GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 12, 2017, 09:44:22 PM

Title: Refixture: Tír Eoghain vs An Cabhán, Omagh, Sunday 12th March @14:00
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 12, 2017, 09:44:22 PM
Cavan next for the Fortress-Healy Park project, and how we owe them! :)

He's hoping we can rise above that dour slugfest they co-authored with Monaghan today in Castleblaney, getting us Ulster bies a bad name. ;)
Title: Re: Tír Eoghain vs An Cabhán, Omagh, Saturday 25th Feb, @19:30
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on February 12, 2017, 10:12:36 PM
Hard to leave any of 1-12 out after the last game, would imagine Mattie will come back in and Rory Brennan would have to be making a strong claim to start as he was brilliant when he came on.

Bradley suspended so would like to see Brennan given a chance, wouldn't mind seeing McCullagh given a shot at 14 either in place of McShane.

We generally find Cavan a bit of a nuisance in recent years so not expecting anything easy.

Post by: mrdeeds on February 12, 2017, 10:15:15 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 12, 2017, 09:44:22 PM

He's hoping we can rise above that dour slugfest they co-authored with Monaghan today in Castleblaney, getting us Ulster bies a bad name. ;)

How we owe them? Because Cavan have some recent record against Tyrone.
Post by: Itchy on February 12, 2017, 10:41:17 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on February 12, 2017, 10:15:15 PM

Maybe they are still repaying us for all the hammerings we gave them prior to the 1970s?
Post by: omagh_gael on February 12, 2017, 10:42:44 PM
They were slightly ott in the aggression stakes in their win against us in the McKenna cup so a friendly welcome awaits them in Healy Park.
Post by: seafoid on February 12, 2017, 11:07:37 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 12, 2017, 10:41:17 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on February 12, 2017, 10:15:15 PM

Tyrone will probably never have as many Ulster titles as Cavan
Maybe they are still repaying us for all the hammerings we gave them prior to the 1970s?
Post by: sam03/05 on February 12, 2017, 11:12:09 PM
Surely Bradley's card will be over turned
Post by: Redhand Santa on February 12, 2017, 11:18:55 PM
There was certainly more positives to take from last nights game than negatives. Two areas we clearly need to try to solve is the full forward line and right footed frees. We did really well last night and have lots of options from 1 to 12.

Given that I'd really like to see Mattie Donnelly play in the full forward line in this game with big Sean and Bradley if his card is over turned beside him. Donnelly would give us a real target up there and hopefully increase the scoring powe. We've tried most other options at this stage.

I know one of the guys on the county page has been looking Mattie mcgleenan to take over from Mickey as he is a great believer in attacking football. So we should be in for an exciting game.
Post by: Redhand Santa on February 12, 2017, 11:33:42 PM
The title needs updated as this game is in omagh at 2.30 on the Sunday.

Great to see sludden bringing his scoring ability to county level. Would help to have another consistent scorer at half forward.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 13, 2017, 12:02:08 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on February 12, 2017, 11:33:42 PM
The title needs updated as this game is in omagh at 2.30 on the Sunday.

Thanks, hadn't realised they'd changed it.
Title: Re: Tír Eoghain vs An Cabhán, Omagh, Sunday 26th Feb, @14:30
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 16, 2017, 11:21:52 PM
Right then, Petey Harte for frees on the left, and on the right? ;)

That's assuming that those mean Cavan hoors will afford us one or two! :)
Post by: rrhf on February 17, 2017, 12:05:16 AM
If we beat Cavan are they relegated?
Post by: tierworker blue on February 17, 2017, 01:25:17 AM
Quote from: rrhf on February 17, 2017, 12:05:16 AM
If we beat Cavan are they relegated?

There's many a slip, 'tween the cup and the lip...you're a bit premature with the auld relegation chat there, don't you think?!
It'll be an uphill battle, for sure, but there are still 5 matches to go...don't write us off just yet.
Post by: lenny on February 17, 2017, 07:19:18 AM
Quote from: sam03/05 on February 12, 2017, 11:12:09 PM

Based on what evidence? He struck right in front of the linesman.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on February 17, 2017, 07:40:58 AM
Quote from: lenny on February 17, 2017, 07:19:18 AM

Based on what evidence?
Post by: nrico2006 on February 17, 2017, 08:13:42 AM
That sc**bag Johnny Cooper gets away with a lot, remember his antics v Seamie O'Shea a few seasons ago and then again the other night against Bradley.
Post by: lenny on February 17, 2017, 09:55:34 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on February 17, 2017, 07:40:58 AM
Quote from: lenny on February 17, 2017, 07:19:18 AM

Based on what evidence?

Doh!! The evidence of the linesman who saw it.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 17, 2017, 10:19:42 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 17, 2017, 08:13:42 AM
That sc**bag Johnny Cooper gets away with a lot, remember his antics v Seamie O'Shea a few seasons ago and then again the other night against Bradley.

Bit OTT, don't you think?
Post by: Fuzzman on February 17, 2017, 10:48:38 AM
Did any of ye on here actually see what happened yourselves as all I've heard is hearsay or from the papers.

From what I heard they were doing the usual pushing and handbags stuff but then Bradley pushed Cooper but into his neck area. If this is accurate is that still a red card or should it be yellow?
I was always amazed how ref lets lads grab other players by the throat but never punish that.

From the reports of the Monaghan v Cavan game you would expect Cavan to come to Omagh and set up with 13 or 14 behind the ball and make it a slog fest. Young McVeety always seem to get well wound up for his games against Tyrone.
Post by: Itchy on February 17, 2017, 02:01:32 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 17, 2017, 10:48:38 AM
Did any of ye on here actually see what happened yourselves as all I've heard is hearsay or from the papers.

From what I heard they were doing the usual pushing and handbags stuff but then Bradley pushed Cooper but into his neck area. If this is accurate is that still a red card or should it be yellow?
I was always amazed how ref lets lads grab other players by the throat but never punish that.

From the reports of the Monaghan v Cavan game you would expect Cavan to come to Omagh and set up with 13 or 14 behind the ball and make it a slog fest. Young McVeety always seem to get well wound up for his games against Tyrone.

It seems our new managers approach to playing attacking football (which he claimed he was going to do) is to put 13 men behind the ball. So far he is way more defensive than Terry Hyland ever was.

http://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2016/11/02/news/new-manager-mattie-mcgleenan-determined-to-play-attacking-style-with-cavan-765833/
Post by: mrdeeds on February 17, 2017, 02:26:38 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 17, 2017, 10:48:38 AM

It wasn't actually over defensive in Blayney. Just terrible shooting.
Post by: ONeill on February 20, 2017, 10:20:36 PM
I'd like to see Cavan do to Tyrone what they did in the drawn game last year. Torture the full back line. I'd like to see if Tyrone have learned anything from it.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 20, 2017, 11:20:07 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 20, 2017, 10:20:36 PM
I'd like to see Cavan do to Tyrone what they did in the drawn game last year. Torture the full back line. I'd like to see if Tyrone have learned anything from it.

From that day they're missing big Givney on the edge of the square and Mackey doing the damage out the field.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 22, 2017, 12:10:25 PM
Presume there's no word on Bradley's appeal of his red card yet?

The Tyrone defence looked a bit shakey under the high ball in against Roscommon but I thought they defended very well against the Dubs. I wonder will Mickey continue with McClure at MF or will he move him to wing forward and put Mattie back into MF. Munroe and Rory Brennan will be pushing hard for a start at wing back you would imagine.

