Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: D4S on March 31, 2009, 01:58:16 PM

Title: WISDOM TEETH!!
Post by: D4S on March 31, 2009, 01:58:16 PM
Right lads, lassies, laddettes, after a lot of bother with my wisdom teeth I'm going in next Tuesday to get all 4 wisdom teeth removed under local anaesthetic in the royal.  Can any of you share your experiences of similar so I can know what to expect regards recovery time...eating? Have a few days off work to be on safe side.  I've heard from a couple of others they couldnt eat solids for nearly a week!! I'm reckoning thats the guts of 7-10 pounds I could lose....every cloud....:)
Title: Re: WISDOM TEETH!!
Post by: cavan4ever on March 31, 2009, 02:02:23 PM
All four  :o
Post by: Drumanee 1 on March 31, 2009, 02:03:47 PM
i feel your pain my friend,i really do :'(
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 31, 2009, 02:04:51 PM
Never had any removed, is there a certain age where you'll not need them out?
Have had a few other teeth out over the years so there's a wee bit of space back there, would that make any difference?
Post by: D4S on March 31, 2009, 02:12:09 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on March 31, 2009, 02:02:23 PM

I sense a hint of sarcasm ;)

I think Gaoth Dobhair it's if there isnt enough room for them in your mouth or if theyre growing against your teeth as opposed to up the ways, then you have to get them out.  Im 26 soon think early-mid20s is the time they can give you bother.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 31, 2009, 02:13:32 PM
Quote from: D4S on March 31, 2009, 02:12:09 PM

I think Gaoth Dobhair it's if there isnt enough room for them in your mouth or if theyre growing against your teeth as opposed to up the ways, then you have to get them out.  Im 26 soon think early-mid20s is the time they can give you bother.

Thank feck for that!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 31, 2009, 02:22:09 PM
Got all four taken out about 7 years ago, was under a general though thank fcuk. Went in on a Thurs I think & was back at work the next Wed. Stock up on soup, yougurt, bananas, yop, will be a few days before u feel like munching...
Post by: cavan4ever on March 31, 2009, 02:29:29 PM
Quote from: D4S on March 31, 2009, 02:12:09 PM

Not atall, i had to get one out and it wasnt to bad, ive never heard of people getting four out in one go.
Post by: Armin Tamzarian on March 31, 2009, 02:33:29 PM
had all four removed because they came out without enamel(supposedly common enough) and they eroded quite fast.  The dentist took them out in two visits, two at a time, and simply stitched the gum that i was able to cut out myself after a week.  Had no problem eating from what i can remember as it was painless enough and only one side of my mouth was out of action at any time.  Dunno how relevant this is to you though.
Post by: illdecide on March 31, 2009, 02:35:02 PM
I had all 4 removed myself chief. It was done in the dentist with the jaw froze. He took 2 out at a time with about 3-4 stitches in the gum for each tooth. The root had grown and attached itself to my jaw bone and you should have seen him trying to break it off. When it did break the snapping noise was scary shit (i thought he'd broke my jaw)

On a positive side i never had any more bother from them (obviously as they were out) but you know what i mean
Post by: D4S on March 31, 2009, 02:43:23 PM
Cheers illdecide.  I think the thing about getting it under local is that your recovery time is supposedly shorter, as you will feel the tugging drilling whatever they do and you will flinch or scream ina gony..whereas under general they massacre you!  The downside is that you have to watch, hear, and feel all the pressure under local anaesthetic! 
Post by: TirEoghaingodeo on March 31, 2009, 02:48:25 PM
Depends on the case. Top ones normally no bother, the bottom ones can range from a normal extraction to quite a bit of work, depending on how impacted they are. If they're erupted at all they'll be easier. You'll be grand after a few days, but if they're tough there may be some swelling and a bit of pain.
Corsodyl mouthwash all week before and start again the day after
Post by: Puckoon on March 31, 2009, 03:18:09 PM
My wisdom gnashers are all in no bother, but I've the smallest mouth in the world, so the dentist wants to take them out to make more room for flossing at the back. f**k that says me. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. I'm paying 85$ 4 times a year for cleaning, I can handle not flossing the back ones too much.
Post by: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 03:31:23 PM
Had all 4 taken out last year. Not the most pleasant experience ever. Had it done on a saturday, Off work for 2 days. More to do with the drugs i was taking doped me up to hell. Chocolate ice cream for a week although you didn't feel like eating much.
expect a 5 day recovery but depends how easy they are to remove.

