GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 08:48:30 AM

Title: Roscommon v Tyrone AI Round 2 Qualifier
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 08:48:30 AM
Don't tear up our pitch too badly, Red. Our minors need it the next morning.  ;)

After last year and last weekend we won't be going into this game with any fear.
Title: Re: Roscommon v Tyrone AI Round 2 Qualifier
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 02, 2012, 09:04:36 AM
Armagh are better off not playing Tyrone again all the best to Roscommon however didn't they beat you easily last year?
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 09:06:33 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 02, 2012, 09:04:36 AM
Armagh are better off not playing Tyrone again all the best to Roscommon however didn't they beat you easily last year?

Not even in the least.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 02, 2012, 09:10:09 AM
What date/ weekend is this game?
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 09:12:56 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 02, 2012, 09:10:09 AM
What date/ weekend is this game?

It'll be the 14th of July, no Sunday switch because our beautiful gem is hosting the Connacht finals the next day. Sure make it a weekend, lads ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 02, 2012, 09:22:27 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 09:06:33 AM

Not even in the least.
Tyrone 3-19 Roscommon 1-14 (in last year's Qualifiers, in Croke).  :P
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 02, 2012, 09:24:16 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 02, 2012, 09:22:27 AM

Not even in the least.

Thought so.
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 09:25:02 AM

Not even in the least.

Were you there?
Post by: Tubberman on July 02, 2012, 09:31:14 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 09:25:02 AM

Not even in the least.

Were you there?

Ros put it up to Tyrone for about 50 mins and played some great stuff, but Tyrone pulled away then and won it handy in the end. No point saying otherwise.
Post by: EC Unique on July 02, 2012, 09:41:19 AM
Wonder who Tyrone will get in round 3?
Post by: orangeman on July 02, 2012, 09:59:28 AM
Roscommon gave Tyrone their fill if it last year and with home advantage will do the same in 2 weeks time.

Don't rule out Roscommon coming through this one with a win.
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2012, 10:08:15 AM
Rossies will fancy this.

Is the sheep thing true?
Post by: rrhf on July 02, 2012, 10:10:25 AM
This is a tough draw for us,  Tyrone had a ding dong with Armagh and Roscommon put them to the sword.  Home advantage.  Id be very happy to get out of here with a win.  Tyrone had some great moments V donegal, but choked in front of goals when the pressure was on.  Any team thats not scoring when under pressure can be beaten on a bad day.  Also Ros have to get a big win sometime, I think they are a decent sside, and they are due this.  Should be a great game. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 02, 2012, 10:54:42 AM
The Rossies will be well up for this, no doubt, though we should have a little too much for them.
Post by: neilthemac on July 02, 2012, 11:02:20 AM
One of the worst draws possible for us.

A big welcome to all Tyrone supporters.
Hope you travel down in big numbers.

If the game is as good as last year's in Croker then it will be very enjoyable
Post by: ross matt on July 02, 2012, 11:13:04 AM
Last year was a great contest in Croker before Tyrone pulled away mainly thanks to Cavanagh's goals. Despite the win yesterday over Armagh I still dont think Ross are as good as they were last year. Maybe Tyrone without Cavanagh are'nt what they were either but they still could have drawn with Donegal. The Hyde venue might level things a little more. Tough draw for Roscommon all the same.
Post by: seafoid on July 02, 2012, 11:21:14 AM
Presumably the win yesterday will pull the Rossies away from the Connacht minor thread
Post by: jamesimcanespy on July 02, 2012, 11:22:30 AM
Hsa this fixture ever taken place before??? Even in the league?
Post by: LeoMc on July 02, 2012, 11:23:45 AM
Quote from: jamesimcanespy on July 02, 2012, 11:22:30 AM

Apart from last year?
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2012, 11:25:16 AM
I have a vague memory of a low scoring win for the Ros in the league.
Post by: seafoid on July 02, 2012, 11:40:06 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on July 02, 2012, 11:23:45 AM

Pre the qualifiers and St Mickey Throne rarely  used to get out of Ulster so they were never in sync with Roscommon's cycle.
Post by: Qwerty28 on July 02, 2012, 11:56:04 AM
They same imitation is the highest form of flattery so will the Rossies continue with their Longford style colour scheme the next day?!!   ;)
Post by: neilthemac on July 02, 2012, 12:12:18 PM
Roscommon beat Tyrone in 0-11 to 0-10 in the league 2003, I think.
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 12:17:43 PM
Last year's tie was for the first 60 minutes perhaps the game of the year, some great attacking play and real end-to-end stuff. We stood off Kavanagh way too much, like we were in awe of him. The worst part was that the killer blows weren't even pieces of brilliance by him, just some lazy passing by our backs giving Kavanagh near open goals. I don't expect the same on July 14th.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 02, 2012, 12:39:13 PM
From my perspective. Negatives 1. Rossies possibily the strongest team we could have met. 2 Home draw is always coveted at this stage. 3. Rossies will have no fear after yesterday and last year. Positives 1. Playing a stronger team will benefit us in the long term if we're lucky enough to get through. 2. The intensity will be nowhere near the levels of Saturday. 3. New option at full back with young Clarke.
Post by: never kickt a ball on July 02, 2012, 01:09:17 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2012, 11:25:16 AM

In 2003? One of Harte's first game in charge of Tyrone seniors if not the first?
Post by: EC Unique on July 02, 2012, 01:12:19 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 02, 2012, 12:39:13 PM
From my perspective. Negatives 1. Rossies possibily the strongest team we could have met. 2 Home draw is always coveted at this stage. 3. Rossies will have no fear after yesterday and last year. Positives 1. Playing a stronger team will benefit us in the long term if we're lucky enough to get through. 2. The intensity will be nowhere near the levels of Saturday. 3. New option at full back with young Clarke.

Good point on Clarke for full back. Justy could be useful further out the pitch when fit and leave Clarke where he is..
Post by: Fuzzman on July 02, 2012, 02:58:34 PM
Thank God for that. A trip West in July where they won't be playing a Spanish style of 15 defenders and no forwards.

I've watched the game on Saturday at least twice now and whilst we definitely seem to outplay them in the first half, we were not at all at the races in the second half. I could spend ages commenting on how I saw it but there is one thing that HAS to be resolved and I can't believe a man of Mickey Harte's intelligence and preparation has let it go now for so long

FREE TAKING

In the name of God (not PTG) sort it out will ye. Is it because we have so many possible free-takers that nobody is truly assigned with the task and so becomes our "expert" free taker who hits them all the time. According to RTE we had 7 different free takers though the Irish news says 3 different free takers and 3 different 45 takers.
Is it because so many of our lads are good ball kickers and can all kick scores from play so then nobody really takes ownership of this task. We have discussed this for years and since Peter retired it has never been resolved.
To me Joey should be the man as he can kick over sensational points from frees from 60 yards sometimes.
I thought Petey was our new free taker last year?
I don't pretend to be an expert but would be wrong to see free taking is all about practise, practise , practise.
Over the years we had some amazing free takers and in todays highly defensive systems, there are more frees than ever. Teams now systematically foul you and so surely if teams know we don't have anyone reliable they'll happily pull our men down knowing we'll probably kick it wide or short.

Does anyone else agree with me that whilst other problems Tyrone have surely this is one which needs to be addressed ASAP or am I over simplifying it?
Look at Longford's new free taker McCormack with his strange new technique.
11 points he scored and 9 of them frees. How many did we miss from frees?
Post by: EC Unique on July 02, 2012, 03:44:47 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 02, 2012, 02:58:34 PM
Thank God for that. A trip West in July where they won't be playing a Spanish style of 15 defenders and no forwards.

I've watched the game on Saturday at least twice now and whilst we definitely seem to outplay them in the first half, we were not at all at the races in the second half. I could spend ages commenting on how I saw it but there is one thing that HAS to be resolved and I can't believe a man of Mickey Harte's intelligence and preparation has let it go now for so long

FREE TAKING

In the name of God (not PTG) sort it out will ye. Is it because we have so many possible free-takers that nobody is truly assigned with the task and so becomes our "expert" free taker who hits them all the time. According to RTE we had 7 different free takers though the Irish news says 3 different free takers and 3 different 45 takers.
Is it because so many of our lads are good ball kickers and can all kick scores from play so then nobody really takes ownership of this task. We have discussed this for years and since Peter retired it has never been resolved.
To me Joey should be the man as he can kick over sensational points from frees from 60 yards sometimes.
I don't pretend to be an expert but would be wrong to see free taking is all about practise, practise , practise.
Over the years we had some amazing free takers and in todays highly defensive systems, there are more frees than ever. Teams now systematically foul you and so surely if teams know we don't have anyone reliable they'll happily pull our men down knowing we'll probably kick it wide or short.

Does anyone else agree with me that whilst other problems Tyrone have surely this is one which needs to be addressed ASAP or am I over simplifying it?

Spot on abou the frees. Joe hit over a class free from about 60 yards in the first half then 4 or 5 mins later an easier free from similar angle was missed by Mugsey. WTF?
Post by: Hashtag on July 02, 2012, 04:31:22 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 02, 2012, 03:44:47 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 02, 2012, 02:58:34 PM

FREE TAKING

Spot on abou the frees. Joe hit over a class free from about 60 yards in the first half then 4 or 5 mins later an easier free from similar angle was missed by Mugsey. WTF?

AFAIK Mugsy, Petey, Penrose, O'Neill, Joey all practice frees for 15 minutes before training.
Why so many?
Harte doesn't want:
* A player to become complacent and think they will remain on the team just to hit frees
* Wants to ensure that that defenders don't know who to target
* Wants to have resources in place in case of injuries

This in itself results in a bit of uncertainty. None of the men can really establish a confidence in themselves to hit 6/7 frees a game.
Post by: red hander on July 02, 2012, 05:03:38 PM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on July 02, 2012, 01:09:17 PM

In 2003? One of Harte's first game in charge of Tyrone seniors if not the first?

Wet, oul miserable day.  Watched first half of Old Firm game in a pub in the town before dandering out to Hyde Park. Dong-dong game where the lead kept changing.  Didn't think we'd be lifting Sam that year after final whistle!!!
Post by: ross4life on July 02, 2012, 05:27:58 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 02, 2012, 05:03:38 PM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on July 02, 2012, 01:09:17 PM

Wet, oul miserable day.  Watched first half of Old Firm game in a pub in the town before dandering out to Hyde Park. Dong-dong game where the lead kept changing.  Didn't think we'd be lifting Sam that year after final whistle!!!

I remember that game like yesterday back in those days we were able to top Div 1. The Clann na ngael greyhound was sent off early in the game & we still managed to turnaround 8-4 HT Tyrone lead. It was Mickey Harte's first defeat if Tyrone lose this game could it be his last?
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 06:34:08 PM
Jaysus if that's the case Tyrone must be in a bad old state if we're beating them. I guess we'll have to wait 'till in R3 before we get tested. I think we're running out of rungs to go up, mind.
Post by: ross4life on July 02, 2012, 06:39:40 PM
Quote from: AFS on July 02, 2012, 06:28:40 PM
Tyrone will win this handy enough. They have more than one forward and won't throw in the towel at the first sign of trouble. Despite what they pulled off yesterday, Roscommon really aren't up to much.

Armagh with with one forward & throwing in the towel doesn't say much about ye either, TBH i was expecting alot more from Armagh especially when they looked half decent v Tyrone. I haven't forgotten your post after the Tyrone v Roscommon game last year.
The best teams aren't the ones with the most good moments, rather the ones that make the least mistakes.
Roscommon seems to be a side that enjoys a fair amount of good moments in games, but just makes too many mistakes to be considered a good team.
Post by: ONeill on July 03, 2012, 08:11:40 AM
02/02/2003 - Roscommon 0-11 Tyrone 0-10

Fourteen-man Roscommon staged a stirring second half recovery to pip defending league champions Tyrone in this hard fought Division 1A tie at Dr Hyde Park.The 3,000-strong crowd saw Tyrone dominate the first period and Roscommon woes were compounded when Jonathan Dunning was sent off after 14 minutes. Tyrone led by double scores at the break, 0-8 to Roscommon's 0-4. Without their Errigan Ciarans' contingent Tyrone ran out of steam in the final quarter and a string of long range points from Gerry Lohan, Nigel Dineen and Stephen Lohan saw the home side clear by a point at the final whistle.

Post by: Go home ref on July 03, 2012, 10:38:15 AM
Those were the days  ;D
However our long decline ( from the relative heights of getting to NFL Semis 3 years in a row ) began that year really and culminated in the disaster year of 2008.
Mind you 2012 saw a drop from the relative highs of 2010 and 11 which I'd like to think has now been arrested.
Anyway on to this game .. another routine whipping of a lesser light by the great and famous Tyrone I expect  :-\
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 03, 2012, 04:36:02 PM
2pm, on Saturday 14th July.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 03, 2012, 08:50:16 PM
Glad Tyrone don't have to wait to long to get back into action. Could definitely have got an easier draw but at this stage should just be glad of the second chance. I thought we easily could have got a draw on Saturday and despite Donegal dominating for a long period in the second half we probably created more decent chances overall. We were also missing Justy McMahon and Ronan McNabb who was the chief breaking ball winner against Armagh wasn't fit to start.

As mentioned by others are freetaking has to be improved. It really needs sorted and we need a player to take responsibility on either side. Also we still seem to be slightly behind the top teams in terms of fitness and if that's the case a run through the qualifiers might not be a bad thing if it is fully endorsed by the full panel like 08 when players not starting worked really hard to keep up with the fitness.

I thought one of our problems on Saturday was the lack of quick ball inside. We currently don't have a top class target man and I'm starting to wonder if Cassidy is maybe worth a go at full forward with O'Neill playing off him. That would allow more direct ball inside. Also think if Justy is fit it could allow Clarke to be a decent option at half back or even midfield. Would maybe go with this team for the next day:
McConnell
McCrory
Justy
Carlin
Clarke
Gormley
O'Neill
Cavanagh
Joe
McNabb
Mark Donnelly/Harte (can't decide)
Penrose
O'Neill
Cassidy
Mattie Donnelly

That would freshen up the team a little and for a change this season leave decent forward options to come on when the game opens up - McGuigan, Mulligan and Harte or Mark Donnelly. I'm not saying I'd want that team for the rest of the year but might be worth freshening things up a little after a tough defeat. I'm also not convinced that it would be a bad idea to move Colm Cavangh to half forward to add a bit of size on this line. Suppose the options in midfield would be Clarke or Cassidy.
Post by: Throw ball on July 03, 2012, 09:47:23 PM
If Tyrone have their game face on they will win at a canter. No one should be fooled by the Armagh result.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 03, 2012, 10:00:11 PM
Over the last decade team's like Sligo,Laois and Mayo have knocked Tyrone out of the championship of course it only happened because Tyrone didn't have their game face on.
Post by: seafoid on July 03, 2012, 10:34:35 PM
Ros should give it a good rattle. It's a while since the county regained its place in footballing prominence.
If Leitrim could beat Wicklow and if Galway could grind a result out of Antrim you might even have 5 Connacht teams in the last 16. 
Post by: orangeman on July 03, 2012, 10:55:16 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 03, 2012, 04:36:02 PM
2pm, on Saturday 14th July.

