Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 12:21:10 AM

Title: Photos that shook the world
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 12:21:10 AM
here's hoping others contribute with pictures!

so let's get this ball rolling...........

(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/tsquare.jpg)

(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/auschwitz1.jpg)

(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/9-112.jpg)
end of world war 2 berlin
(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/Berlin.jpg)

(http://www.ratemyscreensaver.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/05/apollo-112.jpg)

(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/pope_shot.jpg)
Title: Re: Photos that shook the world
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 12:26:52 AM
(http://fitsnews.files.wordpress.com/2006/12/saddam-statue2.jpg)

dianas death
(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/diana_car_wideweb__470x3622.jpg)

(http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/02_03/RubyOswaldAP_468x407.jpg)

(http://assets.nydailynews.com/img/2007/04/19/gal_chogunman16.jpg)

(http://hypernation.files.wordpress.com/2008/02/muhammad_ali_versus_sonny_liston.jpg)

(http://i.a.cnn.net/si/2007/writers/gabriele_marcotti/10/11/rugby.controversy/p1_maradona_1011.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 12:38:19 AM
steve irwin last picture
(http://neveryetmelted.com/wp-images/SteveIrwin2.jpg)

(http://www.morethings.com/log/pictures/mj_dangles_baby.jpg)

Statue of Liberty being constructed in Paris
(http://www.french-at-a-touch.com/Statue_of_Liberty/Building_Statute_of_Liberty_2_%5Bpicturestore.com%5D.jpg)

(http://www.mamapop.com/photos/uncategorized/2008/08/20/patterson_bigfoot_lg.jpg)

hillsborough
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/210000/images/_210929_hillsborough,.300.09-11-98.jpg)

omagh bombing
(http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/events/omagh/omagh.jpg)

Boxing Day Tsunami

People on the beach as the Tsunami comes towards them
(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/tsunami-wave.jpg)
jfk
(http://www.prisonplanet.com/images/april2007/300407jfk.jpg)

Post by: Shazam on December 30, 2009, 12:41:36 AM
(http://www.opaquelucidity.com/viet_cong.jpg)

(http://thepirata.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/09/nilgunyalcin_childvulture.jpg)

Post by: Shazam on December 30, 2009, 12:45:06 AM
(http://www.washingtoncitypaper.com/blogs/youngandhungry/files/2009/11/hindenburg.gif)

(http://www.sligocameraclub.org/wp-content/uploads/2006/10/Iwo%20Jima.jpg)

(http://resources1.news.com.au/images/2009/11/20/1225799/990125-thierry-henry-handball.jpg)

(http://enticingthelight.files.wordpress.com/2009/06/napalm20girl.jpg)
Post by: Shazam on December 30, 2009, 12:46:08 AM
(http://www.wavemagazine.net/arhiva/15/culture/berlinwall.jpg)
Post by: Shazam on December 30, 2009, 12:49:36 AM
Tiffany RIP

(http://www.virginmedia.com/images/slide-6-tiffany-killed.jpg)

Also when someone impregnaed Heather

(http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00907/SNN13TV01F_682_907136a.jpg)
Post by: Celt_Man on December 30, 2009, 01:17:37 AM
Quote from: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 12:26:52 AM

dianas death
(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/diana_car_wideweb__470x3622.jpg)

Did Diana's death really shake the world??  (Definitely not mine)   And if it did, should it really have done??
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 01:32:24 AM
the response to Diana's death was huge haven't seen anything like it since, as a result has to be included don't you think?
Post by: Celt_Man on December 30, 2009, 01:43:02 AM
Quote from: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 01:32:24 AM
the response to Diana's death was huge haven't seen anything like it since, as a result has to be included don't you think?

Well it definitelt affected my life, I was a young fella at the time and Sunday Morning Cartoons and tv shows were a big part of my life but that morning they were cancelled beside of her death...  :-[  Goes without saying, I was not one bit impressed
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 01:44:58 AM
(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/the-baby-hand.jpg)

(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/the-baby-hand2.jpg)

The picture and its story have been circulated on the internet so often that some question whether they are authentic. They are.

Clancy describes the famous picture this way: "Samuel thrusts his tiny hand out of the ******** opening of his mother's uterus. As the doctor lifts his hand, Samuel reacts to the touch and squeezes the doctor's finger. As if testing for strength, the doctor shakes the tiny fist. Samuel held firm. At that moment, I took this 'Fetal Hand Grasp' photo."

In a story he wrote about the incident, Clancy added,

"As a doctor asked me what speed of film I was using, out of the corner of my eye I saw the uterus shake, but no one's hands were near it. It was shaking from within. Suddenly, an entire arm thrust out of the opening, then pulled back until just a little hand was showing. The doctor reached over and lifted the hand, which reacted and squeezed the doctor's finger. As if testing for strength, the doctor shook the tiny fist. Samuel held firm. I took the picture! Wow! It happened so fast that the nurse standing next to me asked, 'What happened?' 'The child reached out,' I said. 'Oh. They do that all the time,' she responded."

Clancy said the experience changed him from pro-choice to pro-life

Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 01:59:41 AM

(http://www.photosfan.com/images/black-and-colored-drinking-water1.jpg)

(http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/4453/whitelivingna3.jpg)

(http://www.diversitystore.com/ds/images/NewMLK1Large.jpg)

(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/_45175100_barack_family_afp.jpg)

Tank landing ships unloading supplies on Omaha Beach, building up for the breakout from Normandy
(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/NormandySupply_edit.jpg)

US soldiers advance through the hazy ruins of Waldenburg Germany, April 1945
(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/Waldenburgapl1945.jpg)

Post by: gawa316 on December 30, 2009, 02:10:05 AM
Quote from: Celt_Man on December 30, 2009, 01:17:37 AM

Did Diana's death really shake the world??  (Definitely not mine)   And if it did, should it really have done??

Well it affected mine as the Liverpool Newcastle game was called off and it annoyed the feck outta me
Post by: J70 on December 30, 2009, 03:07:09 AM
WTF is that "Bigfoot" picture doing in there?!! :D
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 30, 2009, 09:48:10 AM
Yeh. Dianas death was so important alright, most especially to the red tops who told everyone how important it was so they could sell papers. Unfortunately idiots in the uk and even here bought into the mass hysteria for some bizarre reason. Can someone tell me how her death shook the world exactly?
Post by: Shazam on December 30, 2009, 09:58:50 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 30, 2009, 09:48:10 AM
Yeh. Dianas death was so important alright, most especially to the red tops who told everyone how important it was so they could sell papers. Unfortunately idiots in the uk and even here bought into the mass hysteria for some bizarre reason. Can someone tell me how her death shook the world exactly?

Was it a Sunday morning? For some reason I remember it but think it was because I was up looking to watch the funnies and the news was on EVERY SINGLE channel. Did my head in.
Post by: Denn Forever on December 30, 2009, 10:12:24 AM
If you look at the pacture of Tianamaan square there appears to be a bus in the background.  Was it business as usual for public transport?
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on December 30, 2009, 10:19:58 AM
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/60000/images/_64609_bs300.jpg)

(http://www.hiroshima-remembered.com/history/nagasaki/images/H21.jpg)
Post by: sammymaguire on December 30, 2009, 10:28:24 AM
(http://scrapetv.com/News/News%20Pages/Everyone%20Else/images-3/loch-ness-monster.jpg)

(http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2006/08/30/FallingMan_060829015536020_wideweb__300x430,1.jpg)

(http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00775/SNN0703E_380_775442a.jpg)

(http://ivarfjeld.files.wordpress.com/2009/04/saddam-hussein-hanging.jpg)
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 30, 2009, 03:59:51 PM
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/1570000/images/_1574755_phil.jpg)
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 30, 2009, 04:03:09 PM
Incredible photos... well done as I still haven't figured out how to paste a pic. Not sure if Tierry's handball shook the world... rattled a few cages more like.
Post by: J70 on December 30, 2009, 04:07:44 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 30, 2009, 09:48:10 AM

Sure it's been like that with Michael Jackson too. Its receded a wee bit, but for several months every second street corner in NYC had street vendors selling t-shirts and DVDs and playing Michael Jackson videos with crowds standing around watching.
Post by: Denn Forever on December 30, 2009, 04:33:32 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on December 30, 2009, 03:59:51 PM

He got you this time Archie though.
Post by: Muhammed McCarthy on December 30, 2009, 05:52:06 PM
(http://www.jmcc.org/new/00/crime7.jpg)
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 30, 2009, 05:52:45 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 30, 2009, 04:33:32 PM

Did he?
Post by: Denn Forever on December 30, 2009, 06:54:39 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on December 30, 2009, 05:52:45 PM

You mean there will be a Denlike resurrection

Did he?
Post by: red hander on December 30, 2009, 07:04:13 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 01:32:24 AM

I think the reason we haven't seen anything like it since is that the people who lost the run of themselves were, in hindsight, so mortified by their unbelievably embarrassing behaviour that they keep their heads down ... and we should all be thankful for that
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 30, 2009, 07:06:10 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 30, 2009, 06:54:39 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on December 30, 2009, 05:52:45 PM

Did he?

