Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Boycey on April 23, 2016, 11:15:16 AM

Title: Your earliest sporting memories?
Post by: Boycey on April 23, 2016, 11:15:16 AM
I suppose this depends on your vintage, I was born in '68... What are your earliest sporting memories?

I remember the World Cup Final of 1974 but nothing about it. Similiarly I have vague re-collection of being in Croke Park for All Ireland hurling final the same year but nothing about the game. The FA Cup Final in '76 and Dublin/Kerry from the same year are the first vivid memories I have of being actually interested in what was happening, I was sorely disappointed with both outcomes!!! I also remember in 76 there being great excitement about Eamon Coughlan hopefully getting a gold for Ireland in the Olympics in Montreal and the disappointment when he didn't.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSw7xskxJZk
Title: Re: Your earliest sporting memories?
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 23, 2016, 11:20:14 AM
Born in 1987, it was World Cup 94.
Post by: T Fearon on April 23, 2016, 11:35:05 AM
World Cup in 1966,Spurs and Celtic winning FA Cup and European Cup respectively in 1967.
Post by: seafoid on April 23, 2016, 12:34:08 PM
1979 hurling final on telly
Mother talking about Muhammad Ali
1980 hurling final in Croke Park
Aston Villa 1981
Post by: laoislad on April 23, 2016, 12:46:52 PM
Leinster Hurling Final 1985 Laois v Offaly. My Uncle was the Laois goalkeeper on the day.
Post by: Gold on April 23, 2016, 12:49:18 PM
Aldridge's 2 goals v Malta to qualify for Italia 90
Liverpool v Everton Cup Final --89?? 3-2
Vague memory of 1988 100m Olympic Final in Seoul with the controversy

Aged 7 Italia 90 is my first real memory, collected a sticker album for it and was so excited it was unreal. Remember Maradona doing keepy ups on his own when warming up prior to the Opening Game v Cameroon --remember the Cannagia Run (my mates still talk about someone going on a Cannagia run) and him being hacked down by 3 different wild Camereurvians! Remember being dragged to Curleys after and just wanting to get back to watching something World Cup related. I had a Maradona Puma Hand of God tracksuit and was obsessed. Remember Valderama, Higuita, Milla and nearly everything about it...it seemed to be sunny non stop that summer. I was gutted that W Germany won the final

Remember doing tumbles incessantly when we won the penalty shootout v Romania in my next door neighbours

Remember hating Packie Bonnar (wrongly of course) after Italy's goal in the QF. He didn't cover himself in glory 4 years later in the 2nd round v Holland either.

Absolutely class times
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 23, 2016, 12:59:05 PM
Probably the 82 WC and Armstrongs goal and the whole buzz around about it. I had a World Cup jersey from Dunnes or Primark with the wee orange kicking a ball! Also had the Panini sticker album. I loved them and wished I'd kept them. Does anyone remember how the English teams had 1 player per sticker and the Scottish teams had 2! Talk about forcing the inferiority complex through stealth!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on April 23, 2016, 01:54:07 PM
Watching the second leg of the 1971 Inter City Fairs Cup Final between Super Leeds and Juventus. I always recall the conversation in the (Primary 2) playground the next day was that Juventus had to score to win, which I was totally mystified by at the time. Only in subsequent years of course did I realise that the first leg in Italy had ended 2-2, so away goals was a factor.

In GAA, I remember being on my Dad's knee in the Hogan Stand at the 1971 All Ireland Final between Offaly and Galway and I have a very vague recollection of going to an Armagh Harps' game with my Sister and my Dad, each of us kids armed with a Caramac Bar - probably around 1969/70.
Post by: snoopdog on April 23, 2016, 03:05:57 PM
1983. Remember being in upper cusack for Down v Armagh in the league final.
Soccer was united v Brighton and Hove Albion in the fa cup final. That was the day I nailed my colours to the utd mast because they won the replay. Thank god Brighton didn't win.😀
Post by: ziggysego on April 23, 2016, 04:05:51 PM
Watching Frank McGuigan put 11 pass Armagh in the 1984 Ulster Final.

