GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shrewdness on May 11, 2012, 11:07:44 PM

Title: ROSCOMMON v GALWAY, CONNACHT SFC
Post by: Shrewdness on May 11, 2012, 11:07:44 PM
Just over a week to go to this, and as i can't see any other thread here for it, we might as well get the ball rolling.
Needless to say, Galway will be favourites, but i have a feeling that the Rossies could have a big
performance in them for this game.

Galway operated in Div 2 of the league with Ros in Div 3, both of them failing to get promoted.
In recent weeks, Ros have played 3 challenge games. They drew 2-11 apiece with Louth, they beat Tipperary, scoring 4 goals in the process, but conceding 3.
Last weekend they beat Derry somewhere outside Derry City by 2-12 to 0-14.

Of course, challenge games soon pale into insignificance once the white heat of championship battle commences.
The Ros team that played against Derry is expected to be very close to that which will play Galway. It was G.Claffey, S.Mc Dermott, N.Carty, S.Purcell, D.Keenan, P.Domican, I.Kilbride, K.Mannion, M.Finneran, D.O'Gara,C.Cregg, J.Rogers, D.Mc Dermott, S.Kilbride, D.Shine.

It will be very interesting to see if Niall Daly will be accomodated in the half back line having played most of the league games.

Would be interested to know how the Galway people view this game.
Title: Re: ROSCOMMON v GALWAY, CONNACHT SFC
Post by: Rossfan on May 11, 2012, 11:41:43 PM
I'd expect Daly to be HB with Keenan wearing a HF jersey to the exclusion of Rogy.
Cathal Shine and Kevin Higgins to be the first subs to shore up midfield.
I believe the chokers have been running up huge totals in challenge games.
Time we got a Championship win over these bucks and hopefully 20th May will be the day we start reclaiming our rightful place .
Post by: ross4life on May 11, 2012, 11:59:39 PM
Long overdue a home win v Galway have to go back to 1990 when Des Newton lined our for Roscommon & Alan Mulholland lined out for Galway. I remember it well sitting on the same stone steps as Val Daly popped over points & Eamonn McManus Junior probably had his greatest ever game for Roscommon, It was a great day we won our first Connacht title for 10 years but TBH that Roscommon team never reached it's potential.

22 years on & potential is a key word for both sides. We pushed Mayo all the way in Connacht final last July with a bit more experience we might have won it. Will be disappointing if we don't continue our progression but with new management you can never quite tell how players will react.

Post by: From the Bunker on May 12, 2012, 12:08:43 AM
Galway were unlucky to miss out on promotion from Division 2 this year. Should have held out v Kildare in the last game. Confidence outside of Connacht has not been good for the tribesmen with the last win being against Louth in 2004.
Post by: Syferus on May 12, 2012, 01:40:45 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 11, 2012, 11:41:43 PM
I'd expect Daly to be HB with Keenan wearing a HF jersey to the exclusion of Rogy.
Time we got a Championship win over these bucks and hopefully 20th May will be the day we start reclaiming our rightful place .

If Newton even thinks of subbing Higgins into the middle I'll eat my hand-woven Aran jumper. Shine can field a ball, control a ball coming down, break a ball, Higgins cannot. Play Higgins as a HF sub, he has the capacity to really impact games with some hard running when the opposition's legs tire.
Post by: joemamas on May 12, 2012, 06:29:26 PM
Just watched highlights of Tyrone V Roscommon in qualifer last year. Ros were not too far away. How many of that team will be starting next week. Are they considered to be better or worse than last year. ?
Post by: ross4life on May 12, 2012, 06:45:22 PM
Quote from: joemamas on May 12, 2012, 06:29:26 PM
Just watched highlights of Tyrone V Roscommon in qualifer last year. Ros were not too far away. How many of that team will be starting next week. Are they considered to be better or worse than last year. ?

We weren't but the scoreline was more flattering that last weeks U21 final. Hard to know if we are better or worse as we didn't get the chance to field our strongest team during the league i suppose we'll know after this year's championship.

I expect 11 or 12  that started v Tyrone will start next Sunday.
Post by: seafoid on May 12, 2012, 07:11:17 PM
The most important thing for connacht fuball is 3/4 strong teams . Ni neart go cur le cheile
That way whoever comes out of the province has a better chance of going the distance.   
the 98 all-Ireland was partly due to  95-97 and the very high level of competition with Mayo, IMO. 
Post by: neilthemac on May 12, 2012, 07:14:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 12, 2012, 07:11:17 PM

the 98 all-Ireland was partly due to  95-97 and the very high level of competition with Mayo, IMO.
and a great set of forwards
Post by: seafoid on May 13, 2012, 04:44:48 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on May 12, 2012, 07:14:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 12, 2012, 07:11:17 PM

and a great set of forwards

and Mannion and Walsh
and Kildare in the final .. :)
Post by: ross matt on May 13, 2012, 08:32:57 PM
This should be a good game of football. Some decent forwards on both sides. Midfield will be key.

Mulholland will have Galway organised and motivated. It will be interesting to see of Newton had made Roscommon more defensive than they have been in the last 2-3 seasons.

I was at the Tyrone match mentioned above and Ross did play very well upfront but once they went ahead by 4 points Sean Cavanagh waltzed throught their defence to score a goal at the other end. I think the home side should shade this one.
Post by: seafoid on May 13, 2012, 09:45:15 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 13, 2012, 08:32:57 PM
This should be a good game of football. Some decent forwards on both sides. Midfield will be key.

Mulholland will have Galway organised and motivated. It will be interesting to see of Newton had made Roscommon more defensive than they have been in the last 2-3 seasons.

I was at the Tyrone match mentioned above and Ross did play very well upfront but once they went ahead by 4 points Sean Cavanagh waltzed throught their defence to score a goal at the other end. I think the home side should shade this one.
Ros should be favourites really. If Galway get going again Ros probably won't win anything for another few years.
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2012, 09:46:45 PM
This one could go either way .
On NFL form Galway have to be fancied big time but this isn't the NFL.
This will as the Championship cliche puts it "be all on the day" - who's up for it most , who's best prepared etc.
A game in mid May at the start of the Championship is an outsiders best chance of an upset .
Apart from the first half in 2006 and the FBD game in 2009 we havent been competitive with these bucks for 10 years.
On the other hand we have a lot of lads in the squad now who aren't petrified by the sight of Galway jerseys.
I'd be hopeful but not that confident.
Post by: Syferus on May 13, 2012, 09:55:30 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 13, 2012, 09:45:15 PM

Ros should be favourites really. If Galway get going again Ros probably won't win anything for another few years.

We're only going to get better, whatever the teething pains. Sure it'll be like the 70's all over again for ye.  ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 13, 2012, 11:31:05 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 13, 2012, 09:55:30 PM

We're only going to get better, whatever the teething pains. Sure it'll be like the 70's all over again for ye.  ;)

That wouldn't be so bad. Sure we played in 3 All-Ireland finals during the 70's. I'd take that over the past few years any day.
Post by: Syferus on May 14, 2012, 12:50:41 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 13, 2012, 11:31:05 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 13, 2012, 09:55:30 PM

That wouldn't be so bad. Sure we played in 3 All-Ireland finals during the 70's. I'd take that over the past few years any day.

Ah, but there was a certain odd man out in Roscommon and Galway's exploits in the 70's..
Post by: seafoid on May 14, 2012, 10:38:41 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 13, 2012, 09:46:45 PM
This one could go either way .
On NFL form Galway have to be fancied big time but this isn't the NFL.
This will as the Championship cliche puts it "be all on the day" - who's up for it most , who's best prepared etc.
A game in mid May at the start of the Championship is an outsiders best chance of an upset .
Apart from the first half in 2006 and the FBD game in 2009 we havent been competitive with these bucks for 10 years.
On the other hand we have a lot of lads in the squad now who aren't petrified by the sight of Galway jerseys.I'd be hopeful but not that confident.
Junior McManus never had the fear. What happened ?
Post by: Rossfan on May 14, 2012, 11:31:51 AM
Years of underage hammerings left a whole generation of Ros players bet before they went out v Galway or Mayowestrossouthsligoinishbofin.
Post by: moysider on May 14, 2012, 12:56:41 PM

Not sure what to expect here. Roscommon have to be favourites and it will be interesting to see if both teams play their traditional style or their new managers adapt a more defensive approach. As a neutral I hope they go at it in the same old way.

These are often great games for a neutral. The Hyde should be a help to Ros but I remember them giving Galway a goin over in Salthill and Tuam as well. The game in Tuam in 01 was over by half-time. How Galway reinvented themselves afterwards still beggars belief.
Post by: Rossfan on May 14, 2012, 02:07:07 PM
Don't know how a team who were gone from the D3 promotion race before the last Round can be favourites against a team who were within a kick of getting D1 status.
The Hyde has never done us many favours against the herrins -- must be 1990 since we won against them in the Championship and I can't recall any NFL wins there either.
Tuam was always our best bet to bate these bucks.
Don't know about Mulholland but our man had us awful defensive at times in the NFL and he was a defender in his playing days .
Will the new square ball situation make any difference or will teams just play their normal game and see what happens around the square if a ball drops in?
I suspect both teams will look on the Connacht as their only possibility of success this year which should make for a lively game despite the early date.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 14, 2012, 02:27:41 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 14, 2012, 12:56:41 PM
These are often great games for a neutral. The Hyde should be a help to Ros but I remember them giving Galway a goin over in Salthill and Tuam as well. The game in Tuam in 01 was over by half-time. How Galway reinvented themselves afterwards still beggars belief.

Well they won that game in Tuam in 01 although I'm struggling to remember them winning in Salthill unless it was a fair while back.

On the injury front Fiontán O'Curraoin misses out due to injury. Padraig Joyce, Michael Meehan and Sean Armstong are all fit to play but I imagine all three of them starting on the bench. Nicky was our best forward during the league but has since left the panel. As Nicky tends to do.
Post by: moysider on May 14, 2012, 02:31:04 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 14, 2012, 02:07:07 PM
Don't know how a team who were gone from the D3 promotion race before the last Round can be favourites against a team who were within a kick of getting D1 status.
The Hyde has never done us many favours against the herrins -- must be 1990 since we won against them in the Championship and I can't recall any NFL wins there either.
Tuam was always our best bet to bate these bucks.
Don't know about Mulholland but our man had us awful defensive at times in the NFL and he was a defender in his playing days .
Will the new square ball situation make any difference or will teams just play their normal game and see what happens around the square if a ball drops in?
I suspect both teams will look on the Connacht as their only possibility of success this year which should make for a lively game despite the early date.

Well I would make them favourites. Not that it should matter if they re favourites or not. Why would it matter?
Post by: moysider on May 14, 2012, 02:41:05 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 14, 2012, 02:27:41 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 14, 2012, 12:56:41 PM

Well they won that game in Tuam in 01 although I'm struggling to remember them winning in Salthill unless it was a fair while back.
On the injury front Fiontán O'Curraoin misses out due to injury. Padraig Joyce, Michael Meehan and Sean Armstong are all fit to play but I imagine all three of them starting on the bench. Nicky was our best forward during the league but has since left the panel. As Nicky tends to do.

