GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Farrandeelin on July 18, 2016, 08:39:16 AM

Title: Mayo v Westmeath Round 4B
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 18, 2016, 08:39:16 AM
Let's get the show on the road. Hopefully the midfield problem will be sorted
Title: Re: Mayo v Westmeath Round 4B
Post by: From the Bunker on July 18, 2016, 08:56:54 AM
Presume this will be in Croker? If Hyde Park was available it would be an ideal venue. Does this shove us into a defined path or is there another draw for the Quarters?
Post by: Tubberman on July 18, 2016, 08:59:19 AM
IF we win, we would play Tyrone or Dublin.
If Donegal beat Cork, they can't play Tyrone again, so we would play against Tyrone.
If Cork beat Donegal, we can play either Dublin or Tyrone.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 18, 2016, 08:59:44 AM
I'm afraid there are a few more problem areas as well but, all in all, I'm pleased with the draw.
Post by: skeog on July 18, 2016, 09:06:14 AM
walk in the park for mayo but its only delaying the inevitable defeat to the dubs imo
Post by: From the Bunker on July 18, 2016, 09:06:59 AM
A game in Croker to try out the system there looks likely. Glad we are not playing Donegal. Too much baggage there. Could have been a nasty affair and brought consequences for us if we'd made a quarter final.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 18, 2016, 09:10:12 AM
Knew before Mayo drew Fermanagh in round 2 that Mayo would draw Westmeath in round 4. You can put your money on Mayo v Tyrone in the quarter final.
Post by: ballinaman on July 18, 2016, 09:20:05 AM
Good draw, we'll get a chance to beat a chunk of Roscommon too.
Post by: galwayman on July 18, 2016, 09:27:20 AM
Likelihood is a Mayo-Tyrone qf. That would be a cracker. A real 50-50 game imo.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 18, 2016, 09:32:29 AM
Quote from: galwayman on July 18, 2016, 09:27:20 AM

And a Galway/Mayo semi after that, if there was a after that for both teams. Now that would be a cracker!
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 18, 2016, 09:34:13 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 18, 2016, 09:32:29 AM

And a Galway/Mayo semi after that, if there was a after that for both teams. Now that would be a cracker!
Quarters is as far as Mayo will go this year.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 18, 2016, 09:38:20 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 18, 2016, 09:34:13 AM

Agreed, The week turnaround as well as our other multiple issues will see us come a cropper to Tyrone. Although we are Tyrones Bogey team.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 18, 2016, 09:39:24 AM
Looks like Mayo and Tyrone in the quarters. Whoever wins that would be confident of making a final appearance against a Dublin team that something looks a little bit off with this year. It's all about seizing your moment and I don't think Tyrone will have as good a chance as they do now in the coming years.

Mayo have loomed flat so far but Tyrone, Kerry and Cork have all won All Irelands in recent years as they stumbled through the back door so I wouldn't write them off but would be confident of a win at the same time.
Post by: seafoid on July 18, 2016, 10:11:54 AM

No. Tyrone are missing something.
Post by: rosnarun on July 18, 2016, 10:36:48 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 18, 2016, 10:11:54 AM

No. Tyrone are missing something.

maybe but the last 5 minutes will have really brought them back to life . if they have the players , which im not sure of as some one said apart from the cavanaghs they have 13 identical players doing identical things ,im not sure that going to be enough to get much further .
but the spirit will be strong
Post by: Cllr Willie Power on July 18, 2016, 03:25:13 PM
Mayo v Westmeath in Croke Park on Saturday 30th July at 6 p.m. Cork v Donegal beforehand at 4 p.m.

Both games are live on Sky Sports.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 18, 2016, 03:38:37 PM
Great draw for Mayo, a game against Donegal would have taken too much out of them given the next games only 7 days later.

Based on what I've seen so far I couldn't see Mayo beating Tyrone but this is practically the same set of players that should have beaten Dublin last August so you can right them off.
Post by: J70 on July 18, 2016, 04:24:22 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 18, 2016, 09:06:59 AM
A game in Croker to try out the system there looks likely. Glad we are not playing Donegal. Too much baggage there. Could have been a nasty affair and brought consequences for us if we'd made a quarter final.

We didn't want you guys either! :)
Post by: J70 on July 18, 2016, 04:25:18 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 18, 2016, 09:38:20 AM

Agreed, The week turnaround as well as our other multiple issues will see us come a cropper to Tyrone. Although we are Tyrones Bogey team.

So were we. ;)
Post by: omagh_gael on July 22, 2016, 10:46:59 AM
The beaten provincial finalists tend to have a brutal record in the final round of the qualifiers. However, with Westmeath facing Dublin they would have been 99% sure they'd be beat (behind close doors). Will this usual hangover effect be less pronounced this year for them?

You could look at last year when they were beat by the Dubs then went out in the next round at the hands of Fermanagh. However, last year was their first Leinster final since 2004 (I think) so the emotional investment may have been more. Mayo still overwhelming favourites for this one but my feelings are WM will be more focused than the other provincial losers.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 22, 2016, 11:26:31 AM
You could say the same about Tipperary, and they've had a few weeks to get over it too.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 22, 2016, 11:31:11 AM
We've a couple of injuries and a light panel but I think we'll give a better account than we managed against Fermanagh last year. We had all the hallmarks of a team who were over trained in that second half and hopefully we'll be fresher tomorrow week.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 22, 2016, 11:59:43 AM
True enough regarding Tipp, although their task is slightly *easier* given the opposition. Think this game will be tighter than the superficial reading would suggest.

If Mayo do pull through I hope this is killing match with half a dozen red cards. Preferably for AoS, DoC and CoC. Then that might give our lads a smidgen of hope against the great green and red in a potential QF ;)
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 25, 2016, 11:21:02 AM
Think it's time to bump this thread out of sympathy for poor Syferus.
Now he can get back to waffling about  his favourite team.
Just hope the combined rest of humanity manage to slip a few words in here and there. ;D

BTW, whatever happened to Adam Gallagher?
I think he last played in 2014 and I know he got injured but he hasn't been heard of since. He was certainly a very promising player and we could do with him now if he was around and fit to play.
Post by: Cllr Willie Power on July 25, 2016, 12:04:49 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 25, 2016, 11:21:02 AM
I think he last played in 2014 and I know he got injured but he hasn't been heard of since. He was certainly a very promising player and we could do with him now if he was around and fit to play.

He's currently a non-playing sub on the Mayo Junior team. I know he had a few injuries, but he's gone off the radar altogether in the past couple of years...
Post by: omagh_gael on July 25, 2016, 01:50:13 PM
Quote from: Cllr Willie Power on July 25, 2016, 12:04:49 PM

He's currently a non-playing sub on the Mayo Junior team. I know he had a few injuries, but he's gone off the radar altogether in the past couple of years...

