Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on June 15, 2010, 05:59:25 PM

Title: US Open 2010,Pebble Beach
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 15, 2010, 05:59:25 PM
Seems to be forgotten about with the World Cup on but I will be glued to this especially on Sunday evening

Lee Westwood has to win a major soon surely? He has come so close the last few times,maybe that win at the weekend will spur him on now that he has won in America again.

Don't think Harrington will come anywhere near it,might not even make the cut I reckon,hope I'm wrong but its hard to see him win it.

I'm gonna go with eachway bets of

Westwood @12/1
Phil Mick @ 8/1
Dustin Johnson @40/1
Paul Casey @40/1
Title: Re: US Open 2010,Pebble Beach
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 15, 2010, 06:19:14 PM
Cant wait to this, same with all the majors. Did westwood @ 12/1 and a top 10 finish for stenson @ 9/1.
Post by: Catch the high ball on June 15, 2010, 06:50:25 PM
The main reason I can't wait for it to start is to see the course and the views.

Did Mc'Ilroy to win as he knows how to play the links courses along with Mickelson.

Also done Tiger, just because he is Tiger.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 15, 2010, 08:33:34 PM
If you're backing Lee John in a major, I hope it's with betfair, because you better be ready to lay off if he goes in front.  He has shown time and again that he can't handle the pressure at the top, it's surprising, as so many inferior players have managed it, maybe he puts too much pressure on himself?
Anyway, I'm taking Tiger, Oosthuizen, Duval, Donald (I know he's a similar front runner to Lee John), maybe Quiros and O'Hair too.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 15, 2010, 08:48:21 PM
I usually just tell her she can move back to her parents for the weekend if she wants
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 15, 2010, 09:15:10 PM
Backed Geoff Ogilvy. Class player on his day and former winner although needs to make big improvement on recent form.
Post by: Tyrones own on June 15, 2010, 10:48:51 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 15, 2010, 05:59:25 PM
Seems to be forgotten about with the World Cup on but I will be glued to this especially on Sunday evening

Lee Westwood has to win a major soon surely? He has come so close the last few times,maybe that win at the weekend will spur him on now that he has won in America again.

Don't think Harrington will come anywhere near it,might not even make the cut I reckon,hope I'm wrong but its hard to see him win it.

Westwood @12/1
Phil Mick @ 8/1
Dustin Johnson @40/1
Paul Casey @40/1

Hard to look past Johnson especially at that price...and he certainly knows how to win there!
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 15, 2010, 10:56:13 PM
See woods and westwood have been paired together for the first two days and so have harrington and mickelson.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 15, 2010, 11:04:08 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on June 15, 2010, 10:48:51 PM

Westwood @12/1
Phil Mick @ 8/1
Dustin Johnson @40/1
Paul Casey @40/1

Hard to look past Johnson especially at that price...and he certainly knows how to win there!

Yeah he's probably worth a bet but wouldn't get too carried away with his back to back victories in the AT&T.
It's played over 3 courses(PB included) for the first 3 rounds and then the final round at PB. The first year he won it the last round was washed out so he only played 18 holes there.
Also with the way the GA will set it up it might not suit a big hitter like him.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 15, 2010, 11:31:10 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on June 15, 2010, 10:48:51 PM

Westwood @12/1
Phil Mick @ 8/1
Dustin Johnson @40/1
Paul Casey @40/1

cold wet february conditions, nearly threw it away this year and won the year before because it was reduced 3 rounds (i think).  Very different to the hard and fast US Open conditions.  In saying that, he has form, but I think the price is a bit skimpy for someone whose done little or nought since pebble in feb.
Post by: heganboy on June 16, 2010, 03:41:39 AM
DJ -never going to happen!This year pebble has been set up to favour the wizard of the short game, unless the weather blows up a bit the americans should be in the chair. Phil if he has an on form week, fowler is worth an each way punt, maybe barnes. Tiger could get away with his horrible driving, but if the stories are to be believed he has a new lower angled driver and a new shaft on it too (so many jokes) if he is keeping it in play of the tees, he's going to be right up there. McIlroy an each way, don't think he has it in the tank yet, but of the young guns he's the one to watch. Westwood another good each way, Poulter could put a handy run together and Justin Rose has finally got a putter he trusts. Everybody's favourite Freddie Couples could put in a wee run or two and Tom Watson has one stunning round in him, as always a couple of "stories" will end up on the leaderboard but won't maintain the charge on Sunday.

Wouldn't be surprised to see Fowler, Woods, McIlroy, Westwood and Michelson make up the top 5. But sure isn't it golf, and anything can happen...
Post by: Bogball XV on June 16, 2010, 01:31:14 PM
I didn't see Fowler in the betting Heganboy or I'd be on him too, don't think he's qualified.
Post by: mountainboii on June 16, 2010, 01:48:01 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 16, 2010, 01:31:14 PM
I didn't see Fowler in the betting Heganboy or I'd be on him too, don't think he's qualified.

