Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Aerlik on March 22, 2013, 09:24:13 AM

Title: AFL Season 2013
Post by: Aerlik on March 22, 2013, 09:24:13 AM

Yep, the long wait is over.  The cricket is no longer polluting our screens.  Masterchef and My Kitchen Rules are still shit.  But...

Footy is back.

Now it is safe to turn on the TV again. ;D
Title: Re: AFL Season 2013
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 22, 2013, 11:11:02 AM
Well Aerlik, as your the man on the ground, whats the expectations for Hawthorns this year?

I see its Hawthorns v Geelong on monday, should be a decent game.

Two other teams I like to keep an eye on are Adelaide Crows and Brissy Lions, any predictions for them?
Post by: deiseach on March 22, 2013, 11:34:11 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on March 22, 2013, 09:24:13 AM
Footy is back.

Or 'fuhdee', as it always sounds to my ears when an Australian says it. I must pay more attention this year, it's a great sport.
Post by: Aerlik on March 24, 2013, 04:04:37 AM
Freo beat the Eagles by 28 last night.  Great start to the season with some really exciting performances which augur well for the rest of the year.  40,000 squeezed into Subiaco and the atmosphere and noise were fantastic.  Even Ewan McGregor had a seat.  Got to feel sympathy for Eagles' Marc LeCras.  Spent all last season on the sideline with a knee injury, then in the third quarter broke his forearm. 

Magnificent team performance from Essendon to beat Adelaide by 36(?) points in Adelaide.  What makes the win more significant is the flak the Bombers got for the drugs-in-sport scandal during the pre-season.

Everyone's favourite is Hawthorn.  Freo play them in Round 4 in Tasmania.  Never easy to beat them and even harder to win in Tasmania.

It is difficult to comment on the rest of the teams having not seen them in action yet, so I'll reserve any comments for the end of this split first round.

G'waaaaan  Freo
Post by: HeaveHo on March 24, 2013, 11:42:13 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 22, 2013, 11:11:02 AM
Well Aerlik, as your the man on the ground, whats the expectations for Hawthorns this year?

I see its Hawthorns v Geelong on monday, should be a decent game.

Two other teams I like to keep an eye on are Adelaide Crows and Brissy Lions, any predictions for them?

Hawks have been very ordinary in the preseason but they are probably underdone but are likely top four finishers.

I have the Crows sliding this year (not just because of Friday night). They had the softest draw last year (played both expansion sides twice) and have lost big Kurt. Probably just sneak into the top eight.

The Lions should be a better side this year but probably will just miss the eight. There are probably fourteen teams that could realistically make the top eight this year and Brisbane is one of those. The Lions have some good youngsters are likely to be serious contenders in a couple of years time. 
Post by: HeaveHo on March 24, 2013, 11:44:28 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on March 24, 2013, 04:04:37 AM
Freo beat the Eagles by 28 last night.  Great start to the season with some really exciting performances which augur well for the rest of the year.  40,000 squeezed into Subiaco and the atmosphere and noise were fantastic.  Even Ewan McGregor had a seat.  Got to feel sympathy for Eagles' Marc LeCras.  Spent all last season on the sideline with a knee injury, then in the third quarter broke his forearm. 

Magnificent team performance from Essendon to beat Adelaide by 36(?) points in Adelaide.  What makes the win more significant is the flak the Bombers got for the drugs-in-sport scandal during the pre-season.

Everyone's favourite is Hawthorn.  Freo play them in Round 4 in Tasmania.  Never easy to beat them and even harder to win in Tasmania.

It is difficult to comment on the rest of the teams having not seen them in action yet, so I'll reserve any comments for the end of this split first round.

G'waaaaan  Freo

Good start by the Purple army. Always good to beat those bastards.
Post by: Aerlik on March 25, 2013, 12:39:59 PM
Quote from: HeaveHo on March 24, 2013, 11:44:28 PM
Good start by the Purple army. Always good to beat those b**tards.

Jaysus the smugness has been knocked out of the w*nkers.  Some great excuses flying around.  What about that midfield?  Mundy, Barlow, Fyfe and Crowley all about 6'4"; Hill and Pearce around the 6'2"; Griffin holding up against Cox.  And Son Son!  Great all round show.  I watched the 3Q again.  The ball was hardly over the Freo 50-metre line.
Post by: Aerlik on April 02, 2013, 09:10:59 AM
So finally the first round has come to an end - it was split over two weekends.  Here's  a brief "analysis" of the games:

Adelaide  82 v. Essendon 117
BIG  surprise here, considering the turmoil at the Bombers with allegations of drug misuse.  It was a great game to watch I must admit and some Bombers fans are booking Grand Final tix already.  We'll wait and see.

Fremantle 108 v. West Coast 80
Guess who's happy with this one,  ;D  Nuff said.

Carlton 101 v. Richmond 106
As a neutral, what was interesting about this game was Richmond's ability to almost throw it away.  At one point the tigers were over 40 points ahead but some woeful finishing by Carlton ensured this neutral kept watching to see when the next comedy of errors would arise.  Not many complaining about a loss for the Blues.

Western Bulldogs 127 v. Brisbane 59
The second biggest shock of the round.  No one expected this trouncing to occur, especially Bulldogs fans, lol.  I didn't see the game as it was on Fox (spit spit). No reports of any Bulldogs fans buying Grand Finals tickets yet though. :P

Greater Western Sydney 76 v. Sydney 106
As expected the Swans won but it wasn't all easy going as the Giants pushed them to the last but the greater experience told.  The reigning premiers will need to be at a different level from here on.

Gold Coast 90 v. St. Kilda 77
The shock of the round.  If you can, take a look at Gary Ablett Jr's goal on the run on the left wing kicked with the outside of the right boot.  I listened to this on the wireless and it was enthralling stuff for this neutral.

Melbourne 54 v. Pt. Adelaide 133
I started watching a bit of this and turned it off.  Dear God, woeful... Jim Stynes will be turning in his grave. 

North Melbourne 87 v. Collingwood 103
Another great match for the neutral, apparently, (if such a thing exists when Collingwood plays) moreso for the fact that the Pies held on and dug deep considering the depth of the injuries they had.  I managed to see the last quarter and it was entertaining.  If that is an injury-depleted Collingwood, eeeeeeek ???

Hawthorn 86 v. Geelong 93
Where do I start?  Awesome stuff, hard, close, exciting, and proof that you can have all the no.1 draft picks you like but there is no substitute for experience.  Again I only caught the last quarter but what a great finish for the neutral. 

It would seem that there are several teams that will be making this a memorable season.  Too early to predict a winner but as a Freo fan...well, ya just never know.  You read it here first. (Ahem don't say you weren't warned!)
Post by: ballinaman on April 02, 2013, 11:57:04 AM

Yep, the long wait is over.  The cricket is no longer polluting our screens.  Masterchef and My Kitchen Rules are still shit.  But...

Footy is back.

Is that shite still on? Used to break my heart every evening when I was over.  Never ending.
Post by: HeaveHo on April 03, 2013, 03:14:17 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on April 02, 2013, 09:10:59 AM
So finally the first round has come to an end - it was split over two weekends.  Here's  a brief "analysis" of the games:

Adelaide  82 v. Essendon 117
BIG  surprise here, considering the turmoil at the Bombers with allegations of drug misuse.  It was a great game to watch I must admit and some Bombers fans are booking Grand Final tix already.  We'll wait and see.

Fremantle 108 v. West Coast 80
Guess who's happy with this one,  ;D  Nuff said.

Carlton 101 v. Richmond 106
As a neutral, what was interesting about this game was Richmond's ability to almost throw it away.  At one point the tigers were over 40 points ahead but some woeful finishing by Carlton ensured this neutral kept watching to see when the next comedy of errors would arise.  Not many complaining about a loss for the Blues.

Western Bulldogs 127 v. Brisbane 59
The second biggest shock of the round.  No one expected this trouncing to occur, especially Bulldogs fans, lol.  I didn't see the game as it was on Fox (spit spit). No reports of any Bulldogs fans buying Grand Finals tickets yet though. :P

Greater Western Sydney 76 v. Sydney 106
As expected the Swans won but it wasn't all easy going as the Giants pushed them to the last but the greater experience told.  The reigning premiers will need to be at a different level from here on.

Gold Coast 90 v. St. Kilda 77
The shock of the round.  If you can, take a look at Gary Ablett Jr's goal on the run on the left wing kicked with the outside of the right boot.  I listened to this on the wireless and it was enthralling stuff for this neutral.

Melbourne 54 v. Pt. Adelaide 133
I started watching a bit of this and turned it off.  Dear God, woeful... Jim Stynes will be turning in his grave. 

North Melbourne 87 v. Collingwood 103
Another great match for the neutral, apparently, (if such a thing exists when Collingwood plays) moreso for the fact that the Pies held on and dug deep considering the depth of the injuries they had.  I managed to see the last quarter and it was entertaining.  If that is an injury-depleted Collingwood, eeeeeeek ???

Hawthorn 86 v. Geelong 93
Where do I start?  Awesome stuff, hard, close, exciting, and proof that you can have all the no.1 draft picks you like but there is no substitute for experience.  Again I only caught the last quarter but what a great finish for the neutral. 

It would seem that there are several teams that will be making this a memorable season.  Too early to predict a winner but as a Freo fan...well, ya just never know.  You read it here first. (Ahem don't say you weren't warned!)

Made it to the Geelong and Hawks game on Monday at the G. Decent crowd of 76,300 saw a brilliant physical game. Geelong just too good under extreme pressure. I reckon we (Freo) might have the Hawks covered this year Aerlik especially at home. 
Post by: Aerlik on April 03, 2013, 07:26:59 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 02, 2013, 11:57:04 AM

Is that shite still on? Used to break my heart every evening when I was over.  Never ending.

Yep, the sad obsession of an already obese nation watching obese "celebrity" judges encourage heart attack-inducing stodge is still polluting the screens.  And ironically, on C10 Australian Biggest Loser airs at roughly the same time...go figure.

Quote from: HeaveHo on April 03, 2013, 03:14:17 AM
Made it to the Geelong and Hawks game on Monday at the G. Decent crowd of 76,300 saw a brilliant physical game. Geelong just too good under extreme pressure. I reckon we (Freo) might have the Hawks covered this year Aerlik especially at home. 

Freo v. Hawks in R4 in Tasmania.  Not confident.  Therefore, it is important to win the first three games to add a bit of a cushion.  Wonder how Buddy Franklin will go trying to convince Ross Lyon to sign him next season?  (You didn't hear that here, first ;))

I had planned to be in Melbourne this weekend for the Freo - Bulldogs game but had to cancel. 
Post by: Aerlik on April 09, 2013, 05:09:27 AM
Round Two is now complete.  The major talking point in the AFL at the moment is the putridly pathetic effort of Melbourne for the second week in a row, getting a 148-point pasting by Essendon.  Next week will be no better for the Demons.

Richmond 99 v. St. Kilda 82
It's hard to believe that it has been well over a decade since Richmond last won its first two season-opening games.  This was a good game to watch, particularly the shoot-out between the Riewoldt cousins, Jack and Nick.  Jack kicked seven and Nick three.  I'm not a big fan of Jack Riewoldt but you can help admiring his accuracy.

Sydney 114 v. Gold Coast 73
I didn't see any of this game apart from a goal by the GCFC ruckman who ran about 70 metres before tapping through.  As expected, a Swans win.

;D Fremantle ;D 106 v. Western Bulldogs 78
There was a lot of hype in the Melbourne media about the Dogs prior to this game.  As usual the Melbourne media forgot about the teams outside Victoria.  A solid win for the lads setting up for a great game on Friday night.  And we'll be there.  Check out Stephen Hill's team goal if you can (oh and Matthew Pavlich's cockup, lol)

Adelaide 96 v. Brisbane 77
Pearce Hanley may have scored big on Supercoach but his efforts didn't prevent a second straight loss to the pre-season cup winners.  Adelaide were expected to win and following the shock loss to Essendon in R1, they didn't disappoint.

Port Adelaide 134 v Greater Western Sydney 78
For the second week in a row, Port scored big and won big and is now sitting in the top two on the table.  However, for a second-year team, the Giants are getting some decent scores on the board.  Port's Justin Westhoff continues to take great marks.

Essendon 184 v. Melbourne 36
If Jim Stynes was turning in his grave last week, he'll be livid this week.  Never have I watched such a dismal effort from a bunch of pathetic so-called professionals.  This was dismal in the worst way.  Essendon won't have it as easy away to us on Friday night, while Melbourne won't have it much better against the Coke Dealers the next day.

Geelong 112 v. North Melbourne 108
It's games like this that you wish you could watch simultaneously with other great games.  At one stage North were over 40 points ahead and cruising but Geelong staged the inevitable comeback, kicking the winning goal with the very last kick of the game. Unfortunately I didn't see any of this game but from what I've read it was pretty damned good.

Collingwood 117 v. Carlton 100
17 points may seem like a handy win but the fact is in this game the game was effectively won in the last 50 seconds.  The best game of the year so far (not featuring Fremantle that is ;))  This game had the lot, great scores, great teamwork and the atmosphere seemed electric. Marty Clarke pitched in with a fairly solid game and a great goal too. I'm so pissed off I didn't get to Melbourne as this game was on the cards to go see.  But thankfully 7Mate is showing footy meaning we are not confined to just the delayed telecast games on Channel 7, even if it means having to listen to Eddie McGuire.

Hawthorn 148 v. West Coast 98
What better way to chill with mates having a few birthday drinks than to sit and watch the Coke Dealers lose again, at home.  The post-mortems are flourishing but at that end of the day the Dealers were beat by a much better, more disciplined unit. 

I thought that the latter score was the perfect way to enjoy my birthday...just a pity the auld hoor Thatcher didn't die on Sunday; now that would have made it the ultimate birthday celebration. ;D
Post by: ballinaman on April 13, 2013, 01:06:58 PM
Watching Geelong v Carlton on espn..cracker, not bad entertainment for a saturday lunchtime!
Post by: Aerlik on April 15, 2013, 10:45:52 PM
ROUND THREE - probably the one round I, personally, will not want to remember.

Fremantle 68-72 Essendon
Never was I so close to crying at a game...any game.  Freo lost its best defender in the third minute having been knocked unconscious by a dirty hit seeing the Bomber player suspended for a minimum of three matches. Freo led by 36 at halftime.  Freo concede 6 goals in the third quarter; Freo hit the fekkin post with 27 seconds left on the clock which would have given them a well-deserved 1-point win.  One-eyed?  Unashamedly so.  Mini-me got to play in the main halftime kids' footy game in the centre of the ground in front of 36,000 fans.  And he kicked a goal.  Not bad for an 11 year old.

North Melbourne 92-138 Sydney
I didn't see this game but after the efforts of last week NMFC were expected to make more of a game of it.  However they find themselves at Played Three, Lost Three, whereas Sydney continues doing what a champion team does, winning.

Melbourne 83-177 West Coast
The grim days at Melbourne continue.  Yet another second half capitulation.  It's not that West Coast were good, but that Melbourne were bad.  Very bad.  I watched this game on TV with mini-me and it was quite enlightening to hear an 11 year old boy criticise and tear to shreds the efforts of Melbourne.  Glad I'm not a Melbourne fan. :-[

Greater Western Sydney 68-140
The main talking point of this game had to be the sickening season-ending injury to the GWS ruckman which, ironically, has led to suggestions that Setanta will be in the team next week, a year after his similar injury and on the back of him kicking five in the Reserves on Saturday.

Gold Coast 92-94 Brisbane Lions
Reported to have been one of the best games of the round but not shown nationally on Free-To-Air TV.  Hanley kicked a goal  but if you can, have a look at Jonathon Brown's goal (his best of five).  He really is some player.

Geelong 119-103 Carlton
For three quarters this game had everything and was just superb to watch.  Then the auld heads stepped up to the plate and game over.  Tuohy gave a good account of himself (again).  Here's hoping Carlton finally win their first game of the season on Saturday evening in Perth. ;)

Richmond 135-68 Western Bulldogs
The Tigers' impressive season start continues.  This is the first time in 18 years that they have won their first three games.  Now we're set for a clinker when they take on Collingwood in the next round.

Hawthorn 145-90 Collingwood
At one stage of this game it looked like Collingwood was going to annihilate the Hawks, but that soon changed as Hawthorn slowly-slowly edged into the game.  Buddy Franklin was at his best, with his 70m+ goal in the third worth a look.  Marty Clarke had a reasonable effort today.

Port Adelaide 118-109 Adelaide
The first of the S.Australian derbies for the year was quite a shock.  At three quarter time, Adelaide were 31 points ahead and seemingly cruising.  But footy is a four quarter game.  Suddenly Port Adelaide finds itself in the strange position of possibly the only team in the top four that can be four wins from four after the next round.

It's a funny ol' game.
Post by: Club Rossa on April 16, 2013, 07:39:07 AM
That must have been some experience for your wee lad Aerlik.

Huge win for Hawthorn who have dominated the Pies in recent meetings.Would be fairly optimistic about Hawthorn's chances this year,though they need to figure out a way to get over Geelong.
Post by: Canalman on April 16, 2013, 09:49:57 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 13, 2013, 01:06:58 PM
Watching Geelong v Carlton on espn..cracker, not bad entertainment for a saturday lunchtime!

Watched the last 20 mins or so of this also. Very good stuff.

Have to say the standard of football I saw was light years away from the AFL not so long ago. Those boys who take the kick outs have some pressurized job in finding one of their own. The players also seem to have trimmed down alot.......... maybe to do with the increased speed and mobility required.
Post by: ballinaman on April 16, 2013, 05:31:43 PM
Quote from: Canalman on April 16, 2013, 09:49:57 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 13, 2013, 01:06:58 PM

Watched the last 20 mins or so of this also. Very good stuff.

