GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: stpauls on October 07, 2014, 05:15:36 PM

Title: Aaron Kernan Retires From County Duty
Post by: stpauls on October 07, 2014, 05:15:36 PM
http://gaeliclife.com/2014/10/aaron-kernan-retires-from-county-duty/ (http://gaeliclife.com/2014/10/aaron-kernan-retires-from-county-duty/)

first retirement from the Armagh squad, hopefully won't have anymore!!
Title: Re: Aaron Kernan Retires From County Duty
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on October 07, 2014, 06:01:27 PM
Gutted
Post by: Throw ball on October 07, 2014, 06:13:18 PM
As good a footballing half back you are likely to see. Big, big miss for Armagh. Good luck to him.
Post by: Agent Orange on October 07, 2014, 06:31:22 PM
Big loss indeed, has plenty left to give but if his head or heart isn't in it then maybe it's the right decision.
Post by: Conallach on October 07, 2014, 07:43:40 PM
A very fine footballer, who'll be missed by his county, though I'm sure he'll get another chance to grace the national stage at some point with his club.
Post by: BennyCake on October 07, 2014, 08:04:17 PM
Ah bollix!
Post by: rodney trotter on October 07, 2014, 08:12:48 PM
Bit surprising with the resurgence by Armagh in the championship this year. Vey good player.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 07, 2014, 09:44:43 PM
Great player and a great man. Sorry to see it, but as mentioned plenty still to give in the Cross jersey
Post by: LCohen on October 07, 2014, 09:57:15 PM
probably not the last of the retirements. That U21 team have put a lot into their playing careers and are now starting families. The McGeeney regime will put a lot of demands on playes and it won't be easy to marry that with family demands. What price Finn Moriarty or Brian Mallon slogging their guts out for another year for a few mins of gamee time here and there?

Anyway a player with Aaron's swagger might get a lot more joy playing in John McEnteer's Crossmaglen side rather than the straight jacket of county football
Post by: rrhf on October 07, 2014, 10:06:33 PM
Huge loss for Armagh
Post by: 5 Sams on October 07, 2014, 10:08:47 PM
Fine fine player...thought he would have given it another year. First thing I thought was is Geezer asking too much???
Post by: ONeill on October 07, 2014, 10:13:24 PM
Ran like a peacock but the most consistent performer over the last 10 years for the appleonians.

Always seemed to do the right thing when under pressure. A fine player.
Post by: StGallsGAA on October 07, 2014, 10:16:45 PM
Undoubtedly his county career was a let-down given his club success!
Post by: J70 on October 07, 2014, 10:49:04 PM
Surprised at this. I would have thought Armagh have eyes on a serious go at an Ulster title next year.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2014, 11:34:22 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on October 07, 2014, 10:16:45 PM
Undoubtedly his county career was a let-down given his club success!

I really shouldn't but

Armagh
4 Ulster Senior Football Championships (2004, 2005, 2006, 2008)
1 National Football League Division 1 (2005)
1 National Football League Division 2 (2010)
1 Ulster Under-21 Football Championship (2004)
1 All-Ireland Under-21 Football Championship (2004)

Not a bad return on a let down of a county career. Coupled with 21 club medals across county, provincial and AI (and hopefully more to come ) it's not and tally. 

Big blow to Armagh great news for us!!!

Post by: orangeman on October 07, 2014, 11:59:36 PM
An exceptional talent. Sweet left foot. Good luck to him.
Post by: tonto1888 on October 08, 2014, 08:24:12 AM
Very surprised and disappointed at this news
Post by: Mikhailov on October 08, 2014, 08:49:49 AM
An exceptional player who could have played anywhere on the pitch - one of the best half back in Ireland this last 5 years. Imagine him playing on current Dublin team - he would cause some bother breaking forward at will.

Super left foot and always looked very comfortable on the ball despite the situation.

Slightly surprised as he struck me as the type of player who would love the almost professional regime of Geezer but maybe there are other motives for this...time will tell.

will be sorely missed by the orchard men but welcomed by Cross big time. Poor half forwards in Armagh league football are in for a torrid time now chasing after AK for 60 minutes :)
Post by: screenexile on October 08, 2014, 09:20:58 AM
Great player he'll be a huge loss to Armagh.

