GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: macdanger2 on March 30, 2015, 09:43:29 AM

Title: Maigh Eo v Dun na nGall, Pairc Mhic Eil, 5ú Aibrean @ 1500
Post by: macdanger2 on March 30, 2015, 09:43:29 AM
Last game of the league on Sunday and while it hasn't been overly impressive, we'll stay up barring getting a tanking from Donegal while a win would likely see us into a SF.

We've only won one from three at home and that against Monaghan who had 13 men. Our other two games have been insipid performances against Tyrone and Dublin. Away wins to Kerry (who were just back from holidays) and Derry haven't exactly been inspiring either.

I'd imagine the team won't change a whole pile from what played Cork, maybe Andy to start or at least come on a bit earlier.

Title: Re: Maigh Eo v Dun na nGall, Pairc Mhic Eil, 5ú Aibrean @ 1500
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2015, 05:25:48 PM

There's nothing positive about injuries yet anyway so only Patrick Durcan will be available extra. Keane went off injured as well so have to wait and see there.

Conditions were bad in Cork but still 0-2 from inside forwards poor form. Without or without Freeman in there, it is not very convincing. We re iffy on frees as well since Cillian got injured so his absence has left a gaping hole in so many ways.
Post by: BluestackBoy on March 30, 2015, 05:44:06 PM
Donegal not hugely bothered from here on in as they have Tyrone in 7 weeks in Ballybofey.

The last thing they need now is a semi final and possibly final in the league.

All eyes on Tyrone.
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2015, 06:03:36 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on March 30, 2015, 05:44:06 PM
Donegal not hugely bothered from here on in as they have Tyrone in 7 weeks in Ballybofey.

All eyes on Tyrone.

Wouldn t blame them. Murphy seemed to take the black the last day to make sure he d get the suspension out of the way before the champ. Way to do it imo. Neil Gallagher reported to be doubtful as well.

Mayo won t want to lose 3 home games even if we probably are safe. Fellas playing for places too. We may well win this and make a semi but at the moment we hardly have fire-power to go any further.
Post by: Nihilist on March 30, 2015, 06:17:38 PM
Does anyone know if Richie Feeney is still on the panel or not. Haven't seen him named anywhere all season so far.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 30, 2015, 07:04:44 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on March 30, 2015, 05:44:06 PM

All eyes on Tyrone.

Yeah, it's only six weeks after Sundays game. Don't know how League semi the following week and Final would hinder preparation? As there would be only 3 weeks to the game after the final.

Although there is a common cord among both Mayo and Donegal people, there is no love lost between these sides, so this may be a game with a bit of niggle.
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2015, 09:28:36 PM

At least we ll see if Mayo can do any better against a blanket defense than we did v Tyrone. We might see Aido inside most of the time for this one.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 30, 2015, 09:33:31 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on March 30, 2015, 06:17:38 PM
Does anyone know if Richie Feeney is still on the panel or not. Haven't seen him named anywhere all season so far.

Played with the Mitchels in the Michael Walsh Cup at the weekend.
Post by: Nihilist on March 30, 2015, 09:56:01 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 30, 2015, 09:33:31 PM

Is he gone from the panel so?
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 30, 2015, 09:58:47 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on March 30, 2015, 09:56:01 PM

Must be. That competition is for those that aren't on the panel. And as you said there's no mention of h anywheere else.
Post by: Nihilist on March 30, 2015, 10:26:40 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 30, 2015, 09:58:47 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on March 30, 2015, 09:56:01 PM

Must be. That competition is for those that aren't on the panel. And as you said there's no mention of h anywheere else.
There was a rumour that 5 had been dropped after the Dubin game. Was Cathal Carolan playing club this weekend or is he even back yet at that level after last year's injury?
Post by: twohands!!! on March 31, 2015, 03:26:06 PM
Mayo's first championship game is June 14th whereas Donegal's is May 17th.

10 weeks versus 6 weeks.

Throw in the fact that it's Mayo at home, Donegal are missing Murphy and the relative state of the competition in the squads (far more competition for places in the Mayo squad compared to the Donegal squad) I think that Mayo will be far more "up" for the game than Donegal.

There's also the fact that Donegal are in action in the U21 championship tomorrow night and that Ryan McHugh and Hugh McFadden plus some more of the senior will be involved.

Post by: macdanger2 on March 31, 2015, 04:21:58 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 31, 2015, 03:26:06 PM

10 weeks versus 6 weeks.

Throw in the fact that it's Mayo at home, Donegal are missing Murphy and the relative state of the competition in the squads (far more competition for places in the Mayo squad compared to the Donegal squad) I think that Mayo will be far more "up" for the game than Donegal.

There's also the fact that Donegal are in action in the U21 championship tomorrow night and that Ryan McHugh and Hugh McFadden plus some more of the senior will be involved.

So what you're saying is, we shouldn't lose by enough to get relegated??! Nice one
Post by: rosnarun on March 31, 2015, 04:55:06 PM
have yis learned nothing.
don't use logic when trying to predict the outcome of sporting event esp mayo games.
thats what makes bookies rich
Post by: twohands!!! on March 31, 2015, 05:09:53 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 31, 2015, 04:21:58 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 31, 2015, 03:26:06 PM

10 weeks versus 6 weeks.

So what you're saying is, we shouldn't lose by enough to get relegated??! Nice one

Seriously though I would be very shocked if Mayo didnt win.
Of course I have been wrong before, but I think it would be a very bad sign of Mayo if the only home game they won out of 4 in the league was the Monaghan self-explosion.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 31, 2015, 06:09:03 PM
It would be a bad sign to lose your last 3 league games regardless of the venues.
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2015, 06:21:52 PM

True, but the only alarming performance was Dublin. That was inexcusable.
People make excuses for us beating Kerry and Monaghan but we played very well in those matches. The Tyrone game wasn t great but it was tactics that did for us and not effort. Has also to be remembered that we ve been trying things and unsettled so overall our position isn t too bad if we can beat Donegal.

