Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2011, 07:35:11 AM

Title: Bruce Springsteen and e street band touring in 2012
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2011, 07:35:11 AM
According to his facebook page the boss will be touring Europe and releasing a new Album in 2012. Won't be the same without Clarence though
Title: Re: Bruce Springsteen and e street band touring in 2012
Post by: Declan on November 21, 2011, 07:37:52 AM
Will be strange alright but he was in great form in Pittsburgh recently so no doubt he'll do the same again
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2011, 07:40:10 AM
Ah for sure Declan he allways puts on a show
Post by: fearglasmor on November 21, 2011, 10:50:09 AM
Spread the word around its goin to be shite noone should bother looking for tickets  !!!
Post by: ross matt on November 21, 2011, 11:13:56 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2011, 07:35:11 AM
According to his facebook page the boss will be touring Europe and releasing a new Album in 2012. Won't be the same without Clarence though

Thanks for the heads up Deel. Clarence cant be replaced but with Bruce quality usually rules so really looking forward to this.
Post by: mc_grens on November 21, 2011, 12:34:13 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on November 21, 2011, 10:50:09 AM
Spread the word around its goin to be shite noone should bother looking for tickets  !!!

Agreed, no point at all going. They're past their best.

Can't fuckin wait!!!!
Post by: Bingo on November 21, 2011, 12:40:12 PM
Great news, everyone should see a Bruce show at least once.

But obviously not this one, it'll be crap.
Post by: Declan on November 21, 2011, 01:23:13 PM
The first dates to be announced are:
Date           City                                  Venue         Tickets on Sale                               
21 June   Sunderland, England,    Stadium of Light   3 Dec   
22 June   Manchester, England,    Etihad Stadium          TBA   
24 June   Isle of Wight, England   Isle of Wight Festival   25 Nov   
14 July   London, England,        Hard Rock Calling   3 Dec
Post by: Maguire01 on November 21, 2011, 06:59:07 PM
Would be nice for him to play somewhere other than the RDS. It's a dump.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2011, 06:59:26 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on November 21, 2011, 12:34:13 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on November 21, 2011, 10:50:09 AM

Agreed, no point at all going. They're past their best.

Can't fuckin wait!!!!

yeah if he was playing out in my bcak garden i wouldn't be arsed going to see him him .   
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2011, 07:00:56 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 21, 2011, 06:59:07 PM

i was thinking the same today myself Maguire . H e would hardly play Croke park would he or maybe slane ?
Post by: Maguire01 on November 21, 2011, 07:07:46 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2011, 07:00:56 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 21, 2011, 06:59:07 PM

i was thinking the same today myself Maguire . H e would hardly play Croke park would he or maybe slane ?
He'd be good to see in Croke Park. Stone Roses being touted for Slane and I doubt they'd be able to have 2 gigs in the one year.
Post by: mc_grens on November 21, 2011, 08:54:11 PM
I'd like to see him under a roof. O2 please Bruce.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2011, 09:06:44 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on November 21, 2011, 08:54:11 PM

have to disagree with you there Mc Grens wouldn't fancy that at all . 
Post by: Minder on November 21, 2011, 09:08:44 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2011, 09:06:44 PM

Saw him in the Odyssey in Belfast a few years ago and it was brilliant.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2011, 09:33:46 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 21, 2011, 09:08:44 PM

was that the seeger sessions minder ?
Post by: ross matt on November 21, 2011, 09:36:31 PM

It depends on the type of album Mcgrens. Saw him indoors for the Seeger Sessions and Tom Joad tours and he was brilliant.
Post by: Minder on November 21, 2011, 09:55:19 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2011, 09:33:46 PM

No that was the year before I think, this was with E Street band for Magic album. December 2007 according to my friend Google.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 21, 2011, 10:22:59 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 21, 2011, 09:55:19 PM

No that was the year before I think, this was with E Street band for Magic album. December 2007 according to my friend Google.
Brilliant night (15 Dec 2007). Some doll arrived in her wedding dress after her wedding.

Post by: theskull1 on November 21, 2011, 10:40:35 PM
Bruce Springsteen concerts nowadays are full of self-conscious middle aged couples making it impossible to create the  atmosphere of yesteryear.
Post by: Celt_Man on November 21, 2011, 11:55:15 PM
Jaysus I hope he plays over here.... I never seen him but it's on my list of things to do before I die...

I'll move Heaven and Earth to get to it - no doubt I'll have a football match though!!
Post by: mc_grens on November 22, 2011, 12:03:18 AM

The reason I'd like to see him indoors. I was there that night and thought it was a cracker. Also saw Seeger indoors. Loved both, but I general favour indoor gigs anyway, I think it helps the energy and atmosphere unless you're in a seriously special place.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 22, 2011, 07:42:52 AM
Quote from: mc_grens on November 22, 2011, 12:03:18 AM

The reason I'd like to see him indoors. I was there that night and thought it was a cracker. Also saw Seeger indoors. Loved both, but I general favour indoor gigs anyway, I think it helps the energy and atmosphere unless you're in a seriously special place.
And when you get to a certain age it's nice to have a seat in a nice warm venue ;)
Post by: Maguire01 on November 22, 2011, 08:18:37 AM
Quote from: Celt_Man on November 21, 2011, 11:55:15 PM
Jaysus I hope he plays over here.... I never seen him but it's on my list of things to do before I die...

I'll move Heaven and Earth to get to it - no doubt I'll have a football match though!!
It's not like he hasn't been here that often!
Post by: mc_grens on November 22, 2011, 12:20:10 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 22, 2011, 07:42:52 AM
Quote from: mc_grens on November 22, 2011, 12:03:18 AM

And when you get to a certain age it's nice to have a seat in a nice warm venue ;)

Ah no! It's against my constitution to sit at a gig!
Post by: Bingo on November 22, 2011, 12:58:11 PM
Anyone been to Aviva for a gig, it bound to be a candidate for Bruce.
Post by: Applesisapples on November 22, 2011, 05:28:33 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 21, 2011, 10:40:35 PM
Bruce Springsteen concerts nowadays are full of self-conscious middle aged couples making it impossible to create the  atmosphere of yesteryear.
Balls
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 22, 2011, 06:30:04 PM
What year was that?
Post by: belleaqua on November 22, 2011, 06:43:54 PM
Any word on possible Irish dates? Surely be something by the end of the week.

Interestingly the album is not expected to be an E Street Band one. It will feature some of the members something along the lines of Tunnel of Love in that regard which is a bit disappointing.
Post by: armaghniac on November 22, 2011, 07:13:26 PM
QuoteBruce Springsteen concerts nowadays are full of self-conscious middle aged couples making it impossible to create the  atmosphere of yesteryear.

Was it not these people who created the atmosphere of yesteryear?
Post by: ziggy90 on November 22, 2011, 08:55:40 PM
I've been to watch Bruce on most of his tours starting with the River, so I suppose I come into this self-conscious middle age set you seem to think form most of the audience at his shows & I have never seen any evidence of this. No matter how old the audience is at a Bruce & ESB concert he always manages to have them singing & dancing in the aisles. No doubt we will miss "C" (irreplaceable) but I'm sure his stand in wont let his memory down. Bring it on.                 
Post by: theskull1 on November 22, 2011, 09:13:31 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on November 22, 2011, 08:55:40 PM
I've been to watch Bruce on most of his tours starting with the River, so I suppose I come into this self-conscious middle age set you seem to think form most of the audience at his shows & I have never seen any evidence of this. No matter how old the audience is at a Bruce & ESB concert he always manages to have them singing & dancing in the aisles. No doubt we will miss "C" (irreplaceable) but I'm sure his stand in wont let his memory down. Bring it on.                 

For everyone dancing in the ailses there's hundreds sitting toe tapping and hand clapping. Have seen it with my own eyes. Bruce walks over to one side to get those seated off their feet....they get up and strart boggie woggying. Bruce turn round and walks over to the others side of the stage and they sit down again in their droves. Rock and roll
Post by: ziggy90 on November 22, 2011, 09:43:56 PM
Stay away this time you & give someone young a chance to see still the best show in town.
Post by: theskull1 on November 22, 2011, 10:55:30 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on November 22, 2011, 09:43:56 PM
Stay away this time you & give someone young a chance to see still the best show in town.

