Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: southdown on September 04, 2013, 12:10:59 PM

Title: Planning a weding
Post by: southdown on September 04, 2013, 12:10:59 PM
I am planning to get married around 12 months from now.  Got engaged last weekend but I literally have no idea what to do now.

All tips on how to save costs, who to use for what etc will be really appreciated.

I am from South Down but the likely venues will probably be in Co Louth (Ballymac, Carrickdale, 4 Seasons in Carlingford, Canal Court Newry all possibilities).

Can anyone in the area suggest a band?

Thanks!!
Title: Re: Planning a weding
Post by: ziggysego on September 04, 2013, 12:15:10 PM
Congratulations on your engagement southdown.

I've been to a couple of weddings where The Boogiemen (http://www.justinmcgurk.co.uk/the-boogiemen/) were playing. A very good band for a wedding.
Post by: laoislad on September 04, 2013, 12:16:07 PM
Don't do it. Get out while you still can.
Post by: Denn Forever on September 04, 2013, 12:16:38 PM
Previous discussion on bands.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=17531.msg1066299#msg1066299
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 04, 2013, 12:20:52 PM
Best way to save money? Don't get married

It's grand for a few years then all down hill and then you're out a fortune. Good luck
Post by: illdecide on September 04, 2013, 12:27:34 PM
Def don't do it...i don't care about the money side of things but your wife turns into a hateful nasty boot the longer your married and eventually she'll turn out just like her mother just like you were advised it would but thought it never could happen...
Post by: Rois on September 04, 2013, 12:30:06 PM
I'm getting married next July.  We're going to France, to Chamonix in the Alps and my uncle is coming out to do the mass, all booked in with the French parish.  Then we're having an informal bbq back in Belfast - kinda challenging convention with all this but I've been to loads of "Irish" weddings now so we're doing it a bit differently.

I won't need wedding cars, have a few ideas on photography (ask people how often they look at their wedding album - I am determined not to spend a fortune on photography), having one bridesmaid, and I'm even letting the groom away with not wearing a tie!

We had a Club Tyrone do there a few weeks ago and had a band called Hype at it - just two lads but they were absolutely brilliant. 

Post by: J70 on September 04, 2013, 01:08:03 PM
Let your bride to be handle the details. Help choose a place and venue. Beyond that, if she wants your input, she will ask for it!
Post by: pullhard on September 04, 2013, 01:15:04 PM
Quote from: J70 on September 04, 2013, 01:08:03 PM
Let your bride to be handle the details. Help choose a place and venue. Beyond that, if she wants your input, she will ask for it!

Thats what i have noticed. Dont get invovled in any of the bitchness that will occur between bride, mum/sisters and bridemaids. If you do, god help you and be on your ladies side regardless.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 04, 2013, 01:52:12 PM
Quote from: pullhard on September 04, 2013, 01:15:04 PM

That's what i have noticed. Dont get invovled in any of the bitchness that will occur between bride, mum/sisters and bridemaids. If you do, god help you and be on your ladies side regardless.

+infinity!!

I picked the car for the grooms (only after she seen it) I picked the honeymoon, was in charge of getting the flowers for the males, nearly fcuked that up and needed to be in the church before she got there, nearly fcuked that up after wee headed out to pub on the night before. I've only ever picked the type of TV for the house, beyond that you'll not make any decisions the rest of your married life
Post by: Billys Boots on September 04, 2013, 01:58:29 PM
This seemed like the place for this ...  :P

(http://acidcow.com/pics/20130903/acid_picdump_84.jpg)
Post by: muppet on September 04, 2013, 02:00:59 PM
1. Learn to spell 'wedding'; ('weding' is bad enough, but if you stick in another 'e' instead of the 'd' on the invitations you mightn't live to see your stag.)
2. Go abroad like Rois said. (Been to 5 weddings (sp.) abroad now and all were great and each different from the next. Remember, people will make their own way and stay for a good fews nights so it is like being on holiday will all the important people there with you. (Bring two livers though).
3. Decide early with herself how you would like the presents: none at all, money or wedding list are all ok but let people know a few months in advance. If you are going abroad this is especially important.
4. If you get married in certain countries you can get a divorce quite handily. (NB! do not discuss this one with herself!!!)
5. Do get a pre-nuptial agreement, only call it something else. I said it was a Department of Foreign Affairs form to release me to get married abroad, which was fine, until I really had to contact the Department of Foreign Affairs to get married abroad.
6. If you are getting married abroad contact the Department of Foreign Affairs.
Post by: johnneycool on September 04, 2013, 02:08:06 PM
On this getting married abroad malarky, do you need to register the wedding here when you come back?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 04, 2013, 02:12:13 PM
Getting married here next June - in a brewery no less  ;D