The latest is that Seamie and Diarmuid O Connor are doubtful for Sunday, while Barrett, Cunniffe and Cillian defo ruled out.
T'would have been nice to see Tom and Seamie get a run together before championship.

Post by: Nihilist on March 31, 2015, 06:32:39 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 31, 2015, 06:21:52 PM

True, but the only alarming performance was Dublin. That was inexcusable.
People make excuses for us beating Kerry and Monaghan but we played very well in those matches. The Tyrone game wasn t great but it was tactics that did for us and not effort. Has also to be remembered that we ve been trying things and unsettled so overall our position isn t too bad if we can beat Donegal.

The latest is that Seamie and Diarmuid O Connor are doubtful for Sunday, while Barrett, Cunniffe and Cillian defo ruled out.
T'would have been nice to see Tom and Seamie get a run together before championship.

They could if we beat Donegal....
Post by: Nihilist on March 31, 2015, 06:35:32 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 31, 2015, 05:09:53 PM

Of course I have been wrong before, but I think it would be a very bad sign of Mayo if the only home game they won out of 4 in the league was the Monaghan self-explosion.

So you're putting your house and personal reputation on Mayo for this one. We're currently 4/7 so if you have a half decent place you should get a nice shed outta it.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 01, 2015, 02:28:35 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on March 31, 2015, 06:35:32 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 31, 2015, 05:09:53 PM

So you're putting your house and personal reputation on Mayo for this one. We're currently 4/7 so if you have a half decent place you should get a nice shed outta it.

Not putting the house on it but my put the shed.....so I would probably end up with a nice sized dog kennel??
Post by: Nihilist on April 01, 2015, 09:25:05 PM
I think Donegal will be very tough to beat. That result last Sunday was indicative of it. People say Tyrone are rubbish etc. or are on the way out. But that's simply not giving enough credit to Donegal.

Now maybe they won't take Sunday as seriously but I'm pretty sure they are not going out to deliberately throw the game. There's a good bit of competition up there now for places on that team so fellas will be going out to impress.
Post by: larryin89 on April 01, 2015, 10:54:59 PM
Chrikey  you'd have to fancy us to do the business here. A murphyless Donegal is a limited Donegal.
Post by: Nihilist on April 01, 2015, 11:21:06 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 01, 2015, 10:54:59 PM
Chrikey  you'd have to fancy us to do the business here. A murphyless Donegal is a limited Donegal.

Well so far we beat a Kerry team minus Donaghy and only back a week from holidays. Also we beat Monaghan who had 2 men stupidly sent off and we beat Derry who everyone else has also beaten. In the middle of that we got out smarted at home by Tyrone, annihilated by Dublin at home and were unlucky away against a Cork team missing key players and already qualified for the semis.
I know Div1 is tough but overall it's not exactly what you could call a convincing campaign.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 01, 2015, 11:38:38 PM
macdanger started the Dublin and Cork threads. If we lose this, we know who to blame ;)
Post by: moysider on April 02, 2015, 12:12:20 AM
Quote from: Nihilist on April 01, 2015, 11:21:06 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 01, 2015, 10:54:59 PM
[/quote author]

Ah lads, ye are both wrong  ;D

Gallagher a doubt as well for Donegal. But even missing both they are far from limited. Then there is another angle. Both Mayo and Donegal know they have to get walloped to be relegated. Unlikely either will let that happen. I know I m risking a batin here from Donegals but think it more likely that, under the circumstances, Mayo would be more likely to cut loose a bit, if we were let.But that is unlikely to happen.  I expect Donegal to play it real tight tbh. That will give them a good chance to win the game and if they dont win it will mean they are not dragged into the relegation pit.

Well so far we beat a Kerry team minus Donaghy and only back a week from holidays. Also we beat Monaghan who had 2 men stupidly sent off and we beat Derry who everyone else has also beaten. In the middle of that we got out smarted at home by Tyrone, at home and were unlucky away against a Cork team missing key players and already qualified for the semis.
I know Div1 is tough but overall it's not exactly what you could call a convincing campaign.

unlucky away against a Cork team missing key players and already qualified for the semis.

Who were they missing again?
We were the team missing players. We were missing Barrett, Cunniffe, Seamie and Cillian!
Before last Sunday we ve also been missing Tom Parsons since about 2009 :o

Honestly Nihalist, you re wrecking my head, undermining the efforts of a team that has been wrecking my head forever ;D

[Well so far we beat a Kerry team minus Donaghy and only back a week from holidays.[/b]

Brilliant - they ve the year long for going on holidays. What excuse did they have for losing to Monaghan last weekend? Great away win for Mayo.

Also we beat Monaghan who had 2 men stupidly sent off

They weren t stupidly sent off. They thought we were a soft touch and started acting the man. When they were outplayed they lost it. They should have finished with 12. For some reason the ref and his officials did not seemed to mind being verbally abused by these boys.

got out smarted at home by Tyrone,

Very true, but Pateen had never come across a defensive side before so .... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

annihilated by Dublin

We were a disgrace.
Post by: cuconnacht on April 02, 2015, 01:58:05 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 01, 2015, 11:38:38 PM
macdanger started the Dublin and Cork threads. If we lose this, we know who to blame ;)
Too true,too true.And he took job himself inspite of the fact there were many other candidates,accordin to some much more qualified and experiened for the position.We are watchin! "Judges"? ;D ;D ;D
Post by: macdanger2 on April 02, 2015, 02:42:30 PM
Quote from: cuconnacht on April 02, 2015, 01:58:05 PM
Too true,too true.And he took job himself inspite of the fact there were many other candidates,accordin to some much more qualified and experiened for the position.We are watchin! "Judges"? ;D ;D ;D

Jesus, the knives are out before we've been beat at all. You can be sure I won't be getting the credit if we send Donegal back to the hills emptyhanded  ;D
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 02, 2015, 04:41:34 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on April 02, 2015, 02:42:30 PM

