Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on December 05, 2012, 10:29:00 PM

Title: Stuart Hall...Its a lockup.
Post by: T Fearon on December 05, 2012, 10:29:00 PM
Must say he was the last one I would have expected to be involved in paedophilia
Title: Re: Stuart Hall...Its a lockup.
Post by: orangeman on December 05, 2012, 10:32:11 PM
He may get his joker out !
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 05, 2012, 10:33:36 PM
Got it out all to often by the sounds of it!
Post by: T Fearon on December 05, 2012, 10:34:10 PM
Think he should have kept his joker in!
Post by: All of a Sludden on December 05, 2012, 10:38:35 PM
It's A C**k Out.
Post by: T Fearon on December 05, 2012, 10:51:26 PM
V good :D
Post by: T Fearon on December 05, 2012, 11:25:39 PM
Jeux sans Y-Frontieres ;D
Post by: lawnseed on December 05, 2012, 11:28:20 PM
i used to think he was jimmy savile
Post by: All of a Sludden on December 05, 2012, 11:33:54 PM
Rohypnol - It's A Knockout.
Post by: AQMP on December 06, 2012, 09:13:06 AM
FFS, for those of us of, as the French would say, "a certain age" and for whom nostalgia isn't quite what it used to be, this is terrible.  First of all the 1970s TOTP are taken off the air due to appearances by Savile, DLT and Gary Glitter, now there's no hope of re-runs of It's a Knock Out. >:(  Which makes me think, why exactly was he known as "Uncle" Eddie Waring??
Post by: Main Street on December 06, 2012, 10:56:24 AM
Quote from: AQMP on December 06, 2012, 09:13:06 AM
FFS, for those of us of, as the French would say, "a certain age" and for whom nostalgia isn't quite what it used to be, this is terrible.  First of all the 1970s TOTP are taken off the air due to appearances by Savile, DLT and Gary Glitter, now there's no hope of re-runs of It's a Knock Out. >:(  Which makes me think, why exactly was he known as "Uncle" Eddie Waring??
Maybe instead of looking for a fix, it's  time to deprogram yourself after decades of mass British 'cultural' exposure :)
Post by: AQMP on December 06, 2012, 11:24:22 AM
Quote from: Main Street on December 06, 2012, 10:56:24 AM
Quote from: AQMP on December 06, 2012, 09:13:06 AM
Maybe instead of looking for a fix, it's  time to deprogram yourself after decades of mass British 'cultural' exposure :)

Too late, my brain is like porridge.  Actually where I lived it was virtually impossible to receive RTE television until the early 80s.  Though musically I was heavily influenced by Larry Gogan...hmmm...you're right, I do need re-programming ;)
Post by: Orior on December 06, 2012, 12:16:57 PM
Up until yesterday, did Stuart not provide commentary on premiership soccer matches North West England?

His round up of the matches would be sound like something out of Shakespeare
Post by: Cold tea on December 06, 2012, 12:20:59 PM
You have to love this board, so called adults getting a kick making jokes about pure evil tramps using their positions within the community to rape and abuse children, sure as long as you can have a laugh about it!!   :-[
Post by: T Fearon on December 06, 2012, 12:30:02 PM
Orior, you're right. He would have described an Everton V Leeds clash for example as a modern day War of the Roses absorbing all of the residents on both sides of the Penines, and always managed to insert something from England's glorious/inglorious literary or historical heritage into the most mundane of football games.

The charitable side of me thinks that having spent years reporting on the likes of Preston, Bury, Oldham etc, he has perhaps suffered enough (though not in any way wishing to trivialise his alleged crimes of course)
Post by: BennyCake on December 06, 2012, 12:30:26 PM
Stuart Hall eh? Who would have thunk it?

Next thing we'll be hearing they've lifted Captain Birdseye.
Post by: Cold tea on December 06, 2012, 12:31:06 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 06, 2012, 12:30:02 PM
Orior, you're right. He would have described an Everton V Leeds clash for example as a modern day War of the Roses absorbing all of the residents on both sides of the Penines, and always managed to insert something from England's glorious/inglorious literary or historical heritage into the most mundane of football games.

The charitable side of me thinks that having spent years reporting on the likes of Preston, Bury, Oldham etc, he has perhaps suffered enough (though not in any way wishing to trivialise his alleged crimes of course)

FFS, you have done that throughout this thread!
Post by: AQMP on December 06, 2012, 12:31:34 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 06, 2012, 12:16:57 PM
Up until yesterday, did Stuart not provide commentary on premiership soccer matches North West England?

His round up of the matches would be sound like something out of Shakespeare

I think he was reporting on the Liverpool v Southampton game last Saturday for Radio 5Live
Post by: AQMP on December 06, 2012, 01:27:24 PM
Max Clifford lifted.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 06, 2012, 01:39:28 PM
Max Ffing Clifford? Jaysus. This appears to have been endemic.
Post by: orangeman on December 06, 2012, 01:40:54 PM
He'll do well to use his publicist skills now.

PR consultant Max Clifford has been arrested by detectives investigating the Jimmy Savile sex abuse scandal.

The publicist was held at his Surrey home at 7.40am on suspicion of sexual offences and taken to a central London police station for questioning, a source confirmed.

Post by: Minder on December 06, 2012, 01:47:07 PM
Saw this on Twitter -

Maybe Max Clifford is doing all of this to keep Stuart Hall out of the papers? It's his  Platinum service.

Post by: Main Street on December 06, 2012, 03:11:14 PM
What is the actual difference between an arrest and an interview?

Max may just be in a position whereby he has information about celebrities who have contacted him in a state of panic after the Saville hit the fan.
Post by: NAG1 on December 06, 2012, 03:18:20 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 06, 2012, 03:11:14 PM
What is the actual difference between an arrest and an interview?

Max may just be in a position whereby he has information about celebrities who have contacted him in a state of panic after the Saville hit the fan.

He has been arrested with a view to being questioned himself, so that anything he says can be used in a case against him. Nothing to do with anyone he may have been in contact with.
Post by: red hander on December 06, 2012, 03:27:59 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 06, 2012, 12:30:26 PM

Or R*** ******
Post by: orangeman on December 06, 2012, 04:00:53 PM
Quote from: red hander on December 06, 2012, 03:27:59 PM

Or R*** ******

What was that big long thing he got people to blow into ?

Post by: BennyCake on December 06, 2012, 04:05:42 PM

Or R*** ******

Ah no, surely not R*** ******?!!
Post by: deiseach on December 06, 2012, 04:08:37 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 06, 2012, 04:00:53 PM

Or R*** ******

What was that big long thing he got people to blow into ?

He's admitted to tying down helpless creatures in the past, the filthy hoor.
Post by: Orior on December 06, 2012, 04:23:49 PM
Okay, I have no clue.

Who is R?
Post by: Hardy on December 06, 2012, 05:19:12 PM
I love it when I know something somebody else doesn't. It makes me feel do important and clever. So feck off, Orior, nobody's going to tell you.

Can you tell who it is yet?
Post by: Puckoon on December 06, 2012, 09:08:11 PM
Two little boys and two little toys.
Post by: nifan on December 06, 2012, 10:06:56 PM
feck sake lads there was a 9 year old allegedly abused here and its barely mentioned amongst the weak jokes.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 06, 2012, 10:28:34 PM
How on earth can these cases be proven one way or other after so long? Very unfair on the accused and it is obvious someone is feeding these stories to the press.
Post by: Minder on December 06, 2012, 10:51:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 06, 2012, 10:28:34 PM
How on earth can these cases be proven one way or other after so long? Very unfair on the accused and it is obvious someone is feeding these stories to the press.