Would never want to do it again.
Post by: clareman on March 31, 2009, 03:33:08 PM
Don't think you can do it again even if you wanted to.. ;D
Post by: aontroim on March 31, 2009, 03:37:14 PM
Got all 4 taken out when i was 17 - under general anesthetic in the Royal.  They were all growing crooked and had to be cut out - be prepared for Gerbil cheeks for a few days and those stitches can be annoying but no real pain involved afterward.

Wouldn't fancy the same thing being done in a dentists chair under a local!
Post by: illdecide on March 31, 2009, 03:39:31 PM
Did you hear the one about the guy who got all his teeth took out !!! He swore never again...lol :D
Post by: D4S on March 31, 2009, 03:48:54 PM
Had to have a quiet chuckle when I read what carribear wrote...but then reality sunk in again everyone will be laughing at me next week with my gerbil cheeks as aontroim called them!  Id say my wife will have a lot of fun with that1!  Seriously, anyone else ever had all 4out under local? Wondering if I should ask for some gas + air that these women get in labour ::) Surely this is far more painful!!
Post by: Larry Duff on March 31, 2009, 03:58:16 PM
Quote from: D4S on March 31, 2009, 03:48:54 PM
Had to have a quiet chuckle when I read what carribear wrote...but then reality sunk in again everyone will be laughing at me next week with my gerbil cheeks as aontroim called them!  Id say my wife will have a lot of fun with that1!  Seriously, anyone else ever had all 4out under local? Wondering if I should ask for some gas + air that these women get in labour ::) Surely this is far more painful!!

Wouldn't rely too much on the gas and air.  Isn't it just a placebo for over-exaggeration ;)
Post by: Puckoon on March 31, 2009, 04:03:32 PM
what gas and air do woment get in labour?
What they do get is a 7 inch needle inserted into their spinal cord connected to anasthetic. Bit ott for a couple of gnashers.
Post by: D4S on March 31, 2009, 04:12:21 PM
Puckoon I was looking for a reaction from winding up some of our female posters....I didnt expect you to bite ::)

Also.....I have a few sisters who have given birth and you dont always have time for the big needle job...sometimes the oul gas and air has to do the job!  I'll ask for it anyway for the craic...makes you feel drunk I hear ;D  AND IT'S FREE!
Post by: Puckoon on March 31, 2009, 04:14:40 PM
I was just wondering what kind of bad medicine they were at over there!!!! I was about to file a law suit!
Post by: Puckoon on March 31, 2009, 04:17:28 PM
I'm gonna have to look into this d4s, surely the gas would cross the placental barrier and come in contact with the chisler. But you're right about the window of time for the epidural.
Post by: rrhf on March 31, 2009, 04:17:38 PM
They say whiskey can be a great help and a great friend.  
Post by: D4S on March 31, 2009, 04:28:35 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 31, 2009, 04:17:28 PM
I'm gonna have to look into this d4s, surely the gas would cross the placental barrier and come in contact with the chisler. But you're right about the window of time for the epidural.

Women inhale the gas through a mask to ease their pain, it makes you feel drunk, thats what I'm on about.  Seems strange that that seems weird to people in america unless there's a misunderstanding.  Do you not have this in the states?
Anyway back to the topic at hand this is becoming a labour thread!
Post by: illdecide on March 31, 2009, 05:03:43 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 31, 2009, 04:14:40 PM
I was just wondering what kind of bad medicine they were at over there!!!! I was about to file a law suit!