Have to say the standard of football I saw was light years away from the AFL not so long ago. Those boys who take the kick outs have some pressurized job in finding one of their own. The players also seem to have trimmed down alot.......... maybe to do with the increased speed and mobility required.
Thought the standard of play was excellent too, have to be impressed on how they can find their men with a hand pass with lads hanging out of them usually.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 11:29:59 AM
This 13 for Carlton is a tidy player.
Post by: ballinaman on April 20, 2013, 11:31:22 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 11:29:59 AM
Serious player. Loving these live games on a Saturday morning.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 11:36:34 AM
Was a 5 30 start for me but have to say i am enjoying this
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 11:44:07 AM
And he scores his third. He has a great style of running with the ball.
Post by: ballinaman on April 20, 2013, 11:44:39 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 11:29:59 AM
Some speed there! Chris Yarran!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 11:51:06 AM
Ha, it's unreal. Just listening to commentator and he was saying this was one of the bigger pitches. Surely with it being a professional sport all pitches would be the same size?
Post by: ballinaman on April 20, 2013, 11:54:45 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 11:51:06 AM
Ha, it's unreal. Just listening to commentator and he was saying this was one of the bigger pitches. Surely with it being a professional sport all pitches would be the same size?
Not necessarily, think there is a maximum and minimum requirements....Ala the old Highbury/Dell and Villa Park for example in the premiership.

Here's a question for Aerlilk.
What's the story with the dressing rooms, surely they can give them seats, why do they have to sit on the ground?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 11:57:55 AM
Was thinking the very same thing!
Your probably right about pitch size.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 12:27:26 PM
"A right foot banana".  So Stevie O Neills point last week was a left foot banana!
Post by: ballinaman on April 20, 2013, 12:29:53 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 12:27:26 PM
"A right foot banana".  So Stevie O Neills point last week was a left foot banana!
;D ;D
Trying to keep an eye on Zach Tuohy from Laois, number 42 for Carlton.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 12:33:48 PM
He doesn't look out of place been watching out for him aswell. He likes to get a hit in.
Got a game on now! Get the ball to Yarren!
Post by: ballinaman on April 20, 2013, 12:37:57 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 12:33:48 PM
He doesn't look out of place been watching out for him aswell. He likes to get a hit in.
Got a game on now! Get the ball to Yarren!
Their kicking lets them down in AFL regularly. For professional athletes who have been playing with the oval ball all their lives, amazing the the amount of times they stick free kicks with no pressure for a behind. Fair enough in open play on the run it's difficult. Fielding, fitness, tackling and general skills with their hands are fantastic, kicking just lets them down IMO!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 12:48:13 PM
Darby would have been proud of that push. Deserved to miss. Awful effort!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2013, 01:09:53 PM
Good for Carlton to get their first win. Murphy Garlett and MOTM Yarren stood out. 
Post by: Aerlik on April 21, 2013, 04:15:47 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 20, 2013, 11:54:45 AM
Here's a question for Aerlilk.
What's the story with the dressing rooms, surely they can give them seats, why do they have to sit on the ground?

I have absolutely no idea, in fact I have never even thought of that. 

ROUND FOUR

Sydney 103 - 124 Geelong
"Perish the fool" who suggests that Geelong will not be in the action in September.  They will.  A great win against a fast Sydney on the SCG pitch.  Four good wins against good opposition.

Hawthorn 118 - 76 Fremantle
Yes, well....not impressed.  Didn't see the game as I was working but listening on the wireless, I heard nothing to inspire me.  Excuses such as having three of the top players out through injury won't carry as Freo has to depend on others due to the impending retirements in the next two or three years.  Not happy.

Richmond 79 - 113 Collingwood
Marty Clarke got on the scoresheet again as the Pies were just too good in the second half.  I missed this game due to work but read that the Pies were on fire.

St. Kilda 91- 128 Essendon
Essendon continues its great start to the season with a fourth straight win and sit on top of the table.  The game was marked by Brendan Goddard's first game against his old team St. Kilda.  Got a bit emotional at the end.  Fair enough.  Notably, he stayed out of the "handbags" during the game.

West Coast 65 - Carlton 89
Well if Freo aren't going to win, I'm never be too disappointed if our neighbours don't.  First win for Carlton this season and Zac was quite impressive.  The infidels kicked 7-23.  Even Kilkenny hurlers would be impressed with that. :P

Gold Coast 66 - 104 Port Adelaide.
OK, so they haven't exactly been playing the top teams week in week out but Port is the third team to have won all their games this season so far (and I hope they win next week, too  ;)).  I only saw the brief highlights but if you can, take a look at the mark by the Port Adelaide Full Forward.  Very impressive.

Melbourne 144 - 103 Greater Western Sydney
Trust poor Setanta to make his comeback after a year on the sidelines with injury, kick five goals and then watch Melbourne kick twelve in the last quarter to break their club record and, more importantly, win.  This was one game GWS thought they could win.  It's a long way to the top in this game.

Adelaide 80 - 28 Western Bulldogs
Dear god, why is this shite shown on TV?  Putrid.  Switched off after the first quarter.  'Nuff said.

North Melbourne 125 - 62 Brisbane Lions
The game marked the much-anticipated debut of Majak Daw, the Sudanese-born tank of a man.  And what a debut.  North's first attack after only a few seconds into the game sees a long ball belted into the full forward line.  And Majak out jumps the pack to take quite a spekkie.  Then he kicks the first goal.  The kind of stuff Roy of the Rovers would be proud of.  19 minutes later he gets knocked out and is subbed out.  You couldn't script it.  Michael Voss, the Brisbane coach, is not a happy chappy tonight, and Pearce got injured.  Hmmmm.
Post by: Karl Kennedy on April 21, 2013, 05:07:26 PM
Anywhere online where you can watch weekly AFL highlights?
Post by: Aerlik on April 22, 2013, 05:01:26 AM
http://www.afl.com.au/

Try this link, Karl.  It has highlight/significant moments from all the games.

Post by: Aerlik on April 29, 2013, 12:16:07 PM
ROUND FIVE

Well, what a round of footy.  Big wins, significant wins, nailbiting wins  ;D, massive come from behind wins, and season-ending knee injuries.

Essendon 121-75 Collingwood
Its fifth win on the trot for the Bombers and what a stage to do it on.  Over 90,000 at the MCG for the ANZAC clash and a game of some great skills.  This is becoming an institution in the AFL calendar.  Clarke, however, was pretty average. 

Sydney 79-63 St. Kilda
The agony continues for the Saints.  This was the first ever AFL game in NZ and it was pretty well received by the large Kiwi crowd.  I listened to it on the wireless and Sydney seemed to have it handy enough, always putting on the squeeze when St.Kilda threatened to get close.

Fremantle 81-80 Richmond
Dear Sweet Jesus, if I nearly cried two weeks ago at the loss to Essendon, I nearly died of heart failure at this game.  Suffice to say the game had everything; skills, great scores, major controversy, a season-ending ACL tear for Keplar Bradley (a bit of a folk hero among us faithful) and a two teams who played one of the most exciting games in years.  Oh, and Freo won, so I'm just a bit pleased about that.  Here are the last two minutes... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cBZdR7K1uGM .   The noise was unbelievable.

Gold Coast 148-104 Greater Western Sydney
Gotta feel for Setanta; another solid show with three goals and a kiss for his colleague and still the Giants are winless.  Didn't see the game but read that it wasn't too bad a game.

Carlton 115-83 Adelaide
Unfortunately I didn't see this game but I read it was some value.  Check out the marks taken.  Sadly another season-ending ACL injury, this time to Taylor "Tex" Walker of Adelaide.  A big, strong power forward.  He'll be missed up front by the Crows.  Zac was the only Irish winning player this week.

Geelong 107-86 Western Bulldogs
As predicted, Geelong won this game handily enough.  But a much better showing from the Bulldogs (at least that bit that I saw).  Geelong are now also 5 from 5.

Port Adelaide 84 - 79 West Coast
Well, at the 19th. minute mark of the third quarter WC was 41 points up, so I switched off as I didn't want to hear the puke that would be spewed by the commentators on another win.  Fast forward an hour and I walk in to the bar and my mate comes up with a big grin, shakes my hand and tells me that Port won by 5.  Holy jaysus, a good weekend just got better  :D.  And to make it even more amusing, the WC coach reckons the Eagles can still win the Premiership this year.  One win in five?  Yep, and they have still the big boys to play against.

Brisbane 122-94 Melbourne
An average game and I still don't know what the hell the TV companies were doing showing this instead of the quality game on slightly later.  Average to middling at best.

Hawthorn 99-96 North Melbourne
Now THIS game should have been on TV.  I listened to it on the wireless and it was very nip and tuck for the whole game.  I only saw a few highlights but a great effort by NM.

Significant injuries are starting to occur at this stage of the season with several ACL injuries being suffered.  You never want to see any player hurt, especially the big names who make the games more interesting.

Post by: muppet on April 29, 2013, 12:26:17 PM
" Zac was the only Irish winning player this week."

Brisbane won so I am presuming Hanley was injured?
Post by: Aerlik on April 29, 2013, 03:47:45 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 29, 2013, 12:26:17 PM

Yep, that's right, chap.
Post by: All of a Sludden on April 29, 2013, 08:33:06 PM
I watched the Bombers v Pies game at the weekend, i think Aerlik is being very kind to Clarke, he looked lost. The Aussies don't seem to rate him at all.
Post by: JimStynes on April 29, 2013, 10:14:29 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on April 29, 2013, 08:33:06 PM
I watched the Bombers v Pies game at the weekend, i think Aerlik is being very kind to Clarke, he looked lost. The Aussies don't seem to rate him at all.

he's been playing rightly this season. always starts well but cant seem to keep it going all season. Pearce Hanley is a star at the Lions. Great player.
Post by: Aerlik on April 30, 2013, 02:46:22 PM
I can't seem to figure out what exactly Clarke's role is at Collingwood.  Is he a defensive midfielder, a tagger (man-marker) or a half-back? 

Pity that Hanley is injured as I would like to see more of him.  True, Jim Stynes, he is a star.

Bloody furious tonight with the decisions of the AFL tribunal; Fyfe out for two weeks and Glass gets off punishment.  Nuff said.
Post by: HeaveHo on May 01, 2013, 08:32:17 AM
Quote from: muppet on April 29, 2013, 12:26:17 PM

Hanley was suspended. Whacked someone the week before. Should be back this week.
Post by: HeaveHo on May 01, 2013, 08:34:14 AM

Seems to have gone backwards since he came back - seems to have lost some zip. Would be surprised if he gets a game when they have a full list to choose from.
Post by: HeaveHo on May 01, 2013, 08:36:28 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on April 29, 2013, 10:14:29 PM

he's been playing rightly this season. always starts well but cant seem to keep it going all season. Pearce Hanley is a star at the Lions. Great player.

Probably leading their F & B right now. Close to an elite player. Tuohey is better kick but doesn't have the same ability to read the play. 
Post by: snoopdog on May 01, 2013, 03:02:44 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on April 30, 2013, 02:46:22 PM
I can't seem to figure out what exactly Clarke's role is at Collingwood.  Is he a defensive midfielder, a tagger (man-marker) or a half-back? 

Pity that Hanley is injured as I would like to see more of him.  True, Jim Stynes, he is a star.

Bloody furious tonight with the decisions of the AFL tribunal; Fyfe out for two weeks and Glass gets off punishment.  Nuff said.

Has Clarke long left on his contract. Would you see him coming back to Gaelic football if he fails at Collingwood? or would he still have enough class in AFL  to play for a smaller club. not writing him off, but would love to see him back in a Down jersey
Post by: Aerlik on May 01, 2013, 04:53:11 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 01, 2013, 03:02:44 PM
Has Clarke long left on his contract. Would you see him coming back to Gaelic football if he fails at Collingwood? or would he still have enough class in AFL  to play for a smaller club. not writing him off, but would love to see him back in a Down jersey

If he were to be let go at the end of this season, there would only be two or three clubs that I'd imagine would be interested: Greater Western Sydney, Western Bulldogs and possibly Brisbane.  St. Kilda might be interested. 

Thanks, Heave Ho, for pointing out Hanley was suspended.  I thought he got a knock.  I'm still fekkin furious about the Nathan Fyfe decision.
Post by: HeaveHo on May 02, 2013, 01:41:20 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on May 01, 2013, 04:53:11 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 01, 2013, 03:02:44 PM

If he were to be let go at the end of this season, there would only be two or three clubs that I'd imagine would be interested: Greater Western Sydney, Western Bulldogs and possibly Brisbane.  St. Kilda might be interested. 

Thanks, Heave Ho, for pointing out Hanley was suspended.  I thought he got a knock.  I'm still fekkin furious about the Nathan Fyfe decision.

Appealing that wasn't smart - we have Gold Coast this week and we should be winning. Fyfe would be handy against Collingwood.
Post by: All of a Sludden on May 03, 2013, 07:04:05 PM
Only caught 2 minutes of todays Collingwood v St Kilda game, but Clarke seemed like a different player in those couple of minutes. Took a lovely catch and scored a goal on the run from about 40 yards. Collingwood won by 26 points.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 03, 2013, 10:29:36 PM
North Melbourne vs port Adelaide tonight for us in US. will it be worth staying up for?
Post by: HeaveHo on May 04, 2013, 09:31:58 AM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on May 03, 2013, 07:04:05 PM
Only caught 2 minutes of todays Collingwood v St Kilda game, but Clarke seemed like a different player in those couple of minutes. Took a lovely catch and scored a goal on the run from about 40 yards. Collingwood won by 26 points.

Yep - he showed a bit last night. The commentators last night suggested he was in good form this year but I would disagree. That said I think he had his best game of the year last night.
Post by: fingerbob on May 04, 2013, 10:42:47 AM
After reading views on Clarke here, I took a look around some of the aussie forums and they all seem to think his form this year is a massive leap forward from last year and he looks to be solidifying his place on the team. In saying that I haven't watched any of his games myself.
Post by: HeaveHo on May 05, 2013, 03:48:10 AM
Quote from: fingerbob on May 04, 2013, 10:42:47 AM
After reading views on Clarke here, I took a look around some of the aussie forums and they all seem to think his form this year is a massive leap forward from last year and he looks to be solidifying his place on the team. In saying that I haven't watched any of his games myself.

He is probably the only tagger of note that Collingwood have. Collingwood generally don't tag many opposition players but Clarke generally gets the job if a heavy tag is needed. Taggers follow a select player in the opposition and do all they can to stop him getting the ball often to the detriment of their own game.   
Post by: Never beat the deeler on May 05, 2013, 04:43:24 AM
Dear lord. Lions getting mullered by Swans at the SCG

46 - 6 at qtr time, with the Lions sole kick coming in the dying minutes from Hanley
Post by: All of a Sludden on May 10, 2013, 11:59:01 AM
Cats lead the Bombers 49-45 at half time.
Post by: Aerlik on May 12, 2013, 05:33:54 AM
Week Six (apologies for the delay)

Collingwood 103-77 St. Kilda
The big game with a national TV audience and for a while we all thought the Saints would do it.  But not to be.  Cloke kicked six and suddenly the pies are the greatest team EVER.  And little wonder the rest of the country supports your team when you play Collingwood...except when they play the eagles.

Essendon 120-81 Greater Western Sydney
Up to half-time it was hard to believe that GWS were propping up the table.  Then the bombers  woke up, kicked a bagful in the third quarter and then it was game over.  Aiden Corr, born in Tyrone, made his debut for GWS.

North Melbourne 93-83 Port Adelaide
Finally Port lose...or more to the point, finally they play a decent team and lose  Didn't see any of this game.  But the Majak Daw show has started. 

Hawthorn 89-78 Adelaide
A great game to watch.  Wish I could get to games like this every weekend, even as a neutral.  But Hawthorn are looking good for the title if this form continues.

Geelong 131-87 Richmond
The cats continue to win and, well, if you're going to win, ya might as well do it in style.   As with Hawthorn, the cats are a step ahead of the rest.

Fremantle 99-54 Gold Coast
This was tipped as a game the Suns could win, but Fremantle controlled from start to finish and were simply too good all over the ground.  Gary Ablett Jr?  Who's he?

Sydney 115-55 Brisbane
In the past I have complained about shit games being screened - I rest my case.   Nuff said.  Swans waaaaaay too good. 

Carlton 121-60
Ditto the above, but thankfully we were spared this shite on free-to-air TV. 

West Coast 137-67 Western Bulldogs
Ditto the above, but living in Perth we had no choice but to watch this.  Except that we did and I chose not to watch, thankfully.  More shite.

Post by: Aerlik on May 15, 2013, 02:59:00 PM
Round Seven

Geelong 113-85 Essendon
Friday night footy and we had a cracker.  Both teams went into this game with a winning season but in the end there was only ever going to be one winner.  Looking ominous for the rest of the teams in the league.

Richmond 114-73 Port Adelaide
The second straight defeat for Pt. Adelaide and one wonders if the early wins can only be attributed to the fact the opposing teams were shite.  Another stellar show from Jack Riewoldt. If there was a medal for the gurny-McGonigle of the AFL he would win it...consistently, but you've got to admit he's deadly in front of goals....errrrrrr, except when he was marked by Luke McPharlin! ;)

West Coast 108-85 Brisbane
For three quarters of this game mini-me, myself and 40,000 Freo faithful were hoping that a mini-miracle would eventuate as it did last year.  Sadly it didn't.  And you'd think the WC eagles were the only team in the country now.   Grrrrr >:(

North Melbourne 151-97 Western Bulldogs
The Majak Daw show continues.  He really is a spectacular athlete and I might just see if I can sneak into Subi on Friday night to see him play WC.  This result was never in doubt.

Hawthorn 110-82 Sydney
The repeat of last year's Grand Final but from the moment Buddy Franklin kicked a gem off his left from out on the touchline where it meets the 50m arc, the tone was set.  Admittedly Sydney were missing some big names but it looks like we are heading for a Hawthorn Geelong final.

Fremantle 100-73 Collingwood  :D
Well, sweet Jesus there is no need for me to do any kind of cardiac workout 'cos the lads give me plenty of highly stressful moments every fekkin two weeks. >:(  This was a game that should have been over at half-time when Freo were ahead by a bagful.  Not helped by the ACL injury to Freo ruckman Jon Griffin, Collingwood managed to claw back into the game and actually led by 5 points at the first minute of the final quarter.  Cue the Zac Dawson-Michael Walters show.   This win showed the resolve that Freo now have.  Minus 6 of their recognised first team the lads knuckled down and what a sweet, sweet win that was.  On a sad note the two Irish lads got injured, but Mooney's goal was noteworthy.

Adelaide 187-52 Greater Western Sydney
Less than 6,000 went to watch this game.  Brave souls.  Shite from start to finish, save for the 10-goal haul from the Adelaide player.

