Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: laoislad on April 04, 2013, 07:43:11 PM

Title: The Masters 2013.
Post by: laoislad on April 04, 2013, 07:43:11 PM
Without a shadow of a doubt this is my favourite Golf tournament.
Tiger back on form as well for it should make it very interesting.
Wouldn't right off the hairy bollix Mcilroy either even though he is playing catmalogen at the minute.

My hard earned dosh is going on each way bets for Woods,Mcilroy,Bubba Watson and...... very small bets on Garcia and Westwood because they have to come good some day!

Also at 300/1 Mark LeishLaoisman is worth a €1 bet surely!
Title: Re: The Masters 2013.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 04, 2013, 09:20:06 PM
It would be great to see Sergio land a big one but he seems mentally shot.

I throw a few quid on Westwood every year thinking the same as you! No more!
Post by: sans pessimism on April 04, 2013, 09:34:02 PM
For the last week, the wife has had full control of the RC
but has been advised that come thurs night,until sun night
she is outta the loop as regards de telly.And if the mother
in law even THINKS about visiting during those hours........
Post by: DrinkingHarp on April 04, 2013, 09:43:24 PM
If I was betting, my top 5 in no order would be Woods, McDowell, Snedker (if fully healthy), Schwartzel, Bradley.

Top 5 if the have big (>50 to 1) odds  Rose, Hass, Walker, Day and Cink.

Post by: highorlow on April 04, 2013, 10:18:50 PM
Everything points to Adam Scott this year. He is a big price at 28/1.
Post by: leaveherinsir on April 04, 2013, 10:25:30 PM
Definitely always heralds the real start of the golf season as Laoislad says. Hard to see past Woods and Mickelson as the two main favourites. However as in all of the majors there is at least 50 who could winthis. Wouldnt fancy Scott tho. Last years open still has to haunt him down the stretch on Sunday if he is contending. Just a pity its only on BBC at weekend.
Post by: charlieTully on April 04, 2013, 10:34:39 PM
i had a bet on steve stricker after his recent second to woods, 80/1 at time, around 66/1 now. i like Louis Oosthuizen and had backed last year at a 100/1, not a mission of a price anywhere near that this time. will back him, Charl S and G-Mac.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 04, 2013, 10:38:12 PM
Jason Day 45/1, KJ Choi 90/1 and Thorbjorn Oleson 125/1 would be my E/W outside bets this year.
Post by: Puckoon on April 04, 2013, 10:58:01 PM
Head says Tiger

Betting man looking for value says Louis, Phil

Heart says GMAC.

Westwood is back with the putting woes. Can't see it happening - and Sergio could prove us all wrong - but he seems very much a beaten docket in his current state.
Post by: highorlow on April 05, 2013, 09:28:35 AM
QuoteLast years open still has to haunt him down the stretch on Sunday if he is contending.

Long forgotten in his head I'd say. McIlroy gets over his blow up(s).
Post by: Canalman on April 05, 2013, 10:40:02 AM
Dustin Johnson to win E10.

Small e/w bets on KJ Choi and Angel Cabrera.

After a quick google it would seem Harrington is double booked to play 2 tournaments this weekend........ the masters and another in Texas I think. Probably a simple explanation????
Post by: muppet on April 05, 2013, 11:02:58 AM
Quote from: Canalman on April 05, 2013, 10:40:02 AM

After a quick google it would seem Harrington is double booked to play 2 tournaments this weekend........ the masters and another in Texas I think. Probably a simple explanation????

The Masters is on next weekend.
Post by: laoislad on April 05, 2013, 11:16:23 AM
Quote from: muppet on April 05, 2013, 11:02:58 AM
Quote from: Canalman on April 05, 2013, 10:40:02 AM

The Masters is on next weekend.

Tony Fearon booked a hotel in Augusta for this weekend.
Post by: Rois on April 05, 2013, 11:45:29 AM
A guy in work is heading out, has tickets to the practice days or something.

His careful calculation using tried and tested Man Maths techniques has resulted in him persuading his wife (who gave birth to their second child less than 3 months ago) that it is CHEAPER to go to Vegas for four nights before heading to Augusta.  Some craic.
Post by: heganboy on April 05, 2013, 12:22:08 PM
Quote from: Rois on April 05, 2013, 11:45:29 AM

His careful calculation using tried and tested Man Maths techniques has resulted in him persuading his wife (who gave birth to their second child less than 3 months ago) that it is CHEAPER to go to Vegas for four nights before heading to Augusta.  Some craic.

very impressive- anyone trying to fill a sales position should look no further...
Post by: Puckoon on April 05, 2013, 12:31:38 PM
Quote from: Rois on April 05, 2013, 11:45:29 AM

http://www.masters.com/en_US/tournament/patron_info.html (http://www.masters.com/en_US/tournament/patron_info.html)

I hope he's familiar with some of the Augusta National Rules for spectators before going! Man they are steeped in tradition...

No cell phones on the grounds is a big one - got to leave that bad boy in your hotel room. You will not be admitted.
Post by: DennistheMenace on April 05, 2013, 12:42:03 PM
Personally i wouldn't look past the Americans and South Africans at Augusta with their recent record, iirc the last European that won the Masters was Olazabal which is a good few years ago now.

My 3 picks.

Brad Snedeker
Louis Ooosthuizen
Matt Kuchar
Post by: Declan on April 05, 2013, 02:17:47 PM
If they don't allow phones they'll hardly allow Bubba to bring this with him
http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_uri=%2F&gl=IE#/watch?v=z5u_2bGPdUY&feature=g-logo-xit (http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_uri=%2F&gl=IE#/watch?v=z5u_2bGPdUY&feature=g-logo-xit)
Post by: laoislad on April 11, 2013, 04:26:29 PM
Furyk going well on -4 after 8 holes
Post by: glens abu on April 11, 2013, 04:55:02 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 11, 2013, 04:26:29 PM

Got him at 100/1 before the Texas tournament,hope he keeps her lit and gives me a wee sweat,but long way to go
Post by: glens abu on April 11, 2013, 05:05:33 PM
Westwood now -1,Bubba+1
Post by: Oraisteach on April 11, 2013, 05:06:39 PM
Harrington -1 (3)
Post by: Minder on April 11, 2013, 05:21:09 PM
Quote from: glens abu on April 11, 2013, 04:55:02 PM

Got him at 100/1 before the Texas tournament,hope he keeps her lit and gives me a wee sweat,but long way to go

Furyk is very prone to filling his bags on Sunday if he is still there.
Post by: glens abu on April 11, 2013, 05:57:50 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 11, 2013, 05:21:09 PM
Quote from: glens abu on April 11, 2013, 04:55:02 PM

Furyk is very prone to filling his bags on Sunday if he is still there.

