GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: HiMucker on July 15, 2013, 09:20:18 AM

Title: Derry v Cavan
Post by: HiMucker on July 15, 2013, 09:20:18 AM
Another home draw.  Cant complain!  If our midfield and defence is like the last day we will win.  It will be a tough game and cavan are a very well conditioned and defensively sound side
Title: Re: Derry v Cavan
Post by: tbrick18 on July 15, 2013, 09:40:00 AM
Wont be an easy game, but probably the game we would have wanted in that draw.
Also the winner of this plays the loser of Mayo v London.
We couldnt have had a better chance of getting to the quarters if we'd asked. Though I'm sure Cavan will be thinking the same.
Post by: J OGorman on July 15, 2013, 09:54:02 AM
Home for the 4 match in a row, what a stroke of luck, but we've had our fair share of road trips down the years and will take it with open arms. Will be a tight tight match. The winner having a tremendous chance of hitting the hallowed turf in the quater-final. Had been hoping for Tyrone at home, but you cant have it all your own way. :-) Looking like a good old festival of football this weekend.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 15, 2013, 10:01:28 AM
We are happy enough with the draw too. Didnt want Armagh again and avoided the big guns of Kildare & Tyrone. After that it would have been nice to be at home. But beware Derry. This Cavan team has no baggage, none of them have lost to Derry before and the young lads dont give a crap about the past and as far as I can see they fear no one. I expect us to give ye a good game and I don't expect much in it. I also think the Div 2 title you have was in a poor enough quality division (when you look at how the other teams in it got on since). I'm also happy  to see plenty of Derry ones on Twitter (including a former player) already talking about being in Croke Park - music to my ears!
Post by: rodney trotter on July 15, 2013, 10:04:55 AM
Tough game away in Derry. I was hoping Cavan would have avoided Derry or Tyrone. Should be a good indication of where Cavan are against a big side. Derry have good some good fortune being home again.

Think the last times the sides met in the Qualifiers was in 04 . Derry hammered Cavan after extra time.
Post by: J OGorman on July 15, 2013, 10:08:39 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 15, 2013, 10:01:28 AM
We are happy enough with the draw too. Didnt want Armagh again and avoided the big guns of Kildare & Tyrone. After that it would have been nice to be at home. But beware Derry. This Cavan team has no baggage, none of them have lost to Derry before and the young lads dont give a crap about the past and as far as I can see they fear no one. I expect us to give ye a good game and I don't expect much in it. I also think the Div 2 title you have was in a poor enough quality division (when you look at how the other teams in it got on since). I'm also happy  to see plenty of Derry ones on Twitter (including a former player) already talking about being in Croke Park - music to my ears!

the importance of this to the outcome of this game cannot be understated ;-) us Derry folk would be a while while confident bunch having been put through the wringer over and over and over again :-)
Post by: HiMucker on July 15, 2013, 10:17:37 AM
Going up to Celtic Park minus your water carrier on a hot day will be a big ask.  That suspension could be costly :)
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 15, 2013, 10:33:29 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on July 15, 2013, 10:08:39 AM

the importance of this to the outcome of this game cannot be understated ;-) us Derry folk would be a while while confident bunch having been put through the wringer over and over and over again :-)

There is a psychology to sport and if enough people tell you that you got a great draw and should get to the quarter finals it gets very difficult to get that out of lads heads. I'm quite happy to see people like Enda Muldoon saying that. It also gives our lads good motivation.

I remember the last game in Derry well. We should have won in normal time but took a real hammering in the extra time.
Post by: tierworker blue on July 15, 2013, 10:52:23 AM
Any word on what time the game is at yet lads? (Trying to figure out sneaking off and back to a stag in Carrick on Shannon for the match!)
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 15, 2013, 11:54:49 AM
Derry are obvious hot favourites for this one. They have been mixing it with a better class of opponent than Cavan  so far this season and are much further along in their development than us. I am sure Cavan won't make it easy for them but when the championship started our goal was to win a few games in Ulster and get a game or two in the qualifiers...so we have met most of our goals although the disappointment is to have got bogged down in shitty incestuous Ulster fixtures in the qualifiers when we really needed novelty and fresh experiences for the young team we have.
The history, although none of our players were involved, show that we have no win over Derry since 97 I think so this traditional superiority and ease of dealing with Cavan for 16 years leaves Derry in a very strong position. I think Cavan will be plucky and competitive but with home advantage putting the tin hat on it, it's a bridge too far. Derry should have five to spare in this I reckon. It has still been a good year for Cavan so I think most blues will take a good performance in this one and then build for 2014.
Post by: theticklemister on July 15, 2013, 11:56:15 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on July 15, 2013, 10:17:37 AM
Going up to Celtic Park minus your water carrier on a hot day will be a big ask.  That suspension could be costly :)

haha for the size of yer man he got pushed over like a big poof
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 15, 2013, 12:32:18 PM
Bit of a pity we could not get a non Ulster draw just for the novelty factor. Still we've been more or less top dogs in the province at under 21 level for close on 4 years so it's not as is a lot of our lads will have too much trouble in their minds with a draw against Derry. Would be an awful lot happier if we were playing them in Breffni.
Post by: king of leon on July 15, 2013, 01:59:46 PM
Derry will be happy with a home draw.. I hope the fact they are playing at home and they know they could potentially play London doesn't breed complacency.
Derry have a decent record in the qualifiers, but it must be remembered this is still a relatively inexperienced squad which wouldn't have the greatest underage record (particularly at u21 level). This Cavan team have a great record at this level and wont fear Derry.
If Derry play with the same level of intensity as they did in the 2nd game against Down, they should pull through. They have a decent forward line which is something Cavan haven't really faced yet. This could be the difference.
Post by: J OGorman on July 15, 2013, 02:36:33 PM
Quote from: tierworker blue on July 15, 2013, 10:52:23 AM
Any word on what time the game is at yet lads? (Trying to figure out sneaking off and back to a stag in Carrick on Shannon for the match!)

