GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ck on September 18, 2012, 11:17:25 PM

Title: All Ireland tickets
Post by: ck on September 18, 2012, 11:17:25 PM
Anyone here with spare All Ireland tickets please pm me. I'm desperate.
Title: Re: All Ireland tickets
Post by: theticklemister on September 19, 2012, 12:23:28 AM
a boy who i know,a big celtic fan in fact, whose last donegal match was against Derry in the first round in 2008 in Ballbofey has got a ticket and he is heading down on a Friday and is making a whole weekend out of it.............................. just saying thats all.

w**ker
Post by: Syferus on September 19, 2012, 12:27:22 AM
Arrah if ye are throwing your hats in the ring I might as well. Surely having to live near Ballagh in the aftermath of a Mayo All-Ireland final is enough for someone to take pity on me and the oul' man?
Post by: ck on September 19, 2012, 12:42:57 AM
Just to rub salt in the wounds.. I know a Donegal man who got 8 Hogan stand tickets for him, his family and a few work colleagues. He's not a football fan, he's not a GAA man and his last Donegal game was the AIF in 1992. He got his tickets on both occasions through sponsors. Messed up or what!
Post by: Gaffer on September 19, 2012, 07:23:33 AM
It was the same panic last year with Dublin and Kerry. Tickets were like gold dust etc etc. Tickets will turn up. It happened with Tyrone on the three occasions.  Last year about 2pm  I saw a geezer standing outside Quinns with 5 tickets in his hand looking to shift and when I left his company after 10 minutes he had 4 left. I never heard of anyone going to Dublin for an AIF and failing to get a ticket.

Post by: cadence on September 19, 2012, 08:05:04 AM
lad i know offered to swap with someone who had two aif tickets for the same to all celtic's champions league home games... fella has sold aif tickets instead. 
Post by: prewtna on September 19, 2012, 10:24:09 AM
the whole system is a joke.

but it is being made worse by the Cairde MaighEo thing. i understand why the Co Board set it up and its probably not a terrible idea, but all its doing is reducing the allocation to the clubs by in excess of 1200.

our allocation is way down when compared to 2006 and being involved in allocating them among our club members is proving the most stressful thing i have done this year.

Its a shite job, a shite situation and a shite system.

i am a huge mayo fan, but i hope to god there isnt a replay - its not worth the hassle, stress, late nights and abuse. f**k me the abuse is chronic, all sorts of allegations of keeping huge bundles of tickets for ourselves - for feck sake - there isnt a huge bundle in the first place.

the GAA - i thank you for the worlds worst system of selling tickets to the years most important match. God almighty, there must be a better way of doing it than this.
Post by: cadence on September 19, 2012, 11:24:16 AM
still no ticket here, the quest continues. potential for people to get upset and fall out. celtic tickets lad has fallen out with the other lad who sold his aif tickets on. poor return for past favours as well being the argument. it's aif ticket rage! 
Post by: ck on September 19, 2012, 11:26:04 AM
Quote from: prewtna on September 19, 2012, 10:24:09 AM

but it is being made worse by the Cairde MaighEo thing. i understand why the Co Board set it up and its probably not a terrible idea, but all its doing is reducing the allocation to the clubs by in excess of 1200.

our allocation is way down when compared to 2006 and being involved in allocating them among our club members is proving the most stressful thing i have done this year.

i am a huge mayo fan, but i hope to god there isnt a replay - its not worth the hassle, stress, late nights and abuse. f**k me the abuse is chronic, all sorts of allegations of keeping huge bundles of tickets for ourselves - for feck sake - there isnt a huge bundle in the first place.

the GAA - i thank you for the worlds worst system of selling tickets to the years most important match. God almighty, there must be a better way of doing it than this.

If there is a replay then the counties will double there alloction as the chronies and club chairman who havent missed an AIF in 17 years usually t go to the replay. In saying that, I cant see a replay being needed. Donegal by 7 points
Post by: Crete Boom on September 19, 2012, 11:33:55 AM
Quote from: ck on September 19, 2012, 11:26:04 AM
Quote from: prewtna on September 19, 2012, 10:24:09 AM

If there is a replay then the counties will double there alloction as the chronies and club chairman who havent missed an AIF in 17 years usually t go to the replay. In saying that, I cant see a replay being needed. Donegal by 7 points

Probably should have kept that last prediction a little more subtle if you were looking for any charity from any Mayomen ;D. Good luck in your search as I'm in the same boat and I hope you get sorted. The Kilmacud sevens is always a good source as well if you can get to it.
Post by: Rossfan on September 19, 2012, 11:51:15 AM
Quote from: Syferus on September 19, 2012, 12:27:22 AM
Arrah if ye are throwing your hats in the ring I might as well. Surely having to live near Ballagh in the aftermath of a Mayo All-Ireland final is enough for someone to take pity on me and the oul' man?

If ye have any self respect as Ros fans ye'll keep a million miles away from this game and all associated rhubarbness  >:( >:( >:( >:(
I just hope we all keep our dignity on Monday night- if/when these bucks are trailing Sam through the sacred land for which so many Ros men have given their all - by ignoring the unholy procession.
Post by: Syferus on September 19, 2012, 12:58:00 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 19, 2012, 11:51:15 AM

If ye have any self respect as Ros fans ye'll keep a million miles away from this game and all associated rhubarbness  >:( >:( >:( >:(
I just hope we all keep our dignity on Monday night- if/when these bucks are trailing Sam through the sacred land for which so many Ros men have given their all - by ignoring the unholy procession.

The sad part is you're not even half joking.
Post by: ballymac on September 19, 2012, 01:02:52 PM
Something that those who are busy trying to get their hands on tickets won't appreciate, but the current system isn't that bad. The only thing that I would say is that the teams in the final should be given more of an initial allocation.