You mean there will be a Denlike resurrection

Unfortunately not.
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 07:08:46 PM
rescuers rush to the gym at beslan after explosives were detonated
(http://genant.narod.ru/Beslan256.jpg)

(http://ossetians.com/pictures/Beslan%20Gim_1.jpg)

Adolf Hitler, at a window of the Reich's Chancellory, receives an ovation from supporters in his first day in office as Chancellor. (January 30, 1933)

(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/Bundesarchiv_Bild_146-1972-026-11_M.jpg)

1934 Nuremberg rally
(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/Bundesarchiv_Bild_102-04062A_Nrnber.jpg)

Post by: pintsofguinness on December 30, 2009, 07:14:18 PM
(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2009/01/10/article-1111444-001FD89500000258-358_468x545.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 07:15:39 PM
famous Charles Ebbets photos from the Rockerfeller Centre in Manhattan (head for heights anyone?)

(http://drx.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2007/12/02/slepping_above_manhattan_3.jpg)

(http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r310/ctjcad/Misc/lots15.jpg)

(http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r310/ctjcad/Misc/lots11.jpg)

(http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r310/ctjcad/Misc/lots5.jpg)

& the most famous one
(http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj37/esreddevil/pic-5.jpg)
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 30, 2009, 07:17:13 PM
I dont know about the rest but the bottom one is suppose to be a fake
Post by: Gaffer on December 30, 2009, 07:25:20 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 30, 2009, 07:17:13 PM

Ah Jasus, don't be saying that Pints, I just paid 30 lids for a canvas of that one.  :(
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 07:27:12 PM
jonestown, guynana, islamic koolaidist-led attack on peaceful christian retreat

(http://realgothic.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/jonestown_06.jpg)

Thought that was an industrial site with rubbish strewn all over until I looked closer
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 07:33:28 PM

don't know but the same could be said about this one?

(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk295/zingdan/October/Oct%2025/Remembering%20the%20Pics/035.jpg)

& bigfoot nessie & few more
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 30, 2009, 08:01:31 PM
These are the worst though:

(http://media.tribune.ie/site_media/photologue/photos/2009/Sep/19/cache/00004954019184_display.jpg)

(http://ulster.gaa.ie/wp-content/gallery/ulsters-all-ireland-winners/Kieran%20McGeeney%20-%20SFC%202002.jpg)
Post by: down6061689194 on December 30, 2009, 08:51:30 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on December 30, 2009, 10:28:24 AM
(http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2006/08/30/FallingMan_060829015536020_wideweb__300x430,1.jpg)
Beat me To it. All time favourite. Captures the day.

(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk295/zingdan/October/Oct%2025/Remembering%20the%20Pics/002.jpg)
(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk295/zingdan/October/Oct%2025/Remembering%20the%20Pics/018.jpg)
(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk295/zingdan/October/Oct%2025/Remembering%20the%20Pics/042.jpg)
(http://uvcarmel.files.wordpress.com/2008/03/last-supper-large.jpg)
(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2009/05/20/article-1185110-04E7356E000005DC-269_468x286.jpg)
(http://crfranke.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/beatles_abbey-road.jpg)
Post by: mountainboii on December 30, 2009, 09:17:48 PM
Quote from: down6061689194 on December 30, 2009, 08:51:30 PM
(http://uvcarmel.files.wordpress.com/2008/03/last-supper-large.jpg)

Ah, the handiwork of Kodak, son of Nikon. The oft-forgotten thirteenth Apostle and official photgrapher of Jesus and the lads.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on December 30, 2009, 09:38:48 PM
(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/20/71226288_4bed47b736.jpg)
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 30, 2009, 09:50:29 PM
Some cracking photos there.

Credit to you rossforlife. Great thread.

Is most of those pictures of the guys buidling at the top of the sky scraper real?? I always thought these were made up.Scary as fook.
Post by: wallyman on December 30, 2009, 09:50:51 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 07:15:39 PM
famous Charles Ebbets photos from the Rockerfeller Centre in Manhattan (head for heights anyone?)

(http://drx.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2007/12/02/slepping_above_manhattan_3.jpg)

& the most famous one

them photos are making me dizzy just by looking at them
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 09:56:48 PM
how could we forget this photo (uncensored version of course) it shocked the world more than shook it  :D

(http://cache.gawker.com/assets/resources/2006/11/britney-spears-upskirt.jpg)
Post by: wallyman on December 30, 2009, 09:58:20 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 09:56:48 PM
how could we forget this photo (uncensored version of course) it shocked the world more than shook it  :D

(http://cache.gawker.com/assets/resources/2006/11/britney-spears-upskirt.jpg)

Was this intentional?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 30, 2009, 10:18:46 PM
Budd Dwyer - a US politician seconds before he shot himself in the head live on TV

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/3/3f/Dddr66.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 10:26:47 PM
(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_RvRYrlr5138/RqPPBYo56yI/AAAAAAAAAPw/MdK_qw9jeiM/s400/first-human-x-ray-1896.jpeg)

First Human X-ray 1896

To know something like the back of your hand is a timeless concept, one taken yet further by Wilhelm Konrad Roentgen. While working on a series of experiments with a Crookes tube, he noticed that a bit of barium platinocyanide emitted a fluorescent glow. He then laid a photographic plate behind his wife's hand (note the wedding rings), and made the first X-ray photo. Before that, physicians were unable to look inside a person's body without making an incision. Roentgen was the recipient of the first Nobel Prize for Physics in 1901.
Post by: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 10:39:55 PM
Uganda (1980)
A priest holds the hand of a starving child. Photos like this one moved the United Nations and others to send food to the starving Horn of Africa.
(http://static.zooomr.com/images/3912072_f3313e7e6d_o.jpg)

Afghan Girl (1984)
Sharbat Gula's piercing gaze on the cover of National Geographic came to symbolize the plight of refugees around the world. Her identity was unknown until she was found again in 2002
(http://static.zooomr.com/images/3912073_358de9a399.jpg?r=360)

Omayra Sanchez (1985)
Fournier shot this 13-year old girl just before she died from an eruption of the Nevado del Ruiz volcano. The photo caused an uproar over Colombia's inaction during the tragedy
(http://static.zooomr.com/images/3912074_7b8f2d70ee_o.jpg?r=360)

Charles Porter - Oklahoma City (1995)
A fireman carries 1-year-old Baylee Almon from the wreckage of the federal building in Oklahoma City after the terrorist bomb killed 168 people
(http://static.zooomr.com/images/3912082_3599009b5f.jpg?r=360)

Various - Abu Ghraib Prison Photos (2004)
Several series of photos depict torture, humiliation, and sexual abuse of Iraqi prisoners by US soldiers in Abu Ghraib, sparking protests
(http://static.zooomr.com/images/3912088_0dd825732b_o.jpg)
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on December 30, 2009, 10:48:45 PM
Whatever happened that HURE? -  I assume that she is pointing to the c*cks that she had had inside her. Her name was England?

(http://static.zooomr.com/images/3912088_0dd825732b_o.jpg)
Post by: Minder on December 30, 2009, 10:52:52 PM
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lynndie_England?wasRedirected=true
Post by: Gnevin on December 31, 2009, 12:57:32 AM
Quote from: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 07:33:28 PM

don't know but the same could be said about this one?