Jesus, the knives are out before we've been beat at all. You can be sure I won't be getting the credit if we send Donegal back to the hills emptyhanded  ;D

Nah, I'm never confident of any game unless Farr starts the thread and predicts a ten-point hiding at the very least. Then and only then will I breathe a bit easier. ;D
Post by: twohands!!! on April 02, 2015, 05:06:48 PM
Both Ryan McHugh and Hugh McFadden played the full game in Donegal's U21 game last night. Eoin McHugh and Darach O'Connor alsp featured but they haven't been as important as the other two in terms of the senior team.
The Ulster U21 final is on next Wednesday so it will be interesting to see how much the U21s will be involved Sunday.
Post by: cuconnacht on April 02, 2015, 07:11:37 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 02, 2015, 05:06:48 PM
Both Ryan McHugh and Hugh McFadden played the full game in Donegal's U21 game last night. Eoin McHugh and Darach O'Connor alsp featured but they haven't been as important as the other two in terms of the senior team.
The Ulster U21 final is on next Wednesday so it will be interesting to see how much the U21s will be involved Sunday.
Not a hope in hells chance of any of them toggin out sunday.To all intents and purposes its a dead rubber,theres no ten point plus turnover here,nothing much to gain for either side and lot to risk if they decide "lets go donnybrook".Ye have an ulster title focus and we don't need to add to our already numerous walkin wounded list.
Post by: ballinaman on April 02, 2015, 09:08:37 PM
Mayo Team:           O'Malley
                     Caff, Keane, Higgins
                  Keegan, Boyle, Vaughan
                        Moran, Parsons,
              McLoughlin, AO'Shea, Doherty
                 Ronaldson, Kirby, Dillon
Post by: ballinaman on April 02, 2015, 09:09:51 PM
Keeper merry go round continues...
Post by: joemamas on April 02, 2015, 09:13:53 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 02, 2015, 09:09:51 PM

How far away are s o se, C O Connor and  E Regan from full fitness
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 02, 2015, 09:15:00 PM
Is that the only change? Somebody needs to nail down the No 1 spot.
Post by: larryin89 on April 02, 2015, 09:16:39 PM

Does it make any sense at this stage, I don't think it does , it's a bit farcical.
Post by: ballinaman on April 02, 2015, 09:23:43 PM
Quote from: joemamas on April 02, 2015, 09:13:53 PM

Haven't a clue to be honest. I read O'Connor had a tendon issue under his knee..... tendon's can be temperamental enough so it's hard to give an exact time frame.
Regan is 9 weeks post fracture this Sunday. 6 weeks +- 2 for a collar bone usually. I'd say he's about 2-4 weeks away now from full contact would be my guess.
Post by: moysider on April 02, 2015, 10:46:22 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 02, 2015, 09:23:43 PM

Haven't a clue to be honest. I read O'Connor had a tendon issue under his knee..... tendon's can be temperamental enough so it's hard to give an exact time frame.
Regan is 9 weeks post fracture this Sunday. 6 weeks +- 2 for a collar bone usually. I'd say he's about 2-4 weeks away now from full contact would be my guess.

Regan was supposed to be back full contact this week.

The keeper situation reminds me of Shilton and Clemence back in the day. Joe Corrigan and Phil Parkes got an odd cap too - but all ye young lads wouldn t remember that! Look just give the jersey to Clarkie and get on with it. The other lads will have their time.
I ve a feeling management are stalling. Clarke is the obvious choice imo.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 02, 2015, 11:53:44 PM
1   Michael Boyle
2   Eamonn Doherty
3   Neil McGee
4   Eamonn McGee
5   Paddy McGrath
6   Karl Lacey
7   Frank McGlynn
8   Martin McElhinney
9   Christy Toye
10   Martin O'Reilly
11   Odhrán Mac Niallais
12   Ryan McHugh
13   Patrick McBrearty
14   Hugh McFadden
15   Colm McFadden

16   Mark McGinley
17   Anthony Thompson
18   Ciaran McGinley
19   Mark McHugh
20   Joe Gibbons
21   Daniel McLaughlin
22   Gary McFadden
23   Stephen Griffen
24   David Walsh
25   Eoin McHugh
26   Darragh O'Connor

No Micheal Murphy (suspended) Durcan and Gallagher also missing.

Don't know what Donegal are playing at naming Ryan McHugh and Hugh McFadden among the starting 15 given the U21 games this week and the Ulster U21 final next Wednesday.
Post by: cuconnacht on April 03, 2015, 12:22:15 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 02, 2015, 11:53:44 PM
1   Michael Boyle
2   Eamonn Doherty
3   Neil McGee
4   Eamonn McGee
5   Paddy McGrath
6   Karl Lacey
7   Frank McGlynn
8   Martin McElhinney
9   Christy Toye
10   Martin O'Reilly
11   Odhrán Mac Niallais
12   Ryan McHugh
13   Patrick McBrearty
14   Hugh McFadden
15   Colm McFadden

16   Mark McGinley
17   Anthony Thompson
18   Ciaran McGinley
19   Mark McHugh
20   Joe Gibbons
21   Daniel McLaughlin
22   Gary McFadden
23   Stephen Griffen
24   David Walsh
25   Eoin McHugh
26   Darragh O'Connor

No Micheal Murphy (suspended) Durcan and Gallagher also missing.

Don't know what Donegal are playing at naming Ryan McHugh and Hugh McFadden among the starting 15 given the U21 games this week and the Ulster U21 final next Wednesday.
I cant believe that for a minute,risk those lads in a no nothing game.Its probably/has to be  a ruse,the usual team naming mullarkey with no resemblance to whats on the park on a sunday.
Post by: Syferus on April 03, 2015, 12:29:48 AM
Lol @ disbelief of a manager playing U21s three days before an U21 match. Try one day after one.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 03, 2015, 01:14:42 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 02, 2015, 10:46:22 PM

The keeper situation reminds me of Shilton and Clemence back in the day. Joe Corrigan and Phil Parkes got an odd cap too - but all ye young lads wouldn t remember that! Look just give the jersey to Clarkie and get on with it. The other lads will have their time.
I ve a feeling management are stalling. Clarke is the obvious choice but Hennelly sulked in the past and walked away when he wasn t No.1.

