GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: omagh_gael on July 13, 2015, 08:45:09 AM

Title: Tipp v Tyrone 18/07/15 Thurles
Post by: omagh_gael on July 13, 2015, 08:45:09 AM
Here we go, they'll be frothing at the mouth to get one over on us. We'll need to be wary of the cynical Tipp philosophy of football, they'll try anything to stop our flow.

Hopefully football wins out.
Title: Re: Tipp v Tyrone 18/07/15 Thurles
Post by: tippabu on July 13, 2015, 08:48:24 AM
The bitterest rivalry in the gaa.....hin tipp  ;)
Post by: BennyHarp on July 13, 2015, 08:49:04 AM
There'll be some whinging if Tyrone win this one!
Title: Trip to tipp. (trip up in Tipp)
Post by: rrhf on July 13, 2015, 08:55:25 AM
Tipp will fancy their chances here.  Home draw against a Tyrone team below par.  This game could bump their 10 year Sam project a few steps forward.  Will they give Tyrone their traditional lucky Thurles changing rooms?   
Post by: tippabu on July 13, 2015, 08:55:51 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 13, 2015, 08:49:04 AM
There'll be some whinging if Tyrone win this one!

ppreparation has begun, just checked and players have Facebook deleted already. Sure ye'll have no hope now
Post by: rrhf on July 13, 2015, 09:00:41 AM
There'll be no hiding place online or on the field.  As we speak we have drones flying over Cashel.  We start with aerial intelligence and then we will send in the ground troops on Saturday. 
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 09:01:31 AM
So Tipperary is named after a hoor house in London?
Post by: tippabu on July 13, 2015, 09:06:40 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 09:01:31 AM
So Tipperary is named after a hoor house in London?

Will there be many wildlings from north of the wall travelling?
Post by: theticklemister on July 13, 2015, 09:09:09 AM
Come on Tip, do it for Derry.
Post by: tippabu on July 13, 2015, 09:11:56 AM
 On a serious note, was happy with anyone at home and happy we can really test ourselves in a knockout game against a top team
Post by: Whishtup on July 13, 2015, 09:12:58 AM
Perfect for me-I'll nip across from Clare.  Rumour has it Joe Duffy will be reporting live from Tipp dressing room. 
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 09:17:07 AM
I'm going to miss this game as I'm away on holidays.

It's another great draw for Tipp. Tyrone will be favourites, and rightly so. Tipperary will be delighted to get a chance to test themselves against a proper top team, but one that is not quite at Kerry's level. At the end of the day, it's still a Division 1 team from 2015 versus a Division 3 team, so it's a great chance for Tipp to see how much further they have to go. They've clearly separated themselves from the lower teams, and now we find out how far before they can say they are in the second tier.

If they are to have any chance, they'll have to play with pace and they will need Stephen O'Brien back.

I expect Tyrone to be too cute for them, but home advantage, and the fact that Tipp have some bloody good footballers means Tipp have a chance.

The one thing I would hope is that Tipperary don't allow themselves be drawn into a whingefest by the media. You can just see the papers rubbing their hands when this draw came out. Tipp need to learn the lesson from May, but not even mention it other than in a 'that's all in the past' sense. Focus on this game, not some sort of misguided revenge thing for an U21 game back in May.
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 09:17:52 AM
Nearly sure Tyrone played Tipperary in a league game 20-30 years ago
Post by: tippabu on July 13, 2015, 09:20:01 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 09:17:07 AM
I'm going to miss this game as I'm away on holidays.

It's another great draw for Tipp. Tyrone will be favourites, and rightly so. Tipperary will be delighted to get a chance to test themselves against a proper top team, but one that is not quite at Kerry's level. At the end of the day, it's still a Division 1 team from 2015 versus a Division 3 team, so it's a great chance for Tipp to see how much further they have to go. They've clearly separated themselves from the lower teams, and now we find out how far before they can say they are in the second tier.

If they are to have any chance, they'll have to play with pace and they will need Stephen O'Brien back.

I expect Tyrone to be too cute for them, but home advantage, and the fact that Tipp have some bloody good footballers means Tipp have a chance.

The one thing I would hope is that Tipperary don't allow themselves be drawn into a whingefest by the media. You can just see the papers rubbing their hands when this draw came out. Tipp need to learn the lesson from May, but not even mention it other than in a 'that's all in the past' sense. Focus on this game, not some sort of misguided revenge thing for an U21 game back in May.

shite. .hope you'll be active on here at least...them animals will gang up and eat me alive otherwise!!
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 13, 2015, 09:21:36 AM
We owe these friggers one after they tried to devalue our all ireland u21 win.
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 09:25:18 AM
Live on Sky Sports
Post by: tippabu on July 13, 2015, 09:25:31 AM
Tipp 7/4 Tyrone 8/13 on pp
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 09:29:12 AM
I think we should enter the field to "I have fallen for your mother" by Saw Doctors
Post by: tippabu on July 13, 2015, 09:34:19 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 09:29:12 AM
I think we should enter the field to "I have fallen for your mother" by Saw Doctors

as long as yer not singing rule britania it's fine by me ;)

Post by: clarshack on July 13, 2015, 09:39:14 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on July 13, 2015, 09:21:36 AM
We owe these friggers one after they tried to devalue our all ireland u21 win.

Post by: Fuzzman on July 13, 2015, 09:40:26 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 09:17:52 AM
Yes I remember it cos we all laughed as they had a kick out in 2nd half & a army helicopter came flying over the pitch to land nearby.
They all stopped and just stared up at it.
I'm delighted with draw and hope we get a nice welcome for the weekend.
Where's good to stay?

Post by: tippabu on July 13, 2015, 09:44:06 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 13, 2015, 09:40:26 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 09:17:52 AM
Yes I remember it cos we all laughed as they had a kick out in 2nd half & a army helicopter came flying over the pitch to land nearby.
They all stopped and just stared up at it.
I'm delighted with draw and hope we get a nice welcome for the weekend.
Where's good to stay?

at home!!

Horse and jockey probably or make the trip down to clonmel sure. Can think of a few that will travel down here and imagine there'll be a couple of good sessions on
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 09:52:35 AM
Is that road from Dublin to Thurles good?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 09:52:42 AM
Is Hayes' open again Tippabu? Wouldn't that be a grand historic spot to stay in.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 09:53:17 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 09:52:35 AM

Motorway d'whole way. Don't go off on any side roads. Just don't.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 13, 2015, 10:12:34 AM
If Tipp had any sense they'd ask for this to be played at 5pm in Killarney and have 30,000 + munster gaa fans behind them.
Post by: Bo Man on July 13, 2015, 10:13:23 AM
a quiet week in the build up to this one and six weeks yappin about that the workers in the oneills factory in Strabane co tyrone didn't pump the ball up properly or some other whinge. no more motivation needed. These boys tried to sour the taste of our u21 title.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 10:13:53 AM
eh. No. Play it in Semple Stadium, and come out with hurleys.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2015, 10:14:35 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 09:53:17 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 09:52:35 AM

Motorway d'whole way. Don't go off on any side roads. Just don't.

Stick to the path stay off the moor.

Did Tyrone and Tipp not have a frank discussion after the u21?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 10:22:00 AM
A full and frank discussion was held. Closure was achieved, and all facebook accounts also closed. This is just football. (and hurling if the result goes badly).
Post by: Jinxy on July 13, 2015, 10:37:15 AM
(http://www.chaletaustria.co.uk/cmsUploads/activity/images/01.%20SledgingAustrianAlps.jpg)
Post by: omagh_gael on July 13, 2015, 11:14:56 AM
Mark Bradley's performance yesterday reminded me a lot of Brian Dooher. He also looked our most dangerous scoring threat. Will we continue to see him in a roving role our might Mickey throw him inside to feed off Sean?
Post by: BennyHarp on July 13, 2015, 11:21:38 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 13, 2015, 11:14:56 AM
Mark Bradley's performance yesterday reminded me a lot of Brian Dooher. He also looked our most dangerous scoring threat. Will we continue to see him in a roving role our might Mickey throw him inside to feed off Sean?

Is Cathal McShane fit? Would like to him unleashed to rattle into a few Tipp ones again. If we can go 2 or 3 points up in the first 10 mins,  I think we can time waste the rest and hang on.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 13, 2015, 11:28:38 AM
I was happy enough with big joe on sat given it was his first game starting. Bradley was excellent and McCann made a big difference. Harte and Donnelly have great potential but don't do enough for long enough in games. I'd probably pick a team like this for tipp:

Morgan
McCarron
Mcnamee
Mcrory
Mcnabb
Justy
McCann
Colm
Joe
Harte
Donnelly
Mcshane
Bradley
Sean
Mcaliskey

That would still leave boys like mccurry and oneill to come in as impact subs.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 11:29:19 AM
Jaysus, ye'll win no bother on the Mc side of things anyway.
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 11:32:30 AM

He reminded me more of Penrose in his prime, scurrying around the field without a finger laid on him.

Whilst not deluding myself into thinking this vintage is anything like 2008, the gradual increase in quality of opponent has been ideal so far like it was back then.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 11:40:17 AM
In fairness, even with my bias towards Tipp, this is a good, if not great, Tyrone team and they should have enough about them to beat Tipp. From a Tipp perspective, they need to put in a performance, and if that performance gets the win, then great, but they need to prove they are ready to step up to Tyrone's level in the near future.
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 11:42:47 AM
How do Tipp set up this year? Swarmy, blankety?
Post by: twohands!!! on July 13, 2015, 11:46:42 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 11:42:47 AM
How do Tipp set up this year? Swarmy, blankety?

I would say that Tipp are a fairly offensive team  ;D

Their defense is no great shakes but there is serious quality in their attack.

I think this game will turn on how well Tipp do in terms of stopping Tyrone getting goals.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 11:50:50 AM
Tipp would be fairly orthodox, although they do retreat when they lose the ball. They just don't set up particularly defensively. The will try to move the ball through the hands a lot, before feeding the inside line. If they manage to do this at pace, they look impressive. If they get held up, they can struggle to break down the defence, and start hitting wides. I think that's why they are blitzing weaker teams, but struggle to break down the really top teams like Kerry, and I'll assume Tyrone.

