2012, 11:54:51 AM
Whelan, the tr**p, at it again (better put one of these in here)  :P

(http://distilleryimage4.instagram.com/79c82beada6711e1b05e1231380458d1_7.jpg)

Fair play to the lads, God I miss Tankie & Gnevin.
Post by: joemamas on July 31, 2012, 01:48:12 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 31, 2012, 11:54:51 AM
Whelan, the tr**p, at it again (better put one of these in here)  :P

(http://distilleryimage4.instagram.com/79c82beada6711e1b05e1231380458d1_7.jpg)

Fair play to the lads, God I miss Tankie & Gnevin.

Croi,

Surley time to put his to bed, yes he did cross the line on the field, but the man had been retired for three or four years. I have actually met him, and he is a decent fella.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 31, 2012, 04:55:46 PM
I wonder did Mitch give him one back this time? :D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 31, 2012, 10:08:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 31, 2012, 04:55:46 PM
I wonder did Mitch give him one back this time? :D

I'd say Mitch got the retaliation in first, as per usual  :P

+1 Joe, I think you need corrective surgery on your humour bypass  8)