5pm throw in
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 15, 2013, 03:30:52 PM
Quote from: king of leon on July 15, 2013, 01:59:46 PM
Derry will be happy with a home draw.. I hope the fact they are playing at home and they know they could potentially play London doesn't breed complacency.
Derry have a decent record in the qualifiers, but it must be remembered this is still a relatively inexperienced squad which wouldn't have the greatest underage record (particularly at u21 level). This Cavan team have a great record at this level and wont fear Derry.
If Derry play with the same level of intensity as they did in the 2nd game against Down, they should pull through. They have a decent forward line which is something Cavan haven't really faced yet. This could be the difference.

Armagh have a decent forward line I would have thought. Monaghan not too bad on paper either.
Post by: king of leon on July 15, 2013, 04:03:13 PM
Armagh have a decent forward line I would have thought. Monaghan not too bad on paper either.

Take Jamie Clarke out is Armaghs really that good. Monaghans is distinctly average IMO.

Derry have a very solid forward line with some excellent long range score takers..
Post by: tierworker blue on July 15, 2013, 04:06:52 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on July 15, 2013, 02:36:33 PM
Quote from: tierworker blue on July 15, 2013, 10:52:23 AM

5pm throw in

Cheers
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 15, 2013, 05:33:37 PM
Going to miss this one, had hoped 2 of the qualifiers would been on a sunday, away to bruce springsteen, damn u bruce!!
Post by: Westside on July 15, 2013, 05:45:46 PM
Very tough draw for Cavan, Derry will be the best team we have played this year. We're a much improved side for sure but Derry are a few levels above us. That said for the first time in years when facing into a tough game I know our lads won't roll over and allow Derry to tickle our bellies. If we give a decent showing I think we can be happy with our years work, but i'm comfortable in the knowledge that the team will believe they can beat Derry and will give it everything.
Post by: babarino on July 15, 2013, 07:04:55 PM
I'd expect Derry to win this one, provided no Cavan wides are given as points  ;)
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 15, 2013, 07:38:27 PM
Quote from: babarino on July 15, 2013, 07:04:55 PM
I'd expect Derry to win this one, provided no Cavan wides are given as points  ;)

You'd be better off wondering how to keep within 10 points of Donegal ::)
Post by: babarino on July 15, 2013, 07:48:15 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 15, 2013, 07:38:27 PM

As the slogan says Myles, "Nothing beats being there."

I'm sure yis thought the same after winning your last Ulster title against Derry, after the wide 'point'. How much were you beaten by Kerry in the next game?

Post by: mylestheslasher on July 15, 2013, 07:53:41 PM
Quote from: babarino on July 15, 2013, 07:48:15 PM

I'm sure yis thought the same after winning your last Ulster title against Derry, after the wide 'point'. How much were you beaten by Kerry in the next game?

Do you really want to talk GAA history with a Cavan man?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 15, 2013, 08:06:42 PM
No Myles you not old enough to discuss that , maybe with your grand father or sthing, hes sure to remember!
Post by: babarino on July 16, 2013, 12:16:41 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 15, 2013, 07:53:41 PM

Methinks Cavan's Championship 2013 will be consigned to history in the bogside.
Post by: jodyb on July 16, 2013, 09:01:42 AM
Quote from: babarino on July 16, 2013, 12:16:41 AM

Perhaps not, if the rumours about PJ Mc Closkey are true. Massive loss at midfield. The difference he's made since coming back is incredible. Hope for the lads sake its not true.
Post by: tbrick18 on July 16, 2013, 09:11:35 AM
Havent heard anything about PJ but if he's out it's a massive loss for us and the pendulum will swing well and truly towards cavan.
Derry are no great team by any means so I dont really see how anyone can be confident of a Derry win.
We are a young and improving side, but we're not good enough to be able to expect to beat anyone.
What I will say is that we are at full strength, and play the way we did against Down then we should win.
Post by: AQMP on July 16, 2013, 09:20:12 AM
I might be in the minority here but I've a sneaking suspicion that Cavan could shade this.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 16, 2013, 09:35:40 AM
Quote from: AQMP on July 16, 2013, 09:20:12 AM
I might be in the minority here but I've a sneaking suspicion that Cavan could shade this.

Post by: mylestheslasher on July 16, 2013, 10:11:20 AM

Perhaps, it will still have been a good year for us if it is.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 16, 2013, 10:30:09 AM
I've watched Cavan a few times this year and i've been impressed with their overall team ethic and workrate but make no mistake they also have numerous fine footballers who can do damage. I still think home advantage will see Derry over the line by a few points. Will be an interesting match up though.
Post by: DoireGael on July 16, 2013, 10:42:56 AM
This will be a relatively tight affair and will show character for either team if they progress. After watching the Leinster final from the hill on Sunday, both teams have work to do regarding any further progression. But looking at the game I would tip Derry, if Sukie, Kielt and co shine.
Post by: gortnaleck on July 16, 2013, 02:17:26 PM
Are BBC televising the game as I see RTE are doing the Kildare/ Tyrone one ?
Post by: theticklemister on July 16, 2013, 02:23:34 PM
Quote from: gortnaleck on July 16, 2013, 02:17:26 PM
Are BBC televising the game as I see RTE are doing the Kildare/ Tyrone one ?
BBC only can show ulster cship matches my friend. get there or stick yer ear to the wireless
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 16, 2013, 03:03:34 PM
Home advantage should swing this tie, still Cavan should go down fighting. With all the underage talent i think its time Cavan got out of division three.
Post by: sam03/05 on July 16, 2013, 06:39:32 PM
Derry will win this easy enough.
Cavan are nothing special at all, easy draw for Derry.
Post by: larryin89 on July 16, 2013, 06:47:48 PM
Quote from: sam03/05 on July 16, 2013, 06:39:32 PM

Really? I thought Cavan looked good in the few games i've seen them this year, they have been tipping along nicely at underage level last few seasons too. Some fairly intense workrate from what i've seen and some nice footballers to boot. Hard game to call but i reckon it will go to Cavan, tbh.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 16, 2013, 09:26:03 PM

Worry about your own County playing Kildare.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 16, 2013, 10:17:01 PM

That would be a relatively straight forward assignment considering the match in question was your last Ulster title.