I was only 4 at the time, so it's a rather hazy memory.  To be honest, I remember the sandwiches and flask of tea more than the actual match.
Post by: BennyCake on April 23, 2016, 05:48:32 PM
Appropriately the 1985 FA cup final, United v Everton. Moran's red card, Whiteside's winner and all that.
Post by: 5 Sams on April 23, 2016, 06:36:03 PM
Vivid memories of the 1974 drawn Ulster Final v Donegal. Vague memories of watching the 1970 World Cup Final.
Post by: muppet on April 23, 2016, 06:46:08 PM
Sitting in McHale Park watching Mayo lose to Roscommon. Must have been 5 or 6.

Apparently I was more interested in the Rossie supporter beside us who was missing an ear.
Post by: rrhf on April 23, 2016, 07:04:48 PM
You would wonder why!!
Post by: ONeill on April 23, 2016, 07:42:17 PM
Vague memories of Armstrong v Spain in '82.

Vivid was Tyrone/Dublin '84 and the '84 FA Cup final Everton v Watford and an upset Elton John.
Post by: Boycey on April 23, 2016, 07:50:01 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 23, 2016, 12:59:05 PM
Probably the 82 WC and Armstrongs goal and the whole buzz around about it. I had a World Cup jersey from Dunnes or Primark with the wee orange kicking a ball! Also had the Panini sticker album. I loved them and wished I'd kept them. Does anyone remember how the English teams had 1 player per sticker and the Scottish teams had 2! Talk about forcing the inferiority complex through stealth!

Were u cheering for NI? I certainly was as an innocent enough 13 year old. I'll also be keeping a wee eye on them this summer despite what some might think..
Post by: Newbridge Exile on April 23, 2016, 07:51:24 PM
Ticker tape and Mario Kempes- the 1978 World Cup final for me
Post by: StGallsGAA on April 23, 2016, 07:54:36 PM
QuoteWatching Frank McGuigan put 11 pass Armagh in the 1984 Ulster Final.

A defining moment for Armagh GAA.  The relative high of an AI final in 1977, despite the embarrassing record loss margin in a final, it was felt would drive the county on to Ulster dominance, an illusion which ended in 1984 when the entire Armagh back-line capitulated to one Tyrone man scoring 11 points at a swagger, putting Armagh football into a downward spiral of self-reflection for 15 years.  Many younger Armagh players and players who did not witness it still criticise that '84 team but those such as Joe Kernan and Brian McAlinden know and accept  that no Armagh past or present team could have coped with the legend that is Frank McGuigan on that fateful day!
Post by: thejuice on April 23, 2016, 08:32:49 PM
Born in 82.

Vaguely remember being in Croker for Meath vs Kerry in a league match on the 80's, not sure what year. Played in filthy weather but remember seeing the great Jack O'Shea in action.

1991 was really my first year of going to all the Meath games and properly following it. That is the stand out year for me, more than the wins in 87 and 88. The 4 games against Dublin became a tournament in their own right.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 23, 2016, 09:12:28 PM
Born 1976. Have a memory of the closing ceremony of the 1980 Olympics. First sporting memory was Brazil being robbed by Italy in 1982. Not sure I actually saw the game but remember being upset by the result. Remember watching the 1983 FA Cup final and replay. And the dirty dozen/twelve apostles beating Galway that September.
Post by: The Subbie on April 24, 2016, 07:14:09 AM
Born '73, vague memory of the '79 Ulster Final, me Da and a heap of them all going to the final and the crack when Monaghan won, again vague memory of them getting hammered by Kerry in the Semi final but do clearly remember all the flags out , cars gong up the road all decked out.
82 WC Finals are a clear memory if only for me mother telling us that we didn't support the north , only for her to start roaring like a cut calf when Gerry Armstrong scores v Spain!!
The '84 Euros & '86 WC were the 1st proper full tournaments I followed, the Platini & Maradonna finals, class memories.
Post by: T Fearon on April 24, 2016, 07:18:59 AM
It is a pity Frank was anonymous against the Dubs in the AI semi final in 1984, a display which proved just how naive the Armagh defence was in that year's Ulster Final.