Just this once you can rule Max Clifford out.
Post by: stew on December 06, 2012, 11:29:50 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on December 06, 2012, 12:20:59 PM
You have to love this board, so called adults getting a kick making jokes about pure evil tramps using their positions within the community to rape and abuse children, sure as long as you can have a laugh about it!!   :-[

Thinking the same thing myself, fcuk sake boys, that is poor form!
Post by: Main Street on December 06, 2012, 11:46:37 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 06, 2012, 10:28:34 PM
Hall is being charged with 3 offenses of indecent assault, which he denies.
I'd assume that one charge is very difficult to prove but with 3 charges coming from 3 different directions, would in theory support each other and greatly increase the chances of making them stick.  Evidence would presumably be added that in fact the victims did suffer a trauma at the time.
The point here is not so much to punish a wrongdoer, it is to finally offer some level of vindication to the victims and this is the process, time does not negate the necessity for that process. 

"The charges are that between 1 September 1974 and 31 December 1974 he indecently assaulted a woman who was then aged 16 or 17 years, that between 1 January 1983 and 31 December 1983 he indecently assaulted a girl then aged 8 or 9 years, and that between 1 July 1984 and 27 September 1984 he indecently assaulted a girl then aged 13 years. He has been bailed to appear at Preston magistrates court on 7 January 2013.
"This decision is made in accordance with the code for crown prosecutors and I have concluded that there is sufficient evidence for a realistic prospect of conviction and that it is in the public interest to prosecute this case."

Post by: Cold tea on December 07, 2012, 07:55:11 AM
Quote from: nifan on December 06, 2012, 10:06:56 PM
feck sake lads there was a 9 year old allegedly abused here and its barely mentioned amongst the weak jokes.

Spot on NIFAN - the jokes here are pathetic, children have been raped and abused yet the people on this board can only make crap jokes, they should be ashamed of themselves.  Such an horrific thing to happen to any child, but as long as the lads can have a laugh!  ::)
Post by: deiseach on December 07, 2012, 08:47:06 AM
Good to see the spirit of Helen Lovejoy is in robust health on this thread.
Post by: Cold tea on December 07, 2012, 09:33:54 AM
Quote from: deiseach on December 07, 2012, 08:47:06 AM
Good to see the spirit of Helen Lovejoy is in robust health on this thread.

Dickhead.  ::)
Post by: Main Street on December 07, 2012, 10:14:58 AM
Helen would never resort to such crude and abusive language.
Post by: ziggysego on December 07, 2012, 10:24:05 AM
Quote from: nifan on December 06, 2012, 10:06:56 PM

Spot on nifan. Perhaps that's why these celebs, priests, etc have been getting away with it for years. Rather than face the problem and deal with these evil criminals, most would rather turn and pretend it didn't happen by cracking a poorly taste joke.
Post by: deiseach on December 07, 2012, 10:31:44 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 07, 2012, 10:24:05 AM
Spot on nifan. Perhaps that's why these celebs, priests, etc have been getting away with it for years. Rather than face the problem and deal with these evil criminals, most would rather turn and pretend it didn't happen by cracking a poorly taste joke.

So let me get this straight. Making jokes today about events that happened decades ago allowed those events that happened decades to happen?
Post by: nifan on December 07, 2012, 10:38:43 AM
QuoteSo let me get this straight. Making jokes today about events that happened decades ago allowed those events that happened decades to happen?

I dont agree with that line of argument.
I did think there would be more substantive comment on the serious nature of the alleged crimes rather than an attempt at frankie boyle-esque humour by everyone.
Post by: Cold tea on December 07, 2012, 10:39:14 AM
No making jokes at the expense of children who were raped and abused is sick!
Post by: Main Street on December 07, 2012, 10:45:31 AM
Quote from: nifan on December 07, 2012, 10:38:43 AM
QuoteSo let me get this straight. Making jokes today about events that happened decades ago allowed those events that happened decades to happen?

I dont agree with that line of argument.
I did think there would be more substantive comment on the serious nature of the alleged crimes rather than an attempt at frankie boyle-esque humour by everyone.

Everyone??
Post by: AQMP on December 07, 2012, 10:46:43 AM
Quote from: deiseach on December 07, 2012, 10:31:44 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 07, 2012, 10:24:05 AM

So let me get this straight. Making jokes today about events that happened decades ago allowed those events that happened decades to happen?

I've just received my invite to Kilcoo GAC's annual fundraiser "A Night At The Racists".

That is a mildy amusing quip about a serious issue.  However it has not changed my views on what happened last Sunday nor IMHO does it attempt to sweep it under the carpet.  Similarly the Frankie Boyle tweet about an X Factor contestant "Christopher Maloney looks like the uncle who gets arrested when a child goes missing" in my view, doesn't suggest Mr Maloney is a child kidnapper nor does it trivialise the serious issue of child abduction.  It's a joke??
Post by: deiseach on December 07, 2012, 10:47:30 AM
Quote from: Cold tea on December 07, 2012, 10:39:14 AM

No, people are making jokes at the expense of Stuart Hall. Did you take the same amount of umbrage at every Michael Jackson joke that did the rounds?
Post by: deiseach on December 07, 2012, 10:50:30 AM
Quote from: AQMP on December 07, 2012, 10:46:43 AM
I've just received my invite to Kilcoo GAC's annual fundraiser "A Night At The Racists".

That is a mildy amusing quip about a serious issue.  However it has not changed my views on what happened last Sunday nor IMHO does it attempt to sweep it under the carpet.  Similarly the Frankie Boyle tweet about an X Factor contestant "Christopher Maloney looks like the uncle who get arrested when a child goes missing" in my view, doesn't suggest Mr Moloney is a child kidnapper nor does it trivialise the serious issue of child abduction.  It's a joke??

I just hope no-one on this thread ever sees The Producers.
Post by: Cold tea on December 07, 2012, 10:52:49 AM
Quote from: deiseach on December 07, 2012, 10:47:30 AM

No, people are making jokes at the expense of Stuart Hall. Did you take the same amount of umbrage at every Michael Jackson joke that did the rounds?

Grow up you p***k - It's a c**k out and hope he kept his joker in etc directly relate to this bastard abusing children.
Post by: deiseach on December 07, 2012, 10:55:35 AM
Quote from: Cold tea on December 07, 2012, 10:52:49 AM
Grow up you p***k - It's a c**k out and hope he kept his joker in etc directly relate to this b**tard abusing children.

As I said - don't ever watch The Producers.
Post by: Main Street on December 07, 2012, 10:56:22 AM
Is this another version of the 'Belfast Crazed Bigot' perhaps?
Or someone is trying to pull my leg, some perverse reverse Nordie humour?

Post by: Billys Boots on December 07, 2012, 11:30:33 AM
Quoteperverse reverse Nordie humour

Is there another kind?
Post by: AQMP on December 07, 2012, 11:34:09 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on December 07, 2012, 11:30:33 AM
Quoteperverse reverse Nordie humour

Is there another kind?

I've touted on you to Amazon.
Post by: Billys Boots on December 07, 2012, 11:38:35 AM
Thanks, I think.  :P
Post by: Main Street on December 07, 2012, 12:31:14 PM
Nordie                        "I've touted on you"
Southern Gentleman  "Thank you very much"
Post by: Billys Boots on December 07, 2012, 12:33:46 PM
Wow, a gentleman and a criminal in the same day - I must be the Raffles of Larryland!
Post by: thebigfella on December 07, 2012, 12:53:39 PM

Grow up you p***k - It's a c**k out and hope he kept his joker in etc directly relate to this b**tard abusing children.

Bit much, did Stuart Hall touch you up?
Post by: Cold tea on December 07, 2012, 01:58:44 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on December 07, 2012, 12:53:39 PM

Bit much, did Stuart Hall touch you up?

Another p***k!
Post by: Hardy on December 08, 2012, 10:46:38 AM
Quote from: deiseach on December 07, 2012, 10:50:30 AM
Quote from: AQMP on December 07, 2012, 10:46:43 AM

That is a mildy amusing quip about a serious issue.  However it has not changed my views on what happened last Sunday nor IMHO does it attempt to sweep it under the carpet.  Similarly the Frankie Boyle tweet about an X Factor contestant "Christopher Maloney looks like the uncle who get arrested when a child goes missing" in my view, doesn't suggest Mr Moloney is a child kidnapper nor does it trivialise the serious issue of child abduction.  It's a joke??

