GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: macdanger2 on January 25, 2015, 06:52:13 PM

Title: Who can stop Roscommon?
Post by: macdanger2 on January 25, 2015, 06:52:13 PM
FBD in the bag, Hastings cup to follow, just how far can these boys go?

Mayo had their chances and blew it, Galway are like rabbits in the headlights of this juggernaut, Sligo and Leitrim don't even register on their radar anymore.

Nobody in ulster to challenge, they have the Indian sign over Kerry; will Dublin's millions be enough to slay the Primrose and Blue?? Seems unlikely
Title: Re: Who can stop Roscommon?
Post by: larryin89 on January 25, 2015, 06:58:19 PM
I don't believe there's an all ireland in them yet but connacht is theirs to lose tbh.

The one thing people are forgetting is Roscommon have won the euromillions , there is no other way to explain the financial turnaround from a begging bowl of a loan of a million from a supporter only a few years ago to a 100 million pound bus. The loan from the supporter got paid back by croker as far as I know too.
Post by: Syferus on January 25, 2015, 06:59:23 PM
GaaBoard pulling the piss out of you is a vast improvement over the irrelevance of the late 00s.
Post by: mjg on January 25, 2015, 07:11:17 PM
Rhubarbs are getting a little uncomfortable methinks
Post by: From the Bunker on January 25, 2015, 07:43:48 PM
Hate these sort of streams with the title 'Who can stop......' . They are one of the lowest forms of belittling a county. Really the subtext is 'We can't wait until you fall on your face (after building you up)'.

Post by: mjg on January 25, 2015, 07:51:32 PM
Ah now it wouldnt be mayos style to belittle anyone
Post by: seafoid on January 25, 2015, 07:59:36 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 25, 2015, 06:59:23 PM
GaaBoard pulling the piss out of you is a vast improvement over the irrelevance of the late 00s.
syf
Which ros teams woukd you say were good vintages other than the 1980 ai finalists ? 91 ? 01? and ?
Post by: theticklemister on January 25, 2015, 08:08:09 PM

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-V1Cs9l3LmmI/Tf9Cp5HWtsI/AAAAAAAAKt8/knJ5dvqgE8Q/s1600/school_bus_tire_flat.png)

on their bus!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: larryin89 on January 25, 2015, 08:09:26 PM
Hang on now ! Is it really that outlandish to suggest one fancies  Roscommon to win connacht?

I obviously hope they don't but it would be my fancy. Btw all is not well in Mayo camp either.
Post by: seafoid on January 25, 2015, 08:39:55 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on January 25, 2015, 08:09:26 PM
Hang on now ! Is it really that outlandish to suggest one fancies  Roscommon to win connacht?

I obviously hope they don't but it would be my fancy. Btw all is not well in Mayo camp either.
Plámás
Mayo will be well up for it when the ground hardens
Post by: Rossfan on January 25, 2015, 09:03:23 PM
At least 10 and maybe 4 more teams can stopus.
We have a small goalie, a bad defence, no midfield, a few overrated elders...
Our best players are only a bunch of gossooneens who'll be ate by some of the savages we'll meet in the Summer.
Post by: Syferus on January 25, 2015, 09:12:53 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 25, 2015, 09:03:23 PM
Our best players are only a bunch of gossooneens who'll be ate by some of the savages we'll meet in the Summer.

Heard the crowdeen whining about Darreneen in the second half. Then he made the best save of the day by a country mile and they shut the feck up(een).
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on January 25, 2015, 11:38:16 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 25, 2015, 09:03:23 PM

But Rossfan, there are only seven teams in Connacht, including yourselves. Where are you getting the other seven?
Post by: Rossfan on January 26, 2015, 12:55:50 AM
Cork Kerry Dublin Donegal Tyrone Down Monaghan.....
Post by: seafoid on January 26, 2015, 09:14:53 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 26, 2015, 12:55:50 AM
Cork Kerry Dublin Donegal Tyrone Down Monaghan.....

Roscommon. Enforced errors are always a killer for pumped up lads.
Post by: StephenC on January 26, 2015, 10:06:34 AM
Counties should celebrate what they can - god knows the opportunities don't come around too often. I was delighted when Donegal won the McKenna cup a few years back, as at that time, it looked like it might be all we would win for some time to come.

Can't stand the desire some people have to belittle people's achievements. Ros could go on and win AI's or they might not win anything for 20 years; either way, I hope they celebrate their FBD victory and don't feel too cool to.
Post by: Rossfan on January 26, 2015, 10:28:52 AM
I think it's a case of "nice to win it but..." with us lot.
Post by: seafoid on January 26, 2015, 12:10:19 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 26, 2015, 10:28:52 AM
Maybe there is something stirring Rossfan. It's not going to happen overnight but ye do have some good skillful players and  are due a good run because it has been a while since the last one.   

