Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2010, 12:13:56 AM

Title: Why do Northern Irish Nationalists call St.Stephens or Stephens Day, Boxing Day?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2010, 12:13:56 AM
Why do Northern Irish Nationalists call St.Stephens or Stephens Day, Boxing Day? Cannot understand this, have met quite a few recently who didn't even know what I was talking about when I said Stephens Day.

Is it more common up in the 6 to call it Boxing Day rather than Stephens Day?
Title: Re: Why do Northern Irish Nationalists call St.Stephens or Stephens Day, Boxing Day?
Post by: screenexile on December 16, 2010, 12:16:29 AM
Yes . . . probably because we have English telly and they all call it Boxing Day. It's written in newspapers and everything else so we don't know any better.
Title: Re: Why do Northern Irish Nationalists call St.Stephens or Stephens Day, Boxing Day?
Post by: lawnseed on December 16, 2010, 12:27:12 AM
why are we entertaining this guy? .... for talks sake.. what do northern unionists call boxing day or stephens day ho hum... ::)
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 12:28:30 AM
Quote from: screenexile on December 16, 2010, 12:16:29 AM
Yes . . . probably because we have English telly and they all call it Boxing Day. It's written in newspapers and everything else so we don't know any better.

Thats exactly it. Its always been boxing day flicking through the tv schedules and so on. It just kind of stuck.
Post by: armaghniac on December 16, 2010, 12:36:02 AM
There are a lot of proto-nationalists, the Boxing day thing is a good test.
Post by: Ulick on December 16, 2010, 12:36:23 AM
I thought you boys all took the Irish News? If you look at it this year you'll see the 26th listed as "St Stephen's Day".
Post by: Tyrones own on December 16, 2010, 01:49:20 AM
What does it matter really? ... it is what it is :-\
Post by: ross4life on December 16, 2010, 02:04:03 AM
"goes back to the late Roman/early Christian era; metal boxes placed outside churches were used to collect special offerings tied to the Feast of Saint Stephen."

It all good what people decide to call it but to be honest of the two Boxing day sounds better.
Post by: ballinaman on December 16, 2010, 02:57:00 AM
Would boxing day would have more resonance with you mayogodhelpus seeing as your an atheist and all that jazz??
All i know is that it's the day when ya still recovering from the dinner and biggest session of the year is on later!
Post by: haveaharp on December 16, 2010, 08:30:23 AM
Why would an anti northern ROI unionist be concerned with what the day after christmas day is called in a foreign country to him ?
Title: Re: Why do Northern Irish Nationalists call St.Stephens or Stephens Day, Boxing
Post by: thewobbler on December 16, 2010, 09:08:56 AM
If anyone honestly knows who St Stephen was, what he did, or why 26 December is named after him, please let the rest of us know.
Post by: Banana Man on December 16, 2010, 09:12:24 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on December 16, 2010, 02:57:00 AM
Would boxing day would have more resonance with you mayogodhelpus seeing as your an atheist and all that jazz??
All i know is that it's the day when ya still recovering from the dinner and biggest session of the year is on later!

ha ha right enough why are you so concerned with a relgious day lad???

for what it's worth most i went to primary school with call it st stephens day but that's because in our primary school we had a wicked bitch of a nun and if you called it boxing day then you got boxed round the ears

however boxing day is probably accurate enough when you think of the fights that spill out that night every year in the nightclubs  :D
Title: Re: Why do Northern Irish Nationalists call St.Stephens or Stephens Day, Boxing
Post by: deiseach on December 16, 2010, 09:24:01 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on December 16, 2010, 09:08:56 AM
If anyone honestly knows who St Stephen was, what he did, or why 26 December is named after him, please let the rest of us know.

Google is your friend
Post by: Tubberman on December 16, 2010, 09:33:37 AM
Looks like you touched a bit of a nerve there Mayogodhelpus! The nordies are getting a bit sensitive and defensive about it.  ;)

I work with a lad in Dublin who called it Boxing Day last year when we were talking about the Xmas. He was a big Man Utd fan, that's all he talked about, so he probably got it from Sky Sports and all the english media he watched and read.
He's grown sick of soccer anyway thank god, can now actually talk to him about other subjects. So hopefully he'll be on about the Stephen's night piss-up from now on.
Post by: Tubberman on December 16, 2010, 09:36:48 AM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on December 16, 2010, 09:30:44 AM
http://hubpages.com/hub/St_Stephens_Day_-_December_26th (http://hubpages.com/hub/St_Stephens_Day_-_December_26th)

And its neither St Stephen's Day or Boxing Day, its Lá an Dreoilín.

Do they still do 'The Wren' or 'The Wran' where any of ye are from?
I remember some of the local lads around Ballintubber years ago - faces painted, some with tin whistles, playing a tune and then recite the song/poem. It goes something like "The wran, the wran, the king of the birds..." can't remember the rest.

The last few years, the only ones I've seen doing it have been Traveller children going around the pubs looking for money.

Just saw that the poem is in that link:

The wren, the wren, the king of all birds,

On St. Stephen's Day was caught in the furze,

Although he is little, his family is great,

I pray you, good landlady, give us a treat.

My box would speak, if it had but a tongue,

And two or three shillings, would do it not wrong,

Sing holly, sing ivy--sing ivy, sing holly,

A drop just to drink, it would drown melancholy.

