Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: theticklemister on November 25, 2014, 12:34:44 PM

Title: John Delaney singing Joe McDonnell
Post by: theticklemister on November 25, 2014, 12:34:44 PM
Delaney apologises for offence caused by song

16 minutes ago
FAI chief executive John Delaney was speaking on Tubridy on 2fm this morning
FAI chief executive John Delaney has apologised for any offence caused by singing the Republican ballad Joe McDonnell last week in a Dublin pub.

A video posted on YouTube last week showed Delaney singing the song following Ireland's 4-1 win over USA in the Aviva Stadium.

Speaking on RTE 2fm this morning, Delaney said the manner in which the video was recorded was wrong but that he was sorry if it caused any upset.

He stated: "First of all, Joe McDonnell is a song that has been sang in my presence and I have chipped in on a number of occasions in the past. I am not somebody who supports violence at all.

"In fact over a large number of years I have been working closely on cross-border initiatives in football to break down barriers. I am just not a violent person. My Grandfather fought in the Civil War and he also fought in the War Of Independence. I have always said I have a nationalist background.

"When you sing a song like that, you don't believe in every word that is in the song. I sing a large number of songs, maybe five or six different ones. It's normally done in a private way when there is a sing-song. It's a typically Irish thing we do. We sing songs amongst our group and you expect it to be kept to the group.

"Unfortunately on occasions people use camera phones in a sly way and try to tape it - people who are not in your company - and they try to make it something bigger than it is.

"What I will say is that if the song offends anybody, of course I'm sorry. It is not in my nature to want to offend people. It was something I have sung or had sang in my presence in the past."

Delaney added that the Irish team partake in singing of similar songs such as Sean South from Garryowen on matchdays and it has been part of the regime for over 20 years.

He added: "I'll give you an example. Sean South from Garryowen has been sung on the Irish team bus for years, from the Jack Charlton era, right up to the current era.

"If people want to tape these things in what I would call a sly way, and then try to make them public, it is wrong. But I do accept that if I have upset anybody here, I'm sorry."
Title: Re: John Delaney singing Joe McDonnell
Post by: foxcommander on November 25, 2014, 01:44:03 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 25, 2014, 12:34:44 PM
Delaney apologises for offence caused by song

16 minutes ago
FAI chief executive John Delaney was speaking on Tubridy on 2fm this morning
FAI chief executive John Delaney has apologised for any offence caused by singing the Republican ballad Joe McDonnell last week in a Dublin pub.

A video posted on YouTube last week showed Delaney singing the song following Ireland's 4-1 win over USA in the Aviva Stadium.

Speaking on RTE 2fm this morning, Delaney said the manner in which the video was recorded was wrong but that he was sorry if it caused any upset.

He stated: "First of all, Joe McDonnell is a song that has been sang in my presence and I have chipped in on a number of occasions in the past. I am not somebody who supports violence at all.

"In fact over a large number of years I have been working closely on cross-border initiatives in football to break down barriers. I am just not a violent person. My Grandfather fought in the Civil War and he also fought in the War Of Independence. I have always said I have a nationalist background.

"When you sing a song like that, you don't believe in every word that is in the song. I sing a large number of songs, maybe five or six different ones. It's normally done in a private way when there is a sing-song. It's a typically Irish thing we do. We sing songs amongst our group and you expect it to be kept to the group.

"Unfortunately on occasions people use camera phones in a sly way and try to tape it - people who are not in your company - and they try to make it something bigger than it is.

"What I will say is that if the song offends anybody, of course I'm sorry. It is not in my nature to want to offend people. It was something I have sung or had sang in my presence in the past."

Delaney added that the Irish team partake in singing of similar songs such as Sean South from Garryowen on matchdays and it has been part of the regime for over 20 years.

He added: "I'll give you an example. Sean South from Garryowen has been sung on the Irish team bus for years, from the Jack Charlton era, right up to the current era.

"If people want to tape these things in what I would call a sly way, and then try to make them public, it is wrong. But I do accept that if I have upset anybody here, I'm sorry."

Why is an apology needed?
Post by: NAG1 on November 25, 2014, 01:53:34 PM
Well he gave one anyway, if he wasnt fit to stand over singing the song with any sort of backbone then he shouldn't have opened his mouth in the first place.  >:(
Post by: seafoid on November 25, 2014, 01:56:37 PM
There would have been no problem if he had sung Ireland's call, presumably
Post by: deiseach on November 25, 2014, 01:58:14 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on November 25, 2014, 01:53:34 PM
Well he gave one anyway, if he wasnt fit to stand over singing the song with any sort of backbone then he shouldn't have opened his mouth in the first place.  >:(

Indeed. And remember he's only sorry if you were offended. If you're not offended, he's not sorry!
Post by: AZOffaly on November 25, 2014, 02:03:32 PM
I'm offended he thinks 5 or 6 songs is a large amount.
Post by: Hound on November 25, 2014, 02:03:51 PM
Front page of the Irish Times today, so the media would have been hounding him for a "comment".

A half-hearted apology, to anyone who might have been offended, was probably his best course of action in fairness to him.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 25, 2014, 02:44:05 PM
Quote from: Hound on November 25, 2014, 02:03:51 PM
Front page of the Irish Times today, so the media would have been hounding him for a "comment".

A half-hearted apology, to anyone who might have been offended, was probably his best course of action in fairness to him.

Balls.ie were made to take down the video last Friday after his solicitors claimed it wasn't him in the video and were threatening legal action, so it's being going on since then I imagine. The Guardian in England stood their ground after similar threats and we are where we are.

Surely his best course of action was not to be singing a (open to interpretation) contentious song, as head of a football association, out of tune.
Post by: seafoid on November 25, 2014, 03:02:38 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 25, 2014, 02:44:05 PM

Balls.ie were made to take down the video last Friday after his solicitors claimed it wasn't him in the video and were threatening legal action, so it's being going on since then I imagine. The Guardian in England stood their ground after similar threats and we are where we are.

Surely his best course of action was not to be singing a (open to interpretation) contentious song, as head of a football association, out of tune.
It's hardly news though, is it  ?
Phil Space must have been behind the decision to put it in the newspapers.
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 25, 2014, 03:06:37 PM
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2014/11/25/john-delaneys-e360000-salary-more-offensive-than-any-republican-ballad/
Post by: 5 Sams on November 25, 2014, 03:11:40 PM
Would there have been same hullaballoo if he sang Grace or Kevin Barry???
Post by: theskull1 on November 25, 2014, 03:22:59 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on November 25, 2014, 01:53:34 PM

I can't understand that perspective. In my mind he got it spot on.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 25, 2014, 04:18:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 25, 2014, 03:02:38 PM

Front page is ridiculous alright, you'd expect that from the Indo and the red tops, bottom line talking perhaps.
Post by: ballinaman on November 25, 2014, 04:27:43 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 25, 2014, 04:18:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 25, 2014, 03:02:38 PM

Front page is ridiculous alright, you'd expect that from the Indo and the red tops, bottom line talking perhaps.
I have no problem with the song whatsoever nor do I have it being used against him in this situation, anything that helps rid that bollox from Irish soccer is a bonus to me....anything that increases the pressure on him is fair game.
Post by: deiseach on November 25, 2014, 04:31:08 PM
Delaney is a buffoon, but given that it seems every FAI CEO has resigned in disgrace over something, you have to wonder at what point the penny will drop that it ain't the man in charge who is the problem.
Post by: ballinaman on November 25, 2014, 04:45:06 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 25, 2014, 04:31:08 PM
Delaney is a buffoon, but given that it seems every FAI CEO has resigned in disgrace over something, you have to wonder at what point the penny will drop that it ain't the man in charge who is the problem.
Ah well Delaney is doing he best to help the gobshite status of FAI CEO. He disregard for the LOI, his handling of tickets ( 700 out of the 3,200 for Scotland siphoned off for his own mates, low estimate BTW)....the list goes on.
I know he's a deise man deiseach but he's got to go. There are about 10 on the board who need to go too, Joe McClue an equally big gobshite. It won't be easy to get rid of them but as they say, the most potent factor in maintaining the status quo is the belief that change is impossible.
Luck at the IRFU, can you tell me who the CEO is there? Not many could...says a lot.
Post by: deiseach on November 25, 2014, 04:51:31 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 25, 2014, 04:45:06 PM
Ah well Delaney is doing he best to help the gobshite status of FAI CEO. He disregard for the LOI, his handling of tickets ( 700 out of the 3,200 for Scotland siphoned off for his own mates, low estimate BTW)....the list goes on.
I know he's a deise man deiseach but he's got to go. There are about 10 on the board who need to go too, Joe McClue an equally big gobshite. It won't be easy to get rid of them but as they say, the most potent factor in maintaining the status quo is the belief that change is impossible.
Luck at the IRFU, can you tell me who the CEO is there? Not many could...says a lot.

