GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: AZOffaly on September 23, 2013, 02:55:25 PM

Title: Neighbourly love
Post by: AZOffaly on September 23, 2013, 02:55:25 PM
A comment on another thread made me think. Would you support your neighbours/greatest rivals in a game like an All Ireland, or would that be a step too far? In what circumstances would you shout for them?

I know there is a strong Ulster and Connacht tradition of wishing their 'representatives' well, but I get a sense that is diluting a little bit in Ulster's case as they've gotten more successful individually. It's never really been a Leinster thing, although I'd have always shouted for Kilkenny in hurling on the basis that I wanted everyone else to see what we had to deal with. In the football I'm not sure I've ever shouted for a Leinster team just because they are Leinster. I've leant towards Meath in a couple of big games because I admire their tradition and the fact that you used to be able to hit and get hit without a war crimes tribunal being called for.

So, in a Vox Pop, state your county, your rival neighbour(s) and if you would support them in an All Ireland against a county other than your own (or if there are special circumstances)

In a county like Offaly, we have several neighbours and depending on your location within the county you may or may not be that affected by the rivalry. I'm from the West, so our local Football rivals would be Westmeath. I'd never have even considered supporting them in the past, unless a relation was playing, but I think these days I've softened to them and I would wish them well at this stage.

In hurling Galway would be closest to ourselves, and I have no problem shouting for Galway unless they are playing someone with a painful history like Limerick or Waterford.

I know lads in Gracefield that will never shout for Laois, Edenderry for Kildare, Coolderry for Tipp, etc.  What about in yer neck of the woods?
Title: Re: Neighbourly love
Post by: ONeill on September 23, 2013, 02:58:35 PM
Would always want to see Fermanagh win. But if they started winning things, fcuk them.

Armagh and Derry - I'd rather run me balls along a lane of broken glass. Indifferent to Donegal although McGuinness put me off them a bit.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 23, 2013, 03:03:35 PM
Don't mind our neighbours doing well. I draw the line at Tipp though.

I'm not from any border areas though so rivalries can be a lot more bitter along the county divides.
Post by: muppet on September 23, 2013, 03:04:43 PM
County - Mayo.

Nearest rivals - Galway.

Would I support them outside Connacht - Yes.
Post by: J OGorman on September 23, 2013, 03:04:49 PM
Donegal - Yes
Antrim - Yes
Tyrone - absolutely NOT. Complete lunatics down there (when talking about or participating in football).

Any other Ulster county - Yes
Post by: Walter Cronc on September 23, 2013, 03:14:46 PM
Anyone bar Tyrone in any sport!!!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 23, 2013, 03:16:21 PM
Cavan - all the success in the world
Leitrim - ditto
Roscommon - semi ditto
Westmeath - eh.....no.
Post by: Aristo 60 on September 23, 2013, 03:16:35 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on September 23, 2013, 03:14:46 PM
Anyone bar Tyrone in any sport!!!

Post by: rodney trotter on September 23, 2013, 03:22:05 PM
Would probably support them all at some stage , Longford, Westmeath, Meath, Monaghan, Leitrim, and Fermanagh.

Although Monaghan and Meath to a lesser extent for obvious reasons. I was supporting Monaghan against Tyrone though. And Meath any time they play the Dubs.
Post by: Billys Boots on September 23, 2013, 03:27:04 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 23, 2013, 03:16:21 PM
Cavan - all the success in the world
Leitrim - ditto
Roscommon - semi ditto
Westmeath - eh.....no.

Ditto on all counts.  Except Roscommon - I wish them well until they get the smell of themselves; then they become the Dubs/PRC. 
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on September 23, 2013, 03:29:32 PM
Kildare. I'd wish Carlow well. Laois, Offaly, Meath, Dublin, Wicklow: no. Just no.
Post by: Feckitt on September 23, 2013, 03:30:36 PM
County - Armagh

For much of county Armagh there is no 'real' rivalry with Tyrone.  Our biggest rivals would be Down.  They have more often than not been comical over the last 15 years, but I would have no problem supporting them.  Tyrone on the other hand are hard to like.  I still found myself cheering for Tyrone though against Mayo (RIP).  I would though give more full hearted support to our other neighbours Louth and Monaghan(especially Monaghan)
Post by: Rossfan on September 23, 2013, 03:38:33 PM
Ye know my county.
Neighbours - Galway - NO except v Kerry or Dublin
Mayowestros - as per Galway
Sligo - yes except v Laythrum
Laythrum - Yes ( although it is NOT EVER reciprocated)
Longford - Yes - although that "Little Mayo" sh1te they were at last week might make me change
Westmeath - yes except v Sligo/Laythrum or Longford
Offaly - as per Westmeath.
Post by: Jinxy on September 23, 2013, 03:42:12 PM
I don't recognise Kildares right to exist.
Post by: Bingo on September 23, 2013, 03:51:44 PM
County  - Monaghan

Would have no bother with Cavan or Louth, a few good friends from Cavan and mother from Louth.

Armagh - another story, worked in a hotel down near Keady and it was an eye opener when I was in late teens, early 20's. Mind you keady is an exception, Cross be a different story. What done me for Armagh was when they started winning stuff, the amount of folk round town that suddenly started wearing orange and hanging flags from windows, cars etc was way beyond the pale. They came from everywhere and i actually wondered what county we where in at times.
Post by: BennyCake on September 23, 2013, 04:02:24 PM
I don't hate Tyrone as much as I used to, but still wouldn't really support them. Although I was sort of supporting their minors yesterday, but thats the minors. I would shout for the rest of Ulster though.

Having said that, I would support Tyrone against Dublin, and have done in the past. I hate those Dubs with a passion.
Post by: laoislad on September 23, 2013, 04:07:55 PM
Would have no problem shouting for Offaly or Kildare depending on who they were playing.
I know there is suppose to be a rivalry between Laois and Offaly but as I'm from the posh end of Laois this never really mattered to me.

Kilkenny is nearest county to me and I would never cheer for them ever. Hate the bastards.
Post by: Billys Boots on September 23, 2013, 04:32:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 23, 2013, 03:38:33 PM
Ye know my county.
Longford - Yes - although that "Little Mayo" sh1te they were at last week might make me change

What is this 'Little Mayo' stuff that I have missed?
Post by: deiseach on September 23, 2013, 04:41:45 PM
About the only team I don't think I've ever had cause to support are the Meath footballers.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 23, 2013, 04:42:28 PM
Jaysus deiseach, surprised at that. Kilkenny?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 23, 2013, 04:47:07 PM
Don't mind Offaly or Roscommon going well, no agro with Cavan whatsoever even though we share a border.
That shower over in the East? Not on your nelly.
Longford, they're like that annoying cousin you rarely see. The odd time you do hear from them you just grin and bear it knowing it'll all be over soon.
Post by: deiseach on September 23, 2013, 04:51:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 23, 2013, 04:42:28 PM
Jaysus deiseach, surprised at that. Kilkenny?

You would be surprised (http://www.comeonthedeise.ie/2007/09/03/a-bird-in-the-hand/). The way I see it, our neighbours are operating in a different reality to us. That's not to say I haven't had steam coming out of my ears after yet another cruel defeat, and if you look hard enough I'm sure I've said some injudicious things over the years. But instances of cruel defeats are far enough apart to prevent me getting too bitter. The rest of the time, they're here-we-go-again defeats.
Post by: ross4life on September 23, 2013, 05:01:01 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 23, 2013, 04:32:14 PM
Ye know my county.

What is this 'Little Mayo' stuff that I have missed?

How could you miss this?

http://balls.ie/gaa/longford-town-becomes-little-mayo-ireland-final/
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 23, 2013, 05:04:17 PM
Good man Croí - would not expect the love to flow back either.

Oh fcuk - did not know about that 'Little Mayo' crap on balls.ie

Nothing to do with us Rossie and I am as embarrassed as you are.
Post by: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 05:04:48 PM
Ye know my county.

Why do the Lovelies hate us so?
Post by: Lone Shark on September 23, 2013, 05:21:38 PM
From Offaly, as most of ye know, so we've plenty of borders. Westmeath is the main "rival" in the same way that Kilkenny and Carlow share a hurling rivaly, though as I'm now living in Roscommon with Roscommon inlaws, that Offaly/Ros thing is fairly keenly felt at the moment.

Kildare I try to be open minded to their approach, but jaysus they make it tough. It's a little frustrating to see them spending the kind of money Offaly can only dream of on teams, then getting bailed out by the GAA at the end of it all, but ultimately I'd be happy to see them make a meaningful breakthrough.

Laois This one's tougher. In theory we've more in common with them than any other county, but I've found it an awful lot tougher to get on with them at games - once you're identified as an Offaly native, it seems to engage a default "hostility" setting in quite a few of them. I'd love to see them make a meaningful hurling breakthrough, though I'll probably regret saying that as I'd be pretty sure it will come at our expense when it does happen.

Tipperary Another province, another world. No. I can't think of a single hurling county that I'd like to see Tipperary beat.

Galway No strong feelings for or against them.

Roscommon They've some fierce passionate GAA people and I am married into the community now so they would be my second county - I'd pretty much like to see them beat anyone bar Offaly. However it can be a little grating when they don't appreciate how much of a head start it is to start in Connacht. That provincial title a few years ago had an awful lot of sunshine supporters going on about how great they were, when they beat feck all to win it. Yes they've had some good minor teams too, but it's a big help when you're in a province where quite regularly you've to do feck all, or at most win one game, to reach the last eight.

Meath I'd have lots of respect for their tradition and generally I like the way they play ball. Largely speaking I'd be a supporter of the Royals, though there's not much border there so the rivalry isn't as strong as with some others. That said, I wish they'd pull Ballinabrackey into line and recognise Clonmore Harps' right to exist. For a county that appreciates the GAA and the traditions that makes it great, BB's approach there is quite shameful.

Westmeath Again I've got to know a lot of people involved in Westmeath GAA and on an individual level, they are grand people. But no - could not ever bring myself to suppot them. We've all heard the expression "delusions of grandeur", then there's the Westmeath version - "delusions of adequacy". That's going to come back and bite them now after they traded Pat Flanagan in for Paul Bealin. 
Post by: Rossfan on September 23, 2013, 05:27:23 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 05:04:48 PM
Ye know my county.