Perfect analogy. And an impressive sidestep of Godwin's law to pull it off.
Post by: deiseach on December 08, 2012, 04:04:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on December 08, 2012, 10:46:38 AM
Quote from: deiseach on December 07, 2012, 10:50:30 AM

Perfect analogy. And an impressive sidestep of Godwin's law to pull it off.

Don't be stupid, be a smarty, come and join the <censored>.
Post by: T Fearon on December 08, 2012, 08:57:48 PM
Who will have the privilege on Radio 5 tomorrow reporting on Spurs magnificent victory at Goodison?
Post by: tyssam5 on December 08, 2012, 09:20:18 PM

'it's a c**k out' is pretty good, thank for that one!
Post by: All of a Sludden on December 08, 2012, 11:56:01 PM
Luckily I didn't post the joke about Halls Soothers.  ;)
Post by: Minder on January 02, 2013, 06:21:55 PM
Jim Davidson arrested.
Post by: T Fearon on January 02, 2013, 06:26:13 PM
Has he been nicked,nicked?
Post by: Minder on March 29, 2013, 10:13:22 PM
Rolf Harris arrested
Post by: T Fearon on March 29, 2013, 10:33:23 PM
Don't tell me Rolf? Gives a whole new meaning to "Two little Boys!"

Post by: orangeman on March 29, 2013, 10:34:34 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 29, 2013, 10:13:22 PM
Rolf Harris arrested

Must have been a free for all. Immunity for all back then it seems.
Post by: Gaffer on March 29, 2013, 10:50:23 PM
UK media not reporting it for some reason!!!
Post by: Armaghgeddon on March 29, 2013, 11:17:29 PM
I am suspicious of Esther Rantzen.
Post by: Minder on March 29, 2013, 11:21:49 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on March 29, 2013, 10:50:23 PM

Leveson
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 30, 2013, 12:51:26 AM

They can't tell what it is yet?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2013, 01:18:49 AM
Just what was he doing with that kangaroo he had tied down, Sport?  :o
Post by: T Fearon on March 30, 2013, 09:22:20 AM
Can just picture (see what I did there!) Rolf sitting there sketching the detectives interviewing him!
Post by: AQMP on March 30, 2013, 10:10:31 AM
Quote from: Minder on March 29, 2013, 11:21:49 PM

Leveson

Quite possibly.  I don't think any of the mainstream media carried this story.
Post by: Hardy on March 30, 2013, 10:33:54 AM
Guess we'll see you in court, sport.
Guess we'll see you in court.
Post by: Main Street on March 30, 2013, 06:24:56 PM
Isn't this a re-arrest for Rolf? I think he was (at least) questioned last November.
He's out on bail according to aptly named, Kangaroo Court.
http://kangaroocourtofaustralia.com/2013/03/30/rolf-harris-arrested-in-uk-sex-scandal-police-investigation/ (http://kangaroocourtofaustralia.com/2013/03/30/rolf-harris-arrested-in-uk-sex-scandal-police-investigation/)
Post by: All of a Sludden on May 02, 2013, 01:16:09 PM
BBC broadcaster Stuart Hall has admitted 14 charges of indecently assaulting girls including one aged nine.

The 83-year-old of Wilmslow, Cheshire, pleaded guilty at Preston Crown Court to the offences, involving 13 victims, which occurred between 1967 and 1985.

Three charges of indecent assault and one of rape will lie on the court file.

His lawyer said Hall apologised to his victims and added: "He is all too aware that his disgrace is complete."

He has been bailed until sentencing on 17 June.

A BBC spokesperson said: "The BBC is appalled by the disgraceful actions of Stuart Hall and we would like to express our sympathy to his victims. We will continue to work with the police to assist them in this and any other inquiries they are making."

'Opportunistic predator'

Hall admitted the offences last month but they could not be revealed due to reporting restrictions.

Chief Crown Prosecutor for the North West, Nazir Afzal, described Hall as an "opportunistic predator".

He added: "We prosecuted Stuart Hall because the evidence of the victims clearly established a pattern of behaviour that was unlawful and for which no innocent explanation could be offered.

AdvertisementDCI Neil Esseen and Nazir Afzal from the CPS spoke outside the court

"His victims did not know each other and almost two decades separated the first and last assaults but almost all of the victims, including one who was only nine at the time of the assault, provided strikingly similar accounts.

"Whether in public or private, Hall would first approach under friendly pretences and then bide his time until the victim was isolated.

"I would like to thank the victims for having had the bravery to come forward. This case clearly shows that the victims of abuse will not be denied justice by the passage of time and abusers will be held to account."

Mr Afzal said the Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) would not be proceeding with the rape charge as the woman who made the allegation no longer wished to give evidence in light of the guilty pleas.

Football commentator

The court heard in the 1980s Hall molested a nine-year-old girl by putting his hand up her clothing.

Court Ten at Preston Crown Court was so packed for the short hearing, the police officers present had to sit on the jury bench.

Stuart Hall cut an elderly figure, allowed to sit alongside his barristers rather than being made to sit inside the dock.

He only spoke to confirm his details, and sat impassively during proceedings, as his lawyer told the court that Stuart Hall was sorry.

He also kissed a 13-year-old girl on the lips after he said to her: "People need to show thanks in other ways."

On another occasion in the 1970s he fondled the breast of a girl aged 16 or 17, the court was told.

Hall was initially arrested in December and made a statement labelling the claims "pernicious, callous, cruel and above all spurious".

He has been a familiar face and voice in British broadcasting for half a century, and was awarded an OBE in the 2012 New Year Honours.

The former It's A Knockout presenter was working as a football commentator on BBC Radio 5 Live and wrote a weekly sport column for the Radio Times magazine until his arrest.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-22379286
Post by: T Fearon on May 02, 2013, 03:36:29 PM
Is it too late to play the Joker?
Post by: Gaffer on May 06, 2013, 11:51:59 PM
Boom Boom it's Jimmy Tarbuck !!!!!
Post by: All of a Sludden on May 07, 2013, 02:58:54 PM
Jimmy Tarbuck could be getting that Live From Her Majesty's gig back sooner than he thought.
Post by: NAG1 on May 07, 2013, 03:11:06 PM
In all seriousness what was going on with these guys that they thought that they could get away with this type of behaviour?
Post by: 5 Sams on May 07, 2013, 03:11:53 PM
Who's next I wonder...they all seem to be getting picked off one by one???
Post by: Main Street on May 07, 2013, 03:18:31 PM
Eddy Shah, today is his day.

Eddy Shah had sex with schoolgirl, court told
Former newspaper proprietor, on trial at the Old Bailey, denies raping underage girl during the early 1990s

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2013/may/07/eddie-shah-court (http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2013/may/07/eddie-shah-court)
Post by: All of a Sludden on May 07, 2013, 03:22:51 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 07, 2013, 03:11:53 PM
Who's next I wonder...they all seem to be getting picked off one by one???

There have been a lot of rumours doing the rounds since the Savile story broke. I won't mention any names, but if you Play Your Cards Right, I am sure someone will give you a hint.
Post by: orangeman on May 07, 2013, 03:25:44 PM
Anything for a pair ?  Deballed hopefully.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 07, 2013, 03:26:40 PM
Will there be a Brucie bonus?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 07, 2013, 03:28:59 PM
Ah now - it's easy to start a rumour on any 'entertainer' over 70 and say he was at it.

FFS - they all couldn't have been.