In truth Tyrone faced a mishmash of an Armagh team that year.The remnants of 1977,great players but past their sell by date,a young Ger Houlahan not yet at his prime but scored a goal that day,and John Corvan,sadly anonymous that day who came nowhere near fulfilling his enormous potential in a County Senior jersey.
Post by: seafoid on April 24, 2016, 08:13:33 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 24, 2016, 07:18:59 AM
It is a pity Frank was anonymous against the Dubs in the AI semi final in 1984, a display which proved just how naive the Armagh defence was in that year's Ulster Final.

In truth Tyrone faced a mishmash of an Armagh team that year.The remnants of 1977,great players but past their sell by date,a young Ger Houlahan not yet at his prime but scored a goal that day,and John Corvan,sadly anonymous that day who came nowhere near fulfilling his enormous potential in a County Senior jersey.
1984 was in the middle of the troubles. Even with 15 Mc Guigans Tyrone would not have won Sam.
Post by: T Fearon on April 24, 2016, 08:40:40 AM
Funny.A mere two years later Tyrone had Sam but let him go,in the middle of the troubles still.
Post by: ashman on April 24, 2016, 08:47:24 AM
Kerry v Dublin 1978
Red rum grand nationals
Winning Aga Khan cups
Limerick beating Clare in 1979
Arsenal 79 cup final and 78 World Cup finals
Post by: seafoid on April 24, 2016, 08:53:36 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 24, 2016, 08:40:40 AM
Funny.A mere two years later Tyrone had Sam but let him go,in the middle of the troubles still.
How long did it take Joe ramhar to win Sam with that team? Say 4 years. Political chaos is all about instability. You can't reach the peak of sporting excellence when people are dying around you. What year was Aidan McAnespie shot?
Armagh 77 another great example. They left it behind them and never returned. Kerry picked up another few soft all Irelands over those years.
Post by: The Subbie on April 24, 2016, 09:42:00 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 24, 2016, 08:53:36 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 24, 2016, 08:40:40 AM
[/quoteWhat year was Aidan McAnespie shot?

1988, Feb .
Post by: BennyHarp on April 24, 2016, 09:49:52 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 24, 2016, 07:18:59 AM

Frank scored 4 points that day!
Post by: magpie seanie on April 24, 2016, 09:59:25 AM
Fearon has history on this board regards Frank McGuigan. He has made some disgraceful comments about him so anything he would say about McGuigan needs to be viewed through that prism of bias bordering on hate.
Post by: T Fearon on April 24, 2016, 10:58:07 AM
Seafoid,thankfully people weren't dying all around us,or dodging bullets left right and centre.Life continued up here as normally as possible,and people achieved great things in all walks of life.The Armagh team in 1977 came from nowhere but sadly had to wait another three years to win another Ulster such was the competitiveness up here and the attitude (sadly lacking in other provinces) in Ulster which spurs rivals on on the basis that they believe "If they can do it so can we!"

How come so many underage titles came North during the troubles if they were a hindering factor?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 24, 2016, 11:07:07 AM
Quote from: Boycey on April 23, 2016, 07:50:01 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 23, 2016, 12:59:05 PM

Were u cheering for NI? I certainly was as an innocent enough 13 year old. I'll also be keeping a wee eye on them this summer despite what some might think..