And if you draw it of the best,

I hope in heaven your soul will rest;

But if you draw it of the small,

It won't agree with these wren boys at all.
Post by: Hardy on December 16, 2010, 09:46:25 AM
http://hubpages.com/hub/St_Stephens_Day_-_December_26th (http://hubpages.com/hub/St_Stephens_Day_-_December_26th)

It's none of those. It's Steevenzes Day.
Post by: Estimator on December 16, 2010, 09:56:06 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2010, 12:13:56 AM
Why do Northern Irish Nationalists call St.Stephens or Stephens Day, Boxing Day? Cannot understand this, have met quite a few recently who didn't even know what I was talking about when I said Stephens Day.

Stephen & Patrick get all the attention for Saints days in Ireland yet we don't care about the others.
Why don't we call the 7th Dec St Ambrose's day or 31st Dec St Sylvester's?
Post by: lurganblue on December 16, 2010, 10:07:15 AM
Shrove Tuesday and pancake Tuesday if you will? Who gives a feck
Post by: 5 Sams on December 16, 2010, 10:16:59 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 16, 2010, 09:36:48 AM

I remember some of the local lads around Ballintubber years ago - faces painted, some with tin whistles, playing a tune and then recite the song/poem. It goes something like "The wran, the wran, the king of the birds..." can't remember the rest.

The last few years, the only ones I've seen doing it have been Traveller children going around the pubs looking for money.

The wren, the wren, the king of all birds,

On St. Stephen's Day was caught in the furze,

Although he is little, his family is great,

I pray you, good landlady, give us a treat.

My box would speak, if it had but a tongue,

And two or three shillings, would do it not wrong,

Sing holly, sing ivy--sing ivy, sing holly,

A drop just to drink, it would drown melancholy.

And if you draw it of the best,

I hope in heaven your soul will rest;

But if you draw it of the small,

It won't agree with these wren boys at all.

Dingle's your only place for the Wran....some crack!
Post by: unitedireland on December 16, 2010, 10:19:36 AM
Yeah this really annoys me. I like to call them west brits
Post by: Estimator on December 16, 2010, 10:25:59 AM
Quote from: unitedireland on December 16, 2010, 10:19:36 AM
Yeah this really annoys me. I like to call them west brits
Why? 
Can you explain why St Stephen is more important than the other saints, in the sense that no one gets annoyed that 7th Dec is not referred to as St Ambrose's day?
Post by: BennyHarp on December 16, 2010, 10:46:19 AM

You can't understand this?
And people you where talking to didnt even know what you were talking about?

Its good to see you are hanging around with people of the same intellect as yourself!

Also it amuses me when Southern Irish Nationalists call us Northern Irish Nationalists. Generally, this comes before they tell us about something "we" do that they disapprove of.
Post by: bennydorano on December 16, 2010, 11:13:45 AM
Brought to my attention as an 'issue' a few years ago by a chap, so i obviously continue to call it Boxing day for the annoyance value.  I would say who gives a f**k? but some obviously do.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 16, 2010, 11:15:41 AM
Look whatever I call King George Day is my own business.
Post by: Rossfan on December 16, 2010, 11:18:39 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 16, 2010, 10:16:59 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 16, 2010, 09:36:48 AM

Still a bit of it round North Ros among the children when I was young ... we'd dress up in oul clothes and rattle a few coins, blow into mouth organs and the like door to door.
Now it's confined to occasional real musicians doin rounds of pubs .
The rhyme we had was
" The wran the wran king of all birds
St Stephenses day was caught in the furze
Up with the kettles and down with the pans
Give us a penny to bury the wran"
I believe wren boys were called mummers in parts of Laythrum .
Post by: ziggysego on December 16, 2010, 11:19:20 AM
The Greencastle Boxing Day Run is on St. Stephen's Day. Anyone going?
Post by: Tubberman on December 16, 2010, 11:25:37 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 16, 2010, 11:13:45 AM
Brought to my attention as an 'issue' a few years ago by a chap, so i obviously continue to call it Boxing day for the annoyance value.  I would say who gives a f**k? but some obviously do.

Ah yeah, sure Guy Fawkes/Bonfire night is the same as well isn't it  ;)

Of course, the REAL bonfire night is on 23rd June
Post by: deiseach on December 16, 2010, 11:28:39 AM
So - have we established, as a rule, whether Taigs in the North call it St Stephen's Day or Boxing Day?
Post by: Orior on December 16, 2010, 11:32:58 AM
To those who say its all irrelevant....

The St Stephen's Day/Boxing Day thing is a small example of how the "Irishness" of northern nationalists has been eroded away. On its own, its a tiny matter, but its death by a thousand cuts. I thank the Irish News for their persistance with the name.

The english want northern nationalists to fall in line with OWC claiming that the six counties will be a better happier place. Thanks, but no thanks. I'll continute to use St Stephen's Day.
Post by: bennydorano on December 16, 2010, 12:05:48 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 16, 2010, 11:25:37 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 16, 2010, 11:13:45 AM

Ah yeah, sure Guy Fawkes/Bonfire night is the same as well isn't it  ;)

Of course, the REAL bonfire night is on 23rd June
Failing to see your point, but maybe it's because s I dont care about it either.
Post by: guy crouchback on December 16, 2010, 12:22:14 PM
this is like something from Gulliver's travels.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 16, 2010, 12:23:03 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 16, 2010, 11:32:58 AM

The St Stephen's Day/Boxing Day thing is a small example of how the "Irishness" of northern nationalists has been eroded away. On its own, its a tiny matter, but its death by a thousand cuts. I thank the Irish News for their persistance with the name.

The english want northern nationalists to fall in line with OWC claiming that the six counties will be a better happier place. Thanks, but no thanks. I'll continute to use St Stephen's Day.