Why do the Lovelies hate us so?
Just pure jealousy I suppose.
Also they beat Sligo more often than us and we're their only other Connacht neighbours.
I'll never forget the drawn game in Carrick 2004 when it looked like they might win at one stage in the second half.
There was one Laythrum Co Board man behind one of the goals doing a war dance while most of their fans were foaming at the mouth with pure unadulterated excitement. One lunatic beside me kept roaring "MC GOVERN" at their Co Board Chairman till he looked up and then they both started punching the air.
As for that day in 1994 - Stone mad altogether.
Post by: Club Rossa on September 23, 2013, 05:28:19 PM
Tyrone is surrounded by 5 counties,Derry,Donegal,Fermanagh,Monaghan and Armagh.
I would back Monaghan,Fermanagh and Donegal in a final.Don't dislike Armagh as much as I used to.Their fans were great in 2003 when we beat them,very gracious so depending on who they were playing I might support them.
As for Derry,I love to see them hammered every day they go out.
Post by: Rossfan on September 23, 2013, 05:32:59 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 23, 2013, 05:04:17 PM

Sad to see a proud County lowering itself like that. >:(
Sure ye might let us bate ye in th'oul League to make up for it? :D
Post by: Orior on September 23, 2013, 05:33:37 PM
My county is Armagh and I was brought up literally a stones throw from the border with county Down. In fact, I used to paddle in the county drain (as it is known) looking for newts and spricklebacks (spelling?)

I would like to see Down win again and would certainly cheer them on. That goes for every other county in Ulster, except for Tyrone for some inexplicable reason.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 23, 2013, 05:35:00 PM
If they split Dublin, I might get around to cheering for the Southside.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 23, 2013, 05:37:01 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 23, 2013, 02:58:35 PM
Would always want to see Fermanagh win. But if they started winning things, fcuk them.

Armagh and Derry - I'd rather run me balls along a lane of broken glass. Indifferent to Donegal although McGuinness put me off them a bit.
There are many on this Board who would be happy to pay to see you perform this act
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 23, 2013, 05:41:19 PM
Ah Jaysus LS, there was no mention of that on the board until now  >:(
Post by: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 05:51:12 PM
Mayo - Ah, sure I know too many of them to get too upset by them winning against anyone but ourselves and Sligo. Maybe Leitrim on a good day. Supporters need professional counselling after all the trauma, though. The magic sums and Ballagh don't help relations but sure the feckers are Connacht-men too, just about.

Galway - Born in the getto of Ballinasloe, so I was. Given some of my earliest memories were of them beating us in 1998 and wrecking our party in 2001 I'd have them below Mayo on the like-ability scale. Still want them to stream-roll all the infidels from other provinces, though. Except Kildare. Dermot said they're good lads.

Sligo - Relations reached a low point in 2010 with the novelty that was Sligo confidence being derailed by typical aristocratic Roscommon football but in general we share similar grievances with Mayo for stealing our towns and a reciprocal support network when facing Connacht's fat cats.

Leitrim - These pip-squeaks hate us for some reason, probably because of our beautiful (and intelligent) women, our superbly breed Aberdeen Angus cattle and our prowess on the football field. We're big enough to be able to support our little brothers, when they're not playing London.

Westmeath - Croi. Dessie Dolan v. Brigids 2012. Enough said. >:(

Longford - I really liked them until they started beating us in the league.

Offaly - The dah knows Damien Martin well and he's mad craic. No hate visible but then I'm in the trenches of the Connacht heartland and not on the Leinster boarder 8)
Post by: muppet on September 23, 2013, 06:03:55 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 05:51:12 PM
Mayo - Ah, sure I know too many of them to get too upset by them winning against anyone but ourselves and Sligo. Maybe Leitrim on a good day. Supporters need professional counselling after all the trauma at this stage though. The magic sums and Ballagh don't help matters but sure the feckers are Connacht men too, just about.

Galway - Born in the getto of Ballinasloe, so I was. Given some of my earliest memory were them beating us in 1998 and wrecking our party in 2001 I'd have them below Mayo on the like ability scale. Still want them to stream-roll all the infidels from other provinces, though.

Sligo - Relations reached a low point in 2010 with the novelty that was Sligo confidence being derailed by typical aristocratic Roscommon football but in general we share similar grievances with Mayo for stealing our towns and a reciprocal support network when facing Connacht's fat cats.

Leitrim - These pip-squeaks hate us for some reason, probably because of our beautiful (and intelligent) women, our superbly breed Aberdeen Angus cattle and our prowess on the football field. We're big enough to be able to support our little brothers, when they're not playing London.

Westmeath - Croi. Dessie Dolan v. Brigids 2012. Enough said. >:(

Longford - I really like them until they started beating us in the league.

Offaly - The dah knows Damien Martin well and he's mad craic. No hate visible but then I'm in the trenches of the Connacht heartland and not on the Leinster boarder 8)

They probably hate your modesty.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 23, 2013, 06:04:31 PM
Dublin: Love seeing Dublin lose but was delighted to see them win in 2011. A lot of time for Dublin supporters especially in defeat.

Meath: Detest their arrogance and mythology built up around teams that shone in the cess pit of mediocrity that was the 80s and 90s.

Laois: Would generally cheer for Laois, hardy feckers.

Carlow: How could anyone say a bad word about Carlow.

Wickow: Waste of talent, would always cheer them on.

Offaly: No time for a county that is stuck in a time warp, such arrogance in their supporters beggers belief, they never respect the Kildare's, Westmeath's and Laois's and until they do they will remain a bottom feeder.
Post by: seafoid on September 23, 2013, 06:10:09 PM
Galway
I would only shout for Tipp it was to stop a Cork or Kk five in a row
Am quite fond of Offaly
Not pushed about Clare
If Ros were going anywhere I would shout for them.
At this stage a mayo all ireland would almost be as good as one for galway.
Post by: Throw ball on September 23, 2013, 06:13:26 PM
Quote from: Bingo on September 23, 2013, 03:51:44 PM
County  - Monaghan

Would have no bother with Cavan or Louth, a few good friends from Cavan and mother from Louth.

Armagh - another story, worked in a hotel down near Keady and it was an eye opener when I was in late teens, early 20's. Mind you keady is an exception, Cross be a different story. What done me for Armagh was when they started winning stuff, the amount of folk round town that suddenly started wearing orange and hanging flags from windows, cars etc was way beyond the pale. They came from everywhere and i actually wondered what county we where in at times.

Very true about Keady! Was at a wedding about 20 years ago in that hotel - I assume we are talking about the same one - and only knew a few there. Come 11pm a fist fight started. It was like a cowboy movie. About 6 of us hid out of the way behind the bar. Cowards the lot of us!

As an Armagh man always support Monaghan even though the in laws are from there. Would support all Ulster counties although sometimes find it very difficult to cheer on Tyrone.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 23, 2013, 06:31:46 PM
Sligo: Happy if they go on a run, though not too fond of them, but I was delighted when Ros beat them in the Connacht final in 2010.

Ros: It's a love/hate thing with them. I'd cheer for them against Galway or other teams outside Connacht I suppose. I'd still hate to see them win an AI before us though!

Galway: Respect them. But more days in Salthill like this year would be nice too. Always cheer on their hurlers, found it strange shouting for Dublin this year when they played them, but blood is thicker than water.
Post by: ross4life on September 23, 2013, 06:36:53 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on September 23, 2013, 05:21:38 PM
Roscommon They've some fierce passionate GAA people and I am married into the community now so they would be my second county - I'd pretty much like to see them beat anyone bar Offaly. However it can be a little grating when they don't appreciate how much of a head start it is to start in Connacht. That provincial title a few years ago had an awful lot of sunshine supporters going on about how great they were, when they beat feck all to win it. Yes they've had some good minor teams too, but it's a big help when you're in a province where quite regularly you've to do feck all, or at most win one game, to reach the last eight.

Every county has sunshine supporters our 2010 title win was the same as Mayo did last year with wins over Sligo,Leitrim however Mayo weren't 4/1 to win the Connacht final and went into that game having been relegated to div 4.

The routes to winning provincial title or last 12 is no different than Cork,Kerry,Galway or Mayo have over the years & in fairness it take a lot more for us to win provincial title than any of those sides. Whatever about senior football underage football in Connacht has been as strong as it has for decades for example no back door in the U21 championship but ourselves and Mayo would have got very close to winning the AI title last April IMO.

As for the minors well we bet the pick of leinster this year lost by 3 to the AI winners Mayo and by two points v Tyrone so a bit more credit to work we have been doing at underage level wouldn't go astray either.
Post by: ONeill on September 23, 2013, 06:38:49 PM
Forgot about Monaghan - always liked their brand of hard football.
Post by: Cold tea on September 23, 2013, 06:41:40 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 23, 2013, 02:58:35 PM

It's gobshites like you on the interweb make people hate Tyrone - personally I have lots of friends in Tyrone and would wish them all the best, you must be without balls I take it at this stage!
Post by: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 06:46:31 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 23, 2013, 06:36:53 PM

Every county has sunshine supporters our 2010 title win was the same as Mayo did last year with wins over Sligo,Leitrim however Mayo weren't 4/1 to win the Connacht final and went into that game having been relegated to div 4.

The routes to winning provincial title or last 12 is no different than Cork,Kerry,Galway or Mayo have over the years & in fairness it take a lot more for us to win provincial title than any of those sides. Whatever about senior football underage football in Connacht has been as strong as it has for decades for example no back door in the U21 championship but ourselves and Mayo would have got very close to winning the AI title last April IMO.

As for the minors well we bet the pick of leinster this year lost by 3 to the AI winners Mayo and by two points v Tyrone so a bit more credit to work we have been doing at underage level wouldn't go astray either.

At underage it's been clear for a decade or more that Connacht is one of the most competitive provinces. All three top teams in Connacht harbour genuine AI ambitions most years now and the record of Connacht teams in the AI series speaks for itself.
Post by: ONeill on September 23, 2013, 06:56:35 PM
I take it no one dislikes Carlow - a bit like Fermanagh.
Post by: theticklemister on September 23, 2013, 07:00:10 PM
(http://i910.photobucket.com/albums/ac306/theticklemister/DSC_0230_zps5f5c1385.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on September 23, 2013, 07:01:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 06:46:31 PM

At underage it's been clear for a decade or more that Connacht is one of the most competitive provinces. All three top teams in Connacht harbour genuine AI ambitions most years now and the record of Connacht teams in the AI series speaks for itself.