Yeah agree alright but thought 100/1 worth a few bob,Woods now on the move and Westwood minus2
Post by: Orior on April 11, 2013, 06:00:20 PM
Ulsterman Adrian Dunbar playing like me.

5 over after 3 holes
Post by: laoislad on April 11, 2013, 06:11:33 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 11, 2013, 06:00:20 PM
Ulsterman Adrian Dunbar playing like me.

5 over after 3 holes

I'd be delighted to be only 5 over after 3 holes in Augusta.
Post by: glens abu on April 11, 2013, 06:14:25 PM
Tiger now -2 after 8
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on April 11, 2013, 06:32:31 PM
McDowell 2pts ew at 66s
Stenson 1pt ew at 66s
Jason Day 2pts ew at 66s
Martin Kaymer 2pts ew at 125/1 :o

David Lynn messed up my 3 ball bet today other 3 up so far ffs
Post by: Oraisteach on April 11, 2013, 06:47:27 PM
Harrington now +2, McDowell at even par
Post by: The Boy Wonder on April 11, 2013, 07:10:33 PM
Laoisman on top of leaderboard now - keep it up Mark  :D
Post by: Oraisteach on April 11, 2013, 07:33:19 PM
McIlroy -1 after 2
Post by: Oraisteach on April 11, 2013, 08:26:31 PM
McIlroy moves to -2
Post by: sans pessimism on April 11, 2013, 08:35:16 PM
Sergio  and Day  have the same top-whatever  would  Mr Galvin think
Post by: sans pessimism on April 11, 2013, 08:37:15 PM
Rory lookin like he means buisness
Post by: laoislad on April 11, 2013, 08:42:48 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on April 11, 2013, 08:35:16 PM
Sergio  and Day  have the same top-whatever  would  Mr Galvin think
Dustin Johnson has the same one on as well.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 11, 2013, 08:54:20 PM
Sergio playing really well, would just need to chip away and take his chances, on anothjer note, those greens are wild!!
Post by: The Worker on April 11, 2013, 09:30:26 PM
What price was sergio this morning?
Post by: sammymaguire on April 11, 2013, 09:40:19 PM
40-1 in most places have £10 each way on him

He'll probably fade now... Don't like to see him getting off to a flyer
Post by: Declan on April 11, 2013, 10:07:16 PM
McIlroy's body language is terrible. He's no chance I reckon.
Post by: muppet on April 11, 2013, 10:13:36 PM
Quote from: Declan on April 11, 2013, 10:07:16 PM
McIlroy's body language is terrible. He's no chance I reckon.

Tiger won shooting a 40 on the front 9 on the first day.

There will be many twists and turns, but I'm gonna keep your quote just in case.  ;)
Post by: laoislad on April 11, 2013, 10:22:02 PM
Sergio hits the front along with Laoisman.
Post by: Declan on April 11, 2013, 10:22:39 PM
Would be delighted to be proven wrong but can't see it myself :D
Post by: magpie seanie on April 11, 2013, 11:31:51 PM
Leishlad looking good with Laoisman and his old favourite Sergio at the head of proceedings.
Post by: laoislad on April 11, 2013, 11:41:09 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 11, 2013, 11:31:51 PM
Leishlad looking good with Laoisman and his old favourite Sergio at the head of proceedings.

It's only Round 1!!
Also have a bet @15/1 that the young 14 year old will make the cut so looking good there.

Will all go pear shaped tomorrow no doubt.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 11, 2013, 11:44:34 PM
Incredible round by the 14 year old alright.

I'd like Sergio to win it.

Rory could be well up the leaderboard and if he sorts out his putting could contend.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 12, 2013, 12:12:07 AM
The wee Chinese lad is incredible!
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 12, 2013, 12:19:43 AM
My 3 punts still in range ready for a big push on Sunday.
Post by: southdown on April 12, 2013, 09:19:40 AM
Downloaded an App on Android "The Masters 2013", great job altogether.
Post by: Declan on April 12, 2013, 03:53:30 PM
McIlroy bogeys the first to go 1 over
Post by: laoislad on April 12, 2013, 06:22:21 PM
Garcia +3 today so far  ::)
Post by: Minder on April 12, 2013, 06:25:41 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 12, 2013, 06:22:21 PM
Garcia +3 today so far  ::)

The collapse is under way
Post by: muppet on April 12, 2013, 06:45:13 PM
Quote from: Declan on April 12, 2013, 03:53:30 PM

And eagles 8 to back to level.

Not many doing well except:

Dusty Johnson who I thought of backing but didn't,
& Charl Schwartzel who I thought of backing but didn't,
& Duffner who I thought of backing but didn't,
& Stricker who I thought of backing but didn't,
& Watney & Lawrie who I thought of backing but didn't.
Post by: bigfrank on April 12, 2013, 06:59:51 PM
backed 5 before a ball was hit...my eggs rest firmly in fowlers,choi's and sneedekers baskets..lets go low boyssssss
Post by: Minder on April 12, 2013, 07:01:30 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 12, 2013, 06:45:13 PM

I had selected Johnson on PP and had the cursor over "place bet" or whatever it says but changed my mind to Snedeker...........
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 12, 2013, 07:05:19 PM

If my Aunt..........................
Post by: sans pessimism on April 12, 2013, 07:11:01 PM

muppet!
Post by: heganboy on April 12, 2013, 07:30:59 PM
wee rory to 1 under

Post by: muppet on April 12, 2013, 07:47:36 PM
Rory -2  8)
Post by: laoislad on April 12, 2013, 08:16:21 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 12, 2013, 07:01:30 PM

I had selected Johnson on PP and had the cursor over "place bet" or whatever it says but changed my mind to Snedeker...........
Johnson just dropped 5 shots in the last 5 holes so no harm done not backing him!
Post by: Minder on April 12, 2013, 08:21:49 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 12, 2013, 08:16:21 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 12, 2013, 07:01:30 PM

Johnson just dropped 5 shots in the last 5 holes so no harm done not backing him!

