GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: giveballaghback on April 03, 2016, 07:27:23 PM

Title: Rossies v Kerry round 2, will Croke Park be playable?
Post by: giveballaghback on April 03, 2016, 07:27:23 PM
Its Kerry v Roscommon next Sunday and all Rossies hope we can give a good account of ourselves in what will be our biggest challenge so far, Kerry seem to be flying these last few Sundays and Ros have lost their last 2 games against a very ordinary Mayo team and the super all conquering Dubs.
Title: Re: Rossies v Kerry round 2, will Croke Park be playable?
Post by: From the Bunker on April 03, 2016, 07:36:21 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on April 03, 2016, 07:27:23 PM
Its Kerry v Roscommon next Sunday and all Rossies hope we can give a good account of ourselves in what will be our biggest challenge so far, Kerry seem to be flying these last few Sundays and Ros have lost their last 2 games against a very ordinary Mayo team and the super all conquering Dubs.

Rossies biggest challenge so far was staying in Division One. This is bonus territory. Bonus territory with a Caveat! Don't get hammered by Kerry or Dublin! 
Post by: Shrewdness on April 03, 2016, 08:28:52 PM
As it` s Kerry we`re playing, I hope we can depend on the backing of the Dublin supporters next week.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 03, 2016, 08:37:35 PM
After the shenanigans today?

Surely this will be played in Limerick?
Post by: armaghniac on April 03, 2016, 08:37:50 PM
Play it in Limerick.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 03, 2016, 08:41:58 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 03, 2016, 08:28:52 PM
As it` s Kerry we`re playing, I hope we can depend on the backing of the Dublin supporters next week.

Most of the Dubs will be on the Luas, on buses, on the Dart or in the Pub when ye are playing. Most of the Kerry support will be in Kerry so ye'll still out number them anyway.
Post by: Syferus on April 03, 2016, 08:53:35 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 03, 2016, 08:28:52 PM

We're grand as we are.
Post by: Rossfan on April 03, 2016, 08:58:20 PM
Everybody hates us but we don't care for we are Ros !!
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 04, 2016, 12:10:06 AM
I'm assuming common sense will apply (big assumption at times within the GAA I know!) and this will be played in Ennis or Limerick?
Post by: From the Bunker on April 04, 2016, 12:14:00 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 04, 2016, 12:10:06 AM
I'm assuming common sense will apply (big assumption at times within the GAA I know!) and this will be played in Ennis or Limerick?

What about the corporate boxes?
Post by: Syferus on April 04, 2016, 12:15:13 AM

Hopefully Croker. Like feck many Kerry supporters will be travelling anywhere for what they assume will be the slaughter of a minnow.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 04, 2016, 12:25:50 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 04, 2016, 12:15:13 AM

Hopefully Croker. Like feck many Kerry supporters will be travelling anywhere for what they assume will be the slaughter of a minnow.

No, you'd get a big crowd travelling if it's on in Limerick say alright. Ask the Mayo lads.. :P

The semis of League don't  have to be in Croker as far as I'm aware do they? Would get a decent crowd for this game alone, plus the Dublin v Donegal game I'd think?
Post by: ashman on April 04, 2016, 12:26:16 AM
The royal canal and the tolka will burst their banks and Croker will be unplayable .

The game will be moved to the mountains in Donnycarney.

The Rossies will have their greatest day since 2006 in Ennis.

Two league wins in 2016 = revenge for 1980 in today's prices .
Post by: Shrewdness on April 04, 2016, 07:29:10 AM
If Ros and Kerry play in Limerick, then Dublin v Donegal should be played
at a neutral venue too....and as luck would have it, I believe that Hyde Park is available  8)
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 04, 2016, 12:39:47 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 04, 2016, 07:29:10 AM
If Ros and Kerry play in Limerick, then Dublin v Donegal should be played
at a neutral venue too....and as luck would have it, I believe that Hyde Park is available  8)
True.
I'd say some Dubs saw more of the country last weekend than in their entire lives
Post by: Shrewdness on April 04, 2016, 01:31:43 PM
Has the venue for this been confirmed yet.. These days, we're liable to turn up anywhere.. Less than 4 weeks, and we'll be in New York.
Post by: Rossfan on April 04, 2016, 01:37:39 PM
Limerick some are saying.
Hope they're joking :o >:(
Post by: AZOffaly on April 04, 2016, 01:43:28 PM
Why Rossfan? Limerick would be handy enough no? Or Ennis maybe? But would Ennis hold the crowd?
Post by: Rossfan on April 04, 2016, 01:56:23 PM
No M4 or M6 or trains from Ros to effin Limerick.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 04, 2016, 01:57:27 PM
You're going to Effin, ye're going to Limerick city. :)

What about Ennis?
Post by: Hound on April 04, 2016, 02:04:52 PM
For a team with 4 home games, it was a pretty mad stat that Roscommon played their 7 league matches in 7 different venues in 6 different counties!
Post by: Syferus on April 04, 2016, 02:06:07 PM
Limerick would be f**king daft. But Kerry and their Dublin lite supporters are afraid of travelling and for some unknown reason even Croker Park bends the knee to the lads who think it's a good idea to elect two Healy-Raes to national parliament.
Post by: Shrewdness on April 04, 2016, 02:09:39 PM
And still we managed to reach the semi finals as top scorers in Division 1 with many of our players out injured..
Post by: AZOffaly on April 04, 2016, 02:13:50 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 04, 2016, 02:06:07 PM
Limerick would be f**king daft. But Kerry and their Dublin lite supporters are afraid of travelling and for some unknown reason even Croker Park bends the knee to the lads who think it's a good idea to elect two Healy-Raes to national parliament.

Ye elected Ming and he didn't even stay! Maybe the Dail was waterlogged too.
Post by: Rossie11 on April 04, 2016, 02:20:22 PM
Nothing wrong with Ennis, plenty big enough and would be ideal for the 2 teams involved in my book
Post by: AZOffaly on April 04, 2016, 02:23:22 PM
Ennis was grand yesterday anyway. They announced a crowd of 9,000+ but kids were free so not sure if they were counted among that number.
Post by: westbound on April 04, 2016, 02:27:08 PM
Why would Limerick be daft? It's roughly half way between Roscommon town and Killarney. There is no motorway from Killarney to Limerick either (apart from a short stretch from Adare). In fact, Ros fans would have more motorway to travel on to limerick than the kerry folk!

As a rossie living in Kildare, I'd MUCH rather it being in Croke park.

But being realistic, I don't see why we could argue against it being in Limerick.

It's not too long ago we were telling the mayos to stop complaining about having to play Kerry in limerick, so it'd be very hypocritical if we started complaining now about a LEAGUE semi final being in Limerick.

I STILL HOPE ITS IN CROKE PARK!!  :D

Post by: Syferus on April 04, 2016, 02:30:40 PM
Quote from: westbound on April 04, 2016, 02:27:08 PM
Why would Limerick be daft? It's roughly half way between Roscommon town and Killarney. There is no motorway from Killarney to Limerick either (apart from a short stretch from Adare). In fact, Ros fans would have more motorway to travel on to limerick than the kerry folk!

But being realistic, I don't see why we could argue against it being in Limerick.

It's not too long ago we were telling the mayos to stop complaining about having to play Kerry in limerick, so it'd be very hypocritical if we started complaining now about a LEAGUE semi final being in Limerick.

This team deserves to play at HQ. It would be a bit of an insult to about face the established situation with league semis in its last year.
Post by: westbound on April 04, 2016, 02:47:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 04, 2016, 02:30:40 PM

This team deserves to play at HQ. It would be a bit of an insult to about face the established situation with league semis in its last year.

This has got nothing to do with anything! Get to the league final and we'll DESERVE to play in Croke park.

I wouldn't agree that it'd be an insult. Disappointing - yes. Insulting - no! Whilst the semis have been in croker the last few years, there is nothing to say that all league semis have to be in croke park. In fact, the last Div 1 semi final we played in was in Sligo (against Mayo).
Post by: westbound on April 04, 2016, 03:13:07 PM
Confirmed for Croke park now anyway. 2pm. Dub V Donegal at 4.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 04, 2016, 03:46:28 PM
Quote from: westbound on April 04, 2016, 02:47:40 PM

This has got nothing to do with anything! Get to the league final and we'll DESERVE to play in Croke park.

I wouldn't agree that it'd be an insult. Disappointing - yes. Insulting - no! Whilst the semis have been in croker the last few years, there is nothing to say that all league semis have to be in croke park. In fact, the last Div 1 semi final we played in was in Sligo (against Mayo).

I'd agree totally with what you said Westbound. Syf has a dubious grasp of geography though, so no surprises there!

Croker it is anyway. The place will be 90% empty for the Kerry v Ross game.
Post by: Rossfan on April 04, 2016, 03:54:17 PM
If ye Kerrys would go to games it could be 80%
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 04, 2016, 04:10:53 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 04, 2016, 03:54:17 PM
If ye Kerrys would go to games it could be 80%

Don't you worry, we're there when it counts, as much as any county's followers. I'd be there on Sunday only I have a game. There's a full programme of County League games in Kerry next weekend, a lot of them on Sunday. That takes away a lot of the hardcore support. We've a huge game Thursday night also in the Munster u21 final. Far more important than next Sunday actually.
Post by: Rossfan on April 04, 2016, 05:21:34 PM
I'd say there mightn't be much excitement about a League semi final in Kerry right enough.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 04, 2016, 05:26:31 PM
Are the Dubs putting on complimentary buses for anyone?
Post by: Syferus on April 04, 2016, 05:46:59 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 04, 2016, 03:46:28 PM

I'd agree totally with what you said Westbound. Syf has a dubious grasp of geography though, so no surprises there!

Last I checked their aren't many planes going to Ennis or Limerick. So why absolute distance comes into it I haven't a clue. The infrastructure to Dublin is far better.
Post by: armaghniac on April 04, 2016, 05:49:09 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 04, 2016, 05:46:59 PM
Last I checked their aren't many planes going to Ennis or Limerick. So why absolute distance comes into it I haven't a clue. The infrastructure to Dublin is far better.

Well there is an international airport between Ennis and Limerick.
Post by: Syferus on April 04, 2016, 05:50:39 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 04, 2016, 05:49:09 PM

Well there is an international airport between Ennis and Limerick.

That's like saying Galway or Sligo is near Knock.
Post by: westbound on April 05, 2016, 09:22:01 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 04, 2016, 03:46:28 PM

I don't want to get into an argument with a fellow rossie syf, but what are you talking about?
Who mentioned anything about planes? (or absolute distance?) When was the last time you flew to a roscommon match?