I'm not defending him at all, not even because he's from Waterford. I can think of another John from Waterford whose last name starts with a D and ends with a Y who I would happily fire into the sun if the chance arose. Just noting that nothing ever changes when the FAI changes CEO's except they have to give them another fat payoff. It's weird. Why the GAA and the IRFU (Philip Browne, isn't it? No Googling) have none of these shenanigans while the FAI roll from one disaster to the next is just . . . weird.
Post by: ballinaman on November 25, 2014, 05:04:22 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 25, 2014, 04:51:31 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 25, 2014, 04:45:06 PM

I'm not defending him at all, not even because he's from Waterford. I can think of another John from Waterford whose last name starts with a D and ends with a Y who I would happily fire into the sun if the chance arose. Just noting that nothing ever changes when the FAI changes CEO's except they have to give them another fat payoff. It's weird. Why the GAA and the IRFU (Philip Browne, isn't it? No Googling) have none of these shenanigans while the FAI roll from one disaster to the next is just . . . weird.
Exactly, FAI is a deeply flawed organisation at the top level. The blatant disregard for the LOI makes their lives a little bit easier, ship players off to England and that's that taken care of. Delaney et al do sweet FA when it comes to school boy or Oscar Traynor level...
Business junkets is about the height of it, heard there was an 11,000 euro bar bill in the Jack Charlton suite in the Aviva at the USA game, no wonder Delaney was singing in The Bath pub afterwards....
I was in the team hotel in Tbilisi collecting my tickets the day before the match an in swans Mr. Delaney in the foyer. I never met the man before so was interested to see how it would go..
General introductions first and then he goes out of the blue "lads I've a bit of info for ye, ye must keep it on the QT, we're likely to be playing Gibraltar in Craven Cottage, suits them better for tax...say nothing though, not finalised."

What was he at? Trying to be our mates or something? Just very odd I thought...subsequently fixture has been fixed for Faro next September anyway...
Post by: OakleafCounty on November 25, 2014, 05:11:39 PM
I read last night that his salary is double his Italian and Spanish counterparts combined. Now last time I checked Italy and Spain have had world cup winning teams recently and leagues containing many world class players yet Delaney still sees fit that he pays himself more than double the heads of those FA's combined!!! His salary is also greater than the prizefund allocated to the club that wins the league of Ireland.

Obscene is not the word for that man! And how many times do we have to hear about how his granda fought in the WoI.
Post by: deiseach on November 25, 2014, 05:12:34 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 25, 2014, 05:04:22 PM
I was in the team hotel in Tbilisi collecting my tickets the day before the match an in swans Mr. Delaney in the foyer. I never met the man before so was interested to see how it would go..
General introductions first and then he goes out of the blue "lads I've a bit of info for ye, ye must keep it on the QT, we're likely to be playing Gibraltar in Craven Cottage, suits them better for tax...say nothing though, not finalised."

What was he at? Trying to be our mates or something? Just very odd I thought...subsequently fixture has been fixed for Faro next September anyway...

That's bonkers. And he has the cheek to be bleating about stuff leaking to the papers!
Post by: ballinaman on November 25, 2014, 05:16:23 PM
Read this and prepare to turn your FFS meter up to 11......this is not a parody by the way.

http://www.independent.ie/style/celebrity/celebrity-news/the-edge-john-delaney-and-emma-english-heating-up-marbella-30764240.html
Post by: deiseach on November 25, 2014, 05:19:58 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 25, 2014, 05:16:23 PM
Read this and prepare to turn your FFS meter up to 11......this is not a parody by the way.

http://www.independent.ie/style/celebrity/celebrity-news/the-edge-john-delaney-and-emma-english-heating-up-marbella-30764240.html

I'm not clicking on that. Looks NSFW.
Post by: ballinaman on November 25, 2014, 05:21:49 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 25, 2014, 05:19:58 PM

haha..it's grand. Just you may have a pain in your face from cringing after.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on November 25, 2014, 05:26:19 PM
Business junkets is about the height of it, heard there was an 11,000 euro bar bill in the Jack Charlton suite in the Aviva at the USA game, no wonder Delaney was singing in The Bath pub afterwards....
What sort of a bar tab would Frank Murphy, Liam O'Neill, Nickey Brennan, Seán McCague and their home boys run up if let loose with the GAA credit card?
Post by: AZOffaly on November 25, 2014, 05:26:48 PM

Independent. Barry Egan. Enough said.
Post by: heffo on November 25, 2014, 05:29:51 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on November 25, 2014, 05:26:19 PM
What sort of a bar tab would Frank Murphy, Liam O'Neill, Nickey Brennan, Seán McCague and their home boys run up if let loose with the GAA credit card?

Three of those four are tee totallers, throw Duffy into the non-drinker mix too means the Platinum AMEX doesnt get hard a bashing
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 25, 2014, 05:33:59 PM
Quote from: heffo on November 25, 2014, 05:29:51 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on November 25, 2014, 05:26:19 PM

Three of those four are tee totallers, throw Duffy into the non-drinker mix too means the Platinum AMEX doesnt get hard a bashing

Barry's would make some profit though!!
Post by: easytiger95 on November 25, 2014, 05:49:45 PM
Indo gets better and better. And better.

Best lines

the boss of the FAI and his gorgeous model cum fashion show organiser girlfriend travelled further south to (did you guess it already?) - Marbella. It is a truth universally acknowledged that we all end up in Marbs at some point in our lives, si?

last month in House on Leeson Street Emma threw (with my assistance) a surprise birthday party for John's 47th birthday - with a Teddy Bear's theme: cake, cocktails, music because John, as she told Brendan O'Connor on the Saturday Night Show recently, is her teddy bear.

Earlier that night, everyone from Ken Doherty to Paul McGrath and Jimmy Magee to models Gail Kaneswaran, Emma Waldron, Faith Barnett, Lisa Hogan, to TV stars Elaine Crowley, Martin King and wife Jenny McCarthy joined John and Emma at the Aviva for the launch of the rather swish new Jack Charlton Lounge at the famous stadium in Dublin.

Barry Egan is the sound dangerously armed loners hear, just before they decide they really are the Angel of Death.
Post by: ballinaman on November 25, 2014, 05:52:49 PM
The image of John Delaney dressed up as a Teddy Bear will haunt me for the rest of my life...I know it's not actually said but that's what I got from that article...christ.
Post by: From the Bunker on November 25, 2014, 08:39:56 PM
I have met Delaney. He was at a promotional tour with Ray Houghton, Don Given and a few others around Mayo Clubs. He came to our Soccer club. Found him down to earth. We have a community ground where Hurling and Soccer are played. Seemed legitimately delighted that a community should share facilities for different codes. He told of his love for Hurling and how he played in a Munster Schools final. He even had a puck about later on down on the field (along with a curious Ray Houghton).  Anyway there is not much you can tell about a person from such occasions as it is all pleasantries on both sides.

Don't want to turn this into a lets knock Roy thread. I love him being involved with the Irish set up. But what are Roy's wages from the FAI? 700K? For how many days work in the year? Is he worth it? Should he be paid twice what the CEO gets?

Post by: easytiger95 on November 25, 2014, 08:53:04 PM
I think the real question is should the CEO be paid twice what Barack Obama gets? Or at least was until 2011/12.

footballing staff, managers, coaches, physios etc all set their fees in accordance with the professional world they work in - that includes Keane. When you hire Keane (whatever you may think of his character) you have hired an ex-player with 12 major titles on his CV, a manager who has won a Championship and also managed one other club, whilst he has never suffered a relegation - plus he is an instantly recognisable name in world football.

Following that logic, john Delaney should benchmark his fees against his peers - as described above he earns twice as much as his Spanish counterpoint, who has overseen far more success than Delaney ever will. It is grotesque that Delany earns what he does, and undercuts any sympathy that LOI clubs and soccer fans might normally get from other fans, that they allow this bloated, greedy eejit be the figure head for the national game.

Sure sign that someone earns too much is when they say they can earn more elsewhere - go and prove it then, Teddy Bear.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 25, 2014, 09:38:43 PM
Oh god. I feel sick reading that. Egan is deranged.

FAI and Delaney deserve each other. Only for Denis O'Brien's largesse (and don't get me started on that man) FAI would be fuckeder
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 25, 2014, 09:52:15 PM

So this man feels that belting out rebel ballads in a crowded pub is too private for public disclosure and yet goes along with that article?

Hmmm..

/Jim.
Post by: muppet on November 25, 2014, 10:00:45 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 25, 2014, 09:52:15 PM

So this man feels that belting out rebel ballads in a crowded pub is too private for public disclosure and yet goes along with that article?

Hmmm..

/Jim.

If I ever drink way too much and need to evacuate toxic beverages rapidly, I merely google the latest Barry Egan article and it does the trick, instantly.
Post by: Billys Boots on November 25, 2014, 10:12:47 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on November 25, 2014, 08:39:56 PM
I have met Delaney. He was at a promotional tour with Ray Houghton, Don Given and a few others around Mayo Clubs. He came to our Soccer club. Found him down to earth. We have a community ground where Hurling and Soccer are played. Seemed legitimately delighted that a community should share facilities for different codes. He told of his love for Hurling and how he played in a Munster Schools final. He even had a puck about later on down on the field (along with a curious Ray Houghton).  Anyway there is not much you can tell about a person from such occasions as it is all pleasantries on both sides.

Don't want to turn this into a lets knock Roy thread. I love him being involved with the Irish set up. But what are Roy's wages from the FAI? 700K? For how many days work in the year? Is he worth it? Should he be paid twice what the CEO gets?

