GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Roashter on July 04, 2009, 07:44:19 PM

Title: Brolly is a Tool - Huge banner at Monaghan v Armagh match
Post by: Roashter on July 04, 2009, 07:44:19 PM
This game itself is brutal stuff, but the banner behind the goals is awful funny.

Surely Spillane will have a comment on the Sunday game about it
Title: Re: Brolly is a Tool - Huge banner at Monaghan v Armagh match
Post by: johnpower on July 04, 2009, 07:50:27 PM
Is that what it is .I thought it was some advertisement . Armagh or Monaghan fans ?
Post by: Roashter on July 04, 2009, 07:54:03 PM
The boys holding it look like complete mucksavages, so they could be from either county.

But I think I spotted a Monaghan jersey around there.

Took me a few gos to figure out what it was too.

The banner is a picture of an umbrella with "is a tool"
Post by: carol6 on July 04, 2009, 08:18:46 PM
It is quite funny and it is Monaghan men who are displaying it.

Is it possible that the ref has brought some of his fiends with him
and they are there disguised as Monaghan supporters cos of what
Brolly said about his refereeing last sunday ;D

Maybe it will start a trend and we will see one for Spillane at the
next live game? Then one for O'Rourke and the rest? Any suggestions
(with illustrations if possible) for the designers to work on before the
next game?
Post by: Gnevin on July 04, 2009, 08:28:40 PM
On the hiill next week
(http://www.runnerduck.com/images/kc_spill2.jpg)
+
(http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/05_02/AnnePitXP_468x641.jpg)
=
(http://www.charlottespoultry.com/media/red_saddled_cock_bird_2008_1.jpg)
Post by: joemamas on July 04, 2009, 08:40:32 PM
speaking of tools,

tommy lyons   "isint it Bernard"

and last but not least the verbally challenged Bernard.
Post by: carol6 on July 04, 2009, 09:06:26 PM
Now Tommy Lyons, what a genius ::). He reckons there are floodlights in
Clones too. Not like Tommy to get it wrong. He certainly is entertaining
but not informative.
Gnevin I was intrigued by that close up shot of Anne Robinson. Had to go
"rooting" for the old glasses cos I wasn't sure that picture really was ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 04, 2009, 10:05:03 PM
Why did stewards not remove the banner ?
Post by: Square Ball on July 04, 2009, 10:09:22 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 04, 2009, 10:05:03 PM
Why did stewards not remove the banner ?

maybe they thought it was a statement!

An umbrella is a a tool
Post by: lob her in lad on July 04, 2009, 10:16:03 PM
Brolly is a tool but fair play to him he says at least one thing that makes sense every year, I'm still waiting for it though.
The game was brutal and an extra twenty minutes was the last thing I wanted on a Saturday night.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 04, 2009, 11:21:39 PM
Attention seeking idiots (the lads with the banners, not Brolly!).
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 04, 2009, 11:22:37 PM
Quote from: lob her in lad on July 04, 2009, 10:16:03 PM
Brolly is a tool but fair play to him he says at least one thing that makes sense every year, I'm still waiting for it though.
The game was brutal and an extra twenty minutes was the last thing I wanted on a Saturday night.

Don't f**king watch it then.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on July 04, 2009, 11:40:32 PM
The banner and its non removal was absolutely disgusting.

Whether you love or hate Brolly, idiots shouldnt be given the opportunity to publicly abuse him on national TV.  Put yourself in his shoes, some laugh alright.   ::)
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 04, 2009, 11:46:13 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on July 04, 2009, 11:40:32 PM

Whether you love or hate Brolly, idiots shouldnt be given the opportunity to publicly abuse him on national TV.  Put yourself in his shoes, some laugh alright.   ::)
dry your eyes it was tongue in cheeck ye yap
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on July 04, 2009, 11:49:04 PM
Was it?  Thats open to interpretation, and as long as thats the case it shouldnt have happened.

Ye Yap   8)
Post by: The Gs Man on July 04, 2009, 11:50:12 PM
I didn't catch on to what it meant at all until I came on here......

I thought "An umbrella is a a tool"......... and?

Thanks for clearing it up for me anyway. (Im not blonde by the way)
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 05, 2009, 12:45:01 AM
Surely it was only a bit of craic and should be taken as such?

I wonder wht they'd do if it said "Spillane is a C*nt?"