Post by: deiseach on December 16, 2010, 12:43:41 PM

As British as Finchley, eh?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 16, 2010, 01:42:28 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 16, 2010, 11:28:39 AM
So - have we established, as a rule, whether Taigs in the North call it St Stephen's Day or Boxing Day?

Both are used but Boxing Day is much more common.
Post by: snoopdog on December 16, 2010, 01:48:16 PM
who gives a fook
I live in dublin and i call it boxing day just to annoy people stupid enough to worry about it and when im home vice versa.
Get a life FFS
Post by: Aerlik on December 16, 2010, 02:32:45 PM
WTF is a "Northern Irish nationalist"?
Post by: balladmaker on December 16, 2010, 02:37:35 PM
QuoteWTF is a "Northern Irish nationalist"?

Don't quote me on this, but I think it is an Irish nationalist who lives in the north.
Post by: ziggysego on December 16, 2010, 02:47:46 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on December 16, 2010, 02:37:35 PM
QuoteWTF is a "Northern Irish nationalist"?

Don't quote me on this, but I think it is an Irish nationalist who lives in the north.

Wouldn't that be a northern Irish nationalist then?
Post by: Estimator on December 16, 2010, 02:55:39 PM
At the risk of repeating myself, why are southerns so adamant about calling the 26th December - St Stephens Day, yet other saints days do not have the same level of importance.
Post by: Tubberman on December 16, 2010, 02:59:41 PM
QuoteAt the risk of repeating myself, why are southerns so adamant about calling the 26th December - St Stephens Day, yet other saints days do not have the same level of importance.

No, not all saints days have the same importance.
St Patrick's Day and St Stephen's Day are the two I can think of that are called that by everyone.
St Brigid's Day is called that by a lot of people, used to be when we were making the crosses in school anyway...

To turn the question, why are the British so adamant about calling the 26th December Boxing Day?
Answer: Because that's what they were brought up calling it, and that's what most people around them call it.
No big deal...
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 03:07:39 PM

I really thought you had a clue. The subliminal messaging in the Tv times - those (English) bastards.

The 'Irishness' started eroding at a ferocuious pace as we gradually we turned into a shower of selfish, whoring, intolerant, racist shites - who'd trample over their neighbour these days for a quick buck instead of lending a hand. Lets try and fix that first (if we can), and leave the stand against semantics to those with really nothing else to live for.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on December 16, 2010, 03:14:40 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 03:07:39 PM
The 'Irishness' started eroding at a ferocuious pace as we gradually we turned into a shower of selfish, whoring, intolerant, racist shites - who'd trample over their neighbour these days for a quick buck instead of lending a hand. Lets try and fix that first (if we can), and leave the stand against semantics to those with really nothing else to live for.

Surely the fact that we turned into a shower of selfish, whoring, intolerant, racist shites - who'd trample over their neighbour these days for a quick buck instead of lending a hand put "us" on more of a par with all the rest of the "Irish"
Post by: Tubberman on December 16, 2010, 03:18:37 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on December 16, 2010, 03:14:40 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 03:07:39 PM

Surely the fact that we turned into a shower of selfish, whoring, intolerant, racist shites - who'd trample over their neighbour these days for a quick buck instead of lending a hand put "us" on more of a par with all the rest of the "Irish"

Who are you to call me a "selfish, whoring, intolerant, racist shite"
To paraphrase Mrs Doyle "I'll shove that fckin' pitchfork up your hole!"  :D ;)
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 03:19:58 PM
A man could be forgiven for thinking that it applies to the whole nation RD. Point remaining that it highlights the futility of the discussion! Sad that a situation exists where there is still room for critique and suggestion over what term you use to call a particular day - and furthermore that it is part of a plot by the auld enemy to mindfuck us into peaceful submission.
Post by: Banana Man on December 16, 2010, 03:48:22 PM
lads i can guarantee in the next few years we won't be discussing if it's st stephens day or boxing day but it will be wether we are allowed to refer to Christmas as exactly that 'Christmas' or will we have to use the term 'the holiday season' like they do in the states, eroding all sign of Christianity....
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 03:52:46 PM
I really hope that doesnt happen at home. It is just stupid. We are having our "holiday" party today.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 16, 2010, 04:00:40 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 03:52:46 PM
I really hope that doesnt happen at home. It is just stupid. We are having our "holiday" party today.

Is avoidance of the word Christmas that widespread Puck?
Post by: The Iceman on December 16, 2010, 04:00:46 PM
I don't like but completely understand why Christmas is referred to as the "Holidays" over here in America.
America is a melting pot of races, creeds and religions. Unfortunately there is a Jewish dominance (at least in NY and the Tri-State area) and to be politically correct everything is Happy Holidays. I send Christmas cards to my clients and very few if any have been offended, I get the odd word from management but for the most part they leave me alone.

What gets to me over here is that Christians are allowed Christmas Trees as office decorations (not religious in any shape or form) while Jewish people are allowed Stars of David, Menorahs, Honika (sp) bushes (all religious)...... Vent over.... ha

Ireland will definitely head the same route as the religious part of Christmas takes a back seat amoung people and it just becomes another Hallmark Holiday......
Post by: Rossfan on December 16, 2010, 04:16:30 PM
Never ceases to amaze me how much Jewish influence there is in the U S.
No wonder Israel can do what it likes. >:( >:( >:(

Anyway it's up to us here in Ireland to make sure that 1,500 years of (lip servces to ) Christianity isnt thrown out in a fit of " multi cultural " political correctness.
One thing we need to keep alive is that wonderful tradition of Bonfire night on 23rd June ... now sadly only maintained in a few parts of the Country.
Post by: red hander on December 16, 2010, 04:54:49 PM

WTF's a 'Northern Irish Nationalist'?  As a nationalist from the north of Ireland, I'd really like to know.
Post by: bennydorano on December 16, 2010, 05:00:52 PM
A Northern Irish Nationalist is surely a disaffected unionist who'd support a UDI (unilateral dec of Independence) for NI? 
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 05:17:31 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 16, 2010, 04:00:40 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 03:52:46 PM

Is avoidance of the word Christmas that widespread Puck?