The man is football mad, still in great shape and Armagh to the core... something doesn't seem right about this!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 08, 2014, 09:30:58 AM
Lads, yiz are alright, Cool FM says its Stephen that's retiring  :)
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on October 08, 2014, 09:51:07 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 08, 2014, 09:30:58 AM

And Downtown reckons it's Tommy Kernan retiring.
Post by: orangeman on October 08, 2014, 09:54:42 AM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on October 08, 2014, 09:51:07 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 08, 2014, 09:30:58 AM

And Downtown reckons it's Tommy Kernan retiring.

Tommy Tiernan ? That's a joke.
Post by: rosnarun on October 08, 2014, 12:06:54 PM
was he less committed or injured in the last year or so  he seemed to see far more of the bench than id expect from Armaghs best player?
Post by: rodney trotter on October 08, 2014, 12:16:37 PM
Think he missed the whole league through injury, might have been why he wasn't getting his place in a few of the championship games.
Made a big impact when he came on against Cavam
Post by: blanketattack on October 08, 2014, 12:28:51 PM
I'm surprised he thanked the Armagh supporters - didnt he get a tough time off the supporters previously?
Post by: ardchieftain on October 08, 2014, 02:26:38 PM
Aaron has a young family and work commitments[runs his own business], so the conspiracy theorists can give it a rest now..I am really gutted at this news though, he will be a huge loss to the County. All the best to him and many thanks for the memories.
Post by: Feckitt on October 08, 2014, 02:44:49 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on October 08, 2014, 12:28:51 PM
I'm surprised he thanked the Armagh supporters - didnt he get a tough time off the supporters previously?

Aaron never got a tough time from supporters even when he was the managers son.  Earlier this week he was mentioned a couple of time on the 'Best Debut Season' thread.  So it was obvious to everyone from day 1 that he was getting picked on merit.

His brother Stephen, who was and still is a brilliant footballer, was very inconsistent with the county.  He got a mixed reception from the Armagh support. 
Post by: stpauls on October 09, 2014, 01:59:53 PM
looks like we have another retirement!! this is not looking too good for the start of Geezer's reign!!

http://gaeliclife.com/2014/10/mallon-calls-time-on-armagh-career/ (http://gaeliclife.com/2014/10/mallon-calls-time-on-armagh-career/)
Post by: shawshank on October 09, 2014, 02:12:43 PM
V interesting or just strange shit happens. Perhaps he has met these men and spelt out what he expects and this is the diplomatic way of being unable to commit to the demands. Or as I say shit happens, no grand explanation other than they know their hunger levels best.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 09, 2014, 02:54:46 PM
Statement on Tír na nÓg's Facebook page:

Brian Mallon has confirmed his retirement from inter county football.
The club would like to place on record their thanks and appreciation for the time, effort and commitment he has shown as a senior county representative over the past ten years.
Brian was part of the Under 21 team who basked in All Ireland glory in 2004 and from there went on to represent the county for ten years, during which time Brian has been an outstanding servant to both county and club.
As a club we have always been extremely proud to have Brian represent us at county level and would like to thank Brian for the memories. Brian is not only a superb footballer and athlete, but a gentleman on and off the field. Brian is a great role model for our younger footballers and is a great example of dignity and respect.
Thanks again for the memories Brian; we look forward to seeing more memories along the way as you focus on family life and club football.
Go raibh maith agat a chara
Post by: stew on October 09, 2014, 07:18:31 PM
Saddened by the news and I wish them both all the best.