Look at how and where the GAA are trying to allocate the tickets to. This is the show piece that everyone wants to get to, and if you are a member of a club, and more so, an active member of that club, then you will probably be rewarded with a ticket. However, people who claim to be the county's best fan going with the family to every challenge game, NL ETC does not entitle you to a ticket. Is that fair? I'd say it is.

The county team is supported by the clubs of that county and the volunteers who support the clubs (coaches, committee members, sandwich makers etc ) should be given first refusal. The 'money men' will be looked after through sponsors 10yr tickets etc and the touts (no one should buy a ticket of a tout). The system works, everyone knows how the system works so work the system.
If I was a Donegal supporter I would be making my way to the local club and joining with a view to becoming an active member to ensure that I get my ticket for the coming all irelands that surely they are going to compete in.

You see if people do that the clubs will become stronger, better supported so that the county team can be supported and become stronger, and you think the current system is flawed, HQ DOESN'T.

That's only my opinion and is worth what you paid for it!  :D
Post by: Don Johnson on September 19, 2012, 01:16:06 PM
Did everyone see these tickets that have been sold for 460?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/x2-All-Ireland-Football-Final-Tickets-Donegal-v-Mayo-/170911639741?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item27cb20a8bd#ht_500wt_1203

When you could click on the pic one of them said Antrim Treasurer on the stub.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2012, 01:18:10 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on September 19, 2012, 01:16:06 PM

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/x2-All-Ireland-Football-Final-Tickets-Donegal-v-Mayo-/170911639741?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item27cb20a8bd#ht_500wt_1203

Antrim have cancelled those tickets, so they are worthless. See the other thread about the final.
Post by: Don Johnson on September 19, 2012, 01:20:45 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 19, 2012, 01:18:10 PM

Antrim have cancelled those tickets, so they are worthless. See the other thread about the final.

Ah hadn't seen it, must get a look.
Post by: mayo.mick on September 19, 2012, 01:25:56 PM
I'm a season ticket holder for the last 4 years, my 2 All Ireland Football Final tickets arrived in the post LAST FRIDAY MORNING Delighted.
Am also a member of local club (not involved day to day) did not go looking to club for ticket. The club decided not to include members that have season tickets in draw for tickets (which i totally agree with, and think is fair) A lot of lads not happy, and demanding tickets even though there're sorted, pure greed!
Post by: Capt Pat on September 19, 2012, 01:42:21 PM
You have no soul Ballymac. Nobody deserves the tickets more than those who go to every match to cheer on the team imho. They also put a lot of money and effort into supporting the team . This is their event too and they deserve recognition. Your all the dignitaries and sponsors deserve the ticket speech is very shallow.

HQ needs to distribute more tickets to the counties taking part to help alleviate this annual mess.

Quote from: ballymac on September 19, 2012, 01:02:52 PM
Something that those who are busy trying to get their hands on tickets won't appreciate, but the current system isn't that bad. The only thing that I would say is that the teams in the final should be given more of an initial allocation.

Look at how and where the GAA are trying to allocate the tickets to. This is the show piece that everyone wants to get to, and if you are a member of a club, and more so, an active member of that club, then you will probably be rewarded with a ticket. However, people who claim to be the county's best fan going with the family to every challenge game, NL ETC does not entitle you to a ticket. Is that fair? I'd say it is.

The county team is supported by the clubs of that county and the volunteers who support the clubs (coaches, committee members, sandwich makers etc ) should be given first refusal. The 'money men' will be looked after through sponsors 10yr tickets etc and the touts (no one should buy a ticket of a tout). The system works, everyone knows how the system works so work the system.
If I was a Donegal supporter I would be making my way to the local club and joining with a view to becoming an active member to ensure that I get my ticket for the coming all irelands that surely they are going to compete in.

You see if people do that the clubs will become stronger, better supported so that the county team can be supported and become stronger, and you think the current system is flawed, HQ DOESN'T.

That's only my opinion and is worth what you paid for it!  :D
Post by: J OGorman on September 19, 2012, 01:50:15 PM

unreal..get them cancelled Antrim CB !
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2012, 01:51:45 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on September 19, 2012, 01:50:15 PM

They are cancelled.
Post by: johnneycool on September 19, 2012, 02:02:48 PM
Good, that means that some greedy hoor who'd thought they'd make a bit of a killing has shelled out €160 for two meaningless pieces of paper.
Post by: J OGorman on September 19, 2012, 02:11:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 19, 2012, 01:51:45 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on September 19, 2012, 01:50:15 PM

They are cancelled.

excellent
Post by: culchie11 on September 19, 2012, 02:14:31 PM
Anyone on Antrim county management committee gets 4 tickets each! Yes each!

My club got 5 tickets in total!

Grassroots eh!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2012, 02:25:41 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 19, 2012, 02:02:48 PM
Good, that means that some greedy hoor who'd thought they'd make a bit of a killing has shelled out €160 for two meaningless pieces of paper.

Unless some other poor hoor has bought them off him at this stage and won't know he's screwed until he tries to get into Croker.
Post by: johnneycool on September 19, 2012, 02:39:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 19, 2012, 02:25:41 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 19, 2012, 02:02:48 PM

Unless some other poor hoor has bought them off him at this stage and won't know he's screwed until he tries to get into Croker.

Would they still be on ebay if they were bought?

Don't know enough about that ebay.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2012, 02:42:30 PM
No, but there's nothing on eBay to say they are cancelled I think? How would you know if you bought them?
Post by: johnneycool on September 19, 2012, 02:53:37 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 19, 2012, 02:42:30 PM
No, but there's nothing on eBay to say they are cancelled I think? How would you know if you bought them?