In all things that are official, or could lead to unrest - Yes. For example, there are no mentions of Christmas in coroprate correspondence - except to say the office is closed 1/2 day, day before Christmas, and Christmas day. All sanctioned "Christmas" get togethers are grouped under the term "Holiday". Holiday party, Holiday lunch, Holiday white elephant gift exchange. There are plenty of times that Christmas can be used - and of course you can say it as much as you want - I don't know that I'd get in trouble for wishing someone a happy Christmas.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2010, 05:40:12 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 16, 2010, 12:23:03 PM

I think Orior and Nally Stand are on the same wavelength as me on this one. One of my housemates is an Irish Nationalist from Northern Ireland and he is Southern traitors this, Southern traitors that yet its all Boxing Day, the Premiership, Glasgow Celtic, Southern Ireland & Northern Ireland, Irish is a waste of time, the Sun Newspaper all the way with this lad and all I can think is  ::) He is a sound lad but he is all RA songs down the pub but he really seems to rather the British way of life.

Also to the ones on about St. Stephens Day and me being an Atheist, I also have Stephens Day in the subject title. I have no problem with words from tradition.
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 05:41:24 PM
So your housemate is a toolwagon. That hardly requires a thread!
Post by: red hander on December 16, 2010, 05:41:56 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 16, 2010, 05:00:52 PM
A Northern Irish Nationalist is surely a disaffected unionist who'd support a UDI (unilateral dec of Independence) for NI?

That's what I was thinking ... dunno how the intellectual heavyweight who started this thread didn't realise that
Post by: Arthur_Friend on December 16, 2010, 05:42:44 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2010, 05:40:12 PM

I think Orior and Nally Stand are on the same wavelength as me on this one. One of my housemates if an Irish Nationalist from Northern Ireland and he is Southern traitors this, Southern traitors that yet its all Boxing Day, the Premiership, Glasgow Celtic, Southern Ireland & Northern Ireland, Irish is a waste of time, the Sun Newspaper all the way with this lad and all I can think is  ::) He is a sound lad but he is all RA songs down the pub but he really seems to rather the British way of life.

And what does the Irish way of life consist of?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2010, 05:45:16 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 05:41:24 PM
So your housemate is a toolwagon. That hardly requires a thread!

Maybe, but outside of a GAA setting I have come across more Irish Nationalists from the North with this view than not. Even in the GAA world I have come across alot of Sun Newspaper, Boxing Day, "Southern Ireland", referring to Northern Ireland as Britain not the U.K., Glasgow Celtic attitude.
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 05:50:59 PM
I'm sorry for your troubles. I don't doubt you have met plenty of toolwagons - but you are fond of a spot of typecasting it would seem.

(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_OvD7y01oznw/SclohCBrE8I/AAAAAAAAD6Y/fb2XDc_7loA/s400/No+to+Foreign+Games+RSF+style.jpg)

Don't fool yourself into thinking this stereotype is not found in "both" Irelands however. Calling December 26th Boxing day - by no stretch of the wildest imagination should be grounds for being lumped in with Sun reading, Glasgow Celtic supporting, Pub 'Ra song singing idiots.

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2010, 05:51:46 PM
Quote from: haveaharp on December 16, 2010, 08:30:23 AM
Why would an anti northern ROI unionist be concerned with what the day after christmas day is called in a foreign country to him ?

Not anti-Northern.
Not from the ROI (its a soccer team).
Not a Unionist - Anyone on here will tell you despite many of my views, a Unionist I am not.
The North is not a foreign country to me, its under different jursdiction to the Official Irish state in which I was born.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2010, 05:55:00 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 05:50:59 PM
I'm sorry for your troubles. I don't doubt you have met plenty of toolwagons - but you are fond of a spot of typecasting it would seem.

(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_OvD7y01oznw/SclohCBrE8I/AAAAAAAAD6Y/fb2XDc_7loA/s400/No+to+Foreign+Games+RSF+style.jpg)

Don't fool yourself into thinking this stereotype is not found in "both" Irelands however. Calling December 26th Boxing day - by no stretch of the wildest imagination should be grounds for being lumped in with Sun reading, Glasgow Celtic supporting, Pub 'Ra song singing idiots.

Fair enough Puckoon, while I don't believe its a British Govt. conspiracy, I do believe its part of the bigger Rupert Murdoch pushing the British Commonwealth-U.S.A. Axis view of the world.
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2010, 05:58:37 PM
There you go - thats the nail on the head I think. Many Western country traditions and values are being eroded by the machine that is the "western world". Smarter phones, bigger cars, bigger houses, stock market gambling, victorias secret etc... Eventually human nature wants the best of everything - even at the expense of things that will be destroyed but not noticed before its too late.
Post by: The Iceman on December 16, 2010, 06:11:49 PM
Curious to know what you think is being destroyed Puck as I myself notice a lot too and I think its more because I live away from home and things get magnified more so than if I was at home (if that makes sense?).
Post by: Arthur_Friend on December 16, 2010, 06:18:25 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on December 16, 2010, 05:42:44 PM

I think Orior and Nally Stand are on the same wavelength as me on this one. One of my housemates if an Irish Nationalist from Northern Ireland and he is Southern traitors this, Southern traitors that yet its all Boxing Day, the Premiership, Glasgow Celtic, Southern Ireland & Northern Ireland, Irish is a waste of time, the Sun Newspaper all the way with this lad and all I can think is  ::) He is a sound lad but he is all RA songs down the pub but he really seems to rather the British way of life.