(http://www.weddingobsession.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/18-steam-whistle-brewery-toronto-wedding-ceremony.jpg)
Post by: muppet on September 04, 2013, 02:12:53 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 04, 2013, 02:08:06 PM
On this getting married abroad malarky, do you need to register the wedding here when you come back?

http://www.dfa.ie/home/index.aspx?id=274 (http://www.dfa.ie/home/index.aspx?id=274)

It is more to ensure people are eligible to get married (i.e. are not currently married).
Post by: CiKe on September 04, 2013, 02:29:54 PM
Quote from: Rois on September 04, 2013, 12:30:06 PM
I'm getting married next July.  We're going to France, to Chamonix in the Alps and my uncle is coming out to do the mass, all booked in with the French parish.  Then we're having an informal bbq back in Belfast - kinda challenging convention with all this but I've been to loads of "Irish" weddings now so we're doing it a bit differently.

I won't need wedding cars, have a few ideas on photography (ask people how often they look at their wedding album - I am determined not to spend a fortune on photography), having one bridesmaid, and I'm even letting the groom away with not wearing a tie!

We had a Club Tyrone do there a few weeks ago and had a band called Hype at it - just two lads but they were absolutely brilliant.

Hiked around Mont Blanc in the summer. Get the cable car up to Brevent for your photos (possibly best views on whole route), and have a friend with a decent camera take them. With that back drop you hardly need a professional.
Post by: Hardy on September 04, 2013, 02:43:59 PM
(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/C3027Graphofmenatweddings_zpse5c849ad.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/C3027Graphofmenatweddings_zpse5c849ad.png.html)
Post by: maddog on September 04, 2013, 02:46:05 PM
Well at least you cant run into the gimp we had for our wedding. The mother in law booked the photographer and the driver who happened to be same guy, anyways no one told us he was a raging alco. After the chapel the missus wanted to call at the hospital (about a mile away) to see her ill grandmother so she could see her in the aul wedding dress and all that craic. Anyways the deal with the car was that there was to be a bottle of champers set up for us on way to reception. When we come out of the hospital yer man had the champers drained and the bottle lying on the back seat of the roller, then when we got to the hotel he couldnt photograph a bloody thing, had to do it all ourselves. Feckin tosspot.
Post by: Rois on September 04, 2013, 02:57:32 PM
Quote from: CiKe on September 04, 2013, 02:29:54 PM

Hiked around Mont Blanc in the summer. Get the cable car up to Brevent for your photos (possibly best views on whole route), and have a friend with a decent camera take them. With that back drop you hardly need a professional.

Aw class, did you enjoy it?  We are getting married in the church in the middle of town just at the bottom of the hill up to Brevent - the little one I wanted out at the bottom of the Flegere cable car has been deconsecrated so whilst you can have a humanist wedding in it, you can't have a Catholic wedding!  I've skied quite a few times in Chamonix and going back there to ski this year (and get hair trials and check out florists!). 
My boyfriend's aunt may be called in for the photos (you're so right about the backdrop) - plus I do not want stupid looking photos of my shoes and us getting make up done, which is really a load of sh1te but included in all the wedding packages over here.  Seriously, all I want to see in wedding pics is a few family ones and then guest photos.  I am going to just ask some guests in different groups to take a few good ones around the reception part. 

We can't get legally married in France as we won't have been resident there for 3 months in advance.  We have to do it in City Hall here first (which is fine with the priest, handily my uncle) but I won't consider myself married until the church bit. 

So I'm currently organising 3 ceremonies! 

Maddog, that's some story!  I assume you coped ok and saved yourself the cost of both the car and the photos? 
Post by: johnneycool on September 04, 2013, 03:02:07 PM
Quote from: maddog on September 04, 2013, 02:46:05 PM
Well at least you cant run into the gimp we had for our wedding. The mother in law booked the photographer and the driver who happened to be same guy, anyways no one told us he was a raging alco. After the chapel the missus wanted to call at the hospital (about a mile away) to see her ill grandmother so she could see her in the aul wedding dress and all that craic. Anyways the deal with the car was that there was to be a bottle of champers set up for us on way to reception. When we come out of the hospital yer man had the champers drained and the bottle lying on the back seat of the roller, then when we got to the hotel he couldnt photograph a bloody thing, had to do it all ourselves. Feckin tosspot.

