Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Oglach on September 29, 2010, 09:16:20 PM

Title: Wedding Band
Post by: Oglach on September 29, 2010, 09:16:20 PM
Can anyone recommend a good wedding band? For next October...
Title: Re: Wedding Band
Post by: ziggysego on September 29, 2010, 09:18:16 PM
Dan Finnerty and The Dan Band.
Post by: maggie on September 29, 2010, 09:23:49 PM
Not sure where u are in the country, but was in out in sallys in omagh recently and there was a band playing in the bar called Backline- they were v good and think they do weddings. They're on fbook as well.
Post by: Puckoon on September 29, 2010, 09:33:01 PM
Quote from: maggie on September 29, 2010, 09:23:49 PM
Not sure where u are in the country, but was in out in sallys in omagh recently and there was a band playing in the bar called Backline- they were v good and think they do weddings. They're on fbook as well.
They do weddings alright.

Were they any good Maggie? I know the fellas in it, from years ago.
Post by: maggie on September 29, 2010, 09:38:35 PM
Yea, they were actually great. Crowd really seemed to like them as well.
Youse could have had a wee band back in the day puck.
Post by: Puckoon on September 29, 2010, 09:40:13 PM
We did - we played a bit together here and there - and we even went out with a pair of sisters for a right while!

Good to see the music finally taking off for him.
Post by: muppet on September 29, 2010, 09:51:35 PM
(http://f00.inventorspot.com/images/Weddingbands.jpg.w560h373.jpg)
Post by: under the bar on September 29, 2010, 10:09:19 PM
Big Pat and the Mountain Dew.  Great for Young and old and gets everyone up on the floor to make eejits of themselves.  Maighty craic!
Post by: mc_grens on September 29, 2010, 10:28:29 PM
Oasis
Post by: caughtredhanded on September 29, 2010, 11:46:21 PM
Quote from: under the bar on September 29, 2010, 10:09:19 PM
Big Pat and the Mountain Dew.  Great for Young and old and gets everyone up on the floor to make eejits of themselves.  Maighty craic!

Thats who I hired to do our wedding! Everybody who was there still talks about the craic with that band, first class.
Post by: supersarsfields on September 30, 2010, 09:42:43 AM
James Peake Experience.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on September 30, 2010, 11:59:42 AM
Had Blackthorn for mine.

Can't reccomend them highly enough! - Superb!
Post by: supersarsfields on September 30, 2010, 12:07:07 PM
Blackthorn used to do a Thursday nite gig in Belfast during my years in Belfast. They used to be a great band. haven't heard them in a long time now tho.
Post by: 118cmal on September 30, 2010, 12:12:51 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on September 30, 2010, 09:42:43 AM
James Peake Experience.

Great wedding band alright
Post by: FermGael on September 30, 2010, 12:56:30 PM
GoodFella's
Post by: johnneycool on September 30, 2010, 02:17:11 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on September 30, 2010, 12:07:07 PM
Blackthorn used to do a Thursday nite gig in Belfast during my years in Belfast. They used to be a great band. haven't heard them in a long time now tho.

They were regulars in what used to be the Elms.

Their set probably hasn't changed either.
Post by: The Iceman on September 30, 2010, 02:34:23 PM
Depends on what kind of crowd you have going - if its a country wedding with a lot of older wans and based on your location I would book Chris Dallat. Does a lot of old time dances, plays plenty of games with the crowd, does some set dancing, teaches dances etc... definitely great value and gets everyone up on the floor.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 30, 2010, 03:19:11 PM
Quote from: FermGael on September 30, 2010, 12:56:30 PM
GoodFella's

That's who we had and couldn't speak highly enough about them. Told them to concentrate on our friends & leave the aul ones to the odd tune here and there & they pulled it off in style. Floor was packed all night & the bar staff were loving all the ACDC & Metallica they pulled out of nowhere, highly recommended.
Post by: armagho9 on September 30, 2010, 03:28:00 PM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on September 30, 2010, 02:22:08 PM
Blackthorn in the Elms on a Thursday night. Good times...

We had Juice from Cookstown direction, very highly recommended.

