GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: The Insider on September 12, 2013, 09:26:39 PM

Title: Centers of excellance
Post by: The Insider on September 12, 2013, 09:26:39 PM
In the last couple of days the the center of excellence in Sligo has been abandoned while in the process of being built, the proposed one in Longford has been abandoned before machinery moved in . Last time i passed by the Leitrim one , it to looked like it was at a standstill with the dressing rooms yet to be completed . Should any other project like these ever  be allowed to go ahead again by Croke Park ?. Would be aware of the Longford situation , they purchased 42 acres apx around 2006/2007for around €320k .since then they have spent about €70k in planning and consultancy fee's. The projected costs of the project as disclosed to meeting last night would be north of €3,000,000 . Promised grants were in the region of €1,250,000 leaving a minimum shortfall in the region of €2,000,000 . In the current climate the present executive felt it was unsustainable to proceed any further at this time, a correct decision i feel . If the land is sold in the future  I would expect 70/80% of purchase price could be recovered leaving a loss in the region of around €150k and not the €400k as reported on various websites today .
No more than the Banks there was a system of checks clubs and counties had to go through when seeking to borrow/invest . There was 3 levels , at first level a county board could give permission, above a second level of spending it had to go to provincial level and after that Croke Park had to approve . All these committees change every 3 to 5 years , is it not about time that a specific full time management team is put in place to sign off of any project exceeding €100,000 . Latest rumour in the corridors of power is that 16 counties are now being moniterred by the finance committee in hq.
Title: Re: Centers of excellance
Post by: Syferus on September 12, 2013, 09:40:56 PM
The Oran one here is in (non) development hell too.

Hopefully now the Bekan centre is done Connacht GAA can figure out ways to help the individual counties complete their own centres.
Post by: Qwerty28 on September 12, 2013, 10:50:05 PM
What a waste of money so...all the hassle with the planning position and the local head the ball and now nothing to show for it...

http://www.longfordleader.ie/news/local/plans-for-3m-longford-gaa-centre-of-excellence-scrapped-1-5484595
Post by: Catch and Kick on September 12, 2013, 11:02:45 PM
We mightn't be very successful on the field but Carlow's Centre is now open, granted it is scaled back. But it does boast superb state of the art floodlit pitches. Location not to everyone's satisfaction but couldnt' be much closer to the centre of a small county!
Post by: Don Corleone on September 12, 2013, 11:10:30 PM

I'm curious. When are the players coming?  Recent papers report of "duelling" between teams at Junior Football.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 13, 2013, 06:27:58 AM
After a protracted mess (Celtic tiger related stuff), Kerry's centre of excellence finally got the go ahead this year and the funding is in place I'm told. Not as badly needed as it might be elsewhere, but still a very welcome and hopefully beneficial development. It is to be situated in Currans, near Farranfore approximately halfway between Tralee and Killarney.
Post by: North Longford on September 13, 2013, 06:46:11 AM
Why do these places need so many pitches. ...cavan have the 3g and half size training pitch behind breffni and I'd say
its loads. Was at the Louth one last year and there must have been 5 mostly  flood lit pitches.  When are even 3 of them used at the same time. .....
Post by: screenexile on September 13, 2013, 09:57:59 AM
We've had our centre of excellence for the best part of 20 years. It recently got a revamp as well and it's a fine facility. Not so much for the training of County teams or the hosting of the big club games but the sight of Owenbeg on a Friday night hosting 30+ Under 8 football teams is a joy to behold!!
Post by: Walter Cronc on September 13, 2013, 10:00:47 AM
Owenbeg looking well.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YdigKtLzVz0&feature=share&list=UUWiJQ0ICSS8ZxdyreZ8A8gA
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 13, 2013, 10:05:15 AM
On one hand the waste of money in Longford is a disgrace - on the other hand thankfully there was enough sensible people on board to call a halt to this madness before good money was thrown after bad.

AFAIK the 42 acres were close to the Royal Canal in Killashee.......and then the initial survey was done the canal was more or less dried out.

Lo and behold with works done in other areas to revitalise the whole waterways system inland the canal beside the proposed CoE became filled with water again and started leaking out into the 42 acres meaning that the land would need far far more work done to get it to a usable level.

I said it before that neighbouring counties need to consider a pooling of resources and share facilities like these to spread the cost and maximise the use of any Centre of Excellence. But that may be pie-in-the-sky. Wouldn't want training ground routines being spied on by the near door rivals.

So - anyone here want to buy 42 acres of prime Longford land with free thistles and buhalawns and handy access to the Royal Canal?

Post by: Rossfan on September 13, 2013, 10:59:33 AM
FFS The correct spelling is
CENTRE   and excellEnce >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Bingo on September 13, 2013, 11:27:11 AM
The big problem with these centres is that, unless you down the Owenbeg model, they will have no income to match the huge outlay.

The ones in the North can be largely grant funded, while the ones in the south rely on a decent chunk of grant funding, but the ongoing costs and debt will have no income against them. Its all coming out of the same pot which is already well stretched.