Sold at 11:48am so the buyer wouldn't know they were cancelled I suspect!

Post by: FermGael on September 19, 2012, 02:56:29 PM
The person who bid on them has zero feedback.
Good luck getting the money for them  ;) ;)
Post by: larry buaile on September 19, 2012, 02:59:04 PM
Check out the feedback on the bird selling them.

She has to feed her eBay habit somehow!
Post by: ballymac on September 19, 2012, 03:02:08 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on September 19, 2012, 01:42:21 PM
You have no soul Ballymac. Nobody deserves the tickets more than those who go to every match to cheer on the team imho. They also put a lot of money and effort into supporting the team . This is their event too and they deserve recognition. Your all the dignitaries and sponsors deserve the ticket speech is very shallow.

HQ needs to distribute more tickets to the counties taking part to help alleviate this annual mess.

I VE LOTS OF SOUL. Just because you follow the county team doesnt grant you a ticket, thats the system. Sorry if I mislead you ref sponsors and dignitaries, I didnt say they deserved the tickets, just they will be looked after, that's the way of the world. Some people give their time, some give their money and the rare few give both. All these people are catered for in this system. Its the system I 'm talking about and as I said if I were a Donegal supporter I would be working the system.

I agreed with you reference more initial allocation (check my quote) but I disagree with following county team entitles you to the same as the grass root club man. More often than not they are the one and the same but to those that do not support the club they should not be rewarded. This is the essence of the GAA. Its not a perfect world and not a perfect system, but everyone knows how it works and there is no sense griping about not getting a ticket if you are not a club member.
Post by: FermGael on September 19, 2012, 03:12:30 PM
Anybody for some fake biddings:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-x-All-Ireland-football-Final-tickets-2012-/320985576990?_trksid=p4340.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D11%26meid%3D2156496309516879382%26pid%3D100011%26prg%3D1005%26rk%3D4%26 (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-x-All-Ireland-football-Final-tickets-2012-/320985576990?_trksid=p4340.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D11%26meid%3D2156496309516879382%26pid%3D100011%26prg%3D1005%26rk%3D4%26)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/All-Ireland-Final-Donegal-V-Mayo-Premier-level-2-x-Tickets-/271059621395?_trksid=p4340.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D11%26meid%3D2156614312138418389%26pid%3D100011%26prg%3D1005%26rk%3D1%26 (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/All-Ireland-Final-Donegal-V-Mayo-Premier-level-2-x-Tickets-/271059621395?_trksid=p4340.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D11%26meid%3D2156614312138418389%26pid%3D100011%26prg%3D1005%26rk%3D1%26)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-Premium-Tickets-For-The-2012-All-Ireland-Football-Final-/190727338376?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item2c683c3988 (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-Premium-Tickets-For-The-2012-All-Ireland-Football-Final-/190727338376?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item2c683c3988)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2x-All-Ireland-Football-Final-2012-Tickets-Donegal-v-Mayo-/120986823129?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item1c2b6069d9 (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2x-All-Ireland-Football-Final-2012-Tickets-Donegal-v-Mayo-/120986823129?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item1c2b6069d9)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ALL-IRELAND-FOOTBALL-FINAL-TICKETS-/230853164238?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item35bfebbcce (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ALL-IRELAND-FOOTBALL-FINAL-TICKETS-/230853164238?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item35bfebbcce)
Post by: johnneycool on September 19, 2012, 03:34:17 PM
Quote from: FermGael on September 19, 2012, 03:12:30 PM

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-x-All-Ireland-football-Final-tickets-2012-/320985576990?_trksid=p4340.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D11%26meid%3D2156496309516879382%26pid%3D100011%26prg%3D1005%26rk%3D4%26 (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-x-All-Ireland-football-Final-tickets-2012-/320985576990?_trksid=p4340.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D11%26meid%3D2156496309516879382%26pid%3D100011%26prg%3D1005%26rk%3D4%26)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/All-Ireland-Final-Donegal-V-Mayo-Premier-level-2-x-Tickets-/271059621395?_trksid=p4340.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D11%26meid%3D2156614312138418389%26pid%3D100011%26prg%3D1005%26rk%3D1%26 (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/All-Ireland-Final-Donegal-V-Mayo-Premier-level-2-x-Tickets-/271059621395?_trksid=p4340.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D11%26meid%3D2156614312138418389%26pid%3D100011%26prg%3D1005%26rk%3D1%26)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-Premium-Tickets-For-The-2012-All-Ireland-Football-Final-/190727338376?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item2c683c3988 (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-Premium-Tickets-For-The-2012-All-Ireland-Football-Final-/190727338376?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item2c683c3988)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2x-All-Ireland-Football-Final-2012-Tickets-Donegal-v-Mayo-/120986823129?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item1c2b6069d9 (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2x-All-Ireland-Football-Final-2012-Tickets-Donegal-v-Mayo-/120986823129?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item1c2b6069d9)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ALL-IRELAND-FOOTBALL-FINAL-TICKETS-/230853164238?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item35bfebbcce (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ALL-IRELAND-FOOTBALL-FINAL-TICKETS-/230853164238?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item35bfebbcce)

Could Croke Park cancel Premium level tickets?
Post by: tommysmith on September 19, 2012, 03:52:09 PM
The poor f**ker who buys them and then not get in if they are cancelled.

They are all in the North aswell , scumbags.

Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2012, 03:55:54 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on September 19, 2012, 03:52:09 PM
The poor f**ker who buys them and then not get in if they are cancelled.

They are all in the North aswell , scumbags.