The alarm bells would be ringing at this point for me.

I bet you didn't say a word to the ma in law!
Post by: naka on September 04, 2013, 03:03:59 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 04, 2013, 12:16:07 PM
Don't do it. Get out while you still can.
Post by: laoislad on September 04, 2013, 03:07:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 04, 2013, 01:52:12 PM
Quote from: pullhard on September 04, 2013, 01:15:04 PM

That's what i have noticed. Dont get invovled in any of the bitchness that will occur between bride, mum/sisters and bridemaids. If you do, god help you and be on your ladies side regardless.

+infinity!!

I picked the car for the grooms (only after she seen it) I picked the honeymoon, was in charge of getting the flowers for the males, nearly fcuked that up and needed to be in the church before she got there, nearly fcuked that up after wee headed out to pub on the night before. I've only ever picked the type of TV for the house, beyond that you'll not make any decisions the rest of your married life

You need to grow a set....
Post by: maddog on September 04, 2013, 03:09:12 PM
Quote from: Rois on September 04, 2013, 02:57:32 PM

Aw class, did you enjoy it?  We are getting married in the church in the middle of town just at the bottom of the hill up to Brevent - the little one I wanted out at the bottom of the Flegere cable car has been deconsecrated so whilst you can have a humanist wedding in it, you can't have a Catholic wedding!  I've skied quite a few times in Chamonix and going back there to ski this year (and get hair trials and check out florists!). 
My boyfriend's aunt may be called in for the photos (you're so right about the backdrop) - plus I do not want stupid looking photos of my shoes and us getting make up done, which is really a load of sh1te but included in all the wedding packages over here.  Seriously, all I want to see in wedding pics is a few family ones and then guest photos.  I am going to just ask some guests in different groups to take a few good ones around the reception part. 

We can't get legally married in France as we won't have been resident there for 3 months in advance.  We have to do it in City Hall here first (which is fine with the priest, handily my uncle) but I won't consider myself married until the church bit. 

Maddog, that's some story!  I assume you coped ok and saved yourself the cost of both the car and the photos?

No idea, all i had to do was turn up. I would say the father in law would have been looking a reduction of yer man
Post by: maddog on September 04, 2013, 03:10:20 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 04, 2013, 03:02:07 PM
Quote from: maddog on September 04, 2013, 02:46:05 PM

The alarm bells would be ringing at this point for me.

I bet you didn't say a word to the ma in law!

Many a word was had before during and after. But we are grand now!

Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 04, 2013, 03:39:43 PM
Here's a good wedding band that are Drogheda based

http://electricavenue.ie/ (http://electricavenue.ie/)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 04, 2013, 03:55:28 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 04, 2013, 02:00:59 PM
1. Learn to spell 'wedding'; ('weding' is bad enough, but if you stick in another 'e' instead of the 'd' on the invitations you mightn't live to see your stag.)
2. Go abroad like Rois said. (Been to 5 weddings (sp.) abroad now and all were great and each different from the next. Remember, people will make their own way and stay for a good fews nights so it is like being on holiday will all the important people there with you. (Bring two livers Lovers though).
3. Decide early with herself how you would like the presents: none at all, money or wedding list are all ok but let people know a few months in advance. If you are going abroad this is especially important.
4. If you get married in certain countries you can get a divorce quite handily. (NB! do not discuss this one with herself!!!)
5. Do get a pre-nuptial agreement, only call it something else. I said it was a Department of Foreign Affairs form to release me to get married abroad, which was fine, until I really had to contact the Department of Foreign Affairs to get married abroad.
6. If you are getting married abroad contact the Department of Foreign Affairs.

Fixed that (in bold)
Post by: Maurice Moss on September 04, 2013, 04:32:52 PM
Quote from: southdown on September 04, 2013, 12:10:59 PM
I am planning to get married around 12 months from now.  Got engaged last weekend but I literally have no idea what to do now.

All tips on how to save costs, who to use for what etc will be really appreciated.