I did hear Bob Monkhouse had a fondess for young rent boys but he's dead so it's safe from a libel point of view.
Post by: seafoid on May 07, 2013, 03:29:41 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on May 07, 2013, 03:11:06 PM
In all seriousness what was going on with these guys that they thought that they could get away with this type of behaviour?
The world was very different in the early 70s.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2013/may/06/in-defence-of-the-1970s

These men, born in the 1920s, were a product of more repressive times and they were taking advantage of the sexual revolution, regarding all younger women as easy meat for exploitation. The younger you were the more attractive and more powerless. Male predators could embarrass and bully you into believing that fending off unwanted advances was something your grandma had to do to protect a modesty and virginity now out of date.

These all-hands blokes of light entertainment, fumbling and groping and patting and nudging, standing too close, kissing on the lips instead of the cheek, fondling your knee under the table, or getting your back against the wall and lunging, did not decide of their own accord to stop. A decade which is now remembered for being the height of the sexual sleaze scandal in the BBC was also the one in which feminists began to ask whether liberation was worth being pawed at and thrust into without consent.
Post by: seafoid on May 07, 2013, 03:30:54 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 30, 2013, 10:33:54 AM
Guess we'll see you in court, sport.
Guess we'll see you in court.
so we tanned his hide when he was alive Clive
We tanned his hide when he was alive
That's his reputation in the shed, dead
That's his reputation in the shed.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 07, 2013, 07:54:09 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 07, 2013, 03:29:41 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on May 07, 2013, 03:11:06 PM
The world was very different in the early 70s.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2013/may/06/in-defence-of-the-1970s

These men, born in the 1920s, were a product of more repressive times and they were taking advantage of the sexual revolution, regarding all younger women as easy meat for exploitation. The younger you were the more attractive and more powerless. Male predators could embarrass and bully you into believing that fending off unwanted advances was something your grandma had to do to protect a modesty and virginity now out of date.

These all-hands blokes of light entertainment, fumbling and groping and patting and nudging, standing too close, kissing on the lips instead of the cheek, fondling your knee under the table, or getting your back against the wall and lunging, did not decide of their own accord to stop. A decade which is now remembered for being the height of the sexual sleaze scandal in the BBC was also the one in which feminists began to ask whether liberation was worth being pawed at and thrust into without consent.

All well and good Seafóid.....doesn't explain however why half of the perverts were interfering with wee boys.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 09, 2013, 11:32:00 PM
Old Alf Garnett was ahead of his time       http://youtu.be/-yv4Nmrwtg4
Post by: ONeill on May 09, 2013, 11:53:41 PM
I was think earlier - who would be the one celeb that, if he was accused of underage relations, would rock people's belief in good men?

Cliff Richard?
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 09, 2013, 11:59:03 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 09, 2013, 11:53:41 PM
I was think earlier - who would be the one celeb that, if he was accused of underage relations, would rock people's belief in good men?

Cliff Richard?
Daniel.
Post by: orangeman on May 10, 2013, 12:03:58 AM
Hugo
Post by: ranch on May 10, 2013, 12:17:09 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 09, 2013, 11:53:41 PM

Cliff Richard?

John Motson.
Michael Parkinson.
Des Lynam.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 10, 2013, 12:34:37 AM
Terry Wogan
Post by: BennyCake on May 10, 2013, 12:39:26 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 10, 2013, 12:34:37 AM
Terry Wogan

If that's his real name!
Post by: Hardy on May 10, 2013, 12:45:07 AM
Rolf Harris
Post by: ONeill on May 10, 2013, 12:56:50 AM
I met Rolf in the toilets at Dun Laoghaire harbour. Wasn't overly friendly.
Post by: Oraisteach on May 10, 2013, 05:09:59 AM
How old were you?
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 17, 2013, 01:19:15 PM
Hall was jailed today for 15 months. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-22932222
Post by: T Fearon on June 17, 2013, 07:04:25 PM
He's making a new series,It's a Breakout.
Title: DLT
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 15, 2013, 04:29:01 PM
And on it goes.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-23716575 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-23716575)

QuoteFormer BBC Radio 1 presenter Dave Lee Travis has been charged with 12 sexual offences, Scotland Yard has said.

The 68-year-old faces 11 counts of indecent assault and one of sexual assault and will appear before Westminster magistrates on 23 August.

Mr Travis, of Mentmore, Bucks, said he was "disappointed and surprised" to be charged and denied the claims.

The allegations date from 1977 to 2007 and relate to nine female complainants aged between 15 and 29 at the time.

Mr Travis was questioned by police as part of Operation Yewtree, an investigation into historical claims linked to the entertainment industry.

The probe was launched in the wake of revelations against ex-TV presenter and Radio 1 DJ Jimmy Savile.

The operation has three strands. One is looking specifically at the actions of Savile and the second strand concerns allegations of sexual offences against "Savile and others".

Mr Travis's arrest is understood to fall within a third strand, relating to alleged complaints against other people unconnected to the Savile investigation.

Mr Travis is best known for his 25-year stint on BBC Radio 1 which ended in 1993.

He also presented editions of Top of the Pops on BBC TV in the 1970s and 1980s.

Bail answered
Mr Travis was first arrested in November 2012 and released on bail. He was rearrested in March and questioned about further allegations.

His solicitor Martin Bale said the former DJ had answered bail at a police station in London and was informed that he was being charged.

In a statement, the Crown Prosecution Service said it had authorised police to charge Mr Travis.

It said he had been charged under his real name of David Patrick Griffin.

Alison Saunders, chief crown prosecutor for CPS London, said: "We have carefully considered the evidence gathered by the Metropolitan Police Service as part of Operation Yewtree.

"Having completed our review, we have concluded that there is sufficient evidence and it is in the public interest for Mr Griffin to be charged."

She said prosecutors had decided that no further action should be taken in relation to seven separate allegations.
Post by: orangeman on August 15, 2013, 05:32:23 PM
What does DLT stand for in that man's language ?
Post by: AQMP on August 29, 2013, 12:47:19 PM
Rolf Harris charged with 9 counts of indecent assault and 4 counts of making indecent images of a child.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/crime/10273482/Rolf-Harris-charged-with-indecent-assault-of-two-children.html
Post by: Orior on August 29, 2013, 03:27:06 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 15, 2013, 05:32:23 PM
What does DLT stand for in that man's language ?

One of his catch phrases was Dave Lee Travis coming at ye through the cornflakes
Post by: BennyCake on August 29, 2013, 06:28:25 PM
Rolf "Chopper" Harris - who would have thunk it?
Post by: seafoid on August 29, 2013, 07:26:20 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 29, 2013, 06:28:25 PM
Rolf "Chopper" Harris - who would have thunk it?
Tan me hide when my career is dead, Fred

It's great that they have nailed him while he's still alive.
Post by: T Fearon on August 29, 2013, 08:14:11 PM
What about the thousands of indecent images he made...with his paintbrush!
Post by: johnneycool on August 30, 2013, 11:18:41 AM
spot the cúnt

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/41775000/jpg/_41775366_queen416.jpg)
Post by: LeoMc on August 30, 2013, 03:26:08 PM
Quote from: AQMP on August 29, 2013, 12:47:19 PM
Rolf Harris charged with 9 counts of indecent assault and 4 counts of making indecent images of a child.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/crime/10273482/Rolf-Harris-charged-with-indecent-assault-of-two-children.html
I wonder what his fans in Brighton think now.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-22594336
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2013, 04:30:07 PM
Michael "Kevin Webster" Le Vell is a free man.
Post by: orangeman on September 10, 2013, 04:34:16 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 10, 2013, 04:30:07 PM

The face of one very relieved man.