Owenbeg will host games and there will be money coming in - previously this would have gone to clubs hosting the matches as a % of the gate I assume.

While they will save effort and pitch rental costs, going forward these places are going to need serious funding to keep going.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 13, 2013, 12:03:34 PM
Don't think ours has been abandoned has it?
Post by: rodney trotter on September 13, 2013, 01:43:02 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 13, 2013, 12:03:34 PM
Don't think ours has been abandoned has it?

According to the Indo work has stalled., 3.2 million development. Thought O'Hara mentioned that, on TSG rant.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 13, 2013, 03:28:19 PM
Quote from: North Longford on September 13, 2013, 06:46:11 AM
Why do these places need so many pitches. ...cavan have the 3g and half size training pitch behind breffni and I'd say
its loads. Was at the Louth one last year and there must have been 5 mostly  flood lit pitches.  When are even 3 of them used at the same time. .....

We have 3 pitches in Thurles, in Dr. Morris Park, and there are certainly occasions when it is hard to get into them. I've had to bring development squad games to Templemore, Nenagh and Killea to get a free pitch at times. Tipp has Senior Football and Hurlers, Intermediate Hurlers, U21 Footballers and Hurlers, Minor Footballers and Hurlers along with U17, U16, U15 and U14 development squads in both codes. All of these would be looking to use Dr. Morris Park at various stages.

Depending on clubs to give you training facilities is a manager's heartache and headache. All clubs have loads of teams now as well, and with the ladies football and camogie expanding as well, it's tough to even get a loan of a club ground depending on the night you want, so a centralised, controlled centre with multiple pitches is not a luxury, I think it's a necessity.
Post by: rodney trotter on September 13, 2013, 03:44:25 PM

It's a priority more then anything else to have 2/3 pitches for Cavan anyway. (Most counties id imagine) Under age Squads, Senior Men and Women and Camogie.

Even with that, the 3g is a great facility for clubs to play a game on, if club pitches are unplayable.
Post by: Crete Boom on September 13, 2013, 04:05:41 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 13, 2013, 03:28:19 PM

We have 3 pitches in Thurles, in Dr. Morris Park, and there are certainly occasions when it is hard to get into them. I've had to bring development squad games to Templemore, Nenagh and Killea to get a free pitch at times. Tipp has Senior Football and Hurlers, Intermediate Hurlers, U21 Footballers and Hurlers, Minor Footballers and Hurlers along with U17, U16, U15 and U14 development squads in both codes. All of these would be looking to use Dr. Morris Park at various stages.

Depending on clubs to give you training facilities is a manager's heartache and headache. All clubs have loads of teams now as well, and with the ladies football and camogie expanding as well, it's tough to even get a loan of a club ground depending on the night you want, so a centralised, controlled centre with multiple pitches is not a luxury, I think it's a necessity.

So true I remember the Mayo minors having to train on Ballina RFC's pitch as it was the only pitch free during one very wet summer.
Post by: The Insider on September 13, 2013, 07:41:33 PM
In Longford's case the first option that will be explored will be coming to a quick agreement with the trustee's of St Mel's to base activities there . GAA and school and state are all winners here, 2nd option , identify 3 or 4 club grounds across the middle of the county, Mostrim, Shroid and Cullyfad for example and upgrade facilities in exchange for access , clubs are winners, final option  go through the process again ,identify potential site , go through planning and subsequent appeals which will happen in Longford's case and have whole thing drag on for another 5 years . No winners here .
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 14, 2013, 03:52:23 AM
Galway footballers have had their centre of excellence built since the mid 2000's in Loughgeorge and a fine facility it is as well.

http://www.sportsmanager.ie/cake/gaa2/gc/contentPage/41859/loughgeorge (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/cake/gaa2/gc/contentPage/41859/loughgeorge)

Unfortunately we seemed to produce better players when they just had a shed to change in. And cold showers.
Post by: seafoid on September 14, 2013, 06:42:02 AM
Quote from: Crete Boom on September 13, 2013, 04:05:41 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 13, 2013, 03:28:19 PM

So true I remember the Mayo minors having to train on Ballina RFC's pitch as it was the only pitch free during one very wet summer.
Was the Valley of Diamonds dune on the beach in Enniscrone eventually caused to be made off limits to the public because of all the sports teams that were using it for training and making shite of it?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 14, 2013, 08:32:31 AM
Drove by that set up in Louth alright coming from navan one day, was quite impressive, though Louth need to do a serious upgrade of their pitch in drogheda, its fairly poor but is on a confined site, a new pitch outside of drogheda would be a great plus, but no point if they couldnt get the support to macth it
Post by: The Worker on September 14, 2013, 08:35:48 AM
How for on is the dunsilly project in Antrim? Are the plans on hold with the work at casement?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 14, 2013, 10:44:36 AM
QuoteIn Longford's case the first option that will be explored will be coming to a quick agreement with the trustee's of St Mel's to base activities there . GAA and school and state are all winners here, 2nd option , identify 3 or 4 club grounds across the middle of the county, Mostrim, Shroid and Cullyfad for example and upgrade facilities in exchange for access , clubs are winners, final option  go through the process again ,identify potential site , go through planning and subsequent appeals which will happen in Longford's case and have whole thing drag on for another 5 years . No winners here .