Sound advice..cheers
Post by: Declan on November 24, 2011, 09:10:30 AM
As rumoured earlier in the week, Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band are coming to town. They play Dublin's RDS on July 17 next. Tickets go on sale next Thursday (December 1) at €96 and €86 a pop (plus TM fees).
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 24, 2011, 09:23:55 AM
Quote from: Declan on November 24, 2011, 09:10:30 AM
As rumoured earlier in the week, Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band are coming to town. They play Dublin's RDS on July 17 next. Tickets go on sale next Thursday (December 1) at €96 and €86 a pop (plus TM fees).
No austerity measures for the Boss I see.
Post by: mc_grens on November 24, 2011, 10:29:12 AM
Whoop!!!!
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 24, 2011, 11:40:00 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 24, 2011, 09:23:55 AM
No austerity measures for the Boss I see.

does the boss not realise that the glory days are long gone and that we are in the middle of a recession.
Post by: Sandino on November 24, 2011, 11:41:05 AM
Sh1t that is crazy money in these days. I am a massive Springsteen fan and I have seen him many times but I'm not paying €100 to watch him a hole like the RDS. It would be better value to go and see him somewhere in Europe and at least you could have a city break and the gig. I might change my mind yet though ;D

Post by: fearglasmor on November 24, 2011, 01:32:29 PM
€32 an hour to see Bruce and the Band dont see the problem.  In 28 years hes been here less than a dozen times so its less than a 1 in 2 year event.
And hopefully I'll stretch to a European trip or maybe 2.

With any luck the price might keep away the younger nyoks who either stand around thinking its shite coz he didnt play the two songs they know or are only there to get tanked up and start pushing their way up to the front towards the end.   ;)
Post by: orangeman on November 24, 2011, 02:18:24 PM

That's rough boys !
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 24, 2011, 05:58:45 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on November 24, 2011, 01:32:29 PM
€32 an hour to see Bruce and the Band dont see the problem.  In 28 years hes been here less than a dozen times so its less than a 1 in 2 year event.

With any luck the price might keep away the younger nyoks who either stand around thinking its shite coz he didnt play the two songs they know or are only there to get tanked up and start pushing their way up to the front towards the end.   ;)
Skull will be dancing the aisles so they'll need to push him out of the way.
Post by: ziggy90 on November 24, 2011, 06:06:53 PM
Skull has banished himself & I bet he's glad when he sees those prices. ;)
Post by: Maguire01 on November 24, 2011, 09:38:55 PM
I think at that price, and given its the RDS, I'll be quite happy to give it a miss this time.
Post by: theskull1 on November 24, 2011, 11:12:03 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on November 24, 2011, 06:06:53 PM
Skull has banished himself & I bet he's glad when he sees those prices. ;)

So ecstatic I actually went to mass just to dance down an aisle
Post by: fearglasmor on November 24, 2011, 11:13:36 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on November 24, 2011, 05:55:55 PM
Does anyone have a site with prices & date of sale for the concerts in England? Cheers.

www.backstreets.com
Post by: Declan on November 25, 2011, 09:18:41 AM
No recession in D4 either !!
Hotel doubles its room price for night of Springsteen concert

By Aideen Sheehan Consumer Correspondent
Friday November 25 2011
A LEADING hotel doubled its room prices yesterday as soon as Bruce Springsteen announced a concert.

The Herbert Park Hotel in Ballsbridge, Dublin, immediately raised its room rates from €119 to €250 for the night of the concert at the RDS on July 17 next year.

And despite the high price, takers of this special 'Bruce Springsteen package' will have to fork out extra for breakfast as the price is room-only.

The hotel, which is adjacent to the concert venue, was charging €119 per room for a twin or double room on July 16. But this soared to €125 per person -- or €250 per room -- the following night in anticipation of a flood of concert-goers.

Aiken Promotions announced yesterday that tickets for Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band would go on sale through Ticketmaster at 9am next Thursday, priced from €86 to €96.

One music fan commented on Twitter: "Does the 'E' in E Street mean expensive?"

Springsteen last played Ireland with a sellout gig in the RDS back in 2009.

Next year's event will be the first Irish outing of the E Street Band without legendary saxophonist Clarence Clemons, who died during the summer.

Springsteen concerts have regularly provided a bonanza for pubs and hotels near the RDS.

The nearby Sandymount Hotel was already booked up for the night of the show by lunchtime yesterday.

The five-star Four Seasons Hotel was charging €280 per room for the night of the concert, although this appears to be its standard price.

The Herbert Park Hotel declined to comment last night on why it had raised its prices for the Springsteen concert.
Post by: AQMP on November 25, 2011, 09:59:36 AM
Bewleys @ Ballsbridge is €199 for that night!
Post by: ziggy90 on November 26, 2011, 02:28:01 PM
Can anyone tell me the official website selling the Bruce tickets for the concerts in England.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 26, 2011, 03:59:52 PM
Quote from: Declan on November 25, 2011, 09:18:41 AM
The Herbert Park Hotel declined to comment last night on why it had raised its prices for the Springsteen concert.
If that journalist can't work out the 'why', he needs to go back to school.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 27, 2011, 12:28:53 AM
Do hotels in all cities put the arm in for cases like this or is it just Dublin that continues to rip the arse out of it.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 27, 2011, 11:51:59 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 27, 2011, 12:28:53 AM
Do hotels in all cities put the arm in for cases like this or is it just Dublin that continues to rip the arse out of it.
As long as people keep paying those prices, it's hard to see why the hotels would do anything else.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 27, 2011, 11:18:57 PM

Good man yourself. As long as there are fools like you around then Aiken and all the rest can charge what they like for tickets.
Post by: fearglasmor on November 28, 2011, 09:22:49 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on November 27, 2011, 11:18:57 PM

Good man yourself. As long as there are fools like you around then Aiken and all the rest can charge what they like for tickets.

Good lad Dougal.  If you cant afford it or dont want to pay it on principle, then cut the f**king whinging and just dont pay it. No one will force you to hand over your cash. This country is jammed full of people like you who like to revel  in whingeing.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 28, 2011, 07:54:53 PM
So I'm not entitled to express an opinion?
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 01, 2011, 08:46:01 AM
tickets on sale this morning for anyone thats interested
Post by: Declan on December 01, 2011, 09:03:08 AM
Sorted ;D ;D
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 01, 2011, 09:17:00 AM
Quote from: Declan on December 01, 2011, 09:03:08 AM
Sorted ;D ;D

same as  ;D
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 01, 2011, 09:17:51 AM
Nearly €100 I can't afford, gone on something I can't enjoy for 7 months and I couldn't be happier.  ;D
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 01, 2011, 09:26:53 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 01, 2011, 09:17:51 AM
Nearly €100 I can't afford, gone on something I can't enjoy for 7 months and I couldn't be happier.  ;D

thats my christmas present to my betterhalf sorted  ;)
Post by: AQMP on December 01, 2011, 09:30:47 AM
Feck it, I'm getting the "no tickets available" message after wating 20 mins :(
Post by: gallsman on December 01, 2011, 09:32:13 AM
Have mine. One of the lads at home was the designated buyer for a big crowd and picked up 9, yes 9, from Ticketmaster in Creighton's in Finaghy.

Got 13 altogether across three of us.
Post by: AQMP on December 01, 2011, 09:44:16 AM
Seems he's doing 2 nights now.  Got tickets for the 18th.
Post by: the green man on December 01, 2011, 09:47:48 AM
got mine for the 17th there now
Post by: ziggy90 on December 01, 2011, 10:23:13 AM
Just got mine, 4 for Manchester 22nd June. It works out at £67 a ticket including booking fee & postage. Why is Dublin so expensive? Does RDS charge more than the English venues? Btw Skull I got seat tickets just to please you, I would like to say "you will be sorely missed", ; but in all honesty......... ;)
Post by: Ulick on December 01, 2011, 10:38:37 AM
Sorted two for Wednesday. 
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 01, 2011, 02:05:48 PM
Completely forgot tickets went on sale this morning. I thought it was tomorrow. Expected them to be long gone but got 2 for the 18th just there. Guess they are not selling quite as quickly as they would have a few years ago.
Post by: Ulick on December 01, 2011, 02:14:37 PM
At 205 yoyo a pair, it's not surprising. At least I don't have to worry about Christmas presents now.
Post by: AQMP on December 01, 2011, 02:32:57 PM
Quote from: Ulick on December 01, 2011, 02:14:37 PM
At 205 yoyo a pair, it's not surprising. At least I don't have to worry about Christmas presents now.

Likewise.  Kinda expensive in today's world but Mrs AQMP is a big fan so that's her sorted for Xmas.  Hope she reciprocates by buying me 5 bottles of gin.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 01, 2011, 07:39:48 PM
Seems plenty of people still have money when he can add a second night at those prices!
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 09, 2011, 09:45:04 AM
i'm pretty sure that i will have 2 tickets for the Tuesday night show if any one is interested
Post by: Nally Stand on January 26, 2012, 02:24:01 PM
I have two tickets for the show on Wed 18th but looking to swap for two on the Tues instead, if anyone can help me out?
Post by: ziggy90 on June 23, 2012, 01:17:48 PM
Right lads,anyone who's got tickets for the Wrecking Ball tour are in for a Mega treat. I was at the Etihad gig last night and it was vintage Bruce. It was pi$sing out of the heavens and a good few people were late (including us) but he had everyone going, all in all a brilliant night.