(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk295/zingdan/October/Oct%2025/Remembering%20the%20Pics/035.jpg)

& bigfoot nessie & few more
No it the same couldn't be said of this one .
Post by: Gnevin on December 31, 2009, 01:04:51 AM
(http://www.scrum.com/PICTURES/CMS/6200/6283.jpg)
(http://cte.jhu.edu/techacademy/fellows/Thomas/webquest/explosion.gif)
(http://humankinetics.files.wordpress.com/2008/12/usain-bolt-olympics-200m.jpg)
(http://lefteyeonthemedia.files.wordpress.com/2009/03/hurricane-katrina-victims.jpg)
Post by: Family guy on December 31, 2009, 01:20:35 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on December 30, 2009, 07:25:20 PM

Ah Jasus, don't be saying that Pints, I just paid 30 lids for a canvas of that one.  :(

The story with this pic is the fella on the right is meant to be a ghost,he was dead the day the pic was taken,notice how no1 notices him.Sad i know i dont believe it but thats the story
Post by: J70 on December 31, 2009, 02:59:25 AM
Quote from: ross4life on December 30, 2009, 07:15:39 PM

& the most famous one

The Lewis Hines ones from the Empire State Building are pretty cool too.

(http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/spe/art/photo/hinex/empire/hanging.jpeg)

(http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/spe/art/photo/hinex/empire/edge.jpeg)

(http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/spe/art/photo/hinex/empire/inspecting.jpeg)

(http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/spe/art/photo/hinex/empire/Icarus.jpeg)
Post by: haranguerer on December 31, 2009, 04:28:09 PM
Quote from: Shazam on December 30, 2009, 12:41:36 AM

(http://thepirata.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/09/nilgunyalcin_childvulture.jpg)

This one is truly horrifying, as is the story of the photographer who took it. The fate of the girl is unknown - the photographer took the photo, but didnt help her. When it was published (winning a pulitzer prize), this came to light, and he came in obviously for much criticism - it raised debate about photographers, and to what extent they should do their job no matter the expense to others.

It all became too much for him, and he committed sucide when he was 33.
Post by: Minder on December 31, 2009, 04:36:10 PM
Was there not something on the board last year about the above photo and they were able to trace the child?

Or am I talking bollocks?
Post by: haranguerer on December 31, 2009, 04:44:02 PM
Could well have been something on here about it - I cant remember where I heard about it. Dont remember anything about the girl been traced though.

Having said that, I wouldn't like to dismiss your other theory - that you're talking bollocks - out of hand either; its always a strong possibility
:P ;D

Post by: Celt_Man on December 31, 2009, 05:07:54 PM
Marine with the Thousand Yard Stare in the Pacific Theatre in WWII

(http://www.rjgeib.com/thoughts/wambaugh/tired-marine.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on December 31, 2009, 09:14:53 PM
(http://inapcache.boston.com/universal/site_graphics/blogs/bigpicture/00s_12_18/003_21300419.jpg)

Smoke covers the presidential palace compound in Baghdad 21 March 2003 during a massive US-led air raid on the Iraqi capital
(http://inapcache.boston.com/universal/site_graphics/blogs/bigpicture/00s_12_18/011_21443637.jpg)

(http://inapcache.boston.com/universal/site_graphics/blogs/bigpicture/00s_12_18/026_21397157.jpg)

A Kenyan boy screams as he sees kenyan policeman with a baton approach the door of his home
(http://inapcache.boston.com/universal/site_graphics/blogs/bigpicture/00s_12_18/036_21385059.jpg)

Post by: ross4life on December 31, 2009, 09:17:02 PM
(http://www.digital-immersion.net/meth/10yearsmethuse.jpg)
Post by: rolloutking on January 04, 2010, 12:19:38 PM
(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_eLEeJypMms0/Ru1ttbzmgoI/AAAAAAAAATM/C2qHfffAqFc/s400/James_Bulger2.jpg)

(http://www.theage.com.au/ffximage/2004/11/28/29n_ven,0.jpg)
Post by: Minder on January 04, 2010, 12:23:43 PM
Are those pair of animals now free enjoying a new life at tax payers expense?
Post by: Zapatista on January 04, 2010, 12:43:35 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 31, 2009, 04:36:10 PM
Was there not something on the board last year about the above photo and they were able to trace the child?

Or am I talking bollocks?

Here-

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7979.0

Different storys on this thread regarding that picture. My contribution was all repeating what I seen somewhere else so don't count on it.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 04, 2010, 01:21:55 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 04, 2010, 12:23:43 PM

They were only children and need rehabilitation not locked in  a cell for 70 years. Of course what they did was henious. Their background was horrendous and there was a girl of ten who did child  murder in the 60s and was jailed and then released when it was felt she was ready to rejoin society. She didn't offend after. Keeping those boys in jail forever won't bring Jamie Bolger back.
Then there's Jimmy Boyle in Scotland who reformed and helped many people turn away from crime. You ever heard of him? If you had your way he' d still be in jail.   
Post by: Zapatista on January 04, 2010, 01:27:56 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 04, 2010, 01:21:55 PM

They were only children and need rehabilitation not locked in  a cell for 70 years. Of course what they did was henious. Their background was horrendous and there was a girl of ten who did child  murder in the 60s and was jailed and then released when it was felt she was ready to rejoin society. She didn't offend after. Keeping those boys in jail forever won't bring Jamie Bolger back.
Then there's Jimmy Boyle in Scotland who reformed and helped many people turn away from crime. You ever heard of him? If you had your way he' d still be in jail.

Here here
Post by: Minder on January 04, 2010, 01:40:39 PM

I'm sure the parents of Bolger and the other murder you spoke about are heRtened that they were "rehabilitated". Plenty of children have had "horrendous" backgrounds and don't torture then kill an infant. You sound like a social worker.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 04, 2010, 02:50:40 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 04, 2010, 01:40:39 PM

I'm sure the parents of Bolger and the other murder you spoke about are heRtened that they were "rehabilitated". Plenty of children have had "horrendous" backgrounds and don't torture then kill an infant. You sound like a social worker.

You think there should be no social workers? I am not one by the way.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on January 04, 2010, 06:54:22 PM

Unbelievable, absolutely unbelievable.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2010, 07:08:38 PM

Would you like them being around your children? 
Post by: Orior on January 04, 2010, 08:33:39 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on January 04, 2010, 06:54:22 PM

Unbelievable, absolutely unbelievable.

The two boys need help and will have got it. In fact, there would have been hundreds of thousands of pounds spent on their trial, their defence, their rehabilitation etc etc.

What I'd like to know is what punishment their parents received.
Post by: stew on January 05, 2010, 12:08:35 AM

For every rehab sucess story there are thirty re-offenders, ffs bringing up their backgrounds is ridiculous, they murdered a child, a feckin innocent child and all you can do is bleat about their upbringing. >:(

I tend to think more about the child who got robbed of a chance to live his life, of his family who will be forever haunted by the death of their child and the fact that he was killed in such disgusting fashion.

Some of you bleeding hearts would dance to a different tune if it was your son that was butchered, I am all for those two spending their days were they can harm no one else, they deserve to a life inside, the took the life of a child who deserved a lot better fate than the one the meted out to him.

Post by: Puckoon on January 05, 2010, 01:11:08 AM
Boys I just re-read the history of the Bulger case, and Im sitting here with a lump the size of a f**king turnip in my throat and tears in the eyes. Look at the pictures of that child and the innocence that was lost.

It was an almost unprecedented crime, and in fairness, to suggest locking up 10 year olds for the rest of their lives doesnt really make much sense. They need watched and controlled for sure, but this dispicable act was done with the mindset of a 10 year old - hard to hold them accountable as adults really.

That said - the real tragedy is the horror and the pain that little child endured.

Jesus I am sick to the stomach.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 05, 2010, 01:25:45 AM
Quote from: stew on January 05, 2010, 12:08:35 AM

For every rehab sucess story there are thirty re-offenders, ffs bringing up their backgrounds is ridiculous, they murdered a child, a feckin innocent child and all you can do is bleat about their upbringing. >:(

I tend to think more about the child who got robbed of a chance to live his life, of his family who will be forever haunted by the death of their child and the fact that he was killed in such disgusting fashion.