Aye if he was going down the last with a five shot lead you wouldn't trust him, just doesent have the head for it.

McIlroys bogey on his caddie there, wrong club.
Post by: laoislad on April 12, 2013, 08:34:21 PM
Bastards have given the 14 year old a 1 stroke penalty for slow play on the 17th..

I have €5 @15/1 on him to make the cut as well!
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 12, 2013, 08:45:28 PM
Rose and Scott still in the e/w pay zone for me. Only 2 more days to go  :-\
Post by: Puckoon on April 12, 2013, 08:55:00 PM
That's some fucked up shit with the Chinese youngster. First time they called that penalty since 1995.

We're getting nuked in the mornin' I reckon.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 12, 2013, 09:14:10 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 04, 2013, 07:43:11 PM
Wouldn't right off the hairy bollix Mcilroy either even though he is playing catmalogen at the minute.

My hard earned dosh is going on each way bets for Woods,Mcilroy,Bubba Watson and...... very small bets on Garcia and Westwood because they have to come good some day!

Did you take a go on Laoisman?
Post by: laoislad on April 12, 2013, 09:15:18 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 12, 2013, 09:14:10 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 04, 2013, 07:43:11 PM

Did you take a go on Laoisman?
Yep, I put €1 on him!
Post by: laoislad on April 12, 2013, 09:19:28 PM
Is anyone else watching on Setanta?
Have you seen the advert with Harrington advertising a Golf swing jumper or something.
Feck me its cringe central, you'd almost think its a piss take.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 12, 2013, 09:52:35 PM
I have Woods, Choi and Day - all in contention  :)
Post by: BennyHarp on April 12, 2013, 10:10:15 PM
I've done Snedeker, Ryan Moore and Hunter Mahan, who has had a shocker, all each way. It would be nice to have two in contention over the weekend.
Post by: tyrone exile on April 12, 2013, 10:15:04 PM
Got Carbera, Choi and stricker! All e/w knowing my luck theyl all have stinkers tomorrow! Cant look past woods at the minute!
Post by: laoislad on April 12, 2013, 11:04:25 PM
Wife gone to bed, on your own in the sitting room with the  Masters on the telly, can of Coors in one hand , pulling the dead skin off yer feet with the other...
Life is good.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 12, 2013, 11:06:27 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 12, 2013, 11:04:25 PM
Wife in bed, The Masters on the telly, can of Coors in one hand , pulling the dead skin off yer feet with the other...
Life is good.
Lucky bastard. I have a Magners but have the wife here watching Michael Buble on The Graham Norton Show. She's starting to fade though so a bit of golf and Geordie Shore when the coast is clear  ;)
Post by: laoislad on April 12, 2013, 11:13:19 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 12, 2013, 11:06:27 PM
Wife in bed, The Masters on the telly, can of Coors in one hand , pulling the dead skin off yer feet with the other...
Life is good.
Lucky b**tard. I have a Magners but have the wife here watching Michael Buble on The Graham Norton Show. She's starting to fade though so a bit of golf and Geordie Shore when the coast is clear  ;)

I'm just after polishing off a full packet of chocolate fingers aswell.
Probably should have washed me hands first though after I finished interfering with my feet.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 12, 2013, 11:20:03 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 12, 2013, 11:13:19 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 12, 2013, 11:06:27 PM
Life is good.
Lucky b**tard. I have a Magners but have the wife here watching Michael Buble on The Graham Norton Show. She's starting to fade though so a bit of golf and Geordie Shore when the coast is clear  ;)

I'm just after polishing off a full packet of chocolate fingers aswell.
Probably should have washed me hands first though after I finished interfering with my feet.
Dirty cnut. Hard to beat an auld finger.
Post by: laoislad on April 13, 2013, 12:35:18 AM
14 year old Guan makes the cut!
Nice little earner for myself, all my bets are now covered and a small profit made.
Might buy myself some foot cream out of the winnings.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 13, 2013, 12:47:48 AM
Quote from: laoislad on April 13, 2013, 12:35:18 AM
14 year old Guan makes the cut!
Nice little earner for myself, all my bets are now covered and a small profit made.
Might buy myself some foot cream out of the winnings.
Nice one. He has done you proud.
Post by: optimus cheese on April 13, 2013, 12:52:35 AM
Not much of a golf fan but who is winning and who is likely to?
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 13, 2013, 01:01:39 AM
Quote from: optimus cheese on April 13, 2013, 12:52:35 AM
Not much of a golf fan but who is winning and who is likely to?
Jason Day is ahead but with 36 holes to go it could be anyones. Tiger is 3 shots off the lead but may still be favourite.
Post by: Apparently so on April 13, 2013, 01:40:19 AM
I`m no really into the golf either but I put a tenner on Schwartzel at 22/1 on the advice of a mate. Does he look as likely as anyone else?
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 08:15:09 AM
Talk that Woods could be disqualified for his drop at 15 ?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 13, 2013, 09:47:52 AM
http://espn.go.com/golf/blog/_/name/golf/id/9166946/tiger-woods-taken-illegal-drop-15th-hole-round-2-masters-golf

Looks like he's in real trouble. I'm no expert but it seems that the only rule he could possibly have complied with was that the ball was dropped "as near as possible" to the original spot but he's pretty much admitted he didn't do that.
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 13, 2013, 09:57:00 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 13, 2013, 09:47:52 AM
http://espn.go.com/golf/blog/_/name/golf/id/9166946/tiger-woods-taken-illegal-drop-15th-hole-round-2-masters-golf

Looks like he's in real trouble. I'm no expert but it seems that the only rule he could possibly have complied with was that the ball was dropped "as near as possible" to the original spot but he's pretty much admitted he didn't do that.