Jasus Puck your a full time "God damn Yank" now alright...I'll sue your ass :D :D :D
Post by: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 05:44:14 PM
Quote from: D4S on March 31, 2009, 03:48:54 PM

You wont be chuckling much when you have it done! :D
I've been told the end result was like a scene from the Saw movies, blood everywhere. Luckily I took the Mr T route and got knocked out on the dentists chair.
I've also heard that my drug-fuelled babble was priceless afterward, still not sure if i gave away any secrets :O
Post by: cavan4ever on March 31, 2009, 05:47:48 PM
I got knocked out when i was getting a tooth out years ago, and when they woke me up i started roaring and cheering i was as high as a kite.
Post by: Puckoon on March 31, 2009, 05:55:05 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 31, 2009, 05:03:43 PM

Jasus Puck your a full time "God damn Yank" now alright...I'll sue your ass :D :D :D

Too much time spent in the company of lawyers :-[
Post by: illdecide on March 31, 2009, 06:36:32 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 31, 2009, 05:55:05 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 31, 2009, 05:03:43 PM

Too much time spent in the company of lawyers :-[

God damn it :D :D ;D I'm sure deep down your still a paddy ;D
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 31, 2009, 07:45:26 PM
Was sadated and had the two bottom ones taken out a few years ago in that dental surgery place in Newry. 
It wasn't THAT bad, you'll be sore for few days but most annoying thing is being starving and not being fit to eat! and the money you've to pay to get it done! It was a good week or more before I was back munching away as normal.  Think the stitches fell out/dissolved. 
Dont understand these people who got four out, was it in one go? My dentist didnt want to do two at once only I insisted and then I'd to insist again when she'd one out to go on and take the other! I've still got a top one that has never come through properly, just hte tip of it sits there and it causes pain from time to time. 

Never had any removed, is there a certain age where you'll not need them out?
Have had a few other teeth out over the years so there's a wee bit of space back there, would that make any difference?
If they've never caused bother you shouldnt but mine caused bother on and off and then I got couple of infections in it and they decided I'd to get the two removed, they'd come up at an angle and were creating a "food trap" that was causing infections. 
I'm still not convinced this f**king top one wont have to come out at some stage. 

Post by: Aoise on March 31, 2009, 09:03:45 PM
I had all 4 out last year!  I had to go to a surgery on the Lisburn Road to get it done as my dentist in Lurgan wouldn't touch them they were so impacted!  I had a sedation intravenously but i can remember the procedure.  He had to break every one of them in my mouth I thought it was pliers he was using but I tell you whatever that sedation was I couldn't have cared less if he'd have pulled the whole lot of them and I couldn't feel a thing so you've nothing to worry about! 

Afterwards though you will be swollen and sore but afterwards is always easier to deal with as the procedure is over.  You're safer getting it done, haven't had a bit of bother since! Good Luck!
Post by: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 09:14:03 PM
Quote from: Aoise on March 31, 2009, 09:03:45 PM
I had all 4 out last year!  I had to go to a surgery on the Lisburn Road to get it done as my dentist in Lurgan wouldn't touch them they were so impacted!  I had a sedation intravenously but i can remember the procedure.  He had to break every one of them in my mouth I thought it was pliers he was using but I tell you whatever that sedation was I couldn't have cared less if he'd have pulled the whole lot of them and I couldn't feel a thing so you've nothing to worry about! 

Afterwards though you will be swollen and sore but afterwards is always easier to deal with as the procedure is over.  You're safer getting it done, haven't had a bit of bother since! Good Luck!

same for me, i had to get one taken out for definite as food was getting stuck and caused a cavity in the back tooth. Decided to get all 4 taken out in one go as i didn't fancy doing the procedure twice. Top ones weren't a problem, it was the bottom two that were impacted and needed to go. Should have done it years earlier but i'm not too fond of dentists.