Matt Williams is interesting on twitter talking about rugby. I saw one tweet of his about NZ- he said they have skill, energy and razor sharp intent. If Evans can hone the skills and intent ye could do a lot of damage.
Post by: Syferus on January 26, 2015, 12:54:07 PM

Niall looked a bit embarrassed having to lift a trophy in January. He'd turned his attentions to the Cavan game before his speech was over.
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 26, 2015, 01:15:57 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 26, 2015, 12:10:19 PM
Maybe there is something stirring Rossfan. It's not going to happen overnight but ye do have some good skillful players and  are due a good run because it has been a while since the last one.   

Matt Williams is interesting on twitter talking about rugby. I saw one tweet of his about NZ- he said they have skill, energy and razor sharp intent. If Evans can hone the skills and intent ye could do a lot of damage.
They could indeed. Most likely to themselves as usual I can tell ye the rest of us poor effers are doomed, double-damn doomed this year.
At least the Chinese think so and there's too many of them to disagree with.
According to them, this has to be the Rossies' year.

Isn't it the Year of the Sheep?
Don't believe me?
Go ahead; check it out.
They could indeed. Most likely to themselves as usual I can tell ye the rest of us poor effers are doomed, double-damn doomed this year.
At least the Chinese think so and there's too many of them to disagree with.
According to them, this has to be the Rossies' year.

Isn't it the Year of the Sheep?
Don't believe me?
Go ahead;
check it out. (http://www.vam.ac.uk/content/articles/c/chinese-zodiac-sheep/) ;D
Post by: deiseach on January 26, 2015, 02:05:54 PM
Screw Roscommon, the 2015 McGrath Cup winners are on the march. Sam Maguire, here we come!
Post by: ross4life on January 26, 2015, 06:25:11 PM
Deja vu or maybe the two Ms muppet & Macdanger2 are related & think alike.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=17440.0

Lar still having that unhealthy obsession with sheep i see  :D
Post by: blanketattack on January 26, 2015, 07:23:16 PM
I think the only solution is to split Roscommon in two. Is there any obvious way to divide the county?
Post by: Syferus on January 26, 2015, 07:30:35 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on January 26, 2015, 07:23:16 PM
I think the only solution is to split Roscommon in two. Is there any obvious way to divide the county?

It's already split in two.
Post by: muppet on January 26, 2015, 10:00:04 PM
Roscommon's momentum reminds me of Donegal in 2012. By the quarter finals Joe Brolly will be proclaiming that no one will stop them.

Maybe time to start the 2016 thread?
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 26, 2015, 10:08:03 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 26, 2015, 10:00:04 PM
Roscommon's momentum reminds me of Donegal in 2012. By the quarter finals Joe Brolly will be proclaiming that no one will stop them.

Maybe time to start the 2016 thread?
funny, but you could probably say that for Mayo every year.
some Mayoites on here have a very big chip on their shoulder.

fair play to Roscommon. Coming from a small club and player number base they seem to be building for the future
Post by: moysider on January 26, 2015, 10:30:43 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 26, 2015, 07:30:35 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on January 26, 2015, 07:23:16 PM

It's already split in two.

Correct; the other half is called Westmeath.
Post by: Rossfan on January 26, 2015, 10:39:15 PM
It's Ballagh   >:(
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 26, 2015, 11:06:08 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 26, 2015, 10:39:15 PM
Yeehaaw!
It is indeed and so it shall remain for another six generations! ;D
Post by: moysider on January 26, 2015, 11:34:00 PM

Nah. Like we cannot accept some old civil servant from the congested district board redrawing a boundary. We all know the mess the colonials made of drawing borders - and not just in Ireland.
Africa with its straight line borders with no consideration for man or beast. India and Pakistan divided by an engineer in a shed with a map and 1 million killed as they ran a gauntlet across a divide drawn on paper.
What amazes me is that Rossies get annoyed about Ballagh. We re the ones that should be pissed off. A part of the county rejigged for social reasons by people who would regard football as quaint at best, and ye expect that to be reason they should play for Roscommon ::)
Post by: Syferus on January 27, 2015, 01:19:02 AM
Quote from: moysider on January 26, 2015, 11:34:00 PM

