GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2012, 07:15:36 AM

Title: Dublin v Laois - AIQF
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2012, 07:15:36 AM
Don't think this will as straight forward as many will predict with many Dubs already talking about an AIF appearance although can't see this Dublin team been that complacent.

Anyhow Laois will have a very competitive midfield and have a very good defensive structure and are a lot more physical than the Micko Laois but outside Munnellly and similar to Kildare they lack that je ne sais quoi quality in the final third. Will expect Laois to fustrate Dublin and I think Dublin will get a good examination but realistically if Dublin perform they'll win. I think the spread on Laois is 7 points which would be a great bet.

Title: Re: Dublin v Laois - AIQF
Post by: cadence on July 29, 2012, 07:34:57 AM
dublin should have enough firepower, and the defensive ruthlessness and shrewdness, to see them through this one. tough draw on laois.

Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 29, 2012, 11:10:19 AM
Laois have an excellent midfield in begley and quigley, are physically a very strong team now and have carrot top as a target man, this is a potential banana skin if dublin are not tuned in, result being a foregone conclusion is the usual summer brigade bafoons who wouldnt know mcauley from bastic.............bafoons ........................alas I hope we steam roll this lad

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF846/618474.jpg)
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 29, 2012, 11:13:07 AM
I think there is a real chance of a shock here.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2012, 11:47:35 AM
Quotecarrot top as a target man

Was at the game in 2003 I think when Clancy scored a wonder point, one of the best scores I've ever seen.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 29, 2012, 12:33:17 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 29, 2012, 11:13:07 AM

Bad draw for Laois, lost last year to Dublin 0-11 to 1-16. Can't but see one winner. Hope i'm wrong.
Post by: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 12:35:48 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 29, 2012, 11:10:19 AM
Laois have an excellent midfield in begley and quigley, are physically a very strong team now and have carrot top as a target man, this is a potential banana skin if dublin are not tuned in, result being a foregone conclusion is the usual summer brigade bafoons who wouldnt know mcauley from bastic.............bafoons ........................alas I hope we steam roll this lad

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF846/618474.jpg)

None of your wistful, dreamy-eyed Seanie Johnston poses there. Billy looks like a lad trying to remember his address.
Post by: laoislad on July 29, 2012, 01:22:45 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 29, 2012, 12:33:17 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 29, 2012, 11:13:07 AM

Bad draw for Laois, lost last year to Dublin 0-11 to 1-16. Can't but see one winner. Hope i'm wrong.

And what would have been a good draw?
All the teams left are better than Laois.
Cork and Donegal would have been just as bad a draw and while Mayo was the preferable draw they would probably be still to strong for us.
It was an achievement getting this far and credit to the lads for picking it up after losing to Longford.
I don't expect it to go any further though.

Hope you are wrong too though  :D
Post by: The Boy Wonder on July 29, 2012, 02:04:23 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 12:35:48 PM
None of your wistful, dreamy-eyed Seanie Johnston poses there. Billy looks like a lad trying to remember his address.

Ah no - Billy is just thinking "I wonder who'll come out on top in the Hardy Vs Agorm spat on the Laois-Meath thread ?"  ;D
Post by: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 02:09:31 PM
Ah that's hardly even a spat. Just a family squabble.
Post by: Dont Matter on July 29, 2012, 02:14:09 PM
Dublin are 1/9, easy victory for the Dubs on their way to two in a row. They should just send their B team, Laois were very lucky to beat Meath 6 days after they lost the Leinster final. Leitrim should have beaten Laois, even Carlow should have. Plus Laois picked up a good few injuries in yesterdays match and some players have fallen out with McNulty. Put your house on Dublin -7, easy money.
Post by: Declan on July 29, 2012, 05:30:23 PM
We should win but haven't really played well for longer than 10 minute spells so far this season. Laois looked good at times yesterday so nothing taken for granted
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 29, 2012, 08:32:46 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2012, 11:47:35 AM

Was at the game in 2003 I think when Clancy scored a wonder point, one of the best scores I've ever seen.