I remember this guy giving a great display up in Omagh during a league game and earmarked him as one to watch. Much like a long haired Kevin McLoughlin from about 6(?) Years ago.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 25, 2016, 06:18:18 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 25, 2016, 01:50:13 PM

I remember this guy giving a great display up in Omagh during a league game and earmarked him as one to watch. Much like a long haired Kevin McLoughlin from about 6(?) Years ago.
Kevin Mcloughlin never had long hair, we don't do long hair in Knockmore

Well unless you're God
(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/d7/9f/2d/2faa545433c0b8658b11507f9d935859ce543e46bc/INPHO_00720864.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on July 25, 2016, 06:19:16 PM
Mayo by 14 points, pulling up.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 25, 2016, 07:12:20 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 25, 2016, 06:18:18 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 25, 2016, 01:50:13 PM

Kevin Mcloughlin never had long hair, we don't do long hair in Knockmore

Well unless you're God
(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/d7/9f/2d/2faa545433c0b8658b11507f9d935859ce543e46bc/INPHO_00720864.jpg)

Ok, should have said *longer* hair:

http://www.advertiser.ie/mayo/article/24062/mayo-and-roscommon-face-fines-following-half-time-incident

You'd have got suspended from the Christian Brothers school if you'd hair that length and wouldn't be let back until you'd got yourself a short back and sides!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 25, 2016, 07:34:22 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 18, 2016, 10:36:48 AM
not sure of as some one said apart from the cavanaghs they have 13 identical players doing identical things

?????
Post by: From the Bunker on July 25, 2016, 08:53:47 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 22, 2016, 11:31:11 AM
We've a couple of injuries and a light panel but I think we'll give a better account than we managed against Fermanagh last year. We had all the hallmarks of a team who were over trained in that second half and hopefully we'll be fresher tomorrow week.

What's the support from Westmeath looking like? Will there be a fair crowd going? I know the inlaws are making the effort they did not make for the Leinster final. With Mayo losing to Galway, they feel they might have a chance.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 25, 2016, 11:56:24 PM
Realistically, if Mayo play as well as we can, we should win this by 4+. However, midfield was brutal the last day so we'll struggle if we get a repeat of that. Heslin is a quality footballer who'd make most teams - has he been playing at MF or in the forwards this year? Him and Martin will need watching.

I presume Westmeath will play a sweeper (maybe 2?) so hopefully we'll see some decent off the shoulder running and good showing from our inside line to break them down. At the other end, I'd love to see Higgins & McLoughlin switching places but I can't see if happening. Assuming they play as previously, you'd expect them to look more comfortable in these roles.

Post by: moysider on July 26, 2016, 02:35:58 AM

A bit of a timely boost - badly needed - is that Parsons, Barrett and Loftus are officially fit again.

How long they remain fit is another thing! They've had an awful run of injuries.
Post by: highorlow on July 26, 2016, 09:27:51 AM
Who will be our full back? Donie?
Post by: Tubberman on July 26, 2016, 09:48:15 AM
Quote from: highorlow on July 26, 2016, 09:27:51 AM
Who will be our full back? Donie?

Is Keane definitely out?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 26, 2016, 09:49:52 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 25, 2016, 08:53:47 PM

What's the support from Westmeath looking like? Will there be a fair crowd going? I know the inlaws are making the effort they did not make for the Leinster final. With Mayo losing to Galway, they feel they might have a chance.

Probably be less than the Leinster Final what with it being a Saturday and club players annoyed at the championship being postponed last weekend.
Post by: The Aristocrat on July 26, 2016, 09:51:11 AM
Id say Mayo by 15 or more points with a full team or half a team.
Post by: blast05 on July 26, 2016, 10:01:15 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 26, 2016, 09:49:52 AM

Probably be less than the Leinster Final what with it being a Saturday and club players annoyed at the championship being postponed last weekend.

But yet a round odd the intermediate championship went ahead at the weekend involving a number panelists ....found that very strange that it wasn't postponed
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 26, 2016, 10:13:14 AM
Quote from: blast05 on July 26, 2016, 10:01:15 AM

But yet a round odd the intermediate championship went ahead at the weekend involving a number panelists ....found that very strange that it wasn't postponed

Junior as well, no first 15 involved though
Post by: shark on July 26, 2016, 11:19:15 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 26, 2016, 10:13:14 AM
Quote from: blast05 on July 26, 2016, 10:01:15 AM

Junior as well, no first 15 involved though

Club players (at least in my club) not a annoyed that it was postponed. Annoyed however that it was fixed the previous week, and then postponed. Should never have been fixed in first place, nobody expected it to be on.

Anyway, I don't think that anger will affect attendances greatly. There will be about 5/6000 Westmeath supporters I reckon.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 27, 2016, 09:47:03 AM
Hopefully we can keep the ball kicked out to ye

(http://www.westmeathexaminer.ie/cache/a88544e69f02d76a711d5eb7ef92e3fc.jpg)
Post by: Tubberman on July 27, 2016, 09:53:31 AM
You wouldn't want to be listening to that clown for football analysis - nobody in Mayo does anyway.
He had some sort of personal vendetta against Horan as well, not that anybody paid any attention. A terrible writer for a terrible paper.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 27, 2016, 10:01:08 AM
Martin Carney very much so knows his shit.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 27, 2016, 11:32:39 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 27, 2016, 10:01:08 AM

Not Martin  that wrote piece!
Post by: yellowcard on July 27, 2016, 11:43:06 AM
If Mayo are to have any errand against either Dublin or Tyrone the following week they will need to win this by at least 12 points given that Westmeath are a division 4 team next season. Form cannot be turned on and off like a tap however, and I expect they might find it tougher than that though they will probably come through with 6 or 7 points to spare. In terms of Westmeath they have probably achieved what any county in Leinster (on the right side of the draw) set out to at the start of the season ie. get to a Leinster final.   
Post by: ballinaman on July 27, 2016, 11:51:11 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 27, 2016, 11:43:06 AM
If Mayo are to have any errand against either Dublin or Tyrone the following week they will need to win this by at least 12 points given that Westmeath are a division 4 team next season. Form cannot be turned on and off like a tap however, and I expect they might find it tougher than that though they will probably come through with 6 or 7 points to spare. In terms of Westmeath they have probably achieved what any county in Leinster (on the right side of the draw) set out to at the start of the season ie. get to a Leinster final.
What if it's an 11 point win? Are we still banjaxed then?
Post by: From the Bunker on July 27, 2016, 11:54:50 AM