Do the Cavan lads think they are much weakened that last year? Ye must be pleased with the draw against Monaghan but it's a tough division to get points in.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 22, 2017, 12:25:07 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 20, 2017, 10:20:36 PM

Big Mattie loved the oul punched goal from a high ball in his heyday. I'd say he's been practising nothing else all week!
Post by: SG08 on February 22, 2017, 12:36:20 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 22, 2017, 12:10:25 PM

The Tyrone defence looked a bit shakey under the high ball in against Roscommon but I thought they defended very well against the Dubs. I wonder will Mickey continue with McClure at MF or will he move him to wing forward and put Mattie back into MF. Munroe and Rory Brennan will be pushing hard for a start at wing back you would imagine.

Do the Cavan lads think they are much weakened that last year? Ye must be pleased with the draw against Monaghan but it's a tough division to get points in.

I would say Munroe, Brennan and Meyler all competing for that wing half back position. I would have Munroe ahead of Brennan and then Meyler, Munroe hasn't put a foot wrong in any game he has started. Although I don't think that's how Micky sees it.
Post by: mrdeeds on February 22, 2017, 01:29:12 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 22, 2017, 12:10:25 PM

Way weaker. Players left panel such as Givney and Keating. Then fitness questions over Mackey McKiernan Buchannan Argue. I don't think we know our best team yet either.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 23, 2017, 03:48:19 PM
I wonder will Mickey name McNulty at MF again and not start him again?
I presume Mark Harte oops Bradley is suspended so we could see Ronan come back in. I'd say the u21 lads will be rested from here on until they are knocked out.

I'd expect Mattie to come back into MF with McClure named at wing forward and maybe Rory Brennan back in at wing back.
Post by: Redhand Santa on February 23, 2017, 03:57:51 PM
Tough team to pick tonight. I assume you mean Mark Bradley is suspended, he must be. I could see Mattie coming in for Bradley and that being the only change from midfield up. Though not sure how he'll line them out. That still leaves big Sean on the bench, though he must soon be due a start.

O'Neill will probably start in nets and think the full back line will be unchanged. The half back line is hard to pick. It was McCann justy and mcrory the last day. The likes of Brennan, McNabb (if fit) and McGeary will be pushing for a go.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 23, 2017, 08:35:20 PM
Cluiche: An Cabhán v Tír Eoghain

Ionad: Páirc Uí hÉilí, an Omaigh

Dáta: 26 Feabhra 2017
1 - Mickey O'Neill - Cluain Eo
2 - Pádraig Hampsey - Oileán a'Ghuail
3 - Ronan McNamee - Achadh Uí Aráin
4 - Cathal McCarron - An Droim Mór
5 - Tiernan McCann - Coill an Chlochair
6 - Justin McMahon - An Omaigh
7 - Aidan McCrory - Aireagal Chiaráin
8 - Colm Cavanagh - An Mhaigh
9 - Declan McClure - Cluain Eo
10 - Conor Meyler - An Omaigh
11 - Niall Sludden - An Droim Mhór
12 - Peter Harte - Aireagal Chiaráin
13 - Darren McCurry - Éadan na dTorc
14 - Cathal McShane - E. R. Uí Néill
15 - Ronan O'Neill - An Omaigh

16 - Niall Morgan - Éadan na dTorc
17 - Rory Brennan - Trí Leac
18 - Frank Burns - Cabhán a'Chaortainn
19 - Sean Cavanagh - An Mhaigh
20 - Matthew Donnelly - Trí Leac
21 - Conall McCann - Coill an Chlochair
22 - Hugh Pat McGeary - Cabhán a'Chaortainn
23 - Kieran McGeary - Cabhán a'Chaortainn
24 - Ronan McHugh - Achadh Uí Aráin
25 - Padraig McNulty - Dún Geanainn
26 - Jonathan Monroe - An Charraig Mhór
27 - Cahir McCullagh - An Caisleán Glas
28 - Michael Cassidy - Ard Bó
29 - Harry Loughran - An Mhaigh
Post by: omagh_gael on February 23, 2017, 09:11:47 PM
Can't see that team starting. Has McCrory ever been named as a HB? That's one he'll of a bench though!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 23, 2017, 09:30:06 PM
Mc Crory can take a goal though! ;)
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on February 23, 2017, 09:31:15 PM
Mattie will start I'd imagine.
Post by: RedHandTom on February 23, 2017, 09:43:06 PM
We'll see a very different game this weekend when compared to the McKenna Cup. Plus a very different result.
Post by: Itchy on February 23, 2017, 11:58:14 PM
Based on no logical reason I think Cavan can get something out of this game.
Post by: SG08 on February 24, 2017, 11:24:03 AM
Quote from: Itchy on February 23, 2017, 11:58:14 PM
Based on no logical reason I think Cavan can get something out of this game.

If the Tyrone team that's named actually starts then I think they can too.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 24, 2017, 12:05:21 PM
Itchy the Mayo lads will be onto you soon asking for EVIDENCE to why you think you can get something from the game.

Mickey made a lot of changes before the Dublin game with McCrory coming in to wing back for Munroe, Justy in for McNulty who doesn't start for the 2nd game in a row despite being named and Bradley in for Ronan O'Neill.

With Hampsey taking McCrory's place in the corner at the start of the year most of us were surprised had Mickey finally bit the bullet with McCrory so it seems a strange choice that he played him there last week against Dublin and he has him named there again this weekend. Half back and half forward are probably the most competitive positions with so many players competing for a place there. As usual Mickey is hard to predict and you would have imagined he would have went for some of the younger lads at half back rather than Justy and McCrory. Actually with Justy's dodgy hamstrings in the past I'm surprised he's seeing so much action this early in the season.

That full forward line doesn't exactly look too scary for the Cavan defence and I wonder will McShane play out around the middle again.
Post by: Itchy on February 24, 2017, 05:55:20 PM
Pretty sure Cavan will play 13 behind the ball, try and turn it into a war and keep the score tight and hope to nick something. I hope they start ray galligan in goals who is fit again. The dirtier and shitty the weather the better for us I think.
Post by: skeog on February 24, 2017, 06:16:21 PM
15 behind the ball its the new attacking plan they have.
Post by: Itchy on February 24, 2017, 06:58:43 PM
Quote from: skeog on February 24, 2017, 06:16:21 PM

Jaysus that's a good one
Post by: mrdeeds on February 24, 2017, 08:20:50 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 24, 2017, 06:58:43 PM

Jaysus that's a good one

I know wasn't it. A real zinger.
Post by: tierworker blue on February 25, 2017, 12:12:39 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on February 24, 2017, 08:20:50 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 24, 2017, 06:58:43 PM

Jaysus that's a good one

I know wasn't it. A real zinger.

Alan Partridge-esque. It's all in the delivery. You can't teach that kind of stuff lads!
Post by: Itchy on February 25, 2017, 10:14:31 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 24, 2017, 11:35:21 PM
Tyrone say they're not turning up if they have to make their own breakfast.
Worrying times...

Isn't there a forum rule that says you have to be at least in Division 2 to slag off a Division 1 team?
Post by: Fuzzman on February 25, 2017, 10:27:06 AM
Do people not want to discuss the match or players any more but talk shite?
Post by: mrdeeds on February 25, 2017, 10:33:42 AM
Cavan team named. I hope it's nothing like that or we're in trouble. Galligan needs to be back in goals for a start. Good to see Mackey back in squad.
Post by: Itchy on February 25, 2017, 01:22:26 PM
Cavan team...