Gold Coast 114-54 Melbourne
Thankfully we were spared from this garbage as Free-to-air chose to show a repeat of a repeat of something or other.  Whatever it was, it couldn't have been much worse than what the brave at the MCG were exposed to.  Melbourne FC is in serious strife. 

St. Kilda 77-68 Carlton
I found myself roaring at the TV hoping for a St. Kilda win, and I got it.  This was a great game with some great skills and footy on show.  Dunno about the St. Kilda commemorative jersey though.
Post by: HeaveHo on May 16, 2013, 02:25:35 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on May 15, 2013, 02:59:00 PM
Round Seven

Geelong 113-85 Essendon
Friday night footy and we had a cracker.  Both teams went into this game with a winning season but in the end there was only ever going to be one winner.  Looking ominous for the rest of the teams in the league.

Richmond 114-73 Port Adelaide
The second straight defeat for Pt. Adelaide and one wonders if the early wins can only be attributed to the fact the opposing teams were shite.  Another stellar show from Jack Riewoldt. If there was a medal for the gurny-McGonigle of the AFL he would win it...consistently, but you've got to admit he's deadly in front of goals....errrrrrr, except when he was marked by Luke McPharlin! ;)

West Coast 108-85 Brisbane
For three quarters of this game mini-me, myself and 40,000 Freo faithful were hoping that a mini-miracle would eventuate as it did last year.  Sadly it didn't.  And you'd think the WC eagles were the only team in the country now.   Grrrrr >:(

North Melbourne 151-97 Western Bulldogs
The Majak Daw show continues.  He really is a spectacular athlete and I might just see if I can sneak into Subi on Friday night to see him play WC.  This result was never in doubt.

Hawthorn 110-82 Sydney
The repeat of last year's Grand Final but from the moment Buddy Franklin kicked a gem off his left from out on the touchline where it meets the 50m arc, the tone was set.  Admittedly Sydney were missing some big names but it looks like we are heading for a Hawthorn Geelong final.

Fremantle 100-73 Collingwood  :D
Well, sweet Jesus there is no need for me to do any kind of cardiac workout 'cos the lads give me plenty of highly stressful moments every fekkin two weeks. >:(  This was a game that should have been over at half-time when Freo were ahead by a bagful.  Not helped by the ACL injury to Freo ruckman Jon Griffin, Collingwood managed to claw back into the game and actually led by 5 points at the first minute of the final quarter.  Cue the Zac Dawson-Michael Walters show.   This win showed the resolve that Freo now have.  Minus 6 of their recognised first team the lads knuckled down and what a sweet, sweet win that was.  On a sad note the two Irish lads got injured, but Mooney's goal was noteworthy.

Adelaide 187-52 Greater Western Sydney
Less than 6,000 went to watch this game.  Brave souls.  Shite from start to finish, save for the 10-goal haul from the Adelaide player.

Gold Coast 114-54 Melbourne
Thankfully we were spared from this garbage as Free-to-air chose to show a repeat of a repeat of something or other.  Whatever it was, it couldn't have been much worse than what the brave at the MCG were exposed to.  Melbourne FC is in serious strife. 

St. Kilda 77-68 Carlton
I found myself roaring at the TV hoping for a St. Kilda win, and I got it.  This was a great game with some great skills and footy on show.  Dunno about the St. Kilda commemorative jersey though.

I think Mooney came back on Aerlik. Like you say we shouldn't have let them back in but good to see the lads kick away in the final term. Walters looks like a monty for All Aust selection as a small forward.

I am looking forward to Friday - hopefully the big Sudanese lad and chums can give the WC Budgies a hiding. So be interesting watching the big Fijian square off with Daw - some athleticism in that pair.
Post by: Aerlik on May 16, 2013, 11:24:43 AM
Haha Heave-Ho, well, I won't be watching it as I've put my hand up to help the lads in the Gaelic Footy Intermediate game.  But fear not, it's not a return to the playing field. Oh no, the fawked back has put paid to that.  No, I'll be in a somewhat more glamorous role of waterboy or umpire.  I can hear the sighs of relief from the opposition from here. ;)

I really, really hope the Drug-runners get fekkin walloped by North.

Jaysus it is torture...Swans have included Tommy Walsh.  Fekkit.  I want to see the Irish do well, but cut me some slack; not against Freo.

Heave-Ho, check out my flag behind the goals.   
Post by: HeaveHo on May 17, 2013, 06:38:32 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on May 16, 2013, 11:24:43 AM
Heave-Ho, check out my flag behind the goals.

Subi end?

Post by: Aerlik on May 17, 2013, 03:57:28 PM
Quote from: HeaveHo on May 17, 2013, 06:38:32 AM
Subi end?

Yep, but you'll only see it briefly.  Still fekkin disgusted by that final free to the Cheat Selwood tonight.  Faaaaark.
Post by: All of a Sludden on May 18, 2013, 01:13:11 PM
Bombers lose for the second week running, Collingwood get back to winning ways with a 6 point win over Geelong.
Post by: HeaveHo on May 19, 2013, 07:21:37 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on May 17, 2013, 03:57:28 PM
Quote from: HeaveHo on May 17, 2013, 06:38:32 AM
Subi end?

Yep, but you'll only see it briefly.  Still fekkin disgusted by that final free to the Cheat Selwood tonight.  Faaaaark.

Duckwood you mean - it runs in the family all that ducking for kicks. One day one of them will get seriously injured and I won't have any sympathy. I think Shuey is a Selwood as well.

Should have beaten Sydney despite the injury list. Can't see Tommy Walsh being in the AFL system next year - he was ordinary and Tippett isn't far away. Hanley was good yesterday.

Just watching Carlton v Port - very impressed with Tuohey's kicking skills - went onto to his left (non preferred foot) and hit big Kruser laces out 45 metres away while under pressure - I am old school and think AFL footballers should be able to kick both feet well - as you know a lot of players resort to kicking outside of the preferred foot rather than switching feet as they should.   
Post by: Aerlik on May 19, 2013, 12:45:32 PM
Round Eight.

West Coast 90-88 North Melbourne
Well, if you wondered why I dislike the Wes(nor)t Coke Turkeys, it was there for all to see in this game.  Shite kicking during the game should have seen them home and dry by the end of the 3rd. quarter.  But when that wasn't working the cheating started.  Fcuk, the umpire's decision at the end was disgraceful.  Nuff said.  Felt really sorry for North.

Brisbane 96-86 Essendon
What a game.  What a fantastic effort from the team that was supposed to lose by a bagful.  Pearce Hanley...what a year he is having.  Watching the game is one thing but listening to it on the wireless in the car is even better cos the roar of the crowd comes through better.  Great Saturday afternoon entertainment.  (oh, and I watched the last quarter on TV  ;) )

Hawthorn 140-57 Greater Western Sydney
Yep, well, nothing to see here folks...let's move on.

Gold Coast 93-61 Western Bulldogs
Although not on Free-to-air TV, there has been a lot of chat about this game and a young man called Jaeger O'Meara who is getting lots of plaudits for his talent.  (Freo missed out getting him in the draft two years ago  :( )  A good win for the Suns and setting the club up for a possible top 8 position.  All's not well at the Bulldogs.  Cooney is not committing to a new contract, the team has only won one of its last 18 games and the finances are not too flash. 

Sydney 70-70 Fremantle
The first draw of the season and the first in Freo's history.  I stopped watching the game after half-time; yep, I was so fekkin pissed off with the effort; couldn't kick now off a rope.  But with only 16 minutes left, the lads came back from 27 points down to draw.  And one of my favourites, Michael Johnson had the chance to win it but his kick was just short.  Yet another significant injury for Freo.  Suddenly a guaranteed landslide victory next week v. Melbourne and a massive points percentage boost is not on the cards.  Not sure if Tommy Walsh will enjoy his arse-over-elbow, either.

Collingwood 102-96 Geelong
The last 100% winning streak came to a dramatic ending at the MCG last night when Collingwood held on to defeat the seemingly indominatable Geelong.  Lots of controversy in this game too.  Didn't get to see the game as it clashed with Freo's game.

Carlton 109-91 Port Adelaide
Are the Blues on the march to bigger and better things this year?  Is the early season form of Port just a distant memory?  Didn't see the game (damn this "work" mullarkey.)  Tuohy gets another win in his young career.

Richmond 106-72 Melbourne
Sweet Jesus, AFL, why is this drivel on every fekkin week?  Is this the "let's-all-stick-the-knife-in-Melbourne" show?  Yet another crap effort from Melbourne.  Nuff said.

Adelaide 87-47 St. Kilda
Just when Saints fans thought that great win against Carlton on Monday night was going to be the start of a rejuvenated season, their team travelled to Adelaide and got walloped.  Adelaide rarely has its games shown in WA which is a pity as it is traditionally a "footy-playing" ... so I didn't see the game.

And so to the table as it stands tonight: http://www.afl.com.au/ladder

Post by: Aerlik on May 27, 2013, 03:41:42 PM
Round Nine - Indigenous Round

The round dedicated to the wonderful contribution our indigenous brothers have made and still make to the game ... well, it sure had its talking points.

Sydney 102-55 Collingwood
Fresh off being let off with a draw against Fremantle Sydney came to the MCG and handed the Pies a total trouncing.  And the indigenous men were to the fore for both good and bad reasons; Louis Jetta  scored one of the best team goals I have seen in a long time.  Worth a watch on YouTube.  However, the game will forever be remembered as the game when a 13 year-old girl shouted out at superstar Adam Goodes calling him an "ape".  Almost 20 years to the day when St.Kilda player Nicky Winmar got racially abused by Collingwood "fans" resulting in his famous gesture of lifting his shirt and pointing at his skin, it appears there are some things that havent't changed in this country.

Geelong 116-68 Pt. Adelaide
Fourth loss on the trot for Port Adelaide.  Geelong are just unstoppable in this form.  And the remarkable thing is that many of the team are only 2nd. or 3rd. year players.  Bodes ominously for the others.

West Coast Eagles 155-55 Greater Western Sydney
Highlight of the game was Setanta's goal celebration.  Nothing else to celebrate.  Perth media is in overdrive.  Puke.

Western Bulldogs 110-101 St.Kilda
This is a game I'd love to have been at.  It was great value, and a big surprise in the end.  Some great goals.

Carlton 98-85 Brisbane
Tuohy may have gotten the points but Hanly's star keeps on rising, even resulting in Shane Crawford (p***k) declaring that he is probably going to be the most successful and most skilled of any Irish player that has ever played the game.  Carlton win again and are starting to get some momentum going.

Essendon 91-62 Richmond
Dreamtime at the G, but a  bloody nightmare for Richmond who were fancied to win this game.  That bloody work mullarkey got in the way again, but I read I didn't miss much.

Hawthorn 118-92 Gold Coast
At half time, Gold Coast was leading and we were beginning to think that one of the biggest shocks in modern times was on the cards.  However, Buddy Franklin got the resurgence on the way and, well the rest is history.  Bodes well for the Suns if their form continues to improve.

Adelaide 125-124
Adelaide never led at any stage of this  game until the final 14 seconds.  Five goals in the last 10 minutes saw North Melbourne lose its fourth game by 4 or less this season.    Awesome finish by the Crows.

Fremantle 130-40 Melbourne
I began actually began to feel a pity for Melbourne whilst sitting in the stands.  Oh dear. 
Post by: Aerlik on May 30, 2013, 03:09:40 PM
As if the comments of the 13 year old Collingwood "fan" is anything to cringe, the President of Collingwood hasn't half opened his gub to change feet...
Post by: lfdown2 on May 31, 2013, 12:44:51 AM
Hopefully all the furore provides the lions an opening for a win at the Gabba tonight - see that Buckley has given O'Brien and Krakouer the option to play or not.

Still a long shot with the injury/suspension list,
Post by: HeaveHo on June 03, 2013, 03:50:53 AM
Quote from: lfdown2 on May 31, 2013, 12:44:51 AM
Hopefully all the furore provides the lions an opening for a win at the Gabba tonight - see that Buckley has given O'Brien and Krakouer the option to play or not.

The Lions are hard to catch - they are hot and cold. They will be better when Rich, Browny and Big Sauce are back. Hanley is probably leading the club F & B at the moment.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on June 03, 2013, 06:14:10 AM
Quote from: HeaveHo on June 03, 2013, 03:50:53 AM
Quote from: lfdown2 on May 31, 2013, 12:44:51 AM

The Lions are hard to catch - they are hot and cold. They will be better when Rich, Browny and Big Sauce are back. Hanley is probably leading the club F & B at the moment.

They'd break your heart, man.
Leuenberger was a big loss, but the players on the night were poor.

Hanley was tagged, which he should take as a major compliment
Post by: HeaveHo on June 03, 2013, 07:07:20 AM
Tommy Walsh is done for the year with a serious hamstring injury. Might have torn the hammy off the bone. Might be his last AFL outing but you would hope the club keep him on the list until he is fit again.
Post by: Aerlik on June 04, 2013, 03:15:27 PM
Round Ten.

Well...the drama continues. 

Collingwood 100-51 Brisbane Lions
The confidence of the last few weeks dissipated pretty damned meekly for Brisbane.  The Pies were just too good all over the park.  Missing major names didn't help the Lions' cause.

Carlton 148-54 Greater Western Sydney
Well, the massacre continues.  Oh... you want me to comment.  Ok... No comment.

:D Fremantle 66 :D-59 Adelaide
On the other fekkin hand.  What a win.  What a fekkin great win by our boys.  The shite weather was no barrier to Freo.  It was not pretty for the neutral but the sheer gut-busting efforts by both teams was admirable.  Jaysus this was a very satisfying result.

Sydney 115-71 Essendon
Well, what a show by the Swans.  Clinical, direct, effective.  Great game to watch.  Lots of emotions relating to the disgusting racism rearing its permanently ugly head in Australian society, and what a way for the great man Adam Goodes to reply.   Sadly Tommy did a bad hammy.  Ouch.

Western Bulldogs 67-58 Port Adelaide
From 5-0 to 5-5.  Oh dear, Port Adelaide are all over the place.  I only saw the match highlights of this one but would have liked to have been at this one, such was the closeness.  This is the first back to back wins for the Bulldogs for a long while.

Geelong 123-71 Gold Coast Suns
Do NOT be fooled by the scoreline.  This match was fantastic.  At three-quarter time the scores were level.  And Gary Ablett scored an unbelievably difficult goal, so much so that the Geelong fans, for whom he was once the idol - after all he is the son of "God" - stood up and applauded him.  In the end the superior strength and experience of the Cats saw them through. 

Hawthorn 143-48 Melbourne
The insult to the senses continues.

North Melbourne 133-65 St. Kilda
What a way to honour Brett Harvey's 350th. appearance.  In this game, 350 appearances really is some feat.  This game was not shown on WA telly, but all reports point to a demolition.  Oh...and a 68-point difference supports that belief, I suppose.

Richmond 103-62 West Coast
Christ, what a way to recover from Down beating Derry!  I laughed so much when I heard the final score as I had been working.
The scalpels are in overdrive tonight in Perth. ;D ;D ;D

Post by: lfdown2 on June 05, 2013, 12:17:42 PM
So much for false hope...too many missing, was getting used to the lions being at least competitive!
Post by: Aerlik on June 05, 2013, 05:57:09 PM
Won't be any better in two weeks time in Perth, methinks.  Look out for the banner "The Lyon Kings".
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 07, 2013, 01:22:24 PM
Essendon 11 11  77
Carlton     10 12  72

How the hell did the Bombers win that one? They were 31 points down and going nowhere fast.  :o
Post by: Aerlik on June 10, 2013, 05:26:10 PM
Round Eleven - The Bye round...shit halfway through the regular season already.

And the shiteyist of shite umpiring continues...(oh, and guess who benefits?  Actually don't.  No need to guess!)

Essendon 77-72 Carlton
How the hell did Carlton lose this?  How the hell did they lead by 31 points at one stage in the second half and lose?  Well they did.  I didn't see the game but believe it was very much a game of two halves (never mind four quarters). 

Geelong 157-98 Greater Western Sydney
Incredibly, GWS led by 30 points in the first quarter, kicking five straight, and a minute before the end of the third quarter the teams were level at 98 points each!  Then Geelong started to hit overdrive and the floodgates opened.  A much improved performance by the Giants.  For Geelong...the status quo continues.

Sydney 127-50 Adelaide
A great win for the Swans and a dismal loss for Adelaide.  Much was made of this being a season-defining game for the Crows and it may just be that, depending on how the team fares against the opposition in the second half of the season.  Would like to have seen this game but that bloody work mullarkey came around.  Scheisse.

Gold Coast 66-51 North Melbourne
The biggest shock of the round by two country miles.  The Suns were down by 25 points at the end of the first quarter and came screaming back to claim arguably its most high-profile scalp.  I listened to this game on the wireless in Freo Hospital (more about that later) and as a neutral it was easy to go for the winners on this occasion.  But serious questions are starting to be asked about the Roos as this is one of several games where big leads have evaporated.

West Coast 84-80 St. Kilda
Why isn't there an appeals system in this League? Once again shite umpiring cost the loser this game.  How some of the umpires can wake up the next morning and say, "I did done good there that time, so I did"!  Of course in Perth, the meejya are once again talking up the snorters' flag chances this year.  Pfffft.

Collingwood 122-39 Melbourne
The first quarter was actually really enjoyable with some great play, tackles and performances from the Demons.  But as per usual that was very short lived.  The inquest has begun in the Melbourne.

On a sad note, mini-me  broke both the ulna and radius of his right arm in a tackle playing for his u-13 team on Saturday, hence my visit to Freo hospital.  Sickening to see the deformed arm of my wee warrior.  But he was a brave wee bugger.  He told me he only cried once, and that was when he was told he would be out for the rest of the season.
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 14, 2013, 01:33:09 PM
Carlton     13 9  87
Hawthorn 15 12 102

Hawthorn with 10 consecutive wins.
Post by: Aerlik on June 17, 2013, 02:25:20 PM
Round Twelve

Hawthorn 102-87 Carlton
This was an important win for Hawthorn as the Blues suddenly realised that the season is getting a bit too uncomfortable.  It was a very good game and was close throughout but yet again, some very dubious refereeing decisions left the neutral and mainly Carlton fans wondering just what the hell the correct interpretation of the rules is. 