PS.Bruce had a young lad up on stage with him singing the chorus "Waitin' On a Sunny Day" he was wearing a T-shirt with "Believe the Hype"on it. Does anyone one know who he is? Someone said it could be his son. I've been watching Bruce for over 30years & I've never seen him as committed (if that's the right word) or play as many diverse tunes as he did last night. Like I say you're in for some party, enjoy. Here is the set list.

http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/bruce-springsteen/2012/etihad-stadium-manchester-england-3bdf14d4.html
Post by: maddog on June 23, 2012, 02:50:52 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on June 23, 2012, 01:17:48 PM
Right lads,anyone who's got tickets for the Wrecking Ball tour are in for a Mega treat. I was at the Etihad gig last night and it was vintage Bruce. It was pi$sing out of the heavens and a good few people were late (including us) but he had everyone going, all in all a brilliant night.

PS.Bruce had a young lad up on stage with him singing the chorus "Waitin' On a Sunny Day" he was wearing a T-shirt with "Believe the Hype"on it. Does anyone one know who he is? Someone said it could be his son. I've been watching Bruce for over 30years & I've never seen him as committed (if that's the right word) or play as many diverse tunes as he did last night. Like I say you're in for some party, enjoy. Here is the set list.

http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/bruce-springsteen/2012/etihad-stadium-manchester-england-3bdf14d4.html

No one could fault his effort or the "value" for money that he gives his fans that's for sure. My only criticism and i dont know if it was venue related, was that it wasnt loud enough. When at a gig you shouldnt be able to hear a converstation from people behind you or have the act drowned out by some over enthusiastic tone deaf header.
Def got better and better as the gig went on, shame we missed the start but noone could account for the fact that cycling to Manchester from Birmingham would nearly have been as quick. Would go again but would be putting more time into increasing the music knowledge as 50% of it i didnt know.
Post by: Denn Forever on June 23, 2012, 03:36:22 PM
He is on Sky Arts 1 live from The Isle of Wight tomorrow night.  Pearl Jam tonight.
Post by: ziggy90 on June 23, 2012, 03:53:31 PM
Quote from: maddog on June 23, 2012, 02:50:52 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on June 23, 2012, 01:17:48 PM

No one could fault his effort or the "value" for money that he gives his fans that's for sure. My only criticism and i dont know if it was venue related, was that it wasnt loud enough. When at a gig you shouldnt be able to hear a converstation from people behind you or have the act drowned out by some over enthusiastic tone deaf header.
Def got better and better as the gig went on, shame we missed the start but noone could account for the fact that cycling to Manchester from Birmingham would nearly have been as quick. Would go again but would be putting more time into increasing the music knowledge as 50% of it i didnt know.

Ah now MD 8)
Post by: Maguire01 on June 23, 2012, 04:29:58 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on June 23, 2012, 03:36:22 PM
He is on Sky Arts 1 live from The Isle of Wight tomorrow night.  Pearl Jam tonight.
Can't wait!
Post by: bannside on June 23, 2012, 04:33:10 PM
Thanks for the setlist Ziggy. Gives me a chance to freshen up a bit and it does help when you are familiar with all the songs.

I am a fan away back to Darkness on Edge of town days - late 70`s. But disgracefully I have never seen the boss live, and thats set to change on 17 July.

50 or not, two or three pints in the Horseshoe, a double vodka and coke, and roll back those years. Cant wait.
Post by: Declan on June 23, 2012, 06:24:37 PM
He seems in vintage form alright - a couple of shows over 3 and a half hours as well
Post by: bannside on June 24, 2012, 11:34:43 PM
Pure class there on Isle of Wight. What a performance. This "Wrecking Ball" compilation is the Boss at his best. Some of this new stuff more than equal to a lot of his classics. Truly a one off - getting even better at the age of 62.

Post by: ziggy90 on June 25, 2012, 12:10:50 PM
Quote from: bannside on June 24, 2012, 11:34:43 PM
Pure class there on Isle of Wight. What a performance. This "Wrecking Ball" compilation is the Boss at his best. Some of this new stuff more than equal to a lot of his classics. Truly a one off - getting even better at the age of 62.

All of the above very true. I was very disappointed in Sky's coverage of BS & the ESB (only showed four songs). In saying that you could still catch the (brilliant) atmosphere the band created. The set list I posted earlier wouldn't be strictly adhered to. Except for the Wrecking Ball songs It seems to me that he could come out with anything from his vast back catalogue. Three and half hours seems to be the norm for this tour (unbelievable).
Post by: gallsman on June 25, 2012, 10:18:41 PM
I work with a lot of guys in Italy who went to see him in the San Siro and a smaller show in Trieste. Both shows over 3 and a half hours and both meant to be phenomenal!
Post by: ziggy90 on June 26, 2012, 09:35:10 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on June 25, 2012, 09:03:01 PM
Sky Arts are only allowed to broadcast the amount of the show as agreed by the artist, hence, smaller groups will have a lot shown and those who think they are the best only allow 3 songs, i.e. Springsteen, and one of them wasn't even one of his own. Tom Petty allowed much more of his show to be broadcast.

I take your point RE Sky's (limited) broadcasting, I suppose Springsteen is protecting the inevitable DVD sale of this tour. However Sky advertised this as if you would see most of, if not all of, his performance.

Btw the sarcastic tone of your post does you no favours. There again should I have expected anything else from an apologist of Rupert Murdoch and his minions.
Post by: bannside on June 26, 2012, 10:06:10 AM
The man is in the middle of a world tour. He wont mind the general public seeing two or three songs from the show - as a sweetener for what ticketholders can expect to see on the rest of the tour. But you couldnt expect him to do a whole show.

Here folks pay £80 for a ticket to come and see me live - but in the meantime if you watch Sky Arts you can see the whole thing live, for free!

Was never going to happen, bit the sweetner really worked. Cant wait till 17th.

His version of "Twist and Shout" at the end was pure class too. Some finish to the programme.
Post by: ziggy90 on June 26, 2012, 10:47:59 AM
He used to do twist and shout in the past. It's a great show closer. You'd think people would be delighted to see an artist like Springsteen covering (and improving) a classic song like that instead of making "smartarse" comments like TYP's.

If you thought that performance was good take a look at this. 8)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p1W4NTbBXU
Post by: maddog on June 26, 2012, 11:03:22 AM
Quote from: ziggy90 on June 26, 2012, 10:47:59 AM
It's a great show closer.

Not so sure. Id rather he played something of his own.
Post by: ziggy90 on June 26, 2012, 11:29:40 AM
Antichrist.
Post by: maddog on June 26, 2012, 11:52:44 AM
Quote from: ziggy90 on June 26, 2012, 11:29:40 AM
Antichrist.

The company i keep would put any man in bad humour.
Post by: bannside on June 27, 2012, 12:46:27 PM
Agree Zigg. That must be the best show closer ever. Some energy in thon place!!!
Post by: Declan on July 10, 2012, 02:08:08 PM
http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/music/born-in-mullingar-i-was-born-in-mullingar-bruce-springsteens-roots-are-in-westmeath-3165110.html (http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/music/born-in-mullingar-i-was-born-in-mullingar-bruce-springsteens-roots-are-in-westmeath-3165110.html)

Good man. Will he play a set in the Greville Arms I wonder?
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2012, 02:51:05 PM
I saw him last night. He has amazing energy for a 62 year old.
Very impressive concert. When he sang "lately there ain't been much work on account of the economy" it sounded very contemporary even though it was written 30 years ago. He had one song from Wrecking ball about ghosts and explained it was the best way to present what is going on now because all the way down through history when things go bad it is always the same people who get shafted.

Post by: ziggy90 on July 10, 2012, 03:18:35 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2012, 02:51:05 PM
Very impressive concert. When he sang "lately there ain't been much work on account of the economy" it sounded very contemporary even though it was written 30 years ago. He had one song from Wrecking ball about ghosts and explained it was the best way to present what is going on now because all the way down through history when things go bad it is always the same people who get shafted.

Was that in Paris? I see he had his daughter on stage with him for "Dancing in the Dark". I'd say when he sings "Death To My Hometown" in Dublin there will be some reaction.
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2012, 04:09:02 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 10, 2012, 03:18:35 PM

Was that in Paris? I see he had his daughter on stage with him for "Dancing in the Dark". I'd say when he sings "Death To My Hometown" in Dublin there will be some reaction.

Zurich
The tickets are quite pricey. That would be the only downside. 
It was great to see Steve Van Zandt and Nils Lofgren giving it welly.
It's a very talented outfit.   
Post by: ziggy90 on July 10, 2012, 04:53:39 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2012, 04:09:02 PM

Zurich

Iwent to Manchester to see him & it was £67 all in. I think someone mentioned on here that it was over 100EURO for Dublin. I can't work that one out.

I'd love to see him playing in Continental Europe just to judge the crowd's reaction (different language and culture).
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2012, 04:57:35 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 10, 2012, 04:53:39 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2012, 04:09:02 PM

Zurich

Iwent to Manchester to see him & it was £67 all in. I think someone mentioned on here that it was over 100EURO for Dublin. I can't work that one out.