James Farrelly; Fergal Reilly, Padraig Faulkner, Killian Brady; Ciaran Brady, Martin Reilly, Rory Dunne; Killian Clarke, Tomas Corr; Dara McVeety, Niall Clerkin, Gerard Smith; Niall McDermott, Gearoid McKiernan, Sean Johnston.

I hope he's not crazy enough to put Clerkin on the 40. Galligan needed in goals and a ball winner at full firwRd but sure you can't read anything into these teams listed on a Friday.
Post by: tierworker blue on February 25, 2017, 06:42:10 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 25, 2017, 01:22:26 PM
Cavan team...

James Farrelly; Fergal Reilly, Padraig Faulkner, Killian Brady; Ciaran Brady, Martin Reilly, Rory Dunne; Killian Clarke, Tomas Corr; Dara McVeety, Niall Clerkin, Gerard Smith; Niall McDermott, Gearoid McKiernan, Sean Johnston.

I hope he's not crazy enough to put Clerkin on the 40. Galligan needed in goals and a ball winner at full firwRd but sure you can't read anything into these teams listed on a Friday.

Yeah, for me, Galligan simply has to start if he is fit (which I am assuming he is, if he is on the panel). His kick outs and free taking put him a fair bit ahead imo. He was fit enough to be in the subs against M'han, and could've possibly swung that one in our favour if he was on the pitch.

I can't see Clerkin on the 40 either. I'm not sure if the Killian C. at m/f experiment is paying dividends. Class player, but I have my doubts about that position for him on what I've seen so far.

If we continue to carry the ball into the tackle on Sunday, as much as we have done in the last few matches, Tyrone will bottle us up and overturn it all day long...that'll play right into their hands. We really need to get away from doing that so much!

Fingers crossed we can keep it tight and be there or thereabouts at the business end of the game!
Post by: omagh_gael on February 26, 2017, 07:58:21 AM
A lot of rain has fallen overnight and and it gives a very wet morning/afternoon. Possible postponement if this continues, Healy Park doesn't inspire confidence in these scenarios.
Post by: mrdeeds on February 26, 2017, 10:19:39 AM
The hurling will hardly be played beforehand in the same venue?
Post by: StGallsGAA on February 26, 2017, 10:37:27 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 26, 2017, 07:58:21 AM
A lot of rain has fallen overnight and and it gives a very wet morning/afternoon. Possible postponement if this continues, Healy Park doesn't inspire confidence in these scenarios.

No such problems in Garvaghey.  Get the stand up and move all games there.
Post by: Rois on February 26, 2017, 11:25:09 AM
Still going ahead in Omagh, though hurling match switched to Carrickmore
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on February 26, 2017, 11:27:34 AM
Omagh has a constant problem with flooding, is it not possible to organise some sort of shelter or covers on the playing surface when such inclement weather is forecast.
Post by: southtyronegael on February 26, 2017, 01:07:45 PM
game called off. the players may cough up and pay for a new pitch.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on February 26, 2017, 01:31:30 PM
An absolute jokeshop.

Every year it's the same story with Omagh, the pitch cannot cope with rain at all.

Why on earth have the County Board not made contingencies for this, Fermanagh and Monaghan are down in Cork and Kerry respectively this week so they should have had the foresight to have these places ready in case there was a need to switch this.
Post by: ONeill on February 26, 2017, 01:42:46 PM
Feckin West Tyrone
Post by: Jinxy on February 26, 2017, 01:44:55 PM
Once you start moving west, anywhere in this country, everything gets worse.
The weather, the roads, the people... the teeth.
Everything.
Post by: bennydorano on February 26, 2017, 01:46:37 PM
It is a joke of a pitch. More field than pitch.
Post by: ziggysego on February 26, 2017, 02:04:38 PM
Instead of spending money to build a new county ground, Tyrone GAA should spend it getting Healy Park playable!

Waiting confirmation flf the game being cancelled because the ref has the final say is a joke too. Davis Gough had to come from Co. Meath. Meaning only an hour's notice and Cavan supporters were already on the road to Omagh.

Has to change.
Post by: mrdeeds on February 26, 2017, 02:10:16 PM
I was in the carpark. Why the ref only arrived at twenty past one is a mystery and pitch inspection at one.
Post by: ONeill on February 26, 2017, 02:21:57 PM
Cavan ones will be rippin at the wasted diesel.
Post by: clarshack on February 26, 2017, 02:22:58 PM
Heavy rain was forecast for Omagh, it's not as if it was unexpected. Healy park was never going to be playable. The game should have been moved at the latest by yesterday evening. A very embarrassing week for Tyrone GAA.
Post by: T Fearon on February 26, 2017, 02:27:23 PM
Do Tyrone players have to pay for their own raincoats and umbrellas?
Post by: mrdeeds on February 26, 2017, 02:42:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 26, 2017, 02:21:57 PM
Cavan ones will be rippin at the wasted diesel.

It's all right. Bought some rinsed Diesel when up.
Post by: tyroneman on February 26, 2017, 02:59:36 PM
A fcukin joke.
Post by: rrhf on February 26, 2017, 03:49:29 PM
Antiquated methods by the GAA.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 26, 2017, 03:51:57 PM
Imagine if the pitch was from Tyrone.
Post by: tierworker blue on February 26, 2017, 05:36:41 PM
Arrived in Omagh at 13.40 only to be told that the game had been called off 10 minutes earlier. 386 km round trip. Very annoying, considering that it had seemingly been clear to lots of people this morning, that the pitch was totally unplayable. I know that the ref had final say, but there needs to be provision for someone closer to the location to make a call in such obvious circumstances.

In fact, the referee stated on the radio, that the ref for the Donegal/Dublin game had in fact called in to see it on his way to Ballybofey, and had serious doubts about it's playability (he texted him pictures of a waterlogged pitch apparently). Surely a call could have been made even then, rather than waiting for our ref to arrive at 13.20. Complete pain in the ass, especially considering that we have to make the same trip all over again in a couple of weeks!
Post by: Beantown on February 26, 2017, 06:53:04 PM
Feel sorry for the Cavan supporters who travelled up only to be told so late that match was off.  I found out 20 mins after leaving the house so I wasn't too far up the rd.  Healy park is such a kip.. Facilities are an embarrassment, Athletic grounds, newly, Celtic park to name a few are all much better grounds. 

The amount of times only 2 ticket windows are open at the scoreboard end of the grounds and 3-400 people are queuing to get in whilst anthem is being sung.  Supporters from other counties are saying its a joke and Tyrone fans are standing agreeing with them.  Time to bulldoze it to the ground or move elsewhere.

Maybe the county board could get the subs to man the turnstiles in place of ten £15
Post by: RedHandTom on February 26, 2017, 07:19:20 PM
Sympathy to Cavan and their supporters. This keeps happening at Healy Park and it's really not acceptable.
By the way the facilities at Healy are second to none, its the drainage system that let's the place down every time it rains
Post by: ziggysego on February 26, 2017, 07:29:41 PM
Quote from: RedHandTom on February 26, 2017, 07:19:20 PM
By the way the facilities at Healy are second to none, its the drainage system that let's the place down every time it rains

Spot on. As someone with a disability, I think the facilities are very good. True, could be a few improvements, but to say it's terrible is not true.