If they can win midfield, it sets their platform. They love to bomb on from midfield. And that's where they try to inject the momentum. If Stephen O'Brien is missing it will be a big blow, and they will look to lads like O'Riordan and Acheson to provide that momentum. O'Riordan is not as physically imposing as O'Brien, so I;m not sure they'll be able to impose themselves the way an O'Brien/Acheson or O'Brien/O'Riordan duo might.
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 11:51:58 AM
Looking at their games v Armagh and Fermanagh this year:

Armagh 2-8 Tipp 0-13
Fermanagh 2-9 Tipp 0-11
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 11:54:07 AM
Both were away from home, and the Armagh one was a decent performance. Fermanagh was a poor outing by all accounts. But yes, Tyrone would be a level above those, so you'd think Tyrone would be favourites.
Post by: tippabu on July 13, 2015, 12:00:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 11:51:58 AM
Looking at their games v Armagh and Fermanagh this year:

Armagh 2-8 Tipp 0-13
Fermanagh 2-9 Tipp 0-11

we should have beaten Armagh,  were much the better team with 14 men for most of the 2nd half.

Fermanagh was our worst performance of the year and we still hung in there for a long time. Tyrone will be a step up from both of them
f
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 12:09:34 PM
The winners of this will be hoping for Sligo in the next round and before you know it you could be in the AI QF. Some incentive for Tipp.

I don't think either side would have enough to overcome Monaghan (or Donegal).
Post by: County Man on July 13, 2015, 12:11:11 PM
Delighted Tipperary got the home draw. I hope they win.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 13, 2015, 12:15:34 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 11:32:30 AM

He reminded me more of Penrose in his prime, scurrying around the field without a finger laid on him.

Whilst not deluding myself into thinking this vintage is anything like 2008, the gradual increase in quality of opponent has been ideal so far like it was back then.

Penrose comparison is valid, however, I think Bradley's ability in front of the sticks puts him in Dooher territory. All irrelevant in the greater scheme anyway!

Interestingly we met Westmeath at the same stage in 08 and in almost identical circumstances to Joey Wallace's effort (although at the other end of the pitch) Dessie Dolan slipped a slider inches wide of the goal that would have dumped us out on our red arses. .

That's it, I'm away to the bookies to fire the mortgage on a red hand all Ireland!
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2015, 01:20:29 PM
Would you be talking about a 90 min drive from Dub to Thurles?
Post by: Jinxy on July 13, 2015, 01:35:51 PM
Stick another 15 minutes on that and you're there or thereabouts.
Post by: tippabu on July 13, 2015, 04:16:02 PM
3pm throw in saturday
Post by: Throw ball on July 13, 2015, 06:10:18 PM
Feel this should be a close one. How Tipp cope with the Tyrone defensive shield will determine their chances. Tyrone may struggle to get scores with their lack of forward options. Goals could decide the outcome.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 13, 2015, 09:05:14 PM
Meath came to Omagh with quite a well organised defensive system and it was beating us at our own game in the first half despite them not scoring until the 28th minute.
If Tipp think they can win playing gung ho open football I think they're gonna get frustrated and loss the head.
If Tyrone can get back the level of performance v Donegal I think we could get to a quarterfinal as long as we avoid Cork or Kerry.
However, Tipp away is a huge challenge now and with their extra motivation after the U21 final it could just Tipp it.
I wonder will Justy probably miss it again as his hamstrings are back at him I heard after Limerick game.
McAliskey will be itching to prove himself all over again so could be him or McCurry to start with Bradley surely a shoe in now.
Post by: skeog on July 13, 2015, 09:12:10 PM
tyrone will have to much for tipp good draw sligo or monaghan then to get to last eight i would think
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 13, 2015, 09:45:56 PM
Quote from: skeog on July 13, 2015, 09:12:10 PM
tyrone will have to much for tipp good draw sligo or monaghan then to get to last eight i would think

Handy enough then so, is there much point in goin down at all?
Post by: BennyHarp on July 13, 2015, 10:43:33 PM
David Gough of Meath to ref.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 11:11:29 PM
That's the hipster ref. seems decent in fairness, but as a meathman he is honour bound to ride ye.
Post by: omaghjoe on July 13, 2015, 11:57:36 PM
Meath still owe us big style on the referee front
Post by: Throw ball on July 14, 2015, 12:56:25 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 13, 2015, 10:43:33 PM
David Gough of Meath to ref.

Has the potential to be a good referee but was dreadfully inconsistent in Armagh v Galway game. Still learning his trade and a big match for him.
Post by: EireOg1 on July 14, 2015, 02:27:17 AM
It would be better for football if Tipp won this.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 14, 2015, 09:10:41 AM
This is a very good draw for us (not to be confused with an easy draw). It gets the team out of omagh and away for the weekend. Bit of needle after the u21s should focus the minds. Tipp are a decent team who could well beat us if we don't play to our potential.

As teams often do we've struggled through the first few rounds. Now we need to start lifting it and playing for closer to 70 mins. I've no problem with us getting men behind the ball but we must break out better and also learn to adopt and push up at times in the game. Meath were there for the taking in the first 20 mins on sat and we sat back and missed the opportunity.

I'm hoping things will start to click from this week and the games will start bringing boys on. If they deliver on Saturday we should win and have a bit of momentum behind us. We do need to start getting a settled team now.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2015, 10:55:39 AM
No point in predicting who Mickey will name on Thursday as there'll be a couple of changes anyway. Is Clarke nearing fitness? Midfield still unsettled. By some accounts it's a strong area for Tipp.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 14, 2015, 11:03:39 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 14, 2015, 10:55:39 AM
No point in predicting who Mickey will name on Thursday as there'll be a couple of changes anyway. Is Clarke nearing fitness? Midfield still unsettled. By some accounts it's a strong area for Tipp.

Midfield is a strong area for Tipp, but both starting midfielders are injured. I don't think it's as strong as it could be.
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2015, 11:30:37 AM
Tipp will be on a mission here to down Tyrone. If Tipp were to beat Tyrone the injection it would give Tipp football would be incredible.

I wonder will there be restrictions on accessing the changing rooms afterwards ?.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 14, 2015, 11:34:38 AM
Ye'll be togging out in Doctor Morris Park, and have to walk through a gauntlet of half broken hurleys to get to the back door of the Stand.
Post by: blanketattack on July 14, 2015, 12:17:54 PM
How many players from the u21 pukefest sledgefest will be playing?
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2015, 12:49:04 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 14, 2015, 12:17:54 PM

Under 21s are banned from this fixture after a recent investigation by CCCCCC fuelled by a statement from Fergal Logan.
Post by: tippabu on July 14, 2015, 01:02:34 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 14, 2015, 12:17:54 PM

5 played v louth with 2 more off the bench, stephen o brien and ian fahy were both out injured
Post by: rrhf on July 14, 2015, 04:24:34 PM
This will be the game of the summer.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 14, 2015, 07:57:15 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 14, 2015, 10:55:39 AM

Saw Clarke about a month ago in a club game and he still looked good bit off full fitness. If could get him fit he'd be another decent option in a few positions. We seem very light for defensive cover in particular.

Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2015, 09:48:22 PM
Room booked in Hayes hotel. Very cheap.
Win, lose or abandoned it should be a good night in T-hurlers
Where's good to meet up for the night?
Are many of ye staying down?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 15, 2015, 09:17:03 AM
Colin O'Riordan has an U21 Hurling match tomorrow night against Limerick, so hopefully he comes through unscathed. Stephen O'Brien was not named on that team, so I'd say he's definitely out for Saturday.
Post by: tippabu on July 15, 2015, 09:24:01 AM
Any idea what sort of numbers will be travelling down for this, Tyrone usually bring good sized crowd to away qualifiers?
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 15, 2015, 09:49:22 AM
Would guess somewhere from 500 to 1000 tops. Given distance and current form of team definitely wouldn't be many more than that.
Post by: tippabu on July 15, 2015, 10:20:10 AM
Hard to know what support we'll have, the hardcore football support is small enough and with the munster final last weekend people mightnt bother due to costs, hopefully we'll get a sizable support like turned up for the kerry game
Post by: BennyHarp on July 15, 2015, 10:30:42 AM
Quote from: tippabu on July 15, 2015, 10:20:10 AM
Hard to know what support we'll have, the hardcore football support is small enough and with the munster final last weekend people mightnt bother due to costs, hopefully we'll get a sizable support like turned up for the kerry game

Given the relatively small crowd expected would it not have been better to play this at a smaller venue than Semple Stadium? At least to create an atmosphere. For those that are there it is a massive game with plenty of needle. It would be a shame if the atmosphere got lost with 4,000 or 5,000 in a stadium that holds 50,000.
Post by: tippabu on July 15, 2015, 10:33:51 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 15, 2015, 10:30:42 AM

Given the relatively small crowd expected would it not have been better to play this at a smaller venue than Semple Stadium? At least to create an atmosphere. For those that are there it is a massive game with plenty of needle. It would be a shame if the atmosphere got lost with 4,000 or 5,0000 in a stadium that holds 50,000.

clonmel would be the only other real option and we've a terrible record there and it's not up to scratch as a county venue. The fact the game is on sky too will surely hurt the attendance
Post by: AZOffaly on July 15, 2015, 11:21:36 AM

Given the relatively small crowd expected would it not have been better to play this at a smaller venue than Semple Stadium? At least to create an atmosphere. For those that are there it is a massive game with plenty of needle. It would be a shame if the atmosphere got lost with 4,000 or 5,000 in a stadium that holds 50,000.

I think your players will love Semple Stadium. The surface is incredible.
Post by: Whishtup on July 15, 2015, 11:27:37 AM

Yeah-it's amazing how many Tipp lads (hurling fans) I have spoke to this past week who don't actually know the game is on.  'Football is for people who can't play hurling' is the usual reply...
Post by: AZOffaly on July 15, 2015, 11:30:26 AM
That's part of why the work going on down here is quite a good story. Hurling is #1 down here, and always will be. However football is growing in popularity and those attitudes about puncturing every football are changing. The important thing for football is that hurling continues to do well. I'd be concerned that if football was perceived to be negatively impacting the hurling, the job would get even harder.

In South, football is arguably as strong or stronger. In West and Mid it is well represented. In the North it is very much second best and the North would be where most of those die hard attitudes remain.
Post by: The Bearded One on July 15, 2015, 11:35:10 AM
In terms of travel, would we be safer staying on the M8 and coming into Thurles that way or would it be easier going via M7 and down through Templemore to Thurles?