Just don't plan to do anything for a couple of weeks afterwards.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 31, 2009, 09:14:36 PM
Quote from: D4S on March 31, 2009, 04:12:21 PM
Puckoon I was looking for a reaction from winding up some of our female posters....I didnt expect you to bite ::)

Also.....I have a few sisters who have given birth and you dont always have time for the big needle job...sometimes the oul gas and air has to do the job!  I'll ask for it anyway for the craic...makes you feel drunk I hear ;D  AND IT'S FREE!

My cousin said its good stuff....He had more than the Woman when she was in Labour...Said he was considering smuggling a bottle out with him....Laughing gas its nicknamed..
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 31, 2009, 09:44:45 PM
Got all my teeth removed a few months ago. Was pissed off having to wash them. Got the auld lassie to tie a bit of string to them and then to the door and the auld fella gave it a good kick. Out they popped no bother. Ate a big dinner straight away and a stick of rock for desert. Back at work that evening.
Post by: bigfrank on March 31, 2009, 09:54:08 PM
You def never had a problem talking or eatin from what i mind lol:P:P

Quote from: Armin Tamzarian on March 31, 2009, 02:33:29 PM
had all four removed because they came out without enamel(supposedly common enough) and they eroded quite fast.  The dentist took them out in two visits, two at a time, and simply stitched the gum that i was able to cut out myself after a week.  Had no problem eating from what i can remember as it was painless enough and only one side of my mouth was out of action at any time.  Dunno how relevant this is to you though.
Post by: mournerambler on March 31, 2009, 11:24:40 PM
Had 2 removed about 8 years ago, 1 top & 1 bottom under local anesthetic in my dentist's surgery, he brought in an oral surgeon to cut away a piece of bone to remove the bottom fecker.
Had them taken out on thursday & went back to work on monday, all in all it wasn't as painful as i was expecting it to be.
Post by: maggie on March 31, 2009, 11:49:31 PM
I still haven't got my wisdom teeth.
Post by: Rav67 on March 31, 2009, 11:58:13 PM
Mine have grown towards the gums and every few months cause my gums to flare up which makes eating painful for about a week.  Dentist filed them one time and that stopped the aggravation for ages but it came back last week.  I would rather avoid having to get them taken out though unless the pain starts occuring more often, particularly now having read some of the contributions on here!
Post by: tyrone girl on April 01, 2009, 09:33:48 AM
Weird that im seeing this thread, cos im in agony with my wisdom teeth past couple days. Only one of them though always seems to be on same side that i get the pain. It seems like my gum is growing over the top of my tooth though i know its me tooth growin into my gum , it just looks like that. Its never been as sore as this, though i keep hoping it will go away and i wont have to go to dentist, everytime i open my mouth i feel like my jaw is about to lock on that side of my mouth and the pains gone down into my neck and up to my ear. Anyone else ever had this? and if so did it go away on its own  :-[ :-[
Post by: full back on April 01, 2009, 09:35:43 AM
My advice to anyone is to get to the dentist asap
These things normally dont heal by themselves so spare yourself the pain
Post by: tyrone girl on April 01, 2009, 09:54:49 AM
Im overdosing in painkillers and hoping for the best and im bloody starving and cant eat with it  >:(
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 01, 2009, 10:31:21 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on April 01, 2009, 09:33:48 AM
Weird that im seeing this thread, cos im in agony with my wisdom teeth past couple days. Only one of them though always seems to be on same side that i get the pain. It seems like my gum is growing over the top of my tooth though i know its me tooth growin into my gum , it just looks like that. Its never been as sore as this, though i keep hoping it will go away and i wont have to go to dentist, everytime i open my mouth i feel like my jaw is about to lock on that side of my mouth and the pains gone down into my neck and up to my ear. Anyone else ever had this? and if so did it go away on its own  :-[ :-[