Post by: Pangurban on July 05, 2009, 01:02:34 AM
Disgusting behaviour, and a clear breach of rules, should have been removed. These people would be more at home in a soccer ground, we dont need their kind. As for being tongue in cheek, or a bit of a laugh, i view it more as a thin end of the wedge, which if tolerated could be much worse next time. The line needs to be firmly drawn now
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 01:12:47 AM

2 things:
1 - Brolly said he was "delighted" that Monaghan were out after the Derry game. As a pundit, he has been far from neutral in his comments on Monaghan; and
2 - No doubt Brolly will actually be delighted! He loves the attention. I doubt he'll get too upset!
Post by: Schkite on July 05, 2009, 01:19:45 AM
Yeah, I'd say he laughed at it to be honest! Doesn't seem like a fella that would get too annoyed over a wee thing like that.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 01:32:25 AM
I thought it was pathetic.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 02:49:25 AM
Quote from: Pangurban on July 05, 2009, 01:02:34 AM
Disgusting behaviour, and a clear breach of rules, should have been removed. These people would be more at home in a soccer ground, we dont need their kind. As for being tongue in cheek, or a bit of a laugh, i view it more as a thin end of the wedge, which if tolerated could be much worse next time. The line needs to be firmly drawn now
What rules would this fall under?
Post by: Minder on July 05, 2009, 02:54:53 AM
Quote from: Pangurban on July 05, 2009, 01:02:34 AM
Worse than starting a thread asking for the removal of an inter county manager in May?
Post by: Pangurban on July 05, 2009, 03:45:10 AM
Minders stupid irrelevant response to my post was....Worse than starting a thread asking for the removal of an inter county manager in May?
While his response is so banal and meaningless   as to be unworthy of reply, i cant resist retorting that events have shown i was right in May, and future events will prove me right now.
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 05, 2009, 07:34:12 AM
 ::) Some of yous need to wise up and relax ffs. Nothing malicious. Nothing inflammatory. Everyone in the ground had a chuckle at it, which I'm sure Brolly himself did.
Post by: The GAA on July 05, 2009, 08:37:29 AM

Unlike the players that brolly abuses, he is well paid for his hystrionics and insightful analysis so if he wants to hand it out he'll have to be prepared to take it
Post by: down6061689194 on July 05, 2009, 09:46:05 AM
I wonder could they make one saying

"MARTY & JOHN CLARKE
   S           O             S"
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 05, 2009, 09:56:38 AM
The banner was quite funny by dour Ulster standards.

Unfortunately the football is still very grim. Its quite tragic that potential Colm Coopers or Kieran McDonalds will never prosper in the Ulster "system".

Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 11:57:18 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 05, 2009, 09:56:38 AM
The banner was quite funny by dour Ulster standards.

Unfortunately the football is still very grim. Its quite tragic that potential Colm Coopers or Kieran McDonalds will never prosper in the Ulster "system".

The football must be very grim in Munster, Cooper hasnt exactly prospered this year now has he?

As for the banner, I think they got it wrong, a tool is a useful thing, Brolly most certainly isnt.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 12:17:06 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on July 05, 2009, 07:34:12 AM
::) Some of yous need to wise up and relax ffs. Nothing malicious. Nothing inflammatory. Everyone in the ground had a chuckle at it, which I'm sure Brolly himself did.

So the unveiling of a banner a game to abuse a member of the GAA is funny?  Is it funny because Brolly hardly gives a shite, he's not that sort, or would it still be funny if it was about someone else? 

Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 12:28:45 PM
pog, being the great Armagh man that you are, why didnt you remove the banner?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 12:33:25 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 12:28:45 PM
pog, being the great Armagh man that you are, why didnt you remove the banner?
By the time I would have got there I think the banner would have been well gone.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 12:34:48 PM
So your involvement in gaelic games doesnt go beyond this board?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 12:35:41 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 12:34:48 PM
So your involvement in gaelic games doesnt go beyond this board?
What "involvement" do you think I should have?
Post by: Main Street on July 05, 2009, 12:41:52 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 12:17:06 PM

So the unveiling of a banner a game to abuse a member of the GAA is funny?  Is it funny because Brolly hardly gives a shite, he's not that sort, or would it still be funny if it was about someone else? 

The banner read "is a tool".
No name was mentioned and anyway calling someone a "tool" is not abuse.

I´m pretty sure umbrella man would not in the least feel abused, rather he would have a chuckle.

Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 12:44:47 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 05, 2009, 12:41:52 PM

The banner read "is a tool".
No name was mentioned and anyway calling someone a "tool" is not abuse.

I´m pretty sure umbrella man would not in the least feel abused, rather he would have a chuckle.

Well that makes the world of difference. 
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 12:49:28 PM
You are very quick to offer your opinions on things that you don't seem to have a real connection to. In many ways you are like the idiots in pubs who scream and shout for Manchester United, Liverpool and Celtic, they don't go to games either but they like to talk about "us" and what the manager is doing wrong and how things were so much better in their day. I am sure they even have opinions on various banners in the Stretford end or on the spion kop.
Maybe you should try to get to the odd game once in a while before offering your valued opinions. You seem out of touch. Most people have a negative opinion on Brolly and although I didn't see the banner in question last night, I would just see it as a bit of craic. Harmless, something which Brolly will no doubt mention today, he will use it to his advantage. That is what he does.
Or is it that you just don't like to see people having a bit of craic?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 05, 2009, 12:51:43 PM
QuoteThe football must be very grim in Munster, Cooper hasnt exactly prospered this year now has he?