It would seem strange that the we don't know about any ruling straight away. Why wait, he either signed an incorrect scorecard or not. I would say we will see him today.
Post by: BennyHarp on April 13, 2013, 10:08:43 AM
I would have thought incorrectly signing his card would have been a more serious problem
Post by: maddog on April 13, 2013, 10:30:31 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 13, 2013, 10:08:43 AM
I would have thought incorrectly signing his card would have been a more serious problem

Wasn't Harrington done for something similar in Abu Dhabi and at the Belfry ?
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 01:07:00 PM
I would say Woods will be out on his lug by the sounds of it.
Post by: INDIANA on April 13, 2013, 01:48:48 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 13, 2013, 01:07:00 PM

TV figures halve in any tournament he doesn't play in.

I'd say he'll be ok. He dropped it very close to the original spot.

Storm in a teacup shite for me.

Post by: Count 10 on April 13, 2013, 01:51:55 PM
I don't think the rules officials have a choice...if he broke a rule (which he admitted) then he has to be D/Q. It's not your monthly medal and Tiger should know better.
Post by: laoislad on April 13, 2013, 02:12:39 PM

I can't understand the delay in announcing if he is DQ or not.
If he broke a rule that under the rules of Golf mean an automatic DQ then he should be disqualified without question.
The rules can't change because its Tiger Woods.
It will be a shame if he is as having Tiger in contention on the back 9 on Round 4 makes any tournament vastly more exciting but them are the rules.
I doubt it will affect any TV viewership as this is the Masters after all and with or without Tiger it's still one of the greatest Golf tournaments there is.
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 02:15:14 PM
If it was anyone else they would have already announced that he is disqualified.

He is 4/7 to be disqualified.
Post by: INDIANA on April 13, 2013, 02:17:50 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 13, 2013, 02:12:39 PM

If he broke a rule that under the rules of Golf mean an automatic DQ then he should be disqualified without question.
It will be a shame if he is as having Tiger in contention on the back 9 on Round 4 makes any tournament vastly more exciting but them are the rules.
I doubt it will affect any TV viewership as this is the Masters after all and with or without Tiger it's still one of the greatest Golf tournaments there is.

Its a statistical fact laoislad. Viewership hits the floor.

One time being too honest gets you in trouble!
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 13, 2013, 02:21:01 PM

It would be a real shame as I would have expected him to rip it up over the weekend.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 13, 2013, 02:33:33 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 13, 2013, 02:17:50 PM

Any normal tournament I'd agree but this is the masters. I think the viewership figures would dip but not hit the floor. Millions will still be watching.
Post by: muppet on April 13, 2013, 02:35:18 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 13, 2013, 02:17:50 PM

Tiger has never missed a Masters though. No stats for him missing one.

They should D/Q him.

However I wonder does he have an out here: http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2011/apr/07/padraig-harrington-disqualification-rule-change (http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2011/apr/07/padraig-harrington-disqualification-rule-change)
Post by: AZOffaly on April 13, 2013, 02:36:29 PM
They bottled it. 2 stroke penalty assessed. Sounds like making it up as they go.
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 02:37:05 PM
TV networks have spoken
Post by: laoislad on April 13, 2013, 02:42:54 PM
Where ye hearing this? Nothing on Sky Sports yet.
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 02:47:21 PM
Apparently the rule was changed a year ago by USGA that signing incorrect scorecard was no longer a DQ.
Post by: ziggy90 on April 13, 2013, 02:49:42 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 13, 2013, 02:42:54 PM
Where ye hearing this? Nothing on Sky Sports yet.

There is now. Is this the end of the PGA's and the R&A's archaic rule of Golf?
Post by: BennyHarp on April 13, 2013, 03:12:22 PM
That's a strange decision alright
Post by: EC Unique on April 13, 2013, 03:32:48 PM
Rory and a good wee day yesterday and is currently 9-1. Bound to be worth a punt.
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 03:45:12 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on April 13, 2013, 03:32:48 PM
Rory and a good wee day yesterday and is currently 9-1. Bound to be worth a punt.

Anyone looking to do McIlroy should have done him earlier on today when he was 12/1
Post by: mick999 on April 13, 2013, 03:49:43 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 13, 2013, 03:12:22 PM
That's a strange decision alright

The lads on the BBC were just discussing it and reckon he should have been disqualified  ...
Post by: David McKeown on April 13, 2013, 04:12:03 PM
Absolute shambles for me. Tiger cheated and should now be disqualified. Whether he knew he was cheating or not is immeterial. He gained an advantage from what he did and should now face the music.

The rule allowing for penalties after the card was signed was designed for instances when something had happened you honestly didn't realise such as the ball moving a dimple and a half in the Harrington example above. It wasn't designed for the way it has now been applied
Post by: laoislad on April 13, 2013, 04:22:29 PM
It's not the first time Tiger dropped his balls where he shouldn't have!
Post by: gallsman on April 13, 2013, 04:26:54 PM
Considering the stigma attached to cheating in golf, in seems ridiculous that he wasn't disqualified. They appear to be ignoring the fact that Tiger openly stated that he dropped elsewhere other than "as near as possible" to the site of his original shot. They're penalising him for dropping from an incorrect location - not for intentionally trying to gain an advantage to which he was not entitled. Would think there'll be massive pressure on him to withdraw of his own accord now.
Post by: AQMP on April 13, 2013, 04:31:46 PM
Woods, by his own admission, moved the ball to give himself an easier shot.  As clear a case of cheating as you could get??
Post by: David McKeown on April 13, 2013, 04:41:07 PM
Andrew Cotter on the BBC summed it up quite well for me

Andrew Cotter - BBC Sport at Augusta
"The rules of golf are clear. Tiger took an incorrect drop so there's only one outcome. Guan Tianlang will have to be disqualified."
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 13, 2013, 04:48:40 PM
http://www.pga.com/rule-changed-spare-players-being-dqd-in-cases-trial-tv

QuoteIn a change directed at scorecards and television viewers, golf revised one of its rules Thursday so that players who learn of a violation after they sign their cards can be penalized without being disqualified.