Will she be on tv ?
Post by: God14 on July 04, 2012, 08:29:10 AM
TV3 are designated broadcasters of a football qualifier on the 14th. We'll have to wait and see which game the executives at TV3 plum for.

I would have thought that they would have prefered a 'tea time' game for viewing audience figures etc however, no?
Post by: ziggy90 on July 04, 2012, 10:18:54 AM
Quote from: God14 on July 04, 2012, 08:29:10 AM
TV3 are designated broadcasters of a football qualifier on the 14th. We'll have to wait and see which game the executives at TV3 plum for.

I would have thought that they would have prefered a 'tea time' game for viewing audience figures etc however, no?

You're probably right but can't the times be changed? When the TV fixtures are announced would someone post them up please.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 04, 2012, 10:33:58 AM
Feck it anyway. I dont have TV3.
Post by: Rossfan on July 04, 2012, 10:34:59 AM
With the Connacht Minor final at 12 noon the following day I think ye can take it Ros V Tyrone will NOT be changed from the designated time.
Title: Teilifís
Post by: drici on July 04, 2012, 10:40:22 AM
Original stated intentions.

TV3 July 14th: Hurling Phase 3 / Football Round 2 Qualifier Possible

RTÉ July 14th: All Ireland Senior Football Qualifier

Could be holding on to see the draw for the next round of the Hurling after this Saturday night's games.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 04, 2012, 11:13:06 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 04, 2012, 10:34:59 AM
With the Connacht Minor final at 12 noon the following day I think ye can take it Ros V Tyrone will NOT be changed from the designated time.

Why not? A couple of hours won't make any difference. Anyway I only want it moved for selfish reasons ( don't think I'll make it for this one).  Btw I was at the Hyde on Sunday (had a blast) was the crowd really only 3,000?
Post by: ONeill on July 04, 2012, 01:43:21 PM
Any good facts about Roscommon out there?

Didn't do well on this - http://www.funtrivia.com/playquiz/quiz3162782435458.html
Post by: Rossfan on July 04, 2012, 01:45:26 PM
 "Btw I was at the Hyde on Sunday (had a blast) was the crowd really only 3,000?"

Official was 3,7...something.
Stand was full and there was a good crew on the terrace plus the scattered few on the open seats and the ends.
I'd have thought 5,500 .
Maybe they only counted those paying in ignoring kids,and those who always seem to have a pass for anything in the Hyde.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 04, 2012, 02:02:45 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 04, 2012, 01:45:26 PM
"Btw I was at the Hyde on Sunday (had a blast) was the crowd really only 3,000?"

Stand was full and there was a good crew on the terrace plus the scattered few on the open seats and the ends.
I'd have thought 5,500 .
Maybe they only counted those paying in ignoring kids,and those who always seem to have a pass for anything in the Hyde.

I was thinking more in the lines of 7,000 myself but I wouldn't be the best judge. To be fair I think the pricing was done ok EURO15 for the stand & EURO10 for terracing. How many Armagh fans were there? I was impressed with the amount of them who came down on what wasn't the best weekend of the year (weather wise).
Post by: Rossfan on July 04, 2012, 02:45:18 PM
We had a poor enough turn out but what with the surrender v the Herrin chokers and the vibes emanating from GAA circles around the County ( Syf excepted  ;D ) it wasn't that surprising.
Armagh must have been around 35 -40 % of the crowd.
Prices were very reasonable alright and students were even able to get their €5 off for the stand which isnt usual.
Now if only the programme was as reasonable €3 for a poor poor effort.
Post by: ross4life on July 04, 2012, 05:28:44 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 04, 2012, 02:02:45 PM

I'd have thought 5,500 .

I was thinking more in the lines of 7,000 myself but I wouldn't be the best judge. To be fair I think the pricing was done ok EURO15 for the stand & EURO10 for terracing. How many Armagh fans were there? I was impressed with the amount of them who came down on what wasn't the best weekend of the year (weather wise).

I don't think they count under 16s i'd say well over 4,500 but i thought a bigger crowd went to Tuam on Saturday night. On another note the same seating is going to cost extra €15 for the Connacht final it goes to show how over priced the provincial games are.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 04, 2012, 06:56:35 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 04, 2012, 05:28:44 PM

I'd have thought 5,500 .

I don't think they count under 16s i'd say well over 4,500 but i thought a bigger crowd went to Tuam on Saturday night. On another note the same seating is going to cost extra €15 for the Connacht final it goes to show how over priced the provincial games are.
So we're looking at €30 and €25 then for stand and terrace seats for the final. That might be okay for an individual but it would be a costly outing for a family group or the likes.
Right now, I don't notice any major excitement around Mayo and I don't think that's a reflection on Sligo but it's more down to the general economic times and the run of lousy weather we've been having. People in the county don't have the heart for football at the moment or so it would seem.

BTW, good luck against Tyrone. I think ye would need to up the performance a fair bit to beat them boyos. I think events in Mauritius are having a negative effect on the Tyrone side.
Poor Mickey must be under great pressure at the moment and the team seem to be off-pace as well. If they get their concentration back, they could be a hard side for any other to beat.
Still, the Rossies have more in the tank than recent games would suggest and I'd give ye a good chance of winning.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 05, 2012, 11:18:04 PM
Remember the time when you were bate in your provincial championship then you were really bate.  End of.

I feel after the Donegal defeat that Tyrone just need to regroup for next year, a forward line of Steve O'Neill & Owen Mulligan owe nothing but signify the jaded nature and perhaps tactics.

I have little confidence re the match in Roscommon Town (Ros great bet at 3/1) and feel if we get over it then the train crash is around the corner.

We are on paper good enough for quarter finals but not good enough for the All-Ireland.  Tyrone have a brilliant record in being in the quarter-final - Down have been there once by comparison.

I just feel we need a long break guys,
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2012, 11:21:41 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 04, 2012, 06:56:35 PM

Poor Mickey must be under great pressure at the moment and the team seem to be off-pace as well. If they get their concentration back, they could be a hard side for any other to beat.

Really? I thought Tyrone showed more fight than in recent years v Donegal.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 05, 2012, 11:28:26 PM
Yep, according to Pit Spillinne Donegal were light-years ahead of anything else in that god-forsaken black-hole of an emetically evocative province! We're not too far away in the application and fighting stakes (dar liom)!
Post by: moysider on July 06, 2012, 12:13:37 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 05, 2012, 11:28:26 PM
Yep, according to Pit Spillinne Donegal were light-years ahead of anything else in that god-forsaken black-hole of an emetically evocative province! We're not too far away in the application and fighting stakes (dar liom)!

Agree. I think Tyrone played a game that gave them a realistic chance v Donegal. From what I ve seen of Donegal I suspect a lot of teams would not get anywhere near as close as Tyrone did. And Tyrone were hardly full strength with Justin McMahon out and McGuigan hardly up to full speed. Not a lot wrong with Tyrone. The reality is they had a golden age and some players any county is lucky to see every second generation. You cant just replace a Dooher, Kavanagh or Canavan no matter how good structures are. But imo Tyrone are still a top side.

As for Spillane - it's unfortunate that he is factored in at all. Recently he has been calling Tyrone a team in transition (true - has to be done), and then says the team should have been broken up 2 years ago ( it was so obvious back then ::)) He also says that Tyrone were a great team at their best........... but hold on. When Tyrone were great he was calling them puke football and cynical and too defensive! The man s revisionism is a joke but he knows most saps are informed by his shite so its working for him. It s doing the games no service that a few tv pundits and a few journalists have such a big influence.
Post by: Syferus on July 06, 2012, 12:13:56 AM
I'd rate Tyrone as pretty much equal to Kerry, Kildare and Mayo at this point, which is a log-jam for 4th after Dublin, Cork and Donegal.

Ironic as it is, Tyrone and Kerry's life-cycles are syncing up almost perfectly, though I'd say Tyrone are in better shape overall going forward. Past Dublin and Cork there's not a huge fear factor from the rest of the teams down to the likes of ourselves, Wexford, Longford and Meath, the pack really seems to be narrowing the gap this year.

I think our game has the potential to be fantastic - the (mostly) old stagers, pockets weighted with medals, going to the home of an incredibly young team. Nevermind how good a contest it was last year, this game has huge significance for Tyrone's continued relevance and Roscommon's aspirations of breaking into the big time.
Post by: stew on July 06, 2012, 12:55:47 AM
I can see Tyrone hammering Roscommon by seven or eight points in this one, too much quality and the rossies met the most inept, toothless Armagh team in decades.
Post by: Syferus on July 06, 2012, 01:23:55 AM
Quote from: stew on July 06, 2012, 12:55:47 AM
I can see Tyrone hammering Roscommon by seven or eight points in this one, too much quality and the rossies met the most inept, toothless Armagh team in decades.

That Tyrone only beat because of a soft sending off - our victory over them was significantly more comprehensive  :-*
Post by: nrico2006 on July 06, 2012, 08:41:54 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 06, 2012, 01:23:55 AM
Quote from: stew on July 06, 2012, 12:55:47 AM

That Tyrone only beat because of a soft sending off - our victory over them was significantly more comprehensive  :-*

The sending off didn't give Tyrone the victory, if anything it galvanised Armagh.  Armagh would have been up for the Tyrone game a bit more that the qualifier, can't see anything other than a Tyrone win.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 06, 2012, 08:47:06 AM

I'd have thought 5,500 .

So we're looking at €30 and €25 then for stand and terrace seats for the final. That might be okay for an individual but it would be a costly outing for a family group or the likes.
Right now, I don't notice any major excitement around Mayo and I don't think that's a reflection on Sligo but it's more down to the general economic times and the run of lousy weather we've been having. People in the county don't have the heart for football at the moment or so it would seem.

BTW, good luck against Tyrone. I think ye would need to up the performance a fair bit to beat them boyos. I think events in Mauritius are having a negative effect on the Tyrone side.
Still, the Rossies have more in the tank than recent games would suggest and I'd give ye a good chance of winning.

I think when we see Tyrone playing a lot of us forget the personal situation Mickey Harte is in with the murder trial that has been going on for the past number of weeks.  As for Tyrone being off-pace, they looked good against Armagh and played a completely different game against Donegal and narrowly lost.  All this without their best forward from the league in Coney, Sean Cavanagh, Justy McMahon and the like of Ronan O'Neill who surely would have had a big role to play this year.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 06, 2012, 10:19:35 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 06, 2012, 08:47:06 AM

I'd have thought 5,500 .

I think when we see Tyrone playing a lot of us forget the personal situation Mickey Harte is in with the murder trial that has been going on for the past number of weeks.  As for Tyrone being off-pace, they looked good against Armagh and played a completely different game against Donegal and narrowly lost.  All this without their best forward from the league in Coney, Sean Cavanagh, Justy McMahon and the like of Ronan O'Neill who surely would have had a big role to play this year.

I'm sure all our thoughts are with the Harte & McAreavey families at this dreadful and distressing time.

Are the above out for the whole of the Championship? If so, it sounds to me as if you're getting your excuses in early. Why?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 06, 2012, 10:45:11 AM
Cavanagh, O'Neill and Coney out for the championship. Justy is short term although probably won't make the Ross game. Far too much poor mouthing going on round here. Tyrone to win by at least 5!
Post by: God14 on July 06, 2012, 10:50:23 AM
 I thought there was a possibility that Coney would be back soon?

At the time of the injury it was reported he was out for the season, but the word i kept hearing was that if we made the 1/4 finals he'd be fit & available. Not so sure how valid this is at this stage..
Post by: ziggy90 on July 06, 2012, 11:01:44 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 06, 2012, 10:45:11 AM
Cavanagh, O'Neill and Coney out for the championship. Justy is short term although probably won't make the Ross game. Far too much poor mouthing going on round here. Tyrone to win by at least 5!

At last, a bit of honesty. Although I think, and hope, especially with home advantage, Ros will stir things up.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 06, 2012, 11:22:31 AM
Hadn't heard that God14. Would be great news if we were still about. Although i'm confident of a win it all depends on that old cliche of what Ross/Tyrone team show up on the day. With such a marked difference in your performance versus Galway then Armagh, prediction becomes a tricky task.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 06, 2012, 11:30:10 AM
Whilst I too expect it to be a much more attacking game like the Tyrone v Armagh game I still can see Tyrone pull away in the final 15 mins.
You never know of course but I think we've STILL got too much talent throught-out the team to beat someone like Roscommon
Not so sure though can the same be said for Dublin & Cork but we may improve
Post by: nrico2006 on July 06, 2012, 01:54:17 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 06, 2012, 10:19:35 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 06, 2012, 08:47:06 AM

I'd have thought 5,500 .

I'm sure all our thoughts are with the Harte & McAreavey families at this dreadful and distressing time.

Are the above out for the whole of the Championship? If so, it sounds to me as if you're getting your excuses in early. Why?

Not getting excuses in, just frustrated the past 2 months at the loss of kep players and in particular the two younger boys who really have the potential to give Tyrone a bit of the x factor up front again.  Just have to wait to next season.  As for the game tomorrow, if we are beat then I'm sure Roscommon deserve it.  Seem to be a good honest team and I like the way they carry themselves on the pitch.  I just can't see Tyrone winning anything this year due to the absentees, I would have been confident that a full strength team could have competed with Dublin/Cork and beat Donegal.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 06, 2012, 02:10:42 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 06, 2012, 01:54:17 PM
...As for the game tomorrow

Huh!?
Post by: Syferus on July 06, 2012, 02:17:46 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 06, 2012, 02:10:42 PM

Huh!?

I knew ye were cute hoors but trying to play the game a week early?!
Post by: EC Unique on July 06, 2012, 02:36:40 PM
To be honest the so called ''cute hoorism'' is a bit silly. I would doubt very much what is written on here is even read by many players/managers never mind have any influence on their opinions.

Speak your minds people. Tyrone are far too good and will win by at least 5 without getting into top gear. ;)
Post by: omagh_gael on July 06, 2012, 02:38:50 PM
Feck ye anyway Fear, we could have had another Fearon moment there!
Post by: ziggy90 on July 06, 2012, 03:20:57 PM
Just had a quick look at the PP website and it's saying the match is televised. Does anyone know which channel it's on?
Post by: God14 on July 06, 2012, 03:39:08 PM
pay no heed to that ziggy. PP had those emblems up beside the matches on monday even before the times were even confirmed
They do that when they have extended betting range on the match. I be on PP alot and have found this before with the GAA matches
For example they have the TV sign against 4 matches that day. There will not be 4 matches televised.  I reckon Longford vs Limerick will be covered. Premier sports have allocated the 7pm throw in on their schedule.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 06, 2012, 03:41:29 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 06, 2012, 02:10:42 PM

Huh!?