It's the drainage which is the major problem at Omagh and these quick fixes are not helping.
Post by: Beantown on February 26, 2017, 09:02:31 PM
Lads, Omagh has fallen behind nearly all other grounds in Ulster.  Toilet facilities are poor if you decide to stand on the terrace.  The terrace is shallow that if there is anyone a couple of inches taller than you standing in front of you it's hard to see the pitch. Why not have steeper sides like Celtic Park or Breffni..... The terracing is giving way in places, I can guarantee there were large puddles on the terrace as well as the pitch.  This is the case if it rains at all in Omagh.  There is so much room to renovate but that would cost money.  Maybe if all the development players chipped in also things may get going.

County board need to get the grounds up to scratch.
Post by: delgany on February 26, 2017, 10:21:47 PM
Omagh needs a Prunty pitch with a drainage system installed

.that pitch must be there 35 years
Post by: Taylor on February 27, 2017, 09:06:21 AM
What a joke of a set up.
Was just coming into Omagh when heard the news.

Firstly why cant someone else inspect the pitch a bit earlier. By all accounts it was a mess and the weather wasnt improving.
Secondly we invest all this money elsewhere in the county and cant sort the pitch/drainage in Omagh?

Ridiculous state of affairs.

As for Cavan folk wasting their time travelling - good enough for them
Post by: Hereiam on February 27, 2017, 09:22:22 AM
The problem with the Omagh pitch is that the ground underneath is pure crap (peat i think) and that drainage will always be a problem unless some serious dough is spent on it. Even if if they dig miles of drains through the pitch and manage to get the water away then the stands etc (which is built on the same crap) will start to be affected as you will be lowering the water table.
What is it about the local GAA clubs in Tyrone and further a field building their grounds on the worst piece of ground in the parish.
Post by: StGallsGAA on February 27, 2017, 09:39:20 AM
Did St Enda's even offer the good Cabhan folk who travelled a boul of soup?
Post by: omagh_gael on February 27, 2017, 09:46:18 AM
What's the thoughts on the rearranged fixture?

The weekend if 11th/12th March looks an obvious choice to me. It's a weekend with only hurling fixtures. Tyrone due to play Louth in the hurling at Healy Park on Sunday 12th at 2pm. Could it be moved forward a bit and football throw in at 2.30pm?
Post by: redhandefender on February 27, 2017, 10:10:17 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on February 27, 2017, 09:22:22 AM
The problem with the Omagh pitch is that the ground underneath is pure crap (peat i think) and that drainage will always be a problem unless some serious dough is spent on it. Even if if they dig miles of drains through the pitch and manage to get the water away then the stands etc (which is built on the same crap) will start to be affected as you will be lowering the water table.
What is it about the local GAA clubs in Tyrone and further a field building their grounds on the worst piece of ground in the parish.

I would imagine it was to do with cost and lack of scientific genius you possess at the time of purchase
Post by: StGallsGAA on February 27, 2017, 11:12:36 AM

If you read your Irish history you'd know why this was so.
Post by: WT4E on February 27, 2017, 11:20:14 AM
Is it true that there's a digger that sank in the ground years ago and it remains under the pitch?
Post by: Main Street on February 27, 2017, 11:27:25 AM
Quote from: WT4E on February 27, 2017, 11:20:14 AM
Is it true that there's a digger that sank in the ground years ago and it remains under the pitch?
Along with Shergar.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 27, 2017, 02:21:45 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 27, 2017, 09:46:18 AM

The weekend if 11th/12th March looks an obvious choice to me. It's a weekend with only hurling fixtures. Tyrone due to play Louth in the hurling at Healy Park on Sunday 12th at 2pm. Could it be moved forward a bit and football throw in at 2.30pm?

There you are, the game has been re-fixed for the 12th March.
Post by: ziggysego on February 27, 2017, 04:51:40 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 27, 2017, 02:21:45 PM

You have some influence over the GAA lad!
Title: Re: Refixture: Tír Eoghain vs An Cabhán, Omagh, Sunday 12th March @14:30
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 27, 2017, 05:41:07 PM

I remember all the laughing at Roscommon last year when the Hyde pitch was unplayable and a game was moved - at least the game was played!

Post by: omagh_gael on February 27, 2017, 06:23:48 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 27, 2017, 04:51:40 PM

You're the man with all the power over gaaboard though, (mod)Ziggy ;)
Post by: ziggysego on February 27, 2017, 08:55:28 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 27, 2017, 06:23:48 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 27, 2017, 04:51:40 PM

You're the man with all the power over gaaboard though, (mod)Ziggy ;)

Bollocks  ;D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 27, 2017, 10:24:07 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on February 27, 2017, 05:41:07 PM

I remember all the laughing at Roscommon last year when the Hyde pitch was unplayable and a game was moved - at least the game was played!

Maybe if the Meath referee had been there a bit earlier (as arranged -- midday instead of 1pm) we might have had time to switch it too! :P ;)
Post by: tierworker blue on February 27, 2017, 11:59:00 PM
Quote from: Taylor on February 27, 2017, 09:06:21 AM

How empathic of you. Still and all, we'll be back on the 12th. Try to have your s**t together by then, if you don't mind.   ;)
Post by: Itchy on February 28, 2017, 09:28:13 AM
Quote from: tierworker blue on February 27, 2017, 11:59:00 PM
Quote from: Taylor on February 27, 2017, 09:06:21 AM

How empathic of you. Still and all, we'll be back on the 12th. Try to have your s**t together by then, if you don't mind.   ;)

It should be like club football. If your pitch is too shit or your officials too incompetent to host a match then you should forfeit home advantage.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 06, 2017, 12:53:35 PM
Right Keeahvaaawn boyos, let's be having you, into our theatre of unbounded delights! ;)
Post by: Fuzzman on March 06, 2017, 03:00:22 PM
In case ye Cavan boyos didn't hear Tyrone officials wanted to call the last game off at 10.30 that Sunday morning as a local ref inspected the pitch.
Apparently Croke Park officials didn't want it cancelled and so asked the Armagh ref to call in to Omagh on his way to Ballybofey and he also deemed the pitch unplayable. He took photos and sent them to HQ but they said they will wait now to hear from the match official Gough who only arrived to the pitch at 1.22pm. Disgraceful decision making by HQ yet not a word about this on the media.

Should Tyrone win this we would go top of the table with 7 points and high hopes of making the league final.
Cavan appear to be struggling as many predicted and another defeat would please those teams just above them.

Post by: redhandefender on March 06, 2017, 03:15:19 PM
Gough had heard McCann had booked the St Endas sun bed between 10am and 1.30 and didn't want to be seen in public too long without a top up!

It was between a sunbed and ice bath for the St enda's lad but the sunbed won out and has proved a great hit.
Post by: WT4E on March 06, 2017, 04:11:29 PM
is this on tv?
Post by: Fuzzman on March 06, 2017, 05:36:14 PM
Doubt it WT4 as TG4 have live & deferred hurling on.
Post by: mrdeeds on March 06, 2017, 05:48:55 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 06, 2017, 03:00:22 PM
In case ye Cavan boyos didn't hear Tyrone officials wanted to call the last game off at 10.30 that Sunday morning as a local ref inspected the pitch.
Apparently Croke Park officials didn't want it cancelled and so asked the Armagh ref to call in to Omagh on his way to Ballybofey and he also deemed the pitch unplayable. He took photos and sent them to HQ but they said they will wait now to hear from the match official Gough who only arrived to the pitch at 1.22pm. Disgraceful decision making by HQ yet not a word about this on the media.

Should Tyrone win this we would go top of the table with 7 points and high hopes of making the league final.
Cavan appear to be struggling as many predicted and another defeat would please those teams just above them.