Since you haven't answered I'll ask you....If I live in the North, don't use the term Southern traitors, don't support any team in the Premiership or Celtic, don't think Irish is a waste of time, don't read the Sun, use the phrase St. Stephen's Day rather than Boxing Day, am I then living an Irish way of life rather than a British one?

How does one live this Irish way of life?
Post by: armaghniac on December 16, 2010, 06:22:13 PM
Quoteam I then living an Irish way of life rather than a British one?

calling your mother Mummy rather than Mammy would rule you out, despite these efforts.
Post by: Arthur_Friend on December 16, 2010, 06:31:05 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 16, 2010, 06:22:13 PM
Quoteam I then living an Irish way of life rather than a British one?

calling your mother Mummy rather than Mammy would rule you out, despite these efforts.

Perhaps owning a donkey cancels that one out though.
Post by: armaghniac on December 16, 2010, 06:32:38 PM
QuotePerhaps owning a donkey cancels that one out though

Only if you use it to haul turf you've cut yourself.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2010, 06:55:39 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on December 16, 2010, 06:18:25 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on December 16, 2010, 05:42:44 PM

Since you haven't answered I'll ask you....If I live in the North, don't use the term Southern traitors, don't support any team in the Premiership or Celtic, don't think Irish is a waste of time, don't read the Sun, use the phrase St. Stephen's Day rather than Boxing Day, am I then living an Irish way of life rather than a British one?

How does one live this Irish way of life?

No, fair cop, you have a point. I should have said a more Irish norm. Of course there are Chineese listening to rap, Americans pretending to be from Tibet, Zimbabweans  pretending to be from Southside L.A. etc. there is no real way of life for any place. Maybe I should have said the Irish way of life norm. Huge variations from person to person however.

Just sometimes fail to understand the anti-26 county attitude as if we are traitors yet the people who claim being to be left out of the Irish nation refuse to try and keep any of their traditions and are happy to become Glasgow Celtic-Xfactor-SunNewspaper puppets/muppets. GAA folk tend to be an exception. Even Evil Genuis seems to use less Britishisms than many so called Irish nationalists I meet, tbh lots of these types up in Dublin too.
Post by: anglocelt39 on December 16, 2010, 07:43:02 PM
No, fair cop, you have a point. I should have said a more Irish norm. Of course there are Chineese listening to rap, Americans pretending to be from Tibet, Zimbabweans  pretending to be from Southside L.A. etc. there is no real way of life for any place. Maybe I should have said the Irish way of life norm. Huge variations from person to person however.

Just sometimes fail to understand the anti-26 county attitude as if we are traitors yet the people who claim being to be left out of the Irish nation refuse to try and keep any of their traditions and are happy to become Glasgow Celtic-Xfactor-SunNewspaper puppets/muppets. GAA folk tend to be an exception. Even Evil Genuis seems to use less Britishisms than many so called Irish nationalists I meet, tbh lots of these types up in Dublin too

Clear case of use of the keyboard while on autopilot here I see. In fairness though you have managed to get five pages out of a particularly banal/meaningless question
Post by: The Worker on December 16, 2010, 08:52:42 PM
I call it boxing day because theres always a fight in the local every year on the day after christmas.
Post by: leaveherinsir on December 16, 2010, 09:28:12 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 16, 2010, 11:19:20 AM
Entered that yesterday, might need skis tho! Is it on Boxing Day then?  ;)
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on December 16, 2010, 10:11:58 PM
I have not read any of this thread but who really gives a shite what its called at the end of the day  :-\
Post by: Evil Genius on December 16, 2010, 10:15:13 PM

Good Man! Along with painting the Letter Boxes green and setting your SatNav to Oirish, that'll make those bloody English think again!

In fact, I'd say it could be just the final push needed to achieve Re-Unification by 2016.  ;)
Post by: armaghniac on December 16, 2010, 10:18:05 PM
I'll hazard a guess that when the 26 county election comes around, there will be posts on here from individuals stating that anyone who votes for FG is a "west-Brit" when those same individuals are profoundly anglicised.
Post by: sammymaguire on December 16, 2010, 10:29:07 PM
Shit topic. Who gives a toss?
Post by: BennyHarp on December 16, 2010, 10:31:28 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on December 16, 2010, 10:11:58 PM
I have not read any of this thread but who really gives a shite what its called at the end of the day  :-\

Here here! But the person who started the thread was apparantly talking to people who actually didn't even understand what he was talking about when he mentioned St Stephens day! Being very sceptical by nature, i find this hard to believe. If he was talking to people from the north who he so patronisingly describes as a Northern Irish Nationalist, I'd suggest those people were either taking the piss out of the simpleton, or he is lying and never actually spoke to anyone and has started this thread to get a reaction!
Post by: ONeill on December 16, 2010, 10:35:43 PM
Boxing Day for me. Im a fundamentalist.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 16, 2010, 10:38:41 PM

We're working on that, though in reverse, something like (misplaced) restitution by a thousand-and-a-half bandages...