And yes, ours was 1988 before you retort but I'm not the one making the bold statements regarding our aristocracy.

Post by: clarshack on July 17, 2013, 12:12:59 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 16, 2013, 06:47:48 PM

Really? I thought Cavan looked good in the few games i've seen them this year, they have been tipping along nicely at underage level last few seasons too. Some fairly intense workrate from what i've seen and some nice footballers to boot. Hard game to call but i reckon it will go to Cavan, tbh.

no chance that cavan will beat derry in celtic park.  only wish that tyrone had got this draw.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 17, 2013, 10:08:20 AM
Quote from: clarshack on July 17, 2013, 12:12:59 AM

no chance that cavan will beat derry in celtic park.  only wish that tyrone had got this draw.

Yeh you are right, probably no point in us turning up.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 17, 2013, 11:24:50 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 17, 2013, 10:08:20 AM

dont think the shopkeepers in Derry city are too happy with the draw...

maybe the asda in strabane on the way back might take a lot of cash from sales of cheaper booze...
Post by: theticklemister on July 17, 2013, 11:28:35 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 17, 2013, 11:24:50 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 17, 2013, 10:08:20 AM

dont think the shopkeepers in Derry city are too happy with the draw...

maybe the asda in strabane on the way back might take a lot of cash from sales of cheaper booze...

I heard these story about cavan people before.....
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 17, 2013, 01:45:54 PM
Sure the boys in the shops in Derry wouldn't even know there was a game on, they'd be more interested with what goes on in the Brandywell.
Post by: HiMucker on July 17, 2013, 01:55:55 PM
You obviously haven't  seen the attendance figures at the brandywell!
Post by: J OGorman on July 17, 2013, 02:03:49 PM
Apparently Brandywell is going all seater, Declan Devine and Philip O'Doherty were seen in Ikea @ the weekend.
Post by: theticklemister on July 17, 2013, 02:23:09 PM
Very good o gorman. Plus ye wont see any nazi flags being unfurled this side of the Lone Moor ill tell ye that for sure.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 17, 2013, 07:54:37 PM
After the down game in derry, was going down the street, who was playing the nite lads!! Down, against who>? priceless!!
Post by: theticklemister on July 17, 2013, 08:29:58 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 17, 2013, 07:54:37 PM
After the down game in derry, was going down the street, who was playing the nite lads!! Down, against who>? priceless!!

Ah come on wildweasel stop making stuff up............... Ye never even made the trip up to the city for the game!

If it werent for the constant fundraising in the late 80s and early 90s by those in the city then celtic park would have been finished...... Suppose that would have suited ye!!!

Post by: bottom brick on July 17, 2013, 08:47:32 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on July 16, 2013, 10:17:01 PM

That would be a relatively straight forward assignment considering the match in question was your last Ulster title.

And yes, ours was 1988 before you retort but I'm not the one making the bold statements regarding our aristocracy.

I dont think Myles was making bold statements of aristocracy in fairness, even though he could!  8)
Post by: The Brick on July 18, 2013, 05:26:13 PM
Heard a whimper that Cian Mackey is injured? Anyone heard anything?
Post by: Maguire01 on July 18, 2013, 06:32:13 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 16, 2013, 10:11:20 AM

Really? Alright, a win against Armagh was a good result (although we still don't know how good Armagh are - they just about managed to stay in Division 2 and their subsequent Championship results have been against very poor Division 4 sides), but otherwise it's been two wins against another Division 3 side. And another year in Division 3.

If you win against Derry, it will be a good year (and with the 4th round draw, potentially a very good year). If you are narrowly defeated it will be an 'ok' year. If you're hammered, you'll have to wonder if there has been any progress.
Post by: bottom brick on July 18, 2013, 06:50:35 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 18, 2013, 06:32:13 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 16, 2013, 10:11:20 AM

Really? Alright, a win against Armagh was a good result (although we still don't know how good Armagh are - they just about managed to stay in Division 2 and their subsequent Championship results have been against very poor Division 4 sides), but otherwise it's been two wins against another Division 3 side. And another year in Division 3.

If you win against Derry, it will be a good year (and with the 4th round draw, potentially a very good year). If you are narrowly defeated it will be an 'ok' year. If you're hammered, you'll have to wonder if there has been any progress.

We are improving with every game. At least 3 wins in the championship is a massive improvement and playing a minimum of 5 will stand to this team
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 18, 2013, 06:54:39 PM
Maguire, at the start of this year there were people genuinely concerned at our ability to hold our place in Division 3, that's where we are coming from folks so what we have seen, both in the league and championship to date is significant progress, let their be no doubt about that. At the start of the year I would have been happy with going into last day with Division 3 status confirmed and three good championship days out with no tankings received. That has all been achieved pretty comfortably and the future looks relatively bright.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 18, 2013, 10:31:19 PM
Its true straight up from the celtic bar lol
Post by: Itchy on July 18, 2013, 11:08:22 PM
I presume you are taking the piss Maguire. Last year we stayed in div 3 on score difference, got hammered by Donegal and were fortunate to best Fermanagh before getting hammered again. This year we did much better in the league, including hammering the two promoted teams. We retained our u21 title, did well with a very limited minor team and won 3 championship matches and only for a shocking decision by a ref wed have got another shot at the Semi. If that is not progress then neither is Monaghan winning Ulster.
Post by: cluaineois on July 18, 2013, 11:41:16 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 18, 2013, 11:08:22 PM
I presume you are taking the piss Maguire. Last year we stayed in div 3 on score difference, got hammered by Donegal and were fortunate to best Fermanagh before getting hammered again. This year we did much better in the league, including hammering the two promoted teams. We retained our u21 title, did well with a very limited minor team and won 3 championship matches and only for a shocking decision by a ref wed have got another shot at the Semi. If that is not progress then neither is Monaghan winning Ulster.
Itchy were it not for a couple of blind umpires yis would in my opinion have been beaten by a lot more in the semi-final so please stop going on about the ref
Post by: rodney trotter on July 18, 2013, 11:44:08 PM
Quote from: cluaineois on July 18, 2013, 11:41:16 PM
Itchy were it not for a couple of blind umpires yis would in my opinion have been beaten by a lot more in the semi-final so please stop going on about the ref