Indeed it really was a splendid score.........................in fairness to Clancy I always thought he would push on more since 2003, he never reached the heights again imo, Ross OC will have to watch him closely
Post by: heffo on July 29, 2012, 08:53:51 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 29, 2012, 08:32:46 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2012, 11:47:35 AM

Indeed it really was a splendid score.........................in fairness to Clancy I always thought he would push on more since 2003, he never reached the heights again imo, Ross OC will have to watch him closely

Indeed that seems to have been the height as he's struggled against the Dubs in the many matches since.

Some might say his 'Dublin footballers are ladyboys' interview before we beat them by 15 points in 2006 I think was another highpoint, not sure I'd agree.

Really struggling to have any interest or motivation for this match..
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 29, 2012, 08:57:32 PM
Indeed motivation is low, this is were the danger is, an early laois goal on a wet night may drag it into the mire ................................ dublin lads will really have to be on there game to win this, mayo, down and laois fans roaring on carrot top and good boy munnelly should make for an interesting evening
Post by: The Boy Wonder on July 29, 2012, 10:48:22 PM
We were gifted a goal by Leitrim goalie last week and Meath goalie yesterday so it's Stephen Cluxton's turn next week - it's the least he can do given Dublin's home advantage.
Post by: laoislad on July 29, 2012, 11:04:42 PM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on July 29, 2012, 10:48:22 PM
We were gifted a goal by Leitrim goalie last week and Meath goalie yesterday so it's Stephen Cluxton's turn next week - it's the least he can do given Dublin's home advantage.

We were gifted a penalty against Meath not a goal.
It was a class finish by Ross it has to be said.
Post by: Hound on July 30, 2012, 08:45:57 AM
Complacency will an issue for the Dubs. Not many of us will think Laois have a chance of beating us.

While I'm delighted that Kerry drew Donegal, as it will be a fascinating game, and happy that Cork drew Kildare, I would have preferred us against Down, for the added bit of spice of playing someone different.

Not a whole lot to gain by beating Laois, and can't imagine how bad it would feel to lose to them! I think we'll win, but it could set us up for a semi final defeat.
Post by: heffo on August 01, 2012, 07:14:21 PM
B Brogan agrees with my original sentiments anyway!

http://www.herald.ie/sport/harder-than-kerry-3187626.html
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2012, 07:34:14 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 30, 2012, 08:45:57 AM
Complacency will an issue for the Dubs. Not many of us will think Laois have a chance of beating us.

While I'm delighted that Kerry drew Donegal, as it will be a fascinating game, and happy that Cork drew Kildare, I would have preferred us against Down, for the added bit of spice of playing someone different.

Not a whole lot to gain by beating Laois, and can't imagine how bad it would feel to lose to them! I think we'll win, but it could set us up for a semi final defeat.

After winning the All Ireland last year and ending the 16 year wait it seems the excitement is now gone.
Post by: heffo on August 01, 2012, 08:00:06 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2012, 07:34:14 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 30, 2012, 08:45:57 AM

After winning the All Ireland last year and ending the 16 year wait it seems the excitement is now gone.

Not so much excitement is gone but we've won something like 26 of the last 27 games v Leinster opposition.

Laois will do everything they can to slow the game, break up play and make it a snoozefest - it's not going to be a classic.

Would've preferred a new challenge and find out whether we have the hunger to go again this year.
Post by: galwaygreenandred on August 02, 2012, 12:45:14 AM
Lest we not forget that Dublin,if they win,they have only played leinster teams in the Championship and this year have only beaten Leinster teams and two ulster teams,one of which have been eliminated and the other is on the other side of the draw....the two teams they could face after Laois.....Down,beat them by two points in the league and Mayo beat them by 12....
Post by: heffo on August 02, 2012, 08:07:37 AM
Quote from: galwaygreenandred on August 02, 2012, 12:45:14 AM
Lest we not forget that Dublin,if they win,they have only played leinster teams in the Championship and this year have only beaten Leinster teams and two ulster teams,one of which have been eliminated and the other is on the other side of the draw....the two teams they could face after Laois.....Down,beat them by two points in the league and Mayo beat them by 12....

I don't believe for a second that Dublin's league results this year will have any bearing on any potential future championship game.
Post by: Declan on August 02, 2012, 10:13:41 AM
Surprised Fennell is still in

GAA news: Eoghan O'Gara, who was a potent substitute in Dublin's win over Meath in last month's Leinster final, is the only change made by manager Pat Gilroy for their All-Ireland quarter-final with Laois at Croke Park on Saturday evening.