Rubbish. All Mayo need to do is win. We will be judged on the following weeks result if we do!
Post by: highorlow on July 27, 2016, 11:55:30 AM
If we win every game from now on by 1 point I wouldn't give a shit.
Post by: yellowcard on July 27, 2016, 12:01:17 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 27, 2016, 11:51:11 AM

I'm not going to get hung up over actual points difference (or certainly a point or two here or there) but I think you can get the gist of the point I'm making. They need to at least put on a performance that they have yet to produce all season and show that they are valid challengers to Tyrone or Dublin. I have my doubts but lets just wait and see how the next 2 weeks unfold. I think Mayo will win Sunday but will struggle against either Dublin/Tyrone the following week. 
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 27, 2016, 12:14:01 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 27, 2016, 11:32:39 AM

Much like his commentary he was all over the piece.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 27, 2016, 12:17:07 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 27, 2016, 12:14:01 PM

Don't get hung up on comments from small town provincial papers. They are playing to a certain audience. Paper never refuses ink.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 27, 2016, 12:24:46 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 27, 2016, 12:17:07 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 27, 2016, 12:14:01 PM

Don't get hung up on comments from small town provincial papers. They are playing to a certain audience. Paper never refuses ink.

Too late, have already blown it up ten-by-ten.

(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/24/8b/15/248b15d7fb7b117288eddc4fd0423a1b.jpg)

It'll fit down the tunnel alright, better check the dressing rooms.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 27, 2016, 12:41:04 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 27, 2016, 09:47:03 AM
Hopefully we can keep the ball kicked out to ye

(http://www.westmeathexaminer.ie/cache/a88544e69f02d76a711d5eb7ef92e3fc.jpg)

The only reason anyone in Mayo actually heard about that Aiden Henry article was because the Westmeath Examiner had a story about how arrogant us Mayo folk are (sickening arrogant probably at this stage)!!

One thing though is the Westmeath Examiner and the Connacht Telegraph are owned by the same people aren't they?? I sense a cunning plan to trip up (they will be no diving needed here) us poor naive Mayo people from Westmeath!!!

They probably picked up a few pointers from their neighbours to the east!!!

Or maybe just maybe one paper is helping promote a desperate rag that nobody reads anymore for the benefit of their joint ownership??
Post by: The Aristocrat on July 27, 2016, 01:07:57 PM
The media's darling Mayo being hyped up again. A very disrespectful article.

Post by: rosnarun on July 27, 2016, 01:55:01 PM
Quote from: The Aristocrat on July 27, 2016, 01:07:57 PM

very disrespectful.

but isn't it just saying what every one knows?
We must learn to be much more patronizing
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 27, 2016, 03:23:48 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 27, 2016, 12:01:17 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 27, 2016, 11:51:11 AM

I'm not going to get hung up over actual points difference (or certainly a point or two here or there) but I think you can get the gist of the point I'm making. They need to at least put on a performance that they have yet to produce all season and show that they are valid challengers to Tyrone or Dublin. I have my doubts but lets just wait and see how the next 2 weeks unfold. I think Mayo will win Sunday but will struggle against either Dublin/Tyrone the following week.

Mayo should beat Westmeath by a similar margin to what they beat Kildare it's depends on how defensive Westmeath play. Mayo will then beat Tyrone by a point or two. That will set up a rematch with Galway which Mayo should gain revenge. So this summer Mayo will likely reach their 3rd All Ireland final in 5 years but will likely come up short in the final again.

Post by: Lar Naparka on July 27, 2016, 05:18:36 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 27, 2016, 01:55:01 PM

very disrespectful.

Don't know much about Aidan Henry and I wasn't impressed by what I have read of his work to date.

He launched a particularly bitter and utterly bizarre attack on James Horan a few years ago that would put Joe Brolly to shame. I couldn't make head nor tailof what he was on about and I'd say 95% of his readers would feel the same as I did.
However, while I haven't read his latest offering it seems, from what I have read here, he is just saying what Mayo fans in general are feeling- a bit like Donald Trump and his stop-all-Muslims-coming-in policy.

If Mayo don't show a bit of ruthlessness towards Westmeath on Saturday, they may as well resign themselves to the reality that the following game will be their last for this year- assuming they win this game.
Mayo have just been getting a biteen better as they've progressed from one game to the next but I've seen nothing to date to suggest that they would be able too chase the likes of Dublin or Kerry off the pitch if they happen to meet up at a later stage and you could probably add Tyrone to that list as well.
I couldn't imagine any of those three taking the foot off the pedal if they were, say, ten points up with five minutes to go. I've seen Mayo falling asleep on the job when in even more favourable circumstances.

Absolutely no personal problem with the Lakesiders; it's just that they are standing in our way. ;D
Post by: Hound on July 27, 2016, 07:07:21 PM
A jammy 1 point win would be the best result for Mayo. Keep in the long grass. Still the team I fear most, in particular if Cork beat Donegal and we got Mayo in the quarters
Post by: moysider on July 28, 2016, 12:36:52 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 27, 2016, 05:18:36 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 27, 2016, 01:55:01 PM

very disrespectful.

Don't know much about Aidan Henry and I wasn't impressed by what I have read of his work to date.

He launched a particularly bitter and utterly bizarre attack on James Horan a few years ago that would put Joe Brolly to shame. I couldn't make head nor tailof what he was on about and I'd say 95% of his readers would feel the same as I did.
However, while I haven't read his latest offering it seems, from what I have read here, he is just saying what Mayo fans in general are feeling- a bit like Donald Trump and his stop-all-Muslims-coming-in policy.

If Mayo don't show a bit of ruthlessness towards Westmeath on Saturday, they may as well resign themselves to the reality that the following game will be their last for this year- assuming they win this game.
Mayo have just been getting a biteen better as they've progressed from one game to the next but I've seen nothing to date to suggest that they would be able too chase the likes of Dublin or Kerry off the pitch if they happen to meet up at a later stage and you could probably add Tyrone to that list as well.
I couldn't imagine any of those three taking the foot off the pedal if they were, say, ten points up with five minutes to go. I've seen Mayo falling asleep on the job when in even more favourable circumstances.

Absolutely no personal problem with the Lakesiders; it's just that they are standing in our way. ;D

Newspapers are having a tough time in general. Even when I buy one I often don't open them, which I've often reminded myself. is a waste of money. But I fall off the wagon sometimes and buy a paper. And I end up recycling it in pristine condition.
Nobody writing about football is really worth reading. It's just an opinion.
The man doing that particular piece is earning a crust. He has an agenda or maybe he thinks this approach will stave off the inevitability of the newspaper just winding up. Only looked at the headline and that is enough (even though some sub-editor decided what the headline was).