Craic --> from crack, ye olde English folk worde, for example  ;)
Post by: Evil Genius on December 16, 2010, 10:41:21 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2010, 06:55:39 PMEven Evil Genuis seems to use less Britishisms than many so called Irish nationalists I meet, tbh lots of these types up in Dublin too.
Do you mean by that that my posts are composed in the language/terminology/vernacular which I was brought up to use, rather than, say, something which a poster from England, or Scotland or Wales might come up with?

If so, why should that be any surprise? For as I seemingly can never repeat enough, I am Irish - something which would be immediately obvious if you were to hear me speak.

Of course, if you want to be more specific, I am actually Northern Irish, which means that I am also British, both by birth and by (continuing) choice, but that does not detract from my essential Irishness, it is merely recognition that I come from one of the four nations which make up the United Kingdom.  Therefore, whilst I can have absolutely nothing against any of my fellow Britons (obviously), nonetheless I resent any attempt to suggest that by asserting my Britishness when appropriate, that is in some way making me "more English" (or Scottish or - God Forbid - Welsh).

In other words, the UK is a Union, not a Merger or an Amalgamation.

Oh and as for those Irish Nationalists or Dublin types you meet who frequently do employ what you term "Britishisms" in preference to their native idiom, then I can only assume that they are what my old history teacher would have called "amadauns". I occasionally meet their equivalent in England, too, where they are known as "prats" - the world is full of them.

P.S. The Wren Boys may appear to be a quaint old custom and I remember my mother telling me it was common enough in parts of the country in her childhood, but she didn't altogether approve, since it actually involved hunting and killing the poor defenceless and inoffensive "crettur" itself.
Post by: theskull1 on December 16, 2010, 10:49:06 PM
How the hell did this get to 6 pages?
Post by: armaghniac on December 16, 2010, 10:54:18 PM
QuoteI am actually Northern Irish, which means that I am also British

you should look at the snow thread, there are also some geographically challenged posters there!
Post by: leaveherinsir on December 16, 2010, 10:54:54 PM

YES! End of thread then?  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: ONeill on December 16, 2010, 11:00:02 PM
We speak, and are writing, in English so we may as well embrace their holidays too, and TV programmes, and soccer teams, and supermarkets.
Post by: Evil Genius on December 16, 2010, 11:08:31 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 16, 2010, 10:54:18 PM
QuoteI am actually Northern Irish, which means that I am also British

you should look at the snow thread, there are also some geographically challenged posters there!
Eh?  ???

P.S. I might have mentioned earlier that growing up in NI, I always knew it as Boxing Day, though coming from a mixed area, I would occasionally hear "themmuns" refer to it as St. Stephen's Day. I don't know how I managed to withstand the trauma, offence and confusion...
Post by: Zapatista on December 16, 2010, 11:24:43 PM
Just talking to the woman about this today. Was listening to the wireless and ad for Leopardstown came on. Big race on stephens's day ??? The Saint has been dropped day and as someone else pointed out they can't say it properly. Rather than call it St. Stephen's Day it's called Stephens's day. I had her practicing saying St. Stephen's Day which she did well when she tried but eventually reverted back to Stephens's Day
Post by: Evil Genius on December 16, 2010, 11:33:29 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on December 16, 2010, 11:24:43 PM
Just talking to the woman about this today. Was listening to the wireless and ad for Leopardstown came on. Big race on stephens's day ??? The Saint has been dropped day and as someone else pointed out they can't say it properly. Rather than call it St. Stephen's Day it's called Stephens's day. I had her practicing saying St. Stephen's Day which she did well when she tried but eventually reverted back to Stephens's Day
Leopardstown?

Don't you mean Kempton Park?  ;)

http://www.kinggeorgechase.com/ (http://www.kinggeorgechase.com/)
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 16, 2010, 11:34:19 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on December 16, 2010, 10:41:21 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2010, 06:55:39 PMEven Evil Genuis seems to use less Britishisms than many so called Irish nationalists I meet, tbh lots of these types up in Dublin too.
Do you mean by that that my posts are composed in the language/terminology/vernacular which I was brought up to use, rather than, say, something which a poster from England, or Scotland or Wales might come up with?

If so, why should that be any surprise? For as I seemingly can never repeat enough, I am Irish - something which would be immediately obvious if you were to hear me speak.

Of course, if you want to be more specific, I am actually Northern Irish, which means that I am also British, both by birth and by (continuing) choice, but that does not detract from my essential Irishness, it is merely recognition that I come from one of the four nations which make up the United Kingdom.  Therefore, whilst I can have absolutely nothing against any of my fellow Britons (obviously), nonetheless I resent any attempt to suggest that by asserting my Britishness when appropriate, that is in some way making me "more English" (or Scottish or - God Forbid - Welsh).

In other words, the UK is a Union, not a Merger or an Amalgamation.

Oh and as for those Irish Nationalists or Dublin types you meet who frequently do employ what you term "Britishisms" in preference to their native idiom, then I can only assume that they are what my old history teacher would have called "amadauns". I occasionally meet their equivalent in England, too, where they are known as "prats" - the world is full of them.

P.S. The Wren Boys may appear to be a quaint old custom and I remember my mother telling me it was common enough in parts of the country in her childhood, but she didn't altogether approve, since it actually involved hunting and killing the poor defenceless and inoffensive "crettur" itself.

Good post EG.