In truth over the last decade more underage AIs should have been won by Connacht sides. Sligo have been very competitive in Connacht for the last number of years but for the strength of Galway,Mayo and ourselves means they haven't been able to show their true worth. Leitrim struggle for numbers and their results suffer however they had a good U-16 team this year that should provide some hope for them.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 23, 2013, 07:04:53 PM
Jaysus Dinny harsh. Not sure about Offaly arrogance. Being stuck in a time warp, yes, particularly the county board.  But then may refusing to get into mad debt in tha pursuit of success is actually a noble calling. Still don't see the arrogance though. Always giving ourselves a sneaky chance because deep down we still think we have something in us isn't arrogance I think. Delusional maybe :)
Post by: Lone Shark on September 23, 2013, 07:44:58 PM

I've no problems giving credit to good teams, or to good players, and Roscommon have had several of those in recent years, certainly including this group, which was a good panel that was very well managed. However it has been frustrating over the last few years to watch some Roscommon teams that player for player, were no better or worse than Offaly sides, have to do feck all to get to the latter stages. Then one good win, and suddenly you're in Croke Park, or you've a provincial title. Usually in Leinster it'll take three good wins over competent opposition to win a title, sometimes more. For example Longford's underage teams have been a match for Roscommon more often than not over the past few seasons, yet they've a lot less silverware to show for it.

Just out of curiosity, why have ye to do more than Galway or Mayo to win the same competition? That makes no sense, I can't get my head around what you're even trying to say there.
Post by: Lone Shark on September 23, 2013, 07:55:24 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 23, 2013, 06:04:31 PM
Offaly: No time for a county that is stuck in a time warp, such arrogance in their supporters beggers belief, they never respect the Kildare's, Westmeath's and Laois's and until they do they will remain a bottom feeder.

I'd be curious to hear what you mean by this too. There would be no arrogance whatsoever about our current teams - our hurlers are not unlike the Kildare footballers, seemingly unable to make a breakthrough, while our footballers have been pure muck, and it'd be a rare GAA head in Offaly who'd say different.

However we're not going to downplay the teams we've had in the past that were talented and successful. We were, and are, very proud of a lot of our heroes gone by. And naturally, respect is something that has to be earned. Teams and players who've won All Irelands have earned a bit more respect than ones who haven't in my eyes, is that not natural? That's not to imply disrespect for others, just an appreciation for sporting achievement.

What exactly defines time warp though?
Post by: BennyCake on September 23, 2013, 08:03:30 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on September 23, 2013, 07:00:10 PM
(http://i910.photobucket.com/albums/ac306/theticklemister/DSC_0230_zps5f5c1385.jpg)

Nice one lol. But I do wonder why you have a copy in the first place.
Post by: theticklemister on September 23, 2013, 08:10:29 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 23, 2013, 08:03:30 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on September 23, 2013, 07:00:10 PM

Nice one lol. But I do wonder why you have a copy in the first place.

I work in the library, wile pile of books in there.
Post by: ross4life on September 23, 2013, 08:12:11 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on September 23, 2013, 07:44:58 PM

I've no problems giving credit to good teams, or to good players, and Roscommon have had several of those in recent years, certainly including this group, which was a good panel that was very well managed. However it has been frustrating over the last few years to watch some Roscommon teams that player for player, were no better or worse than Offaly sides, have to do feck all to get to the latter stages. Then one good win, and suddenly you're in Croke Park, or you've a provincial title. Usually in Leinster it'll take three good wins over competent opposition to win a title, sometimes more. For example Longford's underage teams have been a match for Roscommon more often than not over the past few seasons, yet they've a lot less silverware to show for it.

Just out of curiosity, why have ye to do more than Galway or Mayo to win the same competition? That makes no sense, I can't get my head around what you're even trying to say there.

We are at much lower base than Galway or Mayo it would be much tougher for them if they were at our level and we were at theirs. For example our odds for senior Connacht championship next year won't be much different than Sligos next year but well behind the top two.

Apart from pre-season games where we play 2nd string sides we haven't faced Longford in any underage championship games recently & i don't know much about quality of Offaly underage players but what i do know is we have been a match for most of best underage sides both as team and player for player.

Post by: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 08:26:25 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 23, 2013, 08:12:11 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on September 23, 2013, 07:44:58 PM

We are at much lower base than Galway or Mayo it would be much tougher for them if they were at our level and we were at theirs. For example our odds for senior Connacht championship next year won't be much different than Sligos next year but well behind the top two.

Apart from pre-season games where we play 2nd string sides we haven't faced Longford in any underage championship games recently & i don't know much about quality of Offaly underage players but what i do know is we have been a match for most of best underage sides both as team and player for player.

They did beat us in the Fr. Manning Cup final at home last year but that was two days after we played Sligo in the Ted Webb Shield so it was hardly a fair reflection on the two sides.

Longford did well at U21 this year but even then we had Galway dead and buried and they comfortably beat Kildare, the team Longford lost to in the Leinster final. Longford have made progress but in terms of non fat cat counties (in terms of football) making strides at underage Tipp, Cavan and ourselves would be top of the pile with counties like Longford a step behind that pace at the moment.

Underage has become very competitive in the last decade and if anything provides a better spectacle for the sport itself than senior where money starts to warp competitiveness even further.
Post by: Premier Emperor on September 23, 2013, 08:41:35 PM
We're the most under siege county in the GAA surrounded by jealousy and bitterness.

Cork - Our biggest rivals but the ones I respect most. Their supporters are knowledgeable and gracious. Always good for a funny comeback.
Klare - Apes. 2 All Irelands in nearly a century and they expect respect from us. They were hateful in 1997 when they beat us.
Laois - Harmless...useless
Kilkenny - Detest them. You'll come across a more miserable bunch of dryshites. They hate admitting how much they fear us.
Waterford - A good few knackers down there, but they never bother us much.
Offaly - Hate the way they suck up to Kilkenny. They've no self respect. Have never beaten us the championship and that annoys them.
Limerick - They are arrogant and see themselves as our equals. They've no understanding of how average they are.
Galway - I don't like them and I've zero respect for them. They can't take their beating. Still crying about Tony Keady getting himself suspended.
Post by: ross4life on September 23, 2013, 08:50:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 08:26:25 PM

They did beat us in the Fr. Manning Cup final at home last year but that was two days after we played Sligo in the Ted Webb Shield so it was hardly a fair reflection on the two sides.

Longford did well at U21 this year but even then we had Galway dead and buried and they comfortably beat Kildare, the team Longford lost to in the Leinster final. Longford have made progress but in terms of non fat cat counties (in terms of football) making strides at underage Tipp, Cavan and ourselves would be top of the pile with counties like Longford a step behind that pace at the moment.

Underage has become very competitive in the last decade and if anything provides a better spectacle for the sport itself than senior where money starts to warp competitiveness even further.

Our recent under 16 results have me worried that our minors teams will be forced to take a back seat for the next few years.  Ourselves Cavan,Tipp,Longford,Kildare etc are all doing great work at underage level and i think others will also be looking to improve. The competitiveness of the underage competitions is great viewing.
Post by: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 09:10:18 PM
The dearth of the talent coming through has been over-egged in my opinion. I saw plenty of the U16 team this year and some of them are already good enough to be minor starters, particular the backs and the Brigids players on the team. We came back from seven down to beat the best Galway side in a 40 minute match and we were gassed against a Mayo EW (the eventual overall Ted Webb winners) team that had glorified kicking practice against Sligo's B team and still were neck-and-neck with five to go and only lost by three in the end. Players continue to be well-coached and for me that is the main thing at a level like U16. Last year's squad won the Ted Webb Shield and got to the Fr. Manning final, hardly a poor season. A good minor coach could easily make us competitive in the years ahead. Don't know much about this Fergie lad, sure we might as well try him?

On topic, Longford insisting on always playing the Manning Cup final in Longford negatively effects relations >:(
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 23, 2013, 09:14:06 PM
Wouldn't support Tyrone at any code, age group or competition even at gunpoint.
Apart from that don't mind most other counties. Wouldn't be a lover of Donegal because of the way they speak or Down either because there are a lot of cnuts from there (as well as a lot of nice folks too).
Post by: SkillfulBill on September 23, 2013, 09:25:29 PM
From Tyrone

Armagh cider monkeys I have to say I never minded them much supported them in 02 and proved to be a pleasant enough experience. I would love to see them back up to a competitive level again as the rivalry was crucial to driving us on to All-ireland success.

Fermanagh supported them in 04 when they were going well.  I love the way they hate us and posses a massive inferiority complex.

Donegal is a beautiful county and you can't help but like them. Although a few more experiences like Ballybofey this year could change my views on them.

Monaghan are the neighbours you don't want to fallout with as they are likely to be waiting in the lane for you on a Saturday night to give you a right kicking.

Now then the Derry inbreeds I would never ever ever ever support.  I would gouge put my eyes with a hot poker beforeI could brbring myself to cheer them. I would prefer to see England win the next ten worldcups and win all the medals in the next Olympics rather than see the inbreeds win at tiddly winks.
Post by: seafoid on September 23, 2013, 09:28:15 PM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on September 23, 2013, 09:25:29 PM
From Tyrone

Armagh cider monkeys I have to say I never minded them much supported them in 02 and proved to be a pleasant enough experience. I would love to see them back up to a competitive level again as the rivalry was crucial to driving us on to All-ireland success.

Fermanagh supported them in 04 when they were going well.  I love the way they hate us and posses a massive inferiority complex.

Donegal is a beautiful county and you can't help but like them. Although a few more experiences like Ballybofey this year could change my views on them.

Monaghan are the neighbours you don't want to fallout with as they are likely to be waiting in the lane for you on a Saturday night to give you a right kicking.

Now then the Derry inbreeds I would never ever ever ever support.  I would gouge put my eyes with a hot poker beforeI could brbring myself to cheer them. I would prefer to see England win the next ten worldcups and win all the medals in the next Olympics rather than see the inbreeds win at tiddly winks.
1993 must have been an awful year in Tyrone.

Post by: SkillfulBill on September 23, 2013, 09:39:23 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 23, 2013, 09:28:15 PM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on September 23, 2013, 09:25:29 PM
From Tyrone

1993 must have been an awful year in Tyrone.

The famine years of the 1800s were more pleasurable and the 1995 ulster semi final win was as pleasing as the three All-Ireland wins
Post by: Estimator on September 23, 2013, 09:39:51 PM
Antrim - No.
Donegal - No.
Tyrone - Never.
Any other Ulster side - Nope.
It wouldn't matter what level or sport is involved.
Post by: Club Rossa on September 23, 2013, 09:44:57 PM
93 was awful Seafoid,thankfully it was their one and only.
Post by: FermGael on September 23, 2013, 09:46:15 PM
Anybody but Cavan. 
Post by: rodney trotter on September 23, 2013, 09:56:37 PM
Quote from: FermGael on September 23, 2013, 09:46:15 PM
Anybody but Cavan.