Even at his worst he's better than anything Ulster has to offer this year.

..and thank god for the way 13-man , Div 4, Wicklow rose to the occcasion and defeated another negative, supposedly superior,  Ulster team in Fermanagh. At least there is still some romance in the game.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 12:53:27 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 12:49:28 PM
You are very quick to offer your opinions on things that you don't seem to have a real connection to. In many ways you are like the idiots in pubs who scream and shout for Manchester United, Liverpool and Celtic, they don't go to games either but they like to talk about "us" and what the manager is doing wrong and how things were so much better in their day. I am sure they even have opinions on various banners in the Stretford end or on the spion kop.
Maybe you should try to get to the odd game once in a while before offering your valued opinions. You seem out of touch. Most people have a negative opinion on Brolly and although I didn't see the banner in question last night, I would just see it as a bit of craic. Harmless, something which Brolly will no doubt mention today, he will use it to his advantage. That is what he does.
Or is it that you just don't like to see people having a bit of craic?

Quite a post.   ::)
You don't know much about me but yet you feel the need to rant. 
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 01:36:56 PM

A member of the GAA family? Come on, we're hardly the Waltons!
Brolly dishes out plenty of abuse and has plenty of opportunities to do so. It all seemed pretty light hearted. And I doubt Joe needs anyone else to fight his battles.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 01:40:10 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 01:36:56 PM

Brolly dishes out plenty of abuse and has plenty of opportunities to do so. It all seemed pretty light hearted. And I doubt Joe needs anyone else to fight his battles.

It's not about whether Brolly finds it funny or not (I think he'll love it actually), and I personally wouldnt get too bothered about the banner yesterday, it's more about the fact that a precedent has been set. 
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2009, 01:44:53 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 01:40:10 PM

It's not about whether Brolly finds it funny or not (I think he'll love it actually), and I personally wouldnt get too bothered about the banner yesterday, it's more about the fact that a precedent has been set. 

Precedent was set a long time ago. I remember in 97 Cavan fans had a picture of Spillane with a microphone up his arse. A bit more blunt than the Monaghan one...
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 01:48:29 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2009, 01:44:53 PM

Precedent was set a long time ago. I remember in 97 Cavan fans had a picture of Spillane with a microphone up his arse. A bit more blunt than the Monaghan one...
Don't remember that one myself, but I suppose it goes to show that there's nothing to worry about.
Certain individuals, such as Spillane and Brolly will attract such attention - and generally lap it up. I think if there was general abuse of individual players or managers, other people in the crowd would be quick enough to police it, nevermind the officials. I don't think there's anything to get excited about.
Post by: boojangles on July 05, 2009, 01:50:23 PM

What precedent? putting up a banner. Relax FFS. Brolly deserves everything he gets from Monaghan supporters after his outrageous comments after the Derry game. Fair fucks to Monaghan if you ask me-they are still in the Championship and the eggs on Brollys face.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 03:52:53 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on July 05, 2009, 02:10:44 PM
That "Brolly is a tool" banner is pretty tame stuff compared to the anonymous rants that Brolly himself would get all over the internet, not to mention a certain banner on hill 16 at the 2003 All-Ireland SFC. The following site below from earlier this decade is probably not safe for the eyes either (and probably not worksafe either)

http://www.superiorrace.freeservers.com/

That has really nothing to do with with yesterday's banner fionn.

What about at the next match there is a banner slating harte?
We already have the booing of free kicks an all that nonsense from the crowds, last thing we want is banners slating people. 

(I dont recall the cavan fans one.)

apart from anything else Brolly isn't the one that looks like the tool after yesterday. 
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 03:54:47 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 12:53:27 PM
[Quite a post.   ::)

And you dont rant? Everything from Michael Jackson to moon landings you seem to have an opinion on, yet this is a discussion forum for all things GAA, yet you seem to be out of touch.
In the 175 days that you have spent on the board, accumulating 8700 posts, how many games have you actually attended?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 03:59:30 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 03:54:47 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 12:53:27 PM
[Quite a post.   ::)

And you dont rant? Everything from Michael Jackson to moon landings you seem to have an opinion on, yet this is a discussion forum for all things GAA, yet you seem to be out of touch.
In the 175 days that you have spent on the board, accumulating 8700 posts, how many games have you actually attended?

I don't think I've been at a game since a club game last year, before about 2 years ago I would have only missed a handful of club and county games over the years.  What business is it of yours?