Jases Insider....you'd want to be careful there as you know what happens to people with sensible ideas in Longford.

I am sure you can moot this through your club and see what happens....I am sure Declan Rowley in Mels would be amenable to the idea. However if I recall correctly Mels is built on a swamp and the pitches there in my day were just this side of a mudbath - especially the so called Junior field where it had been known for 1st years to get lost for a week or so under the mud.

It would be a good idea to develop as well the grounds you mentioned but then I can imagine there would be a bit of moaning from other clubs as to why they wouldn't get the development funds. Jesus, Longford is a small county and doesn't take too long to traipse from one ground to another.
Post by: The Insider on September 14, 2013, 08:03:20 PM
St Mel's was the original site for the Longford center , but a stop was put to it by the church at a high level as surplus lands might need to be sold to fund the "Redress scheme" With Declan Rowley as the new principle and a new bishop in place the Celtic Tiger misplaced  building land around Longford is now of little value so the original  plan may come to fruition now. At the minute Mel's are in the process of planing an all weather grass pitch . A minimum 50 -100 year lease would have to come into place to protect the GAA funds that would be invested in the project here.
Post by: Itchy on September 14, 2013, 09:29:03 PM
Why are they called "centres of excellence". Are they not just all weather pitches and dressing rooms
Post by: neilthemac on September 15, 2013, 06:22:38 PM
The location for the proposed Roscommon one is definitely wrong.

It's too close to the Bekan facility to get games and not central enough in the county for all clubs to make use of.

Plus, lots of money was wasted in Kilbride
Post by: omagh_gael on September 27, 2013, 10:48:56 AM
BBC report on the official opening of Tyrone's Garvaghey facilities, fair play to all involved in making this a reality.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/rugby-union/24291734?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=facebook

Post by: rosnarun on September 27, 2013, 11:02:29 AM
Quote from: Itchy on September 14, 2013, 09:29:03 PM
Why are they called "centres of excellence". Are they not just all weather pitches and dressing rooms
well the connaught one has a littel more
The Centre is comprised of the following:-

•Five full size Prunty pitches.
•One 3G Pitch
•Perimeter walking/running track (2.2 Klms)
•Flood Ligh0ng for five of the six pitches
•Parking: 400 Cars
•20 Buses
Main Building
The main building is comprised of:

•Reception Area & Office
•Six Dressing Rooms/Referees Rooms
•Three Meeting Rooms
•Lecture Theatre
•Board Room
•An Analysis Suite
•Gymnasium
•Functional Movement Room
•Two Physio Rooms
•Dining Hall and Kitchen
•Six Administration Offices
•Four Storage Rooms
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 27, 2013, 08:05:39 PM
Quote from: The Worker on September 14, 2013, 08:35:48 AM
How for on is the dunsilly project in Antrim? Are the plans on hold with the work at casement?

Dunsilly will be great, probably. After that, we just need some hurlers & footballers.
Post by: Hardy on September 29, 2013, 01:37:18 PM
What's an analysis suite?
What's a functional movement room?
Post by: Itchy on September 29, 2013, 01:47:24 PM
Ros. Every crappy hotel on the country has conference rooms that can used for all that stuff. Seems to me if you build a all weather pitch or two with lights and a gym that's all you need. The rest is just an expensive waste of money.
Post by: stephenite on September 29, 2013, 01:52:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 29, 2013, 01:37:18 PM

No idea, but if we ever win the All Ireland they'll be the difference
Post by: Hardy on September 29, 2013, 02:18:31 PM
Quote from: stephenite on September 29, 2013, 01:52:28 PM

How can they call it a centre of excellence if there's no studio or laboratory or workshop or whatever it is they use, for the lifestyle coach?
Post by: johnneycool on September 30, 2013, 02:33:00 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 29, 2013, 02:18:31 PM
Quote from: stephenite on September 29, 2013, 01:52:28 PM

How can they call it a centre of excellence if there's no studio or laboratory or workshop or whatever it is they use, for the lifestyle coach?

And a wee kitchen for the tae and sandwiches. A serving hatch is always good.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 08, 2013, 08:55:01 AM
Quote from: Itchy on September 29, 2013, 01:47:24 PM
Ros. Every crappy hotel on the country has conference rooms that can used for all that stuff. Seems to me if you build a all weather pitch or two with lights and a gym that's all you need. The rest is just an expensive waste of money.

Yeah why bother to try and improve things, sure isn't it grand the way it was!! That redevelopment of Croke Park was an awful waste as well.
Post by: Rossfan on November 08, 2013, 11:07:05 AM
I presume Louth might now bring the Drogheda grounds up to 1980's standards by terracing those green grassy banks near the Boyne.
Post by: Jinxy on November 08, 2013, 12:51:45 PM
Grass banks are part of our heritage.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 08, 2013, 02:56:37 PM
We used to have a great one in Tullamore until we got the swanky new terracing on that side.
Post by: muppet on November 08, 2013, 08:35:07 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 08, 2013, 12:51:45 PM

They didn't need bailing out either.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 09, 2013, 12:16:40 AM
Quote from: muppet on November 08, 2013, 08:35:07 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 08, 2013, 12:51:45 PM

They didn't need bailing out either.