Got my weeks messed up.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 06, 2012, 03:45:11 PM
Quote from: God14 on July 06, 2012, 03:39:08 PM
pay no heed to that ziggy. PP had those emblems up beside the matches on monday even before the times were even confirmed
They do that when they have extended betting range on the match. I be on PP alot and have found this before with the GAA matches
For example they have the TV sign against 4 matches that day. There will not be 4 matches televised.  I reckon Longford vs Limerick will be covered. Premier sports have allocated the 7pm throw in on their schedule.

Thanks for that G. I have Premier Sports but I suppose I'll have to settle for Shannonside. Btw is it a better commentary than Mad-West?
Post by: Rossfan on July 06, 2012, 04:33:20 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 06, 2012, 02:36:40 PM
Tyrone are far too good and will win by at least 5 without getting into top gear. ;)
Good man, keep them coming  ;D ::) :P
Won't ye get a right shock when you discover it's not 2008 any more.
Post by: EC Unique on July 06, 2012, 04:37:28 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 06, 2012, 04:33:20 PM
Tyrone are far too good and will win by at least 5 without getting into top gear. ;)

Yea, Your right. The Football super power that is Roscommon to teach Tyrone a lesson. ::)
Post by: Syferus on July 06, 2012, 05:38:14 PM
You'll be surprised at how true a statement that is  :D
Post by: ONeill on July 06, 2012, 06:18:07 PM
Tyrone wouldn't want to be taking these men lightly. The could be the Wicklow of 2012. Whatever that means.

Only for Sean Cavanagh last year, Tyrone were in a spot of bother. He's out of the equation this time out. I can see a squeaky one here, with the rapturous and ravenous Rossie crowd rejoicingly roaring their rebels on. Tyrone are no world beaters and have lost two of their last three games.

Realistically, Galway pummelled them in Hyde. What happened to Roscommon that day?
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 06, 2012, 06:18:44 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 06, 2012, 04:37:28 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 06, 2012, 04:33:20 PM

Yea, Your right. The Football super power that is Roscommon to teach Tyrone a lesson. ::)

It's not 2008 anyone Tyrone are no longer one of the super powers of football however they should defeat Roscommon then become unstuck v Kildare,Kerry in the next round if they play them.

Post by: Syferus on July 06, 2012, 06:57:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 06, 2012, 06:18:07 PM
Tyrone wouldn't want to be taking these men lightly. The could be the Wicklow of 2012. Whatever that means.

Only for Sean Cavanagh last year, Tyrone were in a spot of bother. He's out of the equation this time out. I can see a squeaky one here, with the rapturous and ravenous Rossie crowd rejoicingly roaring their rebels on. Tyrone are no world beaters and have lost two of their last three games.

Realistically, Galway pummelled them in Hyde. What happened to Roscommon that day?

We played a two sweeper zone system that gave Galway way too much room to run at us. We lost Michael Finneran (our best midfielder) within the first ten minutes and by the time we'd got a grip on the game we were already double scores down. It's happened plenty of times to Galway, it's less a comment on their quality and more on how we react to the maroon jerseys. The fear is completely gone at under-age so hopefully it'll be out of the system at senior soon enough. We've had absolutely no fear of bigger teams than Galway outside the province, though, and that should stand us in good steed for the 14th.

And we've got a hell of a lot more pedigree than Wicklow - this is no Cinderella story, we've been building from grass roots for years now and it's only in the last four seasons at senior that we've seen hints of it breaking through to senior. Much, much more to come.
Post by: rrhf on July 06, 2012, 07:16:49 PM
Roscommon really could run riot although realistically they could ruefully regret their draw with a resurgent Ricey inspired tyrone running rings round them.
Post by: ONeill on July 06, 2012, 07:23:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 06, 2012, 06:57:49 PM

We played a two sweeper zone system that gave Galway way too much room to run at us. We lost Michael Finneran (our best midfielder) within the first ten minutes and by the time we'd got a grip on the game we were already double scores down. It's happened plenty of times to Galway, it's less a comment on their quality and more on how we react to the maroon jerseys. The fear is completely gone at under-age so hopefully it'll be out of the system at senior soon enough. We've had absolutely no fear of bigger teams than Galway outside the province, though, and that should stand us in good steed for the 14th.

And we've got a hell of a lot more pedigree than Wicklow - this is no Cinderella story, we've been building from grass roots for years now and it's only in the last four seasons at senior that we've seen hints of it breaking through to senior. Much, much more to come.

Surely if they were handy they'd have escaped from division 3.
Post by: Syferus on July 06, 2012, 07:28:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 06, 2012, 07:23:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 06, 2012, 06:57:49 PM

Surely if they were handy they'd have escaped from division 3.

I'll answer seriously:

Remember the panel is made of mostly of players 23 and under - alot of the panel were on Sigerson duty (a huge amount with DCU, who won the cup), u21 (reaching the AI final) or club (Brigids being involved until the end of February). We also had a rash of injuries to compound it, nevermind a new manager trying to take stock and put his imprint on things.

With a full team and run-up I haven't a doubt we would have been promoted, even with what we had we were a few scoreable Donie Shine frees from beating Longford and promotion.
Post by: Rossfan on July 06, 2012, 09:33:20 PM
Syferus will you please stop embarrassing us Ros lads on this forum.
I see on stolensheep they are taking you to task for the sh1te you're spouting here.
We got a 2 goal start against effin Longford that day in the League but faded away to oblivion in the last 25 minutes in what was a terrible showing.
We went to Wexford Park where a combination of a late Donie goal plus a lorry load of wides by Wexford ( like last Sunday) gave us a losing margen about 7 points less that we deserved on the day.
We were effin atrocious against Galway and for the first half against Armagh .
We have some decent players coming through from underage but remember out of our 2006 minor team only 3 now remain on the panel.
From our 08 minors we've got Collins and Darren Mc on the panel with hopefully Brogan to come next year ,while from 09 we've got Kilroy, Niall Daly ( the best of them)  and Cathal Shine.
We'll hope and pray that the 2011 Minors will supply us with a some more good ones as they survive the U21 weeding out process.
Right now we aren't exactly putting the fear of God into anyone substantial despite last Sunday's unexpected but welcome win over it has to be said a very limited in ability and attitude Armagh.
We can but hope we'll give these Tyronies a run for their money and if we're in it with 15 to go ......... we might just shock them.
Post by: Syferus on July 06, 2012, 09:36:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 06, 2012, 09:33:20 PM
I see on stolensheep they are taking you to task for the sh1te you're spouting here.
We got a 2 goal start against effin Longford that day in the League but faded away to oblivion in the last 25 minutes in what was a terrible showing.
We went to Wexford Park where a combination of a late Donie goal plus a lorry load of wides by Wexford ( like last Sunday) gave us a losing margen about 7 points less that we deserved on the day.
We have some decent players coming through from underage but remember out of our 2006 minor team only 3 now remain on the panel.
From our 08 minors we've got Collins and Darren Mc on the panel with hopefully Brogan to come next year ,while from 09 we've got Kilroy, Niall Daly ( the best of them)  and Cathal Shine.
We'll hope and pray that the 2011 Minors will supply us with a some more good ones as they survive the U21 weeding out process.
Right now we aren't exactly putting the fear of God into anyone substantial despite last Sunday's unexpected but welcome win over it has to be said a very limited in ability and attitude Armagh.
We can but hope we'll give these Tyronies a run for their money and if we're in it with 15 to go ......... we might just shock them.

I see you're trying the 'I see' and not the 'I actively particpate' line  >:(
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 06, 2012, 09:44:53 PM
Syferus will you please stop embarrassing us Ros lads on this forum...

Ah no, don't!  ;)
Post by: moysider on July 06, 2012, 09:49:29 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 06, 2012, 09:44:53 PM

Ah no, don't!  ;)

Rossfan you have you re work cut out killing his/her enthusiasm.
Post by: Syferus on July 06, 2012, 09:50:20 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 06, 2012, 09:44:53 PM

Ah no, don't!  ;)

Want to get in your last moments of enjoyment of this championship, eh? :-X
Post by: Rossfan on July 06, 2012, 09:52:21 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 06, 2012, 09:36:25 PM

I see you're trying the 'I see' and not the 'I actively particpate' line  >:(

I see that you see that I see  ;D
I've been known to participate there too but as too many people got to know my moniker I only occasionally stick a biteen in.

as for Sunday week -
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-95aeRhGM0no/Tn3MdKBFoDI/AAAAAAAAAfA/ez69fDfKcmk/s1600/adriana-lara-banana-peel.jpg
Post by: clarshack on July 06, 2012, 10:56:15 PM
this is a real banana skin for tyrone - there's no doubt about it.

would be happy to come away with a one point win.
Post by: ross4life on July 06, 2012, 11:24:12 PM
It's amazing to think what one game one win can do or in our case one good half. If we played Tyrone off the back of the Galway game our odds would be a lot longer than they currently are.

Last year's game between the two was one of the most flattering scorelines i ever witnessed & around this time last year Tyrone traveled to Pearse park, the larries put it up them no reason why we can't do the same.

Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2012, 12:12:30 AM
And you will. I don't like the over-confidence shown here by Tyronnies. 2006 was the last early exit at a wet Portlaoise. Could happen again. Armagh had us by the balls on 65 mins.
Post by: Daddy_Cool on July 07, 2012, 01:40:06 PM
Ah come on. Syferus is fast becoming an internet legend, the Harry Keegan of the web!
Post by: under the bar on July 07, 2012, 07:39:49 PM
Quotewould be happy to come away with a one point win.

I'd expect Mickey Harte would settle for that in every game!
Post by: stew on July 07, 2012, 09:35:31 PM
Rossies 0-11 Tyronies 2-15.

There ye have it, Tyrone in a canter.
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2012, 02:48:39 PM
Ye're getting better I see  :P
Post by: Shrewdness on July 08, 2012, 06:07:50 PM

Those who claim to be the guardians of what can and can't be said on here, should acknowledge that Syferus was about the only Rossie to have the guts to predict that Roscommon would beat Armagh which they duly did.

As for what they think on Sheepstealers, i wouldn't take much notice of what a lot of the clowns on there think.....Too many 'yes men' on it afraid to give their own opinions and opting instead to run with the crowd.
Post by: ross4life on July 08, 2012, 07:08:41 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on July 08, 2012, 06:07:50 PM

Those who claim to be the guardians of what can and can't be said on here, should acknowledge that Syferus was about the only Rossie to have the guts to predict that Roscommon would beat Armagh which they duly did.

As for what they think on Sheepstealers, i wouldn't take much notice of what a lot of the clowns on there think.....Too many 'yes men' on it afraid to give their own opinions and opting instead to run with the crowd.

Personally i admire syferus optimism he should probably go into management instead of posting on forums. How about yourself Shrew bee in your bonet about something? way to go for attacking the whole SS community good man  ::)
Post by: LeoMc on July 09, 2012, 08:57:47 AM
This may be covered on the Rossie v Armagh thread but I can't be bothered reading though it*. For someone who hasn't been near Hyde park in years where would ye get a decent pint within walking distance of the ground?

*even though any pre-match optimism from the apple munchers (when read in their slow drawl) may provide a bit of schadenfreude
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2012, 11:07:31 AM

Yes men to whom or for whom? who are "the crowd" ?
Loads of different opinions there ranging from totally silly to very sensible and then there's Syferus.
The more sensible posters on Stolensheep ( not sheepstealers  ;)) are exasperated with some of the nonsense Syfer came out with in this thread.

Anyway what about next Saturday?
Will the 2nd half v Armagh Ros team and tactics,attitude , spirit etc turn up or will it be back to the Galway/1st half of Armagh nonsense?
Hopefully the former and tear rightly into Tyrone who may be fulfilling a fixture wondering who they'll get in Round 3.
Galway hurlers yesterday will have given hope to outsiders everywhere ... but that only works if teams  are prepared and ready physically, mentally and tactically.
I'm not without hope but really will be pleasantly surprised if we are in the 3rd Round draw.
Post by: ONeill on July 09, 2012, 11:32:43 AM
Remember last year - the trip to Longford after losing to Donegal? Mickey surprised us all by making a rash of changes before throw-in:  Dermot Carlin started in place of Martin Swift,  Justin McMahon for Davy Harte, Colm Cavanagh for Brian Dooher, Kyle Coney for Stephen O'Neill and Aidan Cassidy for Kevin Hughes.

I wonder will he shake things up again and throw in a couple of novices, maybe in place of Mugsy and O'Neill (unlikely as that is).
Post by: Fuzzman on July 09, 2012, 12:34:32 PM
It would be nice alright if we had the luxury of doing that O'Neill but not even sure who would be close to getting a game.
Won't be surprised to see Brian McGuigan get a starting slot this time out
Who else in the forward line is pushing for a place?
Does Mickey not rate Lafferty or why hasnt he got his chance?
He looked great in the league did he not?

Mugsy got my hopes up the start of this year as I'd heard he was really upping the ante and looking very sharp during the early league games.
I think he really struggles with the packed defences to make space for himself but maybe a game like this might suit him more.

Cassidy needs to get a wee run of good games again as we know he has the potential to me a top midfielder. I think Longford were expecting to be on top there last year and Cassidy totally ran the show.

I noticed in the Irish News after the Donegal it had Stevie named at CHF. Did he play there for was he not at FF for most of the game?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 09, 2012, 12:47:10 PM
Who do you think he'll fire in if he was to go down that road O'Neill?

My guess would be:

Packie
McCrory
Clarke
Carlin
McCarron
Gormley
O'Neill
Colm Cav
Joe McM
McNabb
Mark Donnelly
P Harte
Mattie Donnelly
SON
Penrose

I really can't see SON being dropped and if anyone is going to be under pressure in the front 6 it will be Mugsy and Mattie Donnelly. Mark Donnelly, Penrose, P Harte and Mc Nabb (if fit) are essential for their hard running and tracking back to allow players 2-8 to bomb forward. I'm sure Paddy McNeice, Gervin and Lafferty have been chomping at the bit to get a go in the 1st team, will any of these guys get a go on Saturday? Brian Mc could get a starting jersey, he looked good on Saturday. Justy must be near ready to go so he could well figure somewhere in the back six, personally I would love to see him get a go further out the field.

Who will pick up the Rossie danger men? Gormley on Kilbride and Clarke on Donie Shine? McCarron (is he fit?) on Gregg?
Post by: neilthemac on July 09, 2012, 01:12:21 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 09, 2012, 12:47:10 PM
Who do you think he'll fire in if he was to go down that road O'Neill?