The language of the headline is interesting, but of course that could be a complete accident!

'Should' does not mean 'will'. Of course he could have used the word 'shall', but that would put his judgement on the line.
He could have used 'could' instead of 'should' but he's more aggressive.
His implications are clear. If Mayo lose against Westmeath he will go after Mayo management like they were made out of ham.
Maybe he needs to do this shit to sell papers and keep a job? Times are tough.

Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2016, 08:26:14 AM
I suppose the team will be named tomorrow. I expect the same line-out as the one v Kildare. Would not be surprised if Parsons starts on the bench. Will be interesting to see how the McLoughlin/Higgins experiment works in Croker. As well as the result,No  injuries and no red cards would be a help.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 28, 2016, 11:32:50 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 28, 2016, 08:26:14 AM
I suppose the team will be named tomorrow. I expect the same line-out as the one v Kildare. Would not be surprised if Parsons starts on the bench. Will be interesting to see how the McLoughlin/Higgins experiment works in Croker. As well as the result,No  injuries and no red cards would be a help.
Do you think Keane will be fit to line out or at least play some part in the game? If he doesn't start, the options are fairly limited. Dunno if Donie would make the grade at #3.
He is certainly versatile but from a half back to midfield and then as a sweeper, he is being shunted about.
He could well lose his amateur status as a Traveller!
Even if Keane does play, he's no Usain Bolt and his lack of pace could expose him in the wide open spaces of Croker. Great pity that Caff is not available.
Post by: rosnarun on July 28, 2016, 11:34:37 AM
a lot of these system depend on the quality of player operating them as much as the system . and in in Mcloughlin and Higgins we have no need to worry about that .
this is a plan I think for Dublin lets just hope they get the chance to show it
Post by: ZeitChrist on July 28, 2016, 01:37:09 PM
Mayo will likely win this. They would be better off just doing enough to win though and not producing anything that's going to get people over excited. No sense in doling out hammerings in the qualifiers. Save the big performance for a later date. I'm sure this is what Mayo intend to do as well.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2016, 09:39:15 PM
Is GAAGO good or is it failing?
Post by: Ball Hopper on July 28, 2016, 09:46:25 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2016, 09:39:15 PM

Haven't watched any game live on GAAGO, but I'm pleased with viewing games on demand.

Buffering is minimal lately...maybe once per game for ten seconds at most.

Post by: maigheo on July 28, 2016, 11:04:33 PM
Find GaaGo pretty good .This is my second year having it and have never encountered any major problem
Post by: From the Bunker on July 29, 2016, 08:20:04 AM
Will there be 15k in . Croker at tomorrow's games? Most of Mayo and Donegal are waiting for the following weekend. Cork don't travel. And Westmeath may bring a crowd. But nothing of massive proportions.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 29, 2016, 09:14:42 AM
I remember a Mayo Westmeath game in Roscommon I think back in maybe 2002 or 2003. It was an epic struggle, went to extra time. My cousin scored a vital fisted point in extra time, because he wasn't able to kick straight :) I wonder would we get something similar tomorrow?
Post by: shark on July 29, 2016, 09:20:10 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 29, 2016, 09:14:42 AM
I remember a Mayo Westmeath game in Roscommon I think back in maybe 2002 or 2003. It was an epic struggle, went to extra time. My cousin scored a vital fisted point in extra time, because he wasn't able to kick straight :) I wonder would we get something similar tomorrow?

2001. Lost to Meath in 1/4 final then, after replay. Pretty sure Gav's point was the final one of the game.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on July 29, 2016, 09:21:15 AM
Lads that can't kick straight? Probably! 😜
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 29, 2016, 10:16:09 AM
Quote from: shark on July 29, 2016, 09:20:10 AM

2001. Lost to Meath in 1/4 final then, after replay. Pretty sure Gav's point was the final one of the game.

It surely was.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CofDX47WEAAk1yq.jpg:large)

Couple of big changes there, surprised if that team starts. Good to see John Connellan back anyway.
Post by: cuconnacht on July 29, 2016, 03:01:15 PM
Might be reaching a bit,anyone  know of a bar downtown ciudad de Mexico showing beloved dead rabbits v westmeath.
Post by: muppet on July 29, 2016, 04:27:11 PM
Quote from: cuconnacht on July 29, 2016, 03:01:15 PM
Might be reaching a bit,anyone  know of a bar downtown ciudad de Mexico showing beloved dead rabbits v westmeath.

I miss when I could go for a pint with certain people, and wake up on a different continent.
Post by: heffo on July 29, 2016, 05:59:20 PM
Quote from: cuconnacht on July 29, 2016, 03:01:15 PM

You'll be doing well - was in an 'Irish' bar there before and no GAA
Post by: From the Bunker on July 29, 2016, 06:49:40 PM
http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=258800 (http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=258800)

Mayo v Westmeath, Croke Park, 6pm 

After their 15-point defeat to Dublin in the Leinster final, Westmeath face another big ask in trying to topple Mayo on Saturday evening at HQ. 

The Lake men, now minus the services of the injured Ray Connellan, are ranked as 10/1 outsiders to end Stephen Rochford's side's campaign. That upset is difficult to envisage though given the Westerners' form since their Connacht semi-final loss to Galway. Mayo have hit 4-31 in their last two outings and the recent form of Diarmuid O'Connor and Evan Regan could present a problem for Tom Cribbin's defence, along with having All Stars Aidan O'Shea and Cillian O'Connor to contend with. 

In what is only the sides' second ever meeting in the championship (Westmeath won the first in 2001 after extra-time), Mayo will be gunning for their sixth consecutive All-Ireland quarter-final, while their Leinster counterparts are looking to end a 10-year wait for a berth in the last eight.

Verdict: Mayo

I can't recall Mayo and Westmeath ever meeting in the Championship after 2001?
Post by: shark on July 29, 2016, 07:00:10 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 29, 2016, 06:49:40 PM
http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=258800 (http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=258800)

After their 15-point defeat to Dublin in the Leinster final, Westmeath face another big ask in trying to topple Mayo on Saturday evening at HQ. 

The Lake men, now minus the services of the injured Ray Connellan, are ranked as 10/1 outsiders to end Stephen Rochford's side's campaign. That upset is difficult to envisage though given the Westerners' form since their Connacht semi-final loss to Galway. Mayo have hit 4-31 in their last two outings and the recent form of Diarmuid O'Connor and Evan Regan could present a problem for Tom Cribbin's defence, along with having All Stars Aidan O'Shea and Cillian O'Connor to contend with. 