Limerick is about 2 hours from Roscommon town by car and about 1hr 40 from killarney. I know there are lots of ros fans north of ros town but there are lots of Kerry fans west of killarney too!

Obviously the infrastructure to Dublin from roscommon is better than to limerick, but Kerry supporters would have to go past limerick and then travel for an additional 2 hours to get to croker.

So I still don't see how Limerick would have been "daft"!

Anyway, the decision is made and I'm delighted it's in croke park!
Post by: From the Bunker on April 05, 2016, 09:43:33 AM
There will be some atmosphere in Croker! You'd have to imagine there will be a lot of families especially from Kerry who will make the journey. I'd say the Kerry support will outnumber the Rossies on the Hill. Will it be an all ticket affair? You have to say the Gaa are loyal to their Vendors as well as their Corporate box holders in Croker. Good to see the Dubs back home for the knock out games as well. They need a bit of practice on home turf for their tough up coming Leinster Championship. Yes thumbs up all round!
Post by: Rossfan on April 05, 2016, 09:53:28 AM
Hope all ye Rhus will now concentrate on local club games and let to top 4 get on with our League play offs.

Is "westbound" a Rhu I wonder ::)?
Post by: westbound on April 05, 2016, 10:05:11 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 05, 2016, 09:53:28 AM
Hope all ye Rhus will now concentrate on local club games and let to top 4 get on with our League play offs.

Is "westbound" a Rhu I wonder ::)?
Not at all Ross fan.

As i mentioned in a previous post i'm a rossie living in kildare.

I'm delighted this game in in croker but I was just pointing out that I didn't think it'd be 'daft' to have it in limerick.

Anyway, decision is made, I'm pleased it's in croker and I'll be there as always!

Let's talk about the game now instead of the venue.
Post by: Rossfan on April 05, 2016, 10:19:50 AM
Indeed.
Let's give it a right go and see how it turns out.
Playing Kerry in Croke Park is always a good test and another big step on the learning curve.
Post by: westbound on April 05, 2016, 10:28:06 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 05, 2016, 10:19:50 AM
Indeed.
Let's give it a right go and see how it turns out.
Playing Kerry in Croke Park is always a good test and another big step on the learning curve.

Correct. And it'll be a good step up from killarney with kerry having the extra players back and at a much higher level of fitness.

Looking forward to it.
Post by: giveballaghback on April 07, 2016, 08:48:46 PM
Our midfield in Killarney are both missing for different reasons, Enda Smyth is taking a break for a couple of weeks and Ian Kilbride is injured. How we line out Sunday will be interesting to say the least. We cannot give Kerry the midfield freedom they got in Killarney but how we stop it I dont  know, D. Murtagh will be a big addition and id say Harney starts to give him match time. Cant wait.
Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2016, 09:02:50 PM
Team  announced tonight
Claff
Seànie, Collins McI,
Murray Purcy Mullooly
N Daly C Shine
Fintan C Murtagh Devaney
D Murtagh Senan C Cregg.

Mullooly's first Senior start -Croker v Kerry !!!!
Post by: giveballaghback on April 08, 2016, 11:47:32 AM
May not be starting team, some changes [at least 2] before start, some of the named team looked a little off the pace last Sunday.
Post by: ck on April 08, 2016, 01:30:13 PM
Will Dublin be putting on buses for the Rossies supporters? Least they could do is return the favour
Post by: ballinaman on April 08, 2016, 01:34:10 PM
https://www.facebook.com/TheSundayGame/videos/794536160680533/

8)
Post by: giveballaghback on April 08, 2016, 01:35:28 PM
Im afraid we will be paying the lockhards a tenner or our cars wont be there when we get back, that or park in Clonliffe college and it will be all hours before we get out of there, either way its a tenner, now where did I hear a tenner mentioned before?
Post by: muppet on April 08, 2016, 01:42:44 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 08, 2016, 01:34:10 PM
https://www.facebook.com/TheSundayGame/videos/794536160680533/

8)

Where did he get this?  ;D

ice-cream melting....
Tar melting......
Cuckoo singing.......
Flags flying.........
The Rossies are dreaming.........

Post by: giveballaghback on April 08, 2016, 01:47:23 PM
Paddy Joe the barber is one of the great Rossie supporters, a real supporter, there at all our div 4 games not that long ago,  having supported all that he is entitled to be excited about next Sunday, these characters are what make our games, give them a bit of colour, give us all a lift, no harm living the dream.
The best is yet to come.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 08, 2016, 03:18:14 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on April 08, 2016, 01:47:23 PM
Paddy Joe the barber is one of the great Rossie supporters, a real supporter, there at all our div 4 games not that long ago,  having supported all that he is entitled to be excited about next Sunday, these characters are what make our games, give them a bit of colour, give us all a lift, no harm living the dream.
The best is yet to come.
A great character. Was him that created the rossies nickname I believe.
Post by: weareros on April 08, 2016, 03:20:36 PM
I think Paddy was the first to use the term Rossies. He also scored the first goal of the millennium when he soloed through Hyde Park on the stoke of midnight 2000 and stuck the ball in the back of the net.
Post by: fearbrags on April 08, 2016, 03:32:17 PM
Paddy Joe is a Legend  full stop
He  left out "" car radiator overheating""  I suppose more a 70s problem  ;)
Post by: twohands!!! on April 08, 2016, 03:43:31 PM
Strongish looking Kerry side named

1. Brian Kelly Killarney Legion

2. Marc Ó SéAn Ghaeltacht

3. Mark Griffin   St Michaels/Foilmore

4. Shane Enright   Tarbert

5. Peter Crowley Laune Rangers

6. Aidan O'Mahony(C)Rathmore

7. Fionn FitzgeraldDr Crokes

8. Kieran DonaghyAustin Stacks

9. David Moran Kerins O'Rahillys

10. Johnny Buckley Dr Crokes

11. Paul Murphy   Rathmore

12. Donnchadh Walsh Cromane

13. Darran O'SullivanGlenbeigh-Glencar

14. Colm Cooper Dr Crokes

15. Stephen O'Brien  Kenmare

Fir Ionaid:

16. Brendan Kealy  Kilcummin

17. Bryan Sheehan St Marys

18. Killian Young Renard

19. Alan Fitzgerald Castlegregory

20. Padraig O'Connor  Killarney Legion

21. Barry John Keane  Kerins O'Rahillys

22. Jonathan Lyne Killarney Legion

23. Brendan O'Sullivan Valentia

24. Michael Geaney Dingle

25. Tommy Walsh Kerins O'Rahillys

26. Denis Daly St Marys

Post by: Rossfan on April 08, 2016, 03:44:15 PM
Well whatever about Paddyjoe will our lads give the kutehoors a game at all?
We'll need to hit the ground running as a sluggish start like Killarney won't find them in as generous a mood again.
Start well and see where that takes us.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 08, 2016, 03:51:45 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 08, 2016, 03:44:15 PM
Well whatever about Paddyjoe will our lads give the kutehoors a game at all?
We'll need to hit the ground running as a sluggish start like Killarney won't find them in as generous a mood again.
Start well and see where that takes us.

One of the Kerry lads did say somewhere in a paper interview that they underestimated Roscommon in the game in Killarney.
Also mentioned that a lot of the Kerry lads don't have any league medal so I wouildn't be a but surprised if Kerry were very up for this game.
Post by: giveballaghback on April 09, 2016, 06:10:38 PM
Very strong team for Kerry, I dont think they were on holidays lately,the Rossies element of surprise is gone, Kerry have revenge on their mind or so they say{maybe they should save that for the dubs later in the year] now supposing [just dreaming now] the Rossies were to beat them what.......... ah feck I forgot "its only the league"
Best of luck to the Rossies and their team management tomorrow and remember
The best is yet to come.
Post by: larryin89 on April 09, 2016, 06:32:11 PM
I'd be very surprised if Kerry didn't win this and dominate the middle third by a long way.
Post by: Rossfan on April 09, 2016, 07:56:04 PM
Our Hurley lads won today and go up to D2
Our Minors beat Leitrim in the last round of the Connacht MFL and we topped the table
Seniors - over to ye lads - make it 3 out of 3 tomorrow :D
Post by: Shrewdness on April 09, 2016, 10:58:52 PM
Yes, congrats to our hurlers on their promotion and to our minor
footballers on winning the Connacht Minor League.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2016, 08:06:37 AM
Kerry I'm a much better place this time round. Roscommon fist pumping last time will be sufficient motivation.

Kerry win.
Post by: Syferus on April 10, 2016, 09:16:29 AM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2016, 08:06:37 AM
Kerry I'm a much better place this time round. Roscommon fist pumping last time will be sufficient motivation.

Kerry win.

Kerry of course we're totally stoic scoring their points and illegal goal.
Post by: rrhf on April 10, 2016, 09:35:51 AM
Big day for Roscommon and the bus will be on its way shortly. Such a novelty for them..  I suspect t hey would be happy with an honourable defeat.
Post by: Syferus on April 10, 2016, 09:59:40 AM
Quote from: rrhf on April 10, 2016, 09:35:51 AM
Big day for Roscommon and the bus will be on its way shortly. Such a novelty for them..  I suspect t hey would be happy with an honourable defeat.

Third match in 24 months in Croker. Most have played there mutiple times at underage and club too. Long way off a novelty at this stage.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 10:22:59 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 10, 2016, 09:59:40 AM

Third match in 24 months in Croker. Most have played there mutiple times at underage and club too. Long way off a novelty at this stage.

When was the last time when Roscommon won a senior Championship match in Croke Park?

Genuine question.
Post by: rrhf on April 10, 2016, 10:30:58 AM

It would be disastrous for new management to get beat by 20 points by the dubs in the final. Better the 4 point defeat in the semi final might work out better for confidence.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 10:34:28 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 10:22:59 AM

When was the last time when Roscommon won a senior Championship match in Croke Park?

Genuine question.

All Ireland semi v Armagh 1980?
Post by: larryin89 on April 10, 2016, 10:39:25 AM

It's your first meaningful match there in an age, just go and enjoy yourself ffs lad .

That would be 1980 bomber, ros fans don't like statistics of this nature because it makes them look shite .
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 11:24:30 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 10:34:28 AM

Genuine question.

All Ireland semi v Armagh 1980?

;D ;D ;D
Post by: mjg on April 10, 2016, 11:31:05 AM
Ross haters out in force this morning.Black eyed Larry and that fool from the north should hook up ye are made for each other
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 10, 2016, 11:34:46 AM
We don't get to play every championship game in Croker like other counties

2001 Connacht Champions, Roscommon were denied the chance to play QF in Croke Park.
We had to go to that shithole in castlebar

Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 11:43:42 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on April 10, 2016, 11:34:46 AM
We don't get to play every championship game in Croker like other counties

2001 Connacht Champions, Roscommon were denied the chance to play QF in Croke Park.
We had to go to that shithole in castlebar

Fermanagh didn't get too many chances either but they have done the business. How did you get on in your AI QF in 2001 anyway.