Nah. Like we cannot accept some old civil servant from the congested district board redrawing a boundary. We all know the mess the colonials made of drawing borders - and not just in Ireland.
Africa with its straight line borders with no consideration for man or beast. India and Pakistan divided by an engineer in a shed with a map and 1 million killed as they ran a gauntlet across a divide drawn on paper.
What amazes me is that Rossies get annoyed about Ballagh. We re the ones that should be pissed off. A part of the county rejigged for social reasons by people who would regard football as quaint at best, and ye expect that to be reason they should play for Roscommon ::)

The best Ballagh player there has ever been has a father that is such a true Rossie he won't even shout for Mayo when his son plays. Says it all about where even the poor players' hearts are really.
Post by: Chimley on January 27, 2015, 11:31:25 AM
I've been convinced for a few years now that the Rossies were on the rise again and I still remember the late 70s when the primrose and blue ruled Connacht and gave us nightmares to last the winter. Now they've had a succession of very good minor and U21 teams and the key is to get these performing at a senior level.
I thought they were very disappointing last year in the defeat to Armagh as they were second best in so many areas that day but the signs are good this year so far  It's a bit early to be showing your hand though and giving both Mayo and Galway a bit of a trimming in January will be remembered come June.
Still they will know that the true barometer of their current standing is that Armagh defeat and they'll be trying to keep momentum going through the league. It's important for young players to get into a winning habit as that breeds the confidence that's needed when games are in the melting pot.
Post by: Shrewdness on January 27, 2015, 12:34:23 PM
Chimley, it's no harm to show your hand in January, as long as you have another one up your sleeve to produce in June/July!!. Donie Shine back in contention.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 27, 2015, 12:37:51 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 26, 2015, 02:05:54 PM
Screw Roscommon, the 2015 McGrath Cup winners are on the march. Sam Maguire, here we come!

I see the Waterford senior football and hurling draws were made last night, and the names were drawn out of the McGrath Cup. I got a kick out of that. Fair play to them..
Post by: twohands!!! on January 27, 2015, 12:42:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 27, 2015, 12:37:51 PM

I see the Waterford senior football and hurling draws were made last night, and the names were drawn out of the McGrath Cup. I got a kick out of that. Fair play to them..

Wonder what the hurling side of the house thought of that, especially given how football constantly seems to get the short straw in Waterford?

When's the last time the Waterford hurlers got any piece of silverware?
Post by: Put Up That Flag on January 27, 2015, 12:50:33 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 27, 2015, 01:19:02 AM

The best Ballagh player there has ever been has a father that is such a true Rossie he won't even shout for Mayo when his son plays. Says it all about where even the poor players' hearts are really.

More absolute bullsh*t from you as usual, if Moran was just a true Rossie and wanted to play for them why didn't he do what James Kilcullen did?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 27, 2015, 03:53:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 27, 2015, 12:37:51 PM

Class
Post by: moysider on January 27, 2015, 06:08:34 PM

Who was the last team to win Sam outa division 2?
It ll be some achievement.
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 27, 2015, 06:12:50 PM
Quote from: moysider on January 27, 2015, 06:08:34 PM

Who was the last team to win Sam outa division 2?
It ll be some achievement.
Armagh and Donegal got very close last September. It will be some achievement if Roscommon win Connacht this summer.
Post by: sligoman2 on January 27, 2015, 06:28:57 PM
We shouldn't even bother turning up in June against this Juggernaut.  Hen again we have a habit of winning games when we are massive underdogs.

Let's see what the league throws up
Post by: weareros on January 27, 2015, 07:29:29 PM
Quote from: Put Up That Flag on January 27, 2015, 12:50:33 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 27, 2015, 01:19:02 AM

More absolute bullsh*t from you as usual, if Moran was just a true Rossie and wanted to play for them why didn't he do what James Kilcullen did?

Kilcullen's transfer to Sligo was declared legal because his family is from Sligo. As far as I know it is not legal to declare for Roscommon if your family is from Ballaghaderreen even though Ballaghaderreen is in Roscomnon. It's in Mayo for GAA purposes. Sean Kilbride for example could not represent Roscommon until he moved residence from Ballaghaderreen. That said I think Roscommon GAA should test the waters here for players whose allegiance is Roscommon.
Post by: giveballaghback on January 27, 2015, 07:38:15 PM
Well moysider I have some information that will put a slightly different light on the Ballagh issue,
now as far as I can see your position is the some old cronie decided to transfer Ballagh from Mayo to the Rossies years ago for whatever reason and Mayo are entitled to hold on to it regardless,but heres the thing,this old cronie did not stop there, in the very same local government act the town of Ballina was transferred from Sligo to Mayo, I accept you are a person of principle moysider so get out your black and white flag and start waving, oh and jinking Joe was a Sligoman. Check your history.
Post by: weareros on January 27, 2015, 07:41:26 PM

Ye should be very grateful to the English when they drew the county boundaries. They gave yereselves and Galway the two biggest picks in Connacht.
Post by: muppet on January 27, 2015, 08:10:23 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on January 27, 2015, 07:38:15 PM
Well moysider I have some information that will put a slightly different light on the Ballagh issue,
now as far as I can see your position is the some old cronie decided to transfer Ballagh from Mayo to the Rossies years ago for whatever reason and Mayo are entitled to hold on to it regardless,but heres the thing,this old cronie did not stop there, in the very same local government act the town of Ballina was transferred from Sligo to Mayo, I accept you are a person of principle moysider so get out your black and white flag and start waving, oh and jinking Joe was a Sligoman. Check your history.