Tyrone went and trained in Gervaghey from what I heard. So they knew game was off and yet Cavan team travelled and supporters. Bad form. Tyrone team supposedly met Cavan bus when they were heading to training.

As for game I have no confidence at all.and expect Tyrone to win pulling up.
Post by: mrdeeds on March 06, 2017, 05:49:40 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 06, 2017, 12:53:35 PM
Right Keeahvaaawn boyos, let's be having you, into our theatre of unbounded delights! ;)

We were there already in case you missed.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 06, 2017, 06:01:29 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on March 06, 2017, 05:49:40 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 06, 2017, 12:53:35 PM

We were there already in case you missed.

Nope, didn't miss, but no ball was played in case you didn't notice :P ;) And you can blame the numpties in HQ for that, not ourselves, who would have given the Cavan folk plenty of notice if we'd been left to our own devices.

Safe journeys regardless.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 09, 2017, 02:18:32 PM
McGleenan under huge pressure to beat Harte once again by John Campbell Belfast Tele

When former Red Hands ace Mattie McGleenan steered Cavan to victory over his native county at the start of the McKenna Cup, it was thought to be a portent of even better things to come.

But the Breffni side did not make the semi-finals of the competition and to date have garnered just a solitary point in a league campaign that has been uninspiring.

With less than a quarter of the year gone, McGleenan already finds himself under pressure as his side bid to haul themselves out of the relegation zone.

Yet the affable Eglish clubman retains faith in his players as he prepares for what is surely the biggest test of his county managerial career to date at Healy Park, Omagh this weekend.

"You can build on anything with a group of players who refuse to give up," said a defiant McGleenan - a ringing endorsement of what he feels is his squad's commitment and spirit.

But these qualities alone may not be sufficient to halt Tyrone's surge to what manager Harte hopes will be a place in the final.
In contrast to Cavan's travails, the Red Hands are currently bracketed with Donegal and Monaghan in second place fully aware that a win on Sunday will thrust them clear of Dublin at the top, at least temporarily.

Niall Sludden missed the win over Monaghan last Saturday with a hamstring injury and may be unavailable again this weekend while Lee Brennan is expected to be rested in advance of next Wednesday's Ulster U21 Championship meeting with Donegal.

A number of other U21 squad members are also in the senior panel but have not been in the starting line-up of late so their total focus will be on the provincial Championship.

While Tyrone entertain realistic ambitions of wrestling the title from Dublin, they will need to address some shortcomings as they bid to land the second most important trophy in the football sphere.

They have scored only one goal in three matches, they surrendered the initiative to 13-man Monaghan in the second half last weekend and they have been spurning rather too many scoring chances.

Following Sunday's joust with Cavan, the Red Hands face trips to Donegal and Kerry and will host Mayo.

Harte has made it clear that he expects more from his side against a Cavan outfit that has drawn with Monaghan and lost to Dublin and Donegal.

Harte stated: "We have got a real desire to get our home points this year and if we can achieve that then it's a big step towards retaining our Division One status.

"If we had played in the first half the way we played in the second half against Monaghan then I don't think we would have got the two points so we know what we have to do this Sunday."

It can be taken for granted that remaining in the top tier will be the very least Harte will expect from his side.

Already there is a strong school of thought that would suggest the Red Hands will cross swords with Dublin in the league final once again.

The Dubs have won two and drawn two of the four games they have played to date and their next outing is against Kerry on Saturday week, which will be followed by a home game against Roscommon on March 25 and their last scheduled match against Monaghan on April 2.

Jim Gavin's side have the little matter of attempting to set a new unbeaten record in their remaining fixtures to contend with.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I wonder will we see Mattie remain at 14? Will Bradley come back in for Ronan O'Neill?
I think for every game in the league Mickey has changed the lineup just before the start of the match.
Post by: vallankumous on March 09, 2017, 03:04:21 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 06, 2017, 03:00:22 PM

That's unbelievable. Really, it's hard to believe that was the course of events.
I'm not questioning your report, it's just bonkers.

Post by: Fuzzman on March 09, 2017, 04:24:37 PM
https://www.balls.ie/gaa/omagh-359967

Bonkers but at least it shows a bit of common sense on Tyrone's part that they reported it early but nobody would heed them. Scary that HQ were willing to risk players welfare just so that there wouldn't be a re-fixture
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 09, 2017, 08:39:52 PM
Tyrone team v Cavan Allianz Football League 12/3/17

Senior Appearances in brackets
1 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc (57)
2 – Pádraig Hampsey – Oileán a'Ghuail (16)
3 – Ronan McNamee – Achadh Uí Aráin (59)
4 – Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór (94)
5 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair (50)
6 – Justin McMahon – An Omaigh (106)
7 – Rory Brennan – Trí Leac (23)
8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh (130)
9 – Padraig McNulty – Dún Geanainn (36)
10 – Conor Meyler – An Omaigh (18 )
11 – Kieran McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn (13)
12 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin (112)
13 – Darren McCurry – Éadan na dTorc (69)
14 – Sean Cavanagh (C) – An Mhaigh (230)
15 – Matthew Donnelly – Trí Leac (87)

16 – Mickey O'Neill – Cluain Eo (22)
17 – Mark Bradley – Coill an Chlochair (29)
18 – Frank Burns – Cabhán a'Chaortainn (2)
19 – Conall McCann – Coill an Chlochair (24)
20 – Declan McClure – Cluain Eo (8 )
21 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin (91)
22 – Hugh Pat McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn (8 )
23 – Ronan McHugh – Achadh Uí Aráin (5)
24 – Cathal McShane – E. R. Uí Néill (24)
25 – Jonathan Monroe – An Charraig Mhór (17)
26 – Ronan O'Neill – An Omaigh (62)
27 – Cahir McCullagh – An Caisleán Glas (6)
28 – Michael Cassidy – Ard Bó (1)
29 – Harry Loughran – An Mhaigh (0)
Post by: omagh_gael on March 09, 2017, 08:45:08 PM
Interesting line up. Not that they'll play there all game but Mickey clearly going for a more direct approach at times with Mattie and Sean named in FF line.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 09, 2017, 09:04:37 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 09, 2017, 08:45:08 PM
Interesting line up. Not that they'll play there all game but Mickey clearly going for a more direct approach at times with Mattie and Sean named in FF line.

Interesting to see how they get on alright. Should allow us to vary the play up anyway?

What's up with McNabb? Hasn't featured in the league yet, is he out for long?

Big chance for McNulty as well.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 09, 2017, 09:59:13 PM
I like the look of that team and if Sudden was playing it would be near my first choice team.
I wonder will McNulty finally get to line out for a game.
Good to see Mickey still trying out things before he gets the sack
Post by: GaelTheGael on March 09, 2017, 10:55:37 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 09, 2017, 08:39:52 PM
Tyrone team v Cavan Allianz Football League 12/3/17

Senior Appearances in brackets
1 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc (57)
2 – Pádraig Hampsey – Oileán a'Ghuail (16)
3 – Ronan McNamee – Achadh Uí Aráin (59)
4 – Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór (94)
5 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair (50)
6 – Justin McMahon – An Omaigh (106)
7 – Rory Brennan – Trí Leac (23)
8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh (130)
9 – Padraig McNulty – Dún Geanainn (36)
10 – Conor Meyler – An Omaigh (18 )
11 – Kieran McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn (13)
12 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin (112)
13 – Darren McCurry – Éadan na dTorc (69)
14 – Sean Cavanagh (C) – An Mhaigh (230)
15 – Matthew Donnelly – Trí Leac (87)