Opportunity for new blood to get a run, we will be fine.
Post by: JP on October 09, 2014, 07:26:12 PM
Concerned about the loss of their experience,however still feeling optimistic for next year. Plenty of cover in their positions.
Title: Imithe
Post by: drici on December 13, 2014, 07:54:22 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B4v8cfpIIAEV0qU.jpg:large)
Post by: orangeman on December 14, 2014, 02:04:42 AM
Given that the county teams make most of the money for the GAA I can't see them stepping in to curtail this 5/6 nights a week stuff that is ongoing in most counties at the minute. But how long will men stick with this sort of stuff ?. The amateur ethos is severely under pressure.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 14, 2014, 07:22:00 AM
That training schedule... to quote Fr Ted are we going into space!? i can't feel my legs!
Post by: Gold on December 14, 2014, 11:05:02 AM
 That training schedule is a disgrace. How could anyone with a job do that? Madness
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 14, 2014, 11:13:54 AM
I stated 3-4 weeks ago that this was happening on another thread and I was told it wasn't happening. Nonsense isn't the word for it and it is taking an amateur sport to a complete ridiculous level.
Post by: supersub on December 14, 2014, 11:44:43 AM
It isn't usually until after a team wins the Provincial/All Ireland that you hear of these early morning sacrifices etc. The fact it is being publicised in the likes of the IN so soon isn't something I'm sure the management are too happy with.
Post by: Zulu on December 14, 2014, 12:14:11 PM
Why is it ridiculous to train like that? Amateur swimmers train around 5.30 in the morning, triathletes, marathon runners, some combat sport athletes etc. train 5-8 times a week while holding down jobs. I used to train mornings and evenings and never found it difficult. It isn't a burden for lads who are trying to be the best they can and I'm sure these extra sessions are just for pre-season and will be reduced after 2 months or so. I'm sure the morning sessions are gym ones done by the players themselves in local gyms and the evening seeing are group conditioning sessions.
Post by: imtommygunn on December 14, 2014, 12:38:00 PM
How close to home were you training though? Travel big factor too i imagine.
Post by: rrhf on December 14, 2014, 12:40:13 PM
Would most decent hardworking men not be in work at that time.  Free loading county players getting it handy putting their hobby before profit.

Post by: Zulu on December 14, 2014, 12:53:47 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 14, 2014, 12:38:00 PM

Absolutely, travel is the key factor but I'm presuming the morning gym sessions are done by players at their local gym. The evening sessions would involve travelling for many players but would it be excessive in a county the size of Armagh? I'd also imagine Sigerson players may not have to attend all sessions as they wouldn't need them. I would be very surprised if there wasn't a degree of flexibility involved in the programme.
Post by: LCohen on December 14, 2014, 02:49:08 PM
Quote from: Zulu on December 14, 2014, 12:53:47 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 14, 2014, 12:38:00 PM

Absolutely, travel is the key factor but I'm presuming the morning gym sessions are done by players at their local gym. The evening sessions would involve travelling for many players but would it be excessive in a county the size of Armagh? I'd also imagine Sigerson players may not have to attend all sessions as they wouldn't need them. I would be very surprised if there wasn't a degree of flexibility involved in the programme.

Nah. Armagh have a new super-duper gym facility in Armagh. Apparently you have to use it. A hell of a trek from somewhere like cross or if you were working/studying in say Belfast.

If players of the quality of Carragher are dropping out I would be worried. Geezer is taking the gamble that the players super-fit players who are prepared to live this life who ultimately form a better quality proposition than just taking the best players in the county and training them along conventional lines and maybe losing that final 2-3% of fitness.

The worry for Armagh is not only the players that these lads could be in 2015 but the players they go on to be in the 5 year mega-term that Geezer has been given
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 14, 2014, 04:22:52 PM
McGeeney had a similarly demanding training regime in Kildare. It produced an upturn in fortunes for a number of years but it is very hard to sustain that progress for too long. Players are not machines and it takes its toll after a few years.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2014, 04:29:45 PM
Cracking stylish player and seemed to be the type of person who looked after himself properly both on the pitch and off it, massive loss for Armagh and massive boost for Cross, watched him against us twice in the Ulster club games and by feck did he grab the game by the scruff when it was needed..... fecker
Post by: DuffleKing on December 14, 2014, 05:19:49 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 14, 2014, 11:13:54 AM
I stated 3-4 weeks ago that this was happening on another thread and I was told it wasn't happening. Nonsense isn't the word for it and it is taking an amateur sport to a complete ridiculous level.

It isn't. That report is flat out wrong. You should be able to check easy enough bc
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2014, 07:20:53 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 14, 2014, 07:14:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2014, 04:29:45 PM
Cracking stylish player and seemed to be the type of person who looked after himself properly both on the pitch and off it, massive loss for Armagh and massive boost for Cross, watched him against us twice in the Ulster club games and by feck did he grab the game by the scruff when it was needed..... fecker
You just getting around to Aaron Kernan's retirement now?