Oh them were the days when Liverpool & Forest ruled Europe and the Old Division One! Despite being a Liverpool fan, I always fancied Shilton as a better Keeper?

Yeah, I have a feeling Hennelly could be the fall Guy of the 3 lads.

Post by: Syferus on April 03, 2015, 01:48:40 AM
In fairness it's hard to blame back-up keepers for walking. Wasn't Hennelly coming up from Dublin too? Putting in the work of being an IC player while having pretty much no chance of playing unless the No. 1 strains his hammy reaching for the water bottle seems like an incredibly solitary existence.
Post by: maigheo on April 03, 2015, 01:55:24 AM
Going back a bit with talk of Shilton and Clemence.Shilton the better keeper but the concession of that howler v Poland will haunt him forever.For me Clarke should be no. one and only for injuries would have an all star by now.Remember one of the Mayo defenders mentioning that his biggest fear  in training was being under a high ball coming into the square with Clarke in goal.Enough said
Post by: Syferus on April 03, 2015, 02:27:16 AM
Quote from: maigheo on April 03, 2015, 01:55:24 AM
Going back a bit with talk of Shilton and Clemence.Shilton the better keeper but the concession of that howler v Poland will haunt him forever.For me Clarke should be no. one and only for injuries would have an all star by now.Remember one of the Mayo defenders mentioning that his biggest fear  in training was being under a high ball coming into the square with Clarke in goal.Enough said

Explains the Murphy and Star debaccles more than it does the Mayo goal-keeping situation.
Post by: Crete Boom on April 03, 2015, 09:37:14 AM

I ve a feeling management are stalling. Clarke is the obvious choice but Hennelly sulked in the past and walked away when he wasn t No.1.

Bit harsh on Hennelly there Moy as it was his employer at the time gave him an ultimatum , football or his Job. I had dealings with the promotional company he was working for in my previous career and they wouldn't be the nicest people to deal with so I have sympathy for Robbie and his situation in 2012. As far as I know Regan is to start full contact training next week.

I do agree with you though that a fully fit Clarkie is the man for the no.1 jersey but we are lucky that we have O'Malley and Hennelly there as well.
Post by: macdanger2 on April 03, 2015, 11:32:41 AM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 03, 2015, 09:37:14 AM

Bit harsh on Hennelly there Moy as it was his employer at the time gave him an ultimatum , football or his Job. I had dealings with the promotional company he was working for in my previous career and they wouldn't be the nicest people to deal with so I have sympathy for Robbie and his situation in 2012. As far as I know Regan is to start full contact training next week.

I do agree with you though that a fully fit Clarkie is the man for the no.1 jersey but we are lucky that we have O'Malley and Hennelly there as well.

Fully agree with that Crete, remarks like that about Hennelly are out of order. For what it's worth, I'd go with Clarke too
Post by: rosnarun on April 03, 2015, 03:07:17 PM
i think i'd go for o malley as number 1 number 1 . lightning reflexes and the best kickout of the lot , not that imposing but it didnt do clarke much good last week against a smaller man for the last Goal
Post by: Crete Boom on April 03, 2015, 03:28:40 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 03, 2015, 03:07:17 PM
i think i'd go for o malley as number 1 number 1 . lightning reflexes and the best kickout of the lot , not that imposing but it didnt do clarke much good last week against a smaller man for the last Goal

What if I told you O'Malley was born in Ballina ( under the font to be exact) , has strong Stephenite connections and is planning on transferring there next season , would that colour your goal keeping preference?? ;D
Post by: Syferus on April 03, 2015, 03:49:56 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 03, 2015, 03:28:40 PM

What if I told you O'Malley was born in Ballina ( under the font to be exact) , has strong Stephenite connections and is planning on transferring there next season , would that colour your goal keeping preference?? ;D

Just play Clarke at FB if he's so fecking good winning ball from full-forwards. You're welcome, Mayo.
Post by: Tubberman on April 03, 2015, 03:51:25 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 03, 2015, 03:49:56 PM

Just play Clarke at FB if he's so fecking good winning ball from full-forwards. You're welcome, Mayo.

We would if it wasn't for his ridiculous running style, he's going to smash himself in the chin with his knees some day!
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 03, 2015, 03:55:23 PM

You're on the ball regarding rosnarun's dislike of Ballina players anyway. :)
Post by: Chimley on April 03, 2015, 04:15:06 PM
I've always liked O'Malley too. I think his kickouts and long range frees are the best of the 3. Small margins can win big games.
Post by: moysider on April 03, 2015, 05:10:16 PM

Fixed that remark. I take it back. It was harsh.
Post by: Whitnail on April 04, 2015, 12:43:36 PM
Hasn't been time for managers to really do much with either team yet .

I'm struggling to see any difference in the way we've set up our approach  under Rory & its hard to see any different tactical approach or newer guys comming in against Tyrone in a few weeks either.