Introduced as a replacement for the injured Alan Brogan before half-time in the provincial decider, O'Gara has been rewarded with a starting position and is named at left-corner forward. Kevin McManamon is the player to lose out.

Brogan, last year's 'footballer of the year', has recovered from the injury which forced his substitution aginst Meath and proved his fitness at training last night.

"It was a very, very minor tear . . . . I'm very confident he is okay. It was such a minor thing and we took him off early enough that it didn't become more serious," said Gilroy.

Diarmuid Connolly, who was suspended for the match with Meath, has failed to force his way back into the starting line-up.

Michael Darragh Macauley has again been named at full-forward but is expected to take a position further out the field in the same manner employed against Meath where he operated primarily in the half-forward line and as support to named centre-fielders Eamon Fennell and Denis Bastick.

Dublin (v Laois): Stephen Cluxton; Michael Fitzsimons, Rory O'Carroll, Philly McMahon; James McCarthy, Kevin Nolan, Cian O'Sullivan; Eamon Fennell, Denis Bastick; Paul Flynn, Alan Brogan, Bryan Cullen; Bernard Brogan, Michael Darragh Macauley, Eoghan O'Gara
Post by: galwaygreenandred on August 02, 2012, 11:17:31 AM
Quote from: heffo on August 02, 2012, 08:07:37 AM

I don't believe for a second that Dublin's league results this year will have any bearing on any potential future championship game.

Well they haven't had a victory over a Connacht side in the Championship for how long?
Post by: heffo on August 02, 2012, 11:35:47 AM
Quote from: galwaygreenandred on August 02, 2012, 11:17:31 AM
Quote from: heffo on August 02, 2012, 08:07:37 AM

Well they haven't had a victory over a Connacht side in the Championship for how long?

Last games v Connacht oppposition were Sligo 2001 - win, Leitrim 2004 - win, Roscommon - win, Mayo 2006 - loss.

That record will be irrelevant should Dublin qualify for the semi-final and Mayo do likewise.
Post by: galwaygreenandred on August 02, 2012, 01:33:51 PM
I was showing their record against the two sides they could meet in the semi final
Post by: agorm on August 02, 2012, 05:01:05 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 02:09:31 PM

I agree.....if we werent passionate about this stuff we wouldnt be getting worked up about it. Not every supporter from a county sees things exactly the same way allo the time.

On the topic, I hope Laois continue where they left off and take good points from play. However, I think dublin will up their performance from the Meath game. Having played a number of big games in Croke Park already has to stand to them and is definitely and advantage.
Post by: heffo on August 02, 2012, 05:47:26 PM
Quote from: agorm on August 02, 2012, 05:01:05 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 02:09:31 PM

I agree.....if we werent passionate about this stuff we wouldnt be getting worked up about it. Not every supporter from a county sees things exactly the same way allo the time.

On the topic, I hope Laois continue where they left off and take good points from play. However, I think dublin will up their performance from the Meath game. Having played a number of big games in Croke Park already has to stand to them and is definitely and advantage.

I think Laois are building nicely under McNulty and will surprise a few people. I've a feeling they'll play not to lose though and not get involved in a shootout. They'll hope to stop Dublin scoring goals for the first 50/55 minutes and hope we get frustrated.

If Dublin lose, Gilroy will walk and we'll see Jim Gavin in for next year.

I don't think we'll see a repeat of '03 - Dublin by four.
Post by: galwaygreenandred on August 02, 2012, 07:34:38 PM
Who would Dublin prefer out of Mayo or Down IF they win against Laois?
Post by: heffo on August 02, 2012, 07:36:22 PM
Quote from: galwaygreenandred on August 02, 2012, 07:34:38 PM
Who would Dublin prefer out of Mayo or Down IF they win against Laois?

Lets not get ahead of ourselves.