My guess would be:

Packie
McCrory
Clarke
Carlin
McCarron
Gormley
O'Neill
Colm Cav
Joe McM
McNabb
Mark Donnelly
P Harte
Mattie Donnelly
SON
Penrose

I really can't see SON being dropped and if anyone is going to be under pressure in the front 6 it will be Mugsy and Mattie Donnelly. Mark Donnelly, Penrose, P Harte and Mc Nabb (if fit) are essential for their hard running and tracking back to allow players 2-8 to bomb forward. I'm sure Paddy McNeice, Gervin and Lafferty have been chomping at the bit to get a go in the 1st team, will any of these guys get a go on Saturday? Brian Mc could get a starting jersey, he looked good on Saturday. Justy must be near ready to go so he could well figure somewhere in the back six, personally I would love to see him get a go further out the field.

Who will pick up the Rossie danger men? Gormley on Kilbride and Clarke on Donie Shine? McCarron (is he fit?) on Gregg?

who's this Gregg fella?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 09, 2012, 01:26:59 PM
Cathal Gregg? Half forward? My knowledge of Rossie player names isn't tara!
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2012, 01:31:36 PM
Cathal Cregg is his correct name.
Hopefully ye'll know all about him to ye're regret after Saturday.
Post by: ONeill on July 09, 2012, 01:35:45 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 09, 2012, 12:47:10 PM
I'm sure Paddy McNeice, Gervin and Lafferty have been chomping at the bit to get a go in the 1st team, will any of these guys get a go on Saturday? Brian Mc could get a starting jersey

Those are the players I was thinking of. If Tyrone were to progress further you might need those lads with a game or two under their belt, given O'Neill's susceptibility to injury. I'm sure Mickey's not thinking down the line though. Roscommon could do a Nordie double.

What are Cavanagh or Coney's chances of seeing football if Tyrone are still involved late summer?

Post by: antoinse on July 09, 2012, 01:44:54 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 06, 2012, 03:20:57 PM
Just had a quick look at the PP website and it's saying the match is televised. Does anyone know which channel it's on?

TV Rosco as no one else will want to watch the massacre
Post by: omagh_gael on July 09, 2012, 01:49:22 PM
It's a real balancing act between getting those guys game time, getting guys like Mattie a proper run of games and reintroducing proven game changers like B McGuigan. Any chance of making it 17 a side? In relation to the injury front, Sean is definitely a write off this year, however, somebody mentioned on another thread that Kyle could be fit for football in August if we were still about. This wasnt confirmed though, perhaps the Ardboe men could enlighten us?
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2012, 05:22:58 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 09, 2012, 11:07:31 AM

Yes men to whom or for whom? who are "the crowd" ?
Loads of different opinions there ranging from totally silly to very sensible and then there's Syferus.
The more sensible posters on Stolensheep ( not sheepstealers  ;)) are exasperated with some of the nonsense Syfer came out with in this thread.

Anyway what about next Saturday?
Will the 2nd half v Armagh Ros team and tactics,attitude , spirit etc turn up or will it be back to the Galway/1st half of Armagh nonsense?
Hopefully the former and tear rightly into Tyrone who may be fulfilling a fixture wondering who they'll get in Round 3.
Galway hurlers yesterday will have given hope to outsiders everywhere ... but that only works if teams  are prepared and ready physically, mentally and tactically.
I'm not without hope but really will be pleasantly surprised if we are in the 3rd Round draw.

No need to blow a gasket because everyone else doesn't ascribe to your opinions of people and teams.

Got some growing up to do, ladeen!  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2012, 05:41:41 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2012, 05:22:58 PM

Got some growing up to do, ladeen!  ;)

For fcuk sake ... from the lad who turned 10 in March  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 09, 2012, 06:13:46 PM
Anyone know what games are on the TV this weekend?
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 09, 2012, 06:23:03 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 09, 2012, 06:13:46 PM
Anyone know what games are on the TV this weekend?

Just Limerick v Clare in Hurling on Saturday and the two finals on Sunday.
Post by: Pharoch Phantom on July 09, 2012, 09:06:05 PM
Am I hearing that Dr Hyde Park might not be available on Saturday due to the weather and the Connacht final which is fixed for the following day?  Is there a plan B?
Post by: EC Unique on July 09, 2012, 09:51:41 PM
Quote from: Pharoch Phantom on July 09, 2012, 09:06:05 PM
Am I hearing that Dr Hyde Park might not be available on Saturday due to the weather and the Connacht final which is fixed for the following day?  Is there a plan B?

Omagh :P
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2012, 09:56:29 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 09, 2012, 09:51:41 PM

We'll get back to you after a week-long consultation with the Connacht Council. Then a careful study of the capacity of possible grounds. Then maybe a decision, but we'll get some good expenses out of it at least.
Post by: Pharoch Phantom on July 09, 2012, 10:14:08 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2012, 09:56:29 PM

We'll get back to you after a week-long consultation with the Connacht Council. Then a careful study of the capacity of possible grounds. Then maybe a decision, but we'll get some good expenses out of it at least.

What's the craic with other venues in Roscommon?
Post by: From the Bunker on July 09, 2012, 10:16:54 PM

McHale Park, Castlebar  :P
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2012, 10:20:22 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 09, 2012, 10:16:54 PM

Ah, the famous Mayo4Debt plan, much more successful than the Mayo4Sam one.  8)
Post by: moysider on July 09, 2012, 10:50:19 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2012, 10:20:22 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 09, 2012, 10:16:54 PM

Ah, the famous Mayo4Debt plan, much more successful than the Mayo4Sam one.  8)

Tee, Hee, Hee. If this constant rain continues they may well need a Plan B. Fields are already showing condition you d expect in September than early July and not much better weather expected. I d expect Markievicz Park most likely option if Kiltoom can t take the masses :) Thankfully McHale Park not a runner for this one.
Post by: ONeill on July 09, 2012, 11:18:45 PM
Roscommon should be thrown out.
Post by: moysider on July 09, 2012, 11:38:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 09, 2012, 11:18:45 PM
Roscommon should be thrown out.

Should never be let in. A mongrel county in a province that it is ill-suited too. It doesn t have a proper beach, mountain or island. There are people on here that want to revamp the  championship. Create a new province I say. Make all those middle- earth midland counties piss each other off. A nice group of Ros, Westmeath, Longfor, and Laois and Offaly for good measure. Kildare probable could do with being in there as well and there is a case for Cavan and Monaghan to be included as well. The proper counties in the provinces would be well rid of them.

Longford though are probably too classy now to be included in that lot :(
Post by: Rossfan on July 10, 2012, 01:24:59 PM

No and No.

Despite reports elsewhere we can confirm that there are currently no plans to move Saturdays Roscommon v Tyrone game from Dr. Hyde Park. As usual, for all the latest (and official) Roscommon GAA news stay tuned to this page, check out our website www.gaaroscommon.ie or follow us on twitter.com/gaaroscommon
Post by: Syferus on July 10, 2012, 08:14:53 PM
QuoteFROM THE TYRONE TIMES

The key to success for Tyrone at Dr.Hyde Park next Saturday is to play with the same swagger they demonstrated so effectively in the Athletic Grounds last month, suggests a man with a respected pedigree as a player, manager and analyst at the top level of the sport, writes Kevin Hughes.

Brian Canavan, who witnessed at first hand how the Connacht team bounced back from their provincial horror show to stun Orchard county supporters with a shock win over an Armagh team which had looked to have done enough in Hyde Park last weekend, give a very firm thumbs-up to the Red Hands.

The former Armagh player, who jointly managed the Orchard county team along with Brian McAlinden and led them to an Ulster title, doesn't believe it would be in Tyrone's interest to adopt the same tactics as against Donegal last time out - and he's convinced that it won't happen because the semi-final performance was a one-off horses-for-courses necessity.

"Tyrone will win in Hyde Park, I don't have much doubt about that. I don't know whether Roscommon were very good or Armagh were pretty poor or it was somewhere in between, but I don't believe it matters much. Tyrone are a much more accomplished team," said the man from Poyntzpass.

"In the first half Armagh were five points clear and apparently coasting. Indeed, they probably should have been nine or ten points up at halftime. On reflection, perhaps a bit of complacency had crept into their play.

"But Roscommon came out with all guns blazing and stuck the ball in the net within twenty seconds of the throw-in and it was then obviously a completely new ball-game. And Armagh couldn't get back into their rhythm and paid a big price.

"Roscommon have one very good forward, Sean Kilbride is his name. He looks an exceptionally good player and is a bit of a playmaker as well as a scoretaker. I believe he could be a threat next Saturday.

"I would say the other main man to worry about up front would be Donie Shine, who can do damage if he's not closely watched.

"Playing at home is unqestionably an advantage for the Connacht team but the big difference between this game and the Armagh match, apart from the fact that Tyrone are stronger and better opposition, is that they are now exposed.

"The element of surprise is not a factor but, as well as that, the home support will now be expecting a win, or at least a huge performance, against Tyrone and that puts additional pressure on the players and management.

"But, if Tyrone go back to the style of football they played in the Athletic Grounds and play as well as they did that day, I can only see one result.

"The one little reservation I have is that they are not as sharp up front as I imagine they'd like to be, with Stephen O'Neill and Owen Mulligan in particular not up to their usual high standards," added Canavan.

The way some Armagh luminaries have reacted to getting beat off the field has been anything but classy, but I'm glad that the lads up north are all the rage about the 60-something Sean Kilbride playing, they'll get a hell of a shock when Senan pulls on the 13 jersey.  :-X

How anyone watched that game and didn't think to mention Cathal Cregg is totally beyond me. More motivation for Saturday, if it was even needed.
Post by: Rossfan on July 10, 2012, 08:31:33 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 10, 2012, 08:14:53 PM

The way some Armagh luminaries have reacted to getting beat off the field

Steady on buck - the score was 1-11 to 1-9.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 10, 2012, 08:34:54 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 10, 2012, 08:31:33 PM

Ah sure we only narrowly scraped past you last year, dar leis!  ;)
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 10, 2012, 08:38:23 PM
Even if Tyrone play bad on Saturday they will still score 14-17 points which will be more than Roscommon will score.
Post by: Syferus on July 10, 2012, 08:38:40 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 10, 2012, 08:31:33 PM

Which would have been about seven points more had we even approached good shooting. It ranks one of the most lop-sided second-halves I've seen in terms of midfield, procession and passes in a long time. They were beat off the field, at times literally, in the second half. Obviously the first half was Armagh's but few could argue their loss wasn't more comprehensive than the scoreline would suggest.

A 2 point win can be more comprehensive than it appears in print, just as an 11 point win can be alot less comprehensive than it first looks.
Post by: ONeill on July 10, 2012, 09:33:18 PM
Was it Gormley Donie Shine tortured in the first half last year?
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 10, 2012, 09:40:22 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 10, 2012, 09:33:18 PM

Think it was Joe McMahon and he couldn't handle Diarmuid Connolly in the quarter final either.
Post by: rrhf on July 11, 2012, 12:20:13 AM
Quote from: Syferus link=topic=21844.msg1131047#msg1131047

b]"Tyrone will win in Hyde Park, I don't have much doubt about that. I don't know whether Roscommon were very good or Armagh were pretty poor or it was somewhere in between, but I don't believe it matters much. Tyrone are a much more accomplished team[/b]," said the man from Poyntzpass.

"In the first half Armagh were five points clear and apparently coasting. Indeed, they probably should have been nine or ten points up at halftime. On reflection, perhaps a bit of complacency had crept into their play.

"But Roscommon came out with all guns blazing and stuck the ball in the net within twenty seconds of the throw-in and it was then obviously a completely new ball-game. And Armagh couldn't get back into their rhythm and paid a big price.

"Roscommon have one very good forward, Sean Kilbride is his name. He looks an exceptionally good player and is a bit of a playmaker as well as a scoretaker. I believe he could be a threat next Saturday.

"I would say the other main man to worry about up front would be Donie Shine, who can do damage if he's not closely watched.

"Playing at home is unqestionably an advantage for the Connacht team but the big difference between this game and the Armagh match, apart from the fact that Tyrone are stronger and better opposition, is that they are now exposed.

"The element of surprise is not a factor but, as well as that, the home support will now be expecting a win, or at least a huge performance, against Tyrone and that puts additional pressure on the players and management.

"But, if Tyrone go back to the style of football they played in the Athletic Grounds and play as well as they did that day, I can only see one result.

Thanks tony
Post by: LeoMc on July 11, 2012, 10:40:17 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on July 09, 2012, 08:57:47 AM
This may be covered on the Rossie v Armagh thread but I can't be bothered reading though it*. For someone who hasn't been near Hyde park in years where would ye get a decent pint within walking distance of the ground?

*even though any pre-match optimism from the apple munchers (when read in their slow drawl) may provide a bit of schadenfreude

Anybody?
Post by: neilthemac on July 11, 2012, 12:14:13 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on July 11, 2012, 10:40:17 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on July 09, 2012, 08:57:47 AM

Anybody?

Foxes.
Closest pub to the ground.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 11, 2012, 12:26:50 PM
Seamus Hayden has a nice little bar in Roscommon town.
Post by: neilthemac on July 11, 2012, 12:50:23 PM
that would be 'Down the Hatch'. nice pub
on church street.
Post by: LeoMc on July 11, 2012, 12:58:34 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on July 11, 2012, 12:50:23 PM
that would be 'Down the Hatch'. nice pub
on church street.

Cheers.
Post by: Rossfan on July 11, 2012, 01:24:02 PM
Virtaully every pub in Ros Town is a 10 -15 min walk to the Hyde.
As I'm always driving and often with kids I haven't had a pint before or after a game in the Hyde in years.
Post by: KIDDO 4 on July 11, 2012, 02:00:15 PM
Croke Park have confirmed that Tyrone VRoscommon  will go ahead as scheduled , Sat next 2pm DrHydePark .
Post by: moysider on July 11, 2012, 02:57:48 PM

Great weekend s football for Roscommon folk with 3 teams to support. Roscommon seniors and Minors and Sligo in the Connacht final.
Post by: ross matt on July 11, 2012, 03:03:42 PM

Think Gormley was on Kilbride.
Post by: neilthemac on July 11, 2012, 03:15:43 PM
my abiding memory of that Ros v Tyrone game last year was the constant fouling by Tyrone
and the constant lying on the ground of Tyrone players if Ros scored a point or two

or maybe I'm wrong
Post by: Syferus on July 11, 2012, 03:20:42 PM
Quote from: ross matt on July 11, 2012, 03:03:42 PM

Senan had a great day too, and that was two weeks after seriously injuring his shoulder in the Connacht final. He had to take a painkilling injection just to play against Tyrone. I think sometimes we can be fooled by his lazy style (not physically, but the way he actually moves) but he gives as much as anyone to the cause.
Post by: ross matt on July 11, 2012, 05:14:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 11, 2012, 03:20:42 PM

Senan had a great day too, and that was two weeks after seriously injuring his shoulder in the Connacht final. He had to take a painkilling injection just to play against Tyrone. I think sometimes we can be fooled by his lazy style (not physically, but the way he actually moves) but he gives as much as anyone to the cause.

