GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Bud Wiser on July 13, 2010, 05:10:54 PM

Title: Dublin Hurling.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 13, 2010, 05:10:54 PM
Well come on lads, give the Dubs some bit of credit for their game against Clare and being in the U21 Leinster Final tomorrow.  Everyone seems to think they were the whipping boys against Kilkenny but apart from the goals I thought their skill levels were great and next time, even in three months time they would not be such a walkover against the Cats. Three games in Croke Park in the one years championship, along withn the fact that some of their lads are still involved in U21 Final sounds good to me for the future of Dublin hurling but they need more support than they are getting.
Title: Re: Dublin Hurling.
Post by: seafoid on July 13, 2010, 05:18:53 PM
Well said bud. i thought that was a great win over Clare. Onwards and upwards.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 13, 2010, 05:40:36 PM
It was a very good win. I'm from antrim and it worries me.

We will need to seriously up our game from the Carlow game to get even close however the spirut we showed was heartening. Hoping for a ref who will do us a few more favours (as in give us more than 1 free in 35 minutes of hurling) in this one too which should help.

In saying that Dublin were good Clare came back well and had the goalie not misjudged a ball and the momentum then not been taken further out of them by one of the players getting a serious injury the game could have been a lot closer. Credit to dublin for riding that storm though.

Post by: INDIANA on July 13, 2010, 06:38:06 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 13, 2010, 05:40:36 PM
It was a very good win. I'm from antrim and it worries me.

We will need to seriously up our game from the Carlow game to get even close however the spirut we showed was heartening. Hoping for a ref who will do us a few more favours (as in give us more than 1 free in 35 minutes of hurling) in this one too which should help.

In saying that Dublin were good Clare came back well and had the goalie not misjudged a ball and the momentum then not been taken further out of them by one of the players getting a serious injury the game could have been a lot closer. Credit to dublin for riding that storm though.

21 game will take a lot of 4 of our players tomorrow

antrim and dublin games are always tight. Petrified about this one personally
Post by: imtommygunn on July 13, 2010, 06:57:39 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 13, 2010, 06:38:06 PM
antrim and dublin games are always tight. Petrified about this one personally

Me too. Last year was far from tight but I would expect a big improvement from us.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 13, 2010, 07:37:22 PM
I've a cousin on the starting 15 for Dublin. So am watching their every move with great interest. I hope they overcome Antrim. It will be tight, hopefully Dublin's day out in Croker before will give them an edge.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on July 13, 2010, 08:08:11 PM
Great win for Dublin.  After watching them be annihilated against the Cats a few weeks ago I thought they wouldn't be a match for Clare but they proved me wrong.  Could be a very good game between ourselves and Dublin should they beat Antrim and be drawn against us in the  Q/F.  Don't think there would be much between the two teams.  Would love to see that match happen.
Post by: INDIANA on July 13, 2010, 09:40:33 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on July 13, 2010, 08:08:11 PM
Great win for Dublin.  After watching them be annihilated against the Cats a few weeks ago I thought they wouldn't be a match for Clare but they proved me wrong.  Could be a very good game between ourselves and Dublin should they beat Antrim and be drawn against us in the  Q/F.  Don't think there would be much between the two teams.  Would love to see that match happen.

Yep I thought we were shite against Kilkenny. Having watched galway play kilkenny maybe I was too hasty. I think kilkenny will tank everyone.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on July 13, 2010, 10:22:49 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 13, 2010, 09:45:34 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 13, 2010, 09:40:33 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on July 13, 2010, 08:08:11 PM

Yep I thought we were shite against Kilkenny. Having watched galway play kilkenny maybe I was too hasty. I think kilkenny will tank everyone.
I would agree with that, although are Galway all they're cracked up to be? Thinking of their games against Offaly and how Antrim did against Offaly.