The Royal & Ancient and U.S. Golf Association announced the new interpretation an hour before the Masters began. It is effective immediately.

'TRIAL BY TELEVISION'

Reports of rule violations by TV viewers got Camilo Villegas and Padraig Harrington disqualified from big events in recent months.

Villegas DQ'd from Kapalua after TV viewer phones in rules violation
Called-in report of Villegas' violation prompts spirited debate over rule
Harrington DQ'd after TV viewer reports violation
R&A might 'have a look' at rule after Harrington DQ'd
Rule changed to spare players from being DQ'd in cases of 'trial by TV'
The change stems from two incidents earlier this year on separate tours.

Padraig Harrington was disqualified after opening with a 65 in the European Tour's Abu Dhabi Championship when a slow-motion replay on high-definition television revealed that his ball moved ever so slightly after he replaced his marker.

Harrington knew the rule, but did not realize his ball had moved. It should have been a two-shot penalty, but because it was discovered after the round, he was disqualified for signing an incorrect card.

Under the change, Harrington would have had two shots added to his score and could resume playing the tournament.

In the first PGA Tour event of the year in Hawaii, Camilo Villegas was disqualified for signing an incorrect card after a television viewer noticed he had tamped down a divot in an area where his chip was rolling back down a slope. In that case, Villegas still would be disqualified for not knowing the rule.

It is not a change in the actual Rules of Golf, rather a book of Decisions that allows officials various case studies. The new interpretation is of Decision 33-7/4.5, that essentially gives officials more latitude to determine if a player should be disqualified.

Even with the new interpretation, it makes clear that knowing the rules is up to the player.

"For some time, we have been concerned that, in certain limited circumstances, disproportionate disqualification penalties have been required by the rules," R&A Chief Executive Peter Dawson said. "This carefully considered decision reflects our desire to ensure that the Rules of Golf remain fair and relevant in the changing environment in which the game is played today."

That changing environment mostly relates to television.

For the last three decades, there have been a few incidents in which TV viewers will see what they believe is an infraction. It can lead to penalties, but often the reporting of the violation comes after the player has signed his card.

"This is a logical and important step in our re-evaluation of the impact of high-definition video on the game," USGA Executive Director Mike Davis said. "We collectively believe that this revised decision addresses many video-related issues never contemplated by the Rules of Golf."

I'll freely admit I'm talking through my pocket here as I lumped onto the 6/5 that he'd be disqualified but its hard to see how the rule above saved him. Surely it was intended for incidents where the player couldn't have realised that a rule had been broken. Either Tiger forgot the rules (most likely) or he deliberately broke them. Either way, while disqualification mightn't fit the crime, it seems it did fit the rules.

Post by: Jonah on April 13, 2013, 05:04:45 PM
Storm in a tee cup this( pun intended!)
Time to move on and enjoy the next two rounds, certainly better with Tiger in than out.
Post by: gallsman on April 13, 2013, 05:16:37 PM
Quote from: Jonah on April 13, 2013, 05:04:45 PM
Storm in a tee cup this( pun intended!)
Time to move on and enjoy the next two rounds, certainly better with Tiger in than out.

That's the problem - the fact that it's Tiger should be immaterial.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 13, 2013, 05:30:53 PM
But is the point not that the "get out clause" doesn't, or at least shouldn't, apply in this scenario?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 13, 2013, 05:42:25 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 13, 2013, 04:22:29 PM
It's not the first time Tiger dropped his balls where he shouldn't have!

very good  :D
Post by: muppet on April 13, 2013, 05:48:36 PM
Piers Morgan tweeting that he should do the manly thing and withdraw.

We know Tiger is slow to pull out of anywhere.
Post by: tyroneman on April 13, 2013, 06:04:19 PM
Quote26-1. Relief for Ball in Water Hazard

It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward a water hazard is in the hazard. In the absence of knowledge or virtual certainty that a ball struck toward a water hazard, but not found, is in the hazard, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1.

If a ball is found in a water hazard or if it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in the water hazard (whether the ball lies in water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke:

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or

b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or

Part (b) seems to say he is free to move the ball as far back as he wants ....... ????
Post by: gerry on April 13, 2013, 06:10:51 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BHvxAZzCUAAuinQ.jpg)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 13, 2013, 06:17:27 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on April 13, 2013, 06:04:19 PM

It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward a water hazard is in the hazard. In the absence of knowledge or virtual certainty that a ball struck toward a water hazard, but not found, is in the hazard, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1.

If a ball is found in a water hazard or if it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in the water hazard (whether the ball lies in water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke:

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or

b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or

Part (b) seems to say he is free to move the ball as far back as he wants ....... ????

Only if its in a line with where it entered the water and the hole. Tiger's initial shot hit the flag and then entered the water. A line between the two points would be in a completely different position to where Tiger played from.
Post by: muppet on April 13, 2013, 06:22:13 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 13, 2013, 06:17:27 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on April 13, 2013, 06:04:19 PM

Only if its in a line with where it entered the water and the hole. Tiger's initial shot hit the flag and then entered the water. A line between the two points would be in a completely different position to where Tiger played from.

Was just about to post his. The new position looks like it would be close to the crowd to the left of the water in front of the green looking from the fairway. Where exactly did he play from?

He may simply have forgotten that the ball crossed the margin twice and he needed to drop in line with the second point. If that is the case he should be d/q.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 13, 2013, 06:28:45 PM
I think all you lads calling for his disqualification need to seriously ask yourselves why you are pursuing this. I don't think it is any coincidence that he is black.

:P
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 07:01:23 PM
Woods birdies the 1st
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 07:04:11 PM
Live streaming from the Masters

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MCvgMNnM3OA&sns=em
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 13, 2013, 07:07:54 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 13, 2013, 06:28:45 PM
I think all you lads calling for his disqualification need to seriously ask yourselves why you are pursuing this. I don't think it is any coincidence that he is black.

I'd bet on him to be disqualified so am motivated by greed not race.

I graciously accept your profuse apology.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 13, 2013, 07:11:17 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 13, 2013, 07:04:11 PM
Live streaming from the Masters

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MCvgMNnM3OA&sns=em
:D You'll get nothing and like it!

