GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: RMDrive on March 19, 2013, 07:21:05 PM

Title: Mayo v Donegal - McHale Park - 24th Mar 2013
Post by: RMDrive on March 19, 2013, 07:21:05 PM
An important game for both teams. 2 points will see Donegal safe in Division 1 for next year, a loss means that we'll need to beat the Dubs 2 weeks later in order to be sure of staying up.
It's a simple must-win for Mayo and I expect them to respond positively to their collapse against Kildare. They were a decent left-footed free-taker away from a victory and despite all the doom and gloom that was spoken about in Rocky's on Saturday, we all know that a couple of victories against ourselves and Cork will have the Mayo boys back in positive form again!  :D
Title: Re: Mayo v Donegal - McHale Park - 24th Mar 2013
Post by: cadence on March 19, 2013, 07:54:36 PM
will be tight, but i'm expecting a home win. we haven't really clicked going forward yet, even if the signs are more promising, so i think mayo will have that wee bit too much for us at this stage.

be nice to stay up like, but it's all about our prep for the big show come may.

Post by: From the Bunker on March 19, 2013, 09:02:43 PM
Well Donegal have two wins under their belt against Kerry and Down, the two teams with no form so far in the league. This weekend I expect them to add a third with no form - Mayo to that list. Donegal have to beat Mayo or face have to get safety points from Dublin two weeks later. Donegal win! 
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 19, 2013, 09:06:28 PM
Quote from: cadence on March 19, 2013, 07:54:36 PM
will be tight, but i'm expecting a home win. we haven't really clicked going forward yet, even if the signs are more promising, so i think mayo will have that wee bit too much for us at this stage.

And you think Mayo have??
Post by: macdanger2 on March 19, 2013, 10:10:19 PM
Watched the Donegal v Cork game today and apart from the first five minutes and last five minutes, Donegal were awfully poor. If Mayo can pull the finger out, we could take two points here.
Post by: highorlow on March 20, 2013, 12:49:11 PM
QuoteIf Mayo can pull the fingureer out how to play football again

Corrected that for you.

On a side note what's that new Kerryman's function in the Mayo set-up?
Post by: moysider on March 20, 2013, 02:10:32 PM
Quote from: highorlow on March 20, 2013, 12:49:11 PM
QuoteIf Mayo can pull the fingureer out how to play football again

Corrected that for you.

On a side note what's that new Kerryman's function in the Mayo set-up?

I assume he is there in a coaching capacity. He is considered one of the elite coaches. Apparently he s the bee's knees for defensive drills and strategies.

what was noticable v Kildare is how far advances some of these teams are compared to us.

In the second half Kildare forwards pressed up on the Mayo defenders in possession making it very difficult for us to keep posssession at times and ensuring we were slow on the counter attack. Yet they still managed to have an extra man cover at the back. Some workrate that.
Post by: highorlow on March 20, 2013, 03:26:16 PM
QuoteI assume he is there in a coaching capacity. He is considered one of the elite coaches. Apparently he s the bee's knees for defensive drills and strategies.

If the strategy is to run into defenders with the ball and avoid going for goals then the man is a genius.

I think for this next game we now know our best midfield and probably our best forward line for now. Based on this I think a good performance and even a win might change the mood among supporters and the last 3 match's will be forgotten quickly and could be put down to 'experimentation'.

What we don't want to see is the same mistakes that have been made over the last 3 games. If the management and team haven't learned from these mistakes at this stage of the year then things would start to become worrying.
Post by: muppet on March 20, 2013, 04:34:46 PM

Worse than Heffo and Dinny Breen put together.

Donegal by 12.
Post by: cadence on March 20, 2013, 06:59:37 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 19, 2013, 09:06:28 PM

And you think Mayo have??

no but playing at home gives you an advantage.
Post by: cadence on March 20, 2013, 07:04:26 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 20, 2013, 04:34:46 PM

we've not been good
Quote from: muppet on March 20, 2013, 04:34:46 PM

Worse than Heffo and Dinny Breen put together.

Donegal by 12.

ah come on... two out of form sides, one of them playing at home, a very thoughtful assessment i'd say.
Post by: cadence on March 20, 2013, 07:10:04 PM
Quote from: highorlow on March 20, 2013, 03:26:16 PM
QuoteI assume he is there in a coaching capacity. He is considered one of the elite coaches. Apparently he s the bee's knees for defensive drills and strategies.

If the strategy is to run into defenders with the ball and avoid going for goals then the man is a genius.

I think for this next game we now know our best midfield and probably our best forward line for now. Based on this I think a good performance and even a win might change the mood among supporters and the last 3 match's will be forgotten quickly and could be put down to 'experimentation'.

What we don't want to see is the same mistakes that have been made over the last 3 games. If the management and team haven't learned from these mistakes at this stage of the year then things would start to become worrying.

you'll be much more like you were last year and be playing more of a pressing game i reckon. the pressing game is very intense and mayo players need great fitness for hounding players on the ball. because you'll be getting gradually fitter and are in need of the points, i'd expect you to play more of a pressing game, which means trouble for us i think.
Post by: cadence on March 20, 2013, 07:12:15 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 19, 2013, 10:10:19 PM
Watched the Donegal v Cork game today and apart from the first five minutes and last five minutes, Donegal were awfully poor. If Mayo can pull the finger out, we could take two points here.

i'd agree with that, and so would eamonn mcgee...

http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/sport/local-sport/cork-were-the-better-team-mcgee-1-4908160

Post by: rosnarun on March 21, 2013, 02:02:51 PM
Quote from: highorlow on March 20, 2013, 03:26:16 PM

our only salvation at this point is the hope that  mayo are learning a new defensive system and they havent really got it yet. they certainly have forgotten the old one.
when is the last time mayo beat donegal anyway . i can cant see to rember any victory since i became incarcerated in the hellhole  12 years ago
Post by: J70 on March 21, 2013, 02:56:23 PM
Pretty sure they've beaten us in the league in Castlebar in the past few years,  possibly the year before or after Eamonn McGee scored an injury time goal down there to won us the points. Might have been 2007, when we got our revenge in the final!

But yes, we've a good record against Mayo!
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 21, 2013, 03:49:06 PM
I can't see it changing on Sunday either J70.
Post by: J70 on March 21, 2013, 04:07:50 PM
Really?

Mayo are at home and more desperate than us, who aren't firing on all cylinders either! McGuinness plainly cares little for the league, beyond preparing for the championship and, if possible, scraping survival. I don't see the reasons for zero optimism from a Mayo perspective, especially as we gave Dublin after that.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 21, 2013, 05:33:29 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 21, 2013, 04:07:50 PM
Really?

Mayo are at home and more desperate than us, who aren't firing on all cylinders either! McGuinness plainly cares little for the league, beyond preparing for the championship and, if possible, scraping survival. I don't see the reasons for zero optimism from a Mayo perspective, especially as we gave Dublin after that.

Mayo were desperate (for points) last week as well. Ah, it's not just happening at the moment. We are waiting for the return of the old Mayo (well, of the last two years). Last year we had a stinker against Donegal. McGuinness in his interview after the game, made little of the result saying Mayo and Donegal were on different roads to peaking for the Championship!
Post by: J70 on March 21, 2013, 05:56:47 PM
I remember last year's game. Some of you boys here were calling for Horan's head in the aftermath! Thankfully (for youse) saner heads prevailed!
Post by: Zulu on March 22, 2013, 10:42:33 PM
Mayo team: Clarke, Barrett, Cafferkey, Higgins, Keegan, Cunniffe, Boyle, Moran, S.OShea, McLoughlin, A.OShea, Carolan, O'Connor, Doherty, Conroy.