Nope but who ever thought we were?  Certainly not Galway people.  I don't think we are as bad as our performcane against Kilkenny made us out to be either though.  On our day we could give Kilkenny a great game but for the most part we are just not good enough.  Kilkenny are ahead of everyone with Tipp being the closest to catching them.  After that there is very little between ourselves, Cork and Waterford.
Title: Board move to clear O'Carroll for hurlers
Post by: spuds on July 14, 2010, 10:58:44 AM

Board move to clear O'Carroll for hurlers
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0714/1224274657249.html

QuoteTHE DUBLIN County Board have intervened in the tug of war involving dual footballer and hurler Rory O'Carroll, clearing the way for his involvement in this evening's Leinster under-21 hurling final against Wexford at Parnell Park.

O'Carroll had been told by Dublin football manager Pat Gilroy not to play any part with the under-21 hurlers, and to save himself instead for Saturday's All-Ireland senior football qualifier against Armagh.

That prompted Dublin hurling manager Anthony Daly – who also acts as an under-21 selector – to refer to that decision as "a joke", that O'Carroll wouldn't do himself any harm whatsoever playing with the hurlers; especially considering four other under-21s are also due to play with the Dublin senior hurlers on Saturday in their qualifier against Antrim which takes place before the senior footballers.

"At this point in time all I would say is discussions have taken place," said Gerry Harrington, the Dublin county board chairman. "Although I wouldn't like to comment any further than that."

Given O'Carroll's hugely influential role at centre back in helping Dublin beat Kilkenny in the Leinster under-21 hurling semi-final last month, it now appears inevitable he will again play some part this evening – either in the starting 15 or as a substitute.

He was a late addition to the team the last day and hasn't actually been training regularly with the under-21 hurlers this season, but he's potentially one of Dublin's best defenders on the day.

Also, given the Leinster title is at stake this evening – and Dublin are looking to claim it for the second time in four years – there was always going to be pressure on the Dublin County Board to intervene in some way.

"It is a special occasion," said Harrington, "in the sense we have already won the Leinster title in under-21 football, and indeed went on to win the All-Ireland.

"This under-21 hurling team played a fantastic game of hurling against Kilkenny, down in Nowlan Park, two weeks ago. So I suppose the big picture is opening up for them now and, in that regard, it would be great to see as many Dublin hurling supporters as possible in Parnell Park for this final. It will make a great occasion.

"But Wexford certainly won't be easy opposition. No Wexford team is ever caught for style or passion or determination and I've no doubt this under-21 team will be no different."

Fellow Kilmacud Crokes player Robert O'Loughlin had, in the meantime, been drafted in for O'Carroll into the reshuffled Dublin half-back line, although that may now change again.

But Daly's strong criticism of Gilroy's decision to refuse O'Carroll permission to line out with the under-21s appeared to create some potential tension between the two senior managers.

Harrington played down this potential tension, although the situation again illustrates the inevitable conflict of interests whenever dual players try to play both codes at senior level.

"There has been good co-operation on both sides," added Harrington, "and I don't think this will sour that in any way, no. As I said there have been discussions."

Daly acts as a selector with Dublin Under-21 hurler manager Richard Stakelum, and didn't hold back in his comments on Monday when word first emerged of Gilroy's decision to keep O'Carroll for himself – as the former Clare All-Ireland winning captain compared the situation with soccer and rugby: "Look at how fellas last in the World Cup with matches every three or four days – how do they last on the Lions tour when they go and play twice a week? It's rubbish."

Whether O'Carroll starts with the hurlers in Parnell Park this evening, he will almost certainly be starting at full back with the senior footballers on Saturday as they take on Armagh in the third round of the All-Ireland football qualifiers – a far more daunting task for the beaten Leinster semi-finalists than last Saturday's second round against Tipperary.

On that note, Harrington has called for a greater show of Dublin support than the 22,048 that showed up in Croke Park for last Saturday's double-bill which also featured the Dublin senior hurlers beating Clare. "We would hope for a bigger show of support this Saturday, absolutely. But I suppose the day that was in it last Saturday, and the very wet conditions, probably turned quite a few people off. And probably the football supporters were always expecting us to beat Tipperary.

"But this weekend should be different in that Armagh are coming to town. I think it will make a great afternoon's entertainment in Croke Park and I would like to ask all our supporters to turn out on Saturday for the footballers and the hurlers. And to be in Croke Park in plenty of time."