I'd love to see him playing in Continental Europe just to judge the crowd's reaction (different language and culture).

They don't get as much of the meaning of the words IMO. I think he represents a very particular view of the USA and you have to know the language to get a lot of the references.

Like the line line about shooting the bastards in the banks. Or "on account of the economy".
Post by: ziggy90 on July 10, 2012, 05:05:08 PM
Another one he's repeated a few times is "debts no honest man could pay". Like you say he sings about a particular section of American Society (blue collar) but I think most Western European fans would get the general message.
Post by: Hardy on July 10, 2012, 05:07:03 PM
Quote from: Declan on July 10, 2012, 02:08:08 PM
http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/music/born-in-mullingar-i-was-born-in-mullingar-bruce-springsteens-roots-are-in-westmeath-3165110.html (http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/music/born-in-mullingar-i-was-born-in-mullingar-bruce-springsteens-roots-are-in-westmeath-3165110.html)

Good man. Will he play a set in the Greville Arms I wonder?

Is there no end to Westmeath's catalogue of music superstars?
Post by: gallsman on July 10, 2012, 06:30:15 PM

Did he pay the full band version? While I like both, live I'd prefer the full band one as it appears on Live in New York City.

While they all may not understand the full meaning of all songs, fans in some European countries are just as into Springsteen as anybody else. The crowd on the Live in Barcelona DVD is nuts.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 10, 2012, 06:36:54 PM
Anyone know what time he is due on stage at the RDS and how long he will play for ?
Post by: gallsman on July 10, 2012, 06:42:45 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on July 10, 2012, 06:36:54 PM
Anyone know what time he is due on stage at the RDS and how long he will play for ?

Will probably come on about 8. Average for the tour is about 3.5 hours.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 10, 2012, 07:53:56 PM
Is there a chance he will start earlier, as the concert licence probably means the RDS must be clear by 11pm ?. The tickets say gates open at 5pm and there is presumably no support.
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2012, 08:28:46 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on July 10, 2012, 06:36:54 PM
We got there at 8 and he was already singing so I would aim for 7.30 if I was going to the RDS. 
The encore was about 40 minutes and the show ended at 10.50 .

Born to run was magic.

It is a fantastic lineup of musicians and the man knows how to write a song.
I thought he could have mentioned the Galway hurlers but he didn't do much banter  ;)
Post by: ziggy90 on July 10, 2012, 08:34:17 PM
He came on at 7 in Manchester and will probably do the same in Dublin. A good percentage of the crowd missed the start of the show due to various reasons, horrendous traffic problems being the main one. He still came on on time and I'd say if you don't want to miss any of it (and I urge you not to) make sure you get there early.
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2012, 08:38:45 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 10, 2012, 06:30:15 PM

Did he pay the full band version? While I like both, live I'd prefer the full band one as it appears on Live in New York City.

While they all may not understand the full meaning of all songs, fans in some European countries are just as into Springsteen as anybody else. The crowd on the Live in Barcelona DVD is nuts.

It was the full band version.
The music on its own is fabulous. And he puts on a super show and the buzz is electric.

But listening to the lyrics it is sad to think of what has happened to the blue collar worker in the States over the last 30 years. The fella in The River might not have health insurance now. If you get a job now in the States age 19 with no qualifications you would be doing well to get $10 an hour. And the unions have been destroyed.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 11, 2012, 08:28:51 AM
He had one song from Wrecking ball about ghosts and explained it was the best way to present what is going on now because all the way down through history when things go bad it is always the same people who get shafted.
Given his ticket prices, maybe he's singing about his fans.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 11, 2012, 10:10:39 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 23, 2012, 04:29:58 PM
Can't wait!

I'm guessing you're not his biggest fan. The ticket prices are high, but considering the length and quality of the show they're worth it .
Post by: maddog on July 11, 2012, 10:57:48 AM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 11, 2012, 10:10:39 AM
Can't wait!

I'm guessing you're not his biggest fan. The ticket prices are high, but considering the length and quality of the show they're worth it .

I think the like of Muse are charging this and you can be sure they wont be playing for 3 1/2 hrs. I thought it was value for money anyway, although still unsure about worth the 7/8hrs spent in the feckin car

Post by: belleaqua on July 11, 2012, 11:13:36 AM
Was at the show in Paris last week and if had not already got tickets for Dublin I'd happily shed over a 100 euros to see him again and suffer the consequences after! They are pricey but the quality and length will make it worth every penny.

I was lost for words after Paris-best gig I have ever been too. I prefer indoor shows anyway but this was great from start to finish. Im reducing my expectations for the Dublin show after it because I was wondering how he can hit these heights again but with this guy you never know!

As many commented after it's a great artist that can make a pumped up crowd go crazy for 3 hours continuously but it's a very special one that can keep them quiet as mice for long periods too like during the piano versions of Independence Day and For You. 
Post by: ziggy90 on July 11, 2012, 12:04:13 PM
Quote from: belleaqua on July 11, 2012, 11:13:36 AM
Was at the show in Paris last week and if had not already got tickets for Dublin I'd happily shed over a 100 euros to see him again and suffer the consequences after! They are pricey but the quality and length will make it worth every penny.

I was lost for words after Paris-best gig I have ever been too. I prefer indoor shows anyway but this was great from start to finish. Im reducing my expectations for the Dublin show after it because I was wondering how he can hit these heights again but with this guy you never know!

As many commented after it's a great artist that can make a pumped up crowd go crazy for 3 hours continuously but it's a very special one that can keep them quiet as mice for long periods too like during the piano versions of Independence Day and For You.
[/quote

Don't, I've spoken to quite a few fans who've come from the States over the years, and to a man they reckon that his best European gigs are played in Ireland. Apparently he feels a real "affinity" with Irish people.
Post by: belleaqua on July 11, 2012, 12:45:07 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 11, 2012, 12:04:13 PM

[/quote

Don't, I've spoken to quite a few fans who've come from the States over the years, and to a man they reckon that his best European gigs are played in Ireland. Apparently he feels a real "affinity" with Irish people.

Ya I meant it more in the sense that I enjoy arena shows alot more. Crowd even in the stands never Sit down and the noise is constant. I know the band will bring it and the last night of the RDS ranks as one of my top 3 shows but other times if you get stuck beside a lethargic group it can be frustrating. Il make sure that won't happen this time!
Post by: seafoid on July 11, 2012, 12:51:23 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 11, 2012, 12:04:13 PM

I heard someone observing  that there are a lot of Irish rhythms in his music.
Post by: Declan on July 11, 2012, 01:01:40 PM
Quotebut it's a very special one that can keep them quiet as mice for long periods too like during the piano versions of Independence Day and For You.

Yep they sounded great on Youtube alright
Post by: Maguire01 on July 11, 2012, 04:12:09 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 11, 2012, 10:10:39 AM
Can't wait!

I do like a bit of Springsteen actually - I've been to see him once in the RDS and have a good few of his albums. But for someone who supposedly represents the 'blue-collar man'... well it's not really consistent with his ticket prices, regardless of how long his shows are. €100 for a ticket in the current economic climate is taking the piss.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 11, 2012, 06:18:15 PM
Fair play, you're entitled to your opinion. All I'll say is if you went to see this show I wonder if you would change your mind? Do you know if the musicians/singers with the ESB are paid a wage or do they take a cut of the gate? If they are paid a wage I'd say the sheer amount and quality of them would go a long way towards explaining the high ticket prices.
Post by: belleaqua on July 11, 2012, 06:25:33 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 11, 2012, 06:18:15 PM
Fair play, you're entitled to your opinion. All I'll say is if you went to see this show I wonder if you would change your mind? Do you know if the musicians/singers with the ESB are paid a wage or do they take a cut of the gate? If they are paid a wage I'd say the sheer amount and quality of them would go a long way towards explaining the high ticket prices.

My understanding is that Bruce works on a fee - let's hypothetically say it's 1.5 million. That fee remains the same for any concert he plays. So he will get the same for playing to 45,000 in the RDS as he will for 80,000 at Hyde Park. That fee handsomely pays himself, the hand, road crew, etc.

My tickets for Paris were 65.00. Most other tickets for European dates were similar. So I think you need to be looking at the promoters here. It is not as if Bruce has hiked up his prices just for Ireland.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 11, 2012, 09:49:43 PM
Fair play, you're entitled to your opinion. All I'll say is if you went to see this show I wonder if you would change your mind?
I doubt it. I was at one of his RDS gigs a few years ago - good gig, I enjoyed it. Doesn't mean it isn't overpriced.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 11, 2012, 09:55:55 PM
Quote from: belleaqua on July 11, 2012, 06:25:33 PM

My understanding is that Bruce works on a fee - let's hypothetically say it's 1.5 million. That fee remains the same for any concert he plays. So he will get the same for playing to 45,000 in the RDS as he will for 80,000 at Hyde Park. That fee handsomely pays himself, the hand, road crew, etc.