How do you work that out, the Monaghan disallowed goal happened in the first half. Cavan would have had plenty of time to recover from that.
Post by: cluaineois on July 19, 2013, 08:57:01 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 18, 2013, 11:44:08 PM

How do you work that out, the Monaghan disallowed goal happened in the first half. Cavan would have had plenty of time to recover from that.
Simple maths Rodney. A goal is worth three points, plus the one that we eventually beat ye by equals four points. Therefore we would have beaten ye by a lot more as i stated earlier. Monaghans goal was not "disallowed" it was not given. It would have been a terrible injustice had cavan got another chance.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 19, 2013, 09:12:27 AM
Whats the story with the Monaghan invasion of this thread. You'd swear ye hadnt your own game this weekend. Are you all that obsessed with Cavan?
Post by: rodney trotter on July 19, 2013, 09:19:00 AM
Quote from: cluaineois on July 19, 2013, 08:57:01 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 18, 2013, 11:44:08 PM

Simple maths Rodney. A goal is worth three points, plus the one that we eventually beat ye by equals four points. Therefore we would have beaten ye by a lot more as i stated earlier. Monaghans goal was not "disallowed" it was not given. It would have been a terrible injustice had cavan got another chance.

I what a goal is worth, the goal Monaghan did actually score was a gift by the Cavan keeper. Cavan had plenty of wides in the second half. Monaghan weren't overly dominant as you seem to be making out.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 19, 2013, 09:27:02 AM
Is this now a Cavan and Monaghan thread?! Leave it out lads.

Will the Cavan support travel in big numbers (as they generally do) on Saturday?
Post by: theticklemister on July 19, 2013, 09:29:33 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 19, 2013, 09:27:02 AM

Will the Cavan support travel in big numbers (as they generally do) on Saturday?

Will the south derry support travel in big numbers Walter (whic they usually dont) on Saturday?? ;D
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 19, 2013, 09:34:10 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on July 19, 2013, 09:29:33 AM

Will the south derry support travel in big numbers Walter (whic they usually dont) on Saturday?? ;D

The Burnfoot is as far north as I venture Tickle!
Post by: Denn Forever on July 19, 2013, 03:55:24 PM
Will any Derry radio stations have commentary on the game?  Or is it Northern Sound again?
Post by: HiMucker on July 19, 2013, 04:04:14 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 19, 2013, 09:34:10 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on July 19, 2013, 09:29:33 AM

The Burnfoot is as far north as I venture Tickle!
lol "the burn foot".  There is a bar in Burn foot called "The foot inn"  Do you know who built it Walter?
Post by: armaghniac on July 19, 2013, 04:19:45 PM
QuoteThere is a bar in Burn foot called "The foot inn"

No doubt the "Foot in" in popular in Derry GAA, along with its sister premises the "Elbow in"
Post by: HiMucker on July 19, 2013, 04:34:39 PM
its actually in Donegal ;)
Post by: armaghniac on July 19, 2013, 04:46:22 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on July 19, 2013, 04:34:39 PM

Two sets of clientele then.
Does it serve the McGuinness spirit?  :)
Post by: oakleaflad on July 19, 2013, 06:51:36 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on July 19, 2013, 04:34:39 PM
It's outside Dungiven Mucker
Post by: Itchy on July 19, 2013, 07:44:04 PM
Any decent spots for a pint near to the pitch. Preferably somewhere near where a lad might park the car.
Post by: theticklemister on July 19, 2013, 07:50:38 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 19, 2013, 07:44:04 PM
Any decent spots for a pint near to the pitch. Preferably somewhere near where a lad might park the car.

Id park her down on rossville street/lecky road lad. No traffic and ye get a nice walk through the Bog. For a nice pint I would go to Maily's or the name in front of the establishment ' Bluebell', which is located on Lecky Road about a 5 minute walk from ground. Not too jammed lad and even for ye Cavan lads the drinks are cheap!!!! A pound a bottle and £1.50 a vodka and coke the last time i was there.
Post by: Itchy on July 19, 2013, 08:08:26 PM
Cheers lad. To they sell tayto?
Post by: Westside on July 19, 2013, 08:52:24 PM
Fran is injured for Cavan so Alan O'Meara takes his place. Other than that it's same again for Cavan..
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 19, 2013, 11:10:48 PM
Weather down this part of the country is quite something else if it is as warm up in Derry tomorrow it will have an impact on the outcome. Hard to see how we will maintain the same level of intensity in getting lads behind the ball in such conditions. Whether Derry will be advantaged through an approach that involves a bit more of the ball doing the work will be interesting to see. Subs will need to be used well before the 69th minute I reckon.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 20, 2013, 09:55:57 AM
Lots of mixed views in the media. Times today says Derry by 2. Indo says Cavan. On the last Word on todfay FM Peter Canavan went for Cavan while Carney went for Derry. I see Paddy Power has moved Derry from 4/7 to 8/13, Cavan still 7/4.

It should be a tight one and a hot one too. 26 degrees in the house here  this morning at 7am!
Post by: rodney trotter on July 20, 2013, 10:08:53 AM
The Game on Sports show 2fm, expect Derry to prevail with a bit to spare. Damien O' Meara & Nigel Crawford.