16 – Mickey O'Neill – Cluain Eo (22)
17 – Mark Bradley – Coill an Chlochair (29)
18 – Frank Burns – Cabhán a'Chaortainn (2)
19 – Conall McCann – Coill an Chlochair (24)
20 – Declan McClure – Cluain Eo (8 )
21 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin (91)
22 – Hugh Pat McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn (8 )
23 – Ronan McHugh – Achadh Uí Aráin (5)
24 – Cathal McShane – E. R. Uí Néill (24)
25 – Jonathan Monroe – An Charraig Mhór (17)
26 – Ronan O'Neill – An Omaigh (62)
27 – Cahir McCullagh – An Caisleán Glas (6)
28 – Michael Cassidy – Ard Bó (1)
29 – Harry Loughran – An Mhaigh (0)
Happy to see Brennan get the start but at the same time dissapointed not to see Burns get another shot.
Encouraging having those two men inside, atleast gives the option of mixing it up a bit.
Post by: WT4E on March 10, 2017, 01:37:51 PM
Whats wrong with Sludden?
Post by: Goals_Will_Come on March 10, 2017, 01:43:16 PM
Quote from: WT4E on March 10, 2017, 01:37:51 PM
Hamstring.
Post by: Taylor on March 10, 2017, 02:39:07 PM
Quote from: Goals_Will_Come on March 10, 2017, 01:43:16 PM
Quote from: WT4E on March 10, 2017, 01:37:51 PM
Hamstring.

Hopefully wont be out for too long but he has had a busy year so far and a week or two rest will do him no harm.

Blanket defence or not if we get a run at Cavan we can win by 8+ pts
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 11, 2017, 10:47:46 AM
Usually I would root for the underdog, but in this instance, I hope Tyrone win and Cavan are banjaxed for next weekend.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 11, 2017, 10:01:59 PM
I'm sure most already know but this game is at 2pm and not, as thread title suggests, 2.30pm.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 12, 2017, 08:13:14 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 11, 2017, 10:01:59 PM
I'm sure most already know but this game is at 2pm and not, as thread title suggests, 2.30pm.

Huh?... Thanks  ;)
Title: Re: Refixture: Tír Eoghain vs An Cabhán, Omagh, Sunday 12th March @14:00
Post by: trileacman on March 12, 2017, 12:45:17 PM
On the TV?
Post by: The Trap on March 12, 2017, 02:24:04 PM
Teamtalkmag radio on the blink......however there is an ad for breast surgery that is quite good!!!!!   
Post by: Itchy on March 12, 2017, 02:36:03 PM
Quote from: The Trap on March 12, 2017, 02:24:04 PM
Teamtalkmag radio on the blink......however there is an ad for breast surgery that is quite good!!!!!   

On northernsound.ie

Cavan up by 4
1-8 to 0-7
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 12, 2017, 02:44:43 PM
Did Cavan have much of a wind advantage first half?
Post by: omagh_gael on March 12, 2017, 02:45:21 PM
Poor first half, Tyrone too laboured up front whereas Cavan being much more efficient. Cavan's goal just like Graham Geraghty in 2007, punched lob over Morgan.

Need big end half here.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 12, 2017, 02:45:52 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 12, 2017, 02:44:43 PM

Yeah they definitely had the wind 1st half
Post by: Itchy on March 12, 2017, 02:50:35 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 12, 2017, 02:45:52 PM

Couldn't go today, attending a christening, but listening on the radio and they said that it was cross field wind not really favouring anyone? Seems like a real tit for tat game until we got the goal. Really hope we can hang on, it would be a tremendous boost for us.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 12, 2017, 02:57:19 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 12, 2017, 02:50:35 PM

Couldn't go today, attending a christening, but listening on the radio and they said that it was cross field wind not really favouring anyone? Seems like a real tit for tat game until we got the goal. Really hope we can hang on, it would be a tremendous boost for us.

Definitely in Cavan's favour, flags right beside me and blowing straight up the pitch
Post by: Itchy on March 12, 2017, 03:02:39 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 12, 2017, 02:57:19 PM

Definitely in Cavan's favour, flags right beside me and blowing straight up the pitch

Fair enough, is it worth 4 points?
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 12, 2017, 03:22:03 PM
Tyrone 0-8 Cavan 0-1 in the second half at moment. Looks like Cavan needed a much bigger lead than 4 points with that wind.
Post by: cuconnacht on March 12, 2017, 03:24:17 PM
No offence to either fine county but would love to see the Breffni pinch this,keep Tyrone as close to the drop as us but with the wind doubt it.thought so
Tyrone 0-19
Cavan  1-9
Post by: mrdeeds on March 12, 2017, 03:43:08 PM
Wind wasn't that big. Cavan changed tactics totally in second half, stopped contesting kickouts and pulled everyone back. Made no sense. Don't know why Niall Murray was took of at half time. Clerkin and Corr passengers.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 12, 2017, 03:59:18 PM
Seemed like we were in a bit of bother in the first half but 2 more points on the board and I think a win next week at Donegal will probably be enough for us.

Looked liked the lads coming off the bench made the difference for us.
Post by: cuconnacht on March 12, 2017, 04:02:06 PM

Quote from: mrdeeds on March 12, 2017, 03:43:08 PM
Wind wasn't that big. Cavan changed tactics totally in second half, stopped contesting kickouts and pulled everyone back. Made no sense. Don't know why Niall Murray was took of at half time. Clerkin and Corr passengers.
Bizarre sounding tactics alright.
Post by: Itchy on March 12, 2017, 04:03:15 PM
Losing a half 12 to 1 is embarrassing stuff and simply not good enough. Relegated to Div2 and all progress made by Hyland is flushed down the toilet.
Post by: Main Street on March 12, 2017, 04:23:57 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 12, 2017, 03:02:39 PM

I listed to the 2nd half NS radio commentary. They said with a scientific certainty that there was some, but not much wind advantage for Cavan in the first half up until the 20th minute when the wind picked up a bit and became a factor and remained a factor right throughout the 2nd half.

Post by: Syferus on March 12, 2017, 04:28:09 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 12, 2017, 04:23:57 PM

I listed to the 2nd half NS radio commentary. They said with a scientific certainty that there was some, but not much wind advantage for Cavan in the first half up until the 20th minute when the wind picked up a bit and became a factor and remained a factor right throughout the 2nd half.

SS-NS couldn't tell you with scientific certainty that it was night or day..
Post by: Main Street on March 12, 2017, 04:39:13 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 12, 2017, 04:28:09 PM

I did suspect Tyrone used a wind machine of sorts, finally got it started after 20 minutes and didn't notice it was blowing the wrong way.

Anyway congrats to Tyrone on their victory, it must come as a relief to secure 1st Div status, unlike last year when they were  ignominiously relegated.

Post by: Fuzzman on March 12, 2017, 04:55:09 PM
Quote from: Main Street link=topic=27675.msg1677645#msg1677645 date=

Anyway congrats to Tyrone on their victory and returning back to the top of division 1 where they belong.
Fair play Main Street. Glad you finally came to your senses.
Would rather might ye in the final though.
Post by: In hiding on March 12, 2017, 05:45:09 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 12, 2017, 04:39:13 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 12, 2017, 04:28:09 PM

I did suspect Tyrone used a wind machine of sorts, finally got it started after 20 minutes and didn't notice it was blowing the wrong way.

