Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Gaaman on October 25, 2010, 12:14:29 PM

Title: Winter 2010/11
Post by: Gaaman on October 25, 2010, 12:14:29 PM
Today it was minus 6 at 06:30.

I went out this morning and started the car and cleared the windscreen with luke warm water. Came back out and it had frozen over again.

I had no gloves and knowing the steering wheel would be cold I looked around for a substitute. There were socks hanging on the rail over the cooker. Perfect. Sock mittens were born.

Need to buy de-froster tonight. Clocks go back next weekend. Depression as will be traveling to and from work in the dark.
Title: Re: Winter 2010/11
Post by: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 12:20:08 PM

Hope you have plenty of the good stuff

(http://photos2.donedeal.ie/View2-3908230.jpeg)
Post by: ziggysego on October 25, 2010, 12:25:12 PM
Ah dry up, the crisp clean air will blow the cobwebs away  ;D
Post by: Gaaman on October 25, 2010, 12:40:18 PM
Lets get a Gaaboard sweep stake of when the first snow will be. Its coming.
I vote for Ziggy to sort it out. Thanks mate.
Post by: Canalman on October 25, 2010, 01:39:06 PM
Bar last year we imo have had a long run of mild winters and are due some cold ones. Maybe it is "nostalgia" but winters seemed to be colder when I was younger.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 25, 2010, 01:42:54 PM
Quote from: Canalman on October 25, 2010, 01:39:06 PM
Bar last year we imo have had a long run of mild winters and are due some cold ones. Maybe it is "nostalgia" but winters seemed to be colder when I was younger.

You just had a skirt on so was bound to be colder ;D ;D
Post by: Gaaman on October 25, 2010, 01:45:39 PM
Quote from: Canalman on October 25, 2010, 01:39:06 PM

Probably because you were outside more when younger now your sitting up in a central heated office. You were cold when young out standing for the bus in the mornings. Similar to people who say 'you don't see frog spawn anymore I used to see it all the time when I was young' you just aren't jumping about rivers anymore.
Post by: beer baron on October 25, 2010, 01:47:47 PM
Anyone living in the more rural parts of Cavan have been told to stock up on food,water and fuel as this winter is expected to be worse than last years  :-[
Post by: Gaaman on October 25, 2010, 02:00:54 PM
Quote from: beer baron on October 25, 2010, 01:47:47 PM
Anyone living in the more rural parts of Cavan have been told to stock up on food,water and fuel as this winter is expected to be worse than last years  :-[

ASDA have great deals on drink at the minute. Best stock up just in case your trapped indoors with the woman.
Post by: muppet on October 25, 2010, 02:08:22 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 12:20:08 PM

What's that, Harney droppings?
Post by: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 02:18:34 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 25, 2010, 02:08:22 PM

:D :D :D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 25, 2010, 02:19:14 PM
Quote from: beer baron on October 25, 2010, 01:47:47 PM

Is it also because FF are going to ride all over everyone in the budget so you better get it now while you have money in your pockets!!!
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 25, 2010, 02:19:53 PM

AZ's Porn...
Post by: AZOffaly on October 25, 2010, 02:25:03 PM
Now that's good turf
Post by: Rois on October 25, 2010, 02:36:29 PM
Winter approaching = ski time!!

One holiday booked to Italy, another about to be booked to France.

I love the winter.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on October 25, 2010, 02:40:37 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 25, 2010, 02:19:53 PM

AZ's Porn...

Allenwood's finest
Post by: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 02:48:47 PM
At this rate I'm starting to think this pick should in fact have been the inaugural "Nally Stand's Caption Competition" #1

Keep 'er lit  :D (pardon the pun!)
Post by: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 02:49:33 PM
Quote from: Rois on October 25, 2010, 02:36:29 PM

I love the winter.

Where's a good ski resort? and cheap?!
Post by: Rois on October 25, 2010, 02:54:42 PM
Never skied before?  Go to Andorra, saw a holiday in the travel agent window this morn - £200 self catering for w/c 8 Jan, then add about £200 for lift pass and ski hire and a bit more if you need lessons.  As cheap as you'll get.