Post by: Westside on July 20, 2013, 01:30:57 PM
Lads I've heard that this game is being shown abroad on Setanta Sports? Any way we can get that here for us poor souls that have to work?
Post by: Celt_Man on July 20, 2013, 01:31:32 PM
Just thinking about it, with all the venues and places I've been watching Cavan - I don't think I've ever been to Celtic Park...

Derry posters, where would be the best place to park the car up around the pitch??
Post by: sbw on July 20, 2013, 01:38:04 PM
Not many great places to park but down from brandywell is the most popular but Celtic park is not the worst place to get away from
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 20, 2013, 02:01:09 PM
U up early enough, u park at the road going down the hill to the celtic bar, next to the pitch though u need be there round 4 at the latest to park there,. Hand to the bluebell bar, dont go to the celtic bar its poor, and handy enough to get away from after the match to
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 20, 2013, 02:33:54 PM
http://thefirstrow.biz/others/gaa-football-national-league-derry-cavan-frs8c596

Westside and others, looks like somebody is showing it all right, you might try the link, I'm not responsible for what other services you might be offered during the broadcast.

Wiziwig or mypremiumtv are other possibles, don't see it on the wiziwig schedule at present.
Post by: theticklemister on July 20, 2013, 02:58:05 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 19, 2013, 08:08:26 PM
Cheers lad. To they sell tayto?

The yella tayto
Post by: theticklemister on July 20, 2013, 03:03:50 PM
How do I watch this game????? Lads ye have given me hope to recover from this hangover!!
Post by: Westside on July 20, 2013, 04:53:39 PM
Corr and Martin Reilly come in for McDermott and McLoughlin. Two of Cavan's most consistent players out of the team...
Post by: andoireabu on July 20, 2013, 05:15:22 PM
Radio link for the game
http://media.northernsound.ie/mediamanager/embed/player/ (http://media.northernsound.ie/mediamanager/embed/player/)
http://www.rte.ie/radio/radioplayer/rteradioweb.html#!rii=9%3A%2D2%3A0%3A%3A (http://www.rte.ie/radio/radioplayer/rteradioweb.html#!rii=9%3A%2D2%3A0%3A%3A)
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/23347171 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/23347171)
Post by: Westside on July 20, 2013, 05:29:47 PM
Cavan up by 2 but sounds like Derry are roasting our full back line. Seems only a matter of time before they get a goal.
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 20, 2013, 06:10:09 PM
Givney off injured, feck
Post by: Westside on July 20, 2013, 06:11:22 PM
Huge blow. Tierney in.
Post by: Syferus on July 20, 2013, 06:25:19 PM
London for Croker?  ;D
Post by: give her dixie on July 20, 2013, 06:27:47 PM
Level
Post by: Westside on July 20, 2013, 06:31:58 PM
Givney gone, Alan Clarke gone, now Martin Dunne gone. 2 19 year olds in, McVeety and Argue. Huge challenge for Cavan.
Post by: give her dixie on July 20, 2013, 06:43:33 PM
Fantastic finish in this game.

Derry ahead by a point with time nearly up
Post by: give her dixie on July 20, 2013, 06:44:53 PM
Level again
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2013, 06:47:32 PM
Cavan lads will be happy- getting value for money on the tickets at least!
:)
Post by: Blowitupref on July 20, 2013, 06:56:17 PM
Whatever the result in extra time a great effort by Cavan.
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 20, 2013, 07:11:57 PM
Half time in ET: Derry 0-18 Cavan 0-21
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2013, 07:29:22 PM
congrats cavan.
Deserved victory from the radio commentary.
im in for some stick from the outlaws now
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 20, 2013, 07:32:42 PM
A day of surprises, you would have expected both Derry and Armagh to win today, sadly Tyrone look like they won't have such problems.
Post by: Zulu on July 20, 2013, 07:34:17 PM
Congratulations Cavan, delighted for you all.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 20, 2013, 07:34:35 PM
Fair play to Cavan. Great result for them and big potential for them to get to the AI quarter final now
Post by: Aerlik on July 20, 2013, 07:35:05 PM
Fukkit.  That is all  >:(
Post by: Blowitupref on July 20, 2013, 07:37:29 PM
Super result for Cavan certainly a team on the rise.
Post by: glens abu on July 20, 2013, 07:38:05 PM
There will be some crying now,McIvor must go  ::)
Post by: cluaineois on July 20, 2013, 07:39:27 PM
Well done cavan hard place to get a result sounded like a cracker
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 20, 2013, 07:47:22 PM
I underrated Cavan and overrated Derry. With a bye in round four the very best of luck to Cavan in the quarter finals.
Post by: comethekingdom on July 20, 2013, 07:56:57 PM
Is this the biggest score ever posted between 2 Ulster teams?
Post by: Syferus on July 20, 2013, 08:03:20 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 20, 2013, 07:47:22 PM
I underrated Cavan and overrated Derry. With a bye in round four the very best of luck to Cavan in the quarter finals.

Perhaps the daftest thing you've typed. London would be licking their lips at the prospect of Cavan being between them an an AIQF. London can easily give Cavan a game.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 20, 2013, 08:14:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 20, 2013, 08:03:20 PM

Perhaps the daftest thing you've typed. London would be licking their lips at the prodpect of Cavan being between them an an AIQF. London can easily give Cavan a game.

Not Daft. Mayo will soften up London and they have to play a Cavan side on a high in six days time.
Post by: Orchardman on July 20, 2013, 08:16:22 PM

Perhaps the daftest thing you've typed. London would be licking their lips at the prodpect of Cavan being between them an an AIQF. London can easily give Cavan a game.

We will see londons real worth when they get out of connaught, its alright when they are playing ross and sligo
Post by: Syferus on July 20, 2013, 08:26:30 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 20, 2013, 08:14:37 PM

Not Daft. Mayo will soften up London and they have to play a Cavan side on a high in six days time.