First post and completely false information.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Local_Government_(Ireland)_Act_1898 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Local_Government_(Ireland)_Act_1898)

Check your history.

Ardnaree is not 'the town of Ballina'.

Post by: giveballaghback on January 27, 2015, 08:32:07 PM
Getting excited there muppet, well heres the thing, now that you admit that Mayo held on to one club[ardnaree] while claiming their right to hold on to ballagh proves my point, did you see my last line,
Jinkin joe {from ardnaree} is a sligoman, you took the bate like a true muppet and proceeded to prove my point, so maybe yere justification for holding on to ballagh is coming back to bite ye after all.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 27, 2015, 08:36:22 PM
Roscommon also lost the western side of Athlone around the same time. So all the soldiers, gardai, government workers who lived in the town.

Just in case ye are talking history.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 27, 2015, 08:39:36 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on January 27, 2015, 08:32:07 PM
Getting excited there muppet, well heres the thing, now that you admit that Mayo held on to one club[ardnaree] while claiming their right to hold on to ballagh proves my point, did you see my last line,
Jinkin joe {from ardnaree} is a sligoman, you took the bate like a true muppet and proceeded to prove my point, so maybe yere justification for holding on to ballagh is coming back to bite ye after all.

Ardnaree was founded in 1921 as a subsidiary to Ballina Stephenites. They went on their own in 1949. Ballaghaderreen was founded BEFORE the 'land-transfer' ::) took place at all.
Post by: muppet on January 27, 2015, 08:46:16 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on January 27, 2015, 08:32:07 PM

You lied.

I proved it.

Bye.
Post by: Owenmoresider on January 27, 2015, 09:02:13 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on January 27, 2015, 06:28:57 PM
We shouldn't even bother turning up in June against this Juggernaut.  Hen again we have a habit of winning games when we are massive underdogs.

More to the point we have a habit of turning Roscommon over when not expected to, as you know well.

Hopefully they'll go easy on London, ourselves and whichever minnow emerges on the other side, wouldn't want to show their hand too early, tis all about September after all.
Post by: seafoid on January 27, 2015, 09:02:50 PM
Is Archers in Ardnaree in Sligo ?
Post by: Syferus on January 27, 2015, 09:07:13 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on January 27, 2015, 09:02:13 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on January 27, 2015, 06:28:57 PM

More to the point we have a habit of turning Roscommon over when not expected to, as you know well.

Hopefully they'll go easy on London, ourselves and whichever minnow emerges on the other side, wouldn't want to show their hand too early, tis all about September after all.

Let us win a few Connacht before you start pissong on us like you would Galaay or Mayo, Owenmoresider. Remain united against the threat of the Big Two.
Post by: larryin89 on January 27, 2015, 09:21:50 PM
I never quite understand the argument about Ballagh .

It was in Mayo originally .

It changed over 100 years ago to roscommon.

So if your family are originally Ballagh you're Mayo  and if you blew in from sheepwalk, fairy mount , out the dump road and any other ridiculous horrible eyesore of a townland  heading out the town towards the big smoke  you're  goin to be an unfortunate Rossie ,the club stayed in Mayo and stood their ground against a few loyalist attempts to take over down the decades. Sin e.

Personally I have always felt Ballagh club players should have a choice for county , once you declare at u-16 level that's it and then there would be no horse shite talk from the likes of Syferus.

I always end the Ballagh argument on the same note ... If the govt hypotheticaly speaking decided to change Ballagh border this week into the Sligo region and build a town from say gurteen . Would you vision your kids supporting Sligo next year?
Post by: mjg on January 27, 2015, 09:30:51 PM
Muppet with nearly twenty thousand posts you'd nearly want to get yourself a job or a woman or maybe even go to the odd match

Post by: giveballaghback on January 27, 2015, 09:42:09 PM
Hey Muppet, ye tell whatever story suits the occasion and thats the way it has always been, the ardnaree address is  ardnaree, ballina , co. mayo, so before you call anyone a lier check my post and your facts and as always and as every rossie knows "ye cant take yere batin"
Post by: seafoid on January 27, 2015, 09:48:32 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on January 27, 2015, 09:21:50 PM
I never quite understand the argument about Ballagh .