Some of you bleeding hearts would dance to a different tune if it was your son that was butchered, I am all for those two spending their days were they can harm no one else, they deserve to a life inside, the took the life of a child who deserved a lot better fate than the one the meted out to him.

In other words you want vengence. so be it. If you care so much about the family of Jamie Bolger, have you ever wrote to them to comfort them or offer condolences or is this just an angry soundbite you'll have forgotten about in five minutes after typing it?
Post by: nrico2006 on January 05, 2010, 09:04:23 AM
QuoteFor every rehab sucess story there are thirty re-offenders, ffs bringing up their backgrounds is ridiculous, they murdered a child, a feckin innocent child and all you can do is bleat about their upbringing.

Well said.  Rehabilitation is a term is often thrown about when individuals commit henious crimes.  Do we now live in a society where you can take a life and the resolution is basically a spell inside with the overall objective of mending those who commit the crimes?  The Justice system is a joke, I don't understand how there is constantly life sentences handed down for murder etc when in fact it actually means 12 odd years and away you go.  Venables and Thompson should never have been freed.  There is no hiding evil, yet it seems to be common place these days to do excuse alot of evil acts by categorising the culprits as mentally ill or use some other excuse.  I know that when I was 10 I wouldn't have ever dreamt of doing what them boys did, and I know of people with tough/bad upbringing who wouldn't either.
Post by: Zapatista on January 05, 2010, 09:30:58 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 05, 2010, 09:04:23 AM

Well said.  Rehabilitation is a term is often thrown about when individuals commit henious crimes.  Do we now live in a society where you can take a life and the resolution is basically a spell inside with the overall objective of mending those who commit the crimes?  The Justice system is a joke, I don't understand how there is constantly life sentences handed down for murder etc when in fact it actually means 12 odd years and away you go.  Venables and Thompson should never have been freed.  There is no hiding evil, yet it seems to be common place these days to do excuse alot of evil acts by categorising the culprits as mentally ill or use some other excuse. I know that when I was 10 I wouldn't have ever dreamt of doing what them boys did, and I know of people with tough/bad upbringing who wouldn't either.

That is a very important point and should be key to this. Personally I can barely remember being 10 but I do know I'm not the same person now as I was then.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on January 05, 2010, 09:42:34 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 05, 2010, 01:25:45 AM

In other words you want vengence. so be it. If you care so much about the family of Jamie Bolger, have you ever wrote to them to comfort them or offer condolences or is this just an angry soundbite you'll have forgotten about in five minutes after typing it?
In my opinion, your idea of morality is severely skewed from what most of us would call reality
Post by: Zapatista on January 05, 2010, 09:50:53 AM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on January 05, 2010, 09:42:34 AM
In my opinion, your idea of morality is severely skewed from what most of us would call reality

:o :o :o

Feck me. Please tell me I misunderstand that.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 05, 2010, 10:50:10 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 05, 2010, 01:25:45 AM

Have you been appointed to speak on behalf of most of society? Congratulations
Post by: sammymaguire on January 05, 2010, 11:03:01 AM
personally I'd say drop this "debate" it was horrendous incident and I am sure you guys are not enjoying discussing it either
Post by: haranguerer on January 05, 2010, 11:16:57 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on January 05, 2010, 11:03:01 AM
personally I'd say drop this "debate" it was horrendous incident and I am sure you guys are not enjoying discussing it either

Drop all debate sure.
Post by: sammymaguire on January 05, 2010, 11:31:16 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 05, 2010, 11:16:57 AM

Drop all debate sure.

who said all? did you read all?
so whats your opinion on this intriguing topic then haran? some photo eh? two young lads taking a toddler off to his awful sick death.
Post by: Zapatista on January 05, 2010, 11:39:53 AM
A really shocking photo.

Another shocking picture from the time was the mob in Liverpool trying to get the two boys responsible. I can only imagine what they would have done to them. I haven't seen a reaction like that since. Even cases such as Ian Huntley or Roy Whiting were children were killed by adults haven't caused such a reaction.
Post by: ludermor on January 05, 2010, 12:20:59 PM
Zap
Serious question, have you ever read what was done to the kid? It was the most horrific mutalation i ever heard about. I know most of us would like to think we would behave rationally and let juctise take its course if i knew that child i cannot guarentee i wouldnt be in the mob.
Post by: bingobus on January 05, 2010, 12:26:48 PM
Read recently that the mother found out the whereabouts of one of them and went to confront them, prob for peace of mind. She was face to face with one of them but couldn't do anything, just broke down and left.

Aside to this, they are raising funds to build a new home in Liverpool for badly bullied children and it is been needed the Jamie Bulgar house.
Post by: Minder on January 05, 2010, 12:35:59 PM
I think I remember reading that some of what they did to James Bolger would never be known by the public due to the nature of it.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 05, 2010, 12:46:32 PM
Yes-What they did was horrific. No-one has said otherwise. The debate is about the punishment and some (including me) feel they should be given a chance to be rehabilitated.
Post by: Zapatista on January 05, 2010, 01:02:54 PM
Quote from: ludermor on January 05, 2010, 12:20:59 PM
Zap
Serious question, have you ever read what was done to the kid? It was the most horrific mutalation i ever heard about. I know most of us would like to think we would behave rationally and let juctise take its course if i knew that child i cannot guarentee i wouldnt be in the mob.

I have but don't know if I heard all the details. I am well aware that I'm speaking from another Country 17 years later. I can make no guarentees as to what my reaction could have been in different circumstances but I do know what my opinion is now.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on January 05, 2010, 01:13:51 PM
Someone hit the nail in the head here with the question about 'what punishment Venables and Thompson's parents got'?
Post by: theskull1 on January 05, 2010, 01:22:50 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 05, 2010, 12:46:32 PM
Yes-What they did was horrific. No-one has said otherwise. The debate is about the punishment and some (including me) feel they should be given a chance to be rehabilitated.

I have the feeling that the world would be a better place if we promptly got rid of people who carry out such vile acts without dwelling on any guilt that "we" as a society should have after the effect. Just get rid of them because they deserved nothing better at the time and then move on. Of course having something like this would no doubt be riddled with practical difficulties and be impossible to implement, but thats the feeling I have. I think society would be all the healthier for it over time (in theory  :))
Post by: haranguerer on January 05, 2010, 01:30:36 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on January 05, 2010, 11:31:16 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 05, 2010, 11:16:57 AM

Drop all debate sure.

who said all? did you read all? so whats your opinion on this intriguing topic then haran? some photo eh? two young lads taking a toddler off to his awful sick death.

You said drop this debate, I said drop all debate. I assumed that since you have the right to express your opinion that this debate should be dropped, I have the right to express the opinion that all debate be dropped.

I of course was taking the piss (this is a mesage board after all) and since you have now tried to add to the debate by asking my opinion on the matter, I realise you were also, so alls good, isn't it?!

Anyway, I dont think anyones that bothered about the photo - it seems to be more the punishment the perpetrators got.

Imo, justice has to be seen to serve society and not just individuals, otherwise the victims would determine the sentence. We are emotional beings, and cant make decisions like that ourselves. I just know that I'm glad to live in  a country which doesnt have capital punishment, and which believes people can change. Often people dont change, but I would imagine this is one case where there is a strong likelihood that these boys will have changed, for the good.
Post by: ludermor on January 05, 2010, 01:31:45 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 05, 2010, 01:30:36 PM
. Often people dont change, but I would imagine this is one case where there is a strong likelihood that these boys will have changed, for the good.
Thye can hardly get much worse!
Post by: haranguerer on January 05, 2010, 01:34:04 PM
Quote from: ludermor on January 05, 2010, 01:31:45 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 05, 2010, 01:30:36 PM
. Often people dont change, but I would imagine this is one case where there is a strong likelihood that these boys will have changed, for the good.
Thye can hardly get much worse!