Roscommon's recent history is that of minnows, funny seeing how seriously you guys take yourselves.
Post by: Rossfan on April 10, 2016, 11:55:50 AM

Genuine question.
Nothing got to do with the current team.
Tyrone never won a championship game there till 2003. Didn't stop them having good days from there.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 12:02:58 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 10, 2016, 11:55:50 AM

Genuine question.
Nothing got to do with the current team.
Tyrone never won a championship game there till 2003. Didn't stop them having good days from there.

Eh we beat Galway there in 95.
Post by: rrhf on April 10, 2016, 12:05:12 PM
My Roscommon aunt was saying that there are towns bedecked in primrose. Their biggest day out from the famous 1980 Armagh win. Could there be a record crowd today for a league semi final for this excitable little county.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 10, 2016, 12:41:09 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 09, 2016, 07:56:04 PM
Our Hurley lads won today and go up to D2
Our Minors beat Leitrim in the last round of the Connacht MFL and we topped the table
Seniors - over to ye lads - make it 3 out of 3 tomorrow :D
I believe  that ye are dead ringers for the All-Ireland Ceili Dancing title and probably a shoo-in for the u14s Camogie title as well.
Geez you're digging deep to find anything to brag about! :D

(BTW, good luck today-hope ye go the full way. Hup the Wesht! )
Post by: maigheo on April 10, 2016, 01:41:57 PM
Good luck to the Rossies today.Play with no fear and ye may surprise the Kingdom.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 01:47:43 PM
Quote from: maigheo on April 10, 2016, 01:41:57 PM
Good luck to the Rossies today.Play with no fear and ye may surprise the Kingdom.

Yeah, best of luck to the Rossies! Today will be a tough test. But days like today are what a team in development need.
Post by: larryin89 on April 10, 2016, 01:52:16 PM
Best of luck to Kerry today .
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 02:00:56 PM
Big crowd at the game! Some atmosphere there I'd say!
Post by: Mayo Border on April 10, 2016, 02:05:33 PM
Not many in the hill yet. Dubs still on Dorset St.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 02:06:12 PM
Cooper getting free for minimal contact!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 02:10:54 PM
Hughes giving nothing frees here to both sides.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 02:11:21 PM
Buckley getting free for minimal contact!
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 02:14:54 PM
Very soft goal to give away.

Rossies need to get going sharpish.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 02:17:22 PM
1-6 to 0-2 16 minutes

Kerry well on top.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 02:18:55 PM
Ref giving a couple of very soft frees on both side.

Buvkley off Sheehan on
Post by: highorlow on April 10, 2016, 02:23:13 PM
Ref ruining the match, not allowing any physical contact
Post by: Tubberman on April 10, 2016, 02:25:00 PM
Kerry are looking much better than they usually would at this time of year.
Rossies seem to have lost the confidence they had early in the league
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 02:27:35 PM
There does seem to be a fairly strong breeze in favour of Kerry.
Post by: joemamas on April 10, 2016, 02:28:00 PM
Quote from: highorlow on April 10, 2016, 02:23:13 PM
Ref ruining the match, not allowing any physical contact

He is a FFinn tool.
Paddy power will soon be taking bets on how many times he blows whistle in a game or how many times he is on the tv
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 02:29:19 PM
An even softer goal conceded by Roscommon

2-7 to 0-4 28 minute
Post by: highorlow on April 10, 2016, 02:30:35 PM
Who is this ref lads? Is it me or is this one of the worst displays of refereeing in a long time? 
Post by: Gael85 on April 10, 2016, 02:31:35 PM
Roscommon players dont have the physique to break the Kerry tackle.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 02:31:45 PM
Quote from: highorlow on April 10, 2016, 02:30:35 PM
Who is this ref lads? Is it me or is this one of the worst displays of refereeing in a long time?

Padraic Hughes Armagh
Post by: Tubberman on April 10, 2016, 02:33:05 PM
Tommy Carr was saying on radio 1 at the start of the match that Roscommon are better than people think and Kerry aren't as good as people think.
Another quote to add to the collection
Post by: Mayoffs on April 10, 2016, 02:34:50 PM
Welcome to the top table Rosscommon, now ye know.
Post by: joemamas on April 10, 2016, 02:35:05 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 10, 2016, 02:33:05 PM
Tommy Carr was saying on radio 1 at the start of the match that Roscommon are better than people think and Kerry aren't as good as people think.

I may tune it for half time apology 😳😴
Post by: ashman on April 10, 2016, 02:36:00 PM

Could be a book in that .
Post by: larryin89 on April 10, 2016, 02:36:17 PM
Roscommon gettin some amount of sympathy decisions from the ref to keep them in touch
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 02:37:12 PM

Maybe he meant a different Roscommon, because this side have 1 score from play so far.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 10, 2016, 02:38:08 PM
Let's hope Roscommon's best is yet to come today as they are awful so far.
Post by: Tubberman on April 10, 2016, 02:39:15 PM
No black card for Claffey!?
Post by: Jinxy on April 10, 2016, 02:39:24 PM
One thing you're guaranteed when you have Paudie Hughes reffing a game, is that he will make damn sure everyone knows Paudie Hughes is reffing a game.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 02:39:51 PM
They could have left the engine running on the bus there.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 02:39:56 PM
3 awful goals conceded by Roscommon.

Being taught a bit of a lesson today.

3-8 to 0-5 at HT
Post by: knockitdown on April 10, 2016, 02:40:06 PM
Are goalkeepers not exempt from black cards?
Post by: imtommygunn on April 10, 2016, 02:40:59 PM
They look very susceptible to the high ball in.
Post by: Mayo Border on April 10, 2016, 02:42:04 PM
Black card for Claffey? That's what the rules say, goal or no goal. Ross have arrived in top flight football. It's all about what they can learn from this.
Post by: joemamas on April 10, 2016, 02:42:32 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 02:37:12 PM

Maybe he meant a different Roscommon, because this side have 1 score from play so far.
He just said that Kerry would not have scored those goals against a better team
Post by: Jinxy on April 10, 2016, 02:42:35 PM
Number 3 for Roscommon would want to go back and mind the house.
Post by: Zulu on April 10, 2016, 02:43:16 PM
That's a pity. I thought Roscommon might give this a rattle and I do think they have a decent team but a good few lads look short of what's required to be a top 4 IC footballer. Some of them probably have time to develop into one but unless they have a few very good players to return then they might find themselves in that group that challenge for honours most years but fall short.
Post by: haze on April 10, 2016, 02:44:29 PM
Quote from: knockitdown on April 10, 2016, 02:40:06 PM

Yes exempt. They should update the rule book

Not sure what I hate more - bad referees or blanket defences. Both blights on the game in equal measures
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 02:44:41 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 10, 2016, 02:40:59 PM
They look very susceptible to the high ball in.

When Darran O'Sullivan is getting a goal off a high ball in, it's a bit more than susceptible.
Post by: Gael85 on April 10, 2016, 02:44:52 PM
Kerry should win by 20+ now
Post by: Jinxy on April 10, 2016, 02:45:10 PM
Win the 2nd half for Paddy Joe.
Post by: Zulu on April 10, 2016, 02:45:38 PM
Good point on their full back line too. Roscommon seem to be playing a system that has them both short in the full back line and full forward line while still losing midfield - not sure what a lot of their players are meant to be doing.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 02:47:37 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 10, 2016, 02:43:16 PM
That's a pity. I thought Roscommon might give this a rattle and I do think they have a decent team but a good few lads look short of what's required to be a top 4 IC footballer. Some of them probably have time to develop into one but unless they have a few very good players to return then they might find themselves in that group that challenge for honours most years but fall short.

A huge thing is how they react to this - Kerry are motoring seriously well for this time of year.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 02:47:48 PM
Quote from: haze on April 10, 2016, 02:44:29 PM
Quote from: knockitdown on April 10, 2016, 02:40:06 PM

Yes exempt. They should update the rule book

Not sure what I hate more - bad referees or blanket defences. Both blights on the game in equal measures

Niall Morgan got black carded against Down in the 2014 Championship for a foot trip.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 02:48:57 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on April 10, 2016, 02:44:52 PM
Kerry should win by 20+ now

Nah - Kerry will ease up with an eye on the final and run their subs and Rossies with the wind should narrow it a bit.
Post by: Jinxy on April 10, 2016, 02:51:08 PM
Roscommon's middle third need to stop running around like headless chickens and let it into the hot-zone.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 02:51:21 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 10, 2016, 02:45:38 PM
Good point on their full back line too. Roscommon seem to be playing a system that has them both short in the full back line and full forward line while still losing midfield - not sure what a lot of their players are meant to be doing.

Yeah it's hard to see what system they are playing - they are taking an age to get their attacks going and they are giving Kerry oodles of time to get their defensive structure set.
Post by: larryin89 on April 10, 2016, 03:01:42 PM
Reading all the posts I'm trying to figure out why nobody can't simply say Kerry are just a far better team
Post by: Jinxy on April 10, 2016, 03:06:18 PM
A hammering at this stage of the year is no harm.
Go away and focus on the Connacht championship knowing that you've a huge amount of work to do.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 03:07:42 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 10, 2016, 03:01:42 PM
Reading all the posts I'm trying to figure out why nobody can't simply say Kerry are just a far better team

That is so obvious, it's not worth writing!  :P
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 03:08:49 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 10, 2016, 03:06:18 PM
A hammering at this stage of the year is no harm.
Go away and focus on the Connacht championship knowing that you've a huge amount of work to do.

Yeah, did Derry the world of good in 2014!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 03:11:42 PM
Roscommon have the Trocaire box out for soft frees.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2016, 03:19:21 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 03:11:42 PM
Roscommon have the Trocaire box out for soft frees.

They can be fairly thankful for the ref's approach to tackling with only 3 points from play after 57 minutes.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 10, 2016, 03:21:46 PM
Yellow card for a kerry man falling over
Post by: Zulu on April 10, 2016, 03:23:40 PM
Roscommon's decision making and speed of execution is very poor but they are good enough to develop into a top 6 team IMO but they need more to start challenging for silverware - a midfield of some description would be a start.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 03:30:41 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 10, 2016, 03:23:40 PM
Roscommon's decision making and speed of execution is very poor but they are good enough to develop into a top 6 team IMO but they need more to start challenging for silverware - a midfield of some description would be a start.

?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 03:32:35 PM
A reality check for Roscommon.