And I don't make personal rants towards people, no.
Post by: seafoid on July 05, 2009, 04:06:29 PM
Jesus - Armagh are out before the parade season has even started.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 04:37:43 PM
The site, has nothing to do with the banner, there is no comparison apart from the fact idiots are responsible for both.
Post by: carnaross on July 05, 2009, 04:50:01 PM
Does not the bould Brolly not bring abuse unto himself with his various rantings through the media. Wasn't he interviewed on RTE news the other day after representing the Derry players at the Appeals panel. The interviewer thanked "Joe Brolly - well-known QC from the north", whereupon brolly interjected saying he had no allegiance to the Queen. Now, correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't someone have to give allegiance to the Queen if they were called to the Bar?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 04:54:33 PM
Quote from: carnaross on July 05, 2009, 04:50:01 PM
Does not the bould Brolly not bring abuse unto himself with his various rantings through the media. Wasn't he interviewed on RTE news the other day after representing the Derry players at the Appeals panel. The interviewer thanked "Joe Brolly - well-known QC from the north", whereupon brolly interjected saying he had no allegiance to the Queen. Now, correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't someone have to give allegiance to the Queen if they were called to the Bar?
dont' think so, no.

Fionn, I dont know what you're getting at, what makes you think that site and the banner would have any connection?

Even if they did there's no comparison, gaa stewards can't remove the site. 

Post by: donelli on July 05, 2009, 05:43:03 PM
some lads on here need to get a grip.

i thought the banner was a bit if a laugh and was well recieved inside the ground.

Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:10:01 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 03:59:30 PM
I don't think I've been at a game since a club game last year, before about 2 years ago I would have only missed a handful of club and county games over the years.  What business is it of yours?

So you dont go to games, but you see fit to add your comments here, when in truth you havent a clue what you are talking about. Maybe you should switch you computer off once in a while and actually go to a game. You are not much of a "supporter" if you dont go to the games to support your team.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 06:12:06 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:10:01 PM

So you dont go to games, but you see fit to add your comments here, when in truth you havent a clue what you are talking about. Maybe you should switch you computer off once in a while and actually go to a game. You are not much of a "supporter" if you dont go to the games to support your team.

you know nothing about me or my personal circumstances, there's dozens on this board who haven't attended games in years.  Why are you rambling on at me?
Post by: Roashter on July 05, 2009, 06:22:51 PM
Monaghan v Derry in Clones !!!!

Am looking forward to what new banner the Monaghan lads will have the next day for the Joe show
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 06:23:04 PM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 05, 2009, 06:21:31 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:10:01 PM

Here you don't know Jack shit about PIG's circumstances, for all you know he might not be abble to attend matches for Medical reasons or perhaps monetary reasons. Don't be so presumptuous.
It's a personal abuse thread and you defend pints by calling him PIG.  :D
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 05, 2009, 06:56:21 PM
Quote from: carnaross on July 05, 2009, 04:50:01 PM

No.

Brolly isn't a QC either.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 05, 2009, 08:39:25 PM
I wonder will the Monaghan fans have another banner for Brolly on Saturday or just use the same one.
Post by: jodyb on July 05, 2009, 08:49:01 PM
Brolly loves all the notoriety
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2009, 08:56:56 PM
Quote from: jodyb on July 05, 2009, 08:49:01 PM
Brolly loves all the notoriety

In two minds about the banner. Twas funny and a harmless remark (Armagh and Tyrone have been at this in the AI finals of 2002, 2003 and 2005) but you wouldn't want arseholes now thinking they're funny and making crude banners.

Brolly does love the notoriety. Reminds me of a story of when Brolly wrote an article in the GL concerning Tyrone and said something along the lines of Mulligan becoming a father recently. When he was told that this wasn't the case, and the article had already gone to press, he phoned Mugsy to apologise for his honest mistake. Musgy shrugged it off saying, "ach sure, it just adds to the legend!"
Post by: Schkite on July 05, 2009, 09:44:32 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 05, 2009, 08:39:25 PM
I wonder will the Monaghan fans have another banner for Brolly on Saturday or just use the same one.

Will the Derry fans take action if it's up again?!
Post by: Main Street on July 05, 2009, 10:02:38 PM
I suppose it might depend on which line Joe decides to spin during the week to suit whatever argument he is presenting.

Would this be regarded as bad taste?

(http://wtfurls.com/daily/images/648.jpg)

Post by: lob her in lad on July 06, 2009, 11:41:06 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 05, 2009, 10:02:38 PM
I suppose it might depend on which line Joe decides to spin during the week to suit whatever argument he is presenting.

Would this be regarded as bad taste?