Recent enough! It was '78 - the same day a fine Mayo team won the minor. Mickey Freyne scored a brace of goals that day if I remember correctly. Didn t know Nicky Joyce had gone awol again. That can t be good for morale. Surely he s done this kind of thing once too often with how many different managers?
Post by: mouview on May 14, 2012, 03:39:49 PM
Aye, you could never bank on the bould Nicky. Actually, Galway are really going to struggle for forward power next Sunday. Doubt if PJ will be fit, and Meehan will only be good for 10-15 minutes, if that at all. Wouldn't rely on Armstrong to win us a match either, he has to be carried so much. What does that leave? 2 Corofin half-backs, Sice and Damien Burke, in the HF line, alongside perhaps Tomas Flynn. FF line possibly Hehir, Conroy, Cummins - again with a lot to prove. The Rossies mightn't have had a good league but Galway have often been in better shape also. Don't expect a classic to be honest. Is there extra-time if necessary? When are the losers out again?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 14, 2012, 03:52:12 PM
Paul Conroy seemed to take a big leap forward for Galway during the league. Playing at full-forward he actually hit a number of big scores during the campaign especially late on in games and emerged as a bit of a leader. Then again that was the league and championship is a different ball of twine.
Post by: ross4life on May 14, 2012, 04:30:21 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 14, 2012, 03:52:12 PM
Paul Conroy seemed to take a big leap forward for Galway during the league. Playing at full-forward he actually hit a number of big scores during the campaign especially late on in games and emerged as a bit of a leader. Then again that was the league and championship is a different ball of twine.
Conroy was superb v us in 2008 i think he scored 6 or 7 points was just out of minor then as well. I guess he'll be the target man at full forward on Sunday?

Well I would make them favourites. Not that it should matter if they re favourites or not. Why would it matter?

Kinda like it doesn't matter that you make us favourites unless you put your life savings on us? then that might change the odds to make us favourites.

Quote from: mouview on May 14, 2012, 03:39:49 PM
extra-time if necessary? When are the losers out again?
No extra time on Sunday. The losers are out again on June 30th & will need to win four games to reach the QF.
Post by: Daddy_Cool on May 14, 2012, 05:14:54 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 14, 2012, 02:27:41 PM
1988 was the last Roscommon victory in Salthill. Only played there once since though.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 14, 2012, 08:35:31 PM
QuoteMichael Meehan has recalled how he was told his football career was over after undergoing surgery on a troublesome ankle injury.

Against all the odds, however, the Caltra sharpshooter has battled his way back to fitness and is hoping to see action at some stage in Galway's Connacht SFC opener against Roscommon at Hyde Park next Sunday.

"The experts told me I would never play again after the ankle surgery," he explained to The Irish Examiner.

"That was a huge blow initially. The verdict was not positive at all on my chances of togging out at any level. And the second opinion seemed to validate that. There was a possibility of more surgery. But that is not something I wish to contemplate. You are looking at another three months in cast and another year gone by and it was still only a 'might work'.

"But by nature I will always try and move on. It was disheartening, but I did not want to admit it was all over. If you accept or admit something like that, you may start to believe it. I always wanted to say 'that's fine, but we'll see'. A thing will beat you if you don't have the approach."

He continued: "I said to myself 'maybe I cannot play, but perhaps I could something small'. I was not prepared to accept my career was over.

"We have a top-class medical team and I am availing of anything I can. Even to the extent of changing my diet to avoid foods that may aid inflammation. Thankfully, things are starting to work. It is very slow, but at least I am making incremental progress.

"I played two half games with my club and I played a half against Laois in a challenge two weeks ago. It is limited. But I am happy that I am improving and I am getting sharper."
Post by: ross matt on May 14, 2012, 08:49:28 PM
Conroy finished the league as an effective target man and when fit and confident he is well able to take his scores. Bergin who can blow hot and cold seems to be also on a good run of form and this could swing midfield Galway's way. I think Armstrong will start and he can do damage if he gets room. Doubt Meehan will start but wouldnt be surpised to see PJ with  first 15 number on him and we all know what he can do. Galway wont be short of forward options. They never are. Mulholland was always going to revive their fortunes and in fairness they should never have fallen back as far as they did with the talent they had.
Post by: seafoid on May 14, 2012, 09:23:10 PM
The news about Meehan is very encouraging.

Ros are a bit like Cavan at the moment. Some good stuff coming up from underage but
a poor enough record really over the last while.   2 connacht titles in 20 years is about half of the usual winning ratio
for the county (20 connacht senior titles altogether) . So there is definitely some scope for a winning streak if they can revert to the historical mean.
Post by: moysider on May 14, 2012, 10:39:34 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 14, 2012, 08:49:28 PM
Conroy finished the league as an effective target man and when fit and confident he is well able to take his scores. Bergin who can blow hot and cold seems to be also on a good run of form and this could swing midfield Galway's way. I think Armstrong will start and he can do damage if he gets room. Doubt Meehan will start but wouldnt be surpised to see PJ with  first 15 number on him and we all know what he can do. Galway wont be short of forward options. They never are. Mulholland was always going to revive their fortunes and in fairness they should never have fallen back as far as they did with the talent they had.

Seems to me that Ros fans are doing their best to build up Galway and present themselves as underdogs. Why they need to do this I don t know but I suspect they expect to win and so do I expect Ros to win this with home advantage and all.

Have seen little enough of Mulholland s Galway and I might get an eye opener on Sunday. And we have yet to see the Galway team sheet but.... I m still seeing the same names mentioned that were there with last 3/4 managers ( Conroys, Sices, Bergins, Armstrongs etc) so Mulholland will have had to reinvent these guys.
Post by: seafoid on May 14, 2012, 10:42:02 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 14, 2012, 10:39:34 PM

Seems to me that Ros fans are doing their best to build up Galway and present themselves as underdogs. Why they need to do this I don t know but I suspect they expect to win and so do I expect Ros to win this with home advantage and all.

Have seen little enough of Mulholland s Galway and I might get an eye opener on Sunday. And we have yet to see the Galway team sheet but.... I m still seeing the same names mentioned that were there with last 3/4 managers ( Conroys, Sices, Bergins, Armstrongs etc) so Mulholland will have had to reinvent these guys.
On the other hand didn't Maughan turn a shower of never- won- much Mayo fuballers into damn near all-Ireland winners in 96 ? 
Post by: Syferus on May 14, 2012, 10:47:41 PM
I think we're being refreshingly honest and saying we have a serious shot at winning. The need to play the poor mouth is gone.
Post by: moysider on May 14, 2012, 11:03:57 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 14, 2012, 10:42:02 PM

On the other hand didn't Maughan turn a shower of never- won- much Mayo fuballers into damn near all-Ireland winners in 96 ?

Er.. No. Likes of Noel Connelly or James Horan never played before. Others were just out of U21 and Fallon was nearly 30 but a rookie by inter-county standard. Now if only Maughan rated likes of Kevin O Neill, Gary Ruane and Peter Butler we might have won something!
Mayo have been able to make an odd surge like this from nowhere - when we get organised, which hasn t been very often. Like last year. We also go through a big turnover of players. Possibly the reason why I m surprised about players that hang about in some other counties.
Post by: ross4life on May 14, 2012, 11:15:44 PM

We are underdogs doesn't matter what way you present it. I just hope Galway are as bad as they were when i seen them v Mayo last June but i some how don't think so..They have plenty of talent available best in Connacht IMO but have been fooling around with management for the last decade. Mulholland seems the right man to steady the ship he knows Galway football better than most & if playing at home is such advantage then why are we waiting longer to beat Galway at home than away?
Post by: moysider on May 15, 2012, 12:09:19 AM
Quote from: ross4life on May 14, 2012, 11:15:44 PM

We are underdogs doesn't matter what way you present it. I just hope Galway are as bad as they were when i seen them v Mayo last June but i some how don't think so..They have plenty of talent available best in Connacht IMO but have been fooling around with management for the last decade. Mulholland seems the right man to steady the ship he knows Galway football better than most & if playing at home is such advantage then why are we waiting longer to beat Galway at home than away?

No they don t have plenty of talent available. Ok, few counties do.  If they did they they wouldn t be recycling some of these guys, indulging Nicky for years and still looking to PJ and a barely fit Michael Meehan to contribute in May ( they could be a huge boost in a couple of months though when up to speed).
They haven t fooled around with management either. Since Johnno they ve chosen really wisely if anything ( Johnno stayed around too long, and I believe that was critical when football hit a change in gradient around 02/03 and Galway did not go with the the surge. But then again he has a habit of doin that but let s not go there again) - the fact that it hasn t worked out is more a reflection of the players than management. They didn t gel with the practical Forde and Kernan approach and Sammon s trad. approach wasn t a success either. None of those managers are fools but the players remain the same.

But hey! Don t mind me. I m here on a laptop and I d prefer to be talkin football, that s all.
Post by: Syferus on May 15, 2012, 12:20:06 AM
The most interesting aspect on Sunday will be the subs and when they're brought on. Cathal Shine has to be the midfield option off the bench now and if things aren't working in the middle I'd be very excited to see him get his debut at senior. Kevin Higgins has shown he's capable of coming on and causing lot of damage when the opponents' legs tire and Connor Devanney will probably be the odd man out in the full forwards and desperately unlucky at that. We have quality subs at every line on the field now and hopefully Newton will have seen how we've tired in games like Cork and Tyrone and pre-empt that by clearing the bench with plenty of time on the clock, no matter the score.

What will Galway's bench look like? Potentially PJ and Meehan, buy who else will Galway be calling on if things go sour?
Post by: moysider on May 15, 2012, 12:30:47 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 15, 2012, 12:20:06 AM
The most interesting aspect on Sunday will be the subs and when they're brought on. Cathal Shine has to be the midfield option off the bench now and if things aren't working in the middle I'd be very excited to see him get debut at senior. Kevin Higgins has shown he's capable of coming on and causing lot of damage when the opponents' legs tire and Connor Devanney will probably be the odd man out in the full forwards and desperately unlucky at that. We have quality subs at every line on the field now and hopefully Newton will be see how we've tired in games like Cork and Tyrone and pre-empt that by clearing the bench with plenty of time on the clock, no matter the score.

What will Galway's bench look like? Potentially PJ and Meehan, buy who else will Galway be calling on if things go sour?

Now that s what I m talking about.
Post by: ross4life on May 15, 2012, 12:37:02 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 15, 2012, 12:09:19 AM

No they don t have plenty of talent available. Ok, few counties do.  If they did they they wouldn t be recycling some of these guys, indulging Nicky for years and still looking to PJ and a barely fit Michael Meehan to contribute in May ( they could be a huge boost in a couple of months though when up to speed).
They haven t fooled around with management either. Since Johnno they ve chosen really wisely if anything ( Johnno stayed around too long, and I believe that was critical when football hit a change in gradient around 02/03 and Galway did not go with the the surge. But then again he has a habit of doin that but let s not go there again) - the fact that it hasn t worked out is more a reflection of the players than management. They didn t gel with the practical Forde and Kernan approach and Sammon s trad. approach wasn t a success either. None of those managers are fools but the players remain the same.

But hey! Don t mind me. I m here on a laptop and I d prefer to be talkin football, that s all.
PJ and Michael Meehan are two top talents i think everyone can understand why they are still part of Galway's plans.

13 from the under 21 All-Ireland winning squad from last year and 6 who won the minor title back in 2007 that's plenty of talent in my book. Three managers in as many years how can you find stability with type of carry on? 
Post by: moysider on May 15, 2012, 01:29:32 AM
Quote from: ross4life on May 15, 2012, 12:37:02 AM

PJ and Michael Meehan are two top talents i think everyone can understand why they are still part of Galway's plans.