That's because it's ebay.co.uk, check ebay.ie and you'll see a few of the same sort down here.
Post by: BennyCake on September 19, 2012, 04:12:29 PM
How do you know they are fakes?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2012, 04:28:22 PM
He means does anyone feel like setting up fake accounts and submitting fake bids to bollix up the sale on ebay.
Post by: LeoMc on September 19, 2012, 04:28:45 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 19, 2012, 04:12:29 PM
How do you know they are fakes?

I would say he means fake bids. Spoil the auction so to speak.
Post by: mick999 on September 19, 2012, 04:58:37 PM
Quote from: FermGael on September 19, 2012, 03:12:30 PM

I see one of those "touts" also sold 2 tickets to last year's football final for 560 STG ..

And the 08 Hurling final for 400 STG .... These are probably 10 year tickets ..

Presumable PSCassidy is is real name ??

http://feedback.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback2&userid=pscassidy&ftab=FeedbackAsSeller

Post by: Maguire01 on September 19, 2012, 06:12:36 PM
Quote from: ballymac on September 19, 2012, 01:02:52 PM

I don't agree. If people have followed the county team all year then they deserve a ticket to the final over someone who's a club member but hasn't gone to any of the county's games. If you didn't bother with the Ulster final or AI semi (nevermind the league or early rounds of the Championship) why should you be a priority now? I'm not sure how this is ensured, although the season ticket is an (imperfect) attempt.
Post by: Rossfan on September 19, 2012, 06:34:55 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 19, 2012, 12:58:00 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 19, 2012, 11:51:15 AM

The sad part is you're not even half joking.
Why would I be joking buck ?
I only want to see one County winning Sam - and I might be waiting a while but sure what matter?
In the meantime good for whoever wins it ( even the Rhus - if they do fair enough ) is nothing to do with me other than the general interest of being a football follower.
Post by: screenexile on September 19, 2012, 06:59:34 PM
The ticketing system is crazy. Why in God's name should every club/school/county get tickets to an All Ireland Final if they are not involved in it. Every County player too?? Madness!!

It's easier to get tickets to an AIF if your own County isn't involved . . . the whole thing is backwards!!

Post by: heffo on September 19, 2012, 07:17:34 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 19, 2012, 06:59:34 PM
The ticketing system is crazy. Why in God's name should every club/school/county get tickets to an All Ireland Final if they are not involved in it. Every County player too?? Madness!!

It's easier to get tickets to an AIF if your own County isn't involved . . . the whole thing is backwards!!

Definitely, distribution system is crazy.

Post by: All of a Sludden on September 19, 2012, 08:14:47 PM
There will be an abundance of tickets come Friday evening, quit worrying. Bad and all as the system is, its what makes us what we are.
Come Sunday lunch time they'll be giving tickets away outside Quinns.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2012, 08:37:41 PM
In fairness, I don't have a problem with every county player getting a ticket. They put a lot in, and should be offered the chance of seeing the final of the competition they were in.

However, any of them that are caught flogging them on eBay should be barred from ever getting one again.
Post by: The Gs Man on September 19, 2012, 08:52:19 PM
Fair play to that guy Massey McCourt for exposing this horrendous state of affairs and bringing it to the attention of the County board.  A true Gael.   ;)
Title: Bréagach
Post by: drici on September 19, 2012, 10:29:21 PM
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/355_zpscbbf641c.jpg?t=1348090019)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/354_zps53dfdb6b.jpg?t=1348090059)
Post by: Square Ball on September 19, 2012, 10:47:10 PM
my own club is holding a fund raising ballot for 2 All Ireland Hurling or Football final tickets, the first drawn ballot picks. the ballots are £5 and can be purchased by following this link http://www.bredaghgac.com/-news/all-ireland-final-tickets-draw-91 (http://www.bredaghgac.com/-news/all-ireland-final-tickets-draw-91)

cheaper than buying on ebay.
Post by: donegal lad on September 19, 2012, 11:06:52 PM
Heard last night from a very close family friend that he was offered 2 tickets from a very well known player from Derry for £600 for the pair. IMO this player should never get tickets again
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 19, 2012, 11:12:29 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 19, 2012, 08:37:41 PM
In fairness, I don't have a problem with every county player getting a ticket. They put a lot in, and should be offered the chance of seeing the final of the competition they were in.

However, any of them that are caught flogging them on eBay should be barred from ever getting one again.
Amen.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 19, 2012, 11:46:19 PM
Anyone know how the childrens tickets will be allocated for hurling replay
Post by: ck on September 20, 2012, 12:00:42 AM
To add to this discussion.. I know of a county player from my own club who openly told everyone after last years final that he got 500 euro for his two tickets. I for one was disgusted and still am.
I'm all for county lads being looked after but IMO they should not be given the tickets free of charge
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 20, 2012, 12:09:58 AM
Quote from: ck on September 20, 2012, 12:00:42 AM
To add to this discussion.. I know of a county player from my own club who openly told everyone after last years final that he got 500 euro for his two tickets. I for one was disgusted and still am.
I'm all for county lads being looked after but IMO they should not be given the tickets free of charge

Is this true?  I know that if you are a county player from one of the non participating counties you get tickets, but they arent free! Yes i agree that they shouldnt sell them on at a profit. Are you maybe referring to players from the paticipating counties?
Post by: tommysmith on September 20, 2012, 10:29:17 AM
I think there is a lot of fake bidding on the ebay tickets, i was bidding on a pair last night and the winning bid ended up at £2,500 and another pair ended at €1,340 i doubt anyone is paying that money for tickets.
Post by: emainmacha on September 20, 2012, 10:34:35 AM
Don't see this levy mentioned anywhere but may have missed it

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-foyle-west-19645927

Personally I don't like this, ok it is expensive to run a county team but it is also expensive to follow one, and I don't think it is right that when the ball is at the County Boards foot  :P they take advantage by increasing the price of the ticket.
Although the money is going to upkeep of team, is there much difference from the tout making money on ticket?
And those supporters buying outside the County will not be paying this levy
Post by: clareman on September 20, 2012, 11:04:46 AM
Hurling related but sentiment applies to football too..