Must have took the recent defeats bad...
Post by: Itchy on September 23, 2013, 10:31:36 PM
I wish we had a border with Roscommon so I could say Id never cheer for them. Look at them trying to take over the thread going on about u16 tournaments!

The only neighbours I'd have time for is Leitrim and Westmeath. The rest are horrible hoors I'd never cheer for.

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 23, 2013, 10:38:31 PM
Always cheer for Roscommon, Galway and Sligo when playing non-Connacht opposition. Not a neighbour but Leitrm as the fifth Connacht county gets my support too. I also cheer for Clare because the are West of the Shannon and were once part of Connacht. Parts of Fermanagh and Cavan were once in Connacht so on that basis the are my favourite Ulster teams. Longford was part of The Connacht Republic making them my favourite Leinster county [and now little Mayo].
Post by: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 10:41:04 PM
Quote from: Itchy on September 23, 2013, 10:31:36 PM
I wish we had a border with Roscommon so I could say Id never cheer for them. Look at them trying to take over the thread going on about u16 tournaments!

The only neighbours I'd have time for is Leitrim and Westmeath. The rest are horrible hoors I'd never cheer for.

Cavan, Leitrim on a diet of spuds and just as spiteful >:(
Post by: Main Street on September 23, 2013, 11:25:55 PM
From a Monaghan point of view, there's been very little opportunity to cheer about re Cavan, nevertheless my earliest hero was Cavan's Ray Carolan, a man's man, carved by God himself, in His image.
Down were something else, something mythical. I remember as a kid hearing that Val Kane, who's claim to fame was that he was on the Down team in the 1960's, came to town, he was a salesman of sorts, there were a herd of us kids looking for his autograph.
Monaghan played Down at some stage  in the USFC at Ballybay, I was still in short pants, I remember being awestruck when the Down players ran out to the pitch, Joe Lennon, Paddy Doherty, Sean O'Neill etc.   
A good few years later I was playing midfield for a Dublin school against Gormanstown. I was being battered. One time I got clattered by about 4 of these ugly heifers and landed flat on my back over the sideline, I looked up and there I was staring at Joe Lennon. Joe just happened to be Gormanstown's trainer. I said to Joe, 'Joe I didn't read about that one in your fcxking book'.
Joe had a book out, a coaching manual of sorts. Anyway, my Kerry uncle liked that story.

Post by: thebandit on September 23, 2013, 11:39:00 PM
County: Monaghan

I'd support any other Ulster county outside the Ulster championship (particularly Armagh, as most of my family are from there) except Tyrone!
Post by: Billys Boots on September 24, 2013, 08:52:41 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 23, 2013, 05:04:17 PM

That is nothing to do with Longford people as far as I'm aware - just greedy commercial interests as usual.  Sorry to see it though. 
Post by: muppet on September 24, 2013, 12:05:58 PM
I forgot to mention our other 2 neighbours.

Sligo - would generally cheer for them in any game except against us;
Roscommon - would cheer any Connacht team against them, but would cheer for them outside Connacht/qualifiers etc.;
Post by: stew on September 24, 2013, 01:25:42 PM
I despise Down with all my being, apart from them I am ok with all other nordie teams with the exception of Tyrone, they had the great Frank McGuigan and I was fine with them winning, especially after watching him destroy us in Armagh, and then comes the ugliest fcuker to ever play the game, Noel McGinn, a serial thug and I have despised them since, PC and the dog killer did nothing to endear them to me either but at least we showed them how to win an AI. ;)

Post by: Club Rossa on September 24, 2013, 01:47:51 PM
I remember Noel McGinn throwing sand into Houlihan's eyes during the 84 ulster final.
Post by: BennyCake on September 24, 2013, 01:51:08 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on September 24, 2013, 01:47:51 PM
I remember Noel McGinn throwing sand into Houlihan's eyes during the 84 ulster final.

Surely Tyrone wouldn't resort to those sort of tactics?
Post by: seafoid on September 24, 2013, 01:59:03 PM
Quote from: stew on September 24, 2013, 01:25:42 PM
I despise Down with all my being, apart from them I am ok with all other nordie teams with the exception of Tyrone, they had the great Frank McGuigan and I was fine with them winning, especially after watching him destroy us in Armagh, and then comes the ugliest fcuker to ever play the game, Noel McGinn, a serial thug and I have despised them since, PC and the dog killer did nothing to endear them to me either but at least we showed them how to win an AI. ;)
What is the problem with Down? Is it the 5 Sams?
Post by: Club Rossa on September 24, 2013, 02:00:38 PM
Win at all costs Benny ;)
Post by: maddog on September 24, 2013, 02:30:41 PM
From Armagh

Happy to support any ulster county bar Down. Its their arrogance that I struggle with. Tyrone we love to beat but at same time will support them when they are playing a non ulster county. Out of all the other counties the only ones that I really had a bad experience with was Laois. Go home british bastards etc in the 1994 league final. Same thing again in 03 1/4 final. Some of the best fans I have met were the Dubs, great craic and get a bad press for some reason.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 24, 2013, 02:32:34 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 23, 2013, 02:55:25 PM
A comment on another thread made me think. Would you support your neighbours/greatest rivals in a game like an All Ireland, or would that be a step too far? In what circumstances would you shout for them?

I know there is a strong Ulster and Connacht tradition of wishing their 'representatives' well, but I get a sense that is diluting a little bit in Ulster's case as they've gotten more successful individually. It's never really been a Leinster thing, although I'd have always shouted for Kilkenny in hurling on the basis that I wanted everyone else to see what we had to deal with. In the football I'm not sure I've ever shouted for a Leinster team just because they are Leinster. I've leant towards Meath in a couple of big games because I admire their tradition and the fact that you used to be able to hit and get hit without a war crimes tribunal being called for.

So, in a Vox Pop, state your county, your rival neighbour(s) and if you would support them in an All Ireland against a county other than your own (or if there are special circumstances)

In a county like Offaly, we have several neighbours and depending on your location within the county you may or may not be that affected by the rivalry. I'm from the West, so our local Football rivals would be Westmeath. I'd never have even considered supporting them in the past, unless a relation was playing, but I think these days I've softened to them and I would wish them well at this stage.

In hurling Galway would be closest to ourselves, and I have no problem shouting for Galway unless they are playing someone with a painful history like Limerick or Waterford.

I know lads in Gracefield that will never shout for Laois, Edenderry for Kildare, Coolderry for Tipp, etc.  What about in yer neck of the woods?

I don't understand this provincial camaraderie shite. Would Cork be shouting for Kerry? Would the Royals be backing the Dubs?

The answer is NO and NO. Full stop.

I'm from Down, I support Down. Sin é.

(Apart from a wee sneaking admiration for Kerry ;))
Post by: maddog on September 24, 2013, 02:37:57 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 24, 2013, 02:32:34 PM

I don't understand this provincial camaraderie shite. Would Cork be shouting for Kerry? Would the Royals be backing the Dubs?

We know 5 sams, you fancy yourselves as somehow similar. :o
Post by: blanketattack on September 24, 2013, 02:39:22 PM
From Kerry.

Cork. No, not a hope, not in any sport.
If any Cork team were taking on a team made up of the soldiers that took part in Bloody Sunday, the police responsible for the false convictions of the Birmingham six and the Guildford four, Fred West (back from the dead), Oliver Cromwell (back from the dead) and a who's who of the most vile human beings that ever lived, I'd shout for the latter.

Our other bordering county is Limerick, would shout for them alright, sure didn't they give us Ger Power and Ogie Moran.

We've no other bordering counties in Ireland, but on the other side of things New York could be considered our neighbour to the west and in that regard I hate the Yankees and Giants with a passion.
I don't mind the Mets, Rangers, Knicks, Nets, Red Bulls or Jets though.

That being said if Cork were taking on a team that were going for the 5-in-a-row, I might actually shout for Cork, as every Kerryman knows it's Kerry's divine right to achieve it first! 3 near misses so far.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 24, 2013, 02:40:03 PM
Quote from: maddog on September 24, 2013, 02:37:57 PM

I call it mutual respect.
Post by: Walter Cronc on September 24, 2013, 02:41:53 PM
What about club level? Is the hatred as strong in other counties?? In Derry its pretty fierce!

Being from Glen I hate seeing Slaughtneil, Lavey and Screen do well. Always liked Dungiven, Ballinderry and more recently Coleraine.

Thats maybe down to distance though, given that they are far enough away :)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 24, 2013, 02:44:23 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 23, 2013, 09:28:15 PM1993 must have been an awful year in Tyrone.

Try being a 14 year old from Tyrone and going to school in Derry at the time  >:(

1995 was sweet though  ;D
Post by: seafoid on September 24, 2013, 02:46:22 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on September 24, 2013, 02:41:53 PM
What about club level? Is the hatred as strong in other counties?? In Derry its pretty fierce!

Being from Glen I hate seeing Slaughtneil, Lavey and Screen do well. Always liked Dungiven, Ballinderry and more recently Coleraine.

Thats maybe down to distance though, given that they are far enough away :)
I'd say counties with higher levels of club hatred  have fewer intercounty all Irelands.
Post by: Feckitt on September 24, 2013, 03:01:04 PM
Quote from: maddog on September 24, 2013, 02:30:41 PM
From Armagh

Happy to support any ulster county bar Down. Its their arrogance that I struggle with. Tyrone we love to beat but at same time will support them when they are playing a non ulster county. Out of all the other counties the only ones that I really had a bad experience with was Laois. Go home british b**tards etc in the 1994 league final. Same thing again in 03 1/4 final. Some of the best fans I have met were the Dubs, great craic and get a bad press for some reason.

I forgot about Laois.  The 2005 All Ireland Quarter Final is long forgotten because it was such a one sided game.  Basicly Armagh (at their peak) absolutely just stuffed Laois.  It was like boys against men.  At no point in the game was it even close, and Armagh who were famed at that time for hard hitting football never really had to up the ante.