13 from the under 21 All-Ireland winning squad from last year and 6 who won the minor title back in 2007 that's plenty of talent in my book. Three managers in as many years how can you find stability with type of carry on?

I or anybody else would have Joyce and Meehan aboard. No question about that. But is there a full game between them next Sunday? As regards the management merry-go- round? That was down to lack of success that the county expected. Those players may well do better for Mulholland but I m sure you re hoping they wont next Sunday. I have my doubt s they will but if they do then I ll have no problem saying I got it wrong. I wouldn t put much emphasis on underage stuff, but that s just me.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 15, 2012, 01:35:45 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 15, 2012, 12:20:06 AM

Well here's the entire panel.

1 Adrian Faherty
2 Colin Forde
3 Conor Doherty
4 Cormac Bane
5 Damien Burke
6 Danny Cummins
7 Diarmaid Blake
8 Finian Hanley
9 Fiontán O'Curraoin
10 Gareth Bradshaw
11 Gary O'Donnell
12 Gary Sice
13 Gary Sweeney
14 Greg Higgins
15 Joe Bergin
16 Johnny Duane
17 Joss Moore
18 Keith Kelly
19 Kieran McGrath
20 Manus Breathnach
21 Mark Hehir
22 Michael Boyle
23 Michael Martin
24 Michael Meehan
25 Niall Coleman
26 Padraig Joyce
27 Paul Conroy
28 Peadar O'Griofa
29 Sean Armstrong
30 Thomas Flynn
31 Tomas Fahy
Post by: ross4life on May 15, 2012, 02:12:03 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 15, 2012, 01:29:32 AM
Quote from: ross4life on May 15, 2012, 12:37:02 AM

I or anybody else would have Joyce and Meehan aboard. No question about that. But is there a full game between them next Sunday? As regards the management merry-go- round? That was down to lack of success that the county expected. Those players may well do better for Mulholland but I m sure you re hoping they wont next Sunday. I have my doubt s they will but if they do then I ll have no problem saying I got it wrong. I wouldn t put much emphasis on underage stuff, but that s just me.

I don't think there will be a full game between them but 35+mins could be enough push Galway over the line. You can't keep changing managers to find success. I see plenty of potential in both sides to maximize that potential comes down to good management one that's given a chance to prove itself.
Post by: ross matt on May 15, 2012, 08:00:08 AM

My post that you quoted was'nt trying to do that Moysider.... it was just in response to one of the Galway posts about their lack of scoring options. I agree with you in that I think Ross will win this one but it would hardly be  a shock if we didnt as it's likely to be  close affair. You're correct about Galway having alot of the same names for the last few years but if anyone can reinvent them Mulholland can.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 15, 2012, 11:48:30 AM
I genuinely see this as a 50-50 game. It could be a good one. Just looking at the Galway subs - if the likes of Meehan and PJ are in good enough nick to make an impact near the end that could be the difference.

From a Sligo perspective - we're away to the winners so it'll be a tall order either way.
Post by: Syferus on May 15, 2012, 01:49:53 PM
You'd be at home to us!
Post by: magpie seanie on May 15, 2012, 03:11:07 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 15, 2012, 01:49:53 PM
You'd be at home to us!

Are you sure?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 15, 2012, 03:16:21 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 15, 2012, 03:11:07 PM
You'd be at home to us!

Are you sure?
We are at home  to Roscommon and away to Galway whenever we play them next. The game is being shown in full deferred coverage on RTE on sat 9th june day before ireland play croatia. I dont care who wins, i cant call it. Both are better than us though.
Post by: Rossfan on May 15, 2012, 04:10:22 PM
You'd be at home to us!

Are you sure?
Ye will.
Seems there is a separate agreement for Connacht Finals as ye're little plasheen can't hold them.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 15, 2012, 04:17:54 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 15, 2012, 04:10:22 PM
You'd be at home to us!

Are you sure?
Ye will.
Seems there is a separate agreement for Connacht Finals as ye're little plasheen can't hold them.

Yeah, knew there was something about that but had forgotten the detail. Thanks for clarification.
Post by: ross4life on May 15, 2012, 05:50:35 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 15, 2012, 03:16:21 PM
You'd be at home to us!

Are you sure?
We are at home  to Roscommon and away to Galway whenever we play them next. The game is being shown in full deferred coverage on RTE on sat 9th june day before ireland play croatia. I dont care who wins, i cant call it. Both are better than us though.

SLIGONIAN we should name you as the Mancini of the gaaboard. Not so long ago you declared Sligo as the best in Connacht now your saying two developing teams like Galway & ourselves are better.

Post by: Farrandeelin on May 15, 2012, 07:02:39 PM
Quote from: ross4life on May 15, 2012, 05:50:35 PM
You'd be at home to us!

Are you sure?

SLIGONIAN we should name you as the Mancini of the gaaboard. Not so long ago you declared Sligo as the best in Connacht now your saying two developing teams like Galway & ourselves are better.

Next thing, after a late goal against Mayo in injury time of the Connacht final he'll say he always believed Sligo would win. 8)
Post by: Syferus on May 15, 2012, 07:14:56 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 15, 2012, 07:02:39 PM
Quote from: ross4life on May 15, 2012, 05:50:35 PM
You'd be at home to us!

Are you sure?

Next thing, after a late goal against Mayo in injury time of the Connacht final he'll say he always believed Sligo would win. 8)

1994, baby.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 15, 2012, 07:31:58 PM
Yes syferus. I wasn't in Hyde Park that day, and Leitrim/London could cause an upset against us.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on May 15, 2012, 09:43:32 PM
Galway team to play Roscommon on Sunday:

1 Adrian Faherty
2 Kieran McGrath
3 Finian Hanley
4 Keith Kelly
5 Garreth Bradshaw
6 Johnny Duane
7 Gary O'Donnell
8 Joe Bergin
9 Greg Higgins
10 Gary Sice
11 Damien Burke
12 Thomas Flynn
13 Sean Armstrong
14 Paul Conroy
15 Mark Hehir

I don't know do I see too many scores coming from that half forward line consisting of two half backs and a midfielder!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 15, 2012, 10:12:04 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on May 15, 2012, 09:43:32 PM

1 Adrian Faherty
2 Kieran McGrath
3 Finian Hanley
4 Keith Kelly
5 Garreth Bradshaw
6 Johnny Duane
7 Gary O'Donnell
8 Joe Bergin
9 Greg Higgins
10 Gary Sice
11 Damien Burke
12 Thomas Flynn
13 Sean Armstrong
14 Paul Conroy
15 Mark Hehir

I don't know do I see too many scores coming from that half forward line consisting of two half backs and a midfielder!

Very possibly although 4 of those forwards started against Kildare and Galway still managed to hit 0-18.

Ultimately when you don't have PJ and Meehan available to start for different reasons (old age and injury) and Nicky gone into self-imposed exile again then your options for fielding reliable scoring forwards are cut down straight away. I guess we have plenty to throw on from the bench anyway as long as things are still in the balance.
Post by: seafoid on May 15, 2012, 10:49:45 PM
The way the Rossies were talking upthread the maroon jersey could be worth a few points.  8)
Post by: Syferus on May 15, 2012, 11:02:53 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 15, 2012, 10:49:45 PM
The way the Rossies were talking upthread the maroon jersey could be worth a few points.  8)

Two mid-ranking teams playing each other for the right to play another mid-ranking team. I have absolutely no worries about facing Galway and our team is full of players who grew up expecting to beat Galway at under-age, this won't be the same old beat-before-they-take-the-field Roscommon. If we lose it'll be for other reasons.

Sure the only one we could play the poor mouth against is Mayo and we all have a smirk on our faces those feckers crop up..
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on May 15, 2012, 11:04:33 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 15, 2012, 10:12:04 PM
Very possibly although 4 of those forwards started against Kildare and Galway still managed to hit 0-18.

Ultimately when you don't have PJ and Meehan available to start for different reasons (old age and injury) and Nicky gone into self-imposed exile again then your options for fielding reliable scoring forwards are cut down straight away. I guess we have plenty to throw on from the bench anyway as long as things are still in the balance.

To be fair that half forward line was the one that played very well in the 2nd half of the Kildare game, Burke was good, Sice excellent and Flynn was definately a factor in Galway's upper hand on the Kildare midfield while playing against a stiff breeze in that half, hopefully they are as effective the next day as well.

Quote from: seafoid on May 15, 2012, 10:49:45 PM

With any luck it will be, I wouldn't have Galway at 8/15 on like the bookies, really tough game coming up in the Hyde. If the performances from the Kildare match carries over to Sunday though I'd be happy enough that we have a good chance to come through on the right side of it, if not it could be a long day.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 15, 2012, 11:35:05 PM
Ros, play the poor mouth against Mayo? If we meet, Ros would undoubtedly be overwhelming favourites. Ye'd have the tougher games out of the way and sure last year ye 'had' us but for COC's frees, even he's missing some this year. And conditions didn't help Ros last year either. Plus Ros will be determined to beat Mayo in McHale Park, in which would continue their unbeaten record there this decade. However there's lots of football to be played yet.
Post by: Syferus on May 15, 2012, 11:39:42 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 15, 2012, 11:35:05 PM
Ros, play the poor mouth against Mayo? If we meet, Ros would undoubtedly be overwhelming favourites. Ye'd have the tougher games out of the way and sure last year ye 'had' us but for COC's frees, even he's missing some this year. And conditions didn't help Ros last year either. Plus Ros will be determined to beat Mayo in McHale Park, in which would continue their unbeaten record there this decade. However there's lots of football to be played yet.

I see the sally rod put the discipline back into you. More lessons on 17th July, if ye can make it through the hard side of the draw.
Post by: ross4life on May 16, 2012, 12:02:10 AM

1 Adrian Faherty
2 Kieran McGrath
3 Finian Hanley
4 Keith Kelly
5 Garreth Bradshaw
6 Johnny Duane
7 Gary O'Donnell
8 Joe Bergin
9 Greg Higgins
10 Gary Sice
11 Damien Burke
12 Thomas Flynn
13 Sean Armstrong
14 Paul Conroy
15 Mark Hehir

Much changed from the one that lined out v Mayo last June & number of positional changes plus the option of Bergin,Flynn swapping places. The FF line has a decent history v us over the years. Makes for a interesting match up.