I am from South Down but the likely venues will probably be in Co Louth (Ballymac, Carrickdale, 4 Seasons in Carlingford, Canal Court Newry all possibilities).

Can anyone in the area suggest a band?

Thanks!!

South down I'm also from the South Down area and been to a few weddings in the past year! There was a singer called Martina Cunningham that done one I was at, powerful so she was! Strongly recommend her! She comes from a musical background and is very professional in her approach to weddings from what I'm told! She often sings in the hotel in Hiltown too.

Here's a link to her Facebook. Congrats on the engagement and good luck!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Martina-Cunningham-Music/497772420286839
Post by: Feckitt on September 04, 2013, 04:44:51 PM
The Nooks are a great band from around that area, or Raglan if your into more Irish stuff
Post by: omagh_gael on September 04, 2013, 04:48:34 PM
My cousin had a band called Dec05 play at her wedding in October last year. They were very good. Based in Drogheda I think.
Post by: supersarsfields on September 04, 2013, 04:50:09 PM
we had the John Peake experience and I think they are from that direction? Couldn't reccommend them enough. Really good.

But trust me I wouldn't bother with the planning yourself. Save yourself the time and just ask the missus what her plan is.
Post by: CiKe on September 04, 2013, 05:51:36 PM
Quote from: Rois on September 04, 2013, 02:57:32 PM

Couldn't recommend it enough. We did about 175km in 11 days, which averaged out about 6hrs walking a day with average ascent and descent of 1,000m. We started/finished in Les Houches. The views on the whole trail are incredible (at least those we saw, we had two bad days after Courmayeur where views of Les Grandes Jorasses are meant to be great, but all we had was a wall of fog). Highlights would be Col de Seine where you cross from France to Italy, the Fenetre d'Arpette as you go from Champex to Col de Forclaz (descent from the Fenetre is a knee-breaker), view from Aiguillettes des Possettes and then from Le Brevent and just below Brevent - a lot of spectacular photos of para-gliders framed against Mont Blanc
Post by: thejuice on September 05, 2013, 11:33:41 AM
Got married about a week and a half ago.

On the whole it cost about €15,000.

We went for a more pricey venue and catering, we definitely could have done that cheaper but the venue etc was exceptional and we didn't want a run of the mill hotel function room.

Big savings can be made if you know a few handy people with SLR cameras. We had four friends who did our photographs on SLRs and since everyone else had phones and pocket cameras, we have no shortage of pics. A cheap photographer was €1000 for the day, the better ones were about 3 grand.

We didn't hire a car or anything like that, the service and receptions were all held in the one venue, all outdoors, so no need for transport on the day.

We did a lot of the place names, favours, gifts and all that ourselves. We designed our own invitations as data CD's with a video on it + 4 page inlay. It worked out looking really good and in total cost about £150 to get burned and printed. Price worked out about the same as a higher end paper/card invite.

We were going for cheaper rings but decided we might as well get decent ones, but you could go for Palladium as a cheaper alternative to say Platinum rings.

Titanium rings are quite cheap but if anything were to happen to you and they needed to remove it, it might be a case that your finger will have to go too.

If you want to pick my brains further feel free to just ask while its still fresh in me head.
Post by: AQMP on September 05, 2013, 11:42:49 AM
Quote from: thejuice on September 05, 2013, 11:33:41 AM

Congratulations juice!!  Best of luck for the future. 

I've been with Mrs AQMP for 22 years now...as the old joke goes, if I'd have killed her then I'd be gettin' out about now!.
Post by: Billys Boots on September 05, 2013, 12:21:57 PM
I got married in 1995 - it cost us a total of IR£750.  The biggest expense was a feed for about 20 folk - ca. IR£400.  We had a party with food and disco that night that cost us IR£100.  The planning ads in the Evening Herald cost IR£180.  I got a new shirt and herself got a new dress.  Saved and paid for it all in 3 months. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2013, 12:45:11 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 05, 2013, 12:21:57 PM
I got married in 1995 - it cost us a total of IR£750.  The biggest expense was a feed for about 20 folk - ca. IR£400.  We had a party with food and disco that night that cost us IR£100.  The planning ads in the Evening Herald cost IR£180.  I got a new shirt and herself got a new dress.  Saved and paid for it all in 3 months.