Going to France in Jan for £450 plus lift pass and ski hire on top.  Cheap for what you get but you could def do it soooo much cheaper, I just want a bit of luxury. 

Post by: Berlin on October 25, 2010, 03:08:29 PM
-6 phew

That's cold. What part of the country are you from?
Post by: Gaaman on October 25, 2010, 03:13:40 PM
Quote from: Berlin on October 25, 2010, 03:08:29 PM
-6 phew

That's cold. What part of the country are you from?

Donaghmore.
Post by: Berlin on October 25, 2010, 03:20:15 PM
Funny I was going to say you must be from Birr. You're only a good spit away from the place there in Donaghmore. I love the cold winter spells. 
Post by: Gaaman on October 25, 2010, 03:26:29 PM
Quote from: Berlin on October 25, 2010, 03:20:15 PM
Funny I was going to say you must be from Birr. You're only a good spit away from the place there in Donaghmore. I love the cold winter spells.

Classic.  :D
Post by: ONeill on October 25, 2010, 03:41:45 PM
-6 this morning on the eastern shores of Lough Neagh. Not feckin November yet too.
Post by: MadMayo on October 25, 2010, 04:12:44 PM
Time to buy the next generation snow chains.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wed6GATc5Is&NR=1&feature=fvwp
Post by: tyrone girl on October 25, 2010, 04:32:23 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 25, 2010, 03:41:45 PM
-6 this morning on the eastern shores of Lough Neagh. Not feckin November yet too.

Yep was desperate. Took my banger of a car about 5 attempts to start  >:(
Post by: ross4life on October 25, 2010, 04:40:20 PM
Didn't think it got down to -6 already

I love the winter.

Not for me

Winter time = find some where warm

Looking at Cyprus,Canary Islands & Miami

Skiing is a high risk of injury & injury is last thing i want over the Winter months 
Post by: Gaaman on October 25, 2010, 04:41:58 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 25, 2010, 04:32:23 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 25, 2010, 03:41:45 PM

Yep was desperate. Took my banger of a car about 5 attempts to start  >:(

Can mind having to run an old Clio I used to have down the hill every morning to get it going.

Quote from: ross4life on October 25, 2010, 04:40:20 PM
Didn't think it got down to -6 already

I love the winter.

Not for me

Winter time = find some where warm

Looking at Cyprus,Canary Islands & Miami

Skiing is a high risk of injury & injury is last thing i want over the Winter months 

Believe it Ross.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2010, 08:14:44 PM
Love the cold weather.
Don't know what ye are complaining about anyway,most of ye have nice cosy warm offices or classrooms to go to for work.
I always find it funny where I hear of a place sending the staff home because the heating isn't working,shower of wimps the lot of ye.
Post by: Gaaman on October 25, 2010, 08:26:11 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2010, 08:14:44 PM
Love the cold weather.
Don't know what ye are complaining about anyway,most of ye have nice cosy warm offices or classrooms to go to for work.
I always find it funny where I hear of a place sending the staff home because the heating isn't working,shower of wimps the lot of ye.

I expect to be sent home from work if there is no punjana tea bags left on a cold morning.
Post by: ross4life on October 25, 2010, 08:26:32 PM
Love the cold weather.

Couple of months working as a Ice road trucker then we would see do you still love the cold weather?
Post by: maggie on October 25, 2010, 08:27:24 PM
Our caretaker is still walking around in a t-shirt. U might see him in a coat mid december, wish I had his blood.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2010, 08:29:00 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 25, 2010, 08:27:24 PM
Our caretaker is still walking around in a t-shirt.

So am I.
I do put on a hoodie in the mornings but once I get working I usually just wear a t shirt.
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on October 25, 2010, 08:34:10 PM
Love the cold weather.