Seems to be more straightforward getting to Semple stadium from the North of the town?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 15, 2015, 11:37:17 AM
I think it would be quicker down the M8. Traffic will hardly be that bad, Thurles is not that big, you'll just come into the square and head out towards Semple Stadium.
Post by: tippabu on July 15, 2015, 11:43:37 AM
Quote from: The Bearded One on July 15, 2015, 11:35:10 AM
In terms of travel, would we be safer staying on the M8 and coming into Thurles that way or would it be easier going via M7 and down through Templemore to Thurles?

Seems to be more straightforward getting to Semple stadium from the North of the town?

down the m8 and in that way, take all of mins to get from the motorway to sempre.
Post by: The Bearded One on July 15, 2015, 11:44:46 AM
Good enough, that's what we will do then, cheers!
Post by: BennyHarp on July 15, 2015, 11:55:17 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 15, 2015, 11:21:36 AM

I think your players will love Semple Stadium. The surface is incredible.

Oh yes, I love Semple Stadium and know it's a class pitch. Just wondered if the atmosphere will be lost a bit. Suits Tyrone as we may not get the partisan atmosphere that we may have faced at a smaller venue.
Post by: tippabu on July 15, 2015, 12:02:57 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on July 15, 2015, 11:27:37 AM

Yeah-it's amazing how many Tipp lads (hurling fans) I have spoke to this past week who don't actually know the game is on.  'Football is for people who can't play hurling' is the usual reply...

yeah we've some cracking players from the north but still the majority have no interest, few players don't even have an adult team, Stephen o brien as good a prospect as we have doesn't have an adult team, this year it's just dcu, Tipp under 21 and seniors he plays for
Post by: AZOffaly on July 15, 2015, 12:31:48 PM
Don't rub it in tippabu, it's my perpetual struggle :)
Post by: orangeman on July 15, 2015, 02:42:20 PM
Quote from: tippabu on July 15, 2015, 12:02:57 PM

yeah we've some cracking players from the north but still the majority have no interest, few players don't even have an adult team, Stephen o brien as good a prospect as we have doesn't have an adult team, this year it's just dcu, Tipp under 21 and seniors he plays for

Why can't he / doesn't he travel for a team ?.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 15, 2015, 02:43:11 PM
Because he wants to hurl for Ballina. Theoretically there is an amalgamation up here which he could play for, but I don't think they've even fielded recently.
Post by: Whishtup on July 15, 2015, 02:43:57 PM

Do Ballina not have a team?
Post by: Whishtup on July 15, 2015, 02:44:50 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on July 15, 2015, 02:43:57 PM

Do Ballina not have a team?

(football)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 15, 2015, 02:50:38 PM
I think they have a junior team that they treat with lip service. Same for a lot of the clubs in North Tipp. It's something I'm trying to change, but the resistance is huge.

There is no North 'Senior' Football championship, and when I was coaching our club's intermediate footballers (when I was allowed) the North intermediate had Shannon Rovers (George Hannigan's club), ourselves and I'm not even sure what the other team was.

The Junior has a bit more aright, with teams like Kildangan, Inane Rovers, and the likes playing but it's very much a social thing. This despite Kevin O'Halloran, Stephen O'Brien, George Hannigan and Philip Austin all coming from North clubs and playing with the county seniors. It's a disgrace really.

With such poor club support, our only way of trying to develop promising young lads in the North is to spot them young, bring them to Thurles in our development squads and try give them as much coaching and games as we can. We obviously lose a few to hurling along the way, or that just don't develop as well, but that's life. It does contribute a few lads, and certainly more than if we let the clubs develop them.
Post by: Jinxy on July 15, 2015, 03:21:05 PM
Never knew there was a club named 'Inane Rovers'.  :D
Post by: AZOffaly on July 15, 2015, 03:23:09 PM
It's the football club in Roscrea. The hurling club is called Sensible Rovers.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 16, 2015, 08:50:13 PM
Tyrone team v Tipperary: 1. N Morgan
2. A McCrory 3. R McNamee 4. C McCarron
5. R McNabb 6. Joe McMahon 7. P Harte
8. C Cavanagh. 9. M Donnelly
10. T McCann 11. M Bradley 12. R Brennan
13. D McCurry 14. S Cavanagh 15. C McAliskey
subs: S Fox C Clarke
R Donnelly P Hughes D McBride C McCann
P McNulty C McShane C Meyler R O'Neill
B Tierney

It would be nice if, for once, we could just leave those three full forwards inside and get some quick, decent ball in to them. Who knows, they may even do a bit of damage.
Post by: tippabu on July 16, 2015, 09:54:14 PM
Still no word on tipp team. Colin o riordan played full game for the under 21 hurlers tonight and looked pretty tired 2nd half. Can't see him having the effect we're used to on saturday
Post by: ONeill on July 16, 2015, 10:32:43 PM
Would like to see Tyrone open up a bit on Saturday.

Yes, another defensive effort and try to pick them off on the break might see Tyrone over the line and into the next round but in McCurry, McAliskey, Sean and Bradley there are scoring forwards who could tally a decent total. However, I expect to see Bradley, Sean and McCurry eventually hoovering around the HB line.

I see Jordan was writing that Tyrone are set up to familiarise themselves for tactics needed to play the top 4 sides, suggesting that whether they're playing Urney reserves or Kerry they'll play the same way. That gives Tipp a good chance. You create holes in Tyrone early on, there's no plan B. I don't think the introduction of McCann and McCurry was a plan B last weekend. They were just better replacements.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 17, 2015, 01:23:34 AM
I really hope we don't see Bradley and McCurry playing on their own 40 for most of the game.
Scorers for us are in short supply lately so any we do unearth why drain their confidence by making them play a role alien to them, just to stay in the team.

Are Tipps injuries as bad as they're making out or is it Munster cute hoorism
(http://www.tolfalas.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/2015-05-16-20.40.46.jpg)
Post by: tippabu on July 17, 2015, 07:50:28 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 17, 2015, 01:23:34 AM
I really hope we don't see Bradley and McCurry playing on their own 40 for most of the game.
Scorers for us are in short supply lately so any we do unearth why drain their confidence by making them play a role alien to them, just to stay in the team.

Are Tipps injuries as bad as they're making out or is it Munster cute hoorism
(http://www.tolfalas.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/2015-05-16-20.40.46.jpg)

i really hope it cute horeness but last night we had a knockout game in under 21 hurling and were in trouble early, Stephen o brien would have came on if not started if not injured. Hannigan definitely gone. Fahy didn't make the bench v louth so doesn't look good. Don't know anybody else's story
Post by: galwayman on July 17, 2015, 07:51:13 AM
Is this game on TV?

I haven't read back over all the pages so apologies if this has been asked previously.
Post by: LeoMc on July 17, 2015, 08:00:48 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 16, 2015, 10:32:43 PM

Yes, another defensive effort and try to pick them off on the break might see Tyrone over the line and into the next round but in McCurry, McAliskey, Sean and Bradley there are scoring forwards who could tally a decent total. However, I expect to see Bradley, Sean and McCurry eventually hoovering around the HB line.

I see Jordan was writing that Tyrone are set up to familiarise themselves for tactics needed to play the top 4 sides, suggesting that whether they're playing Urney reserves or Kerry they'll play the same way. That gives Tipp a good chance. You create holes in Tyrone early on, there's no plan B. I don't think the introduction of McCann and McCurry was a plan B last weekend. They were just better replacements.

I think Mickey said in one of his interviews that he set up to keep Meath quiet in the first half given their previous 2 performances so you are right it was plan A to inject pace after the break.

I think it did more that inject pace, it injected confidence, both lads are comfortable on the ball and wanted the ball. The lads in pace were lacking that confidence, Richard Donnelly was making his debut whilst I think Tierney knows he in not a first choice. Both were out to not make a mistake not to impose themselves.

I think Mickeys next change was poor though (McCann for Brennan). Whilst McCann added to our mid-field effort the removal of Brennan lost us a defensive shield which meant Meath looked like scoring everytime they went forward.
Post by: Wee Roddy on July 17, 2015, 08:16:01 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on July 17, 2015, 08:00:48 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 16, 2015, 10:32:43 PM

I think Mickey said in one of his interviews that he set up to keep Meath quiet in the first half given their previous 2 performances so you are right it was plan A to inject pace after the break.

I think it did more that inject pace, it injected confidence, both lads are comfortable on the ball and wanted the ball. The lads in pace were lacking that confidence, Richard Donnelly was making his debut whilst I think Tierney knows he in not a first choice. Both were out to not make a mistake not to impose themselves.

I think Mickeys next change was poor though (McCann for Brennan). Whilst McCann added to our mid-field effort the removal of Brennan lost us a defensive shield which meant Meath looked like scoring everytime they went forward.
There in lies the problem, we want attacking football but we say we are vulnerable when we don't
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 17, 2015, 08:17:07 AM
Quote from: galwayman on July 17, 2015, 07:51:13 AM
Is this game on TV?

I haven't read back over all the pages so apologies if this has been asked previously.

On SKy I think
Post by: omagh_gael on July 17, 2015, 08:19:17 AM
Quote from: galwayman on July 17, 2015, 07:51:13 AM
Is this game on TV?

Yeah,  it's on sky5 at 3pm. Has anyone watched/found any reliable streams on the net for the GAA?
Post by: sambostar on July 17, 2015, 09:55:35 AM
1st time posting though I've been a voyeur for a while. Looking forward to 1st visit to Thurles 2mro. Game should be an interesting clash of styles. I'd agree that Tyrone are sticking to a system regardless of the opposition - there were 2 sweepers against Meath until Brennan went off - so thereafter Tyrone were much better going forward but very open at the back. I'm not sure if we can have both! I would like to see some more adaptability though - Meath were there for the taking early on, Tyrone had the wind - there was no need for 2 sweepers then - an early blitz could have finished the game as a contest.
It seems it all harks back to the night in Croker when Connolly destroyed Tyrone in the 1st half - Mickey was slated then for going man-to-man & seems determined to not let that happen again. It might keep u competitive against the good teams but also results in games against inferior opposition turning into dogfights.
Anyway can't really argue with the team 2mro - a nice settled look to the defence. Only issue I'd have is re McShane, is he still injury-affected? He reminds me of a young Sean Cavanagh & these qualifier games would be ideal for giving him valuable championship experience.
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2015, 10:35:12 AM
Welcome sambostar - looks like Tyrone will never blitz a team under current tactics - that would mean keeping 3 forwards up with HFs and MF raiding in support. Against Meath, when Tyrone won the ball back, the only option was McAliskey surrounded by 3 Meath defenders and on occasion Sean. It appears that the majority of 2-12 are reluctant to leave their defensive stations just in case...and we saw what can happen when Tyrone do run at pace and with support in that second half.