They have zero pace in the side, no midfield, no full back line or defensive structure and a bunch of yellow bellied forwards. When the heat is cranked up in the summer they will be found wanting by any decent side with a bit of mettle.
Post by: Gael85 on April 10, 2016, 03:33:20 PM
Roscommon full back line scoring their forwards how to score. That scored 3 from play now  :)
Post by: Never beat the deeler on April 10, 2016, 03:35:28 PM
Score?
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 03:36:26 PM
Kerry 3-15 Rossies 0-14
Post by: Zulu on April 10, 2016, 03:37:59 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 03:30:41 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 10, 2016, 03:23:40 PM

?

Sorry, poorly worded. I mean that they have a decent team/squad, one that is better than the majority of those in Ireland, however if they are to win Connacht championships, division 1 leagues and All Irelands then they need a few more players capable of playing top level IC football.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 03:44:34 PM
If Roscommon played in Ulster they'd be the 7th best team there.
Post by: macdanger2 on April 10, 2016, 03:48:55 PM
Tough day for the Rossies (lord knows we've had enough of them ourselves) but it shows these players where they need to be so if McStay and the team can learn from today then this shouldn't be a major setback
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 03:50:12 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 03:44:34 PM

So who are the six better teams? Looking forward to you naming them!
Post by: maigheo on April 10, 2016, 03:51:38 PM
This is a stupid argument not worth replying to
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 03:53:01 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 03:50:12 PM

Well they've been dumped out in the past 3 Championships by three of them - Fermanagh, Armagh and Tyrone.

Then there is Donegal, Monaghan and Derry. I would probably rank Cavan ahead of them by the end of this Championship campaign. So I'd have them 8th, ahead of Antrim and Down at the end of this year's Championship.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 04:03:36 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 03:53:01 PM

Well they've been dumped out in the past 3 Championships by three of them - Fermanagh, Armagh and Tyrone.

Then there is Donegal, Monaghan and Derry. I would probably rank Cavan ahead of them by the end of this Championship campaign. So I'd have them 8th, ahead of Antrim and Down at the end of this year's Championship.

Ah man, you are all over the place there!  Donegal, Monaghan and Tyrone and after that you are clutching at straws!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 04:13:39 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 04:03:36 PM

Ah man, you are all over the place there!  Donegal, Monaghan and Tyrone and after that you are clutching at straws!

Clutching at straws??????????????

Fermanagh dumped them out of last year's Championship.
Armagh dumped them out of the 2014 Championship.

Roscommon have done nothing of note in Championship football in 15 odd years.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 04:17:09 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 04:13:39 PM

But we are not talking about the last 15 years. We are talking about the present!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 04:26:10 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 04:17:09 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 04:13:39 PM

But we are not talking about the last 15 years. We are talking about the present!

Yes we are and Roscommon have been knocked out of Championship by 3 different Ulster sides in the past 3 years. They have done nothing at Championship level.
Post by: maigheo on April 10, 2016, 04:40:47 PM
El Bomber do you always have to tear down every body?Try posting some thing positive for a change
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 04:52:31 PM
Quote from: maigheo on April 10, 2016, 04:40:47 PM
El Bomber do you always have to tear down every body?Try posting some thing positive for a change

Il Bomber - I'm Italian.

My postings are a reaction to the circumstances. A lot of the Roscommon lads are utterly delusional as to the level their team are at, they have a badly misplaced arrogance to football matters. They haven't done anything significant at Championship level in quite some time, in fact when was the last time they actually beat the big two in Connacht (Mayo and Galway) in Championship football? They want to run with the wolves while they aren't even able to spar with cubs. They should lose some of the delusionaly gained superiority complex they have over other minnows until they actually go and do something of note at Championship.

An average team with delusional fans, that's the reality of the matter but sometimes the truth can hurt.
Post by: Rudi on April 10, 2016, 04:54:04 PM

Yeah he needs to get a girlfriend or something. Every comment is dark and negative. On the game itself very bad beating, in reality this was twice the 10 point hammering we got. Small full back line was shown up badly. Need a sweeper in the fullback line. Bet all over the park. Still think outside the big 3 we can compete. Kerry when they did not have the ball pressed up on us and squeezed the bejaysus out of us. Ref again was shocking for both sides, this really is a major issue that needs dealing with.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 04:56:46 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 04:52:31 PM

Il Bomber - I'm Italian.

My postings are a reaction to the circumstances. A lot of the Roscommon lads are utterly delusional as to the level their team are at, they have a badly misplaced arrogance to football matters. They haven't done anything significant at Championship level in quite some time, in fact when was the last time they actually beat the big two in Connacht (Mayo and Galway) in Championship football? They want to run with the wolves while they aren't even able to spar with cubs. They should lose some of the delusionaly gained superiority complex they have over other minnows until they actually go and do something of note at Championship.

An average team with delusional fans, that's the reality of the matter but sometimes the truth can hurt.

Ah there is no harm in a bit of hope. They have had a few decent underage teams who have taught both Galway and Mayo lessons the last couple of years, so naturally there is hope and a bit of confidence emerging.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 05:02:18 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 04:56:46 PM

Il Bomber - I'm Italian.

Ah there is no harm in a bit of hope. They have had a few decent underage teams who have taught both Galway and Mayo lessons the last couple of years, so naturally there is hope and a bit of confidence emerging.

There's a difference between confidence and arrogance, and if there is a fine line between both then Roscommon have exceeded it by the proverbial country mile.
Post by: T Fearon on April 10, 2016, 08:15:32 PM
I hear Roscommon fans were happily paying €10 euros for buses to get them out of Croke Park at half time today😂
Post by: Ringfort on April 10, 2016, 08:34:40 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 05:02:18 PM

Il Bomber - I'm Italian.

There's a difference between confidence and arrogance, and if there is a fine line between both then Roscommon have exceeded it by the proverbial country mile.

You are the most tiresome poster on this site. Let the Ros stuff go will you. I don't know where you get this notion of arrogance from. Ros people are mad about football, not arrogant.

Anyway, destroyed today all over by a real top side. We have several deficiencies we may or may not be able to rectify. However we're going far better than we have been in years so it's still happy days for me and let's hope we can do something in Connacht this year for a change.
Post by: INDIANA on April 10, 2016, 08:45:31 PM

Il Bomber - I'm Italian.

It's eight years since Tyrone won a senior AI.
Post by: Rossfan on April 10, 2016, 08:56:40 PM
Home tired and dissapointed at our poor performance and some of the silly things we did today.
Not helped by the ignorant rantings of the Tymoan twerp or Tony's feeble attempt at comedy.
Maybe they'd enlighten us on how their Counties got on today ;D
Hopefully a lot learned from today by management.
If so and improvements can be implemented then today will have been a valuable exercise.
The aim was to stay in D1 and that's achieved with 2 games to spare.
The last 3 games have shown us how far we still have to go.
On to the Championship where the aim is reach a Connacht Final and hopefully an AI qtr final.
Post by: bigpackiechestout on April 10, 2016, 09:01:30 PM
Kerry lads - what's the story with tommy Walsh?  Is there any sign of him making the team? Noticed he didn't play again today (maybe he's injured), I know he didn't play much last year but after he made a couple of late appearances of the bench towards the end of last year's championship i thought he would have pushed on again this year. Is he showing up well when he plays for his club?
Post by: lenny on April 10, 2016, 09:02:52 PM
Quote from: Ringfort on April 10, 2016, 08:34:40 PM

Il Bomber - I'm Italian.

You are the most tiresome poster on this site. Let the Ros stuff go will you. I don't know where you get this notion of arrogance from. Ros people are mad about football, not arrogant.

Anyway, destroyed today all over by a real top side. We have several deficiencies we may or may not be able to rectify. However we're going far better than we have been in years so it's still happy days for me and let's hope we can do something in Connacht this year for a change.

He's only trying to sledge you. It's a Tyrone thing.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 10, 2016, 09:06:44 PM
Hard luck Ross and f**k the begrudgers!
Maybe it's all for the best as you now know what it's like to face a top side at full throttle. It's a learning exercise and ye will benefit from the lessons to be learnt. From mid-Div3 , through Div2 and then through the Premier Div as far as the semis is nothing to be sneezed at.
We'll see how you have come on if we meet in the Connacht Final!
Post by: Syferus on April 10, 2016, 09:08:58 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 10, 2016, 08:56:40 PM
Home tired and dissapointed at our poor performance and some of the silly things we did today.
Not helped by the ignorant rantings of the Tymoan twerp or Tony's feeble attempt at comedy.
Maybe they'd enlighten us on how their Counties got on today ;D
Hopefully a lot learned from today by management.
If so and improvements can be implemented then today will have been a valuable exercise.
The aim was to stay in D1 and that's achieved with 2 games to spare.
The last 3 games have shown us how far we still have to go.
On to the Championship where the aim is reach a Connacht Final and hopefully an AI qtr final.

When Neil finds out where the FB line is they'll all be frigged anyways.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 09:32:39 PM
Tough day in the office. Luckily for Roscommon they had Kerry rather than the Dubs. Kerry take the foot off the pedal once a game is won and try to minimise injuries and give squad members game time. They also practice defensive and offensive formations. Anyway, all is not lost, a top level game in Croker, Division One retained and enough time to forget about today come championship. I do think that the Under 21's and no Club involved in the AI Club series has/will help focus for the rest of the year. I said this 100 times last year - Roscommon peaked for the FBD and Division 2 campaign last year. They were flat going into the championship and had important players carrying injuries. I do believe they have came up a level early again this year (which they had to do) and it is important for them to get themselves for what lies ahead in Championship. Time to go away and hide for a few weeks and let the Gaa media find the next darlings to write about
Post by: Hound on April 10, 2016, 09:36:58 PM
Quote from: bigpackiechestout on April 10, 2016, 09:01:30 PM
Kerry lads - what's the story with tommy Walsh?  Is there any sign of him making the team? Noticed he didn't play again today (maybe he's injured), I know he didn't play much last year but after he made a couple of late appearances of the bench towards the end of last year's championship i thought he would have pushed on again this year. Is he showing up well when he plays for his club?
Tommy was there today. Looked fully fit, was warming up on the sideline. Surprised he didn't come on when Walsh went off injured, so seems to be well down the pecking order
Post by: Gael85 on April 10, 2016, 09:41:03 PM
Lads did anyone see Donaghy stamp on Fintan Cregg in first half?Donaghy gets away with a lot with referees

https://twitter.com/The_Abbeytonian/status/719163195970207745
Post by: AZOffaly on April 10, 2016, 09:46:44 PM
Saw it on telly. I'd be inclined to give him the benefit of the doubt there, with his big spidery legs I think it was just awkward. He was fairly apologetic about it.

