Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2011, 09:40:55 PM

Poll
Question: Any using or seriously considering using red diesel in the near future?
Option 1: Currently on the red. votes: 6
Option 2: Considering it if the prices keep rising. votes: 14
Option 3: Law abiding citizen. votes: 25
Title: Red or Dead?
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2011, 09:40:55 PM
Paid £1.40/litre for diesel this morning. This thread http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7424.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7424.0) from April 2008 was yapping about diesel at £1.14 and economists reckon we'll be paying in the region of £1.58 by end of the year.

Is there anyone seriously considering fillin up on red? Are the Customs boys more noticeable now that fuel is so expensive?
Title: Re: Red or Dead?
Post by: The Worker on January 16, 2011, 09:41:46 PM
can ya get red petrol? if so im aboard.
Post by: sammymaguire on January 16, 2011, 09:43:27 PM
That fine is not worth the risk for me.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2011, 09:49:27 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on January 16, 2011, 09:43:27 PM
The brother in law used to always say he's been on it so long he's saved more than any fine. I'm the type to get caught first run out!
Post by: DennistheMenace on January 16, 2011, 09:50:21 PM
What is the fine? I'm really thinking about it.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 16, 2011, 09:51:15 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2011, 09:49:27 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on January 16, 2011, 09:43:27 PM
The brother in law used to always say he's been on it so long he's saved more than any fine. I'm the type too get caught first run out!
Oh me too! 

I just got a bike!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2011, 10:02:51 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on January 16, 2011, 09:50:21 PM
500 quid I think. You wouldn't be long saving that amount if you were doing serious miles. The rise in prices will undoubtedly see a rise in the presence of dippers though.
Post by: DennistheMenace on January 16, 2011, 10:05:26 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2011, 10:02:51 PM
500 quid I think. You wouldn't be long saving that amount if you were doing serious miles. The rise in prices will undoubtedly see a rise in the presence of dippers though.

You see anyone I ask always says £500 'I think', I'd want to know for sure before I started using it

My point is surely the above amount isn't much of a deterrent because as you say you would make that money up in no time if you done big miles.
Post by: sammymaguire on January 16, 2011, 10:06:25 PM
I think it's a grand if you get caught down south and they take the motor til you pay up
Post by: thejuice on January 16, 2011, 10:10:07 PM
(http://www.treehugger.com/Nissan-Leaf-EV-1.jpg)

would ye??

Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2011, 10:14:29 PM
My wife has been driving a diesel car for a while never used it. I have just bought a diesel and I'm seriously considering it. £1.31 locally and its real madness why we (motorists) continue to pay it!!

Was talking to a lad who has two tanks in one, one with all red that runs the car and the other (where the dipper goes) with ordinary!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2011, 10:18:26 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on January 16, 2011, 10:05:26 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2011, 10:02:51 PM

You see anyone I ask always says £500 'I think', I'd want to know for sure before I started using it

My point is surely the above amount isn't much of a deterrent because as you say you would make that money up in no time if you done big miles.
It's 500 plus loss of revenue for fuel in your tank for a first offence.

MR the auld fake tank was a favourite of hauliers for years apparently. Have to feel for haulage firms as the fuel prices must be slaughtering them.
Post by: DennistheMenace on January 16, 2011, 10:22:10 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 16, 2011, 10:19:13 PM
It was bang on £500 in may when i got done for it

Where did you get done for it? Did they take the car off you until you paid? Do you think you saved £500 by using RD?
Post by: The Worker on January 16, 2011, 10:24:34 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on January 16, 2011, 10:22:10 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 16, 2011, 10:19:13 PM
It was bang on £500 in may when i got done for it

Where did you get done for it? Did they take the car off you until you paid? Do you think you saved £500 by using RD?

Whats the fine if you get caught again?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2011, 10:25:37 PM
I've never seen the dippers before, Do they normally have a spot where they hang about? £500 is a bit steep so it's a good deterrent in my book.

How much for the red stuff anyway?
Post by: Cde on January 16, 2011, 10:32:52 PM
how does that work Tg
Post by: DennistheMenace on January 16, 2011, 10:39:57 PM
Someone good at maths could work out how many times you would need to fill up on average to save the initial £500 fine.