Sounds exactly like what I had. Your gums are swelling up as there's no room for your wisdom teeth to come up. And it's only going to get worse. Rinsing your mouth with mouthwash might help with the pain but your only putting off the inevitable. Get to ur dentist asap, they're not the evil bastards u remember from ur youth...
Post by: D4S on April 01, 2009, 10:40:20 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on April 01, 2009, 09:54:49 AM
Im overdosing in painkillers and hoping for the best and im bloody starving and cant eat with it  >:(

Tyronegirl I'd get to the dentist, I know the pain you have it's bloody unbearable.  It is actually very dangerous if you can feel pain in your ear, throat etc cos that's the infection spreading.  If you go to dentist he won't touch it while it's infected anyway he'll just give you an antibiotic, after about 3 days on the antibiotic you will feel it start to ease.  I wouldnt just be relying on the painkillers.  Ive had that a few times which is why ive been referred, the pain is unbearable.

Just to pick up on what someone else said about the cost.  I know in America they have to pay a lot, just wondering what the story is here, I was under the impression as I was being referred to hospital it is a necessary procedure where I wouldn't have to pay.  ANyone else know anything about this?
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 01, 2009, 07:06:06 PM
QuoteJust to pick up on what someone else said about the cost.  I know in America they have to pay a lot, just wondering what the story is here, I was under the impression as I was being referred to hospital it is a necessary procedure where I wouldn't have to pay.
You're in for a shock then!

Post by: D4S on April 01, 2009, 07:32:49 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 01, 2009, 07:06:06 PM
QuoteJust to pick up on what someone else said about the cost.  I know in America they have to pay a lot, just wondering what the story is here, I was under the impression as I was being referred to hospital it is a necessary procedure where I wouldn't have to pay.

Ah no way! I honestly thought that! How much does it cost? must get onto google!!
Post by: Puckoon on April 01, 2009, 07:34:19 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GY459kTn32c (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GY459kTn32c)

NOT for the faint hearted.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 01, 2009, 08:45:39 PM
Quote from: D4S on April 01, 2009, 07:32:49 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 01, 2009, 07:06:06 PM

Ah no way! I honestly thought that! How much does it cost? must get onto google!!
I've been asked that before and I cant remember, wrecked my head before trying to remember - it's might be something like 80-100?
I got two out - and I know if you're getting a normal tooth out it's 44 quid - so wisdom ones might be the same.

(that would be on the nhs)
Post by: D4S on April 02, 2009, 11:07:17 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 01, 2009, 07:34:19 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GY459kTn32c (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GY459kTn32c)

NOT for the faint hearted.

Jesus Puck thanks a million for that!  I couldnt watch it all, turnd it off after 1minute and 1 second, normally love watching surgical procedures on telly, but it's a different story when I know that will be my mouth in 5 days, getting 4 of the buggers out!  :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X
Post by: D4S on April 02, 2009, 11:19:52 AM
On a lighter note I just rang the royal and no I don't have to pay.  Once referred by your dentist for extractions it is on the NHS, guy in appointments said they would only charge if it is a non-national or someone coming up from the south for cheaper treatment. 
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 07:34:07 PM
Quote from: D4S on April 02, 2009, 11:19:52 AM
On a lighter note I just rang the royal and no I don't have to pay.  Once referred by your dentist for extractions it is on the NHS, guy in appointments said they would only charge if it is a non-national or someone coming up from the south for cheaper treatment. 
YOU'RE f**king JOKING!!!! >:(  >:(

I was f**king referred by my dentist too!!!
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2009, 08:04:13 PM
Maybe the guy in appointments neglected to inform D4S that they have a nice first year student lined up to do the free jobs.
Post by: D4S on April 06, 2009, 04:20:11 PM
Sorry Pints but definitely dont have to pay, checked with my dentist too.