I was very surprised at the naive Roscommon defending. Not so much defending the balls into the full forward line, which was very poor, but just the inability of Ros to hold up or check the Kerry man in possession. They constantly just sidestepped and ran away from defenders. Very poor basics in terms of footwork, near hand tackling and body position.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 10, 2016, 09:47:05 PM
Quote from: Ringfort on April 10, 2016, 08:34:40 PM

Il Bomber - I'm Italian.

Might want to have a word with a few of fellow county men so.
Post by: Syferus on April 10, 2016, 10:07:01 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on April 10, 2016, 09:41:03 PM
Lads did anyone see Donaghy stamp on Fintan Cregg in first half?Donaghy gets away with a lot with referees

He also gave Claffey a shove into the goalpost after the ball had went dead.  Reckless,  brainless,  dirty shite.  But no one expects any less from him at this stage. The worst thing Mayo did the last decade was prolonging his career.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 10:10:21 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 10, 2016, 10:07:01 PM

He also gave Claffey a shove into the goalpost after the ball had went dead.  Reckless,  brainless,  dirty shite.  But no one expects any less from him at this stage. The worst thing Mayo did the last decade was prolonging his career.

Sorry it was Cormac 'Do what you like Ciaran' Reilly who did that!
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 10, 2016, 10:15:32 PM

Can't see Donaghy being out the middle come August, a useful ball winner but looked a long way off the pace at times in the last 20 minutes. If Kerry had Maher playing there it would improve them a bit.

Roscommon will be happy enough not to be completely humiliated but their team is lacking in a lot of areas and as someone mentioned earlier their full back line was badly exposed while their full forward line was isolated with a Kerry sweeper dominating. Something not right tactically there. They kept plugging away though.
Post by: Jinxy on April 10, 2016, 10:25:24 PM
They should swap the FF and FB lines.
Post by: ck on April 10, 2016, 11:01:18 PM
All part of the learning curve for Rossies today. They'll win Connacht this year
Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 10, 2016, 11:28:10 PM
Only saw some of the game today but was there a combined total of 50 steps for two of the Kerry goals? Darren O'S took about 10, was pulled down, got back up for another 10 and stuck it away. Shocking reffing
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2016, 11:39:18 PM
Yeah Donnacha Walsh done a Jig of steps for his goal. But you'll rarely get pulled up in such a position.
Post by: Rossfan on April 10, 2016, 11:43:07 PM
Forwards can do what they like but poor oul backs can't even approach a forward nowadays.
Mind you most of our backs were so far away from their men.......

New York probably won't fear Roscommon now :-\
Post by: Ringfort on April 10, 2016, 11:44:44 PM
Regarding the "learning curve" narrative I'm hearing about Ros, do players learn much in the twilight of their career?

Cos Ros have the likes of McDermott, I Kilbride, S Kilbride, C Cregg, F Cregg, Claffey, Keenan, D Shine, Purcell, Devanney etc that are about years and slogged in division 4 a few years ago.

I get the impression there's a perception that this is a young ,green team full of u21 when in reality it's a mix of youth and old heads. Will the old heads be improving anything at this late stage?

Post by: Syferus on April 10, 2016, 11:49:00 PM
Quote from: Ringfort on April 10, 2016, 11:44:44 PM
Regarding the "learning curve" narrative I'm hearing about Ros, do players learn much in the twilight of their career?

Cos Ros have the likes of McDermott, I Kilbride, S Kilbride, C Cregg, F Cregg, Claffey, Keenan, D Shine, Purcell, Devanney etc that are about years and slogged in division 4 a few years ago.

I get the impression there's a perception that this is a young ,green team full of u21 when in reality it's a mix of youth and old heads. Will the old heads be improving anything at this late stage?

Both Creggs and Dev were among our best players this year. Shine looks to be getting back to form too. Purcell and Claffey have shone in spots too. Ian Kilbride was going well before injuries derailed his league. Fintan Cregg, Dev, Purcell and Claffey weren't even on the panel last year so how well they've adapted to D1 football is impressive tbh, if it wasn't for them we'd be back down to D2 next year.
Post by: larryin89 on April 10, 2016, 11:51:54 PM

Ffs don't be tellin people Donie shine and fintan cregg are 3 years older than AOS
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 11, 2016, 12:01:40 AM
In terms of talent at their disposal Roscommon are definitely a top 10 team. To close the gap on Mayo they will need to develop an effective defensive system and a hard edge. They don't seem apparent yet.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 11, 2016, 12:07:22 AM

You always need the experienced heads there. Ok so the older heads don't have the experience of some counties. But it's still experience. Also a bit more muscle and cuteness comes with age.

A word of warning. You'll get a lot of plámásing here from Mayo, Kerry and Dublin supporters now that they don't see you as an immediate threat anymore. Don't get sucked in to their web of lies about how they think you are a top ten team, very young and have a bright future.
Post by: Syferus on April 11, 2016, 12:26:14 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 11, 2016, 12:07:22 AM

No one bought the hype so I doubt they'll buy the rebranded version of it. I doubt McStay and FOD will be losing any sleep about the narrative switching to Dublin and Kerry nationally and Mayo's procession to six in a row in Connacht.

You always need the experienced heads there. Ok so the older heads don't have the experience of some counties. But it's still experience. Also a bit more muscle and cuteness comes with age.

A word of warning. You'll get a lot of plámásing here from Mayo, Kerry and Dublin supporters now that they don't see you as an immediate threat anymore. Don't get sucked in to their web of lies about how they think you are a top ten team, very young and have a bright future.
Post by: The Aristocrat on April 11, 2016, 09:08:49 AM

Accidental.

I don't like Donaghy but wish people would stop with the witch hunts against high profile players and teams. Everything slowed down to the mili second.

Post by: Rudi on April 11, 2016, 10:47:24 AM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 11, 2016, 12:01:40 AM
In terms of talent at their disposal Roscommon are definitely a top 10 team. To close the gap on Mayo they will need to develop an effective defensive system and a hard edge. They don't seem apparent yet.

Top 10 team. Well Kerry, Dublin and Mayo are miles ahead of us. Tyrone and Donegal are a good bit ahead of us. Monaghan, Cork & Cavan are on parity, after that you can forget about it. Its worrying to see how far the top 3 are ahead of everybody else. Looks like the championship starts at the All Ireland Semi Final stage again. Galway are dire bad under Walsh, not a prayer of them beating Mayo, would not give them much of a chance against ourselves to be honest.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 11, 2016, 11:08:51 AM
It's no harm looking at each controversial incident Aristocrat in slow motion but I think Donaghy was genuinely trying to get out of the way here and misjudged it. Of course we don't know for sure but I'd say it still hurt.

I think the whole process is way too random. Some incidents get looked at my the CCCC and some don't.
How McCarthy's eye poking incident didn't get punished is really a mystery to me.
I wish it was all much more open and reasons made public for why some are punished and some are not.
Post by: Syferus on April 11, 2016, 08:13:18 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cfr8QqwWsAAi_y_.jpg)

https://twitter.com/SportsJOEdotie/status/719164469075668992

If anyone still doubts the true nature of Kerry under Fitzmaurice.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 11, 2016, 08:48:44 PM
Quote from: Rudi on April 11, 2016, 10:47:24 AM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 11, 2016, 12:01:40 AM

Top 10 team. Well Kerry, Dublin and Mayo are miles ahead of us. Tyrone and Donegal are a good bit ahead of us. Monaghan, Cork & Cavan are on parity, after that you can forget about it. Its worrying to see how far the top 3 are ahead of everybody else. Looks like the championship starts at the All Ireland Semi Final stage again. Galway are dire bad under Walsh, not a prayer of them beating Mayo, would not give them much of a chance against ourselves to be honest.
In fairness Roscommon beat Donegal a few weeks ago in Letterkenny, Donegal are on a five game losing run their older players no longer influencing the game like they once were and Cavan,Monaghan,Tyrone are all more likely to win Ulster than them this summer.

Roscommon also hammered Cork in Cork and they were relegated to Div two what puts them on parity? Cavan improving however they lost their last two championship games against Roscommon didn't they?

I think it will be the same last four in the All Ireland semi finals this summer. Kerry,Tyrone,Mayo,Dublin with the winner of Kerry v Dublin to win the All Ireland. Far too predictable the GAA championship has become and it is crying out for a few other teams to rise up and start challenging.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 11, 2016, 08:59:53 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 11, 2016, 08:48:44 PM
I think it will be the same last four in the All Ireland semi finals this summer. Kerry,Tyrone,Mayo,Dublin with the winner of Kerry v Dublin to win the All Ireland. Far too predictable the GAA championship has become and it is crying out for a few other teams to rise up and start challenging.

Very hard to make the breakthrough without money and very hard to raise money without success so it is a vicious circle. Roscommon and Cavan have been going in the right direction but are hitting a ceiling when it comes to senior level, coincidentally spending far less than the big 3. The only other possibility is another genius like Jim McGuinness coming through somewhere but that won't happen often.
Post by: Syferus on April 11, 2016, 09:03:59 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 11, 2016, 08:59:53 PM

Very hard to make the breakthrough without money and very hard to raise money without success so it is a vicious circle. Roscommon and Cavan have been going in the right direction but are hitting a ceiling when it comes to senior level, coincidentally spending far less than the big 3. The only other possibility is another genius like Jim McGuinness coming through somewhere but that won't happen often.

McGuiness was flooded with money.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 11, 2016, 09:06:35 PM

Not true. Roscommon spent more money than Tyrone last year. Roscommon are giving it everything they have to these players......
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 11, 2016, 09:07:39 PM
I know he got a lot of bills paid from supporters but the county board spending was nothing out of the ordinary when it comes to the official accounts.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 11, 2016, 09:09:26 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 11, 2016, 09:06:35 PM

Not true. Roscommon spent more money than Tyrone last year. Roscommon are giving it everything they have to these players......

I meant Dublin, Kerry and Mayo as the big 3. Mayo are being squeezed financially too lately but spent big enough getting to where they are.

Tyrone are exceptionally well run but are still a long way off challenging in my opinion.
Post by: Syferus on April 11, 2016, 09:10:13 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 11, 2016, 09:07:39 PM
I know he got a lot of bills paid from supporters but the county board spending was nothing out of the ordinary when it comes to the official accounts.