True. They could stay the same however...
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 05, 2010, 02:17:45 PM
MARY BELL was convicted in December 1968 of the manslaughter of two boys, Martin Brown (aged four years) and Brian Howe (aged three years). Bell was ten years old at the time of one of the killings, and eleven at the time of the other.
Bell's mother Betty (née McCrickett) was a prostitute who was often absent from the family home, travelling to Glasgow to work. Mary  was her first child, born when Betty was 17 years old. It is not known who Mary's biological father was; for most of her life she believed it to be Billy Bell, a habitual criminal later arrested for armed robbery who had married Betty some time after Mary was born. Independent accounts from family members suggest strongly that Betty had attempted to kill Mary and make her death look accidental more than once during the first few years of her life. Mary was subject to repeated sexual abuse, her mother forcing her from the age of four to engage in sex acts with men.
Mary Bell strangled Martin Brown on 25 May 1968, the day before her 11th birthday. She was believed to have committed this crime alone. On 31 July 1968, her and a friend Norma Bell (no relation) took part in the death, again by strangulation, of three-year-old Brian Howe.
On 17 December 1968, Norma was acquitted but Mary was convicted of "manslaughter due to diminished responsibility", the jury taking their lead from her diagnosis by court-appointed psychiatrists who described her as displaying "classic symptoms of psychopathology". She was sentenced to be "detained at Her Majesty's Pleasure": effectively an indefinite sentence of imprisonment.
Bell was released from custody in 1980, having served 12 years, and was granted anonymity to start a new life. She has not re-offended. 

Should she be locked away for life or hanged? I don't think so.
Post by: JohnDenver on January 05, 2010, 02:19:21 PM
any word of a few more photos in here instead of you's boys talking sh1te?  :P
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 05, 2010, 02:26:03 PM
you never answered me fox, would you leave your children with them?
Post by: nrico2006 on January 05, 2010, 02:33:23 PM
QuoteMARY BELL was convicted in December 1968 of the manslaughter of two boys, Martin Brown (aged four years) and Brian Howe (aged three years). Bell was ten years old at the time of one of the killings, and eleven at the time of the other.
Bell's mother Betty (née McCrickett) was a prostitute who was often absent from the family home, travelling to Glasgow to work. Mary  was her first child, born when Betty was 17 years old. It is not known who Mary's biological father was; for most of her life she believed it to be Billy Bell, a habitual criminal later arrested for armed robbery who had married Betty some time after Mary was born. Independent accounts from family members suggest strongly that Betty had attempted to kill Mary and make her death look accidental more than once during the first few years of her life. Mary was subject to repeated sexual abuse, her mother forcing her from the age of four to engage in sex acts with men.
Mary Bell strangled Martin Brown on 25 May 1968, the day before her 11th birthday. She was believed to have committed this crime alone. On 31 July 1968, her and a friend Norma Bell (no relation) took part in the death, again by strangulation, of three-year-old Brian Howe.
On 17 December 1968, Norma was acquitted but Mary was convicted of "manslaughter due to diminished responsibility", the jury taking their lead from her diagnosis by court-appointed psychiatrists who described her as displaying "classic symptoms of psychopathology". She was sentenced to be "detained at Her Majesty's Pleasure": effectively an indefinite sentence of imprisonment.
Bell was released from custody in 1980, having served 12 years, and was granted anonymity to start a new life. She has not re-offended. 

Should she be locked away for life or hanged? I don't think so.

Locked away for life would have been the punishment for her.  No matter if she reoffended or not, she committed a crime which should have kept her in a cell until she died.  Her victims or their family members never got much chance to rehabilitate.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 05, 2010, 03:25:36 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 05, 2010, 02:26:03 PM

No, I would not leave my children with them. Is many people I wouldn't leave my children with and they don't need to be put in jail for life.   
Post by: Norf Tyrone on January 05, 2010, 03:59:15 PM
The Venables/ Thompson crime had a similar ring to a another horrific kidnapping and murder around these neck of the woods about 14/ 15 years back. Scary that it happened so close to home.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 05, 2010, 04:24:54 PM
QuoteThe Venables/ Thompson crime had a similar ring to a another horrific kidnapping and murder around these neck of the woods about 14/ 15 years back. Scary that it happened so close to home.

If the one in question is the one I think it is, then it still sends a shiver down my spine thinking about it as the kidnapping happened less than 100 yards from my door.  He was taken out your way too, really bad time.  Is he ever likely to get out or will he remain in Scotland?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 05, 2010, 06:38:01 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 05, 2010, 03:25:36 PM

No, I would not leave my children with them. Is many people I wouldn't leave my children with and they don't need to be put in jail for life.
you can't have too much faith in their rehabilitation then. I assume you wouldnt like them living on your door step either.

You should read what Mary Bell done to her second victim, after he was dead. She should have never been freed.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on January 05, 2010, 06:49:00 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on January 05, 2010, 09:50:53 AM

:o :o :o

Feck me. Please tell me I misunderstand that.
What's to misunderstand?  fox thinks it's ok to rob ATMs yet he thinks that these 2 evil basatrds should be rehabilitated  ::)
Post by: ross4life on January 05, 2010, 07:33:52 PM
Steve Irwin's final moments in pictures

(http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/9173/steveirwinfinalho5.jpg)

Post by: ross4life on January 05, 2010, 07:38:27 PM
first interracial kiss on television

(http://images.wikia.com/memoryalpha/en/images/a/a0/Uhura_and_Kirk_kiss.jpg)

lol, caused outrage at the time
Post by: leenie on January 05, 2010, 07:39:05 PM
(http://www.hrc.utexas.edu/exhibitions/permanent/wfp/images/1c.jpg)

The  First Photograph
Post by: ross4life on January 05, 2010, 07:42:08 PM
perhaps the most shocking image of all?

(http://i20.tinypic.com/1492wbt.jpg)
Post by: leenie on January 05, 2010, 07:42:59 PM
(http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00458/ThomasBeatiemain_458903a.jpg)
Post by: Archie Mitchell on January 05, 2010, 08:17:36 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 05, 2010, 07:33:52 PM

(http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/9173/steveirwinfinalho5.jpg)

Real?

Steve Irwin, what a man!
Post by: Capt Pat on January 05, 2010, 08:26:51 PM
Did he wear the same clothes to bed?
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 05, 2010, 08:28:41 PM
Marilyn Munroe
(http://listverse.files.wordpress.com/2007/09/monroe.jpg)

and June 1977 (a big, big picture!!!):

(http://o.aolcdn.com/feedgallery/music/i/e/elvis_presley/07-elvis-presley-081407.jpg)
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 05, 2010, 08:30:18 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on January 05, 2010, 08:26:51 PM
Did he wear the same clothes to bed?
was just going to point that out, he was hardly diving in those clothes.  clearly a fake!

Is that real fiodoir, that looks nothing like her.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 05, 2010, 08:30:57 PM
Afraid it is, after she got a visit from the Kennedys in '62
Post by: Eoghan Mag on January 05, 2010, 08:50:49 PM
None of these pictures shook the world - it was some of the events in them that did so. Interestingly enough over half the photos that are here are ones I've never seen before!
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 05, 2010, 09:09:10 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 05, 2010, 08:30:57 PM
and the loch ness monster?
Post by: ross4life on January 05, 2010, 09:10:11 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on January 05, 2010, 08:17:36 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 05, 2010, 07:33:52 PM

Real?

Steve Irwin, what a man!

like i said before a photo doesn't have to be real to shock (btw i'm not sure if it's fake or not), big foot, man on the moon nessie are good examples

as for eoghan, sure the events shocked more! but it's pictures that last longer & a picture is worth a 1000 words so they say anyways
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 05, 2010, 09:12:48 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 05, 2010, 09:09:10 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 05, 2010, 08:30:57 PM
and the loch ness monster?

Now, now, that was The King of Rock 'n Roll!!
Post by: down6061689194 on January 05, 2010, 09:36:45 PM
(http://images.mirror.co.uk/upl/m4/apr2009/3/8/image-6-for-hillsborough-disaster-gallery-287025431.jpg)

Couldnt Find a picture to eptimise this moment, but there are several in this video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fdlxYN6Azfw&feature=related

Andy Burnham silenced by the kop at the 20th anniversary service. Spine Tingling.
(http://liverpool.theoffside.com/files/2009/02/hills.jpg)
(http://www.realworldimage.com/images/photos_med/hillsborough-disaster-football-stadium-death-anfield-mourning-abstract-liverpool-editorial-news-war-zones_12973.jpg)
The two larger photos of the flowers I had never seen before, they are absolutey amazing.
Post by: rosnarun on January 05, 2010, 09:56:57 PM
bunch of fans get crushed against a fence is hardly earth shattering.
the subject is Pictures that shook the world and then say you cant find one! surely there one of someone giving cpr or something out there
Post by: sammymaguire on January 05, 2010, 10:42:45 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 05, 2010, 09:56:57 PM
the subject is Pictures that shook the world and then say you cant find one! surely there one of someone giving cpr or something out there

most stupid comment on here for a while
Post by: trileacman on January 05, 2010, 11:22:43 PM

I've heard some shit in my time but that takes the f**king biscuit.