Feck it lads, I'm with this man.  I'd have had no grá for Delaney, but have met him and he's alright (IMO) - he's made commitments to a number of grassroots clubs in my presence and followed through on them all.  Every one - I made it my business to find out, as I was suspicious of him.  The FAI is a long way ahead of where it was before him, and he's been blighted by the fact that our seniors have basically been muck (comparatively) during his time as CEO - the emerging talent programme has been relatively successful, the women's game has taken off at all levels.  The LOI is still a mess, but that is hardly his fault.  In fairness, give the man his due.
Post by: ballinaman on November 25, 2014, 11:52:33 PM
The league of Ireland is a mess, you're right. I think 5 or 6 clubs have gone under off the top of my head under his tenure, he can't be entirely accountable for that I acknowledge that as the country lost the run of themselves as a whole in terms of spending for awhile, but the man at the top has to take a good bit of the blame, buck stops with him and all that.

Did anyone hear Off the ball tonight..Christ, it gets better. Legal team of Delaney denied it was him in the video when the Guardian newspaper enquired yesterday,threathing legal action if they printed story...Times went with it this morning and Delaney then on Ray Darcy admitting it later.

Legal team contacted by the Guardian then and they even embarrassed!

Couldn't make it up. The man is a clown.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on November 25, 2014, 11:56:44 PM
he was on Pat Kenny today, crying (literally) that his new missus was getting abuse on certain forums...she was interviewed as well, Denis helping out a pal perhaps?
Post by: rodney trotter on November 26, 2014, 12:01:32 AM
How did Delaney end up with a stunner like her.
Post by: ballinaman on November 26, 2014, 12:08:05 AM
The timing of that article in the independent by Egan is glorious, even mentions the bath pub sing song.
Delighted if he's nailed for this.

Lance Armstrong esque, hiding in plain sight for years and all comes tumbling done around him.
Post by: Main Street on November 26, 2014, 12:29:49 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 25, 2014, 05:21:49 PM

haha..it's grand. Just you may have a pain in your face from cringing after.
I have no cringing pain, that lady can smile.
I'll give them another 12 months,  at most ........he's no Van Morrison.
Post by: Aaron Boone on November 26, 2014, 08:06:59 AM
Delaney is apparently good at his job, concentrates on the financial stability of the FAI.
But boy is he a loose cannon, gets himself into pickles that are of his own making. Needs to keep his head down.
Post by: charlieTully on November 26, 2014, 08:26:47 AM
He should be commended for singing the song. Are the southern media saying the hunger strikes were wrong?
Post by: deiseach on November 26, 2014, 09:08:01 AM
Quote from: charlieTully on November 26, 2014, 08:26:47 AM
He should be commended for singing the song. Are the southern media saying the hunger strikes were wrong?

John Delaney thinks it was wrong.
Post by: ballinaman on November 26, 2014, 09:13:04 AM

You just don't get it do you...

http://youtu.be/4KoKWf6pLs8
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 26, 2014, 10:28:16 AM
Ran into Delaney in the residents bar in the old Bewley's hotel on a matchday years ago, when I used to be at every international game under the sun. He gave us tickets to get into the after match bar underneath the old stand for a couple of free pints and seemed sound. So he's well able to splash the association's cash and schmooze like the best of them. Haven't been to a match since the Paris game (not the handball one). Was sick to my back teeth of the FAI and all their dealings, best decision I ever made although I do miss the away day sessions. Delaney's utterances remind me of Pat McQuaid's last few years at the UCI, enough said.
Post by: gallsman on November 26, 2014, 10:47:49 AM

No, he shouldn't.

No, they aren't
Post by: charlieTully on November 26, 2014, 10:59:00 AM
Quote from: gallsman on November 26, 2014, 10:47:49 AM

No, he shouldn't.

No, they aren't

You on traffic duty today again? 
Post by: gallsman on November 26, 2014, 11:00:52 AM
Quote from: charlieTully on November 26, 2014, 10:59:00 AM
Quote from: gallsman on November 26, 2014, 10:47:49 AM

No, he shouldn't.

No, they aren't

You on traffic duty today again?

You still a hypocritical little bigot?
Post by: laoislad on November 26, 2014, 11:03:42 AM
Oohhh this thread just got interesting..
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 26, 2014, 12:20:54 PM
Malachy Clerkin nails it

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/john-delaney-acting-in-a-manner-unbefitting-for-the-position-he-holds-1.2015027 (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/john-delaney-acting-in-a-manner-unbefitting-for-the-position-he-holds-1.2015027)

And finally realised why the Indo aren't all over this, have to keep the boss man happy.
Post by: Hound on November 26, 2014, 12:49:14 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 26, 2014, 12:20:54 PM
Malachy Clerkin nails it

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/john-delaney-acting-in-a-manner-unbefitting-for-the-position-he-holds-1.2015027 (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/john-delaney-acting-in-a-manner-unbefitting-for-the-position-he-holds-1.2015027)

And finally realised why the Indo aren't all over this, have to keep the boss man happy.
To me I read that as the Irish Times trying to come up with a good reason as to why such a minor story made the front page of their newspaper. To paraphrase - "I know there was feck all in that incident, but think of everything else the hoor has done. Therefore we were justified in it being the top of the front page."
Balderdash. And embarrasing the Indo's boss man was probably part of the consideration for making it front page news.
(And I say this as someone who always reads the Times and would never pick up the Indo)
Post by: deiseach on November 26, 2014, 01:10:06 PM
Quote from: Hound on November 26, 2014, 12:49:14 PM
Malachy Clerkin nails it

To me I read that as the Irish Times trying to come up with a good reason as to why such a minor story made the front page of their newspaper. To paraphrase - "I know there was feck all in that incident, but think of everything else the hoor has done. Therefore we were justified in it being the top of the front page."
Balderdash. And embarrasing the Indo's boss man was probably part of the consideration for making it front page news.
(And I say this as someone who always reads the Times and would never pick up the Indo)

Just to clarify your objections here. Is it that it was on the front page or that it was reported at all?
Post by: ballinaman on November 26, 2014, 01:35:32 PM
Quote from: Hound on November 26, 2014, 12:49:14 PM
Malachy Clerkin nails it

So the head of one of the 3 major sporting organisations in Ireland with a litany of royal fcuk ups doesn't warrant a story?
Post by: ballinaman on November 26, 2014, 01:48:06 PM
Make no mistake, Delaney is a cute boyo. He'll try a go down the route of the republican ballad being the issue, talking about how he's proud to be Irish and relations who were in the war of independence ect. He knows well this will go down well with the majority..(sing the songs myself on away trips sure)
Media focusing on if he should apologise or not and this suits Delaney down to the ground...lesser of two evils.

I personally couldn't give two shites if he was shifting the face off Derek Warfield...that's not the issue. It's a man in his position earning as much as he does, doing as little as his does for the LOI ect should be showing a bit more f**king tact in public...belt away at home John Boy by all means but not in a bar, 100m down the road from the stadium and with the English coming to town in June...he's a clown.
Post by: deiseach on November 26, 2014, 01:57:37 PM
Delaney seems to be engaging in a never-ending series of "look over there!" moments. Caught out allocating the tickets to his cronies? Look over there, the SFA didn't give us enough tickets and sold the ones they had in a manner that is likely to cause a riot! Caught out singing songs in an incident he would have preferred (whatever about the rightness or not of the particular tune) were kept out of the public domain? Look over there, persons or persons unnamed are abusing my girlfriend on Twitter, and I was so busy dealing with that that I couldn't stop third parties from trying to censor news outlets! It'd be funny if it weren't so pathetic. Actually scratch that, it is funny.
Post by: theticklemister on November 26, 2014, 02:17:07 PM
Jim Boyce ain't too happy!
Post by: ballinaman on November 26, 2014, 02:20:11 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 26, 2014, 01:57:37 PM
Delaney seems to be engaging in a never-ending series of "look over there!" moments. Caught out allocating the tickets to his cronies? Look over there, the SFA didn't give us enough tickets and sold the ones they had in a manner that is likely to cause a riot! Caught out singing songs in an incident he would have preferred (whatever about the rightness or not of the particular tune) were kept out of the public domain? Look over there, persons or persons unnamed are abusing my girlfriend on Twitter, and I was so busy dealing with that that I couldn't stop third parties from trying to censor news outlets! It'd be funny if it weren't so pathetic. Actually scratch that, it is funny.
Nail on the head. You could break it down that it's rooted in his personality....C'mere John, how come you let Slovakian FA off so lightly hosting the match in Zillina, an absolute hole to get to....sssshhhh, sure I'll just buy cans for everyone on the train from Bratislava...that'll keep ye quiet.
Giving out info to random supporters he never met before in the foyer in Tbilisi....ect..
Post by: AZOffaly on November 26, 2014, 02:24:05 PM
(http://blog.shaleshockmedia.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/squirrel.jpg)
Post by: deiseach on November 26, 2014, 02:33:37 PM
At the risk of getting a bit too personal about it all, who can ever forget George the Greek (http://www.soccer-ireland.com/irish-football-history/merriongate.htm)?
Post by: rodney trotter on November 26, 2014, 02:36:21 PM
Fran Rooney the FAI chief executive before Delaney wasn't afraid of the limelight either http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=4&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CDQQFjAD&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishexaminer.com%2Farchives%2F2004%2F1104%2Fworld%2Ffran-and-folly-in-another-fine-mess-for-fai-293859915.html&ei=AOR1VMryA8_Q7Aaw5YHgAQ&usg=AFQjCNGD1yMh4XMcKnWQhi_FxesgKbrHOQ&bvm=bv.80642063,d.ZGU
Post by: seafoid on November 26, 2014, 03:12:26 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 26, 2014, 02:17:07 PM
What a gobshite . Did he ever sing The Sash, I wonder
Post by: deiseach on November 26, 2014, 03:33:43 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 26, 2014, 03:12:26 PM
What a gobshite . Did he ever sing The Sash, I wonder

I remember watching Peter Taylor's documentary Loyalists where he was in a Belfast dance hall of some description and the band were in full flight butchering (pun unintended) what I think was their version of Folsom Prison Blues:

I went down the Falls Road with my f***ing Tommy gun
I got myself a Fenian and I said your time is done
And then I shot him
And I watched the bastard die

What was most noteworthy is how several of the audience had their faces blanked out. You can imagine their squawks of indignation when they realised they might be on the TV. Some filthy Fenian might see me and decide to take his business elsewhere! Couldn't have that now, could we?