(http://wtfurls.com/daily/images/648.jpg)

Indeed it does not, if I had kids they would be sporting these at all county and club games, it's no more offensive than a Derry Brolly, (see what I did there)

Post by: Maguire01 on July 07, 2009, 11:35:41 AM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 07, 2009, 10:10:35 AM
Our Brolly will Stop Monaghan's Reign...
What reign?
Post by: tbrick18 on July 07, 2009, 11:40:25 AM
Brolly is a Legend!!!!!
Post by: Maguire01 on July 07, 2009, 11:41:34 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 07, 2009, 11:40:25 AM
Brolly is a Legend!!!!!
In his own mind.
Post by: tbrick18 on July 07, 2009, 11:43:54 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 07, 2009, 11:41:34 AM
Brolly is a Legend!!!!!
In his own mind.

If you can read minds.....what am I thinking now???
Post by: eireogatron on July 07, 2009, 11:45:15 AM
OOOOOOH!!! It meant Brolly is a tool!!

I thought they had got a bad deal from the Prudential and they were calling the Prudential ISA account a tool!

(Prudential Brolly) ISA - TOOL!!
Post by: Main Street on July 07, 2009, 12:29:52 PM
If Joe was going to the game he could actually use that brolly with the finger up message,  a retort to the Monaghan fans.
Post by: lob her in lad on July 07, 2009, 12:55:20 PM
Does anybody have a link to an image of this, although I was watching the game online I have to say I missed it and have been trawling the interweb trying to find it but to no avail.
Post by: Main Street on July 07, 2009, 01:22:01 PM
Joe is so good that he can just blow the ball into the net these days

(http://www.stbrigidsgac.com/gallery/images/album81/bestgoaljoeneverscored.jpg)
(http://www.stbrigidsgac.com/gallery/images/album81/joesgoal.jpg)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 07, 2009, 01:23:02 PM
What in the name of Jaysus is he wearing those tights for?!
Post by: Maguire01 on July 07, 2009, 01:28:24 PM
He looks like he has taken up ballet in that first shot!
Post by: Maguire01 on July 07, 2009, 01:29:26 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 07, 2009, 11:43:54 AM
Brolly is a Legend!!!!!
In his own mind.

I can't.
Post by: Main Street on July 07, 2009, 01:49:53 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 07, 2009, 01:23:02 PM
What in the name of Jaysus is he wearing those tights for?!
Can you imagine some of the very polite sledging.
"Excuse me Joe, but I think there is a ladder running up your tights"
Post by: Will Hunting on July 07, 2009, 04:28:59 PM
(http://tbn2.google.com/images?q=tbn:K-ju_Edt8qNx2M:http://www.geos.ed.ac.uk/homes/s0094539/remarkable_forest.preview.jpg) is a hateful p***k!
Post by: eireogatron on July 07, 2009, 05:26:25 PM
Quote from: Will Hunting on July 07, 2009, 04:28:59 PM
(http://tbn2.google.com/images?q=tbn:K-ju_Edt8qNx2M:http://www.geos.ed.ac.uk/homes/s0094539/remarkable_forest.preview.jpg) is a hateful p***k!
brilliant!! A pic of the man himself at home below!!
Post by: BennyHarp on July 07, 2009, 05:33:18 PM
Those pictures of Brolly in the leggings makes it very difficult to argue against the sentiments of the banner!
Post by: tbrick18 on July 07, 2009, 08:03:34 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 07, 2009, 01:29:26 PM
Brolly is a Legend!!!!!
In his own mind.

I can't.

then how do you know what's "In his own mind"?
Post by: Hardy on July 07, 2009, 08:10:07 PM
That's a gay looking get-up.
Post by: red hander on July 07, 2009, 08:25:31 PM
Anybody who has the balls (or who is nuts enough) to go out on a GAA pitch like that obviously doesn't give a shit about what people think of him, whether it's the whole population of Tyrone, RTE viewers or four Monaghan eejits with a banner calling him a tool
Post by: orangeman on July 07, 2009, 08:29:09 PM
Make no mistake about it - Brolly will be loving this.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 07, 2009, 09:17:54 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 07, 2009, 08:03:34 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 07, 2009, 01:29:26 PM
Brolly is a Legend!!!!!
In his own mind.

I can't.

then how do you know what's "In his own mind"?
I don't think you have to be a mind reader to know that no one has a higher opinion of Joe Brolly than he does!
Post by: T Fearon on July 10, 2009, 11:40:13 AM
In fairness Joe deals with this in his column in the Gaelic Life to-day in a very humourous manner :D

He despairs of the way a once proud county has descended to this lack of subtlety, that does a disservice to the county's literary giants such as Paddy Kavanagh etc. He also says "the banner refers to the male member which vies with the female version for the title of the world's leadt pleasant image!" :D :D :D

Very funny!
Post by: Maguire01 on July 10, 2009, 11:45:17 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 10, 2009, 11:40:13 AM
In fairness Joe deals with this in his column in the Gaelic Life to-day in a very humourous manner :D

He despairs of the way a once proud county has descended to this lack of subtlety, that does a disservice to the county's literary giants such as Paddy Kavanagh etc. He also says "the banner refers to the male member which vies with the female version for the title of the world's leadt pleasant image!" :D :D :D

Very funny!
I though the use of the brolly image rather than spelling it out was extremely subtle.  :P
Post by: T Fearon on July 10, 2009, 11:55:46 AM
It was too easy to work out. Now if they had replaced the word "tool" with an image of a chisel or hammer that would have been subtle ;D

Joe also lamented the lack of a rhyme in the banner. So perhaps the following would have met with his approval.