I did, my best friend at the time is big Pats nephew so we wanted to see them do well. I was only 7 so didn't know no different. Followed them closer in 86 though as I was a bit older and followed football more.
Post by: gallsman on April 24, 2016, 11:17:36 AM
Very, very, very hazy memory of Carl Lewis vs Mike Powell in Tokyo 1991. '93 hurling final and learning about DJ as well.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on April 24, 2016, 11:58:48 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 23, 2016, 06:36:03 PM
Vivid memories of the 1974 drawn Ulster Final v Donegal. Vague memories of watching the 1970 World Cup Final.

A few years ago my Dad and myself had the pleasure of being in the company of the great Peter Rooney for an hour or so. Very enjoyable football chat took place and Peter discussed that match in particular, recounting how in his opinion a close mutual friend - Martin Slevin - was the man of the match that day.  :)
Post by: ziggy90 on April 24, 2016, 02:22:17 PM
Birmingham v Man Utd around 1963. First Gaelic Football game Galway v Meath 1966 in Coventry. I'll never forget the size of Bosco McDermott's legs!!  :o :o
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on April 24, 2016, 04:51:21 PM
Dennis Taylor winning the 85 World Snooker Championship. Thinking it was great to get staying up late to watch the final.
Post by: Orior on April 24, 2016, 08:17:39 PM
My Dad always watch the wrestling on a Saturday night, with men like Mick McManus.

I also remember heavy weight boxing and Cassius Clay at his best.
Post by: T Fearon on April 24, 2016, 09:37:54 PM
The wrestling was on Saturday afternoon! I remember our Turfman arranged his weekly delivery so as he could watch it in our house
Post by: muppet on April 24, 2016, 10:40:40 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 24, 2016, 09:37:54 PM
The wrestling was on Saturday afternoon! I remember our Turfman arranged his weekly delivery so as he could watch it in our house

Was it common in Armagh to have turf delivered weekly?
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on April 24, 2016, 10:54:42 PM
All 1976
FA Cup final: Southampton 1-0 Man U
All-Ireland semi-final: Kerry 5-14 Derry 1-10
Montreal Olympics: Eamonn Coughlan's fourth place in 1,500m
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 24, 2016, 11:07:17 PM
Born 76. Can't really remember much before 1984. Hazy memories of France in the Euros but remember Carl Lewis in 84 Olympics like it was yesterday.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 24, 2016, 11:50:24 PM
Ali's last few fights, obviously Barry's fights were big moments.... Armstrong's goal Utds Fa cup finals, Whiteside's goal... Gaa... Hmmmm 83/84 Ulster club final.... Leinster club hurling finals at Croker, getting passed through the turnstiles and remember getting stung by a bee in the Hogan stand... Wooden benches feck!!

Oh remember the first rules games, blood mental, Athletic Grounds??  A vocational schools hurling semi final, stuffed, big bro on team, I was still in primary school...ticker tape finals , was 6 can't recall the games
Post by: omaghjoe on April 25, 2016, 08:06:54 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 23, 2016, 04:05:51 PM

I was only 4 at the time, so it's a rather hazy memory.  To be honest, I remember the sandwiches and flask of tea more than the actual match.

False memory ziggy but what a false memory
Post by: omaghjoe on April 25, 2016, 08:10:22 AM
I might mind Taylor winning the snooker in 85 but not sure
I think I remember Argentina win in Mexico in 86
I defo remember Tyrone v Kerry in 86
First match was the first round against Antrim in 87 in Omagh I think someone could verify
Post by: laoislad on April 25, 2016, 09:06:57 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on April 25, 2016, 08:10:22 AM
First match was the first round against Antrim in 87 in Omagh I think someone could verify
Why would you mind Taylor winning?
Post by: Billys Boots on April 25, 2016, 09:07:33 AM
1974 World Cup - to this day I remember being particularly impressed (for no reason I can remember) by a Yugoslav called Dragan Džajić, who hit the post in some game.  I spent days in the garden trying to hit the post with shots from everywhere.  I think I was more impressed by the paraphenalia - magazine stuff (Shoot! etc.) and player cards, than the football itself.  Scotland were the only 'locals' involved and I wasn't terribly impressed by them, even though there were 5 Super Leeds representatives on the squad.  Cruyff was there, obviously, and the rest is history. 
Post by: No wides on April 25, 2016, 10:42:21 AM

I was only 4 at the time
, so it's a rather hazy memory.  To be honest, I remember the sandwiches and flask of tea more than the actual match.