Syferus is correct we won't fear Galway why should we? If we lose it'll be for other reasons.
Post by: ross matt on May 16, 2012, 12:10:52 AM

1 Adrian Faherty
2 Kieran McGrath
3 Finian Hanley
4 Keith Kelly
5 Garreth Bradshaw
6 Johnny Duane
7 Gary O'Donnell
8 Joe Bergin
9 Greg Higgins
10 Gary Sice
11 Damien Burke
12 Thomas Flynn
13 Sean Armstrong
14 Paul Conroy
15 Mark Hehir

Decent team. Very mobile half backline. Alot depends on Bergin at midfield. .... Flynn will obviously be helping out there. The inside 3 can take their scores and Sice and Burke are physically strong. Some bench with Meehan and PJ on it.
Post by: sligoman2 on May 16, 2012, 01:29:45 AM
Going back to the good old days when i had time to run the spreads competition with dicky rock, i would have made galway favs by 1.5
And i would have picked roscommon. A draw is very possible in
my opinion
Post by: ross4life on May 16, 2012, 03:36:31 PM
1. Geoffrey Claffey (C); Naomh Caoimhin Cáislean Riabhach

2. Seánie McDermott; Gaeil an Iarthair
3. Niall Carty; Na Piarsaigh
4. Seán Purcell; Mainistir na Búille

5. Cathal Dineen; Naomh Caoimhin Cáislean Riabhach
6. Peter Domican; Naomh Bríd
7. Ian Kilbride; Naomh Bríd

8. Michael Finneran; Naomh Dominic
9. Karol Mannion; Naomh Bríd

10. David Keenan; Naomh Bearraí
11. Cathal Cregg; Gaeil an Iarthair
12. John Rogers; Béal na mBuillí

13. Senan Kilbride; Naomh Bríd
14. Darren McDermott; Naomh Caoimhin Cáislean Riabhach
15. Donie Shine; Clann na nGael

Niall Daly,David O'Gara not starting is a surprise. It's more settled looking team than the one's we had in 06,08 v Galway.
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2012, 04:30:45 PM
The last 10 minutes should be interesting if it is a close match
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 17, 2012, 09:03:04 AM
Jees i wouldnt fear that Galway team at all especially HF line and FF line. Roscommon better team on paper imho. In the cut and thrust of championship i dont have any memories of armstrong, conroy doing much damage, hehir is good but v young. It'll be interesting to see the level of improvement in Roscommon from the league but thats a strong line up with loads of experience and very settled.
Post by: Rossfan on May 17, 2012, 11:32:08 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 17, 2012, 09:03:04 AM
It'll be interesting to see the level of improvement in Roscommon from the league
That is what it will all hinge on I believe.
If not much then Galway to win and radical overhaul of the Ros team for the First Round qualifier.
If the very badly needed loads of improvement takes place then we're in with a decent shout.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 17, 2012, 12:17:53 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 17, 2012, 11:32:08 AM
It'll be interesting to see the level of improvement in Roscommon from the league
If not much then Galway to win and radical overhaul of the Ros team for the First Round qualifier.
If the very badly needed loads of improvement takes place then we're in with a decent shout.
I dont think theres any doubt that Roscommon will improve, ye do it every yr, galway usually and mayo even seem to have dips from league to championship. Looking forward to watching how this one plays out. As i said before dont know who i want to win but its hopefully a good game although one sided affair would probably suit our mentality as underdogs but we will be anyway id imagine.
Post by: ziggy90 on May 17, 2012, 08:30:57 PM
Lads is this game live on TV? The reason I ask is, I'm living in Birmingham, and I have a channel called Premier Sports, who have the GAA franchise for the UK. I checked their schedule today and found that they are only showing deferred coverage. If it's on live I shall have to force myself to make an all to infrequent foray to the local hostelry.  :P
Post by: ross4life on May 17, 2012, 08:59:36 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on May 17, 2012, 08:30:57 PM
Lads is this game live on TV? The reason I ask is, I'm living in Birmingham, and I have a channel called Premier Sports, who have the GAA franchise for the UK. I checked their schedule today and found that they are only showing deferred coverage. If it's on live I shall have to force myself to make an all to infrequent foray to the local hostelry.  :P
It's live on RTE. Apparently there's going to be a big TV screen behind one of the goals that should add to the atmosphere.
Post by: Tubberman on May 17, 2012, 10:06:28 PM
Quote from: ross4life on May 17, 2012, 08:59:36 PM
It's live on RTE. Apparently there's going to be a big TV screen behind one of the goals that should add to the atmosphere.

I saw that... As if people are incapable of talking amongst themselves for 15 minutes! Now you're going to have 'expert analysis' blasted around the place.
Post by: ziggy90 on May 17, 2012, 10:35:51 PM

Cheers for that ross, I'll have one for you.
Post by: Syferus on May 17, 2012, 11:20:59 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 17, 2012, 10:06:28 PM

I saw that... As if people are incapable of talking amongst themselves for 15 minutes! Now you're going to have 'expert analysis' blasted around the place.

It'll probably only take a couple minutes and it'll be alot better than most of the guff going on at half-time at matches, kid's games aside. Definitely y a nice touch, especially if they'll be showing replays form RTE on it as well.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 19, 2012, 08:13:52 PM
I expect Ross to shade it.
There's no sort of form line to go by but the home side have a more settled has a more settled look about it.
I know from sad experience that no team in Connacht can ever afford to take Galway lightly but I don't imagine Roscommon will do this tomorrow.
With the Joyces unavailable and Meehan struggling with injuries, Galway are vulnerable.
Besides, Finneran and Mannion should be able to dominate any pairing Galway may field against them and Kilbride and Shine are two others I don't expect to see being subdued by anyone Galway puts to mark them.
All in all, I expect Ross to win by 2 or 3 points.
Post by: ross4life on May 19, 2012, 11:36:27 PM
Best of luck to Des Newton & all the players. I would normally say may the best team win but after waiting 22 years i'll take any type of Roscommon win tomorrow.
Post by: joemamas on May 19, 2012, 11:51:12 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 19, 2012, 08:13:52 PM
I expect Ross to shade it.
There's no sort of form line to go by but the home side have a more settled has a more settled look about it.
I know from sad experience that no team in Connacht can ever afford to take Galway lightly but I don't imagine Roscommon will do this tomorrow.
With the Joyces unavailable and Meehan struggling with injuries, Galway are vulnerable.
Besides, Finneran and Mannion should be able to dominate any pairing Galway may field against them and Kilbride and Shine are two others I don't expect to see being subdued by anyone Galway puts to mark them.
All in all, I expect Ross to win by 2 or 3 points.

Lar, exactly how I feel about game tomorrow. How Galway expect Joe Bergin to play midfield at this stage of his career is beyond me. I know he is not first choice, but it says something about their lack of depth in that position.
Post by: Syferus on May 20, 2012, 12:33:36 AM
I was a week removed from my first birthday the last time Roscommon defeated the Tribesmen at our home, and even in the years since where we've not simply lose to them, 1998 and 2001, Galway always managed to have the last say.

This could be a sunrise I've been waiting a lifetime to see.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 20, 2012, 03:44:02 AM
I'm amazed that the bookies have Galway slight favourites. Pretty much 95% of previews I' ve read in the past day or two have tipped Roscommon to win. In fact I can't remember anyone who's actually tipped Galway apart from the lad on Aertel. I know Galway have a good record in the Hyde but can't help but feeling that the bookies might be reading this one badly wrong.
Post by: Syferus on May 20, 2012, 04:56:42 AM
(http://www.joe.ie/uploads/story/24926/rossiesnub.jpg)

I'm sorry Galway, but you just ain't winning this one.  >:(
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 20, 2012, 07:21:37 AM
 ;D ;D ;D She obviously has Ballagh in Mayo.
Post by: Syferus on May 20, 2012, 12:51:01 PM
Good luck lads, but make your own!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 20, 2012, 02:19:50 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 20, 2012, 07:21:37 AM
;D ;D ;D She obviously has Ballagh in Mayo.

That or the Mayo Co.co. and Roscommon Co.co. have followed up on those merger rumours. We might actually win an All-Ireland between us and would sort out the Ballagh issue (then again it has nothing to do with co.co's  ;)  )
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2012, 02:22:18 PM
seen Roscommon against Derry two weeks back, they were motoring quite well even though it was only a friendly, hard to judge what Galway are like giving they ahve such a young team, but had some good results and some bad in the league, hard to call it to tell you the truth
Post by: Tubberman on May 20, 2012, 04:05:33 PM
Jaysus Keenan could have been in on goal there if he kept his cool. Two great scores for Ros though after quick Galway score.
They're finding a lot of space around their half forward line already.
Post by: Tubberman on May 20, 2012, 04:18:36 PM
Ros look in trouble, haven't settled at all. Galway with all the possession, Ros with a lot of handling errors.
Post by: western exile on May 20, 2012, 04:21:49 PM
What is the background to both teams using charities as a sponsor name?
Post by: Tubberman on May 20, 2012, 04:22:54 PM
Jesus, it's over already.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 20, 2012, 04:24:46 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 20, 2012, 04:22:54 PM
Jesus, it's over already.

Galway might as well collect the Nestor Cup at half time.
Post by: maigheo on May 20, 2012, 04:26:35 PM
disaster for the rossies.looks like game over at this stage.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 20, 2012, 04:28:11 PM
Ros never got going. Even before Finneran's inj they were flat. Must be sickening for the Rossies on here.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2012, 04:31:46 PM
they getting murdered, need a goal before half time to even make a game of it, you not see the donegal game too open
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2012, 04:33:33 PM
This is hard to fathom. To be honest I think this story is about Roscommon s almost complete system failure. How could they come into a Championship match v Galway so undercooked. Unbelievable. It started like a challenge match.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 04:34:48 PM
Boring match, was expecting a rip roaring game. Only danger for Galway is that they will probably get a bit over-rated from this.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 20, 2012, 04:38:59 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 20, 2012, 04:28:11 PM
Ros never got going. Even before Finneran's inj they were flat. Must be sickening for the Rossies on here.

From the sounds of it, they (Ros) are playing with wing forwards, but they never venture beyond the Roscommon half-back line. There is no one for the Roscommon backs to destribute the ball too, so Galway win the ball and the pressure resumes. Roscommon have lads back but they don't sound like they are getting stuck in Galway at all. Galway are getting players back too but they are defending and then getting forward.

I had Roscommon down to win this, I never thought there was such a gap between these two teams.
Post by: sans pessimism on May 20, 2012, 04:42:07 PM
Conroy is destroying them
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2012, 04:47:55 PM

They destroyed themselves first.
Post by: baoithe on May 20, 2012, 04:49:51 PM
Roscommon are a division 3 team for the moment. Kilbride and cregg appear to me to be the only forwards worth talking about. Shine has always been too immobile to be a top inter-county forward (his performance against Sligo in 2010 was more down to our failings than his quality) - and I say that while recognising the service into him hasnt been good enough today. I don't think his movement is near good enough. If he played out the field he would be even more impotent at championship level. But of course that's all just personal opinion.

I'd prefer if Sligo were playing Roscommon in June although I'm sure Sligonian might disagree with me.
Post by: seafoid on May 20, 2012, 04:59:35 PM
Nice to see galway motoring again. I hope we get meath in the qualifiers.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 05:01:08 PM
More like it in the Second half from Ross. Shine from dead ball has been poor. Although many of his frees at goal have been far out!
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2012, 05:02:46 PM

If Shine had his shooting boots on they could be still within 3 or 4 points.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 05:18:18 PM
Surprising with the square ball now defunct that Roscommon who have big men are not trying out the new rules!
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2012, 05:19:36 PM
Roscommon new found urgency didn t last long. This is very poor. Only still watching because I m trying to avoid mowing the lawn.
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2012, 05:23:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 05:18:18 PM
Surprising with the square ball now defunct that Roscommon who have big men are not trying out the new rules!

Ros big men inside don t play like big men. Lack pace and aggression. Cant attack the ball. Any ball gone in has been gobbled up by the more determined backs.

Post by: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 05:27:08 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 20, 2012, 05:19:36 PM
Roscommon new found urgency didn t last long. This is very poor. Only still watching because I m trying to avoid mowing the lawn.

There's begining to be an echo in the ground, looks like there are a few gone home to mow their lawn!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 20, 2012, 05:28:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 20, 2012, 04:59:35 PM

Galway have to be favourites for Connacht after this performance.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 20, 2012, 05:29:47 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 05:27:08 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 20, 2012, 05:19:36 PM

There's begining to be an echo in the ground, looks like there are a few gone home to mow their lawn!