At least we're able to watch us without Murphy I guess ,we've become way over reliant on him

Post by: maigheo on April 05, 2015, 02:52:56 PM
Parsons  out for Mayo.Well boll-x to that
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 02:55:01 PM
Quote from: maigheo on April 05, 2015, 02:52:56 PM
Parsons  out for Mayo.Well boll-x to that

Seamus O'Shea in to replace him ; Diarmuid O'Connor in for Dillon as well.
Post by: maigheo on April 05, 2015, 02:59:40 PM
Ger Cafferkey out as well with Harrision in for him
Post by: J70 on April 05, 2015, 03:26:37 PM
25 mins gone

Mayo 0-5 Donegal 1-5

Looking good so far to avoid a heavy defeat and relegation!
Post by: J70 on April 05, 2015, 03:31:32 PM
Mayo 0-7 Donegal 1-5

5 mins till HT
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 03:33:47 PM
Good point by McNabb  to put Tyrone 2 points up again - 2 minutes to half-time
Post by: J70 on April 05, 2015, 03:37:44 PM
HT 0-7 to 1-5

Tight!
Post by: macdanger2 on April 05, 2015, 03:41:10 PM
Both teams clueless enough once they reach the opposition 45. Mayo dominating at mf
Post by: J70 on April 05, 2015, 04:05:24 PM
MAyo 0-9 Donegal 1-5

McBrearty goal disallowed for a push. Mayo take lead and have scored last 5 points.
Post by: J70 on April 05, 2015, 04:17:13 PM
Highland radio not happy with the referee in terms of the cards he is dishing out to the respective teams.
Post by: J70 on April 05, 2015, 04:18:53 PM
Mayo 0-11 Donegal 1-7
Post by: J70 on April 05, 2015, 04:20:02 PM
0-11 to 1-8
Post by: J70 on April 05, 2015, 04:28:02 PM
Mayo up by a point with 3 minutes left.
Post by: J70 on April 05, 2015, 04:33:29 PM
McHugh going apoplectic about Mayo tactics and cynical fouling!  ;D
Post by: J70 on April 05, 2015, 04:34:27 PM
Stephen Griffin levels it up!
Post by: J70 on April 05, 2015, 04:35:28 PM
FT 0-12 to 1-9 draw.

Good point in a game where we were hammered in midfield.
Post by: J70 on April 05, 2015, 04:37:22 PM
Is that Donegal in the semis now?
Post by: ballinaman on April 05, 2015, 04:37:53 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 05, 2015, 04:37:22 PM
Yep
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 04:41:29 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 05, 2015, 04:37:22 PM

Due to a better score difference than Mayo

Cork v Donegal
Dublin v Monaghan
Post by: Zulu on April 05, 2015, 05:39:35 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 05, 2015, 04:05:24 PM
MAyo 0-9 Donegal 1-5

McBrearty goal disallowed for a push. Mayo take lead and have scored last 5 points.

Very soft, nothing in it that I could see anyway.
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 06:00:36 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 05, 2015, 05:39:35 PM
MAyo 0-9 Donegal 1-5

Me neither.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 05, 2015, 06:05:05 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 06:00:36 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 05, 2015, 05:39:35 PM
MAyo 0-9 Donegal 1-5

Me neither.

Ah, its was a push.  But 9  out of 10 times it would be got away with.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 06:05:40 PM
Very little love or even like between Mayo and Donegal anyway

Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 06:08:50 PM
The defending for the Donegal goal was super-chronic by Mayo.
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 06:10:11 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 06:05:40 PM
Aye, very niggly game, does away with the notion that Donegal are useless without Murphy. Neil Gallagher didn't play either.
Post by: Zulu on April 05, 2015, 06:11:27 PM
Mayo really should have won that game when they were a point up with 2 minutes left and two very decent chances to break up the field for scores.
Post by: joemamas on April 05, 2015, 06:19:16 PM
Just finished watching deferred coverage.
Sick.
will hold off any any individual comments till I cool down
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 06:30:10 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 06:10:11 PM
Aye, very niggly game, does away with the notion that Donegal are useless without Murphy. Neil Gallagher didn't play either.

McBrearty and MacNiallias in particular stepped up in Murphy's absence - they got 1-6 out of Donegal's 1-9

Donegal really missed Gallagher around the middle of the park.
Post by: Whitnail on April 05, 2015, 06:39:00 PM
Put all the youngsters on against cork , I think some of the lads looked completely spent in that 2nd half & I'm not sure what good a potential league final would do them .

McNialias & Mcglynn were good , as was I think Aiden o'shea for Mayo, man's a bloody tank.
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 06:42:07 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 06:30:10 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 06:10:11 PM

McBrearty and MacNiallias in particular stepped up in Murphy's absence - they got 1-6 out of Donegal's 1-9

Donegal really missed Gallagher around the middle of the park.

McBrearty & McNiallis have been playing well all year, if Mark McHugh can get his form back we will be in good shape.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 05, 2015, 06:44:11 PM
Ah, Division One status maintained. Out of the knock-out part of the League and that's no harm either. Donegal lucky to get enough time from the referee to get the equaliser. But in fairness to Donegal they stuck at it and got it! Another win lost at the death, getting to be a bit of a habit. Would not get over worried about anything today. A lot of good and a lot of bad. I doubt Kerry teams in the past got over excited about such thing happening to them in the league?
Post by: ballinaman on April 05, 2015, 06:47:32 PM
No game for 11 weeks now or something.
Lack of killer instinct is getting ridiculous.
Either fall over the line or get done 9 times out of 10.
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 06:49:24 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 05, 2015, 06:44:11 PM
Ah, Division One status maintained. Out of the knock-out part of the League and that's no harm either. Donegal lucky to get enough time from the referee to get the equaliser. But in fairness to Donegal they stuck at it and got it! Another win lost at the death, getting to be a bit of a habit. Would not get over worried about anything today. A lot of good and a lot of bad. I doubt Kerry teams in the past got over excited about such thing happening to them in the league?

Agreed bunker, I didn't see us getting anything out of this game with the championship against Tyrone only 6 weeks away.

Still, now that we are here, I'm looking forward to next Sunday.
Post by: Conallach on April 05, 2015, 06:51:01 PM
Quite a bad tempered wee match, probably could have been better officiated but sure that's how it goes.

Draw was a fair result really, I don't think either team will be too worked up about it. Mayo were ok, little bit wasteful, but I'm sure that having Cillian O'Connor back will help with that.

Moran, McGlynn, MacNiallais, Both Ó Sé's and McBrearty were really good.