It was in Mayo originally .

It changed over 100 years ago to roscommon.

So if your family are originally Ballagh you're Mayo  and if you blew in from sheepwalk, fairy mount , out the dump road and any other ridiculous horrible eyesore of a townland  heading out the town towards the big smoke  you're  goin to be an unfortunate Rossie ,the club stayed in Mayo and stood their ground against a few loyalist attempts to take over down the decades. Sin e.

Personally I have always felt Ballagh club players should have a choice for county , once you declare at u-16 level that's it and then there would be no horse shite talk from the likes of Syferus.

I always end the Ballagh argument on the same note ... If the govt hypotheticaly speaking decided to change Ballagh border this week into the Sligo region and build a town from say gurteen . Would you vision your kids supporting Sligo next year?
Honestly, who cares ?

Post by: Shrewdness on January 27, 2015, 10:14:48 PM
As a rossie, i'm finding this thread extremely entertaining, even though it was obviously started as a wind up by a Mayo person... I'll guarantee ye one thing. If Ros win the Connacht title, a lot of the non Rossies on this thread won't be able to type 2 words about it afterwards.. How many pages will this thread go to. We're already on page 4 after 48 hours!!. Don't remember as much commotion after Leitrim's FBD win last year. As we say in Ros, '' the best is yet to come'' !!
Post by: larryin89 on January 27, 2015, 10:26:16 PM
No "if" about it shrewdness ,the nestor is in the bag , rumour has it actually it was transported already by yer fancy coach out of Castlebar after the FBD game to save on transport costs in the summer.

Enjoy yer new found number 1 team in the west status and don't be gettin paranoid already . Put away a few quid now for the trips to croker , they can be a strain on the pocket.
Post by: muppet on January 27, 2015, 10:50:17 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on January 27, 2015, 09:42:09 PM
Hey Muppet, ye tell whatever story suits the occasion and thats the way it has always been, the ardnaree address is  ardnaree, ballina , co. mayo, so before you call anyone a lier check my post and your facts and as always and as every rossie knows "ye cant take yere batin"

You said this: "in the very same local government act the town of Ballina was transferred from Sligo to Mayo".

You lied or at best blundered very badly. And you have the cheek to lecture posters here on 'history' and 'facts'.
Post by: sligoman2 on January 27, 2015, 11:26:39 PM

Yes I do Owenmoresider - good memories, let's hope for another one
Post by: moysider on January 27, 2015, 11:37:53 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on January 27, 2015, 07:38:15 PM

Nothing wrong with my history. The Moy used to be the border.
I was born on the west bank of the river Moy. Ballina is on the west bank and wasn t in Sligo. The Quay and Hungry Hill ( posher residents call it Ardnarree - where Jinkin Joe came from)  and out to Bonnyconlon were however, but here's the thing, there were no football clubs in those territories at that time. When they did form clubs they were in County Mayo. Completely different dynamic to Ballagh.
Ballaghadereen club  was formed before the 1891 Victorian initiative that was the Congested District Board. Back in the day when a Tory government was trying to kill 'Home Rule with kindness'. Ballagh was formed a Mayo club and thank God for respect for history.
Post by: moysider on January 27, 2015, 11:53:22 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on January 27, 2015, 10:14:48 PM
As a rossie, i'm finding this thread extremely entertaining, even though it was obviously started as a wind up by a Mayo person... I'll guarantee ye one thing. If Ros win the Connacht title, a lot of the non Rossies on this thread won't be able to type 2 words about it afterwards.. How many pages will this thread go to. We're already on page 4 after 48 hours!!. Don't remember as much commotion after Leitrim's FBD win last year. As we say in Ros, '' the best is yet to come'' !!

Don't be silly Shrewness. I guarantee ye I ll be typing about it; and I admit to a fair degree of winding up too. Who doesn t?
This craic has shortened the winter and next weekend will have a new distraction with the beginning of the league.
But you have to admit one or two posters do big up Ros a bit.
Let's see how the league goes. Championship, as ever, sorts the wheat from the chaff.
Post by: Shrewdness on January 28, 2015, 12:11:35 AM
Moysider, i wasn't referring to you. You're one of the most fair minded posters on here. As you say, it's all a bit of harmless craic.
Post by: deiseach on January 28, 2015, 08:44:21 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on January 27, 2015, 12:42:55 PM
Wonder what the hurling side of the house thought of that, especially given how football constantly seems to get the short straw in Waterford?