My friend has been on it for years and we share lifts to work, it breaks my heart paying nearly double him for diesel.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 16, 2011, 10:47:43 PM
Quote from: Cde on January 16, 2011, 10:32:52 PM
how does that work Tg

What ya mean?
Post by: DennistheMenace on January 16, 2011, 10:51:36 PM
Suppose I've dipped my boyo in worse on Tuesday nights but less about the Parlour.

Might give it a rattle. Cue getting dipped next week, will stick to main roads.
Post by: Cde on January 16, 2011, 10:53:45 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 16, 2011, 10:47:43 PM
how does that work Tg

What ya mean?
do you drive on straight kero or mix it with clear. If so what is the mix and is it legal
Post by: tyrone girl on January 16, 2011, 10:53:54 PM
Would ya not try mixing the clear with kero? Very cheap and its clear if ur dipped
Post by: Cde on January 16, 2011, 10:59:19 PM
but it is clear ?
Post by: tyrone girl on January 16, 2011, 11:00:15 PM
Clear if its dipped yes.
Post by: Cde on January 16, 2011, 11:04:29 PM
thanks TG
Post by: tyroneboi on January 16, 2011, 11:21:56 PM
How much is diesel in around the  Monaghan area these days? I am very tempted to go with the red diesel but it would be my luck to get caught doing it.
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 16, 2011, 11:28:07 PM
How much is red diesel?

I was filling up on Friday evening and noticed a van at the green pump, couldnt believe that green diesel is over 80c a litre. Thankfully I have a company car, but if it was coming out of my own pocket I would be seriously tempted.
Post by: Hardy on January 17, 2011, 01:00:12 AM
Sorry, I've blundered in here by mistake. Don't mind me. Where's the door?
Post by: ONeill on January 17, 2011, 01:04:23 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 17, 2011, 01:00:12 AM

(http://kielyscomments.tripod.com/lis-ban-garda-med.jpg)

Lads, that's Hardy on the right.
Post by: comethekingdom on January 18, 2011, 09:54:44 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on January 18, 2011, 09:42:25 PM
One odd thing is that around the Spring/Summer of 2008 the price of petrol & diesel at the local pumps were the same as they are now, if not a little lower. Then the price of crude oil was $145 a barrel. Six months later the price plummeted to $30. At the moment the price is just under $100 a barrel which is still historically high, but how does that explain high fuel prices at a level when it was $145? The VAT increase in the north would be responsible for a 2p-3p increase but what makes up the rest of it? Surely inflation over such a short period of time isn't responsible for the rest.

I wonder if many diesel drivers have considered using used vegetable oil? It's legal in the UK for up to 2500 litres for your own use per year though I don't know anyone locally who does this. Would LPG be an answer?

Not on a diesel yoke
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 18, 2011, 10:37:48 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 16, 2011, 10:49:10 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on January 16, 2011, 10:39:57 PM
Someone good at maths could work out how many times you would need to fill up on average to save the initial £500 fine.

My friend has been on it for years and we share lifts to work, it breaks my heart paying nearly double him for diesel.

Pure luck - ya could drive on it for years and never get caught but ya could start on it tommorrow and get dipped on Tuesday. Id say go for it. I cant now cos id say my fine would be 1k if i was caught now. Kero far handier for me

I have to say I think you're great craic with all your little scams. But just one thing, if you were caught with your diesel/kero mix would you not get a £1,000 fine anyway given that you were caught before.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 18, 2011, 10:47:46 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 17, 2011, 01:04:23 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 17, 2011, 01:00:12 AM

(http://kielyscomments.tripod.com/lis-ban-garda-med.jpg)

Lads, that's Hardy on the right.

Where oh where did the idea that the Fiddler was a chicaloney? 

There is generally a lot of dipping around rural areas in the boarder counties.  It is a big risk in the area but if you want to risk it it can save you a pile.  Would not risk it now as a rule but have done it a few times in the past. 
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 18, 2011, 10:57:27 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on January 18, 2011, 10:52:13 PM
Is Bio diesel safe to use in any engine?

Does it affect warranty?

Is it any cheaper?

No, the quality varies a lot.

Yes, see above.