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 13, 2013, 07:07:54 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 13, 2013, 06:28:45 PM

I'd bet on him to be disqualified so am motivated by greed not race.

I graciously accept your profuse apology.

Never apologize and never explain - it's a sign of weakness!

Post by: laoislad on April 13, 2013, 07:37:43 PM
I think it's ridiculous that some p***k of a punter can ring in from his armchair and call a foul on a player anyways.
There is some smug cnut out here now thinking he is great for what he done.
Post by: Oraisteach on April 13, 2013, 07:44:29 PM
McIlroy is -1 today through 6, -3 overall and tied for 10th
Post by: David McKeown on April 13, 2013, 07:57:02 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 13, 2013, 07:47:32 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 13, 2013, 07:37:43 PM
I think it's ridiculous that some p***k of a punter can ring in from his armchair and call a foul on a player anyways.

I think that's brilliant. Woods cheated and gained an advantage, fair play to whoever reported him. If he goes on to win this win will always have an asterix next to it for me.
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 09:04:53 PM
McIlroy playing shite now
Post by: rrhf on April 13, 2013, 09:05:39 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 13, 2013, 07:47:32 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 13, 2013, 07:37:43 PM

Hawk eye
Post by: muppet on April 13, 2013, 09:06:43 PM
Can no one accept the officials decisions anymore all of a sludden?
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 09:32:25 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 13, 2013, 09:09:57 PM
I missed the boat and didn't get backing anyone early on.

Just had a fiver on Snedeker at 8/1 for a bit of craic.

I did him at the start, he is usually an excellent putter so hopefully won't be too far away
Post by: AQMP on April 13, 2013, 09:37:57 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 13, 2013, 09:32:25 PM

I did him at the start, he is usually an excellent putter so hopefully won't be too far away

Would be great if he could just move the ball into a better position the odd time.
Post by: BennyHarp on April 13, 2013, 09:44:38 PM
Quote from: AQMP on April 13, 2013, 09:37:57 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 13, 2013, 09:32:25 PM

Would be great if he could just move the ball into a better position the odd time.

Snedeker here from the start too - playing solidly but could be doing with a birdie or too.
Post by: give her dixie on April 13, 2013, 09:54:25 PM
Cabrera playing with a bit of swagger, and is great to watch. Hope he goes on to win now......
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 13, 2013, 09:59:22 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on April 13, 2013, 09:54:25 PM
Cabrera playing with a bit of swagger, and is great to watch. Hope he goes on to win now......

5 years ago my boss asked me to put a tenner each way on Cabrera at 300/1! I'm still sick about it.
Post by: laoislad on April 13, 2013, 10:05:39 PM
I'd say Rory feels like walking off.
Post by: AQMP on April 13, 2013, 10:07:10 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 13, 2013, 10:05:39 PM
I'd say Rory feels like walking off.

Those Brits have no moral fibre
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 10:10:07 PM
McIlroy seems to either run away with it or play like a hacker in the Majors.
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 10:17:36 PM
"Sir" Nick Faldo is some w**ker, said earlier Woods should do the "manly thing" and withdraw because he was such a low down cheat, now said it was the "correct decision" for him to incur a two stroke penalty.
Post by: Premier Emperor on April 13, 2013, 10:20:25 PM
Ireland's Rory McIlroy playing some muck!
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 13, 2013, 10:30:51 PM
I'm sticking me last 5 e/w on rickie fowler at 40/1
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 10:34:49 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on April 13, 2013, 10:30:51 PM

Do you think it will be good enough to get you the ride tomorrow night ?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 13, 2013, 10:39:24 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on April 13, 2013, 10:20:25 PM
Ireland's Rory McIlroy playing some muck!

He needs to ditch Wozniacki, or Nike, or both !

Then again, tomorrow night you might not be Masters Champion but the bank acc will be fine and you can ride Caroline ! Not a bad life !
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 13, 2013, 10:40:15 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 13, 2013, 10:34:49 PM

She only got out of hospital Wednesday. Not a chance.
Post by: give her dixie on April 13, 2013, 10:47:04 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on April 13, 2013, 09:59:22 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on April 13, 2013, 09:54:25 PM

5 years ago my boss asked me to put a tenner each way on Cabrera at 300/1! I'm still sick about it.

Imagine how sick your boss would have been if you had forgot to place the bet !!!
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 10:47:20 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on April 13, 2013, 10:40:15 PM

Thats no craic, no repeat of last years Masters then for you.
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 13, 2013, 10:52:59 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 13, 2013, 10:47:20 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on April 13, 2013, 10:40:15 PM

Thats no craic, no repeat of last years Masters then for you.

I have a poxy exam on Monday so even if Fowler or Clarke are doing well I will be heading to the leaba early.
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 11:07:02 PM
Snedeker heating up nicely
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 13, 2013, 11:15:51 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 13, 2013, 11:07:02 PM

What price have you him at?
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2013, 11:19:18 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on April 13, 2013, 11:15:51 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 13, 2013, 11:07:02 PM

What price have you him at?

I think he was 35/1
Post by: BennyHarp on April 13, 2013, 11:24:14 PM
Snedeker looking good here
Post by: DrinkingHarp on April 14, 2013, 07:51:33 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 13, 2013, 11:24:14 PM
Snedeker looking good here