In what is only the sides' second ever meeting in the championship (Westmeath won the first in 2001 after extra-time), Mayo will be gunning for their sixth consecutive All-Ireland quarter-final, while their Leinster counterparts are looking to end a 10-year wait for a berth in the last eight.

The article says it's the second ever meeting this weekend. Which is correct.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 29, 2016, 07:05:55 PM
Quote from: shark on July 29, 2016, 07:00:10 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 29, 2016, 06:49:40 PM

The article says it's the second ever meeting this weekend. Which is correct.

Sorry, scratch that! Completely misread it!
Post by: From the Bunker on July 29, 2016, 07:26:17 PM
http://www.con-telegraph.ie/news/roundup/articles/2016/07/29/4124186-mayo-name-unchanged-15-to-face-westmeath/ (http://www.con-telegraph.ie/news/roundup/articles/2016/07/29/4124186-mayo-name-unchanged-15-to-face-westmeath/)

MAYO manager Stephen Rochford has named an uncharged team to face Westmeath in tomorrow's All-Ireland SFC 4B qualifier against Westmeath at Croke Park. Throw-in at 6 p.m.

The big surprise is that Tom Parsons remains on the bench despite reports that he had returned to full fitness.

It means Seamus O'Shea and Donal Vaughan will line out in the No. 8 and No. 9 positions, respectively.

Kevin Keane is fit to start at full back after shaking off an injury while Andy Moran is retained in the full forward role.

Kevin McLoughlin, at No. 10, will make his 87th appearance for the county at senior level.

The team is as follows:

1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3. Kevin Keane (Westport)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)
8. Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)
9. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy)
12. Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)
13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
15. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, captain).
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 29, 2016, 11:40:19 PM
With the way things are gone, teams not starting as selected and tactical changes. I can see why there's not much discussion on them.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 29, 2016, 11:47:36 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 29, 2016, 11:40:19 PM
With the way things are gone, teams not starting as selected and tactical changes. I can see why there's not much discussion on them.

Was thinking the same. There are at least 3 players named that might not start.
Post by: moysider on July 30, 2016, 12:10:34 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 29, 2016, 11:47:36 PM

Really? What have you heard?

We know Keane is winged but besides?

Unlikely that Parsons would be started. Surely best to nurse him back gradually. He wasn t even togged for Kildare. I'd like to see Barrett get some football too. Okay with starting team though.

Post by: From the Bunker on July 30, 2016, 12:19:29 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 30, 2016, 12:10:34 AM

Unlikely that Parsons would be started. Surely best to nurse him back gradually. He wasn t even togged for Kildare. I'd like to see Barrett get some football too. Okay with starting team though.

I heard nothing, Just speculating. I don't expect Parsons to start. Heard he was ok for Kildare game, just management decided we'd be sound without him. Barrett has to be a worry, even fit he wont be fit (so to speak!). Looking forward to tomorrow, just to see our shape in Croker (so to speak).
Post by: Mayoffs on July 30, 2016, 12:36:09 AM
Should be interesting to see how McLoughlin does tomorrow in the wide open expanses of Croke Park. Midfield is dodgy, but expect a 5 - 6 point win. Regan for first Mayo goal
Post by: Chimley on July 30, 2016, 12:42:08 AM
Quote from: Mayoffs on July 30, 2016, 12:36:09 AM
Should be interesting to see how McLoughlin does tomorrow in the wide open expanses of Croke Park. Midfield is dodgy, but expect a 5 - 6 point win. Regan for first Mayo goal

Blasphemy! DOC for the first point, goal and MOM.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 30, 2016, 12:43:54 AM
Go on, go on, go on, the feckin' Lakesiders, go feckin' on! ;)
Post by: moysider on July 30, 2016, 12:56:33 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 30, 2016, 12:19:29 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 30, 2016, 12:10:34 AM

I heard nothing, Just speculating. I don't expect Parsons to start. Heard he was ok for Kildare game, just management decided we'd be sound without him. Barrett has to be a worry, even fit he wont be fit (so to speak!). Looking forward to tomorrow, just to see our shape in Croker (so to speak).

I cant imagine that Parson's wouldn't have got some time V Kildare if he was really 'fit' at that stage. Hamstring injuries are always tricky - even on the lower scale of damage.
Correct about Barrett. He never gets a short term injury and when he is right it doesn t last long unfortunately.
I expect that team to start tbh. Maybe they are bluffing with Keane? He was obviously injured before replaced v Kildare. He attempted a block in first half with one arm only. Obviously winged. The only thing that could have caused that was an innocent enough swing around earlier that caused him to grimace and take stock. Looks like he's playing through a long term problem with a shoulder. If Keane does not start it will be interesting to see.
Leave the rest of team alone and play Coen at fb?
Vaughan to fb and start Barry?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 30, 2016, 02:49:31 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on July 28, 2016, 09:46:25 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2016, 09:39:15 PM

Haven't watched any game live on GAAGO, but I'm pleased with viewing games on demand.

Buffering is minimal lately...maybe once per game for ten seconds at most.

Better than last year, but still unwatchable on the HD option for me--stops/starts every 5 seconds.  I find if you click on the little settings button on the bottom of the screen, and choose a non-HD option, it works pretty well then.  Still not perfect, but usually only buffers/crashes once or twice during a game.   Fine if not a big game for your county.
Post by: BennyCake on July 30, 2016, 11:39:40 AM
Is this match, and Donegal Cork, on TV later?
Post by: Zulu on July 30, 2016, 11:40:42 AM
On Sky.
Post by: Qwerty28 on July 30, 2016, 01:54:20 PM
Can someone please post or pm a link to watch games on - thanks!
Post by: Mayoffs on July 30, 2016, 05:29:18 PM
Anyone see any betting for this lads?  What's the handicap
Post by: omagh_gael on July 30, 2016, 05:30:08 PM
D O'Connor out. Dead leg.
Post by: Mayoffs on July 30, 2016, 06:09:32 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 30, 2016, 05:30:08 PM

Already being missed
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 30, 2016, 06:12:06 PM
Defensive foul fest of a game so far.
Post by: Mayoffs on July 30, 2016, 06:19:03 PM
Andy having a good solid game so far. Nice point there from Cillian
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2016, 06:20:06 PM
Bit of a veterans dive from Andy there.
Post by: Syferus on July 30, 2016, 06:24:06 PM
What a nonsense game. Already long over.
Post by: Mayoffs on July 30, 2016, 06:24:54 PM
Higgins pushing forward now paying dividends
Post by: Blowitupref on July 30, 2016, 06:27:35 PM
Quote from: Mayoffs on July 30, 2016, 06:09:32 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 30, 2016, 05:30:08 PM

Already being missed
Not really and the player that replaced him has scored the goal. His Brother has stepped it up today also.
Post by: Mclf on July 30, 2016, 06:27:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2016, 06:24:06 PM
What a nonsense game. Already long over.