Yes, but see above.
Post by: Sure,hit it yourself Ref! on January 18, 2011, 11:14:44 PM
Drive on the green myself, wouldnt chance the red unless doing big miles in the south. Have heard reports that the Customs in the 6counties cant do you for driving on the green as technically you are not defrauding HMRC of the excise as you wouldnt have bought the diesel in their jurisdiction anyway, and therefore HMRC would not have received any tax on it. Works the same with the Red when in the South.

Have never heard of anyone getting a fine for Green in the North, in fact have been with people that get dipped and get away with it, apparently its difficult to tell apart from the BioDiesel in colour and needs lab testing to determine what it is sometimes...makes it harder for them too if you mix a wee bit of clear in aswell.

I would always carry a receipt for clear in the car anyway...make sure to take one out of the aul dolls car every now and again!! ;)
Post by: lawnseed on January 19, 2011, 12:14:28 AM
i've had a go at all of the scams mentioned
1. kero will feck up your injection pump if you dont put a little 2 stroke in it (this lubs the pump use green only) but on modern diesels it doesnt help, fixing the pump and injectors costs big money.. false economy
2. bio diesel is just ordinary diesel diluted with what ever is the cheapest shite that will burn it can be mold oil, linseed oil, veg oil...
it may be slightly cheaper but the mpg will not be as good.. false ecomomy
3. washed diesel if its done properly which is expensive it will pass most roadside tests (unless theres new tests) the trouble is the boys just want to use acid (cheap method) which fecks up your engine.. false economy
4. green diesel not legal in nordie land no matter what you hear.. false..
5. hauliers on agri diesel dont make any more dough because they need paperwork ie receipts for white diesel also they need to write cheques for white and get the garage to change them and give them back the balance of the money. false..
6. false receipts this can work if used in moderation whereby you can, if you are vat. reg get the garage to slip you a receipt for someone elses fuel and you claim the vat back as part of your expenses 20%. needs to be cash transaction or you will have to write a cheque and have the garage give you back the money
7. it is an offence to doctor the fuel of any road going vehicle with a view to avading duty, that means throwing a half gallon of waste oil into your tank to cover up the fact that you are on agri diesel wont help your case. " officer its good for the engine.."
blah blah

LPG this can be a good saving ONLY if it is properly managed
Unless you buy a manufacturers LPG conversation ie factory fitted from new you dont qualify for the cheaper road tax.
you have to have to pick a petrol car to convert..
consider boot space the gas tank will have to be fitted in the boot or in the sparewheel well.. its a mess if you've got kids and need the space.
With LPG conversions you lose some power typically your 2liter petrol will feel like a 1600cc something to consider if your towing etc.
the cost of converting the last i heard it was approx 1200 stg thats in portadown.
it doesnt pay to drive all over the place to get gas you may have to run on petrol sometimes until its convienent to get gas. dont forget to add that in to your calculations.
puting a 1200stg gas conversation on a car doesnt increase the value of the car 1 penny you'll take a hit when you sell.
there is one advantage to converting you can get a great petrol car and they are hundreds maybe thousands cheaper than the same model in diesel and they are frequently better finished. typically mercedes  nobody wants a petrol merc
you can make huge savings if you convert say a merc and then when your changing go for the same model and used the same kit ie get it put onto the new car. changing over is relatively simple and not expensive.

Most people yap about the cost of fuel but dont mind taking a hiding when they buy or sell their car. depreciation is one of the biggest costs involved in motoring.. buy smart sell smart.
alot of drivers could benefit from using a trip meter or power usage meter on thier car good driving practice can shave pounds of the fuel bill.

right now i've a diesel avensis 2litre, 2001. i gave 1400stg for it and with 120000 aprox on the clock its driving like new and looks ok. i intend to drive it for five years (on white) at which time there will be probably 200,000 on it and it will be worth 3 or 4 hundred. so 1000stg plus maintainance for five years isnt too bad fingers crossed ;)
Post by: Banana Man on January 19, 2011, 09:26:36 AM
simple way round it lads, get a syndicate going...