Anyway congrats to Tyrone on their victory, it must come as a relief to secure 1st Div status, unlike last year when they were  ignominiously relegated.
Last year Tyrone won division 2. Yeah I know what you were trying to say but you're such a dummy you weren't able to get it right. Ah well
Post by: seafoid on March 12, 2017, 05:48:20 PM
I can see Ros and Cavan going straight to Division 3 next year
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 12, 2017, 06:04:15 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 12, 2017, 04:03:15 PM
Losing a half 12 to 1 is embarrassing stuff and simply not good enough. Relegated to Div2 and all progress made by Hyland is flushed down the toilet.
Hard to know what Cavan progress has been lost. Division one has the top six teams in Ireland in Monaghan,Kerry,Tyrone,Mayo,Donegal and Dublin. Cavan will learn a lot more about themselves losing division one games by six or seven points instead of any win in division two or three.
Post by: Rossfan on March 12, 2017, 06:12:55 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 12, 2017, 05:48:20 PM
Hopefully ye're underachievers will be there to welcome us.
Post by: Itchy on March 12, 2017, 06:17:17 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 12, 2017, 06:04:15 PM
Hard to know what Cavan progress has been lost. Division one has the top six teams in Ireland in Monaghan,Kerry,Tyrone,Mayo,Donegal and Dublin. Cavan will learn a lot more about themselves losing division one games by six or seven points instead of any win in division two or three.

Getting promoted to the top 8 is progress. Getting relegated out of the top 8 is wasting that progress. Is that difficult to understand. This manager has talked the greatest loss of old nonsense I've heard in a long time. People wanted Hyland run out of town to get us to the next level with a new man and being honest this man could bring us down 2 levels. Lest we forget we were unlucky to lose by a point to Tyrone in the league last year.0
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 12, 2017, 06:35:56 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 12, 2017, 06:17:17 PM

Getting promoted to the top 8 is progress. Getting relegated out of the top 8 is wasting that progress. Is that difficult to understand. This manager has talked the greatest loss of old nonsense I've heard in a long time. People wanted Hyland run out of town to get us to the next level with a new man and being honest this man could bring us down 2 levels. Lest we forget we were unlucky to lose by a point to Tyrone in the league last year.0

Very doubtful if Cavan would have stayed up if Hyland was still manager. Only division two,three league progress was made under him he was replaced because of the lack of championship progress. Lest we forget the July championship result was Tyrone 5-18 Cavan 2-17
Post by: Throw ball on March 12, 2017, 07:12:27 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 12, 2017, 06:35:56 PM

Very doubtful if Cavan would have stayed up if Hyland was still manager. Only division two,three league progress was made under him he was replaced because of the lack of championship progress. Lest we forget the July championship result was Tyrone 5-18 Cavan 2-17

Don't really want to stick up for Cavan but that was after a replay.

I feel Cavan's loss is Tyrone's gain in Peter Donnelly moving a couple of years ago. His football methods may be tosh to watch but defensively they are highly effective. I feel Tyrone have better forwards as a squad than Cavan too. They also have a better manager too.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 12, 2017, 07:17:00 PM
The record of teams who have been relegated from Division 1 in the summer is pretty horrific.

I'd say you wouldn't get much in the way of odds off a bookie on both McStay and McGleenan still being in place come Autumn.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 12, 2017, 08:25:17 PM
Good enough game for us today. A number of positives and negatives for me:

Positives

Mark Bradley coming on a having the skills and motivation to take on his own marker, head straight for the posts and fire over from long range. Always shows for the ball and never stops making runs for space. He HAS to start from now on!!

After a dreadful first half we shook off the cobwebs and put Cavan to the sword. Could have easily got stuck in a rutt and struggled in that game.

Our long range point scoring in second half was much much better. People saying the wind wasn't a factor, I disagree. Fair enough it wasn't blowing a gale but it was just strong enough for players playing into Gortin road end to turn down the long shot and recycle instead. It's no surprise that Cavan scored some beauties in the first half and f**k all in the second and we took over the point scoring in second. Tactics also changed.

Cavan's goal was good. Very quick movement of the ball and the cheeky finish was admirable.

Hopefully we stick with Sean hitting frees from the left and Petey from the right. From memory we only missed one or two. Can only think of Cavanagh'a that dropped into keepers arms.

Top of the table with three games to go, looking pretty good!

Negatives

Mattie Donnelly still isn't motoring well. Not that he's playing poorly but he has a lot more to give. The FF role just not suiting him. I thought it'd be a great idea to see him in there but looks like it's not paying dividends. However, he doesn't have much support when ball comes in, think we need to play McCurry or Bradley in his shadow to catch any loose balls thst break.

Game was well won at the stage but I hate that tippy tappy shite across the 45 at least let it in and try to engineer more scores. Wasn't as if we were worried that Cavan could break and win the game with a late goal.

Post by: Syferus on March 12, 2017, 08:33:23 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 12, 2017, 07:17:00 PM
The record of teams who have been relegated from Division 1 in the summer is pretty horrific.

I'd say you wouldn't get much in the way of odds off a bookie on both McStay and McGleenan still being in place come Autumn.

It really hurt Tyrone two years ago alright.
Post by: LeoMc on March 12, 2017, 08:36:53 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on March 12, 2017, 03:43:08 PM
In the first half they were dropping everyone back when not in possession and Tyrone were not able to break them down. In the second half they kept one man up and, once Bradley came on, Tyrone started to work some space.
Cavan heads were down for the last 15 minutes when Tyrone tacked on their last 4 scores.
Post by: DuffleKing on March 12, 2017, 08:40:08 PM

There was quite a lot of bewilderment when Mattie was appointed to the Cavan job it has to be said.
Post by: Rudi on March 12, 2017, 10:55:51 PM

Get a girlfriend you troll. If Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Tyrone, Donegal and Monaghan are the top 6 who are 7 and 8 to make up the top 8?. Hardly Galway who have spent 5 years trying to get to D1. Could not beat Tipp in the championship and could not beat the worst Meath team in 30 years.
Post by: cavanmaniac on March 13, 2017, 12:31:03 AM

Give McGleenan a bit of time man. He might well turn out to be a duffer, sure, but maybe not - there's just no basis on which to judge that this early. Hyland was given four/four and a half years to get us into Division 1 while never making a real dent championship-wise (one win in 2013 excepted), or most pointedly, against teams of the same standard as those who generally live in Division 1. We frequently struggled against the likes of Roscommon and Derry too so let's be realistic about precisely where we were under Terry. That's not to belittle his achievements in any way, but to underline that if patience can be extended to one man then the other, in his first ever intercounty gig, should surely get a little too? I understand feelings run hot when the team's not doing well but Terry's day was done and we have to move on.
Post by: seafoid on March 13, 2017, 08:07:09 AM
Quote from: Rudi on March 12, 2017, 10:55:51 PM

Get a girlfriend you troll. If Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Tyrone, Donegal and Monaghan are the top 6 who are 7 and 8 to make up the top 8?. Hardly Galway who have spent 5 years trying to get to D1. Could not beat Tipp in the championship and could not beat the worst Meath team in 30 years.
Maybe base it on provincial winners. I thought Ros had a good thing going last year but it doesn't look great at the moment.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 13, 2017, 11:20:17 AM
Quote from: Syferus on March 12, 2017, 08:33:23 PM

They are pretty much the exception that proves the rule and even they were helped by the fact that they got a soft enough run through the qualifiers. I doubt you will find too many Tyrone folk willing to argue the point that getting beaten by Donegal in Ulster and getting knocked out of the championship by Kerry whie beating the likes of Sligo, Limerick, Tipp, Meath  and Monaghan was all that successful of a championship.

