GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: screenexile on June 27, 2013, 10:45:53 AM

Title: 2013 Féile Peil na nÓg Doire - All-Ireland Under 14 Championships
Post by: screenexile on June 27, 2013, 10:45:53 AM
Can't believe there's not a thread for this! Anyway we're hosting 2 Clubs and the boys division 1 Semi Finals this weekend. It's going to be clean mental around the place. What teams would be shaping up as favourites for this one?

Usually the Dubs send up a team that has 6 physios, a strength & conditioning coach and 2 sports psychologists that all stay in the hotel with them... what way are Ballyboden fixed for this then?
Title: Re: 2013 Féile Peil na nÓg Doire - All-Ireland Under 14 Championships
Post by: lenny on June 27, 2013, 11:11:05 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 27, 2013, 10:45:53 AM
Can't believe there's not a thread for this! Anyway we're hosting 2 Clubs and the boys division 1 Semi Finals this weekend. It's going to be clean mental around the place. What teams would be shaping up as favourites for this one?

Usually the Dubs send up a team that has 6 physios, a strength & conditioning coach and 2 sports psychologists that all stay in the hotel with them... what way are Ballyboden fixed for this then?

Think bellaghy are raging hot favourites. The Cork and Dublin teams would be up there also. Seriously though the Dublin teams have been well nigh unbeatable in the last few years. Looking forward to the whole thing though and am gonna try to get to the games on Saturday.
Post by: screenexile on June 27, 2013, 12:01:02 PM
Quote from: lenny on June 27, 2013, 11:11:05 AM

Think bellaghy are raging hot favourites. The Cork and Dublin teams would be up there also. Seriously though the Dublin teams have been well nigh unbeatable in the last few years. Looking forward to the whole thing though and am gonna try to get to the games on Saturday.

Seriously??!! There was barely a kick of a ball in it in the Feile Final between us and them!!
Post by: trasna man on June 27, 2013, 12:55:09 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 27, 2013, 12:01:02 PM
Quote from: lenny on June 27, 2013, 11:11:05 AM

Seriously??!! There was barely a kick of a ball in it in the Feile Final between us and them!!
A good final it was too, heard any of teams are good enough to win, but theFriday games will be the most important a bad start and your weekend will be over before it starts.
Post by: sligoman2 on June 27, 2013, 04:29:13 PM
Im heading over tonight, my daughter is on the ny team.
Div 3, hosted by steelstown.
We have a decent team.
Anyone know the address of steelstown gaa pitch? Heading straight there from the airport.  Will catch the sligo game too
Post by: trasna man on June 27, 2013, 04:47:11 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on June 27, 2013, 04:29:13 PM
Im heading over tonight, my daughter is on the ny team.
Div 3, hosted by steelstown.
We have a decent team.
Anyone know the address of steelstown gaa pitch? Heading straight there from the airport.  Will catch the sligo game too
Their website is www.steelstown.ie, you will have two of the best referees for the Ladies games, i have been told ;)
Post by: sligoman2 on June 27, 2013, 05:43:40 PM
Thanks - good to hear about the refs.
I checked the website it doesnt have the address for some reason
Post by: theticklemister on June 27, 2013, 06:37:59 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on June 27, 2013, 05:43:40 PM
Thanks - good to hear about the refs.
I checked the website it doesnt have the address for some reason

It is in the ballyarnet/shantallow area lad of the city.From the airport head to the foyle bridge, go over the foyle bridge ye will come to a roundabout. Go straight through the roundabout up the madams bank road. Youll come to set of traffic lights go through them (when green) and youll come to another rohndabout and take your third exit. You will see the pitch on the right hand side. Have a good time and tell everyone the ticklemister was asking for them.
Post by: sligoman2 on June 27, 2013, 07:17:46 PM
Will do
Thanks ticklemeister
Post by: Zulu on June 28, 2013, 01:01:40 PM
First off best of luck to all involved. It's a great competition and it's a pity it isn't televised anymore, I wonder will there be youtube clips of the games uploaded? The Ulster feiles are often the best run so it should be a great weekend for all involved. We'll have our first ever team in feile 2015 hopefully!
Post by: Zulu on June 28, 2013, 02:07:21 PM
Any other updates? The Derry feile website isn't the most user friendly and doesn't look like it's going to be keeping us updated.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2013, 02:12:27 PM
No twitter updates either, disappointingly. Clonmel Commercials are up there in Division 3. How are the divisions worked out? I only ask because the Limerick champions are in Div 2... Was it in Laois last year? I remember the updates from there were excellent. Unusual for an Ulster county, they are usually on the ball with this sort of stuff.
Title: Seo
Post by: drici on June 28, 2013, 02:13:28 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2013, 01:55:48 PM

We're beating our host club Glenties 5-04 to 0-00 at HT.