My tickets for Paris were 65.00. Most other tickets for European dates were similar. So I think you need to be looking at the promoters here. It is not as if Bruce has hiked up his prices just for Ireland.
The cost of a gig is generally higher in Ireland because it's an island, therefore disproportionate shipping costs for a couple of shows, in comparison to GB or mainland Europe. I don't know the details of an artist's fee, but I'd imagine it varies due to such factors, and whether it's a stand-alone show or a festival slot etc.

I do know that the artist's fee is generally guaranteed (and when I say the artist, I mean the whole band). The promoter generally takes the risk if tickets don't sell (hence their interest in promoting it).
Post by: ziggy90 on July 11, 2012, 10:42:13 PM
That makes sense, never thought of the logistical problems. Bruce & ESB are playing Hyde park festival on Saturday, the tickets are £60 for the whole day.
Another big favourite of mine John Fogarty is on the same stage just before Springsteen, what's the odds they play a couple of tunes together?
Post by: Declan on July 12, 2012, 07:57:26 AM
QuoteAnother big favourite of mine John Fogarty is on the same stage just before Springsteen, what's the odds they play a couple of tunes together?

guaranteed I'd say
Post by: orangeman on July 12, 2012, 10:52:31 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 11, 2012, 09:55:55 PM

The cost of a gig is generally higher in Ireland because it's an island, therefore disproportionate shipping costs for a couple of shows, in comparison to GB or mainland Europe. I don't know the details of an artist's fee, but I'd imagine it varies due to such factors, and whether it's a stand-alone show or a festival slot etc.

I do know that the artist's fee is generally guaranteed (and when I say the artist, I mean the whole band). The promoter generally takes the risk if tickets don't sell (hence their interest in promoting it).

I don't buy that.

I've seen time out of number where there's a one off show in England where the tickets are a lot cheaper than Dublin where the artisit is playing 2/3 nights in a row. I've seen a show in Sween where prices are cheaper for a one off compared to Dublin where there's 2/3 nights in a row.

You could justify a couple of euro more per ticket, but there's times it's €15-30 more per ticket which in my opinion cannot be justified. It has to be the promoters that are simply profiteering.

How do you explain the difference in ticket prices between the same concert in Belfast compared to Dublin ?. Doesn't make sense.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 12, 2012, 10:56:45 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 12, 2012, 10:52:31 AM

I don't buy that.

I've seen time out of number where there's a one off show in England where the tickets are a lot cheaper than Dublin where the artisit is playing 2/3 nights in a row. I've seen a show in Sween where prices are cheaper for a one off compared to Dublin where there's 2/3 nights in a row.

You could justify a couple of euro more per ticket, but there's times it's €15-30 more per ticket which in my opinion cannot be justified. It has to be the promoters that are simply profiteering.

How do you explain the difference in ticket prices between the same concert in Belfast compared to Dublin ?. Doesn't make sense.
Greedy hoors in the south is why.
Post by: Hardy on July 12, 2012, 11:16:37 AM
Quote from: Declan on July 12, 2012, 07:57:26 AM
QuoteAnother big favourite of mine John Fogarty is on the same stage just before Springsteen, what's the odds they play a couple of tunes together?

guaranteed I'd say

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vaRePSZmIKo
Post by: ziggy90 on July 12, 2012, 12:53:22 PM
Pure class Hardy. Two top operators with mutual respect for each others personna and music. I'd love to see them play a full set together or even form a superband and tour (anyone with suggestions as who to join them).
Post by: Billys Boots on July 12, 2012, 12:58:55 PM
Jason (and the Scorchers) Ringenberg!!
Post by: Maguire01 on July 13, 2012, 12:42:49 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 12, 2012, 10:52:31 AM

I don't buy that.

Yes, there's definitely an element of 'rip-off republic' (maybe not just the promoters, but also the venues), but the higher cost of coming here for a one-off show, or small number of shows, is well accepted. I'd be interested in hearing some of those examples you have. If a band was playing a show in GB to 80,000 people and in Ireland to 40,000 people for example, then it's quite feasible that the Irish show would cost more, even if we are comparing just one show on each island.
Post by: CiKe on July 13, 2012, 10:54:13 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 12, 2012, 11:16:37 AM

guaranteed I'd say

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vaRePSZmIKo

Quality.
Post by: J70 on July 13, 2012, 11:30:02 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 12, 2012, 12:53:22 PM
Pure class Hardy. Two top operators with mutual respect for each others personna and music. I'd love to see them play a full set together or even form a superband and tour (anyone with suggestions as who to join them).

In 2004, Fogerty came out in the middle of Springsteen's set during the Vote for Change Tour stop at the Meadowlands. Can't remember all the songs they did, but Fortunate Son and Proud Mary were played. Pure class.

Eddie Vedder stepped in for a few songs as well, with the E Street Band backing him on a great version of Better Man.
Post by: Declan on July 14, 2012, 12:20:45 AM
http://www.mixcloud.com/budgethemusicsponge/dream-theme-cover-me-bruce-springsteen-special-11-07-12/ (http://www.mixcloud.com/budgethemusicsponge/dream-theme-cover-me-bruce-springsteen-special-11-07-12/)

Enjoy

QuoteEddie Vedder stepped in for a few songs as well, with the E Street Band backing him on a great version of Better Man.

Absolutely fantastic stuff that was
Post by: ziggy90 on July 15, 2012, 12:35:05 PM

guaranteed I'd say

You were right Dec, Bruce came on to play 'Rocking All Over The World' with Fogarty, who later joined the ESB for the 'Promised Land;. Oh how I wish I was there for that. On a bit of a sour note' I believe The police pulled the plug on Bruce and Paul McCartney in the middle of 'Twist and Shout'. It was after curfew ::) and public transport issues was the reason they gave. It doesn't send out great vibes a couple of weeks before the Olympics. As Steve Van Zandt tweeted 'If it's a public transport issue I'm sorry but people are adult enoughto go get a train without the cops pulling the plug!'.
Post by: gallsman on July 15, 2012, 01:24:24 PM
Candy's Room, I'm Going Down, Downbound Train and My Love Will Not Let You Down have all been broken out recently on the tour. Four of my favourites and would love to hear them all on Tuesday!
Post by: Declan on July 15, 2012, 01:38:03 PM
Bruce Springsteen and Sir Paul McCartney were unexpectedly silenced after The Boss overran the sound curfew at Hard Rock Calling in London's Hyde Park.

McCartney had joined Springsteen on stage at the end of the singer's headline slot, but both stars found their microphones cut off before they could address the crowds.

Springsteen, who is known for his long performances, had been playing for more than three hours and had exceeded the curfew by around 30 minutes.

After belting out hits such as Born In The USA and Because The Night, he welcomed McCartney to the stage to sing Beatles hits I Saw Her Standing There and Twist And Shout, but neither performer had the chance to thank the crowd, and had to leave the stage in silence.

Springsteen, who played with his E Street Band, had earlier invited Rage Against The Machine's Tom Morello on stage to perform two songs, and singer John Fogerty had joined him for one.

He delighted the crowds with his energetic set, and often left the stage to shake hands with audience members.

At one point he rewarded a fan's loyalty by playing an obscure track from his back collection.

The singer spotted a man holding up a banner asking him to play the song Take 'Em As They Come, and listing the concerts around the world where he had requested it.

Holding up the banner on stage, Springsteen praised the "big investment" the fan had made to see him in places including Madrid and Paris, then said: "Tonight, my friend, this is your lucky night.

"You're going to hear this damn thing."

He added: "It's a completely obscure track I wrote for The River when I needed some rock songs."

Looking forward to Tuesday now :D
Post by: Minder on July 15, 2012, 02:14:29 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 15, 2012, 01:24:24 PM
Candy's Room, I'm Going Down, Downbound Train and My Love Will Not Let You Down have all been broken out recently on the tour. Four of my favourites and would love to hear them all on Tuesday!

One of his best, in my opinion.
Post by: haveaharp on July 15, 2012, 02:23:11 PM
Will i see you tonight
on a downbound train

shite - wrong thread
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 15, 2012, 02:39:06 PM
The updated advertisements for the RDS show running on RTE stress that the concert starts at 7pm sharp. Given that it can take a while to get through security, it would probably be best to get there early.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 15, 2012, 06:02:24 PM
Cannot wait. Thanks for the heads up on the start time, dug the tickets out yesterday and was surprised at the 5pm opening time.