Bullshit, maddey up memory there ziggs.
Post by: passedit on April 25, 2016, 10:55:48 AM
Earliest sporting related memory was my Da returning from 68 AI final and booting a green white and gold football up the stairs. We replayed the match on the landing.

First game I attended was Tullylish/Laurencetown (not sure which) v Clonduff/Hilltown (not sure which) in Hilltown late sixties possibly1970. Watched the first ten minutes got bored and played in the stream at the back of the bank for the rest of the game.

First soccerball game I remember watching was the 71 FA cup final. Well I watched it up to thon bstd Charlie George scored. Couldnt watch it after that.
First County game was the 1973 Ulster Final nuff said.

Considering how long ago it was (1972) I can actually vividly remember my first ever organised game of football. v Annaclone PS with the whole
school watching (maybe 60 kids) felt like an all ireland to me. I remember our keeper scoring a point from a kick out which will give you an idea of how big the pitch was. I can remember nothing of the last ever game I played (2014).
Post by: omaghjoe on April 25, 2016, 05:31:19 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 25, 2016, 09:06:57 AM

Sure why do ye mind anythin? Ye just mind
Post by: muppet on April 25, 2016, 05:40:53 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on April 25, 2016, 05:31:19 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 25, 2016, 09:06:57 AM

Sure why do ye mind anythin? Ye just mind

Does Taylor need that much minding?

Post by: AZOffaly on April 25, 2016, 05:44:50 PM
I didn't mind Taylor winning, I liked him.

As for my earliest sporting memory, I was born in summer of 73, so I vaguely recall some of the 78 World Cup. I can't remember any of the GAA apart from my father playing. Obviously I remember Offaly winning in 1981, but I was 8 by then, so you'd expect that :) I remember the League Cup replay between Liverpool and West Ham in 1981. That's about it. There was a lot less sport on TV back then, so it's mostly sounds, smells and vague impressions of 'crowds' that I remember being very young. Of course from 1981 onwards, I remember everything vividly.
Post by: ziggysego on April 25, 2016, 06:01:06 PM
Quote from: No wides on April 25, 2016, 10:42:21 AM

I was only 4 at the time
, so it's a rather hazy memory.  To be honest, I remember the sandwiches and flask of tea more than the actual match.

Like I say,  vague memory of it and it's mostly eating sandwiches and drinking tea.
Post by: Puckoon on April 25, 2016, 06:52:51 PM
Was born in late 1980 - earliest memory is 86 World Cup and the big deal that Gary Linker was. No stand out memories from the WC, just remember watching games with my dad in the evenings. Remember the 86 AISF and AIF

Have very strong memories of watching the BBC show the morning after Sandy Lyle won the 88 Masters, and the Ben Johnson/Carl Lewis at Seoul 88.
Post by: Clov on April 25, 2016, 07:01:37 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 25, 2016, 06:01:06 PM
Quote from: No wides on April 25, 2016, 10:42:21 AM

I was only 4 at the time

Like I say,  vague memory of it and it's mostly eating sandwiches and drinking tea.

Infantile amnesia begins to alleviate around 2.5 years of age, so there is no principled reason why you shouldn't remember a sporting event from the age of 4.