The winners on Saturday can start talking about that.
Post by: Sandy Hill on August 04, 2012, 07:16:29 PM
Hateful hoors those Dublin supporters with their booing of free takers and soccer type salutes!
Post by: Onion Bag on August 04, 2012, 07:26:38 PM
Martin carney wud sicken ur shite, why doesn't he just go down and put a Dublin jersey on him
Post by: Atticus_Finch on August 04, 2012, 07:31:36 PM
Who goes down as the goal scorer ? I had MD McAuley for first goalscorer
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 04, 2012, 07:33:11 PM
Ref giving Laois some easy frees and let the fullback off a red card already...
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 04, 2012, 07:35:27 PM
3 or 4 high balls at Clancy and he didn't compete for any of them.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 04, 2012, 07:35:47 PM
Quote from: Atticus_Finch on August 04, 2012, 07:31:36 PM
Who goes down as the goal scorer ? I had MD McAuley for first goalscorer

think it would have to go down as an OG.
Post by: Onion Bag on August 04, 2012, 07:40:20 PM
Rte have mc Auley down as the scorer
Post by: Atticus_Finch on August 04, 2012, 07:44:00 PM
Saw that onion bag - hoping that is case settled, otherwise I'll argue the bit out to get my dough !  ;D
Post by: Declan on August 04, 2012, 07:44:37 PM
Very poor game. Laois certainly capable of winning it and Dublin very much off the pace. Really missing Alan
Post by: Jonah on August 04, 2012, 07:50:16 PM
So much for Pat Spillane's prediction that it would be over before half time.
Post by: Atticus_Finch on August 04, 2012, 07:51:06 PM
Shhhhhhh Joe ! ;)
Post by: ardchieftain on August 04, 2012, 07:52:32 PM
Seriously lucky goal, a right sickener for Laois. Think McNulty needs to take the full back off before he gets the line. Dublin dominating midfield but not moving well in the forwards. I have Laois +7 points, looking good so far.

And please, someone gag martin carney, he annoys my hole.
Post by: Jonah on August 04, 2012, 08:32:47 PM
LOL 1 min injury time!!
And as soon as Laois get the ball the Ref blows the whistle.

Jammy goal wins it for Dublin.
Post by: armaghniac on August 04, 2012, 08:34:07 PM
Laois went down with flags flying, more than several teams can say, only sunk by a fluke goal.
Post by: screenexile on August 04, 2012, 08:35:34 PM
The sooner time keeping is taken out of the referees hands the better! That was awful stuff.

Also the game clearly destroys the myth that Dublin are saviors of the game. They are every but as negative and cynical as Donegal ever were!!!!
Post by: Celt_Man on August 04, 2012, 08:40:01 PM
Mother of jaysus in essence the ref only played 40 seconds of injury time and blew it up as Laois were on the attack....

Also not sure how Flynn got MOTM - thought Healy or O'Leary would have been worthy candidates.

Martin Carney is a thorough dose
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on August 04, 2012, 08:40:29 PM
Was watching as neutral as I you could get but that 1 minute was disgusting, O';gara lay down from 67-69 and he adds 1 minute for the whole half. Then between Cluxton and the subs he played about 40 secs as soon as Laois get it he blows, rant over but that really annoyed my good self.
Post by: Jinxy on August 04, 2012, 08:40:56 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on August 04, 2012, 08:40:01 PM
Mother of jaysus in essence the ref only played 40 seconds of injury time and blew it up as Laois were on the attack....

Also not sure how Flynn got MOTM - thought Healy or O'Leary would have been worthy candidates.

It must be said.....
Post by: From the Bunker on August 04, 2012, 08:41:25 PM
Dublin have been playing poor this year. But they are sticking at it and grinding out results. They go into the Mayo game with less media huha!

He played 1 minute and 40 seconds of 1 minute injury time.
Post by: screenexile on August 04, 2012, 08:44:45 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 04, 2012, 08:41:25 PM
Dublin have been playing poor this year. But they are sticking at it and grinding out results. They go into the Mayo game with less media huha!