I've no real interest in seeing Donegal go much further, would prefer if Rory sent a few of the lads needing game time out next week against Cork, the like of Thompson, O'Connor, or Eoin McHugh.
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 06:57:31 PM
Quote from: Conallach on April 05, 2015, 06:51:01 PM
Quite a bad tempered wee match, probably could have been better officiated but sure that's how it goes.

Draw was a fair result really, I don't think either team will be too worked up about it. Mayo were ok, little bit wasteful, but I'm sure that having Cillian O'Connor back will help with that.

I've no real interest in seeing Donegal go much further, would prefer if Rory sent a few of the lads needing game time out next week against Cork, the like of Thompson, O'Connor, or Eoin McHugh.

I hear what you're saying but I don't think there is much point in going to Croke Park to lose either.

Two games in Croke Park against top quality opposition might be as good a way to prepare for Tyrone as anything else.
Post by: StephenC on April 05, 2015, 07:11:09 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 06:57:31 PM

I hear what you're saying but I don't think there is much point in going to Croke Park to lose either.

Two games in Croke Park against top quality opposition might be as good a way to prepare for Tyrone as anything else.

Ha. 2 games? Don't we have to win the first one? :D

Extremely disappointed that the U21s were played the whole game. They have a huge game coming up and the way tackles were flying around at the end, could easily have picked up injuries.

Some of our decision making was terrible - taking the ball into contact (Karl! Sort it out) and getting pinned at the sideline. If Mayo had a left footed free-taker or had the eyes in, we would have been beaten comfortably.

Great crowd at it and lovely weather.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 05, 2015, 07:13:55 PM

Making the knock outs is a bum deal. Somewhere along the line you will meet Dublin (who are playing at home) and you don't want to be showing your hand to one of the king-pins and you definitely don't want to get tanked (or in our case tanked again).  The League Final humiliation to Dublin destroyed any good work Derry had done last year.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 05, 2015, 07:15:10 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 05, 2015, 06:47:32 PM
No game for 11 weeks now or something.
Lack of killer instinct is getting ridiculous.
Either fall over the line or get done 9 times out of 10.
That's it in a nutshell. Kicked 12 wides to Donegal's 5. Makes you wonder about forward coaching in thhe county.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 07:17:18 PM
Quote from: StephenC on April 05, 2015, 07:11:09 PM

Extremely disappointed that the U21s were played the whole game. They have a huge game coming up and the way tackles were flying around at the end, could easily have picked up injuries.

Some of our decision making was terrible - taking the ball into contact (Karl! Sort it out) and getting pinned at the sideline. If Mayo had a left footed free-taker or had the eyes in, we would have been beaten comfortably.

Compare how the Donegal U21s played almost the full game (Ryan McHugh played the full game and Hugh McFadden only "came off"  because he was black-carded around the 50 minute mark) while in the Tyrone game, they played Curran in goals as opposed to Fox, when Morgan wasn't available.

Nearly as daft as both McHugh and McFadden playing the complete U21 game on Wednesday in a game that was won by 13 points.

Really have to wonder about the quality of the management in Donegal with that sort of carry-on.
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 07:18:33 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 05, 2015, 07:13:55 PM

Making the knock outs is a bum deal. Somewhere along the line you will meet Dublin (who are playing at home) and you don't want to be showing your hand to one of the king-pins and you definitely don't want to get tanked (or in our case tanked again).  The League Final humiliation to Dublin destroyed any good work Derry had done last year.

Bring it on ;D ;D ;D
Post by: StephenC on April 05, 2015, 07:19:38 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 07:17:18 PM

Compare how the Donegal U21s played almost the full game (Ryan McHugh played the full game and Hugh McFadden only "came off"  because he was black-carded around the 50 minute mark) while in the Tyrone game, they played Curran in goals as opposed to Fox, when Morgan wasn't available.

Nearly as daft as both McHugh and McFadden playing the complete U21 game on Wednesday in a game that was won by 13 points.

Really have to wonder about the quality of the management in Donegal with that sort of carry-on.

Well, I suppose the quality of the management is probably better judged by the fact that the lads are in the Ulster final, but for sure it's hard to see how Maxi would be happy with this.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 07:23:23 PM
Quote from: StephenC on April 05, 2015, 07:19:38 PM

Well, I suppose the quality of the management is probably better judged by the fact that the lads are in the Ulster final, but for sure it's hard to see how Maxi would be happy with this.

I'd love to hear the logic of leaving 2 lads who were solid odds to play in the game today and have already played a serious chunk of the league in a game that was won by 13 points, especially with an Ulster final only a week away.

It's very hard to see that as anything but poor management.
Post by: moysider on April 05, 2015, 07:26:19 PM
Still feeling cross after that.
I know we don t really want to be in a semi, and playing like that have no business being there, but its not the point imo.
Old failings are still there and maybe a few new ones added for good measure. If we had been fighting for our Div 1 lives I honestly believe we d have let it slip the same way. We were actually trying to win this game and we could not. It would be same in championship unless we get our act together.
New lads and old lads losing the plot. Both Patrick Durcan and Michael Conroy - lads at either end of their careers suffering from similar heebee geebees when the game was there to be killed off. It s nothing new but somebody needs to make it go away.
But as usual we had some fine performances and we defended well enough when we realised we had to drop more players back after Donegal's good start.
We probably could have done without losing the 3 lads before throw-in. We needed footballers like Tom and Dillon today.
The end game was stupid as well. I m all for cynical but surely Vaughan knew yellow + black = red and he couldn t be replaced. When O Connor got blackcarded it meant that we were down to 13 for for last Donegal point. Still should have held out probably. You d have to ask if we would be allowed score in those circumstances? I really doubt it. At the end of the day I can only conclude we got what we deserved.
Kirby is no improvement on Freeman at ff and that s putting it mildly. Our  forwards not scoring enough. We had 12 wides today and top scorer again was a midfielder. Well done Barry. He s a lot to offer yet.
Post by: anfheardubh on April 05, 2015, 08:38:59 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 07:23:23 PM