He hasn't. Neither has another of heganboy's mentions, Justin Rose.

http://sports.yahoo.com/golf/blog/devil_ball_golf/post/Well-that-stinks-No-U-S-Open-for-Fowler-Rose?urn=golf,246527
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 16, 2010, 03:10:20 PM
Quote from: heganboy on June 16, 2010, 03:41:39 AM
DJ -never going to happen!This year pebble has been set up to favour the wizard of the short game, unless the weather blows up a bit the americans should be in the chair. Phil if he has an on form week, fowler is worth an each way punt, maybe barnes. Tiger could get away with his horrible driving, but if the stories are to be believed he has a new lower angled driver and a new shaft on it too (so many jokes) if he is keeping it in play of the tees, he's going to be right up there. McIlroy an each way, don't think he has it in the tank yet, but of the young guns he's the one to watch. Westwood another good each way, Poulter could put a handy run together and Justin Rose has finally got a putter he trusts. Everybody's favourite Freddie Couples could put in a wee run or two and Tom Watson has one stunning round in him, as always a couple of "stories" will end up on the leaderboard but won't maintain the charge on Sunday.

Wouldn't be surprised to see Fowler, Woods, McIlroy, Westwood and Michelson make up the top 5. But sure isn't it golf, and anything can happen...

Feddy Couples hasn't qualified either. As for the yanks in the chair here, it's a course that will suit Europeans. Last time it was played here MAJ, Westwood, Harrington and Faldo finished in the top 7.
Post by: heganboy on June 16, 2010, 03:14:33 PM
the perils of writing late at night without fact checking, my apologies for poor form...
still think bad weather will help europeans...

And on re-read did i miss anyone- I think I may has well have tipped the entire field (and a load of golfers not in the field)
Post by: Orior on June 16, 2010, 03:21:52 PM
McIlroy was on the radio this morning talking himself up, saying how good he felt and how well he was swinging the club.

Strange. Everytime I talk myself up I end up shooting 20 over my handicap.
Post by: heganboy on June 16, 2010, 03:31:21 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 16, 2010, 03:21:52 PM
McIlroy was on the radio this morning talking himself up, saying how good he felt and how well he was swinging the club.

Strange. Everytime I talk myself up I end up shooting 20 over my handicap.

I think its a long time since mcIlroy shot a 90...
Post by: heganboy on June 16, 2010, 03:33:23 PM
how Vegas sees the US Open: (from golf.com)

Forget what the experts say -- Tiger Woods is still the favorite to win the 2010 U.S. Open.

Las Vegas sportsbooks have Tiger Woods as a 4-1 favorite to win this week's tournament at Pebble Beach Golf Links, followed closely by Phil Mickelson at 5-1. Lee Westwood is the third choice at 10-1, according to Chuck Esposito, casino operations manager at the Tropicana Hotel in Las Vegas.

That means that a $1 bet on Woods will pay $4 if he wins the tournament. It sounds like short odds, but Esposito said 4 to 1 is actually a value bet for Woods at a major.

"That's not short on him," Esposito said. " At a major, he's usually even money or even laying money at 5 to 6 or 5 to 7."

Woods was a 4-to-1 favorite at this year's Masters, which was his first event following his sex scandals and ensuing five-month layoff. Woods finished tied for fourth at the Masters, and his inconsistent play since then has most golf observers calling Mickelson, not Woods, the favorite at Pebble.

Esposito said that casinos set their odds based on how they think the public will bet, which doesn't always match the so-called experts' picks.

"We're putting Woods as the favorite because that's the way we see the public viewing the tournament," Esposito said. "If his odds are too high, you'd see an abundance of Tiger action. We're trying to put a number up that will draw some good two-way action.

After Westwood (10 to 1), the other favorites are Ernie Els (12 to 1), Padraig Harrington (15-1), Jim Furyk (18 to 1), Steve Stricker (18 to 1) and Retief Goosen (20 to 1).

Els opened as the third favorite at 8 to 1, but has fallen to 12 to 1. Meanwhile, odds have dropped considerably on Dustin Johnson (opened 35 to 1, now 20 to 1), K.J. Choi (opened 50 to 1, now 20 to 1), Hunter Mahan (opened 50 to 1, now 30 to 1) and Kenny Perry (opened 100 to 1, now 65 to 1). The field is 10 to 1, which was the smart bet last year when Lucas Glover won at Bethpage.

Esposito said he expects the total wagering on the U.S. Open to be in the high six figures industry-wide, maybe even seven figures if Woods is in contention on Sunday. It won't, however, generate the most excitement in the sportsbooks. That honor goes to the World Cup, for which fans camp out with their vuvuzelas and flags for the best seats at Las Vegas casinos.

"The World Cup crowds have been phenomenal," Esposito said. "It's amazing to see how big it's become. People are waving flags, hooting and hollering, and when a goal is scored, it's like an eruption in the room."

Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2010, 07:48:21 PM
Harrington +4 and 7 off the lead already
Post by: Catch the high ball on June 17, 2010, 08:34:12 PM
Anyone got a link for watching this? What time is Mc Ilroy out at and who with?
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 17, 2010, 09:14:49 PM
Harrington finished +2. Well in it.
Post by: venter on June 17, 2010, 09:18:11 PM
Harry could easily have finished level. He missed a couple of 10 footers on 7 & 8, his 16th and 17th. Still he should be reasonably happy with that. Only 3 back so far. Could be very difficult going out tomorrow afternoon if you are within a few shots of the cut line. The course looks tough. I'd love to be out there for the week. spectacular
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2010, 09:36:25 PM
Things looking better for Harrington alright, a good round tomorrow will hopefully keep him in with the leaders
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2010, 10:13:58 PM
That par 3 7th is just beautiful
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 17, 2010, 10:24:57 PM
Woods is striking the ball v well. Could be ominous for the field.

It's some course. I think it costs about $400 to play there. I reckon I'd get decent value, maybe $4 per shot  :)
Post by: Bogball XV on June 17, 2010, 10:27:06 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on June 17, 2010, 10:24:57 PM

It's some course. I think it costs about $400 to play there. I reckon I'd get decent value, maybe $4 per shot  :)
in your dreams geoff!
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 17, 2010, 10:38:26 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 17, 2010, 10:27:06 PM

in your dreams geoff!

Sure you have to dream Bogball! Definitely going to play it within the next 5 years though or at least do a
week of playing courses along the California coastline.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 17, 2010, 10:38:58 PM
There's another paddy playing, under the radar of dual citizenship - Kevin Phelan, age 19, born in NY to a paddy daddy (who used to play squash for ireland).  Moved back to Waterford aged 3 and headed back to the states when he was 14.  He's in college in Florida now and eagled his last hole in the qualifier to qualify for the US Open.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 17, 2010, 10:40:21 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on June 17, 2010, 10:38:26 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 17, 2010, 10:27:06 PM

in your dreams geoff!

Sure you have to dream Bogball! Definitely going to play it within the next 5 years though or at least do a
week of playing courses along the California coastline.
aye, start down at torrey in san diego and play all the way up to pebble near san fran - nice drive too I believe.  I'd say it'd cost a few quid in green fees.
Post by: Tyrones own on June 17, 2010, 10:45:47 PM
I'd say it would be virtually impossible to line up the tee times as there's quite
a waiting list to play some of the better known courses :-\
Post by: Bogball XV on June 17, 2010, 10:50:48 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on June 17, 2010, 10:45:47 PM
I'd say it would be virtually impossible to line up the tee times as there's quite
gaaboard golf trip 2020, book your tickets and tee times now!
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 17, 2010, 11:00:04 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 17, 2010, 10:50:48 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on June 17, 2010, 10:45:47 PM
gaaboard golf trip 2020, book your tickets and tee times now!

Yeah me and the lads I go on an annual golf trip we said we'd do it for the 10th anniversary but maybe 20th might be more realistic.
Post by: flantheman82 on June 17, 2010, 11:12:02 PM
Anyone else a bit horrified by sergio's trousers with the stripes? Look like thosetracksuit bottoms with the stripes going halfway either side.
Post by: Orior on June 18, 2010, 12:24:52 AM
Quote from: flantheman82 on June 17, 2010, 11:12:02 PM
Anyone else a bit horrified by sergio's trousers with the stripes? Look like thosetracksuit bottoms with the stripes going halfway either side.

At least he dosnt look like a Poulter.
Post by: ballela-angel on June 18, 2010, 04:07:36 AM
It's some course. I think it costs about $400 to play there. I reckon I'd get decent value, maybe $4 per shot 

I played it once and it is a nice "links" course - However, I have played much nicer real links courses in Kerry, Clare, Mayo, Sligo, Donegal, Down, Louth and Dublin at a fraction of the cost and had as much or more fun. (I left out the other counties that have coast line because I have not played any of them, but will some day.)
Post by: magickingdom on June 18, 2010, 07:51:00 PM
g mcdowell has a great round going... now leader by 3
Post by: ONeill on June 19, 2010, 08:26:35 AM
McDowwwwwellll leads at the halfway. Rory on the plane home.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 19, 2010, 12:28:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 19, 2010, 08:26:35 AM
McDowwwwwellll leads at the halfway. Rory on the plane home.
at least it's his own plane ;)

Mickelson had some round yesterday, it's a treacherous course this time of year and there are several holes that can undo anyone - i'd be surprised if Graeme manages to keep it together for the last two rounds.  He's shown a bit of mental frailty in the past when leading, especially in majors and in the states.
Hopefully he can stick in there and give us somebody to cheer on in the last round, be great to see a derry victory (we're claiming portrush as well as portstewart now too, but like the brits, only when they're winning).

Ps, it'd be better if we didn't have to hear him interviewed, that mid atlantic accent is terrifying.
Post by: sammymaguire on June 19, 2010, 04:30:31 PM
Ernie Els at 6/1 looks tasty to see it out, the Big Easy well overdue a Major
Post by: Bogball XV on June 20, 2010, 01:17:22 AM
As the boys pointed out earlier, DJ is looking good, didn't back him as I didn't think this time of year would suit him - i still think he'll have bother closing it out, but his positive mental vibes with the course can only help from here.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 20, 2010, 02:01:40 AM
What a round from Tiger finishes on -1!!
Post by: ludermor on June 20, 2010, 02:42:09 AM
From the BBC text.