You'd saved for that wedding in a week ffs!! I worked 6 months flat out as a welding contractor saved about £500 a fortnight and that was just for the down payment on the house, our wedding was paid for by her da, job done
Post by: Billys Boots on September 05, 2013, 01:12:31 PM
We were working for buttons at the time ...
Post by: screenexile on September 05, 2013, 01:46:38 PM
Got married a few months ago and we had a ceili band and then another band afterwards. It all worked great but sure that all depends on the crowd you're going for. The best wedding band I've seen were at my cousins wedding a couple of months ago:

http://www.tilldeathdousparty.com/
Post by: Denn Forever on September 05, 2013, 01:56:48 PM
A suggestion for the end of meal to get people talking/interacting.  Give the guests Lucky Bags
Post by: Rois on September 05, 2013, 02:14:20 PM
Quote from: thejuice on September 05, 2013, 11:33:41 AM

Congrats! 

I like your invitation idea but we wouldn't be skilled enough to do anything like that.  I am going to pick up our save-the-date cards this afternoon - a graphic designer friend of mine has designed a "logo" for us and got the save-the-date printed for free, but I almost wish I had to pay for it because now I am going to have to give him a very generous gift!   
Post by: Billys Boots on September 05, 2013, 02:18:39 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on September 05, 2013, 01:56:48 PM
A suggestion for the end of meal to get people talking/interacting.  Give the guests Lucky Bags

Yeah, that worked alright. :)
Post by: johnneycool on September 05, 2013, 02:28:53 PM

I've seen lottery scratch cards for each quest at the tables and even pick and mix bowls as well, but if you're as full as a lord they're hardly touched.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2013, 02:38:45 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 05, 2013, 02:28:53 PM

I've seen lottery scratch cards for each quest at the tables and even pick and mix bowls as well, but if you're as full as a lord they're hardly touched.

Went to a club wedding (best crack when a team mate gets married) and he had the throw away cameras at each seat, I 'd loved to have seen the photo's we took at our table/bar/toilet/room lol. The  probably weren't allowed to be printed. Good idea though
Post by: Rois on September 05, 2013, 02:46:55 PM

Pic 'n mix stands are big business these days - along with photo booths.

T
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2013, 02:49:22 PM
Quote from: Rois on September 05, 2013, 02:46:55 PM

Pic 'n mix stands are big business these days - along with photo booths.

T

The Photo booths were great craic at the wedding i was at in Ballyliffin in August,  good idea, would the roulette tables be popular?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on September 05, 2013, 03:52:24 PM

Stupid question, but what was in the lucky bags?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2013, 04:07:00 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on September 05, 2013, 03:52:24 PM

Stupid question, but what was in the lucky bags?

Divorce papers ;)
Post by: thejuice on September 07, 2013, 07:10:23 PM
My wife did her own make up. Saved a wee bit on that. She practiced different techniques that were on youtube. Don't know what a make up artist costs but if yer woman can be persuaded it might be worth while.

A colleague of mine just did a large hog roast on a spit as food. People just got bread baps, and queued for a slice of pig, then added their own apple sauce if they wanted. Handy way to do it.
Post by: tommysmith on September 07, 2013, 08:20:42 PM

It would be a real dry wedding if nobody was talking/interacting until the end of the meal.
Post by: laoislad on September 07, 2013, 09:20:56 PM
Too much messing going on at weddings these days.
Video CD wedding invites, lottery tickets as favours, lucky bags, photo booths  ::) I've never heard such bollix.

Load of tosh the lot of it.
Post by: Rois on September 07, 2013, 10:35:32 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 07, 2013, 09:20:56 PM
Too much messing going on at weddings these days.
Video CD wedding invites, lottery tickets as favours, lucky bags, photo booths  ::) I've never heard such bollix.

Load of tosh the lot of it.

Agreed!

The singing waiters haven't been mentioned yet.
Post by: Apparently so on September 08, 2013, 06:02:11 AM
As said, f**k off to another country and do it. Not as much shite to worry about
Post by: Orior on September 08, 2013, 10:43:04 AM
SouthDown, first of all, before you start planning the wedding day, have you selected a woman yet to be your awful wedded wife?
Post by: Maguire01 on September 08, 2013, 11:02:39 AM
Getting married abroad is the way to do it. We did it that way and I have experienced it as a guest too. Surprised by the lack of value given to hiring a professional photographer, especially when people throw money at other things that will be long forgotten after the day. We ditched flowers - an unnecessary expense, although I'm sure some brides won't agree. We also didn't bother with a fancy car.
Post by: Orior on September 08, 2013, 11:10:01 AM
Unusual ways to ask for a woman's hand in marriage:

1) Would you like to be buried in the same plot as me?
Post by: ONeill on September 08, 2013, 11:37:11 AM
No speeches. No photos.