(I wish to emphasis that I don't have any reason to suspect that Jim Boyce was in there or has ever frequented a place like it.)
Post by: theticklemister on November 26, 2014, 03:43:36 PM
Lads, certain songs Republicans sing cannot be classed as Republican, one such example ..... 'Whiskey in the Jar. By Athenrye.

One Sunday as I was going to mass
I killed a bloody orange man , I killed him for his pass

Were the words.

98%  of Republican songs are absolutely fantastic and I don't like this 'the I the I the IRA ' craic in middle of songs
Post by: Applesisapples on November 26, 2014, 04:00:55 PM
Well there a bonus then.
Post by: red hander on November 26, 2014, 04:46:16 PM

Aye, they want that £16,000 watch back he was given in Brazil which he 'forgot' clean about and hid under old carpets and a tent in his garage
Post by: deiseach on November 26, 2014, 04:54:43 PM
Quote from: red hander on November 26, 2014, 04:46:16 PM

Aye, they want that £16,000 watch back he was given in Brazil which he 'forgot' clean about and hid under old carpets and a tent in his garage

In fairness to Jim, I'd probably have kept the watch too. How was he meant to know there was such a thing as "Fifa's code of ethics" (http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-29279895)?
Post by: red hander on November 26, 2014, 05:07:19 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 26, 2014, 04:54:43 PM
Quote from: red hander on November 26, 2014, 04:46:16 PM

In fairness to Jim, I'd probably have kept the watch too. How was he meant to know there was such a thing as "Fifa's code of ethics" (http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-29279895)?

Boycie, Sepp and the rest of them cowboys thinks ethics is a place in the south of England
Post by: Myles Na G. on November 26, 2014, 06:04:41 PM
Delaney is a complete knob. He's far too much of a knob to do the decent thing and resign, so his organisation should sack him for bringing it into disrepute.
Post by: Rossfan on November 26, 2014, 07:11:36 PM
If we were all to be sacked for drinking too much and murdering a song.....
Post by: ballinaman on November 26, 2014, 07:31:07 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 26, 2014, 07:11:36 PM

As I alluded to earlier, this is exactly the audience Delaney is trying to get on his side by the poor me attitude...
Post by: charlieTully on November 26, 2014, 08:00:25 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 26, 2014, 07:31:07 PM

As I alluded to earlier, this is exactly the audience Delaney is trying to get on his side by the poor me attitude...

what did he do that was wrong?
Post by: ballinaman on November 26, 2014, 08:27:57 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on November 26, 2014, 08:00:25 PM

Acting the complete gobshite when he's the CEO of one of 3 biggest sporting organisations in Ireland. If your a CEO on that much money you should never be off the clock. It's not about the song FFS, it's the context of the whole situation and his history of ineptness...le's look at the LOI, I presume you as a football supporter in Ireland know what's going on? Ya?

Ticketing fiasco for Scotland, 700 of the 3,200 allocation distributed how he wanted them to be...
Prize money less for winning the league than his yearly salary
Clubs on a yearly basis having to withdraw from the league due to financial constraints
Only 7 teams in the first division next year...7 TEAMS!
Calling it the problem child...and that's a quote
Clubs being fined for fans singing anything negative about what's going on
Very poor advertisement promotion of the league
Failing national underage teams and not rectifying the problem
Relying on England and the North to produce players ect....

I could go on....The song is just the tip of the ice berg lads...
Post by: theticklemister on November 26, 2014, 08:49:49 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 26, 2014, 08:27:57 PM

Acting the complete gobshite when he's the CEO of one of 3 biggest sporting organisations in Ireland. If your a CEO on that much money you should never be off the clock. It's not about the song FFS, it's the context of the whole situation and his history of ineptness...le's look at the LOI, I presume you as a football supporter in Ireland know what's going on? Ya?

Ticketing fiasco for Scotland, 700 of the 3,200 allocation distributed how he wanted them to be...
Clubs on a yearly basis having to withdraw from the league due to financial constraints

Better for the GAA, give me a Tiocfaidh ar la
Post by: ballinaman on November 26, 2014, 09:00:27 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 26, 2014, 08:49:49 PM

haha...a valid point, I'm a GAA man first and foremost but Mr. Delaney seriously grinds my gears.....as you might have guessed.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 26, 2014, 09:05:38 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 26, 2014, 09:00:27 PM

haha...a valid point, I'm a GAA man first and foremost but Mr. Delaney seriously grinds my gears.....as you might have guessed.

You hide it well! The fact the yella bastid tried to deny it was him. If he's going to apologise he shouldn't be singing Republican songs.
Post by: theticklemister on November 26, 2014, 09:08:47 PM
let the people sing the stories and their songs
and the music of their native land
Their lullabies and battle cry and songs of hope and joy,
join us hand and hand
Post by: ballinaman on November 26, 2014, 09:09:04 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on November 26, 2014, 09:05:38 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 26, 2014, 09:00:27 PM

You hide it well! The fact the yella bastid tried to deny it was him. If he's going to apologise he shouldn't be singing Republican songs.
Boom. Great point
Post by: charlieTully on November 26, 2014, 09:54:21 PM

ok, i accept your points especially that one in bold, im not au fait with soccer in the south, i just couldnt understand the fuss about the particular song.
Post by: deiseach on November 27, 2014, 09:17:53 AM

Waterford United managed managed to finish behind Shamrock Rovers. Twice :-[
Post by: balladmaker on November 27, 2014, 10:40:13 AM
Firstly, John Delaney is entitled to sing 'Joe McDonnell' if he so wishes.  It's a commemorative song about someone who gave his life for his beliefs.  Whether you agree with those beliefs or not is irrelevant, you cannot deny someone else the right to sing it.  If you don't agree with the sentiments of the song, then don't listen to the song and move on.

Secondly, JD must be spineless, firstly to have his people deny it was him, then to admit it was him and apologise, absolutely ridiculous.  Those who took offence at the song had the problem, not JD, so no apology was required.

Thirdly, agreed, he hasn't a note, if I'd a voice like that, I wouldn't be singing anything in public.

Finally, what annoys me the most is the default position in Ireland that it is considered wrong to sing an Irish song, or promote a view that is republican in nature.  We should not have to justify such actions as a default.  We live in a society of free speech, or I thought we did, so lets move on and get over non-stories like this.  I see two benefits from the recent coverage 1: Jim Boyce was annoyed 2: A great song got great coverage and airplay across numerous radio stations that wouldn't otherwise touch a so called 'rebel' song.
Post by: rodney trotter on November 27, 2014, 11:36:06 AM
Few gas clips of Delaney down the years http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/
Post by: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 11:41:01 AM
People attempting to turn this into "everyone's out to get John Delaney for being a republican, he should stand up for himself" are the real embarrassment here.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 11:44:33 AM
Quote from: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 11:41:01 AM
People attempting to turn this into "everyone's out to get John Delaney for being a republican, he should stand up for himself" are the real embarrassment here.

Why?
Post by: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 11:47:01 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 11:44:33 AM
Quote from: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 11:41:01 AM

Why?

Because nobody's doing that. Attempting to construe this as an attack on, or shame over, whatever republican beliefs Delaney has misses the real point - he is a buffoon and a liability.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 11:52:28 AM
You think the following articles aren't focusing on the content of the song?

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/fai-silent-on-legal-threat-over-john-delaney-s-ira-ballad-1.2015054

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/nov/25/fai-john-delaney-apologises-singing-pro-republic-ballad

Post by: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 12:01:32 PM
Jesus Christ, neither article is about the content of the song. It's basically described as a republican ballad, which it is, albeit a f**king dreadful one, in both pieces and left at that.

The focus of the IT article is clearly about Delaney's legal improprieties and the second is about the embarrassment for Delaney given the context - English FA immediately condemning the songs at Celtic Park and England common coming to play in Dublin in June.

Not once, in either of those articles, is there an opinion that Delaney should be embarrassed or ashamed, simply for being a republican.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 12:05:26 PM
We'll leave it at that then, because I don't see how you could read either article and think that the content of the song was not part of the problem. Even the headlines imply it.
Post by: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 12:18:16 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 12:05:26 PM
We'll leave it at that then, because I don't see how you could read either article and think that the content of the song was not part of the problem. Even the headlines imply it.

Of course they mention it - that's what provides the context. They haven't lambasted him for singing republican songs. They've lambasted him for singing republican songs while attempting to head up one of the largest sporting organisations on the island which is supposed to be playing host to England in six months and contrasted it with the reaction of the English FA in condemning their own fans.