Aiden O'Se named at CF again and Cillian O'Connor named with the U21 game on the day before.
Post by: spuds on March 23, 2013, 11:24:08 AM
The use of the squad has been questionable so far in the league. O'Connor back from injury expected to play 2 games in 2 days, Alan Murphy wasting his time in the squad ? Evan Regan called ashore too early last weekend at least has the excuse of playing today with 21s. Barrett struggling at times being persevered with over giving a run to others. Higgins and Caff always start, what happens for example if our first choice fullback gets injured ?
Surely Keegan should of been tried at 6. For all Cuniffe's athleticism he loses his man too often and the centre is not held either.
Good to see Cathal Carolan getting a few runs, taking his scores very well even if not getting on the ball a huge amount.
No obvious no.11 appearing which might explain persevering with AOS there but personally think he should be at midfield with the brother tried again at 11.
If we are in experimental mode surely we should be trying out Higgins at wingback or 6 etc. 2 games left now so our position on league table might take precedence over experimentation.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 23, 2013, 02:55:38 PM
Fair enough spuds, but I don't think AOS can play as effectively at no 11 than midfield. I'm sure we pretty much all agree with that. But Horan seems to be trying to experiment with that again. You mentioned Alan Murphy, what about Michael Walsh? I'm not sure he's too happy sitting on the bench either. Kevinn McLoughlin seems like he can do no wrong in Horan's eyes either. He hasn't played too well in my opinion yet in any of the games in the league this year.
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 24, 2013, 12:11:57 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 23, 2013, 02:55:38 PM
Fair enough spuds, but I don't think AOS can play as effectively at no 11 than midfield. I'm sure we pretty much all agree with that. But Horan seems to be trying to experiment with that again. You mentioned Alan Murphy, what about Michael Walsh? I'm not sure he's too happy sitting on the bench either. Kevinn McLoughlin seems like he can do no wrong in Horan's eyes either. He hasn't played too well in my opinion yet in any of the games in the league this year.
Dunno, Farr, you don't think AOS is a centre forward and I don't think so either but James Horan doesn't agree and it's his call to make.
He just has too have some long-term objective in mind and  I haven't a clue as to what he has in mind.
I think midfield will be between the O'Sé lads and Barry Moran when the summer comes and all of them are worth a place. Aidan can try bulldozing time after time and yet he can be a fine distributor of the ball at times. If Horan perseveres with him at CF it will mean a complete re-jigging of his forward strategy and with Alan and Andy still to come into the reckoning it's hard to know what he'll land up with.
I'd say Donie Vaughan is sweating right now s Cunniffe is looking good for no. 6 but, overall, I can't see too many changes when we face Galway.
However, I hope they focus on winning tomorrow and let the future turn up what it will.
Post by: theticklemister on March 24, 2013, 12:26:45 PM
Match live here

http://www.firstrow1.eu/
Post by: J70 on March 24, 2013, 03:10:43 PM
Very poor last 20 mins there from Donegal. Very sloppy with their passing, balls bouncing away from them, second best in a lot of 50-50s, just don't look sharp. Mayo corner forwards doing very well winning ball and their midfield and half-backs are cleaning up. Donegal need to up things if they want to avoid having to get something against Dublin.
Post by: maigheo on March 24, 2013, 03:16:27 PM
mayo well up for this game  but Donegal giving away alot of ball.Could have done with jason Doc hitting the net .
Post by: cadence on March 24, 2013, 03:22:13 PM
some of our passing is wayward alright. we're rushing them before their time. the wides we've that i've seen haven't been that bad. bradley missed one there he made for himself but you don't mind that, the shot was on. same with the kavanagh one. it's the passing. too casual.

good enough contest though.
Post by: J70 on March 24, 2013, 03:28:49 PM
This commentator is just randomly selecting names of Donegal players!  :o
Post by: cadence on March 24, 2013, 03:31:58 PM
lot of soft frees being given by this ref for both sides. let them get on with it ffs.
Post by: Tubberman on March 24, 2013, 03:35:25 PM
Duffy is acting the bollocks - what was the point of calling back that free.
Post by: Tubberman on March 24, 2013, 03:36:49 PM
YYYEEEESS!!!! Finally hit the back of the net
Post by: From the Bunker on March 24, 2013, 03:38:59 PM
Good 'Soccer' finish by Conroy!
Post by: Tubberman on March 24, 2013, 03:40:09 PM
Thompson went in with the knees on McLoughlin there
Post by: From the Bunker on March 24, 2013, 03:40:41 PM
McLoughlin eye gauged there!  :(
Post by: Tubberman on March 24, 2013, 03:43:21 PM
Thompson gone - no surprise there, could be gone earlier
Post by: theticklemister on March 24, 2013, 03:44:09 PM
yer right there tubberman; he stood on a mayos man wrist 2 mins ago.
poor match
Post by: Tubberman on March 24, 2013, 03:48:36 PM
Couple of sloppy wides for Mayo - that would have given a nice coushion
Post by: Tubberman on March 24, 2013, 03:49:47 PM
O'Shea taking free. For f**k's sake, what was he at. Should have left that to Doherty. That's headless shit.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 24, 2013, 03:55:19 PM
Is bottom 2 automatically down? What happens if teams are tied?
Post by: Geoff Tipps on March 24, 2013, 03:59:03 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on March 24, 2013, 03:55:19 PM
Is bottom 2 automatically down? What happens if teams are tied?

Head to heads.
Post by: theticklemister on March 24, 2013, 04:00:05 PM
this game is what everything is wrong in our game. constant fouling; a pile of shite.
Post by: galwayman on March 24, 2013, 04:00:44 PM
Really poor game to watch.a lot of cynical fouling by both teams.
Mayo the better team on the day.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 24, 2013, 04:04:33 PM
Quote from: galwayman on March 24, 2013, 04:00:44 PM
Really poor game to watch.a lot of cynical fouling by both teams.
Mayo the better team on the day.

That's football today! That's why Donegal are AI Champions. Nice football teams get no where!
Post by: J70 on March 24, 2013, 04:07:34 PM
Very poor performance from Donegal, and no resemblance whatsoever to last year's championship performances. This aimless kicking into the full forwards that they've been at during the league will presumably be gone come championship time, replaced by full fit and sharp players streaming forward, supporting one another, as they did last season. The passing in close quarters at speed was shocking today; they kept turning the ball over. And then when they tried to hit long balls, when we did win it, the player in question emerged surrounded by four or five Mayo defenders. Utterly toothless!

Should make for a passionate game against Dublin in Ballybofey in two weeks, but unless they find form in that time, I can't see us beating them, so it could be Division 2 next year for us. Not too bothered about relegation either way, but it would be nice to beat the Dubs, whether or not we end up surviving.
Post by: maigheo on March 24, 2013, 04:08:25 PM
If I am not mistaken but if Mayo beat Cork next week we will qualify for the semi finals
Post by: Jinxy on March 24, 2013, 04:10:44 PM
Putrid stuff.
The cynical teams like Mayo would want to start planning ahead or they'll be left behind the rest of us in 2014.
Post by: J70 on March 24, 2013, 04:13:42 PM
Dublin 10
Tyrone 10
Kildare 8
Cork 6
Donegal 4
Kerry 4
Mayo 4
Down 2

What happens if Donegal, Mayo and Kerry win next week?