In saying all that, Mickey's winning matches and if playing this way hardens them for stiffer challenges then so be it. Need to be flexible though to avoid banana skins like tomorrow. If the kill is open, go for it and abandon the system.

Post by: tippabu on July 17, 2015, 10:42:44 AM
Team News

The Tipperary Senior Football team to play Tyrone, in the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Round 3B, in Semple Stadium, on Saturday next July 18th at 3pm has been announced by manager Peter Creedon. It shows one change to the side announced for last week's fixture against Louth with Martin Dunne from Moyle Rovers getting the nod at number 9 partnering Colin O'Riordan.

The team for Saturday is as follows –

Evan Comerford – Kilsheelan Kilcash
Ciarán McDonald – Aherlow
Paddy Codd Capt. – Killenaule
Jimmy Feehan – Killenaule
Seamus Kennedy – Clonmel Commercials
Peter Acheson – Moyle Rovers
Alan Campbell – Moyle Rovers
Colin O'Riordan – J K Brackens
Martin Dunne – Moyle Rovers
Brian Fox – Eire Óg Annacarty
Conor Sweeney – Ballyporeen
Liam Casey – Cahir
Kevin O'Halloran – Portroe
Michael Quinlivan – Clonmel Commercials
Philip Austin – Borrisokane
Post by: AZOffaly on July 17, 2015, 02:47:43 PM
Dunno was on the Juniors I think. I have to say I didn't notice him as a future senior there. Acheson in midfield seemed to work ok last week, maybe they want him to do a job.
Post by: rrhf on July 17, 2015, 03:16:27 PM
Quote from: tippabu on July 17, 2015, 10:42:44 AM
Team News

The Tipperary Senior Football team to play Tyrone, in the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Round 3B, in Semple Stadium, on Saturday next July 18th at 3pm has been announced by manager Peter Creedon. It shows one change to the side announced for last week's fixture against Louth with Martin Dunne from Moyle Rovers getting the nod at number 9 partnering Colin O'Riordan.

The team for Saturday is as follows –

Evan Comerford – Kilsheelan Kilcash
Ciarán McDonald – Aherlow
Paddy Codd Capt. – Killenaule
Jimmy Feehan – Killenaule
Seamus Kennedy – Clonmel Commercials
Peter Acheson – Moyle Rovers
Alan Campbell – Moyle Rovers
Colin O'Riordan – J K Brackens
Martin Dunne – Moyle Rovers
Brian Fox – Eire Óg Annacarty
Conor Sweeney – Ballyporeen
Liam Casey – Cahir
Kevin O'Halloran – Portroe
Michael Quinlivan – Clonmel Commercials
Philip Austin – Borrisokane

That is a strong Tipp team. 
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 17, 2015, 03:37:07 PM
Not even a 48 hour rest for O'Riordan. I doubt he'd be playing an U21 munster football semi final 2 days before a Senior hurling qualifier.
Post by: cadhlancian on July 17, 2015, 08:10:57 PM
Shane. Mickeys winning matches? Come on at feck! 2 very average performances against poor opposition . There is a distinct possibility that Saturday could be the end of the beard era. It'll be a sad day, his record will probably never be bettered. The only teams after Tipperary that we could beat are Sligo and???
To be honest , I'm ready for wee Peter/ Logan and Dooher, but who knows , maybe they'll set them up to play the exact same way.
I hope I'm wrong....
Post by: orangeman on July 17, 2015, 10:37:10 PM
Tipp have named a very good side but even at that I can't see Tipp beating Tyrone.

Tyrone to win with a few to spare.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 17, 2015, 11:28:30 PM
Looking forward to the trip down in the morning. No point in worrying about next managers etc it can often lead to know where as Armagh have found out in the post joe kernan era. This is the time of year to get behind the players and managers that are there and hoping for the best, it's a long time until the McKenna cup next January.

Really hoping for a much more energetic performance tomorrow and lot more support play going forward. At times in the cork Kerry and Donegal games there were signs we were starting to get the balance between defence and attack right. In the last two games we've went defensive which may be partially caused by a flatness in early qualifier rounds.

Hopefully this time tomorrow night we'll still be in the championship .
Post by: Fuzzman on July 18, 2015, 12:26:34 AM
Am impressed by the Tyrone confidence and hope yer right. Yes no doubt if we play like we can take our scores Like we should then we could/should win BUT how many games have we watched this year where people are scared to shoot. We still have no reliable free taker to punish lazy tackling.
I think this game could be a lot tighter than we think.
Often our periods of dominance doesn't result in many scores. I think we'll stay Doohers cousin McShane come in at half time if not start.
Judging by the support at the U21 final I expect a not so friendly Munster Welcome.
A few of us coming down on the noon train from Dublin will be in carriage E and staying overnight to watch the Cork game at 7pm.
Post by: tippabu on July 18, 2015, 11:09:14 AM
Best of luck to our lads today, big test to see where we stand, hopefully we'll put in a performance and win or lose have not regrets
Post by: CD on July 18, 2015, 02:31:46 PM
If anyone has I link to a live stream it'd be much appreciated!
Post by: TyroneOnlooker on July 18, 2015, 02:46:10 PM
http://cricfree.sx/sky-sports-5-live-stream
Post by: mick999 on July 18, 2015, 02:51:53 PM
or here :

http://www.time4tv.com/2014/02/sky-sports-5.php
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 18, 2015, 03:08:36 PM
How did Gough let that go without even a word? Unreal.
Post by: Put Up That Flag on July 18, 2015, 03:09:30 PM
Took all of 6 minutes for Tyrone to start the filth again,  some things never change ::)
Post by: dublin7 on July 18, 2015, 03:11:07 PM
Quote from: Put Up That Flag on July 18, 2015, 03:09:30 PM
Took all of 6 minutes for Tyrone to start the filth again,  some things never change ::)

Can also include Harte taking a dive to win a free in front of goal.  Cavanagh has taught him well
Post by: CD on July 18, 2015, 03:11:29 PM
Quote from: mick999 on July 18, 2015, 02:51:53 PM
or here :

http://www.time4tv.com/2014/02/sky-sports-5.php

Thanks lads :D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2015, 03:14:27 PM
Just put the scores up please
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2015, 03:16:33 PM
0-4 to 0-1 after 15 mins
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 18, 2015, 03:18:24 PM
Tipp 45. 4-2
Post by: dublin7 on July 18, 2015, 03:20:19 PM
4 all 19 min.  Tipp taking over in midfield
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2015, 03:22:16 PM
Cheers lads keep them coming
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 18, 2015, 03:26:01 PM
Cavanagh point. Tyrone up by 06 - 04
Post by: dublin7 on July 18, 2015, 03:26:53 PM
Tyron 7-4.  25 min Tyrone forwards working together.  Tipp forwards (especially 14) playing as individuals
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 18, 2015, 03:27:05 PM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on July 18, 2015, 03:26:01 PM
Cavanagh point. Tyrone up by 06 - 04

Sean Cavanagh, that was.

P Harte point after good work from C Cav
Post by: An Watcher on July 18, 2015, 03:30:30 PM
Mattie Donnelly WTF!!!!!!!!
Post by: tyroneman on July 18, 2015, 03:35:19 PM
Tyrone very poor going forward. Poor handling. Poor shooting. Poor decision making. Sloppy sloppy play. Tipp missing nothing from dead ball.

Darragh should stick to writing. His commentary is awful. A Tipp love in
Post by: Put Up That Flag on July 18, 2015, 03:39:16 PM
Tyrone instigated a big melee before half time, yet again same old Tyrone tactics
Post by: BennyHarp on July 18, 2015, 03:40:43 PM
Quote from: Put Up That Flag on July 18, 2015, 03:39:16 PM
Tyrone instigated a big melee before half time, yet again same old Tyrone tactics

Big melee?  ;D

Been an entertaining half. Set up nicely.
Post by: tyroneman on July 18, 2015, 03:41:30 PM
Quote from: Put Up That Flag on July 18, 2015, 03:39:16 PM

Sure sure. Big bad Tyrone. Poor wee Tipp.
Post by: dublin7 on July 18, 2015, 03:41:38 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 18, 2015, 03:35:19 PM
Tyrone very poor going forward. Poor handling. Poor shooting. Poor decision making. Sloppy sloppy play. Tipp missing nothing from dead ball.

Tipp player with great shoulder on Tyrone player leads to handbags on the sideline.

Tyrone have kicked alot of bad wides.  Tipp well up for this & have Tyrone rattled.  Cavangh mothing off at Tipp players as the teams leave the pitch. He may be a class footballer but as an individual he is easy to dislike
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2015, 03:42:04 PM
#26 for Tipp no angel there either
Post by: Boycey on July 18, 2015, 03:44:04 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 18, 2015, 03:42:20 PM
It wasn't a great shoulder at all. It was a blatant foul.

A free no doubt but did it warrant all the histrionics that followed?
Post by: tyroneman on July 18, 2015, 03:46:13 PM

How did a Meath referee get this game? Laughable.

Darragh will aim for another 10 Tipp don't fear Tyrone cliches in the second half.

On at least 2 occasions Tyrone were either a bad pass or a (non) foul away from a goal. If we had forwards who were reliable we would be outta sight. As it is we have given Tipp oxygen.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 18, 2015, 03:46:55 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 18, 2015, 03:44:04 PM

Does a bit of pushing and shoving deserve the histrionics from the usual characters on here?
Post by: Go home ref on July 18, 2015, 03:50:26 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 18, 2015, 03:08:36 PM
How did Gough let that go without even a word? Unreal.

Absolutely unbelievable a yellow at the very least.
Post by: Boycey on July 18, 2015, 03:52:51 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 18, 2015, 03:46:55 PM

Does a bit of pushing and shoving deserve the histrionics from the usual characters on here?

I'll ask again did the foul deserve the pushing and shoving and general childish behaviour from both sets of players that followed? I think not
Post by: tyroneman on July 18, 2015, 03:55:09 PM
Tipp clearly overhyped for this. Partisan crowd, still hurting from the u21 game, chance to down a big team etc.

+

Tyrone won't back down to anyone.