The same ones on here with the "good on ye John boy" attitudes are the same ones who will (rightly) cry foul over the politicisation and militarisation of soccer and rugby in the UK, e.g. servicemen carrying flags, poppy observance etc. Hypocrisy.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 12:30:27 PM
I agree that he's an idiot and would love to see him gone. But it's the nature of the song that is causing the problem here. Had he stood up and sang Taylor Swift's "Shake it out", then I doubt there would have been a paragraph in the article detailing the lyrics and the background of that song.
Therefore it becomes obvious that it is the song itself which is a problem. So if someone had strong republican leanings then I can understand why they would view an apology for singing the song as uncalled for. I certainly wouldn't be calling them an embarrassment for holding that view.
Post by: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 12:40:09 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 12:30:27 PM
I agree that he's an idiot and would love to see him gone. But it's the nature of the song that is causing the problem here. Had he stood up and sang Taylor Swift's "Shake it out", then I doubt there would have been a paragraph in the article detailing the lyrics and the background of that song.
Therefore it becomes obvious that it is the song itself which is a problem. So if someone had strong republican leanings then I can understand why they would view an apology for singing the song as uncalled for. I certainly wouldn't be calling them an embarrassment for holding that view.

I'd call them an embarrassment for failing to look beyond what they see through their republican tinted specs and look at it in the wider context.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 12:42:07 PM
Obviously that's what you think. I'd completely disagree.
Post by: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 01:13:29 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 12:42:07 PM

Put it like this, would it be acceptable for the IFA (or FA) chairman to sing the Billy Boys in a pub?
Post by: AZOffaly on November 27, 2014, 01:28:47 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 01:13:29 PM

Put it like this, would it be acceptable for the IFA (or FA) chairman to sing the Billy Boys in a pub?

The Billy Boys is a bit of an extreme example. If you said the Sash, that would be similar and your question still stands.
Post by: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 01:34:00 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 27, 2014, 01:28:47 PM

The Billy Boys is a bit of an extreme example. If you said the Sash, that would be similar and your question still stands.

It is, but I did it deliberately anticipating a particular response. What matters here is the perspective we apply to "our songs" vs "their songs". Because "ours" aren't about blood or guts or murder, we can't or refuse to comprehend that they might be considered offensive by others.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 27, 2014, 01:35:32 PM
I get your point. Just trying to preempt the responses about equivalence between the Joe McDonnell song and the Billy Boys.
Post by: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 01:38:29 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 27, 2014, 01:35:32 PM
I get your point. Just trying to preempt the responses about equivalence between the Joe McDonnell song and the Billy Boys.

Oh they'll come alright. Can draw fair equivalence between them in that they're both utter bilge.
Post by: rodney trotter on November 27, 2014, 01:47:55 PM
Epic stuff http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jTcKkFui0qw&feature=player_embedded
Post by: balladmaker on November 27, 2014, 02:19:36 PM
QuoteIt's basically described as a republican ballad, which it is, albeit a f**king dreadful one

A matter of opinion, and one which you are entitled to, however, I'd disagree with that opinion.  It is definitely a ballad, it is definitely a ballad about a republican icon and how he gave his life for his beliefs. Personally, I view the song to be probably the finest ballad to emanate from Ireland for a generation.  That's my opinion, which I'm also entitled to ... peace.
Post by: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 02:28:32 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on November 27, 2014, 02:19:36 PM
QuoteIt's basically described as a republican ballad, which it is, albeit a f**king dreadful one

A matter of opinion, and one which you are entitled to, however, I'd disagree with that opinion.  It is definitely a ballad, it is definitely a ballad about a republican icon and how he gave his life for his beliefs. Personally, I view the song to be probably the finest ballad to emanate from Ireland for a generation.  That's my opinion, which I'm also entitled to ... peace.

Perfectly entitled to it. Although you'd praise one of the Wolfe Tones farting and scratching their hole if they recorded it.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 02:30:09 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 01:34:00 PM

It is, but I did it deliberately anticipating a particular response. What matters here is the perspective we apply to "our songs" vs "their songs". Because "ours" aren't about blood or guts or murder, we can't or refuse to comprehend that they might be considered offensive by others.

Would there be an issue with the Head of the FA in England singing about the British Army or laying a poppy day wreath? Not a bit, would be a none story. And he would come under no pressure to apologise for doing so. And rightly so. 
Post by: balladmaker on November 27, 2014, 02:31:17 PM
QuotePerfectly entitled to it. Although you'd praise one of the Wolfe Tones farting and scratching their hole if they recorded it.

;D Don't think I would, but just for you ... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZkxpgBFvS9s&index=24&list=PL_fDegjpDwfzgGnQP3HEOTI9-WMv-3ff3 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZkxpgBFvS9s&index=24&list=PL_fDegjpDwfzgGnQP3HEOTI9-WMv-3ff3)
Post by: muppet on November 27, 2014, 02:44:15 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 02:30:09 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 01:34:00 PM

Would there be an issue with the Head of the FA in England singing about the British Army or laying a poppy day wreath? Not a bit, would be a none story. And he would come under no pressure to apologise for doing so. And rightly so.

Would you have any problem if he sang about the Black & Tans, or Cromwell, or The Parachute Regiment?
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 02:46:31 PM
I asked first.
Post by: muppet on November 27, 2014, 02:57:26 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 02:46:31 PM
I asked first.

Your question was the equivalent of asking if Delaney sang the National Anthem or attended a ceremony at The Garden of Remembrance. I personally hate all that propaganda crap, whether it is the Poppy or its desperately sad imitation, the Easter Lily.

Post by: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 03:04:48 PM
I know, and I don't disagree with you. But I don't agree with the fact that the Head of the FAI shouldn't have or shouldn't express a republican view point because of that position when it's not reflecting the viewpoint of that organization.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 27, 2014, 03:06:05 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 27, 2014, 11:36:06 AM
Few gas clips of Delaney down the years http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/

Every Delaney clip follows the same format https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SCOVozwIJcU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SCOVozwIJcU)
Post by: muppet on November 27, 2014, 03:07:26 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 03:04:48 PM
I know, and I don't disagree with you. But I don't agree with the fact that the Head of the FAI shouldn't have or shouldn't express a republican view point because of that position when it's not reflecting the viewpoint of that organization.

Expressing a Republican viewpoint is one thing, mangling a song in a pub like he did is just embarrassing.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 03:13:00 PM
I agree. But I've never argued it wasn't. My only response was to Gallsman who used the story to have a poke at posters on here from a republican viewpoint. (Which is standard enough for the same poster) 
Post by: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 03:22:16 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 03:13:00 PM
I agree. But I've never argued it wasn't. My only response was to Gallsman who used the story to have a poke at posters on here from a republican viewpoint. (Which is standard enough for the same poster)

Yes that's right, I'm an Uncle Tom. No, I had a poke at posters who are hypocritical in refusing to consider any viewpoint other than their own yet who'll happily criticise themmuns when they do the exact same.

Post by: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 03:24:09 PM
No you didn't. You trying to force an angle that wasn't there to have a pop at posters. Simple as that.
Post by: gallsman on November 27, 2014, 03:28:30 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 03:24:09 PM
No you didn't. You trying to force an angle that wasn't there to have a pop at posters. Simple as that.

The angle is clearly there.

Can't help but notice you've chosen to ignore questions about whether or not it would be acceptable or not for Delaney's Norn Iron or English equivalents to sing loyalist sings.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 03:39:37 PM
And I can't help to notice you've ignored my question as well. 
There is no angle other than in your head.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 27, 2014, 03:40:10 PM
Whats the issue,  a man sings a song about another man who died in a different country who was a freedom fighter/activist for the country that he died in,  no different then Christy singing about the Biko Drum`
Post by: deiseach on November 27, 2014, 03:55:51 PM

I'm trying to think of a song about 'the British Army', but if the head of the FA sang a song about whatever the equivalent would be from the republican songbook, there would be uproar in England. You'd also have the Daily Mail expressing disbelief at what all the fuss was about.
Post by: muppet on November 27, 2014, 03:59:20 PM
I think I recall us being delighted in 1993 when Billy Bingham conducted the Windsor Park crowd as they regaled us with Billy Boys and The Sash.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 04:01:23 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 27, 2014, 03:55:51 PM

I'm trying to think of a song about 'the British Army', but if the head of the FA sang a song about whatever the equivalent would be from the republican songbook, there would be uproar in England. You'd also have the Daily Mail expressing disbelief at what all the fuss was about.

I know it's hard to get a comparison. But say for example he/ she gave a rendition of the X factor song "Help for the Heros". I don't believe there would be any uproar.
Post by: deiseach on November 27, 2014, 04:03:33 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 04:01:23 PM
I know it's hard to get a comparison. But say for example he/ she gave a rendition of the X factor song "Help for the Heros". I don't believe there would be any uproar.