Meanwhile, the Ulster Council have announced all seated tickets for Sunday's football final between Tyrone and Monaghan in Clones are sold. There are a number of terrace tickets available from county boards and Ticketmaster.
Post by: Declan on July 15, 2010, 09:47:23 AM
Great win by the U21s last night as well. Well done to all concerned
Post by: Galwaybhoy on July 15, 2010, 10:34:41 AM
Great win and great strides being made in Dublin hurling.  Hopfully improvements will continue to be made but its also important not to get too carried away.  There is still alot of hard work to be done which was evident watching the minors take on Kilkenny a couple of weeks ago.  But still major improvements compared to the state of Dublin hurling back 6 or 7 years ago.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on July 15, 2010, 01:27:30 PM
Dublin were pretty awful in this game. Wexford should really have gotten more from the game. They died a bit when Dublin got their first goal, and had only really stayed in the game to that point via frees.

Still, it says a lot that they can perform so poorly yet still win. And a win is a win is a win.
Post by: fearglasmor on July 15, 2010, 01:42:44 PM
From what I saw on tv I thought Wexford looked the better hurlers but Dublins athleticism pulled them through.

Anyone think kicked goals should be banned ?
Post by: Canalman on July 15, 2010, 02:08:36 PM
In hurling Athleticism has NEVER beaten a better hurling team. Falling into a lazy stereotype there imo fearglasmór.
Watched the game on tv last night and never thought Dublin would be beaten...... even when 4 down. They looked more menacing throughout.

Dublin's bogey team( in hurling terms )awaits in Galway.
Post by: Zulu on July 15, 2010, 02:30:57 PM
Waht about Clare? Under Loughnane their primary advantage was they were fitter than their opponents. that's not to say they didn't have some great players but physical fitness was certainly a major weapon in their armoury.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on July 15, 2010, 02:48:38 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on July 15, 2010, 01:42:44 PM
From what I saw on tv I thought Wexford looked the better hurlers but Dublins athleticism pulled them through.

Anyone think kicked goals should be banned ?

I'd agree with this to an extent. It works when the pitch is tight. But Dublin also had a self-belief about them that made them stay going until the end. In the last 10-12 mins, Wexford faded out.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on July 15, 2010, 02:50:45 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 15, 2010, 02:30:57 PM
Waht about Clare? Under Loughnane their primary advantage was they were fitter than their opponents. that's not to say they didn't have some great players but physical fitness was certainly a major weapon in their armoury.

That was a transitional time for hurling. Teams were starting to go from traditional preparation methods (2 laps warmup, drills, a match, go home), to intense physical fitness.

Clare showed how not to do it. Sure they got their couple of all-Irelands, but the wear and tear on that panel was more evident than within any other team I ever saw. Those lads were pretty much all burnt out before their time.
Post by: the colonel on July 15, 2010, 04:31:58 PM
Quote from: bottlethrower7 on July 15, 2010, 02:50:45 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 15, 2010, 02:30:57 PM

That was a transitional time for hurling. Teams were starting to go from traditional preparation methods (2 laps warmup, drills, a match, go home), to intense physical fitness.

Clare showed how not to do it. Sure they got their couple of all-Irelands, but the wear and tear on that panel was more evident than within any other team I ever saw. Those lads were pretty much all burnt out before their time.

Clare were fit yes, but look at the hurlers they had, Jamesie, the Lohans, McMahon, Baker, Sparrow etc. With all their physical training it brought a great degree of mental toughness as well, which was probably what Clare were lacking upto 95.
Post by: fearglasmor on July 15, 2010, 05:05:50 PM
I dont have any agenda against Dublin or anything but is it normal that one team gets a home match in a provincial final.
I think Offaly had to go to Parnell Park a couple of years ago also.

Maybe theres a toss for it, i dont know.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 15, 2010, 05:08:31 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on July 15, 2010, 05:05:50 PM
I dont have any agenda against Dublin or anything but is it normal that one team gets a home match in a provincial final.

It was the same for the football, luck of the draw
Post by: imtommygunn on July 15, 2010, 05:11:27 PM
I mean to post on this today.