Well sometimes in a bad winter the one in Tullamore had a few buckets worth of water alright.
Post by: Itchy on November 09, 2013, 09:58:07 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 08, 2013, 08:55:01 AM

Yeah why bother to try and improve things, sure isn't it grand the way it was!! That redevelopment of Croke Park was an awful waste as well.

Clown! Is astro and lights not an improvement? Spending millions on conference rooms when the country is full of them is a waste of money that could be put to much better use in coaching, promotion of our games and other more worthy areas. My point was to improve where there is value for money and some real benefit.
Post by: Jinxy on November 09, 2013, 01:09:55 PM

I think it's one of these.

(http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2007/09/18/larrycraig_toilet_wideweb__470x304,0.jpg)
Post by: muppet on November 10, 2013, 02:11:38 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 09, 2013, 01:09:55 PM

(http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2007/09/18/larrycraig_toilet_wideweb__470x304,0.jpg)

The Lobby of The Meath Centre of Excellence?
Post by: CD on November 10, 2013, 02:16:57 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 10, 2013, 02:11:38 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 09, 2013, 01:09:55 PM

The Lobby of The Meath Centre of Excellence?

This is where I do all of my best analysis. Such as it is!! ;)
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 11, 2013, 10:31:02 AM
Quote from: Itchy on November 09, 2013, 09:58:07 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 08, 2013, 08:55:01 AM

Clown! Is astro and lights not an improvement? Spending millions on conference rooms when the country is full of them is a waste of money that could be put to much better use in coaching, promotion of our games and other more worthy areas. My point was to improve where there is value for money and some real benefit.

You think it's possible to set up a Functional Movement room in a conference room? And you call me a Clown. You seem to be giving the impression that the GAA should be happy just covering the basics i.e pitch lights and gym. I don't agree with that at all. Just because we are amateur doesn't mean we can't try and improve things. And for a county team things like a recovery suite can be extremely important, considering they are practically training at a professional level in many cases.
Post by: fearglasmor on November 11, 2013, 01:46:17 PM
How much have Leitrim spent on Annaduff, anyone ?
Post by: Itchy on November 11, 2013, 09:11:29 PM
Here is the plan for Connacht Center of excellence...

Five full size Prunty pitches.
One 3G Pitch
Perimeter walking/running track (2.2 Klms)
Flood Lighting for five of the six pitches
Parking: 400 Cars
20 Buses
Main Building
The main building is comprised of:
Reception Area & Office
Six Dressing Rooms/Referees Rooms
Three Meeting Rooms
Lecture Theatre
Board Room
An Analysis Suite
Gymnasium
Functional Movement Room
Two Physio Rooms
Dining Hall and Kitchen
Six Administration Offices
Four Storage Rooms

You think the gaa money is best spent on building this white elephant in the arse hole of nowhere. When do Leitrim get to use it? Much more modest set ups are better value and spend money of coaching and club facilities. 6 admin offices ffs.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 12, 2013, 08:51:34 AM
I'd assume the building was built by people that know what is needed. I'd hazard a guess that they didn't put rooms in for the sake of it to burn a bit of money. I can't see what the issue is?

Pitches - Essential
Running track - Optional but hardly wasteful
Parking - Essential
reception area - essential
Dressing rooms - Essential 
Meeting rooms - Optional - But makes sense to have when your going to the hassle of building
Lecture Theatre - Optional - But I'd assume they use this for any training required so can see the logic
Board room - Fair enough I'd assume this could have been used as a meeting room
An Analysis suite - See no problem with this for a county set up.
Gym - Essential
Functional Movement suite - again for a county set up no issue
Physio Rooms - Essential
Dining hall/ Kitchen - Essential
Six administration Offices - Don't know how many are required TBH, but I'd say they're hardly a big cost and would be pretty essential is some shape
Four storage rooms - essential

There's not much there that was wasteful or illogical. And the couple of things that you could argue about (Meeting rooms/ board rooms) aren't exactly the big costs to build or upkeep.
Post by: fearglasmor on November 12, 2013, 01:47:26 PM
Is €2m on a "Centre of Excellence" value for money in Leitrim  ?

QuoteLeitrim GAA chief have made a renewed appeal to the county's fans to row in behind this year's Leitrim Supporters Club draw after they revealed that the county's teams will be using the new Centre of Excellence from September 2012.

by John Connolly

Leitrim GAA County Board Chairman Joe Flynn and Secretary Diarmuid Sweeney told the Leitrim Observer that the two all-weather pitches are ready for seeding and work is already swell underway on the extended dressing room complex at the new Leitrim GAA Centre of Excellence.

And both officials have asked the people of Leitrim to get behind the current Leitrim Supporters Club campaign after they revealed that the entire project in Annaduff has not yet cost the Board anything.