You must be delighted with the performance of your real county and you must be especially drooling over Andys performance
Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2016, 06:28:54 PM
Mayo dealing efficiently with these maroon jerseys
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2016, 06:29:31 PM
Mayo have ridiculous amounts of space up front. Not much intensity or workrate from Westmeath. Not sure this will be the best preparation for Tyrone.
Post by: Zulu on July 30, 2016, 06:36:57 PM
Mayo very impressive until the last 2 or 3 minutes! Don't think they really need a 'tough' game as they are so experienced they will be fine next week. Probably be better if they saw it out easy and could take some big players off with 20 to go.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 30, 2016, 06:39:24 PM
Poor game all too easy for Mayo. Westmeath with numbers back but not laying a glove on the Mayo shooters.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 30, 2016, 06:49:51 PM
Very disappointed in the intensity shown by Westmeath. Mayo moving through their defence without a care in the world. Hard to tell if this is a good or a bad thing when they face us in seven days.
Post by: Mayoffs on July 30, 2016, 06:54:10 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 30, 2016, 06:49:51 PM
Very disappointed in the intensity shown by Westmeath. Mayo moving through their defence without a care in the world. Hard to tell if this is a good or a bad thing when they face us in seven days.

Bad, was hoping for more intensity from Westmeath.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 30, 2016, 06:54:48 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 30, 2016, 06:36:57 PM
Mayo very impressive until the last 2 or 3 minutes!
Took Mayo until the 16th minute to score from play and i don't think i ever seen a goalkeeper give away a penalty like that before.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2016, 06:57:25 PM
First and second choice Westmeath keepers both injured during the same match. One in the warm up and one during the game. Must be a first.
Post by: thejuice on July 30, 2016, 07:05:11 PM
Does the goalkeeper not know the first rule of GAA goalkeeping?

Run into the nearest forward and fall down = automatic free out.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2016, 07:13:40 PM
Impressive blanket shiteing from the flock of seagulls.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 30, 2016, 07:26:05 PM
Red card my arse
Post by: thejuice on July 30, 2016, 07:26:41 PM
Martin is some man for the scores. Silly Sending off by Corroon.
Post by: dublin7 on July 30, 2016, 07:29:56 PM
Few complaints about 2nd yellow. Some frees given to Mayo for nothing. Mayo awful in the 2nd half. Forwards shocking yet again. John Heslin is the best player on the pitch.
Post by: cornetto on July 30, 2016, 07:30:29 PM
Being a galway man am a bit more worried about tipp after watching this,mayo are terrible,roscommon not much better,mayo could be the only connacht team left by tomorrow evening,god help us!!
Post by: Mclf on July 30, 2016, 07:33:16 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 30, 2016, 07:26:41 PM
Martin is some man for the scores.

Nonsense, a poor man's Cregger
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2016, 07:35:21 PM
Strangely uneven performance again by Mayo. Apart from a great 10-15 minute spell mid way through the first half when they got a lot of their scores, they were very flat for much of the game. Would have been interesting had the Westmeath keeper not conceded that penalty for overcarrying and Westmeath had not completely messed up that one on one goal chance they had from the poor kickout.
Post by: Zulu on July 30, 2016, 07:35:34 PM
Mayo have missed some very score-able opportunities which has been their Achilles heel and will continue to be I fear.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 30, 2016, 07:36:03 PM
Good effort by Westmeath the final scoreline very harsh on them. As been with Mayo all year a less than convincing performance. Tyrone will beat Mayo next weekend unless Mayo are to suddenly find their form from last year.
Post by: yellowcard on July 30, 2016, 07:37:50 PM
Tyrone will beat Mayo at their leisure on that performance.
Post by: Syferus on July 30, 2016, 07:47:20 PM
Mayo trying their hardest to be Roscommon this year.
Post by: Jinxy on July 30, 2016, 07:50:34 PM
Looks like Mayo have gone back a good bit.
You can't help but wonder how much Pat & Noel would have brought them on this year.
Player revolts always end in tears.
Post by: maigheo on July 30, 2016, 07:54:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2016, 07:47:20 PM
Do you not have something else to be doing   rather than constantly posting rubbish on here
Post by: maigheo on July 30, 2016, 07:56:25 PM
Kudos to Conor O Shea who made a big difference after he came on today
Post by: Chimley on July 30, 2016, 07:57:00 PM
Mayo have big problems. Defence looks shaky as usual, and the forwards are misfiring badly at times too. The gameplan is not there to trouble the Tyrones of this world either.
Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2016, 07:58:50 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 30, 2016, 07:50:34 PM
You can't help but wonder how much Pat & Noel would have brought them on this year.
1998 Offaly hurlers
Post by: galwayman on July 30, 2016, 08:01:33 PM
Next week will answer whether or not Mayo have slipped back a good bit or they just hit a blip.
They will give Tyrone their fill make no mistake.
It would be no great shock to me if they win next week.
Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2016, 08:05:16 PM
Quote from: Chimley on July 30, 2016, 07:57:00 PM
Mayo have big problems. Defence looks shaky as usual, and the forwards are misfiring badly at times too. The gameplan is not there to trouble the Tyrones of this world either.
the thing about the qualifiers is getting through them.
Post by: Syferus on July 30, 2016, 08:12:33 PM
Quote from: maigheo on July 30, 2016, 07:54:34 PM
Do you not have something else to be doing   rather than constantly posting rubbish on here

The truth hurts.
Post by: Mclf on July 30, 2016, 08:14:26 PM

Maigheo, read between the lines on his posts on Mayo, there is nothing he likes any day of the year than a good dollop of rhubarb
Post by: Jinxy on July 30, 2016, 08:15:29 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 30, 2016, 07:58:50 PM
1998 Offaly hurlers

Since the pints & fags at half-time era, I mean.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 30, 2016, 08:25:13 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 30, 2016, 08:15:29 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 30, 2016, 07:58:50 PM
1998 Offaly hurlers

Since the pints & fags at half-time era, I mean.

Hoy. The pints were at full time. Fags fair enough.
Post by: Mclf on July 30, 2016, 08:28:17 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2016, 08:12:33 PM

The truth hurts.