Didn't realise, did he retire last year?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 14, 2014, 07:23:58 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on December 14, 2014, 05:19:49 PM

It isn't. That report is flat out wrong. You should be able to check easy enough bc

I have and what I have been told is exactly what is reported.
Post by: DuffleKing on December 14, 2014, 08:42:47 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 14, 2014, 07:23:58 PM

Someone somewhere in the communication chain is confused so.  They are training 4 times a week, three of those in the evening and none in the morning. These stories are very odd.
Post by: LCohen on December 14, 2014, 08:47:46 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on December 14, 2014, 08:42:47 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 14, 2014, 07:23:58 PM

Someone somewhere in the communication chain is confused so.  They are training 4 times a week, three of those in the evening and none in the morning. These stories are very odd.

I saw 4 players in Lurgan at 6.45 in the morning and they were heading to training in Armagh. For your version of the regime to be true they must have been thumbing and pessismistic of their chances.
Post by: DuffleKing on December 14, 2014, 08:52:11 PM

Lol.

What day of the week?
Post by: LCohen on December 14, 2014, 08:55:49 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on December 14, 2014, 08:52:11 PM

Lol.

What day of the week?

Think it was a friday (can't be sure)

But as you say there is no truth that they are training any morning so they must have been thumbing or you are your supply chain of info is "confused"
Post by: DuffleKing on December 14, 2014, 09:04:38 PM

Had to check... They can pick their start time two days according to my chain (I doubt he's spoofing but it's possible). They're start time can be morning afternoon or evening depending on what suits them. The chain I know only goes evenings so I hadn't a breeze he could be going morning's instead
Post by: LCohen on December 14, 2014, 09:11:51 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on December 14, 2014, 09:04:38 PM

Had to check... They can pick their start time two days according to my chain (I doubt he's spoofing but it's possible). They're start time can be morning afternoon or evening depending on what suits them. The chain I know only goes evenings so I hadn't a breeze he could be going morning's instead

Yeah they said it was a drop in centre "whatever suits you" sort of arrangement the Geezer was running.

It seems its the people who posted that there are NO morning sessions that are the ones posting lies. Funny that was my suspicion from the off
Post by: DuffleKing on December 14, 2014, 09:18:40 PM

Hardly lies now - wasn't aware. Having the flexibility to do your gym session whenever it suits across the day seems a far cry from the picture painted in the Irish news that they've to be in Armagh three days a week at 6.30 in the morning followed by evening sessions.
Post by: yellowcard on December 14, 2014, 09:54:12 PM
Surprise surprise another bullshit Irish News story about Armagh. They are training 4 times a week and one pitch session at weekends. To listen to that Irish News article you would think they were robots training twice a day.
Post by: BennyHarp on December 14, 2014, 09:54:59 PM
So have I got this right? Armagh have 2 scheduled training sessions per week and the players are asked to go to the gym twice as well, at a time of their choosing - seems fairly reasonable to me.
Post by: rrhf on December 14, 2014, 10:24:53 PM
It's getting thick... this Armagh v the Irish news fallout. Mc keever wasn't even allowed to wear an armagh jersey at a recent mc Kenna cup launch.
Post by: rosnarun on December 15, 2014, 09:43:53 AM
one big difference is that the 'Elite' Atheles from triathalon and marathon running really are the elite and are very small in number would there be 10 elite marathing runners in the country? where are there are between men's and women's football Hurling and camogie probably 3000  Elite GAA players .
Thaey are not all going to be as dedicated as the handful of Triatheles and marathon runners we produce ,( and at the moment Fiona Brittion is probaly the only Truly elite runner we have anyway)
Post by: imtommygunn on December 15, 2014, 10:12:28 AM
Yeah but there are many non "elite" runners etc who train twice a day quite regularly.

Triathletes have to train for three disciplines so 2 sessions a day isn't enough.

The difference is though triathletes and athletes are quite individual and generally train when suits them.

GAA players don't get that. I guess it's team v individual thing.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 15, 2014, 10:56:20 AM
Quote from: Zulu on December 14, 2014, 12:14:11 PM
Why is it ridiculous to train like that? Amateur swimmers train around 5.30 in the morning, triathletes, marathon runners, some combat sport athletes etc. train 5-8 times a week while holding down jobs. I used to train mornings and evenings and never found it difficult. It isn't a burden for lads who are trying to be the best they can and I'm sure these extra sessions are just for pre-season and will be reduced after 2 months or so. I'm sure the morning sessions are gym ones done by the players themselves in local gyms and the evening seeing are group conditioning sessions.