This description of the match and circumstances makes the atmosphere at the game all the more remarkable.  The Laois fans were horrible, bitter, and aggressive.  They were foul mouthed and partitionist.  I've never seen the like of it before or since.
Post by: Rudi on September 24, 2013, 03:32:54 PM
Ros man here

Leitrim -Would always wish them well and have huge admiration for them, although they hate us.
Sligo - Wish them well, can be cocky at times. Generally play nice brand of football.
Galway - Can come from no-where to win an All Ireland at any level, wish them well.
Mayo - Would wish them well and generally would shout for them against Galway. Can be bitter as f"ck though.
Westmeath - Have loads of buddies in the county, can't stand them when it comes to footie.
Longford - Strangely have no great love for them, would not wish them bad.
Offaly - Best of all, could not fault the biffos, don't take themselves seriously, very successful none the less.

Outside of that would have good time for Cavan and Donegal.
Post by: JP on September 24, 2013, 03:50:38 PM
From Armagh.

Love the days when you beat Tyrone or Down. But at the same time support them outside Ulster. Was delighted for Monaghan winning Ulster this year.

Agree with the other Armagh lads from before. Would hate to see Laois win anything.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 24, 2013, 04:15:29 PM
I didn't realise there was such antipathy from Armagh to Laois
Post by: muppet on September 24, 2013, 04:23:30 PM
Seeing as I live in Dublin I should point out that, despite the bad press, the vast majority of Dublin supporters are great craic to be around.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 24, 2013, 04:29:26 PM
My county: Sligo.

Neighbours:

Mayo - would never cheer for them. Can't stand them. Going round all depressed after winning a minor All-Ireland and losing the senior final narrowly - grow up FFS, ye have it good.

Leitrim - would cheer for them against Mayo only.

Roscommon - would cheer for them against Mayo only. Would prefer them to beat Laythrum if playing them but wouldn't be all that bothered.

Other counties in province:

Galway - would not mind them really. Would cheer for them against a lot of counties.

London - Would cheer for them against everyone bar Sligo and Tyrone.

New York - shouldn't be in it but would cheer for them against everyone but Sligo and Tyrone.
Post by: Syferus on September 24, 2013, 04:51:17 PM
Let me take you on a trip back to summer 1946, when Roscommon where Roscommon where the very-recent back-to-back All-Ireland champions and the undisputed kings of Connacht football.

Playing a team hungering after a ten-year All-Ireland famine (somethings never change, eh?) in the Connacht final, Roscommon win by a score-line of 1-07 to 0-06. All well and good and the natural order for such a match. But Jimmy (Murrary, the immortal Roscommon captain) had scored our goal but took the duty of waving the green flag into into his own hands, obviously inspiring many capers by Cake in the process.

Mayo, being sore losers, objected to this ad-hoc officiating and demanded a replay. A council surely manned by John Prenty's grandfather (just guessing here) agreed and a replay was set for August 11th 1946. Roscommon, as you would expect, won the replay handily, 1-09 to 1-02. But at half-time during the replay the teams did something quite strange:

(http://mayogaablog.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/Mayo-Roscommon-HT-1946.jpg)

Let's not forget that the above is the bones of both Roscommon and Mayo's greatest-ever sides. They knew their stuff and they also knew the true values of the GAA.

(Thanks to WJ for the orginal post and the pic)
Post by: Feckitt on September 24, 2013, 04:51:59 PM
After my previous post giving out about Laois, to put a positive spin on it, I think the Dubs have really great supporters.  A couple of other posters have already mentioned this.

And apart from my own county, the county that I would love to see win the All Ireland is Monaghan.  There wouln't be a barrel of diesel washed for a month!
Post by: JBM on the 21 on September 24, 2013, 04:52:52 PM
Kerry
Detest them ever since as a young lad being taken out ever year by the old man to Millstreet train station (last stop in Cork before Kerry)  and listening to Micko plamasing us about Cork being the second best team in Ireland, while the team (the worst for wear on drink after the three hour journey from Dublin) were inside laughing out at us. Never got over it.
Can't forgive them.

Limerick:
Remember the great battles with them in the late 70s and 80s. Was there in 96 when they flaked us around the Pairc and gave me possibly the lowest moment I have ever felt after a match. (That and the 2009 final against Kerry when it was apparent that Cork were not going to win). Though Cork hurling had more or less been finished off for a long time.

Tipp: Nothing but respect. Great craic with their supporters. Hated them in 87 when they finished us off in Munster but in retrospect the best thing that ever happened hurling. They seem to have had a border war with all the counties around them at sometime or other!
Ring was right when he said that the GAA is only half dressed without Tipp. Plus they gave us the character that is Babs!

Waterford:
Always liked them. Have had their share of heartbreak over the years but anytime they play us, it is always a cracking match.

Post by: macdanger2 on September 24, 2013, 04:56:07 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 24, 2013, 04:51:17 PM

Playing the All-Ireland-less neighbours (somethings never change, eh?) in the Connacht final,

In 1946??? You might want to check your history there
Post by: Billys Boots on September 24, 2013, 04:57:21 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 24, 2013, 04:15:29 PM

I have buddies from Monaghan - even in the 1980s they despised Laois.  I have and they had no idea why. 
Post by: Syferus on September 24, 2013, 04:58:13 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on September 24, 2013, 04:56:07 PM

Playing the All-Ireland-less neighbours (somethings never change, eh?) in the Connacht final,

Hmm, I meant to say less All-Irelands but my story-telling prowess got ahead of me 8)

Fixed for posterity.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 24, 2013, 05:30:06 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 24, 2013, 04:51:59 PM
After my previous post giving out about Laois, to put a positive spin on it, I think the Dubs have really great supporters.  A couple of other posters have already mentioned this.

And apart from my own county, the county that I would love to see win the All Ireland is Monaghan.  There wouln't be a barrel of diesel washed for a month!

+1 to this apart from the fat bloke sitting beside me in the Cusack. He never shut up with the.."Gerrup outta dat ye bleedin doivin fookin culchie cheat." Etc
Post by: seafoid on September 24, 2013, 05:42:43 PM
Quote from: JP on September 24, 2013, 03:50:38 PM
From Armagh.

Love the days when you beat Tyrone or Down. But at the same time support them outside Ulster. Was delighted for Monaghan winning Ulster this year.

Agree with the other Armagh lads from before. Would hate to see Laois win anything.
Not very likely anyway
Post by: blanketattack on September 24, 2013, 05:46:18 PM
Quote from: JBM on the 21 on September 24, 2013, 04:52:52 PM
Kerry
Detest them ever since as a young lad being taken out ever year by the old man to Millstreet train station (last stop in Cork before Kerry)  and listening to Micko plamasing us about Cork being the second best team in Ireland, while the team (the worst for wear on drink after the three hour journey from Dublin) were inside laughing out at us. Never got over it.
Can't forgive them.

Are you saying the Kerry train used stop in Millstreet after All-Ireland victories???
That's weird. Did it stop anywhere else? e.g. Mallow?
Post by: macdanger2 on September 24, 2013, 05:48:03 PM
Kerry
Can't forgive them.

What the feck was your father bringing you out to listen to that for?? Or was he a kerryman himself??
Post by: JBM on the 21 on September 24, 2013, 06:02:04 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on September 24, 2013, 05:48:03 PM
Kerry
Can't forgive them.

What the feck was your father bringing you out to listen to that for?? Or was he a kerryman himself??

The two sisters had a bit of a gra for Pat Spillane (I am not kidding). They used to force the poor man to take them out every year. I just liked trains at the time!
Post by: JBM on the 21 on September 24, 2013, 06:03:46 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on September 24, 2013, 05:46:18 PM
Kerry
Can't forgive them.

Are you saying the Kerry train used stop in Millstreet after All-Ireland victories???
That's weird. Did it stop anywhere else? e.g. Mallow?

Yup. Every year. Not too sure if they stopped in Mallow. No idea why they would stop in Millstreet as Rathmore is not that further away.
Post by: theticklemister on September 24, 2013, 06:06:52 PM
Ah Walter i love all the clubs in Derry do well.No pun intended. I seriously like to see teams from the city progress, it does your heart good, so much so i have been called a Sean Dolans man on a few occasons by members of my own club.Its a pity we in the GAA are struggling in here, but Steelstown doing well. Burst with pride recently when i seen a few lads in consective days walk around my area of shantallow and pennyburn with hurls pucking about.
Post by: muppet on September 24, 2013, 07:15:15 PM

I think he would need to check out a lot of history. Matches were frequently subject to objections going way back.

Look at the 1925 Championship (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1925_All-Ireland_Senior_Football_Championship) for example.
Post by: laoislad on September 24, 2013, 08:17:55 PM
As for non neighbours I would say Armagh Tyrone and Dublin I hate with a passion.
Ignorant shower of supporters as well,some of them.
Post by: maddog on September 24, 2013, 08:29:32 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 24, 2013, 02:40:03 PM
Quote from: maddog on September 24, 2013, 02:37:57 PM

I call it mutual respect.

Id call it a fanciful crush.
Post by: Throw ball on September 24, 2013, 08:37:21 PM

As an Armagh man I would have to agree with others about Laois. The 2005 match was the worst experience I ever had at Croke Park.
Post by: maddog on September 24, 2013, 08:39:18 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 24, 2013, 03:01:04 PM
From Armagh

Happy to support any ulster county bar Down. Its their arrogance that I struggle with. Tyrone we love to beat but at same time will support them when they are playing a non ulster county. Out of all the other counties the only ones that I really had a bad experience with was Laois. Go home british b**tards etc in the 1994 league final. Same thing again in 03 1/4 final. Some of the best fans I have met were the Dubs, great craic and get a bad press for some reason.

I forgot about Laois.  The 2005 All Ireland Quarter Final is long forgotten because it was such a one sided game.  Basicly Armagh (at their peak) absolutely just stuffed Laois.  It was like boys against men.  At no point in the game was it even close, and Armagh who were famed at that time for hard hitting football never really had to up the ante.

This description of the match and circumstances makes the atmosphere at the game all the more remarkable.  The Laois fans were horrible, bitter, and aggressive.  They were foul mouthed and partitionist.  I've never seen the like of it before or since.

Had one fella giving out to my (at the time) 6 year old nephew outside the hoganstand bar saying f**k off back to Britain. Seems to be a thing with them. Anyway you cant let yourself be dragged down to the their level. On a more positive note best fans I think are Roscommon. The craic out of them is deadly. Plus it helps I have some friends from the disputed territory of Ballagh and the one sided town of Loughlynn. Cork fans I like for their stoutness, its like defeat is not an option but can take it when it doesn't work out for them.
Mayo I feel for. Jesus what is it gonna take.
Post by: Throw ball on September 24, 2013, 08:41:54 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 24, 2013, 08:17:55 PM
As for non neighbours I would say Armagh Tyrone and Dublin I hate with a passion.
Ignorant shower of supporters as well,some of them.