=

Handbags all day long.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 18, 2015, 03:56:33 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 18, 2015, 03:52:51 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 18, 2015, 03:46:55 PM

I'll ask again did the foul deserve the pushing and shoving and general childish behaviour from both sets of players that followed? I think not

To me that is just frustration from terrible referring, it was firstly a foul but secondly and more importantly he was injured as result, prone on the ground and the ref does nothing but reward a free against. Player welfare my hole.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 18, 2015, 04:03:11 PM
Tyrone up by 3. 9pts to 6. 40 mins
Post by: From the Bunker on July 18, 2015, 04:09:33 PM
Tipperary losing their discipline! Not that they had a lot to begin with. Can see a Tipp Red soon.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 18, 2015, 04:14:19 PM
McCurry goal chance goes over the bar.

12 - 06, 51mins

and McCurry replaced by McCann
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2015, 04:18:35 PM
and you using that word doesn't bring the conversation down to a crude level ::)

QuoteTipperary losing their discipline! Not that they had a lot to begin with. Can see a Tipp Red soon.

there ya go
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 18, 2015, 04:19:29 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2015, 04:18:35 PM
and you using that word doesn't bring the conversation down to a crude level ::)

QuoteTipperary losing their discipline! Not that they had a lot to begin with. Can see a Tipp Red soon.

there ya go

another one gone here i reckon
Post by: From the Bunker on July 18, 2015, 04:19:42 PM
There's the Tipp Red!
Post by: tyroneman on July 18, 2015, 04:20:13 PM
Big bad Tyrone alright.....
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2015, 04:21:50 PM
Scores
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 18, 2015, 04:22:28 PM
That's the second stamp by a Tipp player. Very dirty

14-6 To Tyrone
Post by: tyroneman on July 18, 2015, 04:22:55 PM
How the fcuk was that not a black card????????

No3 jumped on his back and rode him to the ground.
Post by: moysider on July 18, 2015, 04:23:14 PM
Jaysus, Mike Finnerty cat on commentary. Completely missed a black card there for minutes.

Tipp. discipline gone at this stage.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 18, 2015, 04:23:44 PM
15 - 6.
have Tipp scored since half time?
Post by: qz on July 18, 2015, 04:24:35 PM
Dara 'Se sounds so deflated that Tyrone are winning
Post by: Throw ball on July 18, 2015, 04:24:57 PM
Very disappointed with Tipp. Too many unfit - injured - players and too many lazy forwards. Tyrone do not have to be good to win this. Tipp supporters will be disappointed as they are better than this. Tyrone will be happy but still cannot see them winning anything.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2015, 04:25:26 PM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on July 18, 2015, 04:23:44 PM
15 - 6.
have Tipp scored since half time?

Nope
Post by: tyroneman on July 18, 2015, 04:25:59 PM
Quote from: qz on July 18, 2015, 04:24:35 PM

Darragh saying the Tipp goal chance was a great kick in. The ball hit the corner flag and Tipp moved it at least 10 yards up the sideline to make an angle.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2015, 04:25:59 PM
Get the hurls out
Post by: BennyHarp on July 18, 2015, 04:26:27 PM
Tyrone should be putting at least 15 points on these boys. Can't believe how poor Tipp are.
Post by: tyroneman on July 18, 2015, 04:26:53 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2015, 04:25:59 PM
Get the hurls out

I know Tipp are dirty but....that's a bit much....
Post by: From the Bunker on July 18, 2015, 04:27:41 PM
Quote from: qz on July 18, 2015, 04:24:35 PM

Never?  ;D
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2015, 04:31:19 PM
Will they let Mickey in the dressing room after the game?
Post by: From the Bunker on July 18, 2015, 04:31:40 PM
Good footballers will only get you so far. You need a plan, discipline, composure and tactics. All the mentioned can hide not having some good footballers as well!
Post by: Main Street on July 18, 2015, 04:31:55 PM
Tyrone can't score a goal.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 18, 2015, 04:32:10 PM
Well done Tyrone lads. Harsh lessons for Tipperary but valuable ones. The journey continues but this needs to be recognised for what it is. A marker.
Post by: trileacman on July 18, 2015, 04:33:43 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 18, 2015, 04:31:55 PM

I hope our victory tastes particularly bitter.

Haters gonna hate.
Post by: Put Up That Flag on July 18, 2015, 04:33:52 PM
Cavanagh with a yellow card,  whats new, Tipp awful poor,  Tyrone not much better,  Sligo or Monaghan won't lose much sleep about having to play them.
Post by: Throw ball on July 18, 2015, 04:34:43 PM
Tyrone really don't need referee giving Tyrone eveything
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2015, 04:34:53 PM

When you score 0-19 you probably will get away with not scoring one
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 18, 2015, 04:37:20 PM
First half it looked to be a close contest. Tyrone 0-12 Tipperary 0-1 in the second half which was too one sided for any neutral viewers.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 18, 2015, 04:37:43 PM
Quote from: Put Up That Flag on July 18, 2015, 04:33:52 PM
Cavanagh with a yellow card,  whats new, Tipp awful poor,  Tyrone not much better, Sligo or Monaghan won't lose much sleep about having to play them.

Did you notice the score line?
Post by: Main Street on July 18, 2015, 04:38:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 18, 2015, 04:32:10 PM
Well done Tyrone lads. Harsh lessons for Tipperary but valuable ones. The journey continues but this needs to be recognised for what it is. A marker.
It was a whitewash in the 2nd half whenTyrone opened up. What valuable lessons can Tipp learn there? I'd have thought they would want to forget about that game fast.
Post by: qz on July 18, 2015, 04:45:51 PM
Tipp chasing shadows when the bothered to chase.. very poor team
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2015, 04:49:16 PM
God, Louth must be solid useless.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 18, 2015, 04:53:35 PM
Well done to the red arses. Good score to put up by them.
It demonstrates how handy Kerry and cork have it getting out of Munster each year when a team in transition who aren't on form or playing well and are prob fourth best in ulster can wipe the floor with tipp.
Hope this loss doesn't set back tipp football too far as they were endevouring to make progress in football.
Think this Tyrone side will be better and more competitive next season though despite this facile win
Post by: trileacman on July 18, 2015, 04:57:02 PM
Tipp were a very fortunate draw for us. The confidence drawn from this match would be invaluable I'd imagine.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 18, 2015, 05:17:23 PM
Mattie Donnelly was like a different person second half
Post by: omagh_gael on July 18, 2015, 05:21:06 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 18, 2015, 05:17:23 PM
Mattie Donnelly was like a different person second half

If Mattie can find a good vein of consistent form we could do damage over the next few weeks. He is vital for us.

Some bitter lads about this forum. You'll have to put up with us red arses for a while yet!!
Post by: orangeman on July 18, 2015, 05:35:08 PM
Tipp poor and their discipline even worse.
Tyrone very organised

They'll have to get the football board chairman on tomorrow's Sunday sport to talk about the Tipp cynicism.

Post by: Throw ball on July 18, 2015, 05:41:19 PM
Tyrone just after winning. No need to keep the winding up.
Post by: rrhf on July 18, 2015, 06:23:24 PM
Tyrone will go further than monaghan this year and the next 5 years.
Post by: tyroneman on July 18, 2015, 06:39:56 PM
Quote from: rrhf on July 18, 2015, 06:23:24 PM

Hmmmm....wouldn't get too cocky. Could well get them next and they at least have a marquee forward.
Post by: omaghjoe on July 18, 2015, 06:44:51 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 18, 2015, 06:39:56 PM
Quote from: rrhf on July 18, 2015, 06:23:24 PM

Hmmmm....wouldn't get too cocky. Could well get them next and they at least have a marquee forward.

What goin on with this word? It used to be a big fancy tent
Post by: omagh_gael on July 18, 2015, 06:48:10 PM
So we're up against either Sligo, Mayo, Donegal or Monaghan. With it being a neutral venue what are the options?

Tyrone v Sligo = Brewster
Tyrone v Mayo = Sligo
Tyrone v Moaghan = Brewster
Tyrone v Donegal = Celtic Park
Post by: tyroneman on July 18, 2015, 06:49:33 PM
Commentators mentioned Croke park.....couldn't see it at this stage.
Post by: under the bar on July 18, 2015, 07:12:20 PM
QuoteSo we're up against either Sligo, Mayo, Donegal or Monaghan. With it being a neutral venue what are the options?

Tyrone v Mayo = Sligo

Tyrone can't play Donegal in the next round which is why these fixtures were not drawn on Monday.
Post by: Boycey on July 18, 2015, 07:27:25 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 18, 2015, 06:49:33 PM
Commentators mentioned Croke park.....couldn't see it at this stage.

Probably will be in Croker as part of a double header the Sat night before the 1st two quarter finals if last year is anything to go by..
Post by: Mikhailov on July 18, 2015, 07:45:42 PM
Quote from: under the bar on July 18, 2015, 07:12:20 PM
QuoteSo we're up against either Sligo, Mayo, Donegal or Monaghan. With it being a neutral venue what are the options?

Tyrone v Mayo = Sligo

Tyrone can't play Donegal in the next round which is why these fixtures were not drawn on Monday.

Why can we not play Donegal in next game...if they lose Ulster final then we can.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 18, 2015, 07:53:03 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on July 18, 2015, 07:45:42 PM
Quote from: under the bar on July 18, 2015, 07:12:20 PM

Tyrone v Mayo = Sligo

Why can we not play Donegal in next game...if they lose Ulster final then we can.

I thought the same, I am under the impression the only repeats that can no longer happen are repeat of provincial finals in the QFs.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 18, 2015, 07:56:18 PM
Tyrone play the losers of Connacht or ulster finals. They avoid repeat pairings were possible so we can't get Donegal. No offence to Sligo but we'd probably want them beat tomorrow as well as Donegal as we'd then play them.

I'd say we're at least third best team in ulster and wouldn't fear a beaten Monaghan team in next round either.