(http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/69770000/jpg/_69770342_69770341.jpg)
Post by: seafoid on September 10, 2013, 05:04:47 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 10, 2013, 04:30:07 PM
It sounded like a stitch up. Surely there should be some sanction against fraudsters like this who use the threat of being known as a paedo to destroy careers. There was a case like this in Limerick recently as well.   
Post by: give her dixie on February 13, 2014, 02:29:17 PM
Dave Lee Travis has been cleared

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/uk/dj-dave-lee-travis-not-guilty-of-12-indecent-assault-charges-30007443.html
Post by: T Fearon on February 13, 2014, 03:52:29 PM
DLT should be rearrested and charged with membership of Laurie Lingo and the Dipsticks fpr the 1976 crime called "Convoy"
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 14, 2014, 10:33:22 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on February 13, 2014, 02:29:17 PM
Dave Lee Travis has been cleared

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/uk/dj-dave-lee-travis-not-guilty-of-12-indecent-assault-charges-30007443.html

It's a bit like the McCarthy witch-hunts of the 50's, desperate stuff. I'm not saying this stuff didn't happen but it basically throws a cloud over all that's happened
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2014, 10:37:00 AM
Yeah. This is a double edge dose of shitty. These people are not guilty and after getting absolutely trashed in the media, and now it will make it even more difficult for cases to be successfully prosecuted in the future. Victims will be reluctant to come forward, juries will be thinking that this could be another publicity driven case. Shit all round basically.
Post by: AQMP on February 14, 2014, 11:54:03 AM
The decision on whether to prosecute a case or not is usually based on whether there is a "reasonable prospect of a conviction".  According to my contacts in the legal fraternity this means more than a 50/50 chance.  Maybe with the Roache and DLT cases as precedents prosecutors might re-assess, with alleged offences happening a long time in the past and with no forensic, physical or witness  evidence (bar the alleged victim), whether the chances of a conviction are reasonable or not.

On a related note I see Freddie Starr was arrested again a few days ago.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 14, 2014, 11:57:20 AM
Quote from: AQMP on February 14, 2014, 11:54:03 AM
The decision on whether to prosecute a case or not is usually based on whether there is a "reasonable prospect of a conviction".  According to my contacts in the legal fraternity this means more than a 50/50 chance.  Maybe with the Roache and DLT cases as precedents prosecutors might re-assess, with alleged offences happening a long time in the past and with no forensic, physical or witness  evidence (bar the alleged victim), whether the chances of a conviction are reasonable or not.

On a related note I see Freddie Starr was arrested again a few days ago.

By the animal police for eating hamsters?
Post by: Gaffer on February 14, 2014, 11:21:20 PM
Is Rolf Harris next up for the circus?
Post by: under the bar on February 14, 2014, 11:36:51 PM
QuoteThe decision on whether to prosecute a case or not is usually based on whether there is a "reasonable prospect of a conviction". According to my contacts in the legal fraternity this means more than a 50/50 chance. 

Your contacts are probably referring to someone taking a civil case.  For a criminal prosecution the bar is a bit higher.. 80% at least.
Post by: Main Street on February 15, 2014, 07:16:53 PM
The thing is though, on the scale of sexual assaults, the allegations against DLT were mild compared to  say those that were made against Savile. Even if a jury could believe that DLT groped a woman's breasts 30 years ago,  I think it's past its court sell time date.

Here's one viewpoint from a qc and former director of public prosecutions, on the decision made to prosecute  --> that there's "a reasonable prospect of a conviction"
http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/feb/13/dave-lee-travis-william-roache-sex-cases (http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/feb/13/dave-lee-travis-william-roache-sex-cases)

"The fact that some people are convicted and others acquitted reminds us that the test for a prosecutor in determining whether to bring a case and the test for a jury in deciding whether to convict are fundamentally different. A prosecutor has the unenviable task of trying to assess without the benefit of testing the evidence whether there is a reasonable prospect of a conviction. The jury, with the benefit of testing the evidence and, often, of hearing from the defendant, has to be "sure" that the defendant is guilty. Applying these tests, it is inevitable in our legal system that some individuals may be quite properly charged and equally quite properly acquitted."
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2014, 10:27:18 AM
Max Clifford is in court this week.

It looks like they've made a very wee lad out of him.
Post by: All of a Sludden on May 02, 2014, 04:07:29 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 19, 2014, 10:27:18 AM
Max Clifford is in court this week.

It looks like they've made a very wee lad out of him.

PUBLICIST MAX CLIFFORD has been sentenced to eight years in prison after being found guilty of indecent assault.
The judge said that Clifford had shown no remorse at all for the crimes against the women and young girls he had assaulted, and said he held him largely responsible for the delay in victims coming forward.
The sentence was judged to be appropriate to the times when the crimes were carried out. Judge Anthony Leonard told the court that some of the assaults would be classified as rape under current legislation in England.
The judge ruled that the sentences are to be served consecutively. Clifford will serve a minimum of 4 years.
A jury at Southwark Crown Court in London found Clifford guilty on Monday of eight charges against women and girls as young as 15 between 1977 and 1984.
Arriving at the court today, Clifford refused to apologise to his victims. When asked if he had anything to say to them, he responded: "I stand by everything I've said in the past. Everything". Clifford had repeatedly claimed he was innocent.
Clifford was found guilty of four indecent assaults on one 15-year-old girl in 1977; two assaults on a 16/17-year-old girl between 1981 and 1983; one indecent assault on a 19-year-old woman between 1981 and 1982; and one indecent assault on an 18-year-old woman in 1984.
He was found not guilty of two further charges, while the jury was unable to reach a decision on a final charge involving a 14-year-old girl.
He had told the court that the claims were "a load of lies", describing his victims as "fantasists and opportunists".
The police investigation was launched in the wake of the Jimmy Savile scandal.
Post by: orangeman on May 02, 2014, 06:20:04 PM
No mercy the wee lad.
Post by: seafoid on May 10, 2014, 09:51:49 AM
Rolf Harris is on quite a shaky scraw

http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2014/may/09/rolf-harris-letter-alleged-sexual-assault-victims-father

Dear [the father],

Please forgive me for not writing sooner. You said in your letter to me that you never wanted to see me or hear from me again, but now [the alleged victim] says it's all right to write to you.

Since that trip up to Norfolk, I have been in a state of abject self loathing. How we delude ourselves.

I fondly imagined that everything that had taken place had progressed from a feeling of love and friendship – there was no rape, no physical forcing, brutality or beating that took place.

When I came to Norfolk, [the alleged victim] told me that she had always been terrified of me and went along with everything that I did out of fear of me.

I said 'Why did you never just say no?'. And [the alleged victim] said how could she say no to the great television star Rolf Harris.

Until she told me that, I had no idea that she was scared of me.

"She laughs in a bitter way and says I must have known that she has always been scared of me. I honestly didn't know.

[The alleged victim] keeps saying that this has all been going on since she was 13. She's told you that and you were justly horrified, and she keeps reiterating that to me, no matter what I said to the contrary.

She says admiring her and telling her she looked lovely in her bathing suit was just the same as physically molesting her. I didn't know. Nothing took place in a physical way until we had moved to Highlands. I think about 1983 or 84 was the first time.

I can pinpoint a date, 1986, because I remember I was in pantomime at Richmond.

When I see the misery I have caused [the alleged victim], I am sickened by myself. You can't go back and change things that you have done in this life – I wish to god I could.

When I came to Norfolk, spent that time with [the alleged victim] and realised the enormity of what I had done to [the alleged victim], and how I had affected her whole life, I begged her for forgiveness and she said 'I forgive you'.

Whether she really meant it or not, I don't know. I hope she did, but I fear she can never forgive me.

I find it hard to like myself in any way, shape or form. And as I do these Animal programmes, I see the unconditional love that dogs give to their owners and I wish I could start to love myself again.

If there is any way that I could atone for what I have done, I would willingly do it. If there is a way I can start to help [the alleged victim] to heal herself, I would willingly do it.

With your permission I'll phone you in a week to talk to you. If you hang up, I will understand, but I would like to talk to you to apologise for betraying your trust and for unwittingly so harming your darling [the alleged victim].

I know that what I did was wrong but we are, all of us, fallible and oh how I deluded myself. Please forgive me, love Rolf.

Please forgive me for what must have been the most insensitive thing in your eyes – sending the book for Christmas. Alwen [Harris's wife] knows nothing about all this – at the time – and rather than tell her I signed the book and wrote the platitudes with sinking heart.