A handful of people and a ceile.

If anyone asks you to pause for a photo walk on. Cheap meal. Cheap drink.

Brilliant day.
Post by: maggie on September 08, 2013, 02:24:49 PM
Best wedding ive been to was in Milan in August. As someone said the guests can make a holiday out of it too (we stayed for a week). The food was amazing. 7 courses throughout the evening-tables out in the gardens by the pool.
Post by: laoislad on September 09, 2013, 12:08:03 PM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/1237010_10151806073388426_1719705908_n.jpg)
Post by: screenexile on September 09, 2013, 12:19:45 PM
I love this sketch about Weddings . . .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5KCzR3gKTHA
Post by: giveherlong on September 24, 2013, 10:33:15 AM
Anyone know of any places which hire hummers in the Tyrone, Cavan, monaghan, Fermanagh direction? The chapel is in Clogher and reception in Cavan town. I've been quoted £500 from a Strabane based one but there may be more value in somewhere closer to Clogher/Cavan. Cheers
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 24, 2013, 10:58:07 AM
Quote from: Under Lights on September 24, 2013, 10:56:25 AM
Quote from: giveherlong on September 24, 2013, 10:33:15 AM
Anyone know of any places which hire hummers in the Tyrone, Cavan, monaghan, Fermanagh direction? The chapel is in Clogher and reception in Cavan town. I've been quoted £500 from a Strabane based one but there may be more value in somewhere closer to Clogher/Cavan. Cheers

£500 sounds about right pal.
When is the wedding?
Which hotel in Cavan?
Glendale outside omagh do that sort of thing
Post by: giveherlong on September 24, 2013, 11:05:16 AM

When is the wedding?
Which hotel in Cavan?

Cavan crystal next October
Post by: giveherlong on September 24, 2013, 11:08:27 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on September 24, 2013, 10:58:07 AM

When is the wedding?
Which hotel in Cavan?
Glendale outside omagh do that sort of thing

I tried Nigel in Glendale but they only do limos, I need a hummer to fit in the whole wedding party (10)
Post by: Feckitt on September 24, 2013, 12:14:33 PM
http://www.islandlimousinehire.com/

Coalisland, none of his yokes ever got a parking ticket.  Ever.
Post by: Bingo on September 24, 2013, 12:16:24 PM
Anyone know of any places which hire hookers in the Tyrone, Cavan, monaghan, Fermanagh direction? The chapel is in Clogher and reception in Cavan town. I've been quoted £500 from a Strabane based one but there may be more value in somewhere closer to Clogher/Cavan. Cheers

How the change of a few letters can change the whole context of a post.  :D
Post by: muppet on September 24, 2013, 12:59:24 PM
Quote from: Bingo on September 24, 2013, 12:16:24 PM
Anyone know of any places which hire hookers in the Tyrone, Cavan, monaghan, Fermanagh direction? The chapel is in Clogher and reception in Cavan town. I've been quoted £500 from a Strabane based one but there may be more value in somewhere closer to Clogher/Cavan. Cheers

How the change of a few letters can bang the hole: contact a tart.  :D

:D :D
Post by: southdown on October 08, 2013, 12:44:33 PM
Cheers for all the help guys.

Date set for November 2014 and most things arrange already.

Reception in the Ballymac in Dundalk, looks like a lovely spot.

Booked a band called the Rockits.  They seem to be getting great reviews, has anybody saw them play? Im based in England so had to judge them based on youtube and word of mouth.

Honeymoon booked for Dubai and the Maldives.

Within about 4 weeks we have arranged all the big things, can relax now for a bit.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 08, 2013, 01:02:47 PM
Plenty of time to change your mind  ;D
Post by: Rois on October 08, 2013, 03:08:06 PM
Quote from: southdown on October 08, 2013, 12:44:33 PM

Booked a band called the Rockits.  They seem to be getting great reviews, has anybody saw them play? Im based in England so had to judge them based on youtube and word of mouth.

Within about 4 weeks we have arranged all the big things, can relax now for a bit.