My earliest sporting memory is my first visit to Croke Park, aged 6, to see the 1983 national league final between Armagh and Down. Remember very little about the day, other than roughly where we sitting (lower Cusack i think near  the Hill end) and that Down won.   
Post by: omaghjoe on April 27, 2016, 05:23:43 AM

Do yis only mind month's in the south?
Post by: tonto1888 on April 27, 2016, 08:12:38 AM
was born in 1980. I remember the Euros of 88, Celtic's centenary double and the FA Cup final from that year. Before that things are hazy though I do remember going to watch some Armagh games and Love Street 86
Post by: laoislad on April 27, 2016, 08:22:58 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on April 27, 2016, 05:23:43 AM

Why would we mind a month?
I suppose I don't really like January very much.The rest of them I don't mind at all.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on April 27, 2016, 08:35:16 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on April 25, 2016, 09:07:33 AM
1974 World Cup - to this day I remember being particularly impressed (for no reason I can remember) by a Yugoslav called Dragan Džajić, who hit the post in some game.  I spent days in the garden trying to hit the post with shots from everywhere.  I think I was more impressed by the paraphenalia - magazine stuff (Shoot! etc.) and player cards, than the football itself.  Scotland were the only 'locals' involved and I wasn't terribly impressed by them, even though there were 5 Super Leeds representatives on the squad.  Cruyff was there, obviously, and the rest is history.

Love it Billy - the second phase of that World Cup seemed to be played throughout torrential downpours and I recall me and a mate taking every opportunity to go out into his garden to play football when it was raining heavily, much to the annoyance of his mum!!  :D

(http://a.espncdn.com/combiner/i/?img=/photo/2015/0831/fc_as_germanypoland_1296x729.jpg&w=738&site=espnfc)

Edited to say - the photo above is of that classic West Germany v Poland game in Frankfurt, and not me and my mate in his garden!   :P
Post by: Billys Boots on April 27, 2016, 08:56:30 AM
Thanks for the edit Rufus, it looked like yourself in a classic pose on the flat of your back in the muck.  :P
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on April 27, 2016, 09:05:50 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on April 27, 2016, 08:56:30 AM
Thanks for the edit Rufus, it looked like yourself in a classic pose on the flat of your back in the muck.  :P

You know me too well!!
Post by: omaghjoe on April 27, 2016, 10:33:11 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 27, 2016, 08:22:58 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on April 27, 2016, 05:23:43 AM

Why would we mind a month?
I suppose I don't really like January very much.The rest of them I don't mind at all.

No month's mind at all then?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 27, 2016, 10:41:16 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on April 27, 2016, 09:05:50 AM

You know me too well!!

Hands in the air after being rounded by a nippy corner forward!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on April 27, 2016, 10:51:33 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 27, 2016, 10:41:16 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on April 27, 2016, 09:05:50 AM

You know me too well!!

Hands in the air after being rounded by a nippy corner forward!

Which was usually Jim McConville!  :( 
Post by: FermGael on April 27, 2016, 10:52:27 PM
The Athletic grounds.
Post by: Muck Savage on April 28, 2016, 05:01:44 AM
Born in '73 - earliest memory was 1980 AI semi final between Offaly and Kerry. I remember Mat Connor scoring 2-9, Gerry Carroll scoring 2-1 and Offaly losing 4-15 to 4-10. Remember Matt scoring a goal with his back to the goal and a Kerry back stretching his jersey. I also remember as a 7 year old getting a complete roasting from of all people my Westmeath cousins at a time when they were lucky to keep a hiding below 15 pts in the c'ship.
Was in the Cusack stand for the football final the year after, another loss to Kerry, the Hogan stand for the Hurling final in '81 and the Hogan stand again for the Seamus Darby goal - still remember the water falling down from the net when he scored it. Great times.
Post by: laceer on April 28, 2016, 10:07:45 AM
Earliest GAA memory is the club winning a junior championship in '89 when I was 5 - the oul fella was playing and I had a massive teddy togged out in the club colours.

First soccer memory was the FA Cup final in 1990 - that's how I started supporting United. Also remember celebrating after Ireland beat Romania on penalties in Italia '90 - didn't really know what I was celebrating but I knew something good had just happened.