I'd love to hear the logic of leaving 2 lads who were solid odds to play in the game today and have already played a serious chunk of the league in a game that was won by 13 points, especially with an Ulster final only a week away.

get a grip they are both young fellas and should be mad for ball and full of legs

its not prima donna soccer players you are on about, i would see a problem if they didnt want to play

pathetic attack on a manager who has taken his side to an ulster final and i aint a clubmen of his or do i know him

wind your neck in and appreciate the commitment these players give

Post by: From the Bunker on April 05, 2015, 09:51:19 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on April 05, 2015, 08:38:59 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 07:23:23 PM

get a grip they are both young fellas and should be mad for ball and full of legs

its not prima donna soccer players you are on about, i would see a problem if they didnt want to play

pathetic attack on a manager who has taken his side to an ulster final and i aint a clubmen of his or do i know him

wind your neck in and appreciate the commitment these players give

Yeah, seen it before. Player is burned out, Chronic injury at 25 or missed out on an underage title from not being 100% on the day!
Post by: Jinxy on April 05, 2015, 11:47:22 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 05, 2015, 07:26:19 PM
Still feeling cross after that.
I know we don t really want to be in a semi, and playing like that have no business being there, but its not the point imo.
Old failings are still there and maybe a few new ones added for good measure. If we had been fighting for our Div 1 lives I honestly believe we d have let it slip the same way. We were actually trying to win this game and we could not. It would be same in championship unless we get our act together.
New lads and old lads losing the plot. Both Patrick Durcan and Michael Conroy - lads at either end of their careers suffering from similar heebee geebees when the game was there to be killed off. It s nothing new but somebody needs to make it go away.
But as usual we had some fine performances and we defended well enough when we realised we had to drop more players back after Donegal's good start.
We probably could have done without losing the 3 lads before throw-in. We needed footballers like Tom and Dillon today.
The end game was stupid as well. I m all for cynical but surely Vaughan knew yellow + black = red and he couldn t be replaced. When O Connor got blackcarded it meant that we were down to 13 for for last Donegal point. Still should have held out probably. You d have to ask if we would be allowed score in those circumstances? I really doubt it. At the end of the day I can only conclude we got what we deserved.
Kirby is no improvement on Freeman at ff and that s putting it mildly. Our  forwards not scoring enough. We had 12 wides today and top scorer again was a midfielder. Well done Barry. He s a lot to offer yet.

No offence to any of ye Mayo lads, but I was delighted Donegal got the draw after I saw what O'Connor did.
It's something I really hate to see, especially when there is absolutely no effort to even make it look like a tackle.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 06, 2015, 12:11:10 AM
Did Boyle pick up a knock? If not why in God's name take him off. The chips were down at that stage. We'll more than likely meet Galway next. Not ideal given they'll already have played 2 championship games. They finished strong in the league too. It's in Salthill. Management better buck up.
Post by: The Black Mamba on April 06, 2015, 01:23:06 AM
How has Diarmuid O Connor performed in the league for Mayo? Heard Martin Carney really talking him up, saying he'd add a new dimension to Mayo's attack. The few times I've seen him play I haven't been that impressed, would ye think he has the potential to really make a difference?
Post by: Syferus on April 06, 2015, 01:43:55 AM
Quote from: The Black Mamba on April 06, 2015, 01:23:06 AM
How has Diarmuid O Connor performed in the league for Mayo? Heard Martin Carney really talking him up, saying he'd add a new dimension to Mayo's attack. The few times I've seen him play I haven't been that impressed, would ye think he has the potential to really make a difference?

I heard from people that played with and against him that the knock against DO'C is that if you get a good rattle at him it can seriously effect his game. They all say he's as talented as advertised. Just needs to harden up a bit I'd say.
Post by: maigheo on April 06, 2015, 01:53:09 AM
Of all of that 2013 minor team I thought he would be the most likely to make  it but while he has done some good things so far he still has a long way to go.I would be confidant he will be come a top class senior player in the years to come as he has a great attitude and is very willing to learn.
Post by: galwayman on April 06, 2015, 10:29:00 AM
This is totally off-topic but as the previous post referenced the 2013 minor side...
Was Liam Irwin injured this year or what was the reason for him not featuring for the u21s?
None of the 2013 minor forwards played u21 this year I think
Post by: larryin89 on April 06, 2015, 01:33:15 PM
Quote from: galwayman on April 06, 2015, 10:29:00 AM
This is totally off-topic but as the previous post referenced the 2013 minor side...
Was Liam Irwin injured this year or what was the reason for him not featuring for the u21s?

As far as I've heard Irwin has gone backwards, I don't know what the story is with the docherty lad and T Conroy has had to deal with personal family tragedy.

The academy thing in Mayo was questioned by someone at a county board meeting recently , it was in the Mayo news last week and mick Connelly s response was " I think it's still on the go but I'll have to look into it a bit more" I kid you Fuc king not " I think " . Can't believe more hasn't been made of his response to the question.
Post by: moysider on April 06, 2015, 08:38:11 PM
Noticed that remark by Connelly alright. Strange to say the least.

I suppose now for Mayos it s going to be quiet for a while. We ll have to just wait and see who makes the championship panel and hope everybody gets fit and well for the trip to Salthill.

The minors seem to be getting their shit together this year Larry
Post by: maigheo on April 07, 2015, 12:37:40 AM
Going back to the 2013 minor team I would only expect  Coen,Conor loftus and O Connor  to graduate to the senior ranks.Funny enough the 2005 minor team that got hammered by Down in the all ireland final has given our senior team the most players with Caff,Cunnife,Barrett,O shea and Parsons all representing our senior team and of course  the most talented of them all is playing in Australia.
Post by: Chimley on April 07, 2015, 12:01:48 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 06, 2015, 01:33:15 PM
Quote from: galwayman on April 06, 2015, 10:29:00 AM

As far as I've heard Irwin has gone backwards, I don't know what the story is with the docherty lad and T Conroy has had to deal with personal family tragedy.

