Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 07:23:46 AM

Title: howya horsebox and names that go with places
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 07:23:46 AM
I only know a few but the collective knowledge of the Board is far greater, nach ea ? 

In Co Galway people from Tuam are called Shams . Howya Sham
Dunmore is up the road. Howya Schcan
Derry is Mucker . Hi Mucker
Belfast has a few.  Hi Shafty, McCooey, Frankie, etc
Dublin has Bud. Howya Bud
Cork has words like Langer.

where do these come from? Any more? 
Title: Re: howya horsebox and names that go with places
Post by: ludermor on January 08, 2016, 08:25:35 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 07:23:46 AM
I only know a few but the collective knowledge of the Board is far greater, nach ea ? 

In Co Galway people from Tuam are called Shams . Howya Sham
Dunmore is up the road. Howya Schcan
Derry is Mucker . Hi Mucker
Belfast has a few.  Hi Shafty, McCooey, Frankie, etc
Dublin has Bud. Howya Bud
Cork has words like Langer.

where do these come from? Any more?
Birr - Mush
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2016, 08:37:11 AM
Shams would be common in other places.

Feen for lads and beure for girls in Cross but also in North Cork city around Mayfield and the like. It actually evolved out of Shelta or The Cant, the traveller language.
Post by: general_lee on January 08, 2016, 08:38:09 AM
Dungiven - sur
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 08, 2016, 09:23:26 AM
South Kildare/Carow - lad. Well lad!
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 09:30:19 AM
Horse, Boss, Bosco,
Post by: Snapchap on January 08, 2016, 09:41:16 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 08, 2016, 09:23:26 AM
South Kildare/Carow - lad. Well lad!
Nationwide, surely? Certainly the greeting of choice for young men in Tyrone too.
Post by: laoislad on January 08, 2016, 09:42:23 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 09:30:19 AM
Horse, Boss, Bosco,
Horse is the main one used in Laois anyway.
Post by: HiMucker on January 08, 2016, 09:44:59 AM
Have to say mucker is near dead in Derry now.  Still used by the older generation, but "lad" and "man" would be a lot more common
Post by: Declan on January 08, 2016, 10:31:24 AM
Storee Bud
Post by: illdecide on January 08, 2016, 11:00:25 AM
I hate the Belfast wans calling you mate...Alright mate...F*ck off i'm not your mate you we hood/sc**bag
Post by: Orior on January 08, 2016, 11:08:46 AM
Armagh city - cunto.
Post by: ziggy90 on January 08, 2016, 11:23:48 AM
Quote from: illdecide on January 08, 2016, 11:00:25 AM
I hate the Belfast wans calling you mate...Alright mate...F*ck off i'm not your mate you we hood/sc**bag

You'd be fighting all day long in Birmingham if you don't like being called mate!!
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 11:28:22 AM
Mate is very London too, innit.
I prefer "my son" as in Go on my son
Post by: 5 Sams on January 08, 2016, 11:29:20 AM
Newry hoods - "Any odds our fella"
Post by: tiempo on January 08, 2016, 12:06:32 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 08, 2016, 11:08:46 AM
Armagh city - cunto.

Lol
Post by: general_lee on January 08, 2016, 12:14:18 PM
Wannabe belfasties around Lurgan/Portadown say mate
Most others say chief
Seemingly all of Tyrone says lad
Letterkenny I think say sham
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 12:18:12 PM
Unrelated, but fresh in my mind. The Tipperary habit of saying 'Byebyebyebyebyebyebyebye' when finishing a phone call. I'm just after giving an hour ringing around to coaches in the club, and to a man, they all hang up with this Byebyebyebyebyebyebye thing. It cracks me up. The worst I've heard before is like 'OK so grand, good luck, bye, bye, bye'. Down here the byebyebye can be longer than the call :)
Post by: general_lee on January 08, 2016, 12:34:10 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 12:18:12 PM
Unrelated, but fresh in my mind. The Tipperary habit of saying 'Byebyebyebyebyebyebyebye' when finishing a phone call. I'm just after giving an hour ringing around to coaches in the club, and to a man, they all hang up with this Byebyebyebyebyebyebye thing. It cracks me up. The worst I've heard before is like 'OK so grand, good luck, bye, bye, bye'. Down here the byebyebye can be longer than the call :)
Rightyebebye is the no-nonsense offering up here in nordie land
Post by: laoislad on January 08, 2016, 12:35:03 PM
That's a nationwide thing I would have thought?
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 12:38:31 PM
I've never heard it as bad as the Tipp lads. Up home it would be two or three byes.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2016, 12:44:06 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 12:38:31 PM
I've never heard it as bad as the Tipp lads. Up home it would be two or three byes.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kpZbaz3Wlfw