Richmond 110-82 Adelaide
A very significant win for Richmond, strengthening the club's top 8 ambitions this season.  For Adelaide it marks another loss in a game the Crows fancied themselves to win.  I didn't see any of the game bar the highlights on the AFL gamesite.  While technically Adelaide can still make the top 8, there are too many clubs lurking nearby which have yet to be played.

Fremantle 86-46 Brisbane
Normally I would be hailing a 40-point win for Freo, but not on this occasion.  I was at the game, Freo were a bit lethargical and I thought the Brisbane half-back line was really very good, working well with the midfielders and ruck.  Brisbane will rue the miss of many goal chances and the absence of Jonathon Brown but they better get used to it as he won't be around much longer.  It was great to see the "neighbour" (well, close enough) Niall McKeever playing, along with Pearce Hanley.  Hanley was kept reasonably quiet this game.  McKeever didn't set the world on fire, either.  Simon Black broke the Lions' games record, with 319 appearances, some feat in today's game, and I believe he may be the only player to have won every senior honour in the game, though I may be wrong in that one.

Essendon 115-72 Gold Coast
A lot of hype before this game with speculation that Gold Coast may just continue its giant-killing feats.  Not to be, in fact nowhere near the mark.  Essendon have unearthed yet another star in the making in Joe Danaher, one of the Danaher dynasty that figured so prominently for the bombers in the 70s and 80s.  Significant injuries to key Gold Coast players took its toll.

Port Adelaide 125-50 Greater Western Sydney
The misery continues.  'Nuff said.

Collingwood 99-65 Western Bulldogs
Despite the 34-point difference in the final score, this wasn't a bad game to watch, moreso for the fact that Collingwood were at sixes and sevens at times and that the doggies came back at them after a sluggish start.  The result keeps the pies in the top 8.

And in news just released today, the inevitable happened.  Melbourne sacked its coach Mark Neeld.  With a  record of 28 losses and 5 wins it was not hard to see why.  Who will want to take up the poisoned chalice that is Melbourne remains to be seen but two names have been put forward: Mark Williams the Premiership winning former coach of Pt. Adelaide, and John Worsfold, the current coach of West Coast Eagles.   
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 17, 2013, 03:25:30 PM
Great stuff from the Hawks, jaz themselves and Mayo eh!
Post by: Aerlik on June 18, 2013, 01:03:12 AM
Hawks certainly are the benchmark team this year but as the Swans proved last year, sitting atop the table counts for nothing in the Grand Final.  That's why I have booked time off around the last Saturday in September.  With four of the club's big names to come back from injury, don't discount Fremantle. ;)
Post by: Canalman on June 18, 2013, 11:52:55 AM
Saw 15 minutes or so of the Collingwood/ W Bulldogs game on Saturday morning. 2nd quarter I think and have to point out the game is much more skilful and faster than years ago when it was to be truthful about it awful.
Seriously accurate kick passing and handling.
Players seem also not as big as they used to be. Alot thinner and leaner imvho. Have to be seriously fit to play at that level.
Post by: Aerlik on June 20, 2013, 01:51:55 AM
Canalman, there certainly are fewer of the Tony Lockett, Gary Ablett Snr, Billy Brownless, Brian Taylor-type of hulking forwards, but the average height of the Freo midfield is 6' 3" for example.  Freo's shortest player is 5' 9" and the tallest is 6' 11.5" (incidentally the tallest man ever to play at the top level.  There's a young 19-yo player at Freo called Jack Hannath ("Mammoth Hannath"), 6' 8", approx. 100+kgs and still growing.  He can catch, run and kick with the best of them.  He is going to be some unit in the next few years.

Similarly, there are such players at the other clubs.
Post by: Syferus on June 20, 2013, 02:47:21 AM
I still think those 'jerseys' are homoerotic.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 20, 2013, 02:47:30 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 20, 2013, 02:47:21 AM
I still think those 'jerseys' are homoerotic.

They say guernsey not jersey in Australia.
Post by: HeaveHo on June 21, 2013, 06:08:55 AM
Quote from: Canalman on June 18, 2013, 11:52:55 AM
Saw 15 minutes or so of the Collingwood/ W Bulldogs game on Saturday morning. 2nd quarter I think and have to point out the game is much more skilful and faster than years ago when it was to be truthful about it awful.
Seriously accurate kick passing and handling.
Players seem also not as big as they used to be. Alot thinner and leaner imvho. Have to be seriously fit to play at that level.

You would be correct Canalman - the game has become less of a collision sport and more aerobically demanding in recent times and as a consequence players are lightening off. As Aerlik pointed out players are much taller now on average than they were as recent as ten years ago which also makes then look lighter. Sydney might pick a team that would include Kurt Tippett (202 cms/104 kgs), Mike Pyke (201/104), Harry Mumford (198/104), Sam Reid (196/96) and Adam Goodes (191/100) and that would be the rucks and forward line only. That wouldn't include handy types like Jessie White (196/102), Tommy Walsh when fit (193/99) and Lewis Roberts-Thompson (194/94). Ten years ago you might have had teams with one guy around 200 cms and a couple around 195 and the rest 190 or less. Now some teams would have 50% of the their players being 190 plus.
Post by: Club Rossa on June 21, 2013, 05:52:39 PM
Hawthorn wins their 11th straight with victory over the Eagles.Massive,massive game coming up against Geelong.Another defeat to the Cats could be very damaging,not so much in terms of the ladder but mentally.Haven't beaten them since the 08 Grand Final.
Post by: Aerlik on June 24, 2013, 06:01:58 PM
Round Thirteen (Lucky for some!!!)

You know, I started this thread thirteen weeks and have provided summaries for some shockers, some great games but I have simply nothing to say about Brisbane Lions and Pearce Hanley.  What a result.  I should imagine that every Brisbane fan, maybe every AFL fan in the nation and beyond (barring Geelong fans) will be delighted with what unfolded at the GABBA last night.  So I will save the best to last.

Hawthorn 123-103 West Coast
Being based in Perth has its advantages; beautiful weather, beaches, wine and weemin.  But there is one disadvantage...you have to listen to incessant shite from meejya types about how wonderful WC is.  WC needed to win this game to be confident of playing finals footy this year.  It didn't.  Cue the gurning.  Hawthorn won this game purely on merit but of course the post-mortem blames everything and everyone from the umpires to the toilet cleaners, to the baby in Fiji who farted at the wrong time.  Anyways, I was happy.

Port Adelaide 72-54 Sydney
Something of a shock win this one.  Port were not expected to come near one of the favourites for the flag.  But the substitution of Adam Goodes in the third term may have helped spur the winners on.  I only saw the highlights and it was pretty evident the weather was a factor but Sydney  could and should have adapted better.   Kudos to Port.

St. Kilda 104-69 Melbourne
Melbourne's total points tally pretty much sums up its season; it's fcuked.  Thankfully we didn't have to watch this drivel.

Richmond 121-61 Western Bulldogs
It is over 10 years since Richmond played finals footy.  This year could see the club back in September action.  I only saw brief highlights but listened to the game on the wireless and it seemed all one-way traffic save for a brief skirmish by WB in the third.

:D Fremantle 67-29 North Melbourne  :D
It's not often I comment about a game in Perth where I get drenched.  It pissed down the first quarter and we were looking at a 1st. quarter total score of 3-2 until Freo goaled.  Thereafter there was some pieces of individual brilliance from players from both teams, and although not pretty, we'll happily take a win which has now put Freo in third position ahead of Sydney.

Brisbane 103 - 98 Geelong
Picture the scene: you're 52 points down late in the third quarter against arguably the best, most consistent team in the past seven years.  What should you do?  I won't go into it in great depth suffice it to say if you want to see a truly wonderful comeback victory please check out the AFL website.  I have watched it several times already.  Pearce Hanley has established himself as a star Lions player.  I am inclined to agree with the opinion voiced a few weeks ago by Sam Newman, that Hanley is the best Irish player ever in the game.  Pleased for him, but glad he was kept quiet two weeks ago in Perth.

So there it is.  Back to a full fixtures list from Thursday.
Post by: ballinaman on June 27, 2013, 12:54:11 PM
Pearce Hanley from a few weeks ago.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MtLf5mdO64w
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 27, 2013, 01:49:17 PM
West Coast  91
Bombers     98

Bombers out scored the Eagles by five goals to one in the final quarter, they trailed by 28 at one stage.
Post by: Aerlik on June 27, 2013, 10:45:17 PM
The jury's out on that game last night.  An Eagles win would have kept Freo third, but I don't mind seeing the Eagles lose. 

How short are the memories of Eagles fans; the booing of Jobe Watson was rather ironic considering the Eagles' deliberate cover up of several of their former players using drugs on a let's say more-than-recreational frequency.  The 2006 Premiership will forever be remembered for the players' drug use/cheating.  Shame on them.
Post by: HeaveHo on June 28, 2013, 03:43:06 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on June 27, 2013, 10:45:17 PM
The jury's out on that game last night.  An Eagles win would have kept Freo third, but I don't mind seeing the Eagles lose. 

How short are the memories of Eagles fans; the booing of Jobe Watson was rather ironic considering the Eagles' deliberate cover up of several of their former players using drugs on a let's say more-than-recreational frequency.  The 2006 Premiership will forever be remembered for the players' drug use/cheating.  Shame on them.

I was torn too Aerlik but preferred to see the West Coke Eagles go down. Didn't mind the booing - you pay your money so you can boo if you want. You are right about the hypocrisy.

Watson has admitted a doping offence and should have been stood down. Milne has admitted nothing but has been stood down. Not quite sure of the fairness there (Milne's charge is a serious criminal matter but he is yet to have his day in court where it appears he will vigorously defend himself).
Post by: Tubberman on June 28, 2013, 09:42:10 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on June 27, 2013, 12:54:11 PM

Picking up a bit of a twang! Good to see him doing well, don't think we'll ever see him in the Green and Red again.
Post by: ballinaman on June 28, 2013, 10:02:21 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 28, 2013, 09:42:10 AM

Picking up a bit of a twang! Good to see him doing well, don't think we'll ever see him in the Green and Red again.
Serious twang alright! Ya, doubt it too, delighted for him though.
Post by: Syferus on June 29, 2013, 01:07:25 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 28, 2013, 09:42:10 AM

Aye, you won't ;D
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 29, 2013, 01:17:51 PM
Geelong: 11.19 (85)
Fremantle: 7.2  (44)
Post by: maigheo on June 29, 2013, 10:38:31 PM
 I did see an interview with Hanley last year where he stated that he would like to do a Tadgh Kennelly and come back and try to help Mayo to win an all ireland.So I would not give up hope of seeing Hanley in the green and read just yet.
Post by: Aerlik on July 01, 2013, 11:56:53 AM
Round Fourteen; back to normal, a full round of footy.  But I didn't see a single game.  Fekkin work.  Hate it when it interferes with...ummmm...well whatever. >:(

Essendon 98-91 West Coast
Never disappointed when the cheats lose.  Never!  However, the focus is now on Essendon with serious allegations of drug-doping.  Two sets of cheats well met then.

Sydney 65-43 Carlton
You'd have thought this was played in Ireland such was the shocking weather.  Not pretty, judging by the highlights and a serious blow to Carlton's finals aspirations.

Adelaide 111-83 Gold Coast
Many thought that this could be another major scalp for the GCFC but it wasn't to be.  The win keeps the Crows within Finals striking distance.

Port Adelaide 86-51 Collingwood
It is getting hard to predict any game with Port Adelaide.  They weren't expected to win this one but a 35-point belting of the Pies had the rest of Australia celebrating. Ooooh.  Did I say that out loud?  Both teams are in the top 8...just.

Melbourne 103-100 Western Bulldogs
Bloody hell....10 minutes into the 4th. quarter the Demons were 40+ points up ... then decided to go to sleep.  Cue the Bulldogs' comeback.  Well it has been the most exciting bit of any Melbourne game all year.  Still crap though.

Geelong (ahem more)-(ahem less) Fremantle
Yes, well we were missing several big name players so a loss was inevitable.  Errrr, that's my take on it and I'm sticking to it.  Right nothing move on, nothing more to see.

Hawthorn 143 -85 Brisbane
Well, the inevitable occurred.  Hawthorn are practically unbeatable in Tasmania.

North Melbourne 130-44 Greater Western Sydney
The only question from this game is whether or not GWS are going to win a game at all this season.  Not looking good.

Richmond 119-55 St. Kilda
The Tigers' march to finals' footy continues.  Safely within the 8.   
Post by: kilkenny footballer on July 01, 2013, 04:01:50 PM

Footy is back.

is it on tg4?
Post by: Aerlik on July 02, 2013, 10:46:42 AM
Quote from: kilkenny footballer on July 01, 2013, 04:01:50 PM

is it on tg4?

No idea!  I have the advantage of being a Fremantle Footy Club member here in Western Australia.
Post by: Club Rossa on July 02, 2013, 11:04:42 AM
Eurosport 2 does a 1 hr highlight show on Tuesday nights.
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 02, 2013, 12:33:45 PM
Quote from: kilkenny footballer on July 01, 2013, 04:01:50 PM
is it on tg4?

AFL games are now on ESPN, though like every other sport they are available online.
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 02, 2013, 02:51:13 PM
Hanley gets hit, Tadgh Kennelly would be proud of this hit!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=LicjgRoqhsw
Post by: HeaveHo on July 03, 2013, 08:30:44 AM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on July 02, 2013, 02:51:13 PM
Hanley gets hit, Tadgh Kennelly would be proud of this hit!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=LicjgRoqhsw

Stevie J got two weeks for that - making contact with the head generally gets a player in the manure.

Hanley is yet to re-sign with the Lions. I suspect his agent is asking for a decent payrise something in the order of 200%.
Post by: Aerlik on July 04, 2013, 09:14:33 AM
Quote from: HeaveHo on July 03, 2013, 08:30:44 AM
Hanley is yet to re-sign with the Lions. I suspect his agent is asking for a decent payrise something in the order of 200%.

I'd be happy to have him at Fremantle as an attacking half-back. ;)
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 05, 2013, 01:13:41 PM
Joffa has his jacket on, he could have put it on an hour ago as this game is one way traffic. Cloke would make a hell of a full forward.
Post by: Aerlik on July 08, 2013, 04:27:54 PM
Round Fifteen

Collingwood 118-77 Carlton.
Carlton started the game at a blistering pace and pummelled the pies all over the place.  Indeed it would seem the absence of Harry O'Brien in controversial circumstances was the undoing of the Pies.  Then they decided to actually play and how they did.  What a superb turnaround (I used to dislike them passionately, but I now dislike our neighbours even more) and as a neutral you couldn't help but admire their efforts.  More on the O'Brien saga to follow but methinks it could be Harry O saying "Get me outta here".  Freo will have him in a flash.  Great player.  Tuohy was the only Irishman on view as Clarke has fallen off the radar and was an emergency player again.

Western Bulldogs 87-83 Greater Western Sydney
This was earmarked as the one game GWS could win.  And how close they were, too.  It wasn't a classic but it was close enough to keep me interested, moreso for the fact that Setanta was back in action.  At this stage it looks like GWS are going to emulate the dubious feat of Fitzroy Football Club and go through a whole season winless.  And questions are being asked about the attendances at their home games, too.

North Melbourne 128-66 Richmond
This was the big shock of the round, not just the fact that North won but the fact that they belted the Tigers all over the ground.  Were they to have had shown as much fight and spirit in earlier rounds there's no guessing where they would be on the ladder.

Geelong 82-72 Hawthorn
A massive win for Geelong, extending their unbeaten run over the Hawks to 13 games.  Not a bad feat.  This game had it all; great scores, great hits and a closeness to keep the neutral happy.  Both teams are now on top of the table with only percentage keeping Hawthorn on top.  One wonders if Geelong will rue that 50+ point capitulation two weeks ago against Brisbane.

West Coast 75-69 Adelaide
I was actually both would lose but in the end a goal in the very last minute won it for the drugsnorters.  A vital win, indeed, as the Eagles have a tough run home (starting on Sunday  :D )

Sydney 115-85 Melbourne
No Adam Goodes for the Swans but no worries.  Thankfully we were not punished by having to watch Melbourne get pasted this weekend.

Fremantle 100-70 St. Kilda
The return of Matthew Pavlich, Aaron Sandilands (all 211cm of him), David Mundy and Michael Barlow was supposed to mean that Freo would belt the Saints.  How wrong the meejya were on that one....again.   This was a tough contest and Freo only started to pull away in the middle of the third quarter when King Pav kicked two beauties in the space of a minute.  Ballantyne returned to good form with 5 goals in a MotM performance.  However it was not all good news as our star full-back, Luke McPharlin, has torn his left calf muscle and will miss up to 5 weeks. f**k.  And who do we play next weekend?  The snorters.  Fcuk.

Essendon 118-88 Pt. Adelaide
As much as the result was of interest to both teams, the inquiry into the use of performance-enhancing drugs by Essendon players has really been making the headlines as there is strong suspicion that the club will be docked some or all points for this season.  Nevertheless, this was a close game until the final quarter when the Bombers really squeezed home their superiority.  Ironically, their star player and Brownlow medallist, Jobe Watson who is at the centre of the main drug allegations after admitting to taking some sort of concoction, broke his collar bone meaning he will miss up to 4 weeks.
Post by: HeaveHo on July 09, 2013, 01:19:56 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on July 04, 2013, 09:14:33 AM

He would fit in very nicely. He kicked a super goal on the weekend - shimmied the boundary line and then a banana snap for a major.
Post by: HeaveHo on July 09, 2013, 01:21:54 AM
Quote from: HeaveHo on July 09, 2013, 01:19:56 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on July 04, 2013, 09:14:33 AM

He would fit in very nicely. He kicked a super goal on the weekend - shimmied the boundary line and then a banana snap for a major.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eiBD1q2DHBM&feature=player_embedded
Post by: maigheo on July 09, 2013, 02:26:11 AM
Hanley is yet

to re-sign with the Lions. I suspect his agent is asking for a decent payrise something in the order of 200

[/quote]I would be very happy to see him come  back and help in Mayo"s quest for Sam  .Jeez what a center half forward he would make.
Post by: Aerlik on July 10, 2013, 04:53:15 AM
More tributes for Hanley: http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-07-10/aflcomaus-snakes-and-ladders

He won't be anywhere near Mayo this year, especially with the Connaught Final looming.  Afraid of an upset, apparently...so I've heard. ;)
Post by: lfdown2 on July 14, 2013, 08:51:00 AM
3 goals for Hanley at the weekend, including this:

http://www.lions.com.au/video/2013-07-13/pearce-de-resistance (http://www.lions.com.au/video/2013-07-13/pearce-de-resistance)

Another super comeback win for the Lions too.
Post by: muppet on July 14, 2013, 02:21:47 PM
Dear God, imagine the difference he could make at 6 or 11 for Mayo.