I'm a club member in Clare. I train teams, have held various positions on the club executive and do what I can for my club when I can. No more or less than thousands of others throughout the country.
Bar my club getting to a county final, the all Ireland final is the highlight of my year. It is a unique occasion in one of the most spectacular stadiums in the world. I go every year and I would defy anyone to tell me, or the thousands like me, that I shouldn't be there.

The system isn't perfect but it's damn good. Clubs get the vast majority of tickets and rightly so. The season ticket system, while not perfect, looks after the county supporter who goes to games all year round. Anyone else who supports their county consistently will automatically have a good base and contact list built up to source a ticket. You will see hardly any, if any, really genuine supporter not source a ticket at some stage.

Just my tuppence worth!
Post by: Aristo 60 on September 20, 2012, 11:06:35 AM
Although the money is going to upkeep of team, is there much difference from the tout making money on ticket?

- Yes I would see plenty of difference between an individual making money for personal gain and the county board taking money for what in their elected eyes is for the collective good.

Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 20, 2012, 11:11:13 AM
Quote from: clareman on September 20, 2012, 11:04:46 AM

I'm a club member in Clare. I train teams, have held various positions on the club executive and do what I can for my club when I can. No more or less than thousands of others throughout the country.
Bar my club getting to a county final, the all Ireland final is the highlight of my year. It is a unique occasion in one of the most spectacular stadiums in the world. I go every year and I would defy anyone to tell me, or the thousands like me, that I shouldn't be there.

The system isn't perfect but it's damn good. Clubs get the vast majority of tickets and rightly so. The season ticket system, while not perfect, looks after the county supporter who goes to games all year round. Anyone else who supports their county consistently will automatically have a good base and contact list built up to source a ticket. You will see hardly any, if any, really genuine supporter not source a ticket at some stage.

Just my tuppence worth!
i agree 100% with this.
you always hear the stories this time of year about joe Bloggs who follows the county to every game ,national league and everything, but isnt a member of a club and cant get a all ireland final ticket.
while this may happen occasionally, i would say that it is rare and these people are in the a minority
for the most part if you are a regualar follower of your county, you will get a ticket.
Post by: Bingo on September 20, 2012, 11:12:09 AM
The GAA are probably in a position now that there is only two games each year that will be complete sell outs - the actual finals themselves.

This is only going to lead to problems for the finals as people prior to this game will have easy access to tickets be it through clubs or through their local super valu. Season tickets offer non club people a solution.

I'd have sympathy for clubs trying to sort out tickets for their members, players, sponsors etc ete. It would be a largely thankless task and I just hope that they do so as transparently as possible.
Post by: Fear Boirche on September 20, 2012, 11:38:09 AM
Quote from: emainmacha on September 20, 2012, 10:34:35 AM

Personally I don't like this, ok it is expensive to run a county team but it is also expensive to follow one, and I don't think it is right that when the ball is at the County Boards foot  :P they take advantage by increasing the price of the ticket.

Down County Board did this two years ago, suppose you can't blame them on trying to make a bit of money off the back of it. There were a few grumbles at the time, but they still sold all their tickets, so clearly most people weren't bothered.
Post by: Bingo on September 20, 2012, 11:43:38 AM
Quote from: Fear Boirche on September 20, 2012, 11:38:09 AM

Down County Board did this two years ago, suppose you can't blame them on trying to make a bit of money off the back of it. There were a few grumbles at the time, but they still sold all their tickets, so clearly most people weren't bothered.

I'd be totally against this type of levy and Money done it in the past for Ulster final tickets and the like. By all means they have to raise funds and I'd support that but when they have people by the short and curlys and enforce it on people, i take exception. By all means work something round it but make it optional - like a raffle, draw or something and I'm sure if its clear that it is for players fund/training/holiday etc you'd find that majority would support it. Its just increasing price of tickets and thats not right.

One option is that Croke Park build this into the existing price and a €5 of each ticket goes back to the competing county in addition to what they get already - this is to offset additional and substantial costs that come with an ireland final run.
Post by: Fuzzman on September 20, 2012, 12:13:28 PM
I am probably over simplifying the problem here but in my eyes most (not all) of the people who go to games regular manage to get tickets for the final through their clubs.
Of course there were those who aren't part of a club any more or are like me live in Dublin or Belfast now and tend to get their tickets elsewhere for the whole season.
So the GAA came out with the season ticket which promised those an AI final ticket if they're team get to the final. So that in my eyes has rewarded those who have went for that option and who support their county all year long

To me the simple problem is those fans (and I include my own syblings and inlaws) who watch me and others go to games all year long and almost snigger at you driving hundreds of miles to support your team but then when it comes to semi final and final days they then jump on the bandwagon. They throw up all these arguments like why should the Clare hurler manager of the U12's get  a ticket before me for the Donegal v Mayo game. Surely I've more right to that ticket that they have as its not even their own county.
In my eyes there are too many 'fans' who don't bother their hole going to anything all year from year to year but when they make it to the AI final they fly home from NYC and Sydney expecting a ticket & often getting one just cos they know the right people.

