howya horsebox and names that go with places

Started by seafoid, January 08, 2016, 07:23:46 AM

I only know a few but the collective knowledge of the Board is far greater, nach ea ? 

In Co Galway people from Tuam are called Shams . Howya Sham
Dunmore is up the road. Howya Schcan
Derry is Mucker . Hi Mucker
Belfast has a few.  Hi Shafty, McCooey, Frankie, etc
Dublin has Bud. Howya Bud
Cork has words like Langer.

where do these come from? Any more? 

Quote from: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 07:23:46 AM
I only know a few but the collective knowledge of the Board is far greater, nach ea ? 

In Co Galway people from Tuam are called Shams . Howya Sham
Dunmore is up the road. Howya Schcan
Derry is Mucker . Hi Mucker
Belfast has a few.  Hi Shafty, McCooey, Frankie, etc
Dublin has Bud. Howya Bud
Cork has words like Langer.

where do these come from? Any more?
Birr - Mush

Shams would be common in other places.

Feen for lads and beure for girls in Cross but also in North Cork city around Mayfield and the like. It actually evolved out of Shelta or The Cant, the traveller language.

Snapchap

Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 08, 2016, 09:23:26 AM
South Kildare/Carow - lad. Well lad!
Nationwide, surely? Certainly the greeting of choice for young men in Tyrone too.

HiMucker

Have to say mucker is near dead in Derry now.  Still used by the older generation, but "lad" and "man" would be a lot more common

I hate the Belfast wans calling you mate...Alright mate...F*ck off i'm not your mate you we hood/sc**bag

ziggy90

Quote from: illdecide on January 08, 2016, 11:00:25 AM
I hate the Belfast wans calling you mate...Alright mate...F*ck off i'm not your mate you we hood/sc**bag

You'd be fighting all day long in Birmingham if you don't like being called mate!!
Questions that shouldn't be asked shouldn't be answered

Mate is very London too, innit.
I prefer "my son" as in Go on my son