It's fine if that is the only thing in your life. If you are literally training Morning and Evening, you have f**k all time for home, family or anything else, especially if you have a job in the middle. I think this is over the top, and it not sustainable for a healthy life balance. As somebody else said, individual training can be done whenever it suits you. Team sessions mean you have to suit the team. I can't see too many long careers in the GAA if this becomes the norm. Grand(ish) in college or until you meet your girlfriend. Making someone choose, so starkly, between GAA and family can't be right. I can only assume that the people who see this as fine are not in the situation of having a wife/kids and a job to deal with as well as committing to IC GAA.
Post by: The Trap on December 15, 2014, 11:36:14 AM
A lot of players do this because they get very healthy "expenses" and "benefits", just have a look at another thread on county team expenses............they do not be out of pocket, in fact the "expenses" they get help put them through college etc........i do not agree with the direction our games are taking and i hope that sense prevails soon
Post by: muppet on December 15, 2014, 12:23:56 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on December 15, 2014, 09:43:53 AM
one big difference is that the 'Elite' Atheles from triathalon and marathon running really are the elite and are very small in number would there be 10 elite marathing runners in the country? where are there are between men's and women's football Hurling and camogie probably 3000  Elite GAA players .
Thaey are not all going to be as dedicated as the handful of Triatheles and marathon runners we produce ,( and at the moment Fiona Brittion is probaly the only Truly elite runner we have anyway)

Never heard of her, but if she is better than Fionnuala Britton then she might have shot at some medals.
Post by: Bingo on December 15, 2014, 12:38:00 PM
I'd try not and compare what one sportsperson does and what another can do etc etc.

Each sport is different and has its own requirements. Each person is different and can tailor their own individual training needs to suit their own needs, recovery, lifestyle etc.

The question I'd ask is all this training making the game better? Have we more quality players now than before or a better spectacle on the pitch? I fail to see it personally.

Is it sustainable? I don't think so. Unless these players are getting complete individual attention in the Gym regards techniques for lifts, weights and whatever else they are doing.

Are they getting required recovery periods? Hardly.

Was recently reading the Dublin marathon training programme of the winner and its basically Train, eat, sleep, eat, train, eat, sleep. On a daily basis - its completely uncomparable to what other sports people do in the amateur level. That's at elite level. The sooner we take the "elite" label off amateur GAA players the better.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 15, 2014, 01:22:52 PM
Does 'elite' not simply mean the top level? If so then our county players are elite at GAA. They don't play anything else, so how can you judge 'elite' in one code versus another?
Post by: Zulu on December 15, 2014, 01:27:25 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 15, 2014, 10:56:20 AM
Quote from: Zulu on December 14, 2014, 12:14:11 PM

It's fine if that is the only thing in your life. If you are literally training Morning and Evening, you have f**k all time for home, family or anything else, especially if you have a job in the middle. I think this is over the top, and it not sustainable for a healthy life balance. As somebody else said, individual training can be done whenever it suits you. Team sessions mean you have to suit the team. I can't see too many long careers in the GAA if this becomes the norm. Grand(ish) in college or until you meet your girlfriend. Making someone choose, so starkly, between GAA and family can't be right. I can only assume that the people who see this as fine are not in the situation of having a wife/kids and a job to deal with as well as committing to IC GAA.

I trained 8-10 times a week for 4 or 5 years while holding down a job and having a social life. I wasn't training solely for football and outside of football training I set the programme so that made it easier on me but it can be done and many amateur sports people or fitness enthusiasts do this year in year out. IC players don't do 6 or 7 sessions a week all year round and I'm sure the Armagh boys will be reducing sessions as the year goes on. Could a married man with young kids and a busy work life do it? Probably not but most players aren't in that boat anyway.

By the way, I'm not saying it's right or wrong but I was surprised to see people claiming it was ridiculous when it's actually quite doable especially when it's only for 2-3 months.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 15, 2014, 01:30:42 PM
I don't think it's a sustainable approach full time, and I think it will lead to short careers as people realise they have to live their life off the pitch too.