A couple of texts asking why we use the European flag for McDowell rather than the British one - well, McDowell finished competed for Ireland at last year's golf world cup (playing with fellow Northern Irishman Rory McIlroy, incidentally), finishing second, which rather suggests he considers himself Irish, not British.
Post by: Catch the high ball on June 20, 2010, 10:22:31 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 20, 2010, 01:17:22 AM
As the boys pointed out earlier, DJ is looking good, didn't back him as I didn't think this time of year would suit him - i still think he'll have bother closing it out, but his positive mental vibes with the course can only help from here.

His put on the 18th was unreal.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 20, 2010, 10:43:40 PM
McDonald with a triple bogey on the second
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 20, 2010, 10:51:51 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 20, 2010, 10:43:40 PM

???

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 20, 2010, 10:58:37 PM
Meaning he's dropped to co-leader with McDowell.

And now he's lost a ball on the next hole - could be another triple bogey
Post by: Minder on June 20, 2010, 10:59:14 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on June 20, 2010, 10:51:51 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 20, 2010, 10:43:40 PM

???

Johnston i take it?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 20, 2010, 10:59:43 PM
Ah shite - I meant Johnson :oops:
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 20, 2010, 11:00:07 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 20, 2010, 10:58:37 PM
Meaning he's dropped to co-leader with McDowell.

And now he's lost a ball on the next hole - could be another triple bogey

Why are you calling him McDonald??
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 20, 2010, 11:02:23 PM
Els is looking v strong although it's wide open. Pity it's on so late.
Post by: Minder on June 20, 2010, 11:04:34 PM
Fella I work with has £20 on Johnson at 33/1, I would think he is fit to be tied about now.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 20, 2010, 11:07:06 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 20, 2010, 11:04:34 PM
Fella I work with has £20 on Johnson at 33/1, I would think he is fit to be tied about now.

Yeah would hate that.
Post by: Orior on June 20, 2010, 11:07:59 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 20, 2010, 10:59:43 PM
Ah shite - I meant Johnson :oops:

Great see to i'm not not the only one that doesnt before check hit typing hitting Post.
Post by: Puckoon on June 20, 2010, 11:09:15 PM
The Johnson needs some Viagra. This is mental. At least van de velde blew up on one hole only.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 20, 2010, 11:13:04 PM
Well there's an ad for Cialis Puck - will that do?
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 20, 2010, 11:25:45 PM
stuck £10 on Els last night when he was 4 or 5 behind at 10/1, got a chance.
Post by: muppet on June 20, 2010, 11:52:04 PM
I am afraid to say it in case I jinx him............but he is 2 ahead!

11 pars will almost certainly win it now.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2010, 11:55:17 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on June 20, 2010, 11:25:45 PM

That chance has just disappeared
Post by: mick999 on June 20, 2010, 11:58:09 PM
Anyone found a decent online stream to watch this ?
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 21, 2010, 12:04:04 AM
Great save from McDowell at the 8 holding his nerve very well
Post by: mick999 on June 21, 2010, 12:05:47 AM
Quote from: mick999 on June 20, 2010, 11:58:09 PM
Anyone found a decent online stream to watch this ?

To answer my own question,

Just found one .... 

http://www.sportprovider.info/2010/06/golf-us-open-championships-2010_20.html (http://www.sportprovider.info/2010/06/golf-us-open-championships-2010_20.html)

Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 21, 2010, 12:06:13 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2010, 11:55:17 PM

looks like it but things can change quickly!
Post by: Oraisteach on June 21, 2010, 12:10:51 AM
This course has got to remind him of Portrush
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2010, 12:13:58 AM
He's in some position now. Keep er lit.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 21, 2010, 12:14:16 AM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on June 21, 2010, 12:06:13 AM

Maybe but three bogies in a row now, his chance is gone
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 21, 2010, 12:27:29 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 21, 2010, 12:14:16 AM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on June 21, 2010, 12:06:13 AM

Maybe but three bogies in a row now, his chance is gone

Not quite!   ;D
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 21, 2010, 12:29:14 AM
Ha! Now McDowell is dropping shots, Johnson and Els back in this..
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2010, 01:11:37 AM
Gonna be a tight finish. McDowell not looking convincing but every player is dropping shots.
Post by: Oraisteach on June 21, 2010, 01:14:28 AM
Gitta land this shot on top of Tony Fearon
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2010, 01:20:34 AM
Only one ahead. Needs to keep head. Ahead too.
Post by: Oraisteach on June 21, 2010, 01:23:38 AM
c'mon McDowell, hang in there
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2010, 01:27:54 AM
4 sensible holes and it's his.
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2010, 01:36:45 AM
Phil Mickelson Reluctantly Uses Golf Club Kids Made For Father's Day Present