I highly doubt London will be particularly crestfallen about losing a match everyone expects them to be hammered in. Beware the underrated team team playing an over-rated one. Cavan have improved but not by so much thry can afford to sleep on London.
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 20, 2013, 08:40:34 PM
Bloody marvelous. Today was bonus territory, we are now in super bonus territory. Congrats to management team and a group of wonderfully committed lads.
Post by: sbw on July 20, 2013, 08:48:28 PM
Well done Cavan who were better team on the day I thought
Post by: Denn Forever on July 20, 2013, 09:40:03 PM
Well done lads.  Nose bleed time but we'll enjoy the ride. ;D ;D ;D
Post by: INDIANA on July 20, 2013, 10:10:33 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 20, 2013, 08:26:30 PM

I highly doubt London will be particularly crestfallen about losing a match everyone expects them to be hammered in. Beware the underrated team team playing an over-rated one. Cavan have improved but not by so much thry can afford to sleep on London.

London beat a leitrim team by one- the same leitrim team beaten by 8 goals by armagh ?

Said it before these Cavan players aren't used to losing having won 3 ulster 21s in a row
Post by: jodyb on July 20, 2013, 10:16:15 PM
Gutted, but can't complain. Fair play to Cavan. Thought they got the rub of the green in the first quarter with what I thought was a stone wall penalty being ignored by Deegan. Had a big bearing on the run of the game, but overall, they withstood a spirited comeback by Derry and a never say die attitude at the final whistle kept them in it. Kinda reminded me of '04 (I think) when niall mc cusker equalised for Derry in the dying seconds and Cavan never scored in the extra time. Derry won by ten points that day largely due to Cavan being deflated by that equaliser. Think today that Derry were never coming back after they thought that big Mark had won it for them and the young Cavan lad got the equaliser.  ( big Mark was outstanding btw. (Not much consolation now:(  ) would love to see Cavan in the semis. Adh Mor !!!
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 20, 2013, 11:15:31 PM
Super game of football, best that I've seen this year. Hard luck to Derry - a very decent people indeed. I thought we were the better team on the day and deserved the win but a penalty would have made a different game out of it. Saying that I though ye got some very handy frees in the last quarter. Onwards and upwards for Cavan, what a year for us so far.
Post by: sbw on July 20, 2013, 11:17:46 PM
We're you one of the booing Cavan supporters ? Bad habit you guys have developed I thought I was in the brandywell at one stage  ;)
Post by: Westside on July 20, 2013, 11:20:25 PM
Ah here, even Brolly said it was a pleasure to be sitting among the Cavan support! McIvor is fairly bitter..

Serious heart shown by the lads, dug it out in normal time without Clarke, Givney, Mackey or Dunne on the field. Amazing.
Post by: sbw on July 20, 2013, 11:25:35 PM
Mcivor is bitter alright but he made some bad calls also and overall the referee made good and bad calls both ways we got a few easy ones for sure. Cavan deserved to win no doubt , good luck for next round and the round after
Post by: babarino on July 21, 2013, 12:21:31 AM
Hats off to to the Breiffne. No doubt about it, it's been a good year.

Hopefully we'll have another shocker tomorrow in Clones.  8)
Post by: bottom brick on July 21, 2013, 06:12:25 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 20, 2013, 08:26:30 PM

Have you gone mental? Who exactly over-rated Cavan? London might be happier to draw Cavan than Tyrone but ive been watching London all year (living here) and how they have made a Connacht final amazes me. Their league record this year reads played 7, lost 6, won one.IN DIVISION 4!! Only in Connacht could a team like that reach the final. What makes you think they can beat Cavan? Their annihalation of the mighty Leitrim? Sorry, they barely scraped through a replay. Every team in Ulster could make a Connacht final if they were on the opposite side of the draw to Mayo. We have beaten a few good teams this year when everybody said we didn't have a chance. Do you honestly think London are underated?  By who? It might make you feel good to think that they stand a chance against any reasonably organised county team, even though they have been outscored in the second half of almost every game this year, it still doesn't change the fact that Mayo will probably put up a good argument for an open draw championship when they get their hands on them in the final. You're either a WUM or an idiot
Post by: Denn Forever on July 21, 2013, 08:12:49 AM
Quote from: babarino on July 21, 2013, 12:21:31 AM

We are all hoping that.  Remember to wear plenty of Sunscreen.
Post by: tommysmith on July 21, 2013, 08:43:32 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on July 21, 2013, 08:12:49 AM

Im not.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 21, 2013, 10:41:31 AM
mciver might be bitter- but a manager who pours his heart and soul into a team is never going to be a 'good loser' (imo they dont exist - or shouldnt).

deegan has never been good to Derry as a ref, but most refs get it wrong at times. Cavan this season have fouled a lot, so frees at the end are no surprise.
However, Deegan didnt score 16 points for Cavan in normal time -Derry defence must be questioned. While it was a great day for scoring fotbal, Cavan never found it as easy scoring against every other team they played this summer.
Derry need to address defensive frailties in order to compete and get to the top table.
No disrespect to Cavan, but they are a very young team in the initial stages of finding their way.
Yes Derry are a young team with new manager also, but Cavan have had to revolutionise their squad, play everything and as a lot of the Cavan lads on here and my own Cavan friends say - this is bonus territory now.
Good luck to them and I hope this experience stands to them in the future. They will have their best player available to them again next year also (Midfielder McKiernan I think his name is) - lost through inj.

Despite being sick of losing again, I'm delighted with a great championship season and Cavan v London must be played in croke park.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 21, 2013, 10:49:56 AM
Lynchboy - we found scoring against Armagh pretty easy and in fairness a lot of our points yesterday were superb long range efforts, very few I'd call easy. I think the quality of the shooting from both teams was top class and I think you are wrong to focus on the defence. It came down to who won most possession in the middle and we just shaded that. If McCloskey was there it may have been different.

As for the ref, yes ye should have had a peno but for me he gave Derry some of the softest frees I've seen in a while including the one that put you a point up in injury time and another given for a perfect tackle in front of the posts by Ronan Flanagan. I don't think he was against any team, just poor enough and I think over the game it evened out.