Our other peoples (Ballaghaderreen  ;)  )
Post by: seafoid on May 20, 2012, 05:32:36 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 20, 2012, 05:31:49 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 20, 2012, 05:28:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 20, 2012, 04:59:35 PM

Galway have to be favourites for Connacht after this performance.
Sligo beat Galway in 2007 so Mayo have to be favs. It's a pity Ros couldn't
put up a stronger performance. 14 points in it. Very disappointing.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 20, 2012, 05:37:34 PM
At least it wasn't a 20 point hiding...
Post by: armaghniac on May 20, 2012, 05:38:59 PM
Spillane reckons Galway play "Crossmaglen style". Perhaps Big Joe did leave a legacy there.
Post by: sligoman2 on May 20, 2012, 05:40:01 PM
very disappointing performance by Roscommon.  I expected more.

Roscommon seemed unfit, second to the ball and dare I say it, looked disinterested.

We have our work cut out for us, Galway are big and fit and with Joyce and Meehan back, we must be rank outsiders to beat them at Salthill.

Roscommon need to get their heads back into it or they will have a short spell in the qualifiers.

It was nice to see open football with direct kicks into the FF lines and no nasty stuff.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 05:40:56 PM
Galway look good, no harm. Have been lying in the long grass for about 8 years. They have to be careful listening to Spillane about playing nice football. Nice football is nice to look at but it will not get you through the big games in Croke Park.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on May 20, 2012, 05:44:40 PM
So much bluster from Roscommon fans here and elsewhere in the last month or two. For this team?! They haven't moved on from their 09 beating in Castlebar at all. They're every bit as bad now. The 'best forwards in Connacht' are hopelessly slow and immobile. A horrible day levelled the playing field in last years Connacht Final and kept the score respectable and added to a fluke Connacht title the year before gave an inaccurate view of their standing. They are a mid table Division 3 team for a reason.

Galway on the other hand are boiling nicely. They'll fancy their chances for Connacht from here, and have every reason to.
Post by: sans pessimism on May 20, 2012, 05:47:26 PM
New year,same old SG,with same old boring Spillane anecdotes ::)
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on May 20, 2012, 05:54:58 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 05:40:56 PM
Galway look good, no harm. Have been lying in the long grass for about 8 years. They have to be careful listening to Spillane about playing nice football. Nice football is nice to look at but it will not get you through the big games in Croke Park.

I doubt Galway (or anyone else for that matter) are stupid enough to listen to anything that gobshite says.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 05:55:44 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on May 20, 2012, 05:44:40 PM
So much bluster from Roscommon fans here and elsewhere in the last month or two. For this team?! They haven't moved on from their 09 beating in Castlebar at all. They're every bit as bad now. The 'best forwards in Connacht' are hopelessly slow and immobile. A horrible day levelled the playing field in last years Connacht Final and kept the score respectable and added to a fluke Connacht title the year before gave an inaccurate view of their standing. They are a mid table Division 3 team for a reason.

Galway on the other hand are boiling nicely. They'll fancy their chances for Connacht from here, and have every reason to.

I'd take it easy on Roscommon. They fully deserved their title in 2010 and were close to Mayo last year. Really the goals killed the Rossies confidence. And had Shine had his free taking boots on there may have been a game. To further progress both teams would need to forget the last 20 minutes of the game. Galway (I Think) will not get as much time to show composure in the later stages of the Championship, so a word of care not to expect to much from the new batch.
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2012, 05:57:22 PM
Des Newton just said that it was 'understandable' that the Roscommon players just played out the last 20 mins.

I m sorry, but if Des really thinks that then he s in the wrong job.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 05:59:08 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on May 20, 2012, 05:47:26 PM

Play in the quick long ball to the full forward line. Yawn!
Post by: Tubberman on May 20, 2012, 06:08:56 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 05:59:08 PM

I think he was going overboard in his praise for Galway as well. As you said, they play 'nice' football, but you have to take into account how bad Ros were. That allowed Galway to make hay, there's no chance they'd be given those opportunities against the top teams, even Mayo.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on May 20, 2012, 06:10:55 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 05:55:44 PM

I'd take it easy on Roscommon. They fully deserved their title in 2010 and were close to Mayo last year. Really the goals killed the Rossies confidence. And had Shine had his free taking boots on there may have been a game. To further progress both teams would need to forget the last 20 minutes of the game. Galway (I Think) will not get as much time to show composure in the later stages of the Championship, so a word of care not to expect to much from the new batch.

I dont know, I can't reconcile the team we saw today with what we were told we would see by Syferus and others. You can't brush off a 15 point beating as a bad day at the office. Every team has bad days but if your bad days result in beatings like this then you'd have to conclude that you wouldn't be good enough on your good days either. FOD was clearly getting the maximum possible out of this team. He knew it too and walked away, an AI runner up set of 21s won't turn that mess around on their own.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 06:18:34 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 20, 2012, 06:08:56 PM

I think he was going overboard in his praise for Galway as well. As you said, they play 'nice' football, but you have to take into account how bad Ros were. That allowed Galway to make hay, there's no chance they'd be given those opportunities against the top teams, even Mayo.

Galway won their last AI in 2001. Ironically the Game took a dramatic change the next couple of years with the use of the blanket defence. Galway still hold their own in Connacht where you are allowed to play football. But they have not won a game outside of Connacht since 2004 and have only beaten louth since 2002. This is because mentally they have not adapted to the change. Anyway well done to Galway today, they did what they had to do.
Post by: James062 on May 20, 2012, 06:26:43 PM
What's d story wi Joyce
Will he star next game and what position will he operate ?
Post by: seafoid on May 20, 2012, 07:13:29 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 06:18:34 PM

Galway won their last AI in 2001. Ironically the Game took a dramatic change the next couple of years with the use of the blanket defence. Galway still hold their own in Connacht where you are allowed to play football. But they have not won a game outside of Connacht since 2004 and have only beaten louth since 2002. This is because mentally they have not adapted to the change. Anyway well done to Galway today, they did what they had to do.

They lost a  few tight matches over that time as well. Meath last year, for example. They weren't far off Kerry in 2008.
I don't think the theory is that comprehensive.  Galway didn't really do justice to themselves over the last few years.
Post by: galwayman on May 20, 2012, 07:26:02 PM
Very pleased with the performance and the win today.
I certainly wasn't expecting that kind of a win and actually had a slight fancy for Ros beforehand.
Saying that,nobody will be getting carried away with today.Ros were poor.
Realistically I would expect us to beat Sligo at home in the semi final but I think we are not at Mayo's level at the moment.
Saying that we would definitely have a chance of beating them at home.

Anyway it was a good overall team performance today.Conroy had his best game in a senior jersey yet.hopefully he can keep it going for the season.O'Donnell has improved immeasurably over the last two years but may come under pressure from Tom Fahy for his place.
It was great to see Mikey Meehan back and he looked surprisingly sharp given his long lay off.Himself and Padraic are the definition of impact subs.
Army will improve over the coming weeks as he is only just on the way back after injury.
Johnny Duane -much like Blake - is a fine player but will struggle against a player with real pace.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 20, 2012, 07:34:14 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 20, 2012, 07:13:29 PM

They lost a  few tight matches over that time as well. Meath last year, for example. They weren't far off Kerry in 2008.
I don't think the theory is that comprehensive.  Galway didn't really do justice to themselves over the last few years.

They lost by 5 points. Mayo lost their AI QF in 2005 by 3 to Kerry and they were well off the mark. What both games had in common were that the media revelled in how good the Football was. Spillane said this is how football should be played, no like that puke football which Kerry lose to.
Post by: ross matt on May 20, 2012, 07:49:38 PM

Enjoy your glaoting you sad little person. Hope it stays fine for ya.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 20, 2012, 07:56:52 PM
CK may be sad. He might not be the tallest person on earth, but he wasn't gloating. Ros were horrid today and seemed way off the pace. Flat from the word go.
Post by: ardal on May 20, 2012, 07:58:26 PM
Quote from: James062 on May 20, 2012, 06:26:43 PM
What's d story wi Joyce
Will he star next game and what position will he operate ?

Think Paris did it in for him, and after Finnegans Wake, he probably deserved it. He'll always write on the left of kilter.

No further comment needed me thinks, although but I a lowly humble man
Post by: maigheo on May 20, 2012, 08:04:16 PM

very unfair post cosmo and that anaylis is some thing you would hear from some fella in a pub that has never attended a game in his life.Of course Ros have moved on from 09 and  could have retained there connacht title last year with a bit of luck.
Post by: ross matt on May 20, 2012, 08:06:05 PM
First of all congrats to Galway on well deserved win. They played their traditional stylish football but they also added bite, agression and physique. It's not their fault that we provided no opposition today and to their credit they never took their foot off the pedal. The only down side for them is that they weren't tested and will have learned little as a result.

I really thought these type of days were over for Roscommon. As either O'Rourke or Spillane said afterwards in the last 2 seasons they've won a connacht title.... were unlucky not to add a 2nd against a strong Mayo side and performed well versus Tyrone in Croker. How and why have we fallen back so much?

Management selection and tactics have to take a large share of the blame.... the zonal marking and constant conceeding of possession just invited attacking half backs like Bradshaw and O'Donnell to run on it. Why so little high ball in to the full forward line like Galway did? The selection of poor John Rogers on Bradshaw was a disaster. Why didnt O'Gara start? He scored 2 points and was much more direct in his play when he came on. Whereas rogers was eaten alive and it was his mistake for the 1st goal. Fitness and sharpness looked vastly inferior to Galway's. We were 2nd to every ball. Galway also looked much more physically imposing.

But the players themselves were so nervous and error prone. After we went a point up early on Keenan and Shine missed very easy chances. The team just never settled. Cregg was the only one who took the game to them. Shine looked disinterested and unhappy in the corner. He must have had half a dozen wides and should have off loaded the ball to mannion when he was in on goal in the first half. Kilbride scored an early point and won alot of ball but never once tried to take his man on. Morale looks very poor and the signs for the qualifiers aren't good. Finneran's injury or playing division 3 are no excuses for poor work ethic and attitude.

Since 2006 we have won a minor AI, 2 provincial minors, 2 minor leagues, 2 provincial u-21s and a provincial senior. That should make that this current side should be at least competitive with Galway today like we were v Mayo last year. This is a complete collapse.

Anyway best of luck to the tribesmen going forward. Like I've often said when they are on this kind of form they are good for football in general. Mulholland has certainly got their feel good factor back in a very short space of time and deserves great credit for that.
Post by: ross matt on May 20, 2012, 08:09:57 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 20, 2012, 05:57:22 PM
Des Newton just said that it was 'understandable' that the Roscommon players just played out the last 20 mins.

I m sorry, but if Des really thinks that then he s in the wrong job.

I know Moysider his interview really bothered me. Very composed and articulate but in a very detached way as if the loss and manner of losing didnt bother him or as if he was expecting it to be that way.
Post by: ross matt on May 20, 2012, 08:27:54 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 20, 2012, 07:13:29 PM

[/b]

They were always better than they looked for the last few years. Probably not as good as they looked today either but they should never have fallen back so badly.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 20, 2012, 08:48:53 PM
It was a case of sheep in a heap for Roscommon once again and there is absolutely no pun intended.
In the Connacht final last year they had every chance of beating Mayo but poor judgement throughout, plus Mayo's greater tactical awareness, saw them come up short.
Playing into the hospital end, they tried time after time to hand pass the ball to within scoring distance, whereas Mayo had used ground passes up to the corner forwards to do the same thing.
They seemed to be playing like novices but yet there were defending champions and really should have been more composed.
I kept an eye on Fergie O'Donnell and he was doing his proverbial nut so I knew they weren't following his instructions but were making it up as they went along.