PEBBLE BEACH, CA—In an effort to show appreciation for his Father's Day gift, Phil Mickelson, participating in the final round of the U.S. Open Sunday, reluctantly used a pitching wedge his three children created from a cardboard tube, construction paper, a shoe box, and masking tape. "Oh, boy. I'm never going to get all the glitter out of my golf bag," Mickelson was overheard saying as he stared down a 135-yard shot to the No. 1 green, his children eagerly looking on. "This is going to be a long day." Mickelson then examined the pitching wedge's yarn grip and the grooves drawn on the clubface in magic marker, sighed, set up to the ball, and proceeded to make a 47 on the hole.
Post by: Oraisteach on June 21, 2010, 01:46:58 AM
Good putt -- Phew!
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 21, 2010, 01:51:10 AM
2 up 2 to play keep her steady lad
Post by: Oraisteach on June 21, 2010, 01:57:02 AM
Will he do it?  Bad spot right now.
Post by: stephenite on June 21, 2010, 01:57:15 AM
Can someone please post and let me know when he's on the way up the 18th fairway so I can duck down to the canteen to watch it
Post by: mick999 on June 21, 2010, 01:58:08 AM
just watch it here and pretend you're working :

http://www.sportprovider.info/2010/06/golf-us-open-championships-2010_20.html (http://www.sportprovider.info/2010/06/golf-us-open-championships-2010_20.html)
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 21, 2010, 01:58:21 AM
Quote from: stephenite on June 21, 2010, 01:57:15 AM
Can someone please post and let me know when he's on the way up the 18th fairway so I can duck down to the canteen to watch it

Yeah will do
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 21, 2010, 02:01:39 AM
1 in it. He's teeing off on the 18th now. He's ok. In short rough
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2010, 02:04:06 AM
One good swing for a major.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 21, 2010, 02:05:34 AM
Just needs a par. Should do it. Havret missed for birdie.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on June 21, 2010, 02:07:47 AM
Watching the updates on BBC sport as I'm at work. F5 button about to fall off my keyboard!!
:-\
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2010, 02:09:11 AM
Nice, keeping the bap ok.
Post by: muppet on June 21, 2010, 02:11:17 AM
2 putts, he should do it.
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2010, 02:12:48 AM
We're Not Greg Norman We're Northern Ireland.
Post by: Oraisteach on June 21, 2010, 02:13:38 AM
Good mon, yer da.  2 to go.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 21, 2010, 02:15:44 AM
Fair play to him  :)
Post by: Never beat the deeler on June 21, 2010, 02:17:10 AM
Get in my son!!  ;D
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2010, 02:17:45 AM
"You're some kid" yer man says.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 21, 2010, 02:18:03 AM
In  the HOLE!!!  ;D
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2010, 02:19:25 AM
They're opened up Barry's Amusements in Portrush for the night.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 21, 2010, 02:20:43 AM
Well done G-Mac!
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2010, 02:21:08 AM
Sort of a feeling of disbelief from the TV boyos. Quite understated.....
Post by: stephenite on June 21, 2010, 02:23:19 AM
Fair play to him, fantastic performance over the few days
Post by: stephenite on June 21, 2010, 02:24:57 AM
I remember them talking up DJ yesterday - used the term flatliner when describing his apparent lack of nerves, muttered to myself that yesterday wasn't the day to see what sort of stuff he was made of
Post by: Puckoon on June 21, 2010, 03:10:58 AM
Jesus I almost lost my lunch when he layed up on the last! I forgot momentarily it was a par 5.
Post by: gallsman on June 21, 2010, 09:21:14 AM
Congrats McDowell, seems like a nice guy any time he' interviewed.
Post by: Orior on June 21, 2010, 09:43:11 AM
I'm knackered.

Started watching about 11pm, planning to hit the sack about midnight, then fell into the trap of just "one more hole", then "one more hole"

Well done Graeme. It just goes to show that short hitters, like me, can win!
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 21, 2010, 09:52:26 AM
Delighted for McDowell, great stuff.

Wayne McCullough is consigned to history now though, 'Ulster's' dodgiest accent award goes to the Portrush man.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 21, 2010, 09:56:10 AM
Fair play to McDowell, great to see an Antrim man doing well ;)

Glad to hear his brother on the radio this morning confirming what all Antrim people know, his name is pronounced "Mc Dough-ell" not something that rhymes with "towel"
Post by: Billys Boots on June 21, 2010, 09:58:06 AM
In Longford it's pronounced MaDool.
Post by: muppet on June 21, 2010, 10:25:22 AM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on June 21, 2010, 09:56:10 AM

Glad to hear his brother on the radio this morning confirming what all Antrim people know, his name is pronounced "Mc Dough-ell" not something that rhymes with "towel"

It's Mc lots of Dough ell now.

Funny how success breeds success. From no major wins in decades to 4 in 3 years and more on the way with Rory I'd say. 
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 21, 2010, 10:30:29 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 21, 2010, 09:58:06 AM

Aye up in the Glens you get MehDole
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 21, 2010, 10:31:24 AM
The Open at St Andrews this year should also give an opportunity to the likes of McDowell & McIlroy to have a chance.
Post by: Zapatista on June 21, 2010, 10:50:22 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 21, 2010, 09:58:06 AM
Does that mean a 'Towel' is a 'Tool'?
Post by: Hardy on June 21, 2010, 10:53:19 AM
From Sports Minister Mary Hanafin's statement congratulating McDowell:

Ms Hanafin added: "Graeme's victory at the US Open golf places him among the icons of golf such as Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, Hale Irwin and Ernie Els."