If it's only a pre-season blitz or something, then maybe fair enough, but I suspect this is what McGeeney thinks is required.
Post by: Zulu on December 15, 2014, 01:36:45 PM
If they are doing this then it's definitely only a training block and sessions will be reduced. You wouldn't, for example, maintain 3 gym sessions during the competitive season. During the league it will probably be no more than 3 sessions a week.
Post by: DuffleKing on December 15, 2014, 01:40:00 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 15, 2014, 01:30:42 PM
I don't think it's a sustainable approach full time, and I think it will lead to short careers as people realise they have to live their life off the pitch too.

If it's only a pre-season blitz or something, then maybe fair enough, but I suspect this is what McGeeney thinks is required.

Hard to deny the power of propaganda... Armagh are doing four sessions per week - two of them in the gym. Hardly life amending. Down are doing five sessions a week
Post by: Bingo on December 15, 2014, 01:41:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 15, 2014, 01:22:52 PM
Does 'elite' not simply mean the top level? If so then our county players are elite at GAA. They don't play anything else, so how can you judge 'elite' in one code versus another?

A few of them play golf  ;)

Its more do with my comments on comparing one sport to another. I've heard people say (And Zulu doing it here) to be elite you need to do XYZ cause that's what other elite athletes do in other sports.

Its a term I don't like when the skills of the game are been bulldozed by fitness levels and weights. It seems to be elite you spend more time in the Gym than kicking a ball.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 15, 2014, 01:43:58 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on December 15, 2014, 01:40:00 PM

Hard to deny the power of propaganda... Armagh are doing four sessions per week - two of them in the gym. Hardly life amending. Down are doing five sessions a week

Are you saying BC1 and that Irish News article are wrong? If so, fair enough, then the discussion is academic.
Post by: Zulu on December 15, 2014, 01:50:28 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 15, 2014, 01:41:58 PM

Its more do with my comments on comparing one sport to another. I've heard people say (And Zulu doing it here) to be elite you need to do XYZ cause that's what other elite athletes do in other sports.

Its a term I don't like when the skills of the game are been bulldozed by fitness levels and weights. It seems to be elite you spend more time in the Gym than kicking a ball.

Just to clarify, I'm not making that point at all. When I referenced other sports like swimming and triathlons I was simply pointing out that amateurs in those sports do early morning sessions and possibly 6 or more sessions in a week. I was referring to purely amateur level athletes here and not talking about professional level athletes so I was making the point that other people hold down jobs and have families while doing a lot of training.
Post by: Bingo on December 15, 2014, 01:58:54 PM
Quote from: Zulu on December 15, 2014, 01:50:28 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 15, 2014, 01:41:58 PM

Just to clarify, I'm not making that point at all. When I referenced other sports like swimming and triathlons I was simply pointing out that amateurs in those sports do early morning sessions and possibly 6 or more sessions in a week. I was referring to purely amateur level athletes here and not talking about professional level athletes so I was making the point that other people hold down jobs and have families while doing a lot of training.

Yes, apologies. Your comparison of individuals V team sessions isn't right though and that's from someone who loves early morning sessions. I'd a 19mile run done one morning and was at work at 9am. Because it suited - I can fit everything round my schedule. Trying to meet and train with others is extremely difficult and mentally draining and also greatly affects the quality of your sessions. But I'm sure you know that yourself.
Post by: rosnarun on December 15, 2014, 02:03:52 PM

i would  consider an Elite athelete as some one who was in with a shot of a medal in their chosen sport . Maybe that would rule out all irish atheletes even Fiona Britton  is only ranked number 38 in the world.
The Question OF Drug taken must always be taken into accounts when people talk about these crazy training routines
Athlethics Cycling and Rugby  have shown that their Training schedules are not probably possible with out illegal help.
their sports have very little credibilty left. I would hope the GAA intend to lean very little off them.
Post by: DuffleKing on December 15, 2014, 02:52:36 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 15, 2014, 01:43:58 PM

Are you saying BC1 and that Irish News article are wrong? If so, fair enough, then the discussion is academic.