3:43 example!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 08, 2016, 01:16:55 PM
Boy (pronounced bi) in Armagh.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 08, 2016, 01:48:58 PM
Spides in Belfast.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 08, 2016, 01:50:00 PM
We also have the term "mink" or "minker" in Sligo. Never heard it elsewhere. Not complimentary!
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 01:52:22 PM
Lala in Limerick. The La is pronounced as in Lab, as opposed to Law
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 08, 2016, 05:30:50 PM
McCooey's love to talk about culchies as a derogative term.
Post by: mouview on January 08, 2016, 09:01:46 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 08, 2016, 01:50:00 PM
We also have the term "mink" or "minker" in Sligo. Never heard it elsewhere. Not complimentary!

Thought that term originated in Tuam, cradle of alt. language for the archdiocese and indeed all of Connacht .
Post by: WT4E on September 28, 2016, 02:47:50 PM
Just thought I'd revive this one:

East Tyrone down by the loughshore:

Kid
'alright kid' when saying hello to another male
Post by: guy crouchback on September 28, 2016, 03:56:28 PM
mink would be a real ballina one as well mink (sc**bag), never heard minker just mink we also have  buer (female), fiend (male fool,ass) i think both of these would be general west coast traveler words as far as i recall  the writer kevin barry used them in ''the city of  Bohane'. wha hu (hello) i have only ever heard in ballina
Post by: StephenC on September 28, 2016, 03:57:50 PM
Quote from: guy crouchback on September 28, 2016, 03:56:28 PM
mink would be a real ballina one as well mink (sc**bag), never heard minker just mink we also have  buer (female), fiend (male fool,ass) i think both of these would be general west coast traveler words as far as i recall  the writer kevin barry used them in ''the city of  Bohane'. wha hu (hello) i have only ever heard in ballina

This is a great one. Only heard it in Ballina and most of Mayo have never heard it at all.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 29, 2016, 06:38:44 AM
Buff is commonly used in Ballina to describe a person not from the town. As in ya big Knockmore/Ardagh/Bonniconlon buff ya.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 29, 2016, 08:07:58 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 29, 2016, 06:38:44 AM
Buff is commonly used in Ballina to describe a person not from the town. As in ya big Knockmore/Ardagh/Bonniconlon buff ya.

The derogatory term rig would be kinda like that out our way...'see yon feen over der, f**k he's son rig'.
Post by: Lar Naparka on September 29, 2016, 08:25:50 AM
Das right, Tipp heads would wreck yer heads with their bye, bye, byes and also saying das right when they agree with you.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 29, 2016, 12:20:59 PM
And 'some yoke'. Also a Tipp thing. To describe a fella as 'good'. See that Seamie Callanan? He's some yoke.
Post by: The Subbie on September 29, 2016, 01:18:01 PM
Quote from: WT4E on September 28, 2016, 02:47:50 PM

Kid

A very old school Dundalk greeting as well, might even be a current Dundalk expression.
20 years since I lived there!

Hi placed at the end of every greeting, statement and farewell would be very South Monaghan , North West Louth as well, hi.

Post by: Antrim Coaster on September 29, 2016, 02:47:04 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on September 29, 2016, 01:18:01 PM
Quote from: WT4E on September 28, 2016, 02:47:50 PM

Kid

Ardee, hi from thon neck of the woods.

Youns Boys common in Co Derry, parts of north Antrim.

Chap as in 'OK Chap' a South Derryism.

A very old school Dundalk greeting as well, might even be a current Dundalk expression.
20 years since I lived there!