I don't know who should be more offended by that comparison!
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 27, 2014, 04:04:00 PM
True.  :D
Post by: Applesisapples on November 27, 2014, 05:11:25 PM
Wouldn't it be great if they could sing the Billy Boys and The Sash and we could sing our chucky songs and everybody enjoyed the craic and the rivalry? But meanwhile:
I remember the hunger strikes and the emotion very well, I was in my twenties and Joe McDonald for me evokes that time and as a ballad I personally like it.
Whilst Delaney singing it has brought me the joy of pissing off Boycie and the OWCers, I don't think it is appropriate that he as CEO of the FAI should do so, any more than Bingham should have conducted the sing along.
If he is shite at his job and I personally don't know the answer to that, then that is a different issue. His employers need to consider both issue separately in the first instance.
Post by: Main Street on November 27, 2014, 05:31:02 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 27, 2014, 03:59:20 PM
I think I recall us being delighted in 1993 when Billy Bingham conducted the Windsor Park crowd as they regaled us with Billy Boys and The Sash.
I think Billy's alleged role in conducting the rabid choir in their many renditions of the Sash and Billy Boys, during that tense game was and still is exaggerated.

And so also is exaggerated  are many of the indignant responses to the signing of a song about a republican activist who died on hunger strike for political status. Had Joe lived he would have gained political status and would possibly have supported the GFA  and a real possibility that he would be an elected representative today, a similar life story to many other republican political figures today,  who have participated in the last 50 years as part of the republican movement as campaigners, militarists, prison campaigns and whose movement signed a no fault peace treaty and were elected by the people to share administrative power. That in anyones language, in the history of world nationhood, legitimises the struggle, it doesn't mean you have to agree with it, but respect the legitimacy.

Post by: theticklemister on November 27, 2014, 05:58:10 PM
For what Joe McDonnell would have or not have done no one can predict, what we can say for certain is that he was a Republican, one who gave up his life for his beliefs. I'm in a band and I see on the circuit in Northern England. I have only mind singing Joe McDonnell once in last 6 months because I know the people we sing to don't want to hear it so we stick to folk tunes. We actual sung joe McDonnell in that time in Denmark to a rapturous  applause and it is my favourite ballad to sing, but I rarely get the chance because of my location. I love Republican ballads and it is my favourite genre but we can't get away with it here, so we do the Dubliners set. We are for Cork next weekend for three gigs so looking forward to a few more rebel tunes, yet again depending on the audience.

Now Delaney has made an absolute tool of himself here by retracting the fact that it was him singing.

If you don't have the balls to put your name to it , ye can go and take a walk.

Joe McDonnell is not a sectarian song, the sash and Billy's boys are.
Post by: seafoid on November 27, 2014, 06:10:42 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on November 27, 2014, 02:19:36 PM

probably the best . A very good song and I wouldn't be the biggest fan of the Wolfe Tones.
Post by: Myles Na G. on November 27, 2014, 06:23:05 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 27, 2014, 05:58:10 PM
For what Joe McDonnell would have or not have done no one can predict, what we can say for certain is that he was a Republican, one who gave up his life for his beliefs. I'm in a band and I see on the circuit in Northern England. I have only mind singing Joe McDonnell once in last 6 months because I know the people we sing to don't want to hear it so we stick to folk tunes. We actual sung joe McDonnell in that time in Denmark to a rapturous  applause and it is my favourite ballad to sing, but I rarely get the chance because of my location. I love Republican ballads and it is my favourite genre but we can't get away with it here, so we do the Dubliners set. We are for Cork next weekend for three gigs so looking forward to a few more rebel tunes, yet again depending on the audience.

Now Delaney has made an absolute tool of himself here by retracting the fact that it was him singing.

So a song glorifying the actions of a member of an organisation which carried out the massacre of 10 Protestant civilians at Kingsmill isn't sectarian, while a song about an Orange sash is? You're some boy!
Post by: Main Street on November 27, 2014, 09:00:45 PM

The Sash is nursery rhyme stuff, maybe it's sung by some strange folk.
Though I think the Dubliners had it in their repertoire once upon a time.
Post by: theticklemister on November 27, 2014, 09:10:10 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 27, 2014, 09:00:45 PM

The Sash is nursery rhyme stuff, maybe it's sung by some strange folk.
Though I think the Dubliners had it in their repertoire once upon a time.

yip, wolfe tones recorded it about 5 years ago too
Post by: deiseach on November 28, 2014, 08:41:42 AM

Is there any republican song you would think was capable of giving offence to a reasonable person?
Post by: seafoid on November 28, 2014, 09:26:18 AM
Oh my name is John Delaney 
From Waherford I came
The  media  I never want to see again
For as a teddy bear 
I spent many happy days
And I loved that PR in oh so many ways
For it's there I spent my adult childhood
And found for me a partner 
I then set out to make for her an image
Oh but all my middle aged ambition
Met with bitterness and hate
I soon found myself inside a twitter storm 

And you dare to call me a hypocrite 
While you look down your Daily Mail
When I think of all the shite  that you have written-
You have plundered many headlines
Divided many decent football supporters 
You have infantilised their people
You rule with a big stick
And you brought this reign of terror to my job

Then one cold November's morning
I was trapped in the lion's den
And I found myself in the headlines once again
I was committed to the newspapers
For fourteen articles or more
With blanket condemnation the criticisms they were poor
Then an apology fightback  we did commence
For the dignity of man
But it seemed to me that no one gave a damn
Oh but now I am a saddened man
I've watched my reputation  die
If only people cared or wondered why

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 28, 2014, 10:03:22 AM
Post by: balladmaker on November 28, 2014, 10:33:52 AM
Quoteyip, wolfe tones recorded it about 5 years ago too

Their version had a touch of satire to it though and not the official version  :)
Post by: Applesisapples on November 28, 2014, 10:36:20 AM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on November 27, 2014, 06:23:05 PM

So a song glorifying the actions of a member of an organisation which carried out the massacre of 10 Protestant civilians at Kingsmill isn't sectarian, while a song about an Orange sash is? You're some boy!
Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Post by: seafoid on November 28, 2014, 08:33:14 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on November 28, 2014, 10:33:52 AM
Quoteyip, wolfe tones recorded it about 5 years ago too

Their version had a touch of satire to it though and not the official version  :)
Who wrote the song? Was it not one of the Wolfe Tones ?
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 28, 2014, 08:51:19 PM
Great song about a great man and a patriot unfortunately in this case sung by an overpaid clown.
Post by: theticklemister on November 28, 2014, 09:38:30 PM
Brian Warfield wrote this song, he is from wolfe tones.

Anyone in Birmingham tonight we are live in irish centre. Mon up day buck. John Delaney is in .
Post by: Mike Sheehy on November 29, 2014, 01:56:46 AM
Quote from: seafoid on November 28, 2014, 09:26:18 AM
Oh my name is John Delaney 
From Waherford I came
The  media  I never want to see again
For as a teddy bear 
I spent many happy days
And I loved that PR in oh so many ways
For it's there I spent my adult childhood
And found for me a partner 
I then set out to make for her an image
Oh but all my middle aged ambition
Met with bitterness and hate
I soon found myself inside a twitter storm 

And you dare to call me a hypocrite 
While you look down your Daily Mail
When I think of all the shite  that you have written-
You have plundered many headlines
Divided many decent football supporters 
You have infantilised their people
You rule with a big stick
And you brought this reign of terror to my job

Then one cold November's morning
I was trapped in the lion's den
And I found myself in the headlines once again
I was committed to the newspapers
For fourteen articles or more
With blanket condemnation the criticisms they were poor
Then an apology fightback  we did commence
For the dignity of man
But it seemed to me that no one gave a damn
Oh but now I am a saddened man
I've watched my reputation  die
If only people cared or wondered why

Jesus, that is embarrassing.

You are really deluded about your own talents. You are completely shit.
Post by: Myles Na G. on November 30, 2014, 04:34:07 PM
Good to see that some media outlets are applying a bit of pressure on Delaney. With a bit of luck the bolix will have to go.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/viewpoints/columnists/michael-clifford/why-delaney-brings-tears-to-my-eyes-300136.html
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2014/1129/663581-john-delaney-richard-sadlier/
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/john-delaneys-team-denied-fai-boss-appeared-in-video-30785134.html
Post by: Main Street on November 30, 2014, 05:53:35 PM
Probably only the idiotic, lunatic right wing, think that Delaney with a bit a luck will have to go because he sang and later tried to deny he sung, a song about Joe McDonnell, and in doing so  almost offended everybody.
What matters more to the FAI is Delaney's value and competence as a CEO and they appear to be quite content with him. Even the much derided FAI wouldn't feel pressurised into making such a stupid decision based on that cause.

Post by: Myles Na G. on November 30, 2014, 06:44:58 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 30, 2014, 05:53:35 PM
Probably only the idiotic, lunatic right wing, think that Delaney with a bit a luck will have to go because he sang and later tried to deny he sung, a song about Joe McDonnell, and in doing so  almost offended everybody.
What matters more to the FAI is Delaney's value and competence as a CEO and they appear to be quite content with him. Even the much derided FAI wouldn't feel pressurised into making such a stupid decision based on that cause.
I think you've got that completely the wrong way round: only the idiotic, lunatic, right wing think that Delaney has done nothing wrong. The man's an arse.
Post by: balladmaker on December 01, 2014, 10:51:19 AM
QuoteWho wrote the song? Was it not one of the Wolfe Tones ?