"The two full-sized and match capable pitches are ready for seeding and once we allow 15 to 16 months for the bedding in process, the new Centre of Excellence will be fully operational and available to all County teams, mens and ladies, and development squads," Joe Flynn revealed.

"The building of the extended dressing room complex is already under way, which will include four dressing rooms, a kitchen, an indoor handball alley and a wieghts room while the floodlights will be 350 lux, which is the requirement from Croke Park to stage matches.

"We considered the location very carefully as it is ideally located for our players travelling from Dublin, Galway, Sligo, Kinlough, etc."

However, Joe agreed that while the County Board have not had to levy clubs or dip into their own reserves, the success of the Leitrim Supporters Club draw is never more important.

"Thankfully we haven't had to dip into our own finances for the construction work to date but I particularly want to pay tribute to the clubs of Leitrim who agreed to put the €250,000 grant that we received thanks to the opening of Croke Park to other sports towards the cost of the Centre of Excellence.

"We are definitely hoping that we won't have to levy clubs for this development in the years to come if the Supporters Club draw is successful. We have been operating under a very tight budget for the last few years and I wish to acknowledge the help of the clubs of the county.

"We are hoping that a successful Supporters Club Draw will enable us to ease the financial burden on the County Board and enable us to push on and complete the project on time."

Secretary Diarmuid Sweeney revealed that, for once, the financial down-turn has helped Leitrim's cause - "The tendering process has been supervised in conjunction with Croke Park and the prices did come down over the lifetime of the project.

"We did re-tender the project twice and we have made major savings in that time. Croke Park helped up with the tendering process for the construction of the pitches and the dressing rooms complex.

"Croke Park also insisted that we install a spectator facility for 250 people and the Centre of Excellence will be available for schools games, which is a major burden for schools during the winter.

"We are also going to implement a time-management structure for the Centre as we want to ensure that the county football and hurling teams, ladies teams and development teams all have full access to the Centre. The two pitches will be well able to stand up to the proposed usage and we have also signed a six year maintenance contract for the grounds."

Appealing for the county's clubs to get behind this year's Supporters Club Draw, Joe Flynn said "We have changed the format this year in that we have allocated all clubs a specific amount to sell. We believe that it is a realistic amount and all clubs are required to sell their allocation and the Supporters Club Draw is so important to us as a County Board to be able to prepare out teams to the highest standards."

With €850,000 already spent on the purchase of the grounds and the development to date of the Centre of Excellence in Annaduff, which has been funded completely so far thanks to grants from Croke Park, Leitrim GAA County Board estimate that the entire cost of the project will come between €1.7 and €2 million.

Tickets are currently on sale in all the clubs of the county at a price of €40 with every ticket sold seeing the purchaser receive their Leitrim Supporters Club 2011 Car sticker and a specially commissioned Leitrim Supporters Club scarf to mark the 25th anniversary of the foundation of the club.

Post by: Jinxy on November 12, 2013, 02:19:09 PM
How is a 'functional movement room' going to help you kick a ball over the bar?
etc.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 12, 2013, 02:33:16 PM
By looking at sports-specific movements, analysing biomechanics and teaching people to put the laces behind it.   
Post by: neilthemac on November 12, 2013, 03:15:41 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 12, 2013, 02:19:09 PM
How is a 'functional movement room' going to help you kick a ball over the bar?
etc.

Using video it looks at movement imbalances which can lead to injury and poor running/jumping technique
Post by: Hardy on November 12, 2013, 03:24:04 PM
Warning - includes sound
http://www.tubechop.com/watch/1641607 (http://www.tubechop.com/watch/1641607)
Post by: Jinxy on November 12, 2013, 03:52:48 PM
Ollie Murphy never needed a functional movement room.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 12, 2013, 03:57:39 PM
He wouldn't have went of injured in 2001 if he had had one!  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on November 12, 2013, 04:31:54 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 12, 2013, 03:52:48 PM
And he walked 15 miles to school in his bare feet too I suppose  ::)
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 12, 2013, 05:21:47 PM
Trueblue - this is the "connacht" center of excellence. While the rooms might be all great ideas who is going to use them. Only Roscommon and maybe south mayo probably. Sligo and Leitrim started working on their own centers of excellence so obviously don't think much of the idea of doing their gym work or physio in Ballyhaunis. I tend to agree that this is largely a waste of money.
Post by: Jinxy on November 12, 2013, 05:59:40 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 12, 2013, 04:31:54 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 12, 2013, 03:52:48 PM
And he walked 15 miles to school in his bare feet too I suppose  ::)

You take yourself, and others, way too seriously.
Post by: fearglasmor on November 12, 2013, 08:56:08 PM
If you give someone a degree in something they have to be able to make claims to justify their existence. Sports Science is a self serving self promoting industry following what every other profession does by taking simple common sense ideas and building a mystique and language around them to make people believe it is more complicated than it actually is.

Who benefits most from the sports science industry ? Sportsmen, the watching public or sports scientists ?