Forgive me.

Post by: Gaffer on May 10, 2014, 09:10:28 PM
Looks like the father has not forgiven him !!!!
Post by: Main Street on May 10, 2014, 10:29:36 PM
God help the father that had to read that about his daughter when she was a young teenager, it's nauseating.

Post by: orangeman on June 30, 2014, 03:01:40 PM
Guilty as charged. Plenty of time to paint now for a while.
Post by: seafoid on June 30, 2014, 03:18:02 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 30, 2014, 03:01:40 PM
Guilty on 12/12. That's his reputation destroyed.
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 30, 2014, 03:18:11 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 30, 2014, 03:01:40 PM

Don't think this one is worth quite as much now.

(http://news.images.itv.com/image/file/103754/article_9315a5ea47823c87_1349961322_9j-4aaqsk.jpeg)
Post by: AZOffaly on June 30, 2014, 03:19:30 PM
Anyone see this Jimmy Savile interview from 1990? Very unsettling reading it now.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/it-was-a-relief-when-i-got-the-knighthoodbecause-it-gotme-off-the-hook-an-exclusive-interview-with-savile-from-1990-has-a-new-meaning-9571057.html
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 30, 2014, 04:09:00 PM
was thinking it weren't overly bad. until that last paragraph of the original interview. sick boyo
Post by: ONeill on June 30, 2014, 04:36:44 PM
That bit about his dead mother has sickening connotations now.
Post by: seafoid on June 30, 2014, 10:37:47 PM
http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2014/jun/30/rolf-harris-kids-can-say-no-film
Post by: Main Street on July 01, 2014, 10:24:54 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 30, 2014, 03:19:30 PM
Anyone see this Jimmy Savile interview from 1990? Very unsettling reading it now.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/it-was-a-relief-when-i-got-the-knighthoodbecause-it-gotme-off-the-hook-an-exclusive-interview-with-savile-from-1990-has-a-new-meaning-9571057.html
Some eerie psycho stuff in there alright.
I see the journalist actually didn't know that he liked little girls, but only repeated what she heard about him in the form of a question and was proud about putting that question out in print.  I'd say there was a bit more to it, not something she could hang her hat on at the time, she had inklings and something to do with his manner which made her feel disconcerted around him. His manner made her feel it appropriate to ask such a question.
She did  pick up on him equating sex with going to the toilet, a functional activity that one is compelled to do, but devoid of emotional connections.
Post by: deiseach on July 01, 2014, 11:32:13 AM
Private Eye have a recurring skit, a column from the pen of 'Dame Sylvie Krin' where they ridicule the great and the good in the style of a Mills & Boon writer. Way back in 1990 they had the hero Prince Charles - yes, you can laugh - recounting a meeting with a shell-suited, cigar-chomping 'guru'. He suggested to the guru that he may wish to meet his wife Diana. "Is that your daughter, your honour?", says the guru. No, replies Charles, it's my wife. "Oh no," says the guru, "too old, that's not Jim's thing at all." This was reproduced recently in their Eye Told You So section (they also told us that Andrew Wakefield was a hero taking on the evil medical establishment who were poisoning our kids with the MMR vaccine, but that's another story) and it shows how well known Savile's perversion was yet no one objected. The next time someone says we have lost all sense of morality, rub that in their smug face.
Post by: Main Street on July 01, 2014, 12:50:27 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 01, 2014, 11:32:13 AM
Private Eye have a recurring skit, a column from the pen of 'Dame Sylvie Krin' where they ridicule the great and the good in the style of a Mills & Boon writer. Way back in 1990 they had the hero Prince Charles - yes, you can laugh - recounting a meeting with a shell-suited, cigar-chomping 'guru'. He suggested to the guru that he may wish to meet his wife Diana. "Is that your daughter, your honour?", says the guru. No, replies Charles, it's my wife. "Oh no," says the guru, "too old, that's not Jim's thing at all." This was reproduced recently in their Eye Told You So section (they also told us that Andrew Wakefield was a hero taking on the evil medical establishment who were poisoning our kids with the MMR vaccine, but that's another story) and it shows how well known Savile's perversion was yet no one objected. The next time someone says we have lost all sense of morality, rub that in their smug face.
There is a difference between knowing something to be true and hearing rumours.
There is little or no evidence to suggest that Savile's perversions were widely known to be true. There were widespread rumours. But as that journalist wrote, nobody followed up with a complaint against Savile.

"Of course, I didn't know that he liked little girls – all I knew was that it was a very widespread rumour that had not yet appeared in print. I thought perhaps it would stir up some responses from his victims, but it didn't as far as I know, nor any response from Savile himself."
Post by: deiseach on July 01, 2014, 12:56:24 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 01, 2014, 12:50:27 PM
There is little or no evidence to suggest that Savile's perversions were widely known to be true. There were widespread rumours. But as that journalist wrote, nobody followed up with a complaint against Savile.

"Of course, I didn't know that he liked little girls – all I knew was that it was a very widespread rumour that had not yet appeared in print. I thought perhaps it would stir up some responses from his victims, but it didn't as far as I know, nor any response from Savile himself."

There's a difference, I agree. But this was a world where no one objected because they were afraid no one would believe them, and they'd have been right. In that respect, the world has moved on for the better.
Post by: Main Street on July 01, 2014, 04:36:43 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 01, 2014, 12:56:24 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 01, 2014, 12:50:27 PM

There's a difference, I agree. But this was a world where no one objected because they were afraid no one would believe them, and they'd have been right. In that respect, the world has moved on for the better.
Yes, but that goes to explain to a good extent why Savile's perversions weren't well known,
and those who did the covering up could manage to just keep enough lid on in that environment.
And probably most journalists who would have had an interest, had just heard rumours, no first hand evidence came their way.  And when it was the BBC who were managing the cover up, that lessened the odds of serious spillage.
When you think about it, that question the journalist nervously left in for Jimmy to answer certainly matched him for brazenness, in that 1990 interview and then she brazenly let it sit in the print edition for all to read.

Post by: seafoid on July 02, 2014, 08:54:53 AM
http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/jul/02/rolf-harris-pantomime-act

As director of public prosecutions, Keir Starmer did peerless, unprecedented work on how sexual assault and victimhood are perceived, and how the cases are treated in court. Twenty years ago, victims weren't heeded at all. Gradually, the criminal justice system started to support victims, but with that support came, Starmer told me just before he left his post, "a number of assumptions about what real victims do. A real victim goes straight to the police; a real victim will give the police a coherent and consistent account in chronological order; a real victim would never go back to the perpetrator; a real victim wouldn't dress in a particular way, or drink or take drugs. Over time, those tests or assumptions have, I think, ended up ringfencing some of the most vulnerable victims from criminal justice protection."

It is impossible to overstate the impact Starmer had on this terrain. Without his insistence that a crime is still a crime, irrespective of when it occurred, I wonder if the police would even have launched the Yewtree investigation. It was against a backdrop of a different Crown Prosecution Service, not some nebulous atmospheric change in the culture, that Harris was prosecuted.
Post by: ziggysego on July 04, 2014, 03:40:37 PM
Rolf Harris gets 5 years and 9 months. Not long enough, far too late. He'll be out in half that time. At least he faced justice, unlike his good friend Jimmy Saville.
Post by: seafoid on July 04, 2014, 03:51:01 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 04, 2014, 03:40:37 PM
Rolf Harris gets 5 years and 9 months. Not long enough, far too late. He'll be out in half that time. At least he faced justice, unlike his good friend Jimmy Saville.
He's 84 though and his reputation is in bits.
I feel sorry for his daughter- she was in line for a jackpot on his death but now it'll be used to pay compensation
Post by: EC Unique on July 04, 2014, 04:01:14 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 04, 2014, 03:51:01 PM
I feel sorry for his daughter- she was in line for a jackpot on his death but now it'll be used to pay compensation