And no main street Not getting done by a student either, Mr Kendrick is around mid 50s with 30 years experience!  MAybe that could be worse with is old style dentistry he might just cut them out and butcher me! Tomorrow morning is going to be fun! Dreading it to be honest :-X
Post by: tyrone girl on April 06, 2009, 04:37:30 PM
Best of luck with it D4S ul be grand id say, at least ur taking the sensible option and getting them out. I ignored my pain and it has gone away for now, but i know it will come back.  :-\
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2009, 08:37:45 PM
I wonder did D4S make it through.
Post by: ziggysego on April 15, 2009, 08:49:28 PM
Sister's boyfriend got a wisdom tooth taken out last week in Newry. Not a bit of bother to him. Mild discomfort for the rest of the day, but nothing too bad. 100% the following day.
Post by: Mario on April 17, 2009, 11:43:53 AM
I know this thread has been dead for a few days, but im currently been driven mad by my wisdom teeth, it appears that everytime i have a considerable amount to drink that i will have a sore mouth for a week after. The bottom two wisdom teeth are pushing against the other ones and they are all sore, they are only half through.
Post by: illdecide on April 17, 2009, 11:48:36 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 15, 2009, 08:49:28 PM
Sister's boyfriend got a wisdom tooth taken out last week in Newry. Not a bit of bother to him. Mild discomfort for the rest of the day, but nothing too bad. 100% the following day.

Ziggy what's your sister like??? hope she's not like you only with pigtales :D
Post by: Armin Tamzarian on May 05, 2009, 03:33:23 PM
Instead of starting a new thread;
just wondering what to expect when getting a root canal done.  Have to get one done at the end of the week and don't know what to expect.  I was told i might need 2-3 visits but do they leave the hole open after the 1st visit or what and how long between visits?
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on May 05, 2009, 04:39:51 PM
I had a root canal done in 2 visits. 
They put a temporary filling in it between visits.  I had my 2nd visit a few days later. 
First time I must have been lying there for an hour or hour and half.  Wasn't the most comfortable not being fit to move for so long. 
Post by: Puckoon on May 05, 2009, 04:40:29 PM
Its the damn files that get me. It was the worst dental experience of my life - and Ive lost teeth!
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 05, 2009, 07:15:21 PM
Quote from: Armin Tamzarian on May 05, 2009, 03:33:23 PM
Instead of starting a new thread;
just wondering what to expect when getting a root canal done.  Have to get one done at the end of the week and don't know what to expect.  I was told i might need 2-3 visits but do they leave the hole open after the 1st visit or what and how long between visits?

I'm on the waiting list for one too (I refuse! to pay 200 quid for it) - I dread the thoughts of it. 

I never really minded the dentist but the last couple of visits have been a nightmare.  It took 4 or 5 injections to numb my mouth each time and that was only for a filling (on the same tooth I need the root canal on) I'm very resistant  to the stuff they use apparently. Of course after each injection she didn't believe me that my mouth wasn't numb until she set to work with the drill and I near jumped out of the chair.   
I think they may knock me over the head with something to get the root canal done. 

Title: POGUE TEETH
Post by: Niall Quinn on August 19, 2009, 01:55:59 AM
See Shane got some nice new teeth.
(http://newsfeaturestoday.today.com/files/2009/05/shane_macgowan_new_teeth.jpg)

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1183171/Oh-bye-gum-Shane-MacGowan-FINALLY-gets-set-new-teeth.html
Post by: vav on August 25, 2009, 11:57:51 PM
 :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o

OH SWEET AND DEVINE FCUK

:o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o 

I finally took the big brave step of going to the dentists this morning (I couldn't ignore the pain any longer) only to be told that I HAVE to get all 4 of my wisdom teeth out.. So rather than read up the horror stories I'd find on google (which turned me off getting it done last year) I thought I'd read this thread which I assumed would be full of helpful advice and stories of how grand and easy it was. No pain, no horror. OMG how wrong I was.. Now I'm scared once again to my inner core with the likes of:-

Quote from: illdecide on March 31, 2009, 02:35:02 PM
I had all 4 removed myself chief. It was done in the dentist with the jaw froze. He took 2 out at a time with about 3-4 stitches in the gum for each tooth. The root had grown and attached itself to my jaw bone and you should have seen him trying to break it off. When it did break the snapping noise was scary shit (i thought he'd broke my jaw)

.... I'm getting a referral to the dental hospital to have it done...