The academy thing in Mayo was questioned by someone at a county board meeting recently , it was in the Mayo news last week and mick Connelly s response was " I think it's still on the go but I'll have to look into it a bit more" I kid you Fuc king not " I think " . Can't believe more hasn't been made of his response to the question.

There's our problem in a nutshell. We produce minor teams on a par with the best before our county structures f*ck them up. It's criminal the amount of potential that we let go between minor and senior.
We consistently produce free-scoring talented minor teams 2010, 2013, 2014 all good recent examples, but once we come to U21 level, we are left behind. On this and other threads we lament our lack of natural scoring forwards but that flies in face of the evidence. Our natural talent is fine. Our development model must be seriously flawed.
Post by: macdanger2 on April 07, 2015, 02:12:20 PM
Poor enough from Mayo on Sunday, we seemed completely clueless once we hit the Donegal 45 and far too often, we slowed down our attacks by turning around to handpass the ball backwards. If we're playing against a packed defence, the ball needs to move quickly before the opposition filter back. None of our forwards (or any forward on the day bar McBrearty) showed enough guile to create space for himself when under pressure and out from maybe COC, I don't think any of ours are good enough to do so when surrounded like that.

We dominated midfield for most of the game and yet only had 24 scoring chances. Conroy might have been at fault for 4-5 wides but at least he took the responsibility on when he was in a decent position and on another day he'll score more of those. A lot of other players in decent positions were unwilling to take the risk.

Good points:
Barry was outstanding at MF although not sure how many teams will allow him that much freedom.
McLoughlin's tackling back was unreal, Richie McCaw would have been proud of the amount of "turnovers" he won. Only mistake in the game was that missed free.
Kirby's pass for McLoughlin's point in the first half was class I thought, quickly changing the point of the attack like that is one way to beat the blanket
Vaughan & Seamie were very good and Keegan was better than he has been, hopefully he can get back to the levels he was at in 2013.

Bad points:
I thought Aidan / Kirby were wasted in at FF with the way we were setup – no point in having a big man in there on his own, there needs to be at least one man playing off him. Not that it mattered with the balls we were playing in, on at least three occasions in the first half there was either low balls sent in or a ball into the corner. If we're to persist with that tactic, we need to learn how to do it properly.
Some of the blatant dragging people down in the last minutes, you need to at least make some effort to tackle the man.
I can't remember us creating a single goal chance
Not getting on a replacement for DO'C immediately – Hall came on after the last point had been scored.

I thought the ref was poor enough in patches – at times he gave frees for little or no reason. For example, midway through the 2nd half, McLoughlin was tackling the Donegal corner back and had him under pressure when he gave a free out. Then Donegal went up the other end, McFadden went on a good run and lost it to Vaughan who then got a free out for very little. On the black cards, a couple of players should have been black-carded well before McFadden finally went. At the very least, Thompson (deliberate body collide), McGlynn (deliberate pull down), AOS (deliberate pull down) and Higgins (deliberate body collide) all should have went.

All in all, not a great league campaign but the aim at the start would have been to stay up (achieved) and uncover one or two new starters – have we done this? Maybe one or two but nothing that you'd say improves us vastly from the last couple of years. A lot of work to be done between now and June 14th v Leitrim / Galway.
Post by: macdanger2 on April 07, 2015, 02:13:21 PM

I won't be starting any more Mayo threads  :(
Post by: moysider on April 07, 2015, 04:38:46 PM
The thing is macdanger that a black card cant be replaced until next break in play. That is why our endgame was pure kamikaze stuff. We panicked and took cards when we had loads behind the ball - no need.

2 in a row for O Connor. Took one in U21 when we could not afford to lose him. He s young and will learn.
Post by: macdanger2 on April 07, 2015, 09:35:54 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 07, 2015, 04:38:46 PM
The thing is macdanger that a black card cant be replaced until next break in play. That is why our endgame was pure kamikaze stuff. We panicked and took cards when we had loads behind the ball - no need.

2 in a row for O Connor. Took one in U21 when we could not afford to lose him. He s young and will learn.

Didn't realise that you have to wait for a break in play, that explains that one anyway bit like you say makes pulling players down like that a questionable decision
Post by: moysider on April 07, 2015, 10:15:33 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on April 07, 2015, 09:35:54 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 07, 2015, 04:38:46 PM

Didn't realise that you have to wait for a break in play, that explains that one anyway bit like you say makes pulling players down like that a questionable decision

Taking a black card for the team is all very well in theory but there would be very few circumstances where it should be done imo. Maybe to prevent a goal chance if you re exposed. But goal v Cork and last weekend's late point were preventable with concentration v Cork and the same the last day - minus the panic. But the numbers were there and basically it was about doing what we had been doing well until then. Dropping numbers back, making them go over and back the field and forcing the turnover several times. Anyway in the final minutes we had the opportunities to close the game out. Great chances. After the Durcan miss the same player broke from deep again and tried to find Andy Moran. It looked a decent pass but Andy not up to the pace of it. He s only getting back and I hope I m badly mistaken but I fear Andy's legs may be shot at this level. Anyway we blew it in more ways than one. Positive is that they are things that can be easily fixed.

Back to black cards. Nobody should be taking one unless it s a last resort and players need to be coached when not to get a card rather than the other way around. There is no way Aidan should be taking a black but every game its touch and go with him. Oppositions will be conscious of drawing fouls off him so he needs to be ultra careful how he goes about a tackle/hit. Of course others seem to have open season to do whtever they want to him and not even a free - but that s the way it is for him.
Post by: larryin89 on April 08, 2015, 01:58:32 PM
Rumours rumours rumours and it still over two months till Salthill.
Post by: moysider on April 08, 2015, 02:24:18 PM
Rumours, what rumours?
Post by: Chimley on April 08, 2015, 02:57:47 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 08, 2015, 01:58:32 PM
Rumours rumours rumours and it still over two months till Salthill.

Spill the beans Larry! PM if you don't want to go public.