Dear God.  I'm getting married in July and all I've done is book the chapel...
Post by: omagh_gael on October 09, 2013, 10:37:14 AM
Quote from: southdown on October 08, 2013, 12:44:33 PM

The Rockits are an Omagh band who used to play under the name of Freerider. Very good band anytime I saw them, especially the rock end of things. You'll not be disappointed. They are playing my sister in law's wedding in July, If I remember I will stick up a review afterwards.

I am getting married myself in 2015. Have booked Juice. They have loads of videos up on their website, however, has anyone been at a wedding when they have played recently?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on October 09, 2013, 01:54:08 PM
Never seen them at a wedding , but the rockits (freerider) used to be excellent when they played in Sallys front bar.
I have seen Juice at several weddings and they do the wedding band thing quite well, cater for a range of tastes from the jiving/country thing  to more pop stuff
Post by: maggie on November 09, 2013, 10:03:53 PM
Anyone ever been to a wedding that Hype played at?
Post by: Rois on November 10, 2013, 11:27:47 AM
We had them at a recent Club Tyrone do - they were brilliant.
Post by: maggie on November 10, 2013, 12:40:37 PM
Ok cheers rois. Getting married in july and to date all we have sorted is chapel and reception!!
Post by: Rois on November 10, 2013, 06:35:06 PM
Same - think I sorted the dress yesterday   ;D
If I was having a traditional wedding here I'd def have tried to get Hype. I'm just planning a wedding BBQ when we get back from getting married in France so don't need a lot of "normal" wedding stuff.
Post by: holylandsniper on November 13, 2013, 01:47:14 PM
The Rockits are great band super at a wedding
Post by: pip_squeak on November 24, 2013, 09:41:07 PM
Anyone heard of The Good Guys?  Please don't tell me they are a bag of s**t as we have booked them for our wedding having seen a few good reviews and a couple of clips on Youtube...could be a fatal mistake, especially when you consider Youtube can make the most hopeless footballers look like worldbeaters!

Also looking to get a bit of traditional music for our wedding reception...any recommendations? 
Post by: Christmas Lights on November 25, 2013, 02:39:06 PM
I had a band called the scoundrels who were quite good.  A few people at the wedding asked me who they where.  4 piece band, drums, singer, guitars etc..  Played all the usual wedding stuff.  £900 so pretty good deal.

Post by: take_yer_points on November 25, 2013, 03:17:19 PM
Was at a wedding recently and Manilla Strings were playing before and during the dinner. They went round tables with a wee drum kit, a guitar and a double bass. You had to name a band or artist and they would play a song  by the band/artist - very entertaining and got the craic going from early on. Not sure on cost but I'd imagine they'd be pricey enough and you'd still have your evening music to sort out after that.

http://www.classactpromotions.ie/Band.aspx?ID=6
Post by: maggie on January 23, 2014, 06:18:54 PM
Quote from: holylandsniper on November 13, 2013, 01:47:14 PM

Went to a wedding band showcase and ended up booking The Rockits. The seemed very good plus the lead singer has been all over social media recently showing him singing the entrance hymn as his bride walks up the aisle.

Really liked The Professionals too (think they based in belfast ) but they were booked for our date already.
Post by: Puckoon on January 23, 2014, 06:41:05 PM
They're excellent Maggie - you won't be disappointed. Niall and the sister are also performing music for a lot of wedding ceremonies - and they do a great job also.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 23, 2014, 07:07:10 PM
Quote from: maggie on January 23, 2014, 06:18:54 PM

Went to a wedding band showcase and ended up booking The Rockits. The seemed very good plus the lead singer has been all over social media recently showing him singing the entrance hymn as his bride walks up the aisle.

Really liked The Professionals too (think they based in belfast ) but they were booked for our date already.
The Professionals are very good. Was at a wedding at start of Jan they did a good mix of covers and a lot of auld Nathan Carter shite which had the dancefloor packed!
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 24, 2014, 09:19:54 AM
Quote from: maggie on January 23, 2014, 06:18:54 PM

the rockets are very good maggie, i have seen them at a wedding recently
Post by: supersarsfields on January 24, 2014, 09:40:19 AM
Yeah they were playing at a 30th Party I was at in Omagh at the weekend. Very good. Crazy how the much that clip has taken of on facebook!!

Puckoon attempting a similar social media assult with his royals renditions.