Does anyone know if that means I can assume I'll be under general anaesthetic? Or is it all done under local anaesthetic? :o

WRT the cost issue, does anyone know what is covered by PRSI down here in the south? and if not would VHI Plan D with Healthsteps Gold would cover all  the costs?
Post by: J70 on August 26, 2009, 02:46:37 AM
Never had to deal with wisdom teeth problems, but I had a gum graft last week which is probably as bad or worse. They take tissue from the roof of your mouth and sew it on to the side of the tooth where the gum recession is. Not too pleasant! Its six days now and I'm still on the painkillers and have to put anaesthetic cream around the wound on the roof of mouth just to get some food down! Take my advice boys and girls and use a soft toothbrush before you brush your gums away!(And start flossing if you don't do it already - it also helps stop gum disease)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 09, 2009, 08:46:07 PM
Last couple of weeks got 3 of 4 wisdom teeth out,  top 2 3mins and he had them out. Bit of pain after for a 24hrs but sound. My top 2 were impacted but growing straight down.

Now my bottom 2 are at 45 degree angles. Got my first one out last Thursday under local without sedation. Worst experience of my life, 45mins of pulling and pressure, my legs were shaking by the end, found it hard to breath, finally got it out and then the local wore off, and then the pain started, unimaginable pain, stinging from the jaw to the ear. Woke up with a fever one night after, so went back today, he cleaned the massive hole and put in some temp gum filling. Feels alot better, on antibiotic now as well as painkillers. So anyways got it done last Thursday and it monday now. The Dentist said its normal to experience what I have afterwards, because of the nerves and it affects whole body. Anyway, get sedated if you ever do it. I have to dig deep and get last one out thursday week, but will make sure im sedated going in.

Good luck to anyone who has to do this.
Post by: Lecale2 on November 09, 2009, 09:05:39 PM
Good luck man!

Why did they have to come out? I haven't been to a dentist in 10 years and I hope I never have to go again.
Post by: under the bar on November 10, 2009, 12:27:40 AM
Provided you don't have an abcess it should be like falling off a log 
Post by: redhugh on November 10, 2009, 01:19:22 AM
Quote from: under the bar on November 10, 2009, 12:27:40 AM
Provided you don't have an abcess it should be like falling off a log

and landing with one leg either side of the log.
Post by: leenie on January 19, 2010, 03:17:30 PM

my wisdom teeth had all grown, but one grew without an inside and a weak shell so i got it filled around 2 yrs ago... about 3 weeks ago the filling fell out and i discovered it was because the part of the tooth that didn't grow is coming through now... wasn't in any pain and i assumed it would grow into the shell........ no it pushed the shell out and the weekend.. had wild pain during the night, so flat out on the paracetamol because i have an exam tomorrow! it's making a very sharp pain which is traveling up the side of my face... i feel like someone has punched me!

not only to have do an all nighter studying but i will have to endure pain....

boohoo to me  :-[
Post by: tyrone girl on January 19, 2010, 03:21:11 PM
Know the pain your talking about all up the side of your face though mine was because there wasnt the room in my mouth for the teeth and they were cutting into my gums. I was lucky enough that mine seemed to settle. Doesnt sound like this will - fizzy co codomol your best bet for now.
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on January 19, 2010, 04:17:24 PM
Yep Co Codamol are good and you can also take Ibuprofen as well alternatively. 
Post by: Bacon on January 19, 2010, 04:51:58 PM
Whiskey is the only man for toothache. Don't just drink it; sort of hold a mouthfull over the sore tooth for as long as you can before swallowing it. Do that 5 or 6 times and it numbs the nerve and cuts out the pain. 

Our grand- parent knew all this stuff about toothache but the younger generations prefer to trust pain killers and dentists.