Brolly is a c**k
in his mouth he should place a sock!
Post by: ONeill on July 10, 2009, 12:35:47 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 10, 2009, 11:55:46 AM

Brolly is a c**k

Yes, cos that'd be hilariously funny.

Stick to the colouring in.
Post by: T Fearon on July 10, 2009, 01:12:06 PM
Well what about

Brolly is a willie
because his talk is invariably silly.

or

Brolly is a p***k (use a pinpoint illustration)
His rantings resemble one who is thick! (pea soup illustration  to increase subtlety!)  ;D

Post by: Main Street on July 10, 2009, 01:12:43 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 10, 2009, 11:55:46 AM
It was too easy to work out. Now if they had replaced the word "tool" with an image of a chisel or hammer that would have been subtle ;D

Joe also lamented the lack of a rhyme in the banner. So perhaps the following would have met with his approval.

Brolly is a c**k
That would be bad taste

"Malice is only another name for mediocrity."
PK
Post by: rrhf on July 10, 2009, 04:54:21 PM
I think O neill made a point earlier about all sorts of messages coming out over the summer, say for example "GPA go away and the like." 
Title: Joe on Facebook...
Post by: 5 Sams on July 10, 2009, 08:14:43 PM
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Derry-Ireland/JOE-BROLLY-IS-A-BOLLOX/209731260211?ref=nf

:D :D
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 10, 2009, 08:52:29 PM
brilliant line in his column in Gaelic Life - "'Who's laughing now?' as my father might say from his marbled office in stormont, as the Para in question is sleeping in an underground bunker in the Afgan hills."
The banner is not funny... crude and says more about the amadans who took the time to make it.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 11, 2009, 12:09:23 AM
Good, straight, and fair piece by Brolly, and FFS Monaghan lads, put a bit of poetic feckin' effort into the damned banners!

Brolly's piece today in the Gaelic Life:

This Saturday, Derry and Monaghan go to war, but should it be so spiteful?

The man with an opinion on everything...

A Bit of Perspective Anyone?

LOOKING at the banner behind the goals at last week's game, I despaired that a once proud county has come to this.

I thought of the things that Monaghan is celebrated for, the terrific wit of its' people, its' marvellous cultural heritage, Nudie Hughes, their magnificent side of the eighties, the greatest living referee. I thought of its mmaculate literary tradition, from the incomparable Patrick Kavanagh through to the extraordinary McArdle Twins.

Then I looked again at the banner, and it was hard not to feel a sense of great disappointment, of an opportunity wasted. It didn't rhyme. It wasn't subtle. It wasn't funny. It referred to the male member, which vies with the female version for the title of the world's least pleasant image.

It described an umbrella – somewhat awkwardly - as 'a tool', which it isn't really. It brought back memories of bad jokes about umbrellas by RUC men as the family car sat in yet another checkpoint, being stripped clean.

One miserable night in the eighties, when what Kavanagh would have described as the 'English bother' was still in full swing, I was crossing the border at Truagh with my father, when the army got us out and stood us in the rain for an hour. "You forgot your brollies then chaps" said the Para who seemed to be in charge, as his cronies laughed helplessly. "Who's laughing now?" as my father might say from his marbled office in Stormont, as the Para in question is sleeping in an underground bunker in the Afghan hills.

Anyhow, I think lads you should consult the McArdle Twins for the wording of this week's banner, or at the very least Nudie. Finding someone in Monaghan with a sense of humour won't be hard.

Perhaps the greatest work of the Monaghan poet was 'Epic', which has words that resound for this uneagerly awaited rematch, and more particularly for the good Gaels of Monaghan and Derry. The poem describes a bitter
feud over an irrelevant strip of infertile stony ground, and goes on to make the point that these things need to be kept in their proper perspective:

'I have lived in important places, times
When great events were decided, who owned
That half a rood of rock, a no-man's land
Surrounded by our pitchfork  armed claims.
I heard the Duffys shouting "Damn your soul!"
And old MacCabe stripped to the waist, seen
Step the plot defying blue-cast steel -
"Here is the march along these iron stones"
That was the year of the Munich bother.'