Official account mean fùck all for the Mayos and the Donegals. Most of the money isn't on the books and Mayo's semi-hilarious public spat with Horan for privately fundraising for team activities out in NY highlights that very brightly.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 11, 2016, 09:17:05 PM
With respect to Donegal I haven't seen any evidence that they were spending anything overly remarkable in comparison to other counties. In 2012 they went to Portugal for a week but a lot of other counties do the same while 2014 seen a week in Johnstown Bridge. Their backroom teams never seemed huge either.
I'd still stand by the claim that their spending would not be on a level anywhere near Dublin and would have been below Kerry's Kerry Group spend and was surely below what Horan was spending in Mayo.
Post by: Rossfan on April 11, 2016, 09:20:48 PM

Ros have more transparent accounts obviously ;) and no chape dodgy diesel either.
Anyway most of our players are based a long way out of the County.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 11, 2016, 09:27:39 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 11, 2016, 09:10:13 PM

Official account mean fùck all for the Mayos and the Donegals. Most of the money isn't on the books and Mayo's semi-hilarious spat with Horan for privately financing team activities out in NY highlights that very brightly.

Are the official accounts even worth considering given there are so many other ways to provide funds (and services) to intercounty teams ?
Post by: Syferus on April 11, 2016, 09:33:15 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 11, 2016, 09:27:39 PM

Official account mean fùck all for the Mayos and the Donegals. Most of the money isn't on the books and Mayo's semi-hilarious spat with Horan for privately financing team activities out in NY highlights that very brightly.

Are the official accounts even worth considering given there are so many other ways to provide funds (and services) to intercounty teams ?

If we ever want to get serious about leveling the playing field financially the first thing that needs to be implemented is oversight on accounts and budgets on county team spending. The only way to do that properly is putting the fear of God into counties by imposing serious fines if they are found to be fudging numbers. Until the GAA starts addressing the money imbalance properly no amount of fluting about with schedules or underage competitions will improve the product on the field.
Post by: larryin89 on April 11, 2016, 09:33:33 PM

Official account mean fùck all for the Mayos and the Donegals. Most of the money isn't on the books and Mayo's semi-hilarious public spat with Horan for privately fundraising for team activities out in NY highlights that very brightly.

What does that even mean ya fookin muppet ? Ros spent more than Mayo last year sin e and the other muppet above goin on about transparent accounts , you are kidding me . Sugar daddies in Ross are well known .
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 11, 2016, 09:42:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 11, 2016, 09:20:48 PM

Ros have more transparent accounts obviously ;) and no chape dodgy diesel either.
Anyway most of our players are based a long way out of the County.

Roscommon have one of the biggest spending budgets in the country, obviously. Most counties have a high amount of their players based out of their county.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 11, 2016, 10:01:19 PM

True and Jim McGuinness is probably a one off for Donegal.

Cavan,Roscommon spending any high amount of cash will likely leave them in debt for many years to come Kerry and Dublin have no such worries as any high spending they do the money will continue to keep flowing in.
Post by: fearsiuil on April 11, 2016, 11:20:03 PM
Mayo could not afford the present Roscommon management ticket, all off book. Who's your daddy!
Post by: Rossfan on April 11, 2016, 11:28:26 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on April 11, 2016, 11:20:03 PM
Mayo could not afford the present Roscommon management ticket, all off book. Who's your daddy!
If we had a "daddy"
If I knew who such an alleged person was
I WOULDN'T EFFIN POST IT HERE.
Post by: Crete Boom on April 12, 2016, 12:12:42 AM

In fairness Syferus the facts and truth mean f**k all to you when you are trying to win an argument but feel free to tell me how your forensic analysis of Mayo's financial accounts proves your infallible post above and while your at it , I am sure we would all love a line by line opinion on the Statement of Financial Position and the Income Statement from the latest set of Mayo accounts!!

Maybe you could reveal how those financial svengalis of the Mayo County board are filtering through all this off the books mountains of cash but as a must you have to tell me which, if any at all, Companies Act these accounts are prepared under??I am sure our county board would happy for a freebie auditors opinion on the truth and fairness of the financial position of the Co Board in relation to their financial statements. Remember though all audit evidence must be sufficient and appropriate ( a line out of a Western people article quoting a question at the county board convention probably isn't sufficient or appropriate though and neither is bar stool wisdom unfortunately!!!!)

I await my evitable intellectual humbling from you and hope to understand the complexity of the explanation of how naive and wrong I am with bated breath!!!! ;D ;D

Yours Sincerely ,
The man outside with the cash in a Dunne's Stores bag!! ;)
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 12, 2016, 12:34:14 AM
Quote from: fearsiuil on April 11, 2016, 11:20:03 PM
Afford was nothing to do with it as Mayo didn't want McHale on their management and McStay wouldn't work without him. Mayo were well able to afford the expensive management team of Rochford,Buckley,McEntee
Post by: Syferus on April 12, 2016, 12:35:22 AM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 12, 2016, 12:12:42 AM

In fairness Syferus the facts and truth mean f**k all to you when you are trying to win an argument but feel free to tell me how your forensic analysis of Mayo's financial accounts proves your infallible post above and while your at it , I am sure we would all love a line by line opinion on the Statement of Financial Position and the Income Statement from the latest set of Mayo accounts!!

Maybe you could reveal how those financial svengalis of the Mayo County board are filtering through all this off the books mountains of cash but as a must you have to tell me which, if any at all, Companies Act these accounts are prepared under??I am sure our county board would happy for a freebie auditors opinion on the truth and fairness of the financial position of the Co Board in relation to their financial statements. Remember though all audit evidence must be sufficient and appropriate ( a line out of a Western people article quoting a question at the county board convention probably isn't sufficient or appropriate though and neither is bar stool wisdom unfortunately!!!!)

I await my evitable intellectual humbling from you and hope to understand the complexity of the explanation of how naive and wrong I am with bated breath!!!! ;D ;D

Yours Sincerely ,

Yer county board had a public spat about it after they got their backs up when H&C were exiled by your players last Autumn. Still sore about Horan not being accountable for fundraising he did off in the US, the same tour where he created another needless division by refusing to let the panel attend a CB-organised function.

If you really think all Mayo's fundraising is on the books then more's the fool you.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 12, 2016, 10:50:39 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 12, 2016, 12:35:22 AM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 12, 2016, 12:12:42 AM

Yours Sincerely ,

Yer county board had a public spat about it after they got their backs up when H&C were exiled by your players last Autumn. Still sore about Horan not being accountable for fundraising he did off in the US, the same tour where he created another needless division by refusing to let the panel attend a CB-organised function.

If you really think all Mayo's fundraising is on the books then more's the fool you.
Bejaysus Syf, you have a truly fertile imagination!
You are the first and only one to claim Horan refused to let the players attend a CB-organised function.
From newspaper accounts and from people who were there with the team, the story wasn't quite as colourful as your version of events.
Eugene Lavin organised the reception and the CB and the team thought it was  fund-raiser; Horan was iffy at best as he felt having the players attend and meet and greet the big wigs there would be a distraction and upset his schedule for the team. But, as is the custom with all Connacht counties who go there, it was to be a fundraiser for the county coffers plain and simple.
CB felt they were getting the funds and were in favour of some of the panel attending. Then, just before the event, it turned out that Eugene Lavin had organised the reception off his own bat and wherever the funds were going, it wasn't to the CB. Neither the board or Horan wanted any more of that and neither CB or team members turned up.
And that m'lud is the reality.
Even if it wasn't, how do you think Horan would go about organising a private fundraiser without the CB knowing?
The whole idea of this pointless exercise is to get wealthy folks with Mayo connections turn up, mix & mingle and sign a cheque for the cause. That's always been the case and it will be the reason Roscommon will send a team to the Big Apple. Same goes for all other Connacht counties. Bet ya thought they go out to play a game of football. ;D

Post by: trueblue1234 on April 12, 2016, 10:57:04 AM
Syferus doesn't tend to let facts get in the way of his posts.
Post by: Rossfan on April 12, 2016, 10:59:25 AM
As far as I recall Fergal kept the panel away from some NY local fundraisers in 2011 which ruffled a lot of non GAA NY based feathers.
Didn't the Galway team get caught up in a load of that in 2010 and had a narrow shave as a result.

The real heroes though are the poor oul Connacht Council people who have to go over there for a week to ensure all goes well on the day.
Post by: westbound on April 12, 2016, 11:03:23 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 12, 2016, 10:59:25 AM
As far as I recall Fergal kept the panel away from some NY local fundraisers in 2011 which ruffled a lot of non GAA NY based feathers.
Didn't the Galway team get caught up in a load of that in 2010 and had a narrow shave as a result.

The real heroes though are the poor oul Connacht Council people who have to go over there for a week to ensure all goes well on the day.

LOL
Post by: maigheo on April 12, 2016, 11:47:49 AM
Think you are getting your names mixed up Lar. Eugene Rooney instead of Lavin
Post by: twohands!!! on April 12, 2016, 12:42:45 PM

Often wondered how it is that the trip to the US is a Connacht only affair - anyone know how the Connacht lads swung that one back in the day? I'd imagine there are a fair few other county board and provincial council members who would be willing to endure the hardship of a trip to the States every so often.
Post by: mayo.mick on April 12, 2016, 12:59:53 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 12, 2016, 12:42:45 PM

Often wondered how it is that the trip to the US is a Connacht only affair - anyone know how the Connacht lads swung that one back in the day? I'd imagine there are a fair few other county board and provincial council members who would be willing to endure the hardship of a trip to the States every so often.

You'd have to feel for the poor Connacht council bucks, they don't get much of a break, from the trip to the big apple at the beginning of May, and the trip to London at the end of May, EVERY YEAR!
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 12, 2016, 01:06:39 PM
Quote from: maigheo on April 12, 2016, 11:47:49 AM
Think you are getting your names mixed up Lar. Eugene Rooney instead of Lavin
The oul' memory is slipping. You are right.
Post by: Rossfan on April 12, 2016, 02:39:02 PM
Might be time to lock up this thread Ballagh  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on April 12, 2016, 02:42:12 PM

From what I recall the CC in the interests of reaching out to our exiles - ( highest percentage would be from Connacht anyway) and seeing as London was already with us invited the NY Co Board to participate in the Connacht championship.
First NY came here but as a lot of their players were illegal aliens they started bleating about Connacht Counties being afraid to go face them over there so the Connacht Council "called their bluff"  ;D
Post by: muppet on April 12, 2016, 03:37:40 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 12, 2016, 02:42:12 PM

From what I recall the CC in the interests of reaching out to our exiles - ( highest percentage would be from Connacht anyway) and seeing as London was already with us invited the NY Co Board to participate in the Connacht championship.
First NY came here but as a lot of their players were illegal aliens they started bleating about Connacht Counties being afraid to go face them over there so the Connacht Council "called their bluff"  ;D

Are there not more Connacht exiles to be reached out to?