Much better second half today and hopefully we can push on from this. If we're going to go anywhere need more clinical display from forwards and improving our frees.
Post by: mick999 on July 18, 2015, 07:58:06 PM

This is from the master fixture schedule

http://www.gaa.ie/content/documents/GAA%20Football%20Championships%202015.pdf

01/02/03.08.2015 (Sat/Sun/Mon)
Round 4B
Two Games
Each of the two teams defeated in the Provincial Finals (Connacht, Uladh) shall play against one of the two Winners of Round 3B.
Subject to avoidance of repeat pairings where feasible. Venues determined by the CCCC.
Post by: rrhf on July 18, 2015, 08:54:06 PM
Brewster park it is then.
Post by: under the bar on July 18, 2015, 09:00:41 PM

Nope!!
Post by: tyroneboi on July 18, 2015, 09:29:36 PM
Tyrone can definitely draw Donegal. Sure didn't Fermanagh play Antrim a round or two after they played each other in Ulster?
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 18, 2015, 10:10:33 PM
Very clear from above and press release that once you get to round 4 they avoid repeat pairings where possible. They don't in the earlier rounds.
Post by: In hiding on July 18, 2015, 10:19:40 PM
Tyrone can either play Monaghan or Sligo but not Donegal
Post by: Main Street on July 18, 2015, 11:24:49 PM
It's inspirational to read about the red arses beating their breasts in heroic positive anticipation of what lies ahead.
I take that as a conditional, provisional, positive vote of (temporary) confidence  in Mickey Harte and that he's finally managing the team in such a way to meet your so 'knowledgeable' standards.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2015, 11:25:46 PM
you still here?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 18, 2015, 11:38:37 PM
Main Street is getting the shakes already, the red arses v the Farney in Brewster in a fortnight?
Post by: BennyHarp on July 18, 2015, 11:45:47 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 18, 2015, 11:24:49 PM
It's inspirational to read about the red arses beating their breasts in heroic positive anticipation of what lies ahead.
I take that as a conditional, provisional, positive vote of (temporary) confidence  in Mickey Harte and that he's finally managing the team in such a way to meet your so 'knowledgeable' standards.

Its inspirational to read a Monaghan man still worrying about Tyrone on the eve of his own team playing in an Ulster Final.
Post by: Whishtup on July 18, 2015, 11:56:56 PM
                   Made the Journey over from Clare from the game today.  Delighted to get to the home of hurling as the chance rarely comes up if you are a Tyrone supporter.  Nearly went to the 'Trip to Tipp' in '97 but even that fell through. 
                  Have to say that the stadium and pitch are excellent and suited Tyrone right down to the ground.  Atmosphere was pleasant, weather wasn't bad and was able to change seating in second half to keep near to the play which was thankfully in the Tipp half most of the time!
                  Good close first half.  What impressed me about Tyrone in the first half was the tenacity of tackle/blocks and legitimate turnovers once Tipp got past the 45.  What didn't go so well was the shooting of our forwards, telepathed cross-field kicks and highish balls into our forwards, who are not the tallest.  However, not a bad showing.  Always felt that Tyrone were just sucking the life out of Tipp by packing the defence and breaking at speed and that this would tell in the second half.
                Reffing was poor enough with soft frees on both sides, perhaps Tyrone benefitting the most.  The melee before half time was also handled badly- Awarding Tipp a free and then awarding a throw ball (leading to another shirt pulling session).
               Tyrone stepped it up after the second half and Tipp players seemed hell-bent on injuring somebody which was ultimately to their detriment.  If this was a tactic then it was ill-informed as it cost them any chance of staying with Tyrone.  These players didn't need to do that and I wish that they had continued to play in the same vein as in the first half.
               Whatever Mickey said to McAliskey and McCurry at half time must have worked as they really stood up.  If they do that from the first whistle, then we have a serious team.  After the Tipp player got sent off and O'Brien was subbed, it was game over.  Tyrone's superior fitness and conditioning was very evident in the second half and this is reassuring for the games going forward.  Meyler put in a good shift, Bradley was buzzing around and doing plenty of scouldin about poor balls coming into the forward line-I like to see that communication.  Sean was Sean-tireless.  Matty Donnelly has had better days-looked more comfortable near the end when he was around the half forward line.  Defence was good.  McCann dynamic.
               All-in-all, a good day at he office with much room for improvement but I feel some sense of momentum and familiarity with that second-half performance. 

Roll on Mayo...

Post by: ONeill on July 19, 2015, 12:06:26 AM
Quote from: Whishtup on July 18, 2015, 11:56:56 PM
                   Made the Journey over from Clare from the game today.  Delighted to get to the home of hurling as the chance rarely comes up if you are a Tyrone supporter.  Nearly went to the 'Trip to Tipp' in '97 but even that fell through. 
                  Have to say that the stadium and pitch are excellent and suited Tyrone right down to the ground.  Atmosphere was pleasant, weather wasn't bad and was able to change seating in second half to keep near to the play which was thankfully in the Tipp half most of the time!
                  Good close first half.  What impressed me about Tyrone in the first half was the tenacity of tackle/blocks and legitimate turnovers once Tipp got past the 45.  What didn't go so well was the shooting of our forwards, telepathed cross-field kicks and highish balls into our forwards, who are not the tallest.  However, not a bad showing.  Always felt that Tyrone were just sucking the life out of Tipp by packing the defence and breaking at speed and that this would tell in the second half.
                Reffing was poor enough with soft frees on both sides, perhaps Tyrone benefitting the most.  The melee before half time was also handled badly- Awarding Tipp a free and then awarding a throw ball (leading to another shirt pulling session).
               Tyrone stepped it up after the second half and Tipp players seemed hell-bent on injuring somebody which was ultimately to their detriment.  If this was a tactic then it was ill-informed as it cost them any chance of staying with Tyrone.  These players didn't need to do that and I wish that they had continued to play in the same vein as in the first half.
               Whatever Mickey said to McAliskey and McCurry at half time must have worked as they really stood up.  If they do that from the first whistle, then we have a serious team.  After the Tipp player got sent off and O'Brien was subbed, it was game over.  Tyrone's superior fitness and conditioning was very evident in the second half and this is reassuring for the games going forward.  Meyler put in a good shift, Bradley was buzzing around and doing plenty of scouldin about poor balls coming into the forward line-I like to see that communication.  Sean was Sean-tireless.  Matty Donnelly has had better days-looked more comfortable near the end when he was around the half forward line.  Defence was good.  McCann dynamic.
               All-in-all, a good day at he office with much room for improvement but I feel some sense of momentum and familiarity with that second-half performance. 

Roll on Mayo...

Agree with this:

What impressed me about Tyrone in the first half was the tenacity of tackle/blocks and legitimate turnovers once Tipp got past the 45.  What didn't go so well was the shooting of our forwards, telepathed cross-field kicks and highish balls into our forwards, who are not the tallest.

Totally disagree with this:

Matty Donnelly has had better days-looked more comfortable near the end when he was around the half forward line.

I thought he was MOTM by far.
Post by: Whishtup on July 19, 2015, 12:20:39 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 19, 2015, 12:06:26 AM
Quote from: Whishtup on July 18, 2015, 11:56:56 PM

Roll on Mayo...

Agree with this:

What impressed me about Tyrone in the first half was the tenacity of tackle/blocks and legitimate turnovers once Tipp got past the 45.  What didn't go so well was the shooting of our forwards, telepathed cross-field kicks and highish balls into our forwards, who are not the tallest.

Totally disagree with this:

Matty Donnelly has had better days-looked more comfortable near the end when he was around the half forward line.

I thought he was MOTM by far.

1st half coughed up some important possession and kicked the ball away a few times.  Only when Tyrone were flying did he come into his own.  Wouldn't be without him but feel that he has so much more to offer...
Post by: ONeill on July 19, 2015, 12:38:47 AM
I thought he was responsible for most of the turnovers in the first half. His tackling was phenomenal.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 19, 2015, 12:46:49 AM
ONeill, you really thought Mattie was MOTM?
What fuckin game where you watching or are you on the Wum.
We probably expect too much from him but surely he must understand by now you can't always slow the game down that much and that his forwards need early ball without this physical battle he always entices on himself. He rarely tries a pass & go move. Instead prefers to show how strong he is by shrugging a man off.

I too was very disappointed with first half dominance but second game in a row little to show for it on the scoreboard.

Second half, best display since Donegal game but too many negative minded fans blame Tipp for being poor as opposed to us being well up for it & playing well.
Yes after we went 5 ahead Tipps head dropped.

I've been critical for years of M.Harte and our style of play but today I liked what I saw, especially 2nd half.
The urgency and fight we lacked v Limerick & Meath was there from the start today. It was as if they realised Tipp are dangerous with their home fans so we can't give them a sniff otherwise they'll believe.

We're not gonna win Sam BUT it's a lot more exciting that watching the Dubs win games after 20 mins with my kids in Croker.
But don't tell the Dubs that. They like sure things with no excitement or atmosphere until AIFD
Post by: An Watcher on July 19, 2015, 12:52:05 AM
One of Donnellys biggest fans but the number of sluggish passes and poor kicks in the first half was serious.  Would never take him off and he was much improved in the second half.  Also thought McCurry was poor but in fairness he also improved.  Thought peter harte was excellent throughout
Post by: ONeill on July 19, 2015, 12:53:35 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 19, 2015, 12:46:49 AM

The same game you saw. Donnelly broke up the majority of Tipp attacks in the first half. To suggest anything else is mind boggling.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 19, 2015, 01:31:32 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 19, 2015, 12:53:35 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 19, 2015, 12:46:49 AM

The same game you saw. Donnelly broke up the majority of Tipp attacks in the first half. To suggest anything else is mind boggling.

On top of that he was in possession more times than any other player in what was supposedly a poor first half performance. He has set very high standards, it seems that he will be criticised if he falls even slightly below them. His second half was superb and hopefully we'll see more of his kicking from distance next time out.

Before the game I suggested that our full forward line could do damage if given a bit of ball. 13 points from the starting inside three is a good return.

I think our style is developing nicely game by game, who knows, we might even cause a few problems for some of the big boys, like Monaghan or Sligo.

By the way, Main Street's comments are just typical of his petty attitude to all things Tyrone. His justification for his choice of word earlier today, was equally as pathetic.
Post by: beer baron on July 19, 2015, 10:07:57 AM
Very impressed with Tyrone Yesterday,the intensity in the tackle was at a level rarely seen outside the likes of Donegal recently but the big standout was Peter Harte,surprised more hasn't been made of his performance, had it all, was tackling ferociously,breaking at pace,creating attacks,getting scores and was available for the ball anytime a team mate needed him. If he continues playing like that he'll be going for an All star in my book.
Post by: ONeill on July 19, 2015, 10:29:53 AM
Harte had an excellent first half when he was moved to left half forward. McCurry and McAliskey weren't really doing much with whatever ball they were getting and it took Harte's move up the field to change that. He was a lot quieter in the second half as he wasn't needed with Donnelly and McAliskey stepping up.
Post by: CD on July 19, 2015, 10:31:28 AM
Quote from: beer baron on July 19, 2015, 10:07:57 AM
Very impressed with Tyrone Yesterday,the intensity in the tackle was at a level rarely seen outside the likes of Donegal recently but the big standout was Peter Harte,surprised more hasn't been made of his performance, had it all, was tackling ferociously,breaking at pace,creating attacks,getting scores and was available for the ball anytime a team mate needed him. If he continues playing like that he'll be going for an All star in my book.
I'd agree with that Baron. People who have seen Peter Harte for years, and know what an exceptional player he is, seem to almost expect a level of performance that would earn any other player a MOM award while he barely gets a mention.Would say the same about Donnelly and Sean Cavanagh as well. Cavanagh is consistently exceptional and yet his performances barely get a mention. There have been spells in the past three years when he has almost singlehandedly kept Tyrone going and he still gets a slating from 'fans'
Post by: TabClear on July 19, 2015, 10:38:11 AM
Decent performance from Tyrone yesterday, albeit the Tipp collapse was total.