Four teams on six points, one into semi and one relegated?  :)
Post by: muppet on March 24, 2013, 04:16:44 PM
Quote from: maigheo on March 24, 2013, 04:08:25 PM
If I am not mistaken but if Mayo beat Cork next week we will qualify for the semi finals

If Kerry and Donegal both win, and we don't, we go down I think.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 24, 2013, 04:22:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 24, 2013, 04:16:44 PM

If i'm not mistaken, it goes back to scoring difference if more than two teams are involved.
Post by: cadence on March 24, 2013, 04:23:19 PM
there was a lot of fouls given but they weren't all fouls. if a player goes to ground it doen't necessarily mean that it was a free and he gave that one all day long.

anyway, mayo will be happy with that. deserved victory.

we knew before this weekend that we've got work to do on our attacking play. have to give mayo their dues though, very good defensive display. broke our attacks and hit us on the break. midfield was also a bit of a non-contest.

it's just not happening for us atm. we can't seem to create the scoring opportunities. time and again moves broke down when hand passes didn't hit the runner. those types of passes might look easy enough but when you've got bodies moving at a rate of noughts about the place they're not that easy. it's not that our running game has shut down, it just gets us the ball up to the 50-45 and then we run out of ideas.
Post by: maigheo on March 24, 2013, 04:25:02 PM
just looking at the tables again and as well as beating cork we would need dublin to beat donegal to qualify.If tyrone defeat kerry then kerry are gone down.
Post by: muppet on March 24, 2013, 04:26:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 24, 2013, 04:22:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 24, 2013, 04:16:44 PM

If i'm not mistaken, it goes back to scoring difference if more than two teams are involved.

Yea but look at the table. If Donegal & Kerry win and we don't we go down on points with Down. No tie-breaker. Even if they both draw and we lose, we go down. Typically though, we make the semi-final if we win.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 24, 2013, 04:27:53 PM

Oh feck no! Don't really want that! So it's really a League quarter final!  ???

Thought Cork would do us a favour this week beat Kerry and send out their reserve team for the final game against us.  ;)
Post by: muppet on March 24, 2013, 04:28:00 PM
Quote from: maigheo on March 24, 2013, 04:25:02 PM
just looking at the tables again and as well as beating cork we would need dublin to beat donegal to qualify.

No.

If we win against Cork, Donegal can't qualify as we won the head to head today.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 24, 2013, 04:30:31 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 24, 2013, 04:10:44 PM
Putrid stuff.
The cynical teams like Mayo would want to start planning ahead or they'll be left behind the rest of us in 2014.

When you say us do you mean Meath?  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

That's really funny!
Post by: maigheo on March 24, 2013, 04:36:33 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 24, 2013, 04:28:00 PM
just looking at the tables again and as well as beating cork we would need dublin to beat donegal to qualify.

No.

IF THERE IS A 3 WAY TIE scoring diff. is the tie breaker.Head to head only comes into play when 2 teams are tied on points,So if donegal  and mayo both win by a point donegal will qualify as they have a plus 3 difference while we have a 0 point diff.
Post by: J70 on March 24, 2013, 04:38:26 PM
Quote from: maigheo on March 24, 2013, 04:36:33 PM

No.

IF THERE IS A 3 WAY TIE scoring diff. is the tie breaker.Head to head only comes into play when 2 teams are tied on points,So if donegal  and mayo both win by a point donegal will qualify as they have a plus 3 difference while we have a 0 point diff.

Presumably scoring difference as well if its a four-way tie?
Post by: muppet on March 24, 2013, 04:40:48 PM
If Down win, and Mayo and Kerry lose and Donegal draw or win, there will be a tie of 3 or 4 teams on 4 points. The same happens if Donegal lose and Kerry draw or win.

What happens the head to head then? Down beat Mayo, who beat Kerry who beat Down so the head to head is useless. Does it go to score difference then?

Gaa.ie website is down.  ::)
Post by: muppet on March 24, 2013, 04:45:30 PM
Quote from: maigheo on March 24, 2013, 04:36:33 PM

No.

Good point.

Actually there are any number of possibilities.

On form Kerry and Donegal will struggle in the last game. If they both win it could get interesting but if either lose we should be safe.
Post by: maigheo on March 24, 2013, 04:45:41 PM
yeah it goes to scoring difference and right now mayo have a much better scoring diff. than kerry or down.For Mayo to stay up we need to match Kerrys result v tyrone.I am sure Tyrone will relish the chance to send the kingdom down to division 2
Post by: Jinxy on March 24, 2013, 04:46:17 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 24, 2013, 04:30:31 PM
Putrid stuff.

That's really funny!

I meant the aristocrats of football in general.
Ourselves and Galway for example.
Post by: muppet on March 24, 2013, 04:50:03 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 24, 2013, 04:46:17 PM
Putrid stuff.

That's really funny!

You have played in only one AIF this century.

Viva lá revolution aristocrats.
Post by: Tubberman on March 24, 2013, 04:51:38 PM
Putrid stuff.

That's really funny!

The same Galway that were the first example of cynical fouling in the FRC video?
Post by: Jinxy on March 24, 2013, 04:52:40 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 24, 2013, 04:50:03 PM
Putrid stuff.

That's really funny!

You have played in only one AIF this century.

Viva lá revolution aristocrats.

And yet, in that period we've managed to win the exact same number as yourselves.
Post by: muppet on March 24, 2013, 04:54:20 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 24, 2013, 04:51:38 PM
The same Galway that were the first example of cynical fouling in the FRC video?

It shows how far Meath's relevance has fallen that they didn't even make the video of cynical fouling! That must really hurt.
Post by: muppet on March 24, 2013, 04:55:20 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 24, 2013, 04:52:40 PM
And yet, in that period we've managed to win the exact same number as yourselves.

You are the one calling yourselves aristocrats.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 24, 2013, 04:57:35 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 24, 2013, 04:55:20 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 24, 2013, 04:52:40 PM

You are the one calling yourselves aristocrats.

Post by: Jinxy on March 24, 2013, 04:58:15 PM
We lose with style though.
Post by: ballinaman on March 24, 2013, 04:59:31 PM
Great to get the win. Listening to it through free McDonalds wifi in South Beach Miami was a strange experience!
Post by: INDIANA on March 24, 2013, 04:59:54 PM
Quote from: cadence on March 24, 2013, 04:23:19 PM
there was a lot of fouls given but they weren't all fouls. if a player goes to ground it doen't necessarily mean that it was a free and he gave that one all day long.

we knew before this weekend that we've got work to do on our attacking play. have to give mayo their dues though, very good defensive display. broke our attacks and hit us on the break. midfield was also a bit of a non-contest.

it's just not happening for us atm. we can't seem to create the scoring opportunities. time and again moves broke down when hand passes didn't hit the runner. those types of passes might look easy enough but when you've got bodies moving at a rate of noughts about the place they're not that easy. it's not that our running game has shut down, it just gets us the ball up to the 50-45 and then we run out of ideas.