I get of work next Thursday and I can tell Ye I won't have a clue what day it us between then and the 4th Jan when I go back.  Once the order goes out of the week I am lost.
Post by: Bogball XV on December 16, 2010, 11:38:12 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on December 16, 2010, 11:08:31 PMP.S. I might have mentioned earlier that growing up in NI, I always knew it as Boxing Day, though coming from a mixed area, I would occasionally hear "themmuns" refer to it as St. Stephen's Day. I don't know how I managed to withstand the trauma, offence and confusion...
I almost never heard anyone refer to the day as Stephen's Day until I arrived in Dublin.  Now, I call it whichever term I think the other party/(ies) in the conversation will understand.  It is yet another major difference between north and south, but I think with work, this is one that can be overcome.
Post by: Zapatista on December 16, 2010, 11:41:08 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on December 16, 2010, 11:33:29 PM
Leopardstown?

No, if I was I wouldn't have needed to be so specific.

Quote from: Bogball XV on December 16, 2010, 11:38:12 PM
It is yet another major difference between north and south, but I think with work, this is one that can be overcome.

No way. It's one of the few things I have left >:(
Post by: BennyHarp on December 16, 2010, 11:49:53 PM
Why do Southern Irish Nationalists call St Patricks Day, Paddys Day!
Post by: Bogball XV on December 16, 2010, 11:54:10 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on December 16, 2010, 11:41:08 PM
Leopardstown?

It is yet another major difference between north and south, but I think with work, this is one that can be overcome.

Obviously I meant that I refer to the day in question in the opposite way to that which I know the other party/(ies) in the conversation will understand, it's better craic and often leads to an argument like the last 7 pages.
Post by: Evil Genius on December 17, 2010, 12:19:00 AM
Leopardstown?

Sorry, when you referred to the "big race" on December 26th, I automatically thought of the King George. I must be too long in England... ;)

The way things are going, Southerners will all be calling it "Stephanitag" before long... :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 17, 2010, 12:27:19 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on December 16, 2010, 10:31:28 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on December 16, 2010, 10:11:58 PM

Here here! But the person who started the thread was apparantly talking to people who actually didn't even understand what he was talking about when he mentioned St Stephens day! Being very sceptical by nature, i find this hard to believe. If he was talking to people from the north who he so patronisingly describes as a Northern Irish Nationalist, I'd suggest those people were either taking the piss out of the simpleton, or he is lying and never actually spoke to anyone and has started this thread to get a reaction!

No I am not lying and yes they where very serious. I will admit this Anglicised Irish Nationalist phenomena appears to be an almost exclusively East of the Bann one. Most people I meet from Armagh, Derry, Tyrone and Fermanagh seem less Anglicised.

I have a friend who is a Northern Irish Unionist and she can Irish dance and is fluent in Irish and I sometimes wonder who is the West Brit her or my flatmate.
Wait for the abuse from the Shinners that an Fine Gaeler has a Unionist friend, they will put 2 & 2 together and get 1690  ::)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 17, 2010, 12:34:05 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on December 17, 2010, 12:19:00 AM

Was he one of the Sachsen-Coburg und Gothas  ;D

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 17, 2010, 12:49:58 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 17, 2010, 12:34:05 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on December 17, 2010, 12:19:00 AM

Was he one of the Sachsen-Coburg und Gothas  ;D

Yep, that's the current incumbent of the English/Norman/Anglo-Saxon/Jute/Frisian/Celtic/Pagan Woebegone Throne that you're thinking of: one Elizabeth Saxe-Coburg Gotha (Sachsen-Coburg und Gotha); latterly anglicised to the nearest looking "quaint Englischer village from vhich ve can take oor name in vhich to blend in seamlessly viz ze neighbours kind of 'Weeeindsor'".

Yep, and boy did they succeed!  :D
Post by: Tubberman on December 17, 2010, 08:53:24 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on December 16, 2010, 11:49:53 PM

Because Paddy is short for Patrick....
That wasn't a very difficult question. I think, with some thought, you could have come to that conclusion all by yourself.
Post by: BennyHarp on December 17, 2010, 09:06:44 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 17, 2010, 08:53:24 AM

Because Paddy is short for Patrick....
That wasn't a very difficult question. I think, with some thought, you could have come to that conclusion all by yourself.

So you dont call him Saint Patrick then? Thats ok then - Looking forward to Stevie's Day!
Post by: Rossfan on December 17, 2010, 03:11:08 PM

Them Munster kutehoors trying to break away ?? :o

Seriously ... it's secularism trying to dump another Christian tradition
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 17, 2010, 03:28:54 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 17, 2010, 03:11:08 PM

Them Munster kutehoors trying to break away ?? :o

Seriously ... it's secularism trying to dump another Christian tradition

Is that something to do with DeValeras Partionist Munster Republic, thank fck for Big Mick Collins for ending that partition of Ireland.
Post by: Rossfan on December 17, 2010, 05:42:15 PM
Now if we could only get Mayo to eff off  ;D ;D ;D....... and perhaps join Iceland
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 17, 2010, 07:53:01 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 17, 2010, 05:42:15 PM
Now if we could only get Mayo to eff off  ;D ;D ;D....... and perhaps join Iceland