I should add that the Laois supporters at met in Portlaoise the last two years at league matches were very pleasant. Will take a while to lose the 05 memories though!

Laois will get a great welcome in the Athletic Grounds next year. Probably get two point too. :(
Post by: laoislad on September 24, 2013, 08:48:10 PM

I blame Billy Sheehan.He upset the little scrots something fierce ;D
Post by: maddog on September 24, 2013, 08:48:40 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 24, 2013, 08:48:10 PM

I blame Billy Sheehan.He upset the little scrots something fierce ;D

who?
Post by: theticklemister on September 24, 2013, 08:51:19 PM
So we are all agreed......................Tyrone are the biggest shower of bastards in the GAA followed by Derrytresk?
Post by: ONeill on September 24, 2013, 08:54:57 PM
Haha - I think you're spot on there.

At the Mayo game I heard a young Tyrone lad behind me ask his ma 'Is it ok to boo?'.

He was told by the ma to go right ahead. I think they were from the west.
Post by: maddog on September 24, 2013, 08:57:52 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 24, 2013, 08:54:57 PM
Haha - I think you're spot on there.

At the Mayo game I heard a young Tyrone lad behind me ask his ma 'Is it ok to boo?'.

He was told by the ma to go right ahead. I think they were from the west.

Strabane?
Post by: ONeill on September 24, 2013, 09:01:12 PM
Aye, possibly related to FoSB.
Post by: Lar Naparka on September 24, 2013, 09:10:40 PM
My County- Mayo, God help us!
Inclined to back any other Connacht county when playing against "outsiders."
Within the province, hmmm...

Galway- I respect them and never, ever take them for granted but I'd cheer for any of the others (Sligo, Roscommon, Leitrim) if they were playing the heron chokers.
Roscommon- I'd back them against Galway and probably Sligo.
I quite like the Rossies by and .large but they do have a greater than average amount of laitchekoes amongst the supporters. Still, they are my favourite neighbours.
Leitrim- I know next to nothing about that county but since it's the one with the least resources, I tend to back them regardless of the opposition.
Sligo- I used to like them a lot but I'm not so sure now. Back in 2010, they beat the worst Mayo team I have ever seen and you'd think from the gimp of the average supporter that they had won the All-Ireland.
That's not just the usual suspects on this board but a few others I know as well. They'd go outa their way to brag about their achievement and felt they had the Connacht title in the bag. Roscommon, fair play t them, caught them napping in the Connacht Final and some of the hoors I know have recovered from the shock yet.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 24, 2013, 09:15:25 PM
Quote from: maddog on September 24, 2013, 08:39:18 PM
From Armagh

Had one fella giving out to my (at the time) 6 year old nephew outside the hoganstand bar saying f**k off back to Britain. Seems to be a thing with them. Anyway you cant let yourself be dragged down to the their level. On a more positive note best fans I think are Roscommon. The craic out of them is deadly. Plus it helps I have some friends from the disputed territory of Ballagh and the one sided town of Loughlynn. Cork fans I like for their stoutness, its like defeat is not an option but can take it when it doesn't work out for them.

If you have friends from Ballagh then you have friends from Mayo.
Post by: maddog on September 24, 2013, 09:19:06 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 24, 2013, 09:15:25 PM
From Armagh

No Ballagh is inside the Roscommon border is it not ?
Post by: Syferus on September 24, 2013, 09:26:10 PM
Quote from: maddog on September 24, 2013, 09:19:06 PM
From Armagh

Basic geography isn't Mayo GAA peoples' strongest suit, God help the poor things.

Always liked the craic out of Armagh lads, by the way. Derry and Down tend to be good too but I haven't had many occasions to see our counties play.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 24, 2013, 09:26:25 PM
From Armagh

Mayo, the GAA and Ballagh true natives to not recognise this British imposed occupation.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 24, 2013, 09:31:05 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 24, 2013, 07:15:15 PM

I think he would need to check out a lot of history. Matches were frequently subject to objections going way back.

Look at the 1925 Championship (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1925_All-Ireland_Senior_Football_Championship) for example.

A yes even win Mayo are All-Ireland Champions the GAA take it away.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 24, 2013, 09:33:06 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 24, 2013, 09:26:10 PM
From Armagh

Basic geography isn't Mayo GAA peoples' strongest suit, God help the poor things.

Always liked the craic out of Armagh lads, by the way. Derry and Down tend to be good too but I haven't had many occasions to see our counties play.

What about history? History is more important than Geography.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 24, 2013, 09:33:21 PM
From Armagh

Athlone expanded to take in the Hyde yer?  ;)
Post by: maddog on September 24, 2013, 09:42:52 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 24, 2013, 09:26:25 PM
From Armagh

Mayo, the GAA and Ballagh true natives to not recognise this British imposed occupation.

If it wasn't for the British would we even have counties? When I was in Ballagh last it felt Rossie to me anyway and the locals up in Bolands in ferrymount defo felt that way. By the way that is one of the wildest spots I ever set foot in. Some craic.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 24, 2013, 09:49:32 PM
Quote from: maddog on September 24, 2013, 09:42:52 PM
If it wasn't for the British would we even have counties?
Unlikely and what have the Romans ever done for us?
Post by: Syferus on September 24, 2013, 09:55:52 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 24, 2013, 09:26:25 PM
From Armagh

If it wasn't for the British would we even have counties? When I was in Ballagh last it felt Rossie to me anyway and the locals up in Bolands in ferrymount defo felt that way. By the way that is one of the wildest spots I ever set foot in. Some craic.

Fairymount! I got confirmed there.

In the church, not the pub. That was afterwards.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 24, 2013, 09:58:59 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 24, 2013, 09:49:32 PM

No the English gave us counties, the feckn British fucked up Ballagh.
Post by: Rossfan on September 24, 2013, 10:28:09 PM
. On a more positive note best fans I think are Roscommon. The craic out of them is deadly. Plus it helps I have some friends from the disputed territory of Ballagh and the one sided town of Loughlynn.
You are one intelligent decent  individual who recognises class when you see it.
For the record Mayo starts about 4 miles west of Ballagh.

Of the Counties that don't border Ros - I always like to see the 6 Co teams doing well( although Tyrone have gone down a good bit now) - with Armagh and Fermanagh fans being the nicest of them.
I like the 3 Ulster teams in the 26 Cos, Sure the 4 minnows in Munster couldn't care less about football so no use counting them or Kilkenny or Wexford.
You couldn't have anything against Carlow, Wicklow, or Louth. Kildare went down a bit but as my in laws live there I still love them.
I've always liked the Biffs. Laois have no support as they prefer knocking lumps out of each other ( 2 clubs in Arles FFS !!).
Meaths very hard to listen to but I still have good time for them and Cork as we need them to keep Kerry and Dublin in their boxes from time to time. I always shout for whoever plays Kerry or Dublin.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 24, 2013, 10:32:41 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 24, 2013, 09:58:59 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 24, 2013, 09:49:32 PM

No the English gave us counties, the feckn British fucked up Ballagh.

Thats like saying the Mexicans think the Americans fucked up Texas.
Post by: reddgnhand on September 24, 2013, 10:37:20 PM
Don't really dislike or like any other team. Met some great people from different counties on my travels. If we ever have to be segregated is the day I'll stop going to the games.
Post by: gwan-ye-boy-ya on September 24, 2013, 10:42:22 PM
County : Monaghan

Fermanagh : Support them
Tyrone : Support them, Got over Cavanagh in AIQ and cheered them against Mayo.
Armagh : Support them
Louth : Support them
Meath : Love it when they get bate. just love it.
Cavan : Support them. Love to bate them though. just love it.
Post by: BennyCake on September 24, 2013, 11:05:31 PM
Quote from: gwan-ye-boy-ya on September 24, 2013, 10:42:22 PM
County : Monaghan

Fermanagh : Support them
Tyrone : Support them, Got over Cavanagh in AIQ and cheered them against Mayo.
Armagh : Support them
Louth : Support them
Meath : Love it when they get bate. just love it.
Cavan : Support them. Love to bate them though. just love it.

Calm down there, Keegan  ;D
Post by: The Boy Wonder on September 25, 2013, 12:11:28 AM
I'm bemused by of the vitriol being spewed by some Armagh supporters against Laois. Having attended most of Armagh-Laois matches in Championship and league over the past 20 years I've not witnessed the behaviour complained of - I can't say it didn't happen but I would contend that a tiny minority of Laois "supporters" were to blame. I think any county supporters who carry grudges against other counties and broadcast such prejudices on a forum such as this are just small-minded, juvenile and immature.

At recent Laois games Vs Kildare, Meath and Longford I listened to terrible abuse towards Laois players from a small handful of opposition supporters - again these were tiny obnoxious elements and you just can't smear any county for the ignorance of a few.

Back to the neighbourly love theme - I always had grudging admiration and jealousy of Offaly's achievements in hurling and football down the years - oh that it could have been my county instead. Nor would I have begrudged Kildare had they made the breakthrough.
Post by: maddog on September 25, 2013, 12:25:51 AM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on September 25, 2013, 12:11:28 AM
I'm bemused by of the vitriol being spewed by some Armagh supporters against Laois. Having attended most of Armagh-Laois matches in Championship and league over the past 20 years I've not witnessed the behaviour complained of - I can't say it didn't happen but I would contend that a tiny minority of Laois "supporters" were to blame. I think any county supporters who carry grudges against other counties and broadcast such prejudices on a forum such as this are just small-minded, juvenile and immature.

At recent Laois games Vs Kildare, Meath and Longford I listened to terrible abuse towards Laois players from a small handful of opposition supporters - again these were tiny obnoxious elements and you just can't smear any county for the ignorance of a few.

Back to the neighbourly love theme - I always had grudging admiration and jealousy of Offaly's achievements in hurling and football down the years - oh that it could have been my county instead. Nor would I have begrudged Kildare had they made the breakthrough.

I wouldn't call it vitriol. You are right though every county has them, you just have them in spades. Thank god there is the like of Budweiser among ye. Ask yourself why we might be small minded juvenile and immature towards a county that we have no rivalry with.
Post by: reddgnhand on September 25, 2013, 12:33:25 AM
Quote from: maddog on September 25, 2013, 12:25:51 AM

I wouldn't call it vitriol. You are right though every county has them, you just have them in spades. Thank god there is the like of Budweiser among ye. Ask yourself why we might be small minded juvenile and immature towards a county that we have no rivalry with.