(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/468_zps84aaa9f5.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2013, 02:25:37 PM
@DoireGAA (Why not DoireCLG if they are going as gaeilge?) seems to be updating on Twitter...

FEILE RESULTS: DIV 4A BOYS: South London 6-7 Limavady 2-1 DIV 4C BOYS: Ardee 3-16 Faughanvale 0-2 #Feile2013
Post by: southdown on June 28, 2013, 02:28:18 PM
Lancashire 2.07 to 0.00 up at half time to one of the derry sides
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2013, 02:31:04 PM
D'oh!
Post by: Zulu on June 28, 2013, 02:37:45 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 28, 2013, 02:12:27 PM
No twitter updates either, disappointingly. Clonmel Commercials are up there in Division 3. How are the divisions worked out? I only ask because the Limerick champions are in Div 2... Was it in Laois last year? I remember the updates from there were excellent. Unusual for an Ulster county, they are usually on the ball with this sort of stuff.

Based on how your previous years representative did afaik, so if they won their division last year, this years county reps would be promoted so to speak. Though I think you can also request to be put in a certain division.
Post by: theticklemister on June 28, 2013, 02:55:20 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2013, 02:50:01 PM
Full time:
Rossa 9-06
Glenties 0-03

Tús maith leath na hoibre.

Jim mcguinness' teachings are not taken aboard at u14 level apparently
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2013, 03:03:05 PM
FEILE RESULTS: BOYS DIV 1A: Ballyboden 4-6 Kilrea 0-6 BOYS 1B: Lavey 0-5 Claregalway 1-13 BOYS 2C: St Eunans 3-12 Loup 0-6

FEILE RES: BOYS DIV 2C: Burren 2-13 Portglenone 0-5. BOYS 3C: Longford Slashers 1-4 Steelstown 3-4. BOYS 5B: Moneymore 1-6 Thomastown 6-6

FEILE RES: BOYS DIV 5D: Lancs 4-10 St Michaels 0-2. GIRLS DIV 1A: Errigal Chiarain 2-2 Foxrock 5-11. GIRLS 1C: Fr Rocks 0-0 Killarney 11-13
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2013, 03:22:29 PM
Clonmel Commercials beat Buncrana 3-6 to 2-2 in D3
Post by: Zulu on June 28, 2013, 03:36:34 PM
Div 1D: Bellaghy 3-18 N/York 1-2 - That's some result. You wouldn't expect any team to get that kind of hammering but NY have powered their way to division 1 over the past few years and I thought they might even challenge for this title. Bellaghy must be a real good unit.
Post by: heffo on June 28, 2013, 03:47:58 PM
Dublin didn't enter a team from Div 2 this year - St Annes, winners of Dublin Div 6 are going in their place
Post by: Zulu on June 28, 2013, 03:51:22 PM
Why heffo?
Post by: Zulu on June 28, 2013, 03:55:51 PM
English teams seem to be doing well so far though I think London, in particular, should be looking to field a genuine club in the not too distant future. Div 3A N/London 0-7 Glenullin 0-4
Post by: screenexile on June 28, 2013, 03:57:32 PM
We beat Austin Stacks today 4-7 to 2-1. A good start for our lads.

Best place for Score Updates will be Twitter I would say.

Full lists of fixtures:

Boys
http://www.feiledhoire2013.com/news/270633/Last_Revision_of_Boys_fixtures

Girls
http://www.feiledhoire2013.com/news/270635/Last_Revision_of_Girls_fixtures
Post by: theticklemister on June 28, 2013, 03:59:46 PM
Derry leagues at u-14 level......