Will the new annex of the Greater Mayo (if the counties merge like expected) be joining us. Its great now Mayo has an Atlantic Coast and laps up against the Shannon. Also does that mean that MAYO-roscommon will have 5 All-Irelands and 60 something Connacht titles? We might manage a 6'th with the new available squad + Bellaghy  ;D
Post by: Rossfan on December 17, 2010, 08:14:50 PM
There will of course be no ex Mayomen on the new panel... just ex Rossies plus the ex - displaced persons  Andy M and Hanley.  :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 17, 2010, 09:11:19 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 17, 2010, 08:14:50 PM
There will of course be no ex Mayomen on the new panel... just ex Rossies plus the ex - displaced persons  Andy M and Hanley.  :D

ha ha, Sligo will have to wait another 1/3'rd of a century to win a Connacht if this happens.  :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 26, 2010, 05:37:10 PM
Hope everyone is having a great Stephens Day  ;)
Post by: Maguire01 on December 26, 2010, 06:21:08 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 26, 2010, 05:37:10 PM
Just how many Stephens are there?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 26, 2010, 06:27:29 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 26, 2010, 06:21:08 PM

Stephen's  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on December 26, 2010, 08:14:41 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 26, 2010, 06:27:29 PM

Stephen's  ;)

No apostrophe in plural words  ;)
Post by: ONeill on December 26, 2010, 10:03:01 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 26, 2010, 08:14:41 PM

Stephen's  ;)

No apostrophe in plural words  ;)

Incorrect.
Post by: muppet on December 26, 2010, 10:05:45 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 26, 2010, 10:03:01 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 26, 2010, 08:14:41 PM

Stephen's  ;)

No apostrophes in plural words  ;)

Incorrect.

Post by: ONeill on December 26, 2010, 11:56:48 PM
There are apostrophes in plural words.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on December 27, 2010, 12:00:27 AM
Quote from: hardstation on December 17, 2010, 09:14:40 PM
Lá Dornálaíocht.

Lá Dornálaíochta. Nó, Lá na mBronntanas.
Post by: muppet on December 27, 2010, 12:14:23 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 26, 2010, 11:56:48 PM

That sentence is correct. His wasn't because he had apostrophe - singular.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 27, 2010, 01:33:14 AM
Quote from: muppet on December 27, 2010, 12:14:23 AM

Are you correcting me or the person correcting me, or my correction after I was corrected.

Stephen's Day, because Stephan has ownership over or the day belongs too Stephan in this sense.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 27, 2010, 01:57:27 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 27, 2010, 01:33:14 AM

Are you correcting me or the person correcting me, or my correction after I was corrected.

Stephen's Day, because Stephan has ownership over or the day belongs too Stephan in this sense.
It belongs to Stephen.
:P
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 28, 2010, 06:16:47 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 27, 2010, 01:57:27 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 27, 2010, 01:33:14 AM

It belongs to Stephen.
:P

ha ha.  ;D
Post by: ziggysego on December 28, 2010, 06:18:42 PM
Quote from: leaveherinsir on December 16, 2010, 09:28:12 PM

How'd you do?
Post by: leaveherinsir on December 29, 2010, 12:11:27 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 28, 2010, 06:18:42 PM

How'd you do?
Finished in 37mins and 30 secs, was a real tough run, that hill between 3.5 and 4 mile was steep. The wind, snow,sleet and rain didnt help either! That said was top class event, some job done to get the roads clear! Ill be back next year if im still fit and well!
Post by: ziggysego on December 29, 2010, 12:15:21 PM
Quote from: leaveherinsir on December 29, 2010, 12:11:27 PM

How'd you do?
Finished in 37mins and 30 secs, was a real tough run, that hill between 3.5 and 4 mile was steep. The wind, snow,sleet and rain didnt help either! That said was top class event, some job done to get the roads clear! Ill be back next year if im still fit and well!

Yeah, The Hill is a killer. 37 is an excellent time.

Did you spot me inside working?
Post by: leaveherinsir on December 29, 2010, 12:34:38 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 29, 2010, 12:15:21 PM

How'd you do?

Sorry cant say i did, picked up my number in a marque, had entered online, just went into the hall to use toilet beforehand. Congrats to all involved in organising that event, it was very good. Have ran a good number of those this year and that was probably the best considering the weather conditions before. Seems to be a good set up you have up there in Greencastle. Boxing Day is a great day for it also!!! ;) :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 29, 2010, 06:18:25 PM
Quote from: leaveherinsir on December 29, 2010, 12:34:38 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 29, 2010, 12:15:21 PM

How'd you do?

Sorry cant say i did, picked up my number in a marque, had entered online, just went into the hall to use toilet beforehand. Congrats to all involved in organising that event, it was very good. Have ran a good number of those this year and that was probably the best considering the weather conditions before. Seems to be a good set up you have up there in Greencastle. Boxing Day is a great day for it also!!! ;) :D

Mad stuff running in that weather.

Well I'm back in the United Kingdom, the land of Boxing Day  ;) but must say I enjoyed my Stephen's Day in the Irish Republic  ;D
Post by: gerry on December 29, 2010, 10:08:36 PM
QuoteDid you spot me inside working?

i would not call that working
Post by: ziggysego on December 29, 2010, 11:22:18 PM
Quote from: gerry on December 29, 2010, 10:08:36 PM

You've some cheek, you just came to Greencastle to have a nosey!!
Post by: gerry on December 30, 2010, 12:06:25 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 29, 2010, 11:22:18 PM

i just love the place that much, i was even their tonight
Post by: ziggysego on December 30, 2010, 12:09:10 AM
Quote from: gerry on December 30, 2010, 12:06:25 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 29, 2010, 11:22:18 PM

i just love the place that much, i was even their tonight

I'm only back tonight. What took you out here, except the beautiful scenery and wonderful people?
Post by: gerry on December 30, 2010, 12:12:56 AM
santa presents to my niece and nephew