I thought Dublin better athletes and Wexford better hurlers.

Peter Kelly best player on the pitch though. Always had composure and could always find space when he got the ball.

Is no. 11 on dublin senior team? (Rushe his name is I think?) I was disappointed in him - his decision making quite poor on the ball.

Disappointed not to see O'Carroll player. I probably prefer football to hurling in all honesty but I don't think Gilroy should have put him in that position and 2 fingers should have been put up to him...
Post by: Canalman on July 15, 2010, 05:44:02 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on July 15, 2010, 05:05:50 PM

In fairness we went away in semis to Nowlan Park to beat the Cats. Final was predrawn as a home venue for that side of the draw.
Some years we had to play KK in Nowlan Park in the U21 final (which we lost) so I am not buying Wx's grievance here.
Btw am a great fan of Wexford hurling........ my 2nd team for years.
Post by: INDIANA on July 15, 2010, 06:51:13 PM
Quote from: bottlethrower7 on July 15, 2010, 01:27:30 PM
Dublin were pretty awful in this game. Wexford should really have gotten more from the game. They died a bit when Dublin got their first goal, and had only really stayed in the game to that point via frees.

Still, it says a lot that they can perform so poorly yet still win. And a win is a win is a win.

Exactly. Didn;'t perform but won. Christ think of all the heroic epic of failures we've had in recent years and lost. I'll take this in spades.
Post by: Canalman on July 17, 2010, 07:14:26 PM
Well done Antrim. Bitter bitter blow for us.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on July 18, 2010, 12:10:24 AM
Quote from: Canalman on July 17, 2010, 07:14:26 PM
Cracker finish to it from a neutral's point of view, well I do have a soft spot for Antrim and cheered them on a bit
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 18, 2010, 09:45:11 AM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on July 18, 2010, 12:10:24 AM
Quote from: Canalman on July 17, 2010, 07:14:26 PM
Cracker finish to it from a neutral's point of view, well I do have a soft spot for Antrim and cheered them on a bit

And therein lies the problem for Dublin, cheering them on. I am sure nobody will disagree that if the support on the Hill that is given to the footballers was given to the hurlers it would be worth at least two or three points. The problem Daly has now is keeping the momentum with the lads because they are a good bunch.  Heffo knows about FODH (friends of dublin hurling) but a bigger effort throughout all clubs must be made to give the lads a bit of a lift.  I can't understand Dublin supporters who will pay into Croke Park for a football game and not watch and support their hurling team at all.  Then, I suppose I can't understand why the football game was not on before the hurling or why a cracking Munster Final Replay was played on a Saturday.
Post by: INDIANA on July 18, 2010, 02:17:06 PM
Very poor day for the Dublin hurlers yesterday. Congrats to Antrim though. they deserve their day in the sun. they've been simialr to ourselves and its their day in the sun. But a complete shocker from Dublin. An awful first half performance. How we were level at HT was beyond me.
Then to go 6 up \and let it slip was a disaster. Daly had  a poor day on the line. Took off all the 21's because he thought the game was won. Very poor management I'm afraid. He has to take a large share of the blame for yesterday.

However the lack of leadership on this team is unreal. Against a team that don't have the benefit of div 1 hurling antrim looked sharper and hungrier. Why i don't know. Outside Carton, Boland and Lambert and to an extent O Dwyer little to shout about.

Gutted beyond belief today. Really disappointed in the players. They'd want to realise exactly where they stand in the pecking order and put the delusions of grandeur aside. Why they would ever think we would beat a Dinny Cahill trained team easily considering we ahve always struggled against them was beyond me.

However had we kept Rushe, Kelly and Co on the pitch I think we'd have won by 2/3 points. And Daly must acknowledge that for me.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 18, 2010, 05:16:07 PM
If you were looking at it from a blame perspective Indiana I would look no further than your 2 corner forwards. Those 2 boys must have thought they were back playing u12 again yesterday and could walk the ball into the net at their leisure rather than taking their points. Daly can't answer for that.

Great win for antrim. Over the moon with it. The character and belief shown when 6 points down to get right back in it and then to win it was admirible.