Some player who looks like he will have a really big career in Oz.
Post by: maigheo on July 14, 2013, 04:49:48 PM
ah, you would have to be delighted for Hanley.Tremendous athlete and looks like he is getting better all the time but what a loss for Mayo.
Post by: Aerlik on July 14, 2013, 05:12:59 PM
Round 16

Collingwood 111-84 Adelaide
Both teams needed the win; Collingwood so that they could remain in the top 8, Adelaide to get closer to the Top 8.  In the end the strength in depth of the Pies won out and Adelaide's cause will not be helped by an injury to their main man, Patrick Dangerfield.

Hawthorn 124-79 Pt. Adelaide
The juggernaut rolls on.  Not much to say other than the Hawks are some unit even without Buddy Franklin.

Geelong 98-30 Melbourne
Shocking, simply garbage.

Richmond 53-44 Gold Coast
Richmond almost kicked themselves out of this game and but for a bit of inaccuracy could easily have done so.  6-17, you'd have thought they were playing hurling. However, an important win as it keeps them firmly in the top 8.

Brisbane 117-105 North Melbourne
One man...Hanley.  Watch the game highlights here. http://www.afl.com.au/match-centre/2013/16/bl-v-nmfc
Yet another come from behind win and yet more accolades for Mayo's finest.  That second goal...magic.  As for North that must be the seventh game where they held a significant lead and blew it.

Carlton 110-74 St. Kilda.
A convincing win for the Blues, and Zac kicked a neat effort.  A must-win game to keep them within sight of the Top 8.

Sydney 171-42 Greater Western Sydney
Rubbish.

Essendon 121-90 Western Bulldogs
With the threat of loss of all points this season looming as a possible punishment for "off-field" indiscretions, the Bombers are playing as if nothing ever happened.  A close game until the last quarter.

;D ;D Fremantle 121-93 West Coast
Yep, guess who is happy and hoarse.  Awesome final quarter during a really close match throughout.  Exciting stuff.  Nuff said.  I'll sleep well tonight.
Post by: HeaveHo on July 15, 2013, 04:59:58 AM
Quote from: maigheo on July 14, 2013, 04:49:48 PM
ah, you would have to be delighted for Hanley.Tremendous athlete and looks like he is getting better all the time but what a loss for Mayo.

Current captain (and club legend) Jonathan Brown declared Hanley a future club captain after the game.
Post by: HeaveHo on July 15, 2013, 05:04:36 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on July 14, 2013, 05:12:59 PM
Round 16

Collingwood 111-84 Adelaide
Both teams needed the win; Collingwood so that they could remain in the top 8, Adelaide to get closer to the Top 8.  In the end the strength in depth of the Pies won out and Adelaide's cause will not be helped by an injury to their main man, Patrick Dangerfield.

Hawthorn 124-79 Pt. Adelaide
The juggernaut rolls on.  Not much to say other than the Hawks are some unit even without Buddy Franklin.

Geelong 98-30 Melbourne
Shocking, simply garbage.

Richmond 53-44 Gold Coast
Richmond almost kicked themselves out of this game and but for a bit of inaccuracy could easily have done so.  6-17, you'd have thought they were playing hurling. However, an important win as it keeps them firmly in the top 8.

Brisbane 117-105 North Melbourne
One man...Hanley.  Watch the game highlights here. http://www.afl.com.au/match-centre/2013/16/bl-v-nmfc
Yet another come from behind win and yet more accolades for Mayo's finest.  That second goal...magic.  As for North that must be the seventh game where they held a significant lead and blew it.

Carlton 110-74 St. Kilda.
A convincing win for the Blues, and Zac kicked a neat effort.  A must-win game to keep them within sight of the Top 8.

Sydney 171-42 Greater Western Sydney
Rubbish.

Essendon 121-90 Western Bulldogs
With the threat of loss of all points this season looming as a possible punishment for "off-field" indiscretions, the Bombers are playing as if nothing ever happened.  A close game until the last quarter.

;D ;D Fremantle 121-93 West Coast
Yep, guess who is happy and hoarse.  Awesome final quarter during a really close match throughout.  Exciting stuff.  Nuff said.  I'll sleep well tonight.

I was worried about the game all week Aerlik - I thought the Cokeheads would win. Luckily the WCE are a bigger bunch of cats than thought and when the acid went on in the fourth quarter they had no answer. The big runners (Barlow, Fyfe and Munday) did the job. Hill was good. The much vaunted WCE ruck was beaten by a half fit Sandi and rookie Clarke. We did miss Luke down back and that got Darling off the chain. Another danger game next week especially if Pav gets a stretch.
Post by: Aerlik on July 15, 2013, 11:53:53 AM
 >:(

Aye and what a stretch he got.   How the hell the MRP justify three weeks is beyond me.

Not as happy now, but still hoarse.
Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2013, 03:08:01 AM
Quote'Some sorta player'
Date: July 16, 2013
Peter Hanlon

As the review of Brisbane Lions' storming win against North Melbourne ticked over on Monday, Gary O'Donnell needled the man who supplied both its injection and the finishing touch that perhaps he should consider officially changing his name. Pearce Hanley no longer seems enough, the Lions assistant coach suggested, amid the growing cult of "Hanley the Irishman".

In truth, the 24-year-old from the County Mayo
ROSCOMMON
dairy farming town of Ballaghaderreen has arrived at a place in his career where his football alone identifies him. No longer is he merely a good player for someone who came to the game so late – he is simply a very good player.

And getting better. O'Donnell reckons the curve of Hanley's improvement rises monthly. Chris Johnson, who from AFL headquarters takes particular note of a player he mentored as Brisbane's development coach in Hanley's injury-riddled first seasons at the club, believes he is now among his team's elite.

Pearce Hanley in numbers.
"His game's gone to another level – he stands up when he has to stand up," Johnson says. "Those goals at the weekend, they were just about him being composed and confident. "He's probably one of the best going around at the moment. He's just a great footballer, not just a great Irish footballer."

Advertisement
O'Donnell was still at Essendon when Hanley became an international rookie in season 2008. He played AFL football within nine months of first touching a Sherrin, progress the former Bomber captain finds all the more staggering for the anecdotes he's heard of a teenager who understandably struggled initially with the oval ball when he arrived at the Gabba.

"You wouldn't believe that, because he'd be in our best three kicks now," O'Donnell says. In fact, Hanley leads the Lions for effective kicks and is third for effective long kicks (he's also Brisbane's 2013 leader in uncontested possessions, inside-50s and bounces).

Johnson recalls a quick kicking transition once Hanley stopped concentrating too hard and let instinct take over, and a knack for roosting this new-fangled footy a long way that took the coaching department by surprise, in a "he's never touched the thing, and now he can do that?" kind of way.

O'Donnell says a Hanley strength now, 70 games into a surely long career, is his deft touch, the brain sending just the right message to the boot, resulting in a sublime judgment of distance.

Ironically for someone so adept at hoofing long, Johnson says an early challenge was cutting back on the short kicks ingrained by his Gaelic football upbringing, replacing them with handballs and making his "one-two" work of giving, running hard to get it back, and thumping long a powerful yardage-gaining tool out of defence.

The other spike in a player O'Donnell calls "robust" comes from a simple sign of football maturity that can't be underestimated.

"The last couple of pre-seasons he's been in our top three for workrate as well," the coach says of a player who was never a "tearaway", but who through mental as much as physical growth now leaves nothing on the training track in summer. "That's where you make your improvement."

Johnson sees a typical progression of the "foreign" footballer, from a back-line apprenticeship where the game's structures can be learnt as they unfold before the novice's eyes. Now, Michael Voss can back his man to go forward and have an impact, just as he did on Saturday.

The second of his two third-quarter goals – streaming through the 50-metre arc – struck Johnson as the one that got the Lions going. He noted that Hanley began to celebrate, then composed himself as if knowing there was much still to do. His third goal, running away from Andrew Swallow, cutting inside and steamrolling past Jack Ziebell before a bread-and-butter finish around his body, was a powerful symbol of the danger he poses.

O'Donnell cautions there is still "plenty to do" to round out his game, including rising above the inevitable opposition focus that will come his way. But nothing has stopped Hanley yet. He has to admit, "He could be some sorta player."

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/afl/afl-news/some-sorta-player-20130715-2q0bt.html (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/afl/afl-news/some-sorta-player-20130715-2q0bt.html)

Feckin' Aussie journos feeding the Ballagh taliban's propaganda machine now >:(

C'mon Pearcey. Do the Ros proud.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 16, 2013, 04:16:17 AM
Quote from: lfdown2 on July 14, 2013, 08:51:00 AM
3 goals for Hanley at the weekend, including this:

http://www.lions.com.au/video/2013-07-13/pearce-de-resistance (http://www.lions.com.au/video/2013-07-13/pearce-de-resistance)

Another super comeback win for the Lions too.

Great to see Hanley doing well, pity he's not throwing those kind of dummies around McHale / Croke Park for Mayo though :(
Post by: maigheo on July 16, 2013, 12:20:52 PM
jeez Syferus could you ever take a break from posting for a few months and give us all a break.Your posts are getting very tiresome at this stage.
Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2013, 02:03:46 PM
Quote from: maigheo on July 16, 2013, 12:20:52 PM
jeez Syferus could you ever take a break from posting for a few months and give us all a break.Your posts are getting very tiresome at this stage.

It's tough when you're always reminded of things you've stolen, eh? In this case it even extends to human beings. 'Tis verging on human trafficking.

I'm sorry that it's tiresome for you, Maigheo, but it will never be tiresome for us until the situation is corrected :-*
Post by: Aerlik on July 16, 2013, 07:36:19 PM
Youse are whinging about one player!  Sure aren't those Tyrone hoors still whinging about a whole fekkin club.
Post by: Aerlik on July 23, 2013, 05:12:38 AM
Round Seventeen

For some the finals' aspirations are over, for others it is getting precarious.

Carlton 109-108 North Melbourne
Yet again, the kangaroos fell short by less than a goal in a game they could've and should've won.  Had they won all five or six games, the roos would be contending for a Top 4 finish.  This was an exciting game to watch mainly because of the unpredictability of the final score.  Another solid showing from Zac.

Hawthorn 95-76 Western Bulldogs
The season is long over for the Bulldogs and they had nothing to lose so gave it a fair auld craic but were nowhere near good enough.  Hawthorn are starting to firm as my favourite for the flag.  So consistent even when "undermanned".

Essendon 116-77 Greater Western Sydney
As expected.  Move on, folks, move on.

Gold Coast Suns 85-78 Collingwood
Whilst definitely the upset of the round, is this the upset of the season?   Unfortunately this game was not shown on normal TV so I only saw the highlights and read the reports but by all accounts the Suns deserved their win.  And Gary Ablett Jr. is firming as a Brownlow favourite (again).

Brisbane 94-75 Melbourne
The Hanley bandwagon rolls on.  The man can do no wrong at the minute.  This win keeps the Lions in the frame for a finals position (mathematically at least).  Even superstar Johnathon Brown still maintains he could be an All-Australian this year (All-Star).

Pt. Adelaide 97-92 St. Kilda
Another close finish for both teams with the Power holding on to a Top 8 finish, just.  Could have been so different if the Saints had kicked straighter.  For the Saints, the rest of the season is about pride.

Richmond 84-57 Fremantle  >:( >:( >:(
Jaysus I was so close to flying over for this game.  Thank Christ I didn't.  It was so bad I even turned off the TV at the end of the first quarter and went to watch the Gaelic Football games here in Perth.  Much better value.  No excuses, not even having four of your best out can excuse what was given regarding effort.  And for once not even some shiiiiiite umpiring decisions could be used as excuses.

Adelaide 94-92 Geelong
The great escape. Four points down with 1'30" to play and Geelong get two very kickable chances.  They didn't score and suddenly Adelaide are still in with a chance of qualifying for the finals.  I only saw the highlights and credit to the crows for the amazing comeback.  Even without their main man, Patrick Dangerfield, they were good.  (And they play Freo in Perth on Saturday...(gulp) :-\)

Sydney 113-79 Wet Toast
Just when I actually wanted the druggies to win a game they still were shite.  Sydney dominated throughout and consigned the eagles to the sad reality of NOT playing finals footy this year.  Haha, I suppose that is something to laugh about considering all the hype at the start of the season, especially how they were Flag favourites.   How the obnoxious have been humbled. ;D

Still lots to play for and neither the Top 4 nor the Top 8 have been decided. 
Post by: Aerlik on July 23, 2013, 11:14:58 AM
Oh dear :(

http://www.irishecho.com.au/2013/07/23/pearce-hanley-sidelined-with-hand-fracture/27794
Post by: Aerlik on July 28, 2013, 06:49:39 PM
Round 18

Hawthorn 143-97 Essendon
Yep, arise the Premiers for 2013.  Buddy was in a league of his own, kicking 8 goals.  And more problems off the field for the Bombers with the CEO resigning afterwards.  Seems the drugs revelations will be a bit of a "bomb"shell.

Carlton 120-77 Gold Coast
Up to the three-quarter time this game was in the balance but the Blues' greater urgency powered them on to a much needed win that keeps them just one game out of the Top 8.  Some great play on show.

North Melbourne 150-28 Melbourne.
Shocking.

Collingwood 106-66 Greater Western Sydney
The pies were only up by 2 at three-quarter time but blasted home in the final quarter.  Cameron kicked seven for the losers in a game which they could've won.

Geelong 137-36 St. Kilda
Yep, more misery for the Saints as the only team likely to stop the Hawks powered on.

Fremantle  ;D 75-53 Adelaide
They say an ugly win is better than a gallant loss.  But Freo were fortunate that the Crows forgot how to kick straight.  They'll need a big lift for next week. v Carlton.

Pt. Adelaide 71-62 Brisbane
I didn't see this game but it would appear the presence of Pearce Hanley was sorely missed today.  Pt. Adelaide are clinging on to 8th. spot.

Western Bulldogs :D :D :D 111-89 West Coast Eagles
A great game to watch especially the final quarter.  This loss means the crap are not playing finals footy this year after being widely tipped to win the whole bloody thing.  Happy.

Sydney 110-63 Richmond
Another clinical performance from the Swans.  Top three finish is all but guaranteed now.
Post by: Aerlik on July 30, 2013, 10:27:35 AM
http://www.afl.com.au/video/2013-07-30/indigenous-embrace-international-rules

If any and all of these players make the Australian team, book your tickets now. These lads are great to watch.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on August 03, 2013, 12:22:43 PM
Touhy having some game at the minute. Three massive goals from him and a couple of decent marks. Game is getting a little nasty aswell. Fremantle lead 68 Carlton 53
Post by: All of a Sludden on August 03, 2013, 01:36:03 PM
Carlton      12.8  (80)
Fremantle 17.14 (116)
Post by: Aerlik on August 03, 2013, 03:12:16 PM
Post by: Never beat the deeler on August 04, 2013, 03:52:56 AM
Brisbane closed out a good win against St Kilda last night, with Pearce Hanley scoring two nice goals.
Jonathan Browne hobbled off injured, could mean a sad end to a great career, but hopefully he will do the rehab and come back for one more year

Heard Tuohy was very good for the Blues while losing to the Dockers, but didn't see the game. 16 touches and 3 goals.

No sign of any of the two Kerry lads - O Hailpin's 2 goals in the reserves last week not enough to earn him a recall and Tommy Walsh out for the season with a torn hamstring
Post by: HeaveHo on August 04, 2013, 08:33:49 AM
I would be surprised if O'Halpin gets a game next year. He might be around the club in a coaching role but his playing days look numbered. The GWS youngsters are starting to come to terms with the caper so he is probably surplus to requirements.

Post by: HeaveHo on August 04, 2013, 08:36:32 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on August 03, 2013, 12:22:43 PM
Touhy having some game at the minute. Three massive goals from him and a couple of decent marks. Game is getting a little nasty aswell. Fremantle lead 68 Carlton 53

Good contest between Tuohy and Walters. Walters is the silk department so Tuohy did well. Walters should be pitching up for the IR series.

Good game of footy. Very willing contest and a lot of pressure. Good result too.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on August 04, 2013, 08:41:52 AM
Quote from: HeaveHo on August 04, 2013, 08:33:49 AM
I would be surprised if O'Halpin gets a game next year. He might be around the club in a coaching role but his playing days look numbered. The GWS youngsters are starting to come to terms with the caper so he is probably surplus to requirements.

Really?
Post by: HeaveHo on August 06, 2013, 04:57:57 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on August 04, 2013, 08:41:52 AM
Quote from: HeaveHo on August 04, 2013, 08:33:49 AM

Really?

They apparently like his work with the young fellas. These days they have coaches for everything. He wouldn't be a senior coach or assistant but might get a gig as a welfare officer etc
Post by: Aerlik on August 06, 2013, 08:53:16 AM
Round 19

Arguably the round of the year insofar as shocks and significant results go.

North Melbourne 96-86 Geelong
Finally the Roos got their act together and won a game they controlled from the start and didn't just capitulate.  This has brought a bit of reality to the league.  And Roos fans must be kicking themselves wondering "what if".

Greater Western Sydney 124-87 Melbourne
Finally, FINALLY GWS won its first game of the season.  And probably its only one.  And once again Melbourne was shite.  Pure utter drivel. 

Richmond 107-66 Hawthorn
What a brilliant win for the tigers.  That damned inconvenience called work got in the way of me watching this game as it had significance for Fremantle.  By all accounts it was a fantastic showing by the Tigers.  The Tigers are really cruising now and will be a serious showing come the finals next month.

West Coast 130-113 Gold Coast
This game was in the balance with only four points separating the teams with less than three minutes remaining.  Then the greater experience of the drugcheats came to the fore.  Still, they're not going to play finals so I'm happy.