I would be worried though about giving the kind of chances that Tyrone gave in the 1st half to a more clinical team. This match alongside the Donegal game probably highlights about where Tyrone are. Good enough to beat most teams and to give the top tier teams a decent challenge but ultimately unlikley to be able to sustain it for a full game against the best.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 19, 2015, 10:50:30 AM
You know Harte is playing well when there's no talk of nephew on here. Hard to believe some people up to recently tried to say on here that he wasn't one of the best players in the county.
Post by: barelegs on July 19, 2015, 10:50:56 AM
Quote from: CD on July 19, 2015, 10:31:28 AM
I'd agree with that Baron. People who have seen Peter Harte for years, and know what an exceptional player he is, seem to almost expect a level of performance that would earn any other player a MOM award while he barely gets a mention.Would say the same about Donnelly and Sean Cavanagh as well. Cavanagh is consistently exceptional and yet his performances barely get a mention. There have been spells in the past three years when he has almost singlehandedly kept Tyrone going and he still gets a slating from 'fans'

Harte was Tyrone's standout performer yesterday by a distance. Apart from a few handling errors in the first half against Meath he's been the pick of the Tyrone team in the championship. Was excellent against Donegal the first day as well.

Sean Cavanagh hasn't performed anywhere near his best for Tyrone this year yet and he was off the pace at times yesterday as well. He's lost a yard of pace and that was highlighted a couple of times in the first half. He's not going to make the impact at full forward I had hoped he could. At this stage Colm's probably the more important player in terms of contribution. Sean will start regardless but he's probably better deployed in a deeper role as this stage where he can pop up and take a point

It'll be interesting to see what Mickey does when Justy McMahon is fit to return. He's a nailed on starter for me but whether he just comes back in at centre half back in place of Joe remains to be seen.

I'd like to see Tyrone deploy a more traditional midfielder at some point alongside Colm. The reality for the last 3 games is that we've been operating with one. Peter Harte started the last two games at midfield and Mattie started yesterday. Given the counter attacking game we've been playing it's been covered up a little but I've a feeling we might get found out at some stage because of it. Thought McNulty did well when introduced yesterday and he's mobile enough to play that position if needs be.

The main worry going forward is finding a consistent enough forward to trouble the top teams. McCurry and McAliskey showed flashes that they might be able to do it, but they're not consistent enough. It was nearly our  undoing against Meath. The other issue is our free taking is still too hit and miss for my liking. If I was managing a team against Tyrone I'd be telling them to foul men anywhere up to 40 metres out and take my chances that Tyrone won't kick the frees.
Post by: ONeill on July 19, 2015, 11:08:53 AM
Quote from: barelegs on July 19, 2015, 10:50:56 AM
Quote from: CD on July 19, 2015, 10:31:28 AM

Sean Cavanagh hasn't performed anywhere near his best for Tyrone this year yet and he was off the pace at times yesterday as well. He's lost a yard of pace and that was highlighted a couple of times in the first half. He's not going to make the impact at full forward I had hoped he could.

Sean's point scoring in the first half was crucial against Meath and to an extent yesterday. When McCurry and McAliskey's radars are off centre, you can trust Sean to swing a couple over. His point down the left hand side yesterday was sublime.
Post by: redhandefender on July 19, 2015, 11:17:04 AM
Petey harte and sean cav were pick of the bunch yesterday. Also full back line very strong again. Harte is now the main man.

Mc caliskey and mc curry getting smoke blown up their ass is false. They only stepped up when tipp fell away. mc caliskey is better than mc curry but both will crack under better opposition. unfortunately we have no other options in fwd line. Its a shame because behind the full fwd line i think we are very strong.

Long range frees will also kills us. Good teams will foul out there as they know morgan just doesn't have it.

I would love to see joe go to midfield if justy comes back. joe looks in terrific shape.

I would love us to take a big scalp and see what happens. for us to go the whole way mc caliskey and mc curry would need to move to a level i don't think they have

Post by: barelegs on July 19, 2015, 11:21:15 AM
I acknowledge he's popping up with some important scores, especially in the Meath game but he hasn't had the impact at full forward that I thought he could have. He gave a few sloppy passes yesterday especially in the first half when playing a bit closer to goal. Maybe I'm being harsh and basing it on performances in previous years but I just think he's not got close to the form he showed in 2013. A move a little deeper will negate any lost pace
Post by: Whishtup on July 19, 2015, 11:26:25 AM
In fairness, McCurry and McAliskey did the business in the second half.  McCurry's ball retention is much better these days.  If these two fire, which I believe they will, we will mount a serious challenge for any team.  Get the impression that Meyler took a bit of responsibilty off P Harte yesterday and at times was mistaken for Harte, making similar runs.  This is comforting that Pete doesn't have to be bursting himself every game with these pitch-long runs.  Sean looked like he had just got warmed up in the last ten minutes of the game-serious athlete.   
Post by: ONeill on July 19, 2015, 01:09:50 PM
What about yer Tipp man sledging McNabb on his bald patch!!!!
Post by: Rodman on July 19, 2015, 02:50:50 PM
Thought Meyler had an excellent debut game. Very confident and composed on the ball and did not look out of pace. In contrast to Richie Donnelly's debut.....hope to see Meyler nail down a place as he has allot to offer.
Post by: Mikhailov on July 19, 2015, 04:13:34 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on July 19, 2015, 11:26:25 AM
In fairness, McCurry and McAliskey did the business in the second half.  McCurry's ball retention is much better these days.  If these two fire, which I believe they will, we will mount a serious challenge for any team.  Get the impression that Meyler took a bit of responsibilty off P Harte yesterday and at times was mistaken for Harte, making similar runs.  This is comforting that Pete doesn't have to be bursting himself every game with these pitch-long runs.  Sean looked like he had just got warmed up in the last ten minutes of the game-serious athlete.   

Both players McCurry & McAliskey done reasonably well but were up against a poor defence. Harder tests await and yet to be convinced they can produce. I think McCurry ball retention is his weakness, he is weak in contact and is dispossessed easily enough. However, he is a scorer and if we can provide the chances he will take them for sure. Is incredibly accurate. McAliskey IMO is the better of the two and has played decent to date in patches but we need more from him. PH is quality, very competent all round footballer who should be our no.11 in every game - has vision, can pass, can run with pace, is direct and can score. With luck and these players going well, a semi final is achievable. Finally, any man who questions Sean C hasn't a clue after that man has carried us on his back for last few years. As good an athlete and player we have ever produced when you reflect on his 12+ years as a key player for us. Not in class of Canavan or King Frank but possibly next in line
Post by: redzone on July 19, 2015, 04:20:24 PM
Meyler played reasonably well considering he was away on a holiday with the Omagh lads all week.
Post by: tyroneman on July 19, 2015, 05:23:29 PM
Have heard it said a lot of times Justy should be in MF...........
Post by: tippabu on July 19, 2015, 07:17:58 PM
Embarrassing yesterday, I really felt this was our chance to take that next step but instead we got a massive wake up call. our fitness levels are nowhere near the top teams decision, making left alot to be desired too. Peter creedon has brought us on a long way and made the decision earlier in the year that this was his last year, big appointment now to see where we go from here
Post by: rrhf on July 19, 2015, 07:39:43 PM
Keep the head up.  There's talent in tipp.  Handled right it will make progress. I felt indiscipline in tipp was rampant from the start and sadly for tipp Tyrone just got very businesslike and got on with it.tyrone impressed me yesterday, but they do will only get to a certain level this year.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 19, 2015, 08:04:04 PM
I was very pleased with our performance yesterday especially how we went about the task and our focus and application in the second half.
A lot of these type of games end up looking easy as the same called smaller fish gets disheartened as the other team don't crumble so easy.
Our attitude at the start of the second half showed great urgency and leadership with a number of players standing up.
The draw has been very kind to us though so we SHOULD find ourselves in a 1/4 final v Mayo or Monaghan using a smoother road that Donegal ended up using. Derry, Armagh, Monaghan v Limerick, Meath, Tipp & Sligo.

I really would like to see Mickey put an end to Morgan hitting frees. It's become a farce now and rather than it being a positive thing, it now has become a thing of dread which uplifts the other team when he misses. Can you imagine the sledging he's gotta receive now from teams as he walks up to hit one.
I'd rather we take it short and work it in. Kicking it wide 9 times out of 10 doesn't make sense to me any more in these days of using stats for everything.

BTW I was badly wrong about Mattie last night at 12.04 in Hayes front bar.

Post by: ONeill on July 19, 2015, 08:08:31 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 19, 2015, 08:04:04 PM

I really would like to see Mickey put an end to Morgan hitting frees. It's become a farce now and rather than it being a positive thing, it now has become a thing of dread which uplifts the other team when he misses.

I found that hard to watch yesterday. They were trying to tee up a free for him for confidence. His style of kicking has even changed. No more.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 19, 2015, 08:35:59 PM
Does anyone know does Sky repeat their live games later in the week as I can't see it on their catch up service?
Post by: clarshack on July 19, 2015, 08:49:19 PM
fantastic 2nd half from tyrone yesterday. tipp are no mugs.
Post by: Windmill abu on July 20, 2015, 01:19:53 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 19, 2015, 08:08:31 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 19, 2015, 08:04:04 PM

I really would like to see Mickey put an end to Morgan hitting frees. It's become a farce now and rather than it being a positive thing, it now has become a thing of dread which uplifts the other team when he misses.

I found that hard to watch yesterday. They were trying to tee up a free for him for confidence. His style of kicking has even changed. No more.