A bit like when you deserted the threads like a coward from the roscommon threads after you were caught out big time for spewing crap about how great they were and how little Kevin Walsh knew about management
Post by: Blowitupref on July 30, 2016, 08:29:36 PM
Quote from: galwayman on July 30, 2016, 08:01:33 PM
Next week will answer whether or not Mayo have slipped back a good bit or they just hit a blip.
They will give Tyrone their fill make no mistake.
It would be no great shock to me if they win next week.
Will hardly shock anyone but on current form it would say more about Tyrone and where they currently stand if Mayo are to win next week.
Post by: Zulu on July 30, 2016, 08:55:45 PM
I think Mayo will step up to the plate next week and some of Tyrone's young guns might find it hard to perform at the intensity Mayo play at. To my mind there is no doubt Mayo will be a step up on what Tyrone have played against so far but you'd have to feel this current Mayo team are a performing a good deal below their best. Whether that's them waiting to peak for the big games or it they've just gone off the boil it's hard to know but if Mayo perform to their capabilities they win IMO.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 30, 2016, 09:12:47 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 30, 2016, 08:55:45 PM
I think Mayo will step up to the plate next week and some of Tyrone's young guns might find it hard to perform at the intensity Mayo play at...

Ha, ha, ha! Are you for real, really? :D :D
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 30, 2016, 09:37:20 PM
Judging by the comments on the blog, Mayo had a cat second half.
Post by: Zulu on July 30, 2016, 09:39:06 PM
Err yeah. Are you saying Tyrone are so far ahead of Mayo, who have played in All Ireland finals and beaten many reigning All Ireland champions, that to suggest some lads just out of U21 might find it difficult to live with them if they bring their A game is nuts? Jesus, apparently you can't suggest the Ulster championship isn't the world's toughest sports competition or that Tyrone aren't wonderful without some lads getting their knickers in a twist.
Post by: highorlow on July 30, 2016, 09:44:15 PM
Systems failure when game "opens up" for us. Westmeath could have won it if they got their frees.

Still don't like our "system" but ironically it could come good against the Ulster shit football that has infested our game.

In other words Tyrone are incapable of "opening up" any game so I'd be confident enough our muck ball will be better than their muck ball!

Post by: SkillfulBill on July 30, 2016, 09:45:30 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 30, 2016, 09:39:06 PM
Err yeah. Are you saying Tyrone are so far ahead of Mayo, who have played in All Ireland finals and beaten many reigning All Ireland champions, that to suggest some lads just out of U21 might find it difficult to live with them if they bring their A game is nuts? Jesus, apparently you can't suggest the Ulster championship isn't the world's toughest sports competition or that Tyrone aren't wonderful without some lads getting their knickers in a twist.

Here is the twist on this the current  Tyrone side would beat the current Mayo side at their very best and with Tyrone at coming to their  peak v a miss firing mayo side 2 years into decline only one winner Tyrone +6
Post by: Zulu on July 30, 2016, 10:00:14 PM
You might be right SkillfulBill, Tyrone are certainly a coming team and Mayo have been anything but impressive so far but all the provinces are poor at the moment so Tyrone winning theirs doesn't mean much. That's not to say they won't prove to be a match for the best but suggesting they might fall short is hardly insulting or leftfield though it appears some Tyrone posters disagree.
Post by: bennydorano on July 30, 2016, 10:10:02 PM
I'd be very surprised if Mayo don't give Tyrone their fill of it. I'll probably back Mayo there should be good value to be had with the Bookies.
Post by: ck on July 30, 2016, 10:25:00 PM
Mayo did enough today. Ok they let Westmeath back in but to suggest Tyrone will have it easy is ridiculous.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2016, 10:33:23 PM
Mayo seem to be playing in fits and starts this year like an old motor spluttering to get going. They had a very good 15 minutes today where they did most of the damage but apart from that you could make a decent case that Westmeath were the better side the remainder of the game. That said you'd expect them to raise it next weekend. Not always easy to turn it on and off like a light switch though. Still think it'll be close enough next weekend.
Post by: Rois on July 30, 2016, 10:36:18 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 30, 2016, 10:00:14 PM
You might be right SkillfulBill, Tyrone are certainly a coming team and Mayo have been anything but impressive so far but all the provinces are poor at the moment so Tyrone winning theirs doesn't mean much. That's not to say they won't prove to be a match for the best but suggesting they might fall short is hardly insulting or leftfield though it appears some Tyrone posters disagree.
Not this fan - I think Tyrone have the uphill battle. Mayo are at ease with how they play together - Tyrone needed two goes to beat Cavan and had to alter their game to beat Donegal. We don't know for real how good they can be.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 30, 2016, 10:51:33 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 30, 2016, 09:44:15 PM
Systems failure when game "opens up" for us. Westmeath could have won it if they got their frees.

Still don't like our "system" but ironically it could come good against the Ulster shit football that has infested our game.

In other words Tyrone are incapable of "opening up" any game so I'd be confident enough our muck ball will be better than their muck ball!

You do realise that we have scored 8-61 over our four championship games so far against two division one sides (in 2017) and a division 2 side. In Mayo's last four games you have scored 7-58 against a division four team, a division three team and two division two teams. With three of these games in the qualifiers.

I think a lot of people are being lazy and drawing their assumptions on our play from the Ulster final when we were set up to mirror Donegal. Watch the second half and you'll find even in that game we 'opened up' the game.

I think this has the potential to be the game of the championship and I guarantee you you'll not see Tyrone lateral passing back and forth on the 45 ad nauseam on the 6th.
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 30, 2016, 11:07:14 PM
Just in  from the  most bizarre game I have ever watched in Croker. There was a deafening silence at times so that you could hear the players talking to themselves. This was the type of game Mayo hate....   hot favourites and struggling to get started. Andy Moran made all the right moves in second quarter and as against Kildare a short sharp burst with a full press around the field destroyed Westmeath. 12 points clear and then we go to sleep. Never looked in danger of losing. Changes were slow to come and a little baffling in the order they came. Conor O Shea made a good fist of it. Dillon made little impact -- as against Kildare. McLouglinn kept backing away when Westmeath attacked and was often standing on the edge of the square instead of  pushing out on player in possession.

All in all, the qualifiers have been won and we are where we would have expected to be before championship started. Extra games have probably helped management .. if not the supporters. Doubt they will have any bearing on next weeks game which will be a battle royal. Hopefully DOC will be back and Parsons start. Would start Vaughan ahead of Durcan. COC looked sharper. Onwards!
Post by: SkillfulBill on July 30, 2016, 11:56:48 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 30, 2016, 10:36:18 PM
Not this fan - I think Tyrone have the uphill battle. Mayo are at ease with how they play together - Tyrone needed two goes to beat Cavan and had to alter their game to beat Donegal. We don't know for real how good they can be.