I still don't have one and it doesn't look like I will get one. I think I'll go and watch it in the skylon.
Where is the banquet for Donegal?
Post by: magpie seanie on September 20, 2012, 12:29:43 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on September 20, 2012, 11:11:13 AM
Quote from: clareman on September 20, 2012, 11:04:46 AM

Just my tuppence worth!
i agree 100% with this.
you always hear the stories this time of year about joe Bloggs who follows the county to every game ,national league and everything, but isnt a member of a club and cant get a all ireland final ticket.
while this may happen occasionally, i would say that it is rare and these people are in the a minority
for the most part if you are a regualar follower of your county, you will get a ticket.

This is 100% correct. Often the "genuine supporter" who has no ticket is playing the poor mouth cos he needs another ticket to get his Mammy or some relation a ticket. I hear anyone who is a club member in Donegal got a ticket. For those that aren't (and I'd ask why? - surely if you have an interest in something you could throw your local club €50 or so a year for all the bloody work they do in your community) there's the season ticket scheme.

Another problem is those who despite not really being interested 99% of the time expect someone to rock up to their door with a bunch of tickets wrapped in a bow for them.

The ticket distribution system mightn't be perfect but it's not all that bad really.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on September 20, 2012, 12:35:32 PM

Stick on a fiver surely!!.. I mean the genuine Donegal or Mayo fan wont care, an All-Ireland final day with your county would mean a hell of alot more than €85!.. And sure for all the bandwaggoners, well you wont be seeing them til mid July of next year anyway so they`re fair game for a wee dig!.
Post by: johng on September 20, 2012, 12:36:35 PM
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/170912563185?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

There's people selling premium level tickets on ebay..i'd kill for ticket myself!!
Post by: clareman on September 20, 2012, 12:41:47 PM
Even though people have paid for these premium tickets upfront I'm quite sure that the terms and conditions do not allow them to sell the tickets on anywhere except the croke park ticket exchange website. These people should be highlighted to Croke Park and have tickets cancelled.
Post by: Canalman on September 20, 2012, 01:38:44 PM
Alot of sensible posts here.

Truth be told if the ticket allocation was restricted to "dyed in the wool supporters" both county boards would be returning tickets to Croke Park.

As for the ticket levy I think if it was solely for the holiday fund for players there would be no complaints except from the usual moaning minnies quickdialling Joe Duffy.

Post by: Goldengreen on September 20, 2012, 02:33:44 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on September 20, 2012, 12:13:28 PM
I am probably over simplifying the problem here but in my eyes most (not all) of the people who go to games regular manage to get tickets for the final through their clubs.
Of course there were those who aren't part of a club any more or are like me live in Dublin or Belfast now and tend to get their tickets elsewhere for the whole season.
So the GAA came out with the season ticket which promised those an AI final ticket if they're team get to the final. So that in my eyes has rewarded those who have went for that option and who support their county all year long

To me the simple problem is those fans (and I include my own syblings and inlaws) who watch me and others go to games all year long and almost snigger at you driving hundreds of miles to support your team but then when it comes to semi final and final days they then jump on the bandwagon. They throw up all these arguments like why should the Clare hurler manager of the U12's get  a ticket before me for the Donegal v Mayo game. Surely I've more right to that ticket that they have as its not even their own county.
In my eyes there are too many 'fans' who don't bother their hole going to anything all year from year to year but when they make it to the AI final they fly home from NYC and Sydney expecting a ticket & often getting one just cos they know the right people.

I still don't have one and it doesn't look like I will get one. I think I'll go and watch it in the skylon.
Where is the banquet for Donegal?

Burlington Hotel
Post by: Syferus on September 20, 2012, 02:44:55 PM
Quote from: johng on September 20, 2012, 12:36:35 PM
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/170912563185?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

There's people selling premium level tickets on ebay..i'd kill for ticket myself!!

So you joined up to just randomly link to one of dozens of touts trying to gouge people?  ::)

Look, it's unlikely you're dumb enough to post the seat numbers and get caught now that it's been so publicised that Croke Park are cancelling tickets, but at least tell us how you square away having access to tickets for such a communally important game for an amateur, not-for-profit sporting organisation and then trying to milk fans for as much cash as you can get? Why not just pass them on at cost and show and give them to one of the hundreds of people who go to games week in and week out and don't have a ticket for the game?
Post by: RMDrive on September 20, 2012, 09:00:10 PM
(http://i35.servimg.com/u/f35/13/55/17/59/ticket10.jpg)

Post by: aontroim on September 20, 2012, 09:26:39 PM
Quote from: RMDrive on September 20, 2012, 09:00:10 PM

The attempted effort to conceal the seat location and from whose allocation it came is top class  ;D
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 20, 2012, 10:34:14 PM
You know a fair weather supporter when they ask you is there any chance of you helping them get tickets for the all Ireland, they need 7!! I heard that in mayo during the week.
Post by: The Worker on September 20, 2012, 10:51:25 PM
unreel.
Post by: The4ps on September 20, 2012, 11:57:11 PM
Anyone know what corporate ticket get you on match day???
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 21, 2012, 12:07:28 AM

Quote from: The Worker on September 20, 2012, 10:51:25 PM
unreel.
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 21, 2012, 07:41:43 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 20, 2012, 10:34:14 PM
You know a fair weather supporter when they ask you is there any chance of you helping them get tickets for the all Ireland, they need 7!! I heard that in mayo during the week.

Heard it myself as well 
Post by: orangeman on September 21, 2012, 03:17:10 PM
Great story -

All-Ireland final tickets given away by Donegal nun

Tickets for Sunday's All-Ireland final are like gold dust in Donegal, but two fans may well be thanking divine intervention for their seats at Croke Park.

With just under 15,000 tickets available in the county for the showpiece game against Mayo, excitement is at fever pitch as people scramble to get to the match.