If ever their was an advertisement for the black card this was it. An utterly horrible game to watch permeated by everything that is bad in Gaelic Football
Post by: Jinxy on March 24, 2013, 05:02:47 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on March 24, 2013, 04:59:31 PM
Great to get the win. Listening to it through free McDonalds wifi in South Beach Miami was a strange experience!

You lucky swine.....

I'd love a big mac.
Post by: muppet on March 24, 2013, 05:04:56 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 24, 2013, 05:02:47 PM

You lucky swine.....

I'd love a big mac.

(https://ssl.utvinternet.com/sportingvisions/imgdir/60531111/028873.jpg)

There you go Sir. Would like to super-size that?
Post by: RMDrive on March 24, 2013, 05:18:39 PM
An extremely disappointing performance from Donegal - as bad as I've seen under Jim. We look like a team waiting for something to happen and today we looked completely uninterested. Our passing one we got over the half way line was terrible and we gifted the ball to Mayo so many times. We were poor in the tackle and gave away far too many scorable frees. I can't think of any positive that we can take from the game.

From Mayo's perspective, Moran had a cracking game and the tacking by the backs was excellent. Though they looked a bit clueless up front though and they should really have won the game by more.

I'd say it'll take me till Wednesday to get warm again.
Post by: cadence on March 24, 2013, 05:19:00 PM

no need for that.
Post by: Denn Forever on March 24, 2013, 05:19:47 PM
Hard luck Donegal.  I was hoping they would come back when Mayo seemed to try and run the clock down with 10 minutes to go. 

Are we looking at football in the future now that indepentent time of the game is coming in?
Post by: Jinxy on March 24, 2013, 05:21:58 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 24, 2013, 04:51:38 PM
Putrid stuff.

That's really funny!

Good point.
Looks like it's just us then.
Post by: cadence on March 24, 2013, 05:22:36 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 24, 2013, 04:59:54 PM
Quote from: cadence on March 24, 2013, 04:23:19 PM

If ever their was an advertisement for the black card this was it. An utterly horrible game to watch permeated by everything that is bad in Gaelic Football

the ref played his part in making it the way it was. i'm not saying there wasn't negative play. what i'm saying is he blew for practically every occasion where there was a bit of contact. it was like watching a game of basketball the way he reffed it.
Post by: cadence on March 24, 2013, 05:28:28 PM
Quote from: RMDrive on March 24, 2013, 05:18:39 PM
An extremely disappointing performance from Donegal - as bad as I've seen under Jim. We look like a team waiting for something to happen and today we looked completely uninterested. Our passing one we got over the half way line was terrible and we gifted the ball to Mayo so many times. We were poor in the tackle and gave away far too many scorable frees. I can't think of any positive that we can take from the game.

From Mayo's perspective, Moran had a cracking game and the tacking by the backs was excellent. Though they looked a bit clueless up front though and they should really have won the game by more.

I'd say it'll take me till Wednesday to get warm again.

might have been bad, but we didn't lose by much, and that's because they're battlers. a few years ago on days like today when nothing goes right it would've been an awful hiding and a terrible display all round with the heads down. that doesn't happen now. but you're right though, we're not clicking at all going forward.
Post by: ballinaman on March 24, 2013, 05:37:56 PM
Quote from: cadence on March 24, 2013, 05:19:00 PM

no need for that.
If it makes ye feel better, I was/am horrifically hungover...
Post by: cadence on March 24, 2013, 05:43:21 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on March 24, 2013, 05:37:56 PM

no need for that.

serves ye right! gallavanting away over there....
Post by: Zulu on March 24, 2013, 05:53:09 PM
Is it true Donegal players aren't allowed to sign autographs? Micheal Murphy refuses to sign a young girls jersey but a lad on twitter claims it is a McGuinness policy.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/194/1j4igdgadcfeueateuqntf.mp4/
Post by: theticklemister on March 24, 2013, 05:55:16 PM
that wee wain must of felt like nothing after that.

is thatpolicy true? If so whywould this be the case?
Post by: Zulu on March 24, 2013, 05:59:53 PM
Haven't a clue, only posted what a guy on twitter claimed. If it isn't a policy why in the world did Murphy not sign the jersey?
Post by: cadence on March 24, 2013, 06:22:10 PM
we didn't play well today. understandable if murphy just wanted to get off the pitch. he did acknowledge the wee girl and playfully tapped her on the head. just a bad day in the office i think.
Post by: donegal lad on March 24, 2013, 06:25:36 PM
Quote from: Zulu on March 24, 2013, 05:59:53 PM
Haven't a clue, only posted what a guy on twitter claimed. If it isn't a policy why in the world did Murphy not sign the jersey?
Not sure if it's a policy but know anytime me or my brother (who's disabled) has asked murphy or any other Donegal players to sign something have been told to get them at the team bus where they have always obliged in signing jerseys etc and standing for photos
Post by: From the Bunker on March 24, 2013, 06:35:37 PM
Would not go hard on Murphy. It's the middle of Spring after a hard away league Match that he just lost. I'd say he just wanted to get off the pitch. Besides it was a Mayo supporter and maybe he thought they were taking the piss!
Post by: 118cmal on March 24, 2013, 06:55:24 PM
Jim McGuinness has implemented a no-signing policy for the players.
Post by: emmetryan on March 24, 2013, 06:56:25 PM
Hi guys,

Tactical analysis of Mayo's win over Donegal up here http://action81.com/blog/?p=7017

Thanks,
Emmet
Post by: From the Bunker on March 24, 2013, 07:07:54 PM
Quote from: 118cmal on March 24, 2013, 06:55:24 PM

That's a bit rough! I know the circus of signing Jerseys, programs etc can be an almighty pain for inter-county players. But it is a great lift to youngsters who see these as massive stars! What will managers ban next, goal/point celebrations, hand shakes between opposing players before/after games, etc
Post by: muppet on March 24, 2013, 07:13:20 PM

He is afraid someone will accidentally sign a contract for a book.
Post by: RMDrive on March 24, 2013, 07:17:45 PM

Source?
Post by: J70 on March 24, 2013, 07:29:18 PM
Quote from: donegal lad on March 24, 2013, 06:25:36 PM
Quote from: Zulu on March 24, 2013, 05:59:53 PM
Not sure if it's a policy but know anytime me or my brother (who's disabled) has asked murphy or any other Donegal players to sign something have been told to get them at the team bus where they have always obliged in signing jerseys etc and standing for photos

The nasty, autocratic, dictatorial, control freak McGuinness banning it makes for a better story!

Any word on Neil McGee?
Post by: ross4life on March 24, 2013, 07:34:45 PM
I watched the 1st half of this game in the Hyde park clubhouse. TBH it was low quality stuff up there with div 3 games i have watched all year, was it any better in the 2nd half?. Anyways a good win for Mayo looks like semi final is still possible with a win over Cork.
Post by: highorlow on March 24, 2013, 07:43:49 PM
QuoteHaven't a clue, only posted what a guy on twitter claimed. If it isn't a policy why in the world did Murphy not sign the jersey?

If he is a left hander it's probably because of that bandage type of thing he was wearing on his hand?

In relation to the game the soft looking pitch didn't help how it looked. Far from putrid I thought it was a fine spectacle of defensive play and our lads finally got tactics right in a match.