;DFremantle 116-80 Carlton
This game defined both teams' seasons; a win for the Blues and a top 8 position was there for the taking, a win for Freo and if other results went right a top 4 position was a distinct possibility.  Would loved to have gone to this game.  It made for great viewing with the intensity of the Freo lads outstanding.  Zac Tuohy had a fairly good game mainly because he was not a targeted player and his more elite colleagues were dealt with instead.  Great display of running and kicking, too.  As it transpired the win DID change a lot of things.

Brisbane 108-77 St. Kilda
Another great performance from Pearce and the Brisbane midfield.  Some fantastic kicking by Daniel Rich, worth watching.  Could this be the last we see the legendary Johnathon Brown?  What a phenomenal player he has been.

Sydney 134-99 Western Bulldogs
Only in the last quarter did the Swans actually manage to pull away from the Dogs.  The wireless transmission offered great listening.  Some great efforts from a very young Bulldogs team which augurs well for next year.  The win put Sydney second.

Pt. Adelaide 107-103  Adelaide.
Again that bloody work caper spoiled my viewing.  I did see the last 5 minutes and what a game it must have been.  It had an incredible twist in the last 100 seconds and well worth checking out on the AFL website.  The win keeps the Power in the top 8, the loss basically ends the Crows' title aspirations.

Collingwood 133-54 Essendon
Never did I think I would be really, really wanting Collingwood to win and win so well. The win put Freo two ahead of the Bombers and in the top 4 with a very winnable 4 games remaining.  The loss adds to the issues at Essendon as the drug cheating allegations continue.

So with four weeks remaining one of the best seasons in years is still unpredictable.  Watch this space. ;)
Post by: Aerlik on August 13, 2013, 05:30:53 PM
lRound Twenty

Hawthorn 102-56 St.Kilda
As expected the Hawks retained top spot with a relatively pedestrian victory over the Saints.  Nothing really exciting about this game.  Move on.

Richmond 97-74 Brisbane
The game that confirmed the Tigers' first finals appearance in 12 years and the demise of Michael Voss as senior coach.  With a lead of more than 45 points at one stage in the third quarter it looked like the tigers were going to belt the Lions, but a great comeback was cut short.  The loss of Jonathon Brown the week before was costly.

Geelong 129 - 104 Pt.Adelaide
This win kept the Cats within miaowing range of the Hawks.  But significantly sections of the Geelong crowd booed their own player, Tom Hawkins as he was substituted.  This I just cannot understand.  The man has been awesome for the Cats and is great to watch live.  However, it has been revealed he has a serious back injury evidenced by his inability to bend down and get a ball. Sad.

Western Bulldogs 117 - 89 Carlton
A great win for the Bulldogs and suddenly there is hope at that club.  The second major loss for the Blues which sees them lose their slim finals hopes.

Gold Coast 90-77 Melbourne
Nuff said.  crap

Collingwood 100-71 Sydney
For the second week in a row the Pies comprehensively defeat the opposition above them, and suddenly Finals footy is a reality.  Great win, great teamwork...and even greater result for Fremantle.  For the second week in a row I found myself shouting for a pies win...I do not support this team though - purely strategic.

West coast 120-67 Essendon
As with the latter game, I was hoping - and got - a strategic win to help Freo.  Nuff said.

Adelaide 79-70 North Melbourne
Yet another narrow loss for the roos.  Jeez if only they had won those games they'd be top of the league.  Meanwhile Adelaide keep in touch with the Top 8.

Fremantle 157-44 Greater Western Sydney
A great win by the lads with a massive percentage boost.  Freo surpassed its largest winning margin and equals the most goals scored in a quarter.  Suddenly a top 2 finish position becomes a reality.  Happy. Finals footy this year again.  Tickets reserved for the Grand Final ... just in case, like.

Post by: HeaveHo on August 19, 2013, 02:30:15 AM
Hanley has signed a five year deal with the Lions. I am guessing but it would be in the region of $500,000 to $600,000 per annum. Likely to win the F & B for the Lions this year.

Post by: ballinaman on August 19, 2013, 11:57:45 AM
Quote from: HeaveHo on August 19, 2013, 02:30:15 AM
Hanley has signed a five year deal with the Lions. I am guessing but it would be in the region of $500,000 to $600,000 per annum. Likely to win the F & B for the Lions this year.
Fair play to him. Mayo footballers are having a decent season so far.

Waits for the Rosquito
Post by: Declan on August 19, 2013, 01:05:21 PM
Good luck to Hanley. From any of the highlights I've seen he's having some season
Post by: FL/MAYO on August 19, 2013, 02:33:32 PM

Is that guaranteed for the 5 years or is it subject to performance?
Post by: HeaveHo on August 20, 2013, 01:38:13 AM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on August 19, 2013, 02:33:32 PM

Is that guaranteed for the 5 years or is it subject to performance?

Very few AFL contracts have performance clauses these days - salary cap rules make it hard to top up contracts. Hanley will likely get paid whether he plays or not (or plays poorly). Five year contracts are unusual these days - clubs have been burnt in the past and most are reluctant to offer more than three year deals. Free agency has been introduced into the AFL so longer deals for younger players may become the norm but this is the first five year deal I can remember in 2 or 3 seasons and maybe longer.
Post by: HeaveHo on August 20, 2013, 01:43:07 AM
Quote from: Declan on August 19, 2013, 01:05:21 PM
Good luck to Hanley. From any of the highlights I've seen he's having some season

He is flying and is being touted as an All Australian this year (along with a Canadian rugby player). He may well be the next captain of the Lions as well if big Jonathan Brown retires.

Both Tuohy and Hanley are brilliant kickers of the oval ball which is something considering their late introduction to the game
Post by: Aerlik on August 20, 2013, 06:03:03 AM
Round 21, the round that made some and broke others.

Hawthorn 119-83 Collingwood
Billed as the game of the round, all it did was cement Hawthorn's favouritism for the premiership this year.  Some great passages of play but in the end the Hawks were just too good.  Hawthorn should finish top of the table but the loss for the Pies means they will not make the Top 4 and the second chance game.

Carlton 106-96 Richmond
A great win for Carlton over a Richmond team that was gunning for a Top 4 finish.  Carlton were just too clever and even without Chris Judd they had the guile and mental strength to keep on at the Richmond attacks.  Another belter of a goal from Zac in this game too.  Richmond cannot make the Top 4 either.

Pt. Adelaide 113-96 Gold Coast
This was touted by many as a possible Suns win, but the Power knew that to lose this game could see them lose out on a Top 8 position, and so they managed to hold on.  17 points is not exactly close but not exactly a belting either and things augur well for Gold Coast next season.

North Melbourne 115 - 70 Essendon
This was a debacle for Essendon.  It is the third loss in a row and clearly the pressure surrounding the drug cheating allegations are starting to take a toll.  And yet again one has to ask the question, why oh why did NMFC not play like this all season as they could easily have been a Top 4 team otherwise.

Brisbane 123-63 GWS
After the sacking of the head coach what the Lions needed as a bit of respite on the pitch and they got it.  Didn't see the game but by all accounts they were just too good.  Great to see Pearce getting recognition.

Geelong 107-41 West Coast.
What a pure f**king shambles.  I have seen capitulations in my time but one in the first 14 minutes of the game?  Never.  Geelong had 5.1 to the Eagles' 0.1 in that time.  Garbage.  (So I turned over to watch the All-Blacks beat the Wobblies instead.)  The gnashing and grinding of teeth has commenced and damn aren't we Freo fans loving it. ;D

Fremantle 133-38 Melbourne.
If it were any other side playing Melbourne I'd have written "nuff said, move on!"  But as it is this was a very important win for us as it greatly boosted our percentage total and now we are only 2.5% behind Sydney.  Nothing of real significance to be taken from this game other than injuries to two key players for Freo and Lee Spurr kicking his first ever goal.

Sydney 118-59 St. Kilda
To think that Sydney had three of their top players missing looms ominously for the other teams in finals contention.  They were just too good all over the oval.  However, Freo is catching....

Western Bulldogs 131-114 Adelaide
What a way to celebrate Adam Cooney's 200th appearance for the club.  A great morale-boosting win for the dogs.  Is there light at the end of the tunnel and better things next year.?

So the Top 4 has been decided.  Eighth position is mathematically still achievable for Carlton but for the teams below them it's all over with only credibility at stake.  Here's how it looks going into Round 22:

Hawthorn will beat North Melbourne and claim the top spot and a home final;
IF Sydney beat Geelong then Sydney go second, but if Geelong win they claim the second spot and seeing as they play Brisbane in the last game of the season at home that will be that.

HOWEVER...
if Sydney beat Geelong by only a few points AND Freo  beat Pt. Adelaide by a big margin, Freo can go second.  And then there's the final round to come. 

Exciting finish...glad I'm a Freo member.
Post by: All of a Sludden on August 20, 2013, 09:53:39 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on August 20, 2013, 06:03:03 AM
Billed as the game of the round, all it did was cement Hawthorn's favouritism for the premiership this year.  Some great passages of play but in the end the Hawks were just too good.  Hawthorn should finish top of the table but the loss for the Pies means they will not make the Top 4 and the second chance game.

Saw most of this game and the scoreline flatters Collingwood, Hawthorn seemed to stop playing at the end of the second quarter and allowed the pies back into the game when they should have been dead and buried. They did something similar late on as well, but it really was men against boys at times with Hawthorn owning the ball.

What is the deal with Martin Clark, has he been dropped? Don't even see him mentioned in the VFL.
Post by: passedit on August 20, 2013, 10:26:20 AM
Injured at the minute I think.
Post by: HeaveHo on August 21, 2013, 01:33:03 AM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on August 20, 2013, 09:53:39 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on August 20, 2013, 06:03:03 AM

Saw most of this game and the scoreline flatters Collingwood, Hawthorn seemed to stop playing at the end of the second quarter and allowed the pies back into the game when they should have been dead and buried. They did something similar late on as well, but it really was men against boys at times with Hawthorn owning the ball.

What is the deal with Martin Clark, has he been dropped? Don't even see him mentioned in the VFL.

Clarke is done for the season. Will need a big preseason
Post by: Aerlik on August 21, 2013, 09:41:02 PM
Got a feeling it is the end for Clarke.  Nothing to suggest he will be around next year.  Hope I'm wrong.

Heave Ho, are you for the game on Saturday?
Post by: HeaveHo on August 22, 2013, 09:52:43 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on August 21, 2013, 09:41:02 PM
Got a feeling it is the end for Clarke.  Nothing to suggest he will be around next year.  Hope I'm wrong.

I don't think Clarke will be at Collingwood next year - I reckon someone else will grab him if he nominates for the pre season draft.

I will be there on Saturday night - might be a hard game for us.
Post by: Aerlik on August 23, 2013, 04:42:38 AM
He might be a target for St.Kilda or even the Bulldogs because their mids half-back stocks are not great.

Look out for the "Lyon Kings" banner behind the Subiaco/western end goals.  That's mini-me's.  It will be a very tough one as Port need the win to avoid being caught on the last day by the Blues.

Don't think Ballaz will play tbh.  Hope I'm wrong.  Good to see Mammoth Hannath back in again.  He is going to be some unit with a bit more game time.
Post by: HeaveHo on August 23, 2013, 08:22:39 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on August 23, 2013, 04:42:38 AM
He might be a target for St.Kilda or even the Bulldogs because their mids half-back stocks are not great.

Look out for the "Lyon Kings" banner behind the Subiaco/western end goals.  That's mini-me's.  It will be a very tough one as Port need the win to avoid being caught on the last day by the Blues.

Don't think Ballaz will play tbh.  Hope I'm wrong.  Good to see Mammoth Hannath back in again.  He is going to be some unit with a bit more game time.

I am right on the wing on the Subi side - will keep an eye out for Lyon Kings. Won't be an easy game - I like the look of Wines, Windgards and their big ruckman.

Ballaz won't play. Hannath lacks pace to be a key forward unless he could hold some pack grabs. Not sure he will play much once Griffin and Bradley are back.
Post by: HeaveHo on August 27, 2013, 04:34:56 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on August 23, 2013, 04:42:38 AM

Glad I was wrong on Ballaz. All a bit too easy in the end.

I didn't see the sign on game day but saw it on Fox Footy last night.
Post by: snoopdog on August 27, 2013, 10:03:00 AM
Quote from: HeaveHo on August 22, 2013, 09:52:43 AM

I don't think Clarke will be at Collingwood next year - I reckon someone else will grab him if he nominates for the pre season draft.

i know a team that plays in red and black could do with him, and i dont mean Essendon.
I assume Mooney is doing well, only a young fella yet? Is he tipped to make it?
Post by: JimStynes on August 27, 2013, 10:10:23 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on August 27, 2013, 10:03:00 AM
Quote from: HeaveHo on August 22, 2013, 09:52:43 AM

i know a team that plays in red and black could do with him, and i dont mean Essendon.
I assume Mooney is doing well, only a young fella yet? Is he tipped to make it?

Still only new to game but he's not making much headway at the minute apparently. Hanley was the same at this stage though and now he is one of the best in the competition.

Clarke lacks pace for the modern AFL game and cant seem to keep any form going for a long period I reckon. He always starts the season well and starts slacking off after about 8 games. He will get picked up from another team but I think he has another year left on his contract so not sure what happens there. Club maybe have to buy him out of his current deal.
Post by: Aerlik on August 27, 2013, 03:39:32 PM
Round 22 - the penultimate round of the Home and Away season.

Collingwood 101-39 Wet Toast
Dear God, and there's me hammering Melbourne and GWS about ineptitude.  Yep that was shite.  Ah well, I did get a laugh.  So much for the boasting and hot air about playing finals this year.  My "support" of Collingwood during the past few weeks now officially stops.

Adelaide 120-52 Melbourne
Yet more shite from the Demons.  This crap was televised...again.

Hawthorn 117-103 North Melbourne
Why oh why (I ask again) did North not play like this all year.  Yes, they lost, but bloody hell it was a good game.  Mathematically there is still a chance that North will make the finals after Essendon being kicked out.  If so, they'll give a very good account of themselves.

Geelong 92-48 Sydney
I was, somewhat optimistically it must be added, thinking that the Swans might snatch a win but that was quickly dismissed by the clinical efficiency of the Cats coupled with the fact that the Swans were missing so many big name players.  Highlight of the game has to the wonderful mark by Mortlop in the fourth quarter.  Not bad for a squirt (relatively speaking that is).

Fremantle 134-60 Pt. Adelaide
Well, what a bloody brilliant night.  Clinical finishing, awesome pressure and fantastic craic in the stands.  This win has cemented Freo's position as third and barring disastrous last round, we'll stay there.  It has been a fantastic year and finally the club are getting recognition for it's exploits this year.  There were 35,500 fans and the noise was deafening from well before the first bounce down.  Then there was the Mexican wave...more like the Subiaco tsunami ;)  Bring on Geelong  ;)

Essendon 82-76 Carlton
How to lose a game, the Carlton way.  Unbelievable, 9-22 kicked.  Ah well at least Zac had another decent game and another great long-range goal to his credit.  Essendon kicked the winner in the last few seconds but will count for nothing as they are now kicked out of the competition.  Carlton are ninth but are not guaranteed to take the eighth spot as it all comes down to the last round. 

St.Kilda 116-70 Gold Coast
The Saints lifted their game for this match with the announcement that a few of their stars are going to retire.  Didn't see the game but I read that it wa s a decent effort.

Richmond 163-42 Greater Western Sydney
Crap.

Brisbane 100-93 Western Bulldogs
How to NEARLY lose the game, the  Brisbane way.  The Lions were leading by a bagful until the Dogs came back and almost won in the end.  Great second half fightback by the Dogs.  Mathematically the Lions can also make the finals but that will take a series of freak results.  But then again, the Eagles were expected to be in the Final this year and that didn't happen.  Oh wait, that's not freakish, just bloody funny.

So, the last round starts this Friday.  The top 4 are guaranteed, seven of the top 8 are and the Eagles are not there.  Life is good.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 28, 2013, 08:35:22 AM
Really enjoy reading your reports Aerlik!
Well done and keep it up!
You keep me in touch with the Aussie rules where otherwise I'd forget to look up the results ( old age)!
Good man!
Hope all your 'crew' are well
Post by: Aerlik on August 28, 2013, 10:51:13 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 28, 2013, 08:35:22 AM
Really enjoy reading your reports Aerlik!
Well done and keep it up!
You keep me in touch with the Aussie rules where otherwise I'd forget to look up the results ( old age)!
Good man!
Hope all your 'crew' are well

Thanks lad.  It has been a great season and still more to come.  It ain't over yet.
Post by: Aerlik on August 29, 2013, 10:47:26 AM
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-08-29/indigenous-international-rules-squad-named

What a superb group of players.  Some serious talent will be on show.  And their jersey is a byoooodeee too.
Post by: JimStynes on August 29, 2013, 07:23:52 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on August 29, 2013, 10:47:26 AM
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-08-29/indigenous-international-rules-squad-named

What a superb group of players.  Some serious talent will be on show.  And their jersey is a byoooodeee too.

Serious speed and freakish talent in that team. Dont think Ireland will have a chance this time!
Post by: Club Rossa on August 29, 2013, 09:21:46 PM
Aerlik,do you still fancy Hawthorn to go the whole way?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 29, 2013, 10:47:47 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on August 29, 2013, 07:23:52 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on August 29, 2013, 10:47:26 AM

Serious speed and freakish talent in that team. Dont think Ireland will have a chance this time!

Just play a Mayo-Dublin combo team and we be grand.
Post by: Aerlik on August 30, 2013, 02:08:58 PM
Jim, what Ireland needs to understand is that there will be unrivalled camaraderie among the aboriginal players.  You NEVER see them square up to each other in the AFL.  I have to agree, this could be a trouncing for us.