When's the last time the Waterford hurlers got any piece of silverware?

Um, 2010. Not exactly ancient times. I'm sure 'the hurling side of the house' were delighted.
Post by: deiseach on January 28, 2015, 08:46:13 AM
There are three constants in life: death, taxes, and Mayo and Roscommon lads brawling over Ballaghaderreen. I never get tired of the last one.
Post by: muppet on January 28, 2015, 09:09:58 AM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0128/676097-mulherin-office/ (http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0128/676097-mulherin-office/)

A man has been questioned in connection with an incident at the Mayo constituency office of Fine Gael TD Michelle Mulherin.

The building in Ballina was affected by smoke damage after a small fire broke out yesterday evening.

A man in a primrose and yellow jersey said he claimed responsibility. He said he was reclaiming the historic town of Ballina for the proud shepherds of the Kazaknianish people. He stated that Ballina always belonged to the Kazaknianish and would once again be our make-glorious proud capital. He went on to say that people should learn their history and get their facts right.

A Roscommon spokesperson declined to comment but did manage an elaborate facepalm.
Post by: deiseach on January 28, 2015, 09:41:32 AM
What about all the expensive phone calls to Roscommon, Michelle? The plot thickens!
Post by: seafoid on January 28, 2015, 09:47:07 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 27, 2015, 08:36:22 PM
Roscommon also lost the western side of Athlone around the same time. So all the soldiers, gardai, government workers who lived in the town.

Just in case ye are talking history.
Roscommon were probably better off without the barracks anyway. What a kip.
Syferian fantasy never includes the grim realities of army life.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 28, 2015, 09:54:23 AM
Will be some push to move this from thread of the year. And it only January. Fantastic.
Post by: seafoid on January 28, 2015, 10:39:41 AM
Quote from: moysider on January 27, 2015, 11:53:22 PM

Don't be silly Shrewness. I guarantee ye I ll be typing about it; and I admit to a fair degree of winding up too. Who doesn t?
This craic has shortened the winter and next weekend will have a new distraction with the beginning of the league.
Let's see how the league goes. Championship, as ever, sorts the wheat from the chaff.
Cuthbert the Cork manager said last summer that Mayo were streetwise.
And they know how to slowly kill teams that are less cute even if they haven't yet landed the big one.
Ros are nothing yet.  Lots of potential but nothing done.
I wouldn't have them as favourites for D2 either 
Post by: Put Up That Flag on January 28, 2015, 11:28:12 AM
What I would like to know from Syferus is how many all stars this juggernaut of a team has combined? Must be well into the 20s or 30s such is the quality of player available and the strength in depth? Cregger alone must have about 10 as nearly every year according to yourself he is a shoe in for player of the year
Post by: rrhf on January 28, 2015, 11:56:16 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 28, 2015, 10:39:41 AM
Quote from: moysider on January 27, 2015, 11:53:22 PM

Cuthbert the Cork manager said last summer that Mayo were streetwise.
And they know how to slowly kill teams that are less cute even if they haven't yet landed the big one.
Ros are nothing yet.  Lots of potential but nothing done.
I wouldn't have them as favourites for D2 either
how streetwise is cuthbert
Post by: seafoid on January 28, 2015, 12:41:05 PM
Quote from: Put Up That Flag on January 28, 2015, 11:28:12 AM
What I would like to know from Syferus is how many all stars this juggernaut of a team has combined? Must be well into the 20s or 30s such is the quality of player available and the strength in depth? Cregger alone must have about 10 as nearly every year according to yourself he is a shoe in for player of the year
Most of them will be in the UL hall of GAA fame by March at the latest
Post by: Rossfan on January 28, 2015, 02:48:12 PM
The only ones blowing sh1te about Ros are various rhubarbs.
Seafoidin is then responding to their excretions by pointing out that we're not that great.
Quicker the NFL starts the better to keep ye bucks occupied :D
Post by: seafoid on January 28, 2015, 04:36:32 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 28, 2015, 02:48:12 PM
The only ones blowing sh1te about Ros are various rhubarbs.
Seafoidin is then responding to their excretions by pointing out that we're not that great.
Quicker the NFL starts the better to keep ye bucks occupied :D
Real data. It is such a long time from September to February, isn't it ?
Post by: giveballaghback on January 28, 2015, 06:17:13 PM
ye are talking about westbanks and eastbanks, are ye in the middle east? ye are landgrabin from ros and sligo, watch out galway, we could even see the statue of liberty in clew bay, hup ya boy ya, come on the rossies
Post by: muppet on January 28, 2015, 06:44:40 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on January 28, 2015, 06:17:13 PM
ye are talking about westbanks and eastbanks, are ye in the middle east? ye are landgrabin from ros and sligo, watch out galway, we could even see the statue of liberty in clew bay, hup ya boy ya, come on the rossies

giveballaghback sees the coast for the first time: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XvuM3DjvYf0&spfreload=10 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XvuM3DjvYf0&spfreload=10)
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 28, 2015, 08:39:29 PM
Question for deiseach (if he still bothers with this thread anymore) where would Waterford's footballing strongholds be based? Or is it like in Mayo for example (swap codes) you've a pocket surrounded by the main one.
Post by: moysider on January 28, 2015, 08:59:36 PM