There was no football played from 70.00 until 71.00 minutes and then 40 seconds allowed. Awful stuff
Post by: From the Bunker on August 04, 2012, 08:49:27 PM
Look this time keeping stuff goes on in every game up and down the country. You just cannot single out todays game. It's part of how game close out in the GAA. It's Random when the referee decides how long to give really. It will be that way until the time keeping gets taken out of his hands, and then it will trasfer to the timekeeper and we'll be bitching about the same thing.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on August 04, 2012, 08:52:51 PM
so lets say nothing because it happens everywhere, wtf wrong + wrong = ........................
Post by: laoislad on August 04, 2012, 08:54:42 PM
One minute of injury time was a joke alright and it's fair to say if Laois had been winning there would have been 3 or 4 mins added on but that's what you are up against when playing Dublin.
Anyway though we had 70 mins to score a goal and didn't so I doubt we would have got one if there were a few more minutes of injury time but I guess we will never know now!

Fairly happy coming out of that as I thought we gave a good showing of ourselves as I was fearing a hammering.
Maybe we could have won it and it is sickening to concede such a jammy goal but that's life and as I said before the game we had already overachieved getting this far.
Pretty optimistic about the future of Laois football as well.

Anyway all that's left to be said now is best of luck to Mayo in the semi final.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2012, 09:02:09 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2012, 07:15:36 AM
Don't think this will as straight forward as many will predict with many Dubs already talking about an AIF appearance although can't see this Dublin team been that complacent.

Anyhow Laois will have a very competitive midfield and have a very good defensive structure and are a lot more physical than the Micko Laois but outside Munnellly and similar to Kildare they lack that je ne sais quoi quality in the final third. Will expect Laois to fustrate Dublin and I think Dublin will get a good examination but realistically if Dublin perform they'll win. I think the spread on Laois is 7 points which would be a great bet.

Self praise is no praise but happy with that bet  8)
Post by: Celt_Man on August 04, 2012, 09:04:35 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 04, 2012, 08:44:45 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 04, 2012, 08:41:25 PM

There was no football played from 70.00 until 71.00 minutes and then 40 seconds allowed. Awful stuff

Aye my point exactly
Post by: rodney trotter on August 04, 2012, 09:09:03 PM
Dublin are a shadow of the team from last year. Great chance for Mayo now in the semi's even withut Andy Moran.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 04, 2012, 09:20:27 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on August 04, 2012, 09:09:03 PM
Dublin are a shadow of the team from last year. Great chance for Mayo now in the semi's even withut Andy Moran.

Don't think so.  :P  Going by you past logic Rodney Trotter, Sure Mayo should have lost to Sligo  :P and sure they were hammered by Kildare who lost to Meath who lost to Laois were beaten by Longford who lost to Wexford who lost to tipperary who lost to Down who were beaten by Mayo. It has to be Dublin.
Post by: rodney trotter on August 04, 2012, 09:34:46 PM
Yeah Mayo did stuggle past Sligo... But they didn't win the All Ireland last year?!

Post by: rodney trotter on August 04, 2012, 09:37:32 PM
What i'm saying is, its a great chance for Mayo. And I wish them luck.
Post by: Jinxy on August 04, 2012, 09:43:44 PM
Eoghan O'Gara was back to his worst today.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 04, 2012, 09:57:06 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on August 04, 2012, 09:37:32 PM
What i'm saying is, its a great chance for Mayo. And I wish them luck.

Your well wishes are appreciated.  :)

Dublin still look the better bet for an AI final, but the other side is where the winners lie.
Post by: Rossfan on August 04, 2012, 10:13:07 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 04, 2012, 08:54:42 PM
One minute of injury time was a joke alright and it's fair to say if Laois had been winning there would have been 3 or 4 mins added on but that's what you are up against when playing Dublin.

I hope Cormac Reilly can look at himself in the mirror tomorrow.
That was absolutely disgraceful time added on.
This guy has form on assisting Dublin - wasn't it him who gave the non free to Dublin to get them over Kildare last year?
mind you with the defensive way Laois play he could have added the proper 3 or 4 minutes and they still wouldn't have scored enough to get a replay.

For fcuk sake will the GAA please  BAN THE FCUKIN HANDPASS
Post by: ross matt on August 04, 2012, 10:22:36 PM
Hard luck Laois. Great heart and organisation. Good day for Justin McNulty. Poor one for Gilroy. Taking Brogan off???