Juice did my wedding last year as well.  2 lads from Cookstown, they did the DJ as well.  They were very good and not overly expensive (think 900 or 1000).  Which is pretty cheap compared to booking the two seperate, saved any long breaks as well
Post by: Oglach on September 30, 2010, 11:03:09 PM
I'd like to thank my fellow Geals for your guidance on this matter. My lady friend has heaped the job of finding a wedding band on to me and its something i've never had to think about before lols. We're from the country in county Down to answer someones question. Thanks again
Post by: supersarsfields on October 01, 2010, 11:35:16 AM
It's it's any help. I think The James Peake Experience is from Down. Or at least the company that takes the booking are from that direction anyway.
Post by: muppet on October 02, 2010, 03:27:04 PM
Quote from: Oglach on September 30, 2010, 11:03:09 PM
I'd like to thank my fellow Geals for your guidance on this matter. My lady friend has heaped the job of finding a wedding band on to me and its something i've never had to think about before lols. We're from the country in county Down to answer someones question. Thanks again

You'll need a suit and some shoes as well.
Post by: trileacman on October 02, 2010, 11:34:39 PM
The drummer from Rick. K and the allnighters.

Just the drummer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ItZyaOlrb7E

at 1min.
Post by: Square Ball on October 03, 2010, 12:40:50 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on September 30, 2010, 02:34:23 PM
Depends on what kind of crowd you have going - if its a country wedding with a lot of older wans and based on your location I would book Chris Dallat. Does a lot of old time dances, plays plenty of games with the crowd, does some set dancing, teaches dances etc... definitely great value and gets everyone up on the floor.

do they do the slush  ;D feck thats a dance I have never mastered.
Post by: dubai2000 on January 04, 2012, 02:49:10 PM
anybody - any up to date recommendations?
Post by: tyrone girl on January 04, 2012, 02:51:08 PM
Atmosphere are good. Mr Men, Juice. Thats all can think of the top of my head
Post by: Hashtag on January 04, 2012, 03:00:22 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 04, 2012, 02:51:08 PM
Atmosphere are good. Mr Men, Juice. Thats all can think of the top of my head

Has Minster Men at my wedding last year. Very good I thought, nice men to deal with as well. They were £1,200 for band (£900) and Disco (£300)
Post by: Onion Bag on January 04, 2012, 03:11:54 PM
Limelight are a great wedding band
Post by: front of the mountain on January 04, 2012, 03:34:13 PM
Itchy Feet - Enniskillen
Post by: Square Ball on January 04, 2012, 04:24:16 PM
been at one with Last Man Standing playing, not bad.

http://www.lastmanstandinglive.com/home.cfm (http://www.lastmanstandinglive.com/home.cfm)
Post by: dubai2000 on January 05, 2012, 12:38:05 PM
thanks folks :)
Post by: Forgot me Boots on January 11, 2012, 04:35:54 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on January 04, 2012, 04:24:16 PM
been at one with Last Man Standing playing, not bad.

http://www.lastmanstandinglive.com/home.cfm (http://www.lastmanstandinglive.com/home.cfm)

seen these guys at a wedding in Nov, fantastic to be honest, got the crowd on the floor and they stayed there.
Post by: LeoMc on January 11, 2012, 04:49:25 PM
I have been at a few weddings with Blindside playing. A good young band and seem to chnage the repetoire according to the wedding. Think they have played the Hatfield a few times also.
Post by: oisinog on January 11, 2012, 04:55:40 PM
I had a band called the professionals I think they are based in belfast.

Thet played good music to cater for both the younger and older guests

Contact michael magill he will send you some samples
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 11, 2012, 05:58:39 PM
How can bands justify charging the amount they do for weddings (1k + ) when the same band would get around 250-300 quid for playing in a pub for roughly the same length of time?
are they just like everyone else and try and put the arm in when they hear the W word mentioned?
Post by: Square Ball on January 12, 2012, 07:16:18 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on January 11, 2012, 05:58:39 PM
How can bands justify charging the amount they do for weddings (1k + ) when the same band would get around 250-300 quid for playing in a pub for roughly the same length of time?
are they just like everyone else and try and put the arm in when they hear the W word mentioned?

you having a laugh, 1k and above  :o I know for a fact that Last Man standing were under that by a couple of hundred at least at that wedding I was at. there are playing in the Hatfield again soon if you want to have a look
Post by: screenexile on January 12, 2012, 07:33:37 PM

http://youtu.be/gimiDBAK2wA
Post by: Hardy on January 12, 2012, 07:44:42 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 12, 2012, 07:33:37 PM

http://youtu.be/gimiDBAK2wA

Brilliant. Sums the whole racket up perfectly.