The Old Thatch Inn ACFL Under 14A

Position

Team

Played

Won

Lost

Drawn

For

Against

Diff

1 Bellaghy 5 5 0 0 125 47 78 10
2 Ballinascreen 6 4 2 0 145 86 59 8
3 Dungiven 8 4 4 0 136 123 13 8
4 Swatragh 6 3 3 0 129 96 33 6
5 Lavey 6 3 3 0 82 90 -8 6
6 Magherafelt 7 3 4 0 127 144 -17 6
7 Kilrea 7 3 4 0 114 171 -57 6
8 Coleraine 5 2 3 0 68 92 -24 4
9 Sean O'Leary GAC Newbridge 6 1 5 0 78 155 -77 2

The Old Thatch Inn ACFL Under 14B

Position

Team

Played

Won

Lost

Drawn

For

Against

Diff

1 Glenullin 9 8 0 1 160 72 88 17
2 Glen 9 8 1 0 223 96 127 16
3 Limavady 9 6 3 0 188 111 77 12
4 Loup 8 5 2 1 158 113 45 11
5 Faughanvale 8 5 3 0 164 106 58 10
6 Steelstown 7 4 3 0 128 92 36 8
7 Doire Trasna 9 4 5 0 160 148 12 8
8 Craigbane 8 4 4 0 105 163 -58 8
9 Banagher 9 3 6 0 135 144 -9 6
10 Claudy 7 3 4 0 77 99 -22 6
11 Slaughtneil 9 3 6 0 124 202 -78 6
12 St Marys Slaughtmanus GAC 9 2 7 0 136 188 -52 4
13 Ballinderry 6 1 5 0 55 158 -103 2
14 Greenlough 9 1 8 0 118 239 -121 2

The Old Thatch Inn ACFL Under 14C

The Old Thatch Inn ACFL Under 14 C

Position

Team

Played

Won

Lost

Drawn

For

Against

Diff

1 Drumsurn 7 7 0 0 247 35 212 14
2 Moneymore GAC 8 7 1 0 230 68 162 14
3 Lissan 7 7 0 0 131 52 79 14
4 Ballymaguigan 8 6 2 0 213 87 126 12
5 Ballerin 7 5 2 0 159 105 54 10
6 Castledawson 8 5 3 0 191 105 86 10
7 St Michael's 7 4 3 0 118 102 16 8
8 Foreglen 6 4 2 0 65 97 -32 8
9 Dungiven 8 2 6 0 104 182 -78 4
10 Doire Colmcille 8 1 7 0 116 174 -58 2
11 Drum 6 1 5 0 19 140 -121 2
12 Desertmartin 7 1 6 0 57 189 -132 2
13 Sean Dolans 6 0 6 0 0 0 0 0
14 Ardmore 7 0 7 0 29 343 -314 0

Post by: heffo on June 28, 2013, 04:00:52 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 28, 2013, 03:51:22 PM
Why heffo?

The feeling was it was getting too competitive and they'd spread the representation across the divisions
Post by: Oraisteach on June 28, 2013, 06:25:08 PM
No Armagh teams except for a Div. 3 girls' team?  What are the entry requirements? Are we just not good enough or did no Armagh boys' teams try to enter?  Looks like a great competition with teams from all over the country and beyond.
Post by: ranch on June 28, 2013, 06:42:55 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on June 28, 2013, 06:25:08 PM
No Armagh teams except for a Div. 3 girls' team?  What are the entry requirements? Are we just not good enough or did no Armagh boys' teams try to enter?  Looks like a great competition with teams from all over the country and beyond.

Tir na nog are in it as far as I'm aware. You have to win your county feile to qualify.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2013, 06:44:15 PM
Tir na NOg are in it I'm sure.
Post by: Onion Bag on June 28, 2013, 07:08:37 PM
I have a young cousin over from San Fran playing, can anyone let me know how they are getting on? Div 5
Post by: Oraisteach on June 28, 2013, 07:13:44 PM
Thanks ranch and AZ.  Tir na nOg are indeed in it.  Next dumb question.  How are the various divisions determined?
Post by: Jimmy on June 28, 2013, 07:48:38 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on June 28, 2013, 07:08:37 PM
I have a young cousin over from San Fran playing, can anyone let me know how they are getting on? Div 5

San Francisco are staying in Castledawson and are in division 5B. They won today by 3-14 to 1-4. They play Moneymore (Derry) and Thomastown (Kilkenny) tomorrow.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 29, 2013, 12:38:12 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 29, 2013, 12:28:29 PM
Christ, that was only the half time score.

Finished Rossa 9-11 Claudy 0-04!