Doesn't seem to have been playing Thunder Road consistently but then there are so many classics its hard to fit in them all.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 16, 2012, 01:21:03 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 15, 2012, 01:24:24 PM

Deffo top 5 for me. As many times as I've seen The Boss live I've never heard him play this.
Post by: Declan on July 16, 2012, 01:54:07 PM
Little Steve presenting his radio show from Tower records tonight at 7
Post by: ludermor on July 16, 2012, 02:07:10 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 15, 2012, 12:35:05 PM

guaranteed I'd say

You were right Dec, Bruce came on to play 'Rocking All Over The World' with Fogarty, who later joined the ESB for the 'Promised Land;. Oh how I wish I was there for that. On a bit of a sour note' I believe The police pulled the plug on Bruce and Paul McCartney in the middle of 'Twist and Shout'. It was after curfew ::) and public transport issues was the reason they gave. It doesn't send out great vibes a couple of weeks before the Olympics. As Steve Van Zandt tweeted 'If it's a public transport issue I'm sorry but people are adult enoughto go get a train without the cops pulling the plug!'.
Yeah i was there and it was a bad end to a half decent night. Nothing wrong with the bands but the noise level was very low and the general crowd was terrible. You could hear people talking ( not even shouting) in the crowd and there was a load of older people giving out about people talking, even singing! Loads of people giving out about pushing their way through the corwd. It really took away from the night and they would have been better off wathcing a dvd in their house!
Post by: ziggy90 on July 16, 2012, 02:47:39 PM
'Nothing wrong with the bands but the noise level was very low'

I know what you mean, it was the same in Manchester. I wonder is this another "health and safety" directive >:(
Post by: ludermor on July 16, 2012, 03:39:23 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 16, 2012, 02:47:39 PM
'Nothing wrong with the bands but the noise level was very low'

I know what you mean, it was the same in Manchester. I wonder is this another "health and safety" directive >:(
Yeah westminister council limited the volume apparently. John Fogerty apologised a few times and i thought ithere was something wrong with his voice but he must have meant the sound. It was a shame.
Post by: Billys Boots on July 16, 2012, 03:47:09 PM
Quote from: Declan on July 16, 2012, 01:54:07 PM
Little Steve presenting his radio show from Tower records tonight at 7

Probably going to have a few pints after in Foleys (as usual).
Post by: qwerty123 on July 16, 2012, 03:56:30 PM
I'm heading down to the RDS tomorrow night.  What's the best way to get there.  I'm driving down, but I'm looking for a quick getaway to avoid massive queues home!
Post by: maddog on July 16, 2012, 04:19:34 PM
Quote from: ludermor on July 16, 2012, 02:07:10 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 15, 2012, 12:35:05 PM

guaranteed I'd say

You could hear people talking ( not even shouting) in the crowd and there was a load of older people giving out about people talking, even singing!

Aye but there is singing and there is singing. Eh Ziggy90 ?
Post by: ziggy90 on July 16, 2012, 04:26:48 PM
Stop with the barbed comments MD, I may become paranoid :o.
Post by: maddog on July 16, 2012, 04:30:24 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on July 16, 2012, 04:26:48 PM
Stop with the barbed comments MD, I may become paranoid :o.

its gonna be a long nite baby ;D
Post by: ziggy90 on July 16, 2012, 04:34:05 PM
"and what else we gonna do........just me and you" 8).
Post by: gallsman on July 16, 2012, 06:44:55 PM
I've heard many different reports of where Springsteen likes to head in Dublin for a pint - Long Hall, O'Donoghues etc. Does anyone actually have an idea on this as I have to admit that I'd get on like a 12 year old girl meeting Justin Bieber if I was to bump into him.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 16, 2012, 10:07:05 PM
(http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/165975_326753384079529_1368755512_n.jpg)
Post by: Declan on July 17, 2012, 08:10:33 AM
Pissing down here in D4 this morning and there are still a few lunatics who camped out overnight to get in first!!
Post by: orangeman on July 17, 2012, 10:58:53 AM
Quote from: Declan on July 17, 2012, 08:10:33 AM
Pissing down here in D4 this morning and there are still a few lunatics who camped out overnight to get in first!!

Fantastic.

It'll be worth it.

Wellies needed tonight.
Post by: mackers on July 17, 2012, 11:08:04 AM
The big day has arrived......better than Christmas Day for a 6 year old!!  Is the weather not to improve later??  Looked at the setlists on backstreets.com.....has started with Badlands on a number of occasions...that'll get the place jumping straight away.
Post by: mc_grens on July 17, 2012, 12:04:29 PM
No wellies required. The pitch is completely covered for RDS gigs. The weather is indeed supposed to improve as the day goes on.
Post by: Declan on July 17, 2012, 01:05:10 PM
Weather much better and improving. Handing out pit passes at 2.30 apparently
Post by: David McKeown on July 18, 2012, 02:33:53 AM
What a gig, 3.5 hours of one of the best set lists Ive ever heard interspersed with good humour.  Began by wheeling out an over sized power switch and switching it back on in order to finish Saturdays set and followed that up with a rendition of I fought the law and the law won, continuing in that form all night.

Brilliant just sheer brilliant.

Back tomorrow for more, can't wait.
Post by: Declan on July 18, 2012, 07:39:45 AM
QuoteWhat a gig, 3.5 hours of one of the best set lists Ive ever heard interspersed with good humour.  Began by wheeling out an over sized power switch and switching it back on in order to finish Saturdays set and followed that up with a rendition of I fought the law and the law won, continuing in that form all night.

Agreed - he was in stunning form. Fantastic stuff.   

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVGh7UIDIrI&feature=youtube_gdata_player (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVGh7UIDIrI&feature=youtube_gdata_player)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RlXVHAfa1EE&feature=youtube_gdata_player (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RlXVHAfa1EE&feature=youtube_gdata_player)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vc7kJ-0VjnE&feature=youtube_gdata_player (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vc7kJ-0VjnE&feature=youtube_gdata_player)
Post by: armaghniac on July 18, 2012, 09:07:42 AM
Dublin Corpo noise enforcement Guy on the radio now pointing out that he went 23 minutes over the curfew, because of time wasted on chit chat.
Post by: Canalman on July 18, 2012, 09:23:02 AM
Traffic was some mess last night because (I presume) of the concert. Had the misfortune to be stuck in it.
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2012, 10:38:31 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 18, 2012, 09:07:42 AM
Dublin Corpo noise enforcement Guy on the radio now pointing out that he went 23 minutes over the curfew, because of time wasted on chit chat.

That was a skit, Armaghniac. But it was the John Murray show, so there were no clues that it was actually meant to be funny.
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2012, 10:40:10 AM
Quote from: Declan on July 18, 2012, 07:39:45 AM
QuoteWhat a gig, 3.5 hours of one of the best set lists Ive ever heard interspersed with good humour.  Began by wheeling out an over sized power switch and switching it back on in order to finish Saturdays set and followed that up with a rendition of I fought the law and the law won, continuing in that form all night.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVGh7UIDIrI&feature=youtube_gdata_player (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVGh7UIDIrI&feature=youtube_gdata_player)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RlXVHAfa1EE&feature=youtube_gdata_player (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RlXVHAfa1EE&feature=youtube_gdata_player)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vc7kJ-0VjnE&feature=youtube_gdata_player (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vc7kJ-0VjnE&feature=youtube_gdata_player)

Looks like a good night.

It reminds me, though - something I've never understood. Why do people bring flags to rock concerts?
Post by: qwerty123 on July 18, 2012, 10:44:01 AM
One question, might sound stupid, but I saw some people had numbers written on their hands with a black marker.  What is this for?
Post by: Ulick on July 18, 2012, 10:44:10 AM
Any pointers on parking for tonight lads? Will be heading north on the M1 after.
Post by: Canalman on July 18, 2012, 11:02:21 AM
Quote from: Ulick on July 18, 2012, 10:44:10 AM
Any pointers on parking for tonight lads? Will be heading north on the M1 after.

If I was you I would park around Fairview  or City Centre and walk to Ballsbridge (c30mins) and back afterwards. Back on the M1 in no time.
Last night traffic in town was mental and simply not moving at all.
Post by: qwerty123 on July 18, 2012, 11:04:20 AM
How can one man inspire so many emotions - the raw emotion of the roll call in the City of Ruins, the laughter with the 'bobby' and the curfew, the care free knees-up feeling of American Land to the lung-busting Born in the USA and Born to Run (with much more in between!)
Was just hoping to see Jake play Jungleland, would have topped it for me.
Post by: ONeill on July 18, 2012, 11:09:06 AM
Quote from: qwerty123 on July 18, 2012, 11:04:20 AM
How can one man inspire so many emotions

The fleecing of the fans at £100 a go. No place for the working class man.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 18, 2012, 11:12:58 AM
Yawn.............!!!
Post by: ziggy90 on July 18, 2012, 11:22:14 AM
Btw lads, how did "Death To My Hometown" go down?
Post by: AQMP on July 18, 2012, 11:52:54 AM
Heading off at 2pm.  Staying over so will have a few liveners before and after.  ;D
Post by: Declan on July 18, 2012, 12:19:43 PM
QuoteOne question, might sound stupid, but I saw some people had numbers written on their hands with a black marker.  What is this for?

Early entries for pit passes. first 1000 were marked.

If parking tonight and heading for the M1 I'd recommend you park somewhere around sandymount/strand road if you get down early enough- head off through east link and tunnel to M1.