Based on that display, I didn't think they had a hope against Tyrone.
So I was amazed at the display they put on right up to the closing stages. The lads you expected big games from were all willing and able to oblige and they looked a serious, polished side –until they collectively lost the plot.
I put it down to a lack of confidence rather than ability and I'd say most reasonable people would agree with me on that.
Des Newton was a wholehearted player who always gave his best so I expected a lot more from his side than we got today. I think he has a hell of a job on his hands as he tries to get his team's mental approach firmed up.
Galway on the other hand, knew what they had to do from beginning to end. They played like a unit that had been together for years and went about their job with a minimum of wasted effort.
They are a class act in the making. Maybe there was an element of beginner's luck involved but Mulholland has every right to be a happy man tonight.

I dunno about the Rossies. Iif they manage to re-discover the form they began the game against Tyrone with, they can still have an extended run in the qualifiers.

One thing for certain, most of their problems lie in their brains and not in their boots.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on May 20, 2012, 09:23:14 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 20, 2012, 07:49:38 PM
Enjoy your glaoting you sad little person. Hope it stays fine for ya.

Well, for the record, I'm 5 foot 11 (you can decide yourself whether that counts as 'little' or not) and I think I'm a sound enough fella (but then again I would, wouldn't I?) - but I most certainly wasn't gloating (or 'glaoting'), far from it. My team weren't playing today so I have nothing to gloat about, even if I wanted to.

I was just shocked by how bad Ros were today relative to how we were told they were shaping up. They haven't been on tv and play in D3 so the likes of myself obviously hasnt seen them this year. The noises were positive, as they often are from Roscommon. On the field though they couldn't do much right at all. passing, catching, intensity...all brutal. I could only compare it to 2009 as I think we all believed Ros had improved massively since then. I don't think that now having seen them today. Or if they had, they've regressed to that level again. A 'bad day at the office' can't account for what happened today, there are clearly serious problems with, put simply, the ability of many of the players versus the standard required at this level.

I also didn't resort to personally insulting fellow posters like you did ross matt. You may be unhappy today but there's no use taking your frustration out on people who are just commenting on the game as they saw it, it doesn't show either yourself or your county in a particularly good light. Play the ball, not the man.
Post by: ross4life on May 20, 2012, 09:58:18 PM
Another black day for Roscommon football I'll try not to be too critical on the players as Keenan,O'Gara,Carty,Shine etc are still in their early 20s but today's team was more established than 2008 Salthill,2009 Castlebar so that display/performance was the worst i've seen, in truth the contest was over once Galway scored the 2nd goal we had the chance to make the scoreline a bit more respectable but the lads didn't seem interested. Something is seriously wrong when a team that hadn't won a championship in three years on Irish soil can win today by 14pts in 2nd gear & remember only two years ago Galway struggled to beat New York.

Longford (Div 3) beat Laois a Div 1 team, Cavan Div 3 gave Donegal (Div 1) a decent game. The only good thing about today from a Roscommon point of view was the 10,000+ support all we ask for in return in effort to be competitive clearly they didn't give that today & Seeing that Kilkenny don't play in the championship i don't think their would be a side in Ireland we would have beaten with that woeful display.

P.S Cosmo Kramer, It's easy to kick once down. Cop yourself on like a good lad.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on May 20, 2012, 11:13:33 PM
Great analysis from Ross Matt there. Always a joy to read a man who knows his beans. I hope to be as lucky with my paper tomorrow, but I'm not hopeful.

Shocking day for Roscommon, great day for Galway. Galway are like Down - one win can lift them like no other counties. They really don't do doubt once they've got their kick-start.

Other fellas have mentioned Newton's attitude here. If I were from Roscommon, I'd be quite worried about it. It's a long wait 'til the qualifiers. They're still something there to play for but if Newton's ok with lads running up the white flag today, well, it's not a good sign. It's odd to see a Roscommon team with so little bite. Very odd.

Galway raging hot favorites for Connacht now, of course. Red hot. You'd light your Woodbine off them, they're that hot.
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2012, 11:54:56 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on May 20, 2012, 11:13:33 PM
Great analysis from Ross Matt there. Always a joy to read a man who knows his beans. I hope to be as lucky with my paper tomorrow, but I'm not hopeful.

Shocking day for Roscommon, great day for Galway. Galway are like Down - one win can lift them like no other counties. They really don't do doubt once they've got their kick-start.

Other fellas have mentioned Newton's attitude here. If I were from Roscommon, I'd be quite worried about it. It's a long wait 'til the qualifiers. They're still something there to play for but if Newton's ok with lads running up the white flag today, well, it's not a good sign. It's odd to see a Roscommon team with so little bite. Very odd.

Galway raging hot favorites for Connacht now, of course. Red hot. You'd light your Woodbine off them, they're that hot.

They re not. We ll not yet anyway.

Today s match wasn t even related to a serious championship game. Every Div. I game I attended/saw this year was light years ahead of this tecnically/ tactically/intensity. The Mayo v Donegal challenge in Swinford had more intensity. Nobody had a glove left on them today. It was unreal. The sheepish look on the Galway interviews after said it all. Galway know better than anybody that it s too early to look hot. Especially when the opposition just didn t show up.

Sligo lads can speak for themselves but if we get to play Galway there ll be some intensity and even in Salthill we ll have a chance.

As regards the Newton thing. A couple of alarm bells rang today with me today. One thing that I commented about already but I was gobsmacked when Martin Carney remarked that Newton was observing the match from the stand. That was before half-time and the team already long in freefall.

Not good enough. A young team without hardly a leader on the field ( Cregg was magnificent in adversity and can hold his head high and showed leadership) needs better than that - a presence on the line. A bit of roaring was in order. Newton showed little responsibility/leadership. He came across detatched in interviews, but to observe from a distance is even more worrying.
Post by: ross4life on May 21, 2012, 12:48:32 AM
I can't let the night go with looking at Cosmo's posts in more detail.

So much bluster from Roscommon fans here and elsewhere in the last month or two. For this team?!
Yeah in other games we played like today  ::)
They haven't moved on from their 09 beating in Castlebar at all.
So you just judge us on today? Our displays v Sligo,Mayo,Tyrone etc showed we had moved on from Castlebar
The 'best forwards in Connacht' are hopelessly slow and immobile.
Hmm hopeless & immobile? most big forwards are slow so your probably right.
A horrible day levelled the playing field in last years Connacht Final and kept the score respectable
Nonsense.The weather was the same for both sides have you forgot Mayo beat Galway by 6 in similar conditions?
a fluke Connacht title the year before gave an inaccurate view of their standing.
We beat what was put in front of us were underdogs v Sligo & got a deserved win.
They are a mid table Division 3 team for a reason.
Did you take that quote from Pat Spillane
remains to be seen. I was in Salthill in 2007 when they hammered Mayo but they couldn't reach that level again & was beaten by Sligo in Connacht final.

You can't brush off a 15 point beating as a bad day at the office. Every team has bad days but if your bad days result in beatings like this then you'd have to conclude that you wouldn't be good enough on your good days either.
Will take a while to brush it off but even Kerry,Dublin have recovered for heavy defeats. We have senior,U-21,minor Connacht winners,All Ireland winners,a few with sigerson cup medals plus players from the best club side in Connacht. We are better than what we showed today.
FOD was clearly getting the maximum possible out of this team. He knew it too and walked away
Wrong. Fergal has a young family & was unable to give his full commitment & the door is left open for him to return.

an AI runner up set of 21s won't turn that mess around on their own.
Some great words of wisdom there.

----------------------------------

Have nothing against constructive criticism (gave some myself) but your posts was nothing more than another dig at us.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 21, 2012, 12:55:14 AM
Any time you come away from the Hyde with a 14 point win you have to be happy with the day's work. Beforehand I thought there would be no more than 1 or 2 points between the teams by the end and that Roscommon could easily come away with the win. No idea why Roscommon didn't play up to their capability but regardless Galway still had a game to win and in fairness they went for the Roscommon jugular straight from throw-in. Galway were crisp and clinicial and after 20 minutes Roscommon were left with a mountain to climb. Rossies mounted a bit of resistance the 10 minutes either side of half-time but Galway managed to hold them at arm's length for the remainder of the game and PJ and Meehan coming on with 20 minutes left gave them a major boost. Both of them looked fit and sharp. Meehan especially suprised me as he's had so little football played over the past 2 years. Really hope his ankle holds up.

Galway full-back like marshalled Kilbride and Shine well despite there being a fair bit of height disadvantage. The two debutants at corner-back acquited themselves very well and Hanley was solid. Bradshaw was excellent again and tormented the Rossie defence with his surging runs forward. Thought Johnny Duane was good at centre-back. Got outpaced by Cregg a couple of times just before the break but got on top again afterwards. Cregg is quick so you can forgive him that. Overall he is very tigerish in his play. Joe Bergin probably had his best game for Galway in years. He was catching high-balls, distributing well and even got forward to kick 2 points. Greg Higgins did more of the unspectacular donkey work beside him but was also quietly effective. Obviously Finneran going off injured helped them get a grip around the middle.

On paper the Galway half-forward line doesn't look like it will score much but they put in an enormous amount of work and in the last two games Galway have hit 0-18 against Kildare and 3-15 today so the lack of scoring from that department (Gary Sice apart) doesn't seem to be an issue. For now anyway. Flynn will eventually end up in midfield alright and Damien Burke has made a good fist of moving from corner-back to centre-forward. It's not a completely alien position for him though as he has played there for Corofin quite a bit.

Paul Conroy has been a revelation since being moved to full-forward. He's big, has good hands and can kick off either foot and he's obviously playing with a lot of confidence under Mulholland at the moment. The Roscommon defence just couldn't handle him today. In fact I was shocked as I think his marker was left on him for the whole game. Having a target man like that means the corner-forwards can play off him. Armstrong was a mixed bag but he's not long back from injury so you hope he'll improve with gametime. Not really sure that Hehir is a corner-forward but you can tell that he is a clever footballer. His movement is very good and he makes intelligent runs. With experience I think he will eventually move into the half-forward line somewhere. The bould Nicky would be ideal for the corner playing off Conroy but that ship looks to have sailed now.

Great win but I don't think Mulholland will be letting them get carried away. Roscommon just never got going today. Galway won't have it as easy even at home in Salthill against Sligo. Best of luck to Roscommon for the remainder of the Summer.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2012, 02:22:52 AM
Firstly, congratulations to Galway, they were up for the match and did everything asked of them. Conroy particularly was fantastic, definite man-of-the-match material. Meehan looked sharp when he came on but in all reality it was all over by then and he didn't have to cope with championship intensity. I would love to see the lad back, he's one of the finest talents in the country on his day and he seems a great fella.

The problems started in the middle for us, and we could blame it on Finneran's aggravation of an injury he suffered in a challenge game a few weeks back but in all honesty the middle wasn't working in the league when he was fit. Too much pressure on the backs, basic errors compounding the damage. We just looked completely off-key out there, with only Cregg and the two McDermotts showing anything close to proper form over the 70 minutes. When it was a winnable game for us, at home no less, it was always going to be hard to stomach the manner of this loss.