If you take the free taking out of it & just base it on Goal keeping (Shot stopping & kickouts), then M. O'Neill may be a better choice. Or is it too late in the campaign to mess about with keeper selection?
Post by: Fuzzman on July 20, 2015, 12:13:13 PM
From The Irish Examiner

76 not out for Tyrone colossus Sean Cavanagh Monday, July 20, 2015By Eoghan Cormican
Tipperary 0-7 Tyrone 0-19: A landmark afternoon for Tyrone football's favourite son. Sean Cavanagh was the final player to disappear underneath the Kinane Stand shortly after 5pm on Saturday, a number of visiting and, indeed, home supporters requesting a picture on what was a historic outing for the 32-year old.
(http://www.irishexaminer.com/media/images/s/SeanCavanaghTunnelMay15_large.jpg)

Cavanagh's involvement inside the Thurles whitewash brought to 76 the number of championship appearances he has made for the Red Hand County, a new Tyrone record.
Thirteen summers on, he can still vividly recallhis championship debut.
"It was May 19, 2002. I ended up getting a lucky goal towards the end to draw it. I can remember almost every one of those 76 games. They have disappeared like a lightning bolt in the past 13 years."
The favourites had been patient in both defence and attack, and while their opponents lacked real penetration to cut through the 13-man wall they were confronted with each time they moved inside the Tyrone 45m line, they didn't shy from the challenge.

What materialised at the change of ends, however, was an established county delivering a footballing lesson to their ill-disciplined and one-dimensional hosts. 0-12 to 0-1, the winners outscored Tipperary in the second 35 minutes.
The problems with Steven O'Brien's hamstring were highlighted by the long black stripe running up his left leg, while a subdued Colin O'Riordan was also substituted before the finish.
Having played the full hour in Tipperary's Munster U21 hurling semi-final defeat on Thursday evening, O'Riordan was a shadow of the colossus who almost dragged the Premier County across the line in the All-Ireland U21 decider against Tyrone in early May.
That contest, littered with cynical play, had soured relations between the counties and that animosity boiled to the surface in first-half stoppages when Michael Quinlivan delivered a crunching, yet fair shoulder that floored Conor Meyler, and a melee spilled onto the sideline.
The Tipperary management avoided a tunnel brawl by keeping their players on the field as Tyrone returned to the dressing room.
Four turnovers in the opening four minutes of the game had suggested Tipp would struggle. Runners from deep — mainly Sean Cavanagh and Peter Harte — pierced holes in the home defence. Conor McAliskey (0-1 free), Cavanagh and two Darren McCurry frees moved Mickey Harte's side in front; Tipp relied on the dead-ball accuracy of Kevin O'Halloran.
The corner-forward struck their opener on nine minutes and his second, along with well-engineered scores from Robbie Kiely and Michael Quinlivan, tied proceedings after 20 minutes.
Then went Tyrone through the gears. Peter Harte was on the mark after a superb block on Quinlivan at the other end, with Cavanagh and a second Harte minor reestablishing Tyrone's three-point cushion.
Tipp, through O'Halloran (two frees), would narrow the gap, but such was the energy expanded in creating the opening, there was very little left in the tank on the restart. After three attacks broke down, a flurry scores at the other end from McAliskey (0-2), McCurry (0-3) and Mattie Donnelly, the game was up for Creedon's charges. As their card count soared, David Gough was given reason to reach for red as Liam Casey, on the field two minutes, stamped on Colm Cavanagh.

Game-changer
Four unanswered points between the 46th and 54th minutes moved Tyrone 0-13 to 0-6 ahead. The ease at which the gap had been established deflated Tipperary and the final quarter was one-way traffic.

Talk of the town
Peter Creedon's decision to step down as Tipperary manager. The hunt for his successor is set to begin immediately.

Did that just happen?
Tipp scoring just one point in the entire second period, a 66th minute Kevin O'Halloran free.

Best on show?
Peter Harte covered many roles for Tyrone, and, indeed, almost every blade of grass on the Semple Stadium turf. Linked defence with attack on numerous occasions.

Sideline superior
Tyrone's defensive set-up frustrated Tipperary, while for the home outfit, the decision to start Steven O'Brien would have to be questioned as the Ballina youngster, having missed the Louth game with a hamstring injury, was clearly nowhere near full fitness.

The man in black
Busy afternoon for David Gough. The Meath official handed out one red, 10 yellow and one black. Was far too inconsistent in his decision-making, though.

What's next?
Tyrone await their opponents from this morning's fourth round qualifier draw.
WRONG we wait to hear where to we play Sligo and at what time?

Scorers for Tyrone:
D McCurry (0-5, 0-3 frees); C McAliskey (0-5, 0-3 frees); S Cavanagh, M Donnelly (0-3 each); P Harte (0-2); C McCann (0-1).
Scorers for Tipperary:
K O'Halloran (0-5, 0-4 frees, 0-1 '45); M Quinlivan, R Kiely (0-1 each).

Tyrone:
N Morgan; A McCrory, R McNamee, C McCarron; R McMahon, J McMahon, T McCann; C Cavanagh, M Donnelly; C Meyler, P Harte, M Bradley; D McCurry, S Cavanagh, C McAliskey.
Subs for Tyrone:
C McCann for McCurry (52 mins), B Tierney for Meyler (57), R O'Neill for Bradley (61), C Clarke for C Cavanagh (61), P McNulty for Harte (64), C McShane for McAliskey (67).

Tipperary:
E Comerford; A Campbell, P Codd, C McDonald; S Kennedy, R Kiely, B Fox; C O'Riordan, P Acheson; G Mulhair, S O'Brien, P Austin, C Sweeney, M Quinlivan, K O'Halloran.
Subs for Tipperary:
J Lonergan for Sweeney (40 mins), L Casey for O'Brien (54), J Feehan for McDonald (58, bc), B Grogan for Austin (60), B Mulvihill for O'Riordan (65), C O'Shaughnessy for Mulhair (66).

Referee: D Gough (Meath).
------------------------------------
What did people think of the referee by the way?
I don't think I ever saw a game with so many times the ball was touched on the ground and also blocks.
Was it the surface that the ball doesn't bounce as well I wonder. Lovely big pitch and interesting reading the Tyrone GAA facebook post where so many loved going onto the pitch afterwards
Post by: longballin on July 20, 2015, 12:45:13 PM
Morgan on the frees claerly not working. Why are they persisting with it?
Post by: tippabu on July 20, 2015, 02:08:29 PM
What did people think of the referee by the way?
I don't think I ever saw a game with so many times the ball was touched on the ground and also blocks.
Was it the surface that the ball doesn't bounce as well I wonder. Lovely big pitch and interesting reading the Tyrone GAA facebook post where so many loved going onto the pitch afterwards

Saw that post alright, was very good. I think we take for granted going onto the pitch after pretty much all our home games and mixing with the player and children getting to play hurling and football after on the pitch. Does it happen often up there in ulster? Tyrone people really seemed to enjoy it after, plenty getting photos and saw a few getting a lend of hurleys off tipp young fellas and tried (not very well) to put a ball over the bar. After all that happened with the under 21s and the fall out it was good to see that has seemed to be put to bed and everyone mixed and seemed to get on
Post by: Fuzzman on July 20, 2015, 03:51:09 PM
Well said Tippabu
I don't want to stir it all up again but there seemed a bit of tension in the crowd I thought where they expected us to me more dirty or cynical is that fair to say?

A few young lads in the pub very late on said to me Tyrone are BACK but ye are a very dirty team
Is that the general consensus down there or is that just what they hear from the medja?
Post by: Whishtup on July 20, 2015, 04:08:59 PM
I thoroughly enjoyed the Thurles experience-time of the match meant that there were a lot of kids present-I regret not bringing mine.  Enjoyed the atmosphere and thought the pitch was amazing.  A real treat to be in Thurles.  There may have been an expectation of a dust-up but Tyrone rose above it and let the football do the talking.
Post by: tippabu on July 20, 2015, 05:50:29 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 20, 2015, 03:51:09 PM
Well said Tippabu
I don't want to stir it all up again but there seemed a bit of tension in the crowd I thought where they expected us to me more dirty or cynical is that fair to say?

A few young lads in the pub very late on said to me Tyrone are BACK but ye are a very dirty team
Is that the general consensus down there or is that just what they hear from the medja?

I didn't watch the match or highlights back, only thing we may have been upset about was the bit of a scrap before ht when we got a free after a tremendous looking hit on one of yer lads, as I say didn't watch it back so don't know who instigated it but we lost our free and ball was thrown up. Apart from that we were the ones who were dirty and cynical at times, the stamp sounded bad and we could have seen another couple of black cards. Wouldn't mind them lads in Hayes, most thurles people have zero interest in football and would just use the buzz words that they'd hear being said, as I said, it was us rather than ye who were the dirtier
Post by: omaghjoe on July 21, 2015, 04:52:18 AM
Enjoyed the match at the weekend mostly because its the first match since Donegal that I got to watch. This is the exactly the kinda qualifier that I loved goin to when I was at home and its tuff watching them on the box TBH.

Very business like performance from Tyrone and mostly didnt get involved in any BS which is refreshing, even horse managed to control himself during the first half handbags. Donnelly, McAllisky and McCurry looked great in 2nd half but how are they gonna fair against a tighter defence? Still tho hopefully the 2nd half will be the confidence boost that we need at this point. All in all it was a job well done and showed that there is life and potential beyond the blanket.

I am pretty sure that the 3rd quarter sucked the life outta Tipp and the heads went down after being so pumped up. Wouldnt make much of the stamping he got the line and it was just frustration at the end of the day.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 21, 2015, 08:10:43 AM
Cheers TippAbu for yer honesty.
Basically the reason I ask was I was chatting to a lot of Tyrone people in Hayes that evening from all walks if life, living in all parts of the world, one home from Melbourne. We were talking about who Tyrone are perceived nowadays & how a lot  of people, especially from back home have this siege mentality now. They tend to say who cares if people think badly of us and see us as cynical or cheats due to Brolly's opinions and Southern media since Derrytresk etc.
We were saying that's just burying your head in the sand and it does matter what public opinion is about us. Away fans have it in their heads now that we will be dirty and cynical and win at all costs and that does create a bias that makes its way onto the field and will influence SOME referees.
Heaven forbid should we get to an AI final and lose then it will look so so bad that we don't talk to RTE at the banquet. Looks like sour grapes. I know, I know it won't happen. Relax.
All I'm asking is do people realise how bad our reputation is out their now and so it's vital we keep our noses clean for a while to shake off these controversies.
I fear though a POSSIBLE upcoming match with Monaghan could put all that to and end. Remember last time they meet in Croker.
Difference now though we don't have ONE dirty/hard man player any more.