Murphy and McFadden were kept out of the game for most parts and that along with finally taking a goal chance was the winning of the game.
Post by: theticklemister on March 24, 2013, 07:56:28 PM
Quote from: emmetryan on March 24, 2013, 06:56:25 PM
Hi guys,

Tactical analysis of Mayo's win over Donegal up here http://action81.com/blog/?p=7017

Thanks,
Emmet

Je ye have yer work would be cut out for ye there Emmett!!!
Post by: sans pessimism on March 24, 2013, 08:01:08 PM

no need for that.
and you are/will be sick after aatan that McDonald shite!
Post by: muppet on March 24, 2013, 08:06:53 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on March 24, 2013, 08:01:08 PM

no need for that.

Soon Ballina will have its own McDonalds so no need to fly to Florida for a Big Mac.
Post by: theticklemister on March 24, 2013, 08:11:13 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 24, 2013, 08:06:53 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on March 24, 2013, 08:01:08 PM

no need for that.

Soon Ballina will have its own McDonalds so no need to fly to Florida for a Big Mac.

Not a chance, this is............

(http://cache.tcm.ie/media/images/a/Abrakebabra.jpg)

....................  country
Post by: donegal lad on March 24, 2013, 08:56:20 PM
What's your source for this comment better b a good one as know jim and the players were great with supporters last year and in the run up to the final
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 24, 2013, 09:00:57 PM
Left McHale Park happy to get the win today, thankfully Donegal's forwards were more clueless than ours. It was a very good defensive display by Mayo who tackled and pressurised the DL forwards into making the silly passes. Barry Moran had his best game yet in a Mayo shirt, and Séamus O Shea wasn't far behind in terms of man of the match stakes. The amount of ball that was given away (I prefer that to the word turnover) by both teams left me wondering if these two teams really aspire to greater things later in the year at all. I know it's only March but the championship campaigns begin in 8 weeks for us and 9 for Donegal, so you'd imagine the forwards would be trying to do the best in terms of staking places for teams.

As regards the permutations and combinations, the Mayo team simply have to treat each game from now on with a winning attitude and mentality and let's see how far it can get us. It would be nice to beat Cork the next day out.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 24, 2013, 10:14:47 PM
A welcome rare win against Donegal in League/Championship. Today we looked a bit more like the Mayo of last year! Hard to know what value to put on the win. Donegal looked a bit rudderless. They are probably still working their way back to competitiveness, as they ignored the McKenna Cup and strolled into the League Campaign. The big question for McGuinness, is can he get this team back up to the intensity of last year.

For us today papers over the cracks for the moment. The Cork result today was a bit unexpected, I thought they would beat Kerry and be safely into a League SF. Now we are left with an away game that they have to get something out of. I wonder do Cork have the stomach to go for 4 in a row leagues. Winning the league the last couple of seasons did them no favours come championship. GAA values are strange, Cork could win their 4th League title in a row this year and they would get little or no credit for it. In fact there would be solid GAA fans that would hardly know they are going for 4 in a row.

At the beginning of the League, i expected Down and Kildare to go down. Credit to Kildare they have proven me wrong and with a bit of luck they could claim much needed silverware even before the championship starts. So down are as good as gone and it's between ourselves, Donegal and Kerry who goes down. I'd marginally go for Donegal to oin Down, although they will be up for it v Dublin next weekend!
Post by: God14 on March 25, 2013, 12:06:48 PM
Very suprised that Paddy McBrearty again playedteh full 70 mins yesterday. Jim not really supporting the U21s escpecially with them having a big semi final match v Derry on Wednesday evening.

Although when you consider that Ryan Bradley having been subbed after having an off day, was reintroduced as a sub for Neil McGee makes you ask questions of the strength in depth of Donegals panel.

Also a few stats worth noting (Courtesy of Gaelic Life)...
Donegal have used 24 players in NFL, Ulster's lowest.
Average sub rate is 3.5  again Ulster's lowest.

Last year Donegal had everyone fit, it makes you wonder if they picked up 3 or 4 injuries where would they be?
Post by: theticklemister on March 25, 2013, 12:12:50 PM
Ross wherity also came on and got called off also
Post by: J70 on March 25, 2013, 01:01:43 PM
We'd everyone fit by August last year. As for missing players, it depends who. Lose Murphy, Lacey, McFadden and Neil McGee, and yes, we'd be in bother, as would almost every other county.

On the league panels, what are the other stats? Is a 24 player rotation much lower than usual? What's the average? Of those other counties, how many of these reams of players will feature come championship time? Donegal have a very settled team, although they've coped well with losing Murphy and Gallagher to injury at various times and Cassidy and Hegarty from the panel.
Post by: sans pessimism on March 25, 2013, 01:31:34 PM
McGee's injury yday looked serious enough.any news on him
Post by: J70 on March 25, 2013, 01:46:46 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on March 25, 2013, 01:31:34 PM
McGee's injury yday looked serious enough.any news on him

Apparently dislocated the kneecap, but it slipped back into place after the game.

I've no idea what damage was done or how long he'll be put.
Post by: rosnarun on March 25, 2013, 02:05:13 PM
Disgracefull behaviour by one of the donegal backs yesterday When he gouged and then stood on the Arm of a Mayo player .Video seriously needs to be looked at by the Powers that be.
Duffy was so busy Giving frees for feck all he missed the major act of foul play.
Post by: cadence on March 25, 2013, 03:29:56 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 25, 2013, 02:05:13 PM
Disgracefull behaviour by one of the donegal backs yesterday When he gouged and then stood on the Arm of a Mayo player .Video seriously needs to be looked at by the Powers that be.
Duffy was so busy Giving frees for feck all he missed the major act of foul play.

ref didn't have a good game. every time i watch a game he refs he blows away all day for nothing and then does nothing about the bad fouls. he's consistent i'll give him that.
Post by: Crete Boom on March 25, 2013, 03:34:35 PM
Quote from: cadence on March 25, 2013, 03:29:56 PM

ref didn't have a good game. every time i watch a game he refs he blows away all day for nothing and then does nothing about the bad fouls. he's consistent i'll give him that.

+1 Cadence then the players get frustrated in a stop start game and the inevitable few bad fouls start coming with a couple of players getting the line (only after a good few bad challenges are let go). Myself I don't see the black card rule improving the standard of referee's anytime soon!
Post by: cadence on March 25, 2013, 04:00:01 PM
just re where donegal are atm. if ever there was a good defeat to have it was this one. to be beaten, and beaten well by mayo, who seemed to be relishing a bit of slagging going into the final minute or so, and why shouldn't they, is a good thing. yesterday shouldn't hurt us at all, we're not as good as mayo, and a few others atm. we should accept that. what yesterday has done is highlight again to the players, if that was ever needed becasue they know themselves, what areas need working on. we've been poor to a man going forward, repeatedly making bad decisions with the ball. it's one more step towards tyrone and if we sort out our attacks by then, which i'd expect us to, we'll be a handful for them.   
Post by: cadence on March 25, 2013, 04:39:00 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on March 25, 2013, 03:34:35 PM
Quote from: cadence on March 25, 2013, 03:29:56 PM

+1 Cadence then the players get frustrated in a stop start game and the inevitable few bad fouls start coming with a couple of players getting the line (only after a good few bad challenges are let go). Myself I don't see the black card rule improving the standard of referee's anytime soon!