Club Rossa, I have just watched the Hawks v. Swans game and based on that and what I have seen by Geelong in the past few weeks, I am inclined to lean towards Geelong...providing Fremantle don't get to the final  ;)
Post by: All of a Sludden on August 30, 2013, 02:13:07 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on August 30, 2013, 02:08:58 PM
Club Rossa, I have just watched the Hawks v. Swans game and based on that and what I have seen by Geelong in the past few weeks, I am inclined to lean towards Geelong...providing Fremantle don't get to the final  ;)

Oddly the Hawks meet the Swans in the next game. I thought the Hawks played well within themselves today. I hope they go on and win it, I've always disliked Geelong.
Post by: Club Rossa on August 30, 2013, 02:33:30 PM
Buddy will miss a game or 2 after that challenge,no need to do it.Hawthorn have been less impressive in their last 3 wins.Fancy the Cats myself.
Post by: lfdown2 on August 31, 2013, 06:26:48 AM
Dare to dream...Lions up at half time
Post by: Club Rossa on August 31, 2013, 09:21:12 AM
Cats by 1 >:(
Post by: All of a Sludden on August 31, 2013, 01:19:03 PM
FRIDAY NIGHT:
QF2: Hawthorn Football Club vs Sydney Swans
At MCG(N).
SATURDAY:
QF1: Geelong Cats vs Fremantle Football Club
At Simonds Stadium/Etihad Stadium.
EF2: Collingwood Football Club vs Port Adelaide Football Club
At MCG(N).
SUNDAY:
EF1: Richmond FC vs Carlton Football Club
At MCG.
Post by: maigheo on August 31, 2013, 03:27:18 PM
Seeing that the Lions did not make the playoffs,wouldnt that make Pearce Hanly available for an aul game on the 22ind. ;) ;)
Post by: macdanger2 on August 31, 2013, 11:58:44 PM
Quote from: maigheo on August 31, 2013, 03:27:18 PM
Seeing that the Lions did not make the playoffs,wouldnt that make Pearce Hanly available for an aul game on the 22ind. ;) ;)

A guy that works with my cousin's girlfriend's brother's flatmate saw him waiting in Brisbane airport for a flight to Dublin just a few hours ago - he had an O'Neills with him and was soloing up and down the waiting area!!
Post by: stephenite on September 01, 2013, 01:35:11 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on August 31, 2013, 11:58:44 PM
Quote from: maigheo on August 31, 2013, 03:27:18 PM

A guy that works with my cousin's girlfriend's brother's flatmate saw him waiting in Brisbane airport for a flight to Dublin just a few hours ago - he had an O'Neills with him and was soloing up and down the waiting area!!

Don't get too excited, that was me!!!!!
Post by: Syferus on September 01, 2013, 02:16:13 AM
(http://resources3.news.com.au/images/2013/07/23/1226683/889991-pearce-hanley.jpg)

Pearcey looks great in primrose and blue.

Flying the flag for Ballagh, County Roscommon. Our second favourite son, after Andy.

Ok, third favourite after Seanin Kilbride.
Post by: JimStynes on September 01, 2013, 11:15:59 AM
Id say Pearce will have to hang around to attend the Brownlow Medal night this year. Wont win it but could have got some votes throughout the year.
Post by: Aerlik on September 01, 2013, 02:39:58 PM
Round 23 - The final round of the Home and Away season.

Well, it wouldn't be the AFL without a few twists and turns in the final round and so it proved to be.

Hawthorn 112-100 Sydney
Fittingly the Minor Premiers should give us a great win in a great game.  This was yet another pleasure to watch on TV and I would have loved to have been there to watch live.  And to think this Sydney team are missing six or seven first team players through injury.  Either team will make the final, I feel.

St.Kilda 112-41 Fremantle  :-X
Fremantle coach Ross Lyon knew he had a Top 4 position guaranteed and so rested 9 of his first team as well as having 4 out with minor knocks so decided to field the second team.  And so it proved.  A couple of good efforts from the new lads, and a special mention to a young lad called Josh Simpson from the tiny Indigenous community of Yalgoo in the middle of the desert of WA.  A further special mention to the three retirees from St. Kilda, especially one of my favourite players Jason Kosinzki.  All good things much come to an end.  This will certainly not be the Fremantle team to play Geelong next week.

Geelong 112-111 Brisbane
We all dream of scoring the winning goal in the big game in the last minute.  Well, imagine how the Brisbane forward is feeling having miskicked his shot from 15 metres out only to have it touched on the line and with only five seconds left...and a one point loss.  If you can watch the last two minutes.  Great stuff.  Some (yet again) shocking refereeing in that period of play and look out for the fancy footwork of Pearce Hanley.  He ghosted past three Geelong players in the process.  Great stuff.  As it turned out, even a victory would not have been enough.  But, signs are very positive for the Lions.  As for Geelong...I think they'll be just too good on the last Saturday...just hope they don't play Fremantle.

Carlton 104-103 Pt. Adelaide
A classic!  This game was simply great.  I couldn't watch but instead listened to the live stream.  The last quarter was some effort.  It even earned  Zac a spot on the Sunday Footy Show.  With the Essendon supplements debacle resulting in the Bombers being kicked out of the finals Carlton now make the 8.  Oh how lucky they were.

Richmond 104-65 Essendon
Salt in the wound.  The tigers were just too good.  Look a decent auld shot for a finals win, but that may be it.

Adelaide 129-43 West Coast Eagles
Well, I am not disappointed.  This was simply dire.  Garbage.  And 5 Eagles' players have pulled the pin too.

Gold Coast 146-63 Greater Western Sydney
I only saw the result and a couple of the stats.  Ablett must surely be the undisputed favourite for the Brownlow.  And deservedly so; a magic player to watch.

North Melbourne 125-114 Collingwood
And for the last time this season I will write...Why oh why did North Melbourne not play like this all season.  Had Carlton lost the roos would be in action in the finals.  But as it is, back to the drawing board for the Roos.  The pies go marching on.  I didn't see the game but was told it was great value to watch.  I won't be writing off the pies just yet.

Western Bulldogs 107-87 Melbourne
The horror has ended for the Demons.  And not about time for those of us who only had Murdoch-free TV, and were only given the option of boring, crap Melbourne games to watch.    A decent auld showing by the bulldogs over the past few weeks but both teams are years away from threatening at the top.

So folks, that is it for the league.  Bring on the finals. 

G'WAAAAAAN FREO

FINAL TABLE.

http://www.afl.com.au/ladder

Post by: SLIGONIAN on September 01, 2013, 06:49:46 PM
Thanks for the updates all year aerlik, love the summaries....

I had to leave early when I was watching Carlton v port and it was awful one sided first half, cannot believe the final score, wow.....
Post by: HeaveHo on September 02, 2013, 02:49:00 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on September 01, 2013, 11:15:59 AM
Id say Pearce will have to hang around to attend the Brownlow Medal night this year. Wont win it but could have got some votes throughout the year.

Not on for three weeks - plenty of time to sneak to see friends and family.
Post by: muppet on September 02, 2013, 09:30:24 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on September 01, 2013, 06:49:46 PM
Thanks for the updates all year aerlik, love the summaries....

I had to leave early when I was watching Carlton v port and it was awful one sided first half, cannot believe the final score, wow.....

Post by: All of a Sludden on September 06, 2013, 01:02:29 PM
Another +1 for Aerliks updates.

Quote from: All of a Sludden on August 30, 2013, 02:13:07 PM
Oddly the Hawks meet the Swans in the next game. I thought the Hawks played well within themselves today. I hope they go on and win it, I've always disliked Geelong.

All too easy for the Hawks today.
Post by: Club Rossa on September 06, 2013, 02:04:43 PM
Very strong 2nd half from Hawthorn.Will be hard for Sydney to raise it for next week.
Post by: Club Rossa on September 07, 2013, 08:23:46 AM
Massive win for Fremantle,to go to Simonds and beat Geelong will give them so much confidence.
Hopefully the Pies or Power can finish off those dirty Cats next week.
Post by: Aerlik on September 09, 2013, 04:54:32 AM

Well... what can I say? 
What a bloody awesome weekend of footy.  The top 8 teams served up four great games of footy with only one of the three results in any way "predictable". 

Hawthorn 105-51 Sydney Swans, First Qualifying Final
I doubt if a fully fit Sydney squad could possibly have done really that much better.  They were in it at half-time but there is just something damned special about this Hawthorn team.  In saying that, they are due a fall and it might just be in the next game.  Time will tell.  I only saw the first quarter but listened to the rest on the wireless...damned work...again.  A week off for Hawthorn and a battle with Carlton for Sydney next weekend.

Fremantle 87- 72 Geelong, Second Qualifying Final
I will be very, very honest.  I never gave the lads a hope in this game and at the end of the first quarter my worst fears were seemingly coming to fruition.  Geelong was all over Freo like a bad rash and there was nothing working.  Then came the masterstroke from the top coach in the AFL this year, our Ross the boss Lyon.  He switched the league's best tagger Ryan Crowley onto the Cats' Steve Johnson and the game changed.  Freo then kicked the next five goals in the second quarter to take a narrow lead at half-time.  The second half was fantastic stuff.  Real finals footy, typically hard, fast, ugly, sublime but ultimately successful.  No-one had foreseen this win as Geelong had won something like 41 of their previous 42 games at home.  That's almost 4 years without a home loss.  This was the first finals game played in Geelong in over 100 years.  This will be one to remember.
This win puts Freo in the driving seat with a home Prelim Final in two weeks' time against the winners of Sydney and Carlton which is next weekend.  Geelong lives to fight another day against Pt.Adelaide on Saturday at the MCG.
The tickets for the Prelim Final are booked and maybe, just maybe we can dare to dream of that one day in September and the ultimate prize in footy.   
Mini-me and I went to the airport to welcome the lads home and the reception was fantastic.

Port Adelaide 87-63 Collingwood, First Elimination Final
Whao.  What an exciting game for the neutral, if such an entity exists when Collingwood are playing.  Port Adelaide probably had all of Australia minus the Collingwood and Adelaide Crows fans willing them on in this one.  It was some effort and I managed to watch practically the whole game.  Last season, Port finished way down the table and things were not looking too bright.  In comes a new coach, Ken Hinckley, and now they are just two games from the Grand Final.  There were times when it looked like Collingwood would blow them away but stil the Power just kept coming back.  Wonderful result. But it only gets a lot harder for Port now who must go back to the MCG and play Geelong in the first Semi-Final on Friday night.  Something tells me they'll have the whole nation supporting them again.  My brother, a Power fan, was happy.

Carlton 116-96 Richmond, Second Elimination Final
Almost 95,000 fans packed into the MCG to see this battle of two of the game's biggest rivals.   And what a show they got. This was classic stuff.  Richmond seemingly could do no wrong in the first half and were well on top going in at the main break.  Then out came a different team, a Carlton which battled and conquered the Tigers in every area.  This neutral was loving it as I'm sure every other neutral was too.  It made it all that extra special seeing Zac playing his role really well.  He is developing into a bit of a class act as a defensive midfielder.  That's it for Richmond for this year.  A lot more was expected of them this year and were considered the most serious contender outside the top 4 for the flag.  For Carlton, which only made the finals because of Essendon being kicked out over the "supplements" scandal, a trip to Sydney next Saturday beckons.  I will be watching this game very carefully as the winner plays us in Perth in two weeks.

So, Freo and Hawthorn are automatically through to the Preliminary Finals and Port and Geelong play each other, and Carlton and Sydney play.

This is turning out to be some season.

And made even better with the resignation of the Eagles' coach and the failure after all the huff and puff about how fekkin wonderful they are.  Well, 'nuff said.
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 09, 2013, 04:02:49 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on September 09, 2013, 04:54:32 AM
Port Adelaide 87-63 Collingwood, First Elimination Final
Whoa.  What an exciting game for the neutral, if such an entity exists when Collingwood are playing.  Port Adelaide probably had all of Australia minus the Collingwood and Adelaide Crows fans willing them on in this one.  It was some effort and I managed to watch practically the whole game.  Last season, Port finished way down the table and things were not looking too bright.  In comes a new coach, Ken Hinckley, and now they are just two games from the Grand Final. There were times when it looked like Collingwood would blow them away but stil the Power just kept coming back.  Wonderful result. But it only gets a lot harder for Port now who must go back to the MCG and play Geelong in the first Semi-Final on Friday night.  Something tells me they'll have the whole nation supporting them again.  My brother, a Power fan, was happy.

Early in the third quarter, the commentator said "Dane Swan is tearing it up at the G" and it looked like the Pies were going to win pulling up. Swan could do no wrong, he was catching everything and took a few good scores, but somehow Port stuck at it and for most of the last quarter Collingwood were chasing shadows.
A great game but if Collingwood want to look for a reason as to why they lost the game then they should look to the line.
Post by: HeaveHo on September 10, 2013, 03:17:59 AM

That (Freo v Geelong) was the best game I have seen this year. The pressure was intense.

Barlow doesn't look like a footballer but the boy knows how to find the footy. I thought Sandi was done but he proves the old adage about big guys not getting any shorter as the game goes on - the 2.11 metres came in handy as game went on and they had no answer to our clearance rate. And the Hill goal as special - he doesn't look like he is going that fast but no one can catch him - Christensen is no slouch and he was left behind.

Hopefully Jonno and Garrick come up. We will be hard to beat at home.

Post by: Aerlik on September 10, 2013, 02:29:31 PM
Heave Ho

got the email today that I got my Prelim Final tix.  Not cheap, $114 for the two, but ah fekkit.

I have also put in my application for two GF tix. which I will find out about either tomorrow or Thursday.  Hate tempting fate though.
Post by: Aerlik on September 11, 2013, 08:19:54 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on September 10, 2013, 02:29:31 PM
I have also put in my application for two GF tix. which I will find out about either tomorrow or Thursday.  Hate tempting fate though.

At the risk of actually tempting that fate, I received the email today confirming that if we qualify for the Grand Final, mini-me and I will be getting our tickets.   :D

And I'm pleased to report that Marty Clarke and Caolan Mooney have survived the chop at Collingwood.  Six players were delisted by the club including three big name players.  But the Irish boys have received a reprieve for now.

However, it looks like the end of the road for Setanta.  He has just been de-listed by Greater Western Sydney. 
Post by: Aerlik on September 12, 2013, 12:52:36 PM
Massive, massive blow for Sydney Swans ahead of the game on Saturday with the news that Adam Goodes has been ruled out for the rest of the season with a knee injury sustained three months ago.    Hopefully he'll be back but I feel his best is now behind him.

He was planning to play for the Indigenous team this year but that, too, is over. 
Post by: spuds on September 13, 2013, 10:58:04 AM
Geelong Port Adelaide on ESPN now.
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 13, 2013, 10:35:09 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 13, 2013, 10:58:04 AM
Geelong Port Adelaide on ESPN now.

Don't think Hawthorn will be too worried by Geelong after today's game.
Post by: Aerlik on September 14, 2013, 04:00:15 PM
The Semi-Final stage - except it wasn't the semi-final, it was more like a quarter-final with four teams...oh don't worry about it I'll explain in a wee while.  This is Australia!

Geelong 96-80 Port Adelaide

For the whole first half I sat there perplexed thinking to myself, "they're going to do it, they're bloody well going to do this" such was the intensity of the Power's efforts.  The Cats just didn't seem to have an answer.  Then the third quarter aka "the premiership quarter" started and the Cats kicked four straight goals and never looked back.  Their third quarter was great and the Power just did not have an answer to the big power forwards of Podsiadly and Hawkins as well as Johnson and Bartel - what a player he is. 
In the final quarter the Power came back and for a few minutes there was a glimmer of hope.  But that faded. 

Sydney 86-62 Carlton

When Sydney lost big full-forward Kurt Tippett with a knee injury in the first few minutes of the first quarter and Carlton were matching them all over the pitch, it seemed that just maybe the Blues were going to continue their great form from last week and upset the odds.  Then in the very last seconds of the quarter the superb, and sadly retiring, Jude Bolton kicked a wobbly grubber and the Swans never looked back.  Indeed they held the Blues scoreless for the whole third quarter - the first time that Blues' coach, Mick Malthouse has ever had a team "accomplish" that feat.  This was powerful stuff from the Swans.  They were a clean 54 points up at the end of the third quarter and their destiny was pretty much decided.  Or was it?  The Blues came out in the final quarter and just as they did against Richmond the week before, laid siege on the Swans goals and kicked three early goals.  Suddenly things started to get interesting.  However some poor kicking from Carlton proved to be their undoing in the end and the Swans survived.  The best team on the night definitely deserved the win.  And with that defeat Zac Tuohy's season ends.  Whilst he was kept very quiet tonight - perhaps indicative of his progress this season- he can look back on a fabulous  effort all year.  There is a lot to be optimistic about for Zac in the future.

So, here we are just two weeks left in the season and as history has shown in the Play-offs format, the top 4 teams - the best teams all year- are in the Preliminary Finals next weekend (ie the Semi-finals, as we would call it).

First on show is the game that EVERYONE - except us Freo faithful thought would be the Grand Final (well all but one of the Freo faithful thought otherwise, apparently.  That one being ahem moi; too many years of suffering agonising losses and total capitulations have left some of us permanently scarred.)  Hawthorn play Geelong on Friday night.  Then, on Saturday the biggest game in Freo's chequered history, we play Sydney.  If ever the club has the chance to make the Grand Final this is it.  Mini-me and 43,000 screaming Freo fans will be there willing the boys on.  The week off and a fully fit panel is leading to a lot of interest in the game, but I am going to maintain the stance of Ross Lyon of taking one game at a time.

Hopefully this time next week I will be back on here with good news.  But, one game at a time. 

(And I hope to fekk I get rid of this bloody awful cold and cough I have - got some serious roaring to do). ;)
Post by: Aerlik on September 18, 2013, 05:56:05 PM
The Brisbane Lions have announced that the club will be de-listing (ie. not renewing the contract of) Niall McKeever.  I haven't heard what the big man's intentions are but if he goes home he'll be a massive boost to Portglenone and Antrim.

20/9/2013
This just put on the AFL website:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-09-20/lion-mckeever-heading-home-to-ireland

It's all over for Niall.   Ah well, thanks for that brilliant moment v. the trash down the road.
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 20, 2013, 01:26:26 PM
Hawks through to the Grand Final. 25 point turn around in the final quarter. Cracking game of football.
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 21, 2013, 01:06:38 PM
Aerlik will be smiling tonight. Freo are through to the grand final.
Post by: Aerlik on September 21, 2013, 08:38:01 PM

And then there were two.  As befitting the Top 4 teams all year, the two Preliminary Finals were great games of Aussie Rules.  They had everything; great tackles, great passes, great marks, great scores.  And someone is happy.  Bloody happy.