Kilbride, Shine & Cregg all had excellent games in what was a very open match for most of the contest. I just think we were much further on last year than where we are now despite the victory over Armagh but I hope to God I'm wrong. Tyrone without Cavanagh are probably not as good as they were either in 2011 plus the Hyde venue will prevent them from running amock in the last 20 minutes like they did in Croker when both sides last met. It should be close enough but I think we might come up short. Even if we do a decent competitive performance is required.
Post by: Syferus on July 11, 2012, 05:40:19 PM
Quote from: ross matt on July 11, 2012, 05:14:02 PM

Kilbride, Shine & Cregg all had excellent games in what was a very open match for most of the contest. I just think we were much further on last year than where we are now despite the victory over Armagh but I hope to God I'm wrong. Tyrone without Cavanagh are probably not as good as they were either in 2011 plus the Hyde venue will prevent them from running amock in the last 20 minutes like they did in Croker when both sides last met. It should be close enough but I think we might come up short. Even if we do a decent competitive performance is required.

I think we've a better panel now, actually. The addition of Collins, Compton, Cathal Shine, Daly and Darren Mc (I know they both featured against Tyrone but it's only this year they've come into their own) have more than made up for O'Gara and Keenan (and couple more less-likely-to-start absentees). If anything the last two months have brought those players on in reams by having more opportunities. More broadly I think we'll have one hell of a panel to choose from next year with most of those back, O'Grady fit again and other u21 players with bags of talent who are on holidays (Brogan, Cafferky, Murray) available for selection.

We've had rocky moments this year but the players really bought into what Newton was saying at half-time the last day and if that's the case the process will have been worth it. He's been introducing new systems and generally tinkering with the chess board that has always been missing plenty of pieces. They happened upon something extremely effective the last day and if it can be replicated we've every chance.

Tyrone are missing Brian Dooher, Philip Jordan, Enda McGinley and Kevin Hughes from retirement and then (perhaps most tantalisingly) Sean Kavanagh, Tommy Mcguigan and Kyle Coney with injuries since we last met, and even then two of their most impactful subs the last day, O'Neill and Mulligan, will be starting rather than turning the screw from the bench. Justin McMahon is only returning from injury on Saturday. Tyrone are still a fine side, probably in the top five or so in the country, but at home and with last year's experience there should be little fear. The day is going to come where we have to make that irreversible step up, the day when the bright future becomes the here and now. There's little to stop Saturday being that day.
Post by: ross matt on July 11, 2012, 06:07:45 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 11, 2012, 05:40:19 PM
Quote from: ross matt on July 11, 2012, 05:14:02 PM

I think we've a better panel now, actually. The addition of Collins, Compton, Cathal Shine, Daly and Darren Mc (I know they both featured against Tyrone but it's only this year they've come into their own) have more than made up for O'Gara and Keenan (and couple more less-likely-to-start absentees). If anything the last two months have brought those players on in reams by having more opportunities. More broadly I think we'll have one hell of a panel to choose from next year with most of those back, O'Grady fit again and other u21 players with bags of talent who are on holidays (Brogan, Cafferky, Murray) available for selection.

We've had rocky moments this year but the players really bought into what Newton was saying at half-time the last day and if that's the case the process will have been worth it. He's been introducing new systems and generally tinkering with the chess board that has always been missing plenty of pieces. They happened upon something extremely effective the last day and if it can be replicated we've every chance.

Tyrone are missing Brian Dooher, Philip Jordan, Enda McGinley and Kevin Hughes from retirement and then (perhaps most tantalisingly) Sean Kavanagh, Tommy Mcguigan and Kyle Coney with injuries since we last met, and even then two of their most impactful subs the last day, O'Neill and Mulligan, will be starting rather than turning the screw from the bench. Justin McMahon is only returning from injury on Saturday. Tyrone are still a fine side, probably in the top five or so in the country, but at home and with last year's experience there should be little fear. The day is going to come where we have to make that irreversible step up, the day when the bright future becomes the here and now. There's little to stop Saturday being that day.

Do you credit Newton for that 2nd half revival or was it more a case of the players getting stuck in themselves against a travelling Armagh side who probably thought they had the game won?
Newton had a poor league and a disasterous match v an average Galway side that under Fergie last year they surely would have beaten. I just cant see where he is going tactically. I think a great opportunity to build on the last few years has been missed this season.
I agree with you re the incoming players from the successful underage set ups. But I'm not sure that they will flourish under the present management.  Overall things have been and are going in the right direction with Roscommon football but it needs to be managed properly. However you and the other Rossie posters here are alot nearer to the scene than I am so I sincerely hope your optimism for saturday will be vindicated.
Post by: Syferus on July 11, 2012, 06:39:14 PM
The Armagh result was at least as significant as almost anything that happened under Fergie, beating a D1 team in the championship after suffering a bad defeat. Only the 2010 Connacht final would eclipse it and that had as much to do with it being the Connacht final as it had to do with Sligo. Beating Armagh changes the complexion of the year significant, we now have a big win over a good team outside the province (something Sligo and Galway have been searching for for many years) and we've blooded in some wonderfully-talented u21s since the year began. It was never going to be a smooth path when you're both introducing new players, new coaches and new systems but everyone seems to be learning together now.

Newton holding the players out on the field for a few minutes after the first half of the Armagh game and them then responding as they did is as good a sign as you're likely to get that respect is developing between player and coach. Newton isn't some outside manager in for a plump expenses account; he's someone who was part of the 1980 AI final team and has represented his county with as much distinction as any player, he's in this solely for his county.

Crowding the midfield with Donie, putting a sweeper outside Clarke and deep ball to Compton and Kilbride proved smart tactical choices. We have to remember this is his first year in inter-county management and he's learning the ropes just as the young players are. If we turn up against Tyrone as limp as we did against Galway then of course questions will be asked but that seems a very remote possibility to me.
Post by: ross matt on July 11, 2012, 08:11:48 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 11, 2012, 06:39:14 PM
The Armagh result was at least as significant as almost anything that happened under Fergie, beating a D1 team in the championship after suffering a bad defeat. Only the 2010 Connacht final would eclipse it and that had as much to do with it being the Connacht final as it had to do with Sligo. Beating Armagh changes the complexion of the year significant, we now have a big win over a good team outside the province (something Sligo and Galway have been searching for for many years) and we've blooded in some wonderfully-talented u21s since the year began. It was never going to be a smooth path when you're both introducing new players, new coaches and new systems but everyone seems to be learning together now.

Newton holding the players out on the field for a few minutes after the first half of the Armagh game and them then responding as they did is as good a sign as you're likely to get that respect is developing between player and coach. Newton isn't some outside manager in for a plump expenses account; he's someone who was part of the 1980 AI final team and has represented his county with as much distinction as any player, he's in this solely for his county.

Crowding the midfield with Donie, putting a sweeper outside Clarke and deep ball to Compton and Kilbride proved smart tactical choices. We have to remember this is his first year in inter-county management and he's learning the ropes just as the young players are. If we turn up against Tyrone as limp as we did against Galway then of course questions will be asked but that seems a very remote possibility to me.

Des was part of the 90/91 connacht winning side.  Certainly was'nt part of the 1980 team. Am very familiar with his playing career and never questioned his commitment to his county or suggested he was on a plump expenses account. His ability to manage at this level is what I questioned but saturday will hopefully tell us more and prove my doubts to be unfounded.
Post by: Syferus on July 11, 2012, 08:45:37 PM
Quote from: ross matt on July 11, 2012, 08:11:48 PM

Des was part of the 90/91 connacht winning side.  Certainly was'nt part of the 1980 team. Am very familiar with his playing career and never questioned his commitment to his county or suggested he was on a plump expenses account. His ability to manage at this level is what I questioned but saturday will hopefully tell us more and prove my doubts to be unfounded.

Think I'm confusing him with Sean Kilbride, another two county Rossie. I think he was injured during the 1980 season after a few successful years on the panel.

I never ment that you were implying those things about Newton, just that we could have ended up with someone alot less dedication to the cause. Barring collapse on Saturday he's now got the breathing space of an off -season to look forward to and plenty of players at his disposal to mould. Few Roscommon managers over the years have had more talent to work with.
Post by: Rossfan on July 12, 2012, 02:23:40 PM

Newton holding the players out on the field for a few minutes after the first half of the Armagh game and them then responding as they did is as good a sign as you're likely to get that respect is developing between player and coach.

Presumably they were also doing what he told them in the frist half and v Galway right through the game ?

I heard that the reason Des, Gilroy and another manager or two held their players back that day was some request from Croke Pk for one team to stay back to avoid tunnel incidents.

Like Matt I sincerely  hope I'm proved wrong about my doubts about Des' Inter Co Management abilities beginning next Saturday. :D
Post by: Syferus on July 12, 2012, 02:32:03 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 12, 2012, 02:23:40 PM

Newton holding the players out on the field for a few minutes after the first half of the Armagh game and them then responding as they did is as good a sign as you're likely to get that respect is developing between player and coach.

Presumably they were also doing what he told them in the frist half and v Galway right through the game ?

I heard that the reason Des, Gilroy and another manager or two held their players back that day was some request from Croke Pk for one team to stay back to avoid tunnel incidents.

Like Matt I sincerely  hope I'm proved wrong about my doubts about Des' Inter Co Management abilities beginning next Saturday. :D

I know someone who had a great view of it and Des' hands were flying all over the place, he was definitely trying to get them in gear. Gilroy is an apt compassion for other reasons, too. Both came into inter-county management raw, but if you've got someone who's willing to learn it can prove to be better than one with alot of experience. Some days it doesn't work at all (Galway), particularly for new coaches trying to change the way a team plays, but he was able to take a very tough situation and turn it into our biggest victory (in terms of purely the team) in nine years. if we're going to credit the players we need to make sure not to be myopic and give the management their due.

Des already proved you wrong last Sunday week, it's all about stringing two games together now.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 12, 2012, 02:55:23 PM
Just back at work today after our 4th kid was born.
Still don't have a name for him but someone here in work in Dublin suggested I call him Tyrone
Now why didn't I think of that.

Not much Tyrone lads posted of late. Are we worried what's ahead of us
Is it likely Justy will come back?
What about PJ?
Post by: moysider on July 12, 2012, 03:09:06 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 12, 2012, 02:55:23 PM
Just back at work today after our 4th kid was born.
Still don't have a name for him but someone here in work in Dublin suggested I call him Tyrone

What about PJ?

Congratulations on your new addition. Always a joy.

Tyrone Fuzzman does have a ring to it I suppose.
Post by: ross matt on July 12, 2012, 03:17:15 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 12, 2012, 02:55:23 PM
Just back at work today after our 4th kid was born.Still don't have a name for him but someone here in work in Dublin suggested I call him Tyrone

What about PJ?

Congrats. Number 4?
You wont have time for going to football matches! :)
Post by: omagh_gael on July 12, 2012, 04:04:47 PM
Congrats Fuzz, i'v two under 16 months myself. Fairly puts the brakes on heading round the country watching football! In relation to your injury queries, I read in the paper that Justy and McCarron are back in full training and could see some game time on Saturday. Don't think PJ is ready and McNabb is still touch and go.
Post by: Rossfan on July 12, 2012, 04:42:22 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 12, 2012, 02:32:03 PM
Des already proved you wrong last Sunday week,

That's very much a minority viewpoint round the County. It was the players upping their efforts which turned it around in most followers' opinion.
If Des suddenly saw the light at half time and dispensed with the daft tactics he'd been running with all year up to that then fair play to him.
Anyway to Saturday - we've named the 15 that started v Armagh . I expect 2 or 3 changes to that line up to  be announced before throw in  ::)
Post by: Syferus on July 12, 2012, 06:18:57 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 12, 2012, 04:42:22 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 12, 2012, 02:32:03 PM
Des already proved you wrong last Sunday week,

That's very much a minority viewpoint round the County. It was the players upping their efforts which turned it around in most followers' opinion.
If Des suddenly saw the light at half time and dispensed with the daft tactics he'd been running with all year up to that then fair play to him.
Anyway to Saturday - we've named the 15 that started v Armagh . I expect 2 or 3 changes to that line up to  be announced before throw in  ::)

I didn't know that you did a straw poll around the county! I have it from the horse's mouth that the half-time work was instrumental in the comeback.

I do imagine it's another dummy line-up but I wouldn't be terribly surprised if Kilroy is the only change from the named team.
Post by: Mayo Mick on July 12, 2012, 07:25:34 PM
QuoteI have it from the horse's mouth that the half-time work was instrumental in the come-back.

I never met an honest horse yet - wouldn't believe anything they say. Bull shitters all of them!!!
Post by: norabeag on July 12, 2012, 07:42:22 PM
Quote from: Mayo Mick on July 12, 2012, 07:25:34 PM
QuoteI have it from the horse's mouth that the half-time work was instrumental in the come-back.

I never met an honest horse yet - wouldn't believe anything they say. Bull shitters all of them!!!
Thats horse shit and you know it, Mick ;)
Post by: omagh_gael on July 12, 2012, 08:00:20 PM
There's neigh need for that language lads! 
Post by: TY14ED on July 12, 2012, 08:50:13 PM
1 Pascal McConnell – An Baile Nua
2 Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
3 Conor Clarke – An Omaigh
4 Dermot Carlin – Coill an Chlochair
5 Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór
6 Conor Gormley – An Charraig Mhór
7 Sean O'Neill – An Droim Mhór
8 Joe McMahon – An Omaigh
9 Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
10 Mattie Donnelly – Trí Leac
11 Mark Donnelly – An Charraig Mhór
12 Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
13 Martin Penrose – Achadh Uí Aráin
14 Stephen O'Neill – Clann na nGael
15 Owen Mulligan – An Chorra Chríochach

16 John Devine – Aireagal Chiaráin
17 Aidan Cassidy- Eochar
18 David Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
19 Damian McCaul – Domhnach Mór
20 Darren McCurry – Éadan na dTorc
21 Brian McGuigan – Árd Bó
22 Niall McKenna – Domhnach Mór
23 Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
24 Ryan McMenamin – An Droim Mhór
25 Patrick McNiece – Oileán a'Ghuail
26 Jonathan Lafferty – Urnaí
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 12, 2012, 08:57:47 PM
Should be interesting to see how Roscommon handle six scoring forwards instead of one.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 12, 2012, 09:26:32 PM
I'll like the cut of the jib of that team!  ;)
Post by: Mayo Mick on July 12, 2012, 09:55:37 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 12, 2012, 08:00:20 PM
There's neigh need for that language lads!

Very funny. I'm hoarse laughing!! ;) ;)
Post by: clarshack on July 12, 2012, 09:57:36 PM
is this game live on tv?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 12, 2012, 10:07:07 PM
Definitely not on TV. Will have to make do with the wireless. Happy with that team, our front 6 will feel like they're playing on a 10 acre field on Saturday, after the Donegal game. We'll need to work just as hard as we did in Clones to get a win as the Rossies will smell red hand blood. 
Post by: Blowitupref on July 13, 2012, 12:46:32 AM
Even with the few out that's some strength in depth Tyrone have, must be up there with the best in Ireland? for example Jusin McMahon,McMenamin,McGuigan would walk into most sides. Tyrone will have too much experience and know how for Roscommon this weekend i feel.
Post by: rrhf on July 13, 2012, 01:06:19 AM
I'd be an idiot to agree with you
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 13, 2012, 09:37:11 AM
so, what you are saying is that you agree with him ?
Post by: Fuzzman on July 13, 2012, 11:28:07 AM
rrhf, you're not an idiot.