Tyrone Gaelic football club Eglish St Patrick's got its hands on a coveted pair of tickets to be raffled off to raise much needed funds, and club members shrewdly put much of their focus on Donegal where they sold hundreds of ballots at five euros each.

The draw was held on Wednesday night and the lucky winner pulled out of the hat was Sister Magdalene, a Galway native who resides in the Convent of Mercy in Donegal Town.

Pilgrimage

However, she will not be making the journey to Dublin because she has generously donated her tickets to two super-fans.

"I was very surprised indeed but very glad that I was able to help my two good neighbours by giving them the two tickets," she said.

Eglish GAC
"One of them has a son coming back from America and she was very anxious for him to see the game, the other hasn't missed a final in years, so she was so delighted."

Competition for the tickets might have come from the only nun from Donegal in the convent, but she is currently on pilgrimage in Medjugorje.

While Sister Magdalene may come from Mayo's neighbours Galway, she says: "I hope Donegal do the business."

"I think it's great when people who are the true fans can get to enjoy the match," she added.

Kieran Hagan of Eglish GAC says they were delighted that the winner came from Donegal.

"We rang through to the telephone number on the ticket, and she was on speakerphone so we heard the whole thing in the convent," he says.

"The excitement in her voice when she won the ticket was unreal."

While Mr Hagan will have to be content with watching the final on television, he says the raffle was worth it as they raised more than £3,000 for the club.
Post by: omagh_gael on September 21, 2012, 05:08:00 PM
Was just after chatting to my uncle who is from outside Claremorris (married to my aunt from Monaghan) who never misses a game but isn't a member of a club in Mayo anymore. Anyway he couldn't get a ticket anywhere but out of nowhere this morning a neighbour from home in Monaghan  phoned him and offered him his ticket which he won in their club draw and a manager in his work landed at his desk with two premium level tickets on the halfway line in the Hogan!

Lucky hoor!

Keep er lit lads, there's always hope!
Post by: Lecale2 on September 21, 2012, 05:16:42 PM
Quote from: RMDrive on September 20, 2012, 09:00:10 PM

That is so funny! LMAO!
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 21, 2012, 10:53:21 PM
Whats the ticket situation like now, have Donegal and Mayo fans all got sorted?
Post by: spuds on September 22, 2012, 12:15:07 AM
Seems to be a lot of people who normally get tickets getting sorted the last 24 hours. Neighbours of mine who would never be seen dead in McHale park or the local pitch got their tickets and are away up to Dublin for the weekend.
Post by: The Worker on September 22, 2012, 08:21:54 AM
Paddy Barnes willing to swap his bronze from Beijing for a ticket.
Post by: FermGael on September 22, 2012, 09:49:45 AM
Soembody else has put a photo of the tickets they are touting on ebay.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/All-Ireland-Football-Tickets-Pair-/251153965978?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item3a79f1639a (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/All-Ireland-Football-Tickets-Pair-/251153965978?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item3a79f1639a)

How do you go about reporting them??
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on September 22, 2012, 10:41:25 AM
Seems to be plenty of tickets around West Mayo this morning.Everyone i know got sorted late last night,early this morning. I think the overall cost of the day out is begining to make people, especially with kids to think again..... changed times from 04/06 when people were having 3 nights in Dublin! Changed times indeed.

Maigh Eo Abu!
Post by: haveaharp on September 22, 2012, 10:42:05 AM
Quote from: FermGael on September 22, 2012, 09:49:45 AM
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/All-Ireland-Football-Tickets-Pair-/251153965978?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item3a79f1639a (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/All-Ireland-Football-Tickets-Pair-/251153965978?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item3a79f1639a)

Even better, set up a fake ebay account and put a bid of a million quid on them. Auction wrecked and no time to rectify it
Post by: criostlinn on September 22, 2012, 11:26:40 AM
"I have been told that these tickets are better than Cusack because you can easily invade the pitch after your team has won to celebrate"

I love it. I need to get me some of these tickets
Post by: cuconnacht on September 22, 2012, 11:45:45 AM

Do what Macdanger did,stalk the bid with your own bids,make sure ya win and then screw em,by then too late to put em back on,reporting might hurt someone  whos passed them on for the right reasons not realising the pesons a wankre
Post by: aontroim on September 22, 2012, 12:03:39 PM

Fire a quick email to Louth Co. Board - tickets are from one of the Committee's allocation.
Post by: haranguerer on September 22, 2012, 12:15:10 PM
As previously said, very few who really want a ticket dont get one. Everyone panics like f**k, but in the last 2 or 3 days, the tickets come out of the woodwork.

In relation to the lads selling them on ebay-  big deal. I'd never sell a ticket for more than face value, its always a great feeling when you can sort someone out who deserves it, and I'd feel like a sc**bag making on the back of it, but there are always going to be people selling things, as long as there is demand.
Post by: optimus cheese on September 22, 2012, 02:30:06 PM
Only way to stamp this out is if the government and 6 County Assembly make this ticket touting illegal. It's about time it was.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 22, 2012, 02:56:47 PM
Quote from: optimus cheese on September 22, 2012, 02:30:06 PM
Only way to stamp this out is if the government and 6 County Assembly make this ticket touting illegal. It's about time it was.
Probably needs its own committee.
Post by: armaghniac on September 22, 2012, 03:43:28 PM
Two steps would stop this.

- restrict the final to members of clubs in the 32 counties who joined before June.
- allow tickets be transferred only on a website where the membership number of the recipient is entered.
Post by: Syferus on September 22, 2012, 04:09:59 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 22, 2012, 03:43:28 PM
Two steps would stop this.

- restrict the final to members of clubs in the 32 counties who joined before June.
- allow tickets be transferred only on a website where the membership number of the recipient is entered.