Did Kelly come off - I thought he was on McManus at the end? Rushe wasn't that effective so I'd have thought subbing him was alright...
Post by: bottlethrower7 on July 19, 2010, 09:25:41 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 18, 2010, 02:17:06 PM
However the lack of leadership on this team is unreal.

I think you hit the nail on the head there. Its always the danger when adopting a 'youth' policy. And that type of policy has never worked as far as I can tell. Maybe it was forced on Dublin somewhat, but thrusting lads of 23/24 into a position where they're now the senior players on the team is never going to bode well in an overall sense.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 21, 2010, 07:22:13 PM
I wonder will Anthony Daly stay on?
When was interviewed On the Sunday Game, he seemed a bit rattled - he was doing overtime on the sucking of air between his teeth. -
*fizz* Jesus, *fizz* "I dunno where it went wrong. *fizz*.
*fizz* We'll just have to see *fizz*

Dublin's biggest problem in the last couple of years is that they can't seem to get decent back to back good performances.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 22, 2010, 09:34:27 PM
Half the team played three games in one week and I'd say the reason he was sucking through his teeth was because he was trying to hold back from saying that, on top of a game too many, Pat Gilroy robbed him of his full back, along with getting Conal Keany to declare for football and then leaving him on the bench. Another county where hurling is the bridesmaid.
Post by: Premier Emperor on July 22, 2010, 09:42:57 PM
Daly won't bring Dublin far.
If they hurl anything like the Clare teams that Daly played on and managed, they won't worry the big hurling powers.

Dinny Cahill, working with a fraction of the players and resources gave him a lesson.
Post by: INDIANA on August 15, 2010, 12:37:12 PM
best of luck to our minors today. Heading in now.
Post by: GAA_Punter on August 15, 2010, 01:13:20 PM
Live scores on
http://wp.me/pFM7o-74R

John Murphy is to keep faith with the same minor side that beat Antrim in to reach Sunday's All-Ireland minor semi-final. Dublin had one slight doubt with Cillian Moffat. The right half back picked up an ankle injury last weekend but has been passed fit by the Dublin medical team. Dublin lost the Leinster final to Kilkenny, but will get the chance to avenge that defeat if they can overcome the Munster champions in the curtain raiser to Sunday's senior semi-final between Waterford and Tipperary.

Clare's joint manager Gerry O'Conner today said the banner are sweating on two players, goalkeeper Ronan Taaffe and wing forward Cathal Malone. Clare backroom staff have said both players will have to pass strict fitness tests to get out on Croke Park this Sunday. Taaffe suffered a dislocated shoulder injury during a training session while Malone sustained a similar. O'Conner said today "We're still hopeful that both players will be okay," Clare joint manager Gerry O'Connor said. Ronan has yet to train under contact but is getting better and Cathal is in a similar position. We'll put both lads through their paces tonight and then talk to our physio and medical people about it. We'll make a call on it then, based on how they fared when picking the team." Its thought if Taaffe fails to make it, Niall Woods will replace him between the posts. Cathal O'Connell and Alan Mulready, meanwhile, are on standby to replace Malone.

Dublin Team: E Dillon; C Murphy, E McKenna, S McClelland; C Moffat, D Sutcliffe, B Quinn; D Kelly, B McCarthy; G Whelan, C Kilkenny, F Heavey; C Costello, E Ó'Conghaile, D Flood.
Subs: C O'Mahony, E Small, C Crummey, M McCaffrey, N Maguire, R Hardy, N Ryan, D Forde, J Hetherton.

Clare Team : R Taaffe; H Vaughan, P Flanagan, S Morey; E Boyce, K Lynch, S O'Halloran; C Galvin, T Kelly; C Malone, P Collins, J Shanahan; D O'Halloran, N Arthur, D Keane.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on August 16, 2010, 10:22:27 AM
gutted for them. Dublin no way deserved anything out of this game yet could well have won it.

Not an unbiased view (seeing as its about a clubmate of mine), but if Rob Hardy hadn't have been injured Dublin would have won this game. He steadied the ship considerably when he came on. His was the ball in for Costello's goal in the second half, and it was his shot that flashed off the post at the end.