Hawthorn 102-97 Geelong
Fekk me.   Where do I start?  See-saw, ebb and flow, up and down whatever way you want to call it this was some spectacle.  The game had everything and even as a biased (who?  me?) one-eyed Freo fan, I sat at the edge of my settee throughout the two hours of pure entertainment.  Much was made of the Kennett's curse when the former President of the Hawthorn footy club made some disparaging remarks about Geelong not having the quality to beat Hawthorn.  13 losses on-the-trot later and finally Hawthorn have secured that elusive "one-in-a-row" win and what a time to do it.  But imagine the thoughts going through the minds of the Geelong players; at one stage in the second quarter they led my a  truckful only for Hawthorn to come back and take the lead, then the Cats powered ahead in the third and ended the period 20 points up and seemingly in control.  But what a turnaround in the final quarter.  The Hawks kicked 4-8 to 1-1 and seemed home.  Then came the moment that changed the game.  With only a goal between the teams, Travis Varco had a shot straight on goal only to see it go for a behind.  A few seconds later, game over.  Awful luck. 
For a team of such talent, this Hawks team has seriously underperformed on the big stage.  It is bursting with serious talent but seems to choke at the crucial moments.  Will this year see the team perform as expected?  We shall see.

FREMANTLE 99 -74 Sydney :D :D :D :D :D
Yep, someone is happy.  Bloody happy.  I'm not actually sure if I am enjoying this win just yet because my eardrums are still bursting and my throat is fekked from all the shouting.  But Christ folks, it was worth it.   Nineteen years Freo have waited (thirteen for me). 43,000 crammed into the stadium and with the interest in the game you could have gotten another 43,000 there too.  The atmosphere and the noise throughout was superb.  For many it would be the last time they see the lads this year as the trip to Melbourne has become extortionately and unjustifiably expensive with airlines pumping up their airfares by a massive 5 times.  A month ago I could have got mini-me and I to Melbourne for $800 return.  As I write,  the basic fare is over $4400 return  >:(.
Anyways the game was one of a specific quarter.  The second.  In that period, Freo held the champions to a solitary point, kicked in the last two minutes, while adding on 5-2.  Sydney never recovered.  Indeed the final score flattered the champs as Freo began resting its players in the last quarter.
Enough was done.
On a night of extreme emotion - there were no tears though - the dignity of the Freo faithful (and we have had to keep the faith cos it has been rough in the past) came to light nationally as the Sydney superstar Jude Bolton retired from the game and was chaired off to thunderous applause of a still packed stadium with a guard of honour from both his teammates and the Freo players.

And so, the expected Goliath, Hawthorn plays the unexpected David, Fremantle next week in arguably the biggest sporting occasion in the nation.  And I will be there.

Jesus, my throat is wrecked.

Yep, someone is happy.  Bloody happy.  FREO ABU.
(Anyone see my banner on ESPN?)
Post by: lfdown2 on September 22, 2013, 02:05:10 AM
Seen the banner, took a pic of it, will try and get it up soon
Post by: Aerlik on September 22, 2013, 04:41:10 PM
Yeeeha,
the tickets have been confirmed and the road trip begins.  Mini-me, a group of 9 friends and I set off on Wednesday morning to drive two days to Melbourne as the airlines have bumped up their airfaires eightfold.  Thieving barstewards.  What an experience it is going to be.
And if we play like we did for three quarters before finally giving the Sydney score a bit of respectability, maybe, just maybe things will turn out as planned.

Freo Abu  ;)

PS, the game should be on ESPN.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on September 22, 2013, 05:29:19 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on September 22, 2013, 04:41:10 PM
Yeeeha,
the tickets have been confirmed and the road trip begins.  Mini-me, a group of 9 friends and I set off on Wednesday morning to drive two days to Melbourne as the airlines have bumped up their airfaires eightfold.  Thieving barstewards.  What an experience it is going to be.
And if we play like we did for three quarters before finally giving the Sydney score a bit of respectability, maybe, just maybe things will turn out as planned.

Freo Abu  ;)

Enjoy the long journey fck the airlines, won't be complaining if ye win ;)
Post by: Club Rossa on September 22, 2013, 06:34:50 PM
I would be worried that beating Geelong and the manner of it will take too much out of the Hawks.They had to empty the tank and I'm sure they will need a good few days to get over it.Freo sailed through on Saturday and were able to slack off in the final quarter.
Post by: FermGael on September 22, 2013, 09:19:52 PM
Yeeeha,

Freo Abu  ;)

Some drive.
Did it myself about 6 years ago but took a week at it
enjoy and stop for nothing
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 22, 2013, 11:27:07 PM

The game is on ESPN on Saturday morning, coverage starts at 05:00, sky+ it is.
Post by: HeaveHo on September 23, 2013, 07:04:49 AM
Yeeeha,

Freo Abu  ;)

A travel agent in Joondalup was organising a charter flight at $1200 per head. That is a bit cheaper than the current offerings. If that falls within the budget you should be giving them a ring. I have the flyer at home if you need more details.

I did see your sign on Saturday night. I was a little disappointed in the lads easing down in the last but I suppose there was nothing to be gained by slaughtering them by more.
Post by: Aerlik on September 23, 2013, 09:32:12 AM
Thanks HeaveHo,
but even that is still out of range for the two of us. 

The auld banner has been doing the rounds on Thewest.com.au, too.  Haha. 

Post by: All of a Sludden on September 24, 2013, 12:55:49 AM
Gold Coast midfield star Gary Ablett has won his second Brownlow Medal for the AFL's fairest and best player.

Ablett won a nailbiting 2013 count with 28 votes by one vote from former Geelong teammate Joel Selwood, with Collingwood's Dane Swan third a further vote behind.

Ablett has become the first Gold Coast player to win the AFL's most prestigious individual award.

He won his first Brownlow in 2009 when a Geelong player, and becomes only the fifth man to win the medal with different clubs.

Ablett led for most of the count, but Selwood took the lead in a cliffhanger with two rounds of voting remaining.

Selwood held the lead going into the final round on 27, with Ablett two votes behind on 25.

But he failed to poll in the Cats' final match of the home-and-away season, while Ablett polled the maximum three votes in the Suns' win over Greater Western Sydney.

Swan, also a former Brownlow Medallist, was also in contention going into the final round of voting but he too failed to poll in Collingwood's final match.

Ablett, 29, admitted he would have loved to have shared the award with former teammate Selwood – something which looked in prospect for much of the final four nervous rounds of voting.

"I was actually shattered when I got the three (votes in the final round) – because Joel deserves to be up here just as much as I do," Ablett said.

"He's a very good friend and a fantastic leader."

For the Suns, in just their third season in the AFL, it gives them an individual award double after first-year youngster Jaeger O'Meara won the Rising Star award for the competition's best young player.

Ablett, the son of former Geelong superstar forward Gary Ablett senior, also paid tribute to his father – and was at pains to lay to rest any thoughts of comparison between himself and his dad.

"I do (get sick of the comparisons) because there shouldn't be any comparisons. My old man's the best player ever to play the game and he should have won a Brownlow," Ablett junior said.

"Now I've got two, I can give him one."

Geelong star Steve Johnson, who was ineligible for the award after three suspensions during the season, was also high in the polling.

He received 25 votes from 16 matches, having missed four games through several indiscretions throughout the season.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on September 24, 2013, 05:47:06 AM
Just to add to the Brownlow note - Pearce Hanley ended great season (personally anyways) with a credible 8 votes, after winning the Brisbane Lions members player of the year and losing out on the overall Lions B&F by a single point, even though he played in two less games than Joel Patfull.
Post by: HeaveHo on September 24, 2013, 09:16:33 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on September 23, 2013, 09:32:12 AM
Thanks HeaveHo,
but even that is still out of range for the two of us. 

The auld banner has been doing the rounds on Thewest.com.au, too.  Haha.

Enjoy the drive. It gets a bit boring for about 2,000 kms after Southern Cross but when you are singing the club song at 5pm on Saturday it will all be worth it. 
Post by: FermGael on September 24, 2013, 10:02:09 AM
Watch out for Camels
Post by: Aerlik on September 24, 2013, 04:24:31 PM
Seven of us are drivers so we will be able to share the load.
HeaveHo, watch SBS Sports on Thursday or Friday night as there might be a familiar face.   :P
Also, Check out the Irish Echo perhaps this week but definitely the next edition.  I'm saying nothing. ;)

Right, the wane is asleep, the bags are packed and finally I'm ready to head off to the game I wasn't sure I'd ever attend as a Fremantle Dockers Football Club member.

Never in my wildest dreams however many pages ago did I imagine I would be finally going to cheer on my team in the AFL Grand Final.

There are memories of 1993 when I made the considerably shorter trip from the UK to Dublin to watch Derry.  And, unlike the big Victorian Clubs, the fan base of Freo is very localised (with Freo "ex-pats" based in Melbourne too) giving it a very special feeling.

This will be the last post for me until the aftermath.  All through the season I have been saying that the winner would either be Geelong or Hawthorn.  Well, I have a 50% chance of being correct. 

If we win, feel free to shower accolades.  If we lose, go easy on me. 

Freo abú
Post by: lfdown2 on September 25, 2013, 12:52:53 AM
Best of luck lad...

http://www.irishecho.com.au/2013/09/23/derry-man-adds-irish-touch-to-freo-cheer-squad/28949 (http://www.irishecho.com.au/2013/09/23/derry-man-adds-irish-touch-to-freo-cheer-squad/28949)
Post by: Never beat the deeler on September 25, 2013, 04:47:20 AM
Enjoy the weekend Aerlik. By the sounds of things here at work and among my mates, you'll have plenty of company on the road!!
Post by: AlriteHorse on September 25, 2013, 06:22:17 AM
Safe driving Aerlik. Heading that direction......kind of......for the long weekend. Just hoping I get down in time to see the game.

Just seen on Facebook that the Irish club are "opening early for coverage of the Fremantle Dockers vs Melbourne Swans in the Grand Final". Not sure where to start with that one! Someone's in for a lot of abuse anyway!
Post by: Declan on September 25, 2013, 07:43:20 AM
Best of luck Aerlik and thanks for all the updates during the season.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on September 26, 2013, 03:58:25 AM
Quote from: AlriteHorse on September 25, 2013, 06:22:17 AM
Safe driving Aerlik. Heading that direction......kind of......for the long weekend. Just hoping I get down in time to see the game.

Just seen on Facebook that the Irish club are "opening early for coverage of the Fremantle Dockers vs Melbourne Swans in the Grand Final". Not sure where to start with that one! Someone's in for a lot of abuse anyway!

Haha saw that alright - they quickly followed up by clarifying they meant Sydney Swans!! Obv major footy fans...

See the pubs in Freo are all opening at 7:30 am on Grand Final Day - bounce isn't till 12:30. Be some craic round the place!
Post by: stephenite on September 27, 2013, 11:29:11 AM
There was some buzz in Melbourne airport this afternoon with each plane full of both sets of supporters. Driver was telling people were flying from Perth via Brisbane, Sydney and even Singapore!!

Was a shame to be heading back.

Enjoy the occasion Aerlik, Freo abu
Post by: JimStynes on September 28, 2013, 07:02:44 AM
any streams for the final?
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2013, 07:58:29 AM
I'm watching it on ESPN.
Looks like Hawthorn have it won. 18 ahead with 6 mins left.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 28, 2013, 09:04:36 AM
Hope out enjoy it Aerlik

Enjoyed your great posts this season on here keeping up up to date!
Hope you win
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 28, 2013, 12:03:35 PM
The journey is over for Aerlik and Fremantle, sadly they just came up that wee bit short, hell of an effort and hell of a year for Freo and their fans. In my opinion Hawthorn have been the best team all year, even if they did cut it a bit fine in their last game so well done to them.

Looking forward to hearing about Aerliks road trip and the game itself.

FULL TIME AT MCG
HAWTHORN: 11.11 (77)
FREMANTLE: 8.14 (62)

HAWTHORN ARE THE 2013 PREMIERS!!!
Post by: Club Rossa on September 28, 2013, 04:08:57 PM
Hawthorn has been the outstanding team all year.Deserving winners today,Lake and Gunston were brilliant.Huge credit to Freo,never gave in and came on strongly in the 3rd but the Hawks responded in great fashion.
UP THE HAWKS
Post by: Declan on September 30, 2013, 02:59:21 PM
Hard luck Aerlik and Freo
Post by: Aerlik on October 01, 2013, 01:34:35 PM
So near but yet so far. 
Where do I begin?

Eleven of us set off on Wednesday last week in a minibus, determined to see our team.   Unfortunately the astronomical cost of tickets ($1200-$2000 one-way p/p) was just too much for us but we had the tickets so it wasn't a question of if but how and when we'd get there. 
Travelling through southern Western Australia was great compared to the boredom of the trek from the town of Esperance basically to the city of Melbourne.  The farmers in WA have had it bloody tough these past few years with drought but the plentiful rains of this year are looking to have provided a good year for wheat and sheep.  The magnificent support by footy fans in this State, the real passion of S.Australian fans wanting our team to "beat those bloody Vics", and the funny humour of mad, passionate Vic fans of footy really gave me an insight into just how passionate Aussies are for their national sport.   We stopped off in obscure little towns for fuel and food and in every place there were lots of Freo colours.  Even travelling across the Nullarbor plain, there were station entrances with balloons tied to fence posts.
The arrival in Melbourne on Friday morning was timely as it allowed us to be part of the Grand Final parade.  There, I got a real taste of just how big an occasion the AFL Grand Final is.  It is an opportunity to view the teams as well as other identities.  Brownlow medal winner Gary Ablett and Rising Star winner Jaegar O'Meara were also paraded to great and appreciative applause of these two superb players.
Then came the big day.  Mini-me and I were up and out at 10am for the 15-min train ride to Flinders Street Station.  The sight of thousands of Freo fans in Federation Square really had to be seen.  So much for only 14,000 tickets being given to our club.  And then began the march.   I believe it is the first time ever that a team's supporters walked en-masse from Fed. Square to the MCG.  The footage from the heli-cam is pretty impressive.  Along the way I met the sister of a friend I played soccer with in Japan.  Small world.  And on arrival at the stadium I met a family friend who left Kilrea in 1967.   He is a Hawthorn supporter and we had a great chat about footy and folk from home.
Then it was time to go into the MCG.  This is by far the most impressive stadium I have ever been to.  It is magnificent.  Soon there were 100,007 fans (officially) in there with us, too.  The noise and the passion is something to behold. 

The game:
Well, Freo had more than enough opportunities to win the game.  But there can be no excuses from me.  Freo simply missed too many kickable opportunities and even the big guns missed scoreable chances.  If only that accuracy of the Sydney game had carried over I'd be writing about one of the biggest upset seasons in AFL history.  To only have scored 1.6 in the first half was simply nowhere near good enough to win the Premiership.  The third quarter was a different matter entirely and suddenly Freo were in the driving seat and the Hawks were on the defensive with the lead cut to only 3 points at stage.  However, the most consistent team all year showed why it is just that by digging deep and pulling away to win by 15 points.  This might seem a lot but had four of those 1-pointers from Freo been converted, well, who knows?

In the end, no Freo fan will begrudge Hawthorn its success this year. The Hawks have been the most consistent throughout the year with some emphatic wins, some memorable games and I have to say, many fantastic fans.  No issues from me.

Afterwards, we stood and acknowledged the champions earning the plaudits from many in Melbourne about our sportsmanship.  That is what sets Freo fans aside from many in the league.

The journey back to WA wasn't as bad as I'd imagined.  In fact it took less time but jaysus I was bloody tired at the end of it.

So there you have it folks.  Six months ago I set out to give a quick synopsis of the week-to-week progress of the competition never once imaging that I would be at the MCG with my son on the last day of September and but a whisker away from cheering our club on to the attainment of the Holy Grail.  What a wonderful season it has been.  One never can tell if one's team will reach the same heights two years in a row, but I have managed to see every home game for my team and I am already looking forward to next year with much more confidence than I had in March this year.

Thank you to all of you who posted comments and asked questions.  I really appreciated your involvement and contributions.  So it leaves me with one thing to say:

Freo Abú
Post by: Club Rossa on October 01, 2013, 04:08:58 PM
Great story Aerlik.Much as I was delighted to see the Hawks win,I couldn't have begrudged Freo winning a first title.They have a fantastic team but didn't perform as well as they could have on the day.Perhaps the occasion got to some of them.Saw your famous banner again.Thanks for your updates and match reports throughout the season,they have been very enjoyable to read.

On another note,it looks like Buddy is heading to the Swans.The majority of Hawks fans aren't impressed but with Roughead and Gunston up front the Hawks will still be a handful for any team next year.
Post by: spuds on October 02, 2013, 01:25:56 AM
Great to read that post Aerlik, fantastic trip and occasion for you and your buddies to share; but more importantly for you and the young buck. Lifetime memories.
Post by: HeaveHo on October 02, 2013, 02:42:19 AM
Brilliant stuff Aerlik. Marching from Fed Square to the G with the Purple Army would have been a highlight. I wish I was there. The G is a fabulous place and hopefully the new stadium in Perth will be something similar.

We aren't far away - another power forward and some kicking practice and we could be right in it again. Jessie White doesn't look likely but maybe we should have a crack at Sam Reid
Post by: Declan on October 02, 2013, 07:30:16 AM
Great stuff Aerlik. I can just imagine the fans marching to the stadium
Post by: HeaveHo on October 04, 2013, 02:08:27 AM
Port Adelaide have signed Daniel Flynn. Appears to be some athlete. Kennelly was talking in up last night on Skynews.

Post by: AlriteHorse on October 07, 2013, 10:06:34 AM
I can't see Freo being able to repeat this years heroics in 2014.

Will Pav and Sands have the same desire?
Is a loss at his 4th attempt at a Grand final too much for Lyon to take?

Not trying to rattle your cage here Aerlik but teams will be more aware of their style of play now so unless Lyon comes up with an alternative, they could find themselves stuck. They need a couple of big trades and I'm sure Lyon will be on the hunt for a top forward......especially after some of the shooting in the GF.

I'm sure there'll not be too many non-Dockers who agree with me here but I felt sorry for Ballantyne after the complete mare he had. He must have left the house in some rush and grabbed his Purdy-picking boots instead!