agree 100%. not condoning malicious or dangerous play, but jsut becasue a ref is blowing up for fouls doesn't mean he has the players under control. if a ref is having a bad game and blowing up left right and centre you know he has lost control and you can get up to all sorts then. it descends into a bit of a free for all and you need the wing mirrors on because some lads have the mentality of getting before they get got themselves. a ref who blows for all the wee things they can let go, or blows for nothing at all, is a ref that isn't assured. you can see that when they bottle the big calls and give nothing.

the black card makes sense if it allows the ref to issue something for the niggly tactical fouls and leaves the yellow and red for the more dangerous stuff. maybe there should be two refs at inter county level.
Post by: Club Rossa on March 25, 2013, 04:40:18 PM
Donegal players were signing autographs after the league game with Tyrone,so talk of a no signing policy isn't right.
Post by: tyronepaddy on March 25, 2013, 04:56:10 PM
Did anyone catch Mickey Murphy Smiling at the wee girl from Mayo after the game and patting her on the head?You wouldn't get that in a soccer match
Post by: From the Bunker on March 25, 2013, 05:17:01 PM
Quote from: tyronepaddy on March 25, 2013, 04:56:10 PM
Did anyone catch Mickey Murphy Smiling at the wee girl from Mayo after the game and patting her on the head?You wouldn't get that in a soccer match

Read back a few pages and you will get the sub-plot. He would not sign an Autograph for her! Not so romantic now!
You wouldn't get that at a soccer match either.

Jez, i hate this old school of people putting a rival sport down.  >:(

Footnote: I don't hold any malice toward Murphy for not giving the kid an autograph.
Post by: J70 on March 25, 2013, 05:53:53 PM
It's good of you not to hold malice, especially when all there is to go on is some allegation on Twitter!
Post by: rosnarun on March 25, 2013, 06:39:06 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 25, 2013, 05:53:53 PM
It's good of you not to hold malice, especially when all there is to go on is some allegation on Twitter!
if he didnt want to sign it fair enough but the evidense is from TV not Twitter. He  was friendly towards her and possibly even explianed why . he  probably didnt want to get caught up for a 15 mins signing autograpghs with Jimmy waiting to tear the team a new one.
But dont put what people saw with their own eyes down as a malious Twitter rumour
Post by: J70 on March 25, 2013, 07:45:32 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 25, 2013, 06:39:06 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 25, 2013, 05:53:53 PM
if he didnt want to sign it fair enough but the evidense is from TV not Twitter. He  was friendly towards her and possibly even explianed why . he  probably didnt want to get caught up for a 15 mins signing autograpghs with Jimmy waiting to tear the team a new one.
But dont put what people saw with their own eyes down as a malious Twitter rumour

I didn't realize it s shown on tv, so apologies to From The Bunker as he didn't condemn Murphy. It was reported here yesterday based on a Twitter posting and the baseless drawing of conclusions and subsequent judging that goes on here at times when players aren't here to defend themselves shouldn't be tolerated.

Post by: From the Bunker on March 25, 2013, 07:55:14 PM
Definitely not putting Murphy down J70. He had just lost a game in a away venue. A young one came up and asked for an Autograph in a Mayo Jersey. And really all he wanted was to do was get off the pitch. He looked to shrug her off politely. There are times you can just say 'no, sorry!'. No big deal!
Post by: Jinxy on March 25, 2013, 08:21:19 PM

What do you mean by this exactly?
I find when GAA people say the word 'gouging' it can mean anything from eye surgery to whisker-pulling.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 25, 2013, 08:28:16 PM
Didn't make the game yesterday but watched it on TG4. Not a great game, Mayo were poor and Donegal were worse - I would have put my shirt on McFadden scoring that free in the second half from the centre - the fecker wouldn't miss shots like that when we needed him to!!!  :o

Positives for Mayo:

- Midfield did well, Moran & O'Shea caught some great clean ball and worked hard
- McLoughlin played very well in parts, he's excellent when he runs at players and good to spot a pass
- Boyle & Higgins did well
- Barrett did well but I don't see him as a corner back
- Conroy & O'Connor were out in front a lot of the time
- Varley did well when he came on - always seems to be better coming off the bench than starting

Negatives:
- A lot of stray passes, not overly worried about this, it's early in the year yet
- AOS is wasted at CHF, worth presevering with this trial for the next game but can't see him there come championship
- No apparent strategy for the forward play, when Conroy / O'Connor won the ball, there was nobody coming at pace to take the pop pass - happened once in the second half and almost got through for a goal. Neither seemed to be willing to turn and take on his man.
- Missed two very good goal-scoring opportunities

Overall it was good to get the two points but the fact that Donegal were still in the game with 5 to go after playing so poorly says a lot. If Carolan hadn't robbed the ball inside our own rectangle leading up to the goal, we would have lost the game.

Post by: From the Bunker on March 25, 2013, 10:32:24 PM
Agree with most of what you say McD2! Two messy out of form teams arsing their way through the League. Games at this level and especially in the championship are about decision making and holding the head. AOS does not seem to be improving in the final ball department. Don't get me wrong, he's growing as a ball winner, a ball carrier, etc. But he still gets a bit blinkered running into the tackle. Barrett's no corner back, but he's solid and we'll need him come summer. O' Connor has taken the panic and squander out of free taking, only problem is he takes away from Jason Doherty's role who i felt got lost last week. Conroy as i expected is getting better this year, he came into the squad late last year, and his conditioning was off. Higgins at CHB? Those surging runs from deep are lethal, he has some pace. 

No real new players have been found, but Horan is in year three. He's not building, he fine tuning what he has. This is the group he will sink or swim with. If we don't get far in the AI series this year, i can see him leaving.
Post by: moysider on March 25, 2013, 10:40:34 PM

Watched that again. Minute 50.00 I make it?

Knees into the back of grounded player was not good. But he had no business putting his glove anywhere near McLoughlins eyes/face. While it might not be gouging and McLoughlin was not injured, it looked deliberate and it was nasty and might deserve a closer look.

I know Duffy has his critics and I ve been pissed by him several times, but in a ruck situation like that a ref cant see everything. I had to watch the video again to spot it and I ll have to look again to see the stand on the arm.
Post by: Mayo Mick on March 25, 2013, 11:28:46 PM
Overdue win and if we beat Cork as I expect we will then its most likely another semi-final for us. This win gives Horan a bit of headroom as he must have been feeling the pressure after the success of the 2 Ballina lads on Patricks day 

Think the Donegal bubble has burst and McGuiness will not be able to bluff his way to another AI. He psyched us all out last year but that only works once every 20 years.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 25, 2013, 11:35:51 PM
Quote from: Mayo Mick on March 25, 2013, 11:28:46 PM
Think the Donegal bubble has burst and McGuiness will not be able to bluff his way to another AI. He psyched us all out last year but that only works once every 20 years.