It was only one match, though. A bad one for us, most definitely. But even a win wouldn't have set us forward that much and the manner of the defeat should make the team angry rather than depressed. Galway were made to look like All-Ireland champions by us - I didn't say I didn't rate them, but that we were very capable of beating them. I still think we are. It's not like that Galway team turned into All-Stars over the course of the 70 minutes and we lost all our ability - they won't get it as easy in any other game this year and would be wise to read very little into today's scoreline.

We've a team that has plenty of talent and the worst thing you could do is throw the pram over a cliff because we had a bad performance. Another bite at the apple at the end of June with all the u21s having plenty of time to and settle in and compete. It's essentially another championship for us.

Plenty of reasons to think even the immediate future is going to be a hell of alot brighter than today, there's absolutely no place for recriminations in the middle of the championship.

Heroes when they win, abused when they have a bad day. No thanks. The players and the management do more for and give more to the county than any of us and if we can't stick with them through the lean days how could we ever label ourselves supporters in the first place?

Treat them like your club-mates after a defeat, don't treat them like they're some elite group deserving of contempt - they're our lads and they will always be our lads.

I just hope Galway found their bus driver.
Post by: INDIANA on May 21, 2012, 08:15:58 AM
i think its complete rubbish to say a win wouldnt have put you further ahead of a loss.

That was an absolutely diabolical display by Roscommon. One of the worst I've seen in  a long time.

Team had no idea what it was doing. Dont fall into the trap thinking your 21's will dig you out of a hole.

Roscommon have definitely gone backwards. Always thought it strange O Donnell quit when he did. Maybe he just felt they hadnt enough to get to the next level.
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2012, 09:47:52 AM

http://forum.wordreference.com/showthread.php?t=1860605
Post by: moysider on May 21, 2012, 10:50:46 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 21, 2012, 09:47:52 AM

Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2012, 11:07:36 AM
Connacht has been very open for the last few years with no team on top. Last year Sligo were shite. This year Ros are shite. Mayo were shite in 2010
http://www.con-telegraph.ie/sport/gaelic/767-longford-easy-meat-for-mayo
and Galway were shite 2009-2011.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 21, 2012, 11:52:57 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 21, 2012, 10:50:46 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 21, 2012, 09:47:52 AM

;D ;D ;D ;D
Nice one, seafoid.
Post by: Rossfan on May 21, 2012, 12:08:50 PM

There wasnt any improvement and we got bet out the gate after an embarrassing shambolic perfromance.
We played slow oul Division 3 NFL football against a Galway side playing Championship football.
We had no plan A never mind a plan B other than let Galway have the ball while we all ran back and loitered with no purpose around our own 45.
Meanwhile Galway kicked the ball in over the heads of the mass of loiterers and our FBL couldnt cope at all.
As for our attack plan -- God help us why did Donie and Senan spend the day standing on top of each other around the Penalty mark? The few times we did hit a ball in to the corners the 2 lads had to shuffle out slowly to collect it. Could they not have been half way there before it was kicked.?
We never had anyone on the wings in attack so defenders had no one to aim clearances at.
A lot of criticism of Newton on Stolensheep and it was noticeable he was on his own on the sideline in the 2nd half yesterday as the rest of the backroom sat on the bench like as if the were ignoring him.
Management's role in my view is to have the players mentally and physically ready for Championship football.
Our lads didnt look that yesterday.
I can't see a lot of enthusiam in lads for Qualifiers after that and suspect the US could have a large contingent of Ros lads this Summer.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2012, 12:44:09 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 21, 2012, 08:15:58 AM
i think its complete rubbish to say a win wouldnt have put you further ahead of a loss.

That was an absolutely diabolical display by Roscommon. One of the worst I've seen in  a long time.

Team had no idea what it was doing. Dont fall into the trap thinking your 21's will dig you out of a hole.

Roscommon have definitely gone backwards. Always thought it strange O Donnell quit when he did. Maybe he just felt they hadnt enough to get to the next level.

You need better glasses.
Post by: moysider on May 21, 2012, 01:00:35 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 21, 2012, 12:08:50 PM

There wasnt any improvement and we got bet out the gate after an embarrassing shambolic perfromance.
We played slow oul Division 3 NFL football against a Galway side playing Championship football.
We had no plan A never mind a plan B other than let Galway have the ball while we all ran back and loitered with no purpose around our own 45.
Meanwhile Galway kicked the ball in over the heads of the mass of loiterers and our FBL couldnt cope at all.
As for our attack plan -- God help us why did Donie and Senan spend the day standing on top of each other around the Penalty mark? The few times we did hit a ball in to the corners the 2 lads had to shuffle out slowly to collect it. Could they not have been half way there before it was kicked.?
We never had anyone on the wings in attack so defenders had no one to aim clearances at.
A lot of criticism of Newton on Stolensheep and it was noticeable he was on his own on the sideline in the 2nd half yesterday as the rest of the backroom sat on the bench like as if the were ignoring him.
Management's role in my view is to have the players mentally and physically ready for Championship football.
I can't see a lot of enthusiam in lads for Qualifiers after that and suspect the US could have a large contingent of Ros lads this Summer.

Sounds like ye re in trouble Rossfan. Yesterday reminded me a bit of Mayo v Galway 07. Dev and Boyle out of position. 2 soft early goals given away. Some people wrote off as a blip but the rot was allowed to continue for another 3 championships until Longford put an end to it in 2010.
Post by: Rossfan on May 21, 2012, 01:21:47 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 21, 2012, 01:00:35 PM
Sounds like ye re in trouble Rossfan. Yesterday reminded me a bit of Mayo v Galway 07. Dev and Boyle out of position. 2 soft early goals given away. Some people wrote off as a blip but the rot was allowed to continue for another 3 championships until Longford put an end to it in 2010.

That is one fear that's there alright.
Still I expect manager and players will have to be given a chance to redeem themselves ...but with only one midfielder , loose light defenders and slow lazy full forwards... the outlook isnt great.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 21, 2012, 01:41:00 PM
Media reports on the game

QuoteKEITH DUGGAN at Dr Hyde Park

CONNACHT SFC FIRST ROUND: Galway 3-15 Roscommon 0-10: IN the 33rd minute of this match, Joe Bergin didn't so much catch as wolf a ball down from the sky to set in motion another Galway attack. The sight must have had Galway football people licking their chops.

The big Mountbellew man has made plenty of spectacular catches in his decade of service to the maroon cause, but he has rarely been as intense and central to the Galway game plan as he was here in Hyde Park.

It says something that on a day when Galway Paul Conroy gave a revelatory performance at full-forward and Gareth Bradshaw maintained the excellent form he has demonstrated all league that Bergin was still probably the pick of the bunch.

Alan Mulholland's could not have designed a more perfect championship debut than the way it panned out here. Suffice to say it was the biggest win Galway have ever posted in Roscommon town.

The afternoon even felt vaguely summery and if the choc-ices weren't enough, the visitors were treated to the sight of Messrs Meehan and Joyce entering the theatre to resume the most tantalising double act in Gaelic games. Meehan has been a beacon for all that is good in Galway football for so long it is hard to credit he is only yet 27.

He has had a nightmarish couple of years with his ankle injury, and his first act on the field was to follow Sean McDermott on a three-quarter length sprint as the Roscommon corner back sought clarification that Meehan's ankle was, in fact, up to the job.

He played an excellent 20 minutes, albeit in undemanding circumstances, and his rehabilitation towards full fitness is an ongoing project.

The decision to cast Paul Conroy as a traditional full forward during the league paid dividends here. The St James's man advertised his mindset with a smart turn-and-shoot point in the 10th minute and proceeded to cause terror among the Roscommon rearguard thereafter.

His lay-off to Mark Hehir for Galway's first goal came about when the home team were in disarray: a moment of distraction appeared to afflict the team after Michael Finneran departed with an injury, and when Conroy took possession, he looked up to see his team-mate blazing a trail to the Roscommon goal with no primrose shirt in pursuit.

That score seemed to shake Roscommon and Galway reeled off four smooth points, with a sublime pick-up and flick by Conroy for Sice the highlight of that spell. The contest was effectively ended in the 23rd minute. Johnny Duane, looking tidy and comfortable at centre back, plucked a ball from the sky and, after taking a return pass from Kieran McGrath, lobbed a perfectly weighted ball downfield for his full forward.

Conroy dominated the tussle for possession and had goal on his mind before his feet hit the turf. His finish was low and decisive. Trailing by 2-6 to 0-3, Roscommon's day was in tatters.

Their first two points, brilliant efforts from Senan Kilbride and Karol Mannion in the 4th and 5th minutes, seemed to suggest that Roscommon confidence was high and that they were in the mood to make life awkward for their neighbours. But they had no answer to a blistering period of maroon dominance.

Encouraging spells either side of half-time gave the home support in the crowd of 12,962 something to shout about, but it was a brief rebellion. Cathal Cregg was bright and menacing every time he got the ball and he set Donal Shine up for Roscommon's best goal chance in the 33rd minute.

Shine has been the talisman for the recent revival in Primrose football but he had an underwhelming day here, struggling to get much change out of Keith Kelly and also in his place-kicking duties.

However, he did put David O'Gara through in the 38th minute and had the substitute goaled – his shot blazed over the crossbar – Roscommon might have engineered some sort of revival.

Instead, Conroy thumped another fine point into the graveyard goal and Galway were back in business. Meehan clearly enjoyed his return, firing two points and collecting a long ball from Joyce and tap-dancing through the Roscommon defence before flicking a pass from Sice to goal from close range.

By then, all of the anticipated championship intensity had left Hyde Park and suddenly the heady days of Roscommon's provincial title coup of two years ago seemed very far away. It might have gotten worse too as Danny Cummins, loitering around the Roscommon square, palmed a ball against the crossbar only to have it rebound off him and fly inches wide.

The whistle must have come as a relief for Roscommon, who face a long wait after this dispiriting exit. Galway have just under weeks for a Saturday fixture in Salthill which will see Mulholland and Kevin Walsh, minor and senior team-mates from a fair few moons ago, patrolling the sidelines.

GALWAY : A Faherty; K McGrath (0-1); F Hanley; K Kelly; G Bradshaw (0-2); J Duane; G O'Donnell; J Bergin (0-2); G Higgins; G Sice (1-3, 0-2 frees); D Burke; T Flynn; S Armstrong (0-1); P Conroy (1-4); M Hehir (1-0). Subs: M Meehan (0-2, 0-1 free) for S Armstrong (45 mins); Pádraic Joyce for D Burke (51 mins); T Fahy for G O'Donnell (54 mins); D Cummins for M Hehir (65 mins). Yellow cards: Burke (28 mins); Hehir (36 mins); Bradshaw (55 mins).

ROSCOMMON: G Claffey; S McDermott; N Carty; S Purcell; C Dineen; P Domican; I Kilbride; M Finneran; K Mannion (0-1); D Keenan; C Cregg (0-1); J Rogers; S Kilbride (0-3, 0-2 frees); D McDermott; D Shine (0-2, frees). Subs: N Daly for M Finneran (inj: 11 mins); D O'Gara (0-2) for J Rogers (23 mins); G Heneghan (0-1) for D Keenan (47 mins); K Higgins for D McDermott (57 mins); C Shine for I Kilbride (65 mins). Yellow card: I Kilbride (53 mins).

Referee: J McQuillan (Cavan).