A lot of horsing about going on in here.
Is it true Conor Mortimer lined out for some hurling team in Roscommon during the week?

(http://images.sodahead.com/profiles/0/0/2/0/8/4/1/9/9/Stirring-the-pot-80376509573.gif)

I'd say poor Mickey has had a tough week especially since yesterday.
Post by: Syferus on July 13, 2012, 01:13:49 PM
The best manager in the entire history of the GAA in my humble opinion. If we win we won't be taking any pleasure from making such a trying week even harder for him. A pillar of strength in alot of ways.
Post by: TyrionLannister on July 13, 2012, 02:39:54 PM
How will the Michaela verdict affect Tyrone? Was heartbreaking news
Post by: Crete Boom on July 13, 2012, 02:57:04 PM
 Good luck to Tyrone and my Rossie brethren tomorrow. Should be a game played in the right spirit i.e tough but fair , going by last years meeting. Tyrone are favourites but their wouldn't be many west of the Shannon who would be surprised if the Rossies dug out a victory tomorrow. Great to see Compton  and Niall Daly stepping up to the plate very impressed when I saw them in the u21's they really stood out IMHO.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 13, 2012, 03:27:13 PM
Quote from: TyrionLannister on July 13, 2012, 02:39:54 PM

Such tragedies are no strangers to Tyrone over the last few years, alas.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 13, 2012, 04:15:34 PM
Impossible to imagine the emotional turmoil Mickey must be going through at the minute. How he maintains his sanity let alone manage a senior inter county at this time is exceptional. My hat is off to the guy.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 13, 2012, 04:20:53 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 13, 2012, 03:27:13 PM

In fairness Tyrone are due some serious amount of good karma after what's happened to them over the last couple of years. I was at the league game against us after Cormac McAnallen died and when Tyrone took the pitch it was strangely uplifting moment on such a sad occasion. Tyrone people carried themselves with allot of dignity that day.
Post by: Nally Stand on July 13, 2012, 09:36:29 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 13, 2012, 04:20:53 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 13, 2012, 03:27:13 PM

In fairness Tyrone are due some serious amount of good karma after what's happened to them over the last couple of years. I was at the league game against us after Cormac McAnallen died and when Tyrone took the pitch it was strangely uplifting moment on such a sad occasion. Tyrone people carried themselves with allot of dignity that day.

+1. Surreal atmosphere that day, I'll never forget it.

Can't get tomorrow, unfortunately. Anyone know will it b on Q101 or teamtalk radio?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2012, 10:45:20 PM
Newstalk 106 are covering it.
Post by: Nally Stand on July 13, 2012, 10:46:03 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2012, 10:45:20 PM
Newstalk 106 are covering it.

Good man Dinny, thanks.
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2012, 10:58:08 PM
Can see this being tight for a while, probably mirroring last year's game. I think Tyrone's work-rate will see them a few points ahead over the line. I'm expecting Peter Harte to find his first bit of freedom in this year's championship.

An early goal for the Rossies, at home, and it could be a nervy one.
Post by: Syferus on July 14, 2012, 11:51:21 AM
This one is  there for us. The fact we're going into Tyrone this year off the back of a big win and Tyrone off the back of a close loss shouldn't be under-estimated. We need to come out and play them with the same deference we would show a Leitrim or a London, if we honestly believe we cna win we can win.

Tyrone have weaknesses in their back-line and midfield that can be exploited to serious effect with good fielding and deep ball to Compton and Senan.

We have to be prepared for Tyrone's patented brand of needle - off -the-ball jabs, feigning injuries when we're on top and fouling up the field to funnel bodies back.

Last year should stand to us and we shouldn't be in any awe of Tyrone. This match can likely be reduced to one factor; the impact of the benches. If our's has a similar impact to the last day then it will at minimum nullify Tyrone's (significantly weakened) bench and they won't pull away from us in the last 15 minutes and after that one of our sweetest wins in many years will be on the cards.

Win or lose I know this is a talented group of lads who are only going to improve. A win puts us on an entirely new level. C'mon Roscommon!
Post by: weareross on July 14, 2012, 12:07:04 PM
Heading to the Hyde now. If we do the basic things right, win the midfield and our half forwards and half backs help out and work hard and give good ball into Shine and Kilbride we can win it. Easier said then done though! C'mon the ross!
Post by: omagh_gael on July 14, 2012, 12:16:07 PM
Best of luck to the red hands today. It'll be much closer than last year as we aren't as strong or have as much firepower on the bench. However, I have a feeling Mugsy and SON will be itching for a big performance after the strangulation a fortnight ago. Tyrone by 3.
Post by: EC Unique on July 14, 2012, 12:33:02 PM
What is the weather like down there today? Is the pitch sodden?
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 14, 2012, 02:06:25 PM
http://www.shannonside.ie/liveapp.php

Eoin Mulligan, he seems to be playing for 40 years. 

Roscommon 0-00  0-02 Tyrone
Post by: RandyDupree on July 14, 2012, 02:29:19 PM
RADIO:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/18769433
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 14, 2012, 02:31:09 PM
4 a piece in Hyde Park
Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2012, 02:31:21 PM
6 wides to Tyrone. Sounds like its very physical with big joe just getting a hard hit.
4~3 to Tyrone.
The Newstalk lads are saying Roscommon's tackling is high intensity and are not making it an open game. Now 4-4
Post by: CK_Redhand on July 14, 2012, 02:39:45 PM
Is Lafferty on for Stephen O'Neill or what?  Haven't heard any mention of SON yet
Post by: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 02:40:58 PM
Poor game we should be at least level at ht but our freetaking has been awful so far.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 14, 2012, 02:57:58 PM
Quote from: CK_Redhand on July 14, 2012, 02:39:45 PM
Is Lafferty on for Stephen O'Neill or what?  Haven't heard any mention of SON yet

Warming up on the line according to lads of BBC.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2012, 02:58:32 PM
Missed the start of coverage so don't know why Lafferty is on for SoN.
Penalty
Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2012, 02:59:15 PM
Goal by Peter Harte
Stevie warming up now to come on.
1.07 to 0.4
You at it Syferus?
Post by: armaghniac on July 14, 2012, 02:59:42 PM
That'll test the Rossies now.
Post by: Whishtup on July 14, 2012, 03:00:28 PM
God, I love local radio!
Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2012, 03:01:52 PM
7 up. Mulligan has 4 now.
Sounds like an excellent start to the red arses
Post by: tyssam5 on July 14, 2012, 03:02:52 PM
1-8 to 0-4, P. Harte penalty. Good start to 2nd half for the Red Hands.
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 14, 2012, 03:05:19 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 14, 2012, 03:04:35 PM
Ricky on for McCarron and somebody on for Lafferty

McCurry on for Lafferty
Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2012, 03:06:23 PM
Is that McCurry's debut?
He's just scored a point.
Post by: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 03:08:42 PM
We seem to have given up after that penalty, tyrone can win by as much as they like now :(
Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2012, 03:19:47 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 14, 2012, 11:51:21 AM
Tyrone have weaknesses in their back-line and midfield that can be exploited to serious effect with good fielding and deep ball to Compton and Senan.

We have to be prepared for Tyrone's patented brand of needle - off -the-ball jabs, feigning injuries when we're on top and fouling up the field to funnel bodies back.

Last year should stand to us and we shouldn't be in any awe of Tyrone. This match can likely be reduced to one factor; the impact of the benches. If our's has a similar impact to the last day then it will at minimum nullify Tyrone's (significantly weakened) bench and they won't pull away from us in the last 15 minutes and after that one of our sweetest wins in many years will be on the cards.

McCurry sounds like an interesting prospect. Where's his best position?
Has Penrose been quiet? What's up with Stevie?
Cassidy in now as well as McGuigan
1.12 to 0.06

Post by: CK_Redhand on July 14, 2012, 03:31:23 PM
Good to hear the McCurry lad is playing well.  What club is he?  I don't remember him from the league or McKenna cup
Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2012, 03:33:54 PM
5 points for Mugsy and now 4 for McCurry.
Can't wait to get a look at him next day out
Hope we're not down in Tralee
Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2012, 03:34:43 PM
Quote from: CK_Redhand on July 14, 2012, 03:31:23 PM
Good to hear the McCurry lad is playing well.  What club is he?  I don't remember him from the league or McKenna cup
Edendork
Post by: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 03:39:49 PM
Our lads gave up after penalty shameful display by us, well done tyrone unlike last year full value for 11 point win
Post by: armaghniac on July 14, 2012, 03:42:26 PM
I think Tyrone were partly playing for their manager, in the week that was in it, which Armagh were not doing.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 14, 2012, 03:49:57 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 14, 2012, 03:34:43 PM
Edendork

Don't know much about this lad but according to Mugsy on newstalk just now, he is  'different gravy'!
Post by: intoDwest on July 14, 2012, 05:01:35 PM
I hope the pitch didn't cut up................
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 14, 2012, 05:14:07 PM
Expected easy win for Tyrone. Sounds like Roscommon produced a worse 2nd half display than Armagh did a few weeks ago.  :o
Post by: under the bar on July 14, 2012, 05:47:08 PM
Note to incoming Armagh manager.... that's how you put Roscommon away!  ;)
Post by: tyroneboi on July 14, 2012, 05:56:13 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 14, 2012, 03:49:57 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 14, 2012, 03:34:43 PM
Edendork

Don't know much about this lad but according to Mugsy on newstalk just now, he is  'different gravy'!

Starred for the u21s this year and scoring for fun in div 1 with edendork. He was called up the week before the Armagh game along with McGuigan. The lad is just 19 so it's good to see Mickey giving him sone game time today. Excellent prospect!
Post by: EC Unique on July 14, 2012, 05:57:39 PM
Easy win as expected 8). Serious nonsense talked on this thread now looks even more silly. ;D
Post by: Onion Bag on July 14, 2012, 06:33:30 PM
Quote from: under the bar on July 14, 2012, 05:47:08 PM
Note to incoming Armagh manager.... that's how you put Roscommon away!  ;)

TBH UTB I don't think whoever the new manager is will be reading this
Post by: armaghniac on July 14, 2012, 06:49:23 PM
QuoteTBH UTB I don't think whoever the new manager is will be reading this

Yes I am!  :P
Post by: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 07:16:14 PM
The Senan Kilbride goal turned the game v Armagh without it we would have lost & lost well. Today's goal from the penalty spot killed the game shame to see our county men give up with 30 plus minutes to go and only 6 points down but that's what happened today. Tyrone probably didn't learn much certainly wasn't much of test for the next round.

It's back to the drawing board for us 2013 can only get better (i hope)
Post by: EC Unique on July 14, 2012, 08:01:05 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 07:16:14 PM
The Senan Kilbride goal turned the game v Armagh without it we would have lost & lost well. Today's goal from the penalty spot killed the game shame to see our county men give up with 30 plus minutes to go and only 6 points down but that's what happened today. Tyrone probably didn't learn much certainly wasn't much of test for the next round.

Learned one thing Ross. Young McCurry is a serious player! 4 points from play in debut at 19 is not bad regardless of quality of opposition.
Post by: barelegs on July 14, 2012, 08:11:23 PM
I have to say I was really impressed with young McCurry in what apart from that was a fairly average Tyrone display.

He has an excellent turn of pace and great balance, and gives the opposition something else to think about. His movement was top class today and he took his scores very well. Full of self confidence, he's certainly given Mickey something else to think about ahead of the next round.

Wouldn't be getting carried away with the overall performance. There was some very sloppy play at times and we gave the ball away stupidly on too many occasions. Too many times today Tyrone players carried the ball into contact and got dispossessed. When they moved it faster in the second half they looked much more dangerous.

Have to say the frees were a lot better today. Wouldn't have been so keen on the short kickouts which were putting the full back line under deadly pressure at times. And we didn't win too many breaking balls when it did to longer.

Pleased to get a tricky encounter out of the way but there's plenty to work on this week on the training ground
Post by: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 08:12:47 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 14, 2012, 08:01:05 PM

Learned one thing Ross. Young McCurry is a serious player! 4 points from play in debut at 19 is not bad regardless of quality of opposition.

Credit to Mickey Harte for starting him. We have our own talented 19 year old by the name of Donal Smith only Ciarán Kilkenny scored more than him in the U-21 championship this year & minor championship last year but he wasn't given the same chance to impress.

Post by: EC Unique on July 14, 2012, 08:20:20 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 08:12:47 PM

Credit to Mickey Harte for starting him. We have our own talented 19 year old by the name of Donal Smith only Ciarán Kilkenny scored more than him in the U-21 championship this year & minor championship last year but he wasn't given the same chance to impress.

He did not start. He came on as a 2nd half sub. Only joined the panel a few weeks ago!
Post by: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 08:34:57 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 14, 2012, 08:20:20 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 08:12:47 PM

He did not start. He came on as a 2nd half sub. Only joined the panel a few weeks ago!

Still given more of chance to impress. Donal Smith was brought on with only a few minutes to go when the game was over and wasn't given any game time v Armagh,Galway.

On another note i was at the Tyrone v Roscommon minor game in 2008 was very impressed by your minor team that day how come more of that team hasn't come through to senior?
Post by: EC Unique on July 14, 2012, 09:12:21 PM
Coney would have been one of the stand out players that year andbwould have started today but for serious groin injury which may keep him out for the season. Peter Harte and Niall McKenna who played today were on that team. Roman mc Nabb out injured. Think that is it.
Post by: barelegs on July 14, 2012, 09:19:27 PM
Paddy McNeice came on against Armagh and Ciaran Gervin is still on the bench and Mattie Donnelly started today as well. I make that 7 out of the starting 15 from the 2008 team on the squad and 6 of the 7 have seen championship football either this year or in Coney's case last year.

McCurry, Clarke and O'Neill are the only 3 of the 2010 squad on the panel and 2 of those played today, the other is out with a long term injury
Post by: hsthompson on July 14, 2012, 09:21:29 PM
Matthew Donelly was half forward on that team and started today. Patrick McNeice was full-forward I think? He's on the senior squad this year
Post by: tyssam5 on July 14, 2012, 09:34:27 PM
Yeah this year has seen a lot of lads get their chance, with a few of the older guys still around. Nice mix this year, hope they keep a qualifying run going to give the young lads some experience for a push next year.
Post by: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 09:36:06 PM
More than i thought came through so, Mattie Donnelly,Coney were the main forwards on show that day. For the record of the 08 minors Neill Collins,Niall Daly Cathal Shine, Niall Kilroy,Darren McDermott played a part in today's game a bad experience but some senior championship experience nonetheless.
Post by: Syferus on July 14, 2012, 09:48:43 PM
You'd give yourself a headache trying to make sense of the tilt-a-whirl that is Roscommon senior football at the moment.