Last year It was Cork and Down relegated
2015 it was Tyrone and Derry
2014 Kildare and Westmeath
2013 Donegal and Down
2012 Armagh and Laois
2011 Monaghan and Galway
2010 Derry and Tyrone

Look through the championship records and  the record of these teams relegated from Division 1 in that summer's championship and its clear just how poor the relegated teams  have done.

I don't see anything from Cavan or Roscommon that makes me think they are likely to be able to buck this trend.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 13, 2017, 12:52:05 PM
Why did McNamee not start?
How did McNulty do at MF?
Presume no highlights on YouTube or anywhere?
Post by: omagh_gael on March 13, 2017, 01:18:58 PM
I have recorded league Sunday but not sure if they'd any footage from it. Don't know why McNamee didn't start, he was moving fine when warming up and when he came on. Got him self a stupid black card as well!

McNulty was so-so, took his point well enough but will do well to start next weekend. Thought McClure has shown more so far this year.
Post by: Dire Ear on March 13, 2017, 01:26:22 PM
How was the ref,  heard he wasn't kind to Tyrone !
Post by: Itchy on March 13, 2017, 01:33:54 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on March 13, 2017, 12:31:03 AM

Give McGleenan a bit of time man. He might well turn out to be a duffer, sure, but maybe not - there's just no basis on which to judge that this early. Hyland was given four/four and a half years to get us into Division 1 while never making a real dent championship-wise (one win in 2013 excepted), or most pointedly, against teams of the same standard as those who generally live in Division 1. We frequently struggled against the likes of Roscommon and Derry too so let's be realistic about precisely where we were under Terry. That's not to belittle his achievements in any way, but to underline that if patience can be extended to one man then the other, in his first ever intercounty gig, should surely get a little too? I understand feelings run hot when the team's not doing well but Terry's day was done and we have to move on.

He will get the time. Lets leave Terry be so.

Can you explain why every week we are looking at a team with guys playing in bizarre positions. Lets take McVetty. Starts as wing forward against Dublin & Monaghan. Then moved into FF against Donegal, strange move to say the least but you could argue it worked as he won ball and scored 2 points in there. Then yesterday, with Johnstone dropped/injured, he doesn't play inside at all. Does that sound like logical reasoning. You either give a lad a go in a new position or you dont. It looks like a guy in panic stations. McKiernan from Lacken dropped from starting panel for a couple of games and gets on as a sub yesterday, Argue back last week but no sign of him this week. One things is for sure he is not showing his hand as to what he will do in the championship as I dont think he knows what he is doing. Byall accounts the fitness of  the team is poor too. My bet he will be gone after the summer. I genuinely hope he can turn it around but we are back at Donal Keoghan levels of management from what I can see.
Post by: Blowitupref on March 13, 2017, 01:40:07 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 13, 2017, 11:20:17 AM
Quote from: Syferus on March 12, 2017, 08:33:23 PM

They are pretty much the exception that proves the rule and even they were helped by the fact that they got a soft enough run through the qualifiers. I doubt you will find too many Tyrone folk willing to argue the point that getting beaten by Donegal in Ulster and getting knocked out of the championship by Kerry whie beating the likes of Sligo, Limerick, Tipp, Meath  and Monaghan was all that successful of a championship.

Last year It was Cork and Down relegated
2015 it was Tyrone and Derry
2014 Kildare and Westmeath
2013 Donegal and Down
2012 Armagh and Laois
2011 Monaghan and Galway
2010 Derry and Tyrone

Look through the championship records and  the record of these teams relegated from Division 1 in that summer's championship and its clear just how poor the relegated teams  have done.

I don't see anything from Cavan or Roscommon that makes me think they are likely to be able to buck this trend.

I think it's safe to say Cavan or Roscommon won't be winning provincial titles this summer however depending on qualifer draw they may reach the last 8. It happened before for Roscommon in 2003 with division one relegation and All Ireland quarter final.
Post by: cavanmaniac on March 13, 2017, 02:16:59 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 13, 2017, 01:33:54 PM
He will get the time. Lets leave Terry be so.

Can you explain why every week we are looking at a team with guys playing in bizarre positions. Lets take McVetty. Starts as wing forward against Dublin & Monaghan. Then moved into FF against Donegal, strange move to say the least but you could argue it worked as he won ball and scored 2 points in there. Then yesterday, with Johnstone dropped/injured, he doesn't play inside at all. Does that sound like logical reasoning. You either give a lad a go in a new position or you dont. It looks like a guy in panic stations. McKiernan from Lacken dropped from starting panel for a couple of games and gets on as a sub yesterday, Argue back last week but no sign of him this week. One things is for sure he is not showing his hand as to what he will do in the championship as I dont think he knows what he is doing. Byall accounts the fitness of  the team is poor too. My bet he will be gone after the summer. I genuinely hope he can turn it around but we are back at Donal Keoghan levels of management from what I can see.

You'll get no arguments from me that the signs are definitely worrying, all be it with the mitigating circumstances regarding missing personnel, inexperienced manager etc. Then again, none of that should be a factor in the seemingly illogical thought processes of management/chopping and changing. It does not look good right now but if we fail in the  short term by trying something new and somehow get stronger off the back of it eventually it'll be worth it. But look, none of us predict great things right now, let's just hope it settles and improves.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 13, 2017, 02:45:08 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on March 13, 2017, 01:26:22 PM

Wouldn't go that far. For me I thought he'd a grand game, perhaps a bit quick to blow but no real complaints.

Was anybody on the terrace side around midfield? What happened for Petey Harte's yellow card? Looked like the Cavan man was poleaxed the way he went down. Was pretty certain Petey would see red as linesman was right on top of it.
Post by: tyroneman on March 13, 2017, 09:39:06 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 13, 2017, 02:45:08 PM

Wouldn't go that far. For me I thought he'd a grand game, perhaps a bit quick to blow but no real complaints.

Was anybody on the terrace side around midfield? What happened for Petey Harte's yellow card? Looked like the Cavan man was poleaxed the way he went down. Was pretty certain Petey would see red as linesman was right on top of it.

Thought he was poor to be honest. Pernickety, over officious and quick to dish out the black cards to Tyrone. Did us no favours whatsoever. Couple of Cavan men could and should have got the black but offences ignored.
Post by: LeoMc on March 13, 2017, 09:46:28 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on March 13, 2017, 09:39:06 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 13, 2017, 02:45:08 PM

Thought he was poor to be honest. Pernickety, over officious and quick to dish out the black cards to Tyrone. Did us no favours whatsoever. Couple of Cavan men could and should have got the black but offences ignored.
Thought he was OK. Didn't have much bearing on the game. Mind you I didn't realise MvNamee got a black card. I thought he had went off injured.
Post by: mrdeeds on March 13, 2017, 09:55:13 PM
What Cavan player should have got a black card? And the first black card was a pure black card for body check on Mackey. Not sure what second one was given for.
Post by: tyroneman on March 13, 2017, 10:10:17 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on March 13, 2017, 09:55:13 PM
What Cavan player should have got a black card? And the first black card was a pure black card for body check on Mackey. Not sure what second one was given for.

At least 2 pull downs (no cards at all) and a body check off the ball in the second half behind play as Tyrone were breaking up field, just after the McNamee black card incident.
Post by: delgany on March 13, 2017, 11:22:03 PM
Peter Harte barely rubbed his shoulder into cavan players shoulder .
Cavan player dived  to the ground ( much like TiernanMcCann) as if he had just been shot