Say you have 10 people in the syndicate, everyone fires £50 in each into the pot, then that leaves £500, so whoever gets caught lifts the pot then pays the fine, then everyone throws another 50 notes in

I know a few boys done it and they only got caught once in 3 years, the same boy got done twice but they kicked him out, i think that was the rule, once your caught you're out as the fine inreases to a grand and you lose the car
Post by: mountainboii on January 19, 2011, 09:32:32 AM
Quote from: Sure,hit it yourself Ref! on January 18, 2011, 11:14:44 PM
Drive on the green myself, wouldnt chance the red unless doing big miles in the south. Have heard reports that the Customs in the 6counties cant do you for driving on the green as technically you are not defrauding HMRC of the excise as you wouldnt have bought the diesel in their jurisdiction anyway, and therefore HMRC would not have received any tax on it. Works the same with the Red when in the South.

Have never heard of anyone getting a fine for Green in the North, in fact have been with people that get dipped and get away with it, apparently its difficult to tell apart from the BioDiesel in colour and needs lab testing to determine what it is sometimes...makes it harder for them too if you mix a wee bit of clear in aswell.

I would always carry a receipt for clear in the car anyway...make sure to take one out of the aul dolls car every now and again!! ;)

This is definitely untrue.
Post by: illdecide on January 19, 2011, 12:15:26 PM
The cost of fuel is just out of hand, where is this going to end. I'm putting about £20 - £30 of diesel a week into my car and i wouldn't do 100 miles in a week, i know the short journeys are the worst for fuel consumption but thats the way it goes i suppose. I only ever used red diesel twice in my life and on the 2nd fill i drove into the customs stopping vehicles just outside Portadown, to this day i still can't believe they waved me on the only explanation i can give is the car was only about 1 year old and they thought i wouldn't do it or they had enough pulled over at the side of the road and had no more room for vehicles. That was the last time i ever used the ribena...

That was about 6 years ago and have never been dipped since...
Post by: johnneycool on January 19, 2011, 02:33:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2011, 10:14:29 PM
My wife has been driving a diesel car for a while never used it. I have just bought a diesel and I'm seriously considering it. £1.31 locally and its real madness why we (motorists) continue to pay it!!

Was talking to a lad who has two tanks in one, one with all red that runs the car and the other (where the dipper goes) with ordinary!!

I think the dippers can take a sample out of the filter Milltown, so you'd be caught with the false tank as well.

The price is getting beyond a joke at this stage.

The yanks are paying $3 a gallon (US), just over 3 1/2 litres, so they're paying about 60p a litre!!
Post by: illdecide on January 19, 2011, 02:41:08 PM
4.546 litres in a gallon which is 66 cents a litre and if you convert that into pounds it's probably about £0.40p a litre but i doubt very much thats all it's costing them TBH
Post by: Ulick on January 19, 2011, 02:45:29 PM
Right if a man's getting it tight, how would be go about getting some of this multicoloured diesel?

I take it that's from the pump that's usually set aside from the main pumps?
Is green the equivalent of the northern red stuff?
Would I the man just pull up there and make a fill? Do the boys in the shop not say anything?
Post by: Hereiam on January 19, 2011, 02:47:55 PM
Gona start on it again very shortly. If u buy 100 gallon works out about 66p/litre. Will just stick to the back roads. And I know the spots where thay are likely to be.
Post by: illdecide on January 19, 2011, 02:51:08 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 19, 2011, 02:33:47 PM

I think the dippers can take a sample out of the filter Milltown, so you'd be caught with the false tank as well.

The yanks are paying $3 a gallon (US), just over 3 1/2 litres, so they're paying about 60p a litre!!

Just checked it there Johnny, you were right them hoors are paying $3 a gallon which works out at about 66 cents (prob about 40p a litre)...So why the f**k have we to pay 3 times that
Post by: theskull1 on January 19, 2011, 02:56:17 PM
US gallons are different

1 US Gallon =3.78 lites

Post by: Hereiam on January 19, 2011, 02:57:48 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 19, 2011, 02:51:08 PM

Just checked it there Johnny, you were right them hoors are paying $3 a gallon which works out at about 66 cents (prob about 40p a litre)...So why the f**k have we to pay 3 times that

Its because the USA has a larger population and becasue of this they don't need to tax it as much as here.
Post by: Banana Man on January 19, 2011, 03:13:39 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 19, 2011, 02:51:08 PM

we need to invade kuwait or somewhere
Post by: Hereiam on January 19, 2011, 03:20:20 PM
we couldn't even invade tesco we are that bad.  ;D
Post by: mountainboii on January 19, 2011, 03:36:57 PM
Quote from: Ulick on January 19, 2011, 02:45:29 PM
Right if a man's getting it tight, how would be go about getting some of this multicoloured diesel?