Fluke of a goal. Dodgy point by O'Gara. Poor time added on decision by the ref. Some of the Dublin players looked very workmanlike... McCauley... O'Gara especially. They were very lucky today. They scraped through early last year too but were showing more form at this stage. Mayo have a great chance to take them but Moran will be a huge loss if his injury is as serious as it looked.
Post by: Qwerty28 on August 04, 2012, 10:28:12 PM
As a Longford man coulndt support Laois today having beaten them back in May but like several occasions over the last 10 years when Laois had Dublin theref roe the taking they couldnt finish the job....surely they had to push a few more men forward in last 10 mins...amount of ball turned over by both sides was deplorable, some terrible passing, a lot of the telegraphed moves and at the end Dublin werent just as bad as Laois...suppose the fortunate goal was the difference in the finish.

A Dub "supporter" in front of me stood up, roared abuse at Gilroy when he took Brogan off and the flung his programme towards the bench!! Crazy! Almost as bad as the guy behind me doing a crossward all during the second half!  :o
Post by: saffron sam2 on August 04, 2012, 10:54:49 PM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on August 04, 2012, 10:28:12 PM
Almost as bad as the guy behind me doing a crossward all during the second half!  :o

Ah, you've finally met Tony Fearon.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 05, 2012, 04:22:36 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 04, 2012, 10:13:07 PM

This guy has form on assisting Dublin - wasn't it him who gave the non free to Dublin to get them over Kildare last year?
mind you with the defensive way Laois play he could have added the proper 3 or 4 minutes and they still wouldn't have scored enough to get a replay.

Well considering some of the soft frees given to Laois compared to the tackles allowed on Dublin players I don't know how you can say he helped Dublin....Meaney on yellow card and blatantly pulls O'Gara back as he breaks through to create a 2 on 1 on the keeper and doesn't even do anything except not all any advantage......
Post by: The Boy Wonder on August 05, 2012, 11:58:56 AM
An opportunity missed from a Laois perspective - just didn't create enough chances in 2nd half and gave away possession a number of times when on the attack. Whilst the Dubs did kick bad wides they were never really motoring.
Justin McNulty has created a foundation for Laois to build on. It's a pity that forwards like Craig Rodgers, Donie Kingston and Donie Brennan didn't commit this year but fair play to all the lads that did and for their trojan efforts and pride in the jersey.
Post by: emmetryan on August 05, 2012, 12:08:27 PM
I've put together some tactical analysis on yesterday's game for anyone interested http://action81.com/blog/?p=6105
Post by: rodney trotter on August 05, 2012, 12:15:26 PM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on August 05, 2012, 11:58:56 AM
An opportunity missed from a Laois perspective - just didn't create enough chances in 2nd half and gave away possession a number of times when on the attack. Whilst the Dubs did kick bad wides they were never really motoring.
Justin McNulty has created a foundation for Laois to build on. It's a pity that forwards like Craig Rodgers, Donie Kingston and Donie Brennan didn't commit this year but fair play to all the lads that did and for their trojan efforts and pride in the jersey.

They are 3 quality forwards. Kingston is the the US, I think are the other 2 lads away or just didn't committ? Does Connor Meredith play much club football?, he was let go in AFL last year.
Post by: Hound on August 05, 2012, 02:43:32 PM
Hard luck to Laois, terrific in defence in the 2nd half, after looking dodgy early on, and some top class free taking.

From a Dublin perspective, I thought our defence was very good, maybe statistically gave away too many frees, but I thought a fair proportion of them were dubious. Our midfield was very strong, much to my surprise. Hats off to big Eamo, who gave his best performance in a blue jersey, far better than i've ever seen him before.

But the forwards, individually and collectively, gave the worst display that group has ever given. Laois played a part in that, but our distribution was horrendous. Bizarre if it's true about Flynn getting man of the match, given how often he gave the ball away -he's getting to love the Hollywood ball (that comes off about 1 time in 6).

Dunno what the feck Gilroy is at with his subs made in the last two games. The obvious first sub was KevMac for OGara, with Connolly being moved to the edge of the square.  Then maybe Cahill for Cullen.

Absolutely ridiculous taking off our only two reliable point scorers in a game where none of the forwards are playing well. Even if they'd missed a heap of scores, they were still the best players available for the last 5/10 minutes, as we've very little strength in depth when it comes to scoring forwards.