I'm thinking about Dubai Pearses, Hawaii Mitchels, Byron Bay the Ballagh, Belize Round Towers, Cape Town Gaels etc............
Post by: Canalman on April 12, 2016, 03:53:12 PM
Always good for the mandatory photo in the "Year of Sundays" book of someone in a county jersey pictured on the subway going to the game surrounded by New Yorkers.

Post by: twohands!!! on April 12, 2016, 10:14:44 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 12, 2016, 02:42:12 PM

Yeah that matches what I have in my head but I'm still kinda surprised the other 3 provincial councils let them away with it for so long. I wonder will the fact that Kerry picked up a few million for their centre of excellence from the States make other county boards consider the US as a fundraising option.
I remember the furore about the illegals and the fear about getting stopped by emigration going back into the US. Good thing is that issue seems to have mostly disappeared. Had a neighbour who was over in Chicago for 16 years as an illegal and missed both his parents funerals before he got his status sorted  - now he's over and back 2-3 times a year.
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2016, 01:03:04 AM

Look at that linesman right there. Christ above. What's the point of officials?
Post by: From the Bunker on April 13, 2016, 01:48:28 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 13, 2016, 01:03:04 AM

Not a fan of Saint Kieran. But it's hard to judge how much he meant that! It's nearly impossible. Let it go Syferus, it wont do any faavours dwelling on it!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 13, 2016, 08:39:39 AM

Nice swan dive from the Roscommon player.
Post by: Rossfan on April 13, 2016, 09:12:44 AM
Twould take a Tymoanie to judge that kind of thing.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 13, 2016, 12:04:01 PM

Anyone who thinks that was deliberate has never set foot on a football pitch in his life. To think he would have the poise and wherewithal to think and react to the situation is ridiculous. As much as I dislike Donaghy and think he's a tr**p theres nothing to see here.

Maybe if the rossie didn't fire himself to the ground after a hand in the back he wouldn't have got a boot to the face though
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2016, 12:12:48 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 13, 2016, 12:04:01 PM

Anyone who thinks that was deliberate has never set foot on a football pitch in his life. To think he would have the poise and wherewithal to think and react to the situation is ridiculous. As much as I dislike Donaghy and think he's a tr**p theres nothing to see here.

Maybe if the rossie didn't fire himself to the ground after a hand in the back he wouldn't have got a boot to the face though

Shameful post. I expect that of other posters but I thought Mayo people had more cop on.

Even in your world where non-intent can be definitely established (lol, to say the least) it was a stonewall sending off offense. He should have had a nice long suspension to go with it too.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 13, 2016, 12:50:56 PM
Sent off for what exactly? Accidentally catching a lad who had fired himself to the ground?
By the letter of the law it was a black card for the dive
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 13, 2016, 12:58:35 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2016, 09:12:44 AM

A dive is a dive. Going by the idignation and Screaming Mary theatrics of the Roscommon lads on here, they certainly don't like putting their own indiscretions under the same microscope they do with other teams.

Donaghy's contact was accidental and the Roscommon lad's dive was deliberate. It would take some biased, head in the sand attitude to take an alternative view of that incident.
Post by: thebuzz on April 13, 2016, 01:39:10 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 13, 2016, 12:58:35 PM

A dive is a dive. Going by the idignation and Screaming Mary theatrics of the Roscommon lads on here, they certainly don't like putting their own indiscretions under the same microscope they do with other teams.

Donaghy's contact was accidental and the Roscommon lad's dive was deliberate. It would take some biased, head in the sand attitude to take an alternative view of that incident.
He may have fell a little theatrically but he definitely was off balance enough to fall. I don't think it was a blatant dive.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 13, 2016, 03:03:26 PM
Quote from: thebuzz on April 13, 2016, 01:39:10 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 13, 2016, 12:58:35 PM

He may have fell a little theatrically but he definitely was off balance enough to fall. I don't think it was a blatant dive.

He takes a jump when throwing himself to the ground after feeling a hand on his back. A dive is a dive.
Post by: Rossfan on April 13, 2016, 03:17:37 PM
Push in back = foul even in HillBillyland.
Syfín - you need to calm down a biteen over Donaghy.

League is over, we're still in D1 so let's hope the Troika will have learnt a lot about our players.
Meanwile we'll look forward to the Championship.
Post by: Zulu on April 13, 2016, 03:27:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 13, 2016, 12:12:48 PM

Shameful post. I expect that of other posters but I thought Mayo people had more cop on.

Even in your world where non-intent can be definitely established (lol, to say the least) it was a stonewall sending off offense. He should have had a nice long suspension to go with it too.

Cop on will ya! You say 'non-intent' can't be established so how can intent? And if intent can't be proved how can it be a stone wall sending off, with a long suspension to boot? The gas thing is, if that had been a Roscommon guy hurdling Donaghy and he clipped him on the head you'd dismiss any suggestion it was deliberate out of hand.
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 13, 2016, 03:33:27 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 13, 2016, 03:27:02 PM

Cop on will ya! You say 'non-intent' can't be established so how can intent? And if intent can't be proved how can it be a stone wall sending off, with a long suspension to boot? The gas thing is, if that had been a Roscommon guy hurdling Donaghy and he clipped him on the head you'd dismiss any suggestion it was deliberate out of hand.

It's what Syferus does. One of the biggest hypocrites on the board.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 13, 2016, 05:41:10 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2016, 03:17:37 PM

League is over, we're still in D1 so let's hope the Troika will have learnt a lot about our players.

It's a contact sport. Maybe part of the reason Roscommon have been so poor in recent years is they expect the referees to do the work for you.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 13, 2016, 06:32:12 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 13, 2016, 03:33:27 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 13, 2016, 03:27:02 PM

It's what Syferus does. One of the biggest hypocrites on the board.

I'd remove the "one of" there a more accurate description.
Post by: Rossfan on April 13, 2016, 06:36:19 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 13, 2016, 05:41:10 PM

It's a contact sport. Is it??- how come so you get sent off for striking or attempting to strike
Maybe part of the reason Roscommon have been so poor in recent years is they expect the referees to do the work for you. Errr....how do players call a free if they're pushed in the back??Last I  heard only the Ref can give a free
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 13, 2016, 06:39:09 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2016, 06:36:19 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 13, 2016, 05:41:10 PM

It's a contact sport. Is it??- how come so you get sent off for striking or attempting to strike
Maybe part of the reason Roscommon have been so poor in recent years is they expect the referees to do the work for you. Errr....how do players call a free if they're pushed in the back??Last I  heard only the Ref can give a free

Yes, it's a contact sport, basketball is not a contact sport - this is not basketball.

It's a contact sport, it was a wee nudge, maybe Roscommon should go play ladies football.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 13, 2016, 06:41:12 PM
Bomber destro your frequent bile views directed at Roscommon is very tiresome at stage. Time for you to cop on and change that broken record.
Post by: Rossfan on April 13, 2016, 06:46:44 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 13, 2016, 06:41:12 PM
Bomber destro your frequent bile views directed at Roscommon is very tiresome at stage. Time for you to cop on and change that broken record.
+1.
He's one painful hillbilly
Post by: muppet on April 13, 2016, 06:50:33 PM
Don't like Donaghy at all. But looking at that, whatever his intent at the beginning, at the end I think he was trying to avoid any damage to the player's head and didn't plant his heel when he could have. I think he might have thought about it, but when the foot was commencing contact with the head he didn't put any weight on it and just managed to push it away from doing damage. Benefit of the doubt imho.

We have to remember these things happen in an instant and there wouldn't be much thinking.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 13, 2016, 07:31:39 PM

Ye can dish it out but can't take it.
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2016, 07:44:07 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 13, 2016, 06:50:33 PM
Don't like Donaghy at all. But looking at that, whatever his intent at the beginning, at the end I think he was trying to avoid any damage to the player's head and didn't plant his heel when he could have. I think he might have thought about it, but when the foot was commencing contact with the head he didn't put any weight on it and just managed to push it away from doing damage. Benefit of the doubt imho.

We have to remember these things happen in an instant and there wouldn't be much thinking.

You're getting caught up in the idea of intent and not the real point. A strike is a strike, a stamp is a stamp. Refs weren't so nice to Francie Grehan back in 2001 when he caught Lord Joyce or Eamonn McGee when he caught Enda Varley a few years back. Any boot near a player's face is incredibly dangerous and could cause long-term damage that persists long after someone's footballing days are over.
Post by: muppet on April 13, 2016, 07:54:49 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 13, 2016, 07:44:07 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 13, 2016, 06:50:33 PM

You're getting caught up in the idea of intent and not the real point. A strike is a strike, a stamp is a stamp. Refs weren't so nice to Francie Grehan back in 2001 when he caught Lord Joyce or Eamonn McGee when he caught Enda Varley a few years back. Any boot near a player's face is incredibly dangerous and could cause long-term damage that persists long after someone's footballing days are over.

Magee clearly stood on Varley's back, put his full weight on that foot and used it to step off the player. It has nothing to do with anyone's head and it had everything to do with intent. He was rightly red carded.

Donaghy appeared to me to try to avoid stamping. He doesn't allow his weight to come down on the player's head and he certainly didn't step off the player while his foot was on his head.

Like I said, benefit of the doubt for me.

The dive was more obvious though.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 13, 2016, 08:11:49 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 13, 2016, 07:31:39 PM

Ye can dish it out but can't take it.
The only reason you are dishing it out now towards Roscommon is because one of the Roscommon posters must have upset you. If you are that fragile then i think any online discussion board with conflicting views and can be heavily populated by wums is not the place for you.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 13, 2016, 09:37:38 PM

For what it's worth Ross it was definitely a free to Roscommon, a push in the back all day long but for Syf to suggest that because Donaghy couldn't avoid him he deserved a red and a long suspension is ridiculous, I would assume most Rossies can see that.
Post by: Rossfan on April 13, 2016, 09:56:09 PM
I wouldn't mind Syfín too much ::)
I didn't notice it at the game as I followed the ball and didn't hear anyone making anything of it around me.
Looking at the TV version hard to claim Donaghy did it deliberately so you'd have to give him the benefit of the doubt.
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2016, 10:02:38 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 13, 2016, 09:37:38 PM

For what it's worth Ross it was definitely a free to Roscommon, a push in the back all day long but for Syf to suggest that because Donaghy couldn't avoid him he deserved a red and a long suspension is ridiculous, I would assume most Rossies can see that.