I know what you mean, absolutely disgraceful. Imagine conceding four points in the second half. They should be on the first bus back to the big smoke!
Post by: heffo on June 29, 2013, 02:36:16 PM
St Annes (Dublin Div 6 winners) through to Semi-final
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2013, 02:52:13 PM
Ballyboden playing Claregalway in one Div 1 semi and Ballinscreen v Bellaghy in an all Derry semi in the other. San Fran, Clonmel, Ballykelly (Kildare) among other teams to progress to semis. I see NY beat Carrigaline in a high scoring game but both already out. Twitter updates are excellent from Derry GAA but they may as well have not bothered with the website for all the good it is.
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2013, 02:55:18 PM
Na Fianna (Meath) playing Rossa (Antrim) in one of the Div 2 semis.
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2013, 02:59:49 PM
Glen (Derry) play San Fran in one div 5 semi.
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2013, 03:07:02 PM
Div 4 semi finals - 4pm: South London vs St.Lomans

5.20pm:Ennistymon vs Burt
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2013, 03:09:37 PM
Boys Division 2 Group D goes to 3 way playoff between Tir Na Og, Newcastle West, Moortown

Semi Final Slaughtneil final game will be delayed
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2013, 03:12:54 PM
Boys Division 6 Semi Finals 4pm: Ballykelly vs St. Rynagh's

5.20pm: Drumsurn vs Tinahealy

I didn't realise Rynagh's played football but they've been doing well at the feile. Good to see.
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2013, 03:15:58 PM
Girls Division 3 Semi Finals

4pm:Shelmailer's vs Dungarvan

5.20pm:St.Conleths vs St.Patricks
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2013, 05:04:29 PM
Rynaghs is two towns, well 1 town (Banagher) and 1 village (Cloghan). The football is anchored in cloghan but a good few banagher men would have played. Duignan was a good footballer. They even wear different jersies in the football. Hurling is like tipp, football is like celtic.
Post by: theticklemister on June 29, 2013, 05:07:26 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 29, 2013, 05:00:34 PM
Finished up 6-07 to 1-06.

Ar fheabhas.

Scored something like 26-35 over the 4 games. More of the same in the final please.

Rossa Abu!
a few of the lads shoulda been called up for the louth game today
Post by: trasna man on June 29, 2013, 11:49:52 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 29, 2013, 02:52:13 PM
Ballyboden playing Claregalway in one Div 1 semi and Ballinscreen v Bellaghy in an all Derry semi in the other. San Fran, Clonmel, Ballykelly (Kildare) among other teams to progress to semis. I see NY beat Carrigaline in a high scoring game but both already out. Twitter updates are excellent from Derry GAA but they may as well have not bothered with the website for all the good it is.
I was the referee for this game . Two teams asked to play 30 minutes a half and all players on the panel got some game time as they were already out. I had a great days craic as did everyone else. Good luck to all the finalist tomorrow.
Post by: Zulu on June 30, 2013, 12:19:54 AM
Good man, what were the NY team like? Great to see them progressing to division 1 but they seemed out of their depth this year, is that fair to say?
Post by: bannside on June 30, 2013, 02:14:28 AM
Hardstation, Burren - the team you guys meet tomorrow were staying with us in Portglenone. Great nights crack with their travelling party in our social club tonite - will have the head to prove it in the morning!

Civil lads all round and even though I know you are supposed to cheer your guests all the way, we need a bit of something to restore Antrim pride after all that's been going on recently.

Should be a cracking game and really sorry I cant make it to Celtic Park. The winners will be a good team!
Post by: bannside on June 30, 2013, 02:17:32 AM
Must be at least half a dozen of the Rossa lads bigger than Hugh McG going by that picture.
Post by: Zulu on June 30, 2013, 12:17:27 PM
The champions so far are:

Div 4 Girls:Carryduff

Div 3 G:St Conleth's

Div 6 Boys:Drumsurn

Div 5 B:Glen

Div 4 B:S London
Post by: Zulu on June 30, 2013, 12:56:53 PM
Div 2 girls final Kilkenny 2-2, Moyle Rovers 1-1 into the second half. MR with a strong wind but running out of time.
Post by: Zulu on June 30, 2013, 12:59:55 PM
3rd Kilkenny goal!! That should do it, they'll be happy Noreside tonight even if they did lose the hurlin yesterday.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 30, 2013, 03:49:23 PM
Clonmel Commercials won the D3 Boys final against Baltinglass. Well done lads.
Post by: Zulu on June 30, 2013, 04:00:45 PM
Commercials are a great club and have been doing great work underage for a long time now. Good to see them get the reward of a feile title.