The 'Munich bother' was the great war. The point is that the ill-feeling generated by the Derry V Monaghan game needs to be reigned back. The way the match on Saturday is being painted, you wouldn't be surprised if Michael  Buffer, the American boxing announcer, comes out onto the pitch in his tuxedo and announces  teams' arrival with his trademarked phrase "Let's Get ready to Rummmmmmmmmmmmmmble!"

Then, "The referee Martin Duffy will now issue his final instructions to the players" at which point, the referee, miked up to the PA system in the stands, will shout "No stamping, no gouging, no spitting, no kneeing, no
trash talking. Break on my call, protect yourselves at all times. Let's have a good clean fight gentlemen.
"

The truth is that what happened in the first game was blown a little out of proportion, but only a little, probably due to the fact that it was an ugly bad game of football. Great games tend to gloss over the peevish attrition.

But it is also true that players on both teams were guilty that day of unsporting, and in some cases disgraceful behaviour. Some of those taking the field on Saturday should not be there at all if the CCCC had done its job. The fact that Tomas Freeman  missing the game is particularly unfair, since his misdemeanour was relatively trivial, and it is clear he was subjected to a high degree of provocation.

The problem for Tomas is that he was highlighted on the TV and in spite of the fact that there was little or nothing to it, this was enough to trigger a charge. In turn, once the charge of attempted striking with the head was proffered against him and proved, the rule book stipulates a minimum ban of eight weeks.

Put in a nutshell, the rules were properly applied, but not in a way that achieved fairness.

I saw everything that was captured by all of the cameras, and most of the stuff was minor bickering and pushing and pulling. Yet there were two really bad separate incidents, involving one player from each team.

The CCC had all of the footage themselves, saw both incidents and did not take action. One them was a stamping on the face - and I am choosing my words carefully when I say this - it was the most atrocious thing I have seen on a sporting field. The other was a really nasty throttling of the throat. Yet no action was taken.

For this, the CCC should be ashamed of itself, since it was an opportunity to punish severe conduct that was truly disgraceful, rather than selecting the targets pre-prepared by RTE.

I make no apologies for anything I have said. The truth is after all the truth. Both sides must shoulder blame. But there is a bottom line here. This is a Gaelic football match, not some sort of street fight. Both managers and both boards must spell out clearly before the game on Saturday what is expected of their players.

Players can go in hard and manly as they like, but there must be respect, and this unreal corner boy hatred must be stamped out. I don't expect an open spectacle. There is nothing after all wrong with the way for example that Monaghan set out to stifle the opposition, or with Damian Cassidy's defensive wingers. But it would be great if the players reflected the proud traditions of these two fine counties on Saturday.

Football is not after all life or death, merely the pursuit by thirty grown men of a leather bag of wind.
Post by: The Mighty Oaks on July 11, 2009, 12:33:34 AM
Totally disagree with a banner displayed at the Armagh / Monaghan game - Joe Brolly like so many other gaels has dedicated his sporting life to the betterment of gaelic football not only within his own county but also within Antrim and in particular St. Brigid's GFC, Belfast in the hope that such traditions at grass root levels grow and become the foundation of something each community can identify with! For such an articulate Gael, to be publicly ridiculed, not only is an outrage on free expression but also gives a licence to those to take such the opportunity of television coverage to display their disfavour against possible current political situations, opposing religions playing our national sports, or even the opportunity to mount a more personal attack on opposing team players or management.  Such banners should therefore be banned from all county games - as our tradition dictates not only the amateur ethos, the essence of fair play but also the 'ability to respect the GAA, and its members'!
Post by: Main Street on July 11, 2009, 12:41:14 AM
What's all this about poetry all of a sudden?

(http://z.about.com/d/politicalhumor/1/0/m/Y/bush_umbrella.jpg)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 11, 2009, 12:49:34 AM
Quote from: Main Street on July 11, 2009, 12:41:14 AM
What's all this about poetry all of a sudden?

(http://z.about.com/d/politicalhumor/1/0/m/Y/bush_umbrella.jpg)

About your literary level!  :D
Post by: never kickt a ball on July 11, 2009, 01:13:17 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 11, 2009, 12:09:23 AM
Yet there were two really bad separate incidents, involving one player from each team.

The CCC had all of the footage themselves, saw both incidents and did not take action. One them was a stamping on the face - and I am choosing my words carefully when I say this - it was the most atrocious thing I have seen on a sporting field. The other was a really nasty throttling of the throat. Yet no action was taken.

For this, the CCC should be ashamed of itself, since it was an opportunity to punish severe conduct that was truly disgraceful, rather than selecting the targets pre-prepared by RTE.