Maddog

How do you work that out did you count them?
Post by: maddog on September 25, 2013, 12:34:49 AM
Quote from: reddgnhand on September 25, 2013, 12:33:25 AM
Quote from: maddog on September 25, 2013, 12:25:51 AM

Maddog

How do you work that out did you count them?

You take as you find
Post by: ranch on September 25, 2013, 01:19:01 AM
County - Armagh

Rivals -Down / Tyrone / Monaghan / Louth

Would I cheer them on in AI final? All except Down.
Being from the Newry area would make it unbearable.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 25, 2013, 10:06:38 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 24, 2013, 09:33:21 PM
From Armagh

All in good time, Monksland first.
Post by: Feckitt on September 25, 2013, 10:42:14 AM
I have to object to the Laois poster who is obviously and rightly i suppose sticking up for his own county.  Firstly it has nothing to do with Billy Sheehan, as I wasnt at that match, and the matches that I refer to all happened before the Sheehan incident. 

Armagh have no border or any real reason for rivalry with Laois.  In fact there is no rivalry.  However, the match in 2005 was unprecedented for the nasty atmosphere from Laois fans.  There was no apparent call for it, and I still cannot figure out why?  Nor was it from a bunch of teenagers.  Almost every Laois person that was anywhere near me in the stand was in very bad form.  I have no problem with any other county.  A few years later at a nothing league match in the Athletic Grounds, the same horrible atmosphere was there.

I have never had this experience with any other county ever.  A few other posters have mentioned the 2005 match.  It is unlikely we were all sitting in the same section.  It just seems very strange.
Post by: maddog on September 25, 2013, 10:47:02 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 25, 2013, 10:42:14 AM
I have to object to the Laois poster who is obviously and rightly i suppose sticking up for his own county.  Firstly it has nothing to do with Billy Sheehan, as I wasnt at that match, and the matches that I refer to all happened before the Sheehan incident. 

Armagh have no border or any real reason for rivalry with Laois.  In fact there is no rivalry.  However, the match in 2005 was unprecedented for the nasty atmosphere from Laois fans.  There was no apparent call for it, and I still cannot figure out why?  Nor was it from a bunch of teenagers.  Almost every Laois person that was anywhere near me in the stand was in very bad form.  I have no problem with any other county.  A few years later at a nothing league match in the Athletic Grounds, the same horrible atmosphere was there.

I have never had this experience with any other county ever.  A few other posters have mentioned the 2005 match.  It is unlikely we were all sitting in the same section.  It just seems very strange.

Upper Hogan front row near enough on the 45 towards the hill end. It wasn't nice.
Post by: Walter Cronc on September 25, 2013, 10:48:29 AM

Was that the double header with Tyrone/Fermanagh on before when Tyrone won by about 15 points?? As a neutral I was at it (supporting Armagh) in the middle of Laois fans and didnt remember anything nasty being said. In saying that it can happen. As much as I hate all things Tyrone the worst experience I ever had was in Newry against Down in a qualifier (Skinner scored wonder goal) and some Down boll*x didnt stop going on about Londonderry from the first to last minute!! Not even sure he realised that the Down full back that day was a Bellaghy man Scullion!!!
Post by: blanketattack on September 25, 2013, 10:50:56 AM
Maybe Laois people have an inferiority complex from this...

The county was formerly known as Queen's County (Irish: Contae na Banríona) until its name was informally changed on establishment of the Irish Free State in 1922. The county's name was formerly spelt as Laoighis and Leix. Despite the county's name being upheld as Laois through the 2001 Local Government Act, no legislation was ever enacted after independence explicitly changing the name from Queen's County, the name formally established under the 1898 Local Government Act which continued to have legal effect. When land is sold in the county the relevant title deeds are still updated as being in Queen's County.

I was buying some electrical goods from a UK site last year and after selecting Ireland, for the dropdown list of counties it included 3 counties with 2 names i.e. County Derry/Londonderry, County Offaly/King's County, County Laois/Queen's County.
Post by: Feckitt on September 25, 2013, 10:59:16 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on September 25, 2013, 10:48:29 AM

Was that the double header with Tyrone/Fermanagh on before when Tyrone won by about 15 points?? As a neutral I was at it (supporting Armagh) in the middle of Laois fans and didnt remember anything nasty being said. In saying that it can happen. As much as I hate all things Tyrone the worst experience I ever had was in Newry against Down in a qualifier (Skinner scored wonder goal) and some Down boll*x didnt stop going on about Londonderry from the first to last minute!! Not even sure he realised that the Down full back that day was a Bellaghy man Scullion!!!

No, i think there was only one match on.  Throne beat Dublin in the QF that year.  Armagh had just won the greatest Ulster Championship ever won, and strolled into this match as hot favourites.  Laois could not have realistically have expected to win.  Armagh blew them away and didn't even have to get their hard hitting game going.  I wouldn't be on here complaining about 1 or 2 loudmouths.  Every county not least my own has plenty of them.  I am talking about middle aged men and women, young men, couples, basicly everyone was in extremely agressive form.  And they all got stuck into shouting partitionist stuff throughout the match.  It's happened at 3 matches v Laois, and I've never seen it at this level from any other county.  Sin é
Post by: Walter Cronc on September 25, 2013, 11:03:55 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 25, 2013, 10:59:16 AM

No, i think there was only one match on.  Throne beat Dublin in the QF that year.  Armagh had just won the greatest Ulster Championship ever won, and strolled into this match as hot favourites.  Laois could not have realistically have expected to win.  Armagh blew them away and didn't even have to get their hard hitting game going.  I wouldn't be on here complaining about 1 or 2 loudmouths.  Every county not least my own has plenty of them.  I am talking about middle aged men and women, young men, couples, basicly everyone was in extremely agressive form.  And they all got stuck into shouting partitionist stuff throughout the match.  It's happened at 3 matches v Laois, and I've never seen it at this level from any other county.  Sin é

My bad. Did yous play Laois in 2003??
Post by: Syferus on September 25, 2013, 11:05:22 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 25, 2013, 10:06:38 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 24, 2013, 09:33:21 PM
From Armagh

All in good time, Monksland first.

I usually see the maroon jerseys, pause for a second and then realise 'ah, sure it's just Westmeath'.
Post by: maddog on September 25, 2013, 11:06:48 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 25, 2013, 10:59:16 AM

The game I am referring to was after Tyrone destroying Fermanagh. Im sure it was 03 a 1/4 final and I think we won 0-15 to 0-13
Post by: Feckitt on September 25, 2013, 11:17:27 AM
I was in England in 03, so wasn't at that game.  I think it is lazy and pc to say that all supporters are as good and as bad as each other.
I have nothing against Laois,  I don't even know anyone from Laois!  I am sure that Laois is a nice county and a good place.  However bad experiences dating back 10 years and more have been common at matches against Laois.  I have no explanation as to why this is the case.  However plenty of other Armagh people on this thread have backed up what I have said.  Partitionist abuse is sickening and the people who indulge in it, let themselves down and their county down.  In fact a GAA match is the last place on earth where you should hear this.
Post by: Walter Cronc on September 25, 2013, 11:26:02 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 25, 2013, 11:17:27 AM
I was in England in 03, so wasn't at that game.  I think it is lazy and pc to say that all supporters are as good and as bad as each other.
I have nothing against Laois,  I don't even know anyone from Laois!  I am sure that Laois is a nice county and a good place.  However bad experiences dating back 10 years and more have been common at matches against Laois.  I have no explanation as to why this is the case.  However plenty of other Armagh people on this thread have backed up what I have said.  Partitionist abuse is sickening and the people who indulge in it, let themselves down and their county down.  In fact a GAA match is the last place on earth where you should hear this.

Totally agree but is it any worse than the abuse Derry fans have to put up with from Tyrone/Armagh supporters about Londonderry??
Post by: armaghniac on September 25, 2013, 11:26:39 AM
In 2005, the Armagh=Laois game was on a Saturday and had a modest attendance. I was in a premium seat and recall clearly the abuse coming from one Laois supporter near me, I couldn't understand this coming from a county we had no history with at that stage. Of course a sample of one is basically useless, but I hadn't heard the like before or since.

Like the booing in Dublin, most people do not do this, but the minority is bigger in some places than others.

Post by: maddog on September 25, 2013, 11:28:48 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on September 25, 2013, 11:26:02 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 25, 2013, 11:17:27 AM

Totally agree but is it any worse than the abuse Derry fans have to put up with from Tyrone/Armagh supporters about Londonderry??

Have never heard an Armagh fan mention Londonderry and if I did there would be words. A GAA match is indeed the last place you should here such crap.
Post by: Walter Cronc on September 25, 2013, 11:33:56 AM
Heard it plenty of times at Armagh Derry matches from 99 to 03. In saying that you had a rough bandwagon element at your games when you's were successful. I wouldnt say true Armagh fans would be at it. Tyrone on the other hand!!!
Post by: Feckitt on September 25, 2013, 11:40:09 AM
Armagh most definitely did have a bandwagon crowd, but the Laois abuse was all coming from proper supporters, not 19yr old pissheads.  The bandwagon brigade don't travel to the Athletic Grounds on a Saturday night.

I have heard Londonderry being chanted on the hill in Clones, by Armagh teenagers, but I don't think this compares to adults shouting Orange bastards, Queen Lovers and f**king dirty british bastards!
Post by: Keyser soze on September 25, 2013, 12:00:38 PM
Been to one match involving Laois supporters, not an experience i would care to repeat, most aggressive obnoxious behaviour I've ever witnessed at a match.
Post by: Jinxy on September 25, 2013, 12:04:24 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 25, 2013, 11:40:09 AM
Armagh most definitely did have a bandwagon crowd, but the Laois abuse was all coming from proper supporters, not 19yr old pissheads.  The bandwagon brigade don't travel to the Athletic Grounds on a Saturday night.

I have heard Londonderry being chanted on the hill in Clones, by Armagh teenagers, but I don't think this compares to adults shouting Orange b**tards, Queen Lovers and f**king dirty british b**tards!

I don't get it.  ???
I thought everybody loved Queen.
Post by: general_lee on September 25, 2013, 12:05:28 PM
County:
Armagh

Neighbours
Down: Yes, if Armagh go out, I shout for them.  :-[ (I know I shouldn't - family ties)
Louth: No real affinity to the Wee County, but if they go far i.e. Leinster final, I'd cheer them on.
Monaghan: Ditto above.
Tyrone: Same again. Used to despise them late 90s - late 2000s but that has subsided somewhat. I'd prefer they didn't win any more AIs until we catch up, but I certainly wouldn't be begrudge them if they did.