I'd take that!!
Post by: J70 on March 26, 2013, 12:39:44 AM
Quote from: Mayo Mick on March 25, 2013, 11:28:46 PM
Overdue win and if we beat Cork as I expect we will then its most likely another semi-final for us. This win gives Horan a bit of headroom as he must have been feeling the pressure after the success of the 2 Ballina lads on Patricks day 

Jaysus Mick, we haven't heard from you since you were boasting to all and sundry and predicting with 100% certainty an easy AI final win for Mayo!  ;D
Post by: maigheo on March 26, 2013, 01:36:01 AM
Jeez Mayo Mick, I know you are only stirring the sh-t but would you ever feck off back to the Hogan Stand  with your b.s..Mayo made alot of mistakes yesterday but for me it was all about getting the win and showing a bit of character against a tough Donegal  team.
Post by: cadence on March 26, 2013, 08:26:02 AM
mcgee not as badly injured as first feared thank ....

Post by: highorlow on March 26, 2013, 09:35:12 AM
Quotemcgee not as badly injured as first feared thank ....

That's good news. I thought for a while he was a pure hard nut as he didn't even need a stretcher to go off.
Post by: rosnarun on March 26, 2013, 09:59:46 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 25, 2013, 08:21:19 PM

What do you mean by this exactly?
I find when GAA people say the word 'gouging' it can mean anything from eye surgery to whisker-pulling.
look at the video.  it was a gouge Alan Quinlan would be proud of .  A slap across the jaw or even a dangerously high tackle is often reactive . to to Finesse your fingers across some ones face takes a little more premeditation. Whether he found the eyes or not was not down to the lack of trying. the distinction has been done away with in the gougers games and now it all 'Interference with the facial Area'
Post by: rosnarun on March 26, 2013, 10:10:00 AM
QuoteNo real new players have been found, but Horan is in year three. He's not building, he fine tuning what he has. This is the group he will sink or swim with. If we don't get far in the AI series this year, i can see him leaving
think your being harsh on Carolan to say no new players
he has fitted in very well  and after the dublin Game has looked an intercounty player. how many more estemed former minors/u-21 have faile to make that step.
he may or may not start in summer but hes a great addition to the panel

Post by: Lar Naparka on March 26, 2013, 10:29:53 AM
Am I the only one who has anything positive to say about the game??
Given the absolutely cat conditions under which it was played, I think both sides deserve great credit for their effort and commitment to their cause.
It was an exciting game and the issue was in doubt up until the closing minutes. No doubt about it, each manager wanted a win and both showed more emotion than they normally do. Neither was there to make up numbers and the way both sides slogged it out is testament to this.
Sure, the game wasn't a classic but with ground conditions as bad as they were, it could have been a helluva of a lot worse.
I thought the ref didn't cope with the conditions as well as the players. I wouldn't say he was effin' useless but he didn't add to the occasion. His endless whistling for petty fouls was irritating and uncalled for.
I think his nitpicking led to frustration on the part of the players as there was little or no passages of continuous play so they seldom got the chance to warm up. Watching a replay of the game, I was struck by the fact that, while Marty was quite quick to blow up for transgressions while the players involved were on their feet, he was slow to intervene when a player in possession went to ground, surrounded by two more more of the opposition.
Maybe I am being unduly critical of the man but I felt he didn't add to the occasion.
Post by: Tubberman on March 26, 2013, 05:42:50 PM
Here's the eye gouging by Thompson on Kevin McLoughlin.
Not the clearest video, but it seems fairly clear what he was at

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lbJctgvtXg&feature=youtube_gdata_player (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lbJctgvtXg&feature=youtube_gdata_player)
Post by: Jinxy on March 26, 2013, 05:48:20 PM
First time I've seen it and it's not eye gouging for me.
If it was, Mcloughlin would have instinctively reacted in a very different way.
People really need to settle down.
Way too much heat and not enough light on the board nowadays.
Post by: J70 on March 26, 2013, 06:51:28 PM
Hardly conclusive!  I'd say its a better demonstration of a player using his knees to not-so-gently force the player on the ground to release the ball, something that never gets pulled up by refs. It looked to ne like he used the Mayo player's head to stop falling over, again while not exactly showing concern about whether he might hurt him. That shite, nasty or spiteful as it can be, is always going on.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 26, 2013, 07:46:12 PM
It's eye gouging, no question! Saw it in real time and commented on this board. Anyway can we move on from it! Nobody died and it's to early in the year for a witch hunt. Mayo got the two points, that all that mattered.
Post by: rosnarun on March 26, 2013, 10:39:01 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 26, 2013, 07:46:12 PM
It's eye gouging, no question! Saw it in real time and commented on this board. Anyway can we move on from it! Nobody died and it's to early in the year for a witch hunt. Mayo got the two points, that all that mattered.

don't waste your breath .
first of all it was a twitter fantasy now they wont believe there own eyes .
Whether this was technically  a gouge or a rake across the face or whatever term you choose it was thuggery and was followed up by standing on his arm.
it not acceptable at any time of the year and issue bans now and you'll have a better game come summer.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 27, 2013, 09:36:49 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 26, 2013, 05:42:50 PM
Here's the eye gouging by Thompson on Kevin McLoughlin.
Not the clearest video, but it seems fairly clear what he was at

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lbJctgvtXg&feature=youtube_gdata_player (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lbJctgvtXg&feature=youtube_gdata_player)

That's disgraceful, definite attempt at eye gouging, worse than spitting.
Post by: J70 on March 27, 2013, 12:33:16 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 26, 2013, 10:39:01 PM

Whether this was technically  a gouge or a rake across the face or whatever term you choose it was thuggery and was followed up by standing on his arm.
it not acceptable at any time of the year and issue bans now and you'll have a better game come summer.

Right, we must be deceiving ourselves because we don't draw the same definitive conclusion from a grainy video that you do.  :o

But if its that conclusive, then forward it to your favourite journo and let him take up the cause.

As for the "Twitter fantasy", the Murphy "incident" WAS  first reported here based on a tweet, so get your facts straight. 
Post by: rosnarun on March 27, 2013, 01:48:28 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 27, 2013, 12:33:16 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 26, 2013, 10:39:01 PM

Right, we must be deceiving ourselves because we don't draw the same definitive conclusion from a grainy video that you do.  :o

But if its that conclusive, then forward it to your favourite journo and let him take up the cause.

As for the "Twitter fantasy", the Murphy "incident" WAS  first reported here based on a tweet, so get your facts straight. 
Seriously is GAAboard your only outlet into the real world?
both incidents were clearly shown on TG4 live on air . not by some dubious youth armed with a Camera phone and photoshop.
There were several other possible sending off incidents such as high tackle footblocks ect but they can be excused as over enthusiasm but Gouging and stamping have no part in any sport
but play blind if you want . but these things have a habit of coming back to bite you in the arse
Post by: J70 on March 27, 2013, 01:57:19 PM
Sorry, but I don't get HD tv coverage of GAA in the US. And I have no recollection of accusing you or anyone else of doctoring footage.

If Thompson is as clearly guilty as you claim, he should of course be punished, as long as the GAA pursues every player doing sneaky, nasty shite on the field. Like I said before, journalists love this stuff. Get them on the case if its that clearcut.
Post by: rosnarun on March 27, 2013, 02:50:14 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 27, 2013, 01:57:19 PM
Sorry, but I don't get HD tv coverage of GAA in the US. And I have no recollection of accusing you or anyone else of doctoring footage.