Thought this was good
http://photos.independent.ie/gallery/Bruce_in_Dublin/slideshow/Bruce_Springsteen/0fZe0Fq0sb1sd (http://photos.independent.ie/gallery/Bruce_in_Dublin/slideshow/Bruce_Springsteen/0fZe0Fq0sb1sd)
Post by: mackers on July 18, 2012, 12:34:12 PM
Quote from: Declan on July 18, 2012, 12:19:43 PM
If parking tonight and heading for the M1 I'd recommend you park somewhere around sandymount/strand road if you get down early enough- head off through east link and tunnel to M1.
That's what I did and got in and out without any problem.  What a concert!!  The man is a living legend.  Seems to absolutely love his job and his enthusiasm rubs off on the crowd every night.  Seems to be a new generation of Springsteen fans with a lot of parents taking their kids now and by the look on their faces in the camera shots they thoroughly enjoyed it too.  Particularly special for a 6/7 year old girl who joined Bruce on stage for "Waiting on a Sunny Day".
Love to be going again tonight.....
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 18, 2012, 12:39:48 PM
What I don't understand is why someone would shell out for tickets and then watch the gig through a camera phone lens. Usually we hear RDS gigs at the house 3 miles away - for some reason nothing was heard last night. Either the volume was lower than normal or maybe the wind conditions were not suited.

Post by: ziggy90 on July 18, 2012, 12:42:37 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 18, 2012, 11:52:54 AM
Heading off at 2pm.  Staying over so will have a few liveners before and after.  ;D

Enjoy, I wish I was going. After the gig try O'Donaghues particularly if there's a Trad Seisun going on. Last time the ESB were in Dublin a couple of my cousins were talking to Soozie Tyrell and Charles Giordino (keyboard player), they were in to listen to the local musicians and very approachable and appreciative  they were too.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 18, 2012, 06:11:51 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2012, 10:40:10 AM

Looks like a good night.

It reminds me, though - something I've never understood. Why do people bring flags to rock concerts?
And why do people watch a rock concert through a camera on their phone rather than actually enjoying the gig?
Post by: gallsman on July 18, 2012, 08:18:03 PM
Absolutely stunning show put on last night. About five songs in I decided to go again tonight but simply don't have the energy after being on the tear afterwards! That kid during Waiting on a Sunny Day will be telling that story for the rest of her life! Was great to see the very young and very old alike having the time of their lives.
Post by: qwerty123 on July 18, 2012, 09:44:21 PM
If you're here and I'm here, then they're here. How do I know it? 'Cos I can hear him in your voices.
That was damn emotional!
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2012, 09:59:20 PM
Quote from: qwerty123 on July 18, 2012, 09:44:21 PM
If you're here and I'm here, then they're here. How do I know it? 'Cos I can hear him in your voices.
That was damn emotional!
A nation of fannies.
Post by: bannside on July 18, 2012, 10:51:22 PM
Unbelievable first night, well worth the wait.

I was in O Donohues for a pint or two of plain yesterday and the owner/staff expected the Boss and some of his team in for their customary visit when they do Dublin. I would bet it will be tonight after the second show - an informal song or two in the forecourt there. Just around the corner from the Merrion where he is staying. Unfortunately I am back in Portglenone or thats where i would be headin tonight!

Ziggy - I was waiting to see the reaction to "Death to my Hometown", and just as the boos were starting to build, Bruce was straightaway off into another song, so it lost momentum. Otherwise the reaction would have been exactly what you would have expected.

Post by: David McKeown on July 19, 2012, 02:20:55 AM
Good gig tonight. Not the level of yesterday with a much slower start but some excellent rare numbers. 46 different songs and the guts of 7 hours on stage over two nights is some effort
Post by: Declan on July 19, 2012, 09:37:54 AM
I actually thought last night's gig was better!! Backsttreets, Because the Night, No Surrender , The Promise  - just a great set
Post by: Denn Forever on July 19, 2012, 10:27:29 AM
QuoteZiggy - I was waiting to see the reaction to "Death to my Hometown", and just as the boos were starting to build,

Not a real Bruce fan but why would there be any reaction/boos to this song?
Post by: Bingo on July 19, 2012, 10:40:23 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on July 19, 2012, 10:27:29 AM
QuoteZiggy - I was waiting to see the reaction to "Death to my Hometown", and just as the boos were starting to build,

Well its a soon about economic crisis and bankers greed, can't see why they'd be boo's, more cheers in agreement with the song. Unless the "boo's" where the usual "bbbbbbbbrrrruuuuuuuuuucccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee" shouts heard throughout any Springsteen concert!
Post by: ziggy90 on July 19, 2012, 11:04:50 AM
Quote from: Bingo on July 19, 2012, 10:40:23 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on July 19, 2012, 10:27:29 AM

Well its a soon about economic crisis and bankers greed, can't see why they'd be boo's, more cheers in agreement with the song. Unless the "boo's" where the usual "bbbbbbbbrrrruuuuuuuuuucccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee" shouts heard throughout any Springsteen concert!

Spotty dog, I thought there'd be a big reaction to this song (about the destruction of small town economy's). It goes to show how many new fans BS attracts for each tour. How many times have you heard "what are they booing for?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 19, 2012, 01:55:59 PM
(http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTE-TNtobW-XIdECvXgVohZ2HqIIzppNCRAaqpc3CaklGTJCkW2cg)
Post by: AQMP on July 19, 2012, 05:34:55 PM
Might be bucking the trend but I thought last night's show took a bit of time to get going.  For me it really only came to life with "Because The Night".  No "Thunder Road" or "Jungleland" for us oldies (unless I missed them while getting drinks) but the second half was great, with "10th Avenue Freeze Out" my personal highlight.
Post by: J OGorman on July 19, 2012, 06:04:43 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 18, 2012, 06:11:51 PM

Looks like a good night.

And why do people watch a rock concert through a camera on their phone rather than actually enjoying the gig?

so you can watch it on youtube
Post by: Doiregael2 on July 19, 2012, 06:42:35 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 19, 2012, 05:34:55 PM
Might be bucking the trend but I thought last night's show took a bit of time to get going.  For me it really only came to life with "Because The Night".  No "Thunder Road" or "Jungleland" for us oldies (unless I missed them while getting drinks) but the second half was great, with "10th Avenue Freeze Out" my personal highlight.

Have to agree - it was my first Bruce experience but what a show! the man is unreal! a few personal highlights - Because the Night, The River -stunning -, Jack of All Trades and American Land :)
Post by: David McKeown on July 19, 2012, 09:43:04 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 19, 2012, 05:34:55 PM

I would agree, and my gf was saying the same thing still a great show mind
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2012, 10:11:38 PM
Stunning gig on Tuesday night. Magnificent. As good a value for 90 euro as I've ever had. As has been said so often before, his energy for a man of his age is fantastic.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 19, 2012, 10:19:53 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on July 19, 2012, 06:04:43 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 18, 2012, 06:11:51 PM

Looks like a good night.

so you can watch it on youtube
It looks shit on youtube.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 19, 2012, 11:24:15 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 22, 2011, 10:55:30 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on November 22, 2011, 09:43:56 PM

Sound advice..cheers

Skull, I would be happy if you told me you didn't heed my advice and said "fcuk it, I'll still go". You'd have seen a performance and energy that BS would've been happy with 30 years ago. As I said "still the best show in town".   
Post by: belleaqua on July 19, 2012, 11:43:07 PM
Amazing stuff. Constantly brings the goods. Continuously surprises me how far he can go. The first night was the 'fun' night in terms of song choice/crowd pleasers and treating the show like it was everyones 1st show. Met a good few 1st timers since and they were blown away. Even heard Matt Cooper the other evening commenting on how he went with no expectation as he wouldn't be a big fan and now seems like a man converted. He said it felt like a religious experience or rather the idea of what one should be like.

Last night was a nod to the hardcore. My favourite of the 2 nights but I understand what others have said about night 1 being more crowd orientated and active from the start. He really changed up the early setlist and the Something in the Night/Adam Raised a Cain duo was great although it may have lost many people for a while.   

Any show that has a triple shot of The Promise/The River/Backstreets is for me an automatic best show ever contender-waited for ages to hear Backstreets - made my month!

Anyway it should be said that if never lucky enough to see this great band again its been a fantastic experience and a pleasure. I actually think Bruce Springsteen is under rated. That may shock people who think the complete opposite but these people tend to judge him on the fact that Glory Days or Dancing in the Dark are his best songs because they were popular. Objectively one of them would be lucky to feature in his top 50. As a live performer in terms of quality/passion/longevity I don't think there is a competitor. I'd say a lot of the top bands out there are like 'stop playing for 3.5 hours you're showing us up big time' The ability to do that night after night - change a setlist by exactly half the songs and still leave out crowd staples on both nights like Thunder Road/ The Promised Land/Lonesome Day and Hungry Heart is phenomenal. Please come back!
Post by: Declan on July 19, 2012, 11:51:41 PM
QuoteI actually think Bruce Springsteen is under rated. That may shock people who think the complete opposite but these people tend to judge him on the fact that Glory Days or Dancing in the Dark are his best songs because they were popular. Objectively one of them would be lucky to feature in his top 50. As a live performer in terms of quality/passion/longevity I don't think there is a competitor.