In 2010 we get relegated to Division 4, we win the Connacht title, we play for 50 minutes against Cork and fall to pieces. 2011 rolls around  and we get promtoed from Division 4 at a canter, get well beaten by Longford. We almost beat Mayo to put back-to-back Connacht titles together. We play well for 60 minutes against Tyrone and then fall through the floor faster than an Olympic diver.

This year we veered wildly from good to bad and back again even within single passages of play. An up and down league was followed by one of our most complete collapses of all-time against a Galway side who clearly were very average indeed. And then we derailed Armagh in stellar fashion, securing a victory over out-of-Connacht opposition that ranks higher than any we, Galway or Sligo have achieved since 2003.

And then today. I thought we'd show much more consistency today but the only consistent thing about today was inconsistency. Another 11-point defeat to Tyrone and this time Tyrone were full value for those 11 points. And yet even the most ardent Tyrone supporter couldn't say this was a better game than the one the sides produced last year. At times both sides played almost comically lateral football and it was a game littered with errors by almost everyone. The fact we managed to lose more comprehensively to a worse Tyrone effort (and honestly,  a worse team in general) says today goes straight into the bank alongside the Galway result.

Yet after 30 minutes we had a gimme free to go - deservedly - 5-4 up and we fluffed it. Tyrone looked incredibly ordinary in the first half, with loose and slow passing, a nonexistent midfield and far too much running into contact. At halftime, ever after a few sucker punch Tyrone points put them up three I  felt the game was still very much in our own hands, playing into a solid wind in the second half and having played the better football. I  certainly was more upbeat than halftime against Armagh, with Armagh's first half performance certainly elapsing Tyrone's today.

The turning point in the game was also a dark little reversal of the Armagh game, conceding a goal via a deserved penalty. That made it a six point lead for Tyrone with over 30 minutes left to play. This is where the wheels really came off.

Six down is far from an insurmountable lead, let alone at home and playing with a strong wind. We continued to win plenty of ball in the middle but some of the attacking play made it look like someone had taught us this sport last week.  Senan is a player of no small amount of talent, a player who on his day can rip apart even the best defences in the country. He had his worst day in a Roscommon jersey today. Donie, Cathal and Ger all dropped good 50:50 ball into him and he won absolutely none of it. He managed to slip on a dry pitch far too many times as well. His only good moment was a wonderful leveler in the first half, which only makes his nonperformance more upsetting.

Our half-backs played some crazy ball when they got a head of steam up in the second half. Tyrone had really started to funnel men back and to apply the original version of the blanket defence but so much of the passes we made in their half were lazy and completely lacking vision that Tyrone didn't need to try very hard. Cathal Shine also attempted some advised long-range shots but at least he got as far as shooting, which is more than can be said for most of the team in the second half.

Every missed pass drained a bit more belief from the team. Owen Mulligan returned to his very best today and got so many of the crucial scores for Tyrone, punishing our bad play further. There was beautiful gloss scores late on by Tyrone but make no mistake, that was simply training pitch stuff - this game belonged to Mulligan.

For us only a few players stood out at all. Seanie Mc (who scored a first round K.O. on Mulligan or so it seemed!) was as all-action as ever, fighting for every little scrap anddriving forward with more pace than most of the rest of the team combined. He even managed to win a free up inside Tyrone's full-back line. Cathal Cregg was as predictably brilliant as he always is, if ever a player deserved better from his teammates it's Cregg, he is an absolutely wonderful athlete and he has become the fulcrum of the entire team. Next year's captain if we have even an iota of sense. Donie Shine again did well in the middle and placed plenty of good ball into the forwards, but their inability to win ball distracted from that. Maybe he should have moved in closer to goal after it became clear Senan just wasn't winning ball but Donie looks stronger, fitter and more mobile than he's ever been and hopefully he keeps that work going over the off-season as few can doubt how talented he is.

From a Tyrone perspective I'd like to congratulate them on their win and besides a Mayo or Kildare All-Ireland I'd be very happy to see Tyrone lift Sam again. Their supporters are a classy bunch and always handle themselves well. If all supporters were as well-spirited as the ones at today's match we'd be all richer for it. Tyrone didn't look like All-Ireland contenders today, they were patently afraid of our midfield and opted for too many short kick-outs, especially win the wind. Likewise there was an inertia about Tyrone's play going forward, too many looping passes and too few scoring threats - outside Mulligan and Harte the rest of the Tyrone team were kept pretty quiet in the business minutes of the match. Tyrone, barring meeting Kildare, should reach the quarter-finals but I wouldn't fancy them against any of the presumptive provincial champions (Mayo, Donegal, Dublin and Cork) so plenty of work needs to be done in the next few weeks if Tyrone are going to launch a serious run at the title this year.

So we bowed out of another game by letting a lead spiral and fray and then spiral some more. It's hard to really comprehend the mixed signals we've got out of the team this year.

The board and the senior setup need to decide swiftly if they believe in the management team and then stick to their decision. If the people closest to the situation believe Des is going in the right direction then I'm fully behind giving him a full off-season to work with the panel and blood the flood of under-age players we have coming through. If they don't, do everyone a favour and end it swiftly because otherwise you're just adherering to an agreement and not looking out for the county's best interests.

People call for change in the aftermath of losses but relatively simple things, like running off the club championship throughout the summer, deserve to at least be trialed. We need to make sure the county players all come back fitter and stronger next season so I hope our conditioning program is perpared to fully take advantage of the five or so months' break from inter-county football, something I always wondered if we exploited fully last year with all the associated disruption involved in managerial change. To beat the likes of Kildare and Donegal in the future we need to be comparatively fit and we aren't there just yet.

Look, I refuse to be too downbeat. We have one of the finest underage structures in the country and each year players of inter-county talent are added to the senior panel. In the last year Darren Mc, Niall Daly, Cathal Shine, Neil Collins, Colin Compton and Niall Kilroy have all got starts and most have shown plenty to work with moving forward. Donie Smith quietly made his senior debut today and he is someone who is likely to have a major role to play in what shape the future of this team takes. We need to again focus on getting to Division 2, and this time there can be very few excuses. We only need to look at our opponents today for a masterclass as to how you turn underage success into senior success. Likewise the route to success has a habit of not flowing neatly but coming of a shot: Down, Mayo and Donegal all have appeared on the All-Ireland landscape in the last three seasons after many failures and disappointments. There's plenty of hope for the future. The worst thing the players could do today is accept defeat and not be angry at themselves. They have to continue to believe they are better than they showed or you just end up mired forever in meritocracy.

Phew. And despite everything I still can't wait for Mayo tomorrow. Once more into the breach.
Post by: moysider on July 14, 2012, 10:02:09 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 09:36:06 PM
More than i thought came through so, Mattie Donnelly,Coney were the main forwards on show that day. For the record of the 08 minors Neill Collins,Niall Daly Cathal Shine, Niall Kilroy,Darren McDermott played a part in today's game a bad experience but some senior championship experience nonetheless.

Was that the Tyrone team that beat Mayo in final aet in replay?

We ve had 2 seniors out of that - O Sé and Keane. Maybe I should mention Hennelly. Can t really see any of the others make it now with the possible exception of Aiden Walsh.

I don t get excited about minor teams - even the better ones.
Post by: under the bar on July 14, 2012, 10:10:46 PM
Can we view the highlights online yet?
Post by: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 10:49:15 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 14, 2012, 10:02:09 PM

We ve had 2 seniors out of that - O Sé and Keane. Maybe I should mention Hennelly. Can t really see any of the others make it now with the possible exception of Aiden Walsh.

Yes from what i remember a Hennelly blunder in extra time proved costly. I saw Mayo's 08 minors a number of times that year they were lucky to beat us needed extra time to get over Monaghan (played the same day as Tyrone v Roscommon in Pearse park) and gave a good account of themselves in the AI final. It was more of hard working team under a decent system than anything else Aidan O Sé was the stand out player.
Post by: ross matt on July 14, 2012, 10:56:27 PM
Congrats to Tyrone and despite being a Rossie I'm delighted that today brought some small bit of positivity to Mickey Harte's life this week.

Roscommon have gone back massively under this year's management. Galway's defeat today underlines how poor we are. The 2nd half of the Armagh match flattered us against a side with low morale who thought they had the match won at half time. I feel sorry for Cathal Cregg.

At least the underage continues its progress and best of luck to the minors tomorrow. 
Post by: omagh_gael on July 14, 2012, 10:58:20 PM
Good to get motoring again, took a while to burn through the dirty diesel but we're in the next round and as Mickey would say "...That's always a good place to be." I said before the game to expect big performances from Mugsy and SON and Mugsy certainly delivered (any word on SON's injury?) A real bonus to see young McCurry grab his chance, he's bound to see some game time next week. Anyway on to round 3, my prediction is Tyrone v Kerry in Omagh.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 14, 2012, 11:29:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 14, 2012, 09:48:43 PM
You'd give yourself a headache trying to make sense of the tilt-a-whirl that is Roscommon senior football at the moment.

In 2010 we get relegated to Division 4, we win the Connacht title, we play for 50 minutes against Cork and fall to pieces. 2011 rolls around  and we get promtoed from Division 4 at a canter, get well beaten by Longford. We almost beat Mayo to put back-to-back Connacht titles together. We play well for 60 minutes against Tyrone and then fall through the floor faster than an Olympic diver.

This year we veered wildly from good to bad and back again even within single passages of play. An up and down league was followed by one of our most complete collapses of all-time against a Galway side who clearly were very average indeed. And then we derailed Armagh in stellar fashion, securing a victory over out-of-Connacht opposition that ranks higher than any we, Galway or Sligo have achieved since 2003.

And then today. I thought we'd show much more consistency today but the only consistent thing about today was inconsistency. Another 11-point defeat to Tyrone and this time Tyrone were full value for those 11 points. And yet even the most ardent Tyrone supporter couldn't say this was a better game than the one the sides produced last year. At times both sides played almost comically lateral football and it was a game littered with errors by almost everyone. The fact we managed to lose more comprehensively to a worse Tyrone effort (and honestly,  a worse team in general) says today goes straight into the bank alongside the Galway result.

And yet after 30 minutes we had a gimme free to go - deservedly - 5-4 up and we fluffed it. Tyrone looked incredibly ordinary in the first half, with loose and slow passing, a nonexistent midfield and far too much running into contact. At halftime, ever after a few sucker punch Tyrone points put them up three I  felt the game was still very much in our own hands, playing into a solid wind in the second half and having played the better football. I  certainly was more upbeat than halftime against Armagh, with Armagh's first half performance certainly elapsing Tyrone's today.

And the turning point in the game was also a dark little reversal of the Armagh game, conceding a goal via a deserved penalty. That made it a six point lead for Tyrone with over 30 minutes left to play. This is where the wheels really came off.

Six down is far from an insurmountable lead, let alone at home and playing with a strong wind. We continued to win plenty of ball in the middle but some of the attacking play made it look like someone had taught us this sport last week.  Senan is a player of no small amount of talent, a player who on his day can rip apart even the best defences in the country. He had his worst day in a Roscommon jersey today. Donie, Cathal and Ger all dropped good 50:50 ball into him and he won absolutely none of it. He managed to slip on a dry pitch far too many times as well. His only good moment was a wonderful leveler in the first half, which only makes his nonperformance more upsetting.

And our half-backs played some crazy ball when they got a head of steam up in the second half. Tyrone had really started to funnel men back and to apply the original version of the blanket defence but so much of the passes we made in their half were lazy and completely lacking vision that Tyrone didn't need to try very hard. Cathal Shine also attempted some advised long-range shots but at least he got as far as shooting, which is more than can be said for most of the team in the second half.

And every missed pass drained a bit more belief from the team. Owen Mulligan returned to his very best today and got so many of the crucial scores for Tyrone, punishing our bad play further. There was beautiful gloss scores late on by Tyrone but make no mistake, that was simply training pitch stuff - this game belonged to Mulligan.

For us only a few players stood out at all. Seanie Mc (who scored a first round K.O. on Mulligan or so it seemed!) was as all-action as ever, fighting for every little scrap anddriving forward with more pace than most of the rest of the team combined. He even managed to win a free up inside Tyrone's full-back line. Cathal Cregg was as predictably brilliant as he always is, if ever a player deserved better from his teammates it's Cregg, he is an absolutely wonderful athlete and he has become the fulcrum of the entire team. Next year's captain if we have even an iota of sense. Donie Shine again did well in the middle and placed plenty of good ball into the forwards, but their inability to win ball distracted from that. Maybe he should have moved in closer to goal after it became clear Senan just wasn't winning ball but Donie looks stronger, fitter and more mobile than he's ever been and hopefully he keeps that work going over the off-season as few can doubt how talented he is.

From a Tyrone perspective I'd like to congratulate them on their win and besides a Mayo or Kildare All-Ireland I'd be very happy to see Tyrone lift Sam again. Their supporters are a classy bunch and always handle themselves well. If all supporters were as well-spirited as the ones at today's match we'd be all richer for it. Tyrone didn't look like All-Ireland contenders today, they were patently afraid of our midfield and opted for too many short kick-outs, especially win the wind. Likewise there was an inertia about Tyrone's play going forward, too many looping passes and too few scoring threats - outside Mulligan and Harte the rest of the Tyrone team were kept pretty quiet in the business minutes of the match. Tyrone, barring meeting Kildare, should reach the quarter-finals but I wouldn't fancy them against any of the presumptive provincial champions (Mayo, Donegal, Dublin and Cork) so plenty of work needs to be done in the next few weeks if Tyrone are going to launch a serious run at the title this year.

So we bowed out of another game by letting a lead spiral and fray and then spiral some more. It's hard to really comprehend the mixed signals we've got out of the team this year.

The board and the senior setup need to decide swiftly if they believe in the management team and then stick to their decision. If the people closest to the situation believe Des is going in the right direction then I'm fully behind giving him a full off-season to work with the panel and blood the flood of under-age players we have coming through. If they don't, do everyone a favour and end it swiftly because otherwise you're just adherering to an agreement and not looking out for the county's best interests.

People call for change in the aftermath of losses but relatively simple things, like running off the club championship throughout the summer, deserve to at least be trialed. We need to make sure the county players all come back fitter and stronger next season so I hope our conditioning program is perpared to fully take advantage of the five or so months' break from inter-county football, something I always wondered if we exploited fully last year with all the associated disruption involved in managerial change. To beat the likes of Kildare and Donegal in the future we need to be comparatively fit and we aren't there just yet.