Hi placed at the end of every greeting, statement and farewell would be very South Monaghan , North West Louth as well, hi.
Post by: Crete Boom on September 29, 2016, 03:08:32 PM
Quote from: guy crouchback on September 28, 2016, 03:56:28 PM

Wha Hu started out as grá thu and originated from the fishermen/docker cottages that were in Bohernasop (the original Ballina guntown back in the day!!) . Buer is a (traveller) cant term for a good looking girl.
Post by: seafoid on September 29, 2016, 05:50:39 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on September 29, 2016, 08:25:50 AM
Das right, Tipp heads would wreck yer heads with their bye, bye, byes and also saying das right when they agree with you.
Wasn't das right one of the main lines from d'unbelievables ?
Post by: Hardy on September 29, 2016, 05:57:08 PM
Das right.
Post by: barelegs on September 29, 2016, 08:25:50 PM
Certainly the eastern part of Tyrone, a young lady is a 'blade'. 'Our blade' would be my sister for example.

The further you go west in Tyrone towards Omagh blade becomes 'cuddy'
Post by: trileacman on September 29, 2016, 09:36:30 PM
Quote from: barelegs on September 29, 2016, 08:25:50 PM
Certainly the eastern part of Tyrone, a young lady is a 'blade'. 'Our blade' would be my sister for example.

Yeah. Cubs for young men and cutty for a girl. Generally for describing adolescents or children.
Post by: Gmac on September 29, 2016, 09:51:23 PM
Auld stock heard in lots of places
Post by: ONeill on September 29, 2016, 10:49:26 PM
Cuttin?
Cuttin rightly?
Are ye rightly?
Post by: ONeill on September 29, 2016, 10:51:22 PM

Every buckin county does that.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 29, 2016, 10:53:27 PM
Quote from: trileacman on September 29, 2016, 09:36:30 PM
Quote from: barelegs on September 29, 2016, 08:25:50 PM

Yeah. Cubs for young men and cutty for a girl. Generally for describing adolescents or children.
Dollybird, I assume that means adolescent girl too?

Post by: Hardy on September 30, 2016, 11:03:02 AM
'Doll' for woman; 'ronnie' for moustache - a couple of words from the fifties that I still hear in Drogheda, but not in Meath at all. Does anywhere else still use them?
Post by: seafoid on September 30, 2016, 11:07:38 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 30, 2016, 11:03:02 AM
'Doll' for woman; 'ronnie' for moustache - a couple of words from the fifties that I still hear in Drogheda, but not in Meath at all. Does anywhere else still use them?
I used to hear about ronnies from Dubs in the Gaeltacht during the summer
Post by: AZOffaly on September 30, 2016, 11:13:46 AM
Quote from: seafoid on September 29, 2016, 05:50:39 PM

Pat Short is from Thurles, and a lot of his stuff is based around North Tipp/Limerick. Killinascully was filmed right near here in Newport, in the villages of Killoscully and Ballinahinch. I was asked to be an extra for an episode, but unfortunately was working on the day. My brother in law went and can be seen frequently in the Bachelor Festival episode.

Ryans in Killoscully, the pub that Jacksie owns in the series, is a lovely pub for a nice pint by the way, if you are in the area. Strangely, the outside of the pub 'Bunnán Buí' is actually the pub in Ballinahinch, but the inside is the pub in Killoscully. While the Bally boys' pub is the opposite. (The outside is Ryan's in Killoscully, and the inside is Bunnnán Buí in Ballinahinch.)

Das Right.
Post by: seafoid on September 30, 2016, 12:09:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 30, 2016, 11:13:46 AM
Quote from: seafoid on September 29, 2016, 05:50:39 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3yIMVWaao4
Pat Short is from Thurles, and a lot of his stuff is based around North Tipp/Limerick. Killinascully was filmed right near here in Newport, in the villages of Killoscully and Ballinahinch. I was asked to be an extra for an episode, but unfortunately was working on the day. My brother in law went and can be seen frequently in the Bachelor Festival episode.

Ryans in Killoscully, the pub that Jacksie owns in the series, is a lovely pub for a nice pint by the way, if you are in the area. Strangely, the outside of the pub 'Bunnán Buí' is actually the pub in Ballinahinch, but the inside is the pub in Killoscully. While the Bally boys' pub is the opposite. (The outside is Ryan's in Killoscully, and the inside is Bunnnán Buí in Ballinahinch.)

Das Right.
Post by: Pascal Brennan on October 01, 2016, 02:44:30 PM
I know growing up in East Down we all called Belfast lads 'Frankies' while the girls were called 'Millies'. Generally 'Frankie B*****d's' was the most common term used. Newry girls of questionable ethics were also called Newry Nucks. I'm married to a langer and she and her ilk had never heard of going for a dander (walk).