If they were people instead of "fans" would there deaths and subsequent mourning been more "earth shaking"?
Post by: Orior on January 06, 2010, 12:04:35 AM
Quote from: trileacman on January 05, 2010, 11:22:43 PM

If they were people instead of "fans" would there deaths and subsequent mourning been more "earth shaking"?

I think rosnaruns point by way of example is this

64 people died in the recent mudslide in Brazil
96 people died at Hillborough
1000+ people died in the tsunami in 2009
Over a million Cambodians were killed by Pol Pot

so which deserves mention in this thread? Hillsborough shook our world but did it have the same effect on thee world?
Post by: Gaffer on January 06, 2010, 01:00:07 AM
Quote from: Orior on January 06, 2010, 12:04:35 AM
Quote from: trileacman on January 05, 2010, 11:22:43 PM

I think rosnaruns point by way of example is this

64 people died in the recent mudslide in Brazil
96 people died at Hillborough
1000+ people died in the tsunami in 2009
Over a million Cambodians were killed by Pol Pot

so which deserves mention in this thread? Hillsborough shook our world but did it have the same effect on thee world?

All of them. I 'm sure the photos of those supporters being crushed up against the wire were shown all around the world and shocked anyone who saw them.
Post by: down6061689194 on January 06, 2010, 10:54:58 AM
Quote from: down6061689194 on January 05, 2010, 09:36:45 PM
Couldnt Find a picture to eptimise this moment, but there are several in this video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fdlxYN6Azfw&feature=related
say you cant find one! surely there one of someone giving cpr or something out there

I said I couldnt find one to capture the feelings when Burnham was silenced. Watch that video. 5,000+ maybe? The thousands watching on Sky Sports News who were possibly moved by this. You Can't argue that Hillsbrough didn't Shake an awful lot of Worlds.
Post by: maddog on January 06, 2010, 11:07:40 AM
(http://www.arushatimes.co.tz/2009/4/pictures/552rwanda-genocide%20pic.jpg)

The viciousness of the Rwandan genocide while the western world looked the other way, unbelievable that it ever happened.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 06, 2010, 11:11:38 AM
(http://www.athleticsnews.net/images/owens-recieving-his-gold-medal-for-the-long-jump1.jpg)

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/6/67/Reichsparteitag_1935.jpg)

(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_IfkM6z27LkQ/R8nkDHiWEmI/AAAAAAAAAXA/EO6jOJOhWYE/s400/robert-wadlow-6.jpg)

Post by: Man Marker on January 06, 2010, 11:33:39 AM
(http://www.latestnews24.com/dev/uploadimages/uploads/bloody_sunday_march_2009.jpg)

(http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/3990/bloodysundayef8.jpg)
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 06, 2010, 11:36:29 AM
These are the images i remember from hillsborough

(http://www.independent.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00164/Pg-30-hillsborough-_164671s.jpg)

(http://i.telegraph.co.uk/telegraph/multimedia/archive/01373/hillsborough-disas_1373308c.jpg)
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 06, 2010, 11:39:50 AM
(http://s3.amazonaws.com/readers/purpleslinky/2008/08/12/266431_4.jpg)

Post by: Minder on January 06, 2010, 11:44:24 AM
Boxing Day tsunami 2004. 250,000 + dead

(http://www.monsterwaves.net/fotos/tsunami2.jpg)
Post by: tyrone girl on January 06, 2010, 11:48:39 AM
Anyone watch the show on that last wekk Tsunami caught on camera. Thought it was terribly sad and hard to watch.
Post by: bingobus on January 06, 2010, 11:53:29 AM
I'm surprised the closing imagine from the film "Boogie Nights" hasn't been posted yet  :D
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 06, 2010, 12:03:38 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 06, 2010, 11:48:39 AM
Anyone watch the show on that last wekk Tsunami caught on camera. Thought it was terribly sad and hard to watch.
Yeah seen that, very difficult to watch.  What I had not realised before was that the tide had actually went out a few miles and everyone was shocked to see such a phenomenon and actually walked out the beaches thinking this was so unusual, then all of a suddent the tsunami gathered pace and enveloped everything in a matter of seconds.
Post by: sammymaguire on January 06, 2010, 01:01:46 PM
President Bush being told an aeroplane had crashed into on of the World Trade Center Towers

(http://visibility911.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2007/09/card_tells_bush.jpg)

his reaction...
(http://www.classbrain.com/artmovies/uploads/bush.jpg)

What a plonker!
(http://streetknowledge.files.wordpress.com/2008/01/george-bush-sour.jpg)
Post by: haranguerer on January 06, 2010, 01:18:50 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 06, 2010, 11:11:38 AM
(http://www.athleticsnews.net/images/owens-recieving-his-gold-medal-for-the-long-jump1.jpg)

Here, does Owens have his dick out?
Post by: Capt Pat on January 06, 2010, 02:11:28 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 06, 2010, 01:18:50 PM

I see now why that photo shook the world. That sent a message to Hitler.
Post by: Zapatista on January 06, 2010, 02:12:20 PM
I thought it was the original YMCA ???
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 06, 2010, 02:18:20 PM

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Zapatista on January 06, 2010, 03:01:48 PM

Apparently he won by a whisker.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 06, 2010, 03:11:25 PM
He looks really scared... no wonder I suppose. 
Post by: Hardy on January 06, 2010, 03:21:48 PM
(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/Salute.jpg)

Not world-shaking, but photos above reminded me of it.

(England soccer team in pre-match ceremonies in Berlin, 1938).
Post by: 5 Sams on January 06, 2010, 05:15:05 PM

Well if you pay any attention to racial stereotypes then that definitely isnt his dick...
Post by: rosnarun on January 06, 2010, 10:05:18 PM
at least blewuporstuffed provided a suitable picture of the event and not just a 'you know what me sad comment' 
As bensars said in ther greater scheme of things not a very significant event here's some  photos the didnt shake the world , may people were too busy

(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_yMnPsS9wZiI/SS15sMg7hvI/AAAAAAAAAAs/blKJCrX1kZw/s400/gulf_war_syndrome.jpg)

(http://safeliving.files.wordpress.com/2007/12/january_jan11guantanamobayarrivalproc.jpg?w=305&h=396)
(http://ww2.lafayette.edu/~langlab/tournees/darattfoglia465.jpg)

AND heres some that did
(http://www.corrieblog.tv/DeirdreMike.jpg)

(http://www.nickihastie.demon.co.uk/kiss.jpg)
Post by: From the Bunker on January 08, 2010, 02:16:04 AM
(http://phillipgarcia.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/devil.jpg)

Paedophile Brendan Smith

(http://www.eoinbutler.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/11_sean_fortune_2015614_display.jpg)

Fat Paedophile Sean Fortune

(http://s6.photobucket.com/albums/y207/AGriffey/1%20blog%20pictures/Magdalen-asylum-england.jpg)

magdalene laundries

(http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/tile/2009/0521/1224247040720_1.jpg)

Industrial Schools
Post by: ha ha derry on January 08, 2010, 02:35:38 AM
The greatest
(http://img65.imageshack.us/img65/760/ali3hu.jpg)
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 08, 2010, 08:20:01 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 05, 2010, 06:38:01 PM

you can't have too much faith in their rehabilitation then. I assume you wouldnt like them living on your door step either.
You should read what Mary Bell done to her second victim, after he was dead. She should have never been freed.

I wouldn't want you living on my doorstep either... doesn't mean you should be locked up for life tho.
Post by: Minder on January 08, 2010, 08:32:47 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 08, 2010, 08:20:01 PM

I wouldn't want you living on my doorstep either... doesn't mean you should be locked up for life tho.