Snedekers to loose the way things are playing now.
Post by: T Fearon on April 14, 2013, 07:51:51 AM
Backed Carbera at 28/1...and that was on Saturday morning! ;D An Argentinian Pope and US Masters Champion...all in the same year!
Post by: Puckoon on April 14, 2013, 10:07:34 PM
Poor par miss by Snedeker
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 14, 2013, 10:08:23 PM
If Scott heats up the putter he could still make some inroads. Still have some profit if he stays in Top 6  ;)
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 14, 2013, 10:14:53 PM
Ankle looks very calm
Post by: Minder on April 14, 2013, 10:22:30 PM
Stick a fork in Snedeker, he's done.
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 14, 2013, 10:39:14 PM
Snedker is out to 22/1
Post by: laoislad on April 14, 2013, 10:39:56 PM
Shit just got real.
I still have hopes for Laoisman!
Post by: Minder on April 14, 2013, 10:41:49 PM
Have a feeling Scott is gonna win it
Post by: BennyHarp on April 14, 2013, 10:44:35 PM
Well - Snedeker as blown it! Just hope he can stay in the top 6.
Post by: laoislad on April 14, 2013, 10:45:33 PM
Anyone else think Peter Alliss is a racist sexist pig?
Post by: passedit on April 14, 2013, 10:48:33 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 14, 2013, 10:45:33 PM
Anyone else think Peter Alliss is a racist sexist pig?
Anyone not think that?
Post by: Minder on April 14, 2013, 10:50:13 PM
Scott can't f**king putt
Post by: ONeill on April 14, 2013, 10:54:07 PM
Some sale on thon umbrellas
Post by: ballinaman on April 14, 2013, 11:19:38 PM
Making a nice few bob off those umbrellas in the Augusta merchandise shop I'd say..
Post by: Puckoon on April 14, 2013, 11:30:01 PM
They don't charge a lot for the concessions, so I don't think they set out to make a killing. $1 for a coke, $1.50 for a sandwich!
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 14, 2013, 11:49:42 PM
Kuchar has sickened my shite. Was in the top 6 places til about an hour ago  >:(
Post by: laoislad on April 14, 2013, 11:53:03 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 14, 2013, 10:50:13 PM
Scott can't f**king putt

Done alright there!!
Post by: ONeill on April 14, 2013, 11:56:29 PM
God damn Pope
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 14, 2013, 11:57:36 PM
f**k I'm supposed to be in bed
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 14, 2013, 11:58:10 PM
Fcuk you Cabrera! Give the lad a break!
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2013, 12:01:10 AM
Jees - some comedown for Scott now.
Post by: Puckoon on April 15, 2013, 12:03:26 AM
Some shot by the auld boy on his 900th tournament hole at Augusta.

Scott has it all to do again!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 15, 2013, 12:07:12 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 15, 2013, 12:03:26 AM
Some shot by the auld boy on his 900th tournament hole at Augusta.

Scott has it all to do again!

Unreal stuff, Cabrera there before which might take him through
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 15, 2013, 12:08:35 AM
After Scott's recent Majors this is a big test for him.

Although head to head, Cabrera is a cool customer looking like he is playing a Sunday fourball, so must be favourite now.
Post by: ballinaman on April 15, 2013, 12:12:05 AM
Team that equalises in the last second usually wins in extra time / replay.....!Would have been some kick in the stones for Scott
Post by: Minder on April 15, 2013, 12:17:31 AM
Did Ken Brown just call the young Chinese amateur "the Chinaman" ?!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 15, 2013, 12:18:40 AM
he did
Post by: theticklemister on April 15, 2013, 12:23:01 AM
Nearly back at 20,000.........
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 15, 2013, 12:23:33 AM
hey gringo next
Post by: theticklemister on April 15, 2013, 12:27:26 AM
Carbera aint gonna win. I backed him at 5/1 before the last round.
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2013, 12:29:49 AM
I take it those umbrellas are compulsory - like an aesthetic thing?
Post by: The Boy Wonder on April 15, 2013, 12:31:46 AM
They're the Georgia county colours
Post by: give her dixie on April 15, 2013, 12:35:09 AM
Savage golf been played out there at the moment. Rooting for Cabrera to win.
Post by: Minder on April 15, 2013, 12:36:13 AM
Nothing wrong with Scott's onions this time
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2013, 12:37:11 AM
Chance.
Post by: laoislad on April 15, 2013, 12:40:30 AM
That has me aroused.
Might go up and give the wife a nudge.
Post by: leaveherinsir on April 15, 2013, 12:43:24 AM
Fair play to Scott. I questioned his mental fortitude at the beginning of this thread. But he showed he has it over the back nine and play off. Some brilliant golf both from him and Cabrera
Post by: Puckoon on April 15, 2013, 12:44:29 AM
Kudos to Scott, a worthy champion and Angel showing all the class he's famous for.
Post by: Minder on April 15, 2013, 12:46:11 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 15, 2013, 12:44:54 AM
Quote from: Minder on April 15, 2013, 12:36:13 AM
Nothing wrong with Scott's onions this time
Need to ask, were you ahead of us?

No I just meant in general how he played the last few holes and sudden death, even if he didn't win.
Post by: Minder on April 15, 2013, 12:49:53 AM
I would say they will be looking to get the Chinese amateur at work in the kitchens at Augusta when they go off air.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 15, 2013, 12:59:07 AM

Well done Adam. Covered my bets, my Grand National losses and enough left over to treat the wife to a pastie supper.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 15, 2013, 08:02:45 AM
QuoteThat has me aroused.

Hope you kept on the fairway and avoided the rough LL!
Post by: laoislad on April 15, 2013, 08:49:18 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 15, 2013, 08:02:45 AM
QuoteThat has me aroused.

Hope you kept on the fairway and avoided the rough LL!

Unfortunately the course was closed SS so no play was had!
Post by: highorlow on April 15, 2013, 09:04:35 AM
QuoteEverything points to Adam Scott this year. He is a big price at 28/1.

I hope someone listened to me.

May aswell say it now MAYO for SAM 2013!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 15, 2013, 09:07:49 AM
QuoteUnfortunately the course was closed SS so no play was had!

I assume you had to go on the driving range then on your own  ???
Post by: Bingo on April 15, 2013, 10:09:11 AM
The golf and excitement was very ordinary for a long time last night but the moves over the last few holes and the play-off was just brillant. Nerves of steel.

Brother in Law had a good one on a bet for it. His lad wanted the 14 year old backed to make the cut. Went to local bookies (not one of the big chains). Asked for odds, the cashier said 1000/1 and he said, not to win it but to make the cut. She looked it up, rang another office and eventually came back with 300/1, he said that couldn't be right, she insisted it was, he still queried it bur she was happy with it, he had the slip wrote out but she put the odds on and circled it, as they do.