Quote from: The Mighty Oaks on July 11, 2009, 12:33:34 AM
Totally disagree with a banner displayed at the Armagh / Monaghan game - Joe Brolly like so many other gaels has dedicated his sporting life to the betterment of gaelic football not only within his own county but also within Antrim and in particular St. Brigid's GFC, Belfast in the hope that such traditions at grass root levels grow and become the foundation of something each community can identify with! For such an articulate Gael, to be publicly ridiculed, not only is an outrage on free expression but also gives a licence to those to take such the opportunity of television coverage to display their disfavour against possible current political situations, opposing religions playing our national sports, or even the opportunity to mount a more personal attack on opposing team players or management.  Such banners should therefore be banned from all county games - as our tradition dictates not only the amateur ethos, the essence of fair play but also the 'ability to respect the GAA, and its members'!

Maybe somebody should tell the players that too Mighty Oak.

Obviously Joe was irked by the banner too when he felt the need to address it. In my opinion he should've ignored it and not given the "tools" who displayed it any more publicity.
Post by: bigpaul on July 11, 2009, 03:15:02 AM
I couldn't believe that those boys actually stood holding thon banner for the whole 90 minutes on Saturday night! It wasn't any more than slightly amusing for about 20 seconds! I couldn't help but get the impression that Joe was rowing back a bit in his column today from the sentiments he expressed on television and in print in the week after the match,his mention of the 'throttling of the throat' is his first reference  to any wrong doing by a Derry man that I can remember,not that I think his sentiments on the day didn't have some truth to them.
Post by: Shortso79 on July 11, 2009, 10:38:17 AM
wonder will the banner make a reappearance today
Post by: rrhf on July 11, 2009, 02:03:16 PM
If it does and the Derry lads have any bolllix on them they will take the banner off them cubs.  I feel it wasnt funny, and I fear that it has so much potential to lead to banners which could raise tensions on the terraces etc.  Next banner might have a go at the new sports minister for example and thats only the start of it.  It dosent show the GAA in a progressive light at all.  The stewards should have dealt with it.  I detected a tone amongst the humour from Brolly of understandable disappointment in the gaelic life, As a Northern nationalist I am proud of Irish  men like Brolly who whilst controversial and different, combine great charisma, principles and massive intellectual ability, coming from a committed Irish family and are possessed with an ability to communicate to all.   These guys bring us on, thon rabble behind the goal just showed what they bring us on from.  Im not as eloquent as Joe - Ill just call them w**kers.   
Post by: INDIANA on July 11, 2009, 02:08:34 PM
Quote from: bigpaul on July 11, 2009, 03:15:02 AM
I couldn't believe that those boys actually stood holding thon banner for the whole 90 minutes on Saturday night! It wasn't any more than slightly amusing for about 20 seconds! I couldn't help but get the impression that Joe was rowing back a bit in his column today from the sentiments he expressed on television and in print in the week after the match,his mention of the 'throttling of the throat' is his first reference  to any wrong doing by a Derry man that I can remember,not that I think his sentiments on the day didn't have some truth to them.

Lets face it the banner was more interesting to look at then the match itself.
Post by: Shortso79 on July 11, 2009, 03:06:44 PM
Its back......
Post by: orangeman on July 11, 2009, 04:37:37 PM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 11, 2009, 04:36:07 PM
I´ll tell you one thing,

The banner boys aren´t laughing now and i can bet Brolly is!! Yeoooooooooooooooh

Exactly.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 11, 2009, 04:38:24 PM
Was disappointed the banner made an appearance today. Thought they would have made a new one.

So were you at the game today SouthDerryGael?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 11, 2009, 04:48:29 PM
Ah right, was wondering with the quick response. Derry men counting their chickens before they hatch then  :D
Post by: bingobus on July 12, 2009, 02:21:11 PM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 11, 2009, 04:52:04 PM
I´ll tell u wañ thing I was cursing Bradley when he signaled all over, until the 71st minute I was wary! But we showed we are better than what we showed v Tyrone. Whats our odds with PP now, we were 50/1 last week. Here Dick Clerkin is a dirty dirty Bollix, threw the studs into a derry man, No football in him at all.

Only a shame it wasn't you, ya mouthpiece.
Post by: gerry on July 12, 2009, 10:43:16 PM
i suppose thats  the last time i see the banner on the sunday game
Post by: Maguire01 on July 12, 2009, 11:40:25 PM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 11, 2009, 04:46:22 PM
Ah well, beat that shower or b******ds

Here Dick Clerkin is a dirty dirty Bollix

You're a real class act yourself.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 12, 2009, 11:52:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 12, 2009, 11:40:25 PM

Missed the game yesterday so I duked in here to see what the verdict was....lovely :-\
Post by: Maguire01 on July 13, 2009, 12:13:14 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 12, 2009, 11:52:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 12, 2009, 11:40:25 PM

Missed the game yesterday so I duked in here to see what the verdict was....lovely :-\
Was a good clean game 5Sams. SothDerryGael just having a rant.