Pints, i would imagine, has never tortured and then murdered a toddler.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 08, 2010, 08:37:06 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 08, 2010, 08:32:47 PM

I didn't say he had   
Post by: rolloutking on March 03, 2010, 01:16:03 PM
QuoteQuote from: Minder on January 08, 2010, 08:32:47 PM

I didn't say he had 

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/merseyside/8546528.stm
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 03, 2010, 01:24:14 PM
Yada, yada, yada... there is already a thread on this, so I may paste the same reply....

Fair enough... he broke the terms and went back in. I'm not sure what your point is.
Should everyone released under the Good Friday Agreement be put back in jail because of Torrents Knight?

What about the many others who were released from jails and never re-offended should they all be rounded up now and returned to jail.

Jimmy Boyle has helped work with a lot of young offenders to try and help them mend their ways... we better throw him back in jail...

Jimmy Boyle (born 1944 in Gorbals, Glasgow) is a Scottish sculptor and novelist who was formerly a gangster.
Once reputed to be the most violent man in Scotland, in 1967 he was sentenced to life imprisonment for the murder of another gangland figure, William "Babs" Rooney, although Boyle denies that he committed this killing. During his incarceration in the special unit of Barlinnie Prison, he turned to art and wrote an autobiography, A Sense of Freedom (1977), which has since been filmed.
On his release from prison he moved to Edinburgh to continue his artistic career. He designed the largest concrete sculpture in Europe called "Gulliver" for The Craigmillar Festival Society in 1976. The following year he co-wrote the play The Hardman with Tom McGrath, premiered at the Traverse Theatre.
Boyle has also published Pain of Confinement: Prison Diaries (1984), and a novel, Hero of the Underworld (1999). The latter was adapted for a French film, La Rage et le Reve des Condamnes (The Anger and Dreams of the Condemned), and won the best documentary prize at the Fifa Montreal awards in 2002. He also has written a forthcoming novel, A Stolen Smile, which is about the theft of the Mona Lisa and how it ends up hidden on a Scottish housing estate; Disney reportedly bought the film rights.[1]

In 1980, upon his release from prison, he married psychotherapist Sarah Juliet Trevelyan, a daughter of the former British film censor John Trevelyan. They met in the Special Unit of Glasgow's Barlinnie jail, and had two children, Susannah Angela and Kydd...

Post by: rolloutking on March 03, 2010, 01:28:08 PM
...and wha
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 03, 2010, 01:34:32 PM
..and wha... is rite?...  is constant what about that Fox since Venebals got put back in jail, like I am going to change my view on this    ::)   
Post by: rolloutking on March 03, 2010, 01:38:11 PM
(http://translucid.ca/site/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/thumbs_up.svg_.med_1.png)
Post by: Denn Forever on March 03, 2010, 04:09:39 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on January 06, 2010, 02:11:28 PM

Does anyone know or remember who came second in the above race.  If he'd won it would also have shot holes in Hitler's Aryan ideal.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 03, 2010, 06:42:16 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 03, 2010, 01:24:14 PM
Yada, yada, yada... there is already a thread on this, so I may paste the same reply....

Fair enough... he broke the terms and went back in. I'm not sure what your point is.
Should everyone released under the Good Friday Agreement be put back in jail because of Torrents Knight?

What about the many others who were released from jails and never re-offended should they all be rounded up now and returned to jail.

Jimmy Boyle has helped work with a lot of young offenders to try and help them mend their ways... we better throw him back in jail...

Jimmy Boyle (born 1944 in Gorbals, Glasgow) is a Scottish sculptor and novelist who was formerly a gangster.
Once reputed to be the most violent man in Scotland, in 1967 he was sentenced to life imprisonment for the murder of another gangland figure, William "Babs" Rooney, although Boyle denies that he committed this killing. During his incarceration in the special unit of Barlinnie Prison, he turned to art and wrote an autobiography, A Sense of Freedom (1977), which has since been filmed.
On his release from prison he moved to Edinburgh to continue his artistic career. He designed the largest concrete sculpture in Europe called "Gulliver" for The Craigmillar Festival Society in 1976. The following year he co-wrote the play The Hardman with Tom McGrath, premiered at the Traverse Theatre.
Boyle has also published Pain of Confinement: Prison Diaries (1984), and a novel, Hero of the Underworld (1999). The latter was adapted for a French film, La Rage et le Reve des Condamnes (The Anger and Dreams of the Condemned), and won the best documentary prize at the Fifa Montreal awards in 2002. He also has written a forthcoming novel, A Stolen Smile, which is about the theft of the Mona Lisa and how it ends up hidden on a Scottish housing estate; Disney reportedly bought the film rights.[1]

In 1980, upon his release from prison, he married psychotherapist Sarah Juliet Trevelyan, a daughter of the former British film censor John Trevelyan. They met in the Special Unit of Glasgow's Barlinnie jail, and had two children, Susannah Angela and Kydd...

What are you babbling about?
Post by: ross4life on March 03, 2010, 07:08:50 PM
Frozen Britain this winter

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/47061000/jpg/_47061196_greatbritainjpg.jpg)
Post by: Ulick on March 03, 2010, 07:27:30 PM
The shape of things to come:

(http://nireland2001.webs.com//photos/null/prot%20overview%2075+.png)

(http://nireland2001.webs.com//photos/null/prot%20overview%200-4.png)
Post by: ziggysego on March 03, 2010, 08:32:53 PM
Where'd you get that prediction Ulick?
Post by: sammymaguire on March 03, 2010, 09:55:07 PM
bus full of priests being extradited to Rathlin??  :D
Post by: Ulick on March 03, 2010, 10:10:51 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 03, 2010, 08:32:53 PM

http://nireland2001.webs.com/ (http://nireland2001.webs.com/)

Based on the 2001 census. The first one is the population 75+ in 2001. The second is the population 0-4 in 2001.

Logic would dictate that the second will replace the first.
Post by: Franko on March 04, 2010, 12:30:36 AM
Quote from: Ulick on March 03, 2010, 10:10:51 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 03, 2010, 08:32:53 PM

http://nireland2001.webs.com/ (http://nireland2001.webs.com/)

Based on the 2001 census. The first one is the population 75+ in 2001. The second is the population 0-4 in 2001.

Logic would dictate that the second will replace the first.

That's a strange website ???

Everthing is written in Irish foremost and then translated into English yet Derry is described as Londonderry?  What group produced that?
Post by: rosnarun on March 04, 2010, 02:55:23 AM
Quote from: ross4life on March 03, 2010, 07:08:50 PM
Frozen Britain this winter

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/47061000/jpg/_47061196_greatbritainjpg.jpg)
i thought that was nick Griffin's image of a perfect Britan
Post by: rosnarun on March 04, 2010, 02:57:13 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on March 03, 2010, 04:09:39 PM

Does anyone know or remember who came second in the above race.  If he'd won it would also have shot holes in Hitler's Aryan ideal.

you really dont want to believe everything you read next you telling us Herr Htler only had one ball
Post by: Orior on March 16, 2010, 10:03:41 PM
A great man....

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_5Qcl1S1MdQQ/SSAhriw3jWI/AAAAAAAANNY/BY-Da3283-I/s400/MartyFeldman.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on March 16, 2010, 10:09:37 PM
A bit giggly eyed wasn't he
Post by: Orior on March 16, 2010, 10:15:39 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 16, 2010, 10:09:37 PM

Probably handy when trying to cross a busy road
Post by: ziggysego on March 16, 2010, 10:33:54 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 16, 2010, 10:15:39 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 16, 2010, 10:09:37 PM

Probably handy when trying to cross a busy road

That was supposed to be goggly eyed. Damn predicted text!
Post by: Hardy on March 17, 2010, 10:15:22 PM
Marty was brilliant.

This stuff was before Monty Python, yet they get the credit for inventing this type of humour (though some of them did write for Marty, I gather):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n326mhTfQr0
(sound is poor)
Post by: Denn Forever on March 17, 2010, 10:35:16 PM
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/c/c8/Carlos-Smith.jpg)

They didn't like this back home.
Post by: Santino on March 17, 2010, 11:12:29 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 16, 2010, 10:03:41 PM
A great man....