Yup,  it would appear so
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 15, 2014, 04:06:22 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on December 15, 2014, 02:52:36 PM

Yup,  it would appear so

Fine I will believe what I was told you believe what you were told. I have no agenda nor do the people I spoke to.
Post by: Syferus on December 15, 2014, 08:34:51 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 15, 2014, 04:06:22 PM

Yup,  it would appear so

Fine I will believe what I was told you believe what you were told. I have no agenda nor do the people I spoke to.

Geezer's training methods are hardly a big mystery. It's obviously going to be a huge workload.
Post by: mackers on December 16, 2014, 10:34:29 AM

Yup,  it would appear so
+1.
There are no early morning sessions.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 30, 2014, 09:41:44 PM
Injuries are high risk when training on frozen pitch like that.
Post by: orangeman on December 31, 2014, 01:28:32 AM
Where are the so called player welfare managers who were going to police this stuff ?.

The counties are making all the £ and county managers seem to be getting the kid glove treatment and no one is going to rock the boat especially pointing the finger of blame at your own county. The irish news reported one day that a certain county was holding 3 sessions a week @ 6.30am then a couple of days later retracted it and said there were no morning sessions at all in fact.

Laughable.
Post by: clarshack on December 31, 2014, 01:40:07 AM
Professional footballers don't even train at 6.30am. Someone needs to stand up to this craziness!
Post by: rrhf on December 31, 2014, 09:12:14 AM
I wonder what Aaron Kernan would make of all this going on, and in his name too...
Post by: ardtole on December 31, 2014, 11:49:36 AM
The westmeath u 21s were training yesterday morning with the senior team also, im working in that area at the moment and I know one of the lads on the u21 panel and he told me last night they didnt even get a cup of tea after the training session. It is complete madness, shows no respect for the players, the state of the roads alone around most of westmeath  at that time of the morning should have been good enough reason to postpone or delay the training session. 
Post by: orangeman on December 31, 2014, 11:51:38 AM
Quote from: clarshack on December 31, 2014, 01:40:07 AM
Professional footballers don't even train at 6.30am. Someone needs to stand up to this craziness!

Just to clarify. There are no 6.30am or early morning sessions being held anywhere. It doesn't happen. You've got the wrong information.
Post by: muppet on December 31, 2014, 07:19:06 PM

Indeed they are only 5 hours into their 20 hours of rest at that time.
Post by: seafoid on December 31, 2014, 08:44:51 PM
Professional rugby players could be concussed at 6.30 am.
Post by: supersub on January 01, 2015, 03:08:32 AM

No, because professional footballers are exactly that, professional. It is their 9-5 to train. Not a great analogy as you aren't comparing like for like.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 01, 2015, 03:08:49 PM
Quote from: supersub on January 01, 2015, 03:08:32 AM

No, because professional footballers are exactly that, professional. It is their 9-5 to train. Not a great analogy as you aren't comparing like for like.

You're joking!  Them professional sportsmen would not lace the boots of an intercounty gaa player or a Crossmaglen club player. I say we take to social media to defend our local heroes and for acknowledgement of how superior they are to other sports in terms of skill, commitment,  fitness and being a role model.
Post by: supersub on January 01, 2015, 07:24:26 PM
My reply was in relation to 'professional footballers' not 'even' training at 6.30an, no more no less. I am simply making the point that this is irrelevant as they do not need to train at that time because it is their JOB to train during the day, at more sociable hours.  Arguably the reason GAA teams do it is because they have to go to work I would have thought....  I am not getting into the GAA v professional sports people argument as it has so many flaws and isn't relevant to my initial point.
Post by: orangeman on January 09, 2015, 10:42:14 AM
I should be starting a thread on its own for this man. John Galvin has packed it in. He was a serious competitor.

If born in Kerry, the neighbours, he'd have had some medal haul.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 09, 2015, 11:35:47 AM
Quote from: orangeman on January 09, 2015, 10:42:14 AM
I should be starting a thread on its own for this man. John Galvin has packed it in. He was a serious competitor.

+1 Some player
Post by: twohands!!! on January 12, 2015, 10:23:49 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 09, 2015, 10:42:14 AM

I heard he was from a Kerryman- they said his family moved to Limerick from Lixnaw when he was only a young'un.

Can anyone confirm?

Beast of a player.