Hale Irwin!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 21, 2010, 10:57:39 AM
Quote from: Hardy on June 21, 2010, 10:53:19 AM

Ms Hanafin added: "Graeme's victory at the US Open golf places him among the icons of golf such as Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, Hale Irwin and Ernie Els."

Hale Irwin!

In US Open terms he is an icon with 3 wins as opposed to Els who has only 2. 
Post by: Orior on June 21, 2010, 11:08:15 AM
Quote from: muppet on June 21, 2010, 10:25:22 AM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on June 21, 2010, 09:56:10 AM

It's Mc lots of Dough ell now.

Funny how success breeds success. From no major wins in decades to 4 in 3 years and more on the way with Rory I'd say.

Looks like Rory still has a few things to learn. I'm sure he thought he could whip an old man like Watson.
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on June 21, 2010, 11:10:32 AM
Well done McDowell. :)
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 21, 2010, 11:31:41 AM
Quote from: Orior on June 21, 2010, 09:43:11 AM
I'm knackered.

Started watching about 11pm, planning to hit the sack about midnight, then fell into the trap of just "one more hole", then "one more hole"

Meet yout brother here, not helped by 2 year old waking me at 7 am
Post by: Hardy on June 21, 2010, 11:36:53 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 21, 2010, 10:57:39 AM

Hale Irwin!

Thanks, BC. You'll always get an education on the Gaaboard.

Something is annoying me now. I can't remember the name of the big heavy fella, from Warrenpoint, I think, who was a pro up to maybe ten/fifteen years ago. He was a youth prodigy and touted as the next big thing as a young lad, but never quite reached the heights and disappeared suddenly, as I remember. Can anyone figure out who I'm talking about and, if so, what ever became of him?
Post by: mountainboii on June 21, 2010, 11:49:52 AM
Quote from: Hardy on June 21, 2010, 11:36:53 AM

Hale Irwin!

Something is annoying me now. I can't remember the name of the big heavy fella, from Warrenpoint, I think, who was a pro up to maybe ten/fifteen years ago. He was a youth prodigy and touted as the next big thing as a young lad, but never quite reached the heights and disappeared suddenly, as I remember. Can anyone figure out who I'm talking about and, if so, what ever became of him?

Ronan Rafferty?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 21, 2010, 11:51:15 AM
Quote from: Hardy on June 21, 2010, 11:36:53 AM

Hale Irwin!

Font of knowledge this place!

And for your further information tis probably Raymond Burns your thinking of.  Not sure what he is at these days, he was a few years ahead of me in school.
Post by: Capt Pat on June 21, 2010, 12:04:58 PM
What did happen to Ronan Rafferty? He was at the top of the European game for a couple of years and then disappeared.
Post by: Hardy on June 21, 2010, 12:07:10 PM
Ronan Rafferty I meant. Thanks, AFS - it wouldn't come to me and I couldn't google him because what would I google?

I always wondered what became of him. He seemed to vanish without trace, as Pat says. Anybody know?
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 21, 2010, 12:09:02 PM
He does a lot puditry on the European Tour for Sky.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2010, 12:12:49 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 21, 2010, 11:31:41 AM
Quote from: Orior on June 21, 2010, 09:43:11 AM
I'm knackered.

Meet yout brother here, not helped by 2 year old waking me at 7 am

Meet yer first cousin.. Not helped by getting to bed at 4am Friday night and 6am Saturday night due to me stag at wkend.. Like a zombie today
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 21, 2010, 12:13:30 PM
Rafferty was around longer than 10-15 years ago Hardy and that's why I thought you were thinking of Raymond Burns.  He was on the verge of making it through when he was the same age as McIlroy is now but his game never developed.  Both men went to my alma mater.

Here is Rafferty's website
http://www.raffertygolf.com/index.asp (http://www.raffertygolf.com/index.asp)
Post by: Shrek on June 21, 2010, 12:17:21 PM
at first i thought you where talking about Darren clarke.  ::)

Well donr McDowell, have to laugh everytime i hear that accent though.

nearly as bad as Nadine (offa girsl aloud)  ;D  ;D
Post by: Hardy on June 21, 2010, 12:19:12 PM
OK - I always underestimate how long ago things were.

I always thought there must be a story behind why Rafferty seemd to disappear very fast, but it must be just that he never quite got there and gave up.
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 21, 2010, 12:19:50 PM
McDowell said it was great to see his name on the trophy alongside people like Woods, Els and Mickelson, Phil Mick has not won a US Open as yet!
Post by: mackers on June 21, 2010, 12:33:19 PM
Monty will be a happy man today........he'll be able to match McIlroy and McDowell in the Ryder Cup without using a captain's pick. Great win for McDowell.
My brother's claim to fame is that he halved a Fred Daly match with McDowell while they were both juveniles..........
Post by: isourboydownyet on June 21, 2010, 12:33:50 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on June 21, 2010, 12:19:50 PM
McDowell said it was great to see his name on the trophy alongside people like Woods, Els and Mickelson, Phil Mick has not won a US Open as yet!

did he not actually say being on the same leader board?
Post by: Catch the high ball on June 21, 2010, 02:29:58 PM
Didn't get to see the golf last night, great performance by G Mac, on the scoreboards they were using the European Union flag for his nationality.
Post by: thebigfella on June 21, 2010, 02:37:25 PM
Quote from: Catch the high ball on June 21, 2010, 02:29:58 PM
Didn't get to see the golf last night, great performance by G Mac, on the scoreboards they were using the European Union flag for his nationality.