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_5Qcl1S1MdQQ/SSAhriw3jWI/AAAAAAAANNY/BY-Da3283-I/s400/MartyFeldman.jpg)

Who is this?
Post by: Hardy on March 18, 2010, 12:07:54 AM
Sorry - thought people knew. It's Orior.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 18, 2010, 09:17:52 AM
(http://server40136.uk2net.com/~wpower/images/product_images/9780091931322.jpg)

Unbelievable
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 18, 2010, 09:21:41 AM
Quote from: ross4life on January 05, 2010, 07:38:27 PM

Is this before or after he kissed the beure with the green skin? I wonder was it only kissing black people that was the problem or did they have a problem with him kissing Orion sex slave girls with green skin!
Post by: ross4life on May 12, 2010, 06:22:03 PM
Time to update this thread  8)

In the 1994 World Cup Andres Escobar accidentally slid the ball
into his own net. The other team (the USA) went on to win the game and Colombia went out. They only needed a draw as far as I remember.

Reports and rumours after the match the next day said he was a dead man walking, as there where big time gangsters in Columbia that had fortunes bet on the game.

10 days later, as he left some restaurant with his girlfriend three men grabbed him and shot him in the face and chest a dozen times, shouting 'goal' after every shot.

(http://resources.sportingo.com/gallery/Getty-Images/Football/Andres-Escobar.jpg)

(http://www.hostanyimage.com/files/35025980938399109075.jpg)

ESPN doing what looks to be a very interesting documentary on both Andreas Escobars death and Pablo Escobars, and how they were linked:

http://30for30.espn.com/film/the-two-escobars.html
Post by: ross4life on May 12, 2010, 06:24:40 PM
Ukraine Air Show disaster back in 2002 where 78 people were killed when a jet fighter came down too low and ploughed into the crowd

(http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/7910739.jpg)
(http://www.poormojo.org/pmjadaily/archives/eject.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on May 12, 2010, 06:30:50 PM
The live televised death of the one of greatest racing drivers Ayrton Senna

(http://www.cineca.it/sap/files/zip/crashbig.jpg)

(http://lh3.ggpht.com/_LOtRM76HoAY/RvK8AkC2WvI/AAAAAAAAAD0/ZREnshuX8VI/senna-mort2.jpg)

(http://en.espnf1.com/PICTURES/CMS/300/369.jpg)
Post by: reddgnhand on May 12, 2010, 06:32:07 PM
Quote from: ross4life on May 12, 2010, 06:22:03 PM
Time to update this thread  8)

In the 1994 World Cup Andres Escobar accidentally slid the ball
into his own net. The other team (the USA) went on to win the game and Colombia went out. They only needed a draw as far as I remember.

Reports and rumours after the match the next day said he was a dead man walking, as there where big time gangsters in Columbia that had fortunes bet on the game.

10 days later, as he left some restaurant with his girlfriend three men grabbed him and shot him in the face and chest a dozen times, shouting 'goal' after every shot.

I had him in my fantasy football team that year. Obviously there were a few in Columbia had him as well.

(http://resources.sportingo.com/gallery/Getty-Images/Football/Andres-Escobar.jpg)

(http://www.hostanyimage.com/files/35025980938399109075.jpg)

ESPN doing what looks to be a very interesting documentary on both Andreas Escobars death and Pablo Escobars, and how they were linked:

http://30for30.espn.com/film/the-two-escobars.html
Post by: ross4life on May 12, 2010, 06:45:38 PM
Unreal photos here http://www.tomstoddart.com/iwitness.html  click thing in bottom left for albums
Post by: stew on May 12, 2010, 10:53:07 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 18, 2010, 09:21:41 AM
Quote from: ross4life on January 05, 2010, 07:38:27 PM

Is this before or after he kissed the beure with the green skin? I wonder was it only kissing black people that was the problem or did they have a problem with him kissing Orion sex slave girls with green skin!

Now people have a problem with him kissing James Spader, the man cant win.
Post by: Orior on May 12, 2010, 11:05:35 PM
Anyone happen to have the actual photocopy?

(http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00798/Mikado-Tv-Ad_682_798428a.jpg)
Post by: muppet on May 13, 2010, 12:01:11 AM
(http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2007/04_02/2TravellerPA_468x468.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on May 18, 2010, 03:20:11 PM
Quote from: Shazam on December 30, 2009, 12:45:06 AM
(http://enticingthelight.files.wordpress.com/2009/06/napalm20girl.jpg)

Kim Phuc, the Vietnamese girl in one of the unforgettable images of the Vietnam War , has been reunited by the BBC with Christopher Wain, the ITN correspondent who helped save her life 38 years ago.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/asia-pacific/8678478.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/asia-pacific/8678478.stm)
Post by: ballinaman on May 19, 2010, 07:15:01 AM
(http://s2.noelshack.com/uploads/images/19431955410120_1274013090722.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 19, 2010, 08:19:41 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 19, 2010, 07:15:01 AM

Damien's sister?
Post by: ballinaman on May 19, 2010, 08:24:23 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 19, 2010, 08:19:41 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 19, 2010, 07:15:01 AM

Damien's sister?
Has to be...... or at least a first cousin.....
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 19, 2010, 08:28:32 AM

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/omen1.jpg)
:o :o :o :o

Post by: Hedley Lamarr on May 19, 2010, 10:01:45 AM
(http://www.thegrio.com/assets_c/2009/10/Rumble-%20in-the-Jungle-shook-the-world-thumb-400xauto-4802.jpg)

(http://urbantitan.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/Reagan_Assassination.jpg)

Post by: sammymaguire on May 19, 2010, 10:54:36 AM
(http://iconicphotos.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/pic-6.jpg)

In the photo, American sergeant, just found his best friend in the body-bag beside him. He was killed during the Gulf War. The picture was taken by David Turnley, but shortly after it's appearance it was restricted by the Pentagon.
Post by: sammymaguire on May 19, 2010, 11:11:20 AM
(http://www.pre-office.com/storage/456px-KatrinaNewOrleansFlooded.jpg)

Hurricane Katrina & New Orleans
Post by: sammymaguire on June 25, 2010, 12:32:29 PM
some of these are shocking rough;
http://www.tomstoddart.com/iwitness.html
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 25, 2010, 02:58:00 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on March 03, 2010, 09:55:07 PM
bus full of priests being extradited to Rathlin??  :D

Tory!
Post by: redandblack4ever on June 25, 2010, 07:03:06 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on March 03, 2010, 04:09:39 PM

The man in the photo is Ralph Metcalfe. Here's some biographical info on him. http://www.answers.com/topic/ralph-metcalfe
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on July 27, 2010, 09:31:19 PM
(http://i45.tinypic.com/21014wk.gif)
Post by: Orior on July 27, 2010, 09:56:56 PM
Oooooh that hurt!
Post by: ross4life on September 25, 2010, 05:42:30 PM
Oil spill gulf of Mexico

(http://image3.examiner.com/images/blog/replicate/EXID48107/images/oil32.jpg)

(http://h.imagehost.org/0885/4710667471_ffc13c0c7d_b.jpg)

(http://www.newsweek.com/content/newsweek/photo/2010/05/22/oil-spill-timeline/_jcr_content/body/photogallery/image1.img.jpg/1275646296260.jpg)

(http://image3.examiner.com/images/blog/replicate/EXID5738/images/BirdHuddled.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on September 25, 2010, 05:52:49 PM
Haiti earthquake

(http://online.wsj.com/media/0127pod01.jpg)

(http://turbo.inquisitr.com/wp-content/2010/01/haiti-earthquake-relief.jpg)

(http://www.csmonitor.com/var/ezflow_site/storage/images/media/images/0114-haiti-earthquake-death-toll.jpg/7222416-1-eng-US/0114-haiti-earthquake-death-toll.jpg_full_600.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on September 25, 2010, 06:00:07 PM
Shook the GAA world this summer

(http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/wp-content/uploads/cache/23011_thumbzoom.jpg)

(http://www.herald.ie/multimedia/archive/00626/1207_louth_indo_626424t.jpg)

(http://dynimg.rte.ie/00024a00189r.jpg)

(http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/inpho_00453984.jpg)
Post by: muppet on September 26, 2010, 11:29:09 AM
(http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQD8MnDpltkhhwBUw8kIx4q8xoZOB63c1QINOvclEnI_Z_xDkc&t=1&usg=__H118W7TZ8EufQ7DPrZewq6u0f68=)