Its amazing how all the great teams and players down the years could function without centres of excellence.
Post by: Syferus on November 12, 2013, 09:07:10 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 12, 2013, 05:21:47 PM
Trueblue - this is the "connacht" center of excellence. While the rooms might be all great ideas who is going to use them. Only Roscommon and maybe south mayo probably. Sligo and Leitrim started working on their own centers of excellence so obviously don't think much of the idea of doing their gym work or physio in Ballyhaunis. I tend to agree that this is largely a waste of money.

It's mainly for underage teams and day trips by county teams, not for going back and down every week. Strange that you didn't even mention Galway (Tuam is a 25 minute drive from Ballyhaunis) or East Mayo, where Ballyhaunis is. South Sligo is within easy driving distance of the centre and the Sligo senior team has made more than a few training trips to Bekan over the past two years or so.

The day of the second round of the Tedd Webb this year alone had eight U16 games in the morning and then an underage hurling blitz was coming in when the football had ended.

It's getting plenty of use. Costly, but the location is hard to argue with.
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 12, 2013, 11:08:58 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 12, 2013, 09:07:10 PM

It's mainly for underage teams and day trips by county teams, not for going back and down every week. Strange that you didn't even mention Galway (Tuam is a 25 minute drive from Ballyhaunis) or East Mayo, where Ballyhaunis is. South Sligo is within easy driving distance of the centre and the Sligo senior team has made more than a few training trips to Bekan over the past two years or so.

The day of the second round of the Tedd Webb this year alone had eight U16 games in the morning and then an underage hurling blitz was coming in when the football had ended.

Yes and a fair number of Sligo clubs are using the place as well.  That's what I read in the Connacht Tribune when it covered the appointment Of John Tobin, the former Galway footballer to the coaching staff.
The press release stated that, in fact, Sligo clubs appeared to be more interested in the place than those of any other county. As far as I know, Cathal Cregg, works there also. I'd say clubs in North and East Galway make use of the facilities there also as it's within easy reach of all that region.
Post by: Syferus on November 12, 2013, 11:43:31 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on November 12, 2013, 11:08:58 PM

Yes and a fair number of Sligo clubs are using the place as well.  That's what I read in the Connacht Tribune when it covered the appointment Of John Tobin, the former Galway footballer to the coaching staff.
The press release stated that, in fact, Sligo clubs appeared to be more interested in the place than those of any other county. As far as I know, Cathal Cregg, works there also. I'd say clubs in North and East Galway make use of the facilities there also as it's within easy reach of all that region.

Cregger's the Strength and Conditioning officer for Connacht GAA working out of Bekan alright. Was smart of the lads, for all the maligning we give them, to see the talent they had at their fingertips and got him right after he finished his Master's in DCU.
Post by: neilthemac on November 13, 2013, 08:26:30 AM
Quote from: fearglasmor on November 12, 2013, 08:56:08 PM
If you give someone a degree in something they have to be able to make claims to justify their existence. Sports Science is a self serving self promoting industry following what every other profession does by taking simple common sense ideas and building a mystique and language around them to make people believe it is more complicated than it actually is.

Who benefits most from the sports science industry ? Sportsmen, the watching public or sports scientists ?

Its amazing how all the great teams and players down the years could function without centres of excellence.
Different times
Thats cause numbers of kids playing the game were smaller

Don't belittle those past players and teams for their ignorance of relevant areas of sports science

Post by: trueblue1234 on November 13, 2013, 09:09:25 AM

I know. I don't know much about the location or whether there was better sites available. But my point is that I don't see such a development as being a waste of money. 
Post by: Crete Boom on November 13, 2013, 11:05:10 AM
Quote from: Syferus on November 12, 2013, 11:43:31 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on November 12, 2013, 11:08:58 PM

Cregger's the Strength and Conditioning officer for Connacht GAA working out of Bekan alright. Was smart of  the lads, for all the maligning we give them, to see the talent they had at their fingertips and got him right after he finished his Masters' in DCU.

Cathal also worked for a while with Connacht Rugby team under Elwood while he was finishing his masters. I would know a couple of the lads in the squad and they rated him highly from his time with them. Seems to be a good asset to have here in Connacht.
Post by: Zulu on November 13, 2013, 11:46:09 AM

You shouldn't really highlight your ignorance on a subject, best to say nothing on topics you know little about.
Post by: Rossfan on November 13, 2013, 11:49:41 AM
Quote from: Zulu on November 13, 2013, 11:46:09 AM

You shouldn't really highlight your ignorance on a subject, best to say nothing on topics you know little about.

Jaysus but there'd be some reduction in the number of postings on GAABoard if that maxim was followed  :-X
Post by: fearglasmor on November 13, 2013, 06:48:54 PM

"There were lot of fools at the conference – pompous fools – and pompous fools drive me up the wall. Ordinary fools are alright; you can talk to them and try to help them out. But pompous fools – guys who are fools and covering it all over and impressing people as to how wonderful they are with all this hocus pocus – THAT, I CANNOT STAND! An ordinary fool isn't a faker; an honest fool is alright. But a dishonest fool is terrible!"