Absolute insanity. The rush for tickets is the biggest publicity boost a county can get. That's just more insular thinking that will only serve to marginalise the sport. Nice job dis-improving the All-Ireland final.
Post by: cuconnacht on September 22, 2012, 04:40:21 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on September 22, 2012, 12:15:10 PM
As previously said, very few who really want a ticket dont get one. Everyone panics like f**k, but in the last 2 or 3 days, the tickets come out of the woodwork.

In relation to the lads selling them on ebay-  big deal. I'd never sell a ticket for more than face value, its always a great feeling when you can sort someone out who deserves it, and I'd feel like a sc**bag making on the back of it, but there are always going to be people selling things, as long as there is demand.
Spot on.E-bay is ,what walkin up an down the train station or hangin round the gresham,etc is.
Its always and always will go oN
Post by: Syferus on September 22, 2012, 10:22:30 PM
A fella we know had promised to hook the oul' man and me with a pair of tickets for the final. That fell through earlier in the week, through no fault of the man.

Then I find the mobile has a missed call from the man today - hmmm, what could that be about?

I ring. No answer. No voice mail left.
I ring again. No answer.
I ring a half an hour later. Bingo!

The lad's brother-in-law had a pair and was undecided whether to go, and he settled on not going this morning. So the lad calls us up..

..but now, in true Irish fashun, the brother-in-law has decided 'ah sure, I'll go and give it a lash'.

Setting aside my misgivings as to someone (a Mayo man, no less) not sure if they will go to the All-Ireland football final having tickets in the first place, it's a pretty deflating experience thinking you've got tickets (twice) and it falling through, and I'm not even from either county. To those poor souls, God bless ye and your teams.

It's the muppet show and Marty for me this year.
Post by: theticklemister on September 22, 2012, 10:31:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 22, 2012, 10:22:30 PM
A fella we know had promised to hook the oul' man and me with a pair of tickets for the final. That fell through earlier in the week, through no fault of the man.

Then I find the mobile has a missed call from the man today - hmmm, what could that be about?

I ring again. No answer.

The lad's brother-in-law had a pair and was undecided whether to go, and he settled on not going this morning. So the lad calls us up..

..but now, in true Irish fashun, the brother-in-law has decided 'ah sure, I'll go and give it a lash'.

Setting aside my misgivings as to someone (a Mayo man, no less) not sure if they will go to the All-Ireland football final having tickets in the first place, it's a pretty deflating experience thinking you've got tickets (twice) and it falling through, and I'm not even from either county. To those poor souls, God bless ye and your teams.

That story has made me weep,I'm serious.

There are ejets out there with all-ireland tickets.
Post by: Rossfan on September 22, 2012, 11:03:36 PM

I ring again. No answer.

I tould ya already ye shouldn't be goin to this bloody game ;)
Post by: Syferus on September 23, 2012, 12:23:35 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 22, 2012, 11:03:36 PM

I ring again. No answer.

Don't know if I'll make it down to support the Nige and co. in Kiltoom, might be too tired from all my cheering for Mayo.
Post by: cuconnacht on September 23, 2012, 09:13:51 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 22, 2012, 11:03:36 PM

I ring again. No answer.

Come on now.Its the all Ireland final,the culmination of 34 counties efforts over a season,not the exclusive domain of the remaining four,lightin up R and back the men of Connacht,or we,ll throw ye back to the Irish. ;D
Post by: Rossfan on September 23, 2012, 11:43:33 AM
I'm afraid oul pal there are 30 Counties + Ln and NY not involved today so it's very much the domain of 4 Counties but 2 especially.
However there's no reason for West Rossies to be looking for ticlets to CHEER FOR Mayowestros.
I wouldn't mind being up for Mayo but when I think of the Traitors of Ballagh still living in the 19th Century being subsidised with by the people of Co Roscommon and they repay it by claiming they are Mayo ---- it's just too much and makes my blood boil >:(
You don't get people in Carlow trying to pretend they are from Kilkenny just to be with a more succesful team.
Post by: theticklemister on September 23, 2012, 11:47:53 AM
Ah come on,sure if an Ulster team got to the final I would be supporting them.............................

BAR TYRONE!
Post by: haranguerer on September 24, 2012, 10:34:36 PM
Massive thanks to the lad in a louth (I think) jacket, who I got a ticket off just before the game - wouldnt take more than face value for it to the extent that he ended up giving me back 20 of the 90 and telling me to have a drink on him! Gotta love the GAA!!
Post by: Syferus on September 24, 2012, 11:53:52 PM

I ring again. No answer.

Just an addendum for Rosfan's benefit: the same lad was able to procure AI hurling final replay tickets so I will be making a triumphant return to Croke Park to support the wonderful, amazing, Galway.

Swings and round-abouts.
Post by: Minder on September 24, 2012, 11:59:13 PM
Quote from: haveaharp on September 22, 2012, 10:42:05 AM

Even better, set up a fake ebay account and put a bid of a million quid on them. Auction wrecked and no time to rectify it

A million quid ? I only had a spare £25k to bid on 2 tickets the other day on Ebay, I won and the bassa wouldn't sell me them.........
Post by: Rossfan on September 25, 2012, 01:50:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 24, 2012, 11:53:52 PM

Just an addendum for Rosfan's benefit: the same lad was able to procure AI hurling final replay tickets so I will be making a triumphant return to Croke Park to support the wonderful, amazing, Galway.

Ya poor pathetic little eejit of an inadequate maneen !!!  ???
Imagine claiming to be a Rossie and then feeling all big and grown up because you're  "supporting" (Crawling up the rear of more likely) a crowd from another County that you obviously feel is more important than your own.

So sad to think that the likes of you is breathing the lovely air of our wonderful County  :'( :'(