This will break him. I would not be surprised if he died in jail. I'm sure he was smart enough to have a fair bit of his estate signed over to her years ago to avoid inheritance tax. She will be ok that way.
Post by: ziggysego on July 04, 2014, 04:55:26 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 04, 2014, 03:51:01 PM

I couldn't give a f**k what age he is and as for his reputation, he hasn't shown any signs of remorse, so I doubt he cares about his reputation.
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2014, 09:43:08 AM
What's the story with the family standing by him?
Post by: Zip Code on July 05, 2014, 10:15:11 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 05, 2014, 09:43:08 AM

Cold hard cash i'd say - hopefully he gets a few accidental injuries in the clink, on a daily basis.
Post by: Main Street on July 05, 2014, 11:51:05 PM
Quote from: Zip Code on July 05, 2014, 10:15:11 PM

Cold hard cash i'd say - hopefully he gets a few accidental injuries in the clink, on a daily basis.
He'll be resident in the nonces wing.
Anyway, deprivation of liberty is punishment enough.
Post by: AQMP on July 06, 2014, 12:09:40 AM

PR

http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2014/jun/30/rolf-harris-family-show-unity

Post by: 5 Sams on July 06, 2014, 05:15:13 PM
Latest news is he interfered with Vanessa Feltz. He really was a sick fcuker :-\
Post by: EC Unique on July 06, 2014, 05:57:51 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 06, 2014, 05:15:13 PM
Latest news is he interfered with Vanessa Feltz. He really was a sick fcuker :-\

😷😷😷
Post by: Gaffer on July 06, 2014, 07:36:55 PM

Deserves a medal  for that!
Post by: seafoid on July 06, 2014, 08:17:20 PM
More stirring in the UK

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/jul/06/child-abuse-inquiries-widespread-cover-up
Post by: T Fearon on July 06, 2014, 08:19:19 PM
Interesting to see how this one plays out.Suspect one or two here in 6 counties will be sleeping uneasy in their beds
Post by: seafoid on July 06, 2014, 08:22:00 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 06, 2014, 08:19:19 PM
Interesting to see how this one plays out.Suspect one or two here in 6 counties will be sleeping uneasy in their beds

Cyril Smith probably had some helpers.
Post by: EC Unique on July 06, 2014, 09:11:59 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 06, 2014, 08:19:19 PM

A super injunction or 2 involved.
Post by: orangeman on July 06, 2014, 09:56:49 PM
Files lost on an "industrial scale".
Post by: T Fearon on July 06, 2014, 10:04:50 PM
At least one unionist MP now deceased was strongly suspected of closet homosexuality
Post by: orangeman on July 06, 2014, 10:07:13 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 06, 2014, 10:04:50 PM
At least one unionist MP now deceased was strongly suspected of closet homosexuality

He'll not be worried this evening about coming out.
Post by: ziggysego on July 06, 2014, 10:42:32 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 06, 2014, 10:04:50 PM

What's that to do with being a paedophile?
Post by: T Fearon on July 06, 2014, 10:53:40 PM
I remember a Tory with very close links to unionists here thirty odd years ago who was convicted of using rent boys
Post by: seafoid on July 07, 2014, 09:48:49 AM
http://www.theguardian.com/politics/blog/2014/jul/07/theresa-may-to-announce-inquiry-into-claims-child-sex-abuse-allegations-ignored-politics-live-blog

"We are going to get an inquiry into claims that Whitehall and other official bodies ignored claims about child sexual abuse in the past. It will cover how the Home Office, and other institutions, responded to allegations that were raised at the time, including those involving high-profile figures. Theresa May, the home secretary, will unveil the full details in a statement to the Commons this afternoon. But, in a statement, the Home Office has all but confirmed that a new inquiry will be ordered. This is from a Home Office spokesman.

The home secretary will make a statement in parliament this afternoon. It is right that the detail of her statement should wait until she speaks in the House of Commons, but her statement will address the two key public concerns. First, the Home Office's response in the 1980s to papers containing allegations of child abuse. And second, the wider issue of whether public bodies and other institutions have taken seriously their duty of care towards children

Theresa May's announcement will be a tad embarrassing for Francis Maude, the Cabinet Office minister. Yesterday, on Sky's Murnaghan programme, Maude specifically ruled out a general inquiry into child sexual abuse allegations.
Asked if there was a case for an overarching inquiry, Maude replied:
That could slow things down. The first thing to do on this front is simply to have the inquiry, the investigation that has been launched, that will be done very quickly and then let's see where that takes us. It may well be the answer then is to have a much broader inquiry but I think it is too soon to come to that conclusion.
In a separate interview on the Andrew Marr show (pdf), Michael Gove, the education secretary, categorically said there would not be a public inquiry into historic child abuse allegations. According to the BBC, May is not going to announce a public inquiry. But the wide-ranging inquiry she is going to announce may look rather similar."

The public has zero tolerance for child abuse. The situation might end up like this

http://www.theguardian.com/media/video/2011/jul/07/news-of-the-world-phone-hacking-nick-davies-rupert-murdoch-video

Post by: johnneycool on July 07, 2014, 10:30:56 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 06, 2014, 10:53:40 PM
I remember a Tory with very close links to unionists here thirty odd years ago who was convicted of using rent boys

Sure was there not a lot of youngsters abused in Kincora allegedly by senior cops, Army and politicians hence the ease of the cover up!!
Post by: EC Unique on July 07, 2014, 10:34:39 AM
Was there not chat about a certain mid Ulster unionist around the same time of the Iris affair?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 07, 2014, 10:35:30 AM
QuoteThe Conservative peer Lord Leon Brittan has been questioned by police about the alleged rape of a 19-year-old female student at his flat in 1967, the Independent on Sunday reports.
Brittan, currently at the centre of controversy over the missing paedophile dossier handed to him by the late Geoffrey Dickens MP, was interviewed under caution but not arrested. He denies the allegations.
The IB Times reported on the allegations in May 2014 but were unable to name the minister involved, now known to be Lord Brittan.
Police interviewed Brittan – who was made a peer in 2000 – at the offices of his lawyer, Mishcon De Reya, in London, last month. It is believed the detectives who interviewed Brittan are linked with Operation Fairbank, Scotland Yard's investigation into child abuse in Parliament.
A spokesman for the Metropolitan Police confirmed the interview had taken place: "The woman was over the age of 18 at the time of the incident. The allegation is being investigated by officers from the Sexual Offences, Exploitation and Child Abuse Command.
"In June 2014, a man aged in his seventies was interviewed under caution by appointment at a central London location in connection with the allegation. He was not arrested. Enquiries continue."
This interview with Lord Brittan has no connection to Operation Fernbridge, which is investigating claims of a network of powerful paedophiles, including politicians and celebrities in the 1980s, centring on Elm Guest House in Barnes, southwest London.
The Home Office has admitted that 114 files relating to child abuse have gone missing. Jimmy Savile and Cyril Smith are said to be mentioned in the dossier, handed to Britton in 1983. Britton claims to have passed them on to officials, but no action was taken.
Home Office permanent secretary Mark Sedwill says the files were "presumed destroyed, missing or not found,"
Over 130 MPs have now called for an investigation into why no action was taken at the time. Barry Dickens, the son of MP Geoffrey, who died in 1995, said his father would have been angry that no investigation had taken place after he personally handed the dossier to Brittan.
"I would like Lord Brittan to name the very next person he handed it on to,' Barry Dickens said. 'And where did it end up? There must have been a person who was the last to handle it.
"My father thought that the dossier at the time was the most powerful thing that had ever been produced, with the names that were involved and the power that they had."
Post by: passedit on July 07, 2014, 04:20:21 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 06, 2014, 06:53:48 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 06, 2014, 05:57:51 PM

😷😷😷
Two fcukin w**kers.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/vanessa-feltz-criticises-vile-reaction-to-rolf-harris-allegations-9589909.html (http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/vanessa-feltz-criticises-vile-reaction-to-rolf-harris-allegations-9589909.html)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 07, 2014, 08:56:52 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 07, 2014, 10:30:56 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 06, 2014, 10:53:40 PM

Sure was there not a lot of youngsters abused in Kincora allegedly by senior cops, Army and politicians hence the ease of the cover up!!