I assume from your username that you are in favour of returning the Ballaghadereen area back to County Mayo, where it used to be. Very decent and fair of you.
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 28, 2015, 10:44:22 PM

Ah, fair play to ya, horse. That's some rant!
You know what? I don' disagree with a single word of it.

On the other hand, I can't agree with a single one either as I don't know WTF you're on about but it looks good.
Keep 'er lit and don't worry if it makes sense or not – after all, Rossfan and Syf have been talking through their anal orifices for years and it hasn't stunted their growth. ;D
Post by: Rossfan on January 28, 2015, 10:55:32 PM
Jasis Lareen some of ye Rhus are getting very grumpy.
Ye must think ye are gone for a few years :-*
Post by: deiseach on January 29, 2015, 09:16:19 AM

And this is precisely why I'll never tire of the Ballagh 'debate'. Of course, it's easy to be flippant when it's about someone else. If the Tipp hatchetmen ever come looking for Carrickbeg they'd better bring something with more firepower than hatchets!
Post by: deiseach on January 29, 2015, 09:17:26 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 28, 2015, 08:39:29 PM
Question for deiseach (if he still bothers with this thread anymore) where would Waterford's footballing strongholds be based? Or is it like in Mayo for example (swap codes) you've a pocket surrounded by the main one.

I'll get back to you on this.
Post by: ballinaman on January 29, 2015, 10:06:52 AM
Quote from: deiseach on January 29, 2015, 09:17:26 AM

My best mate from Tramore puts it as "out the west or up the mountains"......Tramore being the notable exception the the east I think. Gaultier out the Dunmore road of the city would be the football club of Ballygunner I think, that right deiseach?...they'd have a few hurling lads
Post by: seafoid on January 29, 2015, 10:55:00 AM
Quote from: deiseach on January 29, 2015, 09:16:19 AM

And this is precisely why I'll never tire of the Ballagh 'debate'. Of course, it's easy to be flippant when it's about someone else. If the Tipp hatchetmen ever come looking for Carrickbeg they'd better bring something with more firepower than hatchets!
Haven't ye got bits of Waherford on the cat side of the Suir as well ?
Post by: deiseach on January 29, 2015, 10:59:00 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on January 29, 2015, 10:06:52 AM
Quote from: deiseach on January 29, 2015, 09:17:26 AM

My best mate from Tramore puts it as "out the west or up the mountains"......Tramore being the notable exception the the east I think. Gaultier out the Dunmore road of the city would be the football club of Ballygunner I think, that right deiseach?...they'd have a few hurling lads

Mostly. Way out west is hurling terrain, clubs like Lismore, Tallow and Ballyduff Upper. Inbetween is football. Tramore, which if there was a parish would dwarf all other clubs (and should dwarf all other clubs anyway), is traditionally a football club but has now been reduced to the Junior ranks in both codes. My brother was talking to an old friend of his who is still heavily involved and he believes Tramore will be a hurling club in the near future.

I've got an image which illustrates the point but I can't post it up until later.
Post by: deiseach on January 29, 2015, 11:01:49 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 29, 2015, 10:55:00 AM
Haven't ye got bits of Waherford on the cat side of the Suir as well ?

Ferrybank has always been part of Waterford. While craven politicians with their servile parish pump agendas may have succeeded in diminishing the city, it still predates any fantasy city further north or the hinterland around it.
Post by: Shrewdness on January 29, 2015, 09:49:21 PM
Well done to our fellow Rossie, Mick Rock, on becoming the new president of the Connacht Council.. If everything goes to plan, it will be him who presents the Nestor Cup to his fellow Rossie, Niall Carty next July, probably in Mc Hale park.
Post by: larryin89 on January 29, 2015, 10:06:20 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on January 29, 2015, 09:49:21 PM
Well done to our fellow Rossie, Mick Rock, on becoming the new president of the Connacht Council.. If everything goes to plan, it will be him who presents the Nestor Cup to his fellow Rossie, Niall Carty next July, probably in Mc Hale park.