Derry are still a good team and Div 1 next year will be a big help to their development.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 21, 2013, 11:15:12 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 21, 2013, 10:49:56 AM
Lynchboy - we found scoring against Armagh pretty easy and in fairness a lot of our points yesterday were superb long range efforts, very few I'd call easy. I think the quality of the shooting from both teams was top class and I think you are wrong to focus on the defence. It came down to who won most possession in the middle and we just shaded that. If McCloskey was there it may have been different.

As for the ref, yes ye should have had a peno but for me he gave Derry some of the softest frees I've seen in a while including the one that put you a point up in injury time and another given for a perfect tackle in front of the posts by Ronan Flanagan. I don't think he was against any team, just poor enough and I think over the game it evened out.

Derry are still a good team and Div 1 next year will be a big help to their development.
In fairness, Cavan pulled away at the end from a completely disorganised armagh side, and from what I saw wathing it on telly, the scoring was far from comfortable- with young dunne very close to being taken off for a litany of wides before he hit one and then found confidence.It was far from a good shooting display against a shocking armagh side.
Same v Monaghan imo. First day v Farmanagh was no great shakes in scoring stakes - and I cant reme the second day v fermanagh.
imo from what I saw on telly.
Cant put it down to PJ beng missing. You lads are missing mckiernan.
Derry have conceeded 2-15 v down though improved the second day. 0-9 v a disasterous in-fighting Sligo wasnt brilliant and yesterday 0-16 is shocking to concede - apologies if you think this denigrates a good cavan performance, but for me the Derry defencive system is not at the races this season. Look at the league final concession against a mediocre westmeath attack also.

deegan has always been a poor enough ref. Cavan though have a problem in fouling too much to close to goals in all the games I've seen this season so far.

Derry are potentially a good team, but a long way to go. A big step up is required in strategy or we wont be in Div 1 too long. Cavan going nicely witha lot more young lads to come in. Plus McKiernan and maybe you'll get a job in Liberty for Mulvey - they are hiring!
Post by: rodney trotter on July 21, 2013, 11:36:05 AM

Great Call 8)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 21, 2013, 11:38:32 AM
Well done Cavan.

Delighted to see the lads from the north of us doing so well.

I think an AIQ is now on the cards. Smashing.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 21, 2013, 11:46:01 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 21, 2013, 11:15:12 AM

In fairness, Cavan pulled away at the end from a completely disorganised armagh side, and from what I saw wathing it on telly, the scoring was far from comfortable- with young dunne very close to being taken off for a litany of wides before he hit one and then found confidence.It was far from a good shooting display against a shocking armagh side.
Same v Monaghan imo. First day v Farmanagh was no great shakes in scoring stakes - and I cant reme the second day v fermanagh.
Derry have conceeded 2-15 v down though improved the second day. 0-9 v a disasterous in-fighting Sligo wasnt brilliant and yesterday 0-16 is shocking to concede - apologies if you think this denigrates a good cavan performance, but for me the Derry defencive system is not at the races this season. Look at the league final concession against a mediocre westmeath attack also.

deegan has always been a poor enough ref. Cavan though have a problem in fouling too much to close to goals in all the games I've seen this season so far.

Derry are potentially a good team, but a long way to go. A big step up is required in strategy or we wont be in Div 1 too long. Cavan going nicely witha lot more young lads to come in. Plus McKiernan and maybe you'll get a job in Liberty for Mulvey - they are hiring!

When i was referring to great shooting display from both teams it was yesterdays game I was talking about. My point is that defensive systems are all well and good but with a dry ball, massive energy sapping heat etc they defensive system is very hard to make effective as it is easier to score from out the field. Yesterday there were a large proportion of points scored from 45 meters and out near the sideline. Getting men back is no good against that. Cavan have been very disciplined in the backs this year so you are wrong to say we give away to many frees in scorable areas the exception was yesterday where we were under a lot of pressure from Derrys runners and did concede much more frees than normal. That said Derrys freetaking was incredible, any free inside 50 meters was scored bar one. So it transpired that whoever got possession was getting a score, turnovers were few and far between (something that Cavan have been very good at up to this) and so it was a shoot out. Before the game if someone said that it would be a straight shoot out you'd have said Derry but incredibly it was us that did it with scores coming from all around the team including two each for two 19 years olds just out of minor. From a Cavan development perspective this was a huge result and the confidence the lads will take from it is worth its weight in gold. I still think Derry are a good team and with some effort will stick it out in Div 1.
Post by: Westside on July 21, 2013, 12:30:17 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 21, 2013, 11:15:12 AM

Are you talking about the same Armagh game as I was at? Cavan didn't "pull away" at the end. We were hammering Armagh, they staged a comeback and we got our noses in front again at the end to win by 4.
Dunne missed a handy free and kicked a wide before he caught fire v Armagh, it would be stretching it in the extreme to call it a litany of wides and there was absolutely no chance in the world that he was going to be taken off in the first half, that's a nothing statement.

Our wides cost us v Monaghan, when the game was there to be won Keating kicked two wides that he should never have taken on and Givney had another, it was partially down to the fact that Monaghan were defending brilliantly. We aren't set up to rack up massive scores but I was pleasantly surprised to win a shoot out yesterday, 1-14 against a good Division 3 side last week and 18 points (with a further 1-4 in extra time) against the Division 2 winners isn't bad going at all.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 21, 2013, 12:57:14 PM
Cavan won the first half v Armagh but lost most of the second and tacked on a couple of points to pull clear at the end after being level at one stage iirc.

Monaghan didnt allow Cavan room in attack to score - which is my point to Myles. In that game and against Fermanagh Cavan have away frees in defense each time a man ran at them.

That's all I'm saying.
They are not set up for high scoring - agreed, that is also another of my points.
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 21, 2013, 01:11:11 PM
Fair play to Cavan. They have Aristo 60's support for the rest of the year. Didn't think my two Cootehill cousins would get a longer run in the championship this year than us.
Post by: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 01:30:17 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 21, 2013, 12:57:14 PM
Cavan won the first half v Armagh but lost most of the second and tacked on a couple of points to pull clear at the end after being level at one stage iirc.