Anyways, the bet obviously came in but when he went to collect, obviously they won't pay out 300/1 and said she made a balls of it, it should have been 20/1, which seems about right - it been the masters, its a small field with the 10 shot rule and a high % would make the cut.

Anyways, he pulled them on it a bit and withheld the belt to see if they offer him more, as they made the mistake. His argument been if he knew he was 20/1 only, he'd have lumped on him more than the tenner he put on. A long shot and he doesn't expect anything out of it. But is due to go into them today to meet the "boss".

I've heard of this before and the bookies always seem to be well covered.

His lad who wanted the bet on was very excited mind you and came crashing down to earth!
Post by: Hound on April 15, 2013, 10:22:19 AM
A relation of mine was telling me yesterday that a friend of his (and a few of his friends) all had a few quid at 300/1 that the young lad would make the cut. I told him his friend had to be winding him up as the odds I'd heard were 15s or 20s. Funny though that it was also 300/1 that they supposedly got.

Heard of another lad in my locality who had big money on one of the playoff contenders. Would win €5200 if his man got the green jacket. Just before the playoff Betfair called him on his mobile and offered to settle the bet for €2000. He told them to feck off. He was on Cabrera!   
Post by: Bingo on April 15, 2013, 10:40:50 AM
Quote from: Hound on April 15, 2013, 10:22:19 AM
A relation of mine was telling me yesterday that a friend of his (and a few of his friends) all had a few quid at 300/1 that the young lad would make the cut. I told him his friend had to be winding him up as the odds I'd heard were 15s or 20s. Funny though that it was also 300/1 that they supposedly got.

Heard of another lad in my locality who had big money on one of the playoff contenders. Would win €5200 if his man got the green jacket. Just before the playoff Betfair called him on his mobile and offered to settle the bet for €2000. He told them to feck off. He was on Cabrera!   

North County Dublin by any chance. He never mentioned anyone else having it but it is the "talk" of the town by all accounts. He rang me about it Saturday to see if I had the actual odds on it.
Post by: Hound on April 15, 2013, 11:35:33 AM
Quote from: Bingo on April 15, 2013, 10:40:50 AM

North County Dublin by any chance. He never mentioned anyone else having it but it is the "talk" of the town by all accounts. He rang me about it Saturday to see if I had the actual odds on it.
Yes!
Post by: laoislad on April 15, 2013, 11:46:28 AM

I backed him at 15/1 to make the cut on paddy power online.
Post by: deiseach on April 15, 2013, 12:05:26 PM
I remember reading about a Norwegian chap who put 10 grand on Milan at half-time in the 2005 Champions League final. You never see a bookie on a bicycle.
Post by: Bingo on April 15, 2013, 12:09:05 PM
Quote from: Hound on April 15, 2013, 11:35:33 AM

Yes!

Rush? Sounds like the same bet so.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on April 15, 2013, 01:27:18 PM
Quote from: Bingo on April 15, 2013, 10:09:11 AM
The golf and excitement was very ordinary for a long time last night but the moves over the last few holes and the play-off was just brillant. Nerves of steel.

Brother in Law had a good one on a bet for it. His lad wanted the 14 year old backed to make the cut. Went to local bookies (not one of the big chains). Asked for odds, the cashier said 1000/1 and he said, not to win it but to make the cut. She looked it up, rang another office and eventually came back with 300/1, he said that couldn't be right, she insisted it was, he still queried it bur she was happy with it, he had the slip wrote out but she put the odds on and circled it, as they do.

Anyways, the bet obviously came in but when he went to collect, obviously they won't pay out 300/1 and said she made a balls of it, it should have been 20/1, which seems about right - it been the masters, its a small field with the 10 shot rule and a high % would make the cut.

Anyways, he pulled them on it a bit and withheld the belt to see if they offer him more, as they made the mistake. His argument been if he knew he was 20/1 only, he'd have lumped on him more than the tenner he put on. A long shot and he doesn't expect anything out of it. But is due to go into them today to meet the "boss".

I've heard of this before and the bookies always seem to be well covered.

His lad who wanted the bet on was very excited mind you and came crashing down to earth!

take the 20-1 and ask for a free bet, the bookie has these price errors covered in the rules
Post by: stew on April 15, 2013, 03:18:48 PM
If Cabrera had won I would have gotten $360.00 back for a ten dollar bet in a masters pool, instead I got $50.00 and fourth place and a free round of golf for 2, not a bad bet for spending $20.00 on two different teams to win her.
Post by: orangeman on May 02, 2013, 01:01:43 PM
Ye Wocheng, 12, cards 79 on European Tour debut
China's Ye Wocheng, 12, has become the youngest player in European Tour history, making a seven-over-par 79 in the first round of the China Open.

The Dongguan schoolboy, who had to qualify for the event, emulates compatriots Andy Zhang and Guan Tianlang by playing at the top level.

Zhang became the youngest player to play at the US Open at 14, while Guan played at this year's Masters, also 14.

Sporting prodigies
•Michelle Wie won the 2003 US Women's Amateur Public Links Championship - an adult event - at the age of 13
•Michael Chang is the youngest male player to have won a Grand Slam singles title after lifting the 1989 French Open tennis title at the age of 17
•Matthew Briggs is the youngest footballer to have appeared in the English Premier League, making his debut for Fulham at 16 years 54 days old in May 2007

Ye is coached by England's David Watson.

"Ye's ability to listen and respond is way above the norm,'' said Watson.

"At the moment, I don't believe that Ye has too many rivals of the same age. He often wins in higher age groups, but, at the same time, I know it is dangerous to speculate and we must realise he is just a 12-year-old boy.''

Ye is a two-time winner of the US Kids Junior World Championship, beating the tournament record previously held by world number one Tiger Woods with a 12-under-par card.

With his father as his caddie, Ye recovered from a final-round double bogey to secure the final China Open qualifying spot at the Western China qualifier in March.

Golf was banned in China until the 1980s, deemed by the communist government to be too bourgeois. 

But more than 23,000 children have passed through the national golf association's junior golf programme  since its launch in 2007.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 02, 2013, 04:06:26 PM
Sorry only seeing this now. Posted similar on golf thread.