― Richard P. Feynman
Post by: muppet on November 13, 2013, 07:13:58 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on November 13, 2013, 06:48:54 PM

"There were lot of fools at the conference – pompous fools – and pompous fools drive me up the wall. Ordinary fools are alright; you can talk to them and try to help them out. But pompous fools – guys who are fools and covering it all over and impressing people as to how wonderful they are with all this hocus pocus – THAT, I CANNOT STAND! An ordinary fool isn't a faker; an honest fool is alright. But a dishonest fool is terrible!"

― Richard P. Feynman

Feynman has some good quotes:

Quote"There are 10^11 stars in the galaxy. That used to be a huge number. But it's only a hundred billion. It's less than the national deficit! We used to call them astronomical numbers. Now we should call them economical numbers."
Post by: AZOffaly on November 13, 2013, 08:07:05 PM
Jaysus muppet, give it a rest :)
Post by: muppet on November 13, 2013, 10:03:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 13, 2013, 08:07:05 PM
Jaysus muppet, give it a rest :)

If we just pretend it didn't happen.......
Post by: Zulu on November 13, 2013, 10:31:46 PM

― Richard P. Feynman

Don't go putting yourself down fearglasmor, I wouldn't say you're a fool, pompous or otherwise, you just shouldn't confidently state something mind boggingly incorrect on a subject you are not knowledgeable on. No man is an expert on everything so no need to beat yourself up.
Post by: fearglasmor on November 14, 2013, 01:53:15 PM
Quote from: Zulu on November 13, 2013, 10:31:46 PM

― Richard P. Feynman

Don't go putting yourself down fearglasmor, I wouldn't say you're a fool, pompous or otherwise, you just shouldn't confidently state something mind boggingly incorrect on a subject you are not knowledgeable on. No man is an expert on everything so no need to beat yourself up.

Ok, so instead of a statement that I should only post on issues I am knowledgeable or expert in, maybe you could help me out here by posting an insight into your expertise on the issue and maybe more than me would benefit from your post. I always thought that was the general idea behind discussion forums, though I am no expert on that subject either, so maybe I shouldn't  say that.
Post by: Zulu on November 14, 2013, 02:22:14 PM
Your absolutely right, we can all post whatever we want on whatever topic we want but would you not agree that we should temper our comments on topics we have limited knowledge on? Would you not regard a poster as a bit of an idiot if he came on here and said the following?;

1. I know nothing about football but that Dublin crowd are useless.

2. I've never even held a guitar but that Hendrix lad was pure shite.

3. I was in San Fran last year and that Golden Gate bridge is some piece of rubbish, I don't know what's keeping it up. I'm no engineer but the lad who designed that doesn't know his arse from his elbow.

I presume you'd agree the above comments are untrue and anyone saying them would not know much about football, guitar playing and engineering? Well you came out with the same kind of nonsense. You dismissed the science of human performance as.....

Quotea self serving self promoting industry following what every other profession does by taking simple common sense ideas and building a mystique and language around them to make people believe it is more complicated than it actually is

......that is patently nonsense and to come out with such a dismissive comment you should have a strong argument to support it and not just a "it's a free country so I can say whatever mad bollocks I like" defence.

You followed this with the daftest supporting argument I've ever heard.....

QuoteIts amazing how all the great teams and players down the years could function without centres of excellence.

If that's a reasonable argument you could argue that society functioned just fine when we all wore buffalo skins, lived in caves and hunted wild animals for our food. Humans functioned but few would argue that we haven't made some improvements. Centres of excellence are a great idea if they can be funded and built in the correct location.
Post by: fearglasmor on November 14, 2013, 03:34:09 PM
Quote from: Zulu on November 14, 2013, 02:22:14 PM
Your absolutely right, we can all post whatever we want on whatever topic we want but would you not agree that we should temper our comments on topics we have limited knowledge on? Would you not regard a poster as a bit of an idiot if he came on here and said the following?;

3. I was in San Fran last year and that Golden Gate bridge is some piece of rubbish, I don't know what's keeping it up. I'm no engineer but the lad who designed that doesn't know his arse from his elbow.

I presume you'd agree the above comments are untrue and anyone saying them would not know much about football, guitar playing and engineering? Well you came out with the same kind of nonsense. You dismissed the science of human performance as.....

Quotea self serving self promoting industry following what every other profession does by taking simple common sense ideas and building a mystique and language around them to make people believe it is more complicated than it actually is

......that is patently nonsense and to come out with such a dismissive comment you should have a strong argument to support it and not just a "it's a free country so I can say whatever mad bollocks I like" defence.

QuoteIts amazing how all the great teams and players down the years could function without centres of excellence.

If that's a reasonable argument you could argue that society functioned just fine when we all wore buffalo skins, lived in caves and hunted wild animals for our food. Humans functioned but few would argue that we haven't made some improvements. Centres of excellence are a great idea if they can be funded and built in the correct location.

Well at least that's a response that opens up a discussion rather than shutting it down.