Monaghan didnt allow Cavan room in attack to score - which is my point to Myles. In that game and against Fermanagh Cavan have away frees in defense each time a man ran at them.

That's all I'm saying.
They are not set up for high scoring - agreed, that is also another of my points.

I think you're being unfair to them. 1-22 is some scoring any day these days at county level.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 21, 2013, 01:56:56 PM
It's fantastic scoring Indy - my issue is that Derry are conceding big scores too often!
Post by: Qwerty28 on July 21, 2013, 05:48:12 PM
Wonder what are the chances of Cavan meeting Monaghan in the Quarters!?!
Post by: Zulu on July 21, 2013, 07:02:00 PM
Just watching this game now, some scores being kicked so far!!
Post by: Zulu on July 21, 2013, 07:22:09 PM
No way was that a free for Derry in the 72nd minute.
Post by: yellowcard on July 21, 2013, 07:37:49 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 21, 2013, 07:02:00 PM

Where are you watching it?
Post by: Zulu on July 21, 2013, 07:40:17 PM
Premier sports in Britain.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 21, 2013, 11:01:55 PM
G that last point give away in injury time was brutal with 4 derry men around 1 cavan man, the big No.27 for Cavan looks handy and that young lad Reilly
Post by: Itchy on July 21, 2013, 11:08:28 PM
Big no 27 is 19 yr old Michael Argue. Only called into the panel a few weeks ago. Martin Reilly was class but imagine he was a sub all yr and only got his start last day against Fermanagh because of injuries.
Post by: J OGorman on July 21, 2013, 11:15:09 PM
The match was there to be won for Derry.  If Skinner had buried the goal chance, if we'd been a bit 'cuter' a point up with time near up, taken a couple of bookings and closesld the game out...but it didnt happen. Everyday is a school day. Some majestic scores from both sides and incredible fitness levels . 2 young teams that look to be moving in the right direction.  Good luck to Cavan in rd 4, their supporters are a credit to the county. They are football mad and enjoy the craic
Post by: rodney trotter on July 21, 2013, 11:16:53 PM
Martin is 26,he was on the DIT team that won the Sigerson this year. Spent a couple of years with Burnley when he was younger. Classy footballer and its great to see him making an impact.
Post by: Main Street on July 21, 2013, 11:19:00 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 21, 2013, 11:01:55 PM
G that last point give away in injury time was brutal with 4 derry men around 1 cavan man, the big No.27 for Cavan looks handy and that young lad Reilly
I thought Derry shouldn't have let Cavan work the ball upfield in acres of space, if ever there was a time to be cynical, that was it, foul early and often.
Anyway, it looked like (in the highlights) that Cavan deserved their win. Some great shooting from long distances.
Post by: theticklemister on July 22, 2013, 11:18:22 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 21, 2013, 07:37:49 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 21, 2013, 07:02:00 PM

Where are you watching it?

I'm afraid to watch it.

It will be on rte.ie muckers.

First championship campaign I missed since I started to go to the football.
Post by: tbrick18 on July 22, 2013, 07:24:48 PM
Very disappointing result for Derry but has to be said, Cavan were well worth their win on the day.
Some of their score taking was top drawer.
Cavan look very well drilled and know exactly what they should be doing and I think that was the difference on the day.
Too many Derry players either didn't perform well enough or just looked a bit lost.

Fair play to Cavan, you should definately beat London and it would be great to see yous win a quarter final.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 25, 2013, 10:41:22 PM
Gregory Campbell
July 21
Someone wanted to let me know that in the "All-Ireland Football Qualifiers" Cavan has beaten Londonderry. So now you know, No I didn't either.

Nice to see Gregory can respect our culture on FB - dickhead
Post by: babarino on July 26, 2013, 10:24:03 AM
Quote from: tommysmith on July 21, 2013, 08:43:32 AM

Im not.

Tommy, you're sound like Cavan's answer to Gregory Campbell. Must have used up all your luck in drawing London in the next round.
Post by: tommysmith on July 26, 2013, 05:55:11 PM
Quote from: babarino on July 26, 2013, 10:24:03 AM

Im not.

Tommy, you're sound like Cavan's answer to Gregory Campbell. Must have used up all your luck in drawing London in the next round.

What are you dribbling about?
Post by: babarino on July 26, 2013, 08:47:15 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on July 26, 2013, 05:55:11 PM

Im not.

Tommy, you sound like Cavan's answer to Gregory Campbell. Must have used up all your luck in drawing London in the next round.

Your previous post. Are ye sure dribbling is the right verb here?
Post by: tommysmith on July 26, 2013, 10:13:38 PM
Quote from: babarino on July 26, 2013, 08:47:15 PM

Im not.

Tommy, you sound like Cavan's answer to Gregory Campbell. Must have used up all your luck in drawing London in the next round.

What is the problem with my previous post?
Post by: babarino on July 27, 2013, 04:57:43 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on July 26, 2013, 10:13:38 PM

Im not.

Maybe I read it wrong, but while there was a bit of a Monaghan - Cavan truce going on with Denn, you didn't appear to want a surprise 'shocker' in Clones. If Cavan had made it to the final I'd have been up for them. Always up for the underdog, like I was up for London today.
Title: Re: Derry v Cavan n
Post by: tommysmith on July 27, 2013, 07:17:52 PM
Quote from: babarino on July 27, 2013, 04:57:43 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on July 26, 2013, 10:13:38 PM

Im not.

Maybe I read it wrong, but while there was a bit of a Monaghan - Cavan truce going on with Denn, you didn't appear to want a surprise 'shocker' in Clones. If Cavan had made it to the final I'd have been up for them. Always up for the underdog, like I was up for London today.

I didn't want Monaghan to win i don't know why you seem to have take issue with that?