It's ok if you are moving around but not so nice if you are sitting at a desk and it freezing. My workplace is freezing in the mornings but like a furnace come lunch time. Your taking your life in your hands if you dare open a window, the look some of the women give you.
Post by: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 08:53:20 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2010, 08:29:00 PM

So am I.
I do put on a hoodie in the mornings but once I get working I usually just wear a t shirt.
(http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:WoGzQOFLG5QSHM:http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v492/Takeo76/Filmes%20Procurados/Raging%20King%20Of%20Boxers/HardBastard.jpg&t=1)
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2010, 08:55:36 PM

So am I.
You know winter is here when you post about how fancy dans in offices are complaining about the cold!

Lenihan will be having a big bonfire soon to keep youse warm down there.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2010, 08:57:29 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 08:53:20 PM

So am I.
(http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:WoGzQOFLG5QSHM:http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v492/Takeo76/Filmes%20Procurados/Raging%20King%20Of%20Boxers/HardBastard.jpg&t=1)

You should see what I can do with a tooth abscess and a stanley knife blade.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2010, 09:08:22 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2010, 08:57:29 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 08:53:20 PM

So am I.

You should see what I can do with a tooth abscess and a stanley knife blade.
A dentist would work out cheaper than a southern electrician!
Post by: ballinaman on October 26, 2010, 05:45:48 AM
Middle of spring here and it's 27degrees.....jaysus,it'll soon be betty swollox weather..
Post by: Gaaman on October 26, 2010, 07:44:06 AM
11 Degrees this morning. I was better prepared for cold weather with a jumper, soup for first break and a can of de-icer. Sort of disappointed now.
Post by: Donkeywalloper on October 26, 2010, 10:09:01 AM
You know winter is 6 weeks away when you see some knob walking about with no jacket on, however a scarf tied in a nice big bow  ( and most likely a Tshirt).
Post by: David McKeown on October 26, 2010, 10:17:20 AM
Quote from: Gaaman on October 25, 2010, 12:14:29 PM

I went out this morning and started the car and cleared the windscreen with luke warm water. Came back out and it had frozen over again.

I always found that cool water was better for the windscreen as it takes longer to freeze over again, the trick though is to make sure its only just warm enough to get rid of the ice and that you get the wipers on it straight away
Post by: Orior on October 26, 2010, 11:32:16 AM
Quote from: Donkeywalloper on October 26, 2010, 10:09:01 AM
You know winter is 6 weeks away when you see some knob walking about with no jacket on, however a scarf tied in a nice big bow  ( and most likely a Tshirt).

LOL
Post by: Gaaman on October 26, 2010, 01:02:10 PM
Be warned fellas of Ireland. It has been suggested that women tend to look for 'steady' relationships over the winter months. It has something to do with wanting to sit in on the cold nights or something.

Can any ladies on this forum back this claim up?
Post by: maggie on October 26, 2010, 03:22:16 PM
sure us ladies are always looking a 'steady relationship' regardless of the season.  ::)
Post by: Gaaman on October 26, 2010, 04:27:46 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 26, 2010, 03:22:16 PM
sure us ladies are always looking a 'steady relationship' regardless of the season.  ::)

Stats claim that this is not true. During the summer months 56% of all women would perfer to be single.

Please note 32% of all stats are made up
Post by: ross4life on October 26, 2010, 05:09:45 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on October 26, 2010, 05:45:48 AM
Middle of spring here and it's 27degrees.....jaysus,it'll soon be betty swollox weather..

Jaysus that sounds great! Xmas day laying on the beach down-under is my type of summer  :)
Post by: Orior on October 26, 2010, 07:59:54 PM
Quote from: Gaaman on October 26, 2010, 01:02:10 PM
Be warned fellas of Ireland. It has been suggested that women tend to look for 'steady' relationships over the winter months. It has something to do with wanting to sit in on the cold nights or something.

Sit in or Sit on?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 26, 2010, 08:58:04 PM

They are just knobs full stop,it doesn't matter what season it is no man should ever wear a scarf in that way..