Claregalway 3-4 to 0-2 up at HT against Bellaghy. They had a strong wind in the first half though so not over yet.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 30, 2013, 04:24:54 PM
Claregalway won 4-5 to 1-6 in the end.
Post by: Onlooker on June 30, 2013, 06:00:31 PM
Congrats. to Commercials.  Under Age football continues to go well in Tipperary.
Post by: trasna man on June 30, 2013, 10:18:08 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 30, 2013, 12:19:54 AM
Good man, what were the NY team like? Great to see them progressing to division 1 but they seemed out of their depth this year, is that fair to say?
the NY boys were very skillful, but had poor team play, would have been good for div 2 i would say. 80.000 dollars to bring a team to Feile so fair play i sure its not easy, i am heading to Philly in 3 weeks time to Referee at the W.Y.C and hope to meet a few of the mentors when I'm over for a couple of beers 8).
Post by: theticklemister on June 30, 2013, 10:24:19 PM
Quote from: trasna man on June 30, 2013, 10:18:08 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 30, 2013, 12:19:54 AM
the NY boys were very skillful, but had poor team play, would have been good for div 2 i would say. 80.000 dollars to bring a team to Feile so fair play i sure its not easy, i am heading to Philly in 3 weeks time to Referee at the W.Y.C and hope to meet a few of the mentors when I'm over for a couple of beers 8).

No drinking on the job.................... we don't want another Colerainegate episode transaman! We won by a point today trasnaman , but me and the st.lawerences manager (an ex-steelstown player also, we played together in the full back line in the bad old days of Junior football in Derry) had it as a draw. Bit the win puts us into the playoffs. Fair play to the ref!!
Post by: Drummerboy on June 30, 2013, 10:46:22 PM
Who won Div 1 and 2 today.
Post by: theticklemister on June 30, 2013, 10:49:45 PM
Quote from: Drummerboy on June 30, 2013, 10:46:22 PM
Who won Div 1 and 2 today.

go back over the pages there.

claregalway beat bellaghy in division 1 final and rossa were beat by burren in div 2 final.
All scores.........http://derrygaa.ie/2013/06/feile-results-2013/
Post by: rory on July 01, 2013, 02:26:04 PM
What way are the divisions drawn?

Division 1 had teams from Tyrone, Dublin, Laois, Galway, Kildare, Kerry, Cork, New York and then 8 teams from host County Derry.

Is that the way it works every year, or is there any sort of relegation / promotion?  (For instance Burren from Down won Div 2, does that mean next years Down champs will be in Div 1?)

Or are the Divisions just randomly drawn?
Post by: screenexile on July 01, 2013, 02:35:01 PM
Quote from: rory on July 01, 2013, 02:26:04 PM

Division 1 had teams from Tyrone, Dublin, Laois, Galway, Kildare, Kerry, Cork, New York and then 8 teams from host County Derry.

Is that the way it works every year, or is there any sort of relegation / promotion?  (For instance Burren from Down won Div 2, does that mean next years Down champs will be in Div 1?)

They must be . . . how else can anyone explain Glen being 2nd in Derry's Division 2 league and being able to enter Division 5 of the All Ireland Feile (the closest any team got to them was 7 points).
Post by: the dodger on July 01, 2013, 02:55:08 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 01, 2013, 02:35:01 PM
Quote from: rory on July 01, 2013, 02:26:04 PM

They must be . . . how else can anyone explain Glen being 2nd in Derry's Division 2 league and being able to enter Division 5 of the All Ireland Feile (the closest any team got to them was 7 points).

I'm told the Derry teams placings were based on last year's Ulster Feile and this year's Derry Feile results, where Glen didn't win a match. Glen probably should've been in Div3/4, but not the club's doing.
Post by: kilkenny footballer on July 01, 2013, 04:16:23 PM
i was playing and hosting boys from dublin and they were the nicest bunch of lads about ! we are an u13 team and we werent that good but we weren embarresed and hopefully we will qualify next year but it was one of the best weeks of my life!
Post by: sligoman2 on July 01, 2013, 10:51:59 PM
We lost to a team from Wicklow. Only good point is we have 13 out of 24 back next year.
Post by: Mrs mills on July 02, 2013, 12:41:52 PM
Oh dear, I hear those naughty men from glen didn't object to being placed in division 5 even when they saw other wee derry teams in higher divisions. Still, as my late husband said to me 'what do you expect from a cow but a kick?'