Would I the man just pull up there and make a fill? Do the boys in the shop not say anything?

There'd be certain places where you'd get funnier looks for putting the normal stuff in.
Post by: Banana Man on January 19, 2011, 04:07:41 PM
I hate to rain on anyone's parade lads, but i think there has been a bit too much info fired out here, if one of her majesty's finest pops his/her head up there could be problems - just a thought  :-X
Post by: Puckoon on January 19, 2011, 04:37:44 PM
The "yanks" are paying about $3.83 a gallon currently.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 19, 2011, 04:46:54 PM
Which is about $4.61 per European (imperial) gallon Puck (US gallon = 0.83 of European gallon).
Post by: Bogball XV on January 19, 2011, 04:50:55 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 16, 2011, 10:54:48 PM
Quote from: Cde on January 16, 2011, 10:53:45 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 16, 2011, 10:47:43 PM
how does that work Tg

What ya mean?
do you drive on straight kero or mix it with clear. If so what is the mix and is it legal

Would put 10 and 10 in together - sometimes 12 kero 8 diesel and sometimes other way about depends wat notion takes me. It is not legal
why is it not legal?  I'm ignorant of the whole thing tbh, so forgive my stupidity, but I can't see why this would be illegal.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 19, 2011, 05:00:56 PM
I thought Agricultural diesel was green
Post by: Bogball XV on January 19, 2011, 05:11:14 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 19, 2011, 05:00:56 PM
red in the north.

Fintona,

you also have to factor in the strength of the dollar when comparing pump prices to historic oil prices.  In July 2008 when the peaks were reached, the dollar was about 1.60 to the euro, now it's more commonly about 1.30 to the euro.  Also, duties in the south anyway have gone up by a fixed amount per litre, with that not being dependent on selling price like VAT etc is, that is a larger deteminant on price.

The reason that fuel prices in the US are lower is because govt have taken the decision that it would not be in their best interests to raise more revenue from fuel duties, simply put, car manufacturers would be up in arms and the people might resort to arms.
Post by: Puckoon on January 19, 2011, 05:12:46 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on January 19, 2011, 05:11:14 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 19, 2011, 05:00:56 PM
red in the north.

Fintona,

you also have to factor in the strength of the dollar when comparing pump prices to historic oil prices.  In July 2008 when the peaks were reached, the dollar was about 1.60 to the euro, now it's more commonly about 1.30 to the euro.  Also, duties in the south anyway have gone up by a fixed amount per litre, with that not being dependent on selling price like VAT etc is, that is a larger deteminant on price.

The reason that fuel prices in the US are lower is because govt have taken the decision that it would not be in their best interests to raise more revenue from fuel duties, simply put, car manufacturers would be up in arms and the people might resort to arms.

Careful now, there could be one unhinged American reading this.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 19, 2011, 06:01:13 PM

Also have the same questions! Do you have to go to some backwater filling station as it would surely be conspicuous pulling into a big Texaco. Next thing you know the peelers are pulling in to buy donuts!

66p/litre as opposed to 140p/litre means I'd be saving £37 for a 50 litre fill! Jesus! A fill does me 2 weeks roughly so I'd have my fine covered in 6 months.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 19, 2011, 06:18:36 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 19, 2011, 06:01:13 PM

Also have the same questions! Do you have to go to some backwater filling station as it would surely be conspicuous pulling into a big Texaco. Next thing you know the peelers are pulling in to buy donuts!

66p/litre as opposed to 140p/litre means I'd be saving £37 for a 50 litre fill! Jesus! A fill does me 2 weeks roughly so I'd have my fine covered in 6 months.