Post by: ross4life on October 26, 2010, 09:07:40 PM
Can't have a winter thread without a viewing of this chap again  :D

(http://i50.tinypic.com/2ce3jet.gif)
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 26, 2010, 09:45:58 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 26, 2010, 08:58:04 PM

They are just knobs full stop,it doesn't matter what season it is no man should ever wear a scarf in that way..
We agree on this every winter too. These twats need to take a look at themselves in the mirror before they leave the house.
Post by: sammymaguire on October 26, 2010, 10:56:19 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on October 26, 2010, 10:17:20 AM
Quote from: Gaaman on October 25, 2010, 12:14:29 PM

I always found that cool water was better for the windscreen as it takes longer to freeze over again, the trick though is to make sure its only just warm enough to get rid of the ice and that you get the wipers on it straight away

You must be loaded!!  8)  :o aftershave for clearing your windows!!
Post by: David McKeown on October 27, 2010, 12:22:42 AM
Just trying to illustrate that warm water freezes quicker but I'd say the alcohol in cool water probably helps
Post by: leenie on October 27, 2010, 12:40:16 AM

:-\
hmmm i think you could be onto something here!
Post by: Gaaman on October 27, 2010, 07:58:39 AM
Quote from: leenie on October 27, 2010, 12:40:16 AM

:-\
hmmm i think you could be onto something here!

Told yas.
Post by: Hardy on October 27, 2010, 11:08:30 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 26, 2010, 09:45:58 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 26, 2010, 08:58:04 PM

We agree on this every winter too. These t**ts need to take a look at themselves in the mirror before they leave the house.

I don't understand. I don't wear a scarf, but being a style ignoramus, I'm fascinated at the suggestion that there's a right and a wrong way to wear one. I can grasp the necessity to wear shoes the only way that makes sense. Socks, too, and you wouldn't put your shirt on upside-down. But a scarf? Why does it matter what way you hang it on your neck? Are there rules for whether you do your shoelaces straight across or criss-crossey?
Post by: Donkeywalloper on October 27, 2010, 11:46:07 AM
No so much what way they wear a scarf, whether it be big bow, wrap around or whatever.
My point is more on the fact of wearing a scarf with a t shirt for example. Yes it may be a fashion statement but it defies logic IMO. Next thing some of these buckos will be using moisturiser.
Post by: EC Unique on October 27, 2010, 12:54:18 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on October 27, 2010, 12:22:42 AM
Just trying to illustrate that warm water freezes quicker but I'd say the alcohol in cool water probably helps

Is this true or just an old wives tale? Is it a scientific fact that it takes water at 5 degrees longer to reach zero than water at 50 degrees?

I doubt it.
Post by: Gaaman on October 27, 2010, 01:11:24 PM
I haven't started many topics in my time and think this could be my last. I constantly keep checking the board to see if there are any updates and if the thread slips down the list I usually post to bring it back to the top. Its turning into a bit of an obcession.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on October 27, 2010, 01:12:34 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on October 27, 2010, 12:54:18 PM

Is this true or just an old wives tale? Is it a scientific fact that it takes water at 5 degrees longer to reach zero than water at 50 degrees?

I doubt it.

The hot water is more likely to be supercooled. This means that the hot water's temperature is more likely to cool to temperatures below zero degrees Celsius. In the cold non-supercooled water, ice crystals form and float to the top, forming a sheet of ice over the top of the water, creating an insulating layer between the cooler air and the water. This ice sheet also stops evaporation. In the hot water that has become supercooled (thus, no longer hot) the water, when it does freeze, freezes throughout, creating more or less of a slush before freezing solid.

Why is hot water more likely to be supercooled? Because hot water is less likely to contain tiny gas bubbles. Gas bubbles form from dissolved gasses as the water cools. When the hot water was heated, these dissolved gasses may have been driven out. In cold water, ice crystals use the tiny bubbles as starting points for formation (nucleation points). But in the hot water, there are no bubbles, so there aren't as many starting points for the ice crystals.

Post by: DirtyDozen12 on October 27, 2010, 02:24:12 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 26, 2010, 09:07:40 PM
Can't have a winter thread without a viewing of this chap again  :D

(http://i50.tinypic.com/2ce3jet.gif)

Wow, that is an outrageous slip!!!!!!!!!!!  The poor hoor didnt even get his hands down to break his fall!!!!!!
Post by: EC Unique on October 27, 2010, 03:53:01 PM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on October 27, 2010, 01:12:34 PM

I doubt it.