I doubt Ye will agree to it. Even taking the FBD result as an almighty boost for yer Castlebar hoodoo , it will be Salthill the Kerryman will tell  yer CB if Mayo can manage walshes fancy dans.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 29, 2015, 10:29:34 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on January 29, 2015, 09:49:21 PM

Any relation of James Rock who moved to Castlebar?
Post by: Syferus on January 29, 2015, 11:18:59 PM
Finally a man who can curb the Prenty council. Mayo's dominance at an official level may be at its' end.
Post by: moysider on January 29, 2015, 11:32:14 PM

Don t bet on it. He ll be only a Patsy. President is an honorary position.

He may as well be President of Outer Mongolia for all the influence he ll have on John's autocracy. Bloody hell; the very idea!!
Post by: Syferus on January 30, 2015, 02:40:58 AM
Quote from: moysider on January 29, 2015, 11:32:14 PM

Don t bet on it. He ll be only a Patsy. President is an honorary position.

He may as well be President of Outer Mongolia for all the influence he ll have on John's autocracy. Bloody hell; the very idea!!

The Rock won't be moved by John Prenty.
Post by: deiseach on January 30, 2015, 08:51:36 AM

This is a (very general) map of the geographical spread of clubs in Waterford that someone posted to An Fear Rua back in the day. Green = football, orange = hurling. I'm sure that means something (edit: tweak with the contrast and they could be Rossie colours!) The city is mixed.

(https://deiseach.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/waterford-gaa-club-map.png)
Post by: From the Bunker on June 20, 2015, 10:29:09 PM
Sligo can anyway!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 21, 2015, 07:13:06 PM
Can we rename the threat "Who cant beat Roscommon"? Down my friends take a bow!
Post by: blanketattack on March 01, 2016, 09:24:30 AM
The answer to this thread title is clearly "Nobody"
Post by: From the Bunker on March 01, 2016, 09:35:22 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on March 01, 2016, 09:24:30 AM
The answer to this thread title is clearly "Nobody"

Except Monaghan!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 01, 2016, 09:56:48 AM
The answer to this question is usually themselves.

Did Willie Hegarty have on-air 'organisms' on Shiteside radio last Sunday?
Post by: Rudi on March 01, 2016, 10:07:29 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 01, 2016, 09:56:48 AM

Another bitter gobda local. The reason I can't listen to Shannonside is not because of Willie (who has done a power of work with underage teams in Ros) but excerpts from Longford games and some really irritating co-commentator. Get yer own radio station banjo playing inbreds.
Post by: Rossfan on March 01, 2016, 10:16:44 AM

Stick to ye're cowboy music and leave football to us. :P
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 01, 2016, 10:43:55 AM
Quote from: Rudi on March 01, 2016, 10:07:29 AM

Another bitter gobda local. The reason I can't listen to Shannonside is not because of Willie (who has done a power of work with underage teams in Ros) but excerpts from Longford games and some really irritating co-commentator. Get yer own radio station banjo playing inbreds.

Charming...........really charming. Showing the class that most some Roscommon posters here are noted for.

For the record Liam Tierney does drone on a bit (and his accent is almost Tom Cruise Longford) - but he was a top footballer in the late 70s/early 80s and played for Ireland in the Aussie rules fights in Croke Park of the mid 80s.

Post by: Rudi on March 01, 2016, 10:52:37 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 01, 2016, 10:43:55 AM
Quote from: Rudi on March 01, 2016, 10:07:29 AM

Charming...........really charming. Showing the class that most some Roscommon posters here are noted for.

For the record Liam Tierney does drone on a bit (and his accent is almost Tom Cruise Longford) - but he was a top footballer in the late 70s/early 80s and played for Ireland in the Aussie rules fights in Croke Park of the mid 80s.

No - the class most Rossie supporters are known for here are commenting positively on good results Longford have got over the years such as u21 wins over Dublin etc. Unlike the snide drivel you post about the bus et al. If you have nothing decent to say don't post.
Post by: seafoid on March 01, 2016, 10:58:25 AM
It 8s super to see the neighbours giving Bhfaca to to Cork and Kerry. I hope the good form continues into the summer and results in a quarter final at least. We need a Connacht all Ireland.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 01, 2016, 11:21:06 AM

If you can quote what insult I posted about the Roscommon bus (I goan even typing that) we will compare it to the vile nonsense you posted earlier today and let the forum decide which is good natured slagging and which is vile abuse.

Ok - deal?
Post by: Main Street on March 01, 2016, 11:48:25 AM
I thought the biggest insult was delivered Liam Tierney's way, about his authentic Longford culchie accent being as fake as a Tom Cruise effort.