'IT IS FANTASTIC TO PLAY LIKE THAT'

POST-MATCH TALK: THERE was little for Alan Mulholland to say after this comprehensive win other than he was justifiably pleased with the days work, writes Keith Duggan. "It went according to plan," he acknowledged.

" The first 20 minutes gave us a platform to see how the game [was going]. Bit worrying in the middle third of the game when they came back into it and we looked a bit ropey.

"But we were able to bring PJ and Michael Meehan in and that calmed us down a bit."

Given it is several years since Galway has enjoyed a good day in the championship, was it going to be difficult to keep their feet on the ground?

"No. We will get totally carried away now. No, we know that Kevin is waiting in the wings with Sligo. Kevin knows Galway football better than I do, probably, so it is going to be hell for leather. But we will draw confidence from that.

"We are not going to pretend we didn't play well. It is fantastic to play like that and we hope we can play better and build on it."

After reappearing from the back of the dressingroom where the television interviews were being conducted, Des Newton stopped to give his thoughts on a rough afternoon for Roscommon.

"If you are not achieving parity in the middle of the field and not showing the required desire in every other area of the field, we have to look at ourselves and say we were wanting in those areas. But I am not going to do any fellow in that dressingroom down because they have all given me hugely in the past six months in everything I have asked for.

"We finished the first half well and started the second half but when you don't get the few scores on the board to bring you back within striking distance the heads tend to drop.

"Losing Michael Finneran wasn't an excuse in the overall scheme of the game but it did have an effect in the following 10 minutes when Galway put 2-3 on the board and opened a gap that was too big for us to close. But we know we are better than we looked out there today."
Galway hammer limp Rossies

In the build-up to this Connacht quarter-final at Hyde Park, the giant screen that is to become a feature at most big provincial fixtures this summer showed a montage of clips from clashes over the last decade between Galway and Roscommon.

Each clip told a familiar tale with Galway inevitably having it all their own way.

If the Roscommon players were trying to erase recent history between these counties from their minds as they finalised preparations, the sound just outside their dressing room was a stark reminder of how it had been.

By 5.40, the montage had been added to without any need to alter the script. This was as it almost always has been in recent times with Galway delivering a seventh championship victory in nine meetings (one draw in 1998) over the home side since 1990.

For the record, it was Galway's biggest ever victory over Roscommon in Hyde Park and their biggest ever score against Roscommon in a championship match anywhere. Not bad for a team with two midfielders and two half-backs among their front six!

perception

That was the perception that allowed the belief to develop in the days before this game that Roscommon could avert the course of recent history here.

With Michael Meehan and Padraic Joyce on the bench and Nicky Joyce off the squad, could Galway really amass a winning score in a championship match of this nature with this attack?

The answer was emphatic, with Paul Conroy leading the charge. Conroy has had a weight of expectation thrust onto his young shoulders for a few years now, courtesy of his role in Galway's 2007 All-Ireland minor success.

But yesterday was the day that he really delivered, hitting 1-4 in a display that incorporated great fielding, clever lay-offs and assured finishing off either boot that had you wondering which foot is actually his strongest.

Around him a Galway attack can evolve and flourish in the coming years. That Roscommon allowed Conroy to go unchecked for so long with Niall Carthy, only back from injury, trailing in his wake was symptomatic of how they just weren't up to speed with this game at any level.

Roscommon's paucity won't be a concern for Galway.

This was by far their most complete championship performance since 2008 and after some hairy moments during the league it was a firm stamp of approval for Alan Mulholland's calm and measured approach to overhauling the team and rebuilding this confidence.

He won't be wiping Galway from his own bookmaking boards for Connacht success just yet but this was a huge step in the right direction for a team that has underperformed so badly in the last three seasons.

Joe Bergin hasn't had many days like it as a midfielder in a maroon shirt while Gareth Bradshaw and Gary Sice once again controlled the right flank with perfect harmony. As a No 5-10 combination, Tomas O Se and Paul Galvin are out on their own but Bradshaw and Sice may be close to next best.

Bradshaw pushed forward for two early points while Sice picked off Galway's third goal on 63 minutes, which triggered a mass departure from the home fans among the 12,962 crowd.

The build-up to that Sice goal involved two names that will further fuel the enthusiasm around this Galway team that is sure to follow.

It was Padraic Joyce's delivery across the Roscommon goalmouth and Meehan's catch on the endline and patient play that created the opportunity for Sice.

Meehan had come off the bench on 46 minutes for his first action with Galway since last year's championship defeat to Meath -- and he quickly pointed a free -- while Joyce was into the action five minutes later and instantly teed up Meehan for a point from play.

They may not play full matches for Galway in the months ahead but Roscommon were quickly resigned to their fate when they arrived.

As much as Mulholland will continue to build a team around the impressive Johnny Duane at centre-back and Thomas Flynn, Mark Hehir and Conroy in attack, the impact of Meehan and Joyce will also be vital.

Galway took the direct route to feed Conroy and it paid off handsomely for the second goal on 21 minutes when he gathered Duane's 40-metre delivery, made space for himself and finished with some style.

Earlier he had set up Hehir for the first goal after John Rogers had spilled possession on 11 minutes to wipe out Roscommon's good early work.

By the break they were 2-8 to 0-6 clear with limited signs of any Roscommon response.

Roscommon were wholly disorganised and so dispirited. Less than 12 months ago, they lost their Connacht title by just two points to opponents that ended the reign of the All-Ireland champions a couple of weeks later.

How can they keep that company for two seasons and then produce this on the opening day of the 2012 championship?

Clearly, Fergal O'Donnell's organisational skills and knowledge of the players are a greater loss than anyone could have imagined.

No one could have thought that Roscommon would return to Castlebar 2009 so quickly again but they have. When it goes wrong for them it tends to go horribly wrong.

Only Cathal Cregg, when he ran at Galway defenders in the second quarter, and David O'Gara, when he came on for a misfiring John Rogers, emerged with credit on their side.

Donie Shine was a big disappointment, scoring just two points from frees from nine shots at goal.

His movement was laboured and the Galway full-back line, containing championship debutants Kieran McGrath and Keith Kelly, were much too alert and mobile around him.

The departure of towering midfielder Michael Finneran after just 10 minutes with an ankle injury allowed Galway's Joe Bergin an armchair ride for the remaining 60 minutes but enters as only a small part of the defence.

Picking up from such a demoralising defeat will be extremely difficult in the six weeks they now have until the first round of qualifiers.

Scorers -- Galway: P Conroy 1-4, G Sice 1-3 (2f), M Hehir 1-0, J Bergin, G Bradshaw, M Meehan (1f) 0-2 each, S Armstrong, K McGrath 0-1 each. Roscommon: S Kilbride 0-3 (2f), D O'Gara , D Shine (2f) 0-2 each, C Cregg, K Mannion, G Heneghan 0-1 each.

Galway -- A Faherty 7; K McGrath 7, F Hanley 8, K Kelly 7; G Bradshaw 8, J Duane 8, G O'Donnell 6; J Bergin 8, G Higgins 6; G Sice 7, D Burke 6, T Flynn 6; S Armstrong 6, P Conroy 9, M Hehir 7. Subs: M Meehan 7 for Armstrong (46), P Joyce 6 for Burke (51), T Fahy 7 for O'Donnell (53), D Cummins for Hehir (63), M Boyle (66) for Sice (66).

Roscommon -- G Claffey 6; S McDermott 6, N Carthy 5, S Purcell 5; C Dineen 5, P Domican 6, I Kilbride 5; M Finneran, K Mannion 6; D Keenan 5, C Cregg 7, J Rogers 5;S Kilbride 6, D McDermott 5, D Shine 5. Subs: N Daly for Finneran (10 inj), D O'Gara 7 for Rogers (23), G Heneghan 6 for Keenan (47), K Higgins for McDermott (53), C Shine for I Kilbride (63).

Ref -- J McQuillan (Cavan)

- Colm Keys

Irish Independent
Post by: emmetryan on May 21, 2012, 03:06:04 PM
Hi guys,

I've put together a tactical analysis piece of this game for anyone interested
http://action81.com/blog/?p=5797

Emmet
Post by: Rossfan on May 21, 2012, 03:34:36 PM
Quote from: emmetryan on May 21, 2012, 03:06:04 PM
Hi guys,

I've put together a tactical analysis piece of this game for anyone interested
http://action81.com/blog/?p=5797

Emmet

A damning bit from the above -

always to hope high balls would be created so as to use their two towers up front. Such a limited style can't be repeated by the Rossies if they are to mount a deep run in the qualifiers. Time is undoubtedly on their side but there are few county teams on the island liable to an approach so lacking in imagination
Post by: emmetryan on May 21, 2012, 03:39:08 PM
Ah thanks and you also spotted a typo of mine. I've fixed that now.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 22, 2012, 01:12:35 AM

Look, if it's any consolation, I almost feel sorry for ya.  ;D
To be serious, I do know that gutted feeling and I'd say everyone or the board has felt the same way at one time or another. In my case, far too many times to even consider gloating at anyone's misfortune.
I don't know what the scene is inside the county but it's clear the lads felt under serious pressure and they wilted under the strain.
Okay, the team were cat and the manager was no better but there is sweet damn all point in telling them that. They already know.
The thing they all need right now is a bit of time and room to breathe  to try and sort out what went wrong and how best to go about fixing it. If they have the bottle, they will try and redeem themselves in the qualifiers and if they haven't, bollicking them won't help them find it.
Maybe a lot of them are thinking of America for the summer right now but given time their attitude should change. Their next game should tell you a lot about their character and their potential.
I don't agree with those who say they have time on their side. The reality is that they haven't. Mayo and Galway are already well in front of them in the pecking order and both are going to improve further.
Now is the time for their supporters to row in behind them and give them every support because if they crash out of the qualifiers, they will be back to where they were when FOD took over.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 22, 2012, 01:23:02 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 22, 2012, 01:12:35 AM

Look, if it's any consolation, I almost feel sorry for ya.  ;D
To be serious, I do know that gutted feeling and I'd say everyone or the board has felt the same way at one time or another. In my case, far too many times to even consider gloating at anyone's misfortune.
I don't know what the scene is inside the county but it's clear the lads felt under serious pressure and they wilted under the strain.
Okay, the team were cat and the manager was no better but there is sweet damn all point in telling them that. They already know.
The thing they all need right now is a bit of time and room to breathe  to try and sort out what went wrong and how best to go about fixing it. If they have the bottle, they will try and redeem themselves in the qualifiers and if they haven't, bollicking them won't help them find it.
Maybe a lot of them are thinking of America for the summer right now but given time their attitude should change. Their next game should tell you a lot about their character and their potential.
I don't agree with those who say they have time on their side. The reality is that they haven't. Mayo and Galway are already well in front of them in the pecking order and both are going to improve further.
Now is the time for their supporters to row in behind them and give them every support because if they crash out of the qualifiers, they will be back to where they were when FOD took over.
That result yesterday showed they already are back to where they were when FOD took over. Every team in round one of the qualifiers will be hoping to get Roscommon.
Post by: seafoid on May 22, 2012, 09:46:34 AM
"That result yesterday showed they already are back to where they were when FOD took over. Every team in round one of the qualifiers will be hoping to get Roscommon"

The whole point of the qualifiers is to give teams a second chance. Ros are better than they were on Sunday.
They could get Waterford. How many qualifier round 1 teams will have all Ireland underage medal winners ?
Ros need to drop the béal bocht.  Progress is all about attitude.