Two weeks? f**k a fill only does me about 3-4 days
Post by: lawnseed on January 19, 2011, 10:05:43 PM
be careful some modern diesels with computer fuel management systems have sensors that detect poor quality or incorrect fuel then they set of an alarm and they go to "limp home mode" this will scare the bejesus out of you. your car will not rev out and may not do any more than 30mph bells will ring and in one case i heard of the fukn car kept shouting "you have filled incorrect fuel take me to the nearest dealer" the car continued this until the guy took the car to the dealer even though he drained the red out. 110stg to have the alarm reset on computer and warranty questions
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 19, 2011, 10:36:54 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 19, 2011, 10:05:43 PM
be careful some modern diesels with computer fuel management systems have sensors that detect poor quality or incorrect fuel then they set of an alarm and they go to "limp home mode" this will scare the bejesus out of you. your car will not rev out and may not do any more than 30mph bells will ring and in one case i heard of the fukn car kept shouting "you have filled incorrect fuel take me to the nearest dealer" the car continued this until the guy took the car to the dealer even though he drained the red out. 110stg to have the alarm reset on computer and warranty questions
I thought red from the pump was white diesel with a red dye added to distinguish it otherwise chemically they are the same? I'm not talking about some shit you get pumped out of a slurry tanker in Cullyhanna.
Post by: delboy on January 19, 2011, 10:43:46 PM

With respect that doesn't ring true, the dyes don't affect the quality of the fuel one ioata, its not poor quality and it doesn't damage the engine, what does screw the car up is 'laundered' fuel which uses acid to remove the colour so it can be sold on as bona fide fuel, fine for making criminals money, not so good for your engine though.
Post by: ardal on January 19, 2011, 10:51:57 PM
Quote from: delboy on January 19, 2011, 10:43:46 PM

With respect that doesn't ring true, the dyes don't affect the quality of the fuel one ioata, its not poor quality and it doesn't damage the engine, what does screw the car up is 'laundered' fuel which uses acid to remove the colour so it can be sold on as bona fide fuel, fine for making criminals money, not so good for your engine though.
[/quote

Also though Deweed was speaking his usual, but he doesn't actually mention what type fo fuel. I suppose there'd be a chance that a car will yap if you put in "harmful fuel". Which brand of car has this anyway? What would happen if you put in unleaded 95 and not the cars usual?
Post by: tyrone girl on January 19, 2011, 10:54:16 PM
The engine would not only sing or shout at u it would jump through the windscreen and slap u round the face
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 19, 2011, 11:15:18 PM
Agri diesel has a higher sulphate content. It is very unlikely that it would cause a car to go into limp mode. Even agri diesel and Kero will now have "additives" that shouldn't really be there. There was also a case were petrol was found to contain methanol, they are diluting everything these days.
Be very careful where you buy your fuel if you value your car.
Post by: lawnseed on January 19, 2011, 11:34:26 PM
tyrone girl you wouldnt dump your car on any of us when your selling it on? :o would you? :D we're your mates etc gaels and all that.. you'd take it to trainors.

btw lads. as a haulier in a previous life i have stated on this thread that i have tried every single way to avoid paying for dear diesel including laundering, split tanks, kerosene, tanks in the trailer with soleniods to switch it on and off if you were stopped etc.. you name it i've done it or seen it done. i had a transit with a compressor in the back except the compressor was actually full of red diesel and pipe to the lift pump. waste of time! messing with fuel is kidding yourself. i have tried LPG.  whether you believe me or not is your own business. i actually made a filter capable of removing dye from red diesel and used it sucessfully (got fuel tested). if it doesnt pay to put the right stuff in the yoke- park her up! by a honda 50- 100mpg.
jez! you didnt think that BP shareholders were gonna pay for that gulf clean up.. we are :'(
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 19, 2011, 11:44:55 PM
This may be of some interest to some.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u5iFESMAU58&feature=related

It was recorded in 1999, but is very relevant to todays oil prices. Some very interesting points raised even if it does go on a bit.
Post by: lawnseed on January 19, 2011, 11:57:25 PM
hydrogen could be the way its gonna go (if you win the lotto- but then you could afford diesel) i watched a programme about alternative vehicles they had this good looking motor it was doing the equavilant of 250 mpg in monetary terms but with the increase in fuel prices that could be 350mpg now. wouldnt mind trying an electric car they reckon that if 25% of the money and time spent developing the internal combustion engine had been spent on battery development that the internal combustion engine would be obselete in cars now. so theres hope- even for mayo;)