Regarding professions. As a fully qualified card carrying member of one and having gone through years of education and training equal to somewhere between a degree and a masters, I am convinced that what professional bodies do is as I stated. Take core principles, based in common sense approaches and build a language and theoretical framework around them so as to preclude the uninitiated and make the basic ideas more complicated than they are. I am not qualified in Sports Science but I do not expect their profession to be any different. To back that up I can rely on my own experience with excellent coaches long before anyone had considered sports science.

As for the original argument which was I think about centres of excellence being a waste of money, I would argue this. One of my own professional pre occupations is with cost benefit analysis. For an individual sportsman I have no problem in accepting that the cost and effort expended on forensic analysis of movement and working on changing or improving that movement has a direct relationship to the output of that sportsman. A golfer is probably a prime example where maybe a 1% improvement in distance, for example, might have a direct result in lower scores over a tournament. So in that case minute improvements can be justified. And maybe I'm wrong in this, but at the top level in any sport you are only talking about minute differences. For a team sport and especially an amateur team sport, I think the cost benefit relationship is completely different. If we start talking about small differences at an individual level, the impact of those differences are diluted by the fact that it is a team sport and so performance depends on the interaction of 20 individuals. There is further dilution by the fact that there are 20 opposing individuals who ave a direct impact on the teams performance. The officals in football are another active participant that impact the performance achieved. So it makes sense that the link between individual improvements and team output are much more diluted than they are in individual sports. 
So if the benefits are diluted, is the cost warranted for an amateur sports team ? To go back to my own vintage, would sports science make Matt Connor a better footballer, I don't think so. Would sports science have made a Matt Connor out of a John Guinan, I don't think so.
So what does it do. Maybe if guys believe it gives them an edge, then it does, but does that justify the cost?

I've lost track a bit on where I'm going now, and havent any more time to spend on it so Im gonna click post.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 14, 2013, 03:42:16 PM
But your looking at the individual improvement in comparison to a golfer. When in reality you are talking about all 20 players on a team improving by 1 or two % as they will all be getting use out of the room. So I don't believe the benefits are diluted as you say, infact quite the opposite as there will be multiple beneficiaries in a team using these facilities.
Post by: Hardy on November 14, 2013, 03:49:39 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on November 14, 2013, 03:34:09 PM

Well at least that's a response that opens up a discussion rather than shutting it down.

Regarding professions. As a fully qualified card carrying member of one and having gone through years of education and training equal to somewhere between a degree and a masters, I am convinced that what professional bodies do is as I stated. Take core principles, based in common sense approaches and build a language and theoretical framework around them so as to preclude the uninitiated and make the basic ideas more complicated than they are. I am not qualified in Sports Science but I do not expect their profession to be any different. To back that up I can rely on my own experience with excellent coaches long before anyone had considered sports science.

As for the original argument which was I think about centres of excellence being a waste of money, I would argue this. One of my own professional pre occupations is with cost benefit analysis. For an individual sportsman I have no problem in accepting that the cost and effort expended on forensic analysis of movement and working on changing or improving that movement has a direct relationship to the output of that sportsman. A golfer is probably a prime example where maybe a 1% improvement in distance, for example, might have a direct result in lower scores over a tournament. So in that case minute improvements can be justified. And maybe I'm wrong in this, but at the top level in any sport you are only talking about minute differences. For a team sport and especially an amateur team sport, I think the cost benefit relationship is completely different. If we start talking about small differences at an individual level, the impact of those differences are diluted by the fact that it is a team sport and so performance depends on the interaction of 20 individuals. There is further dilution by the fact that there are 20 opposing individuals who ave a direct impact on the teams performance. The officals in football are another active participant that impact the performance achieved. So it makes sense that the link between individual improvements and team output are much more diluted than they are in individual sports. 
So if the benefits are diluted, is the cost warranted for an amateur sports team ? To go back to my own vintage, would sports science make Matt Connor a better footballer, I don't think so. Would sports science have made a Matt Connor out of a John Guinan, I don't think so.
So what does it do. Maybe if guys believe it gives them an edge, then it does, but does that justify the cost?

I've lost track a bit on where I'm going now, and havent any more time to spend on it so Im gonna click post.

Or, as GBS said, all professions are conspiracies against the laity.
Post by: Zulu on November 14, 2013, 10:29:52 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on November 14, 2013, 03:34:09 PM

That's much better fearglasmor, all professions have a bit of BS and bluster about them but sports science helps direct training in a focused and educated way. It isn't perfect and is continually evolving but it is certainly helping to take the guess work out of physical development.

As regards centres of excellence, it should be remembered that these aren't for the sole preserve of senior teams but allow county boards have a permanent base for all county sand development squads. That they have a gym and some fitness rooms is hardly a sign of a sport losing the run of itself.

On Matt Connor, sport science won't produce a Matt Connor but it has never claimed it can. Modern training is about making the next Matt Connor a little bit stronger, a little bit faster, a little bit more mentally strong and a bit more focused and the parts of his game he could get better at. It's about improvements based on scientific knowledge, it isn't perfect but it is better than what went before even if many talented coaches might have intuitively known some of it already.