Look, I refuse to be too downbeat. We have one of the finest underage structures in the country and each year players of inter-county talent are added to the senior panel. In the last year Darren Mc, Niall Daly, Cathal Shine, Neil Collins, Colin Compton and Niall Kilroy have all got starts and most have shown plenty to work with moving forward. Donie Smith quietly made his senior debut today and he is someone who is likely to have a major role to play in what shape the future of this team takes. We need to again focus on getting to Division 2, and this time there can be very few excuses. We only need to look at our opponents today for a masterclass as to how you turn underage success into senior success. Likewise the route to success has a habit of not flowing neatly but coming of a shot: Down, Mayo and Donegal all have appeared on the All-Ireland landscape in the last three seasons after many failures and disappointments. There's plenty of hope for the future. The worst thing the players could do today is accept defeat and not be angry at themselves. They have to continue to believe they are better than they showed or you just end up mired forever in meritocracy.

Phew. And despite everything I still can't wait for Mayo tomorrow. Once more into the breach.

(http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/250x250/12035381.jpg)
Post by: moysider on July 14, 2012, 11:46:27 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 10:49:15 PM

Yes from what i remember a Hennelly blunder in extra time proved costly. I saw Mayo's 08 minors a number of times that year they were lucky to beat us needed extra time to get over Monaghan (played the same day as Tyrone v Roscommon in Pearse park) and gave a good account of themselves in the AI final. It was more of hard working team under a decent system than anything else Aidan O Sé was the stand out player.

Exactly.

You think ye were as good or better than us that year ( I was at the Ros game and thought we got sloppy and lazy and should have won by more) and that s ok. We had Tyrone beaten in final if my little neighbour didn t get a rush of blood. Well there was another  from down south messed up as well. But that s football. I would disagree about the system thing but they did dig deep in games in fairness to them. A couple more might have come through but perhaps the best of them all- Cathal Freeman - had a massive injury setback.

I know you re not going to agree with me but I think Roscommon have been putting too much faith on what their underage teams can do. Syferus will bound back again with promises of a brilliant future and rest of the country watch out. I don t buy it and I suspect it may be doing those lads a disservice. It s like 6 years of brighter future since 06.

A hero of that 06 teams has been getting the 'Derek Duggan' treatment ( 1 good summer leads to 10 year carefree career)since.I suspect that a lot fewer will be coming through from minor teams than people think. Some counties have better 'underage structures' than others but I m not sure what that means really.

Galway have won 3 u21 AIs since they won their last senior and lost to Antrim today. Some people think they re wasting resources but I m not sure.

Mayo play Ros tomorrow in minor final. Ros are expected to win and best of luck if they do.

I d have a jaundiced view of football at this stage but I would be confident that 3 maybe 4 of our lads could play senior intercounty football, if all things go right for them. It doesn t matter if they win or lose those fellas have the qualities to go up the levels.

What I find with Ros folk is that they put too much emphasis on beating likes of Mayo and Galway at underage - or even outside the province. These - the u21s as well - are only kids.

Spent some time watching the world junior athletic champs this week. Great athletes but very few will ever compete in senior worlds or Olympics. Our underage competitions are about as relevant. Underage structures are all fine and well but to an extent produce 'hot-house flowers'.
Post by: Syferus on July 14, 2012, 11:58:44 PM
You see, you're applying big country logic to something to something much more complex. Mayo have no trouble feeling confident of beating Roscommon; it doesn't work both ways. Having lads growing up beating most teams in the country for counties like Tipp, Roscommon and Cavan is absolutely huge in the long run, they don't come into senior with the same old baggage that weighed previous teams down. Nevermind that success at underage means more big games and more time time to hone their craft and temperaments.

Removed from that minor and u21 are the two most enjoyable grades to watch, rarely if ever do you see good teams at either grade playing negative football. I know that following the Roscommon minor and u21 teams has been life-affirming for alot of supporters. It keeps you very honest as a supporter to see lads grow into seniors or even just have underage success, it's one of the most wonderful aspects of the GAA.

It's not an assurance of success but I wouldn't trade our underage teams for anything.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on July 15, 2012, 12:11:51 AM
Syferus that's far too long. Five paragraphs beginning with 'and' as well - tough on the eyes.

I'd disagree with you regarding your perceived Roscommon roller coaster ride theory though. I think you've been pretty consistent in the last three years.

2010: Won Connacht without having to play Galway or Mayo. Decent for a good while but eventually fell away against Cork.

2011: Lost Connacht final to Mayo, margin less than usual - only two points but in those conditions it was never going to be a high scoring game so not too surprising. Decent for a good while but fell away against Tyrone.

2012: Gone backwards due to the management change. On wrong end of usual scalping against Galway. Surprisingly beat Armagh but Armagh were at the end of an unsuccessful era, a bit like Longford v Mayo 2010. Decent for a while but fell away against Tyrone.

So all in all, fairly consistent. A decent mid rank team who are capable of giving better teams a game but not able to sustain it for 70 minutes to get a win against them. Nothing roller coaster about it, especially compared to a team like Sligo who have gone from great to awful and back again a few times in the last five years without any logical explanation on offer.
Post by: Syferus on July 15, 2012, 12:14:22 AM
Fixed it a bit for ya Cossie! I'll serialise it next time in my nationally published newspaper job.

They call me 'Roy Curtis'.
It's an anagram for Cry I Rot Us.
Post by: ross4life on July 15, 2012, 12:19:25 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 14, 2012, 11:46:27 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 14, 2012, 10:49:15 PM

Exactly.

You think ye were as good or better than us that year ( I was at the Ros game and thought we got sloppy and lazy and should have won by more) and that s ok. We had Tyrone beaten in final if my little neighbour didn t get a rush of blood. Well there was another  from down south messed up as well. But that s football. I would disagree about the system thing but they did dig deep in games in fairness to them. A couple more might have come through but perhaps the best of them all- Cathal Freeman - had a massive injury setback.

I know you re not going to agree with me but I think Roscommon have been putting too much faith on what their underage teams can do. Syferus will bound back again with promises of a brilliant future and rest of the country watch out. I don t buy it and I suspect it may be doing those lads a disservice. It s like 6 years of brighter future since 06.

A hero of that 06 teams has been getting the 'Derek Duggan' treatment ( 1 good summer leads to 10 year carefree career)since.I suspect that a lot fewer will be coming through from minor teams than people think. Some counties have better 'underage structures' than others but I m not sure what that means really.

Galway have won 3 u21 AIs since they won their last senior and lost to Antrim today. Some people think they re wasting resources but I m not sure.

Mayo play Ros tomorrow in minor final. Ros are expected to win and best of luck if they do.

I d have a jaundiced view of football at this stage but I would be confident that 3 maybe 4 of our lads could play senior intercounty football, if all things go right for them. It doesn t matter if they win or lose those fellas have the qualities to go up the levels.

What I find with Ros folk is that they put too much emphasis on beating likes of Mayo and Galway at underage - or even outside the province. These - the u21s as well - are only kids.

Spent some time watching the world junior athletic champs this week. Great athletes but very few will ever compete in senior worlds or Olympics. Our underage competitions are about as relevant. Underage structures are all fine and well but to an extent produce 'hot-house flowers'.

Not sure was our minors better than ours in 2008 but we certainly had the beating of Mayo as we kicked 15 wides & missed a penalty.

Galway are one of the biggest underachievers maybe mismanagement is the problem. For us it's what we didn't do at underage before 2006 that's still the problem at senior level & i have faith we will be better a senior level in the years ahead like you said about Mayo confident that 3 maybe 4 will make it. (we didn't have that with our underage setup for ages)

As for athletic debate well i bet most that compete in the senior world's or Olympics have come through some type of underage structure.
Post by: moysider on July 15, 2012, 12:21:12 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 14, 2012, 11:58:44 PM
You see, you're applying big country logic to something to something much more complex. Mayo haven no trouble feeling confident of beating Roscommon; it doesn't work both ways. Having lads growing up beating most teams in the country for counties like Tipp, Roscommon and Cavan is absolutely huge in the long run, They don't come into senior with the same old baggage that weighed previous teams down. Nevermind that success at underage means more big games and more time time to hone their craft and temperaments.

Removed from that minor and u21 are the two most enjoyable grades to watch, rarely if ever do you see good teams at either grade playing negative football. I know that following the Roscommon minor and u21 teams has been life-affirming for alot of supporters. It keeps you very honest as a supporter to see lads grow into seniors or even just have underage success, it's one of the most wonderful aspects of the GAA.

It's not an assurance of success but I wouldn't trade our underage teams for anything.

I appreciate all that, believe me.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 15, 2012, 01:54:43 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 14, 2012, 09:48:43 PM

Yet after 30 minutes we had a gimme free to go - deservedly - 5-4 up and we fluffed it. Tyrone looked incredibly ordinary in the first half, with loose and slow passing, a nonexistent midfield and far too much running into contact. At halftime, ever after a few sucker punch Tyrone points put them up three I  felt the game was still very much in our own hands, playing into a solid wind in the second half and having played the better football. I  certainly was more upbeat than halftime against Armagh, with Armagh's first half performance certainly elapsing Tyrone's today.

The turning point in the game was also a dark little reversal of the Armagh game, conceding a goal via a deserved penalty. That made it a six point lead for Tyrone with over 30 minutes left to play. This is where the wheels really came off.

Our half-backs played some crazy ball when they got a head of steam up in the second half. Tyrone had really started to funnel men back and to apply the original version of the blanket defence but so much of the passes we made in their half were lazy and completely lacking vision that Tyrone didn't need to try very hard. Cathal Shine also attempted some advised long-range shots but at least he got as far as shooting, which is more than can be said for most of the team in the second half.

Every missed pass drained a bit more belief from the team. Owen Mulligan returned to his very best today and got so many of the crucial scores for Tyrone, punishing our bad play further. There was beautiful gloss scores late on by Tyrone but make no mistake, that was simply training pitch stuff - this game belonged to Mulligan.

To summarise: I was wrong in my pre-match analysis fantasies and predictions hallucinations. ;)
Post by: Club Rossa on July 15, 2012, 06:32:32 PM
Made the trip down yesterday and it was a very enjoyable one at that.
I was worried at ht and was expecting a huge fight from Roscommon in the 2nd half but the early goal deflated them.
I have to say that Roscommon fans are a great credit to their county and were very gracious in defeat yesterday.
Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2012, 11:46:44 PM
. The day is going to come where we have to make that irreversible step up, the day when the bright future becomes the here and now. There's little to stop Saturday being that day.
Apart from :-
us playing effin brain dead football ( e.g why did we not mark all the Tyrone FBL for their kick outs - why did we persist in running the ball into tackles with the blody wind behind us , 12 men behind the ball in the second half doing nothing dwhile we were 7 or 8 points behind) ,
not fit enough for Championship football,
badly managed ,
stupid tactics ,
freetakers afraid to shoot from 20 metres,
at least 3 "names" left on the field when they should have been taken off and sent home and told not to attempt to wear a Co jersey again ,
The ridiculous putting in Donie Smith going into injury time ,
Niall Kilroy starting ,
Ger Heneghan ,
I could go on and on ........
Des Newton is a dacent man who took on the management for all the right patriotic reasons ..... but it's not working Deser and we 've almost regressed to the Maughtan days ... so please drop it now while you have a bit of dignity.
Meanwhile some players need to ask themselves are they really suited to competitive inter Co football or would they be better enjoying the lower intensity level of club football and leave it at that.
We now know where we're at and it's not a very good place to be.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 16, 2012, 11:16:01 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 15, 2012, 11:46:44 PM
. The day is going to come where we have to make that irreversible step up, the day when the bright future becomes the here and now. There's little to stop Saturday being that day.
Apart from :-
us playing effin brain dead football ( e.g why did we not mark all the Tyrone FBL for their kick outs - why did we persist in running the ball into tackles with the blody wind behind us , 12 men behind the ball in the second half doing nothing dwhile we were 7 or 8 points behind) ,
not fit enough for Championship football,
badly managed ,
stupid tactics ,
freetakers afraid to shoot from 20 metres,
at least 3 "names" left on the field when they should have been taken off and sent home and told not to attempt to wear a Co jersey again ,
The ridiculous putting in Donie Smith going into injury time ,
Niall Kilroy starting ,
Ger Heneghan ,
I could go on and on ........
Des Newton is a dacent man who took on the management for all the right patriotic reasons ..... but it's not working Deser and we 've almost regressed to the Maughtan days ... so please drop it now while you have a bit of dignity.
Meanwhile some players need to ask themselves are they really suited to competitive inter Co football or would they be better enjoying the lower intensity level of club football and leave it at that.
We now know where we're at and it's not a very good place to be.
Hard luck, me oul' buddy and for once I mean it.  :D
Us rhubarbs (whatever that means) have been in the same boat so many times that I can empathise with you.
Both Des and fergie were hard-working, honest grafters in their playing days and I can't imagine either could be faulted for lack of effort.
Ye were backfiring and stalling long before Maughan took over your particular  train. It's been stuck in a siding for many more years, and under a good few other drivers as well.
When your spirit rise again, you might agree with me that the rot began around the time the controversy about the CB's handling of money became public.
Do you think there is a connection or it is purely co-incidental?.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 16, 2012, 01:42:54 PM
How did Johnny Lafferty do?  Was there much ball played in to him or was he restricted toa  few touches here and there?
Post by: hondacounty on July 16, 2012, 01:47:01 PM

Would Aiden Walsh not be a great addition to the panel now. He played midfield with the U'21's and he would be a great sub if like yesterday you needed fresh legs upfront.
Post by: rossie mad on July 16, 2012, 01:57:44 PM
Have to agree with everything rossfan said about Saturdays game however this has been coming all year and its only when we got down to the do or die championship end of things are we shown up to what we truly are.A poorly managed and ran set up.
I'm all for optimism but from what ive seen since the first Sunday in January in ballyforan up until last saturday the lads in charge don't have it its as simple as that.
We can win every under age title till the cows come home but until we start using players who are A up to the level and B want to play and C are properly managed we are flogging a dead horse.
There are too many players not up to high level championship and the good players we have cant be expected to carry them all the time.
We are an absolute disaster for thinking we are better than we actually are.Im all for confidence but until we realise that we are an average team at the moment and try and improve our playing panel will then there are going to be  more false dawns.
I didn't expect to win last Saturday but i was hoping that they might prove me wrong and put up a good performance but that was even impossible.

Lar i dont believe the money debacle is connected but i do believe that the county set up in terms of management bar one exception and county board personnel is poor and its based on a who you are and who you know and how big is your club.
I predict a sizeable amount of amalgamation in the next few years in Roscommon and i believe that this will aid the senior team but the county board at the moment are closing their eyes on this problem and like our beloved government and Europe are only kicking the can down the dusty lane blinding themselves in the process.
Post by: stew on July 16, 2012, 02:47:36 PM
Quote from: stew on July 07, 2012, 09:35:31 PM
Rossies 0-11 Tyronies 2-15.

There ye have it, Tyrone in a canter.

I got the score wrong but Tyrone did win in a canter.

Tyrone are a real threat yet again, some outfit!