So what?

It was a great achievement and it should be left at that. Why do some people feel the next to detract from a person success by dragging up the old flag and national anthem sh1te over and over again. 
Post by: Catch the high ball on June 21, 2010, 02:40:39 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 21, 2010, 02:37:25 PM

So what?

It was a great achievement and it should be left at that. Why do some people feel the next to detract from a person success by dragging up the old flag and national anthem sh1te over and over again.

Thats not what I'm getting at, it just because he used to represented by a Northern Ireland Flag, just wondered why it changed, not that I have aproblem with it.
Post by: Capt Pat on June 21, 2010, 04:10:50 PM
Rafferty has had injury issues it says on his wikipedia page. He is also fond of wine it says on his website.
Post by: Tyrones own on June 21, 2010, 04:31:37 PM
Am I the only one that picked up on the commentators
saying that "if McDowell was to go ahead and win this, he'll
have gotten a lot of help from the field"
Wtf...and it was said more than once too >:(

Even felt the need to slip in a failed joke about the gulf oil spill  :o
Post by: Billys Boots on June 21, 2010, 04:38:56 PM
Quote"if McDowell was to go ahead and win this, he'll have gotten a lot of help from the field"

What did they mean, or to what were they referring?
Post by: Zapatista on June 21, 2010, 04:44:57 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 21, 2010, 04:38:56 PM
Quote"if McDowell was to go ahead and win this, he'll have gotten a lot of help from the field"

What did they mean, or to what were they referring?

Is it a reference to the failures of his opponents?
Post by: Minder on June 21, 2010, 04:46:25 PM
Johnsons implosion?
Post by: Tyrones own on June 21, 2010, 04:49:02 PM
Obviously the basic premise of golf in out playing your opponents
didn't seem to apply to McDowell... I suppose a little known golfer
from Ireland shouldn't be able to beat the big boys on the big stage
without " help from the field"
Post by: Tyrones own on June 21, 2010, 04:51:39 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 21, 2010, 04:46:25 PM
Johnsons implosion?
Probably...but isn't that golf !
Post by: Billys Boots on June 21, 2010, 04:59:14 PM
Ah I see, he was only the best because nobody was better than him.  Interesting.  ::)
Post by: Hardy on June 21, 2010, 05:00:49 PM
It works very well. That's the way we beat Mayo last year too.
Post by: Capt Pat on June 21, 2010, 05:06:10 PM
In golf you compete with the course not with other players. McDowell won the battle with the course, the rest of the field lost.
Post by: Puckoon on June 21, 2010, 05:10:08 PM
ESPN really were the height of c***ts last night in the post game reviews. In fairness the standard of golf was poor - but the course was beyond atrocious - worse than beth page by a mile.

McDowell put it best when he said that the onus was on the other players to take risky shots, and if the risks went bad, he knew they would drop shots trying to catch him.

In fairness, Johnson handed it to him on a plate in the first 3 holes, but he showed remarkable courage to hang in there and not blow up himself.
Post by: muppet on June 21, 2010, 05:10:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 21, 2010, 05:00:49 PM

That's how everyone beats Mayo. They let us lose.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 21, 2010, 05:15:16 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 21, 2010, 05:10:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 21, 2010, 05:00:49 PM

That's how everyone beats Mayo. They let us lose.

Come on the Larries!!!!!
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 21, 2010, 05:22:39 PM
ESPN are even making fun of McDowell's accent on Sportscenter this morning. He did very well, hung in there all weekend on a grueling course. Seems like a decent lad when interviewed.
Post by: Celt_Man on June 21, 2010, 06:08:51 PM
Well done G Mac... great win
Post by: Puckoon on June 21, 2010, 06:10:56 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on June 21, 2010, 05:22:39 PM
ESPN are even making fun of McDowell's accent on Sportscenter this morning. He did very well, hung in there all weekend on a grueling course. Seems like a decent lad when interviewed.