If Thompson is as clearly guilty as you claim, he should of course be punished, as long as the GAA pursues every player doing sneaky, nasty shite on the field. Like I said before, journalists love this stuff. Get them on the case if its that clearcut.
so why doubt what obvious to those of us that were there saw it live and then saw it on TV afterwards .
I have no intrest in dragging anyones name though the mud and have not mentioned any names .  but cant see the point in THe GAA brining in more and more Rules when they dont utilize the ones that are already there
Post by: J70 on March 27, 2013, 03:10:39 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 27, 2013, 02:50:14 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 27, 2013, 01:57:19 PM

so why doubt what obvious to those of us that were there saw it live and then saw it on TV afterwards .
I have no intrest in dragging anyones name though the mud and have not mentioned any names .  but cant see the point in THe GAA brining in more and more Rules when they dont utilize the ones that are already there

Precisely because it is dragging someone's name through the mud (the video shows who) and, sorry, but I have no reason to just take the word of some anonymous poster on the internet and a.low quality you tube clip, which is what we were being condemned for questioning. If its clearly gouging in the decent recording, then that's different and I'd expect Thompson to be summoned and possibly disciplined. He would be in the summer, at least by the time The Sunday Game got done with it. But yes, I see that is part of your frustration that he isn't (so far) being called to task.
Post by: cadence on March 27, 2013, 08:51:05 PM
re the alleged gouging on the evidence so far... if thompson were to be summoned to offer up an account of his version of events, it's fairly obvious his version of what happened wouldn't be contradicted by the evidence so far. the evidence doesn't show that gouging took place, nor would it disprove what thompson would (presumably) argue.

let the player involved or the mayo camp, if they're aggrieved, make a complaint. it's telling that no one from the mayo camp has said anything about it. not a peep.

this board is hysterical in more ways than one sometimes.
Post by: rosnarun on March 28, 2013, 04:38:02 PM
the only reason a deal is being made of it is the 'hysterical ' refusal of some people to believe what they see and the splitting of hairs as to whether or not he actually managed to get his finger I the mayo mans eye or not .
Mayo got the points which is all they were looking for and have no interest in a player getting banned for the next match

did you see the clip clearly or are you another victim of poor TV reception that follow donegal people around the globe
Post by: J70 on March 28, 2013, 05:09:30 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 28, 2013, 04:38:02 PM

did you see the clip clearly or are you another victim of poor TV reception that follow donegal people around the globe

And you accuse others of being hysterical!  ;D
Post by: From the Bunker on March 28, 2013, 05:35:30 PM
Lads can ye move on from this. The incident happened in a League match, that nobody cares about now. Mayo got the badly needed points. There is not a hope in hell of anyone from Mayo reporting it as they have more important issues to deal with. I'm not happy with what happened, luckily McL did not get caught properly. So lets move on!
Post by: cadence on March 28, 2013, 06:14:56 PM
@ rosnarun... seriously, all i can see from the clips is that thompson stuck his hand in the lad's face and that's a foul. it's dangerous play, but not the level of skullduggery you're imagining. it has nothing to do with poor reception. the clip you've provided doesn't show anything other than thompson sticking his hand in the lad's face and pushing his face down.

if thompson has gouged, then he deserves to get a proportionate ban. but he shouldn't be judged to have done something as extreme as you're saying without clear and convincing evidence surely. i'm sorry, but the grainy youtube clip we see flashes what happened in an instant, from not a great angle to see what happened either, you don't see gouging, and it does not provide clear and convincing evidence. it's not a donegal thing, it's a burden of proof thing. nothing there.
Post by: sans pessimism on March 28, 2013, 11:19:02 PM
Cadence,Im with rosnarun on this one.I watched it on
Slow mo on tg4 coverage -guy knew what he was at .
Thats my one and only comment on the incident.
Post by: cadence on March 29, 2013, 09:44:13 AM
Quote from: sans pessimism on March 28, 2013, 11:19:02 PM

Well I haven't and I'm sceptical by nature. No disrespect, but until I see good quality footage, I won't be giving any weight to your opinion. Same as I wouldn't give any weight to someone who claims to have seen the slo mo better quality footage and states that he didn't do what's claimed. In each case, the evidence has to be presented before an assessment can be made.
Post by: BluestackBoy on March 29, 2013, 09:52:39 AM
Far from conclusive to my eyes.

Players reaction showed no contact was made with the eyes, Mayo authorities made no complaint & as for knowing what was in Thompson's mind, unless we have mindreaders on this site then thanks but no thanks.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 29, 2013, 11:48:54 AM
Mayo authorities never complain.. But it is a storm in a teacup. Mayo won, if we lost then there may be a different reaction.
Post by: cadence on March 29, 2013, 01:25:18 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 29, 2013, 11:48:54 AM
Mayo authorities never complain.. But it is a storm in a teacup. Mayo won, if we lost then there may be a different reaction.

yues are the hardy bucks!
Post by: muppet on March 30, 2013, 12:44:06 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 29, 2013, 11:48:54 AM

Ask Heffo!
Post by: Jinxy on March 30, 2013, 03:00:45 PM

Do people not understand by now that slow motion replays exaggerate your perception of intent?
The assumption is, "He had plenty of time to pull out/avoid him" etc.
It's SLOW motion!
Post by: sans pessimism on March 30, 2013, 03:40:24 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 30, 2013, 03:00:45 PM

[/b]Do people not understand by now that slow motion replays exaggerate your perception of intent?
The assumption is, "He had plenty of time to pull out/avoid him" etc.
It's SLOW motion!
F
thanks for ur expert opinion-now take
ur head outta slow mo a mhac
Post by: Jinxy on March 30, 2013, 04:54:34 PM
It's no different to the time Martin O'Connell stepped on Brian Doohers head.
In slow motion, it looked like he meant to do it.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 30, 2013, 08:16:40 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 30, 2013, 04:54:34 PM
It's no different to the time Martin O'Connell stepped on Brian Doohers head.
In slow motion, it looked like he meant to do it.

You know what Ross Carr said about MOC?

'Martin is a butcher by trade and he was good at it at half back too'
Post by: BartSimpson on March 30, 2013, 10:24:31 PM
Just saw that: Glenswilly defeated Buncrana in their opening league game on Good Friday by 0.15 to 2.04, Michael Murphy scoring all 15 points.

Dats amasing!
Post by: CorkMan on March 30, 2013, 11:46:55 PM
Quote from: BartSimpson on March 30, 2013, 10:24:31 PM
Just saw that: Glenswilly defeated Buncrana in their opening league game on Good Friday by 0.15 to 2.04, Michael Murphy scoring all 15 points.

Dats amasing!

He's some man, alright.
Post by: Zulu on March 30, 2013, 11:56:31 PM
Quote from: BartSimpson on March 30, 2013, 10:24:31 PM

Dats amasing!

Not sure that's true.
Post by: sans pessimism on March 31, 2013, 02:04:58 AM
And the last 3 posts have zilch to do with Mayo vs Dunnies.
Time to zip up this ol thread n move on to da rebels b'y!
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 31, 2013, 12:40:59 PM
I think you're right; this story has run its course. I think it's very significant that neither McLoughlin nor the Mayo management has made any sort of public statement on the matter.
ASAIK, there isn't any indication that anyone from the Mayo camp has spoken off the record on the matter either.
I certainly have my doubts after seeing the video clip but I wouldn't state with certainty that it was a deliberate eye-poking attempt either. I think Thompson is entitled to the benefit of the doubt but no more.
Time to shape up for the Langers and move on...