A stamp is a stamp. To suggest otherwise is what's ridiculous. I'm done with this.
Post by: Zulu on April 13, 2016, 10:24:55 PM
Nonsense. Let me paint you a picture -

Roscommon are two points up in the dying embers of the All Ireland final and Dublin are chasing a goal, they lob a long high ball into the square in a desperate attempt to get the goal they need to save themselves. As the ball lands into the goal area a number of Roscommon defenders and Dublin forwards challenge for the high ball, one Ros defender attempts to punch it away but misses and strikes the back of the head of a Dublin forward. A strike being a strike, I presume you would agree it's a Dublin penalty and a sending off for the Roscommon defender (and a lengthy ban for such a cowardly and dangerous strike)? No intent whatsoever by the Roscommon defender but a strike, as you say, is a strike. The Roscommon defender is off, Dublin bury the penalty and Syferus spends many months defending the referee on gaaboard for making the correct call.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 13, 2016, 10:37:40 PM

I find it hard to say anything nice about Donaghy but of the rare times I do. I don't see anything premeditated in that foot-stamp.
Yer man went flying and wound up on the ground right in the quare fella's way. So Donaghy had to jump o try and get over him and landed awkwardly. As for the Rossie in question I don't think he took a deliberate dive. Donaghy clipped him on the ankle and tripped him up. IMO, neither  did anything wrong.
Post by: westbound on April 14, 2016, 09:18:02 AM
There is WAY too much being made of a nothing incident here. (Even if you think it might have been deliberate, what purpose does it serve going on about it now?)

We got a good beating fair and square last sunday. Time to stop moaning about Donaghy, learn from the game and move on.

NY in 2.5 weeks!

Post by: Rossfan on April 14, 2016, 10:35:19 AM
I suspect our management may have learnt a good bit about some of their own players last Sunday.
We need a new full back line, a chb, midfielder and 2 new full forwards.
My Championship team
Keeper
Murray McInerney Mullooly
Seànie Collins  one of the Dalys
Done Shine and one of the Dalys
Harney C Cregg E Smith
D Murtagh C Murtagh Connolly
Post by: theyellowbus on April 14, 2016, 11:33:23 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 14, 2016, 10:35:19 AM
I suspect our management may have learnt a good bit about some of their own players last Sunday.
My Championship team
Keeper
Harney C Cregg E Smith

Id go with that team with maybe collins and mullooly swapping and harney and c murtagh swapping.
I'm afraid relying on Senan Kilbride is just not an option anymore.
Too many stale or poor performances mixed in with the odd good performance.
We are missing one key element in our approach and it showed up against Mayo and Kerry and also last year in championship.We are just too nice.
We don't have players with an element of ruthlessness or aggressive behaviour which all the top sides have in their players.
Donaghy for Kerry,Connolly and McCarthy for Dublin,Keegan for Mayo,cavanagh for tyrone. All these lads have two things in common top class footballers and they take a level of aggression onto a pitch which is bordering on insanity.
Their not the only players in their respective sides with these traits but they are the men generally who will grab a game by the scruff of the neck and impose themselves on it with the rest following suit.
Whether we like it or not this is the way the game has gone you have to be man enough to be good enough and while playing nice silky football is grand it will only get you so far to reach the top you then have to be ruthless in your approach.
Teams like Dublin and Kerry will aspire to play good football but first and foremost they will impose themselves on their opposition and mentally break them down and all the cynical and borderline play will be brought out to ensure this.
Any one who watched Donaghy in the first 15 mins of that game last Sunday will see a man absolutely intent on making sure he was top dog in that area of the pitch and by any method necessary.Our lads didn't have a prayer because they couldn't live with that aggression plus they didn't want too or didn't know how too.
All of a sudden you have the the Kerry middle eight players just choking the life out of Roscommon and the platform is built.
Yes we can play but at the moment we have no stomach for a fight.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 14, 2016, 11:38:44 AM
My Championship team
Keeper
Harney C Cregg E Smith
Jaysus lads, If you come out of an 8 game league campaign, and reckon ye need 7 changes, including right down the spine of your defence and midfield, what the hell was the league all about? That would be a bit of an indictment of the management if that's the case. Whatever about 2 or lads, in wing or corner positions, that sort of surgery would be major.
Post by: Ryano on April 14, 2016, 12:04:52 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 13, 2016, 09:37:38 PM
For what it's worth Ross it was definitely a free to Roscommon, a push in the back all day long but for Syf to suggest that because Donaghy couldn't avoid him he deserved a red and a long suspension is ridiculous, I would assume most Rossies can see that

Yes we do, nothing in it for 99.9% of us. Was an accident, Donaghy is a big long 6'6", 15 odd stone, string of awkwardness. He was going full pelt after Cregg, fouled him, fell over him, got tangled in Creggs arm/legs and couldn't get his foot far enough forward to clear him and clipped the top of his head.

There was no reaction from Cregg, the Ref, Linesman and more importantly the other Rossie players. If they thought for a second it was deliberate we would have had a big smozzle, hand bags swinging, pushing, shoving and a few lads on their arses. 

Instead Donaghy waited beside Cregg until he got up, apologised and that was/is the end of it.
Post by: muppet on April 14, 2016, 12:09:53 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 14, 2016, 11:38:44 AM
My Championship team
Keeper
Harney C Cregg E Smith
Jaysus lads, If you come out of an 8 game league campaign, and reckon ye need 7 changes, including right down the spine of your defence and midfield, what the hell was the league all about? That would be a bit of an indictment of the management if that's the case. Whatever about 2 or lads, in wing or corner positions, that sort of surgery would be major.

That is exactly what I thought, but I figured I would be seen as simply Roscelona bashing so I said nothing.  :D
Post by: weareros on April 14, 2016, 01:13:09 PM
Team won't change drastically. Ros had a good few players injured and missing during the league with the likes of Donie, Cathal, Diarmuid Murtagh and David Keenan only seeing county football when Div 1 status was already secured. Ultan's only got a run with U21s.

Team I'd go with would be:

Claffey
Collins, Mullooly, McInerney
Conor Daly, Ian Kilbride, Nial Daly
Cathal Shine, Donie Shine
Enda Smith, Ciaran Murtagh, Cathal Cregg
Diarmuid Murtagh, Ultan Harney, Connolly

Post by: Rudi on April 14, 2016, 01:43:22 PM
Quote from: weareros on April 14, 2016, 01:13:09 PM
Team won't change drastically. Ros had a good few players injured and missing during the league with the likes of Donie, Cathal, Diarmuid Murtagh and David Keenan only seeing county football when Div 1 status was already secured. Ultan's only got a run with U21s.

Claffey

Jaysus thats awfull harsh on poor auld Dev and Fintan. Its going to be a hard team to pick. What has Ultan done to warrant inclusion, he was very poor verses Mayo U21.
Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2016, 01:59:03 PM
Quote from: Rudi on April 14, 2016, 01:43:22 PM
Quote from: weareros on April 14, 2016, 01:13:09 PM

Claffey

Jaysus thats awfull harsh on poor auld Dev and Fintan. Its going to be a hard team to pick. What has Ultan done to warrant inclusion, he was very poor verses Mayo U21.

Dev and Fintan were the players who enabled a lot of our fast, good football this year. Cannot see any case for Connolly over Dev if it came down to that, name him 15 and play him out the field in that case.
Post by: Rossfan on April 14, 2016, 03:38:37 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 14, 2016, 11:38:44 AM
Jaysus lads, If you come out of an 8 game league campaign, and reckon ye need 7 changes, including right down the spine of your defence and midfield, what the hell was the league all about? [/quote]

First 5 games was about staying in Div 1, fielding our strongest (perceived) available team usingonly fit or match sharp players.
With survival assured after 5 games the 3 games against the "Big 3" were used to give game time to lads returning from injury or world tours or whatever, to try out a couple of lads on the panel who hadn't got game time.
I strongly suspect last Sunday was an individual test for a lot of players to see what they were made of and what they might be like in a hoped for Connacht final.

Anyway we are only half way through Year 1 of a 4 year project so there could be many a change  along the road.

I see "weareros" is dropping Seanie and Davy Murray but including 2 Dalys in defence
Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2016, 03:52:49 PM
Dalys get too much abuse for their defending. Davy is your favourite child by the sounds of things but he's been caught napping plenty himself. All those players can do a good job if they're given roles that suit their skill-sets and they remain switched on for the whole match. Coaching the tackle and defensive systems are exactly why lads like David Casey (never replaced since he retired) and Liam McHale are there.
Post by: Tubberman on April 14, 2016, 04:12:43 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 14, 2016, 03:52:49 PM
Dalys get too much abuse for their defending. Davy is your favourite child by the sounds of things but he's been caught napping plenty himself. All those players can do a good job if they're given roles that suit their skill-sets and they remain switched on for the whole match. Coaching the tackle and defensive systems are exactly why lads like David Casey (never replaced since he retired) and Liam McHale are there.

Liam McHale - Noted defender and exponent of the tackle ;)
Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2016, 04:27:51 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 14, 2016, 04:12:43 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 14, 2016, 03:52:49 PM

Liam McHale - Noted defender and exponent of the tackle ;)

Casey and McHale are the defense and forward coaches respectively.
Post by: weareros on April 14, 2016, 04:52:17 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 14, 2016, 03:38:37 PM

I see "weareros" is dropping Seanie and Davy Murray but including 2 Dalys in defence

Love those players but if we learned anything we need more physically imposing players. Conor Daly also takes the games to the opposition and would rather be playing the game in their half of the field than ours. Feel we've given away too many goals by lack of height - led to the penalty versus Fermanagh last year (though a debatable penalty), two goals last Sunday. Lots of other goals I could mention. They are brilliant players and nothing to do with their football prowess, but more to do with the type of teams that are giving us trouble. If we are fortunate to make Connacht final, Mayo would steamroll us with their height and physical advantage in crucial areas of the field.
Post by: giveballaghback on April 14, 2016, 10:13:49 PM
First let me say the Donaghy incident was not a card offence, only Donaghy knows what he was trying to do and I think he made every effort to try and avoid stamping on Cregg.
Its amazing how one game changes all perspective about the team, yes there were always going to be changes for the championship but most of the changes will be in the way we set the team up. Once Kerry got the first couple of scores in the second half they knew there was no fight back in Roscommon and just put the brakes on.
Rossies have 3 hurdles to clear and nearly 3 months to regroup and prepare for a Connacht final showdown, if the cant clear the hurdles then they are not where we are hoping they are.
How will Ros set up if they do qualify for the final? after these last few Sundays no one knows.
I have been away since Monday and have only read some of the tripe written on this thread since Sunday, some of ye need to cop on, have a read back lads, Pudsy Ryan would be proud of it, now if ye dont know who the f   Pudsy is well thats more of it.
Post by: larryin89 on April 16, 2016, 06:27:54 AM
Aidan o Shea after opening a tk Max shop in Castlebar was seen in paddy power putting 2k on Roscommon to win Connacht .Hes always loved Roscommon .
Post by: Shrewdness on April 16, 2016, 02:19:01 PM
a bit like yourself larryin.