I was poking a little fun at it too, until I was told thats how I sound. :-\
Post by: sammymaguire on June 21, 2010, 06:13:55 PM
well done Big G
Post by: Bogball XV on June 21, 2010, 07:19:19 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on June 21, 2010, 05:06:10 PM
In golf you compete with the course not with other players. McDowell won the battle with the course, the rest of the field lost.
I'd say he managed a draw Pat.  Fair play to him, now if Derry can lift Sam that'll be the US Open, Sam double in the bag ;)
Post by: muppet on June 21, 2010, 07:20:38 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 21, 2010, 07:19:19 PM
I'd say he managed a draw Pat.  Fair play to him, now if Derry can lift Sam that'll be the US Open, Sam double in the bag ;)

Better chance of Paddy Bradley winning Wimbledon than that.
Post by: magickingdom on June 21, 2010, 07:37:19 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 21, 2010, 02:37:25 PM

So what?

so what yourself? your quick to jump on it, whose distracting from anyone achievement? it was a simple point.

i was delighted they used the eu flag btw....

well done g mac, hope its the first of many
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 21, 2010, 08:35:10 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 21, 2010, 06:10:56 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on June 21, 2010, 05:22:39 PM

I was poking a little fun at it too, until I was told thats how I sound. :-\

Yes Puck I reckon we all sound like him at this stage except in my case you would have to change the Ulster twang for a west of Ireland one  ;)
Post by: Bogball XV on June 21, 2010, 09:22:10 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 21, 2010, 07:20:38 PM

apparently he's quitting the football to spend more time on the tennis
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 21, 2010, 09:46:43 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 21, 2010, 09:22:10 PM

I'd say he'll create some racket it it too...

coats on, out the door!!!
Post by: Orior on June 21, 2010, 09:55:08 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 21, 2010, 09:46:43 PM

If he does it will be his own fault.
Post by: whiskeysteve on June 21, 2010, 11:43:54 PM
dont know about paddy but baker has described skinner as the best tennis player in Ulster.

As for the G-Mac i'll surely buy him a pint next time we hit Kellys.
Post by: Declan on June 22, 2010, 08:07:35 AM
Watched some of the repeat last night - Fair play to him. He held the head well but Lord that 14th hole was a joke
Post by: Bogball XV on June 22, 2010, 09:47:04 AM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on June 21, 2010, 11:43:54 PM
dont know about paddy but baker has described skinner as the best tennis player in Ulster.

that's only cos he ain't hitting the net much these days ;D ;D
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 22, 2010, 02:28:29 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 21, 2010, 09:55:08 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 21, 2010, 09:46:43 PM

Post by: Doogie Browser on June 30, 2010, 03:26:29 PM
Season Ticket did a great show on McDowell last night, followed him home from the US Open.  He came across as very down to earth, he had some banter with a French Callaway employee who questioned how he felt about beating Havret and G-Mac said it was in revenge for France cheating against Ireland in the World Cup!
Post by: mackers on June 30, 2010, 03:39:12 PM
Watched that myself Doogie, very good show. McDowell came across well, he couldn't wait to get back to Portrush which shows he hasn't forgot his roots and it was good to see past the accent. It also showed why players can take some time to get over winning a major as the demands on their time in the aftermath are huge.
Post by: Catch the high ball on June 30, 2010, 04:01:53 PM
Only seen the last 15 minutes, anybody know when its on again?
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 30, 2010, 04:24:42 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on June 30, 2010, 03:26:29 PM
Season Ticket did a great show on McDowell last night, followed him home from the US Open.  He came across as very down to earth, he had some banter with a French Callaway employee who questioned how he felt about beating Havret and G-Mac said it was in revenge for France cheating against Ireland in the World Cup!

thought it was a great show , i thought he lost the american twang the closer he got to portrush :D what did one of the other bag men write on the flag for a laugh knowing the mc dowell would be keeping i couldn't see it right
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 30, 2010, 04:28:20 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on June 30, 2010, 04:24:42 PM

thought it was a great show , i thought he lost the american twang the closer he got to portrush :D what did one of the other bag men write on the flag for a laugh knowing the mc dowell would be keeping i couldn't see it right
The other caddie is a West Ham fan and he put their initials (I think) on the flag as a laugh as McDowell and his caddy are ManU fans unfortunately.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 30, 2010, 04:39:51 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on June 30, 2010, 04:28:20 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on June 30, 2010, 04:24:42 PM

The other caddie is a West Ham fan and he put their initials (I think) on the flag as a laugh as McDowell and his caddy are ManU fans unfortunately.

i thought he wrote man u scum on it so maybe it was an in house joke between themselves
Post by: aontroim on June 30, 2010, 06:00:15 PM
Yep - think it did say ManU scum alright - fair dues to him writing it long before McDowell had wrapped up the win - someone else with a bit of faith!
Post by: Celt_Man on June 30, 2010, 06:25:24 PM
Aye only saw the last 15 mins of it too, was enjoyable - any idea when it is repeated?
Post by: sammymaguire on June 30, 2010, 08:17:30 PM
now this guy seems like a true genuine gent a professional to admire, hard work and effort certainly paid off for him

hopefully more success to follow for graeme
Post by: stew on June 30, 2010, 09:29:16 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on June 30, 2010, 08:17:30 PM
now this guy seems like a true genuine gent a professional to admire, hard work and effort certainly paid off for him

hopefully more success to follow for graeme

Well said, I was up at the club I am a member of and the people there were rooting for him, he does seem like a decent sort and it was brilliant to watch him win the greatest tournament of them all, certainly the hardest.

His days playing links golf in Portrush etc sttod him in great stead and I thought he showed remarkable composure given the circumstances.