The hot water is more likely to be supercooled. This means that the hot water's temperature is more likely to cool to temperatures below zero degrees Celsius. In the cold non-supercooled water, ice crystals form and float to the top, forming a sheet of ice over the top of the water, creating an insulating layer between the cooler air and the water. This ice sheet also stops evaporation. In the hot water that has become supercooled (thus, no longer hot) the water, when it does freeze, freezes throughout, creating more or less of a slush before freezing solid.

Why is hot water more likely to be supercooled? Because hot water is less likely to contain tiny gas bubbles. Gas bubbles form from dissolved gasses as the water cools. When the hot water was heated, these dissolved gasses may have been driven out. In cold water, ice crystals use the tiny bubbles as starting points for formation (nucleation points). But in the hot water, there are no bubbles, so there aren't as many starting points for the ice crystals.

Thats me told  :D
Post by: Gaaman on October 28, 2010, 12:36:21 PM
After a Arctic start to the week it has really become quite mild, even warm in the mornings. At night it is still quite cold though.
I love the big roaring fire in winter time. No football training to be running it. First class.
Post by: johnneycool on October 28, 2010, 01:57:00 PM
Quote from: Gaaman on October 28, 2010, 12:36:21 PM
After a Arctic start to the week it has really become quite mild, even warm in the mornings. At night it is still quite cold though.
I love the big roaring fire in winter time. No football training to be running it. First class.

So what's the most economical at the moment, coal or logs for my stove?
Post by: David McKeown on October 28, 2010, 02:17:46 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on October 27, 2010, 03:53:01 PM

I doubt it.

I'll have to bow to you on this one, all I know is thats its known as the mpemba effect and we did an experiment to show it in alevel physics with water at 35C and water at 5C.  The only reason for the experiment was the teacher wishing to prove we should use cooler water to defrost our windscreens
Post by: Gaaman on November 02, 2010, 04:11:46 PM
Heavy rain here for past few days. A lot of water lying on the road this morning. Couple more days of this and we could see some serious flooding like last November.
Post by: muppet on November 02, 2010, 10:48:56 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on October 28, 2010, 02:17:46 PM

I doubt it.

I'll have to bow to you on this one, all I know is thats its known as the mpemba effect and we did an experiment to show it in alevel physics with water at 35C and water at 5C.  The only reason for the experiment was the teacher wishing to prove we should use cooler water to defrost our windscreens

Does this explain the formation of hailstones in warmer climates/weather versus snow in colder ones?
Post by: caughtredhanded on November 02, 2010, 11:21:29 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 28, 2010, 01:57:00 PM

I use mostly logs but I always put a shallow layer of coal on top to put a 'crust' on the fire. I find a roaring fire is inefficient as most of the heat is going up the chimney. Best to keep a good heat ticking over and not consuming a pile of sticks.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 03, 2010, 12:28:59 AM
Quote from: muppet on November 02, 2010, 10:48:56 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on October 28, 2010, 02:17:46 PM

I doubt it.

Does this explain the formation of hailstones in warmer climates/weather versus snow in colder ones?

You are absolutely spot on fella.

The hailstones are raindrops that pass though a belt of air with a strong updraft. The water passing through this belt has to be supercooled to form hailstones. The more turbulence up there the bigger they are. Which is why thunder storms are ideal for hailstone formation.

And then the boyos become too big for the air pressure to hold them and they fall.

I need to get out more.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 03, 2010, 12:30:32 AM
Quote from: caughtredhanded on November 02, 2010, 11:21:29 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 28, 2010, 01:57:00 PM

I use mostly logs but I always put a shallow layer of coal on top to put a 'crust' on the fire. I find a roaring fire is inefficient as most of the heat is going up the chimney. Best to keep a good heat ticking over and not consuming a pile of sticks.

Here is a person that knows their fires.