Rest of Uladh
Antrim: Mixed feelings towards Antrim. Would love their hurlers to win something, footballers, meh.
Cavan: Family ties to Cavan, so like to see them do well, cheered them on this year.
Derry: As above. Always liked the way the clubs hate each other up there. Hope the county team kicks on soon.
Donegal: Again another county I've a soft spot for, probably from the beatings we gave them at our peak. Was delighted for them last year.
Fermanagh: No affinity. Could go another 100 years without winning Ulster and I'd care none.

Outside Uladh:
No real grá or hate for anyone, I like to support the underdog. In hurling I always like na Déise or this year Clare. I prefer if Cork and Kerry don't win, not for any particular dislike but because they tend to produce serious teams.

As for supporters, Armagh have some of the worst (albeit bandwagoners). The oul "No London in Armagh" was a firm favourite over the years!
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 25, 2013, 12:26:18 PM
Being landlocked in Offaly we're surrounded on all sides, bordered with 7 counties.

Westmeath would be the closest to me. A great infrastructure project to get the country moving again would be to build a wall around the place.  8)
I never thought I'd say it, but winning a Leinster in 2004 was no bad thing as they seem less bitter these days. It's like the starved dog next door who spent years barking over the fence at you, finally getting a bone of his own and wandering off somewhere quiet to chew on it.

Meath - They don't overly bother me. They have an endless supply of pasty faced teenage yahoos that go to matches though. Generally produce tough and honest teams. I think Offaly gaels have a sneaking regard for counties like Meath and Down who have a tradition of going up to Croke Park and bossing the place every now and again. Then retreating to the long grass.

Kildare - A bit suspicious of them. Always has that little vibe of being a plastic GAA county with the Hooray Henry fans and the unscrupulous ways they try to get ahead. Can't say I'd be happy to see it being rewarded. To keep them happy we should let them rent Sam for a year, or create some prize for being the Xth best team in the country and then snip their credit card.

Leix - Don't really mind them, although the rivalry would be hairy over that side of Offaly. A few too many bleached hair and white boot wearing townies at times. Have to admire how they are supporting hurling and football at the moment, despite not having a big population. Set Portlaoise and Portarlington adrift into the Atlantic and they'd be a better county.

Tipperary - Aren't always good winners, but not so much of an issue these days. The default position of most people is to dread them, but I'd actually give the younger generation of Tipp folk the benefit of the doubt.

Galway - Don't mind them. Their hurling fans can overdo the negativity and complaining at times though.

Roscommon - Admire their enthusiasm and optimism. Great for getting behind their teams. Don't really cross our radar that much.
Post by: johnneycool on September 25, 2013, 01:23:17 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 25, 2013, 12:11:11 PM
I take every game as it comes and decide who I want to win. It can be so close at times that I have to delve into players' family history, right back to Kinsale.

Or I see which team has the most Brit names and then go against them. I rarely support Meath.

You'd rarely support Kilkenny then with a Henry and Walter playing for them.

Post by: laoislad on September 25, 2013, 01:30:45 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on September 25, 2013, 10:50:56 AM
Maybe Laois people have an inferiority complex from this...

The county was formerly known as Queen's County (Irish: Contae na Banríona) until its name was informally changed on establishment of the Irish Free State in 1922. The county's name was formerly spelt as Laoighis and Leix. Despite the county's name being upheld as Laois through the 2001 Local Government Act, no legislation was ever enacted after independence explicitly changing the name from Queen's County, the name formally established under the 1898 Local Government Act which continued to have legal effect. When land is sold in the county the relevant title deeds are still updated as being in Queen's County.

I was buying some electrical goods from a UK site last year and after selecting Ireland, for the dropdown list of counties it included 3 counties with 2 names i.e. County Derry/Londonderry, County Offaly/King's County, County Laois/Queen's County.

Eh no we don't.
Post by: laoislad on September 25, 2013, 01:31:31 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on September 25, 2013, 12:00:38 PM
Been to one match involving Laois supporters, not an experience i would care to repeat, most aggressive obnoxious behaviour I've ever witnessed at a match.

It's funny because I think exactly the same as that re Armagh fans.
Post by: mackers on September 25, 2013, 01:43:23 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 25, 2013, 01:31:31 PM

You also seem to think that about all northern teams and  Dublin........you're just re-inforcing the perception that posters have of Laois people every time you post.
Post by: laoislad on September 25, 2013, 01:44:08 PM
Quote from: mackers on September 25, 2013, 01:43:23 PM

You also seem to think that about all northern teams and  Dublin........you're just re-inforcing the perception that posters have of Laois people every time you post.

You seem to think I care what anyone thinks?
Post by: mackers on September 25, 2013, 01:45:35 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 25, 2013, 01:44:08 PM
Quote from: mackers on September 25, 2013, 01:43:23 PM

You seem to think I care what anyone thinks?
Exactly......obnoxious.
Post by: Keyser soze on September 25, 2013, 01:47:56 PM

Well good on ye.

I'm not from Armagh so I don't care.
Post by: laoislad on September 25, 2013, 01:48:48 PM
A lot of not caring going on around here.
Post by: laoislad on September 25, 2013, 01:51:44 PM
GSTQ

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF846/618474.jpg)
Post by: deiseach on September 25, 2013, 01:53:39 PM
I can't imagine AZ expected this outpouring of stories about that one time a group of knacks from <insert country here> behaved like knacks on the terrace, they're all knacks in <insert country here>. I know people are saying they're only relaying their experience and they're entitled to their opinion etc, but do they really think that some counties have a pronounced tendency towards producing scumbags? Merciful hour.
Post by: Walter Cronc on September 25, 2013, 01:54:38 PM
Quote from: deiseach on September 25, 2013, 01:53:39 PM
I can't imagine AZ expected this outpouring of stories about that one time a group of knacks from <insert country here> behaved like knacks on the terrace, they're all knacks in <insert country here>. I know people are saying they're only relaying their experience and they're entitled to their opinion etc, but do they really think that some counties have a pronounced tendency towards producing scumbags? Merciful hour.

Your lucky Tyrone aren't into their Hurling!!
Post by: Syferus on September 25, 2013, 02:06:59 PM
The two Laois lads in Carrick for the Donegal match were mad craic anyways.
Post by: SkillfulBill on September 25, 2013, 02:07:58 PM

Walter, I am disgusted at that Down Boll*x everyone knows that comment is for the exclusive use of Tyrone people towards our friendly Londenderry neighbours.

A direct response to 10 years of 'There will never be a SAM in Tyrone'
Post by: The Hill is Blue on September 25, 2013, 02:22:17 PM
I'm really only interested in the Dubs doing well. Outside that I take it on a match to match basis. There's no one county that I would never want to win.
Post by: seafoid on September 25, 2013, 02:22:33 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 25, 2013, 11:40:09 AM

I have heard Londonderry being chanted on the hill in Clones, by Armagh teenagers, but I don't think this compares to adults shouting Orange b**tards, Queen Lovers and f**king dirty british b**tards!
That is totally out of order at a gaelic football match. The sacrifices players in the North had to make over the years are not understood very well down South, imo.   
Post by: Flutehook on September 25, 2013, 09:00:58 PM
From Dublin - far north thereof, nearly surrounded on 3 sides by Meath. "Like living in their armpit" as the oul' fella would say. Poisonous atmosphere during the 80s & 90s, bordering on hatred and could never bring myself to support them. Was self-aware enough though to appreciate how pathetic my depression was at Louth, Westmeath and Armagh failing to do what we coudn't achieve either! l've warmed to them a little of late however, whether due to my maturity or their decline I can't yet say!

Dublin is a small county but I was blissfully unaware, until we had a match in Glencullen, of the vituperative intensity of my countymens' dislike of Wicklow down that way. I would have as much consciousness of Easter Island as a rival tbh.

Perhaps I'd exhausted all my negativity on Meath but I couldn't really grasp the degree of special antipathy many Dubs held for Kildare in their breakthrough years. I know there's the money and the imports but whatever they did was done to them first on that front. Most of the ones I've met seemed like decent football folk (and the odd hurling one too) it must be said.

We once used Laois as an aspirational  yardstick in hurling and I've a lot of time for their hurling folk and the work they do - didn't mind terribly when our U21s lost to them for example and would like to see them back up the ranks. Their footballers though - bit of an Easter Island job.

Longford/Westmeath/Carlow - generally would follow and would like to see some good underage work in recent years result in something for one of them.

Offaly - can't really remember them as a football force but used to love their hurlers in the 80s and 90s - loved the way they would never bow before KK.

On Kilkenny, they take the p1ss on the football but have set the standards in hurling for a dozen years. Would generally respect, but not love, them and was glad, if only for a change, to see Tipp turn them over.

Despite some epic mills with Wexford in the early 90s would have cheered for them against Limerick in 96. Sad to see where they are at now.

Louth is only up the road and, sure, you'd have to have a heart of stone not to feel for them after the serial travails at the hands (and feet) of the Meath heathens!

Outside of Leinster I would, having worked up that way in the past and made friends there, generally support Down, Armagh, Monaghan and Tyrone and like to see them going well. I'd like Antrim hurlers to do something but fear, a bit like Derry footballers, the insular club scene provides both a comfort blanket and a cop out.

Outside of these would like to see Waterford hurlers make the breakthrough - just not at our expense. Similarly for Mayo seniors and Roscommon U21s - good footballers and support in numbers.

Kerry, for their general hypocrisy, gracelessness and lack of class in dealing with Tyrone's superiority in recent years are always good to rattle.

Post by: larryin89 on September 25, 2013, 09:16:22 PM
Have a soft spot for Galway, would always cheer them on with gusto , except v our own shower of course.

Absolutely anyone except Roscommon , the sight of that jersey makes me sick.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 26, 2013, 12:08:00 AM
When did this much talked about Laois-Armagh rivalry begin?
Post by: Throw ball on September 26, 2013, 12:18:41 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 26, 2013, 12:08:00 AM
When did this much talked about Laois-Armagh rivalry begin?

Would not call it a serious rivalry. A number of Armagh fans experienced sectarian abuse at matches against Laois. Big Joe reported similar stories in his book. Then in the league in the last two years we had Billy Sheehan. All Armagh did in revenge was give them Justin McNulty! :D

On a serious note there are many decent Laois supporters and we all know that. But sport is about rivalry and when your team is not involved you look for a reason to support one of the teams playing. Now Armagh people can add Laois to a list of teams to cheer against which includes Tyrone and Down to varying degrees.