Going to put my neck out here folks. Not into all this yarra yarra stuff I fully expect and I know most other Tyrone people expect Tyrone to up there performance in Croke Park and take this Mayo side out by the root. The mood in Tyrone will not accept anything else and Harte and the players know it. Tyrone full expect to be facing the Dubs in September and we know the quality off this side. Their is a distinct feeling that this team are coming to its full potential in the next 2-3 years and will add to the All Ireland count.
Post by: JoG2 on July 31, 2016, 12:05:51 AM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on July 30, 2016, 11:56:48 PM

Going to put my neck out here folks
. Not into all this yarra yarra stuff I fully expect and I know most other Tyrone people expect Tyrone to up there performance in Croke Park and take this Mayo side out by the root. The mood in Tyrone will not accept anything else and Harte and the players know it. Tyrone full expect to be facing the Dubs in September and we know the quality off this side. Their is a distinct feeling that this team are coming to its full potential in the next 2-3 years and will add to the All Ireland count.

You've already predicted a 6+ Tyrone win.  You're like a human giraffe at this stage.  Throw a berocca into you before bed house  :D

Post by: SkillfulBill on July 31, 2016, 12:10:36 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 31, 2016, 12:05:51 AM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on July 30, 2016, 11:56:48 PM

Going to put my neck out here folks
. Not into all this yarra yarra stuff I fully expect and I know most other Tyrone people expect Tyrone to up there performance in Croke Park and take this Mayo side out by the root. The mood in Tyrone will not accept anything else and Harte and the players know it. Tyrone full expect to be facing the Dubs in September and we know the quality off this side. Their is a distinct feeling that this team are coming to its full potential in the next 2-3 years and will add to the All Ireland count.

You've already predicted a 6+ Tyrone win.  You're like a human giraffe at this stage.  Throw a berocca into you before bed house  :D

Always looking down on the inbred neighbours.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 31, 2016, 12:20:25 AM
From a neutral perspective at this this match, if Mayo don't have a massive turn around in the space of a week they haven't a notion of beating Tyrone.
I thought Mayo would eat up teams in the qualifiers, they are only just getting by, Westmeath were in with a punchers chance with only 5 minutes to go, crazy stuff for a team that has designs on Sam.
Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2016, 12:24:32 AM
Quote from: ck on July 30, 2016, 10:25:00 PM
Mayo did enough today. Ok they let Westmeath back in but to suggest Tyrone will have it easy is ridiculous.

Tyrone will have an easy win if Mayo perform like they have against Galway, Fermanagh and Westmeath.

Andy had a fine game but when he and Dillon (he looked like he was in slow motion when he was running..) are featuring so heavily you know Rochford feels he's out of options.

Tyrone no barn burners themselves struggling over that shot Donegal team and Cavan but Mayo's decline has the air of something terminal. Galway with a real chance to luck into an AI final this year.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 31, 2016, 12:35:42 AM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 31, 2016, 12:20:25 AM
From a neutral perspective at this this match, if Mayo don't have a massive turn around in the space of a week they haven't a notion of beating Tyrone.
I thought Mayo would eat up teams in the qualifiers, they are only just getting by, Westmeath were in with a punchers chance with only 5 minutes to go, crazy stuff for a team that has designs on Sam.

Mayo are coming into the quarter finals more battle hardened than they have been in years. I wouldn't read too much into the previous games, a team who has been operating at All Ireland final and semi final level for as long as this mayo team know they only have to do just enough to beat the likes of Fermanagh and Westmeath. If this Mayo bunch have anything about them at all they will produce the goods next weekend when it matters. I hope they do because I genuinely feel that it could be an absolute barn stormer and another box ticked for an improving Tyrone!
Post by: PW Nally on July 31, 2016, 07:31:49 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 31, 2016, 12:35:42 AM
If this Mayo bunch have anything about them at all they will produce the goods next weekend when it matters. I hope they do because I genuinely feel that it could be an absolute barn stormer and another box ticked for an improving Tyrone!
So you want Mayo to turn up and give the mighty Tyrone a game of it! You Tyrone bucks are setting this team on some pedestal after 1 Ulster title.
Mayo need to prolong the short bursts we are playing in recently and tighten up considerably defensively.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 31, 2016, 07:46:06 AM
Quote from: PW Nally on July 31, 2016, 07:31:49 AM
If this Mayo bunch have anything about them at all they will produce the goods next weekend when it matters. I hope they do because I genuinely feel that it could be an absolute barn stormer and another box ticked for an improving Tyrone!
So you want Mayo to turn up and give the mighty Tyrone a game of it! You Tyrone bucks are setting this team on some pedestal after 1 Ulster title.
Mayo need to prolong the short bursts we are playing in recently and tighten up considerably defensively.

No, I want it to be a good game. If Mayo played like they did yesterday in the second half, Tyrone will put 10 points on them. I think even the blindest of Mayo fans would admit that!
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 31, 2016, 09:49:33 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 31, 2016, 07:46:06 AM
Quote from: PW Nally on July 31, 2016, 07:31:49 AM

No, I want it to be a good game. If Mayo played like they did yesterday in the second half, Tyrone will put 10 points on them. I think even the blindest of Mayo fans would admit that!
I have to agree with that.
Ever since James Horan took on the gig, Mayo are very likely to go through a period where they up their game considerably and dominate the game completely.
Then just as surely they lose the plot and allow opponents back into the game once more. Sometimes, like yesterday, they have managed to survive and hang in to the final whistle.  Other games they don't, like the Connacht final.
This has been the story right through since 2011 and maybe before that at times also. Unfortunately,
can't see things been different next weekend.
<sigh>
Ah, well, what's another year.
Post by: larryin89 on July 31, 2016, 10:02:48 AM
Please stop talkin if ya know.

Tyrone are absolute certs, put whayever you like on them.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 31, 2016, 10:07:10 AM
i don't think it came across correctly in the post earlier, but I have genuine concerns about facing Mayo. Perhaps the bit about ticking a box came across badly, what I meant was that beating Donegal was a monkey off our backs - box ticked, beating a perennial AI contender like Mayo is another boxed ticked with respect to the progress of this Tyrone team.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 31, 2016, 10:17:14 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 31, 2016, 10:02:48 AM
Please stop talkin if ya know.

Tyrone are absolute certs, put whayever you like on them.

That's the great thing about this Larry......We don't know! And the whole point of a discussion board is to discuss it. Make yourself feel better all you want by saying ah sure you Tyrone ones think you'll win easy. But the thing about this game is that nobody knows what mayo team will show up or if Tyrone can maintain their form, but I'd be pretty sure that a second half like yesterday will leave mayo struggling!
Post by: skeog on July 31, 2016, 10:19:14 AM
Mayo look like a team who are lacking in confidence at the moment. Tyrone have struggled in the past with Mayo. Whoever wins next Saturday will have serious momentum going forward.