+100% - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sJHRYE8a-yo&feature=g-upl (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sJHRYE8a-yo&feature=g-upl)
Post by: J70 on July 20, 2012, 12:22:36 AM
Wow! Seem him numerous times and I've never heard Something in the Night! That was the song that actually turned me into a major fan. One of his very best.
Post by: AQMP on July 20, 2012, 09:43:10 AM
Quote from: belleaqua on July 19, 2012, 11:43:07 PM
Amazing stuff. Constantly brings the goods. Continuously surprises me how far he can go. The first night was the 'fun' night in terms of song choice/crowd pleasers and treating the show like it was everyones 1st show. Met a good few 1st timers since and they were blown away. Even heard Matt Cooper the other evening commenting on how he went with no expectation as he wouldn't be a big fan and now seems like a man converted. He said it felt like a religious experience or rather the idea of what one should be like.

Last night was a nod to the hardcore. My favourite of the 2 nights but I understand what others have said about night 1 being more crowd orientated and active from the start. He really changed up the early setlist and the Something in the Night/Adam Raised a Cain duo was great although it may have lost many people for a while.   

Any show that has a triple shot of The Promise/The River/Backstreets is for me an automatic best show ever contender-waited for ages to hear Backstreets - made my month!

Anyway it should be said that if never lucky enough to see this great band again its been a fantastic experience and a pleasure. I actually think Bruce Springsteen is under rated. That may shock people who think the complete opposite but these people tend to judge him on the fact that Glory Days or Dancing in the Dark are his best songs because they were popular. Objectively one of them would be lucky to feature in his top 50. As a live performer in terms of quality/passion/longevity I don't think there is a competitor. I'd say a lot of the top bands out there are like 'stop playing for 3.5 hours you're showing us up big time' The ability to do that night after night - change a setlist by exactly half the songs and still leave out crowd staples on both nights like Thunder Road/ The Promised Land/Lonesome Day and Hungry Heart is phenomenal. Please come back!

Dancing In The Dark is probably the only Springsteen song I can't listen to.  I went to the jacks during it.  While I said for me the gig took a while to get going I forgot to mention a highlight of the early part was "Spirit In The Night".  For newer Springsteen fans you really should listen to "Greetings From Asbury Park NJ", his first LP from 1973 (recorded in a week!), still an absolute classic.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 20, 2012, 09:44:39 AM
Quote from: belleaqua on July 19, 2012, 11:43:07 PM

Great post, I hope Bruce reads, and take heeds of, the bit in bold :P.
Post by: Ulick on July 20, 2012, 11:36:32 AM
Well I thought the Wednesday show was superb from start to finish. The highlights for me were Something in the Night, Death to My Hometown, Jack of All Trades,  Waitin' on a Sunny Day then Born in the USA until the finish. On a general note, I can't think of any other artist that gets such a range of people attending from young families to OAPs and all having a great time. We had a fourth month old with us and no one batted an eyelid. Security, Guards and St Johns Ambulance were all very helpful regarding changing facilities and the like. We had an absolutely brilliant night with the only hitch being the Port Tunnel being closed without warning on the way back after we had already crossed the East Link toll bridge. Almost ended up in Howth trying to find the M1 again. The tribute to the Big Man was also a nice touch.
Post by: Declan on July 20, 2012, 12:05:21 PM
QuoteAny show that has a triple shot of The Promise/The River/Backstreets is for me an automatic best show ever contender-waited for ages to hear Backstreets - made my month!

There were two lads from Norway with me at the front who had the Backstreets sign up and as soon as he played they turned around shook my hand and said that's it we came to him sing that and left!!! They had been following him for the last 2 months
Post by: mouview on July 20, 2012, 01:51:50 PM
Quote from: Ulick on July 20, 2012, 11:36:32 AM
Well I thought the Wednesday show was superb from start to finish. The highlights for me were Something in the Night, Death to My Hometown, Jack of All Trades,  Waitin' on a Sunny Day then Born in the USA until the finish. On a general note, I can't think of any other artist that gets such a range of people attending from young families to OAPs and all having a great time. We had a fourth month old with us and no one batted an eyelid. Security, Guards and St Johns Ambulance were all very helpful regarding changing facilities and the like. We had an absolutely brilliant night with the only hitch being the Port Tunnel being closed without warning on the way back after we had already crossed the East Link toll bridge. Almost ended up in Howth trying to find the M1 again. The tribute to the Big Man was also a nice touch.

Agree with all sentiments expressed about Bruce, e.g. energy, longevity, entertainment etc.

However, quite disappointed about Wednesday night. First 3/4s of an hour fine, especially the older stuff. Then he got into playing some of his new 'flag-waving' album songs which IMHO plain sucked as they're not up to his better quality. Concert improved a bit towards the end again, esp. Backstreets. Don't like Dancing in the Dark or Born in the USA so they did nothing for me. My main complaint was the sound, which was of variable quality, and also that the band were just too brassy and noisy; the lyrics and poetry of the songs were just lost in crashing guitars and overload trumpets and sax. A lot of his lesser rock songs are a bit samey too. Also wished he play some of his slower ballads, as he is probably the best balladeer working in America at present. I was at the Sunday evening show 3 years ago in the RDS and thought he was superb but Wednesday night he was just on auto. At this stage, an acoustic show would be a better bet I think.

Dunno, mebbe just me.
Post by: belleaqua on July 20, 2012, 04:38:19 PM
Quote from: mouview on July 20, 2012, 01:51:50 PM
Quote from: Ulick on July 20, 2012, 11:36:32 AM

Agree with all sentiments expressed about Bruce, e.g. energy, longevity, entertainment etc.

However, quite disappointed about Wednesday night. First 3/4s of an hour fine, especially the older stuff. Then he got into playing some of his new 'flag-waving' album songs which IMHO plain sucked as they're not up to his better quality. Concert improved a bit towards the end again, esp. Backstreets. Don't like Dancing in the Dark or Born in the USA so they did nothing for me. My main complaint was the sound, which was of variable quality, and also that the band were just too brassy and noisy; the lyrics and poetry of the songs were just lost in crashing guitars and overload trumpets and sax. A lot of his lesser rock songs are a bit samey too. Also wished he play some of his slower ballads, as he is probably the best balladeer working in America at present. I was at the Sunday evening show 3 years ago in the RDS and thought he was superb but Wednesday night he was just on auto. At this stage, an acoustic show would be a better bet I think.

Dunno, mebbe just me.

Jeez there's some fair criticism in there regarding some sound issues depending where you were in the stadium but to suggest he was on auto?? Iv never seen him in better form, constant banter and fooling around (Spirit in the Night) not to mind 3 and a half hours of pure energy all with a huge genuine looking smile on his face?? Added to that was a quality setlist all of which would suggest he was anything but auto.

As for the 'flag waving' songs Im not sure whats meant by this? He has to play his new songs - he's not the Rolling Stones fans want to hear current music. It's the Wrecking Ball Tour not Bruce's Greatest Hits - that would give a fair indication of what was involved. I thought the new stuff was very well received by the crowd at large.

Heard a few people on about the sound though. I was near the front both nights and had no issues but definitely was issues further back.
Post by: gallsman on July 20, 2012, 06:10:10 PM
I think Wrecking Ball is his best since The Rising, which is in my top 3 or 4. No problems hearing the new stuff.
Post by: bannside on July 21, 2012, 08:15:09 AM
Someone pointed out that he has performed over 70 different songs since the tour started, and no two nights exactly the same. This is stand out for me. How easy would it be for him to stick to a setlist half that number, and rotate it by 10% each night - just to make it appear fresh.

Innovative, Risk taking, Full throttle, Crowd Engaging, 3.5 hours non stop and still producing some of his best stuff in his sixties. Class act.
Post by: belleaqua on July 21, 2012, 11:13:13 AM
Quote from: bannside on July 21, 2012, 08:15:09 AM
Someone pointed out that he has performed over 70 different songs since the tour started, and no two nights exactly the same. This is stand out for me. How easy would it be for him to stick to a setlist half that number, and rotate it by 10% each night - just to make it appear fresh.

Innovative, Risk taking, Full throttle, Crowd Engaging, 3.5 hours non stop and still producing some of his best stuff in his sixties. Class act.

115 different songs played since March if you include the US leg of the tour - phenomenal.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 24, 2012, 01:46:42 PM
http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2012/07/30/120730fa_fact_remnick?currentPage=all

Very well put together, insightful article on BS & ESB.
Post by: bannside on July 25, 2012, 12:17:06 AM
Excellent Ziggy. Great Read.