I predicted Dublin would lose in the Qf at the beginning of the year. If we'd drawn Kildare or Kerry we most certainly would have lost. But I think we'll improve now, and Mayo won't have it easy in the semi
Post by: galwaygreenandred on August 05, 2012, 03:05:22 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 04, 2012, 09:20:27 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on August 04, 2012, 09:09:03 PM

Don't think so.  :P  Going by you past logic Rodney Trotter, Sure Mayo should have lost to Sligo  :P and sure they were hammered by Kildare who lost to Meath who lost to Laois were beaten by Longford who lost to Wexford who lost to tipperary who lost to Down who were beaten by Mayo. It has to be Dublin.

Always the optimist ;)
Post by: heffo on August 06, 2012, 10:04:54 AM

Timekeeping is a serious issue alright, there was only a minute played in 2006 when Mayo beat us by a point and there was nothing else allowed when the Mayo player ran off with the ball when it was a Dublin free at the end and he then blew up.
Post by: ballinaman on August 06, 2012, 10:45:57 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 06, 2012, 10:04:54 AM

Timekeeping is a serious issue alright, there was only a minute played in 2006 when Mayo beat us by a point and there was nothing else allowed when the Mayo player ran off with the ball when it was a Dublin free at the end and he then blew up.
Threw on the tape there...whistle blown at 73.51 in AI Semi in 2006....
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 06, 2012, 10:55:08 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 06, 2012, 10:45:57 PM

Heffo needs to fix his stop watch.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 07, 2012, 02:37:08 PM
Poor performance from the Dubs but even though it was close, they were still comfortable enough as Laois never got within two in the home straight. Laois were never going to put up a huge score and so set up defensively. They have a good unit/system back there and Cahir Healy is one of the best man markers around. I think Heffo was right in wanting to draw Kerry in the quarters. Now if they make the final they'll only have beat a Mayo side without their talisman outside of Leinster. Whereas last year they had the confidence from tearing Tyrone apart and defusing Donegal. They won't have that work experience to fall back on this year and will be mentally short.
Post by: Hound on August 07, 2012, 03:08:17 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 07, 2012, 02:37:08 PM
Poor performance from the Dubs but even though it was close, they were still comfortable enough as Laois never got within two in the home straight. Laois were never going to put up a huge score and so set up defensively. They have a good unit/system back there and Cahir Healy is one of the best man markers around. I think Heffo was right in wanting to draw Kerry in the quarters. Now if they make the final they'll only have beat a Mayo side without their talisman outside of Leinster. Whereas last year they had the confidence from tearing Tyrone apart and defusing Donegal. They won't have that work experience to fall back on this year and will be mentally short.
If this was last year, you'd be 100% right. But because of last year, I think we probably do have the work experience to fall back on. 

We've been hugely vulnerable up to now, in common with all recent champions. But now, we're suddenly only two good performances away from retaining the title. The hunger will be back, so I don't think we'll be short on the "mental" side, in fact I'd put that as our one strength over the 3 remaining teams. Whether we're good enough though is a major questionmark!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 07, 2012, 03:21:54 PM
But that was a year ago Hound. And even still there was a lot of talk about Kerry throwing it away as opposed to Dublin winning it. Some of that seeps in, in much the same way that "you'll have it handy against Laois" will have seeped in and have partly been a reason for a poor performance. Dublin didn't even make the league semi finals this year. I don't think what you done a year ago is worth much in regards to winning an AI final. I'll reserve judgement to see how the Mayo game unfolds but from here I can't see Laois and Mayo holding a candle to Tyrone and Donegal.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 07, 2012, 04:25:28 PM

Thank god for that as if the game went on any longer Brady would have been arrested for assault  ;)

As for the dubs vs laois, 1 minute was an absolute disgrace..........................however the laois keeper and free takers on the day went thru an awful amount of clock time
Post by: ballinaman on August 07, 2012, 05:25:14 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 07, 2012, 04:25:28 PM

Thank god for that as if the game went on any longer Brady would have been arrested for assault ;)

As for the dubs vs laois, 1 minute was an absolute disgrace..........................however the laois keeper and free takers on the day went thru an awful amount of clock time
Think you are confusing Brady with Whelan there... ;)