I can remember years ago a few of the village elders claiming that some politicians from Westminster were being flown into NI years ago to abuse children in care here, specifically Kincorra. Always thought they were just being anti-Brit...but looks like it could all finally come out in the wash.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 07, 2014, 11:09:59 PM
Just caught a bit of  Newsnight on the BBC. Some bigwigs in England will be shittin themselves tonight. One guy on was saying that some high profile politicians still around and even people connected to the Royal Family will be under scrutiny. Looks like this is real heavy stuff.
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2014, 10:16:35 AM
http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2014/jul/16/police-fear-overwhelmed-660-suspects-arrested-paedophilia
Post by: Geoff Tipps on August 14, 2014, 01:59:02 PM
Inevitable:
http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-28790718
Post by: bcarrier on August 14, 2014, 04:14:27 PM
Huge amount of stuff in public domain before today ...

http://www.scriptonitedaily.com/2013/12/18/uk-establishment-closes-ranks-as-organised-paedophile-network-leads-back-to-no-10/
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 14, 2014, 04:56:59 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on August 14, 2014, 04:14:27 PM
Huge amount of stuff in public domain before today ...

http://www.scriptonitedaily.com/2013/12/18/uk-establishment-closes-ranks-as-organised-paedophile-network-leads-back-to-no-10/

Crazy.
Post by: BennyCake on August 14, 2014, 06:22:26 PM
No doubt the Royals are in it up to their necks too, but unlikely that they'll ever be questioned.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 14, 2014, 06:35:53 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 14, 2014, 06:22:26 PM
No doubt the Royals are in it up to their necks too, but unlikely that they'll ever be questioned.

Meath?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 14, 2014, 06:40:23 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 14, 2014, 06:35:53 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 14, 2014, 06:22:26 PM

Meath?

Just Hardy
Post by: Hardy on August 14, 2014, 09:05:11 PM
Do you think that's funny?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 14, 2014, 09:33:21 PM
There seems to a lot of substance behind all these stories/accusations/rumours. Why is no one reporting them? Surely this is a once in a lifetime golden egg story for some fleet street journalist!? I know it goes ' all the way to he top' but surely there's someone brave enough? I hope all this comes out, every last bit of it. Will Thatcher be implicated? Royals? All roads seem to lead.....
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 14, 2014, 10:05:16 PM
What the f**k are the peelers going to find in Cliff Richard's flat about an alleged sexual assault 30 years ago?!  :-\
Post by: BennyHarp on August 14, 2014, 10:51:33 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 14, 2014, 10:05:16 PM
What the f**k are the peelers going to find in Cliff Richard's flat about an alleged sexual assault 30 years ago?!  :-\

I was thinking the same myself but I presume they must have been looking for some evidence that he was interested in boys of the age of the alledged victim like checking his computers for images etc. If he is innocent it's a bit harsh that this is played out in public already.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 14, 2014, 11:02:33 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 14, 2014, 10:51:33 PM

I was thinking the same myself but I presume they must have been looking for some evidence that he was interested in boys of the age of the alledged victim like checking his computers for images etc. If he is innocent it's a bit harsh that this is played out in public already.
He has accused the police of leaking the raid to the BBC as they were able to get a helicopter in the sky over his house before the police even entered the building.
Post by: orangeman on August 14, 2014, 11:29:59 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 14, 2014, 11:02:33 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 14, 2014, 10:51:33 PM

He has accused the police of leaking the raid to the BBC as they were able to get a helicopter in the sky over his house before the police even entered the building.

Mobile phone hackers still in circulation ?
Post by: bcarrier on August 15, 2014, 09:21:21 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on August 14, 2014, 09:33:21 PM
There seems to a lot of substance behind all these stories/accusations/rumours. Why is no one reporting them? Surely this is a once in a lifetime golden egg story for some fleet street journalist!? I know it goes ' all the way to he top' but surely there's someone brave enough? I hope all this comes out, every last bit of it. Will Thatcher be implicated? Royals? All roads seem to lead.....

Paul Foot had a go at it back in the day.

I'd be sure enough that MI5/MI6 and various other international spying organisations ( Russia/Israel etc.) knew about and used places like Elm Guest house and Kincora for their own purposes whether that be perversion or blackmail. They havent gone away either and the timing of all this could just be part of some other spy game.
Post by: T Fearon on September 23, 2014, 04:29:07 PM
DLT found guilty next.
Post by: seafoid on September 23, 2014, 05:04:17 PM

Bringing a case like this to court is serious and they have to be sure they have a reasonable chance of winning the case.
They had a lot of background on Rolf Harris that wasn't revealed to the jury, for example. 
They need to know if the target genuinely has a tendency to go for this sort of material or if the accusation is baseless as was the case with Michael Le Vell.   

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/rolf-harris-caught-33-child-3807271

Prosecutors had claimed that the 84-year-old had 33 such photographs in a much larger collection of thousands of adult pornographic images.
But Harris's legal team told Mr Justice Sweeney in previously unreportable legal argument that the models in the photographs were over 18, according to their identity documents provided by website bosses in the Ukraine.
They also maintained that the entertainer accidentally accessed the images when he clicked on links from mainstream porn sites.Prosecutors claimed he had looked at a site called "teeny tiny girlfriends" and accessed a picture of a girl who was "extremely young in appearance".
Harris also allegedly clicked on other words including "youngest teen porn", "my little nieces" and "young teen girls".
Post by: AQMP on September 26, 2014, 12:40:18 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 23, 2014, 04:29:07 PM
DLT found guilty next.

3 months suspended.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 16, 2014, 04:51:42 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B2NLgRTIQAEWIWV.jpg)

Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 21, 2014, 07:00:24 AM
Cosby looking guilty as hell in this post-interview chat in which he didn't seem to realise the microphones were still on and the camera still running:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RI6z97Efw3I (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RI6z97Efw3I)
Post by: seafoid on November 21, 2014, 03:29:20 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on November 21, 2014, 07:00:24 AM
Cosby looking guilty as hell in this post-interview chat in which he didn't seem to realise the microphones were still on and the camera still running:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RI6z97Efw3I (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RI6z97Efw3I)
All those untouchable alpha males getting caught out in old age reminded me of this video especially the end

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDT0xSsrVIg
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 03, 2015, 06:18:16 AM
Prince Andrew?!!  :o
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 03, 2015, 11:03:20 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 03, 2015, 06:18:16 AM

If this one plays out like the rest then there will be serious ramifications. The establishment is creaking at the minute. Let's hope the shit house collapses.
Post by: T Fearon on January 03, 2015, 04:46:11 PM
What has taken Koo Stark so long to come forward?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2015, 04:56:35 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 03, 2015, 11:03:20 AM

If this one plays out like the rest then there will be serious ramifications. The establishment is creaking at the minute. Let's hope the shit house collapses.

I don't think the accusations are against Prince Andrew?, but I wouldn't be surprised he was (and the rest) up to shite like that.

Makes you wonder (though I'm not sure it hasn't happened) why the stars in the states haven't been pulled up over there, they must have had the same 70/80's mind-set as their British counterparts, and all the groupies surely some of them should be coming out of the woodwork
Post by: heffo on January 03, 2015, 07:11:15 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2015, 04:56:35 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 03, 2015, 11:03:20 AM

I don't think the accusations are against Prince Andrew?, but I wouldn't be surprised he was (and the rest) up to shite like that.

Makes you wonder (though I'm not sure it hasn't happened) why the stars in the states haven't been pulled up over there, they must have had the same 70/80's mind-set as their British counterparts, and all the groupies surely some of them should be coming out of the woodwork

http://edition.cnn.com/2014/11/20/showbiz/bill-cosby-allegations-repercussions/