Don't know who wrote the sash but Brian Warfield wrote 'Joe McDonnell'
Post by: Main Street on December 01, 2014, 08:13:10 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on November 30, 2014, 06:44:58 PM
I think you've got that completely the wrong way round: only the idiotic, lunatic, right wing think that Delaney has done nothing wrong. The man's an arse.
On the contrary, the complete opposite of what I said would be
'only the idiotic, lunatic right wing, think that Delaney with a bit a luck will not have to go because he sang  a song .....'.

And of course, the self righteous folk like your good self  would think I have got it completely wrong and then make a bollix of explaining why.

You are the one who expressed the hope that he should be forced to go because of the singing of this song.
You linked to 3 articles, one of which was just humorously sarcastic and the other 2 focussing not on the song but Delaney's attempt at a cover up.
None of the articles lend any weight to your professed hope. To cling to such a hope  would support the claim that you are a fanatic, ("an obsessive interest and enthusiasm for something")

Your subjective opinion about Delaney, that he was wrong to sing the song  and "with a bit of luck the bolix will have to go" is not supported by journalists, football folk or the population in general, apart from those people who hate any connection to republicanism.
The people who hate republicanism in that way are generally ultra right wing along with some extremist in Fine Gael perhaps.
Perhaps they want republicanism outlawed  and every book and song burned, literally speaking.
LOI fans have their opinions and reasons why Delaney should go,  then there are the Irish national team fans who have their reasons why Delaney should go, but singing this song would be bottom of their list of wrong doings, if indeed it is perceived as a wrong doing.
You have only been concerned here about Delaney singing this song  and that is your only professed gripe with Delaney.
Post by: Myles Na G. on December 01, 2014, 09:52:00 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 01, 2014, 08:13:10 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on November 30, 2014, 06:44:58 PM

On the contrary, the complete opposite of what I said would be
'only the idiotic, lunatic right wing, think that Delaney with a bit a luck will not have to go because he sang  a song .....'.

And of course, the self righteous folk like your good self  would think I have got it completely wrong and then make a bollix of explaining why.

You are the one who expressed the hope that he should be forced to go because of the singing of this song.
You linked to 3 articles, one of which was just humorously sarcastic and the other 2 focussing not on the song but Delaney's attempt at a cover up.
None of the articles lend any weight to your professed hope. To cling to such a hope  would support the claim that you are a fanatic, ("an obsessive interest and enthusiasm for something")

Your subjective opinion about Delaney, that he was wrong to sing the song  and "with a bit of luck the bolix will have to go" is not supported by journalists, football folk or the population in general, apart from those people who hate any connection to republicanism.
The people who hate republicanism in that way are generally ultra right wing along with some extremist in Fine Gael perhaps.
Perhaps they want republicanism outlawed  and every book and song burned, literally speaking.
LOI fans have their opinions and reasons why Delaney should go,  then there are the Irish national team fans who have their reasons why Delaney should go, but singing this song would be bottom of their list of wrong doings, if indeed it is perceived as a wrong doing.
You have only been concerned here about Delaney singing this song  and that is your only professed gripe with Delaney.
Delaney's alcohol fuelled antics, of which this is just the latest, make him an inappropriate person to be CEO of a national sporting organisation, unless you're happy for someone like him, with a public profile, to perpetuate the caricature of the feckless, drunken Mick. Personally, I'm not.  I don't know much about his administrative abilities, but those articles and comments on various forums suggest that he's an overpaid fcuk up, quite happy to blame others for his own shortcomings. The latest incident carries the aggravating features of the cover up, where it appears that he's tried to lie his way out of trouble, and the offensive nature of the song itself. You use the word 'fanatic' to describe me, a poster on a message board, yet argue in defence of a song about men who murdered others - including police and prison officers of the state that provides funding to the FAI - and starved themselves to death in pursuit of an outdated political ideology. You might want to think about that a wee bit. As for being ultra right wing: if you look about the world you'll see that there is very little difference when it comes to people at either end of that political spectrum. Left wing or right wing, they all support the killing, imprisonment and 'disappearing' of those who oppose them. Serious stuff, but obviously not as serious as ultra right wing, fanatical message board posters.  ;)
Post by: T Fearon on December 01, 2014, 10:52:17 PM
Could he not have pretended he was singing about ex St Pat's Athletic Manager Johnny Mc Donnell?
Post by: charlieTully on December 01, 2014, 11:36:02 PM
Myles did you go to the ulster club finals yesterday. Two cracking games. A brilliant advert for our games?
Post by: Myles Na G. on December 02, 2014, 06:53:36 AM
Quote from: charlieTully on December 01, 2014, 11:36:02 PM
Myles did you go to the ulster club finals yesterday. Two cracking games. A brilliant advert for our games?
Missed those, but glad to hear they were good matches. Did you get to any of the Autumn Internationals? I was at the South Africa game, but I think the Australia one was the better match. Cracking advert for our game.  ;)
Post by: charlieTully on December 02, 2014, 04:08:34 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on December 02, 2014, 06:53:36 AM
Missed those, but glad to hear they were good matches. Did you get to any of the Autumn Internationals? I was at the South Africa game, but I think the Australia one was the better match. Cracking advert for our game.  ;)

why are you on this board when you never have anything to post about the GAA?
Post by: Myles Na G. on December 02, 2014, 05:57:39 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on December 02, 2014, 04:08:34 PM

If you don't want posters who have nothing to say about the GAA, don't have a 'non GAA Discussion' section. It draws us in, like moths to a flame.  :)
Post by: charlieTully on December 02, 2014, 08:05:32 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on December 02, 2014, 05:57:39 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on December 02, 2014, 04:08:34 PM

If you don't want posters who have nothing to say about the GAA, don't have a 'non GAA Discussion' section. It draws us in, like moths to a flame.  :)

sure its all a bit of craic.
Post by: Evil Genius on December 03, 2014, 05:01:58 PM
Afternoon all.

Flying visit, neither time nor inclination to get into the whole Delaney business (part of me is glad that the FAI have that snake in charge, since he'll ride them rock solid til they've nothing left).

But I cannot let that slur on Bingham go unanswered. For unlike every single person whom I've heard repeat it, I was at the game in question. And if various 'Party Tunes' were sung by a section of the crowd at times during the game, on the one occasion when Bingham had cause to walk down the touchline, the crowd were singing "One Team in Ireland", to their own and Billy's* great joy (NI were 1-0 up at the time, with the clock running down). And it was at this point he waved his hand round in a curious motion, part acknowledgement, part "conducting".

Of course, some will claim that someone like me would make such a claim to defend his man, in which case, I would ask why such a "bigot" would choose a Derry Catholic like Martin O'Neill as his Captain? And why would such a strong-willed person as O'Neill accept?

Further, why would a "bigot" choose a Falls Road Catholic (Gerry Armstrong) to be his Best Man at his second wedding?

(http://cdn4.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/migration_catalog/article25643932.ece/47744/ALTERNATES/h342/pat-jennings)
"Feel the Hatred"

And while we're on the subject, someone mentioned Jim Boyce earlier, in an unflattering light. Now Jim may be a lot of things (tell me about it!), but he hasn't a sectarian bone in his body. As evidence of that is the fact he is a former President of Cliftonville FC (and continuing supporter) and also a keen follower of Cricket, including the (All-) Ireland team.
He did call Delaney out for being "stupid" - in his FIFA capacity, mind, not his IFA one - but then later generously accepted his apology (note my bold):

Jim Boyce: John Delaney made a big mistake but his apology should be accepted

FIFA Vice President Jim Boyce has claimed John Delaney made a big mistake by singing republican ballad Joe McDonnell in a Dublin pub following Ireland's friendly win over the USA.

Boyce, a long time friend of Delaney's, earlier this week slammed the CEO of the FAI for his "stupid" actions.

And speaking on RTE 1 radio today, the Northern Irishman reaffirmed his beliefs and said that Delaney made a big mistake, but that an apology should suffice.

"I know John Delaney a long time," said Boyce on RTE radio today.

"We've shared dinners together, we've shared many a good evening together. I'm sure today he regrets very much what he did."

Boyce himself was injured in a bomb attack during the troubles and has always spoken out against sectarianism.

"I was injured in a very bad bomb explosion on my second wedding anniversary. 

"I have always consistently condemned any form of bigotry or sectarianism. It didn't change me as a person because I have no time for it.

"No matter what side it comes from, I would say the same if this had come from the loyalist side, I have no time glorifying people who murdered many innocent people."

Delaney apologised for his actions and Boyce says that he will regret his actions and must be more careful in the future.

"We all make mistakes. I think John has made a big mistake in this particular instance," Added Boyce.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/other-soccer/jim-boyce-john-delaney-made-a-big-mistake-but-his-apology-should-be-accepted-30777211.html

P.S. If JD's counterpart at the IFA were caught eg singing a UVF ballad, or even The Sash, in a pub round the corner from Windsor on the evening after an NI game, I would expect him to have cleared his desk within 24 hours. And if he didn't, I and many other NI fans would be demanding it (not that it would ever happen, I'm certain)

* - This was his last game in charge and he wanted badly to go out on a win.
Post by: Denn Forever on December 03, 2014, 05:07:05 PM
Welcome back EG.
Post by: theticklemister on December 03, 2014, 05:33:22 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 03, 2014, 05:07:05 PM
Welcome back EG.

I knew the rumours of him getting lifted for the fleg protest was a big pile of shit.

Anyway I see ye still using the old brackets.

Dunno know Bingham and Boyce so wouldn't have a clue.
Post by: Rossfan on December 03, 2014, 05:34:08 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on December 03, 2014, 05:01:58 PM
, I have no time glorifying people who murdered many innocent people."[/B]

I hope he doesn't go to any of them poppy ceremonies so. ;)

I too hope Delaney stays in charge of the Fools.Amadáns and Idiots too as it means there's no need for the GAA to be worried about any danger of soccer taking over in the 26Cos  ;D
Post by: muppet on December 03, 2014, 06:55:06 PM
Afternoon all.

But I cannot let that slur on Bingham go unanswered. For unlike every single person whom I've heard repeat it, I was at the game in question. And if various 'Party Tunes' were sung by a section of the crowd at times during the game, on the one occasion when Bingham had cause to walk down the touchline, the crowd were singing "One Team in Ireland", to their own and Billy's* great joy (NI were 1-0 up at the time, with the clock running down). And it was at this point he waved his hand round in a curious motion, part acknowledgement, part "conducting".

He has never specifically denied it. What Bingham said was that he claimed at the time that his only intention was to get the crowd behind the team, not to provoke sectarian hatred. This was on the back of calling the Irish team a 'bunch of mercenaries' before the game. Charlton refused to shake hands with him after the game.

And as for your eyewitness report, these short clips, which only include a few minutes, shows he conducted the crowd at least twice.

Once at 4:35 here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mEE7yx-SmWE&spfreload=10 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mEE7yx-SmWE&spfreload=10)
And then here, before the match: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xI1KuKKY7JU&spfreload=10 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xI1KuKKY7JU&spfreload=10)

And I am not saying the man behaved like that every day of his life. Merely that night. I had long admired Bingham, until that night.

Post by: Evil Genius on December 03, 2014, 07:44:38 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 03, 2014, 06:55:06 PM
He has never specifically denied it..
He has never denied introducing potato blight to Ireland, or shooting Michael Collins, either.

When was he specifically accused of it, and what was his response?

What Bingham said was that he claimed at the time that his only intention was to get the crowd behind the team, not to provoke sectarian hatred.
The crowd were singing "One Team in Ireland" and he, enjoying the joke, encouraged them on. That was it, that was what happened - I know, because I was there singing it, too.

This was on the back of calling the Irish team a 'bunch of mercenaries' before the game. Charlton refused to shake hands with him after the game.
There was tension leading up to the game, but it takes two to cause a row. Charlton had already said some inflammatory things eg about security and was refusing to comply with FIFA directions to the team for the game (FIFA had to instruct him).

You know, nice easy-going Jack Charlton, the man who never raised his voice to anyone...  ::)

P.S. Subsequent to the game, when the heat had died down, JC freely acknowledged that he had no problem with BB, that it was all a storm in a teacup.

And as for your eyewitness report, these short clips, which only include a few minutes, shows he conducted the crowd at least twice.

Once at 4:35 here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mEE7yx-SmWE&spfreload=10 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mEE7yx-SmWE&spfreload=10)
And then here, before the match: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xI1KuKKY7JU&spfreload=10 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xI1KuKKY7JU&spfreload=10)

And I am not saying the man behaved like that every day of his life. Merely that night. I had long admired Bingham, until that night.
Those two clips prove absolutely nothing.

In one, he was walking to the dugout before KO, the crowd were chanting his name and he was acknowledging them.

And in the other, he made a brief gesture.

In neither clip can the Billy Boys be heard anywhere - though "Northern Ireland" clearly can.

Ah right. With absolutely no evidence at all, but eye-witness accounts to the contrary, he suddenly acted completely out-of-character, because you - who wasn't there and have NO evidence - say so.

Meanwhile, it was nowhere reported in any newspapers, no video exists, no player (either side) ever mentioned it in press interviews, or Autobiographies since.

But you say it happened, so that's good enough.

Quite frankly, when you insist on making such a preposterous claim, it is YOU who is the Bigot, not Bingham.

On which point I have nothing more to add,so you can carry on being a k u n t if you like without me.

Post by: muppet on December 03, 2014, 08:21:44 PM
QuoteAnd if various 'Party Tunes' were sung by a section of the crowd at times during the game, on the one occasion when Bingham had cause to walk down the touchline, the crowd were singing "One Team in Ireland", to their own and Billy's* great joy (NI were 1-0 up at the time, with the clock running down). And it was at this point he waved his hand round in a curious motion, part acknowledgement, part "conducting".

What a bizarre straw man argument. No one has ever accused him of introducing potato blight or shooting Michael Collins. Unless you are about to.

You said 'the one occasion'. And I have proved there were at least two occasions that he 'conducted'. If I bothered to dig further I could probably find more. 

You are not much of an eyewitness. And let's face it, were you watching Bingham or the game?

And while I wasn't at that game, I was at a game with Spain a few years earlier. I know what they used to sing in Windsor Park.
Post by: rrhf on December 04, 2014, 04:27:25 PM
such a load of crap.  If John Delaney was to do the right thing he wouldnt sing any more in pubs, if Billy Bingham was to do the right thing he wouldnt wave his hand in a curious manner any more.  (By the way sounds a little like a Queens Wave :))
Now move on.. new chapter for the book.
Delaney - Football, Floppy and full.... the best of the Irish Jobs for life..

Post by: foxcommander on December 04, 2014, 05:07:58 PM
Quote from: rrhf on December 04, 2014, 04:27:25 PM
such a load of crap.  If John Delaney was to do the right thing he wouldnt sing any more in pubs, if Billy Bingham was to do the right thing he wouldnt wave his hand in a curious manner any more.  (By the way sounds a little like a Queens Wave :))

Delaney's autobiography is going to be a bestseller. Can't wait.

Post by: muppet on December 04, 2014, 05:13:56 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on December 04, 2014, 05:07:58 PM

Suggestions for a title...........

Roy, sod on me & the lash.
Post by: foxcommander on December 04, 2014, 05:33:35 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 04, 2014, 05:13:56 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on December 04, 2014, 05:07:58 PM

Suggestions for a title...........

Roy, sod on me & the lash.

Getting Paid and Getting Laid: A Charmed Existence by John Delaney.
Foreword by Sepp Blatter.
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 04, 2014, 06:48:57 PM
Afternoon all.

Flying visit, neither time nor inclination to get into the whole Delaney business (part of me is glad that the FAI have that snake in charge, since he'll ride them rock solid til they've nothing left).

Of course, some will claim that someone like me would make such a claim to defend his man, in which case, I would ask why such a "bigot" would choose a Derry Catholic like Martin O'Neill as his Captain? And why would such a strong-willed person as O'Neill accept?

Further, why would a "bigot" choose a Falls Road Catholic (Gerry Armstrong) to be his Best Man at his second wedding?

(http://cdn4.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/migration_catalog/article25643932.ece/47744/ALTERNATES/h342/pat-jennings)
"Feel the Hatred"

And while we're on the subject, someone mentioned Jim Boyce earlier, in an unflattering light. Now Jim may be a lot of things (tell me about it!), but he hasn't a sectarian bone in his body. As evidence of that is the fact he is a former President of Cliftonville FC (and continuing supporter) and also a keen follower of Cricket, including the (All-) Ireland team.
He did call Delaney out for being "stupid" - in his FIFA capacity, mind, not his IFA one - but then later generously accepted his apology (note my bold):

Jim Boyce: John Delaney made a big mistake but his apology should be accepted

FIFA Vice President Jim Boyce has claimed John Delaney made a big mistake by singing republican ballad Joe McDonnell in a Dublin pub following Ireland's friendly win over the USA.

Boyce, a long time friend of Delaney's, earlier this week slammed the CEO of the FAI for his "stupid" actions.

And speaking on RTE 1 radio today, the Northern Irishman reaffirmed his beliefs and said that Delaney made a big mistake, but that an apology should suffice.

"I know John Delaney a long time," said Boyce on RTE radio today.

"We've shared dinners together, we've shared many a good evening together. I'm sure today he regrets very much what he did."

Boyce himself was injured in a bomb attack during the troubles and has always spoken out against sectarianism.

"I was injured in a very bad bomb explosion on my second wedding anniversary. 

"I have always consistently condemned any form of bigotry or sectarianism. It didn't change me as a person because I have no time for it.

"No matter what side it comes from, I would say the same if this had come from the loyalist side, I have no time glorifying people who murdered many innocent people."

Delaney apologised for his actions and Boyce says that he will regret his actions and must be more careful in the future.

"We all make mistakes. I think John has made a big mistake in this particular instance," Added Boyce.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/other-soccer/jim-boyce-john-delaney-made-a-big-mistake-but-his-apology-should-be-accepted-30777211.html

P.S. If JD's counterpart at the IFA were caught eg singing a UVF ballad, or even The Sash, in a pub round the corner from Windsor on the evening after an NI game, I would expect him to have cleared his desk within 24 hours. And if he didn't, I and many other NI fans would be demanding it (not that it would ever happen, I'm certain)

* - This was his last game in charge and he wanted badly to go out on a win.

Ah, stuff John Delaney. The less I hear of him, the more I like it. ;D
Welcome back!
Post by: balladmaker on December 07, 2014, 11:07:41 PM
Goes to show that good can come from any situation ... proceeds from single to Simon Community ...

(https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/1377460_10154888758985176_7842808023180513358_n